About Benihana - Memphis

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Memphis
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Memphis
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Memphis
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis
Sushi - Benihana - Memphis
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Memphis
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Memphis
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Memphis
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Memphis
Trio - Benihana - Memphis
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Memphis
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Memphis
Chef - Benihana - Memphis
Chef Trick - Benihana - Memphis
Assorted Sushi - Benihana - Memphis

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
See All
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great experience, went for my birthday. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great experience, went for my birthday. Food and drinks were good.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cook Leo never interacted with the g ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The cook Leo never interacted with the guest. I assume that it was later in the evening; however, it doesn't justify the lack of service. If so cut the prices after a certain. I am sure that is not an option so bad service should not be an option. I don't believe this is not the expectations of the establishment.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef burned the veggies and was tell ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The chef burned the veggies and was telling us about his personal life. The waitress was overloaded and it seemed to take forever to get simple things like a refill or a fork. The meal doesn't include noodles but I didn't see it clearly printed that it cost more to get noodles. Also u have to pay extra for fried rice which at similar places noodles and fried rice are included in your price. Also my friend went out to smoke and then she couldn't get back in because they locked the doors an hour early because they didn't want to have to stay late per the hostess.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We have always loved eating here. Our f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have always loved eating here. Our favorite is the Fried Rice which cost an extra $3.50, but now you have to pay extra for additional garlic butter at $5.00. We love this place, but will stick to eating here for lunch only.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was very unattended and we we ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server was very unattended and we were her only table at the time. we had to repeatedly ask for refills on our beverages. We were celebrating a birthday and she never acknowledged it. she brought us our check and carry outs in left the table

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

I have been coming to this Benihana for ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been coming to this Benihana for over 15 years. Some of the waitresses that have been there that long always come and say hello. Benihana is one of a kind. I never have had a bad experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I normally really enjoy my dates at Beni ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I normally really enjoy my dates at Benihana but this time I was really underwhelmed. I had a reservation for 8 pm but still had to wait almost 30 mins. While out chef was very nice and personable, he was not prepared and had to keep going to the back for ingredients. The food ended up being over cooked because he kept walking away from the grill. The rice was very dry since the restaurant is very stingy with the garlic butter now. I find it so ridiculous that they now charge $1.50 for extra butter. I will probably think twice about coming back to this location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server was horrible. We had to keep ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was horrible. We had to keep asking for refills. She barely came and checked on us. When I walked to the bathroom, I noticed she was sitting down in the closed section. Our cook just cooked the food, he didn't put on a show. He messed up on the rice order and it took him longer to fix it. For the price of the food and considering we didn't get good service or a good show, I wouldn't go back.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

This was the worst dining experience I h ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I have ever experienced. The entire experience was not worth your money or time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This location is not near as good as it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This location is not near as good as it used to be. They have now started charging for little containers of garlic butter. The prices are high enough already to cover garlic butter. The service during the day is awful. They take your order and then you never see them until they bring you your check. On this particular visit, the waitress that came to our table failed to turn on the cooktop causing another 15 min delay. The cook had come to the table only to realize the grill had not been turned in.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent food!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good but the service was le ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was good but the service was less than desirable.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is my favorite restaurant I love co ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant I love coming here. The food is great and the people are fantastic who work here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service especially for the price pa ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Poor service especially for the price paid. Cook was the best we've ever seen but everything else was sub-par. Very disappointing dining experience. We won't be back. Nagasaki has you guys over a barrel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I LOVE Benihana. My first time going was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I LOVE Benihana. My first time going was for my 16th birthday and I had a very enjoyable time. I plan on returning soon. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Benihana Memphis f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been going to Benihana Memphis for over 20 years with no issues. It's our go to place when we need a good casual meal. There was a sweet sixteen party taking up 3 tables and the families were loud, rude to the staff and an adult woman at the table next to us swiped the sauce ramekins from the table.

Everyone at our table was uncomfortable. I know everyone has their own price range but we spent $170 with tax and tip. Not our best experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had the reservation, but they told us ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had the reservation, but they told us it would be 30 min wait when we walked in. Only waited at 20 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum s ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Super tasty but bring back the yum yum sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations but has to wait an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We made reservations but has to wait an almost 30 minutes to be seated. The other people at the table had requested Eric to cook for us. We had to wait almost another hour. My grandson is 3. He was more than irritated by all of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The non private hibachi area. The vegeta ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The non private hibachi area. The vegetables in the rice no seasoning really bland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worst service I have ever experienced at ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced at Benihana. The chicken fried rice and the entrees were not good at all. It tasted as if everything was just thrown together. I was not pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce no ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Soup, salad dressing and ginger sauce not the same.

