About Benihana - Dallas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (50)
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Groups (35)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Kid-friendly (29)
Fun (28)
Family Style (25)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (14)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Private Room (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Scenic View (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Waterfront (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reservation at 8:30, took 20 minutes to ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Reservation at 8:30, took 20 minutes to get seated and then chef didn't show up until 9:57 pm! It was well past 11 pm when we left. Horrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

My first time going, I enjoyed the entir ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My first time going, I enjoyed the entire experience! From being seated to paying the bill took about 13/4 hr. Our waiter and cook kept everything moving smoothly and lively with their hospitality & humor. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time!!! Took my spouse for a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a great time!!! Took my spouse for a Valentine's Day surprise date. We had an outstanding time. Would definitely go again and AGAIN!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Private Room, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Family Style, Spicy, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Groups, , Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food the ambient was wonderful place ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food the ambient was wonderful place was really clean and good service

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and i had a lovely time. i was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

my wife and i had a lovely time. i was a great experience and i will definitely be visiting again

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Vegan, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 30 minutes to be seated despite h ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waited 30 minutes to be seated despite having reservations. Then we had to wait over an hour at the table waiting for a cook. Horrible experience. Not going back to this location ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The chef was amazing. He performed a few ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The chef was amazing. He performed a few tricks throughout the meal and kept the table laughing and engaged. The food was great as well. I ordered the Yakisoba w/shrimp which is one of my favorites here. My date ordered steak and lobster stating he wanted to stay in his comfort zone for this experience although he'd never had the onion soup or experienced a 5 course meal in this way.

It was my date's first time there and he was completely smitten with the entire process from how we were seated(we sat at a table with a group of friends celebrating a birthday) to the meal preparation by the chef at the table. We actually had friendly conversation and got to know the group at the table quite well by the end of the evening. What a way to make new friends! And I also got a second date out of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It Was Wonderful 🤘🏾👌🏾💯

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It Was Wonderful 🤘🏾👌🏾💯

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my very favorite restaurants. I ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I go to Benihana whenever possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating birthday

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Celebrating birthday

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a let down. Our server not only f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It was a let down. Our server not only forgot parts of the orders for every party at the table but our chef was bland. The food was average.

Another party at the table order sushi and the waiter forgot to put the order in. By the time he realized it the sushi bar was closed. Our kids ordered noodles and got rice.

I've eaten at many stores across the country. This one was the worse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Grandson 9th birthday Lots of fun and ha ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Grandson 9th birthday Lots of fun and has been his choice for 3 years now ! Loved the experience

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We left after waiting 40 minutes for a t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We left after waiting 40 minutes for a table. There is no bar or seating area so my date (wearing heals) was forced to stand the entire time. We finally gave up and went to an upscale steak place near by. Terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

In spite of having reservations for lunc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

In spite of having reservations for lunch on a Saturday we had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. Then once seated it took another 40 minutes for the grill chef to arrive and only after I complained to the hostess. They don't have enough chefs and the one we had was tired and not that engaging. Food was way over salted. It's still a fun place for big groups or kids but just seems tired.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent as always

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. I go he ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. I go here as often as I can.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time visiting this l ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our second time visiting this location. First visit perfect, no mishaps, and no wait time. The second visit, we have reservations and waited to be seated almost 40 minutes. Once we got to our table, we sat there for another 30 minutes before my daughter went to get management. Then our waiter finally came to the table we were offered the free appetizers and then we finally got to chef to start cooking! If it wasn't for the delay and the wait time, this would have been a perfect dinner for my family on my birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

We celebrated our friends birthday and c ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated our friends birthday and could not be more disappointed. The service was horrible from the moment we made reservations. I had to call the restaurant to adjust our reservation time and it took 8 minutes to have a 30 second conversation. Not once did I receive an apology or friendly-conversation fill in, just pure silence. When we arrived at the restaurant we were not greeted but given smug looks from two hostesses having small talk at the podium. I checked us in and received the same rude, lack luster service. We were seated at our table and asked not to spread out - there were 6 of us at an 8 seater table (which no one ever sat at the two extra seats). After 20 minutes we finally had a server at our table taking our order and another 20 minutes later our drinks arrived. During our wait I took my children to the bathroom and walked thru a group of doped up people in the waiting area an another ghetto group of girls in the bathroom that were taking selfies and selflessly absorbing the bathroom space for vein. There was no courtesy, no politeness, no friendliness. Just rude, ghetto, and careless employees and patrons surrounding us. We were finally greeted by a manger-type as we were presented with our bill. He said "I hope everything was great" but didn't ask an open ended question not wait around for a response. This was by far the worst dining experience I have had in a while in both my professional and personal dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Chef was entertaining, food was deliciou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Chef was entertaining, food was delicious as always no matter what we go there for lunch, dinner, birthday , anniversary it's always a good time fun atmosphere can't wait to go back soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first time to benihanna my s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was my first time to benihanna my sister's brought me here to celebrate my birthday ...It was really good food and service from chef and waiters..The only negative feedback I have is that there service in the waiting area is horrible the girls in the front do not have people skills .When we asked why they were taking so long to seat us even though we had a reservation she didn't even acknowledge me . Then I asked here once more and she got an attitude ...Horrible they need to show them what customer service is because they are the first point on contact.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family & I loved it. My husband truly ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My family & I loved it. My husband truly enjoyed his birthday there it was amazing & was our first time.

