About Benihana - Maple Grove

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (95)
Special Occasion (93)
Good for Groups (80)
See All
Fun (76)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Kid-friendly (50)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Family Style (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Casual (30)
Romantic (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
People Watching (21)
Authentic (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Waterfront (2)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Was a great night! Although the time was so long. 7:30 reservations didn't get seated til 7:50 then almost 8:15 before chef showed up!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Decent food, very expensive. You site with otger families, which can ruin the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Benihana but this trip was underwhelming. The chef was new, no big deal but he sort of overcooked everything from the shrimp to the eggs and veggies for the rice. The grill had been on for quite some time before he got to us so maybe it was too hot? I ordered sushi and the dish for soy sauce was dirty, not a little dirty, nasty dirty. The dishes for yum yum sauce were also dirty but the chef used them anyway. Some one at a different table broke a dish and the glass that fell on the floor under our table was not cleaned up. I stepped on broken glass when we left, I'm glad it was me and not my 5 year old. Overall we left full and happy but the whole experience was a little bit less enjoyable than we are used to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Usually our food is awesome but we must have gotten a new chef this time. (Or he was having an off day)

Our food was really over cooked. My steak & lobster had actual scorch marks & hard pieces. My husband's chicken was "ok" but overlooked also.

Again, probably a new chef because he wasn't as entertaining as chef's on our previous visits. It's just a lot of money to pay for scorched food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Between the order taking guy and the cook most everyone at our table had something mucked up. There were 8 at the table. Everyone took fried rice except my friend, who stuck with white rice and some of us upgraded to chicken fried rice. The cook kept asking my friend about her rice order to the point of being obnoxious. We finally flagged the order taking guy to ask, what up? He more or less rolled his eyes and said he'd take of it. Then came Calamari plopped on my plate. I didn't order Calamari. I clearly said, shrimp and chicken. I have a loud and clear voice. I've done public speaking to 400 without a mic. But, the cook, however, mumbled his way thru just about everything and with the fan rolling along we couldn't hear him so I had no reason to believe anything different when he verified my order of shrimp and chicken and I said, yes. I don't eat Calamari. No one at the table ordered Calamari. Then, another twosome had to hurry the cook guy along to get a bill b/c it all took so long and their bill was wrong! I don't think everyone got the chicken fried rice they thought they ordered b/c some were repeating that's what they wanted but they only got fried rice. The order taking guy never asked my friend if she wanted to celebrate her birthday in song or anything else and he looked sheepishly at us as we walked out and a birthday was being celebrated at the table next to ours. What a goofy situation. In conclusion, I think no one comes to your restaurant for the good service but rather for the food so I double this review will mean much but there you have it!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was great. The cook was awesome too. The restaurant was clean as well.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had best chef tonight Yama I believe was his name. Was by far the best we've had at Benihana. The whole family had good time the server was great too. Wish we could have them every time we came here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were seated at our grill and waited 50 minutes for a chef to show up to cook our food. Very disappointed as this was a special occasion that we were celebrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had our kids and only went for the "cooking in front of you style". Severely disappointed as when our chef came over she told us she wasn't good enough at the tricks. :( we paid a lot of money for our dinner. Kids we upset that other tabels had better entertainment/experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I would not recommend. I was very disappointed. I brought my kids for a special occasion. The chef was pleasant but could not do any of the tricks. The steak was tough. The whole thing was not worth the value of what I paid. $200.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Awesome food, wonderful service, fantastic show... A bit expensive, but totally worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a great night and our chef John was amazing. He did an excellent job with entertaining us. We will definitely request him for our chef again.
THANKS John.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I enjoyed a birthday dinner at this restaurant. The table sits 8. We had 6 young ladies celebrating a 16th birthday sitting with us. They were delightful and NOT loud. Jose was our chef and he did a great job. My steak was wonderful, tender and cooked just right. We would definitely return. However, I know we were lucky to have such quiet table companions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sorry, it just wasn't a good night for Benihana. The meal was just okay. The hostesses were actually a bit rude and inattentive. I'll keep checking reviews before we go back. This place might just be going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The server and cook were amazing. The two greeters/hostess' were terrible. Did not greet us with a smile or even say anything. It was awkward to walk in. I would not want those two being at the face of my restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Yummy food, the time between courses was perfect. I did wish that the time between cocktail and soup would have been longer. Watching the Chef is always is fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Watching the food being prepared in front of you is interesting and entertaining to do if you haven't done it before. This layout also gets your food to you literally fresh off the grill. On the other hand, the seating arrangement and equipment makes conversation difficult.
Benihana's shrimp sauce is addicting. The rest is OK.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food and service was awesome, chef was good and entertaining. Dinner was late starting but understandable and we were given discount

