About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Sushi - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Trio - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Chef Trick - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Calamari Tempura - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
mushroom broth soup - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
hibachi scallops - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Hibachi Steak - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Salad - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Saporro Beer - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
assorted appetizer - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Benihana - Denver, Denver, CO

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Good for Groups (57)
See All
Fun (52)
Kid-friendly (38)
Family Style (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Casual (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Authentic (17)
People Watching (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
Spicy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

OK normally I have nothing but great thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

OK normally I have nothing but great things to say about benihana. But I had a 730 reservation did get seated until 815 and no food until 830. It was supposed to be a nice family meal with my mother and daughter who is 9 who is visiting for break. And instead it was sitting at a table with drunk people and the longest we have ever waited to be seated and served. We didn't finish dinner until 10pm I didn't expect for dinner to last all night.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

So fun!!! Food is okay, but you come her ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 9, 2017

So fun!!! Food is okay, but you come here for the experience. Get a reservation & expect lots of noise & interaction. Kids are amazed! (But be prepared: it gets hot!)

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I feel they squeeze to many people into ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I feel they squeeze to many people into one table at a time! It makes it very difficult to relax and eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What can I say? It's always amazing!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

What can I say? It's always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hibachi chef who's name was Tony was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The hibachi chef who's name was Tony was excellent and very entertaining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Connor was awesome!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Chef Connor was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our chef Gomez was attentive and enterta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our chef Gomez was attentive and entertaining! He rose up to the ocassion and congratulated us on our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, , Family Style, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience . I would recomm ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and ambience . I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not as good as I expected, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was not as good as I expected, the filet mignon seemed to be a different cut of meat because it was sort of tough. It was cooked medium and the chef did a great job with cooking our meal. The rice was dry as well. We have visited this restaurant before which was a better experience then. The other concern is the amount of smoke in the restaurant which was making us cough, check your ventilation system.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We went on New Years Eve, the service wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on New Years Eve, the service was excellent.

We were disappointed in the chef as he ruined our experience.

Loud and Obnoxious

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We have been going here for New Years Ev ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been going here for New Years Eve dinner for years. A little pricey, but the food is tasty and they get you in and out fast so you can go on to your parties!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Annual New Years Day dinner with family. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Annual New Years Day dinner with family. Good atmosphere and food for everyone in my party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a fun place to take the kids. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was a fun place to take the kids. It is entertaining and lively.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We come often. This time we were super r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We come often. This time we were super rushed. We got our soup and salad then meal. We were served the entrees, we ate a little, my daughter and I went to use the restroom. We were back to the table within 4 minutes and the server was packing up everyone's food to go. From th time the entrees were served, restroom and the packing up of our food was a little over ten minutes. Not a pleasant experience this time. We love this place, but this time was not very enjoyable at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Very good food and a lot of fun! Defini ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good food and a lot of fun! Definitely worth trying. A little pricey but for the entertainment and experience was well worth it. The only minor negative we found found was it's set up in a community dining atmosphere but not horrible. Small groups of people (up to 8) per station. It's practical for the set up and by no means a deal breaker! We will be back!!!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fun, entertaining and a good valu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always fun, entertaining and a good value. Fun for young people's birthday dinners etc.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The chef was great and so was the server ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The chef was great and so was the server. Had a lot of fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They market their express lunch which is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They market their express lunch which is anything but express. We made reservations for 11:45AM, 5 people, the place was fairly empty and they didn't seat us until 12:00PM (looked like they were waiting to fill up an entire table). We only had a little over an hour to eat. Took a lot longer than that to get waited and served. DO NOT GO FOR LUNCH IF YOU ARE ON A NORMAL LUNCH HOUR!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food, but so, so, so noisy. Wear ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, but so, so, so noisy. Wear a top you can wash because you will get splattered with oil.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We decided to try this place, after many ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We decided to try this place, after many years, to celebrate our 26-year-olds birthday, with 6 of us. First of all, SKIP any promotions Benihana offers (free gift cards with large purchase). They put so many caveats on it, that it is essentially useless and designed to get you in many times. We had a reservation, but still had to wait about 35 minutes for a table, the place was jammed. We sat in the bar, there was no offer of a drink or discount while we waited. I think the food is over-salted and over-fatted here, and you leave smelling like a Hibatchi... do NOT wear nice clothes and God forbid a wool jacket! Service was taxed and slow, the "entertainment" was commodity and "forced/canned"... you see the same shtick going on at every table, can't the let these guys improvise a bit?? As for value, $37 for a "trio" of steak, shrimp and chicken (all wear adequate, generic quality) seems a bit pricey. But the place packs it in, because it represents "mainstream America". If you like loud, energetic, predictable places for groups and kids, I guess this is OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Everything was great as usual, the only ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was great as usual, the only downfall was that I made a reservation for my boyfriends birthday and we got there on time but we still had to wait about 20 minutes. It honestly made it no point to make a reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, , Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was great and the ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I thought the food was great and the service was out standing. My drinking glass was never empty this is a great thing for me. The cook at our table was also amazing and was very interactive with the whole table. I will take my family here to also enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Benihana, and go often. There we ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love Benihana, and go often. There were a few problems last night, mainly in the bar. One bartender who was the only one working the bar which was very crowded. She was very stressed, unfriendly, overworked and provided very poor customer service. She definitely is in the wrong job, not even trying to be the slight bit friendly, and was so frazzled that she made all the customers feel uncomfortable. Plus the bar was out of a bunch of stuff, like the main Japanese beer, and the main Pinot Noir. On a Tuesday of a holiday week???

