About Benihana - Indianapolis

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Indiana
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

good for groups (123)
special occasion (112)
kid-friendly (82)
See All
great for lunch (41)
fit for foodies (40)
hot spot (28)
romantic (20)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Always good but this time we had EMETERI ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Always good but this time we had EMETERIO as the chef and he was amazing. Asked him where he was from and apparently was at Benihana Chicago, and it showed. Put on a great show and more importantly the food was prepared wonderfully. Usually the only time we get exceptional preparation like this is when we visit the Benihana at Disney-Orlando. We will definitely want Emeterio again!

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy 29th

Dined 5 days ago

It's been a long time between visits for my wife and I. The last time we visited Benihana was In Chicago for my wife's birthday the first year of our marriage. This visit was to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. The food this time was much more satisfying than the Chicago visit. The skill of the young masterful chef was no less than inspiring. Hope he's being compensated well. Would recommend to anyone seeking a fun, reasonably priced, and different dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food as usual, Jorge is a great chef to get! Wait time for a chef was quite long, even with a reservation, but we were taken care of with a discount to offset the very long wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was bland and average, portions ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was bland and average, portions were small compared to price. I was not excited

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took our kids to Benihana for their f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We took our kids to Benihana for their first time and it was great. Our chef interacted very well with the kids and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had. W ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. Went to enjoy the fun of watching the chef but the food ended up being the highlight.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a problem with restaurant reporting ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Had a problem with restaurant reporting me as no show for dinner. I was there with a party of 8. Called manager and had to make another bogus reservation because there was no way to fix their mistake with Open Table. This ruined my Mother's Day celebration!

food4
ambience4
service4

We attended Benihana's for Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We attended Benihana's for Mother's Day this Sunday and everything was excellent, just like all previous visits..!!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The timing is absolutely horrible

Dined on April 28, 2016

I'm a reservations for party of two I arrived early I had to wait, I ordered right away I had to wait and additional 30 minutes until the cook came out to prepare our meals. And then the meal took 40 minutes to prepare. That is a very long time to eat lunch

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Probably okay for the younger set.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food was good but we didn't care for some of the odd sides. We felt a nice steak at other upscale restaurants would be a better experience for the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Hostess staff weren't the best

Dined on April 24, 2016

My reservation was at 8 but didn't get seated until 840. The host staff said its busy and nothing can be done other that wait. I was getting ready to leave when I decided to wait another 10 mins. Once at the table everything was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Waited 45 minutes at our table for the c ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Waited 45 minutes at our table for the chef with no explanation. Chef was friendly and quality of meal was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Teriyaki chicken was super ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Great dinner. Teriyaki chicken was super. Spicy chicken was tasty also.

food2
ambience3
service1

This USED to be my families favorite spe ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

This USED to be my families favorite special occasion restaurant. Tonight was the worst waiting service and smallest portions of salad and fried rice I have ever had in the 20+ years eating there, not to mention that we didn't even see the waitress to order a second cocktail. We were very disappointed and not sure if we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

me and my family have Benihana for dinne ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

me and my family have Benihana for dinner maybe about once or twice a week! The food never gets old and always is so delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food at usual! This was for my b ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Amazing food at usual! This was for my birthday and I enjoyed every bit of it. I come every year on my birthday for sure.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Benihana is my happy place

Dined on April 2, 2016

No matter what location in what city, the food is consistently delicious, the show the chefs put on is entertaining and adds to the dining experience. Wait service across the brand is lacking a bit, so you might wait for drink refills and check returns, but it's totally worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good time for a birthday

Dined on March 28, 2016

The whole family likes this place. Birthday song with instruments and a photo give it a special touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Easter family dinner. It was the c ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Easter family dinner. It was the choice of my grand kids. They loved it and we all left full of delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its one of my favorite places to eat. Th ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Its one of my favorite places to eat. The atmosphere is energetic and the food is wonderful. It was my b day and each time we come we meet some of the best people. I love it....I wish they did offer a brunch we would be there..

