Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Memphis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Spicy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Our time here was good. The only downside was our cook seemed new not sure of himself .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 10, 2018

It was my birthday, service was not that good ... didn’t get proper refill on beverages and the waitress was not listening properly to the other quest at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 10, 2018

We had reservations arrived on time and still waited an hour to be seated. Then it took our chef 30 minutes to come out to start cooking so that 1hr 30 minutes. Not to mention the staff had attitudes including our server and a lady at the front hostess counter who said she was not working today so why was she even there at all was my thing and all I wanted to know was how much longer would we have to wait before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

I took my friends and it was their first time going. We all absolutely loved it. We had Chef Carlos and Yessenia as our server and we loved them! Thanks for the experience. We will be back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Overall very pleasant. The dress code seems to have improved the over all environment.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Food is GREAT!!!!!! atmosphere great.. everything. servers are great ... but the wait on the food(service rating) is a little slow. but it is prob staff in the kitchen not servers..we have been there 2 times in the past 2 months and the food takes a long time to come to table.

I would also play more relaxing music and not rock .. or rap... something instrumental and not nervewrecking. it is noisy enough without loud music...

thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Went for my sons birthday. (27th). Food below average and service was bad. It took 2.5 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The customer service was terrible. We had reservations for 5:30 and didn’t leave until 8:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The service wasn’t as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2017

We have been here before and it was pretty good. This time we took a bunch of kids. They ordered kids cups so they could drink out of the glass Japanese figures. They brought the cups in bubble wrap. They said they could no longer serve drinks from glasses but they could take them home which defeats the purpose. They grillvent was so loud that we could not here each other talking. We asked to move and told that they were all about the same. Then they told us they ran out of rice which for a habachi resturant seems ridiculous. We left at that point.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Birthday dinner for 11 year old was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Waitress and Cook were great, but we waited 2 hours after our reservation for the cook to start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We always have a great time. The highlight was having Tony as our Chef. He never disappoints. Always a fun time when he is at our table!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Benihana is a great place to celebrate special occasions!! It's cozy, so we can talk while dining. You get quite a bit of food for the price. The service was on point as well!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were called and told that our reservation was cancelled for this night because the U of M basketball team had made reservations a few weeks before and showed up with more people than they reserved. The hostess who called us was kind and very understanding of our frustrations and I was impressed with her composure, having to make difficult calls to likely more than just us. I was frustrated because we were taking our girl out to celebrate her return from her dad's, and we were dressed and well on the way when we got the call, and our expectations were dashed. But the hostess was understanding and said she'd talk to the manager about compensation for our inconvenience. Our reservation was made for the next night and they covered half our food expense. It was a nice gesture, but I'd like to think that in the future that our reservation would be kept no matter who happened to show up with more than they reserved, in which case I'll always be more than glad to pay the full bill. But, at the end of the day, this is a "first world" problem, and we were given a token of their apology and enjoyed probably the best chef and food that night we've had since we began coming this year, so good on you, Benihana. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Went there for my birthday with my sister , who was visiting from Ohio. Food was excellant and service was great. Will be planning a return visit in the near future.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and expertly prepared by our chef Kevin. Very entertaining and personable.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

It is a shame that almost no chicken on menu. Some people can't eat fish or steak. But the prices stunk. Gouging people on a holiday is wrong. I won't be back. At least you should have use your night time menu. More variety and prices not so jacked up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Our dinner was mediocre, but our table was in an incredibly cold spot. We froze for nearly our entire meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

we went to this restaurant for an extended family dinner. we had ten people and were seated at our own table. the food was delicious, the chef and our server were both funny and good at their jobs, and the atmosphere was lively and fun. THE MANAGER, HOWEVER, SHOULD NOT BE A MANAGER: a busser accidentally tripped as he was leaving the kitchen, sending salads and salad dressing literally flying across the restaurant. one entire salad landed on my mother, covering the back of her wool coat and wool sweater and leaving her to wipe salad dressing out of her hair. while certainly a damper on our good time at dinner, it was clearly an accident, so none of us was angry with the busser. but, when the server asked the manager to address the issue, he did absolutely nothing. he laughed, offered a tepid apology, saying "these things happen" as he walked away. that's it. yes, these things do happen to guests, but, when they do, it's the restaurant manager's responsibility to try to make it right. he should have offered us a round of drinks or complimentary desserts - as a gesture of good will. And, at the very least, he should have OFFERED to take responsibility for the dry cleaning bill of my mother's coat and sweater. but, he did nothing of the sort. luckily, the clothes came clean (the cleaning bill turned out to be just under $90), and while this experience was clearly not the end of the world, it left a very bad taste in our mouths of this man's sensibilities and, unfortunately, of the restaurant he was hired to manage.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

