About Benihana - Las Colinas

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.
  • Medium Rare Hibachi Steah
  • Crunchy shrimp roll
  • Benihana Roll
  • Las Vegas Sushi Roll
  • Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail
  • Chicken And Shrimp
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah
Crunchy shrimp roll
Benihana Roll
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail
Chicken And Shrimp

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Value
Mid Cities
Special Occasion
Mid Cities
1 More
Most Booked
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Las Colinas / Irving ›

good for groups (70)
special occasion (66)
kid-friendly (40)
See All
great for lunch (35)
romantic (20)
fit for foodies (17)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (11)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We were seated exactly 60 minutes after ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We were seated exactly 60 minutes after our reservation time. We were asked for a drink order exactly 20 minutes after we received our menus. Total time at restaurant = 4 hours.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

we went to that location because the Dal ...

Dined 5 days ago

we went to that location because the Dallas location was packed and no walk insurance accepted. our reservation was for 230pm. we arrived at 205pm, we were reminded that our reservation was for 230. we decided to eat sushi in the bar. the service was very slow, disorganized and very poor management . we were seated at 3pm, the restaurant had empty tables, the waiter forgot to turn the grill. when the cooker arrived 40 minutes later he could not start because was cold. he turned on the grill, advise us to wait 20 minutes and left. manager came to apologize but discount was not given . we left by 5pm, we loose a movie that we had reserved for 5:15pm. they had re done the restaurant to add more tables, loosing the benihana look. too noisey. I will definitely no come back or recommended to anyone. I score as -15.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service from every employee was great an ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service from every employee was great and made us feel special.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Chef and food was very good and entertai ...

Dined 6 days ago

Chef and food was very good and entertaining. The server was slow to bring initial drinks and apps. Waited a while for the chef as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sarah as our chef she was amazing ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had Sarah as our chef she was amazing. She was super funny and even chimed in on our jokes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have dinner and its fun t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place to have dinner and its fun to watch it all happen right in front of you.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the experience on our weekday d ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We loved the experience on our weekday date! The environment was wonderful with alot of families enjoying each others company!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I liked the place, very clean. Professio ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I liked the place, very clean. Professional staff. The Chef was excellent. Will request him next time. The food was fresh and great taste. Will eat here again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good service, the food is good also ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good service, the food is good also and the show is wonderful

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Seems to be declining

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Not at the top of my list anymore. Benihana has been one of my favorite chains for years. However, the food appears to be in declining in quality and chefs declining in talent in multiple locations.

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Good but rushed

Dined on June 3, 2016

As always, benihana does not disappoint on the quality or quantity of food. Unfortunately, we waited almostca half an hour past our reservation time to be seated. The srevice was good, but we got our check before we even finished our meal, and did not get the included dessert. We felt rushed out of the restaurant. We haved dined at Benihana restaurants for nearly 30 years, and have never felt so unwanted before. Expect the food to be good, but don't plan to relax and linger or visit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fun for group from work, good ente ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great fun for group from work, good entertainment and great place to network and visit with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love this place. Good for the kids an ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

We love this place. Good for the kids and family as well as a date if that is what you want to do also. Great place :)

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Overrated hibachi

Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been to Benihana twice now, lunch and dinner, and was under impressed. I get better value and more food at any other hibachi I've ever been to. More rice, and definitely more veggies. They gave us one slice each of zucchinni. Seriously! I have places closer to home with a much better value and better show as well. Will not go back.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome experience! I look forward to re ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Awesome experience! I look forward to returning real soon! Chef Manny was the bomb-diggity!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a great "go to" place for ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is always a great "go to" place for dates, family night, or casual dining. I go weekly and I'm never disappointed. Great good, fantastic atmosphere, and usually good service. I will say that during the day the waiters aren't as nice and engaging as the dinner ones. But not bad enough for me not to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an amazing time at Benihans. It ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had an amazing time at Benihans. It was for my birthday. The chef was outstanding, he entertained us all while making our food. My boys each want to have their birthdays there from now on.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

No WOW Factor here!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waitstaff confused, and obviously was having an " off night ". Food lacked flavor. Not impressed!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 stars

Dined on May 8, 2016

I highly recommend this place for any occasion. Great food, and great atmosphere

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Noise Level

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was just to much noise with the table all being open, I could not hear my son who was next to me. Love the food, just need to put screens up or something.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY GO TO SPOT

