About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Calamari Tempura
mushroom broth soup
hibachi scallops
Hibachi Steak
Salad
Saporro Beer
assorted appetizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Denver / Colorado
Special Occasion
Denver Suburbs
Most Booked
Denver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Tech Center / Greenwood Village ›

Special Occasion (102)
Good for Groups (76)
Kid-friendly (60)
See All
Great for Lunch (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (16)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Family Style (9)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hibachi chain serving Japanese dishes gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Hibachi chain serving Japanese dishes grilled tableside by theatrical chefs. The chefs are fun and talented.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food, service, and chef were all ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food, service, and chef were all excellent. This is always an excellent restaurant to go to rather it be for a special occasion or everyday dining.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

thisplacewasamazingfromthefirststepinthe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

thisplacewasamazingfromthefirststepinthedoortothelastfoodwasserverschefshostwereallniceandnewbtherejobswellitwasverycleanwasgreatentertainmentwhilewatxhingyourmealprepairedwillgohereeverytimewegooutoftown

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always! Fun place to go, lu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful as always! Fun place to go, lunch is less expensive than dinner, food is consistently good every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is agreat excitement place for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Benihana is agreat excitement place for any occasion and very reasonable price with a great staff

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for what you got. An extr ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Too expensive for what you got. An extra $3.50 for fried rice??? Was there any rum in my mai tai? We'll be back, but it will be a few years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food, cook was excellent. We had a 5:30 ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food, cook was excellent. We had a 5:30 reservation and didn't get seated until 6:00 or so. I found myself asking waitress repeatedly for items such as lemon, left over container and asked for a group picture compliments of Benihana. She was very polite about helping out. My family and I really enjoyed the evening at Benihana's. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just felt like we had a new cook. Food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just felt like we had a new cook. Food was overcooked and the entertainment was lacking, he knew very little of what we've come to expect from Benihana.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Really fun experience for kids (and adul ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Really fun experience for kids (and adults!) Food was plentiful and tasty, and a good time was had by all. My two complaints: it was surprising how long it took our chef to come to our table. We had four small children with us whose bedtimes were quickly approaching, and even though we arrived at 5 PM, the chef did not begin until nearly 6 PM (and we saw many other tables around us get started before us even though they had arrived after us). I also asked for my meal to be prepared with mild spice, and it was so spicy I could barely eat it. Overall though, Benihana remains a good place to go with children who will be entertained while waiting for their meal to be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Took my wife here. We had never been bef ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Took my wife here. We had never been before. We have went to other places like this. The food had no flavor. We were on vacation and celebrating. The chef even speak to us or say anything than hello. I expecting jokes along with culinary show. Our local Ohana Steakhouse puts this place to shame in every aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was excellent, we had a wonderful che ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was excellent, we had a wonderful chef (Tony) and the service was great. I was surprised that the prices were very decent. Food was fantastic. Overall a great birthday. Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was entertaining, the waitsta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The chef was entertaining, the waitstaff was perfectly attentive, the portions were voluminous. It was overall, a nice evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great time but our service didn ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a great time but our service didn't do any of the show you expect to see at Benihana, we had to request a "volcano and train" So the kids could see it, I think the show is a must when you go to a Benihana, people go for the entertainment

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was really disappointed. The last few ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was really disappointed. The last few times we have been here for a birthday celebration was terrible. We have been coming here for over 8 yrs. Its not like it used to be. The cooks don't add any excitement and the waitress has forgotten our picture twice. I guess you only get to use the birthday coupon on Mon-Thurs because you get the fill in staff. It would be nice to use that coupon on weekends and actually enjoy the experience. Defiantly not worth the money and more than likely will not be back since service isn't getting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Had to wait about 40 minutes and I had m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had to wait about 40 minutes and I had made reservations one week ahead of time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always eat here. Every time, it's excell ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always eat here. Every time, it's excellent and fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our cook Jose N. was entertaining and gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our cook Jose N. was entertaining and great to have! He made our time very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My girlfriend and I along with our husba ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I along with our husbands celebrate our August birthday's here every year with our birthday coupons! Happy Hour also has great deals!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our waitress, Sandy was awesome. Our ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waitress, Sandy was awesome. Our chef was not very good nor was the taste of the food. I have visited Benihana several times, and the food has always been great. I am not sure what went wrong this time, but the food was definitely lacking in taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our chef was VERY engaging, which made t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our chef was VERY engaging, which made the visit fun!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Express Lunch was great. It was quic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Express Lunch was great. It was quick and well priced for what we got. It was a little awkward sitting at a cooking table instead of a regular table when our food was prepared elsewhere, but it was still fine. I would go back again for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my friend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I brought my friend here for his birthday. The food was fantastic, but the service was very poor. I worked in the restaurant industry for many years, and I felt completely rushed throughout the meal. I felt like I had to hurry and finish so the next group could come to the table. The server had great skills and very personable but everything was way too fast! Also, everyone seemed over worked, and not happy. This I know for a fact starts with how management runs the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

