Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Denver

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (76)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for Groups (65)
See All
Fun (62)
Kid-friendly (59)
Good for a Date (46)
Family Style (45)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Casual (21)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (16)
Comfort Food (13)
People Watching (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Healthy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Spicy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We sat near door to kitchen and by knobs for sprinklers on wall. Knobs were distraction for newly minted two year old. Kitchen door a definate distraction for Toddler as well..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

went there for my birthday went back 7 days later for easter

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It is unfortunate that they brought out a special high priced menu for Easter Sunday only. The meals were double the usual price just because it was a 'holiday.'

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family has been to Benihana several times for birthdays. This time we went for Easter. Our chef, Jose Nava was the best chef we have ever had!! He was entertaining and fun; he engaged ALL members of our group- even my 83 year old mother! The food was prepared efficiently and was so flavorful. Jose is awesome and we will ask for him next time. We have had different chefs and they have all been ok but Jose went above and beyond with his cooking skills and entertainment!! Alex, our waitress, was also wonderful! Very friendly and attentive. Whenever I have put a special request in open table reservations, the restaurant has always honored those requests. The manager that day, a woman, came over and asked how everything was. The only advice I would give is that the music was too loud. We sat right under one of the speakers. We always have a great time and great food!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Decent food but WAY overpriced. So loud I left with a headache. Good place for an older kid's birthday, that's about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First I've been to this location. The servers and chef were amazing and attentive. Food was great. Always the plumb saki sangria. Some of us had the sushi and some us had the full food experience. The show they put on and the jokes are great for all ages.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was horrible. The chef was unable to do any classics without trying multiple times. He started playing to one individual at the table and didn't properly prepare food that was requested a certain way. He forgot. It wasn't a full table either. Please make a lunch a menu for the many who would love to come for a lunch and not a full dinner. We have been coming to this specific Benihana for long time and have NEVER been let down like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a waiter who faked a Japanese accent and I think it was his first day (he was nice but not the most skilled.) The food was soaked in butter (which I don't usually mind) but it left my husband and I feeling sick...and bloated from all the sodium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

It's good for 12-year-olds who have out-grown Chuck-E-Cheeze

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Went out to family dinner for my birthday and took the kids for the first time they had an absolute blast! The food and service was wonderful as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food, good staff. This location itself just felt a bit outdated, wobbly chairs.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I was a bit disappointed. This was not my first time at Benihanas, so I had a certain expectation. The chef didn't execute the complete show with all the cooking tricks I am use to. This was my boyfriends first time there and I really wanted him to experience the shows I previously have watched. Such as the crawling lobster, the beating heart, and many more.
The food was also not the greatest this time either. The lobster and shrimp were phenomenal, but the squid had no flavor, and the sushi rolls were falling apart (the rice was not sticking to the roll).

They do have the best fried rice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to Benihana so many times, my daughter wanted to go here for her birthday. While the food was great as always our cook was the worst. Most of the cooks we've had make jokes and get the crowd going. I was so sad that my daughter was so excited to go and after dinner she said "that guy wasn't even funny" she's 6! He put no effort into entertaining us or making conversation which has always been what we look forward to here.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch with the family and had a really nice time. Food tasted great and service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birthday celebtation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was great we enjoyed yourself. It was easy and fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Only place my grandson wanted to go for his 13th. Birthday and we had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Super delicious and fun to watch them cook in front of you! Been going here for years and they never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant a lot of times. This time the service was horrible we waited well over an hour for our cook to come out. When he came out he rushed the food and did not even try to entertain the table. The waitress took forever to come back. She forgot a lot of things the table asked for. Horrible service this time I am not sure if I want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The atmosphere was loud, smoky and warm. Love the food and the show. It's always fun.
The smoky part was from the cooking in there. but it was cleared out after just a few minutes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our chef was Jorge he was absolutely amazing so good and was great at was he was doing . I hope next time we are there we get him

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

VERY FUN, LOTS OF ACTION, EVERYONE ONE AT THE TABLE .
THE FIVE COURSE MEAL WAS GREAT. THANK YOU FOR A FUN EVENING WITH THE FAMILY.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Was seated promptly. Server who took orders was very hard to understand. Had to ask for repeats often. The feeling of being rushed started with her. Appetizers and soup were just short of being thrown at us. The habachi chef arrived. Very unskilled at his job. Lots of dropped and tossed knives which is really unsafe. Onion volcano resulted in a fire all over the grill except the middle of the onion tower. I left with shrimp tails in my hair because his attempts to catch them with his hat failed. Not really sure how a habachi restaurant can run out of rice, but Benihana's did. Food was generally bland. Felt rushed throughout the entire meal and was given a leftovers box at about my third bite. Highly unlikely that I or any members of my party will return for a second over-priced meal at Benihana's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Chef burnt the food and you could smell it while it was cooking...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We love coming here for special occasions. A Great experience every time !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have a food allergy and the cook would make sure to make my food separate from the others so that my food was not cross contaminated. Delicious as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food!! My Favorite place to go for my birthday .

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I liked it but some points it was way too loud and we could barely have a conversation our waiter Jose was very friendly and nice

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Justin our chef was terrific. Very fun and entertaining!

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food, very entertaining chef, Rafael was very skilled and made the night very fun. A bit of a wait to be seated but we were served complementary sushi. Nice neighborhood with plenty of parking

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The waitress/ hostess was very abrupt and rushed us through ordering and they weren't even busy we got sat right away which was nice. The chef was nice but it was very difficult to understand him, his English was HORRIBLE.

I go to Benihana's every year for my birthday, I get a $30 certificate for my meal and it also comes with a sundae the waitress forgot about it (she didn't even ask) and I had to ask for it.

Overall it was good, seeing as the last time we went (in Oregon) we left because we waited for 2 hours with a reservation and they never even checked in on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday celebration for my brother. Big family affair! The staff was awesome and we enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Serious experience and serious eating! Each table (8 persons) has their own cook. Open food preparation, you participate by watching and receiving all the smells. The result is delicious, especially prawns, so yummy...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Celebrated my sons seventh birthday here....
The staff was amazing and so much fun, food was amazing just an overall good experience for me and my party of 11

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is always excellent, service is top of the line, chefs entertainment the best in town.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service was great as always. The Only problem was that my group and I we wait around 30 minutes to be sitting. No mention that my reservation was at 730pm and we get into the restaurant at 720. Other then that,everything was great.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

May seem a bit pricey but you are getting entertainment as well. Be sure to get a reservation. We saw several walk ins get told the wait would be a 1.5 - 2 hour wait.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The chef was very rude. Indito, its not the first time I have had problems with him. Hopefully won't get him again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.