About Benihana - Las Colinas

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.
  • Medium Rare Hibachi Steah
  • Crunchy shrimp roll
  • Benihana Roll
  • Las Vegas Sushi Roll
  • Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail
  • Chicken And Shrimp
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah
Crunchy shrimp roll
Benihana Roll
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail
Chicken And Shrimp

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Mid Cities
Most Booked
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Las Colinas / Irving ›

good for groups (77)
special occasion (68)
kid-friendly (45)
See All
great for lunch (41)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (20)
hot spot (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always love dining at Benihana's! The ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always love dining at Benihana's! The food is delish, and I love the atmosphere. I visited this past Monday, and had a not-so-pleasant experience at the end of our dinner. My sister found a piece of fingernail in her chocolate ice cream. The manager took $10 off her bill. That was the first experience like that with Benihana's on our end. Hopefully it won't happen again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation for 6:45 and had to ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:45 and had to wait almost 25 minutes to be seated. The restaurant is cramming more seats (2+6+2 instead of 2+4+2) at a table because they are only using half of the dinning room. Our table was extremely crowded. I had to move almost fully past the grill for everyone to fit at the table. We had a very new cook this time around. His cooking timing was very novice. Lots of under cooked vegetables and poor knife skills. This was a very sub-par visit for Benihana's. I will look at going to another location if they continue to have poor cooks during their "busy" times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Dessert was included in the meal but aga ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dessert was included in the meal but again never offered to me !! Second time in 2 weeks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The service and the food were great. I w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service and the food were great. I was upset the website advertised crab cakes special but they didn't serve that any more. #updatewebsite2016

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana is a gem to us. We love their b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Benihana is a gem to us. We love their birthday promotion which makes it an annual treat for is. It's still a splurge, but the food is excellent (especially the filet mignon and scallops), and the entertainment is great. Our table chef Hector was attentive and careful to accommodate the children at our table who had egg and shrimp allergies. Benihana has been around a long time, and we are pleased that the quality has not been compromised. Thanks Benihana owners and staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 30 min after finishing for check. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Waited 30 min after finishing for check.

Floor was dirty even after a weak attempt to sweep the area around our table while we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

The young Lady that did our cooking was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The young Lady that did our cooking was great and very friendly made us feel that home and the food was beyond great we loved it .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our chef Lu was terrific. The food was d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our chef Lu was terrific. The food was delicious. My only suggestion would be to have a cleaner bar/waiting area. Tables not wiped down. Several employees just huddled at hostess stand not paying attention. Bathrooms also needed attention. Air vents were filthy

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I had a reservation for 7pm, arrived at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had a reservation for 7pm, arrived at 6.55pm, we were not seated until 7.26pm. Juan the cook was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Was disappointed to see a waiters under ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was disappointed to see a waiters underwear because pants were so far down.

Also there was a sign that says there's a dress code, yet I saw 2 young men leave and their pants were completely down under their butt with their underwear showing. The only thing holding their pants up was their hands.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Our food was overcooked, especially the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our food was overcooked, especially the shrimp and other components were too salty. I have eaten at this location in the past and never had poor food. I doubt that I will be returning. The service was adequate, but because the food didn't measure up our dining experience wasn't pleasurable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The foud was very good. Table service wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The foud was very good. Table service was fantastic. Great chef. Fun. Tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always eat at Benihana's, this location ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always eat at Benihana's, this location was disappointing. Did not get items that was described on the menu even when I brought his up to the server. She then started to get rude and blamed the cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

PROS: We had a large party of 16; which ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

PROS:

We had a large party of 16; which required two tables of 8. The restaurant manager was kind and ensured we were seated right across from each other (8 and 8). We took cupcakes in as we were celebrating a birthday; the front hostess was kind and placed them in the refrigerator for us until after dinner. Overall, we enjoyed the experience.

CONS:

#1) one of our tables felt that their food was not seasoned adequately; however my table was pleased with our food.

#2) the check-in experience was a bit annoying; we simply wanted two tables of 8 near each other; and it called for a manager to make an executive decision and "approve" the request. I was just surprised it wasn't an easier request to fufill.

#3) the $9.95 martini that I ordered was absolutely horrible. Horrible. I ordered it with our initial drink order, and it took 25-30 minutes for me to receive. After receiving my martini, I sipped it and found myself with a mouthful of watered down "something". I took a second sip and refused to drink a $9.95 glass of room temp watered down vodka. The second drink was just as bad.

I rate (my) overall experience "3". A better martini would have earned a forth point. A smoother check in process (that didn't require an approval from management) would have earned a fifth point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love going to Benihana. Our favorite pla ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love going to Benihana. Our favorite place for birthdays and group dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only complaint I have about my birth ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The only complaint I have about my birthday experience is that 10 people were crammed in at the table we were seated at!! There were 7 of us at an 8 seat table, along with a family of 3. It was way too crowded!!!

