About Benihana - Denver

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (62)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Birthdays (60)
See All
Fun (53)
Kid-friendly (49)
Good for a Date (37)
Family Style (33)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Casual (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Romantic (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Spicy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for birthdays or larger parties

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food & Sevice were excellent as usual! Went for my husband's birthday and we had a great time. One minor complaint would be that it can get pretty hot.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

My Family and i went there for my sons birthday celebration. we had reservation and still waited 1hr and 30min. They never sang happy birthday to my 10 yr old son even tho we had told them that we were there for his birthday. So my son was pretty upset! The Girl at the front was very rude and has no idea on how to manage the front! It was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We waited about 30 minutes past our reservation time on a Sunday evening. Once seated, it took another 15 minutes for drinks and 15 more for our chef. It seems they were way overbooked and didn't have the staff to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant is always very busy. We had a reservation for 6 pm, and waited about 35 minutes past that time to be seated. The service at the table was good. The hibachi chef was good. The food is what I expect from hibachi restaurants. However, the atmosphere was very businesslike and obviously meant to churn through as many seatings as possible. There ar either hibachi style restaurants in our area, which are a more relaxed and fun type of dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a Birthday it was a really fun time kids really enjoyed it as well

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I went for the first time last weekend had the best time ever!!! And JUSTIN our server was great!!!!!! He really knows how to put on a good show. The food was sooooooo GOOD!!!!!! Definitely going back i was so full i didn't have any room for dessert....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The cook was awsome and the food was perfect.... would highly recommend for a different experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Make sure you are not hungry, because it does take time for the main course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife enjoy herself as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner. The sushi was fabulous then we shared an entrée. The food is always good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this place, always fun! Jose is the best table chef, and Janet is a great waitress! They are a great team! I love the food, just expensive, but worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentines Day so the restaurant was very busy. We were seated at our reservation time, 530. Service was very good and speedy. The chefs at Benihana are always entertaining but ours was pretty quite and didn't say much. He spoke very softly making it hard to hear him. The food was prepared to order and served hot right from the grill to your plate. My only minor complaint was the chicken breast was pretty tough. Kind of surprising since they were fairly thin. But, overall, the meal, service and atmosphere was great. Nice place to spend Valentines Day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I have been a few times with groups of people, and its certainly good for groups of people BUT it seems to be consistently overbooked and running late, usually around 30 minutes or more from booking time so it kind of puts the whole evening on a downward trend, so book for 30 minutes before you want to sit down! They won't sit you until the whole group has arrived which makes a lot of sense given the style of cooking. Our service this time was a bit ad hoc and we ended up being served several times by waiters from other tables. We had children with us and had been before, knew what we wanted so wanted to order both drinks and meals straight away but we were not allowed to. We assume this is to give the chef time to get to our table and it not seem as long between ordering and getting food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, portion too small for the price. Way too loud, waiter and waitress hard to understand not only cause it was loud but their acsents made it even harder to understand them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful experience. Really love the food and the Chefs are creative👍🏻

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had a great time with family visiting out of time. First time at the location in Denver colorado. Alex was great and funny

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was a little unhappy with the situation with fried rice. I had purchased 3 , 1 for there and 2 to go and I was the last one to get rice and it was very skimpy. Rice bowl not even filled all the way on the one I had eaten there and the 2 to go. This family of 4 all decided they didn't want the veggies in their rice so they got full bowls of rice and I just don't think the chef calculated the amount of rice he brought out. My friend, myself and the 2 people next to us got 3/4 filled bowls of rice with extra veggies, skimpy on rice and the family of for got over filled bowls with all the rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I've been coming to this location for many years (30+) with my family and friends with great frequency...this was one of my top favorite restaurants. I was really looking forward to a good meal. This time I was a solo diner, and my requests were mostly ignored. I had to state my preferences several times. Very odd and frustrating to be treated this way. The food was not nearly as good as in past visits. This will likely be my last time here.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The restaurant was totally full. It was very hot inside probably 85 degrees. The food is always good but was an uncomfortable, loud, noisy dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I came here for my cousin birthday and I loved it. The staff was wonderful and also I just loved our chef he was very creative I couldn't ask for nothing more. I would recommend this place to anyone the food was wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was great and the waitress and chef was awesome..but front desk service was horrible and not friendly ppl at all..I have a reservation @7pm and came 10 mins early thru open table resv. but was not seated till after 7:20pm..they said that the table was not ready..why even bothered to make a reservation at open table if can't be seated at the reserve time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We were a party of four. Between us we had the shrimp, scallops, chicken and steak. Everybody's food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and service. This is a two hour meal so plan accordingly. Make reservations. Great time and experience.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wow. I have been going to this restaurant since it opened. I love the hibachi experience and these guys used to be awesome at it.

So many thing went wrong with our meal. Everything was completely over cooked . Our lobsters were cooked to the point they tasted like rubber. Our steak likewise. The salad had way too much dressing. And the chef - not of Japanese descent - kept making fun of everything Japanese. It was plain weird and to say it bluntly he simply was a horrible chef. Nothing tastesd right.

Probably will only return for happy hour in the bar as the dining experience wasn't up to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Eveyithing was supper good. Food was amazing. The coock was funny and frendly. Only thing was that we had to share a table with a difrent family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Service seems to be slipping. We still love it and still have been coming but each time something happens. This last time my husband noticed he wasnt getting any food and the cook stated he thought he just wanted rice. So he ended up eating after everyone else. Cook says "sorry japanese mistake" lol. Funny but it is happening a lot more. For the price you pay..not cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Chrissy Birthday bash. Best time ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Super smoky and loud and seemed over capacity. The service and food was great though.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I love, love, love Benihana! The service this time was really slow and we didn't get the show that we usually do. My daughter was disappointed that the chef didn't do the closing routine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food is good. Prices are a little high. Service was great. The restaurant should consider some upgrades such as a better ventilation system as everyone in our party complained about how hot it was during our visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved it but the restaurant needs to be remodeled.

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always entertaining and delicious dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great dinner, chef was full of energy and did a awesome job.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The hibachi shrimp was the best shrimp I ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Been coming here for years. Great atmosphere and service. Keep it up! I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. A little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

OK normally I have nothing but great things to say about benihana. But I had a 730 reservation did get seated until 815 and no food until 830. It was supposed to be a nice family meal with my mother and daughter who is 9 who is visiting for break. And instead it was sitting at a table with drunk people and the longest we have ever waited to be seated and served. We didn't finish dinner until 10pm I didn't expect for dinner to last all night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 9, 2017

So fun!!! Food is okay, but you come here for the experience. Get a reservation & expect lots of noise & interaction. Kids are amazed! (But be prepared: it gets hot!)

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I feel they squeeze to many people into one table at a time! It makes it very difficult to relax and eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

What can I say? It's always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Justin was our chef and did a fantastic job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The hibachi chef who's name was Tony was excellent and very entertaining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Chef Connor was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our chef Gomez was attentive and entertaining! He rose up to the ocassion and congratulated us on our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and ambience . I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was not as good as I expected, the filet mignon seemed to be a different cut of meat because it was sort of tough. It was cooked medium and the chef did a great job with cooking our meal. The rice was dry as well. We have visited this restaurant before which was a better experience then. The other concern is the amount of smoke in the restaurant which was making us cough, check your ventilation system.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on New Years Eve, the service was excellent.

We were disappointed in the chef as he ruined our experience.

Loud and Obnoxious

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going here for New Years Eve dinner for years. A little pricey, but the food is tasty and they get you in and out fast so you can go on to your parties!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Annual New Years Day dinner with family. Good atmosphere and food for everyone in my party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.