About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Assorted Sushi
Assorted Sushi

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (30)
good for groups (30)
great for lunch (17)
See All
kid-friendly (12)
fit for foodies (6)
great for brunch (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
romantic (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Having made reservations, we expected se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having made reservations, we expected seating when we arrived and we arrived on time. However, it was 15 to 20 minutes before we were seated. Other than that, we all enjoyed our food and the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but they didn't have any brow ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food but they didn't have any brown rice left which was kind of dissapointing. Also, our chef's appearance was not the greatest. Her clothing was really unclean and almost made me not want to eat there anymore. Overall, the food was good and the sushi was amazing.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Real japanese cook and everyone was grea ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Real japanese cook and everyone was great. Perfect time which is rare these days. Our waiter was the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were denied garlic butter only if we ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were denied garlic butter only if we purchased it they no longer use the amount they use to in the dishes and the food tasted horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't seated until 6:50. It was then another 20 minutes before a server appeared at the table ( after a member of our party went to the host stand and asked if we had a waitress). Our server, and I apologize if there were extenuating circumstances, was terrible at best. The table was in need of a lot more tending than she was able to provide. The food was good, but not as good as it was when I used to frequent this establishment. The icing on the cake was the fact that she returned my credit card to me, and when I asked for a pen to sign the slip, she disappeared. I had to track down another server to use a pen. Pretty ridiculous. This used to be my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, it has gone seriously downhill. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

clientele is low class -you should rais ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

clientele is low class -you should raise your prices to keep your restaurant a safe place for people to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

We had the filet and lobster. The filet ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had the filet and lobster. The filet was excellent but the lobster was a little rubbery. The portions were very large and Well seasoned. The drinks we had were very good and ambience was nice. Our chef had only been there 4 months so was not ready for all the tricks the seasoned chefs usually do. But he was nice and seemed to enjoy whAt he was doing.

All in all a very nice experience. We will be back in the neR future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Camille was a fantastic server despite h ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Camille was a fantastic server despite how busy the place was

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here multiple times n it was e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Have been here multiple times n it was excellent but this time wasn't that good the chef seem to be tired and look like he was just ready to go wasn't putting on a show at all

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Very disappointed ,had not been there in ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very disappointed ,had not been there in a few years, not half as good as it use to be,will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

All was good except their air conditione ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

All was good except their air conditioner was not working properly. And it was VERY hot outside. We were uncomfortable at the restaurant. Two years ago I believe they were having the same trouble. "FIX your air, Benihana! Your cost is higher than many of the Japanese Steak houses in this area. People wont sit in the heat. " Wont be back any time soon

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Waited 30 minutes after our reservation ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waited 30 minutes after our reservation time.

Told them it was my sons birthday and they forgot

The there were four of us and the waiter automatically added an 18% tip on the bill without asking and left the space open for me to leave an additional on top of the $39.00 he already gave himself.

When I spoke to the manager said he should nothing not even an apologize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Sad

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We've been celebrating my birthday at benihana for about 14 years now. This year was sad. The soup was cold and it took an hour for someone to start cooking our meal, Even though the restaurant was basically empty. First bad experience I've ever had there. Hopefully it's not becoming a pattern. 😕

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I 💓 TONY tony is an outstanding chef.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I 💓 TONY

tony is an outstanding chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

anniversary date

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall it was a nice time but we had to wait quit a while, even though we had a reservation and showed up on time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The waitor was terrible but over all foo ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The waitor was terrible but over all food was awesome and tasted very well like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst di ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst dining experiences that my family has ever had. It took almost three hours for the chef to cook a hibachi meal.

He then admitted that this was his second week on the job and only had three days of training.

