About Benihana - Las Colinas

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-las Colinas - Benihana - Las Colinas
California Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Las Colinas
Sushi - Benihana - Las Colinas
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Las Colinas
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Las Colinas
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Las Colinas
Trio - Benihana - Las Colinas
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Las Colinas
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Las Colinas
Chef Trick - Benihana - Las Colinas
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.  - Benihana - Las Colinas
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah - Benihana - Las Colinas
Crunchy shrimp roll - Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas
Las Vegas Sushi Roll - Benihana - Las Colinas
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail - Benihana - Las Colinas
Chicken And Shrimp - Benihana - Las Colinas

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Las Colinas / Irving ›

Good for Groups (63)
Special Occasion (59)
Great for Lunch (33)
See All
Kid-friendly (33)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Family Style (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good...problem is we had a tabl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good...problem is we had a table of very loud and rude people next to us. Bit uncomfortable as they were using bad language and we had kids with us. Manager did what he could to quite them down. He did take some money off the bill which he didn't have to do.

Would have been a good experience if it wasn't for the loud group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Always fun! You can never go wrong ! Al ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always fun! You can never go wrong ! All have a good time and good food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good drinks

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Good drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nothing outstanding to note, but great f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Nothing outstanding to note, but great food and good service, as always!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had an overall great experience the on ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had an overall great experience the only problem that I felt needed some work is the front desk workers they were not friendly and not welcoming at all

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutelylove love lovethis place. Hiba ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutelylove love lovethis place. Hibachi style grilling/cooking is definitely one Of the best ways to eat and they do such an awesome job here, and dinner and a show is always nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Healthy, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there for my daughters turning 5 ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I went there for my daughters turning 5 birthday and I asked the hostes 5 times that it was my daughters birthday and they never sung her happy birthday nor did they giver her complimentary ice cream. It's kinda of sad when the place was not even busy and they still couldn't acknowledge that. Very sad and disappointed with the service.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I eat here once a month..and it has alwa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I eat here once a month..and it has always been good..but this was the worst experience..they lost our order and the whole table sat there. Finally we got up and asked what was going on and they recovered. However we were so starved we only wanted the food not experience

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Very slow service, crowed and noisy. Lot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very slow service, crowed and noisy. Lot of smoke from the cooking.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a great time. We went for my brother ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had a great time. We went for my brothers birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place for a change of pace. My famil ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fun place for a change of pace. My family enjoyed the show and the meal. Child and adult friendly menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The front of the restaurant had a funky ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The front of the restaurant had a funky smell, and the host acted like we were bothering them when we checked in for our reservation. After a 10 minute wait, we were seated. Our server was decent and the table chief was good. The whole restaurant was overly smoky and just smelled off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistently good food! Great ambiance, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Consistently good food! Great ambiance, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic, well except my appet ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food was fantastic, well except my appetizer that was never brought out. It's also a little cramped for all the food you get, but the food is worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The restaurant is always clean and the s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant is always clean and the staff are always super friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was a nightmare for my date and I. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was a nightmare for my date and I. We were celebrating her birthday and it took over an hour for the chef to even come to the tabletable. While doing the egg trick he tossed an egg, missed it and it flew at my date. While cooking the fried rice and eggs, he was tossing food everywhere. And on top of that when they were supposed to sing the birthday song, only 2 people halfway sung to her. It was really done halfway and we were disappointed in this experience that cost more than $100. I have been to other locations but this one is such a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food and staff attentiveness. Wait ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food and staff attentiveness. Wait for a table on Saturday night WITH reservations 45 minutes. In other words don't bother booking a reservation with Open Table at Benihana it gets you nothing in terms of convenience and skipping the queue for getting seated quickly.

I don't see why they couldn't filter in OpenTable users with "off the streeters" to meet reservations but they don't. You wait with everyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Chef Juan was awesome, the food was not ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Chef Juan was awesome, the food was not as good as we expected, did not care for the soup or salad! Very pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Long wait for the table despite making r ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Long wait for the table despite making reservation. A lot more waiting in table for hibachi chef who was clumsy and slow. First piece of anything warm on the table 1,5 hours after arrival.

AC not even close adequate as whole place was filled with smoke, causing skipping later evening plans because of smelling clothes.

