About Benihana - Coral Gables

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

good for groups (33)
special occasion (30)
kid-friendly (29)
See All
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
romantic (7)
fit for foodies (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely a treat!

Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious, the service was great and so were the drinks. We had a baby and a toddler with our party and they both had a lot of fun too! And all of this without mentioning the cooking show!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

not the same a many previous visits. the ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

not the same a many previous visits. the chef was not very into the cooking this time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice romantic evening

Dined on May 12, 2016

Went for birthday celebration and they went out of their way to celebrate the occasion

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was horrible. We sat down at ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was horrible. We sat down at a table 1st one on the right. We were the first to arive the server strolls over and asks what would we like to drink and order. No hello, no how are you, no smile, no nothing. After that it just went down hill. She hardly came over, I had to ask the cook for a new drink. And when she did she was so unpleasant that it just made things worse. There were three business men in front of us I guess they said a joke and she obviously wasn't in any joking mood so she was livid the rest of the time we were there. Like why do we have to pay for his poor judgement. I spoke with the manager and she had already alerted him of the situation to which my question was if she felt that uncomfortable where she can't even be polite to the rest of the table then why didn't you change the server. At one point she even came over and yelled at the guy the whole table was stunned. She was completely unprofessional and just made my experience horrible. I've been in the industry for over 10 years and I understand we all have bad days; but this was just horrible! Probably won't be back at this location.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was extraordinary, very att ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress was extraordinary, very attentive to our needs and requests. The cook was excellent and the kids enjoyed his cooking.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a Great Time . Like always never ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a Great Time . Like always never fails

food5
ambience5
service5

I'm an long time fan of Benihana. This l ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I'm an long time fan of Benihana. This location is one of the better ones. I enjoyed my experience as always. Food, s

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fun

Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server, Zunilda, was fantastic. We never had to want for anything. Not even drink refills. Gave us pictures since it was a special occasion. I would certainly return! Great fun!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner as always!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a great dinner as always!

food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent night with the family ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Another excellent night with the family at Benihana.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Always good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was all good and you get plenty of food for the money you spend. Entertaining and good for a group of about 8 or fewer.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I went to Benihana to celebrate 3 birthd ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I went to Benihana to celebrate 3 birthday's spend $400.00 and the only thing that I was satisfied was with the outstanding service that our server provided. Not happy at all with the chef. His mood elevator was in the floor and when he served the food he was throwing it in the plate. I was really looking for great evening but it was actually very disappointing one

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Lunch

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was incredible. The staff was very nice. Great place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was very good, the cook was a bit d ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was very good, the cook was a bit dry and quiet.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I had reservation and still has to wait

Dined on February 21, 2016

I did get there 8mins late however it was do to parking which is horrible! I had to park two blocks down. And get inside I was told it wait 15mins they are waiting on tables to be cleaned which is understandable. 15 go by and nothing 30 mins go by still waiting then 45 later we were able to get our table. The food was okay a bit pricey but okay. Are drinks were watered down had to ask for them two times..

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of a kind experience!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I came to Benihana's to celebrate a late Valentine's Day. We made reservations and we were seated once we arrived. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our chef, Felix, was amazing! Super entertaining. He spoke to us about his journey as a chef and how he was trained in the restaurant by one of the other chefs. Our waitress and chef were extremely helpful to the rest the rest of the table who were first time visitors! They were happy to answer all the questions they had! We will return again ... and again! :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Perfect place f ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and service. Perfect place for birthdays and large parties.

food5
ambience5
service2

Last week, my coworkers and I went to Be ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Last week, my coworkers and I went to Benihana. I was very excited for my visit, seeing as I love teppanyaki places and I had never been to Benihana. Overall, the food was wonderful and I enjoyed my time there. It was very sweet of them to take photos of us four girls and give each of us a free photo. However, what wasn't nice was the service. It was jampacked and it took forever for us to get our tea, ice cream, and check. Regardless, I would go again, just probably not on a Friday night in the midst of rush hour.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food !!! For sure would go back

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food !!! For sure would go back

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Valentines Day Waste of Money

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was jam packed into an upstairs table which was under an air vent and everyone was absolutely freezing. There was hardly no space for the waiters to walk back and forth behind me so they kept banging my purse which was on the arm of the chair (nowhere else to put it) every time they passed. The waiter took forever to get the drinks and didn't refill the sodas and water until after we ate. The cook was not personable and sloppy, dropping sauce and food because he was trying to be too fast. Plus, it's my first Valentines Day with my boyfriend so I was expecting the usual Benihana picture for memory but we weren't offered any pictures and pretty much were being rushed out after dinner. NOT EVER GOING BACK TO THIS BENIHANA LOCATION!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

It was simply perfect...quite delicious!

