Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Benihana - Coral Gables

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Fun (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for a Date (10)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was great, server was attentive to our needs. My only "complaint" is that usually at Benihana the chef puts on a fun show and makes goofy jokes. There was no show or jokes at our table this time around. But other than that, just as I hoped it would be.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We always return to Benihana Coral Gables, Service and Food are great. We are always treated wonderfully. Would recommend highly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Emily was - by far - the most incredible server I've ever had at Benihana. She was all about customer CARE, not just customer service. Kind, approachable, anticipated our needs and so friendly. She's a good one! Thanks Emily!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Good Japanese steakhouse. There are none in south beach, so it's great to have one pretty close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent service and Chef Darniel was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

They where very busy & short in employees .
But the manage to do everything fine

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

An excellent dinner as always, we were seated promptly with a nice family, and the service was fast, friendly and accurate. The chef was excellent as well, and dinner was a pleasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

great value always come home with leftover package. Great place for birthdays, friends get together, meal is always fresh and prepared right in front of you for that extra entertainment.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Visited around 2.30pm on a Thursday afternoon and our party was 2 adults and 5 kids 6-10 years old. The restaurant was quiet and ideal for the kids, and adults, to experience the chef cooking right in front of us. The Chef was friendly and made cooking the food into an entertaining show. The kids loved it, so did the adults. The food was good with simple options for children. Overall a good, fun dining experience with a little extra excitement.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a great time. the food was excellent. the chef Lazaro was super kind, and friendly, the environment is very good . I would recommend this restaurant to everybody.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Make sure you give your self an extra 30 min to find parking, since the mile is currently under construction it took some time. I showed up 20 min late thank goodness they honored my reservation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My children love it! The food is always delicious and the entertainment is great. We have been to this location several times and will continue to go back, unfortunately this time our waiter was not attentive at all. I let the management know before we left.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was less than desirable, food was okay. The final price for the meal is not worth what you are paying for. I would much rather go to rusty pelican better food and better view for the same price. We ended up paying about 50 per person for a simple fried rice with chicken and shrimp.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Can't go wrong with Benihana. It's always been my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

They nickel and dime you to death! We're going to Samurai next time!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Chef Darinel was entertaining and all the food was perfectly prepared and seasoned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day with the grandchildren and the people that they live with.

Oscar puts on a great show - the volcano got a reaction from both the 2 yr old and 4 yr old - as well as the 30 plus crowd.

Consistency is Benihana's strong point , you always can depend on portion size and taste.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our experience was absolutely horrible! Our table had no ventilation and half of our table guests were getting burned in the face. These guests left the table with blood shot eyes and had to sit at the table with their napkin in front of their faces. This was suppose to be a celebration for my husband and this night turned out to be horrible. When management was informed. We were shrugged off and over heard them say that they aren't doing anything about it and that we would have to deal with it. This is not the experience I came to experience! This night was ruined! To top it all off, management permitted a dog to run around the restarurant and sit in the owners lap at the table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great experience for my friends 21st birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 2, 2017

First time there but not last, for sure. The staff is very friendly, kind and professional. The ambient is excellent and the place is very, very clean. Food amazing, prepared right in front of you. Excellence in service. Thanks to our waiter and to Jose V., our chef. My family and i haved an beautiful night. Thanks.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Benihana scores high in family friendly. They are i would say the best restaurant in Coral Gables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our chef Luis was amazing. Very friendly and funny. Made us feel welcome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Server took almost 30 minutes to bring change, 15% tip is enough for the quality of service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Benihana's has been the place where my family and I spend every special occasion and birthday - for years. In the past, the service, food, and entertainment has always been very good, sometimes great. We were celebrating my son's return from the US Marine Corps before he deploys (this is his favorite place to eat) and it was disappointing. The service was slow and inexperienced (for a Saturday night) - from the hostesses to the server; the food was mediocre; the chef appeared to be having a bad day - no entertainment - no smile. We were six (some fairly large people) and they, of course, had to fill the table with 8, leaving no room to move your arms to eat because we were squished together. I know the idea (in business) is to seat as many as you can but when the situation clearly shows there is not enough room, they should place the extra 2 people at another table. We pay a lot of money for the food and service and in my opinion (and that of my guests), Comfort, Quality, and Good Service were compromised this time. We love Benihana's but the last few times (and this one in particular) have left us with the possibility of taking our special occasions elsewhere. The service - from Hostess to Server to Chef needs to be looked at in an effort to bring this restaurant back to Benihana's standards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Making a reservation on line was very easy, and valet parking was conveniently located right in front. Our dinner was excellent, with good and friendly staff, excellent food, and a good value all around.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Really nice dinner . My husband and I had a great time there .

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love to be there,excelente service and fantastic show.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It's a chain restaurant, menu and food never changes, but the overall experience of this location was great.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Los cocineros tienen que repartir equitativamente la comida. Porque a sus conocidos les sirven porciones más grandes, quitándole a los platos de las demás personas.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Romantic, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were seated at the time of the reservation. Service and food were excellent. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection. It melted in my mouth. Deliciousness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant could use better equipment to their chefs specially the cook tops

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

As usual, very good service as well with excellent food and an enjoyable atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

our waiter was great and very kind and caring. the food was awesome. sit downstairs. better atmosphere. went for a special birthday of my daughter's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Favorite restaurant to go to.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We love this restaurant it's a family favorite the kids favorite place to go they never say no . Everyone always leaves with a full belly and a big smile

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great time with my family. We were celebrating my girlfriends Birthday. There was a mishap with the food but they corrected it and remove it from are bill for the trouble. I would recommended it to any one looking for a place to take the family it really a great please.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was very good and the steaks were very tender. We enjoyed our cook, he did a very good job cooking and entertaining the table with his cooking style. The only negative I have is that this location feels a bit tight on space, has too many tables in close proximity. The second floor area feels like they put you in time out we requested to be moved to the main floor. Overall we had a very good time and the food was yummy. I would recommend going to a different Benihana for better ambiance. Been to other Benihana's that were a lot nicer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We got there at 8:30 for reservations at 8:45. We didn't get a table until 9:05. We were not served until 10:00 and the waiter said they ran out of salad. We left around 10:30. It was a week day. Not on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food is great, server was awesome! Love rhe fact that they take reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Birthday great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.