About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
OnionSoup - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Benihana Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Sushi Combination - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Benihana Steak  - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Spider Hand Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chicken Yakisoba - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Lemon Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Good service. Typical exp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Good service. Typical experience if you have been there before. Nothing to complain about.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent customer service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience again ! I want ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great experience again ! I want her family to come with us next time. They will Love it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and e perience is excellent value, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and e perience is excellent value, parking easy, and the beer is reasonably priced - can't fault Benihana for a casual, fun night out. Join in the fun and enjoy yourselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Happpy new year tradition!!! We loved it ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happpy new year tradition!!! We loved it. Best food. Best time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was when asked if there was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Only issue was when asked if there was a special event menu for new years I was told no, but when we got there it was a special event menu. Prices were higher than usual, but not extreme.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

From the service to the food to the atmo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

From the service to the food to the atmosphere, Benihana's is a great place for the family or a date. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

took a while to get our table but the se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

took a while to get our table but the service and conversation with our chef helped.

took over an hour to get started

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had very good service and the food wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had very good service and the food was good. Favorite restaurant for a family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy the food in Benihana and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I always enjoy the food in Benihana and the service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I go to Benihana all the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I go to Benihana all the time. However, it was our first time visiting this location. We had a great time. Our server was friendly and made sure everyone was comfortable. The cook extremely hilarious. It was Christmas night and we expected to have a great night. We weren't disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual, I enjoyed a meal with my famil ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As usual, I enjoyed a meal with my family. This was not the first Christmas dinner that I shared at Benihana and it won't be the last. It is always a good experience. Arigato!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty and fun. We Went for Christmas and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Tasty and fun. We Went for Christmas and the meal was lively.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Different environment good for adding a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Different environment good for adding a bit fun to the experience. Just expect to seat with others unless your group is huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Manager was accommodating as we arrived ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Manager was accommodating as we arrived before reservations and found a way to seat us early . Julia, our chief, was engaging and especially friendly. The meal was paced well. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been going there since our 1st date in 1 ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Been going there since our 1st date in 1983...very special to us!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is average & overpriced & servers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food is average & overpriced & servers are disgruntled .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The waitress charged me for a meal order ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The waitress charged me for a meal ordered by the unknown 2 other people at our table. I hope she enjoyed cheating me out of my money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good, enjoyed our meal was good and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good, enjoyed our meal was good and our chef was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Avoid this place. It's probably only sti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Avoid this place. It's probably only still in business bc of the location and steady stream of new customers. Food is average; service is terrible. I thought it would be fun to go here w/my family before a show at the Toyota Center. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Our reservation was for 5:15 with a conc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our reservation was for 5:15 with a concert scheduled for 7:30. We realized that eating here would take more time than a regular restaurant but our service was extremely slow. We weren't seated until 5:45 then then we had to wait for an hour before our cook came to start our hot food. Apparently either our cook or the cook for our paired table does not share the cooking space so our table had to wait until he finished cooking and cleaning his grill. Both parties at our table had to ask for the check while we were still being served food so we could make our concert and their play just on time. We will undoubtedly find another place to eat when we come downtown to attend the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Fantastic time, only one hiccup which is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Fantastic time, only one hiccup which is that the chef put hot sauce on our food when another person wanted it on theirs. We had kids, so we couldn't fully share with them but luckily it only made it onto one of our entrees and not the other. Not a HUGE deal, but just takes a second to make sure you're putting it on the right food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent place to bring a date! great c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent place to bring a date! great chefs know what they are doing and are great at doing it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my team out for lunch because an em ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Took my team out for lunch because an employee was moving on to another job and advancing his career. There was 4 of us and upon entering was asked to have a seat to wait for more people to arrive to fill a table. I advised the hostess that I had reservations for 4 of us she replied right this way. After seating the four of us she removed the rest of the place settings and we were the only four at the table. The chef was enjoyable to talk with while preparing our lunch. Food was outstanding as usual. Favorite place to take my employees for lunch on special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress must have been new because ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The waitress must have been new because she seemed quite confused with my questions and I've been going to this location for over 35 years. Two of the tables that were seated well after we were had their soups and salads well before us plus Management gave her an additional table to wait on when she couldn't even handle us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Benihana and we don't have one i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana and we don't have one in Austin. We had a concert in Houston and made reservations excited to finally get some cuisine we were missing. We had the worst cook we have ever had. She messed up every ones order and over cooked the shrimp, steak, -and fried rice was dry ( even with extra garlic butter) . No one at the table tipped the cook , and that says a lot . Was a disappointment . - and waste of 76.00 . We will not return there for fear we will get the same cook .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Benihana. This location is not a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana. This location is not as nice as the one on Westheimer. The food was alright. The service was great. The facilities seemed old and dated.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

DISAPPOINTED! This restaurant was just n ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

DISAPPOINTED! This restaurant was just not up to Benihana standards. It just seemed dirty. The staff did not promptly clear away service ware/dinner ware that was dirty and I found myself viewing it around the two Benihana cooking tables in our area of the restaurant. Overall the experience was fair at best and I will not return to this location. Some of the clientele actually made me worry about safety.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Our chef was horrible. We have eaten her ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our chef was horrible. We have eaten here severa times before & this is the first time I've ever had over cooked, even burnt food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The best of the bests. Benihana's food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The best of the bests. Benihana's food brings us back again and again. The friendly staff know our faces and always welcome us warmly. We've learned a couple of tips from other diners through the years. If you're having lobster -- by all means ask the chef for some garlic butter to dip it in. The cooking might seem like it takes a while, you're being entertained the whole time. And the food is always worth it. Never disappointing. Always delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little rough at first with a disco ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Was a little rough at first with a disconnect with the reservations but end well. Had a great time with coworkers eating good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service was not good and the lobster had ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was not good and the lobster had a bad smell. Even left a odor on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My experience was not good at all. We we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My experience was not good at all. We were in a slight hurry so we sat on the dine-in side without the hibachu grill. The food was cold and the service was meh. My friends and I all ordered the same meal but they came out with different ingredients on the plate. Very odd. The steak was not cooked as I had asked and the flavors were muted at best. Such a disappointment as it was my first time at Benihana's. Maybe the hibachi side is better but I'm not risking it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My family took me to Benihana to celebra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My family took me to Benihana to celebrate my birthday. We had a wonderful, fun time. Thank you for making this occassion extra special.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. Ordered appetizer of sushi, ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Horrible. Ordered appetizer of sushi, never received. Steak was so tough could hardly chew it. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess gave our table to a family that ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Hostess gave our table to a family that did not have a reservation because they were belligerent people. Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great server... her name was Fong.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great server... her name was Fong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and left full!!! We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and left full!!! We were in Houston for the Quilt Market and we end our trip with a Benihana evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress was wonderl! Although our C ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The waitress was wonderl! Although our Chef had minor problems, the experience was still phenomenal.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

10 people to a table, no elbow room. Sev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 13, 2016

10 people to a table, no elbow room. Several people had to push back from table holding plates to eat. When asked for extra garlic butter we were told no at first, it was given to us later with hesitation. To many adults at one table, in Los Angeles on 8 people to a table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.