Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Memphis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Fun (22)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Family Style (11)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Took us a hour n 15 to be seated with reservations. Waters's rushed us to order our food. They cut the lights on and gave us to go boxes before we were even finished. The wattress begged to keep my change for the tip. I was going to give it to her anyways.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wait time was 0 with a reservation. My server was very good, so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Never disappointed when we go! Another great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Just as good as always! Great food and great fun. 😊

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good dining experience the chef mike did great the best meal I have had there in a while

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love teppanyaki tables! The group setting always makes for a great experience.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The evening we went to Benihana, the air conditioning was out, and they didn't TELL us- we had to suffer through the meal at 85 degrees and several teppanyakis running, and the heat affected all of us negatively. Our chef, John, was the only high point of our experience, and he really seemed to care about the food and keeping us happy (not in a clown way, but in a customer service way).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

server seemed to cater to the younger couple.. only 4 people at our table.... asked them if they wanted icecream but just handed us our check... i had to ask sorta felt invisible in my old age of 60

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our group of six was seated in a timely manner after being courteously greeted by the hostess. Our chef was somewhat entertaining, and our food was prepared to order. My only complaint is that our waitress was not attentive to our needs. She appeared to be friends with the other group of 3 who were seated with our party. We were not served drinks or refills promptly, and requests for soy sauce went unheeded. This put a damper on an otherwise great evening. The food is not inexpensive, so prompt and friendly service should be a given.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good, took almost 2-1/2 hours to complete meal due to newbie chef. You would think that they would have training to get the hibachi chefs up to speed before they put them in front of a table. The chef did the best he could and the food was good but it took way way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our cook was great our waiter was rude and not every helpful. For it being my guests first time it left a lasting impression on them not to come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I specifically made a reservation stating the occasion was for a 28th birthday. We arrived at the restaurant and waited around for about 10min until we realized we were going to be sat down at the same hibachi table with a family that had 4 really rowdy children. We have kids of our own so we understand. We ended up sitting in the lounge area. I have been to 2 different Benihanas in the DFW area, Little Rock, Seattle and here- this one was terrible food wise compared to their other locations. The fried rice was tasteless and had pieces of what seemed like precooked, frozen chicken pieces in it (so not the rice you get when you sit at the table). My filet mignon was pretty tasteless as well. We will probably be back but we won't make the mistake of sitting in the lounge if we want hibachi. Our server was very nice. Thankfully this wasn't my official birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was not very good from the start. Steak was either not very good quality or very overcooked and very tough. Have been to several Benihana's and all have been very good until this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always the food at Benihana is amazing! We had the best chef we've ever had this time. His name is Mike and he was so funny and entertaining. He made the experience awesome! I would go again just to see him.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We went to celebrate my son's 21st birthday, and he has loved this place for years.

The food is pretty good, the service is acceptable. It is a little bit pricey, but not a bad value.

The beer selection is woefully inadequate (only one beer on tap) for a restaurant of this price range.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I always enjoy the food. However, the art of cooking is compromised. That is of part of the reason for coming - to see the chefs at work. Hopefully, you will return to the importance of the guests experiencing art of cooking a good meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good, but service was slow. It took a while before our chef appeared, but once he arrived, he was very engaging and pleasant.

As we were preparing to leave, one of the patrons was experiencing a medical emergency, seizure or heart attack. The staff looked baffled as to what to do and I asked them to call 911. The person accompanying the emergency victim also has 911 on the phone, but keep yelling, "Oh my God, I don't know what to do!" While we moved out of the way, as the employees gathered, I thought someone should have made a public request to see if there was a doctor on the premises. We left while 911 was on the phone, but it was unfortunate that it appeared that the staff were not trained to handle emergencies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. Food was great. The group at our table (2 other parties) all enjoyed the dinner and conversation with new people. Chef was very good as was our server. Very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Hadn't been since I was in middle school, and was not disappointed to return. The quality and amount of food served was satisfying, and Jonathan, our cook, was friendly, fun, and skilled at what he does. My girlfriend's daughter was quite pleased and begged to go back again - which we definitely will!
Keep doing what you're doing, and thanks for making my date fun and pleasurable. It was well worth what was spent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My party was 25 mins late. That being sed they found us a table under 20 minutes. I enjoy the vibe, the chief, & the food! Omg!!! It was delicious. I was celebrating my 26th birthday & enjoy every min of it! I will recommend you do bring some real money if you love your steak & lobster tail like my self!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service and food was excellent.... Also it was a pleasure to know that the waitress could speak Japanese; having lived in that wonderful country for 10 years......Thank you and your outstanding staff for a wonderful birthday lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very rude hostess ! This was our 3rd visit & similar issue every time, had a reservation but still had to wait 15 minutes past reservation time. Why make a reservation then ? The hostess says we are short two servers & a cook so you have to wait. Then we get seated & had to wait another 20-25 minutes. Seriously !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Management was horrible. There where a couple of ppl at the table that wanted their rice without veggies when the chef requested more garlic butter the manager came overight and openly reprimanded him and questioned how could he possible need more. One of the ladies seated with us order 6 orders of rice and her friend ordered 4 of course the guy didn't have enough to complete all the orders of rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made reservations for me and my cousins to celebrate my birthday and it was such a fun time. We had an amazing chef, who was funny and very engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

So much fun and the food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My chef was Mike! He was excellent! I highly recommend him as your cook!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was very slow, could not get tea refilled. Food very over cooked, shrimp and lobster like rubber. Ordered steak medium rare and it was very well done. The poor cook said it was his first day on job and he was very nervous. This is the second time this has happened at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I took my family to this restaurant because I used to love it here. The service was terrible we were seated for an hour before our order was taken. And once our order was taken we waited an additional 30 minutes before we got up and left due to the neglect of the staff. I spoke with the manager on duty and he apologized bit offered no solution. I will not eat there again and I don't appreciate the way we were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and service was great. Room needs a serious makeover. Room looks dirty and worn.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The chef was very entertaining yet very professional. Food was great

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious - entertaining. We love to go to Benihana's. We went to the one in Scottsdale, AZ and now we go to this one in Germantown, TN. Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was a very long wait even with a reservation was not worth the long wait. The soup was terrible and the salad was not great,it was just ok. The meal was good just not outstanding like we were told. It was not worth the price we paid.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I dine here often, food was not as good as it has been before. The chef was great, very engaged. Waitress started rough but ended strong. Overall the experience was just okay.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent Food, even better service, I went back the next day for dinner again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to dine along with the people you love

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My last visit ranked among the top. The cooking was more authentic. The taste of the food was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went out for Valentines Day and it was really cool! We enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly cook we had received. It was well worth the money and I wouldn't mind going back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was great but our chef who was at the Hibachi could have been a little more experienced...That's why I love Benihana

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food not very tasty nor prepared well. Fried Rice over cooked, some pieces of chicken not cooked enough. Filet mignon was very tender. Hadn't been here in awhile and was quite disappointed. Not what I remembered!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.