About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday. We reopen for dinner and Banzai Hour at 5 p.m.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-indianapolis - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
California Roll - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Sushi - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Trio - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef Trick - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Miso Soup - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Fried Rice Heart - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Fried Rice - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Ice Cream - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Chef - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Seafood Diablo With Udon - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Steak - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Rum Punch - Benihana - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Fun (28)
Good for a Date (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
People Watching (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (13)
Family Style (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great time and a great meal at ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always a great time and a great meal at Benihana. One of our favorites.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to love Benihana but will probabl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I used to love Benihana but will probably never return. The service and quality of food continue to decrease. I took my wife there for her birthday but we both left regretting our choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Since it opened, my family has gone to t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Since it opened, my family has gone to this restaurant at least once a year, every year. The quality has never lagged, on my opinion. As the franchise that that started the craze for Japanese steakhouses, it is the standard bearer, and has never wavered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Constistally great food!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Constistally great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I do not like the noise and especially d ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I do not like the noise and especially do not like the chefs who clang their tools extremely loud. You are usually seated with other people you don't know, sometimes it's okay and sometimes it's annoying. My favorite reason to go here is that if you don't want to engage with someone (like a sister in law) in your group, you can distance yourself at the other end of the table if you plan ahead. I would suggest they cut the meat into smaller pieces or make knives available upon request. I go because my spouse likes to go there for his birthday. It's overload for introverts. Extraverts will probably be thrilled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was not hot and very mediocre. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was not hot and very mediocre. The temp. of the room was chilly. The rice was a big gooey, sticky mess. It was overpriced for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Lady sitting at our table was absolutely ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lady sitting at our table was absolutely obnoxious. Our waiter or our chef should have shut her down. Too much drink, almost ruined our night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was slow due to shortage of cook ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was slow due to shortage of cook. Staff very friendly and professional . Food was on point as usual.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Waited over 45 minutes to be seated with ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waited over 45 minutes to be seated with our reservations

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent New Years Eve dinner!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent New Years Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently a spectacular meal. The fi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistently a spectacular meal. The filet and lobster was perfect. Ordered the filet rare and got it rare. It's a great experience watching them cook the food right in front of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was awesome. Daniel was a great hi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was awesome. Daniel was a great hibachi chef. We had fun!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was sub par. I was put by ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My experience was sub par. I was put by the door which there was a draft because it was 10 degrees outside. The cook rushed my food and it was very inedible. I ordered a chilli shrimp roll and was given an old roll that was not fresh at all. The rice was over cooked and the chicken was slimy. I would like someone to call me back about this experience because it is entirely too much to type.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

always good & always busy, a nice break ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

always good & always busy, a nice break from the typical order/serve/eat & entertaining as well - you won't leave hungry or unhappy

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. The service wasn't v ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was very good. The service wasn't very good. Our table waited at least 20 minutes before the chef came out to cook. Our waiter never came around for drink refills. I had to track him down twice to get refills and still he didn't bring them. We requested a water refill at least 3 times and never got it. I would suggest retraining the waiter and if he doesn't improve let him go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Although, our waitress was nice and frie ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Although, our waitress was nice and friendly, our chef was a bit disengaged with our table. We didn't get all of our sauces, but my group tried to be aware of the holiday season as it was two days after Christmas. The services was not horrible, but I have seen better from the stuff there. Nothing to strongly complain about was something that I noticed.

It could have been a ruff day for the business and enter your could have just been at a low as the evening was coming to an end.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

An overall enjoyable experience. We enco ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

An overall enjoyable experience. We encountered an unusual delay of nearly 2 hours likely due to a high volume of guests. When notified about this management responded immediately and offered a generous discount. We will certainly be back attributing this uncharacteristic experience to an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

One of our favorites for birthdays and C ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of our favorites for birthdays and Christmas. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very over priced for a meal that was und ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very over priced for a meal that was under seasoned, and generally bland. Over $200 (with tip) for four people that included only two alcoholic drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good food and fun. Staff was accomm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very good food and fun. Staff was accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The hostess had a bad attitude but every ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The hostess had a bad attitude but everybody else was fine !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my mom's 80th Birthday. We ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went for my mom's 80th Birthday. We really enjoyed it. Food was great and atmosphere was awesome. A little pricey.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I suppose I should have expected some no ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I suppose I should have expected some noise but this place was over the top. I've eaten in cafeterias with less noise.

