Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Benihana - Dallas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (47)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Fun (37)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (11)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Spicy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I love to come here whenever possible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great meal with a very entertaining chef named Octavio. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was good but the service was slow. The table beside us had kids and they were running around, yelling and the mother of one family refused to eat her food and made quite a scene. One of the children at the next table had a birthday and they sang happy birthday to her and made a big deal about it being her birthday. There was a young girl at our table with a birthday, an older gentleman who also was there for his birthday and I was there for a birthday dinner. Three of us with birthdays and we were never acknowledged and had to tolerate the noisy table next to us...the Dad was just as bad.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Service staff appears to have been cut back to a bare minimum however it is not uncommon to see staff standing around in the hall outside rooms. On our last few trips, and very much so this most recent trip empty dishes seem to remain on the table an extended time and in the limited space in the way. It appears one person now works multiple rooms and is possibly overextended. In past years dishes were taken as you finished with them. You are now alone with the chief during the meal with little opportunity to request another drink or other item. Seldom is an offer now made at the end of the meal for green tea, occasionally even for ice cream though they will get it if requested. Ice cream but not green tea was offered this last trip but then two at the table were celebrating birthdays. I think they now just want you gone so they can clear the table and have one less room to get to. The cook this night however had made a response to a customer regarding how many meals he cooked a night that they were extremely slow that night. The table show and food were still good quality. This is not your everyday restaurant by cost, and you would not expect everyday basic service. On my recent birthday, I decided to forgo the long drive in traffic, and atmosphere of the Koi pond to just eat at a Teppanyaki restaurant about 3-minutes from our house with as good food and show, and much better service. That is more frequently becoming my family's choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Once we was seated it took at least 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. Apparently no one was assigned to us, but we saw employees standing around looking. Finally this young man Kortex came and asked if we have been waited on. Since we told him no he decided to take charge. Kortex provided excellent service. He was professional at all time. He went above and beyond our expectation. If it had not been for this young man I don't think we would have come back. Thank you, Kortex!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great! On point as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The waitress was very slow, and did not ask if I wanted another drink. The chef was "New" I guess because he was not very good. We have come here a very long time, and this was the worst of Our trips.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food to salty made me sick. It did not taste well at all. I got a headache and food posioning. The prople in my party were sick. I reveived the wrong order and overcharged. Talked to them about it they did nothing. Went to doctor

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Friendly service and great tasting food. Really enjoyed my birthday here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a great experience! We had friends in town from Florida and they enjoyed their first visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I made a reservation for a weekday for lunch. We had got married that morning. I left the info on the reservation that it was our wedding day. No one acknowledged the fact that we got married.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a great time for my daughter's birthday. Service was excellent and chef made it fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had an awesome time. We had the most amazing chef that kept us on our toes with great jokes, tricks, and wonderful food. I can't wait to go again...

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Have been going there for decades....fantastic food and service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Made a reservation last minute and as always the food and show was excellent. The service was a little slow but we knowingly booked on Father's Day and they were pretty busy. Our waitress was very nice and we were very satisfied with everything.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was great And the atmosphere was perfect. I loved everything about it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always a great time at Benihana's. From the food, the drinks and the chefs; you'll have a wonderful experience. Will always be one of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This location had a different feel. The chefs didn't really put on the best show. Although, I like the individual rooms vs as open feel, the restaurant was dated and needs updating. The food was good, our Server was excellent, but again the Chefs were just "doing their job"

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great Service delicious food, fun! We had a very diverse group ( family and old friends) for my son's High School graduation celebration. Everyone was happy and enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and great staff. Always fun. Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We came here with a gift card that we had purchased online from a reputable re-sale site where people can sell their un-used gift cards that they do not want (Card Pool). We have used several times before with no issues. After taking the checks the server quickly came back saying the gift card was not valid. We asked to the manager, who came back and told us yet again that the card was not valid, he did not even go back to try again. We ended up paying for the meal ourselves.
While looking up the restaurant after, I found another review where someone had the same problem at another location. Luckily Card Pool has good customer service and gave us a refund. I would not recommend Benihana. In addition to the gift card issue, the service throughout the meal was poor as far as customer service goes, while the food was okay you can go to non-chain hibachi restaurants for much cheaper and probably better food. I would also note the location is not very convenient and seemed like a not so safe area of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Ambiance, food and service were all stellar. Lobster and shrimp were delicious and cooked to perfection. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I go here every chance I get.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I am a Benihana regular. Decided to take my mother out for a belated Mother Day dinner, and she had a blast. Not only was the food great, the chef was very energetic and the wait staff really made it a special afternoon for her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The menu has a large selection of great food. No matter what you are looking to find, there will be something to satisfy every palate. The chefs are true professionals and give the customers a great show, infused with some humor. I've never heard anyone say they didn't enjoy their dining experience at Benihana's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual, Vegan, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It took us a while before getting seated and then waitress was a bit slow on taking order for drinks. The Chef was pleasant and knew what he was doing. The food was good, not great but filled us up. The price seemed too high for what we got. 2 adults, 2 children over $105 before tip. I recommend spend a bit more and take family to Medieval Times...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were on way to Hawaii and wanted a great meal b4 we left. Mission accomplished!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Epic!!! I'd enjoyed the restaurant layout. The server was nice and always satisfying us. The chef Chan was awesome and entertaining!!! The food was unbelievable! I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Had lots of fun with great food. The chef was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Went for myvBirthday lunch but the service was very subpar!! I Would expect a lot more from Benihanas! The waitress was very unpleasant!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is one of my very favorite restaurants. I go there whenever possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was mine and my nieces birthday her 1st time my family was impressed and I love the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day lunch was good and the chefs were all very enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our groups first time to be at your establishment. You came highly recommended. It was for an 18th birthday supper and everyone had a very nice time. Tried food I had never tried before

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I have been to Benihana's several times but this time was enjoyable. Our chef was George and he was amazing. He engaged in everyone conversations and was just a joy. He kept us laughing. He didn't do the regular "tricks", he went above and beyond. Whenever I decide to come back, I would like for him to be my chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Everything is fantastic ! Quality is superb but quantity is less according to me . I wish you increase the quantity of food you serve.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Hostess was too busy talking to other workers than greeting people as they came arrived. She never looked up. The two others standing there looked up but didn't speak. I said Hanes at 6:45 and then we went and sat down. Service was great once we sat down. Food was very disappointing. Chicken and shrimp had no flavor at all. We ordered noodles for our 2 year old and the chef cooked with butter and a lot of garlic. Our 2 year old does not like a lot of garlic. I think chef should have asked before to cooked the noodles. Overall, not sure we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is one of my very favorite restaurants and I go there whenever possible.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.