Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 46 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Mall of America

4.1
1218 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Good for Groups
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Take a break from your shopping spree at Mall of America and see what makes Benihana the best thrill ride in the mall. Catch up with friends in our patio area tables located in the mall while enjoying one of our specialty sushi rolls or signature cocktails. Call to book your private party or next event for up to 120 guests in our private dining room. Located on the third floor next to Macy’s.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(952) 594-6205
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
3 floor inside mall, next to Macy's
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1218 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.4
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated two birthdays, one adult and one child. Child was entertained and the family had a very good time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

I always go here but never was it this bad. They were super backed up because of prom and we didn’t get seated til 730 even though we had reservations at 7. I ordered a steak and it had mold on it but they did change it and made sure there was no mold on the second one and on the rest. We finally finished at 845 until I ate a bad shrimp and ended up passing out. This is was the first bad experience here. Usually it’s always 10/10. Just bad luck I think.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Birthday, celebrate there every year. Favorite place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We had a reservation at 7:00 PM, did have to wait about 20 minutes. Would not have been an issue at all because normally we would just go to the bar and have a pre dinner drink. The issue with THIS location is that they have only 1 bartender and she has to fill server orders and try to wait on the guests in the bar. I have been to this location 3 times and the bartender is always swamped and we do not get served. Not the bartenders fault, she is hustling, ya just need two of them most times.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Love Benihanas - the one at MOA is decent, although sometimes the crowd/other patrons can be a gamble since the mall attracts so many people who don't live close or in-state. As such, sometimes other patrons can be loud, rude, etc. However, overall my experience with staff/chefs has been great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food and the service were excellent. It was expensive so not a restaurant we would go to often, but very nice for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We LOVE Benihana's! We usually go to the one in Maple Grove but the location of this one was great for us and our mom. The MOA location does not offer a full menu which is a bit disappointing but we were still able to find something we each liked and it was so delicious! The chefs are always amazing and entertaining no matter what age in your group!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day lunch

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Service was horrible. Tables that were seated a half hour after us were fed, paid and out the door while we were still sitting there waiting for dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The waitress was not friendly, seemed very annoyed. There was tons of dust 1" thick on the walls very gross.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Asked for a medium steak and received a rare steak. Service was also the worst I’ve experienced here. It was atleast my 8th time and by far my worst expericance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I took my wife. We have been many times before. Normally everything is awesome. This time it was just off a bit. Food was good not great. I would still recommend.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The staff at the front are very rude at this location. It was Thursday and the place was pretty empty. We had made reservation a few days in advance. 9/10 of our group had arrived but they said they could not sit us down just because of that . When We all arrived they sat us down and then were mad because we had one person over limit, granted one of our people was a toddler . Anyway , then they took about 15 minutes before anyone approached to offer drinks or explain menu . I asked to speak to a manager because my uncle was so upset by the way we were being treated he left the party and went elsewhere. They make it so complicated like they are the only restaurant in the mall of America. We arrived 7:00 pm . We started eating at 9:00. Do not come here for special occacions and when you’re hungry . They do take forever to get you fed. Food is less than average

