About Benihana - Coral Gables

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Romantic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience! Nice staff and delicious food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

WE HAVE BEEN HERE BEFORE AND LOVED IT. THIS LAST TIME, THE CHEF WAS NOT VERY ENTHUSIASTIC WHICH WAS A BIT DISSAPOINTING FOR MY KIDS, BUT OTHER THAN THAT, GREAT AS USUAL

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was great execpt for the part I was charged on my card a $61.56 Tip! My total was $39.42 gave the waiter $12 cash tip two days later I checked my bank account and showed $100.98!! Ridiculous!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

La comida muy buena, el servicio excelente, pero pasamos muchísimo frío. No se puede comer con el aire acondicionado a tope y, a pesar de que lo dijimos un par de veces, lo paraban un rato y volvía a encenderse. Muy incómodo! Una pena, porque de verdad que la comida vale la pena!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nelson was such a good cook. 10/10 recommend.

Nelson was a legend- not all heroes wear capes. NELSOOOOOOOOOOOOOON MY MAAAAN GOOD MAN GOOD BOY GOOD PERSON GOOD HUMAN. VICTOOOOOOOR SO GOOD TO US VERY CUTE VERY NICE LOVE THIS PLACEEEE- Carmen

10/10 Nelson is amazing. Should totally pursue a rapping career also very good music taste. Victor is real good too hope you enjoy the cake -marina

Amazing!!!! Service from my main mans Nelson and Victor!!!!!!! So good!!!! Love them <333333 -Alexia

I love you so muuuuuch !!! Nelson and victor are the best service a girl could ask for !!! Defo will come back to visit my main mans Nelson and victor. ( if you come here as for Nelson as a cook and victor as a waiter!) the quintessential example of a professional Benihana chef,Nelson, was a wonderful chef and he answered all or nagging questions. Also, Victor the waiter was really kind and charasmatic! Great service!!! Kings of Benihana!! Broke my scale -bella& fener

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I t was nice. I enjoyed the food and the drinks. However, I think the chef could have been a tad bit more interactive with the table. But over all it was a very nice experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Felt rushed and there was even a kid at the table celebrating his bday and the chef didn't do the usual Benihana tricks they always do. It was a slow Tuesday night and the food wasn't as good as it usually is either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love Benihanas, but this time the chef had no energy, no show at all. The food was good but needed a bit more seasoning. Plus the overall dinner took a little longer than usual. usually we are in for 1:30 to 1:45 but this time the entire dinner experience took 2:30 which is crazy. Thanks

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

When the Chef finished cooking and our four year old asked "what about the show?" we had to explain this was a new guy who didn't know tricks. It's not fun to just watch someone cook when you're expecting bells and whistles. We got the "substitute teacher." Is there a way to ensure a seasoned/entertaining chef at the table? We didn't even get the beating rice heart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dining out with my family at my son's Favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Took 45 min for the chef to even arrive at our table. Waiter disappeared most of meal. Really really bad service tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is our favorite place to celebrate birthdays! you get a family picture included for the special occasions. The food is wonderful, you will over eat, but well worth it. You start the diet back the next day :)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service and very expensive food and tips

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Felt like I was having dinner with Family. Great atmosphere & service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Birthday. Really good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Buen sitio y buen ambiente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were 10 minutes late and had to wait almost an hour with young kids ... the people were really mean and non professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love to eat there we were a party of 6 ppl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I made a reservation. I was waiting for '50 (minutes) for the "Expert" to star cooking. Great show but was a long, long wait. Portions are smaller and que quality of the chicken was for the first time BAD. I will reconsider going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Consistency, Consistency Consistency

Benihana has a formula and the staff are well trained and managed.

We are regulars and ask for a specific server who knows our preferences - I like the mustard sauce, my wife likes the ginger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Both my date and I had an outstanding experience. The food, entertainment and service excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok. Our hibachi chef was speaking Spanish to the people sitting next to us almost the entire time with was a bit irritating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Benihana will remain one of my favorites until the end of time. Great food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Once arrived instead of a reservation of a group five as booked, there was one for two people. Anyhow the staff was able to sort it out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My kids love coming here but I don't look forward to sitting next to rude people.

