Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Denver

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (68)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for Groups (64)
See All
Fun (60)
Kid-friendly (59)
Family Style (44)
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Casual (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
People Watching (16)
Romantic (15)
Authentic (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (11)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Spicy (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress/ hostess was very abrupt and rushed us through ordering and they weren't even busy we got sat right away which was nice. The chef was nice but it was very difficult to understand him, his English was HORRIBLE.

I go to Benihana's every year for my birthday, I get a $30 certificate for my meal and it also comes with a sundae the waitress forgot about it (she didn't even ask) and I had to ask for it.

Overall it was good, seeing as the last time we went (in Oregon) we left because we waited for 2 hours with a reservation and they never even checked in on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful birthday celebration for my brother. Big family affair! The staff was awesome and we enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Serious experience and serious eating! Each table (8 persons) has their own cook. Open food preparation, you participate by watching and receiving all the smells. The result is delicious, especially prawns, so yummy...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Celebrated my sons seventh birthday here....
The staff was amazing and so much fun, food was amazing just an overall good experience for me and my party of 11

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is always excellent, service is top of the line, chefs entertainment the best in town.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service was great as always. The Only problem was that my group and I we wait around 30 minutes to be sitting. No mention that my reservation was at 730pm and we get into the restaurant at 720. Other then that,everything was great.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

May seem a bit pricey but you are getting entertainment as well. Be sure to get a reservation. We saw several walk ins get told the wait would be a 1.5 - 2 hour wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The chef was very rude. Indito, its not the first time I have had problems with him. Hopefully won't get him again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was a long time since I have been to this place. It was delicious as well as entertaining.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The cook at our table was not very pleasant and did not.put on a very good show. It was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have always liked Benihana, and we went to this location several times when we lived in Denver in the 1990s. It still lived up to our expectations, and we will go again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was great, the chef was very entertaining, the support services were less than their usual good service, food was slow to get to our table. The manager had to apologize for the delay stating more than regular clientele.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Not a good value-ridiculous prices for what you get and the quality of the food. My 8 year old chose this for his birthday, but next time I'd steer him away. We could have gone to Sushi Den for what we paid here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We took our boss here for his surprise party. It was outstanding. The chef was very energetic and friendly. It was a excellent balance of conversation with the group and with the chef/staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Benihana's is always fun. The chef's are very clever and entertaining, and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overbooked and had to wait on our reservation. Greeters acted like it was a chore to be there. No interaction with people coming in other than to ask for the name. Our waiter was terrific. Had always been a favorite spot to go. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I made reservations here, waited 45 minutes to be seated after watching table after table be seated. My date and I left after waiting for about an hour. Bad service to customers who make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had an 8 pm reservation and were not seated until 8:30. The reason for reservations is so you do not have to wait. The food was great but the waiting for a table not so much

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was terrible for a Saturday night. Our table was a full hour behind getting seated (with a reservation. Not the best start to a birthday dinner. There was no apology from management, or our server, nor was any meaningful effort made to mollify all the customers jammed into the lobby that were forced to wait out the long delays. Service was disappointing, especially considering the prices. Food was typically salty and loaded up with butter, though that is expected at any Benihana location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall very good! I was disappointed that we had to wait 30 min. even though we had a reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

An amazing experience with the club volleyball team.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Historic, Healthy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The staff is absolutely AMAZING! Been here quite a few times now and i love the friendliness and the hospitality we have been given. The food is EXCELLENT! OUTSTANDING! The cooks are super polite and go above and beyond of taking care of you. Thank you! You have a true customer here. Keep up the GREAT work.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Good food, fun time, and good service! Although we had to wait 35 minutes even though we had a reservation made

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It was a great birthday celebration. The food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Been going for over 30 years. It was my sons birthday. Service was horrible; waited for 40 minutes for our chef to arrive. Manager offered complimentary appetizers. Patron at table was scorched on the hand by dish waitress brought. The waitress said nothing to the patron to warn of heat. Surroundings were disgusting; raw meat and food squished on the floor next to me. Waitress was non-attentive; we had to bus our dishes onto the next empty table. Chef completed service and realized he left out one of my guests' meat. He had to request from the kitchen; so disappointing. This type of service has occurred several times before, however NEVER this bad. I am not really sure if I will ever go to Benihana's again, which is really disappointing. I am tired of spending this type of money for this type of experience. Eventually others will catch on as well and stop going. Final insult... hearing the front desk talk about us as we were leaving the restaurant... they could not believe we left a tip when we received such horrible service.

This location really needs to revisit all aspects of their service from top to bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great the employees went above and beyond the service to meet our needs. Great Service Great Food

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our food was fantastic. However we had a reservation and still had to wait almost 20 minutes for a table and once we got to our table we didn't have any lights at our table. Our server and chef were excellent!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and service was great. The only issues I had were, we had reservations and it still took them 25 min to seat us. The other issue was the women's bathrooms were horrible !!! I would have much rather use a outhouse then those restrooms.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a good experience. The chef was skilled, but not very personable. The only downside was about half way through the experience he started having lengthy conversations with only 1 person at the table, in spanish, which is unprofessional and non-inclusive to the other people at the table. Our main server was polite, but not very friendly. I don't think I saw her smile at all during service.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cook put on outstanding show. Food very good and service very good. Little on the noisy side with full room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a great time! Food was good & the chef was fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was so noisy that you couldn't even have a conversation with the person next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Restaurant was packed at 5:00 on a Saturday. Kids love the food prep at the table. Staff all very nice. Building is old with low ceilings and tables are crammed in close. Needs a remodel. You go home with your clothes smelling like grease. Noisy but not horrible, we could hear half of the table in conversation and our chef. Food okay but nothing special, soup was watery beef broth. For 6 of us and tip, for 5 adults and one child, one drink per person including tip it was $225. Just not worth it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

food was good, but the tempura shrimp was not all that great, but everything else was pretty good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My friend and I sat in the bar area, where we had excellent service and where we could enjoy our own quiet conversation. Excellent food, too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great for birthdays or larger parties

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Had a great time, thank you very much it was very special time for me.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food & Sevice were excellent as usual! Went for my husband's birthday and we had a great time. One minor complaint would be that it can get pretty hot.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My Family and i went there for my sons birthday celebration. we had reservation and still waited 1hr and 30min. They never sang happy birthday to my 10 yr old son even tho we had told them that we were there for his birthday. So my son was pretty upset! The Girl at the front was very rude and has no idea on how to manage the front! It was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.