About Benihana - Dallas

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Benihana - Dallas
Habachi Chicken & Fried Rice

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Groups (69)
Kid-friendly (42)
See All
Great for Lunch (40)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Large back room we were in was very humi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Large back room we were in was very humid and not very cool, not very comfortable in general. Service was slow getting started, but once things got going, food and service was good. Didn't hear or get the happy birthday song for the first time in several visits and there were two birthday people at our table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our waiter was very competent and served ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waiter was very competent and served us quite well. We were treated very well, and they arranged for us to have a private room, so we could celebrate without distraction.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait 1/2 hour longer than our ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had to wait 1/2 hour longer than our called in reservation which was disappointing. Food and service was good, seemed slow because it was crowded.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We spend almost every birthday here for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We spend almost every birthday here for our family...love it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boyfriend birthday, he's never been so w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Boyfriend birthday, he's never been so we went there and he enjoyed his self. My birthday is in a few weeks, so we will be returning again!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was excellent as this was a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The ambience was excellent as this was an special occasion for lunch. There were 5 of us and we all agree it was one of the better luncheon specials that we have had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was really good. Waitress we had wa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was really good. Waitress we had was not happy to be there. We had to ask for many items that were supposed to come with our dinners. All the other tables around us had much better service. We still had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Went back after a few years. The meat qu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went back after a few years. The meat quality was lower, the options not too friendly, the portions were reduced, with the prices higher. The waiter tried his best to make up for deficiencies, but they were too many. Don't think we will go back there again, at least for quite a few years.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Loved the concept but a bit disappointed ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Loved the concept but a bit disappointed by the food: fried rice not very fried and the scallops were over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Love this place!!! We go once a month as ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this place!!! We go once a month as a group and we just love it! The service is awesome and so is the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great our server Kortez ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The ambience was great our server Kortez and our Chef were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was awful. I had been here s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The service was awful. I had been here several times before but this was the worst service that I had ever received. I kept having to ask for things over and over again before I recieved what I needed. This was also a birthday celebration for me and I had at ask for my picture to be taken, which that was something that was automatically done after they song Happy Birthday. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Took my son here for his birthday and th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Took my son here for his birthday and that made sure his experience was very special. Great spot. The food was great! Great experience overall!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved out chef, he was funny and friendl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Loved out chef, he was funny and friendly. He listened to our orders and we had fun with him

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Rockys Choice!!!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Rockys Choice!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Still waited over 30 min even with RSVP. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Still waited over 30 min even with RSVP. Could not sit our group together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We waited over wayyyyyy to long to be fe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We waited over wayyyyyy to long to be fed. Ended up being the last people to leave the back area of the restaurant. Service was super poor. The manager gave the couple at the table with us their meal free and only provided my table of 4 a small discount. This was my birthday dinner with my family. How embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been going to this place for a wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been going to this place for a while and it is always really good. The chefs and wait staff are always super friendly and the food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated a 50th Bday here. Everyone ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated a 50th Bday here. Everyone had lots of fun, food was super tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated our anniversary. Had a great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary. Had a great time as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I feel like the restaurant is seriously ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I feel like the restaurant is seriously understaffed. The waitresses have way too many responsibilities, so she would often forget my water, or it would take her forever to get me a to-go box. It took 2 hours for the chef to come to our table to cook the food. They offered some free appetizers because they feel bad that we were waiting too long, but it was already after we ordered all the appetizers( we were going way too hungry). So it was no need. There were 4 tables in the room. Our food was cooked after all the other table was done eating. This happened every time I went to this place for a birthday. The food is not bad, the chefs are funny and the staff is cordial. However, the overall experience was tiring and long.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Though I had a reservation, we (and ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though I had a reservation, we (and everyone in the lobby who had a reservation for the same time) were seated almost an hour late. We were in a back room--the clientele included a family in shorts and undershirts who were gigantic, loudly profane, and covered with tatoos. Another table was filled with rowdy children throwing food on the floor. Our chef was flurried and inept and the food only fair (but quite expensive). Drinks were small and not well mixed. Altogether, a very disappointing experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was bad, the passion fruit g ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was bad, the passion fruit green tea was watered down but the food was good. I will not visit this location again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Benihanna's has been a favorite place fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Benihanna's has been a favorite place for my daughter to pick for her birthday dinner for many years! This year she turned 13 & asked to bring some friends for this year's birthday dinner. The 3 friends she invited had not been before so it was really fun! The food was delicious & she enjoyed the staff singing Happy Birthday to her at the end!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and we had 8:30 reser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was my birthday and we had 8:30 reservation. Our dinner was rushed our cook didn't come to the table until about 9:20 and then our my order was wrong so he had to get my food corrected and then it got so late that I had to ask for the birthday ice cream everyone had left so only I told them no one sung happy birthday to me so two people came and sung and I asked for a birthday picture but everyone was gone so she hurry up and took one and it cut all our bodies off and they didn't have any benihanna's frame so my birthday was RUSHED. I think that the last reservation for the night should get the same treatment as the first guest of the night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

