About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (14)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Been several times, usually enjoy the food but space is always a premium. The hibachi tables are very cramped and they pack you in.

Today, I ordered the Hibachi Scallops and Rainbow Roll. The sushi was great, but my scallops were very overcooked and rubbery.

This restaurant has great service, but is in desperate need of a deep cleaning and update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great experience for our first time. Food was great and the adult drinks were awesome. Very kid friendly. Our cook Elias was amazing and took good care of my family. We loved our time at Benihana - Downtown Houston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is a special occasion type spot, if you like hibachi, because it's entertaining to watch the chef cook in front of you. Considering the amount of butter and other seasonings they put in, you would think the food would be flavorful, but I think it's bland without the dipping sauces. The chicken, I believe is white meat, is a bit on the dry side, but the filet mignon is tender (I'm not a fan of their terriyaki chicken, but to each its own). It's also pricey, but you do get a generous amount of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Had one new waiter trying to serve all the tables while all the managers were m.i.a as she got behind!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The decor is really very tired. Food and service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I love Benihana - but the hostess who works the front of the room at the downtown location is a deal-breaker for me. She is loud, rude and completely unhelpful. We had two reservations (a party of 5 and a party of 6 - booked through Open Table) When we arrived at the restaurant, she told us she could only seat us as a party of 8 and a party of 3. And instead of trying to work with us on it, or explaining the configuration, she pretty much said we had to take it or leave it. Since we had a large party and it was already noon, we took it, but I wasn't happy. I then found out that the 8/3 seating was ok. Our parties were adjacent. If the woman at the front had explained it that way, instead of being obstinate and rude, i wouldn't have been so angry at the start of the meal.
Once you get past her, Benihana is a good experience and our servers were top notch. But since that hostess is the first person customers interact with, I can see her turning away a lot of business. She is terrible.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have taken my daughter, now family of six, to Beni-Hana for my daughters birthday celebration for the last 36 years. I truly believe this was one of, if not the best, dinners we have enjoyed at Beni-Hana. The young man who prepared the meal was fabulous and our server took of all of our needs, even before we knew we wanted them. Awesome evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The restaurant was really hot. Very uncomfortable. Food was not served correctly. Everyone ate at separate times. Shrimp and salmon were soooo over cooked. They were both left on grill for over 15 minutes. Never got hot tea. We remembered after the fact. MEAL WAS VERY OVERPRICED. AND THE RESTAURANT NEEDS A FACELIFT. WE WERE THERE EARLY (5) AND THE FLOORS LOOKED LIKE SOMEONE EMPTIED TRASH ON THEM. NASTY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our reservation was at 8:30 didn't eat until about 10:15.. our waitress was horrible she kept forgetting everything she made ordering very difficult by asking unnecessary questions confusing the whole table.. our shrimp was overcooked. I think the chef was tired. His performance was very lame. Out of all benihana experiences this was the worse. The last time I came to this location the chef was drunk or buzzed cuz the whole table smelled him but we had a good time cuz he was a goofy drunk.. but overall my family and I may have to switch locations for the benihana outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This is our second time at Benihana. We have two young kids and they loved it, the teppanyaki chefs went to extra effort to engage the kids and joke around with them. It's my 4yo daughter's favourite restaurant now. The food itself is delicious - excellent cuts of beef, well cooked and tender, and the seafood (scallops and lobster) also fabulous.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

