About Benihana - Houston

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Benihana - Houston
Onion soup & salad w/ginger dressing
Chicken Fried Rice
Hot Sake
Chicken Fried Rice With Extra Garlic Butter
Lunch Duet With Beef Julienne And Hibachi Shrimp
Onion Soup

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Groups (61)
Kid-friendly (36)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed. My food was al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed. My food was along with my parents food. :(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

We always enjoy dining at the Westheimer ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy dining at the Westheimer Benihana in Houston, but this time was the best ever! Good service, excellent sushi, great chef, good company at the table. The restauant was busy with special occasion celebrations at almost every table and the excitement created an energetic and fun ambiance. We were seated almost immediately with our Open Table reservation, and of course the staff took photos because we were celebrating a birthday. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were amazing, as al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service were amazing, as always! However, it was so miserably hot that I couldn't eat. I thought I was going to pass out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Wonderful as always

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time in a row that the table chef ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second time in a row that the table chefs had no idea how to cook lobster tails. First time it was underdone and I got sick. This time it was so overdone that it was rubbery and totally inedible. So bad it's sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good no matter who your chef is!! ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always good no matter who your chef is!!! Like the fact that you can enjoy your meal with OUT lots of butter - if you just ask. Portions are huge & great for leftovers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was so very hot that it kind of spoil ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was so very hot that it kind of spoiled the birthday - sweat was running down our faces!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

The wait was long despite having a reser ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The wait was long despite having a reservation. It was uncomfortably hot. The waitress haggled over who would get sherbert even though the bill was over $800.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

it was hot, I don't think the a/c was wo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

it was hot, I don't think the a/c was working. other than that, it was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

AC was not at a proper temperature, and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

AC was not at a proper temperature, and it did not appear that the ventilation fans were working properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The service was slow but the food was go ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was slow but the food was good and we always enjoy the fun atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mr, Ito, he cooked perfect cook,he was e ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mr, Ito, he cooked perfect cook,he was excellent chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but too long of a wait with ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, but too long of a wait with reservation!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is always good but the ventilation ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is always good but the ventilation was horrible. It was so hot, so much smoke and the next day when I woke up it felt like I had been in a smokey bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Brought my daughter and four of her frie ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Brought my daughter and four of her friends here for a 10th birthday party. SOOOO glad we had the reservation, otherwise the wait would have be tough with a lively bunch of girls. I did specify in the reservation this was for a 10-year-old birthday party. We had a fabulous waitress. You know she is used to dealing with kids when she brings a pitcher of shirley temples to refill the drinks! We also had some picky eaters in the group; the waitress was very friendly dealing with order changes. Of course the whole experience is watching the food prep and cooking, and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Very busy night. Chef was good and the f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very busy night. Chef was good and the food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The restaurant was extremely hot!!!!! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The restaurant was extremely hot!!!!! I had a party of 8, for my Daugther's and my Bday. My daughter just had a baby, 5 months old and got married recently. The baby was very uncomfortable because it was hot. My guest were as well! Topped with the hot stove the climate was unbearable. But we stayed. We saw at least 2 groups of people leaving because of the discomfort of the heat. I paid the tab, it was approximately $300.00, but I would have thought they would had at least given us a percent discount or given my guests ice cream. Ice cream would have cooled them off a little? That's my opinion. I go to Benihana's all the time. This was the worst.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

It was quite warm, I think this was due ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was quite warm, I think this was due to every table being filled and all the heat from the grills. May want to consider turning down the thermostat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Waitresses don't understand English at a ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Waitresses don't understand English at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very hot and uncomfortable. Service aver ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very hot and uncomfortable. Service average. Expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service was great as usual, food is bett ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was great as usual, food is better the next day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server was rude the entire time and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was rude the entire time and tried to force a certain amount out of my party as tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Our chef had a very dry personality and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our chef had a very dry personality and not very friendly. No interactions with his cuatomers at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

The food took over an hour and half, st ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food took over an hour and half, staff as ice but he restaurant was dirty to loud and they took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have made it a tradition to go to Ben ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have made it a tradition to go to Benihana's for family and friends birthday dinners for years. The food is always consistently good. The service (especially the cooks) occasionally varies based on location. Our favorite location is the west-side (Westheimer) restaurant, followed by downtown and then The Woodlands.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Energetic chief for the show portion of ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Energetic chief for the show portion of dinner and a show. Usually entertaining, depends on the chief. Food is good, not great. Definitely paying for the atmosphere with the hibachi grill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always celebrate our grandchildren's ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We always celebrate our grandchildren's birthdays and special holidays at Benihana. Because of that, we have been there probably about 200 times. This time was our very favorite ever! Our chef, John, really was outstanding! He was an entertainer, as well an excellent chef. He engaged the grandkids, told fun stories, sang "Happy Birthday" to our granddaughter, and was just amazing!!!! The food and wait staff was just as outstanding as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Birthday tradition that the kids enjoy ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A Birthday tradition that the kids enjoy. Place is beginning to show wear and the cooking routines are the same and less energetic. Very kind and attentive to my birthday girl though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always delicious & friendly

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always delicious & friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food., quick reservations, people ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

great food., quick reservations, people nice, luv it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love coming here as always for my bir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I love coming here as always for my birthday celebration every year

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time amazing cook,and Wiig c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a great time amazing cook,and Wiig continue to come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful time with the fa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had such a wonderful time with the family and 2 birthdays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic lunch!!! Great food & service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic lunch!!! Great food & service.

Perfect portions at lunch - full not stuffed.

The " boat" is an excellent assortment of tasty foods!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt like I didn't get my monies worth! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Felt like I didn't get my monies worth! For what I paid the service or food wasn't great! the staff is rushing and rude! Also charging for fried rice is rediculous, its also half the show! I won't again waste my time driving to or eating here. Atami where I live is beyond extraordinary!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome experience as always! The food w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome experience as always! The food was excellent and completely entertaining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been here for such a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant has been here for such a long time that you can smell the musty odor in the air as soon as you enter the door. Food is mediocre, the service and chef range from 1-10 depends on how you have that day, so it's inconsistent. Overall, one visit every few years to see how restaurant aged through might be fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Failed to honor the reservation .

 
 (West Sussex)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Failed to honor the reservation .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Our waitress was amazing we didn't have ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waitress was amazing we didn't have to ask for anything . She was on top of everything . Our cook was Juan was very good, funny cook. He entertained us with his skills and food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were great. What ruine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service were great. What ruined the evening was lack of air conditioning. When it is 95 degrees outside, you do not want 85 inside. Our whole party of 8 were sweating like pigs. Not what we wanted for a birthday party. Very unpleasureable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.