About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

OnionSoup
Benihana Trio
Sushi Combination
Fried Rice
Benihana Steak
Lunch Boat
Spider Hand Roll
Rainbow Roll
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing
Chicken Fried Rice
Chicken Yakisoba
Hibachi Lemon Chicken

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Houston
Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (47)
good for groups (45)
kid-friendly (28)
See All
great for lunch (23)
great for brunch (10)
romantic (10)
fit for foodies (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for a chef then they were rushing us out the door!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Great food especially ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food especially fried rice. Service good. Having a reservation really helps a lot cause we skip the line when we arrived there. Overall great experience!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Making online reservations

Dined on June 9, 2016

I make reservations on line and it really help a lot , I never knew about making reservations online , great food, and our cook was really good and fun.. I wish I could remember his name , so my next visit on the 21st I can ask for his table..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Louis!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great evening with 2 friends who had never visited this Benihana. Chef Louis was a friendly and entertaining chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another hit

Dined on May 27, 2016

Benihana is always an excellent choice for a birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for kids!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great for kids!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service but under par food.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Stick to the Westheimer location to have a perfect Benihana experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was great except the hostess ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great except the hostess was really rude to us when we arrived.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you go ask for the host lian and the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

If you go ask for the host lian and the chef Louie those two together are outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Service was really slow. It was Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was really slow. It was Mother's Day so that may have been the reason.

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is great, friendly and ready t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is great, friendly and ready to service

food4
ambience1
service1

When we arrived, they said they were for ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

When we arrived, they said they were forced to be on open table and to call them instead when making a reservation. Very poor service and desperately needs an update.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always fun time and good food.

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Always fun time and good food.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Maybe for a party...

Dined on April 17, 2016

You're definitely paying for the show,the food is nothing special. We had the shrimp hibachi grill and it was just ok. The hostesses were very nice and the waitress was great also. This is probably a great place for a party or a happy hour but i probably wouldn't go back too often.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. Food ok more about the kids having fun. Could use a good scrubbing to get the grease feel off the tables.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Fun Time

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Always a good time and great for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Greatest place to eat if you want entert ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Greatest place to eat if you want entertainment and delicious food. The chefs are outstanding but I don't think they get tips enough. I always give them extra money after they serve me my food. They deserve it!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Satisfied customer

Dined on April 3, 2016

We were seated on time, the entertainment was fun and the food was excellent. Everyone in our party of four had an enjoyable experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I've heard so much about Benihana's and ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

I've heard so much about Benihana's and how well was the experience. So I very excited to go for my birthday. Pros, were that with a reservation there was no wait and the staff was very friendly. Cons, limited amount of choices for vegetarians. Took so long for them to cook the food, almost 2hrs till we ate. All there food pretty much taste the same since they use all the same ingredients. I also has two other guest who were going to acompany me and they wouldn't let us sit down till they showed up. And if we sat down before they did they wouldn't get to sit with us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Former great place has fallen hard

Dined on March 24, 2016

This place used to be great but as other hibachi places have popped up, the one that started it it has not changed. The only thing worth going to this place for is the chicken fried rice. The steak is cut too small and the food you order medium rare, is well done by time you get to the last bite. The food is virtually flavorless and there are much better options at this point. Service was slow and and just not what it used to be.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was the perfect spot for our 13 year ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

It was the perfect spot for our 13 year anniversary. We love this place and location. Israel the chef was funny and amazing.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 7, 2016

I had my son's 20th Birthday dinner here on March 6th, Im glad I made reservations because if not we would of waited a long time. The hostess was great with putting my son's cake in refrigerator. The waitress was awesome, her name was Jennie, she recommended several drinks and sushi rolls. It was a little warm in the building but I think its because of the hibachi grills. The waitress brought out my son's cake with ice cream and a candle she provided. I also like the group picture she took and gave to us.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New tricks!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a great time at Benihana Downtown! The chef had some new "tricks" that we hadn't seen before, so it wasn't your usual predictable "show". We really enjoyed watching him prepare our meal and were not disappointed in the entertainment. The food was amazing, I shared the chateaubriand with a friend and it was one of the best steaks I have ever put in my mouth. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork, and perfectly cooked. You will never leave here hungry as you get multiple courses and all of it is amazing! And for all the food you get, the price is really a bargain.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

New Management?

Dined on February 21, 2016

It appears they have new management and all new employees. I miss all the employees who had been there for years. It was still excellent as always just not as authentic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not good

Dined on February 21, 2016

Chefs were behind had reserved table still waited 45 minutes and not seated . With chefs not being available I left worst experience I have ever had my wife and children were hungry.

Tags: late-night find
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service and food. They over coo ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Horrible service and food. They over cooked everyone's food twice and didn't care. Manager asked us to leave and waited till we left the building. Horrible service all the way from host to the manager. Everyone on the table was upset and left without paying.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Horrible Service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Server was a bad hostess and even gave a disclaimer after dinner which was very inappropriate. Cook was did not provide the experience they are known for. When asked to to the Volcano he said that he wouldn't which is a familiar trick at the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We eat at Benihana 2-3 times a year. We ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

We eat at Benihana 2-3 times a year. We especially enjoy the ginger salad dressing. The only negative I have about this visit is that they did not have a record of our reservation. When I showed the host my confirming email, he said they have problems with "Open Table" from time to time. Because it was only my wife and I, the wait for a table was just a few minutes . If we had a large group it may have been a problem.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I came with 6 people on 02/14/2016

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very nice place. Overall great place but rice was a bit too salty and servers were slow with drinks and appetizers. Barely finishing we had servers pick our plates up without asking...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu Selections

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was nice, the service was good, the food was good, and the staff was friendly. My only complaint is that me and my guest did not get everything that was supposed to have come with our meal. (Ex. Noodles and the ice cream/sherbert).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not as expected.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Just not what I was expecting for Valentine's Day. Felt as though the service was about quantity not quality. Will not be returning for sure.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Dress Code

Dined on February 14, 2016

I think you need to require people to dress accordingly, meaning change your dress code. There were several people in there with sleeveless shirts, caps, shorts. They looked like a bunch of slobs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Open Table App Does Not Work Here

Dined on February 14, 2016

Set reservations and then when I arrived I was notified that my reservation made on open table was not valid. Host was rude and pretty much blamed me for not calling to confirm reservation. I was out on the list and waited thirty minutes to get a table. Food was nothing special.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We recently visited on 2/13 our first time at this location we usually dine at the westheimer location. Fast and efficient service such a great time Paul was excellent . Great entertainment and food you will not be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a Birthday

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Had dinner with my family. Very entertaining dinner with good food and a show of teppanyaki cooking. Staff was friendly and service was quick.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Celebrated husbands birthday with dinner at Bennihana's. Waitstaff, chef's, food and atmosphere were great! Planning on returning very soon for lunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

First time at Benihanas downtown

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was great, service was good and ambiance was good as well. Now I know that it's best to take a big group instead of just table for two. First time there and we opted to sit in the table section as it was a bit crowded in hibachi table. But needless to say will be back but with a big group so we can enjoy the entertainment & dinning!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but waiting time is horrible

Dined on January 29, 2016

The food is exeptionally good but i do have to say that the wait time for the chef to come out and make the food is horrible the time you have to wait is immense!! But the service is excellent

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

Had Joseph cook for us this time and his ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Had Joseph cook for us this time and his seasoning was subpar as well as his cooking temperatures! I have come to this location for the last 3 years at least 3-4 times a year! Overall, had one great dining experience!

food4
ambience3
service2

The food is really good but the service ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food is really good but the service is lacking

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.