About Benihana - Dallas

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

special occasion (113)
good for groups (103)
kid-friendly (63)
See All
great for lunch (49)
fit for foodies (41)
romantic (38)
scenic view (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (20)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Benihana's is old and out dated.

Dined 5 days ago

There is nothing new or exciting about this place. Same stuff different day. There are several knockoffs out there all doing the same old thing. I guess if you're bored its okay but I wouldn't recommend it really but at least its expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place

Dined 5 days ago

AS always, we had a great time at Benihana. The food was excellent and our teppen chair was fun, entertaining, and cooked us a great meal. We will be back again! Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Benihanas

Dined 7 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The server predicted what we needed. Our chef was fantastic - friendly and funny. Our food was delicious and so much we had to take some home. Thank you Benihana's!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Me & a few frens went there 4 my wife's ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Me & a few frens went there 4 my wife's birthday. We love the food and they put on a cute little show. I would go back & recommend to other people.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My sons birthday.

Dined on May 14, 2016

We are from San Francisco and our experience with the BeniHana is always great, but at this time the chefs performance was just ok.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

My husband and I had a poor experience h ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I had a poor experience here mainly because of the people we were sat with. I also was hoping that something special would have been done for us since we were there celebrating my husband's graduation, and even though I wrote that in my reservation, nothing was done. We will no return here and do not recommend it to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunchtime who knew

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wow... I was pleasantly surprised by the lunch service. Great value, much less stressful seeming for the chef or feeling rushed to hurry up and eat after he is done.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Where's the beef?!

Dined on May 8, 2016

What happened to the portions here?! I remember having so much food I always had a doggy bag to take home but this time we went..... Not only was the menu different but the portions had suffered as well. Disapointing Mother's Day!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very cool!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went here for Mother's Day and while my wife loved it my son was blown away. Note to anyone dining here ALWAYS tell them it's your first time. The chef barely put on a show while the table next to us got a very entertaining performance but it was a blast nevertheless!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great!

Dined on May 1, 2016

I definitely would recommend Benihanas! The whole meal preparation was very entertaining and fun. My baby is only 6 months old but I thought that the kid coloring book, the hats , cups and especially the chef trying to entertain the children was wonderful. Also definitely try the mango lemonade!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

I am a frequent Benihana visitor. Our la ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I am a frequent Benihana visitor. Our last visit was not a good one and left quite a bit to be desired. I am glad to report today they more than made up for it. While the hostess desk had their usual "blah" and "im stressed attitude", the rest of the service was on point. We had a new chef today named Cung. He was amazing. Given how often we have gone here and in other cities, we know the show pretty well. However, he actually surprised us with a new trick we had never seen before and had a high level of energy and enthusiasm since the minute he approached the table until he said goodbye. He was incredibly engaging. Even my kids who recently didnt seem to care for the show were cracking up. Thank you Cung for a great evening.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Sadly disappointed again inconsistent meals

Dined on April 16, 2016

I specifically asked for two chefs as I know they are great. I have learned the hard way that not all are the same. I wrote this in the notes on the reservation and confirmed on the day of. Our chef this time was by no means the worst, but not great. Very little interaction with the group. Completely over cooked my colossal shrimp at least they weren't burned. I felt like we were all shorted food, unless you changed portion sizes as well in the last two weeks. You guys are just too expensive to not be consistently good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love it!

Dined on April 14, 2016

My family loves Benihana. We go for all the birthdays. My kids never get tired of the show. We enjoy the steaks and the chicken fried rice. The only thing I would change is the seating. When my family of four gets there, we want to sit together and not arm to arm with someone else. Other than that, we love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's 15th Birthday

Dined on April 12, 2016

Went for my Daughter's 15th Birthday. She had a great time she loved everything about it. Mango Banana's was a great chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Lunch was perfect. Food was gear and ch ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Lunch was perfect. Food was gear and chef had a great personally. We'll definitely go back for a team lunch!

