About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fun (22)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Casual (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

From the moment I booked the reservation for my son’s b-day until the time we left the establishment, I was highly impressed...the staff was nice, friendly, courteous, and efficient...needless to say, I will gladly return...You guys were amazing and made my son’s birthday exciting & memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had Sunday dinner here it was amazing. The family loved the chef and his tricks. We loved the food and the atmosphere, they were knowledgeable and fast service. We loved ti and will be doing it again soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The entertainment routine gets a bit old after you have seen it many times, but don't stop - it's fun to watch kids' eyes light up watching it. Bottom line is that the food is consistently excellent and that is what really counts. The price seems fair, given the quality of the food.

One negative is that the food comes about two minutes after the drinks, leaving no time to enjoy a cocktail before getting down to business on the food.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I took my wife there and is the first time she's ever been she really enjoyed herself food was good at
Had a good chef little bit noisy but hey that's alright you only there for an hour or so overall good experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Ordered 2 of the 6 course meals. Someone else at the table who ordered 5 course chicken dinners received most of my shrimp. Both my date and I were very unhappy with our portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We went here for work-group celebration of a collegue becoming a father. I am the only vegan in the group, but the restaurant went above and beyond to accomodate. I ordered the spicy tofu and it was delicous. The restaurant also cooked mine first in order to make sure I didn't have any of the wrong foods. Highly recommend for vegans and vegetarians.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great service! First time there and I was pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Came out here for my girlfriends birthday dinner. Made reservations for 7pm but didn’t get seated till about 7:45. I was ok with that since it was pretty busy. Once we got seated we were waiting to order our drinks for a while. And once we got our drinks, she forgot some water so we asked again if she could bring us some water. She comes back with other stuff but still no water. Don’t know how many times we had to ask for some water. We had to wait again to order our food. So once we had ordered everything my buddy wanted to order something but couldn’t seem to find our waitress. So about 15mins pass and our chef was out so we asked him if we could order something and he got all upset. I don’t speak Japanese but I sure do know he was cursing at us in Japanese. He kept going on and on and mumbling stuff. If the waitress was ever around it would have been a whole different story. But she wasn’t. I understand these chefs like to have everything before they start coming out but the waitress was never around. So afterwards she comes with our checks and just leaves the pile at the end of the table. Doesn’t even hand them out. So we waited and waited until she finally came back and handed out our checks. I enjoyed my time here except for our waitress and getting blasted by our chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We made a reservation therefore we were seating right away. Host, cook and waitress were all very nice and happy to have us. Plenty of food!
Perfect taste!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The Chef was not confident in what he was doing. He kept looking at his ticket too much. He became so slow that the Chef next to him started after him and finished before him. My chicken fried rice was hard and became cold. The shrimp and scallops were very tasty. There was not enough veggies with my order but the waitress told me I would get the same amount of veggies on my order as my friend's order. I was given 3 small cut up pieces of zucchini and a very small amount of sautéed onions. My husband's fillet mignon was cut into pieces. He did not want it cut like that.
The air was smokie and my eyes were irritated.
My friend's husband called for the manager and voiced his complaints about the Chef. My friend could not print her $30 certificate but she was still serenaded and given ice cream.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great birthday dinner! Service and food never disappoints! Fun evening with my kiddos!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food , scallops were the best. My plus one ordered lobster with meal as well. This restaurant does not work good with Open Table because we had a reservation and still had to wait about 20 minutes. I reserved through OpenTable for McCormicks and walked straight to my table upon arrival.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had a very good time with my wife. She had taken me out for my birthday. Enjoyed it very much. However, the people sitting with us started complaining and kind of ruined it for me. I recommend to go in a group if so that this doesn't happen to you, as us. However, they did give us a discount, due to the complaints from the guy and lady who sat there with us. I will definitely be going again for my mother in laws birthday.

Tags: Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Fun place to eat. Food excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Took my daughter for her ninth birthday to the Houston, Westheimer location and She had such a great time, from watching the chef do their silly tricks over the skillet, to eating the yummy food and enjoying a special ice cream birthday treat to end her lunch celebration. The manager was so sweet and came over to wish her a very happy birthday and gave her a little birthday gift.... such a sweet gesture! She was on cloud nine. Thank you for making my little girl feel special on her day. Benihana is one of our special spots to hit on special days!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Our host, Monica, was great. She checked on us just the right amount, & she offered to take pix with my phone...she even knew how to turn on the flash. Our chef, Tony, was also excellent...in addition to the skillful knife & spatula tossing & banging I've come to expect at Benihana, he did a traveling flaming onion trick I hadn't seen before. And the food is ALWAYS AMAZING! It's a little pricier than many restaurants I visit, but the service is better and the food tops my list. With the birthday coupon, I feel ok splurging for a VERY special treat. There are only two Benihanas in my city, & I usually pass the closer one to avoid the downtown parking hassle. Here, the parking is always free, & usually very close. Oh, did I mention the food is TERRIFIC!?

