About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-mall Of America - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
California Roll - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Sushi - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Trio - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Mall of America, Bloomington, MN

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for a Date (29)
Kid-friendly (22)
Family Style (22)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (11)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was extraordinary and our ch ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was extraordinary and our chef was the best we have experienced ever! We did like the smaller tables so that our group of 6 could all sit together without others and have a private dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great show, great service, great food! F ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great show, great service, great food! First time at MOA location and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. But the problem was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great. But the problem was that it was my daughters 9th birthday and all she could talk about that day was how great the chef would be and getting her birthday mug, and them singing happy birthday to her. So I told the hostesses it was her birthday, they should have told the waiter who tells the chef. Nope. Than the waiter wouldn't give her the free birthday mug because we never got the email with the coupon for it. After asking 3 times he finally said that they would let her have it.And she was disappointed the chef didn't have more fun with her birthday. And when we went with the waiter to pick the mug out he had a sinde comment to his coworker about having to give my kid the mug. Only because the food was so good would we go back.It didn't help that while we were leaving the next table was asked by our waiter if it was a special occasion, yeah a kids birthday, hopefully they treated him better

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was really gud. my kid really enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

It was really gud. my kid really enjoyed a lot. Food was good.. chef was good..It was really a great experience..My family had a really good time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The first 3 times I visitef I didn't lik ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The first 3 times I visitef I didn't like but this time was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good. Our steak, chi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was very good. Our steak, chicken, and shrimp was a little over cooked and scallops were undercooked. But eben with that, food was still good! Also our server was a little more boring then others around us

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been to this location soo many ti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have been to this location soo many times and had never had the experience I had 1/14/17.

First off I had reservations for 1pm, I arrived at 1:08 to be told I no longer had the reservation for that time and my party had been moved to 2:30pm. Ok there was nothing I could do but wait..They came to seat us about 1:45-1:50pm.

We got to our table and learned that a gentleman had an allergy to shrimp, he was asked by our waitress if he wanted his food cooked in back and he declined. That also caused an issue later.

So now our cook Raul arrived, I don't know if he was new or not but I don't think he was quite sure about things. It started off well, but then took a turn for the worst. First off the grill was dirty with old food and was barley cleaned, when asked could it be cleaned again the cook wasn't impressed. The beef that was ordered was over cooked along with the chicken. Also sauce was put on my chicken in which I never asked for, but someone else did so it was added to ALL of the chicken instead of just that person's order. Also the mushrooms cooked for 45 mins before being added to the plate. We weren't asked about or what could be done to help clear up the problem. I love Beni's, but I will NOT return to this location I will continue going to St. Louis Park location. By this being in the MOA the expectations are higher, people travel from all over to come there. It should be better a lot better if not the BEST!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Server (Jennifer) was Great Chef Timeteo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Server (Jennifer) was Great

Chef Timeteo? was great also

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically my experience at this location ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Typically my experience at this location has been good. This occasion particularly was the worst service I've ever had. The waitress kept forgetting drink orders - multiple requests for even just the initial drinks for multiple people at our table. They than took a very long time to arrive. The table I was seated at waited atleast 1 hour past our seat time before the chef appeared. His cooking was good however the waitress hadn't gotten our order right so he had to have his platter redone which added further delay. It was also brief due to being rushed with what I'm guessing is understaffing. We committed approx 2 hours to our meal at Benihana. We always look forward to benihana and we go for the most special occasions. We've been diehards about the MOA location. I am now not in a hurry to go back and I will be going to other locations in the future. Everything with our waitress was painful and delayed...even in attempting to get out bills paid to depart!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Kind of sloppy environment, employees ne ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Kind of sloppy environment, employees need further customer service training. Appeared to be short staffed but we still got everything they needed. Food was ok.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our service was excellent and because of ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our service was excellent and because of that I will return. I love great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was great, food wasn't as good as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Staff was great, food wasn't as good as I recall it being. I found it to be a bit bland.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is, as always, great. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food is, as always, great. Unfortunately we had slow service. We commonly have 2 wait staff working our table at other Benihana restaurants, but here we only had one. Could be that they had lots of call ins due to the flu that's been going around. He tried but was just not ideal.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

8 of us went for a birthday dinner. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 10, 2017

8 of us went for a birthday dinner. The food was good, the show was fun!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed that the reservation was on ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Disappointed that the reservation was only for teppanyaki seating after waiting for our table and being brought to the grill table we had to leave and find another restaurant. We were hoping to have a table for two. It was my wife's birthday and she wanted sushi. Website could have been more clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Let me start out by saying that our chef ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Let me start out by saying that our chef was fantastic. We were seated at 6:15 on Friday, January 6.

The Benihana experience is lost since opening in the Mall. The service was poor. We couldn't find the waitress when it was time to reorder drinks, had to remind the her about our grandchildren's birthday mugs, and everyone at the table (three separate groups) received the wrong bill. Ours was correct except it had an extra $20 meal added on.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

We sat with another family who was celeb ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat with another family who was celebrating a birthday! It was very fun. Had great conversation too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

D.J. was our server again, and does a fa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

D.J. was our server again, and does a fabulous job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server appeared to be busy running a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The server appeared to be busy running around to all tables, making delayed service at ours.

