About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Casual (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Family Style (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to dine along with the people you love

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My last visit ranked among the top. The cooking was more authentic. The taste of the food was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend went out for Valentines Day and it was really cool! We enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly cook we had received. It was well worth the money and I wouldn't mind going back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was great but our chef who was at the Hibachi could have been a little more experienced...That's why I love Benihana

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food not very tasty nor prepared well. Fried Rice over cooked, some pieces of chicken not cooked enough. Filet mignon was very tender. Hadn't been here in awhile and was quite disappointed. Not what I remembered!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Felt uninvited and rushed throughout the entire experience. The food was average. I doubt I will be returning to this establishment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Alcoholic beverages are a little too high priced, but other than that everything else was great .

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The hostess was kind of rude, but our waitress and chef were very friendly

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seems as if the server paid more attention to one end of the table. She didn't bring it the dessert or ask if we needed refills.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a awesome time> Also love being able to make reservations on line.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was not great and I thought it was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Steven was a great Chef and made our experience great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Terrible experience! Waited over a hour to be seated! Once we were seated waited a additional 15 minutes before the server greeted us. We received our drinks and appetizers at a descent time, however we waited over a hour for our entrees. Only to get cold food! Horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food. A lot of cutbacks though. Ex: less veggies, charge for extra garlic butter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Your fried rice makes the meal. If it is prepared right the whole meal is good. But if it is bland with no flavor it sets the tone for the whole meal. Please make sure they prepare it right.Make the chefs TASTE what they make. Then they will know what to add

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

THE FOOD WAS OKAY...THE SERVICE WAS HORRIBLE THE WAITRESS WAS VERY IRRITATED AND FORGETTING EVERYTHING YOU ASK FOR...VERY UNPROFESSIONAL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My son and I eat Benihana at least 3 times a month. Although it is very pricey, it is our favorite place to eat. I have been eating Benihana every since it reopened. However, even though the restaurant has taken a turn for the worst I still accommodate that change. The thing that makes Benihana better than any other restaurant of its kind is the garlic butter. Apparently, some brainiac thought let's cut the garlic but increase the price for it. That's crazy. Smart business decision however, now since the food is not cooked in the usual amount of garlic guess what Benihana now taste just like everybody else. I am a faithful customer but the crowd that used to be there to me, just isn't there anymore. The number of cooks are at a low number. It's crazy, but we (my son and I) will continue to enjoy our favorite restaurant I just hope the bosses find a a medium.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful evening with great food, excellent service and an entertaining chef. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and the cook was awesome I will definitely be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Healthy, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been going to this location since the very early 1980s. The best thing about this place is the chef Tony...he has been there as long as I have been going. Tony is a good, funny guy, and THE best teppan chef in the world.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The quality of food has declined. Our server was good but chef was terrible. I ordered filet with shrimp and the chef gave my shrimp to the guy next to me who did not even order shrimp but was glad to get it! I ended up with the appetizer shrimp! It was very disappointing and will probably not come back anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We decided to try them out again after previous mediocre experiences. The chef was super skilled, really nice and funny.