So so. Always fun, but just not superior ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

So so. Always fun, but just not superior food wise to the other Asian options in Dallas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The room was too hot, the server was alm ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The room was too hot, the server was almost inattentive to our questions and the family that sat with us was rude.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Our food is always cooked to perfection, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our food is always cooked to perfection, the chefs make the experience fun! Excellent food, great drinks, friendly staff!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I give them 5 stars... great place to di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I give them 5 stars... great place to dine. I went for my birthday for the time and fell in love

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!! Chef was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service!! Chef was very Entertaining server was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE EATING THERE AND WE EA ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE EATING THERE AND WE EAT THERE ATLEAST 6 TIMES A MONTH

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. It did take aw ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful. It did take awhile for the chef to reach our table, but I think they were a little short handed. Will be returning though!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here 100s of times. This was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I've eaten here 100s of times. This was one of my worst visits ever. We were celebrating Mom's 70th.. The service and was good. The food was not. It was later in the evening. Maybe the chef was tired. The fried rice was not cooked enough. There was a lot of white chunks in the rice. The chicken was kind of doughy like. The grilled onions were still somewhat raw. Everything else was good. It seemed as though this was a rush job. It was a Thurs night, somewhat packed. Reservation was at 730. Seated a little past 8. Received soup about 17 minutes later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Stunned with unusually bad night at Benihana

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Benihana has always been a favorite with my family. Normally we go to the Plano Restaurant, but they were booked. Since I had been to Dallas before, I made reservations. Our visit was horrible. Service was poor, the chef was a grumpy old guy that gave no performance at all. We were stunned whenever he said a word. Food was just ok. We didn't even stay for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

this was our 1st visit....the chef was h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

this was our 1st visit....the chef was horrible not exciting at all only one trick he made heart out of the rice...that's it... BORNING!!!!! the waitress was GREAT...my chicken was tough...so was the steak dinners my kids had....I don't mind spending $146 if the food was good ...it's not hard to cook a tender chicken breast ..or filet mignon....this was my daughters 14th birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Has always been our favorite for a speci ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Has always been our favorite for a special occasion or just for lunch or dinner. Food is always fabulous! Great for the whole family. Chefs are so entertaining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very slow this time

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've come for lunch on many occasions with work associates and on this occasion, the service was extremely slow. On previous visits we were in and out within 1 hour. But on this visit we were away from the office for 2.5 hours. We all decided we will return just not sure if it will be as often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Fun time had by all....celebrating 2 bir ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fun time had by all....celebrating 2 birthdays and 1 anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was great.....

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The service was poor . T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was great. The service was poor . The chef showed up late. The server had no clue about the drinks or menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I put that this was for a bday & retirem ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I put that this was for a bday & retirement celebration on the reservation. I don't feel it should have been required to tell them. Neither was acknowledged by the staff. That was upsetting.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.