About Benihana - Coral Gables

242 Miracle Mile
Coral Gables, FL 33134
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ponce De Leon

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 567-2000

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/coralgables-fl-gb

Parking Details:
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining. Book your next event for 20 to 42 guests in our upstairs group dining area. Check our website or call for more information.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Benihana - Coral Gables
Chicken Yakisoba
Calamari Tempura
Dragon
Las Vegas Roll
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Sauteed Shrimp
Sumo Roll
Soup
Gotham Roll
Caterpiller Roll
Fried Rice
Grilled Chicken
Grilled Steak
Steaming Onion
Fried Rice Heart

Benihana - Coral Gables Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Coral Gables / Coral Way ›

Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for a great night! I ha a g ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great place for a great night! I ha a great time. The serve and cook were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but we had to wait 15 ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good but we had to wait 15 min for our table because the server hadn't arrived and was late for work. Although we were a large party and asked to be seated to at least order sushi, they were unable to accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

GREAT FOR MY 5 YEAR OLD'S BDAY! OUR CHEF ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

GREAT FOR MY 5 YEAR OLD'S BDAY! OUR CHEF WAS SO KIND AND FUN AND CARED! THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS! OUR WAITRESS WAS SO SWEET, KIND AND PROFESSIONAL!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a birthday this weekend at ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday this weekend at the Coral Gables location and had a good dining experience. The birthday girl was very pleased with attention the restaurant provided and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I guess we got a new chef. He didn't spe ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I guess we got a new chef. He didn't speak English or was able to prepare the meal by gluten free standards and the waiter was helping him cook. No show either- No shrimp in the hat. No volcano. No egg roll. No beating heart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food is very good, the steak was ten ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is very good, the steak was tender and tasty. The chef was entertaining and efficient.

It's noisy and there is no privacy for small groups. There were kids running around which was unsafe and the parents were loud. If you have a group of five or six it's a fun place. Not for couples.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good experience!My daughter lov ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a good experience!My daughter loved the show and the food was good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been dining at Benihana for 27 ye ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been dining at Benihana for 27 years, and this experience was the worst. Service was poor. Food was mediocre. I was not served any shrimp until after everyone else at the table was done with their meals.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Benihana always delivers, albeit they di ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Benihana always delivers, albeit they didn't have any of the wine selections we asked for in stock. Wish the experience was more authentic but the service was good, particularly the friendly staff like Alex at the reservations area. Friendly & professional service makes all the difference!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I like so much . I will recomend . I lov ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I like so much . I will recomend . I love everything of the dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its a best place for kids!!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Its a best place for kids!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cedrick is awesome! And a great chef!! W ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Cedrick is awesome! And a great chef!! We had a great time for my nephew's 13th Bday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Benihana for my wife birthday ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Benihana for my wife birthday. The four was great and not too expensive. The waiter was great, the chief was was good. We enjoyed the trip to benihana very much. I would recommend people to visit you, they will find a warm and romantic evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome, great place to enjoy. food is g ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

awesome, great place to enjoy. food is great and chefs are very friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE,COURTESY OF THE SERVER, TIME OF ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

SERVICE,COURTESY OF THE SERVER, TIME OF THE COOKER EX[LAINING, I AM GLAD HE DIDN'T LOOSE ANY FINGER

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and still waited ove ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had reservations and still waited over an hour before we started our soup for the meal. While I was video taping my son as they sang Happy Birthday to my child, the manager put her arm in front of my camera three times to clear the table (which was not done before); so, I could only see an arm instead of my child and the reaction of my child while they were singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We celebrated Father's Day a week early. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated Father's Day a week early. Pick Benihana in Coral Gables for this occasion.

The service was great, the food was great, and as always we enjoyed the show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The family tradition of celebrating birt ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The family tradition of celebrating birthdays at Benihana for over 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was fun. A little too loud. But overa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was fun. A little too loud. But overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Definitely a treat!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was great and so were the drinks. We had a baby and a toddler with our party and they both had a lot of fun too! And all of this without mentioning the cooking show!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

not the same a many previous visits. the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

not the same a many previous visits. the chef was not very into the cooking this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Always a great time.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice romantic evening

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Went for birthday celebration and they went out of their way to celebrate the occasion

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was horrible. We sat down at ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was horrible. We sat down at a table 1st one on the right. We were the first to arive the server strolls over and asks what would we like to drink and order. No hello, no how are you, no smile, no nothing. After that it just went down hill. She hardly came over, I had to ask the cook for a new drink. And when she did she was so unpleasant that it just made things worse. There were three business men in front of us I guess they said a joke and she obviously wasn't in any joking mood so she was livid the rest of the time we were there. Like why do we have to pay for his poor judgement. I spoke with the manager and she had already alerted him of the situation to which my question was if she felt that uncomfortable where she can't even be polite to the rest of the table then why didn't you change the server. At one point she even came over and yelled at the guy the whole table was stunned. She was completely unprofessional and just made my experience horrible. I've been in the industry for over 10 years and I understand we all have bad days; but this was just horrible! Probably won't be back at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waitress was extraordinary, very att ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress was extraordinary, very attentive to our needs and requests. The cook was excellent and the kids enjoyed his cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a Great Time . Like always never ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a Great Time . Like always never fails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm an long time fan of Benihana. This l ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I'm an long time fan of Benihana. This location is one of the better ones. I enjoyed my experience as always. Food, s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fun

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our server, Zunilda, was fantastic. We never had to want for anything. Not even drink refills.

Gave us pictures since it was a special occasion. I would certainly return! Great fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner as always!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a great dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent night with the family ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Another excellent night with the family at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was all good and you get plenty of food for the money you spend. Entertaining and good for a group of about 8 or fewer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Benihana to celebrate 3 birthd ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I went to Benihana to celebrate 3 birthday's spend $400.00 and the only thing that I was satisfied was with the outstanding service that our server provided. Not happy at all with the chef. His mood elevator was in the floor and when he served the food he was throwing it in the plate. I was really looking for great evening but it was actually very disappointing one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Delicious Lunch

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was incredible. The staff was very nice. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, the cook was a bit d ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was very good, the cook was a bit dry and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I had reservation and still has to wait

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I did get there 8mins late however it was do to parking which is horrible! I had to park two blocks down. And get inside I was told it wait 15mins they are waiting on tables to be cleaned which is understandable. 15 go by and nothing 30 mins go by still waiting then 45 later we were able to get our table. The food was okay a bit pricey but okay. Are drinks were watered down had to ask for them two times..

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

One of a kind experience!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I came to Benihana's to celebrate a late Valentine's Day. We made reservations and we were seated once we arrived. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our chef, Felix, was amazing! Super entertaining. He spoke to us about his journey as a chef and how he was trained in the restaurant by one of the other chefs. Our waitress and chef were extremely helpful to the rest the rest of the table who were first time visitors! They were happy to answer all the questions they had! We will return again ... and again! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Perfect place f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and service. Perfect place for birthdays and large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last week, my coworkers and I went to Be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Last week, my coworkers and I went to Benihana. I was very excited for my visit, seeing as I love teppanyaki places and I had never been to Benihana. Overall, the food was wonderful and I enjoyed my time there. It was very sweet of them to take photos of us four girls and give each of us a free photo. However, what wasn't nice was the service. It was jampacked and it took forever for us to get our tea, ice cream, and check. Regardless, I would go again, just probably not on a Friday night in the midst of rush hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great food !!! For sure would go back

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food !!! For sure would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.