About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Benihana - Memphis
Assorted Sushi

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (18)
See All
Kid-friendly (15)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the reservation, but they told us ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had the reservation, but they told us it would be 30 min wait when we walked in. Only waited at 20 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum s ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations but has to wait an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We made reservations but has to wait an almost 30 minutes to be seated. The other people at the table had requested Eric to cook for us. We had to wait almost another hour. My grandson is 3. He was more than irritated by all of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The non private hibachi area. The vegeta ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The non private hibachi area. The vegetables in the rice no seasoning really bland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worst service I have ever experienced at ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced at Benihana. The chicken fried rice and the entrees were not good at all. It tasted as if everything was just thrown together. I was not pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce no ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce not the same.

Celebrating a Birthday and no dessert was offered and had to find someone to take our picture. Seems to have changed for worst. Was a fav for Birthdays! Chef not as playful as previous either.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don't know who the manager on duty was but we had to run down people for drink refills. We also had to Remove our own dirty dishes just to have room to eat. Tony our chef was absolutely wonderful as always but everything else was terrible. Benihana has always been our birthday restaurant but no more. So very disappointed. The waitress did not even know the menu. We had a 12:30 reservation and did not get seated until 1:15. We were also told on the phone that we could not increase our party size because no tables were available for the additional people. Only 3 or 4 chefs were cooking and there were plenty of empty tables all around us. We won't be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great as usual. Our chef was very entert ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great as usual. Our chef was very entertaining and I'm sure he thought we were also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but the time to wait for ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good, but the time to wait for the meal was unacceptable. Reservations were for 7pm, on a Tuesday. Took us 39+ minutes to be seated. Then between 30-45 minutes for a cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Benihana has changed drastically in the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Benihana has changed drastically in the last few years, my wife expressed that she doesn't have to come back anymore and personally I feel the same. Benihana has put too many restrictions like to use the birthday promo another person has to buy an entrée what if you are single and want to dine alone. They are even rationalizing the garlic butter almost the cheapest product in the restaurant. We just don't enjoy like we used too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening was fine except for our wait ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The evening was fine except for our waitress who kept all of the change when a few of us paid in cash. When we asked her about it she replied "it was just a little change", she kept $0.86 from one person, $1.00 from my sister, and $0.31 from my friend. It is not the fact of how much she kept it is the fact that she kept it without asking or even waiting for us to give her a tip which we were going to give her. And the attitude about the amount she kept was very very rude!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This restaurant has totally gone down in ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant has totally gone down in atmosphere, quality of food and dress code. There needs to be a dress code established in this restaurant. There were some customers that came in clothes dressed for a night club. The cook at our table has been there for 6 months. So there quality and taste of food was below standard. It is not his fault. We sat by two tables that was totally loud. The group did come by our table to apologize for their loud behavior. The management should get a better control of this restaurant. It has totally changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My experience was not the best due to ne ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My experience was not the best due to new policies. There is a fee for garlic butter which is a condiment that was usually on the side. We were not aware of this until after the food was prepared. I had a party of 9 and we had to share a waitress with 5 other tables. I was so embarrassed because we were waiting for refills awhile. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointing outing at Benihana for the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Disappointing outing at Benihana for the 2nd time. Used to be a great spot to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions, even just the casual dinner out. Quality and quantity have dropped off the deep end. Location seems to be pulling back on both to possibly gain revenue.... Both this outing and several before, I could tell the restaurant was attracting obnoxious/loud crowds which just took away from the experience. Very slow service and no help to the cooks when they sought out errors on whoever gave them the orders/supplies for their respected table. Huge disappointment to what was meant to be a fun relaxing night out with family.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The service is horrible and so are the m ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service is horrible and so are the managers. For about a year I've noticed a dramatic change in the service. I complained to the general manager and manger both are very disrespectful and unfriendly. Until new management is brought in I won't be back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