The food was good and watching it being prepared was entertaining. If that's your thing check it out but I won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Our waitress was extremely slow and cont ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our waitress was extremely slow and continued to make excuses for herself. Several of the orders were taken incorrectly.

In the end She even said what her base pay was and that she didn't get paid as much as the chefs did. She also told us what the others at the table tipped. We didn't feel this was appropriate.

The food was excellent and our chef was good! So the experience overall was worth the money.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Continuing my personal tradition of gett ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Continuing my personal tradition of getting Rocky's Choice and chicken fried rice in celebration of a birthday (usually my birthday). This Indianapolis location was fantastic, from service to the quality of the food & presentation. Thank you Benihana - Indianapolis!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we love Benihana and we espec ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, we love Benihana and we especially enjoy that you are able to get a $30 birthday coupon to use towards your meal during your birthday month. We eat here a few times a year so we will definitely be back, especially since we purchased the gift card and get a $10 gift card free.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 7:30. We were no ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:30. We were not seated until after 8:00. ( We were told they were busy and had no seats available. So the reservations were meaningless ). Once seated, service was extremely slow. We didn't get all our main courses until 9:15. We will NOT go back and do not recommend. Service overall was poor and staff was NOT friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was ok.. has been better but everyo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food was ok.. has been better but everyone was super friendly and service was quick.. kids always love the show. Another person at the table threw a fit over allergies to scallops but didn't tell chef or waitress so it wasn't his fault.. they did great trying to accommodate it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I just love this place AWESOME FOOD. AND ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I just love this place AWESOME FOOD. AND I LOVE THE SHOW THAT THE CHEFS PUT ON.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the Benihanas of old! This use to be ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Not the Benihanas of old! This use to be the premier place to eat Japanese cuisine in Indy, and now it's one of the lowest rungs on a very large list of Hibachi restaurants. Very loud and busy, and not as personal or exclusive, as it once was. A "Chucky Cheese" with the price of four star restaurant. The service was ok, but even the food was lacking the quality it once had. The spices were missing and it seemed like a short order cook was just filling the order. Not a place that we will be returning to anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Benihana is always a treat. The food is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Benihana is always a treat. The food is always consistent, so there are no "surprises" with an occasional bad meal that you run into with so many restaurants. If you like Tepanyaki, this is the place to go. The servers and chefs are great, so remember to be gracious and tip the chef at the table when he is done and make sure you tip your waitress. They are worth every penny:)

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Last Saturday we had made a reservation ...

vip
 (Amsterdam)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Last Saturday we had made a reservation for 7.30pm and arrived just a few minutes before. When it was past 8pm and we still weren't seated we decided to leave.

The noice level was also too loud for our taste. It´s a place very suited for families with children who need to be entertained. But if you want to come out for a nice dinner, just together, to talk and enjoy food, this is not the place to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

We have been dining at this Benihana for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been dining at this Benihana for 25 years. This experience was awful. It appeared to be overbooked and understaffed. The restaurant was filthy. Our server put her finger in every soup and salad bowl as she placed them at our table. Overall, just unpleasant for spending so much money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Very nice dining experience. Been to Ben ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very nice dining experience. Been to Benihanas several times here and in Chicago. Every visit was just as good as the other. Keep up the great service and tasty cuisine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bosco is awesome and very entertaining

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Bosco is awesome and very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious. Highly recommend. I had the H ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious. Highly recommend. I had the Hibachi steak. It was perfect. The hot green tea was also very good. Very tasty rice. All positive !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Desmond was my server and he made my exp ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Desmond was my server and he made my experience great. The last few times I visited I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The cooks are amazing!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The cooks are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time going and I loved every secon ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First time going and I loved every second of it. Definitely going again and this time I will be bringing my three-year-old son so he will be able to see how the food is prepared

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous! Great food, great serve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always fabulous! Great food, great servers, and always great fun.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.