About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (49)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (38)
See All
Fun (33)
Casual (32)
Kid-friendly (31)
Good for a Date (27)
Family Style (26)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (12)
People Watching (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great as always, the server was less than impressive, never brought our salads, then we had to ask right as the chef was making our dinner. Couldn't get drinks refilled in a timely manner. Been here 100 x's, worst service I have experienced. Even that didn't ruin the experience, just disappointed in service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great fun, good food, make reservations. Only drawback, if you have less than 8 in your group, you will be sitting with strangers. Not a great date place if you want to chat!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have enjoyed other Benihana's in the past so we are familiar with the experience. This was a special evening with my daughter and I. The noise level was ridiculous. There was a table of obviously intoxicated women who were screaming, yelling and literally dancing in the aisles and on a chair. Their chef was encouraging this and even joining in. While I have no problem with having fun, this was uncalled for. I could not even hear my daughter right next to me and our waitress could not hear our order. We enjoyed watching our food be prepared by our chef. The chicken was so tough and chewy and slightly undercooked, that I could not eat it. The fried rice was good but could have used more seasoning. The appetizer soup was bland and tasteless. The salad also was barely edible. I know Benihanas can do better than this. A special mother daughter evening was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Waitress took to long to take order, bring soup and salad

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Server took half an hour to even get drink order, but food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Horrible experience. Took over an hour to get our food. Portions of the fried rice were small. Our bill was 180 for five. Salad was horrible. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Took kids and friends for dinner. Chef made it fun and enjoyable, esp for young kids. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 12, 2017

There for my son's 12th Birthday and not disappointed. Food was outstanding and our chef Ronaldo made it a great show with great tricks and witty remarks. It seemed like 75% of the crowd was there for birthdays and for good reason. Not cheap but family friendly and a great experience.

They could use a fresh coat of paint in some areas though. A refresh over some dated decor wouldn't hurt either.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Not sure if Benihana is under new management but the quality of food seems to be getting worse while the prices are stagnant or rising. Our waitress was mediocre and I am pretty sure we will just stick with TOMO from now on! Unless we have a birthday coupon...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 5, 2017

First time for me dining here. Not what it was hyped up to be. Lots of new servers which is fine. The only reason they are still open today is location and b/c the menu is so high priced. Been to other hibachi restaurants and they are much better. Tomo is by far the best in taste, price and service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Reservations at 7. Seated at 7:30. Didn't get int till 9:35
Kids enjoyed it but service was poor. Food was not cooked in order. I didn't get one of my vegetables. Too tired to complain being a 2 hour dinner with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Have to admit I was a bit disappointed. It wasn't a horrible experience but not quite as exciting as I've experienced before. Chef was very nice and a bit funny, but performance was mediocre. Food was very good and there was plenty for a snack later. Was frustrated by cocktails. Ordered two and the second was worse than the first. Appeared to not have the right ingredients for my drink and then just gave me something different hoping I wouldn't notice? I finally just drank water. Husband and son did have good drinks although one large shared one was a bit pricey at $35. Waitress was very accomodating but seemed to be covering so many tables took a while for her to get around. Was a first time experience for my 12 year old. Was a fun experience, I just had expected a bit more from the "performance". Might go back. Not sure.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a phenomenal place for special occasions, but far too expensive for an ordinary night of dining out. The food, while very good, isn't worth the steep price; however, the atmosphere and having a chef cook in front of you make up for it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My boyfriends birthday

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wait time was long even though I made a reservation other than that everything was good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Best Restraunt ever !!! Tazmania is the best !! He is the best cook ! I would ask for him everytime

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food as always. We always plan on 1 hour to 1.5 hours but this time was 2 hours. About 20 minutes waiting on ice cream and another 20 minutes after that for the check. Way too slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The new service sucks..want my old waiters back! #nonewcooks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Taz is very entertaining.... Yeaaaaa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was great but the atmosphere for a higher class restaurant was way too rowdy. Kind of childish. Definitely should tell the chefs to stop flicking the shrimp tails on guest. My boyfriend allergic to shrimp.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The only complaint I had is I made a reservation and we still had to wait over 30 minutes for a table. Our cook was wonderful, food was great, service was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We waited almost 40 mins for our 6:30 reservation. The food quality and service once seated was very good as always. But the waiting was a bit frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Waited a half hour even though we had a reservation through Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food is yummy....just not sure if it it yummy enough for the price, but lunch menu is cheaper.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Benihana has been around for a while and I can't remember a single time when I've gone and not felt like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The "dinnertainment" was pretty mediocre. There was really not much of a show, and the food while, OK is overpriced for what one gets. There are places (Hino Oishi for one) that offer a better experience and better food for less.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food as always was Great. BUT our server was not so good. He said he had transferred from New York to Indy. for more training. I think he needed more training as a waiter any how. We had more water on the table then we needed. Was trying to wait on more than one table and he couldn't keep up with one.
After we were done. He brought our checks and lost my Credit card on the way back. It was found later. And the hole table didn't get any ICE CREAM!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It took much longer than usual to get a chef to.tje table. Lunch was almost two hours. The servers was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had Tasmania as our cook at the table and he made the experience even more fun than usual.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fun staff. Very pleasant and helpful. Food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our Server was awesome. The Chef very good. He was very entertaining. Food was excellent. Table was ready at reservation time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our meal was warm and very good. Service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great meal and hibachi chef. Sever forget my second martini but I didn't say anything. She was training another lady so I understood she was busy. I had a water!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been celebrating birthdays at Benihana for 20 years and have never been disappointed. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Ate in the dining room. Every table was dirty, even tho there was only two tables occupied. Our server wasn't very friendly at first, but did do a good job. Maybe he was just overwhelmed... Food was OK. This used to be our family's favorite birthday destination, but this is probably our last visit for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, great fun. Delicious. Like dinner theater!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Benihana is my 5 year old daughter's favorite restaurant. She loves when the cook comes and performs while he is cooking she likes the choo choo train. She loves the hibachi shrimp.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I had Taz as the chef and he was simply amazing. The entire experience was great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was my granddaughter's birthday. I've been taking her to Benihana's on her birthday for several years. . . now we've added a husband, a 4 year old son and 2 year old daughter. We all liked our meal. The kids' menu was perfect and they loved the experience. It was a real bargain for Grandma and as usual, we got a great picture of all of us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I really love this restaurant. The food taste so good . I would recommend this restaurant to any one . The atmosphere is pleasant and the ppl that work there are professional and courteous.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.