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service has really slid at this location while the menu has gone up. Thank goodness we ordered hot tea and could refill ourselves as server only asked for a second round maybe min in. Soup was salty. Salad bowl was bussed way to late. Dinner was under seasoned. And seafood cooked nearly to death. And our teppanyaki chef quit trying half way in when party of the table seemed disinterested despite our applause. Probably our last visit here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My experience was not as well as expected. The cook splashed oil onto my leg,my daughter and were offered sherbert,however i declined my daughter agreed. It was never given to her. I felt rushed it was my birthday i was never sung to like in the past. Just not a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had Antonio and he was very kind to us! The food was amazing delicious! The tricks were great! I will definitely will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The chef wasn't very good, couldn't remember who ordered what. Even screwed up on one person's rice when the person asked for no vegetables in it. Almost gave my extra shrimp I ordered to someone else at the table. Had to remind the chef that ordered extra rice also

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The chef and server were very attentive and the food was delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The lobster had a very fishy off flavor. Disappointing and we did not eat it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Open table app is awesome! No need to call you can fill out every thing on the app. Benihannas is also amazingly delicious food! And I liked how they switched up what the chef does for the hibachi part of it. Good to see different things instead of the same thing all the time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My wife and I both had a stomach ache and dieorria for the rest of the night after we got home from eating.

Tags: Disabled Access, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We had reservations at 8pm we didn't get seated till 8:30 and our cook didn't get there till after 9! Kind of annoying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brian was such a fun waiter! He really paid attention to us and was willing to answer any questions. He even let us try this really yummy apple saki. He said he didn't want us to be afraid to come back again and try it for real. John, the chef, was really fun too. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We chose to dine here to celebrate two family birthdays & made a reservation a month in advance for 6 people.

When we arrived, the hostess informed us the reservation was for 3 people, not 6. I showed her the email confirmation for a party of 6 and she told me flat out I was wrong. She spoke with the manager who said they "might" be able to accommodate us but it could be a 30-60 minute wait or more. She then proceeded to cancel my OpenTable reservation without my permission.

After some finagling, they were finally able to seat our party.

The service was mediocre at best. Our server disappeared for long stretches of time leaving us without beverages like water and failed to deliver the green tea that was a part of our meals. She also failed to get something the chef needed from the kitchen. he asked another server to get something from the kitchen and that server also failed to do so. Finally, our chef went to the kitchen himself and got the items he needed.

The only thing good thing about the experience was the chef, Jackson, who was outstanding--personable and fun. The food was good though the portions were on the skimpy side for the price paid.

I've dined at numerous Teppan restaurants over the years and have never been as disappointed as I was with this visit. From the poor treatment by the hostesses, to the mediocre service, to the skimpy food portions, to the failure of the manager to stop by and smooth things over, it was an unpleasant experience.

Next time we have a special occasion to celebrate, it will definitely not be here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun to watch the cooking in front of you.
Host took our picture!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Really great food. You get a lot for your buck. But make sure you have a pocket full! Haha. Cocktails are great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Chef was so-so, meal was pretty good. Server was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I love Benihana this was the newest location I have been to and the tables were nice and new, but I was disappointed by the chef, he didn't do much other than cook our food, he did the onion volcano and that was about it. He tried flipping the rice bowls and couldn't catch them, he spun an egg to crack on the spatula but missed. But most frustrating is that this location, or at least this chef didn't cut the shrimp appetizer at all and the colossal shrimp only were cut in half. We don't get knives to cut our food so I expect the chef to cut the meal into bite size pieces. I eat with chop sticks and found it hard to bite pieces off. I have never had them not cut things up before. I still love the food but I don't know about going back to this location if they don't cut in bite size with out asking specifically.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our reservation was for 830 & the chef didn't get to our table until 930. Although we had been told by the wait staff that the chef would cook our food with gluten free soy sauce due to food allergies, when he arrived at the table he said he didn't have it in his cart & would just cook without it. The whole place was dirty: table we sat at was sticky with leftover rice on it from previous diners, same for the chairs & floor. The bathroom was filthy. Paper towels & toilet paper everywhere. Our feet stuck to the floor by the entrance while we were waiting to be sat at our table. Although the management gave us 25% off the tab for the long wait, the whole overall experience was incredibly bad. We won't be back & definitely can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

After we were seated we Waited over an hour for our soup to come and the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Everything was great except the steak. We where there to celebrate her birthday but she could not eat the steak. Complaint was the steak was way over seasoned. We will eat here again and we will remember to have the steak lightly seasoned.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our chef aaron was awesome!!! We have been there alot and he is by far the best chef that we have had.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome family time at Maple Grove Benihana's!!!! Our chef was so skilled and entertaining! We plan to go again this summer for another very fun time together after church.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We took our friends to what we told them was a" nice place". We waited 15 mins for our table which was okay. After being seated it was another 15 mins before getting our beverages. He didn't come often to refill drinks so my husband and I needed up sharing "not happy". Brian the waiter was also throughing garbage on the floor. We found that to be strange. The woman's bathroom was completely disgusting I notified the busser or which seem to not care. The night would have been a bust if it wasn't for Jackson. He was fun and entertaining. The food was great. If we return we will not be inviting guests. Overall the experience was very embarrassing for us. We apologize to our guests for the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.