So hot the meal was not enjoyable at all. Service (not the cook) was not good - had to get up and get my own drinks filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I loved loved Benihanas!! Food was great! Chef was wonderful & very entertaining. It was a little hot but that's expected with the steam tables but next time I will dress a little more cooler. But overall everything was wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been eating at the downtown location for decades. This night was horrible The a/c wasn't working every one was hot fanning theirselves. We were miserable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service and experience was great. Our server was really energetic and seemed to be enjoying his job. We wanted for nothing and got a memory photo. Food was excellent. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Although the food was good, it was not the best I have had. The drinks(beer) were over priced and not very cold. The seating was terrible with the three of us crammed on in on a table end. The grill cooks had no room to manuve with the very limited space between grills. Our waiter did ok with taking orders for us but another couple had to have theirs corrected and the lady actually was the last to get her food as everyone else was finished. The entire place was well above 78 degrees. When you are sitting around a 500+ degree habatchi table that make a rather uncomfortable experience. Needless to say we brought our son there to enjoy a place we use to visit years ago. We will not be returning. Overpriced, uncomfortable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This is our favorite location in the Houston area. The food and service are consistently excellent, and it tends to be a bit quieter and intimate than other locations around town. We heartily recommend Benihana downtown for couples, families, and special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The waitress Krystal provided a great service and we enjoyed lunch very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Restaurant was a sauna. The experience was awful. Our waitresses argued amongst themselves over who had our table. Sushi was marginal. I'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our chef, Julie, was funny, energetic and just plain awesome. She rocks!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Server spilled lemonade on the heated grill and left it to burn and bubble to a blackened smokey mess on the grill top while my associates were seated around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excelllent service.. Food was great and the drinks tasted wonderful ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The hostess is VERY RUDE. With her being the front face for the restaurant she needs to change her attitude. The food is not inexpensive and there are other , many other restaurants you can go eat Downtown. I was very disappointed. The food was good. I only enjoyed myself because I had great company, my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Need to fix air conditioning for back area of restaurant. Been unbelievably hot for over 2 years. Time to come up with a solution. Waiter was new and not ready to be cut loose on his own. Disappointed in service big time this last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Felt like I was in a sauna. The workers just kept saying that the air was on its lowest setting. Then they stuck us in an area where NO air was circulating. When we were leaving, on of the "bus boys" admitted that the owner doesn't let them turn the air down no matter how hot it is just to keep their cost down. They were also short cooks, so we had to wait to be seated well after our reservation time & them had to wait a while at the grill until a chef became available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The restaurant was just ok. Service was slow & the intial bill was incorrect. I was a lil irritated that the table next to mine was served first although the party at my table were ALL seated first. It was very warm inside the restsurant. The chef was great & gave a nice show! Will try another location next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ummm...not as good as it was in the past. Long wait at the table for the chef and he was not good at all. He kept forgetting what order to put the food in so once we got the meat/seafood the rice and vegetables were cold. Still waiting for the warm after dinner tea. This was the first time my daughter has ever been to Benihana and I had hoped that the experience would have been better. It's going to be awhile before I go back.

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The main negative is that it is too hot in the restaurant. They need to put the a/c lower. It was a full house. Other than that, we had a great time. Edgar was our chef and he entertained.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We were disappointed in our experience. It was very crowded in the restaurant as they have put in too many tables close to one another. It was also exceedingly hot and one customer had to request they adjust the air conditioning.

The chef did not do much of a show and the food amounts were very small. You only get a small bowl of rice. We are used to getting a much larger portion at our local restaurant that is similar in style.

The salad was bitter and the soup had very little flavor. The main meal was cooked well and tasted good but not much of a value. We planned to go back to our local restaurant when we returned.

They also don't offer any white sauce which is what we prefer and is available at all our local Japanese restaurants .

We had warned other members of the convention not to bother. They later told us they wished they had listened as they had a long wait and did not enjoy the food at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Chef Edgar was wonderful. Everything else was lacking. Long wait times (and not a busy night)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good quality on the food, very fun and good price

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good food! but we had a reservation and we still had to wait like 15 min. And the air was very smoky. Like vents weren't working

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was loud and very hot, the food was good
Our chef was nice but not very talkative like some others. It just wasn't a fun as I remember and it was very hot in the restaurant and that made it less enjoyable.
I just wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Nice place. Very good staff. Teppan yaki food was well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great time at the restaurant. Food and drinks was great. The only problem we had we it was a little warm. But other than that our experience was great. I'm sure we will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great show and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was one of the worst experiences I've had a this restaurant. The meal took over two hours with most of it spent waiting on the wait staff to bring stuff to our table. Had to go after things myself on two separate occasions. It took forever to get our ticket, then one we got the ticket, took forever for them to come and get it, and bring back the receipt. Just overall a very LONG night.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We enjoyed the meal and my kids loved the entertainment. We had a great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great lunch as expected and our chef was a little different from the usual as she did not seem to follow an exact script like many do.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was VERY slow. We had to ask multiple times for refills for our water and tea. It was also very hot in the restaurant. While I understand the grills cause extra heat, the restaurant should lower the temperature in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was slow and food was delivered in stages. Food taste was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.