About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (22)
Special Occasion (19)
Fun (19)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Family Style (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We had dinner at the Houston location last week. We have been to many other Benihana's around the country. We made a reservation, no problem as they were ready for us with a slight delay. We went to the bar: The bartender did not even look up at us or acknowledge us, it was quite unbelievable rude...he just kept getting drinks for the service people. We sat there at least 15 minutes with absolutely no acknowledgement at all, went to our table where we finally got a drink.
The service at the table was excellent and our food was very very good.
The decor inside the restaurant is shabby, it truly needs updating.
When we were leaving, there was one of the restaurant personnel yelling for another employee from the bathroom: I believe the one yelling was a Manager of some sort...very annoying and unprofessional.
There needs to be some changes at this establishment.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was really great, however the waiters not so much. I was given dirty forks twice and finally for the third time I receive I clean fork, didn't come with refills unless I asked and took forever to bring the bill I had to get up and go to the front desk. Oh yeah, I had a 7 o'clock reservation and multiple walk ins were seated above me. I'd rather come here for takeout.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went for my senior prom and it was so much fun! If you can't eat much I recommend sharing with people. Big groups of friends are fantastic for this place. Noise level is loud but the chefs are good fun!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food and service was excellent. We loved the rice and the kids loved the show and the staff was excellent will come over and over. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very great service. There was a wait for the cook to get to our table but I know that this is very common. All the food was cooked to everyone's liking and had a great show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Overall our visit was amazing. Beginning I felt a little rushed I ordered an appetizer and only took one bite before my soup came out and right after my salad came out. Had all three courses infront of us while dinne was getting prepared. So we were rushing to finish everything before dinner was ready.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service in the front is horrible and the Hostess is mean and rude but the waitstaff and Betty the cook was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (México)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Cockroaches on the table and on the floor. The dirtiest restaurant I've ever seen.

My son's birthday and it was totally unpleasant.

I spoke and showed the cockroaches to the manager and he just changed our table....NOooooooo..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had a great time! I brought my dad there for his birthday, it was his first time there and he loved loved loved it!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was good. Server was a little hard to understand and seems to have a hard time understanding our requests and orders. The ambience and lighting was a little bit too bright for my taste at night. Drinks were decent a little too sugary. Chef was fine but she was not very skilled.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had at first a terrible wine which I personally believe was a bad one. Our waitress's english was very hard to understand. The food was good just like it always is. We were disappointed we couldnt get a birthday picture as a family at this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nothing much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a great time. Staff was excellent. Food was super.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It's always good here is fun to watch the cooks and to meet some new people and conversate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The chef was exceptional! He kept us entertained and laughing the whole time. All the food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The kids enjoyed the show and the mai tai was fantastic. Food was meh and my order was incorrect. Restaurant is due for a makeover, looks very dated. Just an ok experience this trip.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Too much noise to carry on any type of meaningful conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great service and food was good. will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I like the food. The bathroom was so dirty. Floors toilets. I just felt uncomfortable with that.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food but seats are very crowded. It made the meal a little uncomfortable

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I usually like to have lunch with co-worker/friends in weekdays and I still will do it in near future. The only thing I don't like this time is the chef who didn't play shows like others always do. He just cooked the food and not made shows to entertain the customers. Maybe he is new to Benihana.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent.The chef we had there doran this was are third time to have him cook for us and just like every other time always impressed with his skills and the way he interacts with the guest at the tables..Overall everything was excellent so don't change .. Thank u

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Historic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The staff at the front needs some training on greeting customers. The food while not wildly unusual was fresh and hot. They need to enforce a dress code. Flip flops, shorts and baseballs caps should not be allowed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Just doesn't compare to the Benihana we usually go to on Westheimer. Service was decent, food was just ok. Restaurant just felt a little unkept to me. Didn't have good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service and food was great as usual. Waitress was very attentive and sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Greeter was rude, the waitress was harried and forgetful. The food was bland and mediocre at best. I used to enjoy Benihana, but I won't be returning to this location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We went to use my birthday coupon. The service was so good and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I enjoyed the food but the hostess was very unprofessional and rude. I made reservations after I left an event for me and some friends, but for some reason we were told that they go by first come first serve and not the reservations. That even though we made reservations there was an hour wait. However people who came after us that had reservations at the same time were allowed to be seated before we were. I was extremely angry and felt mistreated. I was introducing the restaurant to some people who had never been before. We were trested unfair.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sad to say that I chose to take my 6 year old daughter here on her birthday 31 years ago. She did not do well at traditional restaurants, so I THOUGHT table cooking might entertain her (and I was right - several decades ago). She has INSISTED we go to this Benihana location every year for her birthday - and I can truthfully say 2 things about our experience.
1) It has consistently gone down hill year after year - the food this year was actually horrible!
2) Despite informing the staff of this remarkable record of eating here for 31 years in a row - they could seem to care less.
My ONLY prayer is that my daughter will finally give up this Benihana nightmare and agree to eat at a decent restaurant next year on her Birthday!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place. The food was so delicious and I will be coming back .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service from the cook, the table assignment was a bit chaotic and the noise of the place was particularly too loud; applaud diversity efforts made by Benihana, good job

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food really missed the mark for us. The sauces were awful. The fried rice was so expensive, not that good, and the servings were small. The one woman at our table who only got steamed rice got both for free because the chef made extra. Yet it wasn't offered to those that ordered it. Happy hour drinks were good though. The filet was the only good part of our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I have been going to this location for special occasions as well as every day "eeehhh its Tuesday" dinner for over 30 years. While it has evolved with the times, its has stayed true to its nature. I will continue to be a patron for as I am able.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The wait was very minumum and the food was good. The wait staff was very attentive and all went well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The Chef Doan not only cooked delicious food,he also played artistic work during the cooking time. We enjoyed so much of watching his performance and listening his humor talking . The manager Ms. Thipsuree is very nice, she chat with us to make sure we got the service as we expected. We had a great time at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my first trip to a Benihana restaurant and I was impressed! While the 'show' at the grill was great, it was ultimately the taste of the food and atmosphere in general that hooked me. It gets a little noisy near the grills but even to a not particularly social person like me, the delicious food is worth it. I am definitely adding Benihana to my 'go to' list for future trips!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Horrible experience. Had a reservation. We were seated promptly. Then we sat there for 30 minutes before somebody even took our drink order. Another 15 minutes later they brought our drinks which tasted horrible and soup which also tasted horrible. We have theater tickets that evening and decided to just pay for what we have consumed and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

No wait- great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food! Loved the time with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was first time dining at the Downtown location.. The food was great, as always.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.