About Benihana - Denver

3295 S Tamarac Drive
Denver, CO 80231
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Denver is located in the newly-renovated Tamarac Square, just minutes west of I-25 off Hampden Blvd. It is close to Denver Tech Center and not far from world-class shopping at Cherry Creek Mall. Happy Hour is available each Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m., featuring great cocktails and sushi, plus hot and cold appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hampden

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 750-0200

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/denver-co-de

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Benihana - Denver
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Calamari Tempura
mushroom broth soup
hibachi scallops
Hibachi Steak
Salad
Saporro Beer
assorted appetizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Rainbow Sushi Roll

Benihana - Denver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for Groups (89)
Kid-friendly (66)
See All
Great for Lunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress, Sandy was awesome. Our ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Sandy was awesome. Our chef was not very good nor was the taste of the food. I have visited Benihana several times, and the food has always been great. I am not sure what went wrong this time, but the food was definitely lacking in taste.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our chef was VERY engaging, which made t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our chef was VERY engaging, which made the visit fun!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Express Lunch was great. It was quic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

The Express Lunch was great. It was quick and well priced for what we got. It was a little awkward sitting at a cooking table instead of a regular table when our food was prepared elsewhere, but it was still fine. I would go back again for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my friend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I brought my friend here for his birthday. The food was fantastic, but the service was very poor. I worked in the restaurant industry for many years, and I felt completely rushed throughout the meal. I felt like I had to hurry and finish so the next group could come to the table. The server had great skills and very personable but everything was way too fast! Also, everyone seemed over worked, and not happy. This I know for a fact starts with how management runs the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

We had an amazing birthday dinner for my ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had an amazing birthday dinner for my sister in law this past weekend and as always Benihanas delivered. Great food, great cook, great service. We love eating here!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was actually kind of dirt ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant was actually kind of dirty. My friend and I walked into the sushi bar area, and we noticed there were a smashed tomatoes on the floor. the kitchen also had so many people just chatting away and our waitress did not take the time to check up on us. They took forever to give us our menu, and the guys behind the sushi was not welcoming at all. they didn't asked us if we were being helped or needed a drink. For an open sushi din in, people can see what's going on back there, we were surprised about how many chatter box they had, but not one took the time to greet us. I'm sorry, but I have been to 5 star Benihana's before and this location did not make the cut for me. If I had a choice to give it a zero star, I would! they need more workers to be aware of customers walking and also a commend courtesy to ask customers how they are doing would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Requested table in bar area. Wanted to ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Requested table in bar area. Wanted to visit with a friend after a long absence. Server was very attentive, yet not obtrusive. Food arrived a little cold, but she took care of it immediately. We weren't rushed and enjoyed the time there. Will go back soon, especially for the coconut mojito.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had made an on-line reservation, and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had made an on-line reservation, and had to end up waiting an additional 45 minutes past our booked time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was ok, food was excellent. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was ok, food was excellent. Our chef was quiet and not nearly as entertaining as the two chefs near us. He barely said anything while cooking. He seemed shy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

I was there for my birthday we were seat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was there for my birthday we were seated at 945 and we didn't get our drinks until 1025pm, our cook didn't engage with us at all, he literally just stood there and cooked, I come here every year for my birthday, next year I will be starting new traditions. I didn't even get a picture this year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great evening. Connor was a terrific ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great evening. Connor was a terrific chef! Very fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The show was awesome and the food was re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The show was awesome and the food was really good. I had a Lychee martini which was really really good! Great place for a date night and to try something new. Please come with an empty stomach!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing I don't like and this a l ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The only thing I don't like and this a little bit of problem to me,is that if you send me a chef that speaks Spanish I'll be speaking with him in Spanish no matter if the other people don't understand or speak Spanish. I am paying for my meal,I haven't got nothing for free and also I have the right to speak the language that I want in that moment. Is not the chef fault,but I has been happen twice that the other people make a complain that we were speaking Spanish. And obviously management make a comment to the chef. I am a frequent client. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for my husbands bday with a grou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for my husbands bday with a group of friends and it was great. Good food , staff were very friendly and the chef was great. The wait time however was ridiculous. Even with reservations at 715 we had to wait about 20 mins to be seated and then about 45mins for our food. But we fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this Benihana dozens of t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been to this Benihana dozens of times over the past 15 years and was disappointed for the first time. The service was rushed and impersonal, the overall feel was chaotic, the chef gave fried rice that some of us paid for to a child at the table that didn't order it (reducing our serving sizes), on and on. It reminded me of Casa Bonita.

