About Benihana - Mall of America

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for Groups (92)
Kid-friendly (55)
See All
Great for Lunch (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Hot Spot (18)
Romantic (18)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good but I'd forgo the dri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good but I'd forgo the drinks. Neither our hostess or cook was very friendly which minimized our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Super fun for Birthday celebration!! Goo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Super fun for Birthday celebration!! Good food always, reasonable prices, and friendly environment. Fun for the whole family

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was friendly and entertaining. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our chef was friendly and entertaining. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in on time but didn't tell the h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came in on time but didn't tell the host that we were there so she told me to wait 1/2 hour because there was other party after us...I honestly didn't know if we aren't check in w/ the host, We are losing the reservation and have to wait at least 1/2 hour.

She was very rude and told me to wait...I told her that We are not gonna wait. The restaurant wasn't busy at all that day. She then ignored me.

The other host heard and graciously took us to our table and I thank her for that.

The chef, Sapporo was very nice (although he doesn't say much when We asked questions). Overall, We are happy w/ the service and the foods was very good and tasty! Our server was nice, too!

This is my third times coming to Benihana. I thought I am never coming back after two times w/bad experience in the past...glad I did and it was good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the chef table birthday certificate is very generous. We love to go with a group of friends and always have a great time

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hostess and waitress were rude seemed li ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hostess and waitress were rude seemed like they did not want to be there

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Always delicious - and entertaining! Gr ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always delicious - and entertaining! Great time and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great time with excellent foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a great time with excellent food! Took my daughter and sister for my birthday! It was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have had the same waitress twice and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have had the same waitress twice and both times she has no idea what shes doing. I believe we were overcharged last time and she didn't figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The Cook we had doesn't do a show, and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Cook we had doesn't do a show, and that's part of why you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Excellent all the way around. Benihana' ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent all the way around. Benihana's is always great. Excellent waiter and cook. Food was the greatest. All in the party was please.

Thanks Benihana

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I couldn't wait to have date night here ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I couldn't wait to have date night here with my boyfriend as I've been here once and this was going to be his first time. I told him that afterwards we wouldn't need dessert because I couldn't even finish all the food on my plate. He didn't believe me until he couldn't finish his dinner either. He loved it there so much he said next date night we have to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very wonderful experience need more frie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very wonderful experience need more fried rice. Portion sizes keep shrinking,.. If you give rice. It would not really increase your cost significantly but would really please your customers and make your customers feel like they really received a wonderful value.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service, great food, great vib ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful service, great food, great vibe! The wait was a bit long,other than that I would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Benihana is my daughters favorite an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The Benihana is my daughters favorite and we love it the staff is nice and helpful on our last visit the hostess tried to seat us and the family that was seated before us was very rude and said we could sit on each side because they wanted to sit in the middle even tho that isn't how it works and the staff handled it very nicely and seated us at a different table they discounted out bill for the rudeness of the other people at the other table they was so nice to us about it and very nice to the rude people they handled everything so nice I can't even tell people how kind the staff was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience at Benihana was very disa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The experience at Benihana was very disappointing. Three persons in our group were vegetarian and looked forward to tofu entree only to be told that they were out of tofu. Plates of rice just was not sufficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our chef, Martin, was amazing. A great e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our chef, Martin, was amazing. A great experience for lunch with our two kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good, but always seem lik ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food is always good, but always seem like they are in a rush to get you feed and out of there. Just after the last course is served they want to bring you a box to take the rest home!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been to Benihana in Maple Grove a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been to Benihana in Maple Grove and had a amazing time and lots of interaction with the chef. This time the chef did not hardly talk and did not put on a show like I am used to. Part of why I go the Benihana is the food is great and the interaction is amazing. I had a friend come with me for her Birthday and with spending over 75 dollars and her 1st time there was not a good one. I had talk about this being an amazing place and this time it was a dud.. My friend asked me when we left . I thank you for taking me out for my birthday but what was so amazing with this place. I felt I had let my friend down and did not get the bang for what I spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Meat was cooked perfect, melted in my mo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Meat was cooked perfect, melted in my mouth. Soup and salad were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time! Love Benihanas and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a good time! Love Benihanas and the service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With reservations we still had to wait q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

