About Benihana - Indianapolis

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Please remember that we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2:30 p.m. – 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Banzai Hour at 5 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Benihana - Indianapolis
Miso Soup
Fried Rice Heart
Fried Rice
Ice Cream
Chef
Seafood Diablo With Udon
Steak
Rum Punch

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for Groups (61)
Kid-friendly (44)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was slow and it seemed a lit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The service was slow and it seemed a little dirty. We had a bug on our grill and they cooking of the food was not very well organized.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value4

The food is great. I love benihana. I wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food is great. I love benihana. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time and the experience ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was my first time and the experience was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was great as always. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My experience was great as always. Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was great and the food taste gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The chef was great and the food taste great. The server though was just ok. She forgot to tell the chef that my guest and I wanted no vegetables in our rice and she also forget to put in double rice for a guy at my table. She also never gave me my to-go salads, which are included in my meal but I wanted wrapped up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

It was great new experience. The only ne ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was great new experience. The only negative was the fact that a couple gets stuck with a bunch of strangers and if they happen to be unfiendly as two at our table were,it takes away from the joy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food preparation and selection ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very good food preparation and selection. The chef paid attention to our dining preferences .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant's air conditioning was ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant's air conditioning was out and it was extremely hot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The overall experience as always

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The overall experience as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food portions were very small and food w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food portions were very small and food was just ok . My chicken was very tough .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Waiting time once we sat at atable was q ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waiting time once we sat at atable was quite long.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything was good. We had a party of ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everything was good. We had a party of 10, which was crowded for 1 table. Other than that, food and service was great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This place has really changed in the las ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This place has really changed in the last year. It's become a hectic atmosphere with barely passable service. Our waitress was nice, but looked frazzled and really didn't know how to provide efficient service. She forgot a number of our items as well as others at the table. The food quality has gone down, and items that were once standard are now additional charges (such as the rice prepared by the chef). Very disappointing and we doubt that we'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

It was a Birthday celebration. At the en ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a Birthday celebration. At the end of the meal the waitress had forgotten about the birthday. We had to remind her. Ether she was new or just could not get things right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Leon was our Chef. He appeared to be ne ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Leon was our Chef. He appeared to be new, but a lot of our food was burnt tasting, because the onions and rice were a little crispy. He was great with interacting with everyone and will improve over time. Still a great experience. I work in customer service so I am aware that if no one tells you of problems or shortcomings, then you don't know where improvement is needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

We love it! They are always great with ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We love it! They are always great with our whole family! From 3-41!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not many options for Vegetarians. Try it ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Not many options for Vegetarians. Try it for fun Hibachi experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The grandchildren wanted to go to Beniha ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The grandchildren wanted to go to Benihanas. I hadn't been there in years so I looked at Yelp. Lots of bad reviews, none of which were pertinent to our visit. It was clean- they honored our reservation immediately-the chef was good- the food was good and the service was good, and I am really picky.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Luckily this time we had one of the most ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Luckily this time we had one of the most experienced chef's at our table as well as one of the best long time servers at Benihana, Indianapolis. This team always makes our experience memorable and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

After being seated we waited 30 minutes ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

After being seated we waited 30 minutes for the chef to come to our table. 2 minutes in and he picks up a large container of sauce and drops its splattering it all over me. His response was to ask did that get you. He handed me dry towel and that was the end of it for him. We then had to wait 10 minutes for amanager who wasn't willing help at all. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great time. Only issue was it was hot! K ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great time. Only issue was it was hot! Kids loved it too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great as usual. Chef was excel ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was great as usual. Chef was excellent! Enjoyed it immensely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

As usual, Benihana is tasty. Went for la ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As usual, Benihana is tasty. Went for late lunch, still pricey but doable. I like the mai tai s...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it and always get excited coming ba ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love it and always get excited coming back..#yumyumsauceisthebomb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Benihana Attend on occasions but ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love Benihana

Attend on occasions but every year from

my birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overpriced drinks, food was just ok, j ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

overpriced drinks, food was just ok, just expensive for chicken breast, thin steak, a couple mushrooms and onions ,rice and two shrimp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

One of my favorite restaurants where we ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants where we frequent several times a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef, Daniel, was excellent! We lov ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our chef, Daniel, was excellent! We love the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We went to this restaurant on my birthda ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We went to this restaurant on my birthday. We were given an impostor for a chef. He was an old man that could not speak or read English. He was attempting to speak spanish to our waitress which could not communicate in that language. He did not have any tricks up his sleeve to flatter the crowd at our table. My kids were disappointed and asked me if something was wrong with the man because he seemed overwhelmed and confused. He could not read our ticket and gave my food to other people. He made no attempt to make it right with me. I spoke to a manager upon leaving after I paid my bill and he offered us nothing. He said he would give is a voucher/coupon but the restaurant was all out. We have dined at several Japanese steakhouses. I have never been scammed like this though. Save your money and choose a different place. Our bill was 170.00 for 5 people and left unhappy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

this was a terrible experience, the serv ...