Dined on May 8, 2016

NEVER DISAPPOINTS EVERY TIME WE COME HERE WE ENJOY THE EXPERIENCE. IT IS ALSO KID FRIENDLY WHICH IS NICE AND RARE TO FIND AN UPSCALE DINNING EXPERIENCE THAT THEY ENTIRE FAMILY CAN ENJOY!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Very noisy big birthday party going on

Dined on April 23, 2016

Kids setting at table unsupervised making very loud noise we couldn't even hear or own waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing service

Dined on April 22, 2016

the waiter was amazing, always making sure our drinks were filled up. The cook was amazing! over all i give it from 1-10 a 10!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My family and I really like this place

Dined on April 22, 2016

I love this place, but I truly feel you don't get as much food as you should for the prices. I like the atmosphere and my kids really enjoy it. Only complaint is I feel that you are cheated with the food. $37 for one chicken breast cut up, a half of steak cut up and 3 shrimp cut up, one slice of zucchini cut up and a spoon of onions. My husband was not pleased with that part at all

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stephanie's Birthday Bash 2016

Dined on April 12, 2016

Our Chef Miguel was AMAZING! He was fun and creative and cute (which is always a bonus)! He put his own twist on the routine that we have come to expect at a Benihana Show. I was thrilled and entertained! I HIGHLY recommend this location and this Chef for your next dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1

The chef was simply AMAZING!!! VERY HAPP ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The chef was simply AMAZING!!! VERY HAPPY SPIRIT!! The waiter was horrible. He clearly didn't want to be there.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

NOT good at all

Dined on April 7, 2016

I felt bad for our chef. His hands were shaking as he was cooking our dinner, which by the way...took over 2 hours to complete. He got 2 of the 6 orders wrong, and overall it was not a good experience. I only eat here because of the free $30 for your birthday, and now I don't think I'll be using that anymore. Just to expensive for what you get and the quality was very poor. By the time the chef finished cooking everything...the only thing hot on my plate was the last thing he cooked. Clearly needed more training by the company so I don't really blame chef to much.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our time at this benihanas. The ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed our time at this benihanas. The waiter was nice and funny! He also had a great recommendation for sushi and he was nice!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3

As always Benihana's food is great. Our ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

As always Benihana's food is great. Our service could have been better, but I rarely have bad service there. The chef was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

The teriyaki chicken was the best I have ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The teriyaki chicken was the best I have experienced in Texas. The server was nice and kept glasses full. The chef was unique and gave the best experience with his flair and "performance." Best Benihana experience ever.

food1
ambience2
service3

The food was Burt !! The chef was NOT pr ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was Burt !! The chef was NOT prepared to do the presentation the it is normally done and this appeared to be a problem for other chefs. The waiter was perfect, but we will NOT be returning

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Totally Disappointing

Dined on March 25, 2016

Took my daughter and her friend for my daughter's 16 birthday dinner. She likes Japanese hibachi cooking, but has only been to a "no-name" local hibachi restaurant. I told her nothing beats Benihana, it was the "total Japanese experience" very exciting". WRONG...for starters the cooks name was Juan, not Japanese. Next the sushi they ordered for a n appetizer did not arrive until after we had finished the entrée. We were told they were "out of rice" WHAT? in a Japanese restaurant!! Next, Juan's performance was very lame. Repeatedly missing the flying shrimp, dropping his spatula, Juan tried but failed to excite. Finally the drink service was lousy. It took was too long for beverages to arrive. Totally disappointed, we left $180 poorer, but no richer for the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30th birthday

Dined on March 16, 2016

My party arrived later than I did, yet the entire staff was still so nice. We didn't feel rushed even though it was almost closing time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time had by all.

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Great time had by all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious, they brought out ice cream for the birthday boy, and took a group picture of all of us. I made the reservations online and we had an extra person who they fit right in. I told them what we were there for and the experience was fantastic. The cook was very funny and engaging and everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a nice date

Dined on February 26, 2016

Brought my girl friend here for a fancy dinner date and she fell in love with the scene and the chef was wonderfull and highly skilled.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

The WAIT!!!

Dined on February 22, 2016

I waited for 45 min to be seated then another hour and a half to get the chef out to see us. All while having an appointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good service!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Good service!

food5
ambience5
service5

The cook was awesome

Dined on February 14, 2016

The cook was awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's. Had reservation didn't have to wait. The food was outstanding. Love to go there.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.