About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (45)
special occasion (39)
kid-friendly (22)
See All
great for lunch (13)
fit for foodies (12)
romantic (11)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst di ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely horrible. One of the worst dining experiences that my family has ever had. It took almost three hours for the chef to cook a hibachi meal. He then admitted that this was his second week on the job and only had three days of training. Will never go to a Benihana again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on May 18, 2016

Dinner was great for us. We were there celebrating a birthday

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

THE ACTAL WAITRESS NEVER SMILED AND HER VIBE WAS AWFUL ALTHOUGH OUR CHEF ERIC WAS AWESOME!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

I've been to this Benihana multiple time ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been to this Benihana multiple times in the past, and have always had a great time. Not this visit... We arrived around 10 minutes early, and expected to wait until our reservation time. We did not expect to wait another 10 minutes longer due to not having enough chefs on the premises. After we finally were seated, we met our server, a very nice, helpful waitress named Shen- I believe- could be mistaken on the spelling. She was fantastic. Our chef, on the other hand, not so much. 1st, he was late. 2nd, he was cocky. 3rd, he must have been damned near brand new. He dropped most of his tricks, became embarrassed, then defensive. AND! Overcooked our food- steak and lobster- rubbery. This was also the most bland Benihana food I've ever had. I have never before needed to request salt for my rice. I've loved Benihana for years, but this may be my last visit for a very long time.

food5
ambience3
service2

The chef Eric was exceptional.

Dined on May 4, 2016

The chef Eric was exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleased/Disappointed

Dined on May 4, 2016

My husband and I visited for our 14th wedding anniversary and I made the hostess aware of our anniversary for acknowledgement and she said she would inform our server but forgot to do so. This was during lunch and restaurant wasn't busy at all so not sure how it was forgotten but overall we enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not so good

Dined on April 30, 2016

I dine here quite often but this day was ridiculous!! I booked my reservation online for 4:30, arrived at 4 and didn't get seated until 5:45!! Once we were FINALLY seated we sat at the table for another 20 minutes before our drink order was taken and before we were ever acknowledged. The only good experience about this visit was the chef and it was only his second day on the job so he made a few mistakes but that was just fine seeing that he is still learning. Even after notifying the manager of my long wait time he didn't even try to fix the situation .

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere for Couples

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a date night for this evening. What a wonderful time we had. Thank you to the service and wonderful food. The night was magical and we enjoyed the chef's fun play during the meal preparation. It was what we needed away from the kids.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

another excellent dinner all good

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

another good meal at benihana the service was excellent and the food was good as always the restaurant was busy but we got in on time and ate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining at Beniha ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Benihanas for years, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

The services was bad this time because w ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The services was bad this time because we had reservations at 9:30 and was not seated at all

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Wife's bday dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was very good only downfall was each person was automatically charged 16.00 for a tip without consulting us

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Review

Dined on March 30, 2016

Benihana's provided the expected quality, entertainment, and service that they are known for. It is great to celebrate birthdays or special occasions. They take a photo and sing "Happy Birthday" in English and Japanese. It's a fun time at the tables and the chefs provide their own entertainment. We go there annually for birthdays.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Consistently fun.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Consistently fun.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone loved their entrees-chicken, st ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Everyone loved their entrees-chicken, steak, and shrimp. Kudos to Eric and Jenny for exceptional service!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not very happy

Dined on March 27, 2016

Was not very happy cook did no tricks like last cook wasn't enough food you could see him counting the food when distributed did one trick and it didn't work so he didn't try any more this was my bday and I invited friends told them all about it and nothing

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Will not return

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a reservation, our whole party arrived early, the hostess was very rude, we waited over an hour to be seated, and she continued to seat people with reservations after ours, before us. The manager did not care, and was not helpful. The price was very high for such bad service. We will not be returning.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2

Service was poor, but food was great.

Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was poor, but food was great.

food5
ambience3
service3

We love going to Benihana. I love the fo ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love going to Benihana. I love the food, my kids love the food. The experience is fun. It's not fine dining. It's not a place to impress others with your savoir faire. But it's fun, retro, and delicious. I do NOT like waiting a half hour for my reservation. This happens regularly. It needs to stop. You make reservations so that you can be seated on arrival. Benihana needs to figure out their capacity, staffing, and schedule. And seat people on time.

food5
ambience5
service5

I think the food is the best

Dined on March 18, 2016

I think the food is the best

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Not Impressed

Dined on March 18, 2016

This was my first time at the restaurant and I was not impressed at all my service was terrible and the people we shared a table with were extremely rude and offensive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

