About Benihana - Dallas

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-dallas - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
California Roll - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Sushi - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Trio - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Chef Trick - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX
Habachi Chicken & Fried Rice - Benihana - Dallas, Dallas, TX

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (48)
Kid-friendly (37)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for Groups (34)
Good for a Date (28)
Fun (27)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Family Style (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Healthy (12)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Scenic View (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Waterfront (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my very favorite restaurants. I ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I love watching the chefs also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana in Irving is a much better loca ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Benihana in Irving is a much better location!! This location is dirty; the table top grill is not cleaned properly. The air/heat is 5 minutes on and off. So for 5 minutes you are hot and 5 minutes you're cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

Once again Benihana's has made it the be ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Once again Benihana's has made it the best day ever! 👍 food was amazing, service excellent! Top notch! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my 6 year old son here for his f ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We took my 6 year old son here for his first time and we had a great time as a family. Our service was great. Our reservation was 5:45 and we got seated right away. Our waiter was attentive and the chef was fun, the food good. It's expensive, but for a fun family night, special date or occasion, that's ok. We did notice as we left it was a lot more packed. This is not speed dining, so if you will not like to maybe have to wait make an earlier reservation as we did. It went really well for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Horrible service for our birthday celebr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Horrible service for our birthday celebration. Our waitress wasn't serving our side courses accordingly. She would take a long time to come check up on us. Two of us didn't even get our rice even tho we reminded her 3 times! By then the rest of our food was plain cold. I bought TWO cakes in which I asked her to bring out. She only took out one, I reminded her again and the cake was just sitting there she wouldn't pull it out of the bag...very frustrating. Horrible customer service on a slow night for a party of 9..

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife enjoys going here for her birth ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife enjoys going here for her birthday. The food is always great. This visit our wait time was a hour at the table because it was a busy night, manager came over and apologized, and gave everyone a discount. Always a great place to eat overall, the cooks keep it interesting with laughter and entertainment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Your schef was unbalibable, friendly, i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Your schef was unbalibable, friendly, interactive with the kiddos, and amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Entertaining chef ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Entertaining chef. Will come again

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy good food, the koi pond, and the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I enjoy good food, the koi pond, and the chef's display of cooking and entertaining us. You can also meet other people since we are all sitting around the grill. The disappointment this New Year's Eve was we were not offered the green tea, ice cream nor was our picture taken. We have been going here for birthdays and the last four New Year's Eve. I have the pictures of our previous NYE still on my fridge from the other years. What happened? Aren't you going to do pictures anymore? I missed the tea and ice cream, especially the Ben and Jerry's strawberry that you don't carry anymore.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My kids like to go to Benihana's for the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My kids like to go to Benihana's for their birthdays. It's never been great food, particularly for the cost, but it's decent and the kids like watching the food being cooked. Our last visit will be the last time we go. Our server was clearly unhappy to be there- no greeting, no smile, curt and short service that left us feeling unwelcome. The food was just plain awful. The steaks (1 chateaubrand and one filet minot) were both way overcooked. We asked for medium, they were well done and chewy for expensive cuts of meat. Everything else was so salty that none of us ate much of our food and we all left with tummy aches. In addition, the restaurant is looking shabby and in need of a deep clean. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Very bright, noisy, dirty carpets....nee ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very bright, noisy, dirty carpets....needs updating....food was good

