About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
OnionSoup - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Benihana Trio - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Sushi Combination - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Benihana Steak  - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Spider Hand Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Rainbow Roll - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chicken Fried Rice - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Garden Salad with Ginger Dressing - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Chicken Yakisoba - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX
Hibachi Lemon Chicken - Benihana - Houston - Downtown, Houston, TX

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fun (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Family Style (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress must have been new because ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The waitress must have been new because she seemed quite confused with my questions and I've been going to this location for over 35 years. Two of the tables that were seated well after we were had their soups and salads well before us plus Management gave her an additional table to wait on when she couldn't even handle us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Benihana and we don't have one i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana and we don't have one in Austin. We had a concert in Houston and made reservations excited to finally get some cuisine we were missing. We had the worst cook we have ever had. She messed up every ones order and over cooked the shrimp, steak, -and fried rice was dry ( even with extra garlic butter) . No one at the table tipped the cook , and that says a lot . Was a disappointment . - and waste of 76.00 . We will not return there for fear we will get the same cook .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Benihana. This location is not a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana. This location is not as nice as the one on Westheimer. The food was alright. The service was great. The facilities seemed old and dated.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

DISAPPOINTED! This restaurant was just n ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

DISAPPOINTED! This restaurant was just not up to Benihana standards. It just seemed dirty. The staff did not promptly clear away service ware/dinner ware that was dirty and I found myself viewing it around the two Benihana cooking tables in our area of the restaurant. Overall the experience was fair at best and I will not return to this location. Some of the clientele actually made me worry about safety.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Our chef was horrible. We have eaten her ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our chef was horrible. We have eaten here severa times before & this is the first time I've ever had over cooked, even burnt food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The best of the bests. Benihana's food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The best of the bests. Benihana's food brings us back again and again. The friendly staff know our faces and always welcome us warmly. We've learned a couple of tips from other diners through the years. If you're having lobster -- by all means ask the chef for some garlic butter to dip it in. The cooking might seem like it takes a while, you're being entertained the whole time. And the food is always worth it. Never disappointing. Always delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little rough at first with a disco ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Was a little rough at first with a disconnect with the reservations but end well. Had a great time with coworkers eating good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service was not good and the lobster had ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was not good and the lobster had a bad smell. Even left a odor on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My experience was not good at all. We we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My experience was not good at all. We were in a slight hurry so we sat on the dine-in side without the hibachu grill. The food was cold and the service was meh. My friends and I all ordered the same meal but they came out with different ingredients on the plate. Very odd. The steak was not cooked as I had asked and the flavors were muted at best. Such a disappointment as it was my first time at Benihana's. Maybe the hibachi side is better but I'm not risking it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My family took me to Benihana to celebra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My family took me to Benihana to celebrate my birthday. We had a wonderful, fun time. Thank you for making this occassion extra special.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. Ordered appetizer of sushi, ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Horrible. Ordered appetizer of sushi, never received. Steak was so tough could hardly chew it. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess gave our table to a family that ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Hostess gave our table to a family that did not have a reservation because they were belligerent people. Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great server... her name was Fong.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great server... her name was Fong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves and left full!!! We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and left full!!! We were in Houston for the Quilt Market and we end our trip with a Benihana evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress was wonderl! Although our C ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The waitress was wonderl! Although our Chef had minor problems, the experience was still phenomenal.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

10 people to a table, no elbow room. Sev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 13, 2016

10 people to a table, no elbow room. Several people had to push back from table holding plates to eat. When asked for extra garlic butter we were told no at first, it was given to us later with hesitation. To many adults at one table, in Los Angeles on 8 people to a table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

For kids only, table side chefs entertai ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For kids only, table side chefs entertain kids, but food is heavy with butter and over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation set through OpenTab ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I made a reservation set through OpenTable. We were at the restaurant on time but were not seated until 25 minutes after our set reservation time. Almost late for previously made obligation.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I really enjoyed it. Went there for home ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I really enjoyed it. Went there for homecoming for the first time. Will go again. Only problem was I ordered like 5 days in advance online yet when I came. They thought I ordered 5 minutes ago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was very busy on a Saturday night. Bu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It was very busy on a Saturday night. But, there were a lot more children there than i expected for a fancy restaurant. They also don't seem to enforce much of a dress code.