Celebrating a Birthday and no dessert was offered and had to find someone to take our picture. Seems to have changed for worst. Was a fav for Birthdays! Chef not as playful as previous either.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst service ever. I don't know who the manager on duty was but we had to run down people for drink refills. We also had to Remove our own dirty dishes just to have room to eat. Tony our chef was absolutely wonderful as always but everything else was terrible. Benihana has always been our birthday restaurant but no more. So very disappointed. The waitress did not even know the menu. We had a 12:30 reservation and did not get seated until 1:15. We were also told on the phone that we could not increase our party size because no tables were available for the additional people. Only 3 or 4 chefs were cooking and there were plenty of empty tables all around us. We won't be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great as usual. Our chef was very entert ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great as usual. Our chef was very entertaining and I'm sure he thought we were also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but the time to wait for ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was good, but the time to wait for the meal was unacceptable. Reservations were for 7pm, on a Tuesday. Took us 39+ minutes to be seated. Then between 30-45 minutes for a cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Benihana has changed drastically in the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Benihana has changed drastically in the last few years, my wife expressed that she doesn't have to come back anymore and personally I feel the same. Benihana has put too many restrictions like to use the birthday promo another person has to buy an entrée what if you are single and want to dine alone. They are even rationalizing the garlic butter almost the cheapest product in the restaurant. We just don't enjoy like we used too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening was fine except for our wait ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The evening was fine except for our waitress who kept all of the change when a few of us paid in cash. When we asked her about it she replied "it was just a little change", she kept $0.86 from one person, $1.00 from my sister, and $0.31 from my friend. It is not the fact of how much she kept it is the fact that she kept it without asking or even waiting for us to give her a tip which we were going to give her. And the attitude about the amount she kept was very very rude!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

My absolute favorite restaurant. The fri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My absolute favorite restaurant. The fried rice is the best. Everything cooked with garlic butter is the key. Been going since 1994!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant has totally gone down in ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant has totally gone down in atmosphere, quality of food and dress code. There needs to be a dress code established in this restaurant. There were some customers that came in clothes dressed for a night club. The cook at our table has been there for 6 months. So there quality and taste of food was below standard. It is not his fault. We sat by two tables that was totally loud. The group did come by our table to apologize for their loud behavior. The management should get a better control of this restaurant. It has totally changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My experience was not the best due to ne ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My experience was not the best due to new policies. There is a fee for garlic butter which is a condiment that was usually on the side. We were not aware of this until after the food was prepared. I had a party of 9 and we had to share a waitress with 5 other tables. I was so embarrassed because we were waiting for refills awhile. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointing outing at Benihana for the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Disappointing outing at Benihana for the 2nd time. Used to be a great spot to celebrate birthdays and other special occasions, even just the casual dinner out. Quality and quantity have dropped off the deep end. Location seems to be pulling back on both to possibly gain revenue.... Both this outing and several before, I could tell the restaurant was attracting obnoxious/loud crowds which just took away from the experience. Very slow service and no help to the cooks when they sought out errors on whoever gave them the orders/supplies for their respected table. Huge disappointment to what was meant to be a fun relaxing night out with family.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The service is horrible and so are the m ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service is horrible and so are the managers. For about a year I've noticed a dramatic change in the service. I complained to the general manager and manger both are very disrespectful and unfriendly. Until new management is brought in I won't be back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

I love Benihanas. I always have a great ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love Benihanas. I always have a great experience there and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't really recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Can't really recommend this restaurant. Food was not so good and the service was just barely average. I will pass on them next time I desire to go out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were a party of two. We was seated w ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We were a party of two. We was seated with a couple and a mother with two kids. The service was great and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having made reservations, we expected se ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having made reservations, we expected seating when we arrived and we arrived on time. However, it was 15 to 20 minutes before we were seated. Other than that, we all enjoyed our food and the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but they didn't have any brow ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food but they didn't have any brown rice left which was kind of dissapointing. Also, our chef's appearance was not the greatest. Her clothing was really unclean and almost made me not want to eat there anymore. Overall, the food was good and the sushi was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Real japanese cook and everyone was grea ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Real japanese cook and everyone was great. Perfect time which is rare these days. Our waiter was the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were denied garlic butter only if we ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were denied garlic butter only if we purchased it they no longer use the amount they use to in the dishes and the food tasted horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a reservation @ 6:30. We weren't seated until 6:50. It was then another 20 minutes before a server appeared at the table ( after a member of our party went to the host stand and asked if we had a waitress). Our server, and I apologize if there were extenuating circumstances, was terrible at best. The table was in need of a lot more tending than she was able to provide. The food was good, but not as good as it was when I used to frequent this establishment. The icing on the cake was the fact that she returned my credit card to me, and when I asked for a pen to sign the slip, she disappeared. I had to track down another server to use a pen. Pretty ridiculous. This used to be my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, it has gone seriously downhill. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.