About Benihana - Mall of America

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Restaurants in Bloomington ›

special occasion (100)
good for groups (97)
kid-friendly (52)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
great for lunch (27)
romantic (17)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Honestly it was a bad experience. I will ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Honestly it was a bad experience. I will never go back to that location bad service from our waitress couldn't be found ever THAN a child received more chicken than both of our party members whom paid $28 for an entree for 6 pieces of chicken. Fat wasnt cut off steak cut into inch or larger pieces and it wasnt even that busy. Overall just a bad experience unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a very enjoyable dinner celebrati ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very enjoyable dinner celebrating grandma's birthday. Our twin daughters loved the presentation.

It was amazing to see chef cook while juggling and keeping our everyone's order straight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went and did the express lunch and we we ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Went and did the express lunch and we were really satisfied. You get a really good amount of food for the price you pay.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good, chef was amazing!

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good, chef was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Benihana but after going to the ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Benihana but after going to the Golden Valley location multiple times, this one the host staff is not as friendly and accommodating and the chef that made the food over seasoned many of the dishes and made a couple dishes a bit differently. This is still a favorite spot for family birthday but we will likely stick to going to the other one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We made reservations to celebrate a chil ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We made reservations to celebrate a child's birthday. We were seated quickly, service was attentive, chef put on a great show, and the food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and Beni-Tini was delicio ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was great and Beni-Tini was delicious. Our chef did a great job but was not as "entertaining" as the others in the room. Good company at the table as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinne ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinner and the food was absolutely fantastic. I ordered the Benihana trio and the beef was so tender it practically melted in my mouth. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly. I love this place. This was my 3rd visit and I will continue to dine here. I am never disappointed. The waitress and chef were very polite and professional. You get large portions and I had enough left over for lunch next day. 5 stars !!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was pleasant. We ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall the experience was pleasant. We did feel rushed. We were still eating when to go boxes were dropped off at the table and dishes were being cleaned up.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Was apprehensive about the MOA Benihana ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Was apprehensive about the MOA Benihana due to previous reviews but we had a very good experience. Jose was a great entertaining chef who cooked our food to perfection!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was under cooked and service was ve ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was under cooked and service was very weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

My son has been waiting all year to have ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My son has been waiting all year to have his birthday dinner here. The hibachi chef seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He hardly said a word and made it not enjoyable for my son. With how much money we spent that day I would think he could have made it more interactive and maybe have a little bit of a personality. The waitress was excellent with refilling drinks and taking orders but we will never come back here again. We will go to Osaka's where they make it a fun hibachi experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Classic Benihana. Food was good but not ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Classic Benihana. Food was good but not great. Service is as if trained by drill sargeants. Food is served in increments as it is cooked. Kids food was the last item cooked which made for unhappy kids. But the tricks are fun. Overall - classic Benihana.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Our server was ok, but the chef must hav ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was ok, but the chef must have been depressed. He didn't put on a show at all and didn't interact. Food prep was rushed and sloppy, not accurate and when he realized he made a mistake his fix was kind of trashy. It's usually a good experience, but this visit was a flop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

Staff is superior when dealing with the ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Staff is superior when dealing with the children. We go every time I am in Minneapolis visiting and we are never disappointed. The kids are made to feel special and are included in the fun n every way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and experience was great th ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance and experience was great the food was ok overpriced for the quality and quantity. Enjoyed the experience but I would not be returning, I love quality dining experience the TOTAL package not a piece meal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall we had a positive experience, bu ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall we had a positive experience, but it was clear that not all of their chefs were of the same caliber and the service was slow. Our server was not around to check if we needed more drinks, but an observant manager spotted our empty glasses and asked up if we wanted another round. When those drinks were accidentally brought to another table, he returned to apologize and explain the delay.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The worst Benihana we ever been, I didn' ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The worst Benihana we ever been, I didn't not even eat the food and took it go that's how disappointed it was. 4small pieces of shrimp, 6 very thinly slice zucchini, 6 small slices of chicken and the cut if the filet mignon, for a $38.00 menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Not too fond of the service we received ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not too fond of the service we received while dining. We had told her that it was our anniversary celebration, nothing to offer for dessert or complimentary on the house etc. Also, the chef seemed very routine. Didn't seem to be having fun with it like the chef next to us. We actually were watching the chef at the other table after ours was completed to get a better show. For the price, and service, we don't think we'll be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food and service!

