Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Fun (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (13)
Family Style (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
People Watching (10)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a good time and a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love Benihana and so does my family. We went this time to celebrate Mother's Day. I wish Benihana offered more coupons or ways to get more for your money. We would go more often if it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Andrew once again was EXCELLENT! We have had him twice and never disappointed. He always entertains and so knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I feel that Benihana in Cherry Hill has really gone down hill. I have been going to Benihana for over 30 years and I was extremely disappointed. When we arrived, there was no one at the check in desk and about 10 people waiting around for someone. When the manager arrived to begin checking people in, she did not smile or welcome you once. When we got to the table, we were met with extremely poor service from our waitress. She gave a nasty look when you were ordering or asking for anything. She wrote down my order wrong and when I correct the chef before he started cooking, she looked extremely inconvenienced that she had to get the correct food. I was just extremely disappointed in the direction that Benihana has turned. Between the service and the quality of food, it's just not what it used to be. I will continue to frequent other sushi/hibachi venues instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was great again,can't wait to come back. The food is always good and well cooked

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was a enjoyable experience for our son's birthday

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything was great till came time to pay. Was sent a Birthday certificate to use. Attempted to use it and was told it had been used. Was embarrassed in front of all others at the two tables. Manager then continued to say he wouldn't honor anything. Told him was my first and last time dining here. Happy Birthday to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fun and quirky. Always interesting who you meet when forced to eat with strangers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was horrible it was my birthday, no show, no tricks no nothing! Another woman at the table ruined it for everyone she kept complaining and the chef had to stop so many times he couldn't do anything and he was annoyed which put a black cloud over the entire table.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good place for date it's Hibachi so expect Hibachi prices on the lower high end, average date is probably around $100

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I called the night before to place a reservation and they told me no reservations were available and that they were not accepting walk ins. So I booked a reservation for the following day through open table. When I arrived, a group of hostesses were at the front and I gave my name to which the hostess replied, "Oh I am so sorry we don't have you down". Then she said, "just kidding". I did not laugh or think it was funny and it came off as being very unprofessional.

Food was not that great, not very flavorful at all. I ordered the same alcoholic drink twice and it was completely different both times. Our tab came out to about $180 for a party of two; two adults and one child. I don't think the quality of the food or ambience of this restaurant justified the price.

In addition, the carpeted floors were extremely dirty and the high chair that was given to us had to be extensively wiped down (by me).

While taking a trip to the bathroom, I couldn't help but notice a hallway full of what appeared to be wet towels on the floor. I do not know what the towels were cleaning up, but it was a huge turnoff. If my husband and child were not already seated, I would have left but at this point, I was committed.

I will not return to this restaurant in the future. There are better hibachi sushi spots out there and I believe this restaurant is completely overrated.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great fun for my family celebrating a birthday. Our chef was not as entertaining/enthusiastic as we've had at other hibachi places, but we still had a wonderful meal. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, Benihana is a great evening out. The food is consistently good, and they always put on a great show.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We were seated immediately upon our arrival. We were not informed of what to expect or what was expected of us. We had not been there before and that made it difficult. There were no prices available so it made choosing dinners difficult. We were not advised that there was an extra cost for fried rice. Our chef, Salvador, was known to the other four people at our table and spoke in spanish to them most of the time he was cooking. The three of us were just kind of there. He performed his "act" well, I guess. He could not hear us asking/telling him things. I needed him to isolate my chicken from the shrimp due to my shellfish allergy. He just smiled and cooked them together anyway. Fortunately, my reaction was minimal as I took medicine immediately. We watched the chef from the next table and he interacted with everyone at that table continually, even the children. The food was good and I cannot complain about the general service. We were celebrating my grandson's 21st birthday and he was thrilled that your staff sang to him at the end of our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was extremely slow. We had a 6:30 reservation and didn't leave until 9:30. There were several times throughout the evening that they got orders wrong. The bathroom was filthy.

However, overall, the staff was very friendly and apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We waited about 15 minutes passed our reservation time to be seated. When seated waited another 20 minutes for a waitress . Finally a girl came said she was new .... took a really long to order and get drinks. The entire meal was slow. It was our daughters birthday and they forgot the special singing and desert and slammed down the black bill folio . It had some one else's credit card in it . We flagged down the waitress and gave it back.. so they brought us another bill .. this too was the wrong one ( we didn't order sushi etc) flagged the waitress down again .. she said she was sorry and she would bring the right check ... so we finally get the correct check and I give her my credit card .. and we wait and wait and wait . 20 minutes goes by. I'm upset and I want my credit card back . I walk up to the girl at the door and she said the computer had frozen and we can't pay with a credit card. So I I got my card back and we scrapped up $265 plus a nice tip and gave it to the waitress .. she never even offered us a receipt for all the cash

We will not be returning to this Benihani.. service was very very bad . Slow and kinda of rude. We will spend our money else where .

