About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (36)
Fun (31)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Casual (22)
Kid-friendly (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
1097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 17, 2018

Made a reservation for 7 pm, was seated around 8 pm...not a good start. After seated, took until at least 8:30 to even get the chef to the table. Finally started eating around 9 and then there were issues with the order, chef was confused about which steaks were supposed to be cooked to which temperatures and started to cook everything to well-done instead of med-rare. When I finally got a refill on my drink, I had to send it back because the glass had something brown caked on the inside in multiple places. Overall, not the experience I would expect when paying around $60-70 per person for a meal. Fun for a novelty, but I won't be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 16, 2018

This was our first time trying Benihana's. Food was delicious. Was expecting more from the chef. Saw other tables doing more exciting things etc.. Will try again, maybe just a different chef. Overall it was a nice night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 15, 2018

It is always great food....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 15, 2018

Corner table was extremely cold bc the outdoor vents were allowing the fresh (cold) air outside to flow into the restaurant. Service was very very slow. It took a good 30-45 minutes for food to roll in.

Once service started things flowed a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

My favorite restaurant so I’m certainly biased but it’s hands down the BEST Hibachi restaurant! The times I attempted to go elsewhere, it never measured up. I go at least 1-2+ times a month.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Love, love Benihana. Really great service tonight from our server! She was ON it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

The actual server was new and he didn’t speak loud enough- even after multiple guests had told him that they could not hear/understand what he was saying. The chef was good, could have smiled a bit more and showed more enthusiasm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Had a great time here for my birthday dinner. Our Server was really nice and she wore these cool star glass and preformed really well while cooking. Did not like how I could sit with my family due to number of seat at one cooker

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on January 11, 2018

Horrible experience. Took 1 he 45 min for the chef to cone to our table. Other tables sat down after us and were served before us. While they did discount the meal it was still expensive and disappointing. It was for a birthday and that landed flat for the birthday person. Ugh. Won’t be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

We have been visiting the one in Indianapolis for over 25 years. Love it! We always look forward to our next meal there. The staff is always friendly. The cooks are amazing. The fried rice is the best fried rice I have ever eaten. There are a lot of good places to eat, but Benihana's in
Indianapolis is out favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

Seated with other diners who were on their phones the entire meal. Ignored their children. Their conversation on their phones were filled with obscenities. Our chef was apparently filling in and was not entertaining at all and my meal was wrong but still very good. So a lot depends on your fellow diners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

1/7/2018 at 4:00

Staff seemed minimal for front and back of house. To go orders seemed to have been lost, there were several empty tables, however not clean or being cleaned. After waiting 15 minutes to be seated, still watching the staff try to keep up with current tables and to go orders, dirty tables still not touched, and no idea of when we would be seated, we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

This is probably the worse experience we have had at the restaurant. And I hate it, because I LOVE the food here.
We got put at a table that had two extra seats added along with another party. Now, I understand that we wouldn't have a table alone, and that is fine, I like sharing the table with other parties. But when the seats are already a little close, then they shove two more chairs to the table, it was very uncomfortable for all of us. We kept sharing looks with the other party like "you have to be kidding me". The chef was entertaining and great. Our host did not offer anyone at the table the dessert that came with their meal. And when we asked about it he said "yeah, sure, I can get that for you". Like it was something extra we were asking for. For the price we pay here, I expect a little better. I probably won't be going back anytime soon.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

We had to wait 45 minutes even through we had a reservation. The restaurant was extremely cold and very dirty. We were very disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Not a good experience. Food was burnt and management was less than stellar in how they handled it. Thanks for showing us how not to handle customer service, James. BTW, this used to be one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

This restaurant has really gone down hill. The chefs are from anywhere within the US and are not trained properly. I have been coming here for years used to be my favorite spot not so much . I wouldn’t recommend anyone go to this location no time soon. They have a lot of kinks that need to be worked out ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Taking a large family to Benihana is always an inexpensive trip, but the atmosphere is fun and the food was very good. Not thrilled with the changes they made to their loyalty program so will probably reduce the number of times we visit each year, but the meal experience itself was very nice.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

It was good other than we had reservations at 6:30pm and didn't get a table until 7:30pm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

This visit wasn't great for me. Don't really have a server in my area so if I needed something I had to ask a manager or someone else helping out. And when I was ready to leave at 615. Didn't get my bill and checked out until 655pm. So I wasn't happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Atrocious beginning to end. Worst service I’ve ever ev

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

DO NOT go to this location if it is cold outside. My wife and 4 kids all froze during the entire dinner. It was miserable. Our chef did not arrive until well around 60-70 minutes after our reservation was made. It was a terrible experience and the manager's only comment was "just imagine how I feel after being here all day".

