About Benihana - Indianapolis

8830 Keystone Crossing
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Sheraton Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 846-2495

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/indianapolis-in-in

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Miso Soup
  • Fried Rice Heart
  • Fried Rice
  • Ice Cream
  • Chef
  • Seafood Diablo With Udon
  • Steak
  • Rum Punch
Miso Soup
Fried Rice Heart
Fried Rice
Ice Cream
Chef
Seafood Diablo With Udon
Steak
Rum Punch

Benihana - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (90)
special occasion (81)
kid-friendly (62)
See All
great for lunch (29)
fit for foodies (26)
hot spot (22)
romantic (12)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
neighborhood gem (2)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We have dined many times at this locatio ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have dined many times at this location and this was probably our best time. Our chef was excellent, the food was great. My only disappointment was when our picture was taken..the window behind us was open and the sun was shining brightly and our picture was not very good. There was four of us and it was so bright that we could not see the other couple very well. The brightness of the sun shining in the window just made their heads look white. I know when the picture was developed the staff member had to see it was not a good picture.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious filet and shrimp served in a f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious filet and shrimp served in a fun atmosphere. Good experience. Change to white china has lost some of the traditional appeal, but good to see that the flaming onion is back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Made a reservation for 3 (3rd was a chil ...

Dined 5 days ago

Made a reservation for 3 (3rd was a child w/ high chair). Sat us at a table with 2 spots left and entire table had already ordered. Not having enough room to eat kind of ruins the whole experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the food was excellent. It was a fe ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

All the food was excellent. It was a few first time diners and they enjoyed the experience. My grandchildren thought the chef was cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel was an excellent Chef. Cooked foo ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Daniel was an excellent Chef. Cooked food perfectly and provided wonderful entertainment.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I have frequented this restaurant for ov ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have frequented this restaurant for over 10 years now, but no more after Saturday. My reservation was for 10pm and we arrived at 9:30. We didn't get a table until about 10:20 and the door was broken so every time someone came/left it sounded like gunshots were being fired. The cook didn't do any of the usual tricks. He rushed and cooked our food and it didn't taste the same. Then the servers rushed and boxed our food up 5 minutes after we started to eat. The chef had just left our table!! The servers brought out ice cream before we could even finish dinner. Our whole table felt rushed to leave. Horrible experience!

food4
ambience5
service5

The experience is what you pay for. Was ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The experience is what you pay for. Was hoping for more experience but it is getting less. Food was good but the bill is getting really up there. Kind of overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great! I loved our chef ptetty sure hebi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great! I loved our chef ptetty sure hebis always the same guy lol. But excellent nonetheless : )

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Did not greet us when we came in.

Dined on June 11, 2016

When we arrived no one came to greet us for 12 minutes, although several staff members simply walked past. Eventually we just seated ourselves. After that, the service was much better. Good server.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was awesome i really enjoyed the food ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

It was awesome i really enjoyed the food setup and chef was terrific. Yes i would differently be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

too long of wait for chef to cook

Dined on June 10, 2016

WE had great waitress service, but the chef took over half an hour to show up to cook. I'm sure they were short staffed the night we were there, but it was a very long wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3

I would say this is an average Benihana. ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

I would say this is an average Benihana. There are other Hibachi restaurants in town that are lower cost and as good or better than the show/food that we had. My experience just fell short of what I've come to expect for the premier Hibachi in the US.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on June 6, 2016

I've been to numerous Japanese steakhouses, but never a chair before. They have always been locally owned and operated. I was disappointed with the quantity and price. At the two particular local places we like to go to, I can feed my entire family of 4 for less than $100, this particular trip my youngest daughter stayed home, so two adult meals and a kids meal was over $100, not including the tip. We had zero leftovers to take home and generally my experiences at other Japanese steakhouses, we usually have two meals worth of leftovers because the quantity is so great. I don't mind paying that much when I get 2-3 meals out of it. This was very disappointing, but overall the food was good, but definitely not "knock your socks off" good.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Special occasion dining only

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a great time but the cost would limit us to only doing it once or twice a year .

