Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Groups (57)
Fun (52)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Casual (18)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
People Watching (14)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Spicy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 16 hours ago

Food was excellent but took longer than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious as always! Gabriel and Nick were great. Definately we will be back! ❤

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food didn't taste as good as other locations in MN. I was very disappointed. However the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was very impressed that I was able to make my reservations online and going to the restaurant and be seated without waiting at all

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great entertainment, quick service and amazing tasting food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

First of all the server at the front was rude to me when I came in a few minutes late and told me I would have to wait until three hours later if I didn't sit and order for my husband who was trying to park the car! We didn't even get to order for another half hour later! The service was super slow! The food was great but 10 minutes later I was with a stomach ache in the bathroom as well as my 10 year old daughter! I'm not sure what the need is to add MSG to the food! It makes so many people sick! Because of that I would never eat there again! I have eaten at other Japanese steakhouse restaurants and I don't get sick so I will go where it is safe and let my friends and family know as well! Our chef did a really nice job!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great service. I have been eating at Bennihanas for a very long time and was very pleased with the service. Thanks for the great meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Everything was great except server ... ordered extra shrimp app and but he put it in as a whole side of shrimp and had to ask for beverages ... not very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

I found a few cons about this Resturaunt, would much rather going to Osaka where they offer both soup and salad with the entree. The portion serving size seemed a bit small and the nice part about Osaka is they do the shrimp toss or veggie and the saki pour. I would suggest Osaka to others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had an ok experience. The food was really good but the group we were sat with were beyond abnoxious. The chef didn't help by being overly flirty with 2 ladies and made it awkward for my boyfriend and I. Great place to go if your group can fill the table

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Wonderful service, great show, and amazing food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Wonderful birthday dinner. Sat at the Hibachi, Chef Gabriel did a great job preparing the food and interacting with us, especially the kids. Not a cheap meal by any means but if you sign up online for their birthday club you get a $30 coupon, which helps a bit. A very enjoyable evening, definitely upgrade your plain rice to their chicken fried rice, also prepared table side.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We go there a lot and normally it's great service and great food! This time was definitely not. The waitress barely ever came to get the dishes, so they were stacking up in front of me and so I barely had room for my plate. I came with my husband and 3 kids like we normally do, so the bowls from soup and salad and drinks were quite a lot. Even the chef noticed how much they were piling up, but instead of calling someone to come get them, he moved them to the table behind us, which had people sitting at it. I would be highly upset if someone put another tables dirty dishes on my table while eating. I usually have great service but this time was highly disappointing. Not to mention a server carrying a tray of drinks dropped a full drink on the floor, half going on to me, said sorry and walked away quickly. If this were my first experience, it would be highly unlikely that I would return.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was so good!! The chef was amazing and was a great experience overall. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Depending on the Chef at the table, it could have been a great experience, but it seemed like the last service of the night experience.

We had a Chef who had been there all day, in excess of 9 hours, so he expressed the fact that it had been a long day. Although the service experience was not compromised, it did seem to us, that he was just trying to get through. The excitement was not there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Energetic atmosphere. It's a hibachi restaurant, of course it has a lot of energy. Our waitress was very attentive. A note regarding the menu. Almost all dinner choices included ice cream...I'd rather have another side, like lo mein noodles. Our table had a family of 5 with 2 celebrating birthdays and my friend and I. Our chef was nice but I thought that my protein (filet mignon, shrimp and chicken) were all over-cooked. I'd give this experience a B+

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We made reservations to sit at a hibachi table. The server and hibachi chef were amazing. The bartender was rude not only to us, but to the other guests at our table. Will go again because that is the closest location to me, but I will not deal with the bartender nor will I order any alcoholic beverages if I see she is working.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great like always. I recommend the benihana trio, just a little bit of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

ordered chilli shrimp app it came cold & soggy. Food was too salty, and my lobster was over cooked. The waitress spilled water all over my $1300.00 purse rushing to sit stuff down quick on the table near me. Sad part, it was my birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I thought our chef William was the best we have ever had. He was entertaining to watch and a pleasure to have cooked for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The last few times we have been here the food has been over cooked.
Too salty.
Think it is time to change regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We love Benihana! Unfortunately the service isn't that great and the bartender was very rude but the food is excellent and our chef was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Chris the waiter was very unorganized & everyone had to ask for everything twice & the Birthday person at our table was not acknowledged No one was happy with him. Francisco did a fantastic job with our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

All in all was good. Beef was a bit chewy & like tofu a bit firmer. Chef was friendly .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic dinner and a show with the hibachi grill. The food was excellent as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service and food. Kids BEG to go here and get double orders of fried rice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

First time in this place, I got in loved!, service was awesome, food cooking show nice/different/skills/awesome, food taste excellent.... I will defenitly come back soon!!!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fun, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I have been there several times before. It took a long time to have drinks brought out, besides that the service was great. The atmosphere was fantastic. The luck we had of being seated at a table with a wonderful group made this experience better than every other time I've gone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I go to Benihana every year for my birthday. I always enjoy the birthday song and ice cream and the picture every year with my husband. This year we did not get a picture nor a birthday song and ice cream.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I love the food here and come often but the chef shortened my rice portion by half. He didnt have enough

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were lucky and had a great server (thanks Al) and a chef (missed his name) that took great care of us. The shrimp appetizer was definitely overcooked somewhat, but the rest was a hit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very disappointed in experience, dirty and no service
Never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The server Sammy was terrible. He was not polite at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First visit for our family. We all loved it. Food was yummy. Service was attentive. Fun dining experience! We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

While the overall experience was good; we were quite annoyed by the $4 upcharge ($3.60 for kids) for the 'highly recommended' chicken fried rice. It wasn't anything special and that left us a bit annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Very slow service especially on drinks and lack of attention to basic orders.

The staff at the front is unorganized and cannot figure out basic reservations. Rude attitude.

Skipped my fried rice and started giving everyone else second helpings to top off their bowls. Plan a very long part of your evening to get through this meal - significantly slower than other Benihanas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Adrian the chef did a great dinner , our server Blake was great took good care of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Benihana at MOA was incredible as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great show, good service, good food. We go for birthdays and they do not disappoint you. They are super kid friendly and prompt with everything.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I was really really disappointed. It was a party of 7 we did have the last reservation time at 8:30pm on a Sunday. We felt like we were being rushed and the weightier forgot to give us some of our food that was apart of our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.