About Benihana - Mall of America

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America
Benihana - Mall of America

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (86)
Good for Groups (77)
Kid-friendly (48)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Fun (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Family Style (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Raul was great and the food was outstand ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Raul was great and the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always go to the Benihana in golden va ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

I always go to the Benihana in golden valley and yesterday because I was at the MOA I was went to the Benihana there it was my first and last time. The people in he main entry got a horrible attitude server was great, cook didn't confirm order with every one I don't eat meat and I end up with a chicken fries rice bowl I pay for a extra onions and the cook didn't give it to me then I asked him and he said is not on the ticket so I had to wait 10 minutes into the sever came back to told her then she told him to cook some for me. Food was not great I feel the this location needs to train there cooks more, on how to interact with people and how to cook delicious food. Just a feed back for u guys , I'm not will be back to this location for a while I do love the one in golden valley is 35 minutes away from my house but is Worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Stay away from MOA location. Made a 7:30 ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Stay away from MOA location. Made a 7:30 reservation, arrived at 7:30 and was handed an electronic pager. The hostess said it would only be a few minutes, and I didn't complain or even mind waiting a bit. We sat and waited until 7:45 before I walked back (politely) and asked how much longer the wait was, and reminded them I made a reservation for 7:30. A different hostess (not one I had spoken with) replied, "Like I said already, we have a wait, and it will be at least another 10 minutes".

"Like I said already"? I was so upset about how rude she was that I wanted to make a scene, but to not embarrass my wife, I left the pager on the host table and we left the mall for a different restaurant in town.

When someone makes a reservation and you can't make good on your end of the deal, I at least expect to be treated with the same respect I give you - despite holding up my end of the deal and arriving on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Benihana is one of my most favorite rest ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Benihana is one of my most favorite restaurants to eat at, especially for dinner dates.

The food is always delicious and the atmosphere is usually fun and upbeat.

This last experience with my significant other was very poor and disappointing. We had a dinner date on Friday September 23. We were put in the corner of the restaurant where no one else was, so it was very quiet and very awkward. The rest of the restaurant was lively and I felt like we should not have been put at that table. We were basically secluded and that is not what I want when I go to Benihana. We go for the fun environment it offers.

The chef had no enthusiasm. The portion sizes of food were quite small. I usually leave feeling full and satisfied but not this time.

It was overall a disappointing experience and that isn't usually the case, but it really tainted how we feel about Benihana. It might not be our go to date night anymore. Not sure if the price is worth it anymore.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

They got us in before our reservation, w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

They got us in before our reservation, which was nice.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Devonte was an amazing server and went a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Devonte was an amazing server and went above and beyond for all of our requests.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very bad service to the point we walked ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very bad service to the point we walked out and didn't eat are food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I must say, was quite impressed with the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I must say, was quite impressed with the following; the service, the food, & the ambiance ! When the first opened, the food, the service, the ambiance was ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE! They've redeemed themselves with me!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great hibachi as usual! Chef Gabriel wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great hibachi as usual! Chef Gabriel was fantastic, especially accommodating my wife's needs (to use very little oil & no dairy). Great conversation with other folks at our table too. An all around fun Wednesday evening!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Little bit better experience than the la ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Little bit better experience than the last time I came in. The only thing. For how expensive everything is you really don't get much food especially when there's a ton of random people at your table. Last time I got no mushrooms. This time I got like three. It's annoying spending all this money and hardly getting any of the food I'm paying for. If I get a Habachi trio of steak chicken and shrimp I'm expecting to get the same amount of each, but you don't you end up with less and less. Same with the vegetables. And if I'm paying extra for fried rice. It could taste a little better then it does. It's almost dry still. My expierence with the staff and getting my food this time was much better. Unfortunately the food is still not that good. I've had better at other places that are similar and are less expensive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a fun evening! Lots of activity ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always a fun evening! Lots of activity which can be noisy. I like the new location at the mall! Sometimes restaurant could be cleaner, very busy but floors need attention. Bathrooms could be serviced more often too. Food is good but sometimes seems rushed, one course blends with the next. Food is prepared at table side and is always fun to watch the cooking preparations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef had to tell the waitress three ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The chef had to tell the waitress three times that he needed a plate! The waitress (Jamie)took forever to get our bills to us. We shared a grill with two other groups and one group was very rude to the chef. The chef did not talk much but he did a good job (Sammy). The food was excellent. We had a person with a shrimp allergy and the chef made her meal before a single shrimp landed on the grill, very thoughtful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Every other day I come here I was feel w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every other day I come here I was feel welcome even though I look very young to be eating good. I love bring my little nephews because of their cravings of the shrimp sauce. All is well once I walk in and get greated by my chief which is 98% of the time the same guy (Martin).

