About Benihana - Maple Grove

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (95)
Special Occasion (84)
Good for Groups (78)
See All
Fun (77)
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Kid-friendly (48)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Family Style (36)
Casual (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (25)
Authentic (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
People Watching (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Healthy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Cozy (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a fun place for a night out. The service is always great. And food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Matt did a fantastic job as our cheif! He was friendly and put on a great show.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Spicy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Both our server and cook were excellent. My whole family had a great time, especially my two granddaughters ages 3 & 6..

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Fun to watch the food prepared but...it was very salty and a lot of oil and garlic butter was used!
I knew we would be sharing a table since we had a small group but it was very distracting. One guy left the table constantly while his date was on her phone. The other group of 3 had a small child who played on the iPad while they ate - with a few screams in between. It was late so I can't blame the child. Dinner seating wax 8:30pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Experience was fun. We had two people that had never been there and they were not too impressed. Our chef was very kind but did not interact with us all the way I've experienced in the past. He also kept dropping his utensils. Made me watch the hygiene part of his services. That wasn't fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Benihana for our daughters (two days apart) birthdays. It is one of our favorite restaurants. We made a reservation for 4:30. The place was super busy, didn't sit down until 5. We did not get our appetizer we ordered, we were told the kitchen was really busy. My husband also did not get his entrée. Luckily there was plenty off food between the rest of us we were able to share. The manager came over and was very apologetic. We were heavily discounted on our bill and given a coupon for our next visit. What great customer service. We were not mad at all, so this was like a treat!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our server was new and it was our first time . He wasn't sure how to explain anything to us. Drinks took a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We've been to this location many times but this was the first time our server and our chef really rocked! We had a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was a nice experience. I would not recommend it for a date, however, because being put at a table with 6 others limits personal conversation. I understand that the idea is to have it personally cooked for you, so it must be that way.

I was not impressed with the gift card I was given. It turned out not to be loaded (company error), so I was so embarrassed when I was told. The manager only comped me half the meal, so I had to put out $37. If they know the cards have been faulty, they should have just taken it.

Also, not happy the server didn't tell us fried rice is an upcharge. She just asked white or fried. Overall good experience, tho.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Ryan was our Chef and he was one of the best I've seen. I've asked for a good one and got it. Very pleased. Our party had a blast

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our chef was amazing, however our waitress was very slow. It took over 10 minutes to get our first rounds of drinks and once our food was served she didn't come back. Needless to say we sat with empty glasses during our meal and I was thirsty. Other than this issue and being put in the back corner the meal was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Benihana's was a fun experience as most TEPPANYAKI restaurants are... We made reservations, yet still needed to wait for a little bit before getting seated. I was a little taken aback by the price when done, as we thought the meal came with fried rice. Apparently it doesn't. The waiter asked us all if we wanted chicken fried rice with our meal, though it was asked in a way that implied "of course you do." Once we got the bill, we saw we were charged $4 each for the rice. Looking back at the menu again, I see that only steamed rice is included. This is very different from other teppankyaki restaurants we've been to. We may go back in a number of years. This isn't the type of meal we do all the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Limited special Holiday menu!
Server was not professional and was more interested in chatting with other waiters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We drove an hour for Mothers Day and a Birthday! Everything was great from the service to the food to the conversation. We were seated with a family with 4 kids who were so polite and well behaved. Great food and plenty of leftovers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I enjoyed the food very much, our chef was funny and very attentive to us and not just the food. He listened to what people did and didn't want throughout the courses. Lovely experience over all, just wish the prices weren't as high as they are. Still very good food and very good for special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food could of been better and they kept getting my gf food wrong they kept putting shrimp on her plate even when she told them that she was allergic to shrimp there shrimp sauce was nasty bitter and thick would never go back there!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were disappointed with the service. It seems that our waiter Brian was training a new person and he was rude to the new server. The chief Gary was one of the worse we had at Benihana. We have had very good hibachi cooks in the past but this visit was terrible. It took a very long time for the chief to cook the food and many times he rant out of portions for the plates. Our time was over two hours because the cook was so slow and then the server Brian was dealing with an issue at our table and it took another 20-minutes to finally get the check.
Very disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had a 7pm reservation and got there early. We were 20 minutes early so we sat at the bar after checking in and told the girl at the counter that's where we would be sitting. I even asked if she calls our name in there also or do we have to make sure we hear her only saying my name at the front door. She did say she would call in the bar area as well. So I waited til 20 after 7 and after still not having heard my name I went up to the front area to ask about my reservation and how much longer it would be. The girl at the computer looked confused. Apparently they called my name only at the front door and supposedly someone else said they were me and took my reservation! Somehow you need to change the way checkin happens. I can't believe after just 20 minutes the girl I checked in with couldn't remember what I looked like or that I said where I'd be sitting. I work retail and see lots of people and would for sure be able to question if someone said they were someone else. So we wound up having to sit in the bar area and eat. Of course after this they did begin to come into the bar area and call loudly each reservation. We did get apologies and some money off the bill, which was very nice, we weren't complaining or even asking for anything at all, it was just offered to us and that was great. But The gal I was with also did not get the shrimp appetizer with her meal. Overal everyone was nice and the food was good. It will not stop me from coming to Benihana, however I do think You need a better system with the reservation and checkins. It was a little disappointing to not get the full Benihana experience
T

