About Benihana - Houston

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Houston
Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Far Westheimer ›

good for groups (76)
special occasion (67)
kid-friendly (41)
See All
great for lunch (37)
romantic (28)
hot spot (16)
fit for foodies (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Service was fair at best on this occasio ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was fair at best on this occasion. Fried rice was overcooked and waited too long for appetizer.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was our first time to Benihana's and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It was our first time to Benihana's and we were not disappointed. It was a very festive atmosphere so the noise level was high. The dress is very casual. Our table chef was Joaquin and he was great! The food was much better than I expected for a chain.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

Dined on May 13, 2016

Birthday for 11yr old granddaughter. She had a wonderful time. Our chef was intertaining. Staff great. Food very good. Staff sang happy birthday to granddaughter. We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food- Not for mother's day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived early anticipating a lot of people since it was Mother's Day. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation. The manager offered me a complementary sushi, but I have a shellfish allergy. He didn't offer to compensate in any other way. I would have accepted an apology, but I got an "oh." Our chef, Jackson, started off strong, but didn't give us much of a show. He did the heart pump and the onion train. That was about it. It was disappointing. I have eaten at several benihana's - the food was Benihana quality but everything else was sub par. At $25 a person; I expect better. I expected a show. Our waitress was excellent despite how packed it was. In the future, I wouldn't dine at this location. If I did, I definitely would not go on a holiday.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a great time great staff with even better food .Will come back again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1

We had reservations for 6:30 and arrived ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had reservations for 6:30 and arrived at 6:20. We were told that we would be called at the time of our reservation. Once 6:30 had come and gone, I went up and asked when we were going to be seated. I was told that we had to wait until some large parties had cleared out, and that we would have to wait for another 15-20 minutes. We were finally seated, but still did not have a glass of water by 7:00. We were seated at a table with 5 kids from a larger party with the adults at the next table. We left and went somewhere else for dinner. What is the point to making reservations (through OpenTable) if you aren't even waited on for 30 minutes past the reservation time?

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Benihana's is always fun

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a great time. Went to the Houston-Westheimer location and it was packed. The result was they were a little slow and a bit loud but once we got used to it it wasn't terrible.

food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious meal. Chefs do a great job a ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Delicious meal. Chefs do a great job at the table. Lobster is worth it!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place and great food

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. It's fun to watch the food being cooked and the master chef is very entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Reservation

Dined on April 21, 2016

whats the point to reserve if you still have to wait a good 15 min to be seated just like everyone else who hasent reserved .👎

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch is fantastic!!!! All the great sh ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Lunch is fantastic!!!! All the great show & food as dinner. But a perfect portion & price!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always consistent restaurant

Dined on April 13, 2016

Good food, prompt, entertaining. Friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Bad

Dined on April 9, 2016

The staff acted too busy to help us and the smoke from the food gave my date a asthma attack!

food4
ambience4
service3

Great birthday dinner for family. We had ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great birthday dinner for family. We had a great time.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always FUN!

Dined on April 3, 2016

My teen loves hibachi - this is the place to go!! Enjoy!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoy this place, but it's become very expense.

Dined on April 2, 2016

We've noticed our bill goes up $100 each time we visit...besides drinks the meals have gone up. Everything else is perfect...just wish we could afford to go more often, it's just too expensive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Rude chef

Dined on March 31, 2016

The chef attempted to throw a hot piece of chicken in one of my guests mouth even after she said no. As a result it hit her in the eye. This was highly inappropriate, rude and unprofessional. I will never return to this location again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tony our chef was awesome I've gone 4 ti ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Tony our chef was awesome I've gone 4 times now but he still had some tricks up his sleeve I haven't seen. Food is great as always, keep up the great work.

food1
ambience3
service1

My wife and I get there at 5:30 for our ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I get there at 5:30 for our anniversary for a 6:30 reservation. We asked if they were able to seat us early and they were able to accommodate us. We are taken to our table just the two of us, about five minutes later they sit a family with 2 kids and a baby(this was fine). After around another 10 minutes the family asked to have a table for themselves as their children were a little rowdy, again this was fine. What was not OK was the fact that we had to wait for them to sit another family when we were ready to order. We told our server before they even say another group with us we were ready to order and we were ignored. At this point my wife and I decided to leave hungry and go eat at a cheap Mexican place. Thanks for our treatment on our anniversary.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not worth watching compared to how much I paid...

