Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Fun (64)
See All
Good for Groups (58)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Kid-friendly (32)
Casual (29)
Family Style (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Open Kitchen (19)
Romantic (18)
People Watching (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Business Meals (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Used open table to set up a reservation. That process went very smoothly. Arrived a little early so sat in the bar area. Our bartender was great and had the perfect personality for our group. Table was ready on time. Food was great and lots of it. Paid for vegetarian meal but only got tofu, one piece of zucchini, and some onions. Vegetarian option on the menu seemed to be a lot more. Disappointed there as I know I paid full price. Definitely more of a non vegetarian option to eat. Our chef was entertaining and the atmosphere was great. Kind of pricey after all was said and done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and chef were great. The waitress was just ok. I overheard her with another table being much more thorough. She didn't offer coloring for the kids at our table or ask about food allergies but she did with the table behind us.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service was excellent but the noise level with the close seating and all the banging from the different chefs entertaining their tables was excessive. We could not hear each other in our party to have any conversation or enjoy the experience together.
Our chef and server were great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had William again and I can say of we had him every time I wouldn't be disappointed. He's our favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to go for an event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our server, Jackie was so great. She really made our night, super nice, felt like she was a friend just hanging. She was also on top of everything and very thorough. I've been to benihanas several times so I don't prefer to review the restaurant just wanted to give kudos to our server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent Chef, Sammy! Our service was great, food delicious and we had so much fun!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was a great experience! Sammy the chef gave the best show I've seen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD BUT OVER PRICED AND WE DIDN'T GET ANY OF OUR MEAL TOGETHER . WE WERE SEATED BETWEEN 2 FAMILYS AND DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH ROOM TO EAT OUR FOOD. VERY DISAPPOINTED NOT WORTH THE PRICE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wait time was the only complaint I had. Our reservation was at 730 and we didn't get seated till 8 and didn't get orders till 830.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Its been a birthday tradition to visit Benihana for years. I was glad that they opened much closer at MOA. Great food, friendly staff and fun chef's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went to lunch at this restaurant today, we have been there many times for both dinner and lunch! We were seated fairly fast and with another group of six people. We waited almost a half hour before any drinks arrived, then after almost one hour we had our order taken, salads and soup showed up almost right after, but a chef did not appear for almost 20 minutes so after and hour and 20 minutes our meal was finally being prepared! Food was cooked by Raymond, best chef there! So I have Been there for dinner on a Saturday night where you want yo relax and enjoy conversation only to be rushed into ordering and fast dinner! Lunch on the other hand took too long, I knew it would be an hour and a half lunch but not over two hours! Hit or miss with this restaurant! Restroom needed attention, and all there was to wash your hands was very cold water! It seems this restaurant really only caters to out of town visitors, new mall patrons!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was the best yet. Chef Raymond and server antione was an awesome team

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

still a wait even with a reservation, and the server tells u the least amount to tip those are the things I didn't like otherwise the food is amazing

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food wa great as always but the service was challenged. They may have been understaffed but drink service took 30 minutes and food service a bit longer. That said, we'll visit again.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall good. Our waitress could have helped us a little more when ordering, since it was our first time doing hibachi. Didn't like how they charge us for a hibachi meal for my 1 year old even though she didn't eat anything but separate noodles I ordered for her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was our first time at Benihana. It was so much fun at the hibachi and the food was delicious! There was also plenty to eat. I'm already trying to find an excuse to go again!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

It is great for a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Amazing Cooke chief was very nice. Service was okay the chief made up for poor service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Super fun place for families and kids! Very entertaining, healthy food and great value. Our lunch was two hours, a long break from Nickelodeon Universe, but my son and I both think it's worth it and also a nice break from the fun rides.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my daughter's birthday. Excellent server and chef. Greeted and seated promptly. Standard but tasty Benihana fare.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

