Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Benihana - Denver

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for Groups (46)
See All
Fun (43)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Great for Lunch (21)
Casual (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
People Watching (16)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Family Style (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1018 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

it was my second time there and i absolutely loved it. ill be back in a couple days, no doubt. great food great place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun atmosphere. Area where we were seated was very cold. Manager recognized that and turned up the temp but still remained uncomfortable. The rest of the restaurant was warm - almost stuffy with air heavy with greasy cooking smoke

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

DELICIOUS AND SOOO MUCH FUN!! ALWAYS A TREAT... A BIT PRICEY

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was just right food was great service was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My family and I come here often and we love it. This time was not the same. We had a reservation at 6pm but wasn't seated until 6:45. We also had a party of 7 so thought we would get a table to ourselves. Another couple and their child squeezed in next to us. They were nice people but too cramped. I kept getting elbowed whenever taking a bite. The chef was pleasant but did not pay attention to detail. He did not ask how I wanted my steak cook. I prefer medium rare and it was well. He also mixed in mushrooms with my steak which I am allergic to. He also put a large portion of onions on my plate without asking and I am really not a fan of onions.
Overall not the best experience this time but the sushi was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very slow and waited 30 minutes for a reserved table. Do not recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Place was great as always. It was just the other group we had to sit with. The toddler was unruly and mom and grandma did nothing to get the child to calm down. Then there was the way they ordered, so picky, don't even know why they came to such a place to eat!
Made our lunch uncomfortable and wasn't able to enjoy the full experience like usual. We felt sorry for the cook, he seemed he couldn't do his entertaining part of the job because he was too busy burying their food in butter!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a nice evening celebrating my son heading off to college. We have made this a bit of a family tradition and it seems to never disappoint. The quality of food and drink are not considered to be creative but it is always consistent. We always enjoy our time at Benihana.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place to celebrate birthdays or other family events. We always have excellent service and the food is very good. The only downside is the wait - even with reservations, expect to wait a minimum of 15 minutes (with a reservation, our wait last Saturday night was 35 minutes).

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

What a great place for a Birthday party! Food was great and the chef was so entertaining!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I don't like making a reservation for a specific time and then waiting an additional 20-30 minutes to be seated and then an additional 20 minutes prior to getting a chef to cook and then get to eat. When your reservation is at 7:00 p.m. or 11:30 am, you want to eat - you are hungry and having to wait and wait to be seated gets everyone in a bad mood. Why have reservations, you should be able to start eating within 20 minutes of your reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was delicious. The place needs a good scrubbing. The ceiling was extremely dirty especially the air vents.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Benihana has always been a unique experience. Definitely need a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall good experience! Service and chef were average but food was good. Great meal out if expectations are moderate. Also price was on the higher side for the type of gentry that the restaurant catered to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We have eaten at Hibachi a ton...love the food. The food here was tasty but spendy compared to other restaurants of this type. Would go again, but would perfer other Hibachi restarants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We have a tradition to go for birthdays since it's so expensive. Have been going for years. This time my brother found rubber band in his salad and all they could say was I'm sorry. Doesn't seem like good customer service especially for the price. Very disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A good time was had by all!! Chef was fun, servers were knowledgable and fun. Great tasting food!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our reservation was at 7:45, we didn't get our table until 8:20. Not sure what the point of having a reservation is, if the restaurant can't honor it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our cook was great and made the experience very memorable