Tags: , Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my very favorite restaurants. I ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I love watching the chefs also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana in Irving is a much better loca ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Benihana in Irving is a much better location!! This location is dirty; the table top grill is not cleaned properly. The air/heat is 5 minutes on and off. So for 5 minutes you are hot and 5 minutes you're cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

Even though we had a reservation, we sti ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we still had to wait over 30 minutes before we were seated. Then we sat at the station for over 30 minutes before our chef even showed up. They were apparently short staffed but noone offered any explanations. I doubt I go back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Once again Benihana's has made it the be ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Once again Benihana's has made it the best day ever! 👍 food was amazing, service excellent! Top notch! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my 6 year old son here for his f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We took my 6 year old son here for his first time and we had a great time as a family. Our service was great. Our reservation was 5:45 and we got seated right away. Our waiter was attentive and the chef was fun, the food good. It's expensive, but for a fun family night, special date or occasion, that's ok. We did notice as we left it was a lot more packed. This is not speed dining, so if you will not like to maybe have to wait make an earlier reservation as we did. It went really well for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Horrible service for our birthday celebr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Horrible service for our birthday celebration. Our waitress wasn't serving our side courses accordingly. She would take a long time to come check up on us. Two of us didn't even get our rice even tho we reminded her 3 times! By then the rest of our food was plain cold. I bought TWO cakes in which I asked her to bring out. She only took out one, I reminded her again and the cake was just sitting there she wouldn't pull it out of the bag...very frustrating. Horrible customer service on a slow night for a party of 9..

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife enjoys going here for her birth ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife enjoys going here for her birthday. The food is always great. This visit our wait time was a hour at the table because it was a busy night, manager came over and apologized, and gave everyone a discount. Always a great place to eat overall, the cooks keep it interesting with laughter and entertainment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Your schef was unbalibable, friendly, i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Your schef was unbalibable, friendly, interactive with the kiddos, and amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Entertaining chef ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Entertaining chef. Will come again

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy good food, the koi pond, and the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I enjoy good food, the koi pond, and the chef's display of cooking and entertaining us. You can also meet other people since we are all sitting around the grill. The disappointment this New Year's Eve was we were not offered the green tea, ice cream nor was our picture taken. We have been going here for birthdays and the last four New Year's Eve. I have the pictures of our previous NYE still on my fridge from the other years. What happened? Aren't you going to do pictures anymore? I missed the tea and ice cream, especially the Ben and Jerry's strawberry that you don't carry anymore.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My kids like to go to Benihana's for the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My kids like to go to Benihana's for their birthdays. It's never been great food, particularly for the cost, but it's decent and the kids like watching the food being cooked. Our last visit will be the last time we go. Our server was clearly unhappy to be there- no greeting, no smile, curt and short service that left us feeling unwelcome. The food was just plain awful. The steaks (1 chateaubrand and one filet minot) were both way overcooked. We asked for medium, they were well done and chewy for expensive cuts of meat. Everything else was so salty that none of us ate much of our food and we all left with tummy aches. In addition, the restaurant is looking shabby and in need of a deep clean. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Very bright, noisy, dirty carpets....nee ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very bright, noisy, dirty carpets....needs updating....food was good

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Kids enjoyed the chef and was family fri ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Kids enjoyed the chef and was family friendly. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and brought our own cake. They were really nice about keeping the cake cool and bringing it out later and singing happy birthday to him. Nice dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was mediocre. It always depends ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was mediocre. It always depends on the experience of the chef and ours seemed fairly new and he forgot a few steps like verifying everyone's order before he started cooking which resulted in one persons order being incorrect. I think that for the money, the portions are small. They've clearly cut back over the past couple years yet the prices have gone up. I came for a birthday celebration but I'm not sure that it'll be a go-to for Japanese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is decent, pretty much exactly ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is decent, pretty much exactly what you expect at a hibachi-style restaurant. But the service was lacking, especially on drink orders, filling water glasses, and picking up used items (which, if you've ever been to Benihana, you know, there are a lot of courses and hence a lot of used dishes that need to be picked up between courses). The bathroom was a total wreck on our visit, which grosses me out. Overall, just okay.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We always have a great time at this rest ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We always have a great time at this restaurant. The food and atmosphere are just great! 4 of us had the filet and one of us had the teriyaki chicken. Everyone was happy with their food. The filet was cooked to everyone's criteria i.e. rare medium and well. Our teriyaki guest loved his and we love the soup! Even the ice cream was yummy! Our chef was funny and we enjoyed him, but Cortez made our evening special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fun, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to this location several times over ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Been to this location several times over the last 5 yrs. This was our worst experience. Took my 6 yr old grand-daughter there for her Bday (her first time). Waitress was horrible. Chef did not entertain. He under seasoned the food and overcooked all of it. I'll have to find me a different Benihana to visit or a totally different competitor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Our chef was not very engaging it attent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our chef was not very engaging it attentive. He gave a steak order to someone who ordered chicken and just stood there and looked at her when she let him know. She ended up switching plates with the person next to her. All in all, he was a mediocre chef for Benihana. He seemed like he was just trying to get their it, versus engaging and entertaining the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.