About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Fried Rice
Benihana Roll
Rainbow Roll
Sushi

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

Special Occasion (125)
Good for Groups (105)
Great for Lunch (62)
See All
Kid-friendly (47)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (20)
Hot Spot (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated right away, waited on and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated right away, waited on and served quickly and efficiently throughout the meal and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great chef, great service!. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great chef, great service!. Will be dinning there again

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had amazing service...we had a proble ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had amazing service...we had a problem with our gift certificate and management still honored it. That was exceptional service and we will be back and will definitely be recommending it to others! Also, our server and chef were both awesome! It was a really good birthday and homecoming celebration. Thank you so much :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited one and a half hours for the c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We waited one and a half hours for the cook to show up at our table. Our server did the best he could to keep us updated but the manager never came over and in the end would only give us a 25% discount. This was a birthday dinner celebration and basically took the entire evening that we had slated to do dinner and other things. In the end, we were at this restaurant for over 2-1/2 hours, with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

This was the experience i had. We there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the experience i had. We there 5 early to wait 35 for a table the another hour we got a cook so wit are 4:30 we done until 7:30. I will go there again. And the host was so rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Victoria as our server was very nice and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Victoria as our server was very nice and gracious. She had everything set up and ready for chef Mariano who was very good in his own right. He did the onion volcano, and flipped shrimp tails into his shirt pocket. Wasn't real talkative but wasn't unfriendly. Overall the good was excellent. The only negative was we had reservations at 4pm and our chef didn't arrive until close to 5pm. And though the floors are a bit slippery overall our part of 4 had a great experience and we would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances who enjoy oriental food. Thank you Benihana staff and again kudos to Victoria and to Mariano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All though I love Benihana's, I was disa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

All though I love Benihana's, I was disappointed in the food. I will go back to the Benihana's in Golden Valley and the Mega mall. The shrimp sauce tasted funny. We had to wait for the rest of our table to be served their meals. And then the chef cooked our steaks. By then, the rest of our food was cold. I wanted to leave at that time, but I had hoped things would get better. It didn't. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was awful. The chef didn't start ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was awful. The chef didn't start cooking until 1 1/2hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Just like all 5 or 6 times I have had a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Just like all 5 or 6 times I have had a reservation here, we weren't seated until 15 to 20 minutes after my reserved time. The chefs are very friendly and professional. The wait staff is equally friendly but seem to struggle with space and volume of people. Enjoyed the performance and still was able to have conversations with my wife and friends. Sushi is well made and fresh. Seafood is delicious, highly recommend. Drinks are average and seem expensive. Prepare to spend $100 for 2 dinners with drinks. Very crowded, just about elbow to elbow most tables. Feels over-booked. My kid loves the show. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our chef did not follow the regular rout ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our chef did not follow the regular routine we've seen many times. Therefore our food was cooked improperly and we weren't happy about it. Also our waiter was terrible and never checked in on us. Our birthday photo was also forgotten which was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

always love it. The food is wonderful, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

always love it. The food is wonderful, service great, couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely something for everyone - even ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Definitely something for everyone - even if you have non-sushi lovers in the group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We left, there was a toddler screaming t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We left, there was a toddler screaming the whole time in waiting area and while we were seated. I was there to celebrate with my brother however we couldn't talk as the toddler was so loud. We walked out and went somewhere else.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We just loved going to Benihana, the foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We just loved going to Benihana, the food was great and the table side chef did a great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time. The chef was very fu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a great time. The chef was very funny and the food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bathroom was very dirty. Things wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The bathroom was very dirty. Things were broken, the locks for the womens bathroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and experience. The chef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and experience. The chef was entertaining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a our daughters birthday and th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went for a our daughters birthday and the chef was terrible...dropping knifes and eggs all over the chicken and just didn't have the experience. Overall wasn't a good dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is delicious! And the chef (Aar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food is delicious! And the chef (Aaron) provided excellent entertainment!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good as usual. Been there many tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very good as usual. Been there many times but noted less veggies on plate. Ice cream was also less than usual. Still a great time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tonight's experience was off. We had a 6 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Tonight's experience was off. We had a 6:00 reservation and it was 7:00 before our chef arrived to begin preparing our food. In the 50+ minutes of waiting, we got our drinks and soup, but nothing else. I had to approach the manager to get an explanation.

When our waiter arrived he was good but kept making what i consider to be culturally insensitive jokes. As he was cooking the chicken breast, he remarked that he was making "Japanese chicken" and started meowing. He made that comment several times throughout the night.

Overall, it was my worst experience at Benihana's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Everything was perfect. We had a great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was perfect. We had a great time. Will go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All good, great server!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

All good, great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our chef and server were fantastic! High ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our chef and server were fantastic! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was expecting something a little more ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was expecting something a little more professional. It isn't anything special. I enjoyed Osaka much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Was there for my birthday. Very disappoi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Was there for my birthday. Very disappointed with my food. My shrimp was over cooked. Very rubbery. I didn't complain but didn't eat the shrimp.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The service was not to par. We all ass ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was not to par.

We all assumed that they were short staffed, since it is typically decent.

Dishes were not cleared from our table before more food was delivered. Straw wrappers and other misc garbage were never picked up. We had to go and find forks for the table, we could not find the server and she did not leave any. Drink refills were never offered. The list goes on.....

Like always - the bathrooms were not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We go to Benihana at least once a month. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We go to Benihana at least once a month. Oscar was the BEST chef we have ever had. Amazing skills and great personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our only problem was with the chef. My h ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our only problem was with the chef. My husband asked for his steak medium rare with no salt. He was served a well done steak with added salt. He could not eat it.

We were given a few coupons.

This was clearly a mistake by the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

the seafood is fine but I wanted to know ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

the seafood is fine but I wanted to know if it is all farm raised and no one could tell me that I would pay extra for seafood that is Wild caught.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is definitely a lunch spot. Prices ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is definitely a lunch spot. Prices triple for dinner. The emperor table is the way. Kids love the show. Good way to meet people.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We ended a special celebration day for m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ended a special celebration day for my daughter's 12th birthday by taking six twelve year old girls, two adults, and my teenage son to this Benihana for dinner. The chef could have been outstanding if he only tried to cater to the group of tweeny girls, but he didn't exert any effort to do so. When he inadvertently put the wrong food on my wife's plate (which she had already eaten from), he proceeded to scrape it onto the other girls' plates! Other than that, the food was good. However, both of the kitchen's rice cookers were having trouble. That meant we didn't get our rice until the very end of the meal. The restaurant did comp our rice because of this, but that did little to rectify the overall feeling of being "let down". Overall, I'd say they really need to step up their efforts to provide an outstanding experience in order to earn one's patronage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I was impressed with a young lady at the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I was impressed with a young lady at the check in desk. I was late getting to the restaurant and missed my reservation. She was able to still get us in during the rush with no problem. I think she went out of her way to accommodate me even though it was my fault I was late.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food. Yummy drinks. Las Vegas roll ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good food. Yummy drinks. Las Vegas roll is really good. Weeknights Happy Hour in the bar/lounge is worth going in for, prior to dinner...sushi and drink specials!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great dining experience! Love ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a great dining experience! Love Benihana!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always great and service is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food is always great and service is even better thank you :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic cook and amazing food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Fantastic cook and amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place always fun and great foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Love this place always fun and great food. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was disrespectful to us.!!!!! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wait staff was disrespectful to us.!!!!!! It ruined the evening. We were veryupset!## probabywouldnotgothere again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Our chef Matt was awesome! The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our chef Matt was awesome! The food was seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.