About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Sushi - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Trio - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN
Assorted Sushi - Benihana - Memphis, Memphis, TN

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (16)
Casual (13)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good dinner has went down the last few y ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good dinner has went down the last few years but still good this time just hit and miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waitress was not very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The waitress was not very knowledgeable or polite. She didn't turn the grill on. The chef had to make us wait while the grill got hot. The grill got too hot. Our food was not cooked evenly. My husband has and egg allergy and I am a vegetarian. I wanted rice with no eggs or chicken. His rice had no eggs. The people sitting with us that we didn't know has special requests as well. Instead of the chef being professional, he got frustrated with us and called the waitress over and told her he had too many complicated orders. He didn't whisper! He messed our orders up and didn't apologize. We were told that extra garlic butter is an extra charge. That's absolutely absurd! $1.50 for extra garlic butter? Benihana will no longer be a place where my family dines and I will share this awful experience with all of my friends and family members!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, th ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the server, and chef.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was excellent and kept us enter ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The chef was excellent and kept us entertained. My group thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and this helped to make my birthday even better. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great. Our cook did an excell ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was great. Our cook did an excellent job entertaining us while cooking. We were craving hibachi, and it satisfied our craving.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the evening. Good chef, reasona ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Good chef, reasonable service. Nice folks at our table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

While overall we had a great experience ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

While overall we had a great experience I would recommend an earlier reservation time. We were the last table in the restaurant. While our Chef was good, he had to keep returning to the kitchen or requesting additional items that weren't on his cart. While no one made us feel rushed it was apparent that we were delaying their closing.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I'm not sure what has occurred but there ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I'm not sure what has occurred but there are major changes in your restaurant. When a meal cost as much as this does you do not expect and or want to be limited on how your food taste. Garlic butter is an example....it helps the fried rice but now the chef is given very little. The quantity of food has changed. The service has changed. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We eat at Benihana several times a year, ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We eat at Benihana several times a year, and are members of their Chef's Club (free dinner the month of your birthday). The food is consistently good. We had an inexperienced chef, but he was so nice that the little glitches didn't matter and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food,excellent chef but slow server ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Good food,excellent chef but slow server who

Didn't remember instructions accurately

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This place used to be SO GOOD. NOW it is ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This place used to be SO GOOD. NOW it is so SAD! The food is not what it used to be and they do not have enough cooks or servers. I miss the staff they used to have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

My chief was great , the food Was great ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My chief was great , the food Was great we enjoyed

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I went with my be ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 27, 2016

It was my birthday and I went with my best friend. I had the best time. I was the only female at the table with 7 guys. It was just amazing. I am disabled and I don't get out much. I always look forward to getting my birthday certificate. I used to go with my best friend Sabrina. She passed away. My other best friend brings me. I truly enjoy it. I usually like to buy a figurine from the bar. I have so many. I love it. That is how I celebrate my birthday, IF I AM ABLE. September 18th. Thank you so much. Tiffaney Washington-Rainey

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience, went for my birthday. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great experience, went for my birthday. Food and drinks were good.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cook Leo never interacted with the g ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The cook Leo never interacted with the guest. I assume that it was later in the evening; however, it doesn't justify the lack of service. If so cut the prices after a certain. I am sure that is not an option so bad service should not be an option. I don't believe this is not the expectations of the establishment.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef burned the veggies and was tell ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The chef burned the veggies and was telling us about his personal life. The waitress was overloaded and it seemed to take forever to get simple things like a refill or a fork. The meal doesn't include noodles but I didn't see it clearly printed that it cost more to get noodles. Also u have to pay extra for fried rice which at similar places noodles and fried rice are included in your price. Also my friend went out to smoke and then she couldn't get back in because they locked the doors an hour early because they didn't want to have to stay late per the hostess.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We have always loved eating here. Our f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have always loved eating here. Our favorite is the Fried Rice which cost an extra $3.50, but now you have to pay extra for additional garlic butter at $5.00. We love this place, but will stick to eating here for lunch only.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was very unattended and we we ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server was very unattended and we were her only table at the time. we had to repeatedly ask for refills on our beverages. We were celebrating a birthday and she never acknowledged it. she brought us our check and carry outs in left the table