I will try it again to give it a chance to redeem itself, but that night it was unfortunately bad.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Definitely need reservations. It just m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Definitely need reservations. It just makes it run more smoothly and less waiting. The service was great. And it makes for a great experience when you have an energetic and amusing chef with quick wit. It was a great time. Glad i have leftovers cuz the good was good too. The steak could use an upgrade in quality. Too much grizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great birthday celebration with the fami ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great birthday celebration with the family! Great entertainment!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food and service! Fun waiter and interactive for my daughters birthday

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had to wait over 30 mins to be seated, even tho I had made a reservation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had to wait with reservation about 15 mi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had to wait with reservation about 15 minutes. Hostess did serve sushi while we waited for free

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The other group at our table was a bit r ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The other group at our table was a bit rowdy but the cook dude awesome! They were hard on him, but he turned the experience around and found humor out of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Reservation for a birthday at 7, arrived early, table not ready until after 7. No complimentary photo offered after. Would only recommend for birthday coupon. Miyabi Jr, Express with identical food at 1/4 price less than 2 minutes away.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Food has been better: chicken was hard a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food has been better: chicken was hard and over cooked. Sauces were separated out and taste was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Our guy, Cornelio was great. It was qui ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our guy, Cornelio was great. It was quite expensive though for 7. Not something we do very often because of cost so I am glad we had a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

1.) Steak was good; scallops were small ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

1.) Steak was good; scallops were small but good.

2.) Chicken fried rice was dry and had not very much flavor, especially after we asked our cook for extra garlic butter or sauce, and he said okay!

3.) After our server brought our drinks and salads, we didn't see her again to refil our glasses or check on us again until we had finished our meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Six of us went early (11:00am) on a Sat- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Six of us went early (11:00am) on a Sat-so all parties could go to celebrate a birthday. We had a great time the staff was friendly and attentive. Our chef was fun and talented, we loved watching him cook. At the end of our meal my Mom was brought a scoop of ice cream and was sung happy birthday in English and Japanese, she really loved this. The waiter even snapped off a photo for a keepsake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome our chef was fanta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was awesome our chef was fantastic. The food is pricey but it was a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has become my favorite place to eat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This has become my favorite place to eat. Unfortunately I can't afford to go very often. Usually just for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, terrible service.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I was trying to celebrate a 5 year olds ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I was trying to celebrate a 5 year olds birthday. We were seated after sitting in the waiting area for 30 minutes (with a reservation) almost as an after thought. They placed us at a table with two groups of single younger men. Not a fun time for the 5 year old or the young men we were sitting with. The guys were trying to watch what they said, the 5 year old was trying to enjoy the show. The wait staff took forever to take our order (the rest of the table had already ordered when we were finally seated with them) Nothing was done to make her birthday special even though we told them more than once. I wont be taking her back there and its sad that her first experience there was so bad.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We went to Benihana's to celebrate a bir ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Benihana's to celebrate a birthday, the service was excellent as well as the food. It was a little hard to hear the chef because of the noise. Would recommend for family gatherings

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love coming here because it is so clos ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I love coming here because it is so close to my house, but this visit was unlike the past. I made a 5:30 reservation and we were not sat until 5:50. Not that much time but with a toddler, we make reservations for a reason, 20 minutes can be the difference between a good meal and a tantrum! The hostesses were more concerned with playing with their hair than seating people or helping wipe tables or even running a vacuum on the crumb filled floor. The bathrooms were disgusting and needed to be serviced badly. Our chef was great and the food was good but the other complaints I had will make us go somewhere else next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service and food was amazing as always! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service and food was amazing as always! However I was a little upset when they sat 9 of us at a table that usually only seats 8! If you don't have the room for 8 at a table, they shouldn't allow you to make reservations for the specified time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. Me and my wife enjoyed our 9th anniversary. We enjoyed the humorous chef and marveled at his ability to entertain while preparing a meal for multiple strangers. I thought the price was a little high but I was also indulging in a seafood on a special occasion. We will definitely be back. This would also a great place for a business meeting because the ability to chat and be entertained.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family took me here for my birthday! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My family took me here for my birthday! It was a great dinning experience. Will be coming back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a ball. Food was outstanding. It was fun all the way around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Tamarac location looks like it would ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Tamarac location looks like it would benefit from a good cleaning with some remodeling. Look up at the ceiling sometime - could be cleaner. Carpet has multiple stains. Chairs were a bit wobbly this time. The noise level can be a bit much - especially with the continuous banging of the metal spatula. Food was good and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6: ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went to Benihana on a Friday night at 6:45 with a group of 8. We met in the bar for a few drinks, then were shown to our table promptly. The chef was a funny guy named Jose who appreciated our applause and encouragement. All the orders were taken quickly and efficiently. Drink orders were refilled whenever we needed something. It's a bit of a noisy place, but even so, all of our table could hear each other well. The food was prepared with the usual flair and fun. It tasted great and we were all stuffed at the end. Overall, we had a great time, and will come back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had delicious meals and a fabulous ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had delicious meals and a fabulous chef, Connor! He was extremely engaging and very adept at getting the food prepared and done according to our wishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our chef was one of the best I have ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef was one of the best I have ever had. Very entertaining, I think he had us laughing the whole time. I looked around later as we were eating and could see that all the other chefs were not doing as much. If i am correct I believe our chef was Collins but can be for sure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.