About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Rice
  • Benihana Roll
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Sushi
Fried Rice
Benihana Roll
Rainbow Roll
Sushi

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

special occasion (140)
good for groups (135)
kid-friendly (67)
See All
great for lunch (61)
fit for foodies (46)
hot spot (19)
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was not as good as it usually is. H ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was not as good as it usually is. Had very little flavor. Service was slow. Had to ask for refills and dirty dishes to be taken away.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Floors were very slippery due to "moistu ...

Dined 5 days ago

Floors were very slippery due to "moisture/humidity" rather than put up signs and take your chances with patrons falling...how about putting down something to dry up the floors? I also am sorry to say your portions are getting visibly smaller, even the zucchini which is pretty inexpensive. This time we were also quite rushed at the finish of our meal even though there were several open tables.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter/server was fantastic, our che ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter/server was fantastic, our chef was great and our company at the table was very diverse, interesting, and made it a very fun experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Our chef was phenomenal. He was funny an ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our chef was phenomenal. He was funny and dinner was entertaining. Our drinks were always coming without having to ask.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were once again very disappointed wit ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We were once again very disappointed with the reservation process. This is our second time within 2-3 months that we had to wait almost a half hour after our reservation to be seated. VERY frustrating.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been coming for many years now. ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been coming for many years now. It has always been excellent and entertaining. Noticed yhid timd went much quicker amd somr of the "show" was gone. Also cook used much less butter, msde me feel about healthly meal :)

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The time it takes to dine varies so much ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The time it takes to dine varies so much. Sometimes we get in at our reservation times-sometimes not like this visit was 12 minutes post reservation time to be seated. Then we were there for 40 minutes post reservation time before there was a chef present. You can't have anything planned afterwards because sometimes it's an hour and sometimes it's 90 minutes. The large booth we were in had pretty bad old cushions and it wasn't comfortable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and food were wonderful at t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and food were wonderful at this Benihana. Our server and chef were both very entertaining and professional. They were accommodating re: food allergies, also.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

I LIKE to EAT THE FOODS . BUT IT DOSE DE ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I LIKE to EAT THE FOODS . BUT IT DOSE DEPENDS ON THE Chef!!! Ect... maybe more trained .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great, it was Father's Day ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, it was Father's Day and I took my dad. He enjoyed it very much!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great special occasion restaurant. My ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A great special occasion restaurant. My family enjoys going and having a hibachi style Japanese dinner a few times a year.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love that we can sit in a group at a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We love that we can sit in a group at a round table with family. It makes it so much easier to converse with each other. The food . . . well, just excellent. We were there for my husbands birthday recently, but we go there just for dinner as well. We also appreciate that we can do everything on line. :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I enjoyed myself. I bought my son there ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I enjoyed myself. I bought my son there for his 20th birthday. He was in a car accident the week before and I just wanted to spend time with him all by myself. We enjoyed ourselves. The food was great. The server was so nice. We really had a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food! Spendy though. Service ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food! Spendy though. Service was slow, needed to ask for things to be cleared. Waitress forgot to take our picture, very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining experience was great. Just the ri ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Dining experience was great. Just the right size crowd for a weekday. The cost of adding chicken to your meal was a bit much! For $8.00 I could feed a small country! not sure if that was really the cost or if the waitress was just being lazy! Nonetheless I declined! As it turns out I didn't need it anyway the meal was ok without it. A lil too much butter tho... I'm told that's what makes it taste soo good! Overall a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night...& amazing food! The waiter ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great night...& amazing food! The waiter was excellent & our chef was perfect! Enjoyed every min of it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Benihana. We decided to take my ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We love Benihana. We decided to take my niece who's visiting from Canada as she's never had an experience like this yet. She loved it! Two of us have gluten sensitivities which was NOT an issue. We were able to order off the menu and they prepared our meals in the back so there wasn't any cross contamination! Our dinner night was a huge success!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great place for a birthday celebration

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have been to this restaurant twice now, both for birthday celebrations. It is a unique dining experience with great food. It is a little on the expensive side, which is why we choose it only for special occasions, rather than an everyday meal out choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Little more kids than I anticipated. But ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Little more kids than I anticipated. But overall great time and great table