Sharing a table with picky rude individuals really ruins my dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was great. Even though we were late due to traffic accident holding traffic they sat us within 15 minutes of our arrival. The chef was a bit rushed and confused about some of the plates ordered at the table but at the end everything was ok. Sometimes the chef needs to attend to his client's requests, like "use garlic butter instead of regular butter", no chicken in the fried rice as one of the guests was vegan, etc. I would certainly recommend this restaurant. I guess during holidays things can happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

we love to Dine there everytime we can go and to to invite other family and friends, we love it, Thanks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Waiter was great but the food was salty and. Rich with butter.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

our chef was so great and friendly. our waitress was awesome. this is the 2nd time that we had her. Benihana is always entertaining for the kids. will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waiter and cook were very nice. Unfortunately the cook took too long cooking, overcooked the chicken and steak. The chicken was dry and had no flavor, he missed some of the seasonings. Steak was hard and too much teriyaki sauce.

Honestly I was not satisfied with the food at all. :-( I've been there in difference occasions and had a better experience.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was wonderful as usual. Making reservations on open table gives us a great advantage when we arrive we are always seated immediately-no waiting. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had fun. It was for my birthday. Lorenzo our chef was funny and did a great job. The waiter was nice also.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

You can get one of the cozy booths by the bar for a more secluded meal or sit around the hibachi in a group for an interactive dining experience. You can tailor it to meet your mood. We enjoyed the seafood dishes more than the others. It was freshly made and delicious. The wait staff attending us accommodated our requests without hesitation and made the evening enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My kids enjoy the show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

No hot tea ever offered. Food prep took too long and the first served food cooled quickly. Meats were chopped into micro pieces losing all their essence. Had to ask for spoons for the children to use. Birthday celebration was mediocre when only two staff attended to sing happy birthday, as contrasted to a nearby table having six or more loudly singing staff. This was obvious to our child sharing her birthday, who asked me why we did not have all those staff singers at our table! Also, the birthday ice cream desert was hardly sufficient for nine people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great our cook Carlos was very professional and attentive to all our needs. The waitress was a delight. My fruit punch bowl was very fruity and filling. I could not eat all my food so I took it for lunch the next day. It was my birthday lunch/dinner so after we ate they gave me vanilla ice cream. I give it a 5 star restaurant!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Consistent quality and great tasting food. Always enjoy dining here with family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent experience. I have been to make similar venues but this was the best. The food quality was awesome and the cook used very little butter. Usually they slab on tons of butter but not here. I had the filet and chicken and the quality was very good. Definitely worth a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a wonderful time. We were also impressed with the teamwork amongest the Servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We are Benihana regulars. Celebrating birthdays and anniversaries has been a family tradition for over 20 years.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great place for a great night! I ha a great time. The serve and cook were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good but we had to wait 15 min for our table because the server hadn't arrived and was late for work. Although we were a large party and asked to be seated to at least order sushi, they were unable to accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our Granddaughter's fourth birthday was the occasion - the "show" entertains both the kids and adults. Variety on the menu is perfect for all generations of the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 21, 2016

GREAT FOR MY 5 YEAR OLD'S BDAY! OUR CHEF WAS SO KIND AND FUN AND CARED! THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS! OUR WAITRESS WAS SO SWEET, KIND AND PROFESSIONAL!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday this weekend at the Coral Gables location and had a good dining experience. The birthday girl was very pleased with attention the restaurant provided and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I guess we got a new chef. He didn't speak English or was able to prepare the meal by gluten free standards and the waiter was helping him cook. No show either- No shrimp in the hat. No volcano. No egg roll. No beating heart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is very good, the steak was tender and tasty. The chef was entertaining and efficient.

It's noisy and there is no privacy for small groups. There were kids running around which was unsafe and the parents were loud. If you have a group of five or six it's a fun place. Not for couples.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.