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server never our table to bring rice or ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Server never our table to bring rice or drinks. We had to walk to host stand to get service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We went for my birthday. If you sign up ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We went for my birthday. If you sign up with them, when your birthday rolls around you get a $30 off certificate. Always great food! And it's fun!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love to go to Benihana. This t ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We always love to go to Benihana. This time was special to us since it was our 25th anniversary. The server was nice except it took a long time to get our bill. The cook might have been new or Benihana is getting strict on their portions. The hibachi veggies (zucchini and onions) were cut into very small pieces. Now you only get mushrooms when you order steak. At one time mushrooms were included with the hibachi veggies. Also, we get chicken rice and for how small the chicken and veggies are chopped you would think it should come with a 5 or 6 course meal not an additional $4.00 per person. Usually the cook has left overs after everyone has been served so a few of us could get a little extra rice or veggies. This isn't the case anymore. The food is good, but for the price/value we really have to reconsider coming back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was good but I'd forgo the dri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food was good but I'd forgo the drinks. Neither our hostess or cook was very friendly which minimized our dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Super fun for Birthday celebration!! Goo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Super fun for Birthday celebration!! Good food always, reasonable prices, and friendly environment. Fun for the whole family

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was friendly and entertaining. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our chef was friendly and entertaining. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in on time but didn't tell the h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came in on time but didn't tell the host that we were there so she told me to wait 1/2 hour because there was other party after us...I honestly didn't know if we aren't check in w/ the host, We are losing the reservation and have to wait at least 1/2 hour.

She was very rude and told me to wait...I told her that We are not gonna wait. The restaurant wasn't busy at all that day. She then ignored me.

The other host heard and graciously took us to our table and I thank her for that.

The chef, Sapporo was very nice (although he doesn't say much when We asked questions). Overall, We are happy w/ the service and the foods was very good and tasty! Our server was nice, too!

This is my third times coming to Benihana. I thought I am never coming back after two times w/bad experience in the past...glad I did and it was good!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the chef table birthday certificate is very generous. We love to go with a group of friends and always have a great time

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hostess and waitress were rude seemed li ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Hostess and waitress were rude seemed like they did not want to be there

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Always delicious - and entertaining! Gr ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always delicious - and entertaining! Great time and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great time with excellent foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a great time with excellent food! Took my daughter and sister for my birthday! It was fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have had the same waitress twice and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have had the same waitress twice and both times she has no idea what shes doing. I believe we were overcharged last time and she didn't figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The Cook we had doesn't do a show, and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Cook we had doesn't do a show, and that's part of why you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Excellent all the way around. Benihana' ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent all the way around. Benihana's is always great. Excellent waiter and cook. Food was the greatest. All in the party was please.

Thanks Benihana

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I couldn't wait to have date night here ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I couldn't wait to have date night here with my boyfriend as I've been here once and this was going to be his first time. I told him that afterwards we wouldn't need dessert because I couldn't even finish all the food on my plate. He didn't believe me until he couldn't finish his dinner either. He loved it there so much he said next date night we have to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very wonderful experience need more frie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very wonderful experience need more fried rice. Portion sizes keep shrinking,.. If you give rice. It would not really increase your cost significantly but would really please your customers and make your customers feel like they really received a wonderful value.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service, great food, great vib ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful service, great food, great vibe! The wait was a bit long,other than that I would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Benihana is my daughters favorite an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The Benihana is my daughters favorite and we love it the staff is nice and helpful on our last visit the hostess tried to seat us and the family that was seated before us was very rude and said we could sit on each side because they wanted to sit in the middle even tho that isn't how it works and the staff handled it very nicely and seated us at a different table they discounted out bill for the rudeness of the other people at the other table they was so nice to us about it and very nice to the rude people they handled everything so nice I can't even tell people how kind the staff was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience at Benihana was very disa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The experience at Benihana was very disappointing. Three persons in our group were vegetarian and looked forward to tofu entree only to be told that they were out of tofu. Plates of rice just was not sufficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our chef, Martin, was amazing. A great e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our chef, Martin, was amazing. A great experience for lunch with our two kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good, but always seem lik ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food is always good, but always seem like they are in a rush to get you feed and out of there. Just after the last course is served they want to bring you a box to take the rest home!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been to Benihana in Maple Grove a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been to Benihana in Maple Grove and had a amazing time and lots of interaction with the chef. This time the chef did not hardly talk and did not put on a show like I am used to. Part of why I go the Benihana is the food is great and the interaction is amazing. I had a friend come with me for her Birthday and with spending over 75 dollars and her 1st time there was not a good one. I had talk about this being an amazing place and this time it was a dud.. My friend asked me when we left . I thank you for taking me out for my birthday but what was so amazing with this place. I felt I had let my friend down and did not get the bang for what I spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Meat was cooked perfect, melted in my mo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Meat was cooked perfect, melted in my mouth. Soup and salad were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time! Love Benihanas and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a good time! Love Benihanas and the service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With reservations we still had to wait q ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

With reservations we still had to wait quite some time to be seated. Host staff seemed disinterested in engaging the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Francisco put on quite a show & Ali expl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Francisco put on quite a show & Ali explained the menu, took our orders, & brought us drinks in a courteous & timely fashion. Great experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and chef were great! The che ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our server and chef were great! The chef put on a great show for our people ages 8 to 58! Thank you so much!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.