About Benihana - Houston

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Trio - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Onion soup & salad w/ginger dressing - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice With Extra Garlic Butter - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Lunch Duet With Beef Julienne And Hibachi Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Onion Soup - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hot Sake - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Family Style (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great for my guy's 40th birthday!

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for my guy's 40th birthday!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and the chef were awesome. Drin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the chef were awesome. Drinks took a little bit of time to arrive...

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

1st time going. For my birthday.enjoyed ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

1st time going. For my birthday.enjoyed it very much....

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was not properly cooked. The ch ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Our food was not properly cooked. The chicken was very undercooked!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This experience was much better than my ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This experience was much better than my last visit to the downtown benihana resturant. We were seated promptly and the waitress was very personable and polite. At the downtown location we waited 30mins to be seated and another 20 for our order to be taken them there was am insect crawling on the table. This was a much better ambiance and service. The chef was entertaining as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Anniversary

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been several times for lunch and al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Have been several times for lunch and always get a salad w my soup. This time lady was rude about it saying they no longer do that and others in table got a salad and soup ? She hardly would check on us and soup was super salty... I'll stick to coming for dinner only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Was my hunees 1st time there & he enjoye ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Was my hunees 1st time there & he enjoyed it, my 1st time at this location, (I usually go to the one in Beaverton, Oregon) ...it was also my birthday celebration...great chef with the best shrimp fried rice that I've had at Bennies...wish we had a least 1 more shrimp tho.....

JM

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had food poisoning from the chicken a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had food poisoning from the chicken and the service was really off; we were going to come again this weekend, but we will be going somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

The staff was very nice

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The staff was very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's been several years since I had been ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It's been several years since I had been to Benihana everything was much as I remembered it to have been.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We really enjoy our trips to Benihana's. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We really enjoy our trips to Benihana's. The overall experience, each time we have been there is very good. We recommend the restaurant. The luncheon choices on our last visit were varied and the cost was very reasonable. Each time we visit we have found the , restaurant, the service and the staff to be very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall everything was great want to tha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Overall everything was great want to thank Saig for his great customer service .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Family Style, Healthy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, , Live Music, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was really good and the atmosph ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The meal was really good and the atmosphere/set-up is great for special occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a celebration for the New Year an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a celebration for the New Year and our expectations were exceeded once again at this location. Our chef Ngoc was amazing and made the experience even more memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to take the family. A little o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fun place to take the family. A little on the pricey side but fun especially for kids.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were all on time for the reservations ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were all on time for the reservations and still had to wait, once we were seated they took our order and waited some more, the cook arrived and we had not gotten our soup nor salad. When the soup came it was cold. The soup and salad were brought at the same time while the cook was cooking. The cook did not do the shrimp in the hat, the train, or anything else to make it fun. My drink which was water was not refilled. We had pictures taken as it was my sons birthday and we never saw or was given any information about the photo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great (as always) but the servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great (as always) but the service was lacking. Our server was very short and borderline rude, like we had inconvenienced her. Other than that it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The restaurant seemed very dirty to me o ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The restaurant seemed very dirty to me our meals also included ice cream 6 of them they only brought 5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

We were seated at our reservation time. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were seated at our reservation time. The staff was really nice and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

excellent food and service , recommend t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

excellent food and service , recommend this restaurant for any occasion

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our hibachi chef was great, the food was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our hibachi chef was great, the food was cooked to our liking and his show was well performed. But we had to wait for him to receive extra food to be prepared because people received the wrong order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The Benihana experience is always a grea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Benihana experience is always a great one. My wife and I have dined there on Christmas Eve for the last 3 years.

If I could recommend anything it would be to develop a few different routines for the chefs. As this was our third consecutive year, we were pretty much one step ahead of the chef in regards to what was next. The first year had us in suspense as we were excited to see what the chef was going to do next in the preparation of the meal.

Never the less, the food and chef entertainment is a must for the up coming year.

Thanx.

DTSr.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was wonderful having a nice time with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was wonderful having a nice time with my friends from work. The picture made the experience very nice and it was a nice memory,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service. Great value. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Best food and service. Great value. One of my favorites!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Amazing , my first time every bee ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was Amazing , my first time every been there. I loved it

Tags: Family Style, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome job, Thank you Mr. S. F. My husb ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Awesome job, Thank you Mr. S. F. My husband and I enjoyed this opportunity. #DaOvertons

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, , Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

for years, we have come here for all of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

for years, we have come here for all of our family birthday dinners, so we're here 4 times a year. Our boys still love it and we will continue to come here --- it's a Family Tradition!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Service was fun and entertaining

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Service was fun and entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chef we had was not good at all. I h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Chef we had was not good at all. I have been to this location numerous times and always enjoyed the entertainment and the food. I did not enjoy neither. My waiter was very attentive but other than that I will not be visiting this location again.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Perfect Night out Great food Great serve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Perfect Night out Great food Great servers and Cool Juan was the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok meal, extremely expensive though. Am ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ok meal, extremely expensive though. Ambience ok.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server and chef did not speak much engli ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Server and chef did not speak much english. They did not know what I ordered and got it wrong. Chef wasn't as trained and didn't perform as well as others there. He also skipped through his performance and didnt do any tricks. Very disappointed. Also the waitress told me fried rice was only a dollar extra and turned out to be $4.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Too loud. The chicken tasted bad, like i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Too loud. The chicken tasted bad, like it was spoiled. I have never tasted chicken worse than that. We had to change the order.

Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food, service and "entertainment" we ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food, service and "entertainment" were top-rate. Unfortunately there are no soft surfaces or baffles to block off noisy parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cook Was not a show man at all I have b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cook Was not a show man at all

I have been to other locations in tx and by far this was the worst cook of all

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The entire experience is very rushed. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The entire experience is very rushed. The waitresses are very impatient.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great lunch!!!! The chef cooks in fron ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great lunch!!!! The chef cooks in front of you & it wasn't too crowded so special request were easy. Food is always great & large portions even st lunch!! Everyone treats you so special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming here is always a blast! Would def ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Coming here is always a blast! Would definitely recommend coming here as a group to celebrate that special occasion of yours!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.