Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About Benihana - Memphis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Memphis is located in East Memphis off of Poplar Ave. and I-240, across from the Hilton Hotel.Take a seat at one of our 22 teppanyaki tables, prepare for a show like no other and watch as your personal chef shows off their skills. Happy Hour is offered from 5-7 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 4-7 p.m. on Fridays. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and an assortment of appetizers starting at just $3.00. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

912 Ridgelake Blvd
Memphis, TN 38120
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm


Cross Street:
Hilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 767-8980

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/memphis-tn-me

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Casual (18)
See All
Fun (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good dinner service was excellent as usual the place was crowded but ran smoothly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Chef was awesome. Stated his stage name was Danny LOL. Insulting when your another nationality and use a American name like it is a joke. Grill need clean really bad.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter was nice but very inexperienced. None of his "tricks" were executed correctly. Additionally he sent a raw egg across the grill that cracked open on my designer purse.

The food was okay, but this was definitely not my most favorite Benihana experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We enjoyed the evening with friends . The Qaulity and quantity of food were good. Drinks service very poor in bar while we waited to be seated. As a suggestion you should ask if you mind being seated with small children. We were not.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The server wasn't good..she never came back to check on drinks or anything..plus she charged more from my debit card without me telling her to

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great experience. The waitress was a little loopy but she said she was new

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Thursday, June 29th, 2017 - Reservation for Larry Elrod.
It was my husband's 50th birthday and he had never been to Benihana. I surprised him by saying that we were going somewhere that required reservations. We had reservations for 6:30, but arrived a little prior to 6:00 pm - by 6:15 we were seated. The waitress was great in that she immediately took our drink order and soon our food order. The chef was awesome and we loved every minute of his presentation. We had chicken/shrimp w/fried rice and the food was DELICIOUS! The waitstaff sang happy birthday in English and Japanese. Finally she took a picture of me, my husband and our granddaughter. It was so much fun - we'll be back again!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great place to go and enjoy. Me and my date had a great time food was excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Though I had a 7:00pm reservation I still had to wait 30 mins before we were seated.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Tony is a great cook and very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My first time here and it was AMAZING!!! My chef was just ok but the food was delectable and don't forget to have your rice and food cooked in that garlic butter...mmmm mmmmm!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I love the food at Benihana but over the years price go up and quantity goes down. I have been to other Japanese restaurants and they have the quantity but not necessarily the taste. My son and I love going to Benihana but I am going to have to reconsider because the quantity is not worth the value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The servers must have been new. She wasn't very familiar with the menu. The cook was all messed up on her part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We were looking for the yum yum sauce and it's no longer offered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Had a great time, grandson's birthday. Staff was outstanding!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We got to the restaurant and the waitress took forever to get our drinks and take our orders. Then when the chef came to cook he was confused and screwed up several people's orders- including mine. He didn't offer to make it right or comp it. Then we started eating the food and it was horrible! We have eaten at Benihana's all over the country and never had a bad experience until then. The meal took almost 3 hours, the staff was rude and slow, and they didn't even do hardly any tricks that they normally do at the grill! Not a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was good and Stephen was great! My husband and I always enjoy the food and service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Anniversary it was great

Tags: Fun, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was a graduation & birthday celebration for my nieces and nephew. Chef Tony was very entertaining. My family greatly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This use to be one of my favorite restaurants. I don't know what has happened to it now. There was hardly nobody in there but yet the wait was 45 minutes. Also, they charge you now for garlic butter. Who does that. The food wasn't good. The service wasn't good. Overall it was just bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 26, 2017

A lot of fun to meet people and watch the dining show. Good food too! A lot of food too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I want to say I'm a loyal Benihana's customer from city to city like Atlanta,Minneapolis,Chicago,Milwaukee and Memphis was the worst I ever seen the food was not natural ingredients the chicken was like rubber the service was bad it was a bad experience for 117.00 dollars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Danny was and excellent chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The experience is always great & entertaining!! I love the food. The flavors are exceptional. Great Atmosphere & Great Food .

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took us a hour n 15 to be seated with reservations. Waters's rushed us to order our food. They cut the lights on and gave us to go boxes before we were even finished. The wattress begged to keep my change for the tip. I was going to give it to her anyways.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wait time was 0 with a reservation. My server was very good, so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Never disappointed when we go! Another great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Just as good as always! Great food and great fun. 😊

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good dining experience the chef mike did great the best meal I have had there in a while

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love teppanyaki tables! The group setting always makes for a great experience.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The evening we went to Benihana, the air conditioning was out, and they didn't TELL us- we had to suffer through the meal at 85 degrees and several teppanyakis running, and the heat affected all of us negatively. Our chef, John, was the only high point of our experience, and he really seemed to care about the food and keeping us happy (not in a clown way, but in a customer service way).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

server seemed to cater to the younger couple.. only 4 people at our table.... asked them if they wanted icecream but just handed us our check... i had to ask sorta felt invisible in my old age of 60

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our group of six was seated in a timely manner after being courteously greeted by the hostess. Our chef was somewhat entertaining, and our food was prepared to order. My only complaint is that our waitress was not attentive to our needs. She appeared to be friends with the other group of 3 who were seated with our party. We were not served drinks or refills promptly, and requests for soy sauce went unheeded. This put a damper on an otherwise great evening. The food is not inexpensive, so prompt and friendly service should be a given.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good, took almost 2-1/2 hours to complete meal due to newbie chef. You would think that they would have training to get the hibachi chefs up to speed before they put them in front of a table. The chef did the best he could and the food was good but it took way way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our cook was great our waiter was rude and not every helpful. For it being my guests first time it left a lasting impression on them not to come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I specifically made a reservation stating the occasion was for a 28th birthday. We arrived at the restaurant and waited around for about 10min until we realized we were going to be sat down at the same hibachi table with a family that had 4 really rowdy children. We have kids of our own so we understand. We ended up sitting in the lounge area. I have been to 2 different Benihanas in the DFW area, Little Rock, Seattle and here- this one was terrible food wise compared to their other locations. The fried rice was tasteless and had pieces of what seemed like precooked, frozen chicken pieces in it (so not the rice you get when you sit at the table). My filet mignon was pretty tasteless as well. We will probably be back but we won't make the mistake of sitting in the lounge if we want hibachi. Our server was very nice. Thankfully this wasn't my official birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service was not very good from the start. Steak was either not very good quality or very overcooked and very tough. Have been to several Benihana's and all have been very good until this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love the food!!! However, the wait times can be excessive. The garlic butter from Benihana separates the taste of the rice from other places in the city. Just a suggestion I know it was probably costly the old way of cooking the rice with the garlic butter but I think they should at least use more than a scoop of garlic butter .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.