 
 (Hong Kong)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

this was a terrible experience, the service was horrible... at one point the chef dropped a used fork on my wife's plate and then just picked it up and continued putting food on her plate... this was another patrons used fork. The chef spoke zero English so the other people at the table asked for things and he didn't understand and just made a standard meal... they wanted their shrimp mixed in with their yakisoba...I normally love bennihana but this has made sure i will not return to the indy location... it was also dirty and as we sat their we never had any platees cleaned from appetizers.... the manager did come apologize and gave us all 20 dollar gift cards to the table for the terrible experience and the chef Jorge not listenting to anyone and the not clearing of plates so at least they saw how messed up the place was... not a good Saturday night experience..... and I am not asking for authentic Japanese chefs.... I am not stupid.... but at least part of the experience at bennihana with our kids is the interaction with the chef and if they can do that this is not a 40 dollar steak.....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I were lucky enough to buy t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I were lucky enough to buy the meals for 2 other young couples that were seated at our table. One of the couples included a gal working toward her masters in medicine at IU and her fiance is in the Air Force. Made me very happy to buy their dinners and they were very grateful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was My first time going for my birthday ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Was My first time going for my birthday . The food was awsome and the Chef was just great . Prices were fair i will be going again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times. Usually a very good experience but this night was an exception. The room was uncomfortable because not enough was done to balance the heat from the grills in the room. It was quite warm. The Chicken dish I had was very over cooked. It was difficult to chew. The Waitress was difficult to understand and didn't explain our options very well at all. It would also help if the chefs could vary their entertainment routine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

It's okay, the prices aren't that reason ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's okay, the prices aren't that reasonable. Which is why I would go there for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The cooks used to really put on a show. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The cooks used to really put on a show. This time, however, ours was really not energetic or engaging. It just looked like a job to him - I don't even recall him smiling or talking to anyone in our group (unless it was to answer a question). Our waitress wasn't particularly friendly either. The food was good, but overpriced. Our meal for 6 was $165 before tip and really wasn't anything special. We went for my son's birthday - more for the experience - and walked out feeling a bit shorted :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

I usually have great wait staff service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I usually have great wait staff service here but this visit it was extremely slow and a few things were messed up. I wonder if management has changed. Sad not to see the usual familiar faces working- I hope it was just their days off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Love this place!!!!! The people are amaz ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love this place!!!!! The people are amazing, the food is great and the place is awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of six celebrating a bir ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were a party of six celebrating a birthday. We made reservations online and arrived on time. The restaurant had just opened for the day and we had to wait at least 20 minutes while they prepared a table. We then had two other people added to our table which surprised us making it hard for our party to communicate due to the way our seats were arranged. This was a first time visit for two in our party and the cook was hard to understand and became rude at one point. The food was good but it took a while to get our check and even longer for them to come back to collect. I've had better meals of this type at other locations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We went to Benihana for my birthday on J ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to Benihana for my birthday on July 4th. We figured the restaurant would be less busy due to the holiday. We were correct as only half of the tables were occupied, but we did not count on the wait staff to be so limited. There were two waiters working and while they did their best, it was too much for them. Not once were we asked if we wanted another drink and water refills did not happen. Ordered a crunchy roll and it came out after the fried rice was prepared and served. The restaurant appeared to be less than clean and overall kind of chaotic. While the food was good, the overall impression we walked out with was the restaurant had gone down hill since our last visit there. We might give it another try, but there are several other new restaurants in the area very similar to Benihana that are cleaner and have a nicer ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was not great. They forgot rice ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was not great. They forgot rice side dishes for the two kids in our party, had empty water glasses for too long, and had to ask twice for the ice cream that was supposed to come with the kids' dinners. Our chef didn't really put on a show (no train, no volcano, spatula twirling) that we saw going on at the other tables. Only reason for the three star overall rating was because the food that we did get was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.