About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (35)
Fun (33)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Family Style (17)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Healthy (11)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

Always enjoy taking the kids for the show... and the food is tasty!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I loved it. Would go with friends anytime I have the chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

It's was excellent and our kids loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

After several months of passing this restaurant on Westheimer. I finally decided to give it a try! My girlfriend and I loved the ambiance and the thrill of having a chef prepare the food in front of us. Service was great and the food was ok, however I was not happy to find a hair in my sauce and particles of food in my very first glass of water... For this reason alone, I will not be coming back. This truly is a shame because this place had all the makings to be a great go-to spot for date nights or casual eating.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We went late on a Saturday night thinking we come get in quickly. That didn't happen. Had a reservation for 9:30, didn't get sitted until 10. The place was loud and there were too many kids for my taste. I'll stick with the downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

This my bday celebration dinner. I truly enjoyed the dinner and food. I will suggest this place for future gathering6.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Kids first time! They loved everything! They enjoyed the chef table and their mugs at the end of the meal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Felt rushed and the cook we had was not entertaining at all.

Get rid of the green squash and all the onions and come up with yellow squash carrots something that makes a veggie medley.

Options for different salad dressing for those that cannot have onion or garlic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food . Everything's good, I recommend it, it is family friendly

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

You made MY birthday AMAZING!!! Jackson is a wonderful chef. The main disappointment was not with YOU, but with the others at my table, including my friends who had brought me to celebrate my birthday. You see, I recognized that I was being honored with a wonderful show, and asked questions while Jackson was cooking and thoroughly enjoyed his wonderful abilities!!! I did notice, however, that folks at the table were either too busy talking to each other or being on their phones that they did not have quite the same experience as I. I can talk to any folks any time. I can answer phones any time. I was THERE to enjoy my birthday and enjoy a wonderful and creative show, which I DID!!! So I LOVED IT!!!! It took me 2.5 days, but I ate my leftovers, and even learned to steam them to assure a fresher taste!!! (you might want to let your diners know about that....microwaving doesn't do so great. In a frying pan, not so much. It strips the flavor and makes it too crispy...[both]). BUT, if you take the leftover, put into foil, and steam it hot.....the flavor STAYS AMAZING and it is VERY perfect, with the meat nor the rice drying out at all!!! A little extra effort for an amazing product is WORTH IT!!! Thank you so much for doing the special birthday gift online. I would not have been able to come and enjoy without that. I appreciate it greatly!!! -Sharon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I haven't been to Benihana in a while. This just wasn't the same experience that I remember. It was just like every other hibachi restaurant. I used to compare every where else I went against them and their food and experience. This was just okay.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had some sort of special house mojito. It was extremely expensive and I could not taste ANY alcohol in it. After dinner I asked the waitress if they had any specialty coffee drinks. She said that the restaurant didn't serve any coffee. On the way out we stopped at the bar. They too said that there were no coffee drinks. I asked for a "B&B" ... neither the bar waitress OR the bartender knew what it was but allowed that they didn't have it. The food was fresh, hot, fun to watch the preparation, looked appealing and was delicious. The ice cream dessert was just right as well. The staff was friendly and professional. We had a gift card given to us by our kids for our anniversary. We didn't know the value on the card so I called the restaurant. The voice mail cue informed me that they no longer provided that service on the phone and referred me to the website. The website had nowhere on it to verify the balance on the card. I called back to the restaurant and talked to a person who told me that I could drive across town to the restaurant and they could tell me what the balance was. That is what we did.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Seated at table with two empty chairs; other guests at table were rude; chef just went through the motions; portion was very small (filet mignon); vegetables burnt; fried rice had no flavor; chef was coughing throughout because of smoke and burnt grill; room was dingy; did not receive value and will not return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food and service was good (as always). However, every scallop that i had contained 'grit' which was very disappointing considering that i rarely 'splurge' and have that dish.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent service, tasty food and experienced chef. Tony was funny and talented.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was not pleased on how slow the chef was considering we came in for lunch - I have been to many places like this and didnt seem he knew how to cook many meals at once - plus some of the food we ordered was missing and he could not rememeber who had what meal.

