About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (43)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Casual (28)
Fun (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Family Style (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have been to Benihana many many times. I have to say, it has been going downhill for a while. We made dinner reservations to celebrate my son's birthday we had a group of six. Our Chef was very lackluster. We had to remind them after we had paid our bill that it was my son's birthday so they would bring him the special birthday treat and sing to him. The place was dirty and just didn't have that festive atmosphere you go to Benihana for. We probably will not be returning. For what you pay, there are so many other Japanese steakhouses in town that are just as good if not better for a lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The waitress was rude, inattentive and hurried. The cook lacked training and was inefficient. The cook was cleaning one part of the grill, while cooking food on the other part. Food quality was poor. They couldn't get orders right. The floor was filthy in the cooking area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been to Benihana's many times, this was the best meal yet. The food was great, and our "chef" Jorge was wonderful. I go at least twice a year, and can't wait to go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was father's day and extremely busy. One of the air conditioners in the restaurant did not work at the time we were there. With the amount of people and the hot grills it was too hot to have an enjoyable time. The female chef was new and the food was not up to par. Disappointed for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food is really good I consider brunch lunch lunch also dinner seem all the same to me same price I really like the place but I consider it a little bit still too pricey I also think that when you substitute for the steam rice for the chicken fried rice I don't think you should be charged for it the chicken fried rice is $3.70 that's just what I think my daughter really love the place also she really like the people cooking in front of her but I again think is still too pricey for the kids menu as well

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Unfortunately this place has gone down hill. It seems like their standards have fallen. Perhaps their former standards justified the high prices. It's kind of trashy now and overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We go here often for special occasions for our family. Normally very good experience. However, on this night, they were short staffed which led to a longer wait time than normal for seating & service in general. Waited 30 minutes past our reservation to be seated. Then waited another 10+ minutes for our server to come by our table to tell us that she would help us as soon as she could. Also, it was ridiculously hot! We thought the air was broken but was later told that the air can only be changed from the corporate office. That is unacceptable when the restaurant is 80+ degrees inside! Everyone was sweating & fanning themselves with the menus. We nearly left due to the conditions, but thought that it would have been impossible to find another restaurant to quickly acccomodate a group our size. Thank goodness the food was great. Only thing that saved our Father's Day dinner. Hope our next visit here will be much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Honestly, we usually love and have an amazing experience at Benihana but this last visit was NOT good. The AC was broke and it had to have been close to 80 in the restaurant. The service was incredibly slow and while our server was kind, she had too many tables and was overwhelmed. It was an unusually poor experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service good food . The staff was friendly and quick seating. Thanks !!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Been going here for years. Not quite as good as it used to be!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food is always good. Not fond of the bells and whistles attached to the birthday coupons. You should let your customers use them when they want to during their birthday month.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

They gave us our own table upon request. Solid dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday, and thought it would be fun to since none of my friends and family had been there before. However, I was disappointed. Our server brought out two tea cups and they both had another customers lipstick all over the cup! We also had to wait until our entire party had arrived and we made reservations. I don't think this is great service, especially if you are there for a special occasion, which we booked a few days in advance. Lastly, our waitress/server was not paying very much attention to our table. There were tables that were seated after us, but were done before we were! We also, dropped a fork and asked for another one and she never brought it to us.....We then complained to the manager. He did apologize, but that was all. He did not sound genuine, and he did not even offer to take anything off of my meal or hand out any complimentary coupons on another visit!!

I am a General Manager myself and have been for over ten years, and I would never not take any of the concerns that stated above not seriously from one of my customers. It really put a bad taste in my mouth and was a horrible first time experience to Benihana. I suggest if you don't offer to take care of a customer who had some serious issues take place related to their service, you probably should start! Service is key to any businesses success, and says a lot about you do business.....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our grandkids love this place so when they visit, we try to visit Benihana.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I suppose the experience depends on the server and chef we went for my birthday and the chef was minor and server very confused... wasn't a great experience expect more for the price

