About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana - Houston - Downtown
OnionSoup
Benihana Trio
Sushi Combination
Fried Rice
Benihana Steak
Lunch Boat
Spider Hand Roll
Rainbow Roll
Chicken Fried Rice
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing
Chicken Yakisoba
Hibachi Lemon Chicken

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Kid-friendly (26)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Romantic (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very dissapointed by the service t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very dissapointed by the service the waiter got our order wrong and then the food came out cold. I have been before and it was never this bad. On top of that they apparently stated that i missed my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a bla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a blast for his 18th birthday at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no service at all! We didn't g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was no service at all! We didn't get any refill drinks, no one clean our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We love this location; the service is al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this location; the service is always quick, polite, and attentive. The chefs have been consistently excellent; no matter what we order, the tastes, textures, seasoning, etc., are as good or better than any other place we go, including other Benihana locations. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. She was so Excited and we all had a Wonderful Time. We will definitely be back to Celebrate more Birthday's .

Thank You for the Great Food that went with our Great Time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service was great AC was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great! Service was great AC was horrible! We were sweating the whole time. They are aware, it's just an old building. Time for them to relocate...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun and the waitresses and chefs were all very professional, super courteous, thoughtful and excited to be there. The environment and the show they all put on were great. The food wasn't cooked the way we asked them to but was still good and be prepared to stay a while because he cooks for all eight people at the table individually for the most part. With a multi-course meal it can take a good 2 hours for the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Would have given higher stars, but quali ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Would have given higher stars, but quality of beef was not as good as it used to be.

Steaks were over cooked, also.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This location is not easy to find and re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This location is not easy to find and restaurant needs to be remodeled to accommodate better ventilation. After a while the place began to feel like a sauna, and service was incredibly slow. I love Benihana just not this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai-Tai was made properly and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went out on a date. We wer ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date. We were surprised it was still happy hour. We got a glass of moscato, hot green tea, two salads and 3 plates of sushi for $34. The staff did a great job taking care of us and I highly recommend going here. We did not do the show. It was a little Loud for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had an appointment we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Even though we had an appointment we had to wait for 35 mins to get our table and our chef was not at all interested in grilling food for us. Food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweating and fanning themselves. And our server rushed us from the moment we walked in. When we asked for a moment to look at the menu she rolled her eyes, shoved her ordering pad in her apron and stormed off. When she came back to take our order literally 1 minute later she huffed and puffed while we tried to read the menu as fast as we could to order for 5 people. After the gentleman made our food we didn't see her again for over 25 minutes. We got up and had to find someone for more water several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

I love going to benihana for date night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love going to benihana for date night I have never been to this location before This was tthe worst experience I've ever had the food was not seasoned well at all For $70 I was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, is a fun experience. Fun birthday dinner and the kids were engaged.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I entered for lunch food was out pretty ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I entered for lunch food was out pretty quick. It as great and the aiter was ew ND did really good job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time with friends!!! Grea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great time with friends!!! Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved the place! The food w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I absolutely loved the place! The food was delicious, the service was awesome. I'm going back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They don't understand the concept of a r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

They don't understand the concept of a reservation. We arrived and were told that it would be at least a half an hour wait, because they were packed from everyone leaving a nearby conference. What is the point of making a reservation if nothing is reserved?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Chef was great, food was good. Service w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Chef was great, food was good. Service was terrible. Checked once for drinks, delivered salad and soul and never checked on again until it was time for the check. Then they were in a hurry to collect the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for a chef then they were rushing us out the door!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great restaurant. Great food especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food especially fried rice. Service good. Having a reservation really helps a lot cause we skip the line when we arrived there. Overall great experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a place my family chooses to cel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a place my family chooses to celebrate on special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making online reservations

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I make reservations on line and it really help a lot , I never knew about making reservations online , great food, and our cook was really good and fun.. I wish I could remember his name , so my next visit on the 21st I can ask for his table..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Louis!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great evening with 2 friends who had never visited this Benihana. Chef Louis was a friendly and entertaining chef!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another hit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Benihana is always an excellent choice for a birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for kids!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service but under par food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Stick to the Westheimer location to have a perfect Benihana experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great except the hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great except the hostess was really rude to us when we arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you go ask for the host lian and the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

If you go ask for the host lian and the chef Louie those two together are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow. It was Mother's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was really slow. It was Mother's Day so that may have been the reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The staff is great, friendly and ready t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is great, friendly and ready to service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, they said they were for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

When we arrived, they said they were forced to be on open table and to call them instead when making a reservation. Very poor service and desperately needs an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Always fun time and good food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always fun time and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Maybe for a party...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

You're definitely paying for the show,the food is nothing special. We had the shrimp hibachi grill and it was just ok. The hostesses were very nice and the waitress was great also. This is probably a great place for a party or a happy hour but i probably wouldn't go back too often.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. Food ok more about the kids having fun. Could use a good scrubbing to get the grease feel off the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Fun Time

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Always a good time and great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Greatest place to eat if you want entert ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Greatest place to eat if you want entertainment and delicious food. The chefs are outstanding but I don't think they get tips enough. I always give them extra money after they serve me my food. They deserve it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Satisfied customer

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We were seated on time, the entertainment was fun and the food was excellent. Everyone in our party of four had an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great fun, Great food! Chef was magical ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Great fun, Great food!

Chef was magical, and the food for fantastic.

Great value, and since it was a birthday, we received a nice desert with a sparkle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.