About Benihana - Maple Grove

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (66)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for Groups (63)
See All
Fun (58)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Great for Lunch (35)
Casual (27)
Comfort Food (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Authentic (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Romantic (12)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Spicy (4)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been enthusiastic and regular Benihana patrons for years but this recent visit left us disappointed. The food preparation was mechanical and the 'show' was lifeless or missing. The styrofoam food boxes were brought to the table as soon as the final bits of food came off the grill, and bus staff hovered nearby ready to snatch any plates or utensils that appeared to be finished, leaving us feeling very rushed and unwelcome. If we were the last ones there, I might understand but we were not. Hopefully this was a one time bad experience, but it definitely lacked the things we have come to expect at Benihana's over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We have been coming here for years. The last time Our chef was awesome. The server was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Grill is showing wear and questions about health codes. Small crowd but slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great and our Chef Steve was excellent. It just took a long tme to get service to our table. But overall I enjiyed it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The show tonight was really special not just the same routine. Some new show stopping tricks were seen. The chef tonight was really engaging, he cooked with love and care and the food was the best I've ever had from this restaurant. It was really fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The service wasn't very good. They seemed very under staffed so the meal took a long time. I will say that the staff that was there was very nice, but regardless, for what they charge, the service should be better.

This was our first time at the Maple Grove, MN location. We usually go to St. Louis Park, which has always been very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server Nadia was great!!!! She was friendly, happy, and always kept coming to check on us. She was so nice. We could tell she was working at a lot of tables and she was still so nice and so wonderful!!!!!!!!!! Best service we ever had!!!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always love Benihana, although I like the staff better at the GV location. The past few times I've been to the MG location, the staff has been rude and acts like I'm bothering them when asking for something. Great food tho, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Service was slow. There was no "cooking show". Our table spent more time catching the shows going on at other tables. Food was great but overall disappointing experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, lots of choices. They take care to ask about food allergies and make sure all the guests are taken care of. Make reservations on a weekend, especially near the peak hours of 6 - 7 pm.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

we asked for the best chef and he did not disappoint we had a blast!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

They seemed overbooked, even with reservations we were seated almost 30 minutes after our reserved time and our party was there on time. The chef and wait staff were very friendly and made the evening very enjoyable. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always great food and great service! Perfect for groups of any kind!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is always good The chefs it's the same old same old nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We have been to Benihana 3 times this month and have been very disappointed. This time was no different. Our chef was extremely slow. He was kind and friendly but we waited for him more than 20 minutes and then it took almost an hour to make the food (start to finish). So most of it was cold when we started eating. We got to Benihana at 1 and didn't get done until after 3.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our dining experience at your restaurant did not disappoint but rather added to the occasion celebration, a family birthday. Our chef, Jon, was not only entertaining but also prepared excellent meal. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our server didn't have a good personality and wasn't attentive. Our food was over-cooked so it was dry and it took a long time (we went for lunch and the restaurant wasn't busy) to get the food. In addition, we ordered and paid for dinner entrees and only received lunch portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This is my third visit to this location and each time am disappointed with the service. Our chef, Antonio displayed no performing skill and was not entertaining. His act was limited to lighting the onions on fire and trying to get the shrimp tails into his hat(with limited success). For the time and money, I expect more than 2 tricks and banging the utensils around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Unfortunately, the hostess came off as the sales prevention team. Not an engaging personality, and she wouldn't allow us to be seated until our entire group was present, even though we had 6 of 8 in the building. That started the evening with a bit of irritation. The waiter and chef were fine when we were finally allowed to be seated. The food was good and we had a nice time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The cook was really bad. He appeared to be confused throughout the cooking process. My chicken was overcooked and inedible. With so many other options available, I doubt I will be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great experience. I really enjoyed myself! They really showed me a good time for my birthday :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

