About Benihana - Houston

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Westheimer is a very popular family destination, located near the Westchase District and the Galleria Mall. Birthday celebrations are a must at Benihana where you will enjoy a complimentary sundae, Japanese song, and special photo to commemorate the occasion. Check out Happy Hour each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. with great deals on cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

9707 Westheimer Rd
Houston, TX 77042
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
S Gesseenger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 789-4962

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-hh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (44)
Special Occasion (42)
Family Style (27)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an amazing time, it was my daughter in laws birthday.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for a fun Hibachi experience to celebrate a loved one's birthday. Very mediocre experience. Been to better Japanese restaurants much closer to home. Chef was not much fun, and food not very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was ok. The cook gave me a meal that I didn't order. When asked if I could just pay for the meal that was served instead of the meal I ordered (which was more than what I was given)... I was told no. They would fix the problem. Which was nice, but I had already eaten what I was served and had to wait for the other order to which I ended up giving to someone else at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Luv the lunch menu!!! Perfect portions & the price is right!!! So much food with out being stuffed!! The chef is always amazing - and still does a great show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated nearly 30 minutes after our reservation time. Our poor server was so busy and overwhelmed it took so long to get drinks. Sat idly for a long time before ordering. Salads were served well into the meal. Very rushed feel and dark, loud environment. Sugarland location is much more relaxing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was ok the chef was nice and smiling but the place need a remodelation asap!..old equipment old paint old everything you can tell the place as not being touched in years. Food was great same as service prices was ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place to celebrate anything... awesome staff!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food tasted pretty good, but i have been to better Japanese steakhouses.
Didn't give you as much food or variety as other, either.
Fun ambience, of course.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was my kids birthday dinner, so they got what they wanted, so that's fine. My issues are with the food quality and price. They do not offer kids yakisoba, so they made us buy the adult platter, which is $18.50. My kids are 10 and we needed 3. They typically like the Yakisoba at Shogun, so I figured we were ok paying the price. However, I think they add pumpkin spice to it, which my kids did not like. The waitress saw they didn't eat their food, but no one asked why. We ended up paying $250+ for a six top with 4 kids. That's about double what Shogun charges, so we won't be back. I did the ink the soup and steak were better, but unfortunately those are my only two good memories other than the overly nice staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My experience has always been exceptional!!! Staff is always welcoming, always with a smile and with a great attitude . I bought my family here to celebrate my cousin Gabriel's 10th birthday this was his first time dining at this restaurant ; his experience made him very happy and wanting to go back very soon. Thanks again to ALL the staff at Benihana; for making my cousin 10th birthday extra special.

You have made an big impression!!!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The "table-chef" was ok, but the server was downright snarky.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday and we couldn't be more happier! Our dining experience was fantastic

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was really fun, it wasn't my first time at Benihana but it was my boyfriend's first and he loved it! A little expensive but definitely worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great time had by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a party of 8 for my girlfriends birthday. It was a nice experience. It is a very busy location, but it was a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been to several locations but this was my first time ar this one. Our cook was very poor. English wasn't good, the entertainment was lacking, he tried to perform a trick with the rice and bowl and dropped the bowl into the rice, the food lacked seasoning (everyone at the table passed around salt and pepper), our waitress was very slow to refill drinks. We left feeling like we wasted our time! This was supposed to be our late Valentine's Day dinner and it wasnt very pleasant. Also, the tables were way too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A fantastic birthday experience for my daughters 23rd birthday! Such great energy, service and food! I can not rave enough about our chef Knoc!! Such a great fist time!!
Loved It.. food was exactly what we asked for.. Wine was nice and cold!
Kudos to you Benihana!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The restaurant was serving lunch however most of my party ordered from the dinner menu. The quality of the filet mignon was not up to par. Not sure if the lunch portions are different than the dinner portions. I'm not talking about size but quality of beef.
Service was slow.
Not much of a show.
Great birthday picture.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was a great place to eat and now it is an overpriced restaurant. So noisy and horrible service. It took about 15 min to get started with the service, the noise was so loud the waitress would have to come around to our ears to hear what we wanted to order. They bring salad and soup that practically is thrown at you. No one cleans the plates up and we had to pile them to the side as the cook had started the main course. We are not finished with the main course and they bring the ice cream. Worst place to eat in Houston. Extremely expensive for what you get. I think you get a better dining experience anywhere else, even McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service is great, the prices are more on the expensive side but it is worth it. Ask for Hector as your chef, he is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First time at this location and I try not to be critical but for the prices (not ridiculous but not applebees) the service was horrible. The show was mediocre at best. We went there for a friends birthday and were left disappointed. The drinks were overpriced and underflavored. The food was prepared in weird order and some of us never received rice or offered desert. Drink refills took forever (if they ever came at all) and our waitress was just off her game. Besides the drinks taking forever, after our appetizers and earlier courses the used dishes were stacking up and never got moved. At a full table that gets really cramped and unpleasant. Was willing to give this restaurant a shot but there are better quality options at a better price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. The noise level was louder than I would have liked. We were surrounded by two tables that had families and young kids and infants. We would definitely return but would be a little bit more vocal about seating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The chef and place was great, the server was MIA all the time, at the begining they make us wait a long time for the drinks and after chef left she was gone for long, ill come back for the food and the nice place! Hope fot a different server!👍🏽