With reservations we still had to wait quite some time to be seated. Host staff seemed disinterested in engaging the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Francisco put on quite a show & Ali expl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Francisco put on quite a show & Ali explained the menu, took our orders, & brought us drinks in a courteous & timely fashion. Great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and chef were great! The che ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our server and chef were great! The chef put on a great show for our people ages 8 to 58! Thank you so much!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly it was a bad experience. I will ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Honestly it was a bad experience. I will never go back to that location bad service from our waitress couldn't be found ever THAN a child received more chicken than both of our party members whom paid $28 for an entree for 6 pieces of chicken. Fat wasnt cut off steak cut into inch or larger pieces and it wasnt even that busy. Overall just a bad experience unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had the rudest waitress ever. Had a n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had the rudest waitress ever. Had a nasty smart mouth comment to say about everything we asked her. When we told the waitress that we didnt like how she was acting in front of my children she became even ruder and when we asked for the manager she failed to go get her so we went and sought out the manager. Then the manager didnt do anything to make us feel like a valued customer, didnt even offer to give us a credit on our bill. The manager her self was rude and disrespectful. I have been going to benihanas for years on a regular occasion and was so insulted at this location that I will NEVER return. Furthermore it was my birthday, my daughters birthday and my niece's birthday and we were all there to celebrate our birthdays and it was totally ruined and my daughter and niece were crying at the table. SUCH A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a very enjoyable dinner celebrati ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a very enjoyable dinner celebrating grandma's birthday. Our twin daughters loved the presentation.

It was amazing to see chef cook while juggling and keeping our everyone's order straight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went and did the express lunch and we we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went and did the express lunch and we were really satisfied. You get a really good amount of food for the price you pay.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good, chef was amazing!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good, chef was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Benihana but after going to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Benihana but after going to the Golden Valley location multiple times, this one the host staff is not as friendly and accommodating and the chef that made the food over seasoned many of the dishes and made a couple dishes a bit differently. This is still a favorite spot for family birthday but we will likely stick to going to the other one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We made reservations to celebrate a chil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We made reservations to celebrate a child's birthday. We were seated quickly, service was attentive, chef put on a great show, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and Beni-Tini was delicio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was great and Beni-Tini was delicious. Our chef did a great job but was not as "entertaining" as the others in the room. Good company at the table as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinner and the food was absolutely fantastic. I ordered the Benihana trio and the beef was so tender it practically melted in my mouth. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly. I love this place. This was my 3rd visit and I will continue to dine here. I am never disappointed. The waitress and chef were very polite and professional. You get large portions and I had enough left over for lunch next day. 5 stars !!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was pleasant. We ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall the experience was pleasant. We did feel rushed. We were still eating when to go boxes were dropped off at the table and dishes were being cleaned up.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Was apprehensive about the MOA Benihana ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Was apprehensive about the MOA Benihana due to previous reviews but we had a very good experience. Jose was a great entertaining chef who cooked our food to perfection!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was under cooked and service was ve ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was under cooked and service was very weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

My son has been waiting all year to have ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My son has been waiting all year to have his birthday dinner here. The hibachi chef seemed like he didn't even want to be there. He hardly said a word and made it not enjoyable for my son. With how much money we spent that day I would think he could have made it more interactive and maybe have a little bit of a personality. The waitress was excellent with refilling drinks and taking orders but we will never come back here again. We will go to Osaka's where they make it a fun hibachi experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Classic Benihana. Food was good but not ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Classic Benihana. Food was good but not great. Service is as if trained by drill sargeants. Food is served in increments as it is cooked. Kids food was the last item cooked which made for unhappy kids. But the tricks are fun. Overall - classic Benihana.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Our server was ok, but the chef must hav ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was ok, but the chef must have been depressed. He didn't put on a show at all and didn't interact. Food prep was rushed and sloppy, not accurate and when he realized he made a mistake his fix was kind of trashy. It's usually a good experience, but this visit was a flop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

Staff is superior when dealing with the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Staff is superior when dealing with the children. We go every time I am in Minneapolis visiting and we are never disappointed. The kids are made to feel special and are included in the fun n every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.