We always loved it here. But it has gone way down hill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My 39 year old son has been celebrating his birthday here for many, many years. it is usually a lot of fun. This time unfortunately the experience was disappointing. The grill person tried hard to do a good job, but needed more training/experience. The waitress was oblivious to everything from the need for water to checking in re more drinks, other requests. We will do Beni Hana again, but not here.

My 8 year old grandson also likes to celebrate his birthday at Beni Hana near Short Hills NJ. The difference in ambience and service makes iy hard to believe that both restaurants operate under the same name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Chef Jason was amazing! Needs a raise

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Benihana is...Benihana and it's as much, if not more, about the show as the food. That being said, the food was tasty and ample. I was quite impressed by the staff and how they effectively moved the groups of diners to and from the hibachi tables. The lobby/bar area was packed when we arrived, yet in less than 15 mins. sufficient numbers of parties had left as to accommodate the seating of the next hoard, of which I was a member. The people at our table were committed to having fun as were we. Our chef was sociable yet, thankfully, not a showy as some of the others at tables around us. He was friendly and focused on creating a good meal. This was an 18 year old's birthday dinner of choice, but there's always a time and a place for an occasional Benihana.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Comfort Food, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We booked with hopes my 8 yr old would enjoy the table side cooking, and to take my mother-in-law out for a nice dinner.

Despite many reviews claiming a long wait time, we arrived 10 mins early and were seated almost exactly at our 5:45 reservation time. The host and hostess were fabulous.

My 8 yr old enjoyed the show, and my mother-in-law found plenty of options that were vegetarian friendly.

My wife and I were not disappointed with the overall night out with the family. The overall value for what's effectively a dinner and a show is well worth it

5 people, 4 adults, 6 cocktails and a fantastic night out with family .. $210 including tip ... PRICELESS !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Okay for what it was. Hadn't been there for 30 years. Will be a while before I go back. Too loud, too crowded ,too Many small children at hibachi tables, soup greasy , food okay, drinks over priced, limited parking, but it was clear that it is still popular.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Over booked, poor service and rushed my birthday dinner was messed up by them

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love Benihana! It is my favorite place to eat. The staff is great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was great the service was absolutely horrible and then at the end of our dinning experience my niece left headphones on the table along with a stylus pen and when we went back in to get them (only two mins later) they were gone and the manager refused to question his staff. You have thieves in your business we spent a good $300 and you treated us like garbage. Will not be returning here at all. Such a disappointment, its sad because I am a regular customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Horrible experience. Took over 30min to get our drinks. Then they forgot to turn the stove on so we had to wait even longer. Just to get our soup took an hour.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had reservations for 8:15 and weren't seated until 9pm. Then the wait for food to be prepared took another 20 mins. By the time the food was ready we were ready to go. The only good part of the date was the waiter and the cook were very nice. I also wasn't aware that you're being seated with random strangers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall wonderful experience except -
Kids meal $14
Kids fried rice upcharge $4
Kids drink $4
$22 for a kids meal seems a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were there for my sons birthday and was not impressed at all with food placed looked run down and needs an update bad cook didn't know what he was doing not a hibachi feeling the people we sat with were also very rude to us as well as the staff I didnt complain to management cause I will not come back it was a waste of time and money they should do something we all expected more seeing as you need to have reservations and even with them had to wait 20 mins because the other party of people were late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food preparation could been a bit better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent service. Andrew, our chef, did an excellent job. He kept us entertained. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Had a fun time with good food. Would go back and recommend for a birthday! Bring a small group of people to sit around the table. It's more fun that way!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Love this place I go there a lot the service and food is always freat

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been coming here since I could remember.... I have NEVER had a problem with this restaurant until this past time. We had reservations for 7:15pm. The women at the front desk it would be a couple minutes before we sat. So we went to the bar and waited. People who didn't have reservations were getting seated before us. When we finally got to our table at 7:45, it took 25 minutes for a server to come to our table. She took our drink/food order, then took another 20 minutes for her to bring our drinks. Soup came... then salad... needless to say we did not leave there until 9:45. This will be the last time I go there...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love this place! Food is delicious and you get plenty for the money. It's loud, but a fun place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food is always good but the atmosphere has changed drastically. We use to frequent the restaurant a lot but haven't been there in over a year. The dress code is lax and the patrons are undesirable. Thereb was a large party that shared 2 tables across from each other and they were just yelling back and forth to each other. Very sad to my husband and I. This was one of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Benihana is a great restaurant but what makes it the best is the staff. Everyone who works there is awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.