About Benihana - Mall of America

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.

358 South Avenue
Bloomington, MN 55425
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 594-6205

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Mall of America Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Good for Groups (47)
See All
Fun (47)
Good for a Date (44)
Family Style (27)
Casual (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 hours ago

Birthday dinner, didn't receive my white rice as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

My kids love this place very much.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived on time and were seated within minutes. Food was fresh and the chef did a good job keeping us entertained. The server also did a good job. No issues and no problems.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was subpar, rude, rushed us and mischarged us .... when we spoke to the manager he did not resolve the issue. He gave us a coupon for a free app next time. What a joke

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Martin (chef) & Elena (server) were very friendly and accommodating to special requests.

Ages 11 - 65. Good food and fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Prompt seating with reservation, chef was fun and engaging, food was excellent and the kids had a great time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the hibachi dinner with 8 people seated at hibachi grill. Good show from the chef and good service from the waiter. Had a great time for my special birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's day nightmare. Food was terrible. Ambiance was worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good was great. Chef Erick is awesome. I must tell you there was lots and lots of butter that was piled on the food from Onions to mushrooms to shrimp. We couldn't say no because it's cooked for several at the table. Use of olive or some oil with low saturated fats would've made the food more appetizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great experience despite eating with strangers. We all decided to talk to each other and enjoyed our time together more as a result. Alcoholic beverages helped loosen our tongues, too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took several minutes just to have anyone take a drink order at the bar. Waitress at the grill wasn't great. Filet was chewy and my wife and i asked for our chicken to be cooked with extra garlic butter and teriyaki sauce and chef didn't do it. Ultimately it was not a great experience for our first time there on a Valentine's day date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Made a reservation and waited 45+mins to be seated with 4 Starving Children. Asked the host twice but got the oh 15 more minutes which was a joke but guess it was a bigger joke when I called and spoke to... I believe his name was Brian/Ben who stated he was a manager who didn't care what I had to say and hung up on me needless to say I called when I was outside of the restaurant while watching others that just showed up get seated asap!

Then we were rushed out by the waitress.... She took my plate without asking if I was even done eating! Just because I was in a deep conversation doesn't give you the right to take my food that I would have boxed up and dish it on to another dirty plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Benihana is always a great time. Food is amazing as always and we had a very fun chef.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

delicious food, fun environment, great place to get together with family

food was great and service was great.

kid friendly atmosphere

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great and the service met expectations. The part that truly bothered me was that i was seated 40 minutes after my reservation. I was advised the were running 15 minutes behind due to being busy. But to be seated and get my drink order in 40 mins later was inexplicabke to me. I also was going here for the first time. Perhaps dome sort if communication from the hostesses about grabbing a drink while we wait or anything besides the ninchalany were busy response we got would have been appreciated much more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great meal at Benihana. Would recommend always making a reservation as the Mall of America location is usually quite busy. We had reservations and were seated on time. Our cool was Sammy and he did a great job. Loved the steak with mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Well I have been to other ones and had a great time this one was kinda a boring place and the chef didn't keep us very entertained. I brought my friends and they had never been there and the other group sitting with us as well had not been there so I would have thought they would have made sure to put on a good show for all the new people but no we got a new chef and the food was lacking on flavor as well. Just was not worth the money this time around... We will not be going back to the one in Mall of America

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was over cooked. Chef did not have much personality so show wasn't that great either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a pleasure eating here! The chef was fantastic and so was the server and it was his first week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Decent food, chef was good. Overall okay. Was tasty and filling but the only thing i think i will crave is the chicken fried rice. Server was much better than previous visits.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Had a great time treating my sister and my mommy out to lunch again at MY favorite spot, since it was my treat!!! Lol

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I'm a vegetarian, told the waiter that but he neglected to tell the chef so he made one big portion of chicken fried rice. When i told him i don't eat chicken, he yelled at me and said i should've told the waiter, which i did. they never offered to get me a new order of fried rice and compensated by taking ONE DOLLAR of the bill.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Over rated. They just rush you out. Nothing special about the food. Been to Benihana like a 100th time, only for the kids :) never surprises. Better options available in the mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Raul! Was a great chef! Reservations were right on schedule

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our food was severely over cooked and completely inedible we wasted an hour driving here and another hour sitting to be prepared poor tasting food. It's been good in the past but we were very disappointed with this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. I been several times and actually was impressed with this chef named Eric. . He had a couple new tricks not seen previously which made it fun. The food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Waiter took our coupon when we ordered and lost it. We waited 10 minutes while he looked for it, unbeknownst to us. THEN a cook came out to say he lost it and asked for our coupon barcode # from my email, and he wrote it on our ticket. We waited ANOTHER 10 minutes and THEN a lady manager came out with a pile of tickets to tell us she fixed it and our total was DOWN to $90.....we had started at $60, so it should have been down to $30. She had applied our coupon to someone else's tab, not even from our table. ANOTHER 15 minutes went by while she tracked down the waiter AND the cook, and tried to straighten it all out. Any reasonable customer would have walked out long before this, but we wanted to leave a tip for our great cook and our waiter. His only fault was getting HELP from more senior employees that completely screwed up!!!

