About Benihana - Coral Gables

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-coral Gables - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
California Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Chef Trick - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Sushi - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Trio - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Chicken Yakisoba - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Calamari Tempura - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Dragon - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Las Vegas Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Sauteed Shrimp - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Sumo Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Soup - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Gotham Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Caterpiller Roll - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Fried Rice - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Grilled Chicken - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Grilled Steak - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Steaming Onion - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL
Fried Rice Heart - Benihana - Coral Gables, Coral Gables, FL

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Family Style (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter was great but the food was salty ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Waiter was great but the food was salty and. Rich with butter.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

our chef was so great and friendly. our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

our chef was so great and friendly. our waitress was awesome. this is the 2nd time that we had her. Benihana is always entertaining for the kids. will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter and cook were very nice. Unfortun ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waiter and cook were very nice. Unfortunately the cook took too long cooking, overcooked the chicken and steak. The chicken was dry and had no flavor, he missed some of the seasonings. Steak was hard and too much teriyaki sauce.

Honestly I was not satisfied with the food at all. :-( I've been there in difference occasions and had a better experience.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

It was wonderful as usual. Making reserv ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It was wonderful as usual. Making reservations on open table gives us a great advantage when we arrive we are always seated immediately-no waiting. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had fun. It was for my birthday. Lorenzo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had fun. It was for my birthday. Lorenzo our chef was funny and did a great job. The waiter was nice also.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You can get one of the cozy booths by th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

You can get one of the cozy booths by the bar for a more secluded meal or sit around the hibachi in a group for an interactive dining experience. You can tailor it to meet your mood. We enjoyed the seafood dishes more than the others. It was freshly made and delicious. The wait staff attending us accommodated our requests without hesitation and made the evening enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My kids enjoy the show

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My kids enjoy the show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

No hot tea ever offered. Food prep took ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

No hot tea ever offered. Food prep took too long and the first served food cooled quickly. Meats were chopped into micro pieces losing all their essence. Had to ask for spoons for the children to use. Birthday celebration was mediocre when only two staff attended to sing happy birthday, as contrasted to a nearby table having six or more loudly singing staff. This was obvious to our child sharing her birthday, who asked me why we did not have all those staff singers at our table! Also, the birthday ice cream desert was hardly sufficient for nine people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was great our cook Carlos was v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great our cook Carlos was very professional and attentive to all our needs. The waitress was a delight. My fruit punch bowl was very fruity and filling. I could not eat all my food so I took it for lunch the next day. It was my birthday lunch/dinner so after we ate they gave me vanilla ice cream. I give it a 5 star restaurant!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent quality and great tasting foo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Consistent quality and great tasting food. Always enjoy dining here with family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. I have been to mak ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent experience. I have been to make similar venues but this was the best. The food quality was awesome and the cook used very little butter. Usually they slab on tons of butter but not here. I had the filet and chicken and the quality was very good. Definitely worth a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. We were also im ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a wonderful time. We were also impressed with the teamwork amongest the Servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are Benihana regulars. Celebrating bi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We are Benihana regulars. Celebrating birthdays and anniversaries has been a family tradition for over 20 years.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a great night! I ha a g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great place for a great night! I ha a great time. The serve and cook were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but we had to wait 15 ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good but we had to wait 15 min for our table because the server hadn't arrived and was late for work. Although we were a large party and asked to be seated to at least order sushi, they were unable to accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Granddaughter's fourth birthday was ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our Granddaughter's fourth birthday was the occasion - the "show" entertains both the kids and adults. Variety on the menu is perfect for all generations of the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOR MY 5 YEAR OLD'S BDAY! OUR CHEF ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 21, 2016

GREAT FOR MY 5 YEAR OLD'S BDAY! OUR CHEF WAS SO KIND AND FUN AND CARED! THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS! OUR WAITRESS WAS SO SWEET, KIND AND PROFESSIONAL!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a birthday this weekend at ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday this weekend at the Coral Gables location and had a good dining experience. The birthday girl was very pleased with attention the restaurant provided and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I guess we got a new chef. He didn't spe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I guess we got a new chef. He didn't speak English or was able to prepare the meal by gluten free standards and the waiter was helping him cook. No show either- No shrimp in the hat. No volcano. No egg roll. No beating heart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food is very good, the steak was ten ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is very good, the steak was tender and tasty. The chef was entertaining and efficient.

