About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Fun (32)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Casual (15)
Family Style (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

With the exception of them forgetting our sushi sampler everything was great. The server was polite, friendly and knowledgeable. The chef was talkative, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Good entertainment for first timers. The food is always fresh & the staff is friendly. Good service. Love the chicken fried rice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

This was not a great experience. We had an 8:45pm reservation and did not eat until 10:30pm. Beyond that less than 5 minutes after the chef was finished preparing the meal we were greeted with the check for the meal and offered to go boxes. It was a waste of time and money. If I could get my money back I would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Benihana - Las Colinas was great! The food is awesome and everyone there is very nice. We love the Hibachi Presentation.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I have never dined alone here, but every time we brought guests, we have always had a great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Organic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was a great time arrived a few minutes early but was seated on time as we had reservations

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

although the food was good, the cooking was so slow the veggies & my lobster were cold by the time my steak was done. i have been to other hibachi places and the food is prepared almost simultaneously after the fried rice is done. why not here? and why are you charging so much extra for fried rice when all you add is egg & onion to white rice? Benihanas is over priced. my dinner should have cost me under $20 worth my BD coupon good for $30 and it was much more! 2 people $110 for steak, lobster, fried rice, 2 glasses wine is ridiculous!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My son loves Benihana and picked it for his birthday dinner Saturday night. We had a 7.15pm reservation and arrived on time. We waited 30 minutes to be seated. No explanation or apology was ever given. Then waited another 15 minutes for drinks, and another 15 minutes for soup and salad, and another half hour for cooked food. Over and hour and a half after our reservation before we had our dinner! Hostesses were overwhelmed and unfriendly. Our waitress was friendly and hard-working but had too many tables to provide good service. Our chef was entertaining, and our food was good. No management in sight.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love this place, but it was really crowded - too crowded for that night. Parking was really difficult. We arrived at 6:00 pm and had a 6:15 reservation, but did not sit down until 6:45. There was a really long wait between the apps (soup and salad) and the start of the hibachi dinner - too long. We did not leave until 9:15. One really ought to be able to get out of there in 2 hours with a reservation.

Our chef Miguel was great - not the normal routine - he had new stuff. My daughter really enjoyed watching Miguel.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great Hibachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is the second in 3 months I have come to Benihana. The wait time for a chef is utterly ridiculous. In November the manage gave the entire table a discount because we waited almost 2 hrs for a chef. This week our reservation was for 6:45pm. We were seated at 6:45pm but a chef didn't arrive until 8pm. The manager again brought out complimentary sushi rolls for the inconvenience. They need to hire more chefs we have already cancelled our March birthday dinner group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall experience was good. However, this Restaurant was very dirty and not cleaned up properly. Needs more attention to cleanliness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The experience was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My BFF and I had been missing out on a good meal from Benihana, as we had not been in quite a while, so we planned a much needed lunch date. And to top it off, Chef Lu was available to cook our food! Mmmm......it was so delicious.....AS ALWAYS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had reservations but did not get seated til 20mins afterwards . Found a eyelash In the soup , asked waiter to bring another he never brought it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We enjoyed watching the chef and smelling that delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our guy was amazing! Very entertaining and the food was delicious 😋 wish I could remember his name

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been going for the pass ten years and the Food is always on point

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my first time eating at benihana so I was excited and entertained throughout the whole process. Me and my wife enjoyed our meals and according to her, the drinks were good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service was so slow had to wait 20 minutes for our table and another 40 minutes for the chef to come. The grill was up too high and he burnt our food. The chicken was dry and I had a piece of lobster shell in my food. It was not a good experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very disappointed with hostesses at this location. My husband and I had a 700 reservation and didn't get seated till about 740. Upon arriving we did let the hostess know we were there. Several guest came in and were seated before us. We did ask for the manager, the lady claimed she thought we were waiting on another party. If that was true why didn't you just ASK us. The manager was nice and very understanding. He apologized several times. The waiter and chef were great! It may be awhile before we come back. This was my first time visiting...talk about first impressions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

service very slow. food was under cooked. chef forgot order. been here before and it seems it is not like it use to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Took my wife here for our anniversary and she was thrilled and amazed by the dining entertainment and quality of food served. Drinks were a little on the weak side but the food more than made up for it. We will return with a group of friends next time

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been loyal Benihana fans for decades, but this will be our last visit ever. The Las Colinas location is poorly run, our table was not ready even though the restaurant was completely empty the service was very lacking and not attentive, the bathrooms were filthy, overall could not ever recommend this again so sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was definitely off this time, rice was undercooked and the rest of the meal wasn't up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wait was too long... the cook seemed to have a preference to the ladies next to me.. so much that he gave them all the shrimp and didn't give us any even though we ordered shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tonight we celebrated my daughter's 10th Birthday. This was my daughter's choice tonight and everything was Exceptional. Service was Amazing, Beautiful atmosphere and staff. Very accommodating to all your needs no matter what. We will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was really good ,but them prices for the amount of food is not good . Would rather pay a little less but go more frequently to pay that price and go once every two years

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Had a good time for my birthday. It was my first time going so I took my daughter along. She also enjoy it

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Of all times eating here, this was the less favorite. The manager did however acknowledge the problem and made everyone's night with a human gesture of compensation on the bill. Love this place and this food. I take my Mother every year for her birthday and it's always driving home (Arlington) Happy and Full LOL:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. However wait time was too long from time we were seated until time chef came to table to cook food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our Chef was Lu and he was awesome. This is his second time cooking for us and it was delicious. We've had some bad Chef experiences before with other chefs where our shrimp and steak were burned or over cooked, but Lu cooks and seasons to perfection. I recall the week prior we had chef Manny and they said he was the master chef. Well his food and Lu food tasted the same with same qualities. Lu has awesome service as well. Can't wait to eat there again and request Lu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been here at this location several times and think they were having an off night Saturday due to a giant group. Long wait for a table even with a reservation-waited about 35 minutes and waited additional 45 for chef to start food once we sat. Cocktails took about 20 minutes to get. Chef was super friendly and server was friendly.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great meal, was a little cold inside need to bring a jacket to wear.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

very good experience definitively recommend this restraunt to meeting with friends or special ocassions

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Typical Benihana restaurant. Consistent food and the chef cooking the meal is always fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Overall, the experience was enjoyable. It was extremely loud so don't plan to go there and have a decent conversation. Any talking required speaking about 2 inches away from the other person's ear. Ithe was my first time there and we were squeezed at a table of prior visitors so I felt rushed through the menu and ended up almost randomly picking a meal.

The chef was great. I know they all do the same tricks at all the help tables but even was still fun and had a sly sense of humor. Food was excellent.

Besides the noise and rushed service, the only other problem was that we didn't get the ice cream that was supposed to come with our meal. As soon as the chef had finished cleaning the grill, the waitstaff immediately started handing out the bills. On top of that, two of us at the table were celebrating birthdays, and even handed in our birthday coupons. I noticed other tables had staff come sing. I'm not upset about missing out on the singing, but the dessert would have been nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went for my birthday, it was nice. I will return. My grandbabies enjoyed the chef.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

always a fun meal. It's a meal and a show. Wait staff was fantastic. The chef put on quite a show while make steak and shrimp for myself and my daughter. We had a blast and a great meal

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.