About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Family Style (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The main negative is that it is too hot in the restaurant. They need to put the a/c lower. It was a full house. Other than that, we had a great time. Edgar was our chef and he entertained.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Chef Edgar was wonderful. Everything else was lacking. Long wait times (and not a busy night)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good quality on the food, very fun and good price

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good food! but we had a reservation and we still had to wait like 15 min. And the air was very smoky. Like vents weren't working

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was loud and very hot, the food was good
Our chef was nice but not very talkative like some others. It just wasn't a fun as I remember and it was very hot in the restaurant and that made it less enjoyable.
I just wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Nice place. Very good staff. Teppan yaki food was well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great time at the restaurant. Food and drinks was great. The only problem we had we it was a little warm. But other than that our experience was great. I'm sure we will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great show and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was one of the worst experiences I've had a this restaurant. The meal took over two hours with most of it spent waiting on the wait staff to bring stuff to our table. Had to go after things myself on two separate occasions. It took forever to get our ticket, then one we got the ticket, took forever for them to come and get it, and bring back the receipt. Just overall a very LONG night.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We enjoyed the meal and my kids loved the entertainment. We had a great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great lunch as expected and our chef was a little different from the usual as she did not seem to follow an exact script like many do.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was VERY slow. We had to ask multiple times for refills for our water and tea. It was also very hot in the restaurant. While I understand the grills cause extra heat, the restaurant should lower the temperature in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was slow and food was delivered in stages. Food taste was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Waited more than 30 minutes for service. Servers argued over whose table we were. Food was mediocre. Teenagers at table next to us barely dressed despite the door specifying dress code. Server would not let us order appetizers. Did not bring us water with our cocktails. Were offered a discount but would not recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This is the first time I have been to this location and will NEVER return or recommend. This place is dirty and dated but if that is the already bad the woman in the front is beyond rude to the patrons beside being difficult to understand. I had to stay calm and not walk out since my colleagues were on their way - the food arrived on time but it was sub-par quality. But to my surprise, the place was packed and people were waiting in line.

So my questions are - What's happening here Houston? Why are we accepting such rude behavior from a sub-par restaurant? Houstonians are way too critical of restaurants that are incomparable to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was 1,000 degrees in this place. It's always warm at a hibachi grill but it was uncomfortable- couldn't wait to leave. Food was good, as usual, but packed most of it for home to enjoy in the AC!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

we went for a fathers day celebration with me, my husband, my father, my 3 children, ages 10, 12, and 3. The location has been there for years but is very cramped and small downtown style inside. the chefs didnt have much room. service took awhile for drinks but was busy for a bit and our waitress was really fabulous actually. chef enertained all my kids and another young 3 or so at the table.nice tricks and kids loved it, dads were both impressed, besides myself it was their first time and they loved it. pricey and chciken was slightly dry but tasty still with sauces. kids loved everything especially chicken fried rice.beautiful putting it together.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great lunch value. Celebrated my son's 19th birthday..His wish was to go to a hibachi style restaurant. The lunch menu prices made it possible for our large party to go. Everyone had a great time. Thank to Open Table for the reservation....made it even easier.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Overrally good experience - but please inform your wait staff to give customers all of their change from their bill - if I were 52 cents short the restaurant would expect their 52 cents - likewise give the customer ALL of their change -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I love Benihana's! The food is delicious! The ambience is great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I had my birthday dinner here and we had so much fun! It was a little hot, but that's to be expected when you're sitting in front of a huge grill. Devi(sorry if I spelled the name wrong) was our server and she's was fantastic! Very attentive and sweet. And I got birthday ice cream:).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Everything was great like always. We come on a regular basis

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We made a reservation for 6:00 and did not get seated until 6:30. Service was interesting. Our sodas were brought to us in a can for us to pour. We had to hand our plates to the staff when we were finished. Our grill chef was well below standards. This is not the Benihana we remember. Would never go there again or recommend it to our worst enemies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I was really disappointed with the service because I had made reservations and still have to wait an hour to be seated. It was our anniversary and we wasn't expecting the inconvenience with making reservations. What is the point of making reservations if you are going to seat us at the time we had it for. The inconvenience interfered with our plans after dinner so we had to cancel what we planned afterwards. We were really upset and would not recommend this establishment for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was the worst experience. EVER!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very nice we always love the chefs. Jacobs was great and he was funny. Kids were entertained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had dinner at the Houston location last week. We have been to many other Benihana's around the country. We made a reservation, no problem as they were ready for us with a slight delay. We went to the bar: The bartender did not even look up at us or acknowledge us, it was quite unbelievable rude...he just kept getting drinks for the service people. We sat there at least 15 minutes with absolutely no acknowledgement at all, went to our table where we finally got a drink.
The service at the table was excellent and our food was very very good.
The decor inside the restaurant is shabby, it truly needs updating.
When we were leaving, there was one of the restaurant personnel yelling for another employee from the bathroom: I believe the one yelling was a Manager of some sort...very annoying and unprofessional.
There needs to be some changes at this establishment.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was really great, however the waiters not so much. I was given dirty forks twice and finally for the third time I receive I clean fork, didn't come with refills unless I asked and took forever to bring the bill I had to get up and go to the front desk. Oh yeah, I had a 7 o'clock reservation and multiple walk ins were seated above me. I'd rather come here for takeout.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went for my senior prom and it was so much fun! If you can't eat much I recommend sharing with people. Big groups of friends are fantastic for this place. Noise level is loud but the chefs are good fun!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We loved the rice and the kids loved the show and the staff was excellent will come over and over. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very great service. There was a wait for the cook to get to our table but I know that this is very common. All the food was cooked to everyone's liking and had a great show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Overall our visit was amazing. Beginning I felt a little rushed I ordered an appetizer and only took one bite before my soup came out and right after my salad came out. Had all three courses infront of us while dinne was getting prepared. So we were rushing to finish everything before dinner was ready.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service in the front is horrible and the Hostess is mean and rude but the waitstaff and Betty the cook was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (México)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Cockroaches on the table and on the floor. The dirtiest restaurant I've ever seen.

My son's birthday and it was totally unpleasant.

I spoke and showed the cockroaches to the manager and he just changed our table....NOooooooo..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had a great time! I brought my dad there for his birthday, it was his first time there and he loved loved loved it!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was good. Server was a little hard to understand and seems to have a hard time understanding our requests and orders. The ambience and lighting was a little bit too bright for my taste at night. Drinks were decent a little too sugary. Chef was fine but she was not very skilled.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had at first a terrible wine which I personally believe was a bad one. Our waitress's english was very hard to understand. The food was good just like it always is. We were disappointed we couldnt get a birthday picture as a family at this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nothing much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a great time. Staff was excellent. Food was super.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

It's always good here is fun to watch the cooks and to meet some new people and conversate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.