Disappointment and huge difference for what this place has been previously.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

It was just "ok". For the $ we didn't ge ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was just "ok". For the $ we didn't get much shrimp. And no other option on dressing for salad (ginger allergy) was disappointing. rice was bland. Best part was the decor was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved it! Look forward to being back soo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved it! Look forward to being back soon! Very delicious food and a great server! I'm really really loving the Benihanas there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Disabled Access, Organic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Benihana about 30 times i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I have been to Benihana about 30 times in the last 15 years and this was a horrible birthday experience. {1st} The soup was served with no spoons and the server was nowhere to be found for 10 minutes. {2nd}The next course was the salad and there was no salad dressing in our salad and again no server to be found. {3rd} It took forever for the Chef to show up and come to find out our Chef started at the wrong table ! {4th} The server told us they were out of the beer my Fiance drinks.{5th} The Chef was very funny but cut up our steak in such small pieces you could barely eat it.{6th} The Manager gave us a $7 coupon for fried rice on our next visit and I found that to be a slap in the face!!!

Tracy

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Went with family for my birthday. Such a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went with family for my birthday. Such an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for 815 pm and did ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We made a reservation for 815 pm and did not get seated until after 830pm. After being seated for 45 mins the manager came to let us know the cook was running behind and he would discount our meals. When the chef did arrive he cooked very and by the time we were served the food was cold and we just it to go. It was dry and bland. The best things were the drinks and our waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was very slow. We waited 22mins ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was very slow. We waited 22mins to be seated even though we had a 6.30pm reservation. We also had to wait a very long time for our table chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great food and great service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated at 4PM. It took 30 minut ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated at 4PM. It took 30 minutes to get a round of drinks, it was 5:30 before the chef came to cook food. We ordered a 5 course meal, never got rice or the green tea. My husband is allergic to seafood, but they cooked the steak on the same area as the seafood and used the same utensils. Needless to say - he took two bites and knew he couldn't eat it. Thinking maybe they should have cooked his food before they made seafood???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I was disappointed with the outcome of m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I was disappointed with the outcome of my "dinner portion" We asked the waitress questions and could barely understand her and because of that my colleague and I got a meal that we were not satisfied with. We paid entirely too much for a meal that was basically the same size as the lunch portion.

Our chicken was TERRIBLE. it was salty and lemony. Myself and another person could not eat our chicken.

The rice was over cooked (burnt) ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Our cook Steve was the best. His cooking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our cook Steve was the best. His cooking skills were amazing and my scallops, shrimp n calamari melted like butter in my Seafood Diablo dish. He entertained the entire meal. The BEST experience ever at Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken dish as part of entrée was hal ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Chicken dish as part of entrée was half cooked. Could not eat at all. The food was not as good as we expected although the ambience was good.

The surprise birthday song from staff was delightful and so was the photo clicked of me with my family.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a wonderful time ,they just need to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Had a wonderful time ,they just need to work on the air conditioning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is great as always, we a minor mixu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food is great as always, we a minor mixup but the manager came by and took care of everything! Service is always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I have always had such a great time at B ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have always had such a great time at Benihana's in the pst, but this time our Chef seemed like he downed some sleeping pills before our show. No Entertainment whatsoever. We had to ask for some sort of smoke or fire. The other chefs around us were putting on very entertaining dinners. Our table sat there waiting for food wishing Jose would wake up. The food was very good, our waiter was good. When you go to Benihana's you should always expect not only great food, but a great show. The 5 of us were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Rushed,over cooked &over priced . Dirty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rushed,over cooked &over priced . Dirty won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was amazing!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! Great spot for a fu ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love this place! Great spot for a fun evening out with a group or a lively date night. The service is amazing. Even if they are having a busy night and you wait a bit, they make that enjoyable too. The cooks entertain you and the food is delish. We make sure we get back here whenever we come to Dallas!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Steve did an exce ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was great. Steve did an excellent job preparing the food and making my party feel right at home!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Exceeded expectations. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience. Exceeded expectations. Food was hot and tasty. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with the food. It had very ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Disappointed with the food. It had very little flavor. The talent of the chef was disappointing. The whole experience was not the standard that Benihana's used to be. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Love this place. Food is yummy! It's def ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love this place. Food is yummy! It's definitely a place for groups or you'll have to sit with strangers, which isn't always necessarily a bad thing. We're having a mom-daughter date in a few weeks. My daughter's going to love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.