Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Memphis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Casual (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a great time at Benihana Memphis. The chef was perfect and even had new tricks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Not a good place to go on your lunch hour
Tooooooo slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Extremely over priced. The building and the atmosphere are dated and heavily in need of upgrades. You're paying luxury prices in a not so luxurious building. And they charge for fried rice and water. What the hell? I'll just stick to all the other hibachi options in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My sister's 50th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Perfect for going out with friends and better for date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Spicy, Casual, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

another good meal here the restaurant wasn't too busy and we got in and out quickly, the food was cooked to order and all four of us enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was my third visit within 3 weeks, and it was great from start to finish. I want to give special recognition to Shin for being an outstanding waitress and Stephen for cooking an excellent dinner. If these 3 recent visits are a sign, it definitely seems this restaurant is back on the path to better food, management, and service which is great to see after being a restaurant staple in Memphis for many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Off the chart. The food is so good. Great time and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was my second dinner within the last week, and it was just as good as the last. We were seated immediately at our reservation time and had Shin as our server and Tony as our chef. Both are excellent and have been here since I started coming to this location over 20 years ago it seems. The food was delicious as well, especially the cold water lobster tails and shrimp sauté. I will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had to wait for our table even with reservations. Chef was boring and not into it. Food was average to below average not what was expected compared to Kobe. Would not recommend at all for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Tony is awesome and our food was perfect although I was able to eat everything so either I'm more ambitious than I used to be or the potions were smaller. Bartender was very slow and both drinks I ordered were incorrect and the service was slower than in past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

On this particular visit, the entire experience was great! We were seated at our reservation time, service was friendly and efficient, and the cook was engaging with excellent food across all items. Lastly, the manager did stop by to ask how everything was going. Hopefully, this visit is a sign for the future and if so, I will continue to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Husband's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Brought our 4 year old and 2 year old to Habachi ... and they loved it!!!! Other family's with toddlers there as well and a hit. Kids want to know when they can go back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything except my waitress was great. The chef Tony was amazing

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Less than average food. Was over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food and services were great , The atmosphere was very nice

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our particular cook applied too much seasoning on all of the food except the rice. He was really heavy handed. In previous visits I have not experienced this issue before.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

First Time visiting Benihana's and it was for my anniversary. Made reservations online but still had to wait to be seated. Plates were dirty and I had to ask for some clean ones. Those came out and they were dirty too. They charge you extra for fried rice at a Teppanyaki place??? I couldn't understand that. Not sure how long this establishment has been there but for it suppose to be an upscale place, it looks raned down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We didn't get seated. Customer service was rude and unpleasant. My reservation was for 3:45 And I was there 15 minutes early and they would not seat me or my guest. I had one party member that was 2 minutes late and they would not sit us. Management would not talk to me.. I don't feel I have to beg anyone to spend money with them. My last time attempting to eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was mediocre and over priced. I've eaten at other Benihanas so I was pretty surprised and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Rice was dry. Food taste was not what I recalled a couple months ago. Meat not juicy but dry. Portions were small compared to other Japanese steak houses locally but prices were higher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our hibachi chef was spectacular, gave my girl's daughter an entertaining night. Food was tasty and the appetizers came out in a timely fashion before the big meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My family and I go to Benihana In Indianapolis, IN frequently - at least 2-4 times per month. I suggested to my friend while I was visiting her that we try her Benihana in Memphis, TN. It was horrible - service, food and choice of sauces - the best part was the sushi. I was upset as we spent alot that day and everytime I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great time with our friends. Ready to visit again in the near future

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our party of 4 had noon reservations to celebrate my husband's birthday. We were seated fairly quickly, but not at noon, and there were plenty of open tables. Our server was polite, but she was very slow to serve our drinks and did not offer refills without being asked. Our chef was efficient and quite entertaining for the two young children seated with us. The food was good and was abundant; we all asked for take home boxes. No photo was taken or dessert offered even though a special occasion had been specified on the reservation. It was a fun meal, but the employees all seemed to just be "going through the motions."

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We showed up at 8 o'clock and were promptly seated. We were served an appetizer and drink fairly quickly but then we sat for over an hour waiting for a chef to come to our table. The waitress nor did the manager come up and say anything to us until we complained. We had a friend in from England and we're excited to take him to this restaurant. At 9:20, and hour and 20 minutes after we were seated, there was still not the shelf ins sight and the manager could not give us an estimated time. We walked and was thoroughly disappointed. We will never go back again ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good dinner service was excellent as usual the place was crowded but ran smoothly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Chef was awesome. Stated his stage name was Danny LOL. Insulting when your another nationality and use a American name like it is a joke. Grill need clean really bad.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter was nice but very inexperienced. None of his "tricks" were executed correctly. Additionally he sent a raw egg across the grill that cracked open on my designer purse.

The food was okay, but this was definitely not my most favorite Benihana experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed the evening with friends . The Qaulity and quantity of food were good. Drinks service very poor in bar while we waited to be seated. As a suggestion you should ask if you mind being seated with small children. We were not.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The server wasn't good..she never came back to check on drinks or anything..plus she charged more from my debit card without me telling her to

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great experience. The waitress was a little loopy but she said she was new

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Thursday, June 29th, 2017 - Reservation for Larry Elrod.
It was my husband's 50th birthday and he had never been to Benihana. I surprised him by saying that we were going somewhere that required reservations. We had reservations for 6:30, but arrived a little prior to 6:00 pm - by 6:15 we were seated. The waitress was great in that she immediately took our drink order and soon our food order. The chef was awesome and we loved every minute of his presentation. We had chicken/shrimp w/fried rice and the food was DELICIOUS! The waitstaff sang happy birthday in English and Japanese. Finally she took a picture of me, my husband and our granddaughter. It was so much fun - we'll be back again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great place to go and enjoy. Me and my date had a great time food was excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Though I had a 7:00pm reservation I still had to wait 30 mins before we were seated.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Tony is a great cook and very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My first time here and it was AMAZING!!! My chef was just ok but the food was delectable and don't forget to have your rice and food cooked in that garlic butter...mmmm mmmmm!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I love the food at Benihana but over the years price go up and quantity goes down. I have been to other Japanese restaurants and they have the quantity but not necessarily the taste. My son and I love going to Benihana but I am going to have to reconsider because the quantity is not worth the value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.