Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Houston

4.3
898 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Fun
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 789-4962
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S Gesseenger
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 898 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Always a good time at Benihanas, although they were short staffed so the wait was a little longer.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was dirty: dirty dishes, silverware, and very dirty floors were left unpicked up. Waitress was good but clearly had far too many tables to take care of.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Better attitude Form the people that work st the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Good food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I bring my kids here for their birthday's every year and Benihana's never disappoints. Great food, great service and a happy, energetic and friendly chef.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

No longer the Benihana I enjoyed so much in my youth. The Westheimer location is run down and the quality of food not what it once was. The staff did their best but were spread thin.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Management needs to learn how to handle customer complaints better. It’s not others fault that one individual is not ok with what’s going on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

First timer and loved it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food and show were good, but the building is run down and a bit dirty. The A/C vent kept dripping on me. Service was great, though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

By far the WORST Benihana's and I've been to many. The lobby was cool but as soon as we walked into the restaurant we were hit with a blast of hot air and that's how it was for the remainder of the visit. It had to be 80 in there. Other diners were sweating. Also, the air was thick with oil. If it hadn't been Mothers Day, we would have left. There was still food from the last dinner on the grill. We and the party of 4 who were also at the table all had to send our dishes back because they were greasy. The soup was a little watered down but the salad was fresh. The shrimp appetizer was a joke. Th chef cut them and he was careful that we each got 5 small pieces. My filet was tender but my lobster was chewy. He was miserly with the mushrooms and onions. We still tipped him because he got the shrimp tails into his pocket. As we were leaving another customer was complaining to the manager about the heat. He told her that people had been complaining all day but there was nothing he could do about it. How about cleaning the place up so that the air isn't thick and turning on your exhaust fans? We won't be back........ to that one anyway.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was worth it, always! The service was awful, Jane was the waitress. We had to ask another waitress to assist us. When Jane did come back she had an attitude, like we were bothering her. Also I know you have to tip for the waitress and the cook. But over $10.00 person was a bit much for 4 people.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My family and I have been coming to the Westheimer location for a number of years. Since the original owners sold the restaurant, we have seen a decline in the cleanliness. The ladies restroom is always in need of attention no matter what time we're there, and the floors in the dining room always have food around the sitting areas.

We always request the chef named Henry because he's part of the "old regime" and prepares the food the way it was prepared before the owners sold the restaurant. He takes a lot of pride in what he does.

The manager and the hostesses are always very friendly, as are most of the servers and bar tenders.

Overall, our experiences have gone from outstanding to good. The staff, although very courteous, don't seem to care like the staff did prior to the restaurant being sold.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

A luxury place with cheap restaurant experience. No bottled water. And not all drinks in the menu are available. Waiter can't navigate around the table to serve or pickup dishes, so you quickly find yourself in the position to give a helping hand. 4 people over $200 is not what you'd think buys in this place. Soup was cold and salad was nothing special. Very noisy and packed tables. Quality of the food is as good as the show you get from the Hibachi chef. Onion train was the only memorable thing for me.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The place is great .they do upcharge you for gettong the chicken fried rice but it says on the menu that it's included in the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was excellent. I would not change a thing. Great good and excellent customer service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I took my wife there for her birthday and everything went wrong. We was sitting at the table while the cook was cooking chicken fried rice and the guy from across the table started yelling at the cook, stating that the chicken was still not cook all the way when he mixed it up in the rice. At that point we notice the same thing so we got up and left. This was a great way to celebrate my wife birthday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

There was an issue with our grill being too hot and burning the food, but they fixed it and everything was better after that. Only complaint was cold soup.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Food and service was great! Our chef Miguel was awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

They don’t serve mushrooms anymore. The shrimp appetizer is less. My husband never got his rice. They never refilled our drinks. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Benihana is my son's favorite so we visit at least once each year on his birthday with our family of 9. While we did enjoy our dinner, as always, it was just not as good as we have experienced in the past. I noted on the reservation that the occasion was a birthday, but no one at Benihana mentioned the birthday nor offered the group photo as in past years.
The hibachi steak was not tender and the chef's presentation was not nearly as good as at the tables near us nor as good as past dinners.
overall Benihana is still a good restaurant, just not as special as it used to be

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

It was my lady first time there and she loved the atmosphere as well the food and service. All around great spot to eat and be social!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

It was a great experience and my family and me love Benihana. The only problem was that it was dirty and there was a lot of food on the floor and on our chairs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I took rhia guy I’m dating to Benihana for his bday. I talked him into signing up for the $30 certificate because he had never been. Although the food and chef were good the people we were seated with were awful. They had customized orders and were getting rude with the staff. My date was getting heated on how they treated the staff and wanted to move tables. We got through the dinner but our nice evening was ruined by these constant comments about the waitress and chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Easy reservation on OpenTable. Made the remark that it was a birthday that was transmitted to the restaurant and they were prepared. Great interaction and service. Many laughs, love going here for the dinner and show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great service chef was great and our server Amy was very nice .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Juan H was a great Chef. I highly recommend him if you visit this location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Armando , our chef, and our server were both amazing!!! A wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Despite having a reservation (and our entire party together) we had a 40 minute wait.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food was great and was enjoyed by everyone. The lunch menu is great along with the price.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I have been dining at this particular location for years and I must say that it is absolutely one of my FAVORITE restaurants!

Sadly on my most recent visit, we had a reservation which was honored and we were shown to our table. My family and I sat down and the waitress took our drink orders. As she proceeded to walk off she told us to be careful as they always say because the grill was getting hot. She came back to take our food order and refill drinks. Once the cook showed up to our table we were excited because everyone knows that we are about to enjoy our dinner. The chef checked the grill, realized it was not heated, walked away to get assistance and bought what appeared to be a manager with him. She informed me that the grill was not working and that we would have to transfer tables. I immediately said ok and no problem, so my family and I moved tables. Once we reached the new table, the chef was checking the grill every so often and after maybe 10-15 minutes, he started to get things ready to fulfill our dinner. Instantly I noticed when he put the oil on the grill that the oil turned brown. I thought maybe that was a new oil and I didn't think much of it until he put the mixed seasoning on the grill for the fried rice. After that he put the eggs and that's when I knew definitely that the food was burning. I tried not to be judgemental, so I didn't say anything at that moment. Once I got the rice and tasted it, it wasn't all that bad BUT you could definitely taste that it was burned. He proceeded to put the rest of the food on the table and that's when I got his attention and asked why was all the food burning. He explained to me that it was because the grills normally take about 30 minutes to heat up but since we had to move tables that there is a rush on heating the grill, or something like that. I told him that I totally understand that, BUT at the same time our food is being cooked and burning. I told the chef that it's very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Brought my daughter in for her birthday she loved it very much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Food, chef and service was great.
Definitely I'm coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Had a lot of fun with my friends !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Had reservations for 6:30 and hibachi didn't start until almost 720-7:30. They probably need to hire more staff. Also, my son and i got sick the next day. We were the only ones who ate sushi, so could be from that.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Made us wait in spite of a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

From the moment we walked in until we left, the experience was awesome. This is my favorite Benihana. Food is always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Overall great, food amazing as always...service was slightly lesser quality than usual, but overall pleased.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Disappointed I made a reservation but still had to wait over a half hour when we got there. Seems like people walking in got seated within the same time frame.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by Benihana - Houston