About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Kid-friendly (19)
Family Style (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (14)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall experience was good. However, this Restaurant was very dirty and not cleaned up properly. Needs more attention to cleanliness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

My BFF and I had been missing out on a good meal from Benihana, as we had not been in quite a while, so we planned a much needed lunch date. And to top it off, Chef Lu was available to cook our food! Mmmm......it was so delicious.....AS ALWAYS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Had reservations but did not get seated til 20mins afterwards . Found a eyelash In the soup , asked waiter to bring another he never brought it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We enjoyed watching the chef and smelling that delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our guy was amazing! Very entertaining and the food was delicious 😋 wish I could remember his name

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been going for the pass ten years and the Food is always on point

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my first time eating at benihana so I was excited and entertained throughout the whole process. Me and my wife enjoyed our meals and according to her, the drinks were good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was so slow had to wait 20 minutes for our table and another 40 minutes for the chef to come. The grill was up too high and he burnt our food. The chicken was dry and I had a piece of lobster shell in my food. It was not a good experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very disappointed with hostesses at this location. My husband and I had a 700 reservation and didn't get seated till about 740. Upon arriving we did let the hostess know we were there. Several guest came in and were seated before us. We did ask for the manager, the lady claimed she thought we were waiting on another party. If that was true why didn't you just ASK us. The manager was nice and very understanding. He apologized several times. The waiter and chef were great! It may be awhile before we come back. This was my first time visiting...talk about first impressions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

service very slow. food was under cooked. chef forgot order. been here before and it seems it is not like it use to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Took my wife here for our anniversary and she was thrilled and amazed by the dining entertainment and quality of food served. Drinks were a little on the weak side but the food more than made up for it. We will return with a group of friends next time

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been loyal Benihana fans for decades, but this will be our last visit ever. The Las Colinas location is poorly run, our table was not ready even though the restaurant was completely empty the service was very lacking and not attentive, the bathrooms were filthy, overall could not ever recommend this again so sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was definitely off this time, rice was undercooked and the rest of the meal wasn't up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wait was too long... the cook seemed to have a preference to the ladies next to me.. so much that he gave them all the shrimp and didn't give us any even though we ordered shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tonight we celebrated my daughter's 10th Birthday. This was my daughter's choice tonight and everything was Exceptional. Service was Amazing, Beautiful atmosphere and staff. Very accommodating to all your needs no matter what. We will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was really good ,but them prices for the amount of food is not good . Would rather pay a little less but go more frequently to pay that price and go once every two years

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had a good time for my birthday. It was my first time going so I took my daughter along. She also enjoy it

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Of all times eating here, this was the less favorite. The manager did however acknowledge the problem and made everyone's night with a human gesture of compensation on the bill. Love this place and this food. I take my Mother every year for her birthday and it's always driving home (Arlington) Happy and Full LOL:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. However wait time was too long from time we were seated until time chef came to table to cook food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our Chef was Lu and he was awesome. This is his second time cooking for us and it was delicious. We've had some bad Chef experiences before with other chefs where our shrimp and steak were burned or over cooked, but Lu cooks and seasons to perfection. I recall the week prior we had chef Manny and they said he was the master chef. Well his food and Lu food tasted the same with same qualities. Lu has awesome service as well. Can't wait to eat there again and request Lu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been here at this location several times and think they were having an off night Saturday due to a giant group. Long wait for a table even with a reservation-waited about 35 minutes and waited additional 45 for chef to start food once we sat. Cocktails took about 20 minutes to get. Chef was super friendly and server was friendly.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great meal, was a little cold inside need to bring a jacket to wear.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

very good experience definitively recommend this restraunt to meeting with friends or special ocassions

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Typical Benihana restaurant. Consistent food and the chef cooking the meal is always fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Overall, the experience was enjoyable. It was extremely loud so don't plan to go there and have a decent conversation. Any talking required speaking about 2 inches away from the other person's ear. Ithe was my first time there and we were squeezed at a table of prior visitors so I felt rushed through the menu and ended up almost randomly picking a meal.

The chef was great. I know they all do the same tricks at all the help tables but even was still fun and had a sly sense of humor. Food was excellent.

