About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Fun (31)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our reservation was at 6:30, we arrived at 6:15. We were seated about 7:15 and food was not served until 8:00 pm. Service was slow and inattentive. No drink refills or second cocktail or wines were offered. That's not a easy outing with grandkids under five years old. Their Habachi Deluxe steak is a fine cut of meat but watch that the chef doesn't overcook it and make it shoe leather. Oh, you'll need a shower after because smoke from the grill gets all over you. But, hey, it's all in good fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Restaurant seemed way too crowded--as if the Fire Marshall might've shut it down. Too loud. Too hot with all the hibatchi tables going full blaze. It's too expensive for this bus station atmosphere. Have been going for years to the same location and it's gone downhill --dive-like now but without the discount pricing. We won't be back unless we are dragged there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food and service Our waitress was so sweet!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My friend and her daughters had a great time. The twins are six and had never been there and they wore their hats proudly and loved it. They enjoyed the food very much and the ice cream. We brought home yummy leftovers. Benihana is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

GREAT CHEF. DEFINITELY WILL REQUEST HUSUF TO BE OUR CHEF AGAIN. HAD AN AWESOME TIME AND LOT OD LAUGHTER.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Love the food and our chef was great it was my daughters birthday and my family came down from San Antonio

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our chef Johnny was great! He joked that he was so good at cooking but it was no joke. He seriously made our food delicious! I don't know what it was but it was more flavorful and everyone in our table ate everything off our plates. We normally don't finish our food. But i guess it was a combination of such a great cook and being hungry lol. He was a little messy lol but he did say he was maybe 2 weeks out of training so don't let that discourage you cause you will eat so good. I recommend anyone to ask for Johnny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been going to this location for 15 years. This experience was the worst ever. We had to scream over each other to be heard. It was too hot. The food quality was poor. We will not return for quite some time, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Have enjoyed this location since the late 80s. However, the client base is very noisy these days.
We went at 5pm- thinking 4 adults would enjoy. More small, crying children than any "kid friendly" children's restaurant.
The staff was bery polite, customers- not so much.
Our mistake. There is one downtown. We will try it because we like the experience occasionally.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I made a reservation for 3 last Aug 3, 7:45pm. We got accommodated right away by the staff. Such friendly & funny chef. It is my 32nd bday and I recieved a $30 bday gift. Thank you Benihana! Food was great, I ordered beef Terriyake (m) it was so good. Server was very attentive to us. One of the staff came to our table to sing a Happy birthday (i was so happy). After that another staff came to take a family photo using their camera & they printed it and gave it to me. I was surprised😁. They also gave a bday cake. It was perfect choice I decided to celebrate my bday dinner to this restaurant. It's kinda pricey but you have a lot of option they have food that would fit to everyone'a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I've never been there and I'm a local... go figure. It was my birthday dinner and it was amazing. The chef was great and entertaining. The waitress was ON POINT. and I got a picture for memories. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It's a great place for birthday celebration. Food is good and service, great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Birthday dinner was amazing, the chef was great, the service was great, once again Benihana delivers an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!! We love the show the chef gives with the volcano and choo choo train

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The restaurant was great myself is very knowledgeable he's very friendly. The drinks I ordered we're very good I believe I will be back in the future maybe even to take my little girl there for her birthday when she turned 11 and I hope she enjoys it as much as I did

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We dined with old time friends and had a great time of fellowship and food. We had the Ocean Treasures and the Benihana Excellence - both were prepared well and delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Had a reservation for 8 seated about 8:15 cook didn't come until 9 or a little after. Took a long time to get ticket and pay. We left about 10:30 maybe 10:45 after asking again for ticket. Good did a good job cooking and entertaining us. We usually visit the Sugarland location and never had a problem. Celebrating my Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our chef, Knock, was very entertaining! He was very engaging and funny - the best we've had since going to Benihana's! The food and atmosphere was good!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our server was good, made suggestions, answered questions, knowledgeable. Juan R. our chef was awesome, had fun, all food(steak, lobster, shrimp, chicken) prepare to our liking! Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The water from the a/c unit was dropping on my out of town guests. Very embarrassing. The food was great. I've been to Benihana many times. This has never happened before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I put my order in for myself and my daughter for our drinks. The lady messed up the drink order. I CORRECTED her on that. Everyone at our table received their drinks. I had to ask for our drinks. I put my order in for our food. She then messed up that up also. I CORRECTED her on that. The people at the table received their soup and salad i had to ask for ours. I should've just left. But it was my daughter first time and she wanted the experience. Then the chef comes out the order was still wrong. At that point i had had it with the entire process. Food was perpared and my drink came out and my daughter sprite NEVER did. IT WAS A WASTE OF $55😡😡😡😡😡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I went here for my 18th birthday and I was blown away. The food was great the service was kind and they even sang me happy birthday and gave me a dessert. They gave me a complimentary photo and my little brother loved it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our dinner was delicious!!!!! Joaquin was an excellent chef and very entertaining! Our server was also excellent! We were warmly greeted and treated very well by everyone with whom we came in contact!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Average service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Birthday occasion. Good atmosphere my son had a blast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

Happy birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was delicious as expected, however the noise level from the crowded restaurant was above a usual level which was the only negative throughout my experience tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good time and good food. A little surprised the chef was not Asian

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Chef Henry was the best! The food was flavored and cooked expertly!!! Will go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We celebrate all special family events (grandkids' birthdays, Christmas, etc.) at Benihana. Because of that, we have probably eaten at this specific Benihana location about 170 times. This most recent visit is one of only 2 times in all our visits, that we found the food to be subpar. Our chef wasn't proficient at the special entertainment skills that we expect. (We didn't get the "egg roll", shrimp flip, Mickey Mouse, etc.) It was my granddaughter's 8th birthday and she was very disappointed that the chef would not "engage" with her. She kept trying to talk to him and get him to show her special attention, as the birthday girl, but he wasn't interested. Additionally, he cooked 3 of 5 steaks at the very end of the meal. Our vegetables were cold, as was the mushrooms, BEFORE getting the steaks started. 1 steak, and the chicken, were On a positive note, we had two servers: Shari and a trainee - TJ. They did an excellent job taking care of our drinks, refills, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Made my request to be away from kids, and stated that it was my wedding anniversary but was still seated with kids. Left and went to Pappas Seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Always enjoy taking the kids for the show... and the food is tasty!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Somehow the last 5 times I've been they end up seating my party with at least 2-3 toddlers who always happen to be not very well behaved. These kids were so bad 3 people got up after they ordered and left the restaurant. I know it's tough going out with children or finding a sitter. But maybe they could start asking if it's ok to be sat with children?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I loved it. Would go with friends anytime I have the chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's was excellent and our kids loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

After several months of passing this restaurant on Westheimer. I finally decided to give it a try! My girlfriend and I loved the ambiance and the thrill of having a chef prepare the food in front of us. Service was great and the food was ok, however I was not happy to find a hair in my sauce and particles of food in my very first glass of water... For this reason alone, I will not be coming back. This truly is a shame because this place had all the makings to be a great go-to spot for date nights or casual eating.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went late on a Saturday night thinking we come get in quickly. That didn't happen. Had a reservation for 9:30, didn't get sitted until 10. The place was loud and there were too many kids for my taste. I'll stick with the downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This my bday celebration dinner. I truly enjoyed the dinner and food. I will suggest this place for future gathering6.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.