If he had been allowed to fix it himself, we would've been done in 10 minutes....the other couple we were with walked out a full 58 minutes before we did! Absolutelt terrible management not empowering a waiter to close out his own ticket!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had a great time. The cook did a great job with the show and was very nice. It was good to get to spend time with friends and the people that sat with us were kind as well. Definitely would go again. Waitress was a bit rude though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had Anthony as our server, & he's the best one I've had & I've been to this location a lot. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was my first time at Benihana but it was a blast. Our chef was amazing and joked a lot. If you are at a chefs table you will sit with 7 other people but it is so much fun to meet other people. It was way beyond my expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service, food, bar service were all great at our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. We have walked by the restaurant before but had never dined at this location. Our server was very friendly, our chef was very polite. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. The food was just not as tasty as our experiences at the Maple Grove location. We have dined at 3 locations in the cities. I am not sure why but somehow the quality/taste of our meals have been superior at the Maple Grove location. Over all it was OK, however we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed. I can not put my finger on why. I think we will just stick with your sister location.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Took a chance after reading some bad reviews, but it was good. The chef was entertaining, the food was good and there wasn't a wait at all - either to get in or for the order to be taken or for the food to arrive. It is a bit spendy, but the food was tasty. I'll go back there again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The waitress took 15 mins to talk to us so we left without even ordering anything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome birthday celebration. Server Al was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food and service! Great for a date night or a whole group of friends/family young and old!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was great. Our chef was very entertaining and put on quite a show. We were there to celebrate a birthday and the song was fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Miguel is a terrific chef....and the entire staff is always terrific. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was extraordinary and our chef was the best we have experienced ever! We did like the smaller tables so that our group of 6 could all sit together without others and have a private dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My fiance and I love benihanas for special occasions, both of us have gone there quite a bit. This visit by far had been the best. The waitress, Susan was very sweet and on top of everything. Guillermo, our chef made the night. His cooking was by far the most delicious and perfectly prepared we've had! (and my fiance has been to benihanas for many years!)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food, entertaining chef, excellent service!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great show, great service, great food! First time at MOA location and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great. But the problem was that it was my daughters 9th birthday and all she could talk about that day was how great the chef would be and getting her birthday mug, and them singing happy birthday to her. So I told the hostesses it was her birthday, they should have told the waiter who tells the chef. Nope. Than the waiter wouldn't give her the free birthday mug because we never got the email with the coupon for it. After asking 3 times he finally said that they would let her have it.And she was disappointed the chef didn't have more fun with her birthday. And when we went with the waiter to pick the mug out he had a sinde comment to his coworker about having to give my kid the mug. Only because the food was so good would we go back.It didn't help that while we were leaving the next table was asked by our waiter if it was a special occasion, yeah a kids birthday, hopefully they treated him better

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was really gud. my kid really enjoyed a lot. Food was good.. chef was good..It was really a great experience..My family had a really good time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The first 3 times I visitef I didn't like but this time was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was very good. Our steak, chicken, and shrimp was a little over cooked and scallops were undercooked. But eben with that, food was still good! Also our server was a little more boring then others around us

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have been to this location soo many times and had never had the experience I had 1/14/17.

First off I had reservations for 1pm, I arrived at 1:08 to be told I no longer had the reservation for that time and my party had been moved to 2:30pm. Ok there was nothing I could do but wait..They came to seat us about 1:45-1:50pm.

We got to our table and learned that a gentleman had an allergy to shrimp, he was asked by our waitress if he wanted his food cooked in back and he declined. That also caused an issue later.

So now our cook Raul arrived, I don't know if he was new or not but I don't think he was quite sure about things. It started off well, but then took a turn for the worst. First off the grill was dirty with old food and was barley cleaned, when asked could it be cleaned again the cook wasn't impressed. The beef that was ordered was over cooked along with the chicken. Also sauce was put on my chicken in which I never asked for, but someone else did so it was added to ALL of the chicken instead of just that person's order. Also the mushrooms cooked for 45 mins before being added to the plate. We weren't asked about or what could be done to help clear up the problem. I love Beni's, but I will NOT return to this location I will continue going to St. Louis Park location. By this being in the MOA the expectations are higher, people travel from all over to come there. It should be better a lot better if not the BEST!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Server (Jennifer) was Great

Chef Timeteo? was great also

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Typically my experience at this location has been good. This occasion particularly was the worst service I've ever had. The waitress kept forgetting drink orders - multiple requests for even just the initial drinks for multiple people at our table. They than took a very long time to arrive. The table I was seated at waited atleast 1 hour past our seat time before the chef appeared. His cooking was good however the waitress hadn't gotten our order right so he had to have his platter redone which added further delay. It was also brief due to being rushed with what I'm guessing is understaffing. We committed approx 2 hours to our meal at Benihana. We always look forward to benihana and we go for the most special occasions. We've been diehards about the MOA location. I am now not in a hurry to go back and I will be going to other locations in the future. Everything with our waitress was painful and delayed...even in attempting to get out bills paid to depart!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Kind of sloppy environment, employees need further customer service training. Appeared to be short staffed but we still got everything they needed. Food was ok.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.