Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Fun (58)
Good for Birthdays (57)
See All
Good for Groups (53)
Good for a Date (47)
Kid-friendly (33)
Family Style (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Casual (28)
Great for Lunch (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Romantic (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
People Watching (14)
Business Meals (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Disabled Access (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

Had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday. Excellent server and chef. Greeted and seated promptly. Standard but tasty Benihana fare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I didn't like to get other people sitting on my dinning table, we want to celebrate as a family and was really UNCOMFORTABLE shared the table with people that we didn't meet; even more because the restaurant's staff didn't ask us before.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant itself and the food was fantastic. The fact that we had made a reservation prior, however, meant absolutely nothing. We still had to wait 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Our reservations were at 7, but we had to wait to be seated until close to 730. The service was okay, very nice chef and server, but a few drinks were missing and refills were slow. The drinks were tasty and the food was pretty good, but we probably won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

I don't know went this restaurant bothers to take reservations, they are not able to honor them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I looked at the rating for this location before I booked and I seen you were rated 3 stars. I initially thought maybe it was a couple of disgruntle customers but later realized exactly why it was rated that way..... Waitress was swift but very robot like: she asked how everyone was and then answered with: "oh, that's great" before any of us could respond to the question. The food was just ok and the grill guy seemed liked he was pretty new. Most importantly the place was filthy!!! Food all over the floors, the cart that was brought out with the prep items was dirty and had old shrimp tails laying on the back side of it, and when I looked up the decorative screens that hang on the outside of the grill vents looked like they had not been cleaned in a very long time. Linty things hanging off of them. I was distracted by this waiting for a piece to fall off into my plate. I don't know... I would probably come back again but certainly not this location unless I saw it first. Doubt I would take the time to come and inspect it first.... Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful food, fun atmosphere, and is perfect for a viarety of occasions. There was an anniversary, child's birthday, adult birthday, and a family get together all surrounding each other. The atmosphere made each occasion genuine and a blast!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service stunk. We had a dinner reservation for 530 and they made us sit until they had a table available. We also requested a normal table not hibachi and they gave us hibachi. My chicken was undercooked. Also our sever didn't pay attention to our table the second the guy gave the other people that were at our table their food the waiter asked if they wanted a box they didn't even have a chance to take a bite. Overall very unsatisfied wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a great time and William and his assistant were great. Smiling and making good jokes

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Sushi came out more towards the end when the food was mostly done. When every other time I went to bennis (which is over 10 times) it comes out before. Kind of feel like the waitress forgot to put in the order. Every single dish that my friend had was dirty or wasn't washed all the way. (Glass cup, and sauce bowl). Which is gross.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had 5:00 reservations and we didn't get seated until 5:28. Apparently we had to wait for other couples to arrive. Since they were so late, we just had to wait. They didn't apologize or offer any reason why we had to be kept waiting until I asked for the 3rd time. They told me they cancelled people's reservations after 15 minutes, but this isn't accurate, I guess.
Also, we upgraded to the chicken fried rice instead of the white rice. They charged us $4.30 for an upcharge. It's really not an upcharge because it's the same price as ordering a side of the chicken fried rice. If you don't get the white rice, and ask the for chicken rice instead, then it should be a lesser amount than a side order price. Either change the menu to have two different prices or state that it's an upcharge amount and not a side dish amount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love Beni in St.Louis Park! I thought to try MOA because of the convience. We went to Sealife for a bday get together. Our waitress was okay,it got really busy and she "forgot " about us. The chef was entertaining and the food was good. The malls tax was ridiculous. It will be awhile before I go to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived early and they where able to seat us early. Service was amazing from our servers. I felt like our chef was not as into the show as other chef's around us where. Overall experience was very good though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I loved interacting with our cook he was so much fun the kids at the table thought he was really funny we will definently be coming back we enjoyed the whole night Thank You

