About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Family Style (29)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Fun (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Kid-friendly (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (14)
Romantic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was excellent.

We ordered two bowls of HIBACHI CHICKEN RICE that tasted terrible. The fried rice was not fried at all. It looked as though they just mixed chicken, steamed rice, and sauce soy then served it to us. We could see 33% white steamed rice that were not covered by soy sauce. There were no vegetable in HIBACHI CHICKEN RICE, and we did not even taste the garlic butter. Our Hibachi Tuna Steak was overcooked and salty. HIBACHI SHRIMP APPETIZER also overcooked, dry, and tasteless.

Rainbow roll was very good. Sashimi Sampler was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my birthday and I had a really good time. Food was great, service was great!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Not as good as I thought it would be. No attention to detail.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service . kind and very organized.. Food was great delicious.. Love too see the chefs cooking

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My family and I came for my Birthday and we enjoyed every minute. Our Chef Joaquin was Amazing, he took good care of us and he made sure our food was seasoned to perfection. That was my first time trying Sushi and I loved it. I will be back and hopefully Joaquin can be my Chef again.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the food and the service. Will come back again

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 29, 2017

Been to this location before, enjoyed it every time. Unfortunately we were seated right under the a/c and not only was it unbearably cold the a/c DRIPPED WATER on us the entire time.

very unfortunate - probably will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I went to celebrate my birthday with a friend. I had a reservation. I wa seated quickly and shortly after the service began. Everything was great from the appetizers to the main course. I had the New York strip and shrip with chicken fried rice that was my favorite of the night. I will be back soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I truly love this place!!! I brought my mother for her birthday and Benihana made her feel special. i brought my own cake and they sang her happy birthday and they even captured a picture of all of us at the table. Memories, memories, memories!! That all I can say, she left the place with a great big smile on her face!!! Thank you Benihana. Ps, the food was great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The waitstaff, hostess, and "master of ceremonies" were all terrific. The cook was good. The bar area is attractive. However, the area where you eat and the cooking is done is really ugly. It is dated the ceilings are low, and it is cramped, and all the blinds are shut. It is way too functional. It is like a dark school cafeteria. The place is just downright depressing in the way it looks. I don't get it because the outside is pretty and the bar area is pretty. Also, the clientele is pretty interesting. I think the sign on the hostess stand that says, "customers must be appropriately dressed with clothing covering the body parts that normally should have clothing" pretty much sums that one up. This is expensive and my children wanted to go here for their birthday, but for a meal of over $100 for a family of 4, I will choose some place else.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had an amazing time, it was my daughter in laws birthday.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for a fun Hibachi experience to celebrate a loved one's birthday. Very mediocre experience. Been to better Japanese restaurants much closer to home. Chef was not much fun, and food not very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a great time for a 15 year olds birthday! This was a new experience for her and she found it very entertaining. The food portions were very sizable and all of us left "full". Very tasty.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was ok. The cook gave me a meal that I didn't order. When asked if I could just pay for the meal that was served instead of the meal I ordered (which was more than what I was given)... I was told no. They would fix the problem. Which was nice, but I had already eaten what I was served and had to wait for the other order to which I ended up giving to someone else at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Luv the lunch menu!!! Perfect portions & the price is right!!! So much food with out being stuffed!! The chef is always amazing - and still does a great show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated nearly 30 minutes after our reservation time. Our poor server was so busy and overwhelmed it took so long to get drinks. Sat idly for a long time before ordering. Salads were served well into the meal. Very rushed feel and dark, loud environment. Sugarland location is much more relaxing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was ok the chef was nice and smiling but the place need a remodelation asap!..old equipment old paint old everything you can tell the place as not being touched in years. Food was great same as service prices was ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place to celebrate anything... awesome staff!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food tasted pretty good, but i have been to better Japanese steakhouses.
Didn't give you as much food or variety as other, either.
Fun ambience, of course.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was my kids birthday dinner, so they got what they wanted, so that's fine. My issues are with the food quality and price. They do not offer kids yakisoba, so they made us buy the adult platter, which is $18.50. My kids are 10 and we needed 3. They typically like the Yakisoba at Shogun, so I figured we were ok paying the price. However, I think they add pumpkin spice to it, which my kids did not like. The waitress saw they didn't eat their food, but no one asked why. We ended up paying $250+ for a six top with 4 kids. That's about double what Shogun charges, so we won't be back. I did the ink the soup and steak were better, but unfortunately those are my only two good memories other than the overly nice staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Do not reserve the last time slot available. We did that and were rushed through our entire meal. If we had not been here several times before I would have given this place a very low rating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My experience has always been exceptional!!! Staff is always welcoming, always with a smile and with a great attitude . I bought my family here to celebrate my cousin Gabriel's 10th birthday this was his first time dining at this restaurant ; his experience made him very happy and wanting to go back very soon. Thanks again to ALL the staff at Benihana; for making my cousin 10th birthday extra special.