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

LOVE Benihana. But this time the calama ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

LOVE Benihana. But this time the calamari that I ordered had a significant odor to it. So much so that I was afraid to eat it. The restaurant very kindly took it off our bill. Also, the chef didn't use enough oil and cooked food too long. The shrimp became very tough and there were burned bits in the fried rice. We have complained about him before to the management but for some reason, they keep letting him cook this way. Very disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The server was very slow never got DRI k ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The server was very slow never got DRI k refills was tempted several times throughout mealmeal to go o the bar and ask for refills

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Not going back to the MOA location. Sush ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Not going back to the MOA location. Sushi was made incorrectly for probably the 10th time. It was made again and was still wrong. The manager was rude and basically argued with us and did nothing to fix it. She basically laughed at me when I told her how disappointing it was the way she treated us and that we would've be returning there anymore even though we frequented that location. She just shrugged her shoulders and said "oh well" and walked away. Really too bad she is managing and driving business away.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We went to Benihana on a weekday so the ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We went to Benihana on a weekday so the restaurant was pretty quiet. Our service was slightly slow, but the food was excellent. Your whole party has robe there before they seat you, so be aware of that.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was phenomenal!

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Never had a bad experience! Jean and Gre ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Never had a bad experience! Jean and Greg are first class. Been coming to Benihana for thirty years at different locations across the country. By far MOA Benihana is the best! Keep up the great work.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Benihana's has been a family favorite fo ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Benihana's has been a family favorite for years. Generally we have gone to the one in St. Louis Park. With the openning of the MOA Benihana's we are delighted there is now one right in our back yard! The food is very good, the service fine, and the cooking show always an highligh. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. My grandson was ve ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a great time. My grandson was very impressed and now his brothers want to go there. The chef was very entertaining and the food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Avoid this Benihana

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Go to any benihana but this one. I would rather drive to maple grove to avoid coming here again. Never had a great experience. 2 bad experiences. 2 mediocre.

Golden Vally location is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waitress was very slow, unapologetic ...

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our waitress was very slow, unapologetic and rude. We still tipped a small amount because we thought the chef deserved a tip. I wish there was a way to only tip the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Wonderful evening!

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My husband, daughter & I chose Benihana to celebrate our birthdays which are all with 20 days of one another. The food & service was great & our chef, José, was spectacular. It was so much fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had an outstanding exper ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My family and I had an outstanding experience at the MOA Benihana's. There were 12 of us celebrating a college graduation . The food was fantastic and they were happy to make modifications for a gluten free family member. Our drinks were always refilled before we even considered asking for more. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service killed the expierence absolutely ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

service killed the expierence absolutely terrible. Ruined what was supposed to be a very special evening costing $300.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Worth the Patience of Training the Waiter

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Impressively fast seating for a Friday night date. Our waiter was obviously in training, but making good effort. Our fellow diners at the Hibachi table were quite patient. Our chef was patient but insistent of providing good service. Everything was cooked flavorfully, but the timing could be improved. I am most impressed with the hibachi chefs who can manage to deliver each course to each plate in close succession. This chef is not there yet.

We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A typical Benihana's resturaunt

 
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We made a reservation for a 25th wedding anniversary since this was our 25th wedding anniversary and she loves Benihana's.... and the Mall of America...... :) When we checked in, the hostess said that she had mistakenly already checked someone else in under our reservation. This didn't turn out to be a huge problem since there was room at one of the tables for us to sit. Unfortunately, we were seated right next to new parents who brought their month old baby to the restaurant. The baby was as good as a baby could be but still cried off and on.... The chef cooked the food as expected. For the price (about $100 total), we could have went to a much nice place and had much better food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Fun evening!

 
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We went to celebrate my sons Birthday. We were lucky enough to have a great server and a great chef! Super fun, good food and overall a really fun night!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for a group and fun to meet new peop ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fun for a group and fun to meet new people with community seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was so uninterested in be ...

 
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The wait staff was so uninterested in being there it was blatantly obvious. A 730 reservation, the hostess made us wait until the manager told her to seat us. I've done my birthday for several years with benihana, so disappointed I prolly won't be back. I can easily pick some where else to spend 300 on a meal and be appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, Bad server/service

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a reservations and arrived there on time and we didn't get sat at the table until 30 minutes after our reservation time. Once sat at our table it was another 15 minutes until we had a server. The food and the drinks were very good! As well as our chef was very polite and funny. The server however forgot the rice and forgot the ice cream included in the "6 course meal" never asked for refills and once we got our food asked if we wanted it boxed up, he even asked this before we got our rice that was forgotten about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.