Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Memphis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Fun (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (19)
Family Style (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fireplace (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My party was 25 mins late. That being sed they found us a table under 20 minutes. I enjoy the vibe, the chief, & the food! Omg!!! It was delicious. I was celebrating my 26th birthday & enjoy every min of it! I will recommend you do bring some real money if you love your steak & lobster tail like my self!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service and food was excellent.... Also it was a pleasure to know that the waitress could speak Japanese; having lived in that wonderful country for 10 years......Thank you and your outstanding staff for a wonderful birthday lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very rude hostess ! This was our 3rd visit & similar issue every time, had a reservation but still had to wait 15 minutes past reservation time. Why make a reservation then ? The hostess says we are short two servers & a cook so you have to wait. Then we get seated & had to wait another 20-25 minutes. Seriously !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Management was horrible. There where a couple of ppl at the table that wanted their rice without veggies when the chef requested more garlic butter the manager came overight and openly reprimanded him and questioned how could he possible need more. One of the ladies seated with us order 6 orders of rice and her friend ordered 4 of course the guy didn't have enough to complete all the orders of rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made reservations for me and my cousins to celebrate my birthday and it was such a fun time. We had an amazing chef, who was funny and very engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

So much fun and the food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My chef was Mike! He was excellent! I highly recommend him as your cook!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was very slow, could not get tea refilled. Food very over cooked, shrimp and lobster like rubber. Ordered steak medium rare and it was very well done. The poor cook said it was his first day on job and he was very nervous. This is the second time this has happened at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I took my family to this restaurant because I used to love it here. The service was terrible we were seated for an hour before our order was taken. And once our order was taken we waited an additional 30 minutes before we got up and left due to the neglect of the staff. I spoke with the manager on duty and he apologized bit offered no solution. I will not eat there again and I don't appreciate the way we were treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and service was great. Room needs a serious makeover. Room looks dirty and worn.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The chef was very entertaining yet very professional. Food was great

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Delicious - entertaining. We love to go to Benihana's. We went to the one in Scottsdale, AZ and now we go to this one in Germantown, TN. Our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Was a very long wait even with a reservation was not worth the long wait. The soup was terrible and the salad was not great,it was just ok. The meal was good just not outstanding like we were told. It was not worth the price we paid.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I dine here often, food was not as good as it has been before. The chef was great, very engaged. Waitress started rough but ended strong. Overall the experience was just okay.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent Food, even better service, I went back the next day for dinner again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to dine along with the people you love

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My last visit ranked among the top. The cooking was more authentic. The taste of the food was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went out for Valentines Day and it was really cool! We enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly cook we had received. It was well worth the money and I wouldn't mind going back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was great but our chef who was at the Hibachi could have been a little more experienced...That's why I love Benihana

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food not very tasty nor prepared well. Fried Rice over cooked, some pieces of chicken not cooked enough. Filet mignon was very tender. Hadn't been here in awhile and was quite disappointed. Not what I remembered!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Felt uninvited and rushed throughout the entire experience. The food was average. I doubt I will be returning to this establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Alcoholic beverages are a little too high priced, but other than that everything else was great .

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The hostess was kind of rude, but our waitress and chef were very friendly

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seems as if the server paid more attention to one end of the table. She didn't bring it the dessert or ask if we needed refills.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a awesome time> Also love being able to make reservations on line.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was not great and I thought it was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Steven was a great Chef and made our experience great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Terrible experience! Waited over a hour to be seated! Once we were seated waited a additional 15 minutes before the server greeted us. We received our drinks and appetizers at a descent time, however we waited over a hour for our entrees. Only to get cold food! Horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food. A lot of cutbacks though. Ex: less veggies, charge for extra garlic butter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Your fried rice makes the meal. If it is prepared right the whole meal is good. But if it is bland with no flavor it sets the tone for the whole meal. Please make sure they prepare it right.Make the chefs TASTE what they make. Then they will know what to add

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

THE FOOD WAS OKAY...THE SERVICE WAS HORRIBLE THE WAITRESS WAS VERY IRRITATED AND FORGETTING EVERYTHING YOU ASK FOR...VERY UNPROFESSIONAL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My son and I eat Benihana at least 3 times a month. Although it is very pricey, it is our favorite place to eat. I have been eating Benihana every since it reopened. However, even though the restaurant has taken a turn for the worst I still accommodate that change. The thing that makes Benihana better than any other restaurant of its kind is the garlic butter. Apparently, some brainiac thought let's cut the garlic but increase the price for it. That's crazy. Smart business decision however, now since the food is not cooked in the usual amount of garlic guess what Benihana now taste just like everybody else. I am a faithful customer but the crowd that used to be there to me, just isn't there anymore. The number of cooks are at a low number. It's crazy, but we (my son and I) will continue to enjoy our favorite restaurant I just hope the bosses find a a medium.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful evening with great food, excellent service and an entertaining chef. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and the cook was awesome I will definitely be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Healthy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been going to this location since the very early 1980s. The best thing about this place is the chef Tony...he has been there as long as I have been going. Tony is a good, funny guy, and THE best teppan chef in the world.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The quality of food has declined. Our server was good but chef was terrible. I ordered filet with shrimp and the chef gave my shrimp to the guy next to me who did not even order shrimp but was glad to get it! I ended up with the appetizer shrimp! It was very disappointing and will probably not come back anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We decided to try them out again after previous mediocre experiences. The chef was super skilled, really nice and funny.
I just got done from dinner just got home and I am starving. The kitchen people messed up on the actual meat and seafood order as there was not enough we got jipped on the shrimp big time and all the vegetables we got jipped on as well. We never got our dessert we were supposed to get a lot of things seem to be missing. I should not be this hungry after dinner. Also we found one very very small piece of chicken in our chicken fried rice that came out to us 4 hour to go order which came before our Chef even showed up to prepare our meals so my to-go order was sitting for approximately two and a half hours. Maybe it's a good thing that chicken fried rice didn't have that much chicken in it. This restaurant is trying to appeal to the high-end dining crowd but with this kind of stuff I don't understand why they're doing this they're trying to be really cheap with the shrimp or whatever I got a tiny little ration of shrimp and that was it. And the shrimp was delicious I wish I could have had some more of it because it was really really a small portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I have been going to this location for 22 years. It is my favorite restaurant! Unfortunately, food and experience levels continue to decline. The seafood no longer tastes fresh. They now charge extra for garlic butter, the main ingredient in most of their foods. So if you don't ask and pay for it, they leave it out and food tastes terrible. Your whole experience depends on your chef. Most chefs now are inexperienced and don't know how to cook much less do any tricks. I am sad to say the overall quality and experience is not at the best level. Benihana, please fix this!! I am a loyal customer of 22 years and want to keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The wait to actually place an order was really bad! The wait to get a chef to cook...horrible. The food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.