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Kids enjoyed the chef and was family fri ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Kids enjoyed the chef and was family friendly. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and brought our own cake. They were really nice about keeping the cake cool and bringing it out later and singing happy birthday to him. Nice dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was mediocre. It always depends ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was mediocre. It always depends on the experience of the chef and ours seemed fairly new and he forgot a few steps like verifying everyone's order before he started cooking which resulted in one persons order being incorrect. I think that for the money, the portions are small. They've clearly cut back over the past couple years yet the prices have gone up. I came for a birthday celebration but I'm not sure that it'll be a go-to for Japanese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is decent, pretty much exactly ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is decent, pretty much exactly what you expect at a hibachi-style restaurant. But the service was lacking, especially on drink orders, filling water glasses, and picking up used items (which, if you've ever been to Benihana, you know, there are a lot of courses and hence a lot of used dishes that need to be picked up between courses). The bathroom was a total wreck on our visit, which grosses me out. Overall, just okay.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We always have a great time at this rest ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We always have a great time at this restaurant. The food and atmosphere are just great! 4 of us had the filet and one of us had the teriyaki chicken. Everyone was happy with their food. The filet was cooked to everyone's criteria i.e. rare medium and well. Our teriyaki guest loved his and we love the soup! Even the ice cream was yummy! Our chef was funny and we enjoyed him, but Cortez made our evening special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fun, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to this location several times over ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Been to this location several times over the last 5 yrs. This was our worst experience. Took my 6 yr old grand-daughter there for her Bday (her first time). Waitress was horrible. Chef did not entertain. He under seasoned the food and overcooked all of it. I'll have to find me a different Benihana to visit or a totally different competitor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Our chef was not very engaging it attent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our chef was not very engaging it attentive. He gave a steak order to someone who ordered chicken and just stood there and looked at her when she let him know. She ended up switching plates with the person next to her. All in all, he was a mediocre chef for Benihana. He seemed like he was just trying to get their it, versus engaging and entertaining the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Took us a little over 30 minutes to get ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Took us a little over 30 minutes to get seated even with reservations. Server was attentive and prompt. Food was decent but expensive for what you get . The main reason why I gave this establishment a low rating was because it took over an hour for a chef to come to our table after the soup and salad. Other tables were being seated after us and they even left before our chef arrived. We were literally there for almost 2 1/2 hrs. Totally unacceptable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great time, but even with a reservation ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great time, but even with a reservation my family and I waited for over 45 min just to be seated. Some others waited even longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Long wait for chef but it was Christmas. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Long wait for chef but it was Christmas. Appreciated them being open. Was worth the wait. Excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome environment! This was our first ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome environment! This was our first time taking the kids (ages 9 and 11) they absolutely loved it. The chef was very attentive to them and had them very much capitvated. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tried the Yakisoba for the first time ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I tried the Yakisoba for the first time today and it was delicious. I only had a small amount of sauce put on it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Food and Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Christmas Eve. We were sat rig ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve. We were sat right on time and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience with my family. The fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience with my family. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced and food average Fun for kid ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Over priced and food average

Fun for kids

Outside atmosphere cool with koi pond etc but inside in serious need of updating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

An hour late to get seated. Food was ok. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

An hour late to get seated. Food was ok. They need a new act as part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I chose Benihana for my birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I chose Benihana for my birthday dinner. I have not been to this establishment in years, but I remember we had to make reservations. That went ok, but we did still wait 20 minutes to be seated. I was highly disappointed with the service, drinks and food. Two out of the three drink specials I chose they didn't have the ingredients to make (the bartender could have substituted but no effort there).

Our waitress was working too many stations, so we had to ask one of the busers to bring us more water and the steamed rice we ordered. Also, compared to every other Japanese steak house we have been too, they had very few vegetables with the stir fry; just zucchini, mushrooms and onions.... They didn't even supplement the lack of portions. I think I got three mushrooms and 10 pieces of zucchini. The steak was awful. It was over cooked and chewy. The cook was too slow and by the time my mom got her food, I was already done with my poorly portioned plate.

Green tea was also supposed to be served at the beginning, but the waitress forgot. She decided to bring it out with my dessert, but that wasn't a great combo. All in all, it was a busy night, especially for a Wednesday. However, management seemed to be lacking that night and for a place like Benihanas, I expected something a bit more refined and in line with what I remembered from my previous visit. Too bad, I really liked this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Been there twice. First time was better ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Been there twice. First time was better because the chef was more entertaining. Second time, the chef was really low energy and couldn't catch anything he threw into his hat. The portions are fairly large, so we split dishes. They will let you do this but will treat you like a leper if you do. They did take a nice photo of the family for my son't birthday, which was a nice surprise. The kids love the show and the fish pond just outside the restaurant. Food is good but pricey.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Will be using open table again quick and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Will be using open table again quick and easy is the way to go. Loved it!

Tags: Scenic View, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place! Our chef was awesome for his ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice place! Our chef was awesome for his 2nd time! The food was BEYOND good & cooked fresh. Definitely will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a good experience with good envir ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was a good experience with good environment. Food was good and i would recommend this spot to everyone.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had to wait over an hour to get food

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had to wait over an hour to get food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Greta time for my sons birthday. Food wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Greta time for my sons birthday. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Had a great time! Was fun for birthday! ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a great time! Was fun for birthday! Loved the energy of the staff and great neighbors at our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy with food and service. One ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very happy with food and service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great birthday experience, several other ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great birthday experience, several others celebrating their birthday. Would recommend it to anyone. Just remember very family oriented so lots of kids.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my first time to visit Benihana. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was my first time to visit Benihana. We were celebrating my sons birthday. The food and the service was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I went here with my son for my 30th birt ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I went here with my son for my 30th birthday and it was the absolute best dinner I've ever had in my life! The staff was above and beyond on service, the food was excellent, and the chef was very entertaining, the atmosphere was unlike anyother. 5 stars all the way around. You guys made this so special for me!

Thank You,

Steph

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.