About Benihana - Las Colinas

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-las Colinas - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
California Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Trio - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.  - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Crunchy shrimp roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Benihana Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Las Vegas Sushi Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chicken And Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Most Booked
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Las Colinas / Irving ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fun (13)
Romantic (13)
Family Style (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chef did great show & interacted well. F ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef did great show & interacted well.

Food was seasoned great.

All was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the service was great and the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

As usual, the service was great and the food was worth it. We got there before our reservation time and only had to wait for a few minutes. I'm looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great improvement from the last couple ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great improvement from the last couple of times we have been there, both in service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We've eaten here many times before, but ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We've eaten here many times before, but this time was less than excellent. The soup was cold and the rice was under-cooked. I think they have cut down on their staff because our server was taking care of so many tables that she couldn't keep our drinks replenished. Overall, their food is always good and we love to eat here, but this occasion was our granddaughter's birthday celebration and we were disappointed in food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Louder than normal. Kids were literally ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Louder than normal. Kids were literally screaming a few tables over. Service was so slow but staff was very apologetic. Would not have been a nice place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

My first time at Benihanas! My husband o ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My first time at Benihanas! My husband of 19 years brought me here on a "just because" date all the way from Waco, TX and we loved it!! MIGUEL, our chef was the awesomest!! Couldnt have asked for a better chef! Terrance our server was great! They both had a great attitude and personality!!! Great job guys! The FOOD was amazing, every bit! And the Coconut mojito is a must!! #happywife

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed our date night! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our date night!!! The device was fantastic.. The Chef was funny and the food was delicious!! And the cocktails was great!!! We will be back on my birthday December 12, 2016... I can't wait!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both our server & chef were great. Our c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Both our server & chef were great. Our chef's name was Jose & he was very entertaining. I will definitely request Jose if he is available upon my return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is good and the service people ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is good and the service people friendly. However, we did sit for over an hour at our table waiting for the food prep to begin. Don't be in a hurry when you go!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A lot of people recommended me the place ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A lot of people recommended me the place.

It was my first time and it was great.

Food, service, location, everything in general was great.

Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very slow service. Took a long time to g ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very slow service. Took a long time to get our drink order.

Pretty sure we were all supposed to get ice cream with our orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Family afternoon meal after service on S ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Family afternoon meal after service on Sunday. We had a great chef and the service was excellent. The grand kids love Benihana.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steven was great! We loved him & the foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Steven was great! We loved him & the food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we had a reservation through op ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Although we had a reservation through open table, we still waited briefly to be seated. Not too long a wait, so we thought we were doing good. The server came over right away and took our orders and brought out drinks within a reasonable amount of time. She then proceeded to bring our soups & salad out. Here is where things got questionable. After we finished our first courses, we waited a good 30 minutes before there was a chef for us! What good was making a reservation? Anyway, the food was delicious and we all left having a good time.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Chef was very entertaining and made the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Chef was very entertaining and made the night quite enjoyable with his interactions with the team. Server was somewhat forgetful - forgot to bring boxes once asked, forgot to offer ice cream or bring the desserts for those with them included in their meals, forgot to offer "to-go" drinks, but otherwise, she was pleasant as well. My order to incorrect and instead of getting the chicken fried rice that I ordered, I was given plain steamed rice. Although the manager brought out fried rice that was prepared in the kitchen, it was rather disappointing not to be able to be served the chicken fried rice prepared at the hibachi table. After all, that's why I chose to order from the hibachi table and not from the other dining area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our waiter Drew was outstanding! Excelle ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our waiter Drew was outstanding! Excellent customer skills!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was everything, perfect place to cele ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was everything, perfect place to celebrate a birthday! Want to do it again soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Always a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have been to Benihana in a different ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have been to Benihana in a different city, and by comparison, this location was very disappointing. The food was mediocre, at best. Overcooked chicken, and overcooked steak, and just not the same energy as the other location. Service was good, however.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was good...problem is we had a tabl ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was good...problem is we had a table of very loud and rude people next to us. Bit uncomfortable as they were using bad language and we had kids with us. Manager did what he could to quite them down. He did take some money off the bill which he didn't have to do.

Would have been a good experience if it wasn't for the loud group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Always fun! You can never go wrong ! Al ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always fun! You can never go wrong ! All have a good time and good food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good drinks

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nothing outstanding to note, but great f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Nothing outstanding to note, but great food and good service, as always!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had an overall great experience the on ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had an overall great experience the only problem that I felt needed some work is the front desk workers they were not friendly and not welcoming at all

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutelylove love lovethis place. Hiba ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutelylove love lovethis place. Hibachi style grilling/cooking is definitely one Of the best ways to eat and they do such an awesome job here, and dinner and a show is always nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there for my daughters turning 5 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I went there for my daughters turning 5 birthday and I asked the hostes 5 times that it was my daughters birthday and they never sung her happy birthday nor did they giver her complimentary ice cream. It's kinda of sad when the place was not even busy and they still couldn't acknowledge that. Very sad and disappointed with the service.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I eat here once a month..and it has alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I eat here once a month..and it has always been good..but this was the worst experience..they lost our order and the whole table sat there. Finally we got up and asked what was going on and they recovered. However we were so starved we only wanted the food not experience

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very slow service, crowed and noisy. Lot ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very slow service, crowed and noisy. Lot of smoke from the cooking.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a great time. We went for my brother ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a great time. We went for my brothers birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place for a change of pace. My famil ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fun place for a change of pace. My family enjoyed the show and the meal. Child and adult friendly menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The front of the restaurant had a funky ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The front of the restaurant had a funky smell, and the host acted like we were bothering them when we checked in for our reservation. After a 10 minute wait, we were seated. Our server was decent and the table chief was good. The whole restaurant was overly smoky and just smelled off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistently good food! Great ambiance, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Consistently good food! Great ambiance, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic, well except my appet ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was fantastic, well except my appetizer that was never brought out. It's also a little cramped for all the food you get, but the food is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The restaurant is always clean and the s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant is always clean and the staff are always super friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a nightmare for my date and I. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was a nightmare for my date and I. We were celebrating her birthday and it took over an hour for the chef to even come to the tabletable. While doing the egg trick he tossed an egg, missed it and it flew at my date. While cooking the fried rice and eggs, he was tossing food everywhere. And on top of that when they were supposed to sing the birthday song, only 2 people halfway sung to her. It was really done halfway and we were disappointed in this experience that cost more than $100. I have been to other locations but this one is such a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food and staff attentiveness. Wait ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food and staff attentiveness. Wait for a table on Saturday night WITH reservations 45 minutes. In other words don't bother booking a reservation with Open Table at Benihana it gets you nothing in terms of convenience and skipping the queue for getting seated quickly.

I don't see why they couldn't filter in OpenTable users with "off the streeters" to meet reservations but they don't. You wait with everyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Chef Juan was awesome, the food was not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Chef Juan was awesome, the food was not as good as we expected, did not care for the soup or salad! Very pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Long wait for the table despite making r ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Long wait for the table despite making reservation. A lot more waiting in table for hibachi chef who was clumsy and slow. First piece of anything warm on the table 1,5 hours after arrival.

AC not even close adequate as whole place was filled with smoke, causing skipping later evening plans because of smelling clothes.

Disappointment and huge difference for what this place has been previously.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

It was just "ok". For the $ we didn't ge ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was just "ok". For the $ we didn't get much shrimp. And no other option on dressing for salad (ginger allergy) was disappointing. rice was bland. Best part was the decor was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved it! Look forward to being back soo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved it! Look forward to being back soon! Very delicious food and a great server! I'm really really loving the Benihanas there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Disabled Access, Organic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.