I love Benihanas. I always have a great ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Benihanas. I always have a great experience there and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't really recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Can't really recommend this restaurant. Food was not so good and the service was just barely average. I will pass on them next time I desire to go out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were a party of two. We was seated w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were a party of two. We was seated with a couple and a mother with two kids. The service was great and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having made reservations, we expected se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having made reservations, we expected seating when we arrived and we arrived on time. However, it was 15 to 20 minutes before we were seated. Other than that, we all enjoyed our food and the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but they didn't have any brow ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food but they didn't have any brown rice left which was kind of dissapointing. Also, our chef's appearance was not the greatest. Her clothing was really unclean and almost made me not want to eat there anymore. Overall, the food was good and the sushi was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Real japanese cook and everyone was grea ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Real japanese cook and everyone was great. Perfect time which is rare these days. Our waiter was the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were denied garlic butter only if we ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were denied garlic butter only if we purchased it they no longer use the amount they use to in the dishes and the food tasted horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't seated until 6:50. It was then another 20 minutes before a server appeared at the table ( after a member of our party went to the host stand and asked if we had a waitress). Our server, and I apologize if there were extenuating circumstances, was terrible at best. The table was in need of a lot more tending than she was able to provide. The food was good, but not as good as it was when I used to frequent this establishment. The icing on the cake was the fact that she returned my credit card to me, and when I asked for a pen to sign the slip, she disappeared. I had to track down another server to use a pen. Pretty ridiculous. This used to be my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, it has gone seriously downhill. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

clientele is low class -you should rais ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

clientele is low class -you should raise your prices to keep your restaurant a safe place for people to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

We had the filet and lobster. The filet ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had the filet and lobster. The filet was excellent but the lobster was a little rubbery. The portions were very large and Well seasoned. The drinks we had were very good and ambience was nice. Our chef had only been there 4 months so was not ready for all the tricks the seasoned chefs usually do. But he was nice and seemed to enjoy whAt he was doing.

All in all a very nice experience. We will be back in the neR future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Camille was a fantastic server despite h ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Camille was a fantastic server despite how busy the place was

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here multiple times n it was e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Have been here multiple times n it was excellent but this time wasn't that good the chef seem to be tired and look like he was just ready to go wasn't putting on a show at all

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Very disappointed ,had not been there in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very disappointed ,had not been there in a few years, not half as good as it use to be,will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

All was good except their air conditione ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

All was good except their air conditioner was not working properly. And it was VERY hot outside. We were uncomfortable at the restaurant. Two years ago I believe they were having the same trouble. "FIX your air, Benihana! Your cost is higher than many of the Japanese Steak houses in this area. People wont sit in the heat. " Wont be back any time soon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Waited 30 minutes after our reservation ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waited 30 minutes after our reservation time.

Told them it was my sons birthday and they forgot

The there were four of us and the waiter automatically added an 18% tip on the bill without asking and left the space open for me to leave an additional on top of the $39.00 he already gave himself.

When I spoke to the manager said he should nothing not even an apologize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Sad

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We've been celebrating my birthday at benihana for about 14 years now. This year was sad. The soup was cold and it took an hour for someone to start cooking our meal, Even though the restaurant was basically empty. First bad experience I've ever had there. Hopefully it's not becoming a pattern. 😕

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I 💓 TONY tony is an outstanding chef.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I 💓 TONY

tony is an outstanding chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

anniversary date

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall it was a nice time but we had to wait quit a while, even though we had a reservation and showed up on time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The waitor was terrible but over all foo ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The waitor was terrible but over all food was awesome and tasted very well like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst di ...

vip
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst dining experiences that my family has ever had. It took almost three hours for the chef to cook a hibachi meal.

He then admitted that this was his second week on the job and only had three days of training.

Will never go to a Benihana again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Dinner

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Dinner was great for us. We were there celebrating a birthday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a great place to eat has changed a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Still a great place to eat has changed a little but still good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER VIBE WAS AWFUL ALTHOUGH OUR CHEF ERIC WAS AWESOME!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I've been to this Benihana multiple time ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been to this Benihana multiple times in the past, and have always had a great time. Not this visit... We arrived around 10 minutes early, and expected to wait until our reservation time. We did not expect to wait another 10 minutes longer due to not having enough chefs on the premises. After we finally were seated, we met our server, a very nice, helpful waitress named Shen- I believe- could be mistaken on the spelling. She was fantastic. Our chef, on the other hand, not so much. 1st, he was late. 2nd, he was cocky. 3rd, he must have been damned near brand new. He dropped most of his tricks, became embarrassed, then defensive. AND! Overcooked our food- steak and lobster- rubbery. This was also the most bland Benihana food I've ever had. I have never before needed to request salt for my rice. I've loved Benihana for years, but this may be my last visit for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The chef Eric was exceptional.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The chef Eric was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.