Our waitress was the only thing positive about the experience...she did what she could to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Benihana for NYE is our annual tradition. The cocktails are good and the food is great. I recommend this for groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was not as I expected. The food itself did not taste any special, only the way they make it in front of customers is special and fun. However, our cook was not fun at all. He even did not smile and it was weird sitting in front of unknown people with a chef who did not try at all to make it a little warm. The experience of having the food grilled in front of me was intresting, but only for once. The food was too expensive. We payed 100 dollars for two people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Made a reservation 1 week in advance still took 2 hours to be seated after my arrival at my reserved time. And my server Was horrible.. I brought a birthday cake and asked for it to be stored and handled with care .. It broken by someone who handled it in the back but management did nothing about it. Very disappointed.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Don't bother making a reservation here-we sat down almost an hour after our reservation and were surrounded by NUMEROUS other parties complaining and upset about the same issue.

They should have been up front from the beginning, right when we walked in the door. Instead, we were fed a string of lies as we continually waited for an hour past our reservation. Will likely never come here again-at least not for a special occasion like this was SUPPOSED to be.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We waited over an hour and a half and we even had a reservation. We were skipped over. We also didn’t get the chef we requested so we received a sub par chef who was on their 3rd day of work. I expected better of Benihana

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

We were there to celebrate a birthday. We arrived ten minutes before the reservation, and then were not sat until half an hour later. Host staff was rude and unapologetic, server tried but seemed out of his depth (spoke way too quietly in a loud restaurant and didn't serve us our rice until after the hibachi chef had cooked the rest of our meal and cleaned the grill). I don't think we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

I love the food there. Recently they have aquired some new chefs and they are not very good with cooking. The food has been burnt and they are a little careless with spilling things. One of the gentlemen at our table had allergies to seafood and the chef got all the way too the end of cooking his meal and added the seafood to his plate anyway rushing to get done. I will be asking for the regulars from now on. If i can’t get one of those i will pass on eating there at that time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Usually our experience is good at benihana. This time it was less than stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Every thing was good or better except for being seated. We were all there within 5 minutes of each other but was seated 25 minutes later.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food was good. The service was not exciting. The cooking entertainment was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Worst experience ever at this restaurant. Used to love it. Service was extremely slow. We had 5:30 reservations and did not leave the restaurant until 8:30 (4 children 2-9). The Hibachi chef did not interact with the table (and we had our four young grandchildren really looking forward to it) the first bill brought to the table and when it was returned with the credit card statements it was $160 higher with a nonchalant response as our waitress was walking away “must have been the wrong bill the first time”. We asked our server and the manager to turn off a heat register that blasted hot air on two of our party to no avail and when we asked to speak to the manager about our experience, the first time he just said it is what it is and as we were leaving he lied straight to our faces and said he gave a percentage off our bill. We looked at the bill and it was complete. Will never go there again and will tell anyone who asks about it not to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

The cook was new, so he had several mistakes. He burnted the fried eggs, and didn’t have all the ingredients that were needed. He forgot to give us our extra order of fried rice. This place is going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

This was my 57th birthday. The resturaunt called that morning of the 27th to say that the water pipes had burst. So they had to cancel. They could not tell me when they would be available. I never received a call back to know when I could reschedule. The $30 gift certificate expired New Years day. So right now I can not recommend this Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

As I wrote to you in a previous email when we got to the restaurant a sign was posted on the door. 'SORRY CLOSED BURST PIPES' They should have sent an email or a phone call: we went to PF CHANG and were treated like royalty. Never heard a word from Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Went over there about 2 hour drive to find out the blew a pipe. They tried to call but left no message.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

They called me at 5 minutes before our reservation to tell us the restaurant was closed due to a water main break. I wasn't very happy as I was pulling in their parking lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

The service was horrible and the restaurant was extremely cold. Our server came to our table three times and wouldn’t put our meal in. He had a horrible attitude and wouldn’t refill our drinks and had an issue with doing the birthday celebration song. I would not recommend this restaurant at the Keystone in crossing location to anyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Our waiter, Orlando, forgot that we ordered a sushi roll, but did bring the other family at our grill their roll. Maybe more waiters should be hired, so the waiter is not handling too many tables and can remember to bring other items and refill beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Waited 3 hours never got food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.