The cook did a great job! This was my friends first time and he was nervous. But in the end very successful! He laughed the entire time of the food being cooked and he loved the food!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, , Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great experience at Benihana!! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a great experience at Benihana!! Thank you!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Memorable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this was our first time to a benihana. w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

this was our first time to a benihana. we had a good time. the server was very attentive and on top of things like refills and removing dishes. the chef was fun and put on a good show. and made our food wonderfully.

we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had reservations at 3:00 pm on 1/2/17 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had reservations at 3:00 pm on 1/2/17 and waited almost an hour to be seated. It should be noted there were several empty tables/grills. The service was very slow, the food was served all at once and not in separate courses. We had two dirty plates and had to retrieve two clean plates from another empty table along with our silverware. Two of us ordered the "Rocky" and upgraded to the filet. I asked for my filet to be prepared medium rare to medium, and our other guest requested his to be prepared rare. Both were well over done. In addition the egg was dropped and splattered.

We probably won't be back. BIG disapointment!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a great experience. Our server ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a great experience. Our server had lots of energy and was engaging. Our cook wasn't overly friendly, but that was OK with our group.

Get the filet. It's so much better than the steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the biggest waste of money ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely the biggest waste of money ever. Will never go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We took my 85 & 87 yr. old Aunt & Uncle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We took my 85 & 87 yr. old Aunt & Uncle out for New Years Eve, they had never been to anything like it before and absolutely enjoyed themselves. The food was terrific and sharing our table with 4 other younger adults was very nice. Was a great time and will do it again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People we are with were rude chef was ok ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

People we are with were rude chef was okay, our rice was burnt and my steak had a ton of fat in it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

I made reservations for my family to spe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I made reservations for my family to spend NYE at Benihana, for our family, a special occasion. We got sat 20 minutes late for our reservation, with a 2 year old and a 5 year old, not ideal. I felt horrible for our waitress as I know she was spread thin, but our service was horrible. On NYE I would think that the restaurant would have been staffed better. Food was not great. If I'm going to bring my family out to dinner for NYE and spend over $100 I would expect a lot more. this was very disappointing, and we will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food. Kids love watching the food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. Kids love watching the food being prepared table side. Slightly loud atmosphere but was very busy when we were there. Definitely would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great as always. The server ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great as always. The server and the chef were nice and courteous. We have been to Benihana several times. We have just one complaint that the reception desk staff is not friendly. They are always very arrogant and we feel them to be not so welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Al (our server) was awesome! He's super ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Al (our server) was awesome! He's super fun and enthusiastic! This is the second time I've had him and Sammy (chef) and they made it so fun for my children and I. That's the reason I keep coming back. I'm a server in fine dining so I really appreciate great customer service and know how hard the job is. Thanks!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Entertaining and fun dinner experience. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Entertaining and fun dinner experience. Found tuna steak excellent. Loved the ginger salad dressing and dipping sauce. The kids menu was unimpressive (should have had my daughter eat from our plates), but the hat it turns into was a fun idea (and my daughter wore it the whole time). We love Asian food. The food was delicious and well prepared, but more Americanized than I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very bummed they were very late for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very bummed they were very late for our reservation. Otherwise was a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good and fun, $9 for a captain coke ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good and fun, $9 for a captain coke is a little steep.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought grandma, aunt, and 2 kids (8 and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Brought grandma, aunt, and 2 kids (8 and 11) for first time and they were amazed and we loved the food. Very casual, sometimes not sure when to eat and when to watch but can do whatever whenever as far as I figured. I wasn't sure what to do with sauces at first (hint-shrimp sauce great in rice, even if you don't like seafood). Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good time, good service, wor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food. Good time, good service, worthy of your time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation at Benihana MOA fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We made a reservation at Benihana MOA for lunch on Christmas Day as a special treat. I can honestly say we had the absolute WORST service we have ever experienced in our lives. We ordered one of the five course options on the holiday menu. Our food was brought out by someone other than our server and was missing several items that were listed on the menu. Rice was one of the items. We looked for our server but she was nowhere to be found. Another server who seemed to be on top of what was going on with her tables, came over and asked us if we would like some rice. Half way through our meal we were out of beverages. The dish was on the spicy side and we waited for someone to come by to ask for more beverages. Our server was still nowhere to be found; had not seen her since she took our order. She finally appeared and walked through the front of the dining room. She did not even glance our way. Another 5 minutes had passed and she was finally near our table delivering the check to another party. She still did not even glad our direction so I had to loudly say "Miss. We need your assistance please!" She finally came over and I said "We have been waiting for assistance for a very long time. We thought you might have gone home." No apology from her, she just asked us what we needed. I simply asked her for some water, the other items that we did not receive packed to go, and the check. Her service was beyond poor and I really felt like not leaving a tip at all. I did leave a tip, however it was minimal. We were so angry when we left the restaurant that it was difficult to get back into the Christmas spirit. What a complete disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We were super excited for our trip to Be ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were super excited for our trip to Benihana. We were, however, a bit disappointed with the overall experience and value. The food was very heavy (full of garlic butter) and filling which deceptively made us feel as if we had more food than we actually did. For over $30 per person, it was not worth the value. The beef was really good, but the shrimp and lobster were just OK.

Drinks were very high priced and not nearly as "strong" as the waiter made us believe. Again, a lot paid for little quantity.

I remember when Benihana was truly a "show" to go and see with flipping knives and lots of tricks. This recent experience was very pared down and all chefs used the same exact "routine" which took away from the excitement for the guests.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sammy was the best! Best food I think I' ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sammy was the best! Best food I think I've had at this location by far.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miguel was very good. Nice entertainment ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Miguel was very good. Nice entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.