About Benihana - Houston

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Onion soup & salad w/ginger dressing
  • Chicken Fried Rice
  • Hot Sake
  • Chicken Fried Rice With Extra Garlic Butter
  • Lunch Duet With Beef Julienne And Hibachi Shrimp
  • Onion Soup
Onion soup & salad w/ginger dressing
Chicken Fried Rice
Hot Sake
Chicken Fried Rice With Extra Garlic Butter
Lunch Duet With Beef Julienne And Hibachi Shrimp
Onion Soup

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (70)
special occasion (62)
kid-friendly (37)
See All
great for lunch (36)
romantic (17)
great for brunch (14)
fit for foodies (14)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was extremely hot!!!!! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was extremely hot!!!!! I had a party of 8, for my Daugther's and my Bday. My daughter just had a baby, 5 months old and got married recently. The baby was very uncomfortable because it was hot. My guest were as well! Topped with the hot stove the climate was unbearable. But we stayed. We saw at least 2 groups of people leaving because of the discomfort of the heat. I paid the tab, it was approximately $300.00, but I would have thought they would had at least given us a percent discount or given my guests ice cream. Ice cream would have cooled them off a little? That's my opinion. I go to Benihana's all the time. This was the worst.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

It was quite warm, I think this was due ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was quite warm, I think this was due to every table being filled and all the heat from the grills. May want to consider turning down the thermostat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Waitresses don't understand English at a ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Waitresses don't understand English at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very hot and uncomfortable. Service aver ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very hot and uncomfortable. Service average. Expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service was great as usual, food is bett ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was great as usual, food is better the next day

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server was rude the entire time and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was rude the entire time and tried to force a certain amount out of my party as tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Our chef had a very dry personality and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our chef had a very dry personality and not very friendly. No interactions with his cuatomers at all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

The food took over an hour and half, st ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food took over an hour and half, staff as ice but he restaurant was dirty to loud and they took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have made it a tradition to go to Ben ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have made it a tradition to go to Benihana's for family and friends birthday dinners for years. The food is always consistently good. The service (especially the cooks) occasionally varies based on location. Our favorite location is the west-side (Westheimer) restaurant, followed by downtown and then The Woodlands.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Energetic chief for the show portion of ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Energetic chief for the show portion of dinner and a show. Usually entertaining, depends on the chief. Food is good, not great. Definitely paying for the atmosphere with the hibachi grill.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always celebrate our grandchildren's ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We always celebrate our grandchildren's birthdays and special holidays at Benihana. Because of that, we have been there probably about 200 times. This time was our very favorite ever! Our chef, John, really was outstanding! He was an entertainer, as well an excellent chef. He engaged the grandkids, told fun stories, sang "Happy Birthday" to our granddaughter, and was just amazing!!!! The food and wait staff was just as outstanding as always!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Birthday tradition that the kids enjoy ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A Birthday tradition that the kids enjoy. Place is beginning to show wear and the cooking routines are the same and less energetic. Very kind and attentive to my birthday girl though.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always delicious & friendly

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always delicious & friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food., quick reservations, people ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

great food., quick reservations, people nice, luv it

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming here as always for my bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I love coming here as always for my birthday celebration every year

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time amazing cook,and Wiig c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great time amazing cook,and Wiig continue to come back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful time with the fa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had such a wonderful time with the family and 2 birthdays.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic lunch!!! Great food & service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic lunch!!! Great food & service.

Perfect portions at lunch - full not stuffed.

The " boat" is an excellent assortment of tasty foods!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt like I didn't get my monies worth! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Felt like I didn't get my monies worth! For what I paid the service or food wasn't great! the staff is rushing and rude! Also charging for fried rice is rediculous, its also half the show! I won't again waste my time driving to or eating here. Atami where I live is beyond extraordinary!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome experience as always! The food w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome experience as always! The food was excellent and completely entertaining.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been here for such a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant has been here for such a long time that you can smell the musty odor in the air as soon as you enter the door. Food is mediocre, the service and chef range from 1-10 depends on how you have that day, so it's inconsistent. Overall, one visit every few years to see how restaurant aged through might be fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Failed to honor the reservation .

 
 (West Sussex)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Failed to honor the reservation .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Our waitress was amazing we didn't have ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waitress was amazing we didn't have to ask for anything . She was on top of everything . Our cook was Juan was very good, funny cook. He entertained us with his skills and food was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. What ruine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were great. What ruined the evening was lack of air conditioning. When it is 95 degrees outside, you do not want 85 inside. Our whole party of 8 were sweating like pigs. Not what we wanted for a birthday party. Very unpleasureable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Great Chef

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Went here for early dinner before the crowd hit. Jorge was our chef and offered different tricks than the typical "choo-choo train" onion or "pounding heart" rice. Lots of kid interaction and great service offered by hostess. Great experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family has been going here for over 20 years,

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

we love Benihanas, we take almost all of our out of town guests there. It is great food and great fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

don't bother with reservations

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We made reservations for 5:30pm. We didn't get seated until 6pm and after much discussion with the front staff. They seemed upset that we were upset. But what is the point in making a reservation if you have to wait anyway?

