Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Benihana - Coral Gables

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (35)
Special Occasion (31)
Fun (30)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Kid-friendly (26)
Family Style (17)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Father's Day with the grandchildren and the people that they live with.

Oscar puts on a great show - the volcano got a reaction from both the 2 yr old and 4 yr old - as well as the 30 plus crowd.

Consistency is Benihana's strong point , you always can depend on portion size and taste.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience was absolutely horrible! Our table had no ventilation and half of our table guests were getting burned in the face. These guests left the table with blood shot eyes and had to sit at the table with their napkin in front of their faces. This was suppose to be a celebration for my husband and this night turned out to be horrible. When management was informed. We were shrugged off and over heard them say that they aren't doing anything about it and that we would have to deal with it. This is not the experience I came to experience! This night was ruined! To top it all off, management permitted a dog to run around the restarurant and sit in the owners lap at the table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Benihana scores high in family friendly. They are i would say the best restaurant in Coral Gables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our chef Luis was amazing. Very friendly and funny. Made us feel welcome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Server took almost 30 minutes to bring change, 15% tip is enough for the quality of service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Benihana's has been the place where my family and I spend every special occasion and birthday - for years. In the past, the service, food, and entertainment has always been very good, sometimes great. We were celebrating my son's return from the US Marine Corps before he deploys (this is his favorite place to eat) and it was disappointing. The service was slow and inexperienced (for a Saturday night) - from the hostesses to the server; the food was mediocre; the chef appeared to be having a bad day - no entertainment - no smile. We were six (some fairly large people) and they, of course, had to fill the table with 8, leaving no room to move your arms to eat because we were squished together. I know the idea (in business) is to seat as many as you can but when the situation clearly shows there is not enough room, they should place the extra 2 people at another table. We pay a lot of money for the food and service and in my opinion (and that of my guests), Comfort, Quality, and Good Service were compromised this time. We love Benihana's but the last few times (and this one in particular) have left us with the possibility of taking our special occasions elsewhere. The service - from Hostess to Server to Chef needs to be looked at in an effort to bring this restaurant back to Benihana's standards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Making a reservation on line was very easy, and valet parking was conveniently located right in front. Our dinner was excellent, with good and friendly staff, excellent food, and a good value all around.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Really nice dinner . My husband and I had a great time there .

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love to be there,excelente service and fantastic show.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It's a chain restaurant, menu and food never changes, but the overall experience of this location was great.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Los cocineros tienen que repartir equitativamente la comida. Porque a sus conocidos les sirven porciones más grandes, quitándole a los platos de las demás personas.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated at the time of the reservation. Service and food were excellent. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection. It melted in my mouth. Deliciousness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The restaurant could use better equipment to their chefs specially the cook tops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

As usual, very good service as well with excellent food and an enjoyable atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

our waiter was great and very kind and caring. the food was awesome. sit downstairs. better atmosphere. went for a special birthday of my daughter's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Favorite restaurant to go to.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We love this restaurant it's a family favorite the kids favorite place to go they never say no . Everyone always leaves with a full belly and a big smile

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great time with my family. We were celebrating my girlfriends Birthday. There was a mishap with the food but they corrected it and remove it from are bill for the trouble. I would recommended it to any one looking for a place to take the family it really a great please.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was very good and the steaks were very tender. We enjoyed our cook, he did a very good job cooking and entertaining the table with his cooking style. The only negative I have is that this location feels a bit tight on space, has too many tables in close proximity. The second floor area feels like they put you in time out we requested to be moved to the main floor. Overall we had a very good time and the food was yummy. I would recommend going to a different Benihana for better ambiance. Been to other Benihana's that were a lot nicer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We got there at 8:30 for reservations at 8:45. We didn't get a table until 9:05. We were not served until 10:00 and the waiter said they ran out of salad. We left around 10:30. It was a week day. Not on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food is great, server was awesome! Love rhe fact that they take reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Birthday great time

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It took an hour to get a chef to serve us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service is always OK, but it just takes forever to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Bday for my son. Took a while for chef to show up but waiter was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Went here because Yelp said it was close to ZooMiami. It's not! And there were places closer we could have gone to. That said, this was a great choice. The kids loved it. The service is great and the food good too. Everyone sits around the teppanyaki grill and talks to each other so you meet new people. That said, I saw people staring at their "screens" ie iPads, smart phones, etc rather than talking to the people sitting with them or watching the chef chop the food, throw it in the air, etc. If you're not going to watch the chef, don't go to this restaurant. It's a show!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The servers were great and very attentive. I was never without a fresh drink or my girlfriend without a topped of Dr. Pepper.

The food was amazing. From the Filet Mignon and Chicken (Emporers Feast), to the fried rice and onion soup.

I believe the chef may have been new since it took a while after the salad for him to come out for the meal. Maybe his meal prep took a bit longer. I noticed also with table that sat way after us, their chef tended to cook multiple things at once, while ours cooked every item separately. Though this did not effect the taste of the meal in any way. It was top notch and worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awsome place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best Family restaurant

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had an awesome time! Wasn't our first time visiting Benihana's but we definitely weren't let down. Our server was very tentative to us, the whole restaurant was spotless (including the restroom) and our chef was very friendly! He knew the menu in and out, and made sure he met the demands of the whole table. We ere seated with a family that had two children under the age of 5, and they both behaved GREAT! The chef also made sure to cater to the needs of those who has Shrimp/Seafood allergies and asked prior to prepping anything. I had a great time, can't wait to visit again!

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We took our Granddaughters who were a bit more active than we would have liked. It turned out that we sat with another family with two girls so they didn't mind the activity. On top of that the mother was my granddaughter's summer camp counselor and she had a picture of her and her own daughter at camp together

A small world around a Benihana table

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Do not waist your time and money.
Terrible service.
Terrible food.
Do not go here.
You will remember this if you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:00 pm and the chef never showed up to our table until a little past 9:00 pm and only because I alerted the waitress serving us our drinks. It was carnival night in coral gables so they claimed they were very busy. Other than this mishap, all was great and the chef made our wait worth while. Food was very tasty and fresh. Will make it there again in the very near future!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Bday- Our cook was great except he cooked everything separately and by the time the main entree came I could not enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 3, 2017

In anticipation of a special milestone for our family, Benihana, Coral Gables delivered the service and food quality that has made it a staple for dinning through out the world. Our experience was forged by the personalized attention given to each member of my family, and guest cementing our celebration dinner in our memories for a life time. We look forward to the same level of quality upon our return visits.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have been going to Benihana for years and they have been very consistent. This time they had a very new chef cooking our food and the food had no taste. The steak was cut too big and we had to ask for knifes which you never need. Bad experience by giving us a chef tjat not ready.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great experience! Nice staff and delicious food!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

WE HAVE BEEN HERE BEFORE AND LOVED IT. THIS LAST TIME, THE CHEF WAS NOT VERY ENTHUSIASTIC WHICH WAS A BIT DISSAPOINTING FOR MY KIDS, BUT OTHER THAN THAT, GREAT AS USUAL

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.