Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Benihana - Dallas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (49)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Fun (38)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Casual (25)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Waterfront (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I have been here plenty of times but I have to say this was probably the Best one yet! Our cook George was the BEST ever! Also a VERY great comedian. We had a lot of kids joining us and I was feeling a little bad since I didn't think they would enjoy it as much BUT they probably had the most fun! George just constantly kept them laughing all night. They left the restaurant still talking about him and his jokes! We definitely be requesting him again!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

A birthday tradition for 35 years. We love it all!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Amazing always we always go every month. We have been able to get Kortez for each time that we have visited and he's an amazing individual! We will always ask for him from here on out .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The quality of the food has gone down in my opinion. I have dined at these restaurants for a very long time and recently I have been disappointed by the food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fun meal with great food. Great for kids! We have been before and always enjoy going back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Hadn't been to this location in several years, but it was as good as I remembered. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our dinner took to long to get. Our soup and salad was quick, but it took over 30 minute more to get the cook to our seating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We really enjoyed everything,the waitress, especially the chef he was fantastic. Give them a 10 plus all the way live. We also enjoyed the food it was delicious 😀
Thank you so very,very much. Love you

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I love Benihana not only Japanese Garden design and delicious food. I recommend it for Special event and Anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I took my son for his birthday for the first time and he loved it! They sang happy birthday and gave him ice cream.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Josh was in an attentive waiter, incredibly helpful with our two-year-old and very professional. He made sure my husband's 40th birthday was a great time. And delicious food, start to finish, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Worst experience ever within 5 years of going for birthdays. Our chef was inexperienced and didn't even devein the shrimp....gross. What a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We arrived early and were seated immediately (did not have to wait for reservation time). Sat with strangers, minimal interaction. In past, the cook and server might help initiate interaction among the strangers at the table, but not so much this time. It was awkward. Cook was friendly but somewhat reserved for the entertainment, but he tried and was very nice. We all had some laughs. Food was excellent. After eating, this is not a place where you can sit around and linger around the table. They need the space for the next reservation. We were not actually rushed, but felt the pressure to move along. It would be nice if they offered space in the bar to hang out and talk a bit longer. Price is excessive and this is the main reason I will not be recommending this restaurant or returning.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Won't let you be seated without everybody in your party shows up. The hostess was rude and we had to get two cooks cause the first one forgot to cook an order and he seemed inexperienced. Won't be coming back to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our chef George was AMAZING!!! He made my daughters birthday so fun. I will always want to request him when we return ;)

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our Cook was so rushed that when he was cooking food was flying everywhere. and the wait staff would take forever to come back to see if we needed anything.. We go there all the time but this time it was not a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The service was awful. The waitress kept telling us that she was busy working another table. It took way to long for water and the waitress seemed overwhelmed. I've never had this level of poor service at Benihana before. We ended up being there for 3 hours. Way too long for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I didn't care for the food or the choices. I found it extremely expensive for what I received. Our chef was not entertaining. Wouldn't go back. Disappointing birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I love to come here whenever possible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great meal with a very entertaining chef named Octavio. Definitely will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was good but the service was slow. The table beside us had kids and they were running around, yelling and the mother of one family refused to eat her food and made quite a scene. One of the children at the next table had a birthday and they sang happy birthday to her and made a big deal about it being her birthday. There was a young girl at our table with a birthday, an older gentleman who also was there for his birthday and I was there for a birthday dinner. Three of us with birthdays and we were never acknowledged and had to tolerate the noisy table next to us...the Dad was just as bad.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Service staff appears to have been cut back to a bare minimum however it is not uncommon to see staff standing around in the hall outside rooms. On our last few trips, and very much so this most recent trip empty dishes seem to remain on the table an extended time and in the limited space in the way. It appears one person now works multiple rooms and is possibly overextended. In past years dishes were taken as you finished with them. You are now alone with the chief during the meal with little opportunity to request another drink or other item. Seldom is an offer now made at the end of the meal for green tea, occasionally even for ice cream though they will get it if requested. Ice cream but not green tea was offered this last trip but then two at the table were celebrating birthdays. I think they now just want you gone so they can clear the table and have one less room to get to. The cook this night however had made a response to a customer regarding how many meals he cooked a night that they were extremely slow that night. The table show and food were still good quality. This is not your everyday restaurant by cost, and you would not expect everyday basic service. On my recent birthday, I decided to forgo the long drive in traffic, and atmosphere of the Koi pond to just eat at a Teppanyaki restaurant about 3-minutes from our house with as good food and show, and much better service. That is more frequently becoming my family's choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Once we was seated it took at least 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. Apparently no one was assigned to us, but we saw employees standing around looking. Finally this young man Kortex came and asked if we have been waited on. Since we told him no he decided to take charge. Kortex provided excellent service. He was professional at all time. He went above and beyond our expectation. If it had not been for this young man I don't think we would have come back. Thank you, Kortex!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great! On point as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The waitress was very slow, and did not ask if I wanted another drink. The chef was "New" I guess because he was not very good. We have come here a very long time, and this was the worst of Our trips.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food to salty made me sick. It did not taste well at all. I got a headache and food posioning. The prople in my party were sick. I reveived the wrong order and overcharged. Talked to them about it they did nothing. Went to doctor

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Friendly service and great tasting food. Really enjoyed my birthday here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always a great experience! We had friends in town from Florida and they enjoyed their first visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife and I made a reservation for a weekday for lunch. We had got married that morning. I left the info on the reservation that it was our wedding day. No one acknowledged the fact that we got married.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a great time for my daughter's birthday. Service was excellent and chef made it fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had an awesome time. We had the most amazing chef that kept us on our toes with great jokes, tricks, and wonderful food. I can't wait to go again...

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Have been going there for decades....fantastic food and service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Made a reservation last minute and as always the food and show was excellent. The service was a little slow but we knowingly booked on Father's Day and they were pretty busy. Our waitress was very nice and we were very satisfied with everything.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was great And the atmosphere was perfect. I loved everything about it

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always a great time at Benihana's. From the food, the drinks and the chefs; you'll have a wonderful experience. Will always be one of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This location had a different feel. The chefs didn't really put on the best show. Although, I like the individual rooms vs as open feel, the restaurant was dated and needs updating. The food was good, our Server was excellent, but again the Chefs were just "doing their job"

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great Service delicious food, fun! We had a very diverse group ( family and old friends) for my son's High School graduation celebration. Everyone was happy and enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and great staff. Always fun. Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.