About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (39)
Special Occasion (38)
Family Style (27)
See All
Fun (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Romantic (12)
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

Food was great. Chief was rude and not entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a very entertaining and nice restaurant for family, entertaining, and special events. The waitresses were attentive and friendly. There was a bar dining section while you wait on your table. I would recommend making reservation, even though they have open seating, to cut cut down on wait time at this restaurant. Good experience... ENJOY!!!

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The place was great, I recommend you to make reservations. It gets busy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and entertainment serves could be a little nicer and not rush us to get up after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have visited this location and many others around the U.S. Always enjoy my meal, atmosphere, and the chef. This time the chef seemed rushed and things started burning on the grill. Worst of all, the food itself had no flavor- none of it. The burning created so much smoke the chef himself started coughing. If this had been my first visit to a Benihana in general, I probably wouldn't return. Glad it was a belated birthday celebration. Better luck next time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Benihana's is a restaurant with a great atmosphere. Henry explained a lot of differences in cultures. He was very informative and a great chef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The vent hoods were not working very well. I left the place coughing as there was so much smoke and grease particles in the air. Only went there because it was my youngest birthday dinner. Otherwise, this would not be a place I choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

If I could give them 10 stars, I would! We celebrated my mom's birthday here and our hibachi chef was Knock. Make sure to request him! He's very sweet and actually engages with the customer besides doing his job. He took an extra step by building a relationship with our family the little time we were together. Thank you, Knock Knock and we will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was very disappointed in our experience. The chef was not very talkative and didn't interact with us much. We were there for my daughter's 10th birthday and it seemed like most of the employees we not very happy to be there. Only one guy (I am guessing the manager) came to sing to her, and he was the only employee that was happy. I probably will.not return to this location. The food tasted ok, but the dining experience wasn't worth the money at all.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They kept us waiting for about 45 minutes, even with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our waitress was excellent.

We ordered two bowls of HIBACHI CHICKEN RICE that tasted terrible. The fried rice was not fried at all. It looked as though they just mixed chicken, steamed rice, and sauce soy then served it to us. We could see 33% white steamed rice that were not covered by soy sauce. There were no vegetable in HIBACHI CHICKEN RICE, and we did not even taste the garlic butter. Our Hibachi Tuna Steak was overcooked and salty. HIBACHI SHRIMP APPETIZER also overcooked, dry, and tasteless.

Rainbow roll was very good. Sashimi Sampler was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was my birthday and I had a really good time. Food was great, service was great!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Not as good as I thought it would be. No attention to detail.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service . kind and very organized.. Food was great delicious.. Love too see the chefs cooking

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My family and I came for my Birthday and we enjoyed every minute. Our Chef Joaquin was Amazing, he took good care of us and he made sure our food was seasoned to perfection. That was my first time trying Sushi and I loved it. I will be back and hopefully Joaquin can be my Chef again.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the food and the service. Will come back again

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 29, 2017

Been to this location before, enjoyed it every time. Unfortunately we were seated right under the a/c and not only was it unbearably cold the a/c DRIPPED WATER on us the entire time.

very unfortunate - probably will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I went to celebrate my birthday with a friend. I had a reservation. I wa seated quickly and shortly after the service began. Everything was great from the appetizers to the main course. I had the New York strip and shrip with chicken fried rice that was my favorite of the night. I will be back soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I truly love this place!!! I brought my mother for her birthday and Benihana made her feel special. i brought my own cake and they sang her happy birthday and they even captured a picture of all of us at the table. Memories, memories, memories!! That all I can say, she left the place with a great big smile on her face!!! Thank you Benihana. Ps, the food was great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The waitstaff, hostess, and "master of ceremonies" were all terrific. The cook was good. The bar area is attractive. However, the area where you eat and the cooking is done is really ugly. It is dated the ceilings are low, and it is cramped, and all the blinds are shut. It is way too functional. It is like a dark school cafeteria. The place is just downright depressing in the way it looks. I don't get it because the outside is pretty and the bar area is pretty. Also, the clientele is pretty interesting. I think the sign on the hostess stand that says, "customers must be appropriately dressed with clothing covering the body parts that normally should have clothing" pretty much sums that one up. This is expensive and my children wanted to go here for their birthday, but for a meal of over $100 for a family of 4, I will choose some place else.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had an amazing time, it was my daughter in laws birthday.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for a fun Hibachi experience to celebrate a loved one's birthday. Very mediocre experience. Been to better Japanese restaurants much closer to home. Chef was not much fun, and food not very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a great time for a 15 year olds birthday! This was a new experience for her and she found it very entertaining. The food portions were very sizable and all of us left "full". Very tasty.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was ok. The cook gave me a meal that I didn't order. When asked if I could just pay for the meal that was served instead of the meal I ordered (which was more than what I was given)... I was told no. They would fix the problem. Which was nice, but I had already eaten what I was served and had to wait for the other order to which I ended up giving to someone else at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Luv the lunch menu!!! Perfect portions & the price is right!!! So much food with out being stuffed!! The chef is always amazing - and still does a great show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated nearly 30 minutes after our reservation time. Our poor server was so busy and overwhelmed it took so long to get drinks. Sat idly for a long time before ordering. Salads were served well into the meal. Very rushed feel and dark, loud environment. Sugarland location is much more relaxing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was ok the chef was nice and smiling but the place need a remodelation asap!..old equipment old paint old everything you can tell the place as not being touched in years. Food was great same as service prices was ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place to celebrate anything... awesome staff!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food tasted pretty good, but i have been to better Japanese steakhouses.
Didn't give you as much food or variety as other, either.
Fun ambience, of course.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was my kids birthday dinner, so they got what they wanted, so that's fine. My issues are with the food quality and price. They do not offer kids yakisoba, so they made us buy the adult platter, which is $18.50. My kids are 10 and we needed 3. They typically like the Yakisoba at Shogun, so I figured we were ok paying the price. However, I think they add pumpkin spice to it, which my kids did not like. The waitress saw they didn't eat their food, but no one asked why. We ended up paying $250+ for a six top with 4 kids. That's about double what Shogun charges, so we won't be back. I did the ink the soup and steak were better, but unfortunately those are my only two good memories other than the overly nice staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Do not reserve the last time slot available. We did that and were rushed through our entire meal. If we had not been here several times before I would have given this place a very low rating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My experience has always been exceptional!!! Staff is always welcoming, always with a smile and with a great attitude . I bought my family here to celebrate my cousin Gabriel's 10th birthday this was his first time dining at this restaurant ; his experience made him very happy and wanting to go back very soon. Thanks again to ALL the staff at Benihana; for making my cousin 10th birthday extra special.

You have made an big impression!!!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The "table-chef" was ok, but the server was downright snarky.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday and we couldn't be more happier! Our dining experience was fantastic

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was really fun, it wasn't my first time at Benihana but it was my boyfriend's first and he loved it! A little expensive but definitely worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great time had by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a party of 8 for my girlfriends birthday. It was a nice experience. It is a very busy location, but it was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been to several locations but this was my first time ar this one. Our cook was very poor. English wasn't good, the entertainment was lacking, he tried to perform a trick with the rice and bowl and dropped the bowl into the rice, the food lacked seasoning (everyone at the table passed around salt and pepper), our waitress was very slow to refill drinks. We left feeling like we wasted our time! This was supposed to be our late Valentine's Day dinner and it wasnt very pleasant. Also, the tables were way too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.