Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Benihana - Coral Gables

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Private Dining

Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (17)
Kid-friendly (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

My steak and chicken was delicious - perfectly prepared. The experience was a little longer than expected but fun. Dinner was $100 for two kids and an adult which is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

It was amazing for our first time going. I LOVED the steak, it was to die for. Their rice and the chef and the cooking, Just everything was perfect. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Always loved Benihana as a kid, I still love it as an adult! There are a few things that have changed, but the place is still awesome. Delicious Hibachi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vegan, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Excellent price for lunch, our server was very nice and the Chef Julio was very fun

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Service take too long to start. Our reservation was 1h30 and start almost one hour after, and we were with 3 kids starving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2018

My only complaint is that we didn’t get seated until 9pm - didn’t start cooking our food until 930. By the time we were done the kitchen was closed so we couldn’t get dessert. There was basically no point in having a reservation as it was not kept. We had small children with us - so it got pretty hectic. They did give us California rolls while waiting which was nice. There was very little “show”, we had to ask for the basics (steam volcano ) etc and then they complied. Will not go with an 8pm reservation again.

The service and food were overall great.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Amazing and seated quickly with appointment will return for any ocasión

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

My family has food allergies to : ( dairy, egg, peanuts, tree nuts, sesame seeds and beans. They are. They are beryb acomodating to the allergies and served an amazing meal even gave my kids a bowl of fruits for dessert because they could not eat the icecream. I recommend it to all and specially families with food allergies .

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

slow service and general lack of organization. Also our chef decided to cook all 4 separately different entrees waiting to start 1 as he finished 1. ; so dinner took forever

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food quality was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2017

long time waiting for a chef, but the food was good

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

The place was good and the food also. We pass a good moment, but my check was charged two times in my account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We like eating here but this week we went on a Tuesday, we where 2 and had reservations , we had to wait to get seated a bit which was ok but once we sat the dinner took over 2 hours! Getting the salad was over 30 minutes and the good took a good hour! It just took too long and the service was awful

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2017

They still made us wait 15 minutes . Tables were fine but too many chairs for one table . Very close to one another - especially when you do not know the other person.. all that mattered is that the boy had a good time

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Worst experience ever. I spent 15 mins and nobody took care of us. I asked for the manager and he didn’t do anything. I left the place and the hostess start laughing.

Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

The food was great, but the service this time around was terrible. The rest of our table left from how long it took the server to get around to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2017

It was fun and good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

How to encapsulate the dinning experience and how to describe the taste....Just Awesome!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Had a wonderful family date to celebrate my birthday. Only negative was there were families on both sides of us with toddlers who kept have temper tantrums. Other than that, I was very happy and loved my food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was delicious. The service was a little misleading,we thought we would get fried rice but we were never informed that we wouldn't. Don't know if that was something that was changedone or our waitress just didn't tell us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Eey very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It was as expected at most restaurants for a birthday celebration! The traditional birthday singing, candles, cake etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Excellent service and the food was super good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Buena comida y buen servicio al cliente.. ideal para comida en grupo o cumpleaños..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Service was bad. Took forever to get drinks, soup, and food. We were there for two hours just ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. The entire staff and Chef were polite and went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable,

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Old, a bit dirty, could use an upgrade... food quality average.... experience overall ok but misses the show aspect of a good Tepanyaki

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food was good I guess that you pay for the entertainment
Very expensive for Chinese food

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The art of hibachi seems to be fading and replaced with chefs that simply cook your food in front of you. Gone seem to be the days of exciting cooking flare and panache. There are some lackluster attempts to wow the patrons here and there, but despite being at a table with an uninterested family dining next to me at the same hibachi table, I expected more of an experience. Maybe hibachi still has enough of a reputation to sell itself, but in my opinion, the chefs at Benihana in Coral Gables don't seem to be trying very hard to help build that reputation and lure their crowd back for regular visits with the promise of an exciting dining experience in the future. Instead of putting on a show, they simply cook it in front of you.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

Amazing dinner for my husbands birthday. Amazing service and food quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was delicious and we had a great time!! The experience and the service was AMAZING!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It was our anniversary and we wanted something different. The food was great (too much food but was even great for lunch the next day).

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Horrible. 730 reservation, the chef still hadnt put my steak or the chicken on at 9 so we left. Server got everything wrong, handed us an empty soy sauce then gave us some thick stuff in place of that. They didnt charge us so that made it not completely aweful and at least they realize they messed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was awesome great hospitality and the chef julio was awesome as well me and my wife had a great time will be back real soon thanks

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very dirty slow service and food was poor with no flavor
I was shocked as I have visited Benihana before and enjoyed the experience this was not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.