About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (101)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Fun (80)
See All
Good for Groups (70)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Kid-friendly (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Family Style (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Romantic (29)
Casual (27)
Authentic (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
People Watching (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Spicy (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Dancing (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ryan was great at what he does. Very fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Ryan was great at what he does. Very friendly staff. Fun for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a good cook, entertaining and fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a good cook, entertaining and friendly, our waitress kept checking for anything we needed. They did a very good job. My wife and I enjoyed the dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had reservations for 2 at 4pm we were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We had reservations for 2 at 4pm we were seated quickly however we didn't get a cook until 5pm. We were never asked if there was an occasion for visiting (It was our 5 year anniversary). Our cook was delightful thankfully! But after dinner they forgot to ask about desserts or ask what kind of ice cream the people who's dinner came with that.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our chef and waiter was great! Definitel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our chef and waiter was great! Definitely made our lunch even better! Excellent service and our chef was entertaining and food was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall services was nice however th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The overall services was nice however the food was not great at all. The chef served under cooked meats and none of the food was able to be eaten together due to the length of time it took to cook each portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was great!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Down hill... lazy cook, mediocre food, f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Down hill... lazy cook, mediocre food, furnishings felt dirty. Frankly, I have higher expectations when spending $30+ for a meal. I'd compare it to Applebee's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food and service here are excellent. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service here are excellent. It's great, each time we come, to watch the chefs prepare the food as we watch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great,the chef was friendly ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great,the chef was friendly but didn't put on a show.we brought our son for the first time to see the show and there was none. That was very dissapointing since your establishment is spendy for our family so it's a big treat for us to go somewhere like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I can't remember the name of our chef bu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I can't remember the name of our chef but she was awesome, all the food was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was delicious and our chef was fun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious and our chef was fun but he did things a little differently, the cooking was a lot slower than normal. Usually we get rice and veggies close but this chef did veggies later than normal. It was like we had one the done every 10-15 minutes. Not sure exactly how long we are normally there but this time was almost 2.5 hours, thankfully we didn't have any plans after.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for an early Valentine's day date. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Went for an early Valentine's day date. Great show and good food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

wait staff and chef were both amazing! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

wait staff and chef were both amazing! Thank you for making my daughters birthday special. great experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner and my chil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner and my children had an awesome time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is a Family Favorite for specia ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Benihana is a Family Favorite for special occasions. We had reservations, but the wait time was 40 mins to be seated and another 30 mins for the chef. They offered a fair discount on our meal, which was appreciated. Food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great birthday and great chef.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great birthday and great chef.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took over a half hour after our reser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It took over a half hour after our reservation time to be seated. This is the second time in a row this has happened to us here. Very disappointing

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Benihana had a great environment and was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Benihana had a great environment and was great for a get together!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been here for about 6 months ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had not been here for about 6 months as this is a special occasion Place for us. When we walked in we instantly felt it was not as clean and inviting as before. We were seated with a nice family and started ordering. Our waiter made us feel like he could care less and not too attentive. Toward the end of the meal, I along with the mother with three little girls had to use the bathroom only to find out it was closed due to all the toilets overflowing. This was a Friday night at 6:30 when the restaurant is full. We tried to get our check to go find a restroom and waiter disappeared. Needless to say we will not go back based on lack of cleanliness of restaurant, poor service and overpriced food. There are too many great choices in Maple Grove to spend $150 for two for dinner and have a positive memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Done with Benihana! Golden Valley was ar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Done with Benihana! Golden Valley was are original go to but we were so unsatisfied the last couple times we went. We gave Maple Grove a try....not happy. We're in search of a new Hibachi grill spot. When we reached out to Benihana, no response. Benihana has really gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We have been to this location multiple t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have been to this location multiple times and we just don't think they do as well as Golden Valley did years ago. This time the food was ok, dry overcooked chicken AGAIN. Not vary flavorful seasoned meat or sauce as we have noticed in the past with this location. The chef was quiet, but very good. The server was not on top of it at all this time. Many issues including no tea was served when asked for, last time we didn't even have it offered to us. Ice Cream was not what we asked for since they were out of what we wanted I guess, but he didn't ask for a new order from us. My plate was not clean, I used the napkin to wipe it. I had some stomach issues after I ate there....wonder if it may have been because unclean environment and dishes. We may try the Golden Valley or MOA location next time. I feel we have given MG a good try, but feel I am done spending my money there.....this is a very expensive, lower value (less food given) and quality then years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

First, I contacted customer service in D ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

First, I contacted customer service in December to get my account figured out as I was not receiving communication or my birthday certificate. They had 2 different emails, made the update and assured the issue was resolved.

