About Benihana - Maple Grove

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Good for Groups (70)
See All
Fun (70)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Kid-friendly (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (32)
Casual (30)
Comfort Food (23)
Family Style (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (16)
People Watching (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our service was average. We had reservations at noon but got there about 15 minutes early and didn't seat us until after noon. Our chef was great! We've been to Benihana many times at both locations and he was the best chef and entertainer. His name was Yama. The floors in the entire restaurant were wet and the bathroom floor, walls, etc. were totally wet. There were warning signs everywhere but I wonder why it was so wet. Did the sprinkler system come on or what? Very scary to walk on. Our chef was the best so we overlooked the slow service and wet floors.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I was a little disappointed with this visit because our chef seemed like he was rushing and did not put on a great show like normal (and I was hoping for a good show since I brought my nephew with for the 1st time).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great lunch - eat here often and rarely disappointed at this location.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

6:30pm reservation. 15 min to be seated, 15 min to order a beverage. We were placed in the very back of the restaurant and it was super hot and uncomfortable. our waiter was non existent, chef was exhausted and not very conversational . I looked at my phone and dinner was being cooked at 8:30. We did not leave until 9:20. My 3 year old toddler was crabby and refused dinner by the time it was cooked. Exhausted he passed out hungry as soon as we got in the car. The manager did provide a discount, that does not take away the experience we had. "Oh I just heard how long you've had to wait". You are the manager you should know exactly how behind your restaurant is. This is not the first time I have had poor experience at MG location. It is close to my home so I thought I would try it again. I will never return. A reservation means nothing if you cannot accommodate it. Had I shown up at 8:30 would they have seated me? NO. It is the lack of communication is what bothers me the most. No one came to say hey we are running super behind. No one came with an update on where they were at with us. You see a small child sitting in the booth, you know at some point this child could disrupt other diners. Courtesy would have been nice. At check in you knew you were running late. I would have welcomed the opportunity to leave and come back another day with your discount than have to leave as dessert was being placed down(which also took 15 min to get) because my party was fed up. Communication is key to customer satisfaction. Bennihanas can run late I get it, however when you will have a party sitting there for close to 3 hours advise them this as soon as you realize you are behind. Give people the option to stay or leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

I love Benihana's but we were there on Monday for my birthday & I never received my birthday coupon & I've emailed the chefs table about tit & they have not given me a response yet about my account & why I haven't received my coupon. I told the waitress about it at Benihana's but she said there wasn't anything they could do about it. I would think there is but regardless, I love the place!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had an amazing time on Saturday alot smile, and laughter. Food delicious prepared just right.... I have food onion allergy so the cool was mind and caution.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Have been to Benihana many times in the past and it is always a very fun experience. Great food and service, and the hibachi cooking is a fun way to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Have not been here for some time and a little disappointed. Food has gone down hill and pretty pricey for the quality and portions. Service was terrible, server messed up 3 of 6 of the orders at our table, not one apologie to anyone. Will not race back again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The cook was so rude and I felt like me and my guest that was at the table with 6 other strangers was treated as if we wasn't part of a paying group. He told me I didn't need anymore shrimp sauce when I ordered extra rice. Normally the cooks engage with the entire table however he only engaged with the other 6 while me and my guest just looked upon. As far as the waiter he was the best hands down nice full of energy and great communication and customer service skills. I'm from out of town and just that one cook made me not even want to visit the state anymore.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We visited here because we were a group of friends getting together after a long time apart and one friend who was pregnant was craving a meal from Benihanas. We were informed shortly after receiving the menus that there was a change in offering and they were out of CHICKEN! They understood this would impact our choices (yes, indeed, it left us with only seafood or steak options.) Our pregnant friend was the most bummed because she was wanting chicken :(
We made our choices and enjoyed the meal and all received ice cream as apology for inconvenience. The server took our ice cream orders and brought me wrong flavor. When he realized the correction, he went back to the kitchen, and returned with the same flavor for me, again.. third times a charm! He must have been flustered by the evening or something. Upon leaving, we saw other large tables just beginning their meal service and chicken was on the flat top. This made us curious if there was only some left and they had to pick and choose which tables were offered it or not?! This was a buzzkill of an experience and know we have had better. Here's to a return another time and having main menu items available!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have been here many times and it is always good. This visit however, stood out as exceptional! Our waiter, Eastman, was fun and friendly, as if our table were his only customers. He was very prompt with everything we ordered.
Our chef, Jorge, has some awesome cooking skills and he cooked and seasoned everything just perfectly! (Right down to sprinkling sesame seeds on all of my food because I like them so much, ha ha.) These two men made our dining experience so wonderful. Thank you Eastman and Jorge!! Oh, and the manager came over after our meal to be sure everything was to our liking. That was a first for me. Thanks Benihana!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I didn't event get gassy eating here. The beans were delicious. ...wait. They don't have beans. But I had their rice and that was really white. So I was offended. Then I added chicken to it and they made it brown rice and I felt much better. However, they didn't have any Safe Rooms. It's Maple Grove folks...We need safe rooms with crayons, Kleenex, and drawing paper.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Bad experience, restaurant was pretty dirty and we were made to sit near their store room staring at used linen. Floor was filthy and slippery, my wife almost fell with an infant in arms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great ambience and the teppanyaki makes always a fun event. Jorge was a great cook!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The staff was great. The chef made it fun and special for the kids - actually for everyone. My birthday dinner didn't make me feel old, it made me feel exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It was a pretty good experience. Be careful, they didn't tell us the fried rice instead of white would cost us an extra $4.30 more each. The manager did take the charge off our bill, which was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We go four times a year to Benihana for birthdays. Back in October we had a "VERY" new chef. His name is John. We had poor to almost acceptable service that day. On Saturday we had the same chef and all of us were skeptical. I would say John ha improved by several hundred percent. We were very happy to have had him as our chef. We will request him in the future.

