Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

MAKE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON SIZZLE.
The more you give, the more you get.
For a limited time, RECEIVE A $10 PROMOTIONAL CARD WHEN YOU PURCHASE $50 IN GIFT CARDS. Offer available 11/14/17 – 12/31/17. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18.

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Fun (57)
Good for Birthdays (49)
See All
Good for Groups (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Lunch (20)
Authentic (19)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Healthy (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Spicy (6)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I eat often at Benihana MOA (2-3 times a month) This particular dinner was awful. The individuals we were paired with at the table were a complete distraction. Complaining and making rude comments. Instead of the waitress and management handling the situation they ignored them which further escalated the situation. No show was put on for the dinner which in turn ruimed my families dinner. Complete waste of $120. Very disappointed in this experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had one of my best birthday dinners ever! I would give it 5 stars but we did have to wait an hour for the chef to arrive, but we had the delicious onion soup and salad while we waited and the waitress apologized several times. I also used a $30 coupon they sent me for my birthday. When the chef did arrive he was excellent! He was funny and skilled and engaged us all. Overall a wonderful time. I’m going back next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

My complaint is that they did not offer my daughter a child’s menu. She is 11. We ordered off the regular menu and paid three times as much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Service Bad! This is like the third time. I will not be returning to this location.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

I had a reservation at five and was very pleased to have been seated right away when I arrived. Our waitress was amazing, always made sure we were okay and she was very nice. Went for our anniversary dinner and it didn't really feel that special to me since we sit with others and a little noisy but very understandable. Overall the food was great and I enjoyed my experience there. Would be back again

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

It was my son's 8th bday and it's his favorite place to eat. It was also my 7 year old god daughters first time and she enjoyed it and even tried new foods!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Went for my birthday. I printed off my $30 off coupon and they did not accept it because my printer had a low toner so the quality on the bar code wasn’t great but you could read everything. They told me it was not accepted just before the check was handed out which I think was unfair going the entire dinner thinking I had $30 off. The service was not good and our server in particular had an attitude and never explained to me why she wouldn’t accept my $30 off birthday coupon. I will not be back again and had a negative experience. Hope this does not happen to anyone else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Enjoyed my birthday dinner. The service was ok, servers kept walking behind our table and knocking over my purse and coat so that was disruptive and rude. Food was ok. Golden Valley, Mn or Vegas has the best food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2017

We celebrate a birthday at Benihana every year. We love the fun atmosphere and the food is always great. This time the only thing lacking was our service. Our server was impossible to find and I asked for water several times (and I never did get any water). She was short a salad and that person was still waiting even as the chef was plating their food. When it came time for the check (which was split between two people) it was a MESS! Items addes that we not ordered, drinks mixed up with another group that was seated along side of us. Our server just seemed generally confused. It made the dining experience a little less than pleasurable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

This is dinner and a show. Fun to watch the food being prepared in front if you. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2017

We had a later reservation and obvious they were in a rush. Waiter was very organized and gave my guest a spoon for soup that was cracked and he cut his lip. He apologized but no compensation. Also gave out wrong bills to our table and had to correct 3 Times. Food was very good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

Cook and server were great. Very entertaining watching the food being made. Meal was tasty. Would recommend to anyone that they should go for a great night out. Lots of food and very satisfying.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Martin the chef was amazing! We always have a great time at Benihana. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Would love to leave a rave review but I can not. Long story short your hostess are the worst. Rude. 730pm reservations mean nothing to you. My server saved the day with quick polite service. Dinner was good. Seated 30 min. Late so not the full experience. Not a fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2017

GREAT experience for a Granny, an Auntie and two grandsons...!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 20, 2017

We had a reservation for 6 people for 6:30pm on a Sunday night. Waited 30 minutes to be seated. Service very slow.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Sara is an amazing waitress! Mauricio and Rigoberto are the best cooks! My husband and I visit weekly and appreciate the great service and food!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Fun atmosphere, talented & funny chef. I loved my ice cream dessert and hearing “Happy Birthday” sung in English & Japanese!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2017

