Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for Groups (54)
Fun (53)
See All
Good for Birthdays (49)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Lunch (13)
People Watching (12)
Family Style (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is great as always just wasn't as impressed with our cook. We had 3 kids (one was his first time) who love going and he wasn't as kid friendly with some that we've had in the past.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

We've been to Benihana several times. The food and entertainment are excellent! It is spendy but you get your money's worth if you like Japanese food. The shrimp sauce is great especially with shrimp. It is cheaper to go at lunch time and the lunch menu is good on weekends too. I've sampled their sushi and it is very good. Your meal comes with so much food a sushi appetizer is not needed!
The iced passion fruit green tea was delicious! No sugar added!
The birthday girls enjoyed their Ice Cream!

Note: Your chef is very entertaining. You can easily bring your whole family if desired. They have a children's menu or can share with you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The waitress was a bit pushy. We felt a bit rushed to finish our meals. I finished my meal quick because I typically finish my food fast but my younger sister takes more time to finish. Waitress should not rush people and let people finish there meal and let people be social too while eating.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

I love this place and usually have a very good experience. This last time was not the case. We had 6:00pm reservations. Got sat a few minutes after not an issue. My date and I were starving. Waiter got drinks right away and we were able to place orders in a somewhat timely fashion but longer than usual. Server was not quite on top of things either. Maybe new. It took 50 minutes before we saw our chef. That is crazy. Server kept apologizing and could tell he was confused. He finally after about 40 minutes went and told the manager. Then it still took 10 min. At this point we would hve eaten anything. So he finally cooks the food and does my filet medium rare instead of medium well. At this pony I was so hungry I just ate it. I have never had this issue there before but not a great experience for over $100.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great place to celebrate birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We eat here a lot. This time, something was off. The bar was really backed up and the chef seemed a bit out of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always awesome! Jean and her staff always go above and beyond.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

If you are looking for an outstanding experience, Benihana is the place to go. The ambiance, food preparation and taste, will stand out above other restaurants. However, be sure to schedule extra time for the experience. Benihana is a place to relax, not rush.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing Food, Chefs are entertaining and service is excellent. No complaints at all. Will come back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ladies room was quite dirty especially noting that they opened at 11:00 and we were there at 11:30.
Also restaurant needs an overall deep cleaning. The carpets were sticky to walk on and dust everywhere especially above the grilling areas.
The food was great as always.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great family night dinner celebrating a special occasion!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

i love this place! our chef gabriel was a real crowd pleaser and funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Typically we have amazing service, unfortunately not today. Our server got one order written down as a child's meal when the customer was clearly legal age! She was distracted, inattentive and never brought two items we paid for. We had our empty soup dishes in front of us for a long time. Sadly, not our best experience. Chef was fun and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food is absolutely amazing here! Been here several times and they never fail to upset! All around really good place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had William as our chef. A couple with two small children, boy 3 1/2 and girl, 2, shared the table with us. It was a delight to watch those well behaved children be astounded by the tricks that our chef did. It was a pleasant evening as we bid farewell to our daughter as she returned to Napa, CA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Bad customer service from beginning to end

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The last few times the food tends to be bit more bland. Would like to see the flavors beyond salt and pepper

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our chef could have been more involved and fun. Have had better. As always the food was amazing!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

great food great service outstanding drinks at the bar really enjoyed myself

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good service and great food for our daughters 16th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Definitely go for one of the hibachi meals. The knife-juggling chefs are outstanding; juggling sharp knives and cooking excellent, tasty food. Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were initially seated outside the restaurant (in the gated part) and we asked if we could be seated within the restaurant. They told me that we could just move and pointed at a table. This new table was the first table when you walk in, and there were other tables so I don't totally understand.

After being seated, the service was incredibly slow. I had to ask for a water three times. The soy sauce cups came late while the food sat. We didn't receive forks until our app was almost gone so that made it pretty rough to eat. Then my fork wasn't even clean so I had to wait for a second one. The service continued to be relatively slow, except once the server brought the check. Which he clearly seemed eager to get us out, even though we were one of two tables with about five more open around us.

Besides the slow service, we had to ask for nearly everything. And again, often multiple times, as the server kept forgetting. It is like he couldn't remember anything we asked. Also, he never once refilled my water. And as for soda, that was tough to get a single refill of but at least it wasn't repeatedly forgotten like the water.

Further, the food quality was disappointing compared to usual. I asked for the Imperial without mushrooms. I found several mushrooms in my steak as though they cooked it with mushrooms then just took them out. And more- the chicken fried rice that we paid extra for had extremely little chicken. It was disappointing and I'd never seen it with so little chicken in it there. Later, on our way out, a woman at a table next to us even complained about the chicken fried rice too so I don't believe I was being over critical; it really was subpar food to usual.

Altogether, I would expect better from Benihana, in terms of food and definitely service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was delicious, waitress was bubbly, chef seemed bored

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our waitress was sweet and amazing! We appreciate it! Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food was great, but our chef wasnt very fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was awesome, food was delicious,as always, but for a newer restaurant it sure is dirty.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was probably our best hibachi experience. The food was very well prepared and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The chef seemed aggravated when he came out the waiter was to busy and kept forgetting to bring things then the portions of food received were small and when me and another guest complained them manager seemed upset with us but she reluctantly took money off of our bills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great time!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I enjoyed my time. The waiter was great. I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

My 11-year old daughter and I had an absolute blast at Benihana for my birthday. They won us over for life. Will always think of Benihana as a special place for family fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Our server Eric was on top of everything and suggested fantastic sake options. Miguel cooked an excellent meal - the Chateaubriand was to die for.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Server was very nice. Played along with all of our jokes and didn't take offense to anything (we were a pokey crowd). The chef was nice, funny, and creative. I hope everyone gets the treat of enjoying the servers company.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had a super fun time. Chef was engaging and funny. Kids had a blast too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our experience was greatly disturbed by a young lady that felt the need to video chat on her phone for most of our dining experience. It was rude and annoying and inconsiderate to the chef. At one point 4 of the 6 people seated at the table were on their phones. I'm a big phone user but this was obnoxious.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of the female hostesses was super rude. The chef did not put on much of a show. However the waiter was great. The food was just average and the sushi was barely edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were celebrating my new job. We always celebrate every occasion at Beni.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a fantastic time! Be sure to reserve ahead of time! If we didn't have reservations, it would have been a 2hr wait. Cook was awesome and entertaining. Our food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It's a great option for special occasions like birthdays. I truly enjoyed to watch the chef's cooking and fancy tricks. It's entertaining. The food is great, specially the beef. It melts in your mouth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My kids loved the food and the show :) very kid friendly!!!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.