GO BENIHANA. Thank you John for such exceptional service.

Please pass this review along to Benihana.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I've lost count on how many times I've been to Benihana's but we had the best hibachi chef the last time. His name was Ryan and he changed it up and is a skilled chef. The food was excellent. They still could do a better job of cleaning the bathrooms and dining areas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food as always! Service was fantastic and our chef did an amazing job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Walked in and front staff was not the friendliest. Our server was good. Cook was very entertaining . He did cook the food to meet our needs just feel like the meat was not worth the price. Not sure if we will be back or not.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation which is disappointing. Took another 15 minutes to get our drinks once seated...also very irritating.
Once we got the dining experience going, it was great. Kim was very attentive and the chef had some tricks we hadn't seen. Changing up the performance is always a big enhancement.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great service Matt our cook was excellent great sense of humor and seasoned the food excellent , it was a great birthday celebration our server was very nice and on top of everything for our table I believe her name was Monica I could not see her name badge as I could our chef.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Our chef was awesome and gave a great show. I had the scallops and they were delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We frequently go to Benihana, the last couple times it has not been great service, in fact quite bad.
But this past Sunday we had an great cook & service. so it's really hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

we have been to this location a couple of times before and everything was excellent.This time the service was very slow from the get go,our chef seemed like he was just there to collect a check with little to no enthusiasm.He cooked everything on high from the shrimp to the fried rice,how can you burn fried rice.It was the worst meal.not sure if we will be ever going back............

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great experience as always. We love going there for special occasions and love the food and the people that work there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The service was very slow and the food was over cooked. We had to wait 10 mins to be seated and 30 mins for the chef to finally come to our table. It is over priced for the service received. This is becoming an ongoing issue with Benihana.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Enjoyed celebrating my husbands birthday with the delicious hot off the grill food at BeniHana's. The atmosphere is always lively and loud - people talking and the hum of the grill hoods venting make this inevitable. We have dined here many times but I felt more rushed this past visit - the server's patter seemed very rehearsed and rushed and the cook's food was excellent but he was not as energetic or connected to his patrons as we have experienced on previous visits. Everything felt less personal which I suppose is natural since they must go through the same patter hour after hour all day. A big pet peeve of mine in a restaurant is dirty menus and I was disappointed to note that the ones at BH need some attention.... Food was great tho and you never leave hungry.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

As always, the food was wonderful and the Chef was one of the best!! Thank you!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I believe our cooks name was Kyle and he was funny and fabulous. Dynamite was our waiter and did an excellent job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We frequent Benihana, especially for special events. Our chef, Yama, was one of the best we've ever seen. He was funny, creative, skilled, and all the food was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I usually go to the original. But they were full. So we were able to vet a table at ghw maple grove location. I was alittle disappointed. Im used to it being very clean, and i dress up to go wotj my family. I had to clean my seat before i sat down, there was rice everywhere. The floor was dull with it as well which grosses me out. I feel like im in garbage. I paid 135 for our meal anx felt rushed by the cleaner, who obviously did not do a good job to begin with. He waitrd st the table for 4 mins. Until he noticed we were NOT leaving yet. My daugthwr was waiting for her ice cream to be served. My husband was still eating from HIS PLATE and was asked for it. UNACCEPTABLE, IT WAS FATHERS DAY. For the price i pay, and the expierence the originL location gives, i would expect tgis location to follow the rules.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food, great service, great experience as always. We'll be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This place is always fun for the kids and our chef tonight was especially awesome. He was a great cook and very funny.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. Our hostess was friendly. The only complaint I had was we were initially given the Holiday Menu (in June) rather than the full menu. She read us the full menu, which was unnecessary and rather annoying to be honest. It was after we asked several times that she brought each of us a full menu. No one was sure as to why the Holiday Menu's were set out.
Jackson was our Chef and he was wonderful. Bubbly personality. We saw different "tricks" that we had never seen in all our visits. He made great jokes and conversation with all of us.
Meal was excellent. Perfectly cooked.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vegan, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Why have a special request section and not do anything with the request . We requested John as our cook and had a few people say oh I see you requested john but never once said I'm sorry he's not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I really appreciated the courtesy call when i was running 5 mins late. Id rather a call then to have my table given away. Although once we arrived we decided to sit in the bar area.did not feel up to being entertained with others while trying to have a private conversation the whole experience was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Everything was perfect, fast service delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My red was for 12:30 noon and we were late so we had to wait 1 1/2 hrs to eat. My kids where extremely hungry

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent phone and the chef was very entertaining. It was slow getting drink refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.