About Benihana - Las Colinas

5400 Whitehall St.
Irving, TX 75038
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Las Colinas is conveniently located off the John Carpenter Freeway, near Macarthur Blvd., not far from DFW airport and a plethora of fine hotels. The Irving Convention Center and Exposition Hall is only minutes away. The dining room features 18 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs dazzle you with culinary brilliance, plus a cozy sushi bar with counter seating and five private booths.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Walnut Hill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 550-0060

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/lascolinas-tx-lc

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Benihana - Las Colinas
Hibachi Shrimp, Veggies, and Fried Rice.
Medium Rare Hibachi Steah
Crunchy shrimp roll
Benihana Roll
Las Vegas Sushi Roll
Chateaubriand With Lobster Tail
Chicken And Shrimp

Benihana - Las Colinas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Mid Cities
Most Booked
Mid Cities
Best Restaurants in Las Colinas / Irving ›

Good for Groups (80)
Special Occasion (70)
Kid-friendly (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (42)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved it! Look forward to being back soo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it! Look forward to being back soon! Very delicious food and a great server! I'm really really loving the Benihanas there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Disabled Access, Organic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Benihana about 30 times i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to Benihana about 30 times in the last 15 years and this was a horrible birthday experience. {1st} The soup was served with no spoons and the server was nowhere to be found for 10 minutes. {2nd}The next course was the salad and there was no salad dressing in our salad and again no server to be found. {3rd} It took forever for the Chef to show up and come to find out our Chef started at the wrong table ! {4th} The server told us they were out of the beer my Fiance drinks.{5th} The Chef was very funny but cut up our steak in such small pieces you could barely eat it.{6th} The Manager gave us a $7 coupon for fried rice on our next visit and I found that to be a slap in the face!!!

Tracy

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Went with family for my birthday. Such a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went with family for my birthday. Such an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for 815 pm and did ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 7 days ago

We made a reservation for 815 pm and did not get seated until after 830pm. After being seated for 45 mins the manager came to let us know the cook was running behind and he would discount our meals. When the chef did arrive he cooked very and by the time we were served the food was cold and we just it to go. It was dry and bland. The best things were the drinks and our waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was very slow. We waited 22mins ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was very slow. We waited 22mins to be seated even though we had a 6.30pm reservation. We also had to wait a very long time for our table chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great food and great service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated at 4PM. It took 30 minut ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated at 4PM. It took 30 minutes to get a round of drinks, it was 5:30 before the chef came to cook food. We ordered a 5 course meal, never got rice or the green tea. My husband is allergic to seafood, but they cooked the steak on the same area as the seafood and used the same utensils. Needless to say - he took two bites and knew he couldn't eat it. Thinking maybe they should have cooked his food before they made seafood???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I was disappointed with the outcome of m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I was disappointed with the outcome of my "dinner portion" We asked the waitress questions and could barely understand her and because of that my colleague and I got a meal that we were not satisfied with. We paid entirely too much for a meal that was basically the same size as the lunch portion.

Our chicken was TERRIBLE. it was salty and lemony. Myself and another person could not eat our chicken.

The rice was over cooked (burnt) ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Our cook Steve was the best. His cooking ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our cook Steve was the best. His cooking skills were amazing and my scallops, shrimp n calamari melted like butter in my Seafood Diablo dish. He entertained the entire meal. The BEST experience ever at Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken dish as part of entrée was hal ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Chicken dish as part of entrée was half cooked. Could not eat at all. The food was not as good as we expected although the ambience was good.

The surprise birthday song from staff was delightful and so was the photo clicked of me with my family.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a wonderful time ,they just need to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Had a wonderful time ,they just need to work on the air conditioning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have always had such a great time at B ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have always had such a great time at Benihana's in the pst, but this time our Chef seemed like he downed some sleeping pills before our show. No Entertainment whatsoever. We had to ask for some sort of smoke or fire. The other chefs around us were putting on very entertaining dinners. Our table sat there waiting for food wishing Jose would wake up. The food was very good, our waiter was good. When you go to Benihana's you should always expect not only great food, but a great show. The 5 of us were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Rushed,over cooked &over priced . Dirty ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rushed,over cooked &over priced . Dirty won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was amazing!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! Great spot for a fu ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We love this place! Great spot for a fun evening out with a group or a lively date night. The service is amazing. Even if they are having a busy night and you wait a bit, they make that enjoyable too. The cooks entertain you and the food is delish. We make sure we get back here whenever we come to Dallas!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Steve did an exce ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was great. Steve did an excellent job preparing the food and making my party feel right at home!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Exceeded expectations. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience. Exceeded expectations. Food was hot and tasty. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with the food. It had very ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Disappointed with the food. It had very little flavor. The talent of the chef was disappointing. The whole experience was not the standard that Benihana's used to be. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Love this place. Food is yummy! It's def ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Love this place. Food is yummy! It's definitely a place for groups or you'll have to sit with strangers, which isn't always necessarily a bad thing. We're having a mom-daughter date in a few weeks. My daughter's going to love it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I love this location. Everytime I visit ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love this location. Everytime I visit the experience is exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was a little over cooked. The ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was a little over cooked. The chef was not entertaining at all. Service was good. The drinks were great and the bartender very helpful. There was nothing that set Benihana apart from other hibachi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Service was not like it use to Pooooor ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was not like it use to