Besides the noise and rushed service, the only other problem was that we didn't get the ice cream that was supposed to come with our meal. As soon as the chef had finished cleaning the grill, the waitstaff immediately started handing out the bills. On top of that, two of us at the table were celebrating birthdays, and even handed in our birthday coupons. I noticed other tables had staff come sing. I'm not upset about missing out on the singing, but the dessert would have been nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went for my birthday, it was nice. I will return. My grandbabies enjoyed the chef.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

always a fun meal. It's a meal and a show. Wait staff was fantastic. The chef put on quite a show while make steak and shrimp for myself and my daughter. We had a blast and a great meal

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was ok, could of had better service but the food was alright

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I enjoy food and service on each visit not only does my daughter enjoy the cooking show but all adults do too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Overall fun experience...A little pricey...Plan for over $40 per head including tip if you order anything with steak...Good times just don't forget your wallet.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is always my place to go for birthdays! Our chef was excellent and entertaining!! The one behind ours was very boring and no personality so I was very happy we didn't get him. Can't wait to go

Back

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

No yum yum sauce , servings were smaller than normal visits here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and a great chef (Lu). Wish it was closer - I'd go more often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our chef and waiter were very personable and we enjoyed our time there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome dining experience!! We've eaten at a few different hibachi restaurants in the metroplex but this definitely our new favorite. Fantastic service.... our daughter's (19 yr old) friend didn't advise anyone she has a food allergy to lobster until it was on the grill with her food, not to worry Chef Lu quickly remedied the problem by having another meal prepared for her in the kitchen.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We (a couple celebrating an adult birthday) were sat at a table with THREE kids. I guess we need to be more specific when making a reservation and adding the note. NO KIDS please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was by far our best hibachi restaurant experience! Not only do they have a kid's menu but they don't have restrictions on sharing an order. The service was incredible! Every loved their food and had a great time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had the filet and scallops. The scallops were great however I don't think that the steak was really a filet

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

While the service was good, the place was very noisy and the smoke hoods were not working. We had smoke coming over to our table from the food cooking at the table next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I didn't like that we were sitting with total strangers, and they didn't even want to speak. They never even looked up at us, I thought that was really rude! We got up and left! There were a number of empty tables, but the lady that seated us said that we had to sit there! I just can't eat with ride people. I have never noticed that strangers are seated together because I have always gone in groups before! I just wanted to take my kids for something different. I guess we will go in a group of 8??

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food tasted great. The atmosphere was good. They sang happy birthday and even took our picture, printed it out and placed it in a Benihana's cover with the date. We will come back. The only negative is parking. Small parking area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Benihana's Las Colinas has been a yearly birthday tradition for several years now, but seems to be going downhill these days.

The food is still very good, but the plate ware has declined along with the to-go containers. I know it sounds petty, but putting Hibachi Supreme left overs in a paper thin styrofoam box from Walmart doesn't exactly make me feel like I just paid $45 for one dinner plate.

Perhaps it was the fact that we had to ask the waitress several times for our group photo, she didn't seem to happy towards the end of the night?

I'm sure we'll be back but step it back up a notch at these prices Benihana's!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to this location several times. The chief was very messy. Did not clean up after cooking. Food was every where. The food did not even taste good.

We were there on 12/22/16. Reservation under lisa 5:45. Please help this chief before he runs off more people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very terrible experience at this location. We are regular Benihana customers and I was appalled at the service we received. We were greeted by the rudest hostess we have ever seen.! This put a very sour taste in our mouth and the rest of the time there unpleasant as well. Food is always mediocre at this location. Asked for our steaks to be medium and the "chef" cooked them over well done. We kept telling him to take the steaks off and his response was "a little more time". Wasted money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone was so friendly and our chef, Manny, was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our party thought the chicken was dry in the different requested dishes.'

The staff was friendly and entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We celebrated a special family occasion and as usual Benihana did not disappoint! Although they were a little late getting us seated, even though we had a reservation, the service was impeccable and our chef, Manny was MAGNIFICENT! We are "frequent flyers" and we have had him before, but he was awesome and he even remembered our son!

We had a wonderful time and will most definitely be visiting again, and again!

Thanks and Kudos!

JJ

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome my kids loved it,couldn't keep their eyes off the action....definitely coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.