Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Denver

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (59)
Special Occasion (57)
Good for Groups (49)
See All
Fun (45)
Good for a Date (42)
Kid-friendly (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Family Style (30)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Casual (18)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Spicy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

Second time going, we sat with an awesome family celebrating a birthday. The chef was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

You always leave full as the food is good. But you also smell like Benihana which is ok with me because I like Benihana

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Cool vibes. Old flames

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Expensive, but worth the experience. They have delicious food which is made in front of you. The chef is very intertaining and its a one of a kind fun experience. We celebrated my dads birthday and he loved every moment of it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our family loves coming here for many of our special occasions

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

All the food was amazing and the chef not only cooked it to specifications but was entertaining and very outgoing! Weird sitting at a table with strangers and was very loud but all in all a great time. We will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Stuck in the far back where all of the smoke seemed to funnel to. The waitstaff was super friendly but it was terrible service. It took at least 20 minutes from cocktail order to drink. Once the food started everyone had to return their forks (luckily I used chopsticks) since they were literally as sticky as a fly trap. The orders were messed up (someone ordered this and didn't get it or got something different). Make sure to don't look around. The ceiling tiles are all stained. I get it smiley but it must be years since there's been any upkeep.

Look - if you are into hibachi and this kind of dining it's fine. The food is decent but the prices are outrageous. You are paying for a show; not the food or service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Made a reservation with OT and was told to sit and wait. After 15 minutes we were put on a waiting list for 10 more minutes. Food was good as always. Service was a little slow and the waitress didn't take the gift card we placed with the credit card in the pouch. So that had to be corrected. Overall a good experience and will go back. Need to clean their ceiling tiles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I love the food but, the cleaners need to dust a little better and wipe down the menus

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My new favorite restaurant. I will definitely be back! My steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fun, social and entertaining. The service is very good but the food is just ok. My scallops had gritty sand in them I kept crunching it when I chewed. The flavor is fairly bland. We had scallops, shrimp, lobster tail and calamari. The fried rice was good but not very flavorful either. I suppose that could be on the chef. Its still a fun experience. Pretty expensive as well.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We were only two at our table. When the chef finally came, he seemed to be in a hurry. I guess they don't make enough when there are only two at the table. He was also hard to understand and he was not Asian

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We waited a while to be seated even though we had made a reservation but that was the only negative. The ambiance is awesome and service was great. The chefs always put on a good show with the most delicious food! Will always be a returning customer

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fish was overdone Steak was excellent. Onions and mushrooms were last item cooked already had eaten my fish and steak.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Hadn't been to the Denver Benihana's for 15 yrs after a poor experience. My son wanted to enjoy his birthday dinner at Benihana. We booked a 6:30pm reservation well in advance. We were met at the front desk with an apology that they were running a few minutes behind, 10 min tops. 40 min. later we were seated. The wait staff seem stressed, the host staff didn't seem to care at all, the place was busy, and overall service suffered, apologies and some freebies provided, but we still won't be back for another 15yrs, if it's still there. It's such a shame, the food is good, the experience should be fun, it is just not well managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was great and Gabby did a great job cooking for us !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and Benihana came through. Our chef did an excellent job with
our food and entertained the table. I will whole heartedly recommend Benihana to friends and
family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The experience is always as expected.
They seated you on a table really fast
They treated you really good
The food is delicious and the show that the cooks do is amazing.
I love banihanas.
Awesome people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our food was delicious, pretty spends but we were expecting it. Our chef didn't do as many tricks as others which was a little disappointing but still was good at what tricks he did do. Our steak was cooked perfectly and he fulfilled our special requests. However, our waitress was awful, once she brought out our soups and salads, we didn't see her again for the rest of the meal, no drink refills, no offer for appetizers (which we wanted), and we had to practically chase her down in order for her to even check us out. The atmosphere was extremely loud, actually made it hard for my fiancé and I to have an actual conversation. Food was amazing though so we didn't complain much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best place to eat! Food is amazing and so is the atmosphere!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our chef was great! He engaged with everyone at the table. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The chef was very good and entertaining. However, the other food has gone down hill. My favorite things are just not the same, the soup was cold and had a different flavor, the ginger dressing on the salad was not as good, and the ginger dipping sauce was okay, but not as good. We loved the place for it's $30.00 off coupon for B-days, but I'm not sure it is still worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Expensive, lots of average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday - they need to create a new building or location with larger ceilings and wooden floors. Way too hot and cramped. Not equipped to deal with crowds there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I love Benihana. No matter how many times we go, if it's a week apart or a year apart, the food is always good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday dinner and we kept waiting for the waitress to come back and take our picture but she never did, it's the first time that has ever happened!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Restaurant was dirty compared to other Beni Hana's I have been to. I will not be back

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a fun upbeat place. Good is a little on the pricey side but I enjoy watching the chef cook kit on front of me. Food is good and the portions are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unfortunately we got an Inexperienced cook waste eggs for the fried rice, did not perform a show to our table.
Disappointed

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Despite having reservations, we were seated 50 minutes late

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love the fact that we eat with new people everytime!!! Makes dinner more enjoyable!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They are wonderful with children and making a special experience for all ages

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really had a lot of fun. Good value and great staff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our chef, Justin was fabulous! The service was great. However, I did cut my lip on a glass. This is the second time someone in my family has gotten cut by dish ware there.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

i was not happy with the fact that i had a reservation set for 5 but when i got there there was a 45 min wait, there was no reason to make a reservation if i still have to wait just as long as the others that walked in without. also the heater was on in the building and when we were eating we were also sweating because it was so hot, we told 3 waiters to turn down the heater and they never did. overall the food was great but other than that they need improving

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sushi was not very good at all. Overall food was not great. Definitely would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always worth the price. I have gone at least 1-3 times per year for nearly 30 years. Great food, and entertaining chefs. Love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Historic, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Benihana's has become a family favorite for birthdays and other occasions when we have guests. Enjoy the food a lot and the chefs can be fun too!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great service and everyone has such a great attitude!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wrong order still paid the food was ok. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.