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

😕

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We made reservations at 7:30 but the full party wasn't there until 7:38 soo we ended up waiting to be seated till 8:45, we were able to order at 9 and the chef came around 9:15 we noticed a lot of ppl were waiting as well who had also made reservations which I found pointless really because normally when you make reservations you are able to be seated and the rest of the party is guided by the host to your table but not at Benihana's they go by first come first serve bases so it was really pointless to even make reservations in the first place. I didn't appreciate the hosts attitude when I asked why was it taking forever to be seated I mean isn't a table suppose to be reserved for the party if you make reservations? Plus we waited literally for over an hour to be seated, on a Thursday! I was upset and asking what was the point of even making reservations and she said well the whole party wasn't here till 7:38 like really 8 mins,like really?? Everyone was there at 7:30 except 2 people who couldn't find parking FYI thus making them 8 mins late but still I mean c'mon really? I dk I don't like to be that guy and rant but the demeanor the lady had was just deplorable like honestly lady put yourself in our shoes we had two kids and a prego who were very tired and hungry, and hadn't ate since 5 so they wouldn't spoil there dinner but nooo anywhoo hope this gives you an idea on how to plan ahead. I liked jimmy our chef he was very humble and funny our waitress was nice as well just seemed in a rush to take our orders which I get, because you know there was so many people waiting to be seated so they kinda wanted you to hurry up and order I mean if your going to have people waiting for over an hour at least give us the menu and some coloring books to keep us occupied in the mean time and so we know what to order when we sit down that way her job is made easier you know. Overall I wouldn't really wanna go again unless I went on a day that is considered slow for them.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I used to love coming here. The last thr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I used to love coming here. The last three times I have visited, there was no green tea ice cream. When I informed the server that I am allergic to onions, I was served a dry salad. When I atempted to explain that on previous visits, I was served some type of salad dressing, she insisted that the restaurant had nothing to dress my salad and that I would have to have it dry. The occasion was my birthday and the server said that she was not informed, thus I did not receive the souvenir photo with my friend. The hostess was aware that I wanted a photo, because, I joked about the photos taken at that location are always dark. The hostess replied that they had purchased a new camera and that the lighting had improved. I had fond memories of Benihana because it was the one place that my parents always liked to visit on their wedding anniversary and also Dad's birthday which were a day apart. The service has declined.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great meal!!! Love the lobster , scallop ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great meal!!! Love the lobster , scallops & shrimp!

Oh can't go w/o fried rice too.

Nice show as they cook your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time going absolutely loved it

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I like the different choices that were given off the menu I substituted my soup for a Miso soup. The drinks were well made and the seating was very nice. I really enjoyed the presentation and chef.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rude manager, VERY Ignorant waitress.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The chef was very nice and extremely funny; My grad's selection to celebrate his big day...Unfortunately, the chef alone could not make up the difference of our waitress who was horrible. She refused to bring water for all of the guests, snapped several times, made ugly gestures. She was only nice once she received the written in amount of $67, for a party of 9... $500 tab to be treated so badly... Go to Cafe Mezza or Houston's, you won't be dissatisfied there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Had a perfect Birthday lunch. Great food ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Had a perfect Birthday lunch. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our family favorite . Every city we ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

It's our family favorite . Every city we travel to, we seek and dine at Benihana. Every birthday, my kids only want to dine at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturdays are very busy! They were behin ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Saturdays are very busy! They were behind in seating people with reservations, so we had to wait about 15 minutes. Also, it's a very vibrant atmosphere which is good, but it's very loud in the dining area. Our server didn't pay much attention to us. She may have had too many tables but we often had to get her attention for refills etc. The best part of the experience was the good food, and our cook's presentation. Overall it was a good experience, my husband and I went to celebrate our birthdays, and we would go back again but probably not on a Saturday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was fair at best on this occasio ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was fair at best on this occasion. Fried rice was overcooked and waited too long for appetizer.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I waited absolutely too long for the ch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I waited absolutely too long for the chef to start preparing our meal. An hour to be exact, this should not be the case when you make reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It was our first time to Benihana's and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It was our first time to Benihana's and we were not disappointed. It was a very festive atmosphere so the noise level was high. The dress is very casual. Our table chef was Joaquin and he was great! The food was much better than I expected for a chain.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Birthday for 11yr old granddaughter. She had a wonderful time. Our chef was intertaining. Staff great. Food very good. Staff sang happy birthday to granddaughter. We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food- Not for mother's day

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We arrived early anticipating a lot of people since it was Mother's Day. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation. The manager offered me a complementary sushi, but I have a shellfish allergy. He didn't offer to compensate in any other way. I would have accepted an apology, but I got an "oh." Our chef, Jackson, started off strong, but didn't give us much of a show. He did the heart pump and the onion train. That was about it. It was disappointing. I have eaten at several benihana's - the food was Benihana quality but everything else was sub par. At $25 a person; I expect better. I expected a show. Our waitress was excellent despite how packed it was. In the future, I wouldn't dine at this location. If I did, I definitely would not go on a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.