We had an amazing birthday dinner for my ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had an amazing birthday dinner for my sister in law this past weekend and as always Benihanas delivered. Great food, great cook, great service. We love eating here!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was actually kind of dirt ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant was actually kind of dirty. My friend and I walked into the sushi bar area, and we noticed there were a smashed tomatoes on the floor. the kitchen also had so many people just chatting away and our waitress did not take the time to check up on us. They took forever to give us our menu, and the guys behind the sushi was not welcoming at all. they didn't asked us if we were being helped or needed a drink. For an open sushi din in, people can see what's going on back there, we were surprised about how many chatter box they had, but not one took the time to greet us. I'm sorry, but I have been to 5 star Benihana's before and this location did not make the cut for me. If I had a choice to give it a zero star, I would! they need more workers to be aware of customers walking and also a commend courtesy to ask customers how they are doing would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Requested table in bar area. Wanted to ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Requested table in bar area. Wanted to visit with a friend after a long absence. Server was very attentive, yet not obtrusive. Food arrived a little cold, but she took care of it immediately. We weren't rushed and enjoyed the time there. Will go back soon, especially for the coconut mojito.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had made an on-line reservation, and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had made an on-line reservation, and had to end up waiting an additional 45 minutes past our booked time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was ok, food was excellent. Our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was ok, food was excellent. Our chef was quiet and not nearly as entertaining as the two chefs near us. He barely said anything while cooking. He seemed shy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

I was there for my birthday we were seat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was there for my birthday we were seated at 945 and we didn't get our drinks until 1025pm, our cook didn't engage with us at all, he literally just stood there and cooked, I come here every year for my birthday, next year I will be starting new traditions. I didn't even get a picture this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great evening. Connor was a terrific ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great evening. Connor was a terrific chef! Very fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The show was awesome and the food was re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The show was awesome and the food was really good. I had a Lychee martini which was really really good! Great place for a date night and to try something new. Please come with an empty stomach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing I don't like and this a l ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The only thing I don't like and this a little bit of problem to me,is that if you send me a chef that speaks Spanish I'll be speaking with him in Spanish no matter if the other people don't understand or speak Spanish. I am paying for my meal,I haven't got nothing for free and also I have the right to speak the language that I want in that moment. Is not the chef fault,but I has been happen twice that the other people make a complain that we were speaking Spanish. And obviously management make a comment to the chef. I am a frequent client. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for my husbands bday with a grou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for my husbands bday with a group of friends and it was great. Good food , staff were very friendly and the chef was great. The wait time however was ridiculous. Even with reservations at 715 we had to wait about 20 mins to be seated and then about 45mins for our food. But we fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this Benihana dozens of t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been to this Benihana dozens of times over the past 15 years and was disappointed for the first time. The service was rushed and impersonal, the overall feel was chaotic, the chef gave fried rice that some of us paid for to a child at the table that didn't order it (reducing our serving sizes), on and on. It reminded me of Casa Bonita.

I will try it again to give it a chance to redeem itself, but that night it was unfortunately bad.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Definitely need reservations. It just m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Definitely need reservations. It just makes it run more smoothly and less waiting. The service was great. And it makes for a great experience when you have an energetic and amusing chef with quick wit. It was a great time. Glad i have leftovers cuz the good was good too. The steak could use an upgrade in quality. Too much grizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great birthday celebration with the fami ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great birthday celebration with the family! Great entertainment!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter and interactive for my daughters birthday

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated, even tho I had made a reservation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had to wait with reservation about 15 mi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had to wait with reservation about 15 minutes. Hostess did serve sushi while we waited for free

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The other group at our table was a bit r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The other group at our table was a bit rowdy but the cook dude awesome! They were hard on him, but he turned the experience around and found humor out of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived early, table not ready until after 7. No complimentary photo offered after. Would only recommend for birthday coupon. Miyabi Jr, Express with identical food at 1/4 price less than 2 minutes away.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.