About Benihana - Las Colinas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Casual (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Kid-friendly (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Family Style (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner - lots of fun and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our chef Lu as AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great time cook was a little off but overall experience was great will definitely visit again!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was given a menu that was specially done for Father's Day and it had nothing but the most expensive things on it. I feel benihanas took advantage of an opportunity in doing this which I do t believe I will be back.. the waiter forgot about us for over 20 minutes in which the manager did make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a great experience . Glad to see some options for vegetarians .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The chef was excellent, very entertaining.. The server, on the other hand, was not that great.. He left the table unattended for long periods of time. We had to wait long for drink refills and a long time went by between the end of the meal and dessert order.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It took almost an hour to begin our meal after arriving on time for our reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

As usual food was great. Met a wonderful couple at our table. So fun conversation. Chef was good. Not super talkative. Great group of people at the table made it fun.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Accused using used birthday coupon, waited manager for 20 minutes to solve but never show up and gave me discount as coupon. No explain, no celebrate birthday, no ice cream. Felt bitter after.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The service was but our wait time was almost nothing in the show with the grill was fantastic food was excellent I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes Benihana's

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Had heard so many people talk about Benihana. So, we made a reservation. However, we didn't get seated until 30 minutes outside our reservation. Then we had to wait after receiving our drinks and placing our order an additional 20 minutes for the chef. Once the chef begun , our portions were less than an a couple who shared an entree and our was individual. So, the expectation was much better than the results.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was my first time at this location and our server and chef were both very feiendly, fun, and gave excellent service!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Basic Teppan restaurant...
Trash out front was overflowing.

Tip: ask for a table w/o young kids n baby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The customer service was the absolute Worst. Our waiter sariba (spell check) was rude and didn't want to do her job, we were seated a little before 4:30 and sat at the table atleast an hour or longer before getting our drinks, a table that was seated after us , had received their drinks and food already .. Not to mention our hibachi chef and the waiter sariba had a blow out with each other on the floor in front of us.. All together it just wasn't a good experience especially with it being a special day.. The manager accommodated us by taking half off of everyone's tab & Ice cream .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We met with some old friends for an entertaining and enjoyable dinner. The staff was great and the atmosphere was fun. Food was good but a bit overpriced. Fried rice upcharge was not expected... eliminate the chicken and lower the price. Would have like more veggies. All in all though, good dinner and fun time.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Chef Steve was awesome! We went for lunch to celebrate my friend's new job.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 23, 2017

David was great! Love the food and will definitely be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was my worse Benihana experience ever. I say this because it started bad. The problem was really the hostess. We arrived about 6:35 for a 6:45 reservation. She said she would be with us soon which was fine. We were early. We stood in the lobby waiting for our table. A couple walked in about 6:40 the young lady grabbed menus and took them back. Never saw them check in and they weren't there when we came in but it was 6:40 so we continued to wait. At 6:50 a group of people come in and speak with the hostess. At 6:55, she calls this group who walked in 15 minutes after my group and sends them to be seated. I go to the desk to ask when we will be seated because we were there before the large group. She informs me they had a 6:30 reservation. Well, when I have a reservation or appointment I can't show up 20 minutes late and still have my reservation. We stand until 7:00 and a couple of men walk in and she tells them it's open seating in the bar. When I ask her about the open seating she says, you have a reservation. Yes, I had a 6:45 reservation and it is 7:00 and I'm still standing. My party goes to the bar and sits for dinner. Had we known this we would've gone to the bar at 6:35.

I will never go to that Benihana's again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Staff were speaking Spanish in front of clientele and I waited a half hour despite having a reservation because they wanted to wait for more clients to come in. That was all entirely u professional. Either speak English in front of clientele or go speak elsewhere. Totally detracted from Benihana Japanese atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waited a really long time (30 min) before the chef came to prepare our food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had reservations for mothers day dinner. Parking lot was over full and no where to park. Had to wait for a table to be ready. Chef and Food were ok but as always the Drinks were amazing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lu was the best can't wait to go back my family and I had a wonderful time!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and chef were great. The wait was not. Once at the table we sat for almost an hour before the chef arrived.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a great time and the kids enjoyed the show,
Jose was the excellent chef. Our servicers were awesome and very attentive, we will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our service was great. The chef and waiter made it worth while. It was my step daughter's first time and she loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The sushi was really good. You could tell that the chef was new. He kept dropping the cooking utensils. The chicken was dry and under seasoned. The raspberry sake was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We usually go to the Dallas location, however we went to Irving for my son's 14th birthday. I notified the restaurant in advance that we were celebrating his birthday. They did not take the iconic Benihana family photo. When I asked about it, I was told they don't usually take pictures because most people don't like to take pictures! Really! I don't think so! The food was very salty and the chef didn't really entertain the table. He did a few tricks but not as many as usual. We were very disappointed in this meal. The portions were small once they were split with the group. It was very expensive and my family was still hungry once we got home. I had to cook more food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Me and my family had a great time. Jose was our chef he was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a birthday dinner for my daughter's 16 year old with family and friends. Food and service was excellent. Being a party of 12 we expected a wait even though we had reservations however, we were seated at the time we had reserved. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a reservation at 7:15 we got to the restaurant at 7:04 we were not seated at our table until 7 :45. The waiter gave us water in plastic cups. He took our order for drinks and meal. Tell me why the other tables around us were getting service and we were getting nothing. After a hour of seating we left the table that were seated. after other tables around us were getting appetizers and drinks even the onion soup while our table was still on drinks. The service was very very slow. We had been there from 7:04 seated at 7:45 and left at 8: 45 and had a horrible time. Very bad first impression. .thanks a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was PERFECT! It had been years since I have been to Benihana's and everything was amazing from the food to the entire staff!

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My personal experience was not good. I came for my birthday. My first time there but it seemed it was the cooks first time too. He kept wasting stuff and dropping stuff like he was trying to do tricks or something. Then to top it off a gentleman at my table got too drunk and his face almost fell in his plate. Another gentleman at our table had to pump his chest and he woke up coughing all over the place. Horrible experience. That's when the other patron told me this was their worst server ever and the rice was dry. On top of that, the cook wipe Sweat the whole time.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Went for my birthday dinner..it was an amazing experience.. I will be going back soon...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I really enjoyed the overall experience!!! The food was great!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I didn't enjoy the food and the restaurant was very loud. The portions don't match the prices and the prices are too high for a loud environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were seated pretty quick unlike the Dallas locations. Our cook was fun but he kept skipping one of the people in my party. The waiter was a little unpolite and he messed up a few times. All in all I had a good time for my birthday! I love this place.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Server was great, and the chef did a over the top show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We have always enjoyed this location. The staff is helpful and the atmosphere is great!

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our chef was very enthusiastic, the quality of food was not whT we have been used to receiving in the past.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.