About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Benihana - Maple Grove
Fried Rice
Benihana Roll
Rainbow Roll
Sushi

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

Special Occasion (111)
Good for Groups (94)
Great for Lunch (55)
See All
Kid-friendly (41)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Family Style (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my friend there for her birthday ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

I took my friend there for her birthday with a group of people and Ryan G was our chef. He was the absolute best and made it such a fun time. It was the most fun I've ever had at a restaurant and the service was great. All of the employees we met there were so nice and funny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have liked to have the table for m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Would have liked to have the table for my family andinner. I don't see the point on making a reservation if we are going to be put at a table with strangers.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything went well. The food was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything went well. The food was great, the service was awesome and it was quite entertaining for the whole family.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried twice to get the birthday coupon b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Tried twice to get the birthday coupon but the website would not work.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I made reservations for my birthday, I w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I made reservations for my birthday, I was very disappointed in the service!

1. We were seated LATE

2. It took over 30mins for our drinks

3. We were rushed to order

4.Our Chef took a long time to come

5. The table needed to be cleaned there was a BUG, the waiter was not listening to us to clean the table.

6. We received our food, and felt rushed to eat, we were offered containers to go, because it was near closing time, which we had no idea of.

7. We had to ask the waitress to snap our photo, she snapped it twice in urgency and both photos were blurry.

It has been a long time since we dined in the restaurant, we had a party of 14 people and with ALL the MONEY we paid the service was poor, the waitress had an agitated look on her face. We felt unwelcome at the door, I had even made a phone call to ask if we could have 2 table close together I was told no until management was requested to get on the line.

We have never had such a horrible experience in this establishment.

Very Disappointed

Loretha King-Clark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was slow. He was more concerned ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service was slow. He was more concerned with talking to his friends that were at our table than with refills or if we needed anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We normally attend the Minneapolis locat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We normally attend the Minneapolis location and I have to say their food is hands down better. It almost seems like a different restaurant chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I tried something new on the menu and it ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I tried something new on the menu and it was great.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. The food was great ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great time. The food was great and our servers were fantastic. There were a few little blips, the kitchen didn't get the meat out to our server on time and I think he was embarrassed, but we had plenty to eat while we waited and didn't care at all. They also forgot white rice for two people in our party, but again, we didn't really care because we had plenty to eat. Good experience overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing I would change is being a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The only thing I would change is being able to use birthday coupons on weekends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Each time we eat at Benihana, the servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Each time we eat at Benihana, the service seems to get a little bit worse. It took nearly 20 minutes just to get water to the table. Drinks were forgotten, and we had to flag down the waitress to get her to even come to our table. Portions were noticeably smaller, especially the onions and zucchini. This is the first time our food has not been as good. It was over-seasoned and over-sauced. Overall, we're just super disappointed that there seems to be no effort in improving or acknowledging poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Great food and fun show! Love the chicke ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and fun show! Love the chicken fried rice.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were great as always!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food and service were great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was initially slow. The firs ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service was initially slow. The first 45 minutes of our dinner we only received our drinks. Overall, the dining experience was too long 3hrs.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome! Very accommodating for a gluten ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome! Very accommodating for a gluten free diet!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and it is by far my favorite restaurant. For how expensive it is, I only make it there one or two times a year, this last weekend being one of those. This last visit there was by far the worst experience I have ever had there and might be one of the worst restaurant experiences I have had in general. The food was not cooked up to the standards it usually is, we had to ask for our one refills that we received all evening and we never even got out salads... Based on this one visit I would never have recommended this to anyone. It was the couple next to me, first time coming there and they said by far that they would never come back. I hope you guys can figure this out because you are a great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. Will definet ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definetly be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service as usuall . Rya ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Awesome food and service as usuall .

Ryan our cook was fenominal .