Other than that, the food was amazing and the service very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was there for a birthday celebration a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was there for a birthday celebration and I had a blast. The service was slow at first, but once we go to the table everything was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall i enjoyed the whole experience. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Overall i enjoyed the whole experience. I will its way to expensive, you're pretty much paying for the show and getting food for free.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved Pam (waitress), Greg (funny waiter ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved Pam (waitress), Greg (funny waiter with eye candy lol) just joking but our chef Santos was awesome! We truly enjoyed ourselves. The food and drinks was amazing!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good wasn't as good at at others Benihan ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Good wasn't as good at at others Benihana's I've been to. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had a great time for my fiance's birt ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had a great time for my fiance's birthday! Staff was accommodating and friendly, even when we gave them several food allergies we needed to work around. My ONLY complaint is how hot it was in the dinning area. However, with the amount of grills going I can see how it would be warm. Overall an EXCELLENT experience. We will be back soon!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was highly disappointed in this restau ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was highly disappointed in this restaurant. Me and my girlfriend went for our two year anniversary And made reservations. When we got to the restaurant it took them a moment to find us a table but they were busy and we only waited a few short minutes so that was understandable. Knowing it was a hibachi grill we were expecting to sit near others but when when we were seated me and my girlfriend were placed inbetween 2 family's. The lady she was sitting next to was quite rude and was taking up more space than she needed and I was seated right next to a baby. The table was extremely packed and we were all touching elbows. When we asked to move they took us out to the lounge to be seated alone. Understandably there was no hibachi grill and we were fine with that so that we could have our own table. When the waitress came over to get our order she never asked for our drinks and when we told her our food order she didn't know what was on the menu! When she finally left to place our order we waited for 20 minutes and still had not gotten our drinks to the table so we ended up leaving. I believe the restaurant used to be nice but now people go in there with flip flops and tank tops. It was a horrible experience and I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The hostess & host were not very welcomi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess & host were not very welcoming upon arrival, the bathroom was a mess, and the place itself was so hot I actually started to sweat while just sitting down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

restaurant would be much nicer if they c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

restaurant would be much nicer

if they cleaned it up with some

capital improvements

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The food was excellent although the eggs ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was excellent although the eggs were a little over cooked for my taste in the chicken fried rice. Overall everything else was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very dissapointed by the service t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I was very dissapointed by the service the waiter got our order wrong and then the food came out cold. I have been before and it was never this bad. On top of that they apparently stated that i missed my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a bla ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fun atmosphere. My son says he had a blast for his 18th birthday at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was no service at all! We didn't g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

There was no service at all! We didn't get any refill drinks, no one clean our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We love this location; the service is al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this location; the service is always quick, polite, and attentive. The chefs have been consistently excellent; no matter what we order, the tastes, textures, seasoning, etc., are as good or better than any other place we go, including other Benihana locations. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Celebrate a Friends Birthday. She was so Excited and we all had a Wonderful Time. We will definitely be back to Celebrate more Birthday's .

Thank You for the Great Food that went with our Great Time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service was great AC was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great! Service was great AC was horrible! We were sweating the whole time. They are aware, it's just an old building. Time for them to relocate...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had a fantastic time. The dinner was fun and the waitresses and chefs were all very professional, super courteous, thoughtful and excited to be there. The environment and the show they all put on were great. The food wasn't cooked the way we asked them to but was still good and be prepared to stay a while because he cooks for all eight people at the table individually for the most part. With a multi-course meal it can take a good 2 hours for the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Would have given higher stars, but quali ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Would have given higher stars, but quality of beef was not as good as it used to be.

Steaks were over cooked, also.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This location is not easy to find and re ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This location is not easy to find and restaurant needs to be remodeled to accommodate better ventilation. After a while the place began to feel like a sauna, and service was incredibly slow. I love Benihana just not this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had great sushi and rolls in lounge, Mai-Tai was made properly and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went out on a date. We wer ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date. We were surprised it was still happy hour. We got a glass of moscato, hot green tea, two salads and 3 plates of sushi for $34. The staff did a great job taking care of us and I highly recommend going here. We did not do the show. It was a little Loud for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.