About Benihana - Houston

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Trio - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Onion soup & salad w/ginger dressing - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Hot Sake - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice With Extra Garlic Butter - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Lunch Duet With Beef Julienne And Hibachi Shrimp - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX
Onion Soup - Benihana - Houston, Houston, TX

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Kid-friendly (14)
Fun (14)
Family Style (13)
Casual (11)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server and chef did not speak much engli ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Server and chef did not speak much english. They did not know what I ordered and got it wrong. Chef wasn't as trained and didn't perform as well as others there. He also skipped through his performance and didnt do any tricks. Very disappointed. Also the waitress told me fried rice was only a dollar extra and turned out to be $4.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Too loud. The chicken tasted bad, like i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Too loud. The chicken tasted bad, like it was spoiled. I have never tasted chicken worse than that. We had to change the order.

Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food, service and "entertainment" we ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food, service and "entertainment" were top-rate. Unfortunately there are no soft surfaces or baffles to block off noisy parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cook Was not a show man at all I have b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Cook Was not a show man at all

I have been to other locations in tx and by far this was the worst cook of all

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The entire experience is very rushed. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The entire experience is very rushed. The waitresses are very impatient.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great lunch!!!! The chef cooks in fron ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great lunch!!!! The chef cooks in front of you & it wasn't too crowded so special request were easy. Food is always great & large portions even st lunch!! Everyone treats you so special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming here is always a blast! Would def ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Coming here is always a blast! Would definitely recommend coming here as a group to celebrate that special occasion of yours!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like that you get delicious food along ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I like that you get delicious food along with a good show in a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Its always fun being at Benihana - great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Its always fun being at Benihana - great Chefs , good food and good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Went there for my 4year old b-day and sh ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went there for my 4year old b-day and she loved it. There was a misunderstanding about my reservation but it was quickly fixed. All that mattered to us was that our daughter loved it. :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very entertaining to watch the che ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It is very entertaining to watch the chef doing the meals. They are great artists

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I took a f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great service. I took a friend for her birthday and they were very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Juan was our server and my group loved h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Juan was our server and my group loved him and his personality and sense of humor. We did a lot of laughing and joking with him. It was a pleasurable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service from server and chef.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great service from server and chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always loved dining there but now ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I have always loved dining there but now I brought my son and he can't get enough. We will be dining there more frequently now.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After a long day of shopping, it was the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After a long day of shopping, it was the only food that sounded appetizing. Also, it right up the street fro the galleria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food OK. Time to come ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was good, food OK. Time to come up with new tricks?

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Classic Teppanyaki! Portion size is lar ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Classic Teppanyaki! Portion size is large, so skip the appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for your service. We had a bla ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Thank you for your service. We had a blast!!! We was celebrating my daughter in law birthday and she was so excited and pleased with the service we received. Our cook Mr Juan did a great job entertaining us and the food was delicious. We will be returning very soon for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Benihana's several times fo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I've been to Benihana's several times for happy hour but have never dined there for dinner. The preparation was amazing! Wish it was a more intimate experience for talking privately, but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Be sure to make a reservation! Great for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Be sure to make a reservation! Great for celebrating birthdays. Fun ambiance. Drink Sake and enjoy!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We go to Benihana once or twice a year a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We go to Benihana once or twice a year and always have a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very next noisey and felt rushed in eati ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very next noisey and felt rushed in eating my dinner. I didn't enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The food once again was great and the ch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food once again was great and the chef very skilled!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great spot for birthday celebra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always a great spot for birthday celebrations!! We loved our chef Juan - he was funny and we laughed so much and so loud!! It was my oldest daughter's first time - she had a blast and was stuffed!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chefs are very skilled at cooking an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The chefs are very skilled at cooking and entertaining guests. I love it!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef, Ngoc was phenomenal but the wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The chef, Ngoc was phenomenal but the waitress was rude, not attentive and somewhat rude. If she wasn't involved, the overall experience would have been a 5. The hostess and restaurant manager were extremely welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We were in town from Florida, we don't h ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were in town from Florida, we don't have this restaurant there but other Japanese style restaurants. Benihana is by far the best! Great service and very fresh flavorful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been to Benihana's in years, s ...

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I haven't been to Benihana's in years, so it was nice to come back after a while. We had a very nice meal here, good experience. The only thing that was a little shocking, was my boyfriend changed his order from steamed rice to fried rice before ANY food was out, and the waitress wouldn't let him change it. Other than that, everything was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Gone are the days of Japanese ambience. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Gone are the days of Japanese ambience. They get you in and out as fast as they can. Food is OK. I would look for a more authentic Japanese hibachi experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service a little slow

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Took over 30 minutes to be seated even w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Took over 30 minutes to be seated even with reservations. Server took 30 minutes to bring drinks. Half of which were on the pile of napkins on the serving tray.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I was very disappointed. My food was al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I was very disappointed. My food was along with my parents food. :(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

We always enjoy dining at the Westheimer ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Westheimer Benihana in Houston, but this time was the best ever! Good service, excellent sushi, great chef, good company at the table. The restauant was busy with special occasion celebrations at almost every table and the excitement created an energetic and fun ambiance. We were seated almost immediately with our Open Table reservation, and of course the staff took photos because we were celebrating a birthday. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing, as al ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service were amazing, as always! However, it was so miserably hot that I couldn't eat. I thought I was going to pass out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Wonderful as always

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time in a row that the table chef ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second time in a row that the table chefs had no idea how to cook lobster tails. First time it was underdone and I got sick. This time it was so overdone that it was rubbery and totally inedible. So bad it's sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good no matter who your chef is!! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always good no matter who your chef is!!! Like the fact that you can enjoy your meal with OUT lots of butter - if you just ask. Portions are huge & great for leftovers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was so very hot that it kind of spoil ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was so very hot that it kind of spoiled the birthday - sweat was running down our faces!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.