Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 24 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Houston - Downtown

4.0
765 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Casual
  • Fun
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday - Friday: 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 659-8231
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Clay & Polk
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Happy Father's Day! Don't just give a gift. Give an experience unlike any other. For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a
$10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 5/15/18 - 6/17/18. Promotional Cards valid 6/18/18 - 7/23/18.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 765 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
66% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Awesome sauce enjoyed the experience being that it was our first time thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The way that we had was horrible she rushes out the restaurant she had an attitude problem I will not go back to that Benihana's ever again you can thank the waiter

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

slow service, dirty glass took forever to get replaced, fork with bent tine
food was good, but with service poor, and the price point I would hesitate to return

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Confusion going on an we was just put at a table after they forgot about us

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service. Food was delicious the best part was seeing how it was cooked.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 3, 2018

From the minute we arrived we were disappointed in the service. The host was loud, disrespectful and unprofessional and had the nastiest attitude. As soon as we arrived she walked us directly to the dining room, she never asked a question. I immediately made her aware that I had 12pm reservations for two for hibachi. Her reply was “well sit down and wait”. Our first thought was to leave immediately, but since we had parked in the garage and was hungry we waited. We sat there and waited well after 12 and she never came over and updated us. A party of 10+ arrived and said they had 12pm reservations and she took them right back. She still did not address us, she seated the large party and then came back and said “come on” and she led us to the table with the large party.
The service while at the table was a little better than the host, but still was not what I usually receive at other locations. The food was bland and took extremely long to prepare. This was my first visit to downtown, and I will never return again. I’m a frequent guest at the Sugarland location and the service there is always amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We like our chef so much. The food were delicious and we enjoyed the time watching/talking with him.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The cook was so amazing, our server was rude and just didn’t care. Period!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

It was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Spent my birthday here, same experience every time!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

No one at the front desk for 15 minutes to greet. Food was overcooked, due to the chef doing more entertaining that paying better attention to the food. It wasn't as crowded, but really hard to hear the chef when he was speaking and to understand as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

What’s the point in a reservation when I have to wait an hour to be seated like everyone else

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

My initial waiter was rude but after reporting it, his demeanor changed. The manager and other waitresses and waiters were awesome!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Brought appetizers 30 minutes after we got food. Asked for lemons and sugar at least 7 times... never got either. Never got 2 side salads had to ask to have them taken off our bill. Had to sit and stare at meals for 10 minutes before even getting chopsticks or silverware. An hour long dinner took almost 3 hours.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We always enjoy meeting and getting to know others at the table. This is the best part of dining at Benihana. The food service is consistent and the wait staff will usually find a way to make the entire table laugh at least once. We were celebrating my husband's birthday .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

My visit was excellent, except the wait time for the table to fill.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Food was burnt. All of the tricks the cook tried failed. The waitress didn’t put in half of the order for one person in our party. The filet that was ordered was extremely undercooked. When the cook tried to fix it, he kept cutting it up into smaller pieces, effectively puréeing the steak.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 13, 2018

This place is filthy! The food was ok. It took FOREVER to get our food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It was very, very loud. Also, disappointing that they had as many of us around one table as they did. We had one child in our group, & another lady had two children. I think the staff figured they could get away with shoving an extra chair. Too cramped. Food was delicious. Chef thoroughly entertaining. Waitress was forgetful, though.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I visit Benihana often and really enjoy coming with my children. I haven’t been to this location in a while normally visit the location in Sugarland. Our reservation time was perfect we came in and were able to be seated immediately. Our waiter was extremely rude we sat at the table with another family and he treated that family like royalty and barley said anything to me and my children. Our chef Betty amazing funny fun I tip her separately for our dinner because I enjoyed her. As soon as our chef walked away the waiter, he came up with boxes shoving them to us instead of asking were we done with our food which my family was still eating. I get the urgency of wanting to seat other people but I didn’t get to enjoy my meal because I felt compelled to get up and go. I wouldn’t recommend this location to anyone. I love Benihana so I’ll be going back to the sugarland location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

I have been coming to this place, since I was kid. One of my favorite restaurants in Houston.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 7, 2018

We ended up leaving. Reservation was 40 minutes past and overbooked our table. We had no room to sit. Will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Chef Doan was the best one we have had in years. Lots of fun and so many laffs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Delicious food, great service, and a great environment.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The customer service was terrible and the food was very overrated, we ended up leaving and just eating pizza.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Excellent food as usual. A bit of a wait (20 minutes) for our table even with reservations. Then, after being seated another 15 minutes later before chef arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Excellent experience. Joe, the manager, is an awesome person that makes us feel very welcome each time we visit Benihana.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I am a regular customer & I think this was by far the worst experience. There was apparently a new manager who was very annoying and interfering with Edgar, our favorite cook. The waitress is usually very good, but this day she was stretched thin. I think I will take a break from this location.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I was very unhappy with the fact that I made a reservation for a certain time and never got sat down once the time came and to make matters worse another person had also been waiting well over 1 hr after reservation time for a table. We ended up leaving and eating elsewhere. I will not be going back to that location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Consistent food and dining experience is as expected. Be prepared to wait to be seated well beyond your reservation time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Our cook was inexperienced the food lacked flavor and my salmon was undercooked.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our dinner reservations were for 6:15 and we didn’t get seated until almost 7:00, it took over 30 minutes for us to get our waters, my drink order was wrong and our waitress kept telling me it wasn’t wrong, she disappeared for long periods of time, my steak was tough when I ordered it to be cooked medium, our cook almost never showed up, and we didn’t leave the restaurant until after 9:15 and our table didn’t order an appetizer or even get dessert. I will never come to this location again. I apologized to my date the entire night. I was embarrassed of my choice for a date.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Birthday surprise for wife

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Good time will be goin back soon

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 15, 2018

I was extremely disappointed in you guys performance on Valentine's Day 2018. I had reservations for 7:30 and when I arrived I wasn't seated until 8:30. My fiance and I we're very disappointed in our experience at this location. The cook and the waitress both had Snappy attitudes with us and both blamed it on it being a long day. Smh
-romeo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We went for Valentine’s Day and had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating and the service good despite it being an incredibly busy evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

I enjoyed the chef Charlie. He was great,funny and entertaining. He included everyone at the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Its was perfect, took my date and we both had a great night, the chef was amazing, setting a great mood for everyone, and making everyone laugh and smile, food was good too, would totally recommend it

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Benihana - Houston - Downtown