About Benihana - Indianapolis

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Indianapolis is located on Keystone Crossing Road, right behind the Fashion Mall. Join us for Banzai Hour, Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m. and Friday from 4-7 p.m. Enjoy fresh nigiri, sashimi specialty sushi rolls, as well as hot and cold appetizers. Monday through Thursday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for Groups (40)
See All
Fun (39)
Good for a Date (29)
Kid-friendly (28)
Family Style (21)
Casual (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (15)
People Watching (14)
Healthy (12)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wasn't worth the money we spent, the food was not so tasty, but The kids enjoyed the chef Jorge, so all was well

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Where to begin..??? We waited for 30 minutes past our reservation before we'd had enough and decided, reluctantly, to sit on the bar side in hopes of faster service. (The kids were very disappointed as they'd never been and this was a big part of the excitement.) We ended up waiting about an hour to eat our dinner, which we didn't get our chicken fried rice until we were done eating! Our drinks were empty for most of the meal, our waiter seemed overwhelmed with his 2 tables, and no one ever once apologized. I had talked about how good the food and service was for weeks leading up to the visit, and I looked like a fool. I'm very disappointed I chose Benihana as the restaurant to celebrate at. For a $100 dinner, next time we will choose a different restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our cook Taz was the best. The food was great and the server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I don't like sitting in the lap of someone I don't know. There was no space at the table. The food was ok but not worth it and the noise level was high. I felt like a sardine in a tight space.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our party of three sat at a table in the lounge. The table was dirty, we didn't get all the food we ordered (who forgets the rice at Benihana?). I used to love this place and miss it in my new town. This last visit may have been my cure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and had a reservation. We weren't seated until 1/2 hour after our reservation time. They had an issue with several chefs not coming in. Because of that, things were slow and done differently. Fried rice was made in kitchen, not nearly as good or as hot and you could tell it had been made ahead. First time I've ever been disappointed at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was me and my wife's first time here and was above and beyond of what I expected we definitely will be coming again!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved it the food and atmosphere was amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time to Benihana. The restaurant has been around for a while and it shows in its interior. The restaurant was loud and cramped. While it seemed ok for dinner, you have to wonder what it would be like working for hours in the environment. Probably not healthy. Our chef was not much into entertaining or interacting with the group. We expected more interaction. Perhaps it was an off night for him and/or the confined space was getting to him. Notwithstanding what appears to be a poor review, we would still go back as the food was top notch. The cuts of meat and seafood were much better than we find at other hibachi restaurants. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating - all of which outweighs our issues with the interior of the restaurant - it's old and could use updating, but it will not stop us from going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved it the chef was great. The server was excellent she kept the drinks going and bagged our to go boxes. And the food was ridiculous in a good way lol.. I had the spicy habachi chicken and my girlfriend had the delight which they give you a lot of food lol... WE LOVE THIS PLACE

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Spicy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took my daughter out for Valentine's Day. We enjoyed the chef who prepared our food, the people at the table with us & the food was delicious. We had lunch & got the Lunch duet. I selected the Chicken & Hibachi Shrimp. I also added Chicken to my fried rice & ordered mushrooms to go with the onion, carrots & bell pepper they prepare with the meal. Very good. Next time I'll add lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great and our table had friendly people. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was ok. We spent $400 on the six of us. The waitress did not put the order in correctly. The cook we had was not very entertaining that night. We enjoyed watching one of the other cooks. I would think twice about returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It seems that they're trying to make money in any way possible. They forgot half of our meal (the green tea, the ice cream, and more) and then tried to give it all to us after we had already paid our bill, after we had to remind them. The food was mediocre, the chef not interested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good as it usually is. I would give the chef & the food 5 stars. The service was less than expected. The wait staff did a great job & deserves a 5 rating. My complaint is directed toward management. We had a reservation but weren't seated until long after the reserved time expired. Once we were seated the wait person brought beverages, took orders & everything else that you would expect in a timely fashion. However we sat for over 20 minutes after everyone at our table finished their salad before a chef was assigned. We could see manager-type people walking through the restaurant but for some reason they couldn't or wouldn't see that there was a problem. Tables around us were seated, served & visited by their chef after we were seated. It certainly felt like our table was forgotten. If it's a busy night & you've got a full slate of reservations management should make sure that sufficient staff is available to serve. When expectations can't be met it never hurts to stop by the table & acknowledge the wait & apologize for it. Then get in gear & figure out how to fix the problem. It was not clear that anyone cared or even realized what had happened. And I'm not asking for a discount or free food or beverage - I'm asking for someone to show common courtesy & acknowledge the issue & apologize before working to correct the problem. It used to be fun to go to Benihana but I doubt we'll go back for a long time if ever.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always fun place to celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely fantastic staff. Talented and entertaining chefs make the whole experience worth the higher end pricing. We visited during a very busy valentine's day Saturday and they handled it all very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Very nice experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Daughters birthday! Jorge was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Love benihanas. The food is fantastic ... staff are very sweet