My Birthday has come and gone still no certificate. I sent customer service and email 2/8 and still no response or certificate. The restraunt refused to help or grant the certificate. The staff was bland, I wanted more excitment for my family and the server was too busy and the chef didn't perform like we had experienced in the past. The food was delicious but for the price I expected more of the experience. Also, there was never an offer to have a picture taken like the tables around us and previous experiences.

Extremely disappointed with the visit and will consider other places for our next occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Eastman was our server and was very plea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Eastman was our server and was very pleasant and accommodating. Our chef was entertaining, skilled and friendly. The manager came was very nice about getting me extra shrimp sauce to take home. Overall great experience.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic customer service, delicious fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Fantastic customer service, delicious food, fun environment, good entertainment, great for a birthday celebration, good coupon for your birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the service and the birthday certi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Loved the service and the birthday certificate special

They make you feel valued

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My shrimp wasn't cooked well, but everyt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My shrimp wasn't cooked well, but everything else was good. Our chef was kind of boring. I brought my son for his 16th Birthday but didn't realize that we couldn't use his Birthday coupon on a Saturday which was VERY disappointing as our bill was $150.00 for 3 people. Our waiter was nice but wasn't around much to get refills and clear away salad bowls etc.

Dawn Follmer

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great! Family had a blast!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great! Family had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service kind of sucked it took forev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

the service kind of sucked it took forever between the server and the chef the chef came out before we got our soup or salad, also you guys need new collectors mugs you've had the same one for years and we have all of them already

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Ate in the lounge. Food quality was ve ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ate in the lounge. Food quality was very poor. Under cooked shrimp and scallops that were cold, rice was cold and veggies were the only item warm. I was suppose to get a salad, but did not. Quality is slipping here. They no longer serve REAL crab only imitation. Will NOT recommend Benihana anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

my reservation was 830pm and got moved t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

my reservation was 830pm and got moved to 800pm which was nice; however, my party didn't get seated until 830pm...chuckles!! anyways, say for 30 minutes before our chef showed up. service abt 910pm...he was a good chef I just hate to wait an hour plus for service when a reservation is made. this is I believe the top negative, time/customer management.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It was good, food was delicious good se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was good, food was delicious good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good and the cook put on q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food was very good and the cook put on quite a show!! Not a place for quiet private conversations tho. The table is filled and they seat 8 so a party of 4 will share. We shared with 2 and it worked out OK.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. Food and atmosp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Food and atmosphere were great. Definitely be back again😀

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great - I'm thinking we may ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was great - I'm thinking we may have happened to stop in while they were short staffed. We had reservations at 12:30 and were quickly seated and served drinks and soup/salad, but then we waited over 30 minutes (after soup/salad) for the chef to get to the table.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

This was our first time going to Benihan ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first time going to Benihana. We made reservations (thank goodness, because when we got to the restaurant there was a HUGE line to get in). We got our table quickly, our waitress was nice, and the chef was funny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was funny and attentive. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our waitress was funny and attentive. The chef was amazing! He kept us entertained and the food was delicious. It was my 2nd time there and it was a great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Entertaining. Our chef was g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious Entertaining. Our chef was great!! Can't wait to go again

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great chef and busser. Server, Victoria, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great chef and busser. Server, Victoria, was friendly but not always there to grab dirty dishes or refills. Other servers and bussers were more cognizant about doing this for her.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were so disappointed. We have eaten t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were so disappointed. We have eaten there before and wanted our young grandchildren to enjoy the "show". The chef came to our table very uninterested. He did not do any of the amazing things we came to see. He didn't try to catch shrimp tails in his hat or pocket, he failed after 3 tries to stack onions as volcanoes or trains, he didn't make a side we ordered for our 7 year old. He didn't trim the Habachi steak - my husband ordered his steak medium well, it was very rare. Our grandson was able to watch the demonstrations happening at tables around us, so he did get to see a few fun things. The manager did apologize and reduce our bill, but as a special treat for our family, it was very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a family a 7 and for our daughter ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a family a 7 and for our daughter's 13th birthday she chose this location. To say we were underwhelmed is an understatement. I have attended every day events that were celebrated more than this chef did. I am disappointed for our daughter as she did not feel special and when we told them it was her 13th birthday they barely acknowledged it. The chefs around us were lively and people were laughing and having a great time...He barely interacted with my daughter and she was disappointed. For $200 I would think that when it is a birthday you might direct your attention to the birthday person. Yes they sang yes they brought icecream but our chef was really disappointing. He kept looking around like he would rather be anywhere than in front of us. Our waitress was amazing. If it weren't for her I would not have enjoyed myself. That tip belonged entirely to her. Our experience was not what we expected as a family and next time we will choose Mt. Fuji Inn as they seem to have a better time doing their job. I'm sure there are many people who have had a different experience but unfortunately this was ours.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.