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst experience I have eve ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant. I had a reservation, and also had 2 family members make reservations as well. There were 3 separate birthdays we were celebrating, so we needed 3 SEPERATE TABLES. When we arrived at the location we were told we would not be able to sit all together, which was fine. Once the other parties arrived guy at the front said that he had 2 tables that her could get us in right next to each, which we took. Well being that we had a total of 24 people (8 people per table) that just did not work, so we asked 3 different people if we could get our 3rd table which we reserved. After talking to a manager, we got our 3rd table and proceeded to order our food. After ordering, one of my families table waited 2 hours for a cook, long story short, the cook that was supposed to come to that table was at another table and the party got up to leave. It sucks because at this time it was 1030 at night and there was nowhere else open to eat. I will never attend another benihana. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Considering we had reservations for 6:30 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Considering we had reservations for 6:30 but didn't get seated until 7, we were told they were running behind but there was an open table the whole time we waited, not sure what the real issue was. Then there happened to be a family of 4 that the 4 year old kept running around and the Mother kept YELLING at her to sit down (this was NOT a special needs child in anyway, just a mother that didn't know how to control her child, thank God the other kids was in a high chair, too bad the Dad was a "rock" on a chair & didn't do anything to help out) anyway, this was NOT our best experience at Benihana. Yes, we will go back as it's our special place to go for birthdays but hopefully next time is better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I must say the experience exceeded my ex ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I must say the experience exceeded my expectations. From the hostess to the waitress to the chef. All superb. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away, waited on and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were seated right away, waited on and served quickly and efficiently throughout the meal and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great chef, great service!. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, great chef, great service!. Will be dinning there again

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyed birthday celebration with friend ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

enjoyed birthday celebration with friends and family

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had amazing service...we had a proble ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had amazing service...we had a problem with our gift certificate and management still honored it. That was exceptional service and we will be back and will definitely be recommending it to others! Also, our server and chef were both awesome! It was a really good birthday and homecoming celebration. Thank you so much :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited one and a half hours for the c ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We waited one and a half hours for the cook to show up at our table. Our server did the best he could to keep us updated but the manager never came over and in the end would only give us a 25% discount. This was a birthday dinner celebration and basically took the entire evening that we had slated to do dinner and other things. In the end, we were at this restaurant for over 2-1/2 hours, with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

This was the experience i had. We there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the experience i had. We there 5 early to wait 35 for a table the another hour we got a cook so wit are 4:30 we done until 7:30. I will go there again. And the host was so rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Victoria as our server was very nice and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Victoria as our server was very nice and gracious. She had everything set up and ready for chef Mariano who was very good in his own right. He did the onion volcano, and flipped shrimp tails into his shirt pocket. Wasn't real talkative but wasn't unfriendly. Overall the good was excellent. The only negative was we had reservations at 4pm and our chef didn't arrive until close to 5pm. And though the floors are a bit slippery overall our part of 4 had a great experience and we would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances who enjoy oriental food. Thank you Benihana staff and again kudos to Victoria and to Mariano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All though I love Benihana's, I was disa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

All though I love Benihana's, I was disappointed in the food. I will go back to the Benihana's in Golden Valley and the Mega mall. The shrimp sauce tasted funny. We had to wait for the rest of our table to be served their meals. And then the chef cooked our steaks. By then, the rest of our food was cold. I wanted to leave at that time, but I had hoped things would get better. It didn't. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was awful. The chef didn't start ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was awful. The chef didn't start cooking until 1 1/2hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Just like all 5 or 6 times I have had a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Just like all 5 or 6 times I have had a reservation here, we weren't seated until 15 to 20 minutes after my reserved time. The chefs are very friendly and professional. The wait staff is equally friendly but seem to struggle with space and volume of people. Enjoyed the performance and still was able to have conversations with my wife and friends. Sushi is well made and fresh. Seafood is delicious, highly recommend. Drinks are average and seem expensive. Prepare to spend $100 for 2 dinners with drinks. Very crowded, just about elbow to elbow most tables. Feels over-booked. My kid loves the show. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our chef did not follow the regular rout ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our chef did not follow the regular routine we've seen many times. Therefore our food was cooked improperly and we weren't happy about it. Also our waiter was terrible and never checked in on us. Our birthday photo was also forgotten which was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

always love it. The food is wonderful, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

always love it. The food is wonderful, service great, couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely something for everyone - even ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Definitely something for everyone - even if you have non-sushi lovers in the group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We left, there was a toddler screaming t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We left, there was a toddler screaming the whole time in waiting area and while we were seated. I was there to celebrate with my brother however we couldn't talk as the toddler was so loud. We walked out and went somewhere else.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We just loved going to Benihana, the foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We just loved going to Benihana, the food was great and the table side chef did a great job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time. The chef was very fu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a great time. The chef was very funny and the food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bathroom was very dirty. Things wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The bathroom was very dirty. Things were broken, the locks for the womens bathroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and experience. The chef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and experience. The chef was entertaining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a our daughters birthday and th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went for a our daughters birthday and the chef was terrible...dropping knifes and eggs all over the chicken and just didn't have the experience. Overall wasn't a good dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.