About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-maple Grove - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
California Roll - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Sushi - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Trio - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Fried Rice - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Benihana Roll - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN
Sushi - Benihana - Maple Grove, Maple Grove, MN

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Fun (76)
See All
Good for Groups (70)
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Kid-friendly (43)
Great for Lunch (38)
Family Style (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Casual (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Romantic (24)
Authentic (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
People Watching (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chef was great. Steak was cooked as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The chef was great. Steak was cooked as ordered. Thanks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a family dinner/large gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a family dinner/large group/birthday. First date's as well can sit right next to each other. If you don't mind if other people hear/might hear your conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Celebrated my son's 13th birthday and it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated my son's 13th birthday and it was awesome! Fantastic service and the food was awesome! Pricey for our budget but we made it work and it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations still had to wait when ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had reservations still had to wait when we finally got seated we were the last ones to be seated at the table still trying to figure that out sat at a table with 5 other people who ordered and shared 2 meals but the chef divided everything at the table equally I was not happy and it was my son's birthday

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was great. The only thing th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was great. The only thing that irritated me was having to wait for the other half of our table to show up. My kids were very hungry, and we had to wait an extra 25-30 minutes, while the couple was waiting for their parents to find the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

2 hrs after our reservation we were fona ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

2 hrs after our reservation we were fonally served

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

Great chef - great service - great food! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great chef - great service - great food!! We love Benihana and will definitely be going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I brought our seven year old ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife and I brought our seven year old twins here for ther Birthday and we were very disappointed. The boys favorite restraint is Osaka and I thought we would try Benihana this time instead actually thinking that it was a little more upscale. When we sat down to eat we were greated with dirt plates, a dirty grill with large chunks of food on the grill and sticky menus with food and who knows what was spilled in them. My wife and I both had to ask for new menus and go to the bathroom and wash our hands again prior to eating. The service and the food were decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Did not care for the booth type table th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Did not care for the booth type table that we had!! Really difficult to get in and out of, disturbing others as well .

The seat cushions were really uncomfortable....everyone at table remarked about that. The bench was quite dirty besides....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

excellent place to celebrate your annive ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 4, 2017

excellent place to celebrate your anniversary! The spicy chicken is highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sad that we weren't offered a picure. Al ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Sad that we weren't offered a picure. Also, that our reservations were at 6:30 but, it was 7:00 before we actually were sat. We were on time.

The chef and staff were amazing though.😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our grill master was Jose-he was excelle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our grill master was Jose-he was excellent! Great talent and personality.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is overrated! I personally ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This place is overrated! I personally had a terrible experience at this location. We were 20 minutes late for our appointment and understandable we knew we would have to wait about maybe 30 minutes to be seater; however it took over 1:30 minutes and we never got called to be seated. In addition we were waiting while people who walked in and made reservations on the spot were seated before us. I wouldn't even recommend my dog for a treat to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The hibachi-style cooking and serving is ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The hibachi-style cooking and serving is a treat. We had toddlers and they delighted in the chef's onion volcano trick as well as his juggling of utensils. We had to watch the toddlers to make sure they stayed clear of the hot cooking surface, but that was doable. It was fun and the food was very good. We had plenty of leftovers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chef was awesome and attentive to our yo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Chef was awesome and attentive to our young son. Great experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Despite having a reservation they could ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Despite having a reservation they could not seat us til another hour or so and so we ate at t he express lunch. They brought out the food which was cold BEFORE they brought out the salad. Told the manager. They brought out the sauces and the salads. Then they brought out the food a second time. This time it was overly salted and the rice was terriblemuch better taste and service at Golden Valley. Was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Another GREAT experience at Benihana's i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another GREAT experience at Benihana's in Maple Grove. The food was excellent and our chef, Jorge, was interactive, fun, and talented! Will be going back soon.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a new waitress. She did well but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a new waitress. She did well but food was good but not as good as usual. We had fun. 😀