Will never go to a Benihana again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Dinner

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Dinner was great for us. We were there celebrating a birthday

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a great place to eat has changed a ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Still a great place to eat has changed a little but still good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER VIBE WAS AWFUL ALTHOUGH OUR CHEF ERIC WAS AWESOME!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I've been to this Benihana multiple time ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been to this Benihana multiple times in the past, and have always had a great time. Not this visit... We arrived around 10 minutes early, and expected to wait until our reservation time. We did not expect to wait another 10 minutes longer due to not having enough chefs on the premises. After we finally were seated, we met our server, a very nice, helpful waitress named Shen- I believe- could be mistaken on the spelling. She was fantastic. Our chef, on the other hand, not so much. 1st, he was late. 2nd, he was cocky. 3rd, he must have been damned near brand new. He dropped most of his tricks, became embarrassed, then defensive. AND! Overcooked our food- steak and lobster- rubbery. This was also the most bland Benihana food I've ever had. I have never before needed to request salt for my rice. I've loved Benihana for years, but this may be my last visit for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The chef Eric was exceptional.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The chef Eric was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Pleased/Disappointed

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I visited for our 14th wedding anniversary and I made the hostess aware of our anniversary for acknowledgement and she said she would inform our server but forgot to do so. This was during lunch and restaurant wasn't busy at all so not sure how it was forgotten but overall we enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not so good

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I dine here quite often but this day was ridiculous!! I booked my reservation online for 4:30, arrived at 4 and didn't get seated until 5:45!! Once we were FINALLY seated we sat at the table for another 20 minutes before our drink order was taken and before we were ever acknowledged. The only good experience about this visit was the chef and it was only his second day on the job so he made a few mistakes but that was just fine seeing that he is still learning. Even after notifying the manager of my long wait time he didn't even try to fix the situation .

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Atmosphere for Couples

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a date night for this evening. What a wonderful time we had. Thank you to the service and wonderful food. The night was magical and we enjoyed the chef's fun play during the meal preparation. It was what we needed away from the kids.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another excellent dinner all good

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

another good meal at benihana the service was excellent and the food was good as always the restaurant was busy but we got in on time and ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been dining at Beniha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Benihanas for years, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The services was bad this time because w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The services was bad this time because we had reservations at 9:30 and was not seated at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Wife's bday dinner

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was very good only downfall was each person was automatically charged 16.00 for a tip without consulting us

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Review

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Benihana's provided the expected quality, entertainment, and service that they are known for. It is great to celebrate birthdays or special occasions. They take a photo and sing "Happy Birthday" in English and Japanese. It's a fun time at the tables and the chefs provide their own entertainment. We go there annually for birthdays.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently fun.

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Consistently fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everyone loved their entrees-chicken, st ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everyone loved their entrees-chicken, steak, and shrimp. Kudos to Eric and Jenny for exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not very happy

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Was not very happy cook did no tricks like last cook wasn't enough food you could see him counting the food when distributed did one trick and it didn't work so he didn't try any more this was my bday and I invited friends told them all about it and nothing

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Will not return

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a reservation, our whole party arrived early, the hostess was very rude, we waited over an hour to be seated, and she continued to seat people with reservations after ours, before us. The manager did not care, and was not helpful. The price was very high for such bad service. We will not be returning.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was poor, but food was great.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was poor, but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

We love going to Benihana. I love the fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We love going to Benihana. I love the food, my kids love the food. The experience is fun. It's not fine dining. It's not a place to impress others with your savoir faire. But it's fun, retro, and delicious.

I do NOT like waiting a half hour for my reservation. This happens regularly. It needs to stop. You make reservations so that you can be seated on arrival. Benihana needs to figure out their capacity, staffing, and schedule. And seat people on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I think the food is the best

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I think the food is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Impressed

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This was my first time at the restaurant and I was not impressed at all my service was terrible and the people we shared a table with were extremely rude and offensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

This was the place of preference for my boyfriend's birthday! We enjoyed the taste, quantity, and quality of the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations waste of time

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very poor service. Had a reservation and when I arrived for my reservation I still had to wait 45 minutes before being seated. This was very ridiculous to me and my family. We had to wait another 30 to 45 minutes to eat because there were only 3 cooks in the building. I will not be going back anytime soon. It was my wife's birthday and she did not enjoy the experience at all. We went because this was her favorite restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.