About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Sushi - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Trio - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Trick - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Calamari Tempura - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
mushroom broth soup - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
hibachi scallops - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Steak - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Salad - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Saporro Beer - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
assorted appetizer - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Denver Suburbs
Most Booked
Denver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Tech Center / Greenwood Village ›

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for Groups (51)
See All
Fun (40)
Kid-friendly (37)
Good for a Date (27)
Family Style (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (13)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wait is horrible! Even with Reservat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The wait is horrible! Even with Reservations! I had waited even 2hrs with reservations made! it seems like there is a lot of disorganization going on! I used to go there all the time and now I'm just very disappointed how it is now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

My family and I were there for my daught ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My family and I were there for my daughters 17th birthday. A few members were late and they held our resevation for us! Service and food was great! Alittle pricey, but for a group it wasnt bad! The place was also bubbling with excitement, all the other guests seem to be enjoying thmselves also! My daughter said she loved the place!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our Chef Jose was exceptional. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our Chef Jose was exceptional. Food was great. My daughter had a wonderful birthday dinner that we all enjoyed.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had some issues with our server not unde ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had some issues with our server not understanding our order, but management was quick to clear up any confusion

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was great, server was friendly and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was great, server was friendly and attentive. The chef unfortunately seemed unenthused. As a chef/performer we expect more of our experience. The food was great, he did all of the "tricks", but seemed tired and not really interested. We even tried talking with him a couple times and he did not want to talk with us either. We enjoy Benihana, but this was not our best experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was my daughter's 14th birthday dinne ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was my daughter's 14th birthday dinner. We were seated at our specified reservation time and the restaurant was fun, loud and energetic. The food was good and our server was quick to refill drinks and take away dirty plates. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife here for her birthday and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday and we had an amazing time which we usually do. Our chef was great and the food was delicious...

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here all the time. The past few ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I come here all the time. The past few visits have nkt gone well. Maybe the wait staff is thinned out but the timing of the food has been awful. The waiter disappears and the next table seated at same time is onto salads and we still dont have soup. Then the chef was cooking and serving us foid and the salads had never come. We had to send someone up front to ask. For the money you pay (100 bux for 2 dinners) you would think that it would be MUCH better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I was mad that you send out coupons for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was mad that you send out coupons for birthdays but do not honor them!!!We sat down and the manager came out and said Thay could not honor it so we got up and left I will never recommend Benihana's to any of my family or friends I would rather take them to Hibachi & sushi we had a great time there he got his meal free with no coupon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was the best date the wife and I co ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was the best date the wife and I could EVER experience!!! I thank the staff and we will return ;)

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No garlic butter 😢😢 Still yummy

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

No garlic butter 😢😢

Still yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our food was delicious and the service was excellent! We are never disappointed when we dine here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great! Especially, our chef: Jaso ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It was great! Especially, our chef: Jason was the best chef ever. He could make whole my family comfortable and give us nice conversation with many jokes and great performance. We would like to request Jason next time again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 6... was finally ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Made a reservation for 6... was finally sat at 6:30- waitress seemed in a hurry, but food/chef was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

First time in years we were at this rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time in years we were at this restaurant on a Saturday evening. Noise level was high because of numerous birthday parties and children 6 - 16.

We have been here on week nights with friends and conversation was never a problem.

We especially enjoy sushi along with dinning at cooking table.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We love going for a fun family dinner!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love going for a fun family dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, although chef did not pr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was great, although chef did not prepare enough rice for all at table and requested that kitchen bring out 2 more bowls. Strangely I got billed for those separately too. Waiter also took my plate while I was still eating. Was weird, but other than that, I enjoyed the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Got an email with a birthday coupon. Imm ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Got an email with a birthday coupon. Immediately think to take my husband for his birthday that night. We get there and the email has NO barcode to use the coupon. they wouldn't do anything about it. A joke to get us in there or???

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had forgotten how enjoyable Benihana's ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I had forgotten how enjoyable Benihana's could be. We commented on how fun and entertaining the chefs were when making the food in front of us. It felt like were on a cruise ship or a Mexican resort with a themed restaurant. The food was tasty, but one must be patient, so if you are starving and want to eat immediately this is not the place, as you need time to enjoy the experience and food prep. We were celebrating my adult son's B-day and loved it!