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My girlfriend and I love this restaurant ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I love this restaurant but t this visit is one of the worst visits we have ever had. I chicken had a funny texture, I don't think it was cooked long enough. We had to ask the waitress to fill out water glasses two different times. The chef didn't really put on a show for us, he didn't get us involved much at all. We had egg shells in the rice. This won't stop us from coming back but this was not a good experience for my bday celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was good and the experience as a wh ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was good and the experience as a whole was fun. Howevet, prices seem to have jumped, service was only ok (drinks were often empty) and trying to get my birthday coupon was a huge hassle.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I am vegetarian and I believe you guys h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I am vegetarian and I believe you guys had a miso soup (vegetable broth) but when I ordered my meal this last time, they said they only had soup with beef stock. So I felt like I didn't get to eat everything that was included with the entree. And its not cheap! You should get both because more and more people are not eating animal products. It would be nice! Just saying.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a rookie chef and food and entert ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a rookie chef and food and entertainment was not what you normally would get. Very nice person, but for that price they should spend more time training IMOP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

We always love Benihana, but this time w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We always love Benihana, but this time we waited 40minutes for a Chef-With 3 small children, No explanation & no apology! And it was not that busy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We enjoyed our lunch very much . . .howe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch very much . . .however, we felt we were being rushed out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Bathrooms need to be checked for cleanli ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Bathrooms need to be checked for cleanliness more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

we had a 4:30 reservation and we didn't ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

we had a 4:30 reservation and we didn't leave until 7:00. Our sushi we wanted before the meal took an hour to get and we got at dinner. Drinks took 20 minutes to get. Our service was HORRIBLE!!!! There were several things missing from our when the food cart was brought out, so that took longer! We wont come back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

You will never find shrimp that tastes a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

You will never find shrimp that tastes as good as their shrimp! Of course their chicken fried rice & shrimp sauce is absolutely amazing!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. However, I made a reser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was great.

However, I made a reservation for 5.30pm but was kept waiting till 6.25pm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual!! Always celebrate b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent as usual!! Always celebrate birthdays there. It's a great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly we had a poor experience at ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Surprisingly we had a poor experience at Benihana, as well as the rest of the people at our table, the chef was quiet the entire time, no show like normal and our food wasn't cooked as well, no happy birthday song, no picture taken, prices on menu differed from actual prices, beer listed on menu wasn't available, and we asked for two items to take home and they forgot them, overall weird experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Awesome everytime!!! Thank you!!! This i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Awesome everytime!!! Thank you!!! This is our birthday pick for our birthday dinner!!! Awesome everytime! We recommend it to everyone! Thank you!!!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "chef" could hardly crack eggs. He ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our "chef" could hardly crack eggs. He hardly made any effort to entertain our group at all. Extremely disappointing as this was a birthday outing. Speaking of that-front desk hosts-incredibly rude about having the 6 members of our group seated so when I arrived with my boyfriend/birthday-guest of honor to surprise him they were reluctantly seated. It was a Sunday. I'm sad about our chef-did you give us a training chef because we were teenagers? Our bill was still expensive! We are still viable customers who would like to return. You weaken my argument against my friends who prefer Osaka.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The restaurant was very cold and we had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The restaurant was very cold and we had to wait 40 minutes for our cool to come and cook our meal. Rice was also undercooked and crunchy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place always enjoy going, the only ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great place always enjoy going, the only thing I would say that is negative is that the vent above the grill was left open constantly and a very cold breeze throughout the night.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was very cold. Initially, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The restaurant was very cold. Initially, they sat us by a side door with cold air blowing in. We asked to move. Moving did not prove to be much better. The entire restaurant was just freezing! I ate with a coat on and one on my legs. Every one at the table had their coats on throughout dinner and we were still cold. Not the ideal fine dinning experience...

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Absolutely one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Absolutely one of my favorite places to go. They are always friendly and proficient. Plus the food is amazing !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was terrible and it was so cold ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was terrible and it was so cold inside that we all were wearing our coats. The hostess was incredibly rude and everyone seemed like they did not want to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a long wait past our reservation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had a long wait past our reservation time so our dinner ended up starting past 8 pm

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our first visit and we were ver ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our first visit and we were very happy with the whole experience.

Our chef, John, did a great job entertaining and cooking for our table.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.