Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (65)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for Birthdays (60)
See All
Good for Groups (56)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Kid-friendly (34)
Family Style (31)
Casual (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
People Watching (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Romantic (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This is, by far, our favorite restaurant. The food is amazing, the chefs are entertaining and the servers are very nice.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The cook Junior was awesome! He was an excellent cook and he engaged well with the table.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience! Superbly managed. Excellent food and staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good. It was a nice atmosphere to be in. The chef was personable and interacted with everyone. Definitely a good and entertaining meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious as always. Our chef Timitio was great!! It was my birthday dinner celebration. We will definitely be back for lunch next week!! Thank you.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Fun dinner idea for small groups! Unique dining experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I took my family of 6 for a birthday celebration. I was a little concerned about this location given some reviews I have seen, but ended up having a great time. It was very entertaining and our kids loved it. The food was excellent, though a few members of our family are vegetarians and there were not many options for them. Overall, it was a great experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Erik was awesome my daughters were in awe of his performance.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite special occasion spots. I always love coming here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Our chef was great and funny. Seating was nice and we were not cramped crowded. It took a long time though for them to take our orders, we pretty much sat there and waited , wondering when someone will come to take our orders and they were not even busy for a Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service from our waiter and chef! Attentive and entertaining

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was terrible, they even remade it and it was still bad. I wouldn't recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was excellent. Our chef was an excellent cook, he did not over salt or over use lemon on the seafood, it turned out perfect.
Our waitress however was terrible!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good experience, good food. Overpriced, but we expected that.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Server was swamped, sat with no drinks for quite a while and was never asked if I would like another cocktail.
Lobster had a fishy taste, which wasn't eaten and did receive a $15 credit for, but would expect quality to be monitored better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Was seated with two two 20-somethings who were each on FaceTime, literally the entire time, loudly using profanity speaking vulgarly in front of our 10 and 5-year old children. I know the restaurant can't necessarily control who gets seated with who, but they should have standards of behavior and enforce them. We spoke with the manager, who was no help. We noticed the people sitting next to ours complaining as well, but nobody ever even approached the patrons in question. Food was outstanding and service, other than this issue, was great. But will never be back and will recommend others against this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

They need to change their tricks. Seen the same song and dance over and over for years. Way over priced for the actual food you get.. our cook was Mexican and barely spoke English. It was kinda dumb....isnt this a Japenese resteraunt? He didnt interact with us and very little speaking..no engagement. Very dissapointed!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food, cocktails and service. Best I have had to date! See you again soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The red plum sake sangria was amazing! Food was very tasty. Because we were there relatively early on a quiet weeknight, it was odd to hear the chef at the table next to us so clearly. (I think this would have been better if the whole place was hopping.)

Our group of eight had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great cook, best I've seen in a long time if not ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Overall the experience was great, although the shrimp wasn't good. It was very water and plain. Other than that, the chef was great! The rice and steak and chicken and all was fantastic. Also, our server was very enthusiastic and understanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have been to the other two locations many times and figured I'd give it a try. Was worried it would be mobbed and tough to get to but it was great. The waitress was on top of things and even better than some of the good ones we've had at other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our 38th anniversary. I expected better from what other people have told me. 1st time here
The food was prepared in front of us which was nice but the main food was given to us at different times. So the rice we had been given was just warm, at best, by the time the meat was ready and with us choosing Steak, Chicken and Shrimp, these all were ready at different times so we were unable to eat it as a meal. The gal that served us seemed to be busy with other groups as well and so getting paid attention too seemed like our table was 2nd choice. When this other group left, she put her collection tray on our main table and picked up their dirty plates and put them in her tray/container in front of us while we were eating. She should have kept it on that table to clean that table. Very unprofessional all the way around. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was prom night so we opted to sit at a regular table so we didn't get the whole experience which kind of stunk. Food was great at always though!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE !! I WILL ALWAYS COME BACK!!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love our chef and the environment I was in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great as always and chef was fun and did a great job! Service was awful though, wrong drinks delivered (twice), no forks with salad, wrong refills brought, and eventually the checks all messed up (in fact a party without realizing it paid for another party's food and left because checks were combined. Bonus for them getting free food), but waiter just couldn't get anything right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Ask for Sammy to be your chef. He puts on a great show and is a really good chef. Everything was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Used open table to set up a reservation. That process went very smoothly. Arrived a little early so sat in the bar area. Our bartender was great and had the perfect personality for our group. Table was ready on time. Food was great and lots of it. Paid for vegetarian meal but only got tofu, one piece of zucchini, and some onions. Vegetarian option on the menu seemed to be a lot more. Disappointed there as I know I paid full price. Definitely more of a non vegetarian option to eat. Our chef was entertaining and the atmosphere was great. Kind of pricey after all was said and done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and chef were great. The waitress was just ok. I overheard her with another table being much more thorough. She didn't offer coloring for the kids at our table or ask about food allergies but she did with the table behind us.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service was excellent but the noise level with the close seating and all the banging from the different chefs entertaining their tables was excessive. We could not hear each other in our party to have any conversation or enjoy the experience together.
Our chef and server were great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had William again and I can say of we had him every time I wouldn't be disappointed. He's our favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to go for an event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our server, Jackie was so great. She really made our night, super nice, felt like she was a friend just hanging. She was also on top of everything and very thorough. I've been to benihanas several times so I don't prefer to review the restaurant just wanted to give kudos to our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent Chef, Sammy! Our service was great, food delicious and we had so much fun!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was a great experience! Sammy the chef gave the best show I've seen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD BUT OVER PRICED AND WE DIDN'T GET ANY OF OUR MEAL TOGETHER . WE WERE SEATED BETWEEN 2 FAMILYS AND DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOM TO EAT OUR FOOD. VERY DISAPPOINTED NOT WORTH THE PRICE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wait time was the only complaint I had. Our reservation was at 730 and we didn't get seated till 8 and didn't get orders till 830.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Its been a birthday tradition to visit Benihana for years. I was glad that they opened much closer at MOA. Great food, friendly staff and fun chef's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.