About Benihana - Dallas

7775 Banner Dr
Dallas, TX 75251
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. A visit to Benihana Dallas is like stepping into a Japanese country farmhouse among the bustle of the city. The restaurant is surrounded by a koi-filled lake. Guests cross a wooden bridge to the entrance and once inside, they are met with cordial greetings from the hosts. The restaurant consists of several smaller rooms which afford a sense of privacy; larger groups can opt for the four-table rooms located on either wing.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
635 & Coit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(972) 387-4404

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/dallas-tx-da

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Habachi Chicken & Fried Rice
Habachi Chicken & Fried Rice

Benihana - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in North Dallas / Addison ›

special occasion (72)
good for groups (71)
kid-friendly (48)
See All
great for lunch (32)
fit for foodies (22)
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated a 50th Bday here. Everyone ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Celebrated a 50th Bday here. Everyone had lots of fun, food was super tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I feel like the restaurant is seriously ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I feel like the restaurant is seriously understaffed. The waitresses have way too many responsibilities, so she would often forget my water, or it would take her forever to get me a to-go box. It took 2 hours for the chef to come to our table to cook the food. They offered some free appetizers because they feel bad that we were waiting too long, but it was already after we ordered all the appetizers( we were going way too hungry). So it was no need. There were 4 tables in the room. Our food was cooked after all the other table was done eating. This happened every time I went to this place for a birthday. The food is not bad, the chefs are funny and the staff is cordial. However, the overall experience was tiring and long.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Though I had a reservation, we (and ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though I had a reservation, we (and everyone in the lobby who had a reservation for the same time) were seated almost an hour late. We were in a back room--the clientele included a family in shorts and undershirts who were gigantic, loudly profane, and covered with tatoos. Another table was filled with rowdy children throwing food on the floor. Our chef was flurried and inept and the food only fair (but quite expensive). Drinks were small and not well mixed. Altogether, a very disappointing experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was bad, the passion fruit g ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was bad, the passion fruit green tea was watered down but the food was good. I will not visit this location again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Benihanna's has been a favorite place fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Benihanna's has been a favorite place for my daughter to pick for her birthday dinner for many years! This year she turned 13 & asked to bring some friends for this year's birthday dinner. The 3 friends she invited had not been before so it was really fun! The food was delicious & she enjoyed the staff singing Happy Birthday to her at the end!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and we had 8:30 reser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

It was my birthday and we had 8:30 reservation. Our dinner was rushed our cook didn't come to the table until about 9:20 and then our my order was wrong so he had to get my food corrected and then it got so late that I had to ask for the birthday ice cream everyone had left so only I told them no one sung happy birthday to me so two people came and sung and I asked for a birthday picture but everyone was gone so she hurry up and took one and it cut all our bodies off and they didn't have any benihanna's frame so my birthday was RUSHED. I think that the last reservation for the night should get the same treatment as the first guest of the night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

So so. Always fun, but just not superior ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

So so. Always fun, but just not superior food wise to the other Asian options in Dallas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The room was too hot, the server was alm ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The room was too hot, the server was almost inattentive to our questions and the family that sat with us was rude.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Our food is always cooked to perfection, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our food is always cooked to perfection, the chefs make the experience fun! Excellent food, great drinks, friendly staff!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I give them 5 stars... great place to di ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I give them 5 stars... great place to dine. I went for my birthday for the time and fell in love

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!! Chef was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service!! Chef was very Entertaining server was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE EATING THERE AND WE EA ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE EATING THERE AND WE EAT THERE ATLEAST 6 TIMES A MONTH

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. It did take aw ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful. It did take awhile for the chef to reach our table, but I think they were a little short handed. Will be returning though!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here 100s of times. This was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I've eaten here 100s of times. This was one of my worst visits ever. We were celebrating Mom's 70th.. The service and was good. The food was not. It was later in the evening. Maybe the chef was tired. The fried rice was not cooked enough. There was a lot of white chunks in the rice. The chicken was kind of doughy like. The grilled onions were still somewhat raw. Everything else was good. It seemed as though this was a rush job. It was a Thurs night, somewhat packed. Reservation was at 730. Seated a little past 8. Received soup about 17 minutes later.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Stunned with unusually bad night at Benihana

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Benihana has always been a favorite with my family. Normally we go to the Plano Restaurant, but they were booked. Since I had been to Dallas before, I made reservations. Our visit was horrible. Service was poor, the chef was a grumpy old guy that gave no performance at all. We were stunned whenever he said a word. Food was just ok. We didn't even stay for dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

this was our 1st visit....the chef was h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

this was our 1st visit....the chef was horrible not exciting at all only one trick he made heart out of the rice...that's it... BORNING!!!!! the waitress was GREAT...my chicken was tough...so was the steak dinners my kids had....I don't mind spending $146 if the food was good ...it's not hard to cook a tender chicken breast ..or filet mignon....this was my daughters 14th birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Has always been our favorite for a speci ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Has always been our favorite for a special occasion or just for lunch or dinner. Food is always fabulous! Great for the whole family. Chefs are so entertaining!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very slow this time

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've come for lunch on many occasions with work associates and on this occasion, the service was extremely slow. On previous visits we were in and out within 1 hour. But on this visit we were away from the office for 2.5 hours. We all decided we will return just not sure if it will be as often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Fun time had by all....celebrating 2 bir ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fun time had by all....celebrating 2 birthdays and 1 anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was great.....