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Birthday Hot Spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service and prompt!!! Loved our chef and our waiter. The food was delicious. My birthday was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on June 2, 2016

Chicken dry, shrimp rubbery and rice cold. Felt very rushed by the waiter. Not an enjoyable experience. Won't be going back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow service, poor service, dry food

Dined on May 29, 2016

Party of 5. Had a reservation at 6:30 and was seated at 7. Waited at our table for an hour before a chef was available to cook our food. He didn't do much entertaining, which is what we were paying for, as he was in a rush to get to the next group. The meat was overcooked. Nothing like $30 a plate for dry chicken. This is our second visit. Better entertainment the first visit, have yet to be impressed by the food. At this price range there are many other restaurants with consistently great food. If you choose to go to this restaurant Fri - Sun, I would suggest you visit before 6 p.m. or after 8 p.m.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor service

Dined on May 26, 2016

Went here 2 times in last year. 1st time set at table with family with small kids having a birthday. Bad idea to put 4 adults at kid party. Went for dinner this past week. Service terrible. Bar out of regular beer, ordered other drinks and took forever, ordered appetizers and they came after meal being served. Not planning on going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service has been excellent ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The food and service has been excellent every time we come here. The chef always puts on a great show!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

By far the worst chef we have had at Benihana

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a bad experience at Benihana time. Our chef gave hardly any show and did not speak. Talking the manager was a joke.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best visit we have had in the last two years. It has gotten too expensive to visit Benihana. We miss the specials!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

goodfood

Dined on May 22, 2016

The tasty food is the main reason for dining at this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great chef, great service.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Matt our chef, although new was amazing a great conversationist. The food he made was also amazing

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

We went to Benihana to celebrate a birthday. We do this a few times every year. This time was by far the best experience we have had in a long time. The chef changed up the show and did some things we had never seen before. The food was great and we really appreciate the wait/bussing staff as well. The whole experience was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Benihana NEVER disappoints!

Dined on May 17, 2016

I've been going to Benihana since BEFORE it was Benihana! Samurai was great and Benihana is equally as fabulous! The Maple Grove location is bright and convenient! Will DEFINITELY be back SOON!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Came for my daughters 15th bday but wasn ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Came for my daughters 15th bday but wasn't happy with the service. Spent over 300.00 on 6 of us.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Lady fRIENDs Meet Once a Month and M ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My Lady fRIENDs Meet Once a Month and May was My Month. There was 8 of us and The Chef was so wonderful. Can't remember his Name. But He deserves a Raise. All My Friends were just amazed .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday night

Dined on May 10, 2016

Was a good experience, only thing I didn't like was being seated right next to the host stand. Constantly heard the employees conversations.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As a person on a fixed income - ---SS

Dined on May 10, 2016

I will NOT come there again if I have to sit at a table with 2 kids SCREAMING while I'm trying to eat. I brought my 90 year old mother and a 80 year old friend. Kids will be kids but they were NOT out kids and I would never let my kids act like that. Next time I will demand a KIDLESS table and if you can't accommodate me I will not come again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The waitress was good but she had to man ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was good but she had to many tables to wait on that night and was not as attentive to our table needs like I have seen waitresses there in the past.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Too expensive

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fun for a very special occasion, but overall, it's very expensive to eat there. Especially for a family.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Made a 4:30 reservation, but no one else was there so we waited half an hour to be seated. We went during happy hour. None of the servers knew about the specials. Finally one said it was for the lounge grab a drink and come back to the table. We went to the lounge/bar but were you had to be sitting there for the specials. Half our table upgraded to the chicken fried rice. After our meal was completed we realized we didn't have our white rice. So basically we had rice for desert. Wish we would have chosen a different place to celebrate.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was fine

Dined on May 4, 2016

They didn't take our picture...I'm kind of anniyed about that. I dont know if they just dont do it anymore or if the waiter just didn't do it .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Always great

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Birthday fun

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere. Only problem is that I made reservations two weeks prior and they called me on my cell phone 10 minutes before the reservation to see if I was still coming but did not say why. We arrived on time but they would not seat us until the other members in our party showed up. While waiting, they asked us two times when they were coming. They were 5 minutes late getting there. I was annoyed by the not seating us without an explanation and having to wait but everything went great after that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.