About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

OnionSoup
Benihana Trio
Sushi Combination
Fried Rice
Benihana Steak
Lunch Boat
Spider Hand Roll
Rainbow Roll
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing
Chicken Fried Rice
Chicken Yakisoba
Hibachi Lemon Chicken

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Houston
Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (44)
good for groups (42)
kid-friendly (28)
See All
great for lunch (22)
romantic (9)
fit for foodies (8)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Even though we had an appointment we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Even though we had an appointment we had to wait for 35 mins to get our table and our chef was not at all interested in grilling food for us. Food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was SO HOT inside! Everyone was sweating and fanning themselves. And our server rushed us from the moment we walked in. When we asked for a moment to look at the menu she rolled her eyes, shoved her ordering pad in her apron and stormed off. When she came back to take our order literally 1 minute later she huffed and puffed while we tried to read the menu as fast as we could to order for 5 people. After the gentleman made our food we didn't see her again for over 25 minutes. We got up and had to find someone for more water several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

I love going to benihana for date night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love going to benihana for date night I have never been to this location before This was tthe worst experience I've ever had the food was not seasoned well at all For $70 I was very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Watching the chef cook before your eyes, is a fun experience. Fun birthday dinner and the kids were engaged.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I entered for lunch food was out pretty ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I entered for lunch food was out pretty quick. It as great and the aiter was ew ND did really good job.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time with friends!!! Grea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great time with friends!!! Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely loved the place! The food w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I absolutely loved the place! The food was delicious, the service was awesome. I'm going back for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They don't understand the concept of a r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

They don't understand the concept of a reservation. We arrived and were told that it would be at least a half an hour wait, because they were packed from everyone leaving a nearby conference. What is the point of making a reservation if nothing is reserved?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Chef was great, food was good. Service w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Chef was great, food was good. Service was terrible. Checked once for drinks, delivered salad and soul and never checked on again until it was time for the check. Then they were in a hurry to collect the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was horrrribe, we waiting 1 hour for a chef then they were rushing us out the door!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great restaurant. Great food especially ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant. Great food especially fried rice. Service good. Having a reservation really helps a lot cause we skip the line when we arrived there. Overall great experience!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a place my family chooses to cel ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a place my family chooses to celebrate on special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making online reservations

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I make reservations on line and it really help a lot , I never knew about making reservations online , great food, and our cook was really good and fun.. I wish I could remember his name , so my next visit on the 21st I can ask for his table..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Louis!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great evening with 2 friends who had never visited this Benihana. Chef Louis was a friendly and entertaining chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another hit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Benihana is always an excellent choice for a birthday or other special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for kids!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service but under par food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Stick to the Westheimer location to have a perfect Benihana experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great except the hostess ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great except the hostess was really rude to us when we arrived.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you go ask for the host lian and the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

If you go ask for the host lian and the chef Louie those two together are outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow. It was Mother's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was really slow. It was Mother's Day so that may have been the reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The staff is great, friendly and ready t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is great, friendly and ready to service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived, they said they were for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

When we arrived, they said they were forced to be on open table and to call them instead when making a reservation. Very poor service and desperately needs an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Always fun time and good food.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always fun time and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Maybe for a party...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

You're definitely paying for the show,the food is nothing special. We had the shrimp hibachi grill and it was just ok. The hostesses were very nice and the waitress was great also. This is probably a great place for a party or a happy hour but i probably wouldn't go back too often.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Just not the same as it was in the 80's. Food ok more about the kids having fun. Could use a good scrubbing to get the grease feel off the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Fun Time

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Always a good time and great for special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Greatest place to eat if you want entert ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Greatest place to eat if you want entertainment and delicious food. The chefs are outstanding but I don't think they get tips enough. I always give them extra money after they serve me my food. They deserve it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Satisfied customer

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We were seated on time, the entertainment was fun and the food was excellent. Everyone in our party of four had an enjoyable experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've heard so much about Benihana's and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I've heard so much about Benihana's and how well was the experience. So I very excited to go for my birthday. Pros, were that with a reservation there was no wait and the staff was very friendly. Cons, limited amount of choices for vegetarians. Took so long for them to cook the food, almost 2hrs till we ate. All there food pretty much taste the same since they use all the same ingredients. I also has two other guest who were going to acompany me and they wouldn't let us sit down till they showed up. And if we sat down before they did they wouldn't get to sit with us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Former great place has fallen hard

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

This place used to be great but as other hibachi places have popped up, the one that started it it has not changed. The only thing worth going to this place for is the chicken fried rice. The steak is cut too small and the food you order medium rare, is well done by time you get to the last bite. The food is virtually flavorless and there are much better options at this point. Service was slow and and just not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

It was the perfect spot for our 13 year ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

It was the perfect spot for our 13 year anniversary. We love this place and location. Israel the chef was funny and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

I had my son's 20th Birthday dinner here on March 6th, Im glad I made reservations because if not we would of waited a long time. The hostess was great with putting my son's cake in refrigerator. The waitress was awesome, her name was Jennie, she recommended several drinks and sushi rolls. It was a little warm in the building but I think its because of the hibachi grills. The waitress brought out my son's cake with ice cream and a candle she provided. I also like the group picture she took and gave to us.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

New tricks!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a great time at Benihana Downtown! The chef had some new "tricks" that we hadn't seen before, so it wasn't your usual predictable "show". We really enjoyed watching him prepare our meal and were not disappointed in the entertainment. The food was amazing, I shared the chateaubriand with a friend and it was one of the best steaks I have ever put in my mouth. It was so tender you could cut it with a fork, and perfectly cooked. You will never leave here hungry as you get multiple courses and all of it is amazing! And for all the food you get, the price is really a bargain.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Management?

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It appears they have new management and all new employees. I miss all the employees who had been there for years. It was still excellent as always just not as authentic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Not good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Chefs were behind had reserved table still waited 45 minutes and not seated . With chefs not being available I left worst experience I have ever had my wife and children were hungry.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service and food. They over coo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Horrible service and food. They over cooked everyone's food twice and didn't care. Manager asked us to leave and waited till we left the building. Horrible service all the way from host to the manager. Everyone on the table was upset and left without paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Server was a bad hostess and even gave a disclaimer after dinner which was very inappropriate. Cook was did not provide the experience they are known for. When asked to to the Volcano he said that he wouldn't which is a familiar trick at the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We eat at Benihana 2-3 times a year. We ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We eat at Benihana 2-3 times a year. We especially enjoy the ginger salad dressing. The only negative I have about this visit is that they did not have a record of our reservation. When I showed the host my confirming email, he said they have problems with "Open Table" from time to time. Because it was only my wife and I, the wait for a table was just a few minutes . If we had a large group it may have been a problem.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I came with 6 people on 02/14/2016

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very nice place. Overall great place but rice was a bit too salty and servers were slow with drinks and appetizers. Barely finishing we had servers pick our plates up without asking...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Menu Selections

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was nice, the service was good, the food was good, and the staff was friendly. My only complaint is that me and my guest did not get everything that was supposed to have come with our meal. (Ex. Noodles and the ice cream/sherbert).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.