About Benihana - Maple Grove

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Maple Grove is located in the Fountains at Arbor Lakes. Although reservations are not required, they are recommended. Take a break from your busy day around Arbor Lakes and prepare for a dining experience unlike any other at one of our 18 teppanyaki tables. Watch as our chefs display their skills as you become part of the show, or pull up a seat at our sushi bar for one of our specialty rolls, nigiri, sashimi, and appetizers.

11840 Fountains Way
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Hemlock and Elm Creek

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 315-0090

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/maplegrove-mn-mg

Parking Details:
No valet free public parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Fun (78)
See All
Good for Groups (75)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Kid-friendly (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Family Style (36)
Romantic (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
People Watching (18)
Authentic (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Spicy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

The Maple Grove Staff is always helpful and pleasant. The service was great and our Chef was very pleasant and creative. The food was fantastic and great as always.

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Forgot my brand new expensive coat at this location on 03/22/17. They couldn't find it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a disappointing visit to Benihana, which isn't typical. Our host decided to seat 9 people at our table instead of 8. It's usually tight when they do that but it's not awful, except this time. She didn't take into consideration the size of people she was seating. There were 4 quite large people out of the 9, which made for very uncomfortable seating. Some people couldn't even get their chair all the way up to the table. To make that worse, we ended up with the slowest server I've ever had there. It took 15 - 20 minutes just to get our drinks. Then the salads weren't even out yet when the chef arrived. Usually everyone is almost done with salads and soup by that point. Overall, we were at the table for over 2 hours. Usually we're in and out in a hour and a half, tops. We were so irritated that we didn't wait for him to come back to take our picture (they take your picture when you're there for your birthday). Very frustrating visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

I love this place... I've never had a bad experience, food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Kenny was the best chef we have ever had at Benihana! Very talented and funny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We love Benihana. Came here for my birthday, had a 30 dollar off certificate so that was great! The food was hot and fresh. The service was wonderful and they even sang happy birthday ☺

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic service! Very entertaining! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Was disappointed, we have gone often. Service was not the best. The waitress spilled the soup on me. It was very hot and my lap was soaked. She acted like it was nothing and we had to ask for a soup replacement and more napkins to soak up all the soup on my lap. She bring club soda- staining was the least of my worries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very unique food with the right portions and the style allows guests to relax and enjoy their time at Benihana.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was tasty, but very noisy and smoky. Dipping sauces were delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Kids should not be seated at the bar! They should be saved for adults who want to order adult beverages. Food is ALWAYS good!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely the best in the twin cities for a great experience and even better food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, People Watching, Casual, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fun, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had a $100 Benihana gift card to use, I had purchased it in December. The server told us the card had a $0 balance and rejected it. I had purchased six gift cards directly at Benihana in December, spending $600. Every card has been denied when presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

People were using the f word and being inappropriate in the table next to us for most of our meal. The rice was not fully cooked.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

As always the food was delicious. Had an unpleasant experience on my most recent visit, but as a frequent diner, I can say that is not my usual experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great family restaurant, kids love it. Birthday deal seems like good value and good quality. Chefs are entertaing and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Jose was a fantastic cook! Put on a great show!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Was a bit disappointed at this visit. I went for my birthday with a friend and used my Chef's table coupon. (Thank you) The food was good but I not as good as usual. I ordered a Chicken Fried Rice to go so I could have some for lunch the next day. If I remember right...it was between $8 & $9 for about 1.5 cups of rice. Really?? That's crazy. Not to mention and extra $4+ to get fried rice with your meal.
I love your food but it just wasn't the same as about 6 months ago when I was there.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I love the food at benihanas,so I decided to take my friend for birthday lunch. Apparently this restaurant doesn't enjoy the lunch crowd. Chef was not enthusiastic to be there.. refills were minimal . as our meal was getting prepared the table next to us chef was packing up.. the waitress came right away with boxes.. our table all thought that seemed odd. Soon as our chef wrapped up she asked if we were ready for boxes .. we were all baffled because we had no time to eat , she came back twice within a few minutes prompting us to pack up and leave . Mind you I ordered off the dinner menu, when I spend 40.00 for a meal I expect enough time to eat it. Fail for Maple Grove for lunch. If there is a time limit on how long you want us to stay, that should be spoken.. apparently this is a to go show!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We went with a group of seven to celebrate two birthdays. Six of the seven people had never been to Benihana's before. Our server and chef were amazing, and the food was top notch. My steak was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. All six people who'd never been said they'd definitely be coming back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We go here to celebrate birthdays. The kids love it and we all enjoy the food. A great experience for dining