This was the place of preference for my boyfriend's birthday! We enjoyed the taste, quantity, and quality of the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Reservations waste of time

Dined on March 6, 2016

Very poor service. Had a reservation and when I arrived for my reservation I still had to wait 45 minutes before being seated. This was very ridiculous to me and my family. We had to wait another 30 to 45 minutes to eat because there were only 3 cooks in the building. I will not be going back anytime soon. It was my wife's birthday and she did not enjoy the experience at all. We went because this was her favorite restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful evening!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Beginning at the bar for an adult beverage & visit, the hostess came for us. Our waitress seemed to have been stretched as she had a number of full tables to attend to. The chef, other guests we were seated with and the food made it a great dinner that we will definitely do again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was not good

Dined on March 1, 2016

I have visited many times and this particular day the service was not good at all. We didn't get silverware table was not setup no napkins. The waiter had to be called to get drinks we got no refills. Our cook was the only person doing good. Food was prepared right. Even after the manager was called the manager seemed uninterested and had no empathy for the service his employees displayed. Won't be visiting anymore. Oska can have my business.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not a good value

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a new Hibachi chef who had zero personality, cooked all steaks to well done, used little oil to cook with causing most things to stick and be burned and the waiter handed all of our food and drinks to us over the hibachi grill that was extremely hot.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Memphis Benihana

Dined on February 26, 2016

It took a while to be seated dispite having a reservation. One of the hostesses barely acknowledged me, and did not give me any kind of response when I checked in for my reservation. I gave her a few minutes to get herself together and I didn't get an update until I prompted her. Overall good experience but just a little annoying. I've been to other Benihana's in other cities and this location is not my favorite. However the Food and drinks were good and they sat us with some good table mates.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Night at Benihana

Dined on February 26, 2016

Normally is a really good place to eat, but the on 2/25/16, it was way too hot inside the restaurant and our cook was missing part of the rice and had to wait for the rest. No one pay any attention to him everytime he try to call someone they were busy. Our waitress was slow and clumsy. She dropped a big jug of water right next my foot. I had to get up and go to the bar to get my own drink. I've never experienced this kind of service when I got there. I'm a bit disappointed, but I really like the food even though that night the food was not that great nor full of flavor like previous times.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great visit

Dined on February 23, 2016

Food is always great, especially the sushi!! Great atmosphere!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on February 16, 2016

The presentation was good the food was awesome, the atmosphere was nice it would be a great idea to have 1 or 2 small personal tables.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Reservation not Respected

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived about 30 minutes before our 7:30p reservation. We had to wait to be seated until after 8p. We asked the hostess why we were made to wait after walk-ins. We understood that walk-ins have to be fit in after they've waited for two hours, but if you have reservations that have been booked for weeks, we should not be made to wait. The restaurant perhaps, should have cut off the number of walk-ins before the reservation rush came in. The servers and chefs were extremely tired but they were very patient.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Not what it used to be

Dined on February 15, 2016

Still great food and service, however, from what I remember the hibachi chefs are supposed to be lively and at least a small bit entertaining

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Service from waitress was lacking.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service from waitress was lacking.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day and we had a blast. We had about a 20 minute wait after arriving to the restaurant. Other then that our overall experience was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

long wait, poor chef

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a 730 reservation got sat around 7:45 had to wait a little over an hour for drinks then it was still probably 30 minutes before the chef got to the table goods name was Kevin and there was really no show he seemed to just go through the motions, as if he were annoyed to be cooking, this was my first time at your restaurant and given the experience for the price, I doubt I will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was where we wanted to go for my daughters 17th birthday. They did not have their regular menu to choose from. They had a very expensive menu do to the holiday on Sunday February 14. It was way too high to pay for a family of 7.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good meal every time

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

benihana is always a good place to eat the food is always excellent and the service is put to par go and enjoy the meal

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The cook personality was a plus. VERY n ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The cook personality was a plus. VERY nice and elegant environment

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

dining experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very good, however, i did not appreciate being constantly spattered with soy sauce on my brand new sweater and the chef Eric never acknowledged it even when i mentioned something possibly dripping from the ceiling to the waiter...it was suggested that i just move to another seat more than half-way through dinner. Also, the dining experience would have been more enjoyable if my family didnt have to share it with strangers at our table. (just because we did not fill all of the seats does not make adding more people a very good idea).

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service5

The dinner and service were outstanding ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The dinner and service were outstanding on this specific night. We were seated on time, and the meal was paced appropriately. The only negative I will continue to give this restaurant, for which it can't help for the most part, is the serious drop in unprofessional clientele which seems to have run off most traditional diners at this location. Otherwise, this experience was flawless.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.