About Benihana - Maple Grove

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Food
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Special Occasion
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Twin Cities / Northern Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

good for groups (150)
special occasion (147)
kid-friendly (77)
See All
great for lunch (65)
fit for foodies (43)
hot spot (29)
romantic (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service

Dined 5 days ago

We went to Benihana to celebrate a birthday. We do this a few times every year. This time was by far the best experience we have had in a long time. The chef changed up the show and did some things we had never seen before. The food was great and we really appreciate the wait/bussing staff as well. The whole experience was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Benihana NEVER disappoints!

Dined on May 17, 2016

I've been going to Benihana since BEFORE it was Benihana! Samurai was great and Benihana is equally as fabulous! The Maple Grove location is bright and convenient! Will DEFINITELY be back SOON!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Came for my daughters 15th bday but wasn ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Came for my daughters 15th bday but wasn't happy with the service. Spent over 300.00 on 6 of us.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Lady fRIENDs Meet Once a Month and M ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My Lady fRIENDs Meet Once a Month and May was My Month. There was 8 of us and The Chef was so wonderful. Can't remember his Name. But He deserves a Raise. All My Friends were just amazed .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday night

Dined on May 10, 2016

Was a good experience, only thing I didn't like was being seated right next to the host stand. Constantly heard the employees conversations.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As a person on a fixed income - ---SS

Dined on May 10, 2016

I will NOT come there again if I have to sit at a table with 2 kids SCREAMING while I'm trying to eat. I brought my 90 year old mother and a 80 year old friend. Kids will be kids but they were NOT out kids and I would never let my kids act like that. Next time I will demand a KIDLESS table and if you can't accommodate me I will not come again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The waitress was good but she had to man ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was good but she had to many tables to wait on that night and was not as attentive to our table needs like I have seen waitresses there in the past.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Too expensive

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fun for a very special occasion, but overall, it's very expensive to eat there. Especially for a family.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Made a 4:30 reservation, but no one else was there so we waited half an hour to be seated. We went during happy hour. None of the servers knew about the specials. Finally one said it was for the lounge grab a drink and come back to the table. We went to the lounge/bar but were you had to be sitting there for the specials. Half our table upgraded to the chicken fried rice. After our meal was completed we realized we didn't have our white rice. So basically we had rice for desert. Wish we would have chosen a different place to celebrate.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was fine

Dined on May 4, 2016

They didn't take our picture...I'm kind of anniyed about that. I dont know if they just dont do it anymore or if the waiter just didn't do it .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Always great

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Birthday fun

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere. Only problem is that I made reservations two weeks prior and they called me on my cell phone 10 minutes before the reservation to see if I was still coming but did not say why. We arrived on time but they would not seat us until the other members in our party showed up. While waiting, they asked us two times when they were coming. They were 5 minutes late getting there. I was annoyed by the not seating us without an explanation and having to wait but everything went great after that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Times As Always

Dined on April 28, 2016

We go to Benihana almost every time we have a birthday in our family and are always delighted with the food and the service. The only thing I personally would like to see is that they ban latex balloons, as there are people in our family with an allergy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Server was great!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Server made the meal go from good to great! Good times!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Meal

Dined on April 25, 2016

We were a little late for our 7:00 pm reservation (1 minute - got the phone call and told them we were walking in). Then we waited 20 minutes for our table. (put in the penalty box) Then we waited another 1/2 hour for our chef (waitress kept us posted, knew they were behind, said they were understaffed with chefs) Meal was good, chef was good, however, it got late for us since it added almost an hour to our meal. Would have been nice to be informed of their situation. May have made other plans.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food was super very good, two beef and s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

food was super very good, two beef and shrimp, two beef and chicken, 1 kid meal chicken however my daughter broke out shortly after we left the building. just wondering if there would be anything in the seasoning or oils.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food cook was not good @ all when I told him my food was not cooked he got an attitude about it instead of trying to fix the problem

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The Chef at Bennihana is as important as food.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very disappointing combination of a less-than-enthusiastic chef and a forgetful server. The show is as important as the food @ Benihana and neither were up to par. Very doubtful that we will return with our family that includes 3 grandchildren. This was our fourth visit to this location of Bennihana.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Chef!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Antonio was one of the best chefs we've ever had. He cooked the food perfectly in every aspect!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disapointed !!!!