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Benihana Indianapolis A great place to dine after work. Service great. Filet & chicken was fantastic . Grilled Salmon delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great server. Always a fun time at Benih ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great server. Always a fun time at Benihana's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. I have never had a bad meal there

Dined on March 16, 2016

Service was excellent; Sake was very warm; Food was beyond delicious. Couldn't expect any better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

A little expensive but delicious, better ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

A little expensive but delicious, better than all the local hibachi grills I have been to in Indy. The chef was awesome but the server was just ok.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on March 15, 2016

Had a poor experience due to management not having the power to authorize or override birthday coupon

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed Jorge our chef and had a wonderful waitress, unfortunately can't remember her name but she was very attentive to our table and stayed on top of things. We really enjoyed our visit and the food was superb. Would recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beniihana

Dined on March 10, 2016

Had a great dinner my grandson. The service was a little slow but the chef was very entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good Food, Bad Service

Dined on March 1, 2016

The Chef and food were great but the server, not so much. I asked 3 times for a tea refill and 4 times for a kid's sprite refill before they ever arrived. It seems once you are seated and the server does their initial thing, you are forgotten forever!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, the chefs are always ente ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great service, the chefs are always entertaining

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Food, Service Is Okay

Dined on February 27, 2016

The last couple of visits it has been very difficult to get the old "birthday celebration" from the staff. We usually bring big groups in on birthdays but have started to consider other options. Still enjoy the food but tired of begging for the birthday experience. Very dissapointing!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, poor service

Dined on February 20, 2016

As always the chef and food were great. The bar service was very good and received our drinks quickly. The waitress once we were at the hibachi was slow and rude as always. I've been going for years quite frequently and the service has never changed for the better. Make sure to verify your order with the chef and also order your drinks faster than you normally would. It's a good 10-15 min turnaround before you will see the waitress again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a couples fellowship & dinner for church couples ministry at Benihana's. Every couple enjoyed the food, service and enjoyed our chef. We had several couples come who have never been to a Japanese Steak House. Everything was excellent !

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Service weak

Dined on February 17, 2016

We eat here a lot. My son loves the place. He's 20 btw. Service was the worst we've had. Asked for drinks twice and our sushi twice. Our food got to table just before first drink. Other tables not that slow. Had 7:30 reservation. 8:20 before we had human contact. Hope it was a fluke. Would have left if not for my son. You should thank him

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great show great food fair price but under staffed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

No too happy!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was very surprised that the bar/dinning area was not very clean at all. The tables not wiped and cup had something on it as if it had not been clean. We first went to sit at the bar and have dinner as well. But the bar was setting up. Crazy considering it was Valentine's Day so of course it is busy and things should have been together. Also in the dinning/bar area it came across as if this areas is not take care as much as the more popular area. So sad because I loved this place until good into this area. Plus with the price for food and drinks I could have went somewhere else.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Welcoming

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service is always great. The food is excellent and I enjoy coming it is a great environment

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit and I'm sure it ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first visit and I'm sure it won't be our last. When we first got in to check in for our time the greeter was a little rude but I figured she was overwhelmed. The place was packed. We were early for our check in and we're still seated immediately. Our table was great. We sat with some fun people. I ordered the sea n land. So I had sea scallops and steak and it was amazing. The steak melted in my mouth and the fun sauces they serve with the meal were great too. I can't wait to go back. Also it was a lot of food. So for the price we paid it was worth it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good as always

Dined on February 14, 2016

We go to a lot of Japanese Restaurant's and this is the best by a long shot.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had my two sons and nephew with me and it was still an amazing experience! To see the smiles on my babies faces were priceless! Jorge P was awesome and make sure the kids were entertained!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good at Benihana

Dined on February 12, 2016

We go to Benihana quite a bit. We always love it. The food never leaves us dissatisfied. We really like all the chefs there, but there is one in particular that we really like. His name is Bocho. He is a wonderful cook and is social to everyone at the table. If you go there, I hope you get him!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.