About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Fun (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great, selection of food choices was wide and ambiance super

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had to wait over 20 minutes to get our drinks. Then it took over an hour to get our chef to come out and start cooking. Once he started cooking he forgot parts of people's food and I my boyfriend and I never got the rest of our shrimp they forgot. While the chief was cleaning the grill he knocked over one of the customers glasses of water all over the table. The hole time we went 10-15 minutes waiting to get refills on drinks Then when it came time to check out we waited 15 plus minutes to get change. Our hole time there was over 3 hours. Not pleased at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Although I had been there before this past experience was not so good. Our table waited an hour for the cook to come. While the table in front of us got a better service because they worked there. That was obvious because all the staff would go by and say hi.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food good. Not quite up to usual excellence. Way too noisy. Server somewhat inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food as always. Chef was a little less flashy than we were used to seeing but he had all the orders correct and well prepared

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

For the last past years I've been taking my mother here for her Birthday it's her favorite
But this time it was not so great our waiter didn't know the sushi menu so some mistakes where
Made with appetizers besides it was obvious that our chef was sick a cooking the food anyways even when it was pointed out to the very unhelpful manager on site that day. We didn't want anything free just wanted to celebrate my mother 74th Birthday and a healthy cook, no picture or anything, I guess we will have to find a new spot for her 75th. Day of 08/19/2017

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food, good times, and family. We always enjoy Benihana. Go several times a month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Definitely a new chef. Lobster was cooked before everything else so it was spongy cold by the time we ate. Rice and veggies were a bit burnt (chef put too much butter and sauce and it burned to the table and had to really be scraped off....during dinner) Didn't even want to finish meal we just paid over $100 for. Spiny tuna appetizer was "rubbery" so we sent it back. Waitress disappeared so we had to go to the bar to get our own drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was great, the food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was the best birthday dinner ever. Cesar our chef was great! The food was awesome! I can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful food experience as always! A must go for any celebration !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was great the waiter was great but we were waiting for the chef to start cooking for almost an hour... which was pretty ridiculous and a little upsetting but overall the food was still great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great service and the food was done exactly the way it should be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Luis was our chef he was excellent! Energetic and entertaining will definitely be back to see him.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The dinner was magnificent. Ordered two Lemon Drop martini's from bar and they were delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was disappointed in our service from the time we walked in. The hostess that sat us was rude, we waited a long time for our chef, who then was very quiet, hard to hear him speak, just did not seem very knowledgeable. Another lady at our table had to finally ask to speak to the manager. It just was not a good experience from a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Its exactly what you'd expect at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Many choices of good food and always entertaining chef.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I frequently patronize Benihana in various cities. I found the server service at this particular location pretty slow. It was 20 minutes after we placed our dinner orders before we had water. And another 10 for soup and salad and odd that the soup came out cold and well after we were finished with our salads.
The chef was excellent with everything prepared table side wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything was excellent the only thing I would recommend is reduce your prices just a bit and offer more of a variety of desserts... Overall it was an Awesome experience it was my 2nd time in two different states. Thanku

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Chef Carlos requires a lot of training. This is the 2nd time we've had Carlos prepare our meal and he's very clumsy.

Food ended up on our clothes, he rushes what he's doing, he doesn't cook the rice all the way (should be fried vs steamed), he burned the eggs pretty bad for the fried rice and he wasted a lot of food on the grill when it could have been given to the guests. We ordered a vegetable sauce x2 and neither of us received it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Loved the experience AGAIN+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great Service!!!! Pedro our chef was awesome. So was our waitress Maria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Took 50 minutes for Chef to come out, he didn't bring enough rice so he shorted the table with what he had, then had to get 2 more bowls from the kitchen. Took him another 45 minutes to finish cooking. Worst Benihana's experience I've ever had. We were in the restaurant 2 plus hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food is always good but this location it's all open and extremely loud. I've been here for lunch in the past and it's much quieter than dinner. It's hard to have a conversation without yelling and it seems every few minutes their singing Happy birthday to somebody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Tammy was the most FABULOUS waitress ever! She made everyine feel heard and valued and made sure we were happy. Our chef (Oscar I think) was skilled and interactive. They worked together to make our experience a great one!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The lunch express menu is a great option to enjoy the delicious food from Benihana at an affordable price. It's a lot of delicious food with great ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our party grew quickly from 6 to 11, but they were able to accommodate. The host was very rude and bothered by this, however the manager stepped in and it was perfection from there. We stayed at the bar area for a couple of hours, and one bartender completely ignored us and our orders, but the other apologized for his colleagues behavior and took over. There was quite a wait, but well worth it. We had Manny the Chef Manager who was hands down the most entertaining hibachi chef we've ever encountered. Even neighboring tables looked on in awe! Great job!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing! This was one of my best experiences ever. I will be sure to make this my go to spot when it comes to making a memorable experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Pedro was our chef. The food was amazing, the vibe was energetic. Please eat here with your next group. 5/5.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our chief Carlos was awesome!! He did an amazing job, my baby boy was amused and excited!! The food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Dirty and low quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Had to share a piece of chicken. Steak was small and thin. Thought meal was going g to be around $50, ended up being $92!!! Over priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

AWESOME SERVICE! I LOVE THIS PLACE HAVE GONE TO THIS LOCATION FOR MOST OF MY SPECIAL OCCASSIONS

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Surprise dinner for my niece's 15th birthday. She enjoyed it; I enjoyed it! First time at the restaurant.......nice decor, fun atmosphere, hibachi chefs were entertaining, great food! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

i took my great-nephew while he was here for vacation because he loves this place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We come here at least twice a year. The food is always great. The entertainment has been the same for years however we enjoy watching others respond to it. For the most part our cooks have been great too. We will continue to eat here regardless if it changes or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We love the food here. The chefs do a really awesome job!! Great for anytime of the day and kid friendly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

It was good, the chef was funny, got the land and sea and it was worth it. Went for a birthday had a blast.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Birthday dinner - lots of fun and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.