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

I have been coming to this Benihana for ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been coming to this Benihana for over 15 years. Some of the waitresses that have been there that long always come and say hello. Benihana is one of a kind. I never have had a bad experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I normally really enjoy my dates at Beni ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I normally really enjoy my dates at Benihana but this time I was really underwhelmed. I had a reservation for 8 pm but still had to wait almost 30 mins. While out chef was very nice and personable, he was not prepared and had to keep going to the back for ingredients. The food ended up being over cooked because he kept walking away from the grill. The rice was very dry since the restaurant is very stingy with the garlic butter now. I find it so ridiculous that they now charge $1.50 for extra butter. I will probably think twice about coming back to this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was horrible. We had to keep ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was horrible. We had to keep asking for refills. She barely came and checked on us. When I walked to the bathroom, I noticed she was sitting down in the closed section. Our cook just cooked the food, he didn't put on a show. He messed up on the rice order and it took him longer to fix it. For the price of the food and considering we didn't get good service or a good show, I wouldn't go back.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This was the worst dining experience I h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I have ever experienced. The entire experience was not worth your money or time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This location is not near as good as it ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This location is not near as good as it used to be. They have now started charging for little containers of garlic butter. The prices are high enough already to cover garlic butter. The service during the day is awful. They take your order and then you never see them until they bring you your check. On this particular visit, the waitress that came to our table failed to turn on the cooktop causing another 15 min delay. The cook had come to the table only to realize the grill had not been turned in.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good but the service was le ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was good but the service was less than desirable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is my favorite restaurant I love co ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant I love coming here. The food is great and the people are fantastic who work here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service especially for the price pa ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Poor service especially for the price paid. Cook was the best we've ever seen but everything else was sub-par. Very disappointing dining experience. We won't be back. Nagasaki has you guys over a barrel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I LOVE Benihana. My first time going was ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I LOVE Benihana. My first time going was for my 16th birthday and I had a very enjoyable time. I plan on returning soon. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Benihana Memphis f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been going to Benihana Memphis for over 20 years with no issues. It's our go to place when we need a good casual meal. There was a sweet sixteen party taking up 3 tables and the families were loud, rude to the staff and an adult woman at the table next to us swiped the sauce ramekins from the table.

Everyone at our table was uncomfortable. I know everyone has their own price range but we spent $170 with tax and tip. Not our best experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had the reservation, but they told us ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had the reservation, but they told us it would be 30 min wait when we walked in. Only waited at 20 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum s ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations but has to wait an ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We made reservations but has to wait an almost 30 minutes to be seated. The other people at the table had requested Eric to cook for us. We had to wait almost another hour. My grandson is 3. He was more than irritated by all of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The non private hibachi area. The vegeta ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The non private hibachi area. The vegetables in the rice no seasoning really bland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worst service I have ever experienced at ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced at Benihana. The chicken fried rice and the entrees were not good at all. It tasted as if everything was just thrown together. I was not pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce no ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce not the same.

Celebrating a Birthday and no dessert was offered and had to find someone to take our picture. Seems to have changed for worst. Was a fav for Birthdays! Chef not as playful as previous either.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don't know who the manager on duty was but we had to run down people for drink refills. We also had to Remove our own dirty dishes just to have room to eat. Tony our chef was absolutely wonderful as always but everything else was terrible. Benihana has always been our birthday restaurant but no more. So very disappointed. The waitress did not even know the menu. We had a 12:30 reservation and did not get seated until 1:15. We were also told on the phone that we could not increase our party size because no tables were available for the additional people. Only 3 or 4 chefs were cooking and there were plenty of empty tables all around us. We won't be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great as usual. Our chef was very entert ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great as usual. Our chef was very entertaining and I'm sure he thought we were also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but the time to wait for ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good, but the time to wait for the meal was unacceptable. Reservations were for 7pm, on a Tuesday. Took us 39+ minutes to be seated. Then between 30-45 minutes for a cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Benihana has changed drastically in the ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Benihana has changed drastically in the last few years, my wife expressed that she doesn't have to come back anymore and personally I feel the same. Benihana has put too many restrictions like to use the birthday promo another person has to buy an entrée what if you are single and want to dine alone. They are even rationalizing the garlic butter almost the cheapest product in the restaurant. We just don't enjoy like we used too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening was fine except for our wait ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The evening was fine except for our waitress who kept all of the change when a few of us paid in cash. When we asked her about it she replied "it was just a little change", she kept $0.86 from one person, $1.00 from my sister, and $0.31 from my friend. It is not the fact of how much she kept it is the fact that she kept it without asking or even waiting for us to give her a tip which we were going to give her. And the attitude about the amount she kept was very very rude!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.