The food and alcoholic drinks are expensive but it was worth it if you go with the flow and interact with the chef at your table and participate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was noisy, so not the pla ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The restaurant was noisy, so not the place you'd want to go for a quiet, romantic evening. But the food was delicious and the service was good. It's a bit pricey but I'd definitely recommend going at least once.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Spicy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Chef Justin gave our family the most ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our Chef Justin gave our family the most fun and enjoyable experience we've had at a Benihana restaurant! It was a very memorable dinner for our family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is too hot and conjested. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The restaurant is too hot and conjested. They need more air circulation.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Kind of pricey for bland food - 8 year o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Kind of pricey for bland food - 8 year old enjoyed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was delicious. Fun atmosphere - liv ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was delicious. Fun atmosphere - lively and noisy. Very crowded though - need to make reservations! Fun to see chef right in front of you preparing your food! Unique and yummy! Lots of food for sure - average entree price is $25.00 - not cheap, but worth it! Have to experience it at least once!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was the first time I had been in abou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was the first time I had been in about 10 years as well as my boyfriend. I surprised him for his 56 th Birthday and that was three days ago and he is still talking about what a great time he had!

The chef , Jesus, was superb and friendly. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Chef wasnt very enthusiastic. Need to gi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Chef wasnt very enthusiastic. Need to give more zucchini. One small slice is pitiful. Chicken overcooked ! Steak was perfect. Loved the picture at the end.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Ive come here around 10 times and am nev ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Ive come here around 10 times and am never disappointing what so ever! Perfect place for a date!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

delicious food. Fun to watch the chef! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

delicious food. Fun to watch the chef! Delicious plum wine!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was delicious and the chef was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our food was delicious and the chef was awesome. I was disappointed that my sons birthday was forgotten even though it was mentioned to our server and in the reservation itself. We went there to celebrate him turning 13 and he was forgotten...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great experience as usual! Fun time for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience as usual! Fun time for my daughters birthday. Our chef "Indito" was marvelous! Very skilled chef and extremely entertaining at the same time. Our go-to restaurant for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was terrific - we were at a t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The waiter was terrific - we were at a table by ourselves and it was our 30th wedding anniversary. The food was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They use too much seasoning (especially ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

They use too much seasoning (especially salt) in their cooking. next time will ask them not to use salt and pepper. They also need additional ventilation to remove the smell of the oil cooking on the grills. Food was delicious, but too seasoned. All-in-all a good place for a special family occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a reservation at 7:45pm and weren ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a reservation at 7:45pm and weren't seated until an hour later. Our chef was less than enthusiastic, missed more shrimp tails than he got into his hat, and we sat a table with lots of kids....we like kids, but not necessarily on a Saturday night date night. It was loud, stinky, noisy and not as fun and memorable as in years past. Had to wash all our clothes the next day (left them in the garage because they smelled so greasy and bad. We probably will never go back to Benihana's, what happened to it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The food and the service was very good! The only issue I had with Benihana was the entertainment aspect of the dinner wasn't there. In the past I have gone to restaurants similar to Benihana and the chef would put on an entertaining show while cooking the food. Other than that we really enjoyed our time there.

Tags: People Watching, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

very entertaining. we had an experienced ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 13, 2016

very entertaining. we had an experienced cook and every thing was perfectly prepared.adding to an overoveall pleasant Day

.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love coming here. This one was ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We always love coming here. This one was fun because of the people at the table but the chef was not very entertaining this time and heavy handed with the salt, unfortunately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

my husband had the chili pork & shrimp. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

my husband had the chili pork & shrimp. It was outstanding........I had Chateaubriand & was dissappointed. the rest of the table was happy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience and great service a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful experience and great service and food. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love visiting benihana for special oc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We love visiting benihana for special occasions. It's an great place to bring family or large groups. The staff is always very friendly and the chefs are great. The food is great and the ambiance of the restaurant is superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.