Dined on April 20, 2016

The place is very noisy....there is no need for background music. Due to the noise of the over head hood it was very hard to hear the chef talk. Also the chef was not very well prepared....could not build his onion volcano ....because he did not have the right equipment. Very disappointing. There were crying children at the table behind us....very irritating!!! There were landscapers working outside the window we sat at....as they were landscaping they interrupted a varmints nest which caused them to run....my biggest fear is small varmints!!!! I do not plan on returning to this restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service not good.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and the service was terrible. The chef we had was great but the server we had was terrible, like the guy didn't want to be there. Not good at all.

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

It took almost an hour from the time we were seated for the soup to arrive. The waiter was beyond rude to everyone at our table. Everytime I looked around to see if I could spot him he was leaning on a counter talking to someone. We will never return to this location

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Marvelous

Dined on April 16, 2016

Once again, the food was outstanding. The wait staff was informative for the new people. The chef was not as entertaining or talkative this time. Overall my friends who had never been there before will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flaming Onion!!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Best part of the chef show. Food was beyond great. For a big guy, the meat portion may be a little light, especially if Mr. Carnivore doesn't fill up first on the shrimp, salad etc. For someone like me, an older smaller woman, I was stuffed to the max. It was my husband's birthday celebration, and the free ice cream for all was hugely appreciated--very nice touch. Service was excellent, very patient and accomodating.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

Couldn't hear the server. She was quite ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Couldn't hear the server. She was quite rude. Got ignored when ordering sushi. Server stated that we needed to go sit in the bar only. We were not informed of this prior to being seated by the hostess. Terrible overall experience. Food quality was awful. Will not be returning and will not recommend!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Service. Overcrowded

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

I usually like it here. The food was not seasoned the waitress did not serve us drinks. Overall bad experience.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for Birthday dinners.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place for Birthday dinners.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seating

Dined on April 8, 2016

A minor complaint. I had reservations for 5:30, but was not seated till 5:48. Food and waiter was great though.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun time for special occasions

Dined on April 7, 2016

I went out with three of my other friends for a birthday dinner. Had a fun time and the chef interacted with the group. The food was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

only issue was the noise level. Everythi ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

only issue was the noise level. Everything else was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Much better food and service than the Ma ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Much better food and service than the Mall of America location. Decided to give this location a shot since my last 3 visits to the Mall of America were horrible.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fun show and atmosphere

Dined on March 29, 2016

Our chef was fun, a little condescending, but mostly tongue-in-cheek. The food was really good and the sauces are amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disappoint in the shrimp usually w ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

I was disappoint in the shrimp usually we have such good food. We go there at least once every two months and never have complained and always had great food. It just stink when you are looking forward to it and it didn't taste good at all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

Benihana has changed portion sizes...les ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Benihana has changed portion sizes...less than full fried rice bowls, fewer shrimp, and other smaller portions for a higher price. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Birthday Coupon Mistake

Dined on March 22, 2016

I took my boyfriend on his birthday to benihana but I failed to print off the coupon I had available on my phone. My printer is broken so I thought it wouldn't be a problem; however, they still didn't accept my coupon. Everything else was amazing, the food, the people, but I was very upset I couldn't save my money with that coupon.....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As expected

Dined on March 21, 2016

Benihana's does not disappoint! great family dinner place with entertainment. Food was great but service was amazing. Our waiter went above and beyond to make my birthday special.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

Good good and great staff! W me always enjoy it there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Was NOT happy.

Dined on March 16, 2016

I have been going to the Benihanas for over 20 years, when it was originally Samurai. This place is one of my favorite childhood memories with my family. It had been 3 years since I was there and I was not impressed. Meat quality was terrible and the shrimp was cooked until it was rubbery. Will not be returning, which is very upsetting to be since I told everyone I was with (who had never been there before) that it was my favorite restaurant. Benihanas to me used to be authentic and special. It has now changed to another "chain" restaurant. Very very sad. Our chef also did nothing impressive, just a lot of "tapping" of his shackers. We also only saw our server 2 times. After we ordered and never recieved refills on our drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome date night!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was just as great! Thanks for making date night even better!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Terrible

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had a terrible time on March 12th. It was the worst experience ever!!!!!! I will not be going back for a while. I think I need a break Benihana. Benihana was my favorite resturant- NO ANYMORE!!!!!! I have to find me a new resturant.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.