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great food and the hibachi griller, William, was the best I've had serve me and I've been there multiple times.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Running late due to an accident on 494 so I called asking if it will be a problem if we are 15 minutes late. The girl said “YES”. I was a little taken back by her nasty response so I asked again. Same answer but she added that their policy is they will only hold the table for 15 minutes. I said then we are good since I stated we will be 15 minutes late. She said that we would arrive no more than 14 minutes late. She also cautioned me that if we are late I would put the sever behind and won’t get very good service. The service and food was good but won’t be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Excellent service. The food was delicious. Right portion and price and our chef and server were very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I usually would give all five stars for benihana, since it really is my favorite restaurant, however this past time our chef wasn't very energetic or entertaining and didn't do many of the things I've come to love about benihana, and I also ordered the yakisoba which I personally did not like at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I enjoyed my crispy tuna tremendously, delicious. I am always amazed at the dexterity and showmanship of your chefs, plus the food come out sumptous and satisfying. Great place to eat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We always enjoy the MOA Benihanas. One suggestion, we had one person in our group who only wanted chicken and white rice-they do not eat the salad, soup or grilled veggies. We asked if there could be an extra serving of white rice pin place of the other items, all of which were refused. They would not accommodate, I would think it could be fairly easy to scoop out one more portion of rice since they are saving the time, and food from serving the other items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had a fantastic time! It was my daughters birthday, our waiter was awesome and our chef was great!!! They helped make it extra special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Food was excellent as always. I get the Benihana Trio ( Filet mignon, chicken and shrimp) and all were prepared to perfection. Add the Yum-Yum sauce, as they call it, and it couldn't have tasted better. I also get the Shrimp Crunchy Roll (sushi) and it is also fabulous. The service is great. They keep your water glass and soda glasses full without even having to ask. Chef Martin was awesome. All the usual jokes but that comes with eating here all the time. I would recommend to anyone who loves Japanese food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Although the food was good, it was not up to the normal standards of this restaurant. I left s little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Dinner was just ok for the price. I was hoping for more from the chef in celebrating a bday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Benihana is always great! We went to celebrate a birthday and used their special birthday coupon - great deal! Our chef this time kept up a bilingual conversation with our group and the other group at the table, which was awesome to see.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Amazing food we had a great time. Our waitress and chef were amazing and made the night complete.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Never had a worse experience than this. We were in and out in 50 minutes. The chef rushed through the cooking and didn’t cook in the right order. It was like they didn’t plan their table seatings correctly as we were the only 4 at our table and I know they always try to fill with 8. We saw the same chef at a different table as we were leaving and he was going slower and cooking food in the right order. Even the server came and asked if we needed boxes almost immediately after he was done cooking. Terrible service and I won’t go back!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Slow service, long wait, waiter mixed up orders, hibachi chef didn’t handle the mix up with grace. Put a damper on the diners. Seafood was rubbery and over cooked. It was also drowning with butter. Together with the heat I was quite nauseated by the end of the meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Horrible server experience. Issues with orders and timeliness of getting beverages and even being greated at the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

After all i love soo much and the place amazing but this place get too full have table sometime

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We went to Benihana for my son’s 6th birthday with our family and his two cousins. The manager, Mariah, was so awful! Rude and horrible from the minute we arrived. It set the tone for the night. Fortunately there was another manager who was very helpful and kind and made us feel better about dining at Benihana. I work in the restaurant industry so normally it takes a lot to surprise me and I was appalled by how rude the manager Mariah was. Do not bother with this place! Food was mediocre at best. Atmosphere was meh. Not worth the money or time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Loud, and the restaurant was nice to clean. Fun experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Birthday celebration...free sherbet for dessert!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

chef did not come for over an hour. ate soup and salad right away then sat around for 45 min. waiter never told us it would be a little while. Golden Valley location much better service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Samuel is a fantastic chef
Alexander is an awesome server

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

As a part of our annual tradition, My wife and mother in law and myself go to your restaurant for our birthdays and this year we decided to go to the Mall of America location. As we have been to the Maple Grove location for years and have not been that impressed with the upkeep of the restaurant, i.e. the chairs were falling apart. And the urinal is the men's bathroom has been broke for quite some time. In our most recent adventure at Mall of America location, the restaurant was not overly busy, however, Sterling(our server) had messed up a drink in our order for starters. Was not terribly attentive to drink levels as we would've purchased another if given the opportunity. Failed to clear off dirty dishes your chef had removed soup and salad bowls. What took really upset me is he messed up my wife's birthday ice cream by putting a candle in some other person's ice cream and it wasn't even their birthday( At least they didn't mention when asked earlier on), and then sang Happy Birthday to said person. Lastly, our tab took forever to get approximately 7-10mins after the other guests at our table. In my opinion, Sterling seemed quite professional initially but soon after appeared over-worked/overwhelmed! I think he could be much better if not spread so thin. Not sure if this is his fault or management for not staffing properly, either way its something that should be brought to ones attention. It's tough to break tradition but your organization is making it look like a worth while choice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a good time. Felt bad for our waitress. Was her 4th day and was busy. We waited for 30 mins for drinks and longer foe her to come back for our order. The 3 people that was with our table ended up leaving. I definitely will be coming back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a 7:30 reservation and we were seated 20 minutes late. Once seated, the waitress took our drink and food order, but the problem was the chef did not show up at our table at all after being seated for over an hour. Instead of waiting any longer for the chef, we just left very hungry and disappointed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The server was awful! We waited over an hour for the chef to come start cooking. The chicken was tough and nasty. The other food was good,but a $5 up-charge for fried rice per person is ridiculous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Birthday for my significant other. She throughly enjoys Benihana’s!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I was kind of disappointed when I call and made a reservation on Line and they told me that they didn't receive it.
The dinner was good. They didn't think Happy b/day anymore. It is bad too. At common everything else was OK. Anyway I think you need put new dishes at the menu. I was visited Benihana for 8 years and menu didn't change still. Just suggestion.
Thanks.
dk

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Tweets by Benihana - Mall of America