It's exactly what you'd expect.Japanese inspired food with an entertaining show. Be ready for a communal dining experience. And hope that you aren't the only couple seated with a large -- and already drunk -- group.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Birthday for daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Me and my girlfriend, Abby. Have been here many, many times. So much most of the servers know us when they see us. This time we brought a couple more Benihana virgins if you will and they loved every second of it. We also brought our daughter with this time for the first time. Our server who I can not for the life of me remember his name but very tall, happy guy. Always smiling. Says he's the best. We don't doubt that one bit. We like him a lot. He mentioned Red Wing boots during our time there and we plan on hooking him up with a pair. The cook, I believe his name Timeteo. Tim for short was excellent. He often focussed on making our 1 year old daughter entertained and I can say, he did a good job, and were thankful for she can be quite the handful sometimes. Overall a 10/10 again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food. Large portion sizes. Tasty cocktails. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Sat at the hibachi, which is always fun. Love the soup and salad. Chicken fried rice was amazing, especially with some yum yum sauce. I ordered filet and lobster tail. My filet was amazing, perfectly seasoned, and incredibly tender but the lobster tail was not good at all. It didn't even taste like lobster, it tasted like an old piece of fish. I ate only a few bites. I would definitely eat there again, I just wouldn't order the lobster tail.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Overpriced for what you get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Always great tasting food prepared with just the right flavors by talented chefs. Love the chicken fried rice and the golden sauce

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

The ambiance was nice and check-in went great! Service was bad, food portions were incorrect and chef had a nasty attitude about how customers wanted their food. Very disappointing for the amount spent and we wasn't able to enjoy it. They didn't take a picture for the birthday people at our table.. One of the worst dining experiences at Benihana.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

I always love dining at Benihana's! The cooks are so much fun and get very creative with their cooking techniques! Always fun celebrating my birthday there! Oh yeah, and the food is EXCELLENT!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Amazing food and great service. Fun place for family, couples or date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great food. Wonderful chef, very entertaining. Great to have the birthday coupon to make the value more worth while for us.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2017

The food is always good and the servers are always nice. The chefs will make the good to your choice (no onions for me!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

My boyfriend got food posioning, a meal was taken incorrectly, extremely slow from being seated ( with reservations) to getting drinks to even taking an order. Other party at shared table had out of control obnoxious children.
She had our card for 20 mins before she rang us out. We all stood around our table with jackets on waiting and manager never came over to help or apologize.
Very frustrating for a Sunday night, unbelievably slow and agonizing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Tasty but not outstanding food. Overpriced for what you get. Fun experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Everything was great! Except when a young black man "bus boy" came around with his pants hanging down exposing his underwear during my daughters 13th Birthday Party:( Needless to say we weren't impressed! We informed a waitress and she told him to pull his pants back up.

Not sure what your company's policy/dress code are? But the kid should have known better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Our service was great, and our food was delicious . The only complaint we had was that we never received our dinner salad, but we didn't realize it until after we left. We were plenty full without it, but it's definitely one of our favorite parts so it was disappointing once we realized! Otherwise, fantastic! Our server was energetic and fun!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

While he felt really bad, I was shocked that after he break a bowl our chef served up some of the food off the grill before he cleaned it off.
Food wasn't as good as usual. The chef was fun until the bowl broke, we could tell it bothered him

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was great. Server and cook very entertaining and fun to watch. Had a great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Service was actually very good, the food was burnt, our rice was soggy, food we ordered was not prepared as it should be, it was served to us at the end because the kitchen didn’t bring the correct order to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Sammy was an amazing Chef!!!
Food was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Very disappointing experience. Staff was rude and inattentive and the chef didn't offer any entertainment. You go to Benihana's for the whole package and this trip was nothing but disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Overall the experience was not bad bad the last few times I have visited the service was lacking. This most recent visit our server rushed us through our meal, didn't ask a few people in our party about dessert and got the checks messed up. Our chef was fun and accommodating. I would recommend this location to others but I would tell them not to have too high expectations

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.