About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Lover's Roll
Calamari Tempura
Hibachi Steak
hibachi scallops
mushroom broth soup
Salad
Saporro Beer
assorted appetizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (105)
good for groups (86)
kid-friendly (56)
See All
great for lunch (33)
fit for foodies (23)
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter and interactive for my daughters birthday

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated, even tho I had made a reservation

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had to wait with reservation about 15 mi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had to wait with reservation about 15 minutes. Hostess did serve sushi while we waited for free

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The other group at our table was a bit r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The other group at our table was a bit rowdy but the cook dude awesome! They were hard on him, but he turned the experience around and found humor out of it!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived early, table not ready until after 7. No complimentary photo offered after. Would only recommend for birthday coupon. Miyabi Jr, Express with identical food at 1/4 price less than 2 minutes away.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Food has been better: chicken was hard a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food has been better: chicken was hard and over cooked. Sauces were separated out and taste was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Our guy, Cornelio was great. It was qui ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our guy, Cornelio was great. It was quite expensive though for 7. Not something we do very often because of cost so I am glad we had a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

1.) Steak was good; scallops were small ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

1.) Steak was good; scallops were small but good.

2.) Chicken fried rice was dry and had not very much flavor, especially after we asked our cook for extra garlic butter or sauce, and he said okay!

3.) After our server brought our drinks and salads, we didn't see her again to refil our glasses or check on us again until we had finished our meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Six of us went early (11:00am) on a Sat- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Six of us went early (11:00am) on a Sat-so all parties could go to celebrate a birthday. We had a great time the staff was friendly and attentive. Our chef was fun and talented, we loved watching him cook. At the end of our meal my Mom was brought a scoop of ice cream and was sung happy birthday in English and Japanese, she really loved this. The waiter even snapped off a photo for a keepsake.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome our chef was fanta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was awesome our chef was fantastic. The food is pricey but it was a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has become my favorite place to eat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This has become my favorite place to eat. Unfortunately I can't afford to go very often. Usually just for special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, terrible service.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I was trying to celebrate a 5 year olds ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I was trying to celebrate a 5 year olds birthday. We were seated after sitting in the waiting area for 30 minutes (with a reservation) almost as an after thought. They placed us at a table with two groups of single younger men. Not a fun time for the 5 year old or the young men we were sitting with. The guys were trying to watch what they said, the 5 year old was trying to enjoy the show. The wait staff took forever to take our order (the rest of the table had already ordered when we were finally seated with them) Nothing was done to make her birthday special even though we told them more than once. I wont be taking her back there and its sad that her first experience there was so bad.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We went to Benihana's to celebrate a bir ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Benihana's to celebrate a birthday, the service was excellent as well as the food. It was a little hard to hear the chef because of the noise. Would recommend for family gatherings

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love coming here because it is so clos ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love coming here because it is so close to my house, but this visit was unlike the past. I made a 5:30 reservation and we were not sat until 5:50. Not that much time but with a toddler, we make reservations for a reason, 20 minutes can be the difference between a good meal and a tantrum! The hostesses were more concerned with playing with their hair than seating people or helping wipe tables or even running a vacuum on the crumb filled floor. The bathrooms were disgusting and needed to be serviced badly. Our chef was great and the food was good but the other complaints I had will make us go somewhere else next time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service and food was amazing as always! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service and food was amazing as always! However I was a little upset when they sat 9 of us at a table that usually only seats 8! If you don't have the room for 8 at a table, they shouldn't allow you to make reservations for the specified time

