About Benihana - Indianapolis

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Fun (28)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice . Able to accommodate last minute inviteeo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a fun time!
Good food and great show.
Always loud with all the celebrations !
Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Benihana has always been my favorite restaurant for so many reasons, but the food and entertainment of the Chefs are on the top of the list. However, this last visit was probably my worst experience. My waitress was not very attentive to me. She came over and took my plate and never replaced it. The Chef ended up getting me another plate. The waitress made errors on my order therefore, the chef was unaware of the portion I asked for and the chicken fried rice I asked for. I was not very happy with her service. Also, the ginger sauce for the salad was somewhat bitter. But I guess, I am accustomed to eating at Benihana in Chicago where I lived for over 50 years.

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our cook, Tasmania, was great! He was fun and engaging. Our server was awful. Her hair was ratty and dirty. She kept forgetting about our table. We sat for 45 minutes before our drink orders were taken. Some of the plates and glasses we received were dirty. It's still a fun place to eat, but overall the quality has gone down significantly over the years.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wife's Birthday celebration. Waiter and food was amazing, enjoyed every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Love this place! The food is always good and the yum yum sauce is my fav!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We will never go back. We checked in for our 6:45 reservation and were told it would be a few minutes. 25 minutes later we were still waiting so I checked back in at the hostess desk and was told they didn't see our reservation. The hostess was extremely rude and told us there was nothing she could do. We told her when we checked in they said they had our reservation and she questioned which of the 5 hostesses we had spoken with. I didn't remember exacly who because there were several people at the desk when we walked in. She didn't offer to seat us or fix the issue in any way. We ended up leaving after waiting 30 minutes and didn't eat. Mistakes happen but we decided to leave because of the overall rudeness of all of the hostesses. We will never go back, there are plenty of other restaurants in the area with much better service and friendly employees.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I love the food , I enjoy the service staff, open table concept always brings unusual conversations, the Benihana plum wine is a delightfull treat. We could eat there seven days a week if it wasn't price restrictive.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

our chef bocho is couteous kind and friendy steak was cooked perfectly actually everything was cooked perfectly,the manager rose was great helping the waitress making sure we got everything we ordered.great dining experience,cant wait to go back for dinner again.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 25, 2017

One of the worst Benihana restaurants I've dined at from the "chef" preparing food on tabletop to the waitress. It seemed like service at Denny's instead of Benihana

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Horrible service and food. Worst birthday ever. I won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Left us waiting 40 minutes. When I checked to see what was up, they told me we were literally the next table. 20 minutes later a large group comes in and are immediately sat. When I asked about it the girl at the desk acted defensive then finally got a manager. He sat us after another 10 minute wait. No apology or attempt to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Benihana is one of my favorite restaurant and once again they did not fail me. Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very noisy. Out of all the Hibachi Restaurants this would be my least favorite. Very chaotic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great time!!! Our chef Raina was terrific! We will go back and see her

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very horrible experience. The cook must had a previous relationship with the other guest at the table because there plates were full,and ours were barely a meal. He was so busy pleasing them that he forgot my noodles. Plus the food was bland. Overall bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed our food. Our chef Jorge was absolutely amazing! Our server was distracted and forgetful at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was great as usual! Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

I would recommend Benihana to anyone that likes food. My wife and I are about 40 miles away and we go up twice a year for nice weekend and a great dinner we've always came back full and happy . I would recommend getting reservations it's always a good time

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My filet was supposed to be the higher quality of stake. I think I got a Strip Stake instead. The chef cut off the gristle but included it with the stake.
This was a dinner for our 42nd anniversary. We only got a Quick picture and no desert.
The place was way too noisy.
Sorry we did not enjoy the experience, buy we will come back.
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had 2 waitresses. One was training. So loud they couldn't hear us giving our order. They rushed us to order. Didn't really have time to look at menu. The tepanyaki that others ordered was okay but not worth the price. I ordered sushi and it was warm when it arrived. Not appetizing. Spider roll not crispy as I expected...it was mushy with a small amt of minced crabmeat.
Very loud and we smelled like fried food when we left. Not a good dinner for all the money we spent

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I got sick after eating food and to go to the hospital the next day. Developed onto an infection as a result of ecoli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I was so disappointed! My boyfriend and I planned to celebrate my birthday with Benihana and a movie. We had to wait for an hour just for someone to bring us water and then another 30 minutes for a chef. We completely missed our movie. The food was great, but it was overshadowed by the fact that we waited so long in a hot, loud room with super sticky floors. I was grossed out before we began eating.

