Benihana - Coral Gables

4.6
496 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
  • Fun
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(305) 567-2000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Benihana Coral Gables is located on Miracle Mile in beautiful Downtown Coral Gables, within walking distance of the hottest shops and the lively culture of Coral Gables. We are also five miles from Brickell, and less than four miles from the University of Miami.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Han Vuong: (877) 672-8218
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ponce De Leon
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Benihana now validates our guests’ green parking ticket for up to 2 hours from the City Municipal Parking garage #1 located right behind the restaurant.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 496 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

It was an early dinner. No waiting and quiet until rush hour. Food and service were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I love the food, so delicious and the service excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Always a great dining experience. Great food and a fun cooking show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Excellent!! The colossal shrimp were outstanding. Better vegetables good salad a good service!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Our reservation was for 8:30pm however we had to wait for the rest of our party who was running a behind due to being lost. They arrived 10 minutes after our scheduled and the hostess said that it would be a minute before we were seated. It was admired 30 minutes until we were seated. everything following was very mediocre. They didn’t bring out the white and brown steamed rice that half of my party asked for. We had to ask for silverware as they didn’t provide automatically. The bill was $181.33 prior to tip for a party of 5. What did I just pay for? Won’t be returning.

The only thing nice about this restaurant is it’s location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great Chef display and food! Drinks came late was the only issue in an otherwise fantastic experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This location is very good, although we used to enjoy the gardens and bay views at the Miami Beach location. Unfortunately, that location has changed for the worse in the past few years. No one in our group dines there anymore because of the decline in customer service, as well as food quality and even the chefs. The last time we were there, our chef walked away and left our food on the grill for almost 20 minutes. Our food was not even worth taking home, as it was dry and very overcooked. We even noticed the chef at the table next to ours, tell him he could not just take off like that. It's such a shame, but we're lucky to have the Coral Gables location. No complaints here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This place needs some serious remodeling. It looks really old and whipped inside. Staff also looked like they would rather be any place but there. Very dark and dim inside and for a restaurant in Coral Gables you would think they would keep it up. Our Birthday celebration for 4 with drinks & tip was over $300.00. Really not worth the money. We should have spent the $300. at Ruth Christ and gotten a whole Filet Mignon Steak instead of some watery bowl of soup with a few floating mushrooms in it that tasted like dishwater. We also had a few pieces of bite size steak and a small bowl of tasteless rice for $39.00. Dessert was a melted scoop of vanilla ice cream. About four restaurant staff showed up with the same sad enthusiasm to sing happy birthday. Dinner and experience was very disappointing. Would not recommend to anyone. Dine across the street at Red Koi if you want Asian flare.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Slow start, food is delicious but when everyone orders different rice and entrees it really slows the process down. Allow 2 hours from sitting time to the time you pay the bill. If you have somewhere to be plan accordingly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

First time experience for my mom. Amazing

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day is not the day to judge a restaurant but we were not disappointed except we had to sit upstairs and the chef arrived 1 hour after we sat

We still love you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The fans were not working properly. The smoke from the grill was blowing directly into my eyes. It was very uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We love to come here for any reason. I have to say that this last time we went the service was not great. We waited 1-hour for the chef to appear and cook our dinner. We were a party of 9 which included 2 small children. When my 3 year old starts asking me to leave.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Had a wonderful time. We were all seated on time and the chef began quickly. Our server was very attentive. Overall it was a great time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Took an hour for the chef to eve start cooking our food. The chef was grumpy. The kitchen forgot the veggies for the fried rice and the mushrooms for the steak. I had to ask about the mushrooms when they weren’t served with my steak and the chef basically said I was outta luck. Had to get a manager to get my darn mushrooms. You could tell the waitress felt bad but it was just too much!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I enjoyed my first time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice place to celebrate

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Love the place we went for lunch with the team. But if I have 1 complain is just it took about 30 min to start we got 30min late and where where a party of 7. Which the startup would be better also valet parking is out side sucks they take 15-20 to get the car. But that’s not the restaurant fault. But they should complain to them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I Love it. Always that coming in USA, i’m going with my Family and friends in Benihana. Everything is good! Wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Our daughter chose Benihana for her birthday dinner. It was fun and the food was delicious, we will be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Mucha demora en asignar la mesa. Teníamos reserva a las 20.30 y recién nos sentamos a las 21.00. Hubo que esperar unos 15 minutos más para que vinieran a tomar el pedido de bebidas. El valet parking vino a dejar las llaves del auto 22.30 porque "cerraba" y lo dejo estacionado en la calle. En el lado positivo, el chef y nuestra camarera Jessica muy amables y prontos a satisfacer nuestros pedidos y solucionar cualquier inconveniente

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great chef

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had a wonderful time. The food was great, our chef was delightful and the service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Most birthday celebration in my family and group of friends is usually spent at Benihana in coral gables. The service is always spot on, which makes us always come back every couple months. Making a reservation online, makes it so much easier also making the overall experience great. The food is prepared right In front of you making a cool, different, and great experience as well. However, my party this year was of 5 people most tables seat up to 8 people and I understand sometimes other people get placed at the same table as you for convinience and usually is never a problem because other guest are respectful, it isn’t a bother. But this time a couple was seated with us, the couple kept arguing in front of us making us feel uncomfortable and they just had complaints for everything even when the employees were trying to make everyone’s experience the best. I usually don’t have a problem with sharing a table at Benihana because it’s a normal thing, but this time around it just made us feel uncomfortable and not have a perfect overall experience as always, I understand the restaurant can’t control other people’s actions but maybe placing 2 people with a group of 5, won’t always be the best option.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 19, 2018

not happy at all I had rsvp and they gave us a table at almost 9 cause they did not have enough people for a full table. Then the people we were sat down which were very loud. my experience was so bad we decided to leave

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Exceptional food and service as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

As always, Benihana delivered. Food and show were both outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Our reservation was at 1 PM and the chef did not start cooking until 1:50. I thought it was very inconsiderate considering the hour of the reservation and the fact that it was a weekday and most people only have one hour. If there aren't enough chefs, you shouldn't make the reservation a possibility.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Owner was present and involved. I usually go to the Benihana in north bay village but have had bad experiences there so I decided to go to this one instead. The one in coral gables is run so much better. I definitely would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The chef provided an excellent meal for us. The chicken fried rice tasted delicious as always. We had a great lunch experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great time all around, attentive staff and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The cooker took 50 minutes to get to the table and start cooking

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

If they cared more about their customers and had better cooks and more responsive staff I would increase this by a star or two. The food is still good. It’s slightly overpriced. If they staffed more chefs I’d give them another star as well. I hope they don’t fade away as Benihana is a great spot when it is operated correctly. Focus more on the customers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very loud but food and service is amazing. Choose the second floor if you want to have a more private ambient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Fun place to celebrate a special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We had a great time celebrating a birthday and my kids enjoyed the food and the ambient

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

For my sons 6th birthday the hostess/ manager was rude to all my guest, my husband and me. Not the best way to enter a restaurant
Going to stick with Samurai

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Great food and the service was amazing!!! I would definitely come back to this location!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Benihana - Coral Gables