Restaurant was empty and it had to be bacause the cooks take too long....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had a great time as always Ask for Yusef he was very funny, entertaining & an awesome chef !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food was good and fresh. Great cook as usual. Only oddity was that everyone had to show identification to order an alcoholic beverage. 3 of us, ages 48, 55 and 85, had to show ID. I promise we all look over 21 yrs. old. They're obviously spooked for some reason but that is ridiculous.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My husband's birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We sat at a teppanyaki table and the Chef, Jose R., was just amazing, happy, wonderful, energetic. Very much fun for our party of three. We loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Not enough cleaning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful. It was my second visit. I will reserve again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great place we really enjoyed our service was impeccable everyone was very attentive from the hostess to the chef cooking for us everything was excellent! The only downfall in this is the value for the food I felt we got a lower value for what we paid for. There were 8 of us our tab was over $250+ but our dish didn't reflect that the portions just did not amount to it. But the show was great and we all had a good time, perhaps the issue was just that night seeing that it was really busy?

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was great for fun date where you get to watch everyone's meal being cooked right before your very eyes. The chef was amazing and talented. The food was delicious and the service was second-to-none. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Chef huy rocks

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We 've been to this location a few times typically to celebrate our children's birthday. On this date, food was just okay, seems like the fried rice not as tasty although the soup very good. Beef a little tough which has never been the case in the past. Also, prior to making reservation, I contacted the restaurant asking if we could bring out own cake which they said was perfectly acceptable. They stored the cake while we were eating and before we knew it they were bringing the complimentary ice cream and singing to the birthday girl. I reminded our waitress about the cake and she was very nice to bring it to our table but then took off. We decided not to eat cake and brought it back home. Just seem like the restaurant had booked reservations too closed together. Still enjoyable evening because it was a family function,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I was very excited about dining here as there have been so many reviews and everyone seems to be raving about Benihana. The food was great and the teppanyaki/hibachi was interesting and out of the norm.
The food was excellent but I probably wouldn't go back unless they refurbish. When I walked in the first thing to hit me was the pungent air and the smell of dirty carpet :/
They rushed us through our meal making us order drinks almost as soon as we were seated and then rushed us into ordering our meals without giving us sufficient time to go through the menu. The place was noisy and extremely crowded.
My reservation was at 7.30pm and I arrived at the restaurant at 7.25pm but had to wait till 7.50pm to be seated.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It was very noisy. Also, the soup and salad came out so quickly, together and the chef started cooking. We weren't even half way through one thing before we got the next course. I felt like we were being hurried. They need to work on their pacing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was great. Chief was rude and not entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice place to enjoy their food and be friendly with the family.
Thank you Benihanna.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Fun, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Waitress was very pushy to order food. She need to have better customer service skills. Rushing people is unacceptable. The chef was amazing! He had a great sense of humor and kept us entertained while preparing our meal. I believe his name was Henry!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a very entertaining and nice restaurant for family, entertaining, and special events. The waitresses were attentive and friendly. There was a bar dining section while you wait on your table. I would recommend making reservation, even though they have open seating, to cut cut down on wait time at this restaurant. Good experience... ENJOY!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The place was great, I recommend you to make reservations. It gets busy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and entertainment serves could be a little nicer and not rush us to get up after dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have visited this location and many others around the U.S. Always enjoy my meal, atmosphere, and the chef. This time the chef seemed rushed and things started burning on the grill. Worst of all, the food itself had no flavor- none of it. The burning created so much smoke the chef himself started coughing. If this had been my first visit to a Benihana in general, I probably wouldn't return. Glad it was a belated birthday celebration. Better luck next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Benihana's is a restaurant with a great atmosphere. Henry explained a lot of differences in cultures. He was very informative and a great chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The vent hoods were not working very well. I left the place coughing as there was so much smoke and grease particles in the air. Only went there because it was my youngest birthday dinner. Otherwise, this would not be a place I choose.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If I could give them 10 stars, I would! We celebrated my mom's birthday here and our hibachi chef was Knock. Make sure to request him! He's very sweet and actually engages with the customer besides doing his job. He took an extra step by building a relationship with our family the little time we were together. Thank you, Knock Knock and we will be back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was very disappointed in our experience. The chef was not very talkative and didn't interact with us much. We were there for my daughter's 10th birthday and it seemed like most of the employees we not very happy to be there. Only one guy (I am guessing the manager) came to sing to her, and he was the only employee that was happy. I probably will.not return to this location. The food tasted ok, but the dining experience wasn't worth the money at all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.