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Has really gone downhill

Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been to this restaurant many times and have noticed that it's gradually gone downhill. We had a reservation but still has to wait for a table even though there were plenty of empty tables. Our server took a very long time to get to us. We had to ask for silverware. My menu was sticky and has stains on it. The table was so sticky you couldn't touch it and the chairs were also sticky. Food portions are smaller than they used to be. Bad service and overpriced food

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Missing a cook!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Our reservations were for 6:30. We didn't get seated until almost 7:00 and waited forever for cook because one called in. We were finally told this after we had been sitting for about 20 min. Would have been nice to get some compensation or discount for the wait, as it was a school night for my 6 yr old, and we didn't get hone til 9! Other than that food was awesome like always.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Always good but this time we had EMETERI ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always good but this time we had EMETERIO as the chef and he was amazing. Asked him where he was from and apparently was at Benihana Chicago, and it showed. Put on a great show and more importantly the food was prepared wonderfully. Usually the only time we get exceptional preparation like this is when we visit the Benihana at Disney-Orlando. We will definitely want Emeterio again!

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy 29th

Dined on May 21, 2016

It's been a long time between visits for my wife and I. The last time we visited Benihana was In Chicago for my wife's birthday the first year of our marriage. This visit was to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. The food this time was much more satisfying than the Chicago visit. The skill of the young masterful chef was no less than inspiring. Hope he's being compensated well. Would recommend to anyone seeking a fun, reasonably priced, and different dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food as usual, Jorge is a great chef to get! Wait time for a chef was quite long, even with a reservation, but we were taken care of with a discount to offset the very long wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was bland and average, portions ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was bland and average, portions were small compared to price. I was not excited

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took our kids to Benihana for their f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We took our kids to Benihana for their first time and it was great. Our chef interacted very well with the kids and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever had. W ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. Went to enjoy the fun of watching the chef but the food ended up being the highlight.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a problem with restaurant reporting ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Had a problem with restaurant reporting me as no show for dinner. I was there with a party of 8. Called manager and had to make another bogus reservation because there was no way to fix their mistake with Open Table. This ruined my Mother's Day celebration!

food4
ambience4
service4

We attended Benihana's for Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We attended Benihana's for Mother's Day this Sunday and everything was excellent, just like all previous visits..!!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The timing is absolutely horrible

Dined on April 28, 2016

I'm a reservations for party of two I arrived early I had to wait, I ordered right away I had to wait and additional 30 minutes until the cook came out to prepare our meals. And then the meal took 40 minutes to prepare. That is a very long time to eat lunch

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Probably okay for the younger set.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food was good but we didn't care for some of the odd sides. We felt a nice steak at other upscale restaurants would be a better experience for the money.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Hostess staff weren't the best

Dined on April 24, 2016

My reservation was at 8 but didn't get seated until 840. The host staff said its busy and nothing can be done other that wait. I was getting ready to leave when I decided to wait another 10 mins. Once at the table everything was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Waited 45 minutes at our table for the c ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Waited 45 minutes at our table for the chef with no explanation. Chef was friendly and quality of meal was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Teriyaki chicken was super ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Great dinner. Teriyaki chicken was super. Spicy chicken was tasty also.

food2
ambience3
service1

This USED to be my families favorite spe ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

This USED to be my families favorite special occasion restaurant. Tonight was the worst waiting service and smallest portions of salad and fried rice I have ever had in the 20+ years eating there, not to mention that we didn't even see the waitress to order a second cocktail. We were very disappointed and not sure if we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

me and my family have Benihana for dinne ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

me and my family have Benihana for dinner maybe about once or twice a week! The food never gets old and always is so delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food at usual! This was for my b ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Amazing food at usual! This was for my birthday and I enjoyed every bit of it. I come every year on my birthday for sure.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Benihana is my happy place

Dined on April 2, 2016

No matter what location in what city, the food is consistently delicious, the show the chefs put on is entertaining and adds to the dining experience. Wait service across the brand is lacking a bit, so you might wait for drink refills and check returns, but it's totally worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good time for a birthday

Dined on March 28, 2016

The whole family likes this place. Birthday song with instruments and a photo give it a special touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Easter family dinner. It was the c ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Easter family dinner. It was the choice of my grand kids. They loved it and we all left full of delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its one of my favorite places to eat. Th ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Its one of my favorite places to eat. The atmosphere is energetic and the food is wonderful. It was my b day and each time we come we meet some of the best people. I love it....I wish they did offer a brunch we would be there..

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Benihana Indianapolis A great place to dine after work. Service great. Filet & chicken was fantastic . Grilled Salmon delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great server. Always a fun time at Benih ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great server. Always a fun time at Benihana's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. I have never had a bad meal there

Dined on March 16, 2016

Service was excellent; Sake was very warm; Food was beyond delicious. Couldn't expect any better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

A little expensive but delicious, better ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

A little expensive but delicious, better than all the local hibachi grills I have been to in Indy. The chef was awesome but the server was just ok.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.