I just got done from dinner just got home and I am starving. The kitchen people messed up on the actual meat and seafood order as there was not enough we got jipped on the shrimp big time and all the vegetables we got jipped on as well. We never got our dessert we were supposed to get a lot of things seem to be missing. I should not be this hungry after dinner. Also we found one very very small piece of chicken in our chicken fried rice that came out to us 4 hour to go order which came before our Chef even showed up to prepare our meals so my to-go order was sitting for approximately two and a half hours. Maybe it's a good thing that chicken fried rice didn't have that much chicken in it. This restaurant is trying to appeal to the high-end dining crowd but with this kind of stuff I don't understand why they're doing this they're trying to be really cheap with the shrimp or whatever I got a tiny little ration of shrimp and that was it. And the shrimp was delicious I wish I could have had some more of it because it was really really a small portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I have been going to this location for 22 years. It is my favorite restaurant! Unfortunately, food and experience levels continue to decline. The seafood no longer tastes fresh. They now charge extra for garlic butter, the main ingredient in most of their foods. So if you don't ask and pay for it, they leave it out and food tastes terrible. Your whole experience depends on your chef. Most chefs now are inexperienced and don't know how to cook much less do any tricks. I am sad to say the overall quality and experience is not at the best level. Benihana, please fix this!! I am a loyal customer of 22 years and want to keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The wait to actually place an order was really bad! The wait to get a chef to cook...horrible. The food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was great, and the server that we had was very friendly. However, I was told at the last minute that my food had sesame seeds in it and I'm allergic to it, but I did put in a request for something else. As far as the welcoming people at the front, they were rude. Quita hung up the phone in my face and Jessica, I asked her what was her name and she told me but followed up with her name saying "why" with an attitude.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service was terrible. The hostess had a bad attitude. We had 7:30 reservations but did not get seated until 8:30. Once seated it took another 10 minutes for the waitress to even acknowledge us and take drink orders. Once we placed our order it was another 20 minutes for the chef to begin cooking. The food was just ok. It was a little over cooked and he did not divide the portions evenly Not to mention 2 small kids birthday parties going on. They where loud and would not keep their seats, this is not a place for small children that don't know how to behave in public! Not impressed will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I usually LOVE going to Benihana on special occasions. I went for my 40th birthday and it was the worst experience ever. Service was slow and just horrible. They broke 3 rice bowls while making the fried rice so they had to scrape all the food off the grill. Then wiped the girl with a dirty cloth. Took 15 minutes to get new food. People left the table to go take smoke breaks. Then they grilled the food backwards and didn't get zucchini until the end. Steak was prepared wrong. Portions were a big issue. He didn't have enough fried rice the second time after breaking the dishes and tried to give everyone 3/4 a bowl and people at the table called him on it! For the food to be so expensive this was horrible service and I won't be back. I don't mind paying the amount for the food... but if you ask someone to pay that amount there the Experience should match the Price so that I see there's a value in coming there for dinner. We sat down at 5pm and didn't leave until 8 pm. Broken dishes, starting all over, no apology from management, food portions wrong. There's a small Japanese Steakhouse nearby called Kyotos- they give you more food at a better price. Same grill presentation and delicious Mustard Sauce. They will be getting my business.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We made a reservation for 7 @ 730. The day after new years. A Monday. Got there very early and still did not get seated until after 845.About 30 minutes after we watched two parties leave without eating we finally got sat no one came to greet us for another 20 minutes ATLEAST (no exaggerration) and it still took another 30 before we got drinks and our order taken. It then took the chef another 30minutes to get finished at another table and make it to our table. All in all it was just horrible the chef was sweet but i would never come back here and i was actually lookin forward to it because it was all of our first time eating at benihanas. I serve tables as well and i am very easy to please.. so when i tell you it was horrible it was probably atrocious to anyone else.. i understand they were short on cooks but there is a way to go about accomodating people where EVERYTHING doesnt seem to have gone wrong. The server was terrible..never smiled never sympathized or apologized for the wait from the door to her actually taking forever to get come to the table as well as going to get the drinks. Nothing. And after complaining to her about what she already knew went wrong (the wait,the wait,the service after the wait,no refills orders wrong drinks wrong)(NO EXAGGERATION PPL) we still had to say the word can i see a manager. At this point we shouldnt have had to ask. But when he did come i had to explain all of this to him as if his employees were not there to witness it for him to take 4 dollars off of everyones check without one time sayin i apologize. I mean.. SUE ME..but i just expected way more as expensive and beauitiful as everything is. The food was mediocre at best but i was so hungry by the time the food came my appetite was gone so i wouldnt trust my judgement on that. But man talk about digusted and dissapointed .. worse than logans on winchester with that service.. SMH

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

another good meal here it was new years eve and busy but service was still good thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitress was rude. The food was just ok. You have to pay extra for fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Your prices have went way too high. It was a great price, now not good. I will not be back. The new owners are money hungry. No green tea. Had to pay for the onion. Soup. It was free not no more. Your business will shut down within 2 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We like that it is open on Christmas Day and that they take reservations- the food is well prepared but the service was terrible! It was not the waitress' fault as she had too many tables! the restaurant needs to be less greedy and hire more help! A 5:30 reservation turned into a 7:00 meal. On the plus side, they do accommodate large groups!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was an amazing experience. The chef really entertained our children! Thanks for a Merry Christmas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This place has serious issues. Service quality is. It what it was. The GM is the biggest liability, which is not something that can be fixed through coaching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve Birthday Dinner. we had a good time, chef was funny and the waitress was very good, the place was packed and the service was still great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Oh, let's see. Had a 5:30 reservation and was seated by 5:25. We all ordered around 5:40 and we proceeded to wait...and wait...and wait....and wait. Tables that came in at 6:00 and ordered 30 mins or more after us all got a chef before we did. The waitress was OK, not great, but not bad. Finally, at almost 7, we finally got a chef to come to our table. He tried but he had no charisma and seemed like he didn't know what he was doing and it almost seemed like they pulled an extra employee out of the back to cook for us. Our concerns were voiced; however, no manager stopped by the table, etc.

The food was OK. The rice was overcooked and needed more butter. The veggies and meat was OK. Even excluding the service, the food was overpriced. There are too many local places that are much better than Benihana. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love this place. We always enjoy ourselves when we go.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was the worst experience I've ever had at this restaurant. Service was TERRIBLE. Food was just barely OK. I'm extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Apparently new or just inexperienced hibachi chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food as usual. A little disappointed that they now charge for extra garlic butter. 😞

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The waiter who took the order was horrible. He messed up with everyone's order at the table. I will never go back to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The reception staff was not very friendly and we were welcomed in an offhand manner. The food was good as usual, but the room temperature was much too hot and uncomfortable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Another good meal tony is the best chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was bland, had no taste. My family and I came to celebrate my birthday and the experience was horrible. I do not plan on coming back. Also, our waitress was rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Had a great time celebrating birthdays with friends and catching up. Great place to unwind.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had an amazing time at Benihana, Memphis! Our Chef, Mike was amazing! He was very personable and interesting. The food he prepared was the best we have had there in years.

Our waitress however, was very neglectful. She did fill orders or refill drinks in a timely manner, and we had to ask for the soup although the chef was already preparing our food. She appeared not to care very much. We had to ask for the ice cream that came with our dinner and she never offered green tea, either.

We are thankful Mike was our Chef! He made the evening memorable and kept all guests at the table engaged, even though we did not know each other.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was average and our chef was probably below average. Osaka is a better place to go in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Good dinner has went down the last few years but still good this time just hit and miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.