You have made an big impression!!!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The "table-chef" was ok, but the server was downright snarky.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday and we couldn't be more happier! Our dining experience was fantastic

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was really fun, it wasn't my first time at Benihana but it was my boyfriend's first and he loved it! A little expensive but definitely worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great time had by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a party of 8 for my girlfriends birthday. It was a nice experience. It is a very busy location, but it was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been to several locations but this was my first time ar this one. Our cook was very poor. English wasn't good, the entertainment was lacking, he tried to perform a trick with the rice and bowl and dropped the bowl into the rice, the food lacked seasoning (everyone at the table passed around salt and pepper), our waitress was very slow to refill drinks. We left feeling like we wasted our time! This was supposed to be our late Valentine's Day dinner and it wasnt very pleasant. Also, the tables were way too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A fantastic birthday experience for my daughters 23rd birthday! Such great energy, service and food! I can not rave enough about our chef Knoc!! Such a great fist time!!
Loved It.. food was exactly what we asked for.. Wine was nice and cold!
Kudos to you Benihana!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The restaurant was serving lunch however most of my party ordered from the dinner menu. The quality of the filet mignon was not up to par. Not sure if the lunch portions are different than the dinner portions. I'm not talking about size but quality of beef.
Service was slow.
Not much of a show.
Great birthday picture.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was a great place to eat and now it is an overpriced restaurant. So noisy and horrible service. It took about 15 min to get started with the service, the noise was so loud the waitress would have to come around to our ears to hear what we wanted to order. They bring salad and soup that practically is thrown at you. No one cleans the plates up and we had to pile them to the side as the cook had started the main course. We are not finished with the main course and they bring the ice cream. Worst place to eat in Houston. Extremely expensive for what you get. I think you get a better dining experience anywhere else, even McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service is great, the prices are more on the expensive side but it is worth it. Ask for Hector as your chef, he is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First time at this location and I try not to be critical but for the prices (not ridiculous but not applebees) the service was horrible. The show was mediocre at best. We went there for a friends birthday and were left disappointed. The drinks were overpriced and underflavored. The food was prepared in weird order and some of us never received rice or offered desert. Drink refills took forever (if they ever came at all) and our waitress was just off her game. Besides the drinks taking forever, after our appetizers and earlier courses the used dishes were stacking up and never got moved. At a full table that gets really cramped and unpleasant. Was willing to give this restaurant a shot but there are better quality options at a better price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The noise level was louder than I would have liked. We were surrounded by two tables that had families and young kids and infants. We would definitely return but would be a little bit more vocal about seating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The chef and place was great, the server was MIA all the time, at the begining they make us wait a long time for the drinks and after chef left she was gone for long, ill come back for the food and the nice place! Hope fot a different server!👍🏽

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was very nice but since it was around valentine's they try to hurry you up. We still weren't full when we left .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Our party will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lady who attended us before the cook arrived was in a hurry. She was very pushy and we did not have enoug time to think about our wine and food selection 😱

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I never leave bad reviews because I hate being negative but I really couldn't let this go. We came here for my birthday dinner and it was the second time I've been waited on by the particular individual that was our server. (She's an older woman/ cannot remember her name) I know sometimes with elders they can be snappy so I don't take offense to it , but this time - her attitude was more on the rude side. She was very impatient with all of the couples and then when i tried to use the gift card For my meal that I received, she refused honoring it - even after her colleagues told her it was valid. The way she spoke to me and her body language was beyond rude. I love birthdays and how fun and full of love they are which is why I picked this place for my dinner- I always loved the energy here even when we had her the last time , I just looked passed the negative.. needless to say I was completely floored by the night's ending. I was given a certificate for a complimentary appetizer and desert for my next visit but it pains me to say I will not be returning. This place needs to reevaluate who they have running the show and make sure their people understand what it means to have quality customer service and respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.