About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fried Rice
  • Benihana Roll
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Sushi
Fried Rice
Benihana Roll
Rainbow Roll
Sushi

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

special occasion (138)
good for groups (133)
great for lunch (73)
See All
kid-friendly (64)
fit for foodies (41)
hot spot (19)
romantic (18)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place always fun and great foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place always fun and great food. Highly recommend it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef Matt was awesome! The food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our chef Matt was awesome! The food was seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Benihana's are wonderful! O ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The staff at Benihana's are wonderful! Our chef was really nice. Everyone was attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

celebrated my husband's birthday and as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

celebrated my husband's birthday and as usual the food was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service, we waited over an hour ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Terrible service, we waited over an hour at our table for the teppenyaki chef to arrive. The waiter was slow and inattentive. Stopped checking in on us after 30-40 minutes of wait time. When we finally asked him to get the manager he offered us some free white rice for the wait. The shift manager came by and was indifferent and snarky. This location has had problems for some time and this will be our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I have been there five times now, I real ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been there five times now, I really enjoy the restaurant and the food. The only problem I had was, the humility was so hi and all the heat from the grills made the floors wet. They were a little slippery but not to bad, when we came in. Then someone was thoroughgoing salt on the floor, that is very small rocks, it got so so slippery. My friend feel. salt is for ice not water.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and dining was enjoyable although t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food and dining was enjoyable although the restaurant could be cleaner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The service was so slow. It took 15 minu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was so slow. It took 15 minutes just for our dinks. The chef did make delicious food but service was just bad. The way the restaurant is set up is also very open so four tables of people are all just sitting together. I would not go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

It was our chef's first day and he was a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was our chef's first day and he was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the laid back feel, it felt op ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I enjoyed the laid back feel, it felt open and relaxing. It was also fun to watch the food preparation around the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a 730 reservation, waited forever ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a 730 reservation, waited forever to get seated. Finally they set us at a table with two other couples and we waited two hours before our chef even showed up. They spaced out our salad and soup in that two hours to keep us occupied. It didn't help. The manager did come and apologize. We didn't even get our meat until 10 PM. I understand if they were shortstaffed or extra busy but they could have set that expectation with us instead of leading us on to keep believing our chef was coming. Terrible experience And ruined a birthday evening! I can't imagine ever going back and waiting like that again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

It's always good food, but really LOUD, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It's always good food, but really LOUD, plus we had reservations & still ended up waiting for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I had an great time and the food was exq ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had an great time and the food was exquisite. Our chef wasn't as friendly as ones I've had previously, but it was still a fun experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Veggies were Luke warm by the time they ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Veggies were Luke warm by the time they served the meat.

2 hours for the experience? Should've been 1 hour.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made the reservation for 7:30 and we w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I made the reservation for 7:30 and we weren't seated till 8:15. Then our chef didn't come out till 9:40. We waited forever. Another party came in after us and got their food before us. It was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

I love Benihana's food. I go there all ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love Benihana's food. I go there all the time but only for the food. The service there has been lacking for several months unfortunately. Before our server was always on her phone and never filled drinks and forgot to bring out our soups and salads. This time our server was amazing but we had to wait an hour before our chef came to our table and when he did come out, granted he was new, he was very unprofessional. He was more concerned about listening and commenting on our side conversation than was making the food. Which he made one at a time. This is not going to stop me from going back, I know there are great chefs and servers there. Just disappointed that the last few times we've been there, the staff hasn't been up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always love the Benihana experience. Thi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always love the Benihana experience. This chef was one of the best we have had. Did more tricks than the norm (rice bowl throw). Very nice wait staff and great food! Would highly recommend this Benihana for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

As always it exceeds expectations. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

As always it exceeds expectations. The food is outstanding and you never leave hungry.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, pretty good service. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent food, pretty good service. The grill chef, Kai, was the best we have ever had. He was fabulous! Our grandson (age 14) requested this place for his birthday, and he was not disappointed. We had an overall very good experience, and will be back for future birthday celebrations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Place is gone WAY down hill. Service, ma ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Place is gone WAY down hill. Service, management, everything is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Yummy sushi!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Yummy sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place, great for birthdays an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love this place, great for birthdays and date night

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We always love going to Benihana for cel ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always love going to Benihana for celebrations and birthdays. We had a great chef who was new and lots of fun who made delicious food! We will definitely be back

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not as good as it usually is. H ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was not as good as it usually is. Had very little flavor.