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointing

Dined on March 29, 2016

We have always had a great experience at Benihana - Dallas until our trip on 3/29. I'm not sure if they've changed their food or if our cook was that bad. Big birthday disappointment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Easter Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter Lunch, Romeo was very entertaining and did a great job with all of the different stages of the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for Special Occasions

Dined on March 27, 2016

We planned my daughter's 12th birthday dinner at Benihana. The atmosphere was friendly and fun. The food was amazing and our chef engaging! I highly recommend Benihana!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Lunch is a great way to enjoy Benihana without breaking the bank. Lot's a lunch sized options that are delicious and very well priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana was delicious as always.

Dined on March 19, 2016

I come to Benihana every Friday night. It is amazing and delicious and it is always fun to see a new trick that each chef does!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the wait

Dined on March 13, 2016

Hadn't been in several years! Can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great time, awesome performances.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Had a great time, awesome performances.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place to eat

Dined on March 5, 2016

Went here for my birthday. This was my first time. You had to valet or park across the street. I had on 5 inch heels...definitely got in a good workout. The food was really good. I still had food left over. The chef was entertaining and nice. I enjoyed myself. I just didn't care for the parking.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Benihana's is a show place where you hav ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Benihana's is a show place where you have community meals. It is the best tasting hibachi place that I have found. I could drink their ginger dressing. To dine here for the first time is enlightening and brilliant; returning is fun; a third time you wish they wouldn't tell the same jokes; and after that, you realize that it is nice watching somebody else prepare you wonderful food in a slightly entertaining manner, but for some reason, even though you know what everything will taste like, you still can't keep you chopsticks away from the plate before the chef is finished! You can always count on decent meats and a good time.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was amazing!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Waiter must have been new. There were a couple of occasions where every drink on the table was empty. At the end, we had to ask for our sherbet/ice cream dessert. We weren't even offered our hot tea. Food and chef were awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun

Dined on February 25, 2016

Fun for birthdays and celebrations. It is a full experience so make sure you have plenty of time to enjoy it. At least 1.5 hrs.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Birthday Celebration Spot

Dined on February 24, 2016

This was a really nice spot for my wife's birthday. She really enjoyed the food and atmosphere and did I. The one element that I did not anticipate was how everything was the shared table, but overall it was nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Good food

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food is awesome but on this particular day the waitress i got is someone who is always LAZY! AND the cook was rude and did not put on the show like he should have. I never want those 2again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3

The servers are not offering the best qu ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

The servers are not offering the best quality of service as in the frequency on checking back with the table to refilling drink orders. The greeters were not friendly and though we were early for our reservation the place was virtually empty and we were not seated until or reservation time. I felt that very strange.

food5
ambience3
service3

We are regulars. It is a destination for ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We are regulars. It is a destination for birthdays and events like good grades on report cards, dinner with grandma etc. so we probaby go 8 times per year, which i would guess is a high number compared to their average patron. As such, we got the routine down cold but it is always fun to see it and compare chefs. This restaurant is hit or miss. On our visit last night they were short on chefs...again. This was now the third visit (not in a row) they were short on chefs. After a wait of 20 min after having ordered our food and still no chef, asking our server when the chef would be arriving, and notifying them that if the chef didnt arrive in the next 5 min we would be leaving as everyone was starving and the food takes a while to prep given the perfomrance, the manager showed up. This manager needs to be resent to training. He showed up with an attitude and his first words were "are you the one with the problem". No good evening, excuse me, i am the manager, nothing. He then proceeded to inform me the chef was prepping his cart and would show up soon. All with a condescending attitude. There was no apologies for the wait, no apologies for them being understaffed nothing. I explianed to him as well that the wait had been uncharacteristically long (which he challenged) and that i appreciated knowing the chef was in its way but we would still be leaving in 5 min if no one showed up as there were grill stations around us who had veen there longer and were still missing their chefs. He repeated that the chef was prepping, turned around and left. The chef showed up shortly, stressed out beyond belief. The prefirmance was very limited to a few essentials which in this prticular occasion was fine as we just wanted to eat. The stress from the chef was palpatable. A server told us the understaffing on sundays is a common theme bc people dont want to work sundays. The food was as good as always. Things happen, but the mgr didnt help at all and in fact made it much worse.