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was my first time here, the food was good, we got to meet our table mates and we definitely were full when we left.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Water leaking from ceiling into a bucket. Wet floor hazard near bathroom.Bathrooms a bit unkept. Floor covering unclean and worn down despite dust broom efforts. The server was not rude but seemed extremly worn out and less than cordial. The place seemed outdated and had the feel of an overrun buffet. No ambiance at all. The food lacked appeal. The experience was overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I was so excited to celebrate two birthdays as I had not been in several years. I made reservations over a week in advance and on day of event they called and asked me to change. When I said I couldn't they informed me we would have to wait. Server was slow, somewhat disheveled, unorganized, made several mistakes and was Mia halfway through dinner. Chef was friendly and fun except at end when cleaning grill he got so sloppy he splashed hot oil on my two year old granddaughter's arm. Before we could figure out why she was crying, he disappeared...I believe he knew what he did. Food portions much smaller than what they used to be. Bathrooms need serious cleaning and update. Just an overall disappointing experience and one that cost about $500 with food, drinks and tip. Will not return to this location again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our chef was amazing! Very engaging and did tricks I've never seen any other chefs do. Our service was a little lackluster. The individuals at the host stand were rude and acted like we were bothering them. When we walked up to say we had a reservation in 15 minutes, one girl with long dark hair in a ponytail rolled her eyes at us. Our waitress was very scatterbrained and got all of our orders mixed up. She put in the wrong sushi roll so we didn't end up getting the correct one until we were almost done with dinner. All of our checks were incorrect--she mixed our meals up even with the other couple sitting at the end of the table. The staff kept going to the tables behind us to get pizza and snapping pictures. The girl who came over to deliver our desserts even had a to go box of pizza in her hand while handing us our ice cream...very strange. The chef made the entire experience worth it though. I wish I could remember his name to mention him here, but he did mention he had been with Benihana for 17 years.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I don't think I got my points from this reservation or the last one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

High expectations but the overall service was poor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We've come a lot but this was Not our best experience. They steak was NOT GOOD (very chewy) and or chef seemed inexperienced

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The bathrooms were dirty my meal took long and then the chef left out half of my sons meal we were basically mashed in a table with no room just so they could accomadate wouldn't recommend for dinner maybe it would be better for lunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a reservation but still had to wait. There were no additional seats or area to sit down while waiting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good I am allergic to shellfish which I told on line also before sitting me and also to server the table chef knew nothing preceded to cook I end up eating last on mothers day I was very mad but for my son I pretended to be OK he saved his money to take me to dinner my food was cooked in some other place not sure if I would eat there again service sucked

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent chef and food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED our experience! Will recommend, will return soon, totally enjoy the experience! Employees were SUPERB! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for for a great experience for my daughter's college graduation!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Casual, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for lunch on Mothers day weekend. Just average and overpriced for the meat quality that was served, everything was slightly overdone, even the rice. There are much better hibachi grills in the area for same pricing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Have been going to Benihana for many years and have never been disappointed. The food is always of very good quality. When I made reservation, I indicated it was my Son's birthday but he was not recognized nor honored which was a little disappointing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great time. Good food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Enjoyed the experience/show and food! We will definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This was the normal Benihana lunch experience that you expect. We had a good chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We have a later reservation at 9:00but when we got there there were no tables ready so we were not seated until 920. It took almost 15 minutes before we were waited on.
Then after the waitress took our order she said that the kitchen was shutting down so the soup was cold the salad wasn't fresh and when she took our order it wasn't right when the cook came out. There wasn't enough shrimp ,fried rice, or vegetables.
9:00 is not even the last reservation time. We were rushed and I feel liked we could not enjoy dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The open eating area in the bar had 1 server and the service was SLOW. The server was very nice and did the best he could but it makes no sense to have 3 greeters out front and 1 server in an area full of customers.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I dont know if the menu has changed, but I remember having more food for the value. It also seemed as though less food was served. We weren't served our rice, we had to request it, that is after the meat was served, that was a little disappointing! Not to mention that the salad and soup bowls stayed on our table so long that we had to request for the removal. The service was substandard and slow. I even had to ask for my birthday ice cream, it was brought without a candle and no singing was offered. Rethinking future visits. Very disappointed in the overall service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 1, 2017

You have to be RICH to eat here!
I love the food, love the entire concept but, sadly, unless I win the lottery, I most likely won't be back. And that's sad as I've spent practically all my later years birthdays at a Tappan (?) Restaurant. Many in Tampa, FL. Their prices were much more affordable
Maybe I'll look into other places here in Indianapolis.
Also, I offered an appetizer and never received it. Good thing I guess, money wise.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was the first time we have visit your Benihana and it was a wonderful experience. The food was good and we enjoyed atmosphere, and will recommend this restaurant to our friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Obviously understaffed. Waitress was slow to take orders, looked like she had too many tables. Had to ask to get cold drink refills, never did get hot green tea. 5 of 8 at the table were celebrating birthdays, just before we left we had to ask to get the traditional picture(s) taken. Food was good, Daniel did a good job preparing the food, orders were correct. We finally learned that there recently was a purging of staff, so some of the delay/oversight was probably due to that. So-o-o-o-o, food was OK but the overall experience was not as good as what we have enjoyed in the past.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 27, 2017

There is no need to review. This establishment doesnt consider member feedback, nor does management compensate for its mistakes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.