Service was slow. Had to ask for refills and dirty dishes to be taken away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

I always enjoy going to this location. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I always enjoy going to this location. Their food is consistently well prepared and the person cooking the food at the grill in front of you always entertains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Floors were very slippery due to "moistu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Floors were very slippery due to "moisture/humidity" rather than put up signs and take your chances with patrons falling...how about putting down something to dry up the floors? I also am sorry to say your portions are getting visibly smaller, even the zucchini which is pretty inexpensive. This time we were also quite rushed at the finish of our meal even though there were several open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter/server was fantastic, our che ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waiter/server was fantastic, our chef was great and our company at the table was very diverse, interesting, and made it a very fun experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our chef was phenomenal. He was funny an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our chef was phenomenal. He was funny and dinner was entertaining. Our drinks were always coming without having to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were once again very disappointed wit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were once again very disappointed with the reservation process. This is our second time within 2-3 months that we had to wait almost a half hour after our reservation to be seated. VERY frustrating.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have been coming for many years now. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been coming for many years now. It has always been excellent and entertaining. Noticed yhid timd went much quicker amd somr of the "show" was gone. Also cook used much less butter, msde me feel about healthly meal :)

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The time it takes to dine varies so much ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The time it takes to dine varies so much. Sometimes we get in at our reservation times-sometimes not like this visit was 12 minutes post reservation time to be seated. Then we were there for 40 minutes post reservation time before there was a chef present. You can't have anything planned afterwards because sometimes it's an hour and sometimes it's 90 minutes. The large booth we were in had pretty bad old cushions and it wasn't comfortable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service and food were wonderful at t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and food were wonderful at this Benihana. Our server and chef were both very entertaining and professional. They were accommodating re: food allergies, also.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I LIKE to EAT THE FOODS . BUT IT DOSE DE ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I LIKE to EAT THE FOODS . BUT IT DOSE DEPENDS ON THE Chef!!! Ect... maybe more trained .

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was great, it was Father's Day ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, it was Father's Day and I took my dad. He enjoyed it very much!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great special occasion restaurant. My ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

A great special occasion restaurant. My family enjoys going and having a hibachi style Japanese dinner a few times a year.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love that we can sit in a group at a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love that we can sit in a group at a round table with family. It makes it so much easier to converse with each other. The food . . . well, just excellent. We were there for my husbands birthday recently, but we go there just for dinner as well. We also appreciate that we can do everything on line. :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed myself. I bought my son there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I enjoyed myself. I bought my son there for his 20th birthday. He was in a car accident the week before and I just wanted to spend time with him all by myself. We enjoyed ourselves. The food was great. The server was so nice. We really had a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food! Spendy though. Service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food! Spendy though.

Service was slow, needed to ask for things to be cleared.

Waitress forgot to take our picture, very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Dining experience was great. Just the ri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Dining experience was great. Just the right size crowd for a weekday. The cost of adding chicken to your meal was a bit much! For $8.00 I could feed a small country! not sure if that was really the cost or if the waitress was just being lazy! Nonetheless I declined! As it turns out I didn't need it anyway the meal was ok without it. A lil too much butter tho... I'm told that's what makes it taste soo good! Overall a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night...& amazing food! The waiter ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great night...& amazing food! The waiter was excellent & our chef was perfect! Enjoyed every min of it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.