About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Family Style (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Casual (10)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great. The bad mark on the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great. The bad mark on the service was due to having to wait over one and half hours even tho we had reservations. The cook could have been a little more personable too. All the cooks use the same jokes. Need new ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A reservation time here does not necessa ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A reservation time here does not necessarily mean when you will get the table. We had an 8:30 reservation and were not seated until 9pm due to the hibachi availability. Benihana is always a good experience however and you get a ton of food for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Boyfriends birthday. Had a great time

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Boyfriends birthday. Had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was entertaining, great service and t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was entertaining, great service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was awesome. I enjoyed the fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything was awesome. I enjoyed the food and it was prepared exactly as requested.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very amazing service & staff!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very amazing service & staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very efficient. Food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and very efficient. Food was fantastic and chief was entertaining. Same routine but funny. Great night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed talking with the NEW Mana ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Really enjoyed talking with the NEW Manager Joe Bye! He was a breath of fresh air. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat at the hibachi table which was to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We sat at the hibachi table which was too CROWDED and the chef/cook was not prepared and kept having to step away. The waitress rarely came by to see if we needed anything and took too long to check us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Have been going to this location for 40 ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Have been going to this location for 40 years. Love it!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait a while to be seated and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had to wait a while to be seated and the hostess was very unfriendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food. Good service. Typical exp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Good service. Typical experience if you have been there before. Nothing to complain about.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent customer service

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience again ! I want ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great experience again ! I want her family to come with us next time. They will Love it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and e perience is excellent value, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and e perience is excellent value, parking easy, and the beer is reasonably priced - can't fault Benihana for a casual, fun night out. Join in the fun and enjoy yourselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Co-workers out to lunch and we had a gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Co-workers out to lunch and we had a great time and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happpy new year tradition!!! We loved it ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happpy new year tradition!!! We loved it. Best food. Best time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only issue was when asked if there was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Only issue was when asked if there was a special event menu for new years I was told no, but when we got there it was a special event menu. Prices were higher than usual, but not extreme.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

From the service to the food to the atmo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

From the service to the food to the atmosphere, Benihana's is a great place for the family or a date. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

took a while to get our table but the se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

took a while to get our table but the service and conversation with our chef helped.

took over an hour to get started

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had very good service and the food wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had very good service and the food was good. Favorite restaurant for a family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy the food in Benihana and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I always enjoy the food in Benihana and the service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I go to Benihana all the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I go to Benihana all the time. However, it was our first time visiting this location. We had a great time. Our server was friendly and made sure everyone was comfortable. The cook extremely hilarious. It was Christmas night and we expected to have a great night. We weren't disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual, I enjoyed a meal with my famil ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As usual, I enjoyed a meal with my family. This was not the first Christmas dinner that I shared at Benihana and it won't be the last. It is always a good experience. Arigato!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty and fun. We Went for Christmas and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Tasty and fun. We Went for Christmas and the meal was lively.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Different environment good for adding a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Different environment good for adding a bit fun to the experience. Just expect to seat with others unless your group is huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very crowded & very noisy but the food w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very crowded & very noisy but the food was good and the service was good. Not a place to enjoy conversation with your date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Manager was accommodating as we arrived ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Manager was accommodating as we arrived before reservations and found a way to seat us early . Julia, our chief, was engaging and especially friendly. The meal was paced well. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been going there since our 1st date in 1 ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Been going there since our 1st date in 1983...very special to us!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is average & overpriced & servers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food is average & overpriced & servers are disgruntled .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The waitress charged me for a meal order ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The waitress charged me for a meal ordered by the unknown 2 other people at our table. I hope she enjoyed cheating me out of my money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good, enjoyed our meal was good and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good, enjoyed our meal was good and our chef was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Avoid this place. It's probably only sti ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Avoid this place. It's probably only still in business bc of the location and steady stream of new customers. Food is average; service is terrible. I thought it would be fun to go here w/my family before a show at the Toyota Center. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Our reservation was for 5:15 with a conc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our reservation was for 5:15 with a concert scheduled for 7:30. We realized that eating here would take more time than a regular restaurant but our service was extremely slow. We weren't seated until 5:45 then then we had to wait for an hour before our cook came to start our hot food. Apparently either our cook or the cook for our paired table does not share the cooking space so our table had to wait until he finished cooking and cleaning his grill. Both parties at our table had to ask for the check while we were still being served food so we could make our concert and their play just on time. We will undoubtedly find another place to eat when we come downtown to attend the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Fantastic time, only one hiccup which is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Fantastic time, only one hiccup which is that the chef put hot sauce on our food when another person wanted it on theirs. We had kids, so we couldn't fully share with them but luckily it only made it onto one of our entrees and not the other. Not a HUGE deal, but just takes a second to make sure you're putting it on the right food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent place to bring a date! great c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent place to bring a date! great chefs know what they are doing and are great at doing it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my team out for lunch because an em ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Took my team out for lunch because an employee was moving on to another job and advancing his career. There was 4 of us and upon entering was asked to have a seat to wait for more people to arrive to fill a table. I advised the hostess that I had reservations for 4 of us she replied right this way. After seating the four of us she removed the rest of the place settings and we were the only four at the table. The chef was enjoyable to talk with while preparing our lunch. Food was outstanding as usual. Favorite place to take my employees for lunch on special occasions.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress must have been new because ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The waitress must have been new because she seemed quite confused with my questions and I've been going to this location for over 35 years. Two of the tables that were seated well after we were had their soups and salads well before us plus Management gave her an additional table to wait on when she couldn't even handle us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Benihana and we don't have one i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana and we don't have one in Austin. We had a concert in Houston and made reservations excited to finally get some cuisine we were missing. We had the worst cook we have ever had. She messed up every ones order and over cooked the shrimp, steak, -and fried rice was dry ( even with extra garlic butter) . No one at the table tipped the cook , and that says a lot . Was a disappointment . - and waste of 76.00 . We will not return there for fear we will get the same cook .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We love Benihana. This location is not a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Benihana. This location is not as nice as the one on Westheimer. The food was alright. The service was great. The facilities seemed old and dated.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.