There were 3 groups at the table. All was well except the guest that would not stop watching videos on her phone. Ignoring her son. Always asking for more food. More containers. Rather distracting. I don't know what your policy is but it would have been nice if someone suggested she not use her phone during the whole experience. Not just 5 minutes but the entire time she was in the building.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We enjoy the restaurant, but UNFORTUNATELY, on August 28, 2017, we were there
for two birthdays. Reservations were at 7:00 pm. We were seated at 7:23 which is not the end of the world. By 8:25, we had only had the soup and salad - no cook or service to be found.
Finally started meal - did not leave until after 10:00 pm. This was extremely disappointing as we were all hungry and getting tired. I should have said something to the front desk, but I think they knew. Paid a huge bill and the service was horrible. Not sure when we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Came for our anniversary. Food was delicious, Bloody Mary was not the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Chef Ryan was the best ever! Great show! Service was great as well

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I got the teriaki steak (medium rare) the steak was perfectly tender and tasted amazing. 10/10 would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. A bit pricy but so worth it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Our server and chef were great but the fried rice was shorted by 1 so I got one from the kitchen which was not nearly as good as what the rest of the table had. We also tried to order the tempura bananas, which we have tried to order every time we go, and once again, they were not available. Seriously, how hard is it to keep bananas in stock? Everything was great for my party of people, but the meal was not as good with the fried rice from the kitchen that was not as tasty as what was cooked in front of us. An apology would have been nice . . .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had dinner in the lounge area, more conducive to table conversation among friends. Our server was very nice and helpful. Used my birthday coupon. Food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very interesting and was fun to sit by other families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual. The server was great. The only issue was the chef. He did not talk besides introduce himself and did not do any of the "show" they usually put on for entertaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great waiter, great chef, great food and lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Ryan was the best Chef.. ever. loving joking his timing was great ... loved the evenlng.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

This review is about the Benihana location in Maple Grove, MN.

If you're not doing the Hibachi, don't bother making a reservation here. Even if you decide to do the Hibachi, be prepared to wait a while until Benihana has enough diners to fill a Hibachi table. Be warned that this wait is at least 1 hour. My colleagues and I had reserved a table for lunch, not knowing that reservations are only for Hibachi. Benihana or OpenTable should make this very clear when diners try to make reservations to avoid frustration when diners arrive and are told they have to wait even though they're doing a la carte and not Hibachi. Front desk staff have no interest in helping make other arrangements like set up a table. And when I say staff, I mean staff - there were 3 on duty that day and they were all clustered around this tiny counter like sardines. The vibe we got from the front desk staff was "Go away. Your dining issue is not our problem. Fix it yourself." In the end, my colleagues and I ended up sitting ourselves at the bar. When we left about 45 mins later, 2 diners who were already waiting on a Hibachi table when we first arrived, were still waiting to be seated. Overall, service was horrible. Our server (who was also the bartender) tried his best to attend to us and we appreciated his efforts. It is unfortunate that the shoddy treatment we received from the front desk soured our lunch experience.

Benihana, Maple Grove MN - Please train your front desk staff to be courteous and helpful to all diners, regardless whether they're doing a la carte or Hibachi. You are a Japanese-styled restaurant - Japan is renowned for the way they treat their customers respectfully - make an effort to act like one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I love the food there but we had a 5pm reservation, and everyone who came in after us were seated first. We had to wait 1 hour to get seated. Makes the reservation kind of pointless.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always a wonderful experience, love the food. Very fun place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Our Chef was phenomenal!! Food was outstanding and he kept us entertained! My son is still talking about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Today was a great meal. I came in for my bday and had a less than enjoyable experience. They made things right the next time. Barely a wait, server was great and the chef was entertaining. I even received a discount that was a bonus. My daughter enjoyed the show this was her 2nd time coming here. It was a fun experience/

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Only complaint was that it took awhile for our cook to arrive and start-- we were all done with our soup and salad and he still hadn't arrived. Server kept drinks full and once he started everything was wonderful-- food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.