About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-las Colinas - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
California Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Trio - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.  - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Crunchy shrimp roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Benihana Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Las Vegas Sushi Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX
Chicken And Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas, Irving, TX

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (11)
Romantic (10)
Family Style (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

always a fun meal. It's a meal and a sho ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

always a fun meal. It's a meal and a show. Wait staff was fantastic. The chef put on quite a show while make steak and shrimp for myself and my daughter. We had a blast and a great meal

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was ok, could of had better service b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

It was ok, could of had better service but the food was alright

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I enjoy food and service on each visit n ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I enjoy food and service on each visit not only does my daughter enjoy the cooking show but all adults do too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall fun experience...A little pricey ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Overall fun experience...A little pricey...Plan for over $40 per head including tip if you order anything with steak...Good times just don't forget your wallet.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This is always my place to go for birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This is always my place to go for birthdays! Our chef was excellent and entertaining!! The one behind ours was very boring and no personality so I was very happy we didn't get him. Can't wait to go

Back

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

No yum yum sauce , servings were smaller ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

No yum yum sauce , servings were smaller than normal visits here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Fantastic food and a great chef (Lu). ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and a great chef (Lu). Wish it was closer - I'd go more often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our chef and waiter were very personable ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our chef and waiter were very personable and we enjoyed our time there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dining experience!! We've eaten ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome dining experience!! We've eaten at a few different hibachi restaurants in the metroplex but this definitely our new favorite. Fantastic service.... our daughter's (19 yr old) friend didn't advise anyone she has a food allergy to lobster until it was on the grill with her food, not to worry Chef Lu quickly remedied the problem by having another meal prepared for her in the kitchen.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We (a couple celebrating an adult birthd ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We (a couple celebrating an adult birthday) were sat at a table with THREE kids. I guess we need to be more specific when making a reservation and adding the note. NO KIDS please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was by far our best hibachi restaur ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was by far our best hibachi restaurant experience! Not only do they have a kid's menu but they don't have restrictions on sharing an order. The service was incredible! Every loved their food and had a great time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the filet and scallops. The scall ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had the filet and scallops. The scallops were great however I don't think that the steak was really a filet

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

While the service was good, the place wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

While the service was good, the place was very noisy and the smoke hoods were not working. We had smoke coming over to our table from the food cooking at the table next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I didn't like that we were sitting with ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I didn't like that we were sitting with total strangers, and they didn't even want to speak. They never even looked up at us, I thought that was really rude! We got up and left! There were a number of empty tables, but the lady that seated us said that we had to sit there! I just can't eat with ride people. I have never noticed that strangers are seated together because I have always gone in groups before! I just wanted to take my kids for something different. I guess we will go in a group of 8??

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. The food tasted great. The atmosphere was good. They sang happy birthday and even took our picture, printed it out and placed it in a Benihana's cover with the date. We will come back. The only negative is parking. Small parking area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Benihana's Las Colinas has been a yearly ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Benihana's Las Colinas has been a yearly birthday tradition for several years now, but seems to be going downhill these days.

The food is still very good, but the plate ware has declined along with the to-go containers. I know it sounds petty, but putting Hibachi Supreme left overs in a paper thin styrofoam box from Walmart doesn't exactly make me feel like I just paid $45 for one dinner plate.

Perhaps it was the fact that we had to ask the waitress several times for our group photo, she didn't seem to happy towards the end of the night?

I'm sure we'll be back but step it back up a notch at these prices Benihana's!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We have been to this location several ti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to this location several times. The chief was very messy. Did not clean up after cooking. Food was every where. The food did not even taste good.

We were there on 12/22/16. Reservation under lisa 5:45. Please help this chief before he runs off more people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very terrible experience at this locatio ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very terrible experience at this location. We are regular Benihana customers and I was appalled at the service we received. We were greeted by the rudest hostess we have ever seen.! This put a very sour taste in our mouth and the rest of the time there unpleasant as well. Food is always mediocre at this location. Asked for our steaks to be medium and the "chef" cooked them over well done. We kept telling him to take the steaks off and his response was "a little more time". Wasted money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone was so friendly and our chef, Manny, was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party thought the chicken was dry in ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our party thought the chicken was dry in the different requested dishes.'

The staff was friendly and entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a special family occasion ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We celebrated a special family occasion and as usual Benihana did not disappoint! Although they were a little late getting us seated, even though we had a reservation, the service was impeccable and our chef, Manny was MAGNIFICENT! We are "frequent flyers" and we have had him before, but he was awesome and he even remembered our son!

We had a wonderful time and will most definitely be visiting again, and again!

Thanks and Kudos!

JJ

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, , Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome my kids loved it,couldn't keep t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome my kids loved it,couldn't keep their eyes off the action....definitely coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Benihana that is no different than oth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A Benihana that is no different than others (that's neither good or bad). The location is in the middle of an office park, but convenient to the highway. The holding pen-like waiting room was a bit of a buzz kill (felt like Eastern European personality-less emptiness). Inside the restaurant was the same as most, though I did come away smelling like the chef more than any other locations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Family had an amazing time just wished w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Family had an amazing time just wished we did get sat with other parties but they were nice as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice atmosphere and fun very different d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere and fun very different dining experience. Our seafood was overcooked, but the steak was excellent.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Due to them being so busy, it took a whi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Due to them being so busy, it took a while for the chef to come to our table, but the chef and food were excellent, and the manager gave us a discount for our wait. Very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Very Clean and Great Atmosphere fun for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very Clean and Great Atmosphere fun for the whole family

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef did great show & interacted well. F ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Chef did great show & interacted well.

Food was seasoned great.

All was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the service was great and the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As usual, the service was great and the food was worth it. We got there before our reservation time and only had to wait for a few minutes. I'm looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great improvement from the last couple ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great improvement from the last couple of times we have been there, both in service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We've eaten here many times before, but ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We've eaten here many times before, but this time was less than excellent. The soup was cold and the rice was under-cooked. I think they have cut down on their staff because our server was taking care of so many tables that she couldn't keep our drinks replenished. Overall, their food is always good and we love to eat here, but this occasion was our granddaughter's birthday celebration and we were disappointed in food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Louder than normal. Kids were literally ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Louder than normal. Kids were literally screaming a few tables over. Service was so slow but staff was very apologetic. Would not have been a nice place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

My first time at Benihanas! My husband o ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My first time at Benihanas! My husband of 19 years brought me here on a "just because" date all the way from Waco, TX and we loved it!! MIGUEL, our chef was the awesomest!! Couldnt have asked for a better chef! Terrance our server was great! They both had a great attitude and personality!!! Great job guys! The FOOD was amazing, every bit! And the Coconut mojito is a must!! #happywife

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed our date night! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our date night!!! The device was fantastic.. The Chef was funny and the food was delicious!! And the cocktails was great!!! We will be back on my birthday December 12, 2016... I can't wait!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both our server & chef were great. Our c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Both our server & chef were great. Our chef's name was Jose & he was very entertaining. I will definitely request Jose if he is available upon my return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is good and the service people ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is good and the service people friendly. However, we did sit for over an hour at our table waiting for the food prep to begin. Don't be in a hurry when you go!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A lot of people recommended me the place ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A lot of people recommended me the place.

It was my first time and it was great.

Food, service, location, everything in general was great.

Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very slow service. Took a long time to g ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very slow service. Took a long time to get our drink order.

Pretty sure we were all supposed to get ice cream with our orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Family afternoon meal after service on S ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Family afternoon meal after service on Sunday. We had a great chef and the service was excellent. The grand kids love Benihana.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steven was great! We loved him & the foo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Steven was great! We loved him & the food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.