The management had a chance to redeem themselves by at least taking a percentage off our bill or accepting my $30 birthday credit, but neither happened. I will NOT be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our family has been attending Benihana's for various casual lunches, but most significantly for my grandson's birthday for the past 12 years. He is now 20. Each year we've noticed a downhill trend in the atmosphere, service, enthusiasm of the chefs, etc. This year was the worst.
We made a reservation two days in advance and announced that this was a birthday celebration upon our arrival and to the wait staff when we were seated. The restaurant was about 1/3 of capacity when we were there. Service was very slow, for which they apologized, saying they had to "get fresh food." We were served our salads and soup across the hot grill instead of behind and from the left, as we have always been. This meant we had to take hold of hot soup bowls. The chef was timid and minimally enthusiastic, which has been typical for the past decade. No more flashy shows. Very amateur. It's not the flashy performance it used to be.

And the birthday celebration? We were looking forward to our annual picture. This didn't happen. They did bring my grandson's free ice cream. We were okay with them not singing happy birthday, but gee, they could at least have taken the picture. I don't think we'll be back any more, and I don't think we'll recommend this place to our friends anymore. So sad. I miss the Benihana's of Old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Our server and our cook, Taz, were awesome! We had a great experience and told various other teams about the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We always have dinner here for all birthdays and special occasions and usually everything's is great, but this time we we're very disappointed it get home and find out that we were over charged fiteen more dollars on the tip! When I called to inform the manger he apologized and return the fifteen dollars but I felt like that wasn't enough and I don't think we'll be back anytime soon!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Everything was good except we got stuck with a couple that was drunk and arguing and using vulgar language. When I asked for a new table I was told it would be a few minutes which is understandable but still left us very uncomfortable. We never got a new table and the couple calmed down once the chef started cooking. We always enjoy Benihana but this visit left us disappointed for the amount of money we spent. Not sure how it could have been handled differently.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I am a long time customer, 15 years plus and my service and food was not up to quality. We had to wait for over an hour before our food was cooked. The server didn't check on us in a timely manner, no refills, order was wrong so they didn't verify the order. I come here at least every two weeks and my service has become worst and worst. I am thinking about never returning!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Quality of food and swrvi e has declined unfortunately. The rice portions are down 30%, and the restaurant was not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Birthday dinner. Food was delicious but server was too busy and frequently MIA. Server also messed up some of the orders resulting in customers having to inform chef what to do since order was not relayed correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First time ever going there and it was great 😍😍😁😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I love this place, or rather have loved it in the past. This most recent trip was intolerably noisy. If we had a lick of sense, we would have left. Two different tables at different times with the same chef made simple conversation impossible, much less ordering or telling the chef your preferences. The service was slow and our waitress got some things wrong. Forgot the birthday or they don't do the celebrating any more. Forgot our desserts and getting a drink refill was a challenge.
A simple chronology might illustrate. Arrived five minutes before our reservation. It took us a good twenty minutes to get seated. If was then 42 minutes before the chef arrived to cook our meals. Waited lengthy periods to order drinks, get drinks and then order food. The waitress said it was because the adjacent table all wanted separate checks. She should have never shared that, very unprofessional. I don't want to know why you can't provide adequate service, that's not your job. A normal dinner that should have been about an hour was an hour and forty-nine minutes. Unacceptable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I only wish the table where a bit more spaced out but the food is amazing

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 21, 2017

we chose Benihana for my birthday and when we got there after making reservations for 6:45. We had to wait 20 minutes. Then after being seated we waited another 15 before we were acknowledged by the hostess. She left 3 or 4 times. Trying to do 2 tables at the same time. The chef was great after an hour we watched him in full delight. We were never served the green tea. But the building was so hot we melted any calories away waiting in our own sweat. So I did not say a thing about the tea. Cause I was ready to leave. The. Whole experience took 2 1/2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have been to Benihana many many times. I have to say, it has been going downhill for a while. We made dinner reservations to celebrate my son's birthday we had a group of six. Our Chef was very lackluster. We had to remind them after we had paid our bill that it was my son's birthday so they would bring him the special birthday treat and sing to him. The place was dirty and just didn't have that festive atmosphere you go to Benihana for. We probably will not be returning. For what you pay, there are so many other Japanese steakhouses in town that are just as good if not better for a lower price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The waitress was rude, inattentive and hurried. The cook lacked training and was inefficient. The cook was cleaning one part of the grill, while cooking food on the other part. Food quality was poor. They couldn't get orders right. The floor was filthy in the cooking area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been to Benihana's many times, this was the best meal yet. The food was great, and our "chef" Jorge was wonderful. I go at least twice a year, and can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was father's day and extremely busy. One of the air conditioners in the restaurant did not work at the time we were there. With the amount of people and the hot grills it was too hot to have an enjoyable time. The female chef was new and the food was not up to par. Disappointed for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.