About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Sushi - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Trio - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Assorted Sushi - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Casual (13)
Family Style (12)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great, and the server that ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was great, and the server that we had was very friendly. However, I was told at the last minute that my food had sesame seeds in it and I'm allergic to it, but I did put in a request for something else. As far as the welcoming people at the front, they were rude. Quita hung up the phone in my face and Jessica, I asked her what was her name and she told me but followed up with her name saying "why" with an attitude.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

The service was terrible. The hostess ha ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was terrible. The hostess had a bad attitude. We had 7:30 reservations but did not get seated until 8:30. Once seated it took another 10 minutes for the waitress to even acknowledge us and take drink orders. Once we placed our order it was another 20 minutes for the chef to begin cooking. The food was just ok. It was a little over cooked and he did not divide the portions evenly Not to mention 2 small kids birthday parties going on. They where loud and would not keep their seats, this is not a place for small children that don't know how to behave in public! Not impressed will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I usually LOVE going to Benihana on spec ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I usually LOVE going to Benihana on special occasions. I went for my 40th birthday and it was the worst experience ever. Service was slow and just horrible. They broke 3 rice bowls while making the fried rice so they had to scrape all the food off the grill. Then wiped the girl with a dirty cloth. Took 15 minutes to get new food. People left the table to go take smoke breaks. Then they grilled the food backwards and didn't get zucchini until the end. Steak was prepared wrong. Portions were a big issue. He didn't have enough fried rice the second time after breaking the dishes and tried to give everyone 3/4 a bowl and people at the table called him on it! For the food to be so expensive this was horrible service and I won't be back. I don't mind paying the amount for the food... but if you ask someone to pay that amount there the Experience should match the Price so that I see there's a value in coming there for dinner. We sat down at 5pm and didn't leave until 8 pm. Broken dishes, starting all over, no apology from management, food portions wrong. There's a small Japanese Steakhouse nearby called Kyotos- they give you more food at a better price. Same grill presentation and delicious Mustard Sauce. They will be getting my business.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We made a reservation for 7 @ 730. The d ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We made a reservation for 7 @ 730. The day after new years. A Monday. Got there very early and still did not get seated until after 845.About 30 minutes after we watched two parties leave without eating we finally got sat no one came to greet us for another 20 minutes ATLEAST (no exaggerration) and it still took another 30 before we got drinks and our order taken. It then took the chef another 30minutes to get finished at another table and make it to our table. All in all it was just horrible the chef was sweet but i would never come back here and i was actually lookin forward to it because it was all of our first time eating at benihanas. I serve tables as well and i am very easy to please.. so when i tell you it was horrible it was probably atrocious to anyone else.. i understand they were short on cooks but there is a way to go about accomodating people where EVERYTHING doesnt seem to have gone wrong. The server was terrible..never smiled never sympathized or apologized for the wait from the door to her actually taking forever to get come to the table as well as going to get the drinks. Nothing. And after complaining to her about what she already knew went wrong (the wait,the wait,the service after the wait,no refills orders wrong drinks wrong)(NO EXAGGERATION PPL) we still had to say the word can i see a manager. At this point we shouldnt have had to ask. But when he did come i had to explain all of this to him as if his employees were not there to witness it for him to take 4 dollars off of everyones check without one time sayin i apologize. I mean.. SUE ME..but i just expected way more as expensive and beauitiful as everything is. The food was mediocre at best but i was so hungry by the time the food came my appetite was gone so i wouldnt trust my judgement on that. But man talk about digusted and dissapointed .. worse than logans on winchester with that service.. SMH

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

another good meal here it was new years ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

another good meal here it was new years eve and busy but service was still good thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The waitress was rude. The food was just ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitress was rude. The food was just ok. You have to pay extra for fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Your prices have went way too high. It w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Your prices have went way too high. It was a great price, now not good. I will not be back. The new owners are money hungry. No green tea. Had to pay for the onion. Soup. It was free not no more. Your business will shut down within 2 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Could have been better.

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We like that it is open on Christmas Day ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We like that it is open on Christmas Day and that they take reservations- the food is well prepared but the service was terrible! It was not the waitress' fault as she had too many tables! the restaurant needs to be less greedy and hire more help! A 5:30 reservation turned into a 7:00 meal. On the plus side, they do accommodate large groups!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This was an amazing experience. The chef ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was an amazing experience. The chef really entertained our children! Thanks for a Merry Christmas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has serious issues. Service q ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This place has serious issues. Service quality is. It what it was. The GM is the biggest liability, which is not something that can be fixed through coaching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Christmas Eve Birthday Dinner. we had a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve Birthday Dinner. we had a good time, chef was funny and the waitress was very good, the place was packed and the service was still great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Love this place. We always enjoy ourselv ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love this place. We always enjoy ourselves when we go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh, let's see. Had a 5:30 reservation ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Oh, let's see. Had a 5:30 reservation and was seated by 5:25. We all ordered around 5:40 and we proceeded to wait...and wait...and wait....and wait. Tables that came in at 6:00 and ordered 30 mins or more after us all got a chef before we did. The waitress was OK, not great, but not bad. Finally, at almost 7, we finally got a chef to come to our table. He tried but he had no charisma and seemed like he didn't know what he was doing and it almost seemed like they pulled an extra employee out of the back to cook for us. Our concerns were voiced; however, no manager stopped by the table, etc.