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The service was poor . T ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was great. The service was poor . The chef showed up late. The server had no clue about the drinks or menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

I put that this was for a bday & retirem ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I put that this was for a bday & retirement celebration on the reservation. I don't feel it should have been required to tell them. Neither was acknowledged by the staff. That was upsetting.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana's is old and out dated.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

There is nothing new or exciting about this place. Same stuff different day. There are several knockoffs out there all doing the same old thing. I guess if you're bored its okay but I wouldn't recommend it really but at least its expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

AS always, we had a great time at Benihana. The food was excellent and our teppen chair was fun, entertaining, and cooked us a great meal. We will be back again! Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Benihanas

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The server predicted what we needed. Our chef was fantastic - friendly and funny. Our food was delicious and so much we had to take some home. Thank you Benihana's!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me & a few frens went there 4 my wife's ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Me & a few frens went there 4 my wife's birthday. We love the food and they put on a cute little show. I would go back & recommend to other people.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My sons birthday.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We are from San Francisco and our experience with the BeniHana is always great, but at this time the chefs performance was just ok.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I had a poor experience h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I had a poor experience here mainly because of the people we were sat with. I also was hoping that something special would have been done for us since we were there celebrating my husband's graduation, and even though I wrote that in my reservation, nothing was done. We will no return here and do not recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Lunchtime who knew

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wow... I was pleasantly surprised by the lunch service. Great value, much less stressful seeming for the chef or feeling rushed to hurry up and eat after he is done.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where's the beef?!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

What happened to the portions here?! I remember having so much food I always had a doggy bag to take home but this time we went..... Not only was the menu different but the portions had suffered as well. Disapointing Mother's Day!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Very cool!!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went here for Mother's Day and while my wife loved it my son was blown away. Note to anyone dining here ALWAYS tell them it's your first time. The chef barely put on a show while the table next to us got a very entertaining performance but it was a blast nevertheless!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I definitely would recommend Benihanas! The whole meal preparation was very entertaining and fun. My baby is only 6 months old but I thought that the kid coloring book, the hats , cups and especially the chef trying to entertain the children was wonderful. Also definitely try the mango lemonade!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I am a frequent Benihana visitor. Our la ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I am a frequent Benihana visitor. Our last visit was not a good one and left quite a bit to be desired. I am glad to report today they more than made up for it. While the hostess desk had their usual "blah" and "im stressed attitude", the rest of the service was on point. We had a new chef today named Cung. He was amazing. Given how often we have gone here and in other cities, we know the show pretty well. However, he actually surprised us with a new trick we had never seen before and had a high level of energy and enthusiasm since the minute he approached the table until he said goodbye. He was incredibly engaging. Even my kids who recently didnt seem to care for the show were cracking up. Thank you Cung for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Sadly disappointed again inconsistent meals

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I specifically asked for two chefs as I know they are great. I have learned the hard way that not all are the same. I wrote this in the notes on the reservation and confirmed on the day of. Our chef this time was by no means the worst, but not great. Very little interaction with the group. Completely over cooked my colossal shrimp at least they weren't burned. I felt like we were all shorted food, unless you changed portion sizes as well in the last two weeks. You guys are just too expensive to not be consistently good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We love it!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

My family loves Benihana. We go for all the birthdays. My kids never get tired of the show. We enjoy the steaks and the chicken fried rice. The only thing I would change is the seating. When my family of four gets there, we want to sit together and not arm to arm with someone else. Other than that, we love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Daughter's 15th Birthday

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Went for my Daughter's 15th Birthday. She had a great time she loved everything about it. Mango Banana's was a great chef!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was perfect. Food was gear and ch ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Lunch was perfect. Food was gear and chef had a great personally. We'll definitely go back for a team lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We have always had a great experience at Benihana - Dallas until our trip on 3/29. I'm not sure if they've changed their food or if our cook was that bad. Big birthday disappointment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful Easter Lunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Easter Lunch, Romeo was very entertaining and did a great job with all of the different stages of the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for Special Occasions

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We planned my daughter's 12th birthday dinner at Benihana. The atmosphere was friendly and fun. The food was amazing and our chef engaging! I highly recommend Benihana!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Lunch is a great way to enjoy Benihana without breaking the bank. Lot's a lunch sized options that are delicious and very well priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.