About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Lover's Roll
Calamari Tempura
Hibachi Steak
hibachi scallops
mushroom broth soup
Salad
Saporro Beer
assorted appetizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (87)
good for groups (77)
kid-friendly (48)
See All
great for lunch (28)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (15)
hot spot (13)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It was fun all the way around.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The Tamarac location looks like it would ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Tamarac location looks like it would benefit from a good cleaning with some remodeling. Look up at the ceiling sometime - could be cleaner. Carpet has multiple stains. Chairs were a bit wobbly this time. The noise level can be a bit much - especially with the continuous banging of the metal spatula. Food was good and service was great.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6: ...

Dined 5 days ago

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6:45 with a group of 8. We met in the bar for a few drinks, then were shown to our table promptly. The chef was a funny guy named Jose who appreciated our applause and encouragement. All the orders were taken quickly and efficiently. Drink orders were refilled whenever we needed something. It's a bit of a noisy place, but even so, all of our table could hear each other well. The food was prepared with the usual flair and fun. It tasted great and we were all stuffed at the end. Overall, we had a great time, and will come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had delicious meals and a fabulous ch ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We had delicious meals and a fabulous chef, Connor! He was extremely engaging and very adept at getting the food prepared and done according to our wishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was one of the best I have ever ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef was one of the best I have ever had. Very entertaining, I think he had us laughing the whole time. I looked around later as we were eating and could see that all the other chefs were not doing as much. If i am correct I believe our chef was Collins but can be for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful time when I went with ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I had a wonderful time when I went with my sister! Hibachi chef was very entertaining and waitress was friendly and always available with more drinks and to clear off our plates. I had the tuna...It was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

First time going to a Benihana. I've bee ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

First time going to a Benihana. I've been to many hibachi restaurants though. Benihana's food was slightly better than others, but you don't get as much. All in all, was an ok experience. There are closer hibachi restaurants to my house and I will probably just continue going to them just because of the convenience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos was our chef and he did a great j ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Carlos was our chef and he did a great job with our meal with his 20 years of experience. It was my husband's first time and he had a blast.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our cook was the BEST---he was very ENTE ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our cook was the BEST---he was very ENTERTAINING & funny!! Such a delicious & fun time!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the first time for my son to e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was the first time for my son to eat at this place he really liked it. This was mine and my wife's anniversary so we wanted something special for us and our son to eat and we were not disappointed at all. Very clean and the show was good for us and we enjoyed it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We have been to this location before and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to this location before and were not disappointed. However, this last experience was terrible. The food was okay, but for the price we received very little of the 'good stuff'.. The chef we had was terrible, not entertaining, didn't speak, didn't do anything special for our children. We had a reservation for four people, the restaurant was 30 min late in seating us and when they did so, only gave us THREE seats!! Spend your money elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to this location since 1974. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Been going to this location since 1974. Changes were adding Windows . Food still outstanding. Would like the staff to make sure soup is hot Love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

Usually get pretty good service but some ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Usually get pretty good service but sometimes the timing is way off and you all sit there fir 15 minutes before a wait staff responds and then another 15 and end up with soup and salad at same time and then cook doesnt show up for 25 more. Definitely do not appreciate when that happens like it did this last week.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good choice for graduation lunch.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was excellent. Great place to accommodate hearty appetites, gluten free and vegetarian needs. Large lunch portions and reasonable prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

We were seated 20 mins after our reserva ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We were seated 20 mins after our reservation time and waited nearly 75 more minutes before we saw our chef. No visit from manager until the meal was over. Just not good service. The table next to us was seated 15 minutes after us and they were nearly finished eating before we saw our chef.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

Hi, We have gone to Benihana's every year for each of my 4 family's birthday and various other times. We went last Wed. the 25th for my daughter's birthday. Made reservations for 6:15. Didn't get even water served until almost 7. Very short staffed in an obvious way. Our servers were pleasant but the length of time it took for the whole dinner was sad. There were 2 other parties at our table, both upset. We finally got our check at 845. Way too long and for the first time we were disappointed in the chicken quality.

food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Extremely upset because the chef wasn't ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Extremely upset because the chef wasn't interactive he acted like he didn't want to be there. I paid $100 for just a average dinner when I could've went to chili's and got the same expirence for 60$ less. I've been going there since I was a kid and have always been satisfied but this time it definitely did not live up to my expectations.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

830 reservation set down 915

Dined on May 21, 2016

Me and my family frequently eat at the Benihana I made at 8:30 reservation for some friends and relatives that were coming into town to have a special family dinner what is the point in making a reservation if you're going to sit down 45 minutes late