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Terrible terrible service! 30 minutes after our reservation we were seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A great restaurant with entertaining chefs and super food. The chef put on a great show with flying knives and corny jokes. Even though the chef was entertaining, the food is the star at Benihana. I really enjoyed both the steak and the scallops.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The staff was very nice and friendly, good atmosphere for loud kiddos. The chef was a very good entertainer as well, kept the kids attention and excited about dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was very good in the chief did a wonderful job preparing it for us. The steak I had was done to perfection a medium rare. The scallops were also very good but slightly overcooked. We really enjoyed the experience as we celebrated a birthday we got a free picture and a wonderful Sunday.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

When my party (of 5) and I first arrived at Benihana we had to wait a while, since it was a little crowded. Then we were told we had to sit with 4 other customers and the table was too small. Two customers left. The seats were dirty and the grill was dirty. The overall experience was okay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a 830 reservation and did not get seated until 9:40. What is the point of a reservation? Seems they have an operational issue if they cannot identify that they will always run late. If I was over an hour late would they still let me done with them? no. Server barley spoke English and was not very friendly. I wanted to order a souviner cup was told they no longer sold them, asked again said our drinks couldn't go in the Benihana mug we said fine.. end of meal they she didn't give us one. Refills were sparse. The chef was great! He made a good meal.. for 150.00 I spent i would say this was mediocre at best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was fun! Filet was done just right. Server and hibachi cook were both very nice. Enjoyable evening out 🙂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Waitress not so great--slow and forgot one of our party's rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Overall this restaurant is noisy, full of people with little children and rather ordinary... I prefer a more adult atmosphere. The restaurant is ok for just a bite if you like noise, lots of children, and mediocre food. I was just not that impressed with it. We did sit at chefs table and that was fun as he entertained us... Compliments to the chef for working so hard. Yet this restaurant is overrated.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Unfortunately our experience was not the best this time. We ordered sushi and it was not good quality and sliced poorly. We ordered a drink with coconut milk in it and the drink had chunks of hard coconut milk in it and we were told that's how it should be. We also ordered an appetizer and never received it. Service was poor from the server, sushi chef and bartender and manager for not making the mishaps right but the hibachi chef was excellent and his food had great flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This will be the LAST time I go to this location at MOA!Stopped going to this location over a year ago because of one light skinned heavy set waitress with curly hair and I come in and guess who is my waiter?She was nothing shy of rude and nasty as usual and I normally don't say anything but this time I couldn't take it. She needs a new job ASAP. But I will not go back 2 this location EVER!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was not as good as before. The meat was fatty. 6 people in our group had the steak and found it poor. Service was wonderful and our chef had a great sense of humor. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Wonderful food and great/fun atmosphere. My favorite steak restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our waitress was great! She took my birthday photo on the sly . There was a six year old celebrating her birthday too and I did not want to take any attention away from her.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time eating at here and it was an awesome experience! Will go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

11th time being there going again for the 12th tomorrow. Has never disappointed. Probably never will. Food has always been amazing and have also never had the same chef. They've all been wonderful and humorous. Let me know if any kind of rewards membership becomes a thing because I'll have it in a heartbeat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Birthday dinner, didn't receive my white rice as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Made the reservation late, so 4:30pm was the best time we could get. The food was good, but I think our Tepanyaki chef could have been a bit more experienced. I think we all had fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a blast, out chef, was amazing, he entertained us from start to finish!!! And our server was excellent, she took care of us from start to finish. One of the most enjoyable evenings out in my life!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was the worse experience, I have ever had there. Me and my family go there about once a month. My daughters didn't get their food and she messed up there drinks . It was just a really bad thing and I like going there

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A very fun, different dining experience. Our chef was great - funny and entertaining! The food was also very good. Our family had a really fun time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My kids love this place very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We arrived on time and were seated within minutes. Food was fresh and the chef did a good job keeping us entertained. The server also did a good job. No issues and no problems.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waitress was subpar, rude, rushed us and mischarged us .... when we spoke to the manager he did not resolve the issue. He gave us a coupon for a free app next time. What a joke

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Martin (chef) & Elena (server) were very friendly and accommodating to special requests.
Ages 11 - 65. Good food and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Prompt seating with reservation, chef was fun and engaging, food was excellent and the kids had a great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.