About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Fun (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Casual (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress was awesome but the cook was not good with customer service or entertaining. The bathrooms were filthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Great, always love watching my food be cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very disappointing - my first and probably last trip to a Benihana's....I guess my expectations were high, but they dropped as soon as we walked in and were not greeted by the hostess leaning against the podium so looked like she could care less whether we ate there or not.

Despite a reservation, we were made to wait - which was frustrating when we saw empty tables. As it was late perhaps they were closing off sections - which is understandable - but the hostess made no attempt to explain why we had to wait.

Once seated we had to ask for napkins and silverware...none provided. Fortunately two of the guests at our table were regulars so they at least knew where to find some napkins... then after several minutes had gone by the waitress appeared within some...just bad service overall.

Overall the restaurant appeared run down - bathrooms were extremely dirty (doesn't appear anyone checked on them at all during the course of the night)....so makes one wonder what the kitchen looks like.

The only redeeming quality was the food cooked by Hector - who did a fantastic job preparing an extremely tasty meal and accommodated everyone's special request, whether it was extra garlic butter...or no butter at all.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Overall, good experience. We have visited this restaurant several times. Unfortunately, after ordering our food we had to wait over thirty minutes for the chef to begin preparing our meal. This long wait, which was unusual, was difficult for our three young children (4, 3, and 1 years old).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was very expensive. Not worth it. Very noisy environment. Won't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Love the atmosphere Lu was our cooker funny guy had an awesome time....

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food but the service is slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was my first time at Benihanas after so many people recommended this place to me. VERY delicious food! Traditional hibachi only packed with much more flavor. Wonderful 6 course meal, AMAZING mojitos, and if you are a lobster fan do not skip out on it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

My first time not doing the hibachi with the chef. We ordered at the bar and enjoyed Happy Hour and dinner. It was more time efficient because of another activity later in that evening. Loved all food coming out at one time. The bartender was very attentive. I always enjoy dining there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 26, 2017

I’ve been to many Benihanas around the US and this one was nice inside out but the vibes were really low. Manager seemed incompetent, server was very inattentive. The only one that made it a pleasant experience was the chef, her name was Ingry. If you are going because of your birthday or you just want to have ask for her, she’s the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had a great experience with Miguel as our chef. The food was great and Miguel had a lot of fun while cooking for us. He was very friendly and helped make our dinner even better. Half of the experience is having a great chef! We go every year for our family birthdays, since there are so many in September. Benihana never disappoints and this year was no different!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Benihana has been around for some time. The food is good but not the best. Service is good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food chef was fun and knowledgeable. Regular waitress was not very attentive, took forever to pick up dirty dishes and refill drink glasses. Restroom was not clean, paper towels on floor, water all over counter.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Benihana's is always wonderful have been going there for 30 years and never been disappointed. I'm still amazed at some of the new tricks these guys pull off with their knives and cooking utensils.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Ambiance is typical Benihana. Hibachi Chef Miguel was great. The service was a slight sluggish; ordered drinks first and received them about 20 minutes later. The same with the second round.

Overall experience was good as usual at Benihana.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is my absolute favorite restaurant but I had never been to the Las Colinas one! My meal was wonderful but something to do with the air conditioning and the vents being too high the smoke from the food was literally in my face the entire dinner... im aware being a loyal customer of 20 plus years some smoke is normal
But this was the entire time! And I have never had that problem at the Dallas location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Horrible service. We weren't seated until an hour after our reservation and then waited another 30 minutes before the hibachi chef arrived.