Other than that, my entire family enjoyed the evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My daughter Rachel delighted My Grandson ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My daughter Rachel delighted My Grandson and I with a surprise visit to Benihana's. She teased us for watching the show intently. She said, "You have seen this 50 times but you are acting like this is your first time". It's always ss good for me as the first time. Chef Juan wss AWESOME! I can't wait for time # 51. Bon Appetite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the hibachi experience. Our chef wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Love the hibachi experience. Our chef was Manny and he was great and so much fun. He made our experience very special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated exactly 60 minutes after ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated exactly 60 minutes after our reservation time. We were asked for a drink order exactly 20 minutes after we received our menus. Total time at restaurant = 4 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

we went to that location because the Dal ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

we went to that location because the Dallas location was packed and no walk insurance accepted. our reservation was for 230pm. we arrived at 205pm, we were reminded that our reservation was for 230. we decided to eat sushi in the bar. the service was very slow, disorganized and very poor management . we were seated at 3pm, the restaurant had empty tables, the waiter forgot to turn the grill. when the cooker arrived 40 minutes later he could not start because was cold. he turned on the grill, advise us to wait 20 minutes and left. manager came to apologize but discount was not given . we left by 5pm, we loose a movie that we had reserved for 5:15pm.

they had re done the restaurant to add more tables, loosing the benihana look. too noisey. I will definitely no come back or recommended to anyone. I score as -15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service from every employee was great an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service from every employee was great and made us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef and food was very good and entertai ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Chef and food was very good and entertaining. The server was slow to bring initial drinks and apps. Waited a while for the chef as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had Sarah as our chef she was amazing ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had Sarah as our chef she was amazing. She was super funny and even chimed in on our jokes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have dinner and its fun t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great place to have dinner and its fun to watch it all happen right in front of you.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the experience on our weekday d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We loved the experience on our weekday date! The environment was wonderful with alot of families enjoying each others company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I liked the place, very clean. Professio ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I liked the place, very clean. Professional staff. The Chef was excellent. Will request him next time. The food was fresh and great taste. Will eat here again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good service, the food is good also ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Very good service, the food is good also and the show is wonderful

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Seems to be declining

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Not at the top of my list anymore. Benihana has been one of my favorite chains for years. However, the food appears to be in declining in quality and chefs declining in talent in multiple locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good but rushed

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

As always, benihana does not disappoint on the quality or quantity of food. Unfortunately, we waited almostca half an hour past our reservation time to be seated. The srevice was good, but we got our check before we even finished our meal, and did not get the included dessert. We felt rushed out of the restaurant. We haved dined at Benihana restaurants for nearly 30 years, and have never felt so unwanted before. Expect the food to be good, but don't plan to relax and linger or visit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Great fun for group from work, good ente ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great fun for group from work, good entertainment and great place to network and visit with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place. Good for the kids an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We love this place. Good for the kids and family as well as a date if that is what you want to do also. Great place :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overrated hibachi

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been to Benihana twice now, lunch and dinner, and was under impressed. I get better value and more food at any other hibachi I've ever been to. More rice, and definitely more veggies. They gave us one slice each of zucchinni. Seriously! I have places closer to home with a much better value and better show as well. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome experience! I look forward to re ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Awesome experience! I look forward to returning real soon! Chef Manny was the bomb-diggity!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This is always a great "go to" place for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is always a great "go to" place for dates, family night, or casual dining. I go weekly and I'm never disappointed. Great good, fantastic atmosphere, and usually good service. I will say that during the day the waiters aren't as nice and engaging as the dinner ones. But not bad enough for me not to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time at Benihans. It ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had an amazing time at Benihans. It was for my birthday. The chef was outstanding, he entertained us all while making our food. My boys each want to have their birthdays there from now on.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

No WOW Factor here!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Waitstaff confused, and obviously was having an " off night ". Food lacked flavor. Not impressed!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

5 stars

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I highly recommend this place for any occasion. Great food, and great atmosphere

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise Level

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There was just to much noise with the table all being open, I could not hear my son who was next to me. Love the food, just need to put screens up or something.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

MY GO TO SPOT

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

NEVER DISAPPOINTS EVERY TIME WE COME HERE WE ENJOY THE EXPERIENCE. IT IS ALSO KID FRIENDLY WHICH IS NICE AND RARE TO FIND AN UPSCALE DINNING EXPERIENCE THAT THEY ENTIRE FAMILY CAN ENJOY!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy big birthday party going on

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Kids setting at table unsupervised making very loud noise we couldn't even hear or own waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.