As always food was great and a fun time. We come for all our birthdays

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My server was very funny, helpful to the other people who were at the table with us who have never been to a benihanas, our chef was amazing, funny and we'll trained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I didn't like to get other people sitting on my dinning table, we want to celebrate as a family and was really UNCOMFORTABLE shared the table with people that we didn't meet; even more because the restaurant's staff didn't ask us before.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant itself and the food was fantastic. The fact that we had made a reservation prior, however, meant absolutely nothing. We still had to wait 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our reservations were at 7, but we had to wait to be seated until close to 730. The service was okay, very nice chef and server, but a few drinks were missing and refills were slow. The drinks were tasty and the food was pretty good, but we probably won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I don't know went this restaurant bothers to take reservations, they are not able to honor them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I looked at the rating for this location before I booked and I seen you were rated 3 stars. I initially thought maybe it was a couple of disgruntle customers but later realized exactly why it was rated that way..... Waitress was swift but very robot like: she asked how everyone was and then answered with: "oh, that's great" before any of us could respond to the question. The food was just ok and the grill guy seemed liked he was pretty new. Most importantly the place was filthy!!! Food all over the floors, the cart that was brought out with the prep items was dirty and had old shrimp tails laying on the back side of it, and when I looked up the decorative screens that hang on the outside of the grill vents looked like they had not been cleaned in a very long time. Linty things hanging off of them. I was distracted by this waiting for a piece to fall off into my plate. I don't know... I would probably come back again but certainly not this location unless I saw it first. Doubt I would take the time to come and inspect it first.... Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful food, fun atmosphere, and is perfect for a viarety of occasions. There was an anniversary, child's birthday, adult birthday, and a family get together all surrounding each other. The atmosphere made each occasion genuine and a blast!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service stunk. We had a dinner reservation for 530 and they made us sit until they had a table available. We also requested a normal table not hibachi and they gave us hibachi. My chicken was undercooked. Also our sever didn't pay attention to our table the second the guy gave the other people that were at our table their food the waiter asked if they wanted a box they didn't even have a chance to take a bite. Overall very unsatisfied wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a great time and William and his assistant were great. Smiling and making good jokes

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Sushi came out more towards the end when the food was mostly done. When every other time I went to bennis (which is over 10 times) it comes out before. Kind of feel like the waitress forgot to put in the order. Every single dish that my friend had was dirty or wasn't washed all the way. (Glass cup, and sauce bowl). Which is gross.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had 5:00 reservations and we didn't get seated until 5:28. Apparently we had to wait for other couples to arrive. Since they were so late, we just had to wait. They didn't apologize or offer any reason why we had to be kept waiting until I asked for the 3rd time. They told me they cancelled people's reservations after 15 minutes, but this isn't accurate, I guess.
Also, we upgraded to the chicken fried rice instead of the white rice. They charged us $4.30 for an upcharge. It's really not an upcharge because it's the same price as ordering a side of the chicken fried rice. If you don't get the white rice, and ask the for chicken rice instead, then it should be a lesser amount than a side order price. Either change the menu to have two different prices or state that it's an upcharge amount and not a side dish amount.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love Beni in St.Louis Park! I thought to try MOA because of the convience. We went to Sealife for a bday get together. Our waitress was okay,it got really busy and she "forgot " about us. The chef was entertaining and the food was good. The malls tax was ridiculous. It will be awhile before I go to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived early and they where able to seat us early. Service was amazing from our servers. I felt like our chef was not as into the show as other chef's around us where. Overall experience was very good though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I loved interacting with our cook he was so much fun the kids at the table thought he was really funny we will definently be coming back we enjoyed the whole night Thank You

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Terrible terrible service! 30 minutes after our reservation we were seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A great restaurant with entertaining chefs and super food. The chef put on a great show with flying knives and corny jokes. Even though the chef was entertaining, the food is the star at Benihana. I really enjoyed both the steak and the scallops.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The staff was very nice and friendly, good atmosphere for loud kiddos. The chef was a very good entertainer as well, kept the kids attention and excited about dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was very good in the chief did a wonderful job preparing it for us. The steak I had was done to perfection a medium rare. The scallops were also very good but slightly overcooked. We really enjoyed the experience as we celebrated a birthday we got a free picture and a wonderful Sunday.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.