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food is awesome! Our cook (Jackson) didn't do anything special no show the best part of the experience. It was one of our parties first time there too. Our server completely forgot about the appetizer I ordered and when I asked for it she brought it at the end of the meal. Over all it's a great place for a birthday. We belong to the Birthday club and go every Birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We have been going here 3 times a year for about 6 years for all of our birthday celebrations. I was very disappointed with the level of service from our server. Our chef was great and the food was good. But we waited over an hour till we even saw our chef. We were there over 2 hours. It has never taken that long before.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My daughter had a wonderful time with her friends for her birthday . Thanks so much!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Lots of fun! I am on a low sodium regimen and this is the best place I've found for me to dine. Pretty expensive so we only go when one of us has a birthday coupon. The server did not tell us that the chicken fried rice is a price upgrade from steamed rice so the meal for five of us ended up costing us an extra $20 just for the rice. That left a "sour" taste in our mouth in spite of the delicious meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The chef was awful - no tricks, no banter with the diners, no knife skills and extremely slow. My 1o year old daughter was really looking forward to the show and left very disappointed. The rest of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We may give it one more chance to see if we get a better chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had Yama for a chef. He might want to be careful when cooking with oil and customers are sitting in a booth. No room to back up when we were lightly sprayed with hot oil a couple of times. My daughter was burned above her right eyebrow. It did turn red and blistered.
The food was very good, as well as the service by wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love Benihana, never disappoints! We definitely plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Chef Jackson did an awesome job even with the other people at the table who were wanting all the attention on them. Great job Jackson!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food as always, I do like also going in to the bar for just a sushi night instead of the full meal. The sushi is always good and I have always had great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

very disappointed. took forever for lunch to start. I signed up for a bd coupon to use for my daughter's bd. never got coupon. when asked waitress about it said said I know nothing about it i can talk to manager never did. told her it was my daughter 17th bd. nothing was done, no happy bd or ice cream. yet was signing and doing bd song to another table. 1st time there and very disappointed. left still hungry. will not come back. not a good show by cook. was kinda boring. no sockie was offered or food shot into our mouths, no were to take a pic of whole table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

So I love Benihana I really do. So I made a reservation and I wanted to sit at a regular table not a hibachi table, and made a note on my reservation. I get there to check in and I mention this when I notice there is open seating but we were told 15 minutes. They told me they don't do reservations for regular tables without hibachi and told us we could just grab a seat. We sat for about 10 minutes with no menus, no silverware, and no waiter. We finally get those items and then we order and it went better as the time went on. My food was kind of crispy so I was a little disappointed. Just not a good night I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great chief great food. Horrible service took for ever to get out drinks had to flag him down for refills, to pay. All the servers were walking around talking rude about the customers and their phones were more important then the tables. Very disappointing when you go there with a party of 5 for a birthday and spend that kind of money to have horrible service..

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I had 1:00pm reservations. Did not get seated till almost 1:30pm. They were short handed on cooks and thus our chef didn't show up till 2:00pm. It was hard to entertain two kids under 5 with this long of a wait. I've never had this experience before. It was frustrating but then again you can only do so much when your short handed. I wish we had gotten a meal discount for the over extended wait.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had reservation, when making the reservation I was asked if it was a special occasion I said yes our sons birthday. At check-in at the restaurant yes a birthday. Asked again at the table by the waiter, yes his birthday and pointed him out of our group of 6. They never did anything to even acknowledge his birthday along with the fact that he ordered white rice instead of fried and never received it, did not impress me. They made an extra fried rice that was given to the other couple at our table to take home. We had 4 teenager's with us when we were seated at our table the people next to us had obviously been drinking a lot and continued to shout profanity and say some very inappropriate things to the point that the kids were uncomfortable and hoping they would leave. Our chef could not speak English very well, making it difficult to understand for everyone at the table. He did 2 things spun a spatula and lit the onion tower on fire. The other tables were getting fancy knife tricks, jokes and demonstrations. Even the other couple at our table said that they wished we would have got someone else. I guess for the price and the experience I was expecting more. Food was good but don't know if we would rush back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Benihana is our goto for Birthdays, always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

New hibachi chef who over cooked the shrimp and veggies. Everyone at table got entree served at different times so some done before others even served. Chef was nervous who made so many errors during the show it ruined the experience for my daughter bday and her friends who was first time there. Dropped salt shaker on floor and still used it. Other servers also broke plates twice the time we there. Very noisy hard to hold a conversation. Not a good experience to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The lunch duet is a great value and tasting. Service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We brought the MN High School culinary team for dinner before they headed off to SC for national competition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Disappointing. Asked for hot black tea with lemon, served lukewarm green tea. The pot sat on the grill & the tea never got any warmer. Waitress served soup, stating it was hot, be careful. Again lukewarm. Ordered tempura shrimp for appetizer to share with my guest, we both agreed the sauce had no flavor. Received only 4 small sh imp, a piece of carrot, one onion, one small slice of zucchini. $10, nope. We both ordered specialties, which was to include 6 courses. We never got the steamed rice but were charged extra for Two full servings of chicken fried rice. (Did not notice the extra charge on the bill until home). My guest was never offered her hot tea,which was part of her meal. Worth $97 plus s tax plus tip? No.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great experience. Rosen is the best Chef there! Be sure to ask to be seated at his table. Staff is very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a great time.it was fun to see the food being prepared at the table and the hun things they do . Like to watch all the fun things they do . Egg roll volcano heart etc .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.