food5
ambience5
service5

Took our friends out for dinner. They TH ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Took our friends out for dinner. They THOROUGHLY enjoyed it!! We did too!!

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Worst service ever had there.

Dined on February 21, 2016

My group went late in the evening and they had ran out of soup and salad. It didn't make a very good impression, as it was the first time for two of them. The waiter didn't come back to check on us once he let us know about the soup and salad. My tea was never refilled and the rest of the table had water which didn't get refilled until it was time for the check. The chef wasn't very happy either.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday 7:15p Birthday celebration

Dined on February 19, 2016

Everything was great, although it did get a little loud when guests at the other table in the room arrived as the two tables are facing one other so if folks at the other table speak loudly then it might be difficult for guests at your own table to hear one another. I ordered the filet and it was cooked to perfection and tasted great (the dipping sauces are really good too). Really no complaints other than the noise and that it got pretty drafty in the room tho we asked the waiter to turn up the thermostat and then it was fine. We all enjoyed our meals and had a wonderful time. I also like the fact that the staff will sing to you and take a photograph and deliver a nice ice cream sunday with a candle. Very nice!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

poor service

Dined on February 17, 2016

We went to Benihana to celebrate my daughter's 14th birthday. She chose the restaurant, and we have eaten at this establishment many times before and have enjoyed it. We made a reservation for 7:15. By 8pm, and after saying something to the manager, they finally sat us at a table. We were never asked about drinks, although we had brought one with us from the bar. We were quickly served our soup and salad, and the waiter took our order. We then were ignored for over 30 minutes. My husband finally complained to the manager, and suddenly, a cook appeared. He indicated they were short on staff, but no one came to check on our drinks ever, and we had to remind them to bring the ice cream for my daughter. It all felt very rushed. They did take some money off of the bill, but no one ever apologized.

food4
ambience3
service3

Recently I visited Benihana Dallas to ce ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Recently I visited Benihana Dallas to celebrate a birthday party. While the experience was good most of our party, for some it was a hassle. Let me start by saying the food is almost always good. Sometime there are issues with waiting in a small area to be seated. Save yourself some time and call ahead for a reservation. My party went off well but the chef did miss some food for one of my guest. Once we spoke about it to the server, he had a manager come to visit about it. The manager had a great opportunity to show good customer service, but failed to execute. Instead of reducing the charge for the meal, she was met with questions with an attitude. I still want very much to come back as the food is good, but customer aevice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is Fierce Still!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Still great food, atmosphere and impeccable service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Ribeye for Two was excellent! Great Chef!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Due to a previous experience which I enjoyed here a few years ago, I decided to surprise my husband for Valentine's Day. He Is Very critical about where he eats. Needless to say, this is the first time he actually loved the food! HAD A GREAT EVENING OUT WITH MY HUSBAND. Will definitely be returning Benihana. We really enjoyed the show from the chef as he prepared our meal right at our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Martin

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Chef Martin cook our food with passion. Our food was delicious and very flavorful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Satisfied

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband doesn't like dinning out because he is skeptical of who is preparing his food and how. We went on Valintines days because he's never been. He normally complains about the food not be prepared to his liking and gets upset easily if it's to noisy but he honestly loves this place. They put on a show witch made him laugh and enjoyed his meal with a smile on his face. His favorite part was the rainbow sherbet ice cream. We will be coming back really soon!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food. Food was prepar ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Consistently great food. Food was prepared very well and grrat service!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.