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The food was excellent, the service abov ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent, the service above par. The restaurant seating/cooking area was very cramped with a low ceiling. The noise level was EXTREMELY loud, so much so that our ears were ringing when we left the restaurant. Other than that, we enjoyed our dinner out.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food is prepped and cooked in front ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is prepped and cooked in front of you, the kids seem to enjoy it. Since the table typically seats eight, I believe our party of ten was shortchanged in the veggie and side dish department. For instance, the imperial steak comes with mushrooms. I got TWO mushrooms. TWO pieces! They also forgot my desert. Waiter went around and asked everyone that had dinner for their desert choice, but forgot mine. Pros were the parking and location. Simply, I don't think its worth the money. There are other hibachi restaurants in town that do a much better job.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a group of 12 that trickled in. Started in the bar waiting but service was horrible there. We had to go the bar to get our bottle of wine opened. Tried to get seated with 10 to start on apps and they wouldn't seat. We would have had to order for the straggling two. We won't be going back any time soon.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Usually we enjoy Benihana but this visit ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Usually we enjoy Benihana but this visit was very stressful. Reservations for 8 pm and didn't get seated until 8:45 pm. Hostess was rude when we inquired about wait. We had a pregnant woman and an elderly diabetic in our group and could not get any help in trying to get a bit of appetizer for them. We were told that the manager would come speak with us but didn't. After being seated it took 20 min to get beverages. I think in the reinvention of their image Benihana seemed to forget about service.

food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Beni Hana is so delicious and so fun. O ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beni Hana is so delicious and so fun. One has to note that the meals themselves have gotten skimpier over the years. Fewer vegetables, no sprouts, tiny shrimps, thinner steaks. As the portions have shrunk, the prices have taken on quality steak house prices. Part of it is the show, and the chefs are always fun. But wow the noise level is incredible. Sorry to say the atmosphere is more Casa Bonita than it is Japanese tea garden. Very hectic, very rushed, very crowded.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Benihanas! The food is always e ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love Benihanas! The food is always excellent, and the chefs make it quite entertaining!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cook just put veggies I did not want in food

Dined on May 9, 2016

Asked for no mushrooms and he ended up not realizing he put them in everyone's stake and got chicken fried rice my sister wanted veggie and he gave us all chicken when we all didn't ask for it..was not really paying attention

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! The cook was funny ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was amazing! The cook was funny and very entertaining. Our kids talked about our cook the entire way home as to how great he was! Thanks

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my first time visiting Benihana ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my first time visiting Benihanas' and I took my family for Mothers Day. We had a wonderful time after the somewhat long wait (even with a reservation) and once we got use to the noise level. The food was very good and the kids were well entertained. The price was a little more than I expected, but overall worth it, because everyone had a great time and we had enough food for leftovers the next day (that's always good)! I would recommend this place to my friends and family, but probably would suggest they go on a day that is not a holiday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Yummy food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our chef this time was awesome! I think his name was Gomez. Cooked the shrimp perfectly as well as the steak.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Not sure why I am insistent on giving th ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Not sure why I am insistent on giving this place another chance. I would talk about the service but, it's non-existent. Food is good. Kitchen frequently makes mistakes which results in some people eating their meal before others at the table. Overall experience does not match the price point. Unlikely I'll be back after the most recent experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good time...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Only come here twice a year , but I am never disappointed. The fried rice is remarkable! The atmosphere is lively and the chefs are amazing at what they do.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday celebration

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great for a lunchtime celebration for 9yo. We had 11:30 am reservation to beat crowd, but they made us wait & have another group join the table. I didn't care for that and would have preferred to be seated when we arrived.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Timing

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a reservation at 6:30 and were not sat until 7:20. Having 2 kids with us, it was disappointing. The host staff was not friendly nor accommodating and just kept telling us there was nothing they could do. The only reason why we stayed was because our kids were very excited to eat there. Don't know if we would do it again.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great but required effort

Dined on April 26, 2016

We were first seated in a booth and we were squashed. Seating was uncomfortable as there was no back. I was assertive to get out and ask for different seating. Once we were reseated every thing was perfect. Service, food, and our chef was great. Birthday coupon made it very affordable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food although more vegetarian and v ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Good food although more vegetarian and vegan options would have been welcomed. Very fun ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bring Back Yummy Sauce

Dined on April 23, 2016

This location used a mustard sauce instead of the traditional yummy sauce.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Entertaining

Dined on April 19, 2016

I really enjoyed my birthday lunch at Benihana. The food was really good and enjoyed my wine too. Loved the habachi chef's "show" he was GREAT!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing experience!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my first visit. I was amazed at how talented the chef is. He cooked the meal to perfection and was entertaining as well. I wasn't too keen on sharing a table with people I don't know but I would do the experience all over again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Chebello is one of the best chefs there and the servers are amazing

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

The. Most memorable part of the experien ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The. Most memorable part of the experience was the rudeness of the wait hostesses. And the manager was exceptionally rude. We had a reservation which they did not honor, we had to wait more than an hour. It is like that old Seinfeld episode, you know how to take the reservation, but you don't know how to honor the reservation. Probably not going back. It is bad news when a restaurant doesn't respect you or your time.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not happy

Dined on March 13, 2016

I made reservation for 7:30pm with the assumption we would have a table within a reasonable amount of time. We waiting an hour for a table which was a bit much for having a reservation. And we arrived by 7:15pm so we weren't late and my entire party was present. Once we were seated we were left alone for about 15-20 min before the waiter came and took our drink order and then he disappeared again. Our chef didn't arrive for some time also and then was kind of quiet and really didn't say much to anyone. I did appreciate they celebrated our birthdays. There were 3 of us total that celebrated but I didn't appreciate the 15-20 minute wait after our plates were cleared and the others that were seated with us received their ticket and paid then left. They wouldn't bring us our check after we asked because we simply spent our entire evening waiting and by that time we were just done with the entire experience. What is the point making reservation ahead of time if you are still waiting for a table just as you would if you just walked in

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.