About Benihana - Mall of America

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-mall Of America - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
California Roll - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Sushi - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Trio - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Good for Birthdays (32)
See All
Fun (26)
Kid-friendly (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Family Style (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They did a good job, made some errors on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

They did a good job, made some errors on the orders but quickly fixed them. The food was a really good. They do make it a fun atmosphere especially for a group. The servers and chefs were all very friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fine. This particular Benihana ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was fine. This particular Benihana seems to struggle more than the one we frequent more often. They were out of two different beers we ordered; including basic Colts Light and then a Japanese beer. We had eight people in our group and the server charged us for 9 fried rice sides. Also one of members of our group who ordered chicken could not eat it as the chicken was unusually and oddly chewy. Rest of group enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent birthday dinner! Server made a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent birthday dinner! Server made a point to recognize my birthday and made it special. Also, the chef was very entertaining.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took a good 20 minutes to get our bar dr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Took a good 20 minutes to get our bar drinks. Food was great. 19.00 ala carte steak was kinda pricey. Overall very good other than the rude couple of ladies at our hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had steak filet and scallops. Steak was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had steak filet and scallops. Steak was too well done asked fir rate by the time they cut and stored it was medium

Our server was too busy too be attentive. Had to wait a while for drinks and then they came with the soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Latira was our server and she was outsta ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Latira was our server and she was outstanding. She went way above and beyond to make sure everyone was taken care of. Sammy was our chef and it was awesome to see a different show at Benihana. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Eric our server was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent service. Eric our server was attentive and kind. He offered great suggestions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed... I took my daughter ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I was disappointed... I took my daughter for her 4th birthday. They didn't sing happy birthday to her. I informed them when making my reservation and once I got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had reservations but it still took ab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had reservations but it still took about 20 minutes to seat us. They seemed a bit back up so appetizers came out as he was cooking dinner and bar drinks came slowly. Food was good and service was friendly enough

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The chicken fried rice is always fantast ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The chicken fried rice is always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I love the location! Really fun and the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I love the location! Really fun and the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As always good food and a fun night. IT ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always good food and a fun night. IT has become my sons favorite restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place I am so happy I went there ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing place I am so happy I went there for dinner thank u all

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my 8 & 10 year old's birth ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We celebrated my 8 & 10 year old's birthdays here with some fiends. Everyone had a great time and loved their food! 4 of the 6 kids there said Benihana was more fun than Nickeloden Universe. Great price on kids meals - $10 for 5 courses?!! Can't be beat!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and the place is beautiful ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome food and the place is beautiful perfect for a date

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is overpriced. The cook was a bit m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food is overpriced. The cook was a bit messy; one thing is to purposefully throw the food around in a controlled, calculated way, and another to carelessly and accidentally spread food all over the grill. Also, don't throw shrimp tails at guests - at some point the cook started throwing shrimp tails to people at the table; he did it in a humorous, good natured way, but it was borderline annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Reservations made easily, waiter confuse ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Reservations made easily, waiter confused the cook as to who ordered what. Food was average and over priced. Looking up from the table there are square holed sound reducing panels hanging around the oven, completely dusty and gross. Everything needed dusting. I will go back to the Golden Valley location in the future. Noisy as windows were open to the MOA.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Twas a great time on a great day with gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Twas a great time on a great day with great people and Mauricio, the chef, made it even better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Like other reviewers, even though we had ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Like other reviewers, even though we had a reservation, they still gave us a pager, and had to wait an additional 15 minutes. They wouldn't give the pager until the whole group had arrived.

Drinks took quite awhile to be refilled

We had a 730 reservation, they started cooking at the table at 830, so we had a very late dinner.

Not worth the money in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Gabriel was GREAT! Tamilee provided exc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Gabriel was GREAT! Tamilee provided exceptional and efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kids loved it!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Kids loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It was a great experience for my birthda ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was a great experience for my birthday.It was my first time being there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! We've always come ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Everything was great! We've always come to expect the best at Benihana, and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was awesome as usual :-)

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Everything was awesome as usual :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Erik our waiter was awesome & he was tra ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Erik our waiter was awesome & he was training someone in & he was doing good & the chef Gabriel did a wonderful job. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate my moms 60th b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went here to celebrate my moms 60th birthday and had a great time. The food was phenomenal and our servers (Al and Martin) were top notch. Al had a sense of humor while Martin prepared our absolutely delicious food. The filet mignon is to die for along with every other food I tried from our group. The fried rice is beyond the best I've ever had. I can't wait to go back sometime!!! Make sure to do the hibachi table experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish I could rate the service of our c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I wish I could rate the service of our chef different than the service of the host staff. The host staff was incredibly rude, offered little help with our reservation, and sat us 22 minutes after our 4:00pm reservation. I have heard that this is a common problem with this location and wish that they would address this. Rather frustrating. Service staff and Chef however were incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very unhappy with the server and c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was very unhappy with the server and cook customer service. Very rude and inattentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value5

I love this place, food is always great! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love this place, food is always great! We come here at least twice a month.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We didn't even get to eat. Our reservat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We didn't even get to eat. Our reservation was for 8pm, arrived at7:55 only to be told it will be a 15-20 min wait. Okay, no big deal. 8:25 we still weren't seated so my husband asked why and the little hostess was super rude and then told us it will be another 25 min so we went somewhere else. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Amazing Chefs and wonderful atmosphere! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Amazing Chefs and wonderful atmosphere! We always enjoy our visits to Benihana!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Benihana's. In fact, it is our ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We love Benihana's. In fact, it is our favorite restaurant . . . whether it's just the two of us or a full table of eight. The food is fantastic!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for our 23rd Weddin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We made reservations for our 23rd Wedding Anniversary but still had to wait 20 mn after arrival, would have liked to have a steak chicken lobster option not on the menu as such, chef was friendly and entertaining, gal serving us was outstanding but did not ask us why we were dining with you, just asked about birthday. Kind of disappointing, probably would not come back:(

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time for my sister's birt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a great time for my sister's birthday! The food was very good and we had a very good waitress.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always! The staff and chef we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awesome as always! The staff and chef were excellent?

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service were excellent ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food and the service were excellent the only problem was the noise level coming

from the table next to ours. There were approximately 11 very loud folks who had

no consideration for other customers in the restaurant trying to have a peaceful

dinner. I believe when groups that big come in they should be setup off by themselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Eight of us sat around the griddle and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Eight of us sat around the griddle and the Seating was way too tight!! The chef was not too friendly but other servers were very nice. They let us bring in a birthday cake which was nice. We reserved because of a birthday celebration coupon and then found out we couldn't use it as only good Monday-Thursday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Second time and it was fabulous. Guiller ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Second time and it was fabulous. Guillermo was

great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our son's 16th birthday and w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Celebrated our son's 16th birthday and waited a bit longer than our reservation time, but overall experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My birthday

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.