Dined on March 7, 2016

They chef didn't do anything entertaining like funny tricks , it was just watching someone cooking your food and served to you. I have been to other banihanas before and it was more exciting and entertaining.... I was so disappointed

food4
ambience3
service2

Very long delay for waitress to take & b ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Very long delay for waitress to take & bring drink order. App order was completely wrong, chef got our family orders confused with the couple who they sat at our table with us. Couldn't believe they put a couple on a date at our family table of 7 including our crying baby & children. Good hostess doesn’t seat dates with family & children, with our size group we were expecting a private table just for our family & better more attentive service.

food3
ambience4
service3

Food needed a little more flavor. Also i ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food needed a little more flavor. Also if making reservations I did not know you still had to wait 20-30 minutes for a table. What's the point of a reservation then?

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not the restaurant quality of 20 yrs ago

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our experience was terrible. Our hood vent must not have been working properly because we were constantly surrounded by smoke and at times it was choking us. Our waitress was forgetful and at times never brought a second drink. Our chef was okay but lacked fancy cooking abilities. We spent quite a bit of money and felt as if we were cheated. I remember when the chefs had personality and finesse while cooking. This was not the case in our lives xperience. I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic meal!!! No matter wh ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Always a fantastic meal!!! No matter who your chef is - the food is delightful!!! Great lobster -what is the secret??? Lunch is great because just the perfect size serving-full not stuffed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana still a classic

Dined on February 27, 2016

Benihana remains a classic favorite for a unique, fun experience. Food is always terrific and it's so enjoyable to meet new people at a table! If you havn't been here, give it a try - you'll keep going back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just amazing.

Dined on February 26, 2016

I went here for my 20th birthday and we went online to reserve a table, which was really easy and convenient. When we got there, we checked in with the hostess and she immediately took us to our table (due to reservations). The people we sat with weren't all that entertaining and seemed really dull but the staff was so energetic and amazing. Xing our chef has always been out cook each time we have gone and he was very lively. The birthday song was fun the only thing about it that I wish was different was being able to keep the chef hats that they let us wear for the photos. Other than that benihanas at westhiemer and Gessner in Houston Texas was extremely memorable and so energetic.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service3

Great experience but probably will not r ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience but probably will not return, too loud was unable to have any conversations with my guest...plus our order was messed up a few times and one of our guest had to wait for entree to be recooked while another didn't receive rice ordered until we said something...but chef and server did correct it after we said something

food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken rice was delicious. Shrim ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Fried chicken rice was delicious. Shrimp tempura appetizer prepared with fresh vegetables and great shrimp. Seating was immediate!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine and dine

Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was awesome !!! My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day (I had made a reservation 4 days prior) it was really packed but that didn't stop us from being able to grub out !! We loved all the food only downside we had , we ordered sushi which we never got .( Hope we can get a free meal next time we go ). I would definitely recommend to anyone especially for special occasions! we will definitely be back! :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food at benihanas was great, the chef was brilliant, how he maneuver his cooking utensils was awesome. The service was excellent i would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.. Amazing!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service.. Amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely and fun

Dined on February 14, 2016

My family of 5 came here on Valentine's Day and it was a great choice. Wee come here year for this day and it's always packed, but still worth it. This time was much easier sure to the reservation we made through Open Table. The kids had a blast with the entertainment and many husband and I had a nice couples moment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Special Occasion Destination

Dined on February 14, 2016

If you're looking for a restaurant for a special occasion and don't mind spending a lot of money, Benihana is the best place in Houston. Complete meal service, entertaining chefs, and a completely satisfying meal experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always! A little hectic due ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent as always! A little hectic due to the Valentines Day crowns but great as usual.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Save your money.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Simple, save your money and time. Horrible experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu

Dined on February 14, 2016

My only complaint was that the menu was different from the one in the Woodlands. They had more items for you to pick from.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

pre valentines day lunch

Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything was good,it was my first date with my new girlfriend.they didn't do my special request.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to relax after a long day at ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great place to relax after a long day at the office

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Wait

Dined on February 10, 2016

We booked a table and still had a 30 min wait not good

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great. General service was good.

Dined on February 10, 2016

Table server was slow and not in sync with chef. Chef was great and food was great.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.