But the chef at our table was wonderful! He said his name was Jose. He was very creative, performing some new tricks, very entertaining, and some new touches on cooking the meals. He made the whole visit worth it. The waitress supporting out table was great too!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Didn't bring pre dinner drinks until aft ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Didn't bring pre dinner drinks until after food was served. Wasted extra $50

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Despite a reservation, they were seating ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Despite a reservation, they were seating 30 min late so we opted to eat in the bar. There was 1 server for a very crowded bar, and they were running out of glasses so not serving drinks until after meal arrived. Totally overwhelmed staff, filthy floors, complete chaos. Felt totally bad for our bar server, she did her best but there was just no way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Had early dinner reservations for 515. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had early dinner reservations for 515. Whe arrived right on time. Told they were running 15 min late. After 20 we spoke to a manager who said there's were still a few tables ahead of us. Meanwhile there was no seating so basically stood in the lobby with 2 young kids getting bumped into as people came I and left or went to restroom. They clearly over booked. Once we sat down things were fine but a bad way to start an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

After being served our soup and salad, i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

After being served our soup and salad, it took over 30 minutes just to get a chef AFTER we finished our soup and salad, my sister ordered a spicy chicken and the waiter said the cook will ask as he is cooking it how hot she wanted it, well the cook never asked how hotshe wanted it and he made it super hot, when he cooked the shrimp he left the tails on the shrimp, and was not overall enthusiastic. With how much i paid i expected much better services. Definite waste of money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We have always loved this place. This ti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have always loved this place. This time we found it to be so below it's standards. The front hosts were lacking knowledge of the overall operation on customer service. The waitress who sat us said she was irritated with everything that day. Our chef barely spoke and was boring. He spoke Spanish to one couple and that is it. Our food was over cooked and they got rid of the light sauce we love. We asked about it to the waitress and she just rude about it. I am so sad because we spend a lot of money when we go there and used to see the value. I will never go again and will try the new places going in everywhere. Sorry this was an epic fail for Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

our chef justin was top flight the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

our chef justin was top flight the food was great server maggie was also sweet and funny, the place is alot less clean than i remember from past visits, and one of the other chefs was very angry that my daughter inlaw told him that she had an allergy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We were there ( 7 of us) on Christmas ni ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were there ( 7 of us) on Christmas night and had a great time. We've never gone out to dinner on Dec 25th and I was surprised at how many people do, it was packed! Benihana handled the crowds well and we were very happy at our service and how delicious the hibachi was. Fun experience as always, I highly recommend this place particularly if you have a large group.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super fun, kid and family friendly with ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Super fun, kid and family friendly with great food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food entertainment was excellent. Food ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food entertainment was excellent. Food was very good but a bit pricy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed everybody else's chef ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very disappointed everybody else's chef was better than ours to top it all off we got billed for the rest of the table it's a good thing I wasn't drinking and actually looked at my bill there was a $50 difference to top it all off the couple sitting next to us got their meal comped and they took home their dinners very unfair

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Great fun place to get together on a hol ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great fun place to get together on a holiday. We have made it a tradition on Christmas Day for the last several years. They don't rush you and the food and atmosphere are very enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We think Benihana's is a fantastic resta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We think Benihana's is a fantastic restaurant. Our Chef, Jesus, and our server, Claire, did an excellent job and were very friendly. The manager, Cory, came to our table to welcome us to the restaurant which we felt was a classy touch. The food was fresh, delicious and prepared in front of our eyes. It's a great restaurant for family celebrations. We will definitely go again and highly recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, friendly staff, fun atmos ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service, friendly staff, fun atmosphere. We enjoyed taking with those who were strangers seated next to us when we came in and almost like family by the time we left :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to be entertained while they ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice place to be entertained while they cook your food.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place always brings in a crowd. Our ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This place always brings in a crowd. Our chef Alex was great fun and especially attentive to the kids.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Thank you!! It was a nice evening with f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Thank you!! It was a nice evening with family and friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Spicy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I came in for my birthday and a friend's ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I came in for my birthday and a friend's birthday with another friend, we had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.