The food was OK. The rice was overcooked and needed more butter. The veggies and meat was OK. Even excluding the service, the food was overpriced. There are too many local places that are much better than Benihana. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

This was the worst experience I've ever ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the worst experience I've ever had at this restaurant. Service was TERRIBLE. Food was just barely OK. I'm extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Apparently new or just inexperienced hib ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Apparently new or just inexperienced hibachi chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We enjoyed the food as usual. A little d ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food as usual. A little disappointed that they now charge for extra garlic butter. 😞

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter who took the order was horrib ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The waiter who took the order was horrible. He messed up with everyone's order at the table. I will never go back to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The reception staff was not very friendl ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The reception staff was not very friendly and we were welcomed in an offhand manner. The food was good as usual, but the room temperature was much too hot and uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Another good meal tony is the best chef

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Another good meal tony is the best chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was bland, had no taste. My family ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was bland, had no taste. My family and I came to celebrate my birthday and the experience was horrible. I do not plan on coming back. Also, our waitress was rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had a great time celebrating birthdays w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Had a great time celebrating birthdays with friends and catching up. Great place to unwind.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an amazing time at Benihana, Memp ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had an amazing time at Benihana, Memphis! Our Chef, Mike was amazing! He was very personable and interesting. The food he prepared was the best we have had there in years.

Our waitress however, was very neglectful. She did fill orders or refill drinks in a timely manner, and we had to ask for the soup although the chef was already preparing our food. She appeared not to care very much. We had to ask for the ice cream that came with our dinner and she never offered green tea, either.

We are thankful Mike was our Chef! He made the evening memorable and kept all guests at the table engaged, even though we did not know each other.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was average and our chef was pr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was average and our chef was probably below average. Osaka is a better place to go in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good dinner has went down the last few y ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good dinner has went down the last few years but still good this time just hit and miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was not very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The waitress was not very knowledgeable or polite. She didn't turn the grill on. The chef had to make us wait while the grill got hot. The grill got too hot. Our food was not cooked evenly. My husband has and egg allergy and I am a vegetarian. I wanted rice with no eggs or chicken. His rice had no eggs. The people sitting with us that we didn't know has special requests as well. Instead of the chef being professional, he got frustrated with us and called the waitress over and told her he had too many complicated orders. He didn't whisper! He messed our orders up and didn't apologize. We were told that extra garlic butter is an extra charge. That's absolutely absurd! $1.50 for extra garlic butter? Benihana will no longer be a place where my family dines and I will share this awful experience with all of my friends and family members!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the server, and chef.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was excellent and kept us enter ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The chef was excellent and kept us entertained. My group thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and this helped to make my birthday even better. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great. Our cook did an excell ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was great. Our cook did an excellent job entertaining us while cooking. We were craving hibachi, and it satisfied our craving.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the evening. Good chef, reasona ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Good chef, reasonable service. Nice folks at our table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

While overall we had a great experience ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

While overall we had a great experience I would recommend an earlier reservation time. We were the last table in the restaurant. While our Chef was good, he had to keep returning to the kitchen or requesting additional items that weren't on his cart. While no one made us feel rushed it was apparent that we were delaying their closing.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm not sure what has occurred but there ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I'm not sure what has occurred but there are major changes in your restaurant. When a meal cost as much as this does you do not expect and or want to be limited on how your food taste. Garlic butter is an example....it helps the fried rice but now the chef is given very little. The quantity of food has changed. The service has changed. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We eat at Benihana several times a year, ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We eat at Benihana several times a year, and are members of their Chef's Club (free dinner the month of your birthday). The food is consistently good. We had an inexperienced chef, but he was so nice that the little glitches didn't matter and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food,excellent chef but slow server ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Good food,excellent chef but slow server who

Didn't remember instructions accurately

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place used to be SO GOOD. NOW it is ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This place used to be SO GOOD. NOW it is so SAD! The food is not what it used to be and they do not have enough cooks or servers. I miss the staff they used to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

My chief was great , the food Was great ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My chief was great , the food Was great we enjoyed

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I went with my be ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 27, 2016

It was my birthday and I went with my best friend. I had the best time. I was the only female at the table with 7 guys. It was just amazing. I am disabled and I don't get out much. I always look forward to getting my birthday certificate. I used to go with my best friend Sabrina. She passed away. My other best friend brings me. I truly enjoy it. I usually like to buy a figurine from the bar. I have so many. I love it. That is how I celebrate my birthday, IF I AM ABLE. September 18th. Thank you so much. Tiffaney Washington-Rainey

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience, went for my birthday. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great experience, went for my birthday. Food and drinks were good.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cook Leo never interacted with the g ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The cook Leo never interacted with the guest. I assume that it was later in the evening; however, it doesn't justify the lack of service. If so cut the prices after a certain. I am sure that is not an option so bad service should not be an option. I don't believe this is not the expectations of the establishment.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef burned the veggies and was tell ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The chef burned the veggies and was telling us about his personal life. The waitress was overloaded and it seemed to take forever to get simple things like a refill or a fork. The meal doesn't include noodles but I didn't see it clearly printed that it cost more to get noodles. Also u have to pay extra for fried rice which at similar places noodles and fried rice are included in your price. Also my friend went out to smoke and then she couldn't get back in because they locked the doors an hour early because they didn't want to have to stay late per the hostess.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.