Pooooor Service

But the food is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Our tea was not refilled regularly which ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our tea was not refilled regularly which was very dissappointing. They ran out f spicy sauce. Chef was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Requested my steak medium had to tell th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Requested my steak medium had to tell the cook to take it off the grill it was not medium but well done. Asked for extra seasoning but he put a little needed to tell him again. Didn't taste has good as it normally does.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great,chef was friendly & had a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was great,chef was friendly & had a very good attitude. Our server was a friendly & had a great attitude also. Our Table "mates" we're also friendly. I had an overall great meal my food was cooked just as I like it- The atmosphere was absolutely pleasant.

Irving Los Colinas Is my favorite Benihana's to dine.

Thank You

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love dining at Benihana's! The ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always love dining at Benihana's! The food is delish, and I love the atmosphere. I visited this past Monday, and had a not-so-pleasant experience at the end of our dinner. My sister found a piece of fingernail in her chocolate ice cream. The manager took $10 off her bill. That was the first experience like that with Benihana's on our end. Hopefully it won't happen again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Need tables suitable for two people or a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Need tables suitable for two people or atleast four... We had to sit with people we did not know... It was very uncomfortable....

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a reservation for 6:45 and had to ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:45 and had to wait almost 25 minutes to be seated. The restaurant is cramming more seats (2+6+2 instead of 2+4+2) at a table because they are only using half of the dinning room. Our table was extremely crowded. I had to move almost fully past the grill for everyone to fit at the table. We had a very new cook this time around. His cooking timing was very novice. Lots of under cooked vegetables and poor knife skills. This was a very sub-par visit for Benihana's. I will look at going to another location if they continue to have poor cooks during their "busy" times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Dessert was included in the meal but aga ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dessert was included in the meal but again never offered to me !! Second time in 2 weeks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The service and the food were great. I w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service and the food were great. I was upset the website advertised crab cakes special but they didn't serve that any more. #updatewebsite2016

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana is a gem to us. We love their b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Benihana is a gem to us. We love their birthday promotion which makes it an annual treat for is. It's still a splurge, but the food is excellent (especially the filet mignon and scallops), and the entertainment is great. Our table chef Hector was attentive and careful to accommodate the children at our table who had egg and shrimp allergies. Benihana has been around a long time, and we are pleased that the quality has not been compromised. Thanks Benihana owners and staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 30 min after finishing for check. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Waited 30 min after finishing for check.

Floor was dirty even after a weak attempt to sweep the area around our table while we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

The young Lady that did our cooking was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The young Lady that did our cooking was great and very friendly made us feel that home and the food was beyond great we loved it .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our chef Lu was terrific. The food was d ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our chef Lu was terrific. The food was delicious. My only suggestion would be to have a cleaner bar/waiting area. Tables not wiped down. Several employees just huddled at hostess stand not paying attention. Bathrooms also needed attention. Air vents were filthy

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I had a reservation for 7pm, arrived at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had a reservation for 7pm, arrived at 6.55pm, we were not seated until 7.26pm. Juan the cook was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Was disappointed to see a waiters under ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was disappointed to see a waiters underwear because pants were so far down.

Also there was a sign that says there's a dress code, yet I saw 2 young men leave and their pants were completely down under their butt with their underwear showing. The only thing holding their pants up was their hands.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Our food was overcooked, especially the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our food was overcooked, especially the shrimp and other components were too salty. I have eaten at this location in the past and never had poor food. I doubt that I will be returning. The service was adequate, but because the food didn't measure up our dining experience wasn't pleasurable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The foud was very good. Table service wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The foud was very good. Table service was fantastic. Great chef. Fun. Tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always eat at Benihana's, this location ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always eat at Benihana's, this location was disappointing. Did not get items that was described on the menu even when I brought his up to the server. She then started to get rude and blamed the cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

PROS: We had a large party of 16; which ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

PROS:

We had a large party of 16; which required two tables of 8. The restaurant manager was kind and ensured we were seated right across from each other (8 and 8). We took cupcakes in as we were celebrating a birthday; the front hostess was kind and placed them in the refrigerator for us until after dinner. Overall, we enjoyed the experience.

CONS:

#1) one of our tables felt that their food was not seasoned adequately; however my table was pleased with our food.

#2) the check-in experience was a bit annoying; we simply wanted two tables of 8 near each other; and it called for a manager to make an executive decision and "approve" the request. I was just surprised it wasn't an easier request to fufill.

#3) the $9.95 martini that I ordered was absolutely horrible. Horrible. I ordered it with our initial drink order, and it took 25-30 minutes for me to receive. After receiving my martini, I sipped it and found myself with a mouthful of watered down "something". I took a second sip and refused to drink a $9.95 glass of room temp watered down vodka. The second drink was just as bad.

I rate (my) overall experience "3". A better martini would have earned a forth point. A smoother check in process (that didn't require an approval from management) would have earned a fifth point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.