We were cold at table. Better door contol of cold air is needed at the first tables.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Rude front diva named Priscilla! She wants to fight! Rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

I have taken my Family to Benihana’s for Christmas Eve Dinner 17 years in a row.
This was the first time we could NOT get Hot Sake :(
Apparently whoever was supposed to order the Sake forgot to, but, what was most disappointing was that management failed to take appropriate action to resolve the problem!
After an hour we were told the Manager couldn’t find any Sake around Memphis, apparently he couldn’t call and find it before he drove around looking for it?
A very disappointing display of quality customer service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Great time there. Food was good and servers friendly and also the atmosphere was great. Celebrating my birthday.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Our birthday group go there at least once a year in December for Christmas and a members birthday celebration as it is her favorite place, the service is always good and it is a fun experience every time

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Open space for having fun. Great chef. Food was excellent as always.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Been to Benihana many times for almost every occasion as well as just having dinner. Always good and consistent all over the country.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

All I can say make sure if you have a large party everyone has better be on time, or you lose your reservation and hour in a half.. the food was okay our chef wasn’t as live as I’ve seen others... but for the price a bit over rated

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Our dinner tonight was very good, but not quite the best, with a few hiccups. First of all, I had put in a specific request for certain servers, of which 1 was present, that was completely ignored. Second, although the food was good overall, there were a few problems. The food was cooked all out of order with the shrimp and seafood being served last (it is called shrimp appetizer for a reason). Second, a big health violation was done when the cook scraped food directly off someone’s plate, of which she had had already been eating, to re-cook steak. Lastly, for the second time in as many as 4 visits, one party members’s shrimp was forgotten and cooked at the end about 5 minutes after all other food had been served. I also noticed on a Saturday night that the place seemed a bit dead considering. The meal was good and would return, but it just does not seem up the high standards of the brand in general and looks like lots of regulars have given up on this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was good service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Danny was a great chef he prepared the food great and made sure enough was served

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

I have been there on many occasions and this one was by far the best. The chef was very knowledgable and entertaining. He prepared our food to perfection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

It was my birthday! I enjoyed it! B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

I was not to pleased with my chef. There was another couple seated at our table that he gave extra special attention to. First they did not order the fried rice and when he go thru cooking it, he have them some as well which cut down on how much my guest and I received. Also, he had some guy to go to the kitchen for him and brought out another try of shrimp and scallop and gave them double of what they ordered. Also, I order the 6 course which included mushrooms and he didn't cook any mushrooms at all. I normally have good service, but I was not happy that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

had not been there in 20 years (don't know why) and thought it would be fun to celebrate "thanksgiving" early. none of the grandchildren had been there. the children drank "Shirley Temples" just like their mothers 30 years ago. the evening was nostalgic for the adults and new memories for the youngsters our chef was entertaining, food great and he answered all questions the oldest grandchild said he wanted to celebrate his next birthday there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 22, 2017

another good meal at this restaurant although it has went down a little it is still a good meal and a fun time if you get the right table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2017

It was not as good as precious times. Wait to be seated was longer even with reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Management has done a great job of making this restaurant awesome, will love going back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

We arrived a few minutes early. Waited about 20 mins for table. Once at table waited almost an hour before cook came. Food was just ok. Hardly any seasoning on all that good meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Made reservations for my wife and I just a date night visit. Hostess sat us with a couple and their 4 kids! The meal was mediocre, nothing to write home about. We never seen our waitress again after ordering. The chef had to wave someone down just to get us drinks. At the end I tipped the chef with cash and left no tip on our meal ticket which was $89 by the way. A couple days later checking my online banking I was shocked to see that they had added gratuity! Guess they thought we were a party... Worst date ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.