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Was real nice will definitly be retuning and been telling everybody about can't wait to get more money to come again been thinking about it since I've left

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was decent. Service was scattered. Forgot my drink and I reminded her till ice cream came. I got it then. Never got the fried rice that was ordered with the sushi platter. Everything else was good. We had three parties at one table. We all knew eachother but only got one picture.. for four birthdays. The two different families old have liked to have our own family in the photo.. and possibly a copy at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I nearly cancelled our reservation after reading the reviews (mostly negative). We were VERY glad that we didn't cancel! The food was excellent, the preparation was entertaining, and our servers were extremely attentive. And the overall value was outstanding! We dined here for lunch (party of 7) and our reservation was at 11:30 - right when the restaurant opened. My only suggestion would be to seat folks as they arrive - since we had the entire table, there was no reason to make us wait in the lobby until the entire party arrived. It would have felt more welcoming to seat us and take our drink orders - it was a very cold day, and hot tea would have been delightful. Overall a very enjoyable experience and I would definitely return!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for my daughter's 20th birthday for something fun, different and exciting. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Jorge, our chef, entertained us at our table grill, cooking up all of the various courses with pizzazz! My daughter and I enjoyed the salmon, while my mother and sister had the Hibachi steak. Along with this, we had salad with ginger dressing, a shrimp appetizer, steamed or fried rice, and grilled zucchini along with special sauces. My daughter received an ice cream dessert for her birthday, and of course was sung to! They took a picture of our family, printed it out, and gave it to her in a cardboard frame to commemorate the birthday! Everything was fantastic! It was impressive how Jorge was able to make 8 meals, each with 5 courses, and kept them all straight. For this dinner, we were there about 2 hours, but it was worth the time spent. We were not bored! We even enjoyed chatting with the family of 4 seated on the other half of our table. I would recommend it for a nice night out with family or friends. Expect to spend at least $20 a person. (We only drank water.)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Don't bother making a reservation here. Multiple times we have had reservations "lost" and other times when we arrive at the reserved times only to wait 20-30 minutes for a table to become available. Once you are able to get to the table the wait staff, chefs, and food are great. If the front of the house would get their act together this would be another great location, but in our experiences there is a VERY LONG way to go.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We left before being sat. Had reservations, they were not even close to being ready to sit us at our reserved time. Staff was rude. We were on a time restriction and were going to eat at the non-hibachi section of the restaurant but the entire restaurant was disgustingly dirty and staff could care less about an customers experience. One of the worst ran establishments I've seen in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to Benihana for my birthday and had a great time. We had a great chef and the food (Filet Mignon for me) was great. Everyone else's food was great also. Would recommend to anyone and would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was better than it ever has been. We even received a photo of our family on the way out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food is always very tasty at Benihana Indianapolis. The service is very good.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was delicious and the staff was very attentive. My only gripes would be that the tables are too close to each other which makes it incredibly loud and hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