It's noisy and there is no privacy for small groups. There were kids running around which was unsafe and the parents were loud. If you have a group of five or six it's a fun place. Not for couples.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good experience!My daughter lov ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a good experience!My daughter loved the show and the food was good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been dining at Benihana for 27 ye ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been dining at Benihana for 27 years, and this experience was the worst. Service was poor. Food was mediocre. I was not served any shrimp until after everyone else at the table was done with their meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Benihana always delivers, albeit they di ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Benihana always delivers, albeit they didn't have any of the wine selections we asked for in stock. Wish the experience was more authentic but the service was good, particularly the friendly staff like Alex at the reservations area. Friendly & professional service makes all the difference!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like so much . I will recomend . I lov ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I like so much . I will recomend . I love everything of the dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its a best place for kids!!!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Its a best place for kids!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cedrick is awesome! And a great chef!! W ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Cedrick is awesome! And a great chef!! We had a great time for my nephew's 13th Bday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Benihana for my wife birthday ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Benihana for my wife birthday. The four was great and not too expensive. The waiter was great, the chief was was good. We enjoyed the trip to benihana very much. I would recommend people to visit you, they will find a warm and romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome, great place to enjoy. food is g ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2016

awesome, great place to enjoy. food is great and chefs are very friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE,COURTESY OF THE SERVER, TIME OF ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2016

SERVICE,COURTESY OF THE SERVER, TIME OF THE COOKER EX[LAINING, I AM GLAD HE DIDN'T LOOSE ANY FINGER

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and still waited ove ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had reservations and still waited over an hour before we started our soup for the meal. While I was video taping my son as they sang Happy Birthday to my child, the manager put her arm in front of my camera three times to clear the table (which was not done before); so, I could only see an arm instead of my child and the reaction of my child while they were singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We celebrated Father's Day a week early. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated Father's Day a week early. Pick Benihana in Coral Gables for this occasion.

The service was great, the food was great, and as always we enjoyed the show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The family tradition of celebrating birt ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The family tradition of celebrating birthdays at Benihana for over 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was fun. A little too loud. But overa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was fun. A little too loud. But overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Definitely a treat!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was great and so were the drinks. We had a baby and a toddler with our party and they both had a lot of fun too! And all of this without mentioning the cooking show!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

not the same a many previous visits. the ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2016

not the same a many previous visits. the chef was not very into the cooking this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Always a great time.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice romantic evening

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Went for birthday celebration and they went out of their way to celebrate the occasion

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was horrible. We sat down at ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was horrible. We sat down at a table 1st one on the right. We were the first to arive the server strolls over and asks what would we like to drink and order. No hello, no how are you, no smile, no nothing. After that it just went down hill. She hardly came over, I had to ask the cook for a new drink. And when she did she was so unpleasant that it just made things worse. There were three business men in front of us I guess they said a joke and she obviously wasn't in any joking mood so she was livid the rest of the time we were there. Like why do we have to pay for his poor judgement. I spoke with the manager and she had already alerted him of the situation to which my question was if she felt that uncomfortable where she can't even be polite to the rest of the table then why didn't you change the server. At one point she even came over and yelled at the guy the whole table was stunned. She was completely unprofessional and just made my experience horrible. I've been in the industry for over 10 years and I understand we all have bad days; but this was just horrible! Probably won't be back at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waitress was extraordinary, very att ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress was extraordinary, very attentive to our needs and requests. The cook was excellent and the kids enjoyed his cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a Great Time . Like always never ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a Great Time . Like always never fails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.