Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Benihana - Coral Gables

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (29)
Family Style (26)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fun (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

our waiter was great and very kind and caring. the food was awesome. sit downstairs. better atmosphere. went for a special birthday of my daughter's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We love this restaurant it's a family favorite the kids favorite place to go they never say no . Everyone always leaves with a full belly and a big smile

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great time with my family. We were celebrating my girlfriends Birthday. There was a mishap with the food but they corrected it and remove it from are bill for the trouble. I would recommended it to any one looking for a place to take the family it really a great please.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We got there at 8:30 for reservations at 8:45. We didn't get a table until 9:05. We were not served until 10:00 and the waiter said they ran out of salad. We left around 10:30. It was a week day. Not on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food is great, server was awesome! Love rhe fact that they take reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Birthday great time

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It took an hour to get a chef to serve us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service is always OK, but it just takes forever to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Bday for my son. Took a while for chef to show up but waiter was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went here because Yelp said it was close to ZooMiami. It's not! And there were places closer we could have gone to. That said, this was a great choice. The kids loved it. The service is great and the food good too. Everyone sits around the teppanyaki grill and talks to each other so you meet new people. That said, I saw people staring at their "screens" ie iPads, smart phones, etc rather than talking to the people sitting with them or watching the chef chop the food, throw it in the air, etc. If you're not going to watch the chef, don't go to this restaurant. It's a show!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The servers were great and very attentive. I was never without a fresh drink or my girlfriend without a topped of Dr. Pepper.

The food was amazing. From the Filet Mignon and Chicken (Emporers Feast), to the fried rice and onion soup.

I believe the chef may have been new since it took a while after the salad for him to come out for the meal. Maybe his meal prep took a bit longer. I noticed also with table that sat way after us, their chef tended to cook multiple things at once, while ours cooked every item separately. Though this did not effect the taste of the meal in any way. It was top notch and worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awsome place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best Family restaurant

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had an awesome time! Wasn't our first time visiting Benihana's but we definitely weren't let down. Our server was very tentative to us, the whole restaurant was spotless (including the restroom) and our chef was very friendly! He knew the menu in and out, and made sure he met the demands of the whole table. We ere seated with a family that had two children under the age of 5, and they both behaved GREAT! The chef also made sure to cater to the needs of those who has Shrimp/Seafood allergies and asked prior to prepping anything. I had a great time, can't wait to visit again!

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We took our Granddaughters who were a bit more active than we would have liked. It turned out that we sat with another family with two girls so they didn't mind the activity. On top of that the mother was my granddaughter's summer camp counselor and she had a picture of her and her own daughter at camp together

A small world around a Benihana table

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Do not waist your time and money.
Terrible service.
Terrible food.
Do not go here.
You will remember this if you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:00 pm and the chef never showed up to our table until a little past 9:00 pm and only because I alerted the waitress serving us our drinks. It was carnival night in coral gables so they claimed they were very busy. Other than this mishap, all was great and the chef made our wait worth while. Food was very tasty and fresh. Will make it there again in the very near future!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Bday- Our cook was great except he cooked everything separately and by the time the main entree came I could not enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 3, 2017

In anticipation of a special milestone for our family, Benihana, Coral Gables delivered the service and food quality that has made it a staple for dinning through out the world. Our experience was forged by the personalized attention given to each member of my family, and guest cementing our celebration dinner in our memories for a life time. We look forward to the same level of quality upon our return visits.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have been going to Benihana for years and they have been very consistent. This time they had a very new chef cooking our food and the food had no taste. The steak was cut too big and we had to ask for knifes which you never need. Bad experience by giving us a chef tjat not ready.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great experience! Nice staff and delicious food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

WE HAVE BEEN HERE BEFORE AND LOVED IT. THIS LAST TIME, THE CHEF WAS NOT VERY ENTHUSIASTIC WHICH WAS A BIT DISSAPOINTING FOR MY KIDS, BUT OTHER THAN THAT, GREAT AS USUAL

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was great execpt for the part I was charged on my card a $61.56 Tip! My total was $39.42 gave the waiter $12 cash tip two days later I checked my bank account and showed $100.98!! Ridiculous!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

La comida muy buena, el servicio excelente, pero pasamos muchísimo frío. No se puede comer con el aire acondicionado a tope y, a pesar de que lo dijimos un par de veces, lo paraban un rato y volvía a encenderse. Muy incómodo! Una pena, porque de verdad que la comida vale la pena!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nelson was such a good cook. 10/10 recommend.
Nelson was a legend- not all heroes wear capes. NELSOOOOOOOOOOOOOON MY MAAAAN GOOD MAN GOOD BOY GOOD PERSON GOOD HUMAN. VICTOOOOOOOR SO GOOD TO US VERY CUTE VERY NICE LOVE THIS PLACEEEE- Carmen
10/10 Nelson is amazing. Should totally pursue a rapping career also very good music taste. Victor is real good too hope you enjoy the cake -marina
Amazing!!!! Service from my main mans Nelson and Victor!!!!!!! So good!!!! Love them <333333 -Alexia
I love you so muuuuuch !!! Nelson and victor are the best service a girl could ask for !!! Defo will come back to visit my main mans Nelson and victor. ( if you come here as for Nelson as a cook and victor as a waiter!) the quintessential example of a professional Benihana chef,Nelson, was a wonderful chef and he answered all or nagging questions. Also, Victor the waiter was really kind and charasmatic! Great service!!! Kings of Benihana!! Broke my scale -bella& fener

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I t was nice. I enjoyed the food and the drinks. However, I think the chef could have been a tad bit more interactive with the table. But over all it was a very nice experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Felt rushed and there was even a kid at the table celebrating his bday and the chef didn't do the usual Benihana tricks they always do. It was a slow Tuesday night and the food wasn't as good as it usually is either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love Benihanas, but this time the chef had no energy, no show at all. The food was good but needed a bit more seasoning. Plus the overall dinner took a little longer than usual. usually we are in for 1:30 to 1:45 but this time the entire dinner experience took 2:30 which is crazy. Thanks

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

When the Chef finished cooking and our four year old asked "what about the show?" we had to explain this was a new guy who didn't know tricks. It's not fun to just watch someone cook when you're expecting bells and whistles. We got the "substitute teacher." Is there a way to ensure a seasoned/entertaining chef at the table? We didn't even get the beating rice heart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dining out with my family at my son's Favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Took 45 min for the chef to even arrive at our table. Waiter disappeared most of meal. Really really bad service tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is our favorite place to celebrate birthdays! you get a family picture included for the special occasions. The food is wonderful, you will over eat, but well worth it. You start the diet back the next day :)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service and very expensive food and tips

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Felt like I was having dinner with Family. Great atmosphere & service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Birthday. Really good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Buen sitio y buen ambiente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.