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was very nice but since it was around valentine's they try to hurry you up. We still weren't full when we left .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the atmosphere. Our party will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lady who attended us before the cook arrived was in a hurry. She was very pushy and we did not have enoug time to think about our wine and food selection 😱

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I never leave bad reviews because I hate being negative but I really couldn't let this go. We came here for my birthday dinner and it was the second time I've been waited on by the particular individual that was our server. (She's an older woman/ cannot remember her name) I know sometimes with elders they can be snappy so I don't take offense to it , but this time - her attitude was more on the rude side. She was very impatient with all of the couples and then when i tried to use the gift card For my meal that I received, she refused honoring it - even after her colleagues told her it was valid. The way she spoke to me and her body language was beyond rude. I love birthdays and how fun and full of love they are which is why I picked this place for my dinner- I always loved the energy here even when we had her the last time , I just looked passed the negative.. needless to say I was completely floored by the night's ending. I was given a certificate for a complimentary appetizer and desert for my next visit but it pains me to say I will not be returning. This place needs to reevaluate who they have running the show and make sure their people understand what it means to have quality customer service and respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our chef was exceptionally good and funny, and he was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for special occasion celebration...very entertaining and good food...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wow always a fabulous meal. We had a new chef that did new tricks... and the food yummy!!! Love the lobster shrimp & scallops. Cooked on the grill - just a dab of garlic butter & lemon .... can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome experience! The food was great and the service was wonderful. Everyone was super nice, I loved the atmosphere! We celebrated my husbands birthday and he had a lot of fun!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have visited Benihana's several times in the past and I am mature enough to know that wait staff have off days as to be expected - they are human. The problem I had however was that, my companion and I seemed to be the only two people receiving the waitresses attitude. My dinner companion indicated she didn't like her tea and was told, "If she wanted to change it to another drink she would be charged for two." We both requested sriracha sauce (I was first), my guest was told, "She (referring to me) already have enough." I assume we were supposed to share. I ordered my dinner and asked for spicy sauce - as I have always done in the past. The food waitress brought out 1 small serving and the food preparer indicated I could only have the spicy sauce on my chicken. I still don't know how to feel about that. The final straw was the whole birthday ordeal. After celebrating 4 other birthdays (complete with song and staff) she asked me, "Do you want the song too?" There was another birthday at our table and she did not ask the gentleman this question; this is why I took offense to it. As I indicated above, I know that she is human and anything could have happened prior to my visit. Still, I could have been treated as the other guests were. To have her smile and ask the men would you like me to refill your drink and then walk off while I had an empty glass was mind boggling. I have morals and respect so I still tipped her but one thing I know for sure; she didn't deserve it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We like to go for our birthday and anniversary and sometimes durning the year.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Rodolfo, our chef was very entertaining and Su, our waitress was very attentive. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I always have enjoyed Benihana! We went for Saturday lunch. As usual we arrived ten minutes early and were told that we won't be seated until our reservation time which was at 1:30pm and people who were walk ins were going ahead of us .
Once at the table and when the chef arrived he didn't seem to pleased or was tired when we told him we had ordered two rice he looked at us rolled his eyes and said "I know" in a stern voice.
Otherwise like I said I have always enjoyed eating here! This particular location I have always preferred to the sugarland one but with this attitude I think I just go back to sugarland .

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Birthday diner for my daughter. She and her sister really enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great for my guy's 40th birthday!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food and the chef were awesome. Drinks took a little bit of time to arrive...

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

1st time going. For my birthday.enjoyed it very much....

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.