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food isn't as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love the food. Great show. Too noisy and hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had food at the restaurant that was excellent all around and got take away that was much worse. They do go over the take out orders with you, but it is difficult to see if the chef forgot to season the food without tasting! The restaurant is definitely getting old and a bit shabby, especially if you are seated in the back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was a fun experience. Food was awesome and the chef was great. We went for a night out as adults without kids...i should have clarified that with my reservation...b/c of the way they seat the cook tops we had kids at the table. The energy in the restaurant was high and so was the noise level, which was fine except every 10 minutes the staff was singing happy birthday to a different table...it became a little obnoxious after the 3rd time. I would totally go back again, I just would select a later time and ask for a preference to be sat with other/only adults. The food and cooking entertainment were wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Came to Benihana to celebrate my 37th birthday! The food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I haven't been to Benihanas for over 10 years. It was even more fun than I remembered. My friend was having her birthday so my daughter and I took her out. She was really craving muscles so we chose Benihanas. The chef was excellent, seperating our meals (I am allergic to soy and gluten) on the grill. Everything was cooked to perfection, the muscles, salmon and fillet minion. What a fun way to celebrate a birthday. We will certainly be back, and soon, not 10 years!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We came for my nieces birthday.
Birthdays used to be a lot more fun there with a special dessert, a souvenir and pictures. I had to ask the waiter twice about the birthday and then they did a scoop of vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce and a candle. It was pathetic for the amount of money we paid and the great experiences he have had there before for many years.
The food and the chef were great.
Not sure if we would do this again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Very mediocre. Poor service - had to ask for water multiple times & was charged for wine we didn't order. The chef was nice & entertaining, but the food lacked much flavor and was bland, even for so-called Japanese. Using zucchini in Japanese food is wrong.

The noise level was incredibly high, bordering on intolerable. Lastly, the place needs a renovation badly. It looks and feel OLD. Replace the dirty ceiling tiles. Put more sound blocking materials on the walls. Add some decor other than faded plaques about the guy who started the chain. Really - this is a pretty pricey place and it looks more like a Denny's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Lo recomiendo al 100% comida muy rica y la atencion muy bien

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

So....we had a reservation for 745. We showed up at 7. Was told it would be 45 minutes. Well...of course we will wait because we had reservations at 745 anyway. Well....745 comes and we aren't sat. 8pm comes and we aren't sat. 815. Still not seated. 825 we get sat. This is the second time we have come here and they have an issue with reservations and seating. To their credit....it was Sunday evening and they're always busy. They also offered free sushi during our wait and apologized. Unfortunately I have to give this visit a low grade. Maybe next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love Benihanas! The only con is we waited 40min after our reservation time to be seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Need to serve more vegetables. Extremely light on vegetables. Why?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Chef Beto was great, except he used the same knife he cut the raw chicken with to cut everything else. He also didn't wash his hands after handling raw eggs. Additionally, our table of 8 (2 parties) had to wait over an hour past our reservation time to get a teppan chef..while several tables sat after us were almost through their meals. The rolling tray he brought out didn't have all the meals on it either. When brought to the management's attention, instead of taking accountability for the tardy start to our meal or trying to make it right they just told us they appreciated our patience and next time would make sure we received the service we deserved. Not a good way to handle it at all. Would not recommend this restaurant due to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great experience overall. Server was good, food was great, Hibachi Chef (Jorge) was amazing and witty. Highly recommended!

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Bad service, messed up order and had to ask thrice for a glass of water, had to replace plates twice , i would rather starve than eat here, manager beni as he called himself god knows if it was his name as the chain is beni hana was condescending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food and entertainment were great. Lots of birthdays. I was a little loud in there but it was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was tasty and it was fun to have it prepared at the table with showmanship. However we had a reservation for 7:00 pm and were told on arrival that the wait would be 15 minutes. We were not seated until 8:00 and received no food until 8:30!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great Time! Will return😆😆😆😆 We went for my Niece it was her 11th Birthday. We had a Group , made reservations. EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING!!! Will Return ☺☺

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It felt very much like we were being shoved in to an already full building. The noise level was so loud there was no way to carry a conversation. The food was only ok, and under seasoned. The table we were seated at was with a couple and 4 kids, the couple was being disrespectful the entire time (on their phone talking, cussing). We will not be back, this feels like the company is more concerned with getting as many people in to make the most profit at the expense of environment and customer experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Terrible again! Third strike. We won't be back. The chef was very inappropriate with his comments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The service was absolutely horrific, the management was not helpful & the food was mediocre. I come to Benihana often, but I highly doubt I will be back to this one for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.