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was outstanding and plentiful, almost too much to eat. Was fun watching the chef. He was very good at what he does. 3 year old granddaughter really enjoyed watching the funny things he was doing. will go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a 6:30 reservation when we arrived they tried jamming us into a booth with other people WHERE me and my husband would have had to literally share one seat. Benihana is not cheap to go to in the first place we were celebrating my birthday and when we asked for a different seat we were told we had to wait another 35 to 45 minutes. I had to get up to go to work the
next day. The manager was really rude no customer service skills at all he was an Asian man didn't get his name. The chef did not know any tricks she was new the food preparation and appearance was horrible she was very slow not used to cooking on that type of a grill more of a Perkins or Denny's type of line cook. and the taste was not good at all. Definitely a disappointment.. We typically spend between 2 and $300 every time we dine in there. They need to learn some customer service skills and also how to treat paying customers. When they go to a high-end restaurant like this you have high expectations. The manager needs to learn how to deal with customers and at least show empathy and relate to a customer concern. The last time we went there last year in February we all sat there and and froze because they have cold air blowing down the vent and we've had 3 birthday parties we each spent $300. Not a great way to treat customers!! very frustrating!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I usually go during the lunch hour, but this particular lunch hour even with reservation. The chef took awhile to come out. We almost immediately after the meal was prepared had to leave.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My dining experience was dampened by the fact that I got ripped off for 147.00 that I had remaining on my Benihana gift card, but showed a zero balance at check out. Spoke to a manager who said she would get back to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was just ok. Way overpriced. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Disappointed with our experience. New cook, no flavor like we normally get and chicken had to be spit out. Was like chewing on rubber. Manager took $10 off $130 bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Just a great place! We love coming! Great food great service! All around a great time! We will definitely be back again

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We made a reservation for 5. We had babies in slings not eating. Host was very rude to us about this.
Very disappointed. Server was rude. Chef did nice job, except forgot my shrimp, my birthday lunch. I used to love coming here, but will not recommend anyone. Food was ok, over priced and just a bad expierence overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our cook was very friendly and funny. He made the food to our liking and made sure we were all satisfied. Our waitress was very sweet and friendly as well. She helped us know how to order and what is good and most popular. She also was willing to take a picture of me and my boyfriend for his birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Servings are becoming smaller. The shrimp appetizer was about 4 small pieces of shrimp cooked too long so tough. Everything was cold as it took chef too long too cook everything. Ordered rice to go and it was such a small portion for nearly $5. Disappointed in Benihana.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had a great time. Our Chef and server made sure we had what we needed. The chef was entertaining and the server was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ryan was great at what he does. Very friendly staff. Fun for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had reservations for 2 at 4pm we were seated quickly however we didn't get a cook until 5pm. We were never asked if there was an occasion for visiting (It was our 5 year anniversary). Our cook was delightful thankfully! But after dinner they forgot to ask about desserts or ask what kind of ice cream the people who's dinner came with that.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our chef and waiter was great! Definitely made our lunch even better! Excellent service and our chef was entertaining and food was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The overall services was nice however the food was not great at all. The chef served under cooked meats and none of the food was able to be eaten together due to the length of time it took to cook each portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Down hill... lazy cook, mediocre food, furnishings felt dirty. Frankly, I have higher expectations when spending $30+ for a meal. I'd compare it to Applebee's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service here are excellent. It's great, each time we come, to watch the chefs prepare the food as we watch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.