we had a family party here with my husband and we were so well taken care of by the staff! They took our cake to keep in a refrigerator and supplied the candle along with a fun song for my husband. The food was amazing and our chef kept my 2-year old entertained the whole time while cooking for 7. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server was great, but the "chef" Tasmania was horrific. Looking around, the other chefs looked fantastic. Our guy looked like they grabbed him off the street that morning and invited him to cook. There was no "performance". He dropped his spatulas and then some wooden sticks in the food multiple times and ultimately gave up trying to entertain. After dishing out the food to all the plates, he forgot to serve my wife her entree. He went to the back, grabbed another piece of chicken and tried to blame him mistake on "someone in the back" not giving him enough chicken. Unfortunately, that chicken turned out to have the texture of rubber. One of the other servers from another table noticed and said this was a common occurrence with this "chef". The manager was equally disappointing. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were there for a Cheer Competition 2 weeks ago (January 20-22) and the visit was on January 21, 2017 and the customer service was very unacceptable and very dissatisfied. We have some athletes without parents and were full charged adult portions. The service was unacceptable. The staff and management were unacceptable rude.

My name is Heidi and I made the reservations. And my daughter and I were unable to enjoy the dinner with her teammates we left and they all stayed,

I would like some kind of COMPENSATION as I will not recommend this place in Indianapolis again.

I live in Dearborn , Michigan and my number is 248-632-0126

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place for a 12 year old's birthday party. Wild and crazy and a lot of fun. Food was really great. Always a fun experience....

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My sister birthday

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great time and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went for my birthday with three friends. Pricey but for what you get the price is right. Multiple birthdays being celebrated tonight, as you get a $30 coupon in your birthday month with their rewards program (with purchase of one full adult meal). Delicious and fun! Worth a visit for birthdays for sure.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Benihana is still a fun place to celebrate special occasions, I enjoyed my meal but this restaurant is definitely slipping in quality of service. Food tasted good except for my filet steak that was overcooked. However, the server wasn't friendly and the chef was not prepared. His lighter didn't work, and he messed up a main entree order at our table with the wrong meat. To top it all off my credit card was charged more than double what I signed/authorized and I had to call later in the week to straighten it out. The staff REALLY needs a training course in customer service before the place loses its customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was nice. Our server and chef were both nice. There was some paper in the chicken that the chef didn't see before he dived it. I was gonna say something but was sure he'd see it. So we all knew we had paper in our chicken fried rice. It wasn't his fault. It was whoever prepped the food. He must not have been able to see it from his angle and before we realized he wasn't able to see it he had already started dicing. Otherwise it was all fine. I thought hot tea was included but no one asked us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I just love every time I took my family to Benihana delicious food,great service like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a great place for our family. Everyone loves the food and the ambiance. Great "show," no matter how often we see it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great. Our waitress was ok. Not the service we expected for the price. We had to flag her down for a drink and she forgot our sushi. They brought the sushi as we were paying the bill. The manager came out and lied to us. The food was excellent but very poor service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our chef was friendly and fun but the order of food was awkward. Initially for quite some time we had onions and zucchini on our plates. We had slowly eaten all that before fried rice (which some of us didn't get because we wanted plain rice), then meat but well after fried rice so we had mostly eaten the fried rice, then those who wanted plain rice had to ask and well after the meat was on the plate came plain rice. I've not had this problem before but it made the experience less enjoyable and the ultimate price seem too high given the disjointed meal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We loved it !!! We enjoyed the fact we didn't have to wait to be seated answer they staff and food was awesome .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always a great time and a great meal at Benihana. One of our favorites.

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I used to love Benihana but will probably never return. The service and quality of food continue to decrease. I took my wife there for her birthday but we both left regretting our choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Since it opened, my family has gone to this restaurant at least once a year, every year. The quality has never lagged, on my opinion. As the franchise that that started the craze for Japanese steakhouses, it is the standard bearer, and has never wavered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Constistally great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I do not like the noise and especially do not like the chefs who clang their tools extremely loud. You are usually seated with other people you don't know, sometimes it's okay and sometimes it's annoying. My favorite reason to go here is that if you don't want to engage with someone (like a sister in law) in your group, you can distance yourself at the other end of the table if you plan ahead. I would suggest they cut the meat into smaller pieces or make knives available upon request. I go because my spouse likes to go there for his birthday. It's overload for introverts. Extraverts will probably be thrilled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.