Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Fun (58)
Good for Birthdays (58)
See All
Good for Groups (55)
Good for a Date (43)
Kid-friendly (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Casual (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Family Style (21)
People Watching (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vegan (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

We were celebrating my new job. We always celebrate every occasion at Beni.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress took our order wrong and the cook didn't bring out enough food. But every other experience that I have had there was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Average visit made so by the chef at the table. Very disengaged and more interested in the goings on around the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef made mistakes with our orders and we had to wait for some of our food.
Didn't engage with the table and didn't do much entertaining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Too pricey for tweens who are very picky eaters. $25 per kid who ate mainly the meat and a veg. was not worth the price. Recomment not bringing kids which doesn't make it a family environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our chef, William was very good cook as well as a nice person! Thanks William!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was great! The chef was a lot of fun. The prices are a little more than I would typically like to spend but it considering the amount of food and entertainment I wouldn't say it was overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ive been to several such Hibachi frills and the one at the MOA is nothing to sneeze at.
Cheer on the chef and he prepares you meal before you... put some energy into your visit and it will be paid back with great food and a memorable time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Poor service waitress was rude and messed up my order twice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The manager was great. He informed us of a issue with a larger party and that it was taking longer than normal to send a chef to our table and he apologized. he then followed up a half hr later to say it would be soon and at the end without me having to complain and ruin my daughter's birthday, he automatically gave us a discount and again apologized. Loved that he kept us informed and then compensated without me having to argue for it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I have been to Bennihana's plenty of times, and unfortunately this visit was a dissappointment. The waiter was not attentive at all, we had to ask for water refills many times, and wait an extremely long time for other items. He lost our birthday coupons that we had given him at the beginning of the meal, and almost forgot to bring out ice cream at the end. Too bad!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was good but service was poor and the cleanliness has gone downhill. The carpeting around our table was so sticky your shoes stuck to it and it took quite a bit of walking afterwards to get it off the bottom of our shoes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Mother daughterttip

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Server was very slow at giving us our bill and boxes. He seemed to have no sense of urgency at all. Chef was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was our first time taking our 3 daughters and they are already prepared to return. The food was absolutely delicious. I'm definitely looking forward to returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Benihana is our go to restaurant on our birthdays. Good food, love the entertainment of the chefs cooking and the endless food. Makes awesome leftovers next day. The shrimp sauce is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very disappointed in Benihana management. We arrived with a valid birthday certificate, but management would not honor it due to an error generating a barcode. They confirmed it was a valid certificate, and that the error was on their end but refused to honor it. Manager was cold, rude an even hostile towards us. There are other Benihana restaurants in the Twin cities- we will not be returning to the MOA location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Been going to Bennys for 6 years best location Golden Valley worst location Mall of America been there 3 times didnt get a picture or anything .Only a couple of cooks give a great show. Our cook was not engaging at all while I was there seen 4 different celebrations then people were rushed out. It's more of a rush you to get in and out then a experience will probably go back to Golden Valley as they have authentic Japanese staff yes it does make a difference.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My husband, daughter & I all have birthdays within a few days of one another, & we decided to celebrate them at Benihana. It was a really fun evening. The waiter & chef were very entertaining & the food was great. The portions were generous, enough for take home boxes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Really enjoyed the dinner and show by the chef. Excellent food and service! Always enjoy our meal there!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The waiter (Al) and the chef (sammy) were both great! Food was tasty as usual!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This location was chosen for convenience and nothing else. The food is what's expected during each visit, so nothing spectacular or disappointing. Our chef was fun and energetic. He engaged the children and children at heart during the entire experience. Drinks were kept topped off which to me is one of the most important things when eating out for a meal. I was not thrilled and did inform the host at the front, we weren't asked like the other three tables around us, if we wanted tea or ice cream. Although not the most important item for me, it does come off poorly on the establishment. It makes a patron wonder why our table was singled out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our server was great. Chef was great, great experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Dining at Benihana - Mall of America is lots of fun. They never disappoint!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The service was much better than the last time we dined there a few months ago. The food is consistently great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We enjoyed the evening as a group. Our grill master was fantastic. He prepared a great meal with entertainment and humor. The only hard part was we had a difficult time understanding our waitress, and she actually got rude about it a couple of times.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always entertaining, with excellent food. Great for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This was our first time at this location. Everything was similar except we didn't get the photo at the end. It was kind of a bummer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is, by far, our favorite restaurant. The food is amazing, the chefs are entertaining and the servers are very nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The cook Junior was awesome! He was an excellent cook and he engaged well with the table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always a great experience! Superbly managed. Excellent food and staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was very good. It was a nice atmosphere to be in. The chef was personable and interacted with everyone. Definitely a good and entertaining meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious as always. Our chef Timitio was great!! It was my birthday dinner celebration. We will definitely be back for lunch next week!! Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fun dinner idea for small groups! Unique dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I took my family of 6 for a birthday celebration. I was a little concerned about this location given some reviews I have seen, but ended up having a great time. It was very entertaining and our kids loved it. The food was excellent, though a few members of our family are vegetarians and there were not many options for them. Overall, it was a great experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Erik was awesome my daughters were in awe of his performance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite special occasion spots. I always love coming here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Our chef was great and funny. Seating was nice and we were not cramped crowded. It took a long time though for them to take our orders, we pretty much sat there and waited , wondering when someone will come to take our orders and they were not even busy for a Friday night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service from our waiter and chef! Attentive and entertaining

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.