About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Sushi - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chef - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chef Trick - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
OnionSoup - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Sushi Combination - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Benihana Steak  - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Spider Hand Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Chicken Yakisoba - Benihana - Houston - Downtown
Hibachi Lemon Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Kid-friendly (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (9)
Fun (7)
Family Style (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good wasn't as good at at others Benihan ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good wasn't as good at at others Benihana's I've been to. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had a great time for my fiance's birt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time for my fiance's birthday! Staff was accommodating and friendly, even when we gave them several food allergies we needed to work around. My ONLY complaint is how hot it was in the dinning area. However, with the amount of grills going I can see how it would be warm. Overall an EXCELLENT experience. We will be back soon!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was highly disappointed in this restau ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was highly disappointed in this restaurant. Me and my girlfriend went for our two year anniversary And made reservations. When we got to the restaurant it took them a moment to find us a table but they were busy and we only waited a few short minutes so that was understandable. Knowing it was a hibachi grill we were expecting to sit near others but when when we were seated me and my girlfriend were placed inbetween 2 family's. The lady she was sitting next to was quite rude and was taking up more space than she needed and I was seated right next to a baby. The table was extremely packed and we were all touching elbows. When we asked to move they took us out to the lounge to be seated alone. Understandably there was no hibachi grill and we were fine with that so that we could have our own table. When the waitress came over to get our order she never asked for our drinks and when we told her our food order she didn't know what was on the menu! When she finally left to place our order we waited for 20 minutes and still had not gotten our drinks to the table so we ended up leaving. I believe the restaurant used to be nice but now people go in there with flip flops and tank tops. It was a horrible experience and I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The hostess & host were not very welcomi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess & host were not very welcoming upon arrival, the bathroom was a mess, and the place itself was so hot I actually started to sweat while just sitting down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

restaurant would be much nicer if they c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

restaurant would be much nicer

if they cleaned it up with some

capital improvements

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The food was excellent although the eggs ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was excellent although the eggs were a little over cooked for my taste in the chicken fried rice. Overall everything else was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very dissapointed by the service t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I was very dissapointed by the service the waiter got our order wrong and then the food came out cold. I have been before and it was never this bad. On top of that they apparently stated that i missed my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a bla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a blast for his 18th birthday at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no service at all! We didn't g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was no service at all! We didn't get any refill drinks, no one clean our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We love this location; the service is al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this location; the service is always quick, polite, and attentive. The chefs have been consistently excellent; no matter what we order, the tastes, textures, seasoning, etc., are as good or better than any other place we go, including other Benihana locations. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. She was so Excited and we all had a Wonderful Time. We will definitely be back to Celebrate more Birthday's .

Thank You for the Great Food that went with our Great Time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service was great AC was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great! Service was great AC was horrible! We were sweating the whole time. They are aware, it's just an old building. Time for them to relocate...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun and the waitresses and chefs were all very professional, super courteous, thoughtful and excited to be there. The environment and the show they all put on were great. The food wasn't cooked the way we asked them to but was still good and be prepared to stay a while because he cooks for all eight people at the table individually for the most part. With a multi-course meal it can take a good 2 hours for the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Would have given higher stars, but quali ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Would have given higher stars, but quality of beef was not as good as it used to be.

Steaks were over cooked, also.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This location is not easy to find and re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This location is not easy to find and restaurant needs to be remodeled to accommodate better ventilation. After a while the place began to feel like a sauna, and service was incredibly slow. I love Benihana just not this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai-Tai was made properly and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went out on a date. We wer ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date. We were surprised it was still happy hour. We got a glass of moscato, hot green tea, two salads and 3 plates of sushi for $34. The staff did a great job taking care of us and I highly recommend going here. We did not do the show. It was a little Loud for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had an appointment we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Even though we had an appointment we had to wait for 35 mins to get our table and our chef was not at all interested in grilling food for us. Food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweating and fanning themselves. And our server rushed us from the moment we walked in. When we asked for a moment to look at the menu she rolled her eyes, shoved her ordering pad in her apron and stormed off. When she came back to take our order literally 1 minute later she huffed and puffed while we tried to read the menu as fast as we could to order for 5 people. After the gentleman made our food we didn't see her again for over 25 minutes. We got up and had to find someone for more water several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

I love going to benihana for date night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love going to benihana for date night I have never been to this location before This was tthe worst experience I've ever had the food was not seasoned well at all For $70 I was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, is a fun experience. Fun birthday dinner and the kids were engaged.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I entered for lunch food was out pretty ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I entered for lunch food was out pretty quick. It as great and the aiter was ew ND did really good job.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time with friends!!! Grea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great time with friends!!! Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved the place! The food w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I absolutely loved the place! The food was delicious, the service was awesome. I'm going back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They don't understand the concept of a r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

They don't understand the concept of a reservation. We arrived and were told that it would be at least a half an hour wait, because they were packed from everyone leaving a nearby conference. What is the point of making a reservation if nothing is reserved?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Chef was great, food was good. Service w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Chef was great, food was good. Service was terrible. Checked once for drinks, delivered salad and soul and never checked on again until it was time for the check. Then they were in a hurry to collect the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for a chef then they were rushing us out the door!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great restaurant. Great food especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food especially fried rice. Service good. Having a reservation really helps a lot cause we skip the line when we arrived there. Overall great experience!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a place my family chooses to cel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a place my family chooses to celebrate on special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making online reservations

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I make reservations on line and it really help a lot , I never knew about making reservations online , great food, and our cook was really good and fun.. I wish I could remember his name , so my next visit on the 21st I can ask for his table..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Louis!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great evening with 2 friends who had never visited this Benihana. Chef Louis was a friendly and entertaining chef!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another hit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Benihana is always an excellent choice for a birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for kids!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service but under par food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Stick to the Westheimer location to have a perfect Benihana experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great except the hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great except the hostess was really rude to us when we arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you go ask for the host lian and the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

If you go ask for the host lian and the chef Louie those two together are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow. It was Mother's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was really slow. It was Mother's Day so that may have been the reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The staff is great, friendly and ready t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is great, friendly and ready to service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, they said they were for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

When we arrived, they said they were forced to be on open table and to call them instead when making a reservation. Very poor service and desperately needs an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Always fun time and good food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always fun time and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.