About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fun (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Customer assaulted waitress, really long wait for chef.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Delicious fresh cooked food!!! Always a good time!! Food simple and again, delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Just ok. Nothing spectacular. Food ok. Pricey. Probably wouldn’t go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We chose this restaurant for a birthday party get together. Our waitress was either really scatter brained or had way too many tables to take care of. We had to ask several times for our drink refills. There would be long periods of time we did not see her. The cook was nice and fun. The food was good (average), but the amount you received for the prices was crazy! (In a bad way) We did not get very many vegies at all and we had to pay xtra for the fried rice. We were supposed to get steamed rice which we got about 5 minutes after the cook left our table. Two of the girls in our party sat under an air conditioning vent which kept leaking water drops on them the entire dinner.
The birthday girl had a good time but my thought is the food is way way over priced and I will not be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was great as always and we had a great time for my wife’s bday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Benihana where ever I go are so consistent, I always have a good time and great food... just make sure you have the yum yum sauce!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We love Benihana's!!! The funny thing is we only go when it's someones birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and had a great time. Food was delicious and Pedro was a great cook and fun to watch, and our waitress was Lauren and she could not have been more attentive and fun. Thanks for making this visit so pleasant as our last experience was not as good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I have been coming to Benihana's for years. We come for lunch and for dinner. We visit this restaurant at least 3-4 times a month. This visit I felt like they are losing their awesome vibe. Food was good-like always. But the atmosphere was more of a noisy and dirty atmosphere.
Sad for us because our family loves your restaurant more than any restaurant in the Indy area.
To add icing on the cake.....Our visit was a Saturday Sept 23rd 2017 and they just billed my credit card today October 5, 2017. Who bills a credit card almost 2 weeks later. I hope things go back to the way they were before so we can continue to come a lot. Thank you for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was my fiancé’s birthday. We traveled from Fort Wayne. Food tasted great, portions are smaller than Sapporo . But the staff were great. As well as our chef . Table space is a bit crowded but overall We had a great time and would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Fun and enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

They seemed to be very short staffed. Had to flag down a manager to get water and order. Floor was sticky under the table and in the restroom. We go to Benihana very often and this is a major change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

First time dining in and it was a great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

This was my worse experience at Benihana's. My lobster tail was over cooked. I ordered a sushi roll before my meal and I did not receive it until after the chef was done preparing our meal. The server cried thoughout our entire meal. I mean tears coming down and face bright red. We tried to encourage her but she responded negatively. The supervisor came to the table and we asked him what was wrong with her and told him she was crying. He brushed it off like he didn't care. We were there to celebrate my birthday which we had to remind her several time after I provided her my birthday certificate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was great but our waitress must have been new. She was a mess and all over the place. Had to keep reminding her to bring drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We go to Benihana for special occasions! We
are always satisfied with the staff, chef and
especially the food! Highly recommend this
restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I took my fiancée here for her birthday. She couldn't be more happy. She loved the service, food and just couldn't stop talking about it on the way home. Keep in mind, we've been here before, but she described it and talked about it non-stop as if it was our first time. She wants your recipe! Keep up the good work. I look forward to another visit. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

good food, good service, I feel we didn't get as much food as we usually do.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Order was wrong even after pointing to it on menu and confirming it with cook. There was a bug in my soup. I was given the wrong drink and when I questioned it, I was told it was the correct drink. My bill had the name of the incorrect drink that I was given. The chicken was over cooked. This was a bad experience. It will be quite a while before I am willing to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have really enjoyed my experiences here in the last but this was an exception. Despite having a reservation our dinner did not begin for another 1.5 hours. I'm not sure what the point of having a reservation was. We ordered a bottle of wine and the waitress did not know how to use a corkscrew, it was awful to watch and embarrassing for us in front of the rest of the table. Additionally, she took our orders and then when the chef arrived our orders had all been communicated incorrectly. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and it was supposed to be a special night but it was anything but. I don't think I will return and now I will be taking my husband out to dinner again to try to make his birthday a bettter memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

