About Benihana - Indianapolis

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Banzai Hour at 5 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-indianapolis - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
California Roll - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Sushi - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Trio - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Miso Soup - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Fried Rice Heart - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Fried Rice - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Ice Cream - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Seafood Diablo With Udon - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Rum Punch - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Fun (22)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Family Style (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (8)
Authentic (8)
Romantic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice dining experience. Been to Ben ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Been to Benihanas several times here and in Chicago. Every visit was just as good as the other. Keep up the great service and tasty cuisine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bosco is awesome and very entertaining

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bosco is awesome and very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious. Highly recommend. I had the H ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious. Highly recommend. I had the Hibachi steak. It was perfect. The hot green tea was also very good. Very tasty rice. All positive !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Desmond was my server and he made my exp ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Desmond was my server and he made my experience great. The last few times I visited I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The cooks are amazing!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The cooks are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time going and I loved every secon ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First time going and I loved every second of it. Definitely going again and this time I will be bringing my three-year-old son so he will be able to see how the food is prepared

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous! Great food, great serve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always fabulous! Great food, great servers, and always great fun.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and still had to wai ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had reservations and still had to wait over 30 min for a table nearly missed a movie we planned to go to. Hostess was rude and not friendly. Really didn't care we had too wait. Felt like she didn't care if we left because the have enough people lined up if we didn't like it.

Chief was good but messed up the order. The food is okay but over priced for what you get. Few pieces of vegetables rice and a small chicken breast. This place is just for show. Just a novelty that has grown old in my opinion. My daughter asked for it for her birthday. Glad I only need to do once a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Benihana is a lifelong favorite for me a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Benihana is a lifelong favorite for me and my children. The chefs are always entertaining and friendly. This visit was no different. My only complaint was that they squeezed 9 people onto a table that uncomfortably sat 8 max, instead of moving the other party that decided to add a guest after we were already seated.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Too expensive. Promotion for birthday i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Too expensive. Promotion for birthday is too limit to use.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food. Little pricey.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great food. Little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not the best visit. Called to confirm r ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not the best visit.

Called to confirm reservation and person on phone was very rude. Chef rushed through everything. Very mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I do come there a lot but for some reaso ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I do come there a lot but for some reason that night we have to wait to at least 1 hour get service and then on top off that we have this loud chef I can verly carry conversation coz we can heard to each other and when j got my bill the server charged me for steam rice its supposed come with my meal

By the way my name is Olivia

ShAron is the bday girl which

I paid the bill close to

200.00 .

            Thanks 

                   Olivia sanders
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I guess we expected much more Every crow ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I guess we expected much more

Every crowded and loud.

our waitress did keep our drinks filled but didnt stop long enough to see if we needed anything. I think she had way to may people to handle.

Chef was nice but price and taste compared to other steakhouses we have been at is much much lower. Honestly we will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great staff, very attentive, but somewha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great staff, very attentive, but somewhat expensive. We can only afford to come here once or twice a year, but would love to come more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

As usual, we had a great time at Benihan ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 31, 2016

As usual, we had a great time at Benihana. The food is excellent and we thoroughly enjoy watching it being prepared right in front of us. We were celebrating birthdays and the picture taken of our group is a wonderful keepsake for us to have. Thank you for the birthday certificate as well! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and atmosphere was gr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere was great. Leon your cook always does a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there celebrating a birthday wit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were there celebrating a birthday with a group that ranged in age from 7 to 87. Everyone had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Even though we made a early reservation ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Even though we made a early reservation we were seated last.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taz was a great chef and entertainer. Ou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Taz was a great chef and entertainer. Our service was horrible. He kept getting our orders wrong: had to correct him many times. He actually put down raw scallops instead of steak. He overcharged us, twice. We brought it to his attention and did it again. We had to ask for refills.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

We had lunch there and were very disappo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had lunch there and were very disappointed. Other local restaurants do a much better job. The items that should have been hot were not. The quality of the food was not as high as I anticipated. As I mentioned, we enjoy this type of food and we have been to other restaurants like this and they have done a much better job in the cooking and the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Fantastic food and a entertaining "show" ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Fantastic food and a entertaining "show" put on by the chef at your table.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a chef name Tazmania that burned ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a chef name Tazmania that burned our vegetables. After telling the front desk about the situation they gave us a new chef and everything was great from there. I didn't want a burned main course. Still never got to enjoy our vegetables. I still love this place and will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I took my family here just for fun - and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I took my family here just for fun - and everyone had a wonderful time. The grandchildren loved the show and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful food. We definitely are returning soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. My son loved it. I wou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great experience. My son loved it. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been getting the chateubriand ste ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I have been getting the chateubriand steak for some time now and it is perfect every time. Love it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our chef was hilarious and made it an am ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Our chef was hilarious and made it an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I really enjoy coming to this restaurant ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I really enjoy coming to this restaurant! The food is great and the cooks do an amazing job. Also you get plenty of food for a great price!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is a wonderful place for specia ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Benihana is a wonderful place for special events or a date to impress, a bit loud for an intimate dining time or a first date, but a wonderful and fun experience. Server was excellent, food was delicious, and chef was wonderful at interacting with my kids. A bit pricey for a weekly or even monthly meal if you are on a budget, but great for those special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have always been a true fan of Benihan ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I have always been a true fan of Benihana and love the food, and the services. My husband and I, our children and grandchildren dine frequently. It is truly a family place of business and I recommend it to everyone celebrating any occasion.

Tags: Private Room, Vegan, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but a little pricy even with ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food but a little pricy even with coupon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was slow and it seemed a lit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The service was slow and it seemed a little dirty. We had a bug on our grill and they cooking of the food was not very well organized.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value4

The food is great. I love benihana. I wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food is great. I love benihana. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time and the experience ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was my first time and the experience was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was great as always. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My experience was great as always. Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was great and the food taste gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The chef was great and the food taste great. The server though was just ok. She forgot to tell the chef that my guest and I wanted no vegetables in our rice and she also forget to put in double rice for a guy at my table. She also never gave me my to-go salads, which are included in my meal but I wanted wrapped up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

I took my husband for his birthday. We h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday. We had reservations and had to wait an hour. The bar was dark and dingy and did not feel upscale at all. The service at our table was very slow. The quality of the food was beyond anything that I had ever had for hibachi. We had the steak and lobster and it was well worth the indulgence. However, I did feel as though it was overpriced. We were also frustrated that we couldn't use the birthday discount (even though we booked the reservation indicating that it was a birthday). Very frustrating experience, we may give it another try but just not sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

It was great new experience. The only ne ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was great new experience. The only negative was the fact that a couple gets stuck with a bunch of strangers and if they happen to be unfiendly as two at our table were,it takes away from the joy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food preparation and selection ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very good food preparation and selection. The chef paid attention to our dining preferences .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant's air conditioning was ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant's air conditioning was out and it was extremely hot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.