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Benihana has always been one of my favorite places. But unfortunately on this occasion I did not like the food. The food had no taste. We were seated surrounded by children screaming and crying.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We go every year for both my kids birthdays and they love the atmosphere and the food is always very good.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Celebrating my birthday as I do every year at one of my favorite places.

Always have a good time and meet some nice people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our reservation was at 6:30, we arrived at 6:15. We were seated about 7:15 and food was not served until 8:00 pm. Service was slow and inattentive. No drink refills or second cocktail or wines were offered. That's not a easy outing with grandkids under five years old. Their Habachi Deluxe steak is a fine cut of meat but watch that the chef doesn't overcook it and make it shoe leather. Oh, you'll need a shower after because smoke from the grill gets all over you. But, hey, it's all in good fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Restaurant seemed way too crowded--as if the Fire Marshall might've shut it down. Too loud. Too hot with all the hibatchi tables going full blaze. It's too expensive for this bus station atmosphere. Have been going for years to the same location and it's gone downhill --dive-like now but without the discount pricing. We won't be back unless we are dragged there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food and service Our waitress was so sweet!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My friend and her daughters had a great time. The twins are six and had never been there and they wore their hats proudly and loved it. They enjoyed the food very much and the ice cream. We brought home yummy leftovers. Benihana is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

GREAT CHEF. DEFINITELY WILL REQUEST HUSUF TO BE OUR CHEF AGAIN. HAD AN AWESOME TIME AND LOT OD LAUGHTER.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Love the food and our chef was great it was my daughters birthday and my family came down from San Antonio

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our chef Johnny was great! He joked that he was so good at cooking but it was no joke. He seriously made our food delicious! I don't know what it was but it was more flavorful and everyone in our table ate everything off our plates. We normally don't finish our food. But i guess it was a combination of such a great cook and being hungry lol. He was a little messy lol but he did say he was maybe 2 weeks out of training so don't let that discourage you cause you will eat so good. I recommend anyone to ask for Johnny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been going to this location for 15 years. This experience was the worst ever. We had to scream over each other to be heard. It was too hot. The food quality was poor. We will not return for quite some time, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Have enjoyed this location since the late 80s. However, the client base is very noisy these days.
We went at 5pm- thinking 4 adults would enjoy. More small, crying children than any "kid friendly" children's restaurant.
The staff was bery polite, customers- not so much.
Our mistake. There is one downtown. We will try it because we like the experience occasionally.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I made a reservation for 3 last Aug 3, 7:45pm. We got accommodated right away by the staff. Such friendly & funny chef. It is my 32nd bday and I recieved a $30 bday gift. Thank you Benihana! Food was great, I ordered beef Terriyake (m) it was so good. Server was very attentive to us. One of the staff came to our table to sing a Happy birthday (i was so happy). After that another staff came to take a family photo using their camera & they printed it and gave it to me. I was surprised😁. They also gave a bday cake. It was perfect choice I decided to celebrate my bday dinner to this restaurant. It's kinda pricey but you have a lot of option they have food that would fit to everyone'a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've never been there and I'm a local... go figure. It was my birthday dinner and it was amazing. The chef was great and entertaining. The waitress was ON POINT. and I got a picture for memories. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It's a great place for birthday celebration. Food is good and service, great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Birthday dinner was amazing, the chef was great, the service was great, once again Benihana delivers an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!! We love the show the chef gives with the volcano and choo choo train

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The restaurant was great myself is very knowledgeable he's very friendly. The drinks I ordered we're very good I believe I will be back in the future maybe even to take my little girl there for her birthday when she turned 11 and I hope she enjoys it as much as I did

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We dined with old time friends and had a great time of fellowship and food. We had the Ocean Treasures and the Benihana Excellence - both were prepared well and delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a reservation for 8 seated about 8:15 cook didn't come until 9 or a little after. Took a long time to get ticket and pay. We left about 10:30 maybe 10:45 after asking again for ticket. Good did a good job cooking and entertaining us. We usually visit the Sugarland location and never had a problem. Celebrating my Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our chef, Knock, was very entertaining! He was very engaging and funny - the best we've had since going to Benihana's! The food and atmosphere was good!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.