About Benihana - Houston - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in downtown Houston is near the heart of the theatre and museum district, allowing guests to enjoy dinner and a teppanyaki show before a theatrical production nearby. They are in a prime location in the center of the business district and walking distance from all major hotels. The restaurant boasts a large lounge, which is especially popular for business lunches in a limited amount of time. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. Validated parking is available weekdays after 5 p.m. and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

1318 Louisiana St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Clay & Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 659-8231

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/houston-tx-ho

Parking Details:
We validate parking Monday through Friday after 5:00 PM and all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Houston - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Fun (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Family Style (13)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I enjoyed the food but the hostess was very unprofessional and rude. I made reservations after I left an event for me and some friends, but for some reason we were told that they go by first come first serve and not the reservations. That even though we made reservations there was an hour wait. However people who came after us that had reservations at the same time were allowed to be seated before we were. I was extremely angry and felt mistreated. I was introducing the restaurant to some people who had never been before. We were trested unfair.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sad to say that I chose to take my 6 year old daughter here on her birthday 31 years ago. She did not do well at traditional restaurants, so I THOUGHT table cooking might entertain her (and I was right - several decades ago). She has INSISTED we go to this Benihana location every year for her birthday - and I can truthfully say 2 things about our experience.
1) It has consistently gone down hill year after year - the food this year was actually horrible!
2) Despite informing the staff of this remarkable record of eating here for 31 years in a row - they could seem to care less.
My ONLY prayer is that my daughter will finally give up this Benihana nightmare and agree to eat at a decent restaurant next year on her Birthday!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place. The food was so delicious and I will be coming back .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service from the cook, the table assignment was a bit chaotic and the noise of the place was particularly too loud; applaud diversity efforts made by Benihana, good job

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food really missed the mark for us. The sauces were awful. The fried rice was so expensive, not that good, and the servings were small. The one woman at our table who only got steamed rice got both for free because the chef made extra. Yet it wasn't offered to those that ordered it. Happy hour drinks were good though. The filet was the only good part of our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The wait was very minumum and the food was good. The wait staff was very attentive and all went well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The Chef Doan not only cooked delicious food,he also played artistic work during the cooking time. We enjoyed so much of watching his performance and listening his humor talking . The manager Ms. Thipsuree is very nice, she chat with us to make sure we got the service as we expected. We had a great time at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my first trip to a Benihana restaurant and I was impressed! While the 'show' at the grill was great, it was ultimately the taste of the food and atmosphere in general that hooked me. It gets a little noisy near the grills but even to a not particularly social person like me, the delicious food is worth it. I am definitely adding Benihana to my 'go to' list for future trips!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Horrible experience. Had a reservation. We were seated promptly. Then we sat there for 30 minutes before somebody even took our drink order. Another 15 minutes later they brought our drinks which tasted horrible and soup which also tasted horrible. We have theater tickets that evening and decided to just pay for what we have consumed and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

No wait- great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food! Loved the time with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was first time dining at the Downtown location.. The food was great, as always.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Meal was great but still waited 40 minutes for a table with a 5pm reservation on open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food, the cook seemed like she was a bit new but the food was pretty good,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

food was good, cook was entertaining table mates were engaging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food and service was outstanding tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Accommodating on Valentine's Day.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great. The bad mark on the service was due to having to wait over one and half hours even tho we had reservations. The cook could have been a little more personable too. All the cooks use the same jokes. Need new ones.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Brought my daughter and a friend before a show at Jones Hall to celebrate her birthday. The children's chicken was inedible and tasted funny. They had miscounted and forgotten my fried rice, but it was not that big of a deal. We have dined at the Benihana in Sugar Land many times and enjoyed it much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A reservation time here does not necessarily mean when you will get the table. We had an 8:30 reservation and were not seated until 9pm due to the hibachi availability. Benihana is always a good experience however and you get a ton of food for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Boyfriends birthday. Had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was entertaining, great service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Everything was awesome. I enjoyed the food and it was prepared exactly as requested.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very amazing service & staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and very efficient. Food was fantastic and chief was entertaining. Same routine but funny. Great night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Really enjoyed talking with the NEW Manager Joe Bye! He was a breath of fresh air. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We sat at the hibachi table which was too CROWDED and the chef/cook was not prepared and kept having to step away. The waitress rarely came by to see if we needed anything and took too long to check us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Have been going to this location for 40 years. Love it!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had to wait a while to be seated and the hostess was very unfriendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Good service. Typical experience if you have been there before. Nothing to complain about.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great experience again ! I want her family to come with us next time. They will Love it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and e perience is excellent value, parking easy, and the beer is reasonably priced - can't fault Benihana for a casual, fun night out. Join in the fun and enjoy yourselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Co-workers out to lunch and we had a great time and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Happpy new year tradition!!! We loved it. Best food. Best time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Only issue was when asked if there was a special event menu for new years I was told no, but when we got there it was a special event menu. Prices were higher than usual, but not extreme.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

From the service to the food to the atmosphere, Benihana's is a great place for the family or a date. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

took a while to get our table but the service and conversation with our chef helped.

took over an hour to get started

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had very good service and the food was good. Favorite restaurant for a family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I always enjoy the food in Benihana and the service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.