It's was nice for my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Me and My son love trying new things. I have always wanted to go here and I was pleasantly surprised. Fabulous food. Entertaining. Great service. Will encourage everyone to go here.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service and food was good but I did not like the "Happy Birthday" activities. Three people in our group were celebrating birthdays. The birthday celebration group did not come by our table. I asked the server for the customary group picture. Initially no one came till I asked again. Then the person who came did not say a word, did not ask us to smile but just took the picture when none of us were ready. I have had better experiences for birthday celebrations there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was a dissapointing experience. The timing was off between our chef and our server. We were never given salads. The rice came out after most of us were nearly done with our entrees. This was even after three requests for the rice. We were also never offered the hot tea that was supposed to come with our meals. It just seemed like no one knew what was going on. This was my husband's first time eating there and I felt so bad about how dissapointing the whole process was. We spent over $200 and I would have rather spent that money somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love this place!!!! One of my Favorite places!! Our cook was fun and made it enjoyable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great & friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The server was very pleasant and kid friendly. She was very informative and patience. She made my daughter birthday an success!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food was fine, just very noisy the Tuesday night we were there. Three year old covered his ears.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Monday night service
Terrible
Celebrating birthdays
Did not get Birthday song
Or any drink refills or dishes cleared
A mess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Said they could not find my reservation even though I had just confirmed it earlier today. They did let us eat, finally. The new management people are a far cry from former staff. Ugh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Taz was our chef and he was incredible. He was so caring toward my two little boys and my 89 year old grandmother; everyone had an awesome experience because of him. It's evident that he takes pride in his job. We'll definitely be requesting him next time we come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Love it this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was great. I love that place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We have been visiting your site since it opened, twice a year. We look forward to family birthday celebrations there (we have one cluster in March, one cluster in August). With that many visits to compare against, unfortunately I have to say our recent visit was poor - which is the ONLY visit in that entire time I could rate as poor. NO negatives on the chef. We felt constantly rushed by our server. With our food just being recently served and the chef just leaving the table, the server came out with clamshells for leftovers. We sent her back. We had not finished our meals and she came out with a platter of ice cream. We sent it back. At one point, I looked back to see if the lobby was full of guests, thinking we must be holding the train up - no it was empty, we were at the end of the evening with other tables empty and full. Did she have a doctors appointment she was late for? A hot date? If she was in that kind of a rush, she should have handed our table off to another server so she could leave. Sorry, left a bad taste in my mouth after a great meal.

As an aside, I was glad we asked to have an additional group photo taken with one of our phones. The supplied picture of our group was so red-toned, it looked as if we were either totally sunburned, or the building was on fire.

Hopefully a better experience next time?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was the worst experience ever! Place was dirty, service was extremely rude and slow. Took about 30 min after ordered for a glass of wine and then it was incorrect. Had to pay extra for fried rice which is typically included in hiabiatchi style restaurant. Server of food was quiet not engaging at all . They then messed up our bill and even after a week a credit hasnt been applied which included getting the manager involved. We thought we were gonna get an upscale experience and it was the worst ever. Dont waste your time or $$ at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our chief was boring and not involving the table into a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It's a good restaurant! Good service, tho you have to watch the waiters and waitresses they'll take extra money off your credit card

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wait area was chaotic!! Very disorganized and although wait person was friendly once the soup and salad came out , she disappeared until she brought us the check.
Go somewhere else unless you really want to eat here !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Worst experience we have had at Benihana is Decades! We have been celebrating birthdays at Benihana since I was a kid and we will never do it again. Service was horrible. An hour and a half before we were even served salads and soup. The steak was paper thin about the thickness of thick bacon. Very disappointing. We didn't get to sing happy birthday and did not get the traditional Benihana picture. When we spoke to the manager her reply was "you can leave" We will never go back again. I don't know what has happened but not even close to what we expect from Benihana. Just horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The waitress barely knew the menu when I was ordering my food she was telling me that " we don't have that" yes you do have this it's right here on your menu. So she had to read the menu for every single person at the table ordering. She charged us for chicken fried rice when all we wanted was just fried rice. "But as she said you guys don't do just fried rice" I ordered a water, my daughter ordered a water, my boyfriend ordered a lemonade. The water came out for the whole table and she didn't put ice in the water so it was luke warm which was GROSS. My boyfriend never got his lemonade after asking the waitress several times for it. I had to personally get up go to the bar and ask for a cup of ice so I could have cold water for my daughter and I. Then I got up again to get a cup for the couple next to me. We asked the waitress to take our wine glasses several times as we where not drinking this is the whole table she never did she never took our salad our soup bowls as you know there is not a lot of room on the table so we put the dirty dishes behind us, since we where next to a wall and we told the waitress, the dishes where still there when we left. I spent 60 dollars on horrible service, there are many restaurants like this I don't have to come back to this one if you can't get good help. Your waitresses are lazy and they don't want to work. You ask them to do something they have an attitude with you. It'll be awhile before I come back here. Was not worth the money to be treated so rudely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.