The manager took 25% off the bill which was nice but hardly makes up for the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Made reservations for 7:30, but wasn't seated until 8:15ish. Server took forever to start cooking our food, so if you love WAITING this is the place for you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was my fiancé birthday. They never sand happy birthday. The cook was messy food was everywhere. He didn't seem like he wanted to be there. Our service was horrible it took 35 minutes for us to get our drinks after the rest of the table got there's and the server put my fiancé salad next to another lady so she didn't know she had one. We've been to Benihana several times and this is the worst experience we've ever had. We are never going to this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Parking lot had litter. Didn't have clear conversation with the hostess as to how long the wait would be for our reservation. The waiters and cooks were very helpful and friendly. Food quality was good. Restrooms were lacking of toilet paper.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2017

A great experience for my birthday. The chef was awesome (Lu) and the server Jose were both just wonderful.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The place seemed dirty and in bad need of cleaning. Other than that the food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2017

wonderful b day experience. Make reservations...timely seating...great ambience..on noisy side....many choices..Accurate order..Beautiful ..fun presentation with chef entertaining table with skilled utensil tricks...well organized
.moved quickly
highly recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food! Great service! Great place to celebrate our 35th anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great experience and made our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a treat to eat at Benihana's in Los Colinas. Our family lives in several different cites throughout the greater metroplex area and celebrate almost every birthday there! It's a wonderful evening out with the family and the cooks at each table are fun to watch!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Disappointing - have not been to a Benihana in more than 30+ years --- apparently the chain has decided to stop using only Japanese chefs; ours was Latina and talented but it just was not the same.

There seemed to be no point in making a reservation. The place was half empty and it still took almost 10 minutes to get seated.

And this restaurant is very noisy - lots of birthday celebrations; the kind of place you might bring kids to celebrate a birthday (which was the last time I came to one, and why I won't come back to one any time soon)

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The set-up is very inviting and fun for a group outing, lunch or dinner. The atmosphere helped relax everyone into having a good time and the entertainment by the Chef created a nice conversation piece and fun pictures. Well worth the price when you consider the value in everything you experience while here. The food was obviously warm (it's made in front of you)and seasoned perfectly. Highly recommend the scallops and shrimp. The lemon flavor is impressive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Miguel our chef was wonderful, very engaging and entertaining and the food was perfect! So was our waitress, forgot her name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was great, selection of food choices was wide and ambiance super

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had to wait over 20 minutes to get our drinks. Then it took over an hour to get our chef to come out and start cooking. Once he started cooking he forgot parts of people's food and I my boyfriend and I never got the rest of our shrimp they forgot. While the chief was cleaning the grill he knocked over one of the customers glasses of water all over the table. The hole time we went 10-15 minutes waiting to get refills on drinks Then when it came time to check out we waited 15 plus minutes to get change. Our hole time there was over 3 hours. Not pleased at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Although I had been there before this past experience was not so good. Our table waited an hour for the cook to come. While the table in front of us got a better service because they worked there. That was obvious because all the staff would go by and say hi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food good. Not quite up to usual excellence. Way too noisy. Server somewhat inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food as always. Chef was a little less flashy than we were used to seeing but he had all the orders correct and well prepared

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

For the last past years I've been taking my mother here for her Birthday it's her favorite
But this time it was not so great our waiter didn't know the sushi menu so some mistakes where
Made with appetizers besides it was obvious that our chef was sick a cooking the food anyways even when it was pointed out to the very unhelpful manager on site that day. We didn't want anything free just wanted to celebrate my mother 74th Birthday and a healthy cook, no picture or anything, I guess we will have to find a new spot for her 75th. Day of 08/19/2017

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food, good times, and family. We always enjoy Benihana. Go several times a month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Definitely a new chef. Lobster was cooked before everything else so it was spongy cold by the time we ate. Rice and veggies were a bit burnt (chef put too much butter and sauce and it burned to the table and had to really be scraped off....during dinner) Didn't even want to finish meal we just paid over $100 for. Spiny tuna appetizer was "rubbery" so we sent it back. Waitress disappeared so we had to go to the bar to get our own drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was great, the food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was the best birthday dinner ever. Cesar our chef was great! The food was awesome! I can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful food experience as always! A must go for any celebration !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.