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

It was simply perfect...quite delicious!

food5
ambience4
service5

Always wonderful. Went on a rainy Monday ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

Always wonderful. Went on a rainy Monday night and had a quiet dinner

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

need. to training. more the waitress

Dined on January 30, 2016

Chefs. and food very good. but the waitress. allways disappear. and is was hard to find. him Until. we call one of the manager. They need. to training. more

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect for screaming children

Dined on January 30, 2016

On a weekend, I had reservations for 8 p.m., but was told there was going to be at least a 30+ minute wait. The waiting area was full of people without reservations who were being told it was going to be several hours. Across from the hostess station there were small children jumping on chairs and throwing french fries on the floor. Luckily, this wasn't a first date. I saw several women walk in, look at the surroundings, and then walk directly out.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food

Dined on January 27, 2016

Food was good, sitting in groups not good, specially when the group next to you are loud, benihana is a restaurant , not a cheap trucker bar.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Hibachi food

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Hibachi food was really good, very affordable, and great quality. Also nice options on Sake. Very happy, great service

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very Disappointing....

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Waited almost an hour at the grill table to be served. The cook was not very friendly maybe because was new year's eve and he wanted to be some other place else....The food has a very "standard " taste. Nothing that you'd eat in any other place with a grill...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on December 28, 2015

I love the show that the chef put on for my family and the food was great a very nice experience I had

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Christmas Eve! !

Dined on December 25, 2015

Everything went well. .Good Service and delicious food. .I truly will recommend Benihana Restaurant to our friends and family. Our server's name was Victor and he does his job very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service2

Good food, especially fried rice. Servi ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Good food, especially fried rice. Service not great - chef was disrespectful and finished the dinner by yawning to show that he was tired of working. Good was delayed by about 40 minutes. We were very hungry.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner and fun. All toghether!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Place to go with lots of people, as each table is for 8 people! Lots of fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the restaurant. Food is always f ...

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

We love the restaurant. Food is always fresh as they cook it in front of you. Chefs are great and compliant to your requests. Service is prompt and pleasant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great experience!

Dined on November 30, 2015

Benihana is always a great experience! Service is fantastic and the cook very entertaining. Food was very good. We celebrated our anniversary. Benihana served us free ice cream with a song :). That was very nice!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2

Salty Food

Dined on November 29, 2015

The food was very salty,overpriced, and not well prepared. The Tofu was too wet and lacking flavor. Samurai is much better. Will not return to this restaurant again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Our kids love it.

Dined on November 21, 2015

The food is fresh and cooked to order. Very kid friendly. Our chef this visit was the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Fun for kids

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

Fun for kids

food5
ambience5
service5

The best service I have had in a long ti ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

The best service I have had in a long time, never had to ask for a refill or wait for attention. It was a busy Friday night in the heart of coral gables but the service was outstanding and able to keep up with the demand

food2
ambience2
service1

Horrible service

Dined on October 29, 2015

I do not know if it was a terrible experience because it was after 9:30 pm, but it was a mess. It was my boyfriend's birthday and I made a reservation online for 9 pm. However, they kept me waiting (with a few other people who were also angry for the long wait) for more than 30 min. I thought that the point of making a reservation was the promise of being seated at the time you reserved. On top of that, we had to call the waiter to get or bowls for the rice, he did not came back to the table to ask how was everything, I had to get another waiter to get my check and, finally, I had to go to the cashier due to my waiter was everywhere but at his table. Thanks god, I found a wonderful tea place on the corner that was wonderful.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.