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. Me and my wife enjoyed our 9th anniversary. We enjoyed the humorous chef and marveled at his ability to entertain while preparing a meal for multiple strangers. I thought the price was a little high but I was also indulging in a seafood on a special occasion. We will definitely be back. This would also a great place for a business meeting because the ability to chat and be entertained.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family took me here for my birthday! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My family took me here for my birthday! It was a great dinning experience. Will be coming back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It was fun all the way around.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Tamarac location looks like it would ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Tamarac location looks like it would benefit from a good cleaning with some remodeling. Look up at the ceiling sometime - could be cleaner. Carpet has multiple stains. Chairs were a bit wobbly this time. The noise level can be a bit much - especially with the continuous banging of the metal spatula. Food was good and service was great.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6: ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6:45 with a group of 8. We met in the bar for a few drinks, then were shown to our table promptly. The chef was a funny guy named Jose who appreciated our applause and encouragement. All the orders were taken quickly and efficiently. Drink orders were refilled whenever we needed something. It's a bit of a noisy place, but even so, all of our table could hear each other well. The food was prepared with the usual flair and fun. It tasted great and we were all stuffed at the end. Overall, we had a great time, and will come back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had delicious meals and a fabulous ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had delicious meals and a fabulous chef, Connor! He was extremely engaging and very adept at getting the food prepared and done according to our wishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our chef was one of the best I have ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef was one of the best I have ever had. Very entertaining, I think he had us laughing the whole time. I looked around later as we were eating and could see that all the other chefs were not doing as much. If i am correct I believe our chef was Collins but can be for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had a wonderful time when I went with ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I had a wonderful time when I went with my sister! Hibachi chef was very entertaining and waitress was friendly and always available with more drinks and to clear off our plates. I had the tuna...It was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time going to a Benihana. I've bee ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time going to a Benihana. I've been to many hibachi restaurants though. Benihana's food was slightly better than others, but you don't get as much. All in all, was an ok experience. There are closer hibachi restaurants to my house and I will probably just continue going to them just because of the convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Carlos was our chef and he did a great j ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Carlos was our chef and he did a great job with our meal with his 20 years of experience. It was my husband's first time and he had a blast.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook was the BEST---he was very ENTE ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our cook was the BEST---he was very ENTERTAINING & funny!! Such a delicious & fun time!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time for my son to e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was the first time for my son to eat at this place he really liked it. This was mine and my wife's anniversary so we wanted something special for us and our son to eat and we were not disappointed at all. Very clean and the show was good for us and we enjoyed it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to this location before and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to this location before and were not disappointed. However, this last experience was terrible. The food was okay, but for the price we received very little of the 'good stuff'.. The chef we had was terrible, not entertaining, didn't speak, didn't do anything special for our children. We had a reservation for four people, the restaurant was 30 min late in seating us and when they did so, only gave us THREE seats!! Spend your money elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Been going to this location since 1974. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Been going to this location since 1974. Changes were adding Windows . Food still outstanding. Would like the staff to make sure soup is hot Love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually get pretty good service but some ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Usually get pretty good service but sometimes the timing is way off and you all sit there fir 15 minutes before a wait staff responds and then another 15 and end up with soup and salad at same time and then cook doesnt show up for 25 more. Definitely do not appreciate when that happens like it did this last week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good choice for graduation lunch.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was excellent. Great place to accommodate hearty appetites, gluten free and vegetarian needs. Large lunch portions and reasonable prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated 20 mins after our reserva ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were seated 20 mins after our reservation time and waited nearly 75 more minutes before we saw our chef. No visit from manager until the meal was over. Just not good service. The table next to us was seated 15 minutes after us and they were nearly finished eating before we saw our chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Poor experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Hi, We have gone to Benihana's every year for each of my 4 family's birthday and various other times. We went last Wed. the 25th for my daughter's birthday. Made reservations for 6:15. Didn't get even water served until almost 7. Very short staffed in an obvious way. Our servers were pleasant but the length of time it took for the whole dinner was sad. There were 2 other parties at our table, both upset. We finally got our check at 845. Way too long and for the first time we were disappointed in the chicken quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Extremely upset because the chef wasn't ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Extremely upset because the chef wasn't interactive he acted like he didn't want to be there. I paid $100 for just a average dinner when I could've went to chili's and got the same expirence for 60$ less. I've been going there since I was a kid and have always been satisfied but this time it definitely did not live up to my expectations.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

830 reservation set down 915

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Me and my family frequently eat at the Benihana I made at 8:30 reservation for some friends and relatives that were coming into town to have a special family dinner what is the point in making a reservation if you're going to sit down 45 minutes late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was excellent, the service abov ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent, the service above par. The restaurant seating/cooking area was very cramped with a low ceiling. The noise level was EXTREMELY loud, so much so that our ears were ringing when we left the restaurant. Other than that, we enjoyed our dinner out.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The food is prepped and cooked in front ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is prepped and cooked in front of you, the kids seem to enjoy it. Since the table typically seats eight, I believe our party of ten was shortchanged in the veggie and side dish department. For instance, the imperial steak comes with mushrooms. I got TWO mushrooms. TWO pieces! They also forgot my desert. Waiter went around and asked everyone that had dinner for their desert choice, but forgot mine. Pros were the parking and location. Simply, I don't think its worth the money. There are other hibachi restaurants in town that do a much better job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We had a group of 12 that trickled in. Started in the bar waiting but service was horrible there. We had to go the bar to get our bottle of wine opened. Tried to get seated with 10 to start on apps and they wouldn't seat. We would have had to order for the straggling two. We won't be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Usually we enjoy Benihana but this visit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Usually we enjoy Benihana but this visit was very stressful. Reservations for 8 pm and didn't get seated until 8:45 pm. Hostess was rude when we inquired about wait. We had a pregnant woman and an elderly diabetic in our group and could not get any help in trying to get a bit of appetizer for them. We were told that the manager would come speak with us but didn't. After being seated it took 20 min to get beverages. I think in the reinvention of their image Benihana seemed to forget about service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.