About Benihana - Cherry Hill

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill
Benihana - Cherry Hill

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Pennsauken ›

Good for Groups (58)
Special Occasion (57)
Kid-friendly (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great time at this professional ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great time at this professional establishment. Love the chefs and waitress'. Even had a drink at the bar! Everything was perfect as usual.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and food was excellent; howe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

the service and food was excellent; however there was a longer than usual wait time for a chef/cook. We was advised due to the amt of ppl at the table the chef/cook assigned refused to cook which was very disappointing however the chef/cook who did come out was excellent he made our food very tasty and delicious. So, I am happy the other cook refuse to cook for our party, bc it worked out in our favor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Food is Delicious! My Husband love, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Food is Delicious! My Husband love, love, love dining at Benihana and would if he could dine there every day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

as always, an excellent meal with great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

as always, an excellent meal with great service. where else can you get good food and a show at a great value? We always enjoy dining at Benihanas. We highly recommend the hibachi filet and shrimp, very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Jenny was AWESOME as usual, the chef was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Jenny was AWESOME as usual, the chef was great with the kids too and did an excellent job. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beni Hana Cherry Hill is our go-to Birth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Beni Hana Cherry Hill is our go-to Birthday celebration place. Great food, fun, family friendly!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've visited to a few Benihana's and thi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've visited to a few Benihana's and this one is added to the list of favorites. Our group had a great experience, thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining at Benihana. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my first time dining at Benihana. It was my birthday and I wanted to try something new. I ordered the frozen non-alcoholic Strawberry Passion Fruit for my beverage. There were so many choices of food to choose from; it was hard. I decided to go with the Teriyaki Chicken and Hibachi fried rice. I was in awe while watching the chef cook in front of us and doing little tricks. It was really a nice experience. Our waitress was very funny and nice as well. I will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THEY WERE OUT OF CERTAIN ITEMS ON THE ME ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

THEY WERE OUT OF CERTAIN ITEMS ON THE MENU( TOFU) . DIDN'T HAVE SUFFICIENT DISHES FOR SOME OF THE FOOD ITEMS. NOT ENOUGH RICE BOWLS. IT WAS A SATURDAY NOT OVERLY PACKED. WE INDICATED A B-DAY NEVER ACKNOWLEDGED. DID NOT OFFER PHOTOS. SEEMED ILL PREPARED FOR THE EVENING. SECOND DRINK REQUESTS TOOK A LONG TIME

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was very pleased when the staff made a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was very pleased when the staff made accommodations for several party members who had food sensitivities. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typical Benihana. Recently remodeled and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Typical Benihana. Recently remodeled and updated. Can't beat a good hibachi every now and then, this fits the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was fantastic as always, chef put o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was fantastic as always, chef put on a nice show. A great evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

There was a drastic difference between m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

There was a drastic difference between my trip in February, 2015 and my trip in July, 2016. The server was fine but the cook didn't give us a show. He showed his annoyance with the other 2 people at our table. The food was nowhere near the quality that it was in 2015. It was almost like the place was on the verge of bankruptcy. I had no words when the GM came around to ask how everything was. I'm sorry to say that I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana was great. Our chef Andrew cook ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Benihana was great. Our chef Andrew cooked out food perfectly and added the right amounts of seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our local Japanese restaurant closed and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our local Japanese restaurant closed and we have tried several attempting to find one that measured up to Sakura. The food at Benihana was very good and their service was great. The only thing was that the bill was twice what we paid at our local restaurant.

We will go again for our next special occasion

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a treat to take the family or a n ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a treat to take the family or a nice date night. However, the experience depends on who you get as the table chef. The ol' volcano & choo- choo with onions is way old. They Ned some fresh tricks. Place is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We celebrated our son's birthday with so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We celebrated our son's birthday with some of his friends. We all had a great time, food was good, but the noise level was troublesome since our son is hearing impaired. OVerall, though, a nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time!! Food is always y ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a great time!! Food is always yummy! We go all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for Mothers day with my chi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was there for Mothers day with my children and went back for Fathers day with my husband it was his first time and he really enjoyed himself. I will definitely be back. Thank You.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed sharing an early Fathers Day ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed sharing an early Fathers Day celebration together. The food was prepared to our satisfaction. We will definitely go back. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME, AS ALWAYS!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Always great food and a fun time. It's not all about the 'show'. The Sushi is yummy. On the Hibachi grill, try the steak, scallops and lobster, along with a premium sake. It's all cooked to perfection in front of your eyes with a flair. This time we brought an 8-month old baby girl, who laughed and stared wide-eyed as our chef built a flaming onion volcano. Ask for Paul or Peter if you can get them. They're the most experienced chefs, but all of them are good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy: service, taste overall ambience was great!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

First time at Benihana and we have been at other hibachis. We loved and enjoyed our meals! Paid $241 for 7 people but totally worth it! Definitely going back. The taste of the food was unparallel. I cannot describe it. You could taste every flavor from the garlic to the subtletly of the buttle on our lobster. The steak were on point: not dry or overly cooked. And even our autistic son was delighted to try new things. Thank you Eliseo and both Jennies! Recommend this restaurant 100%

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the right attitude

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have always enjoyed the Benihana experience. We recently enjoyed the Orlando Benihanna but this one did not have nearly the "customer service" attitude that Orlando had. The initial hostess at the table was cordial, polite and professional and took our drink order in a timely fashion. The real problem was with the Chef. He had a "grumpy old man" attitude. We had two young children and came from a dance recital because the kids enjoyed the Orlando experience greatly. This Chef just went thru the motions - no flare or attention to the kids....just a real boring event for everyone around the table. At the table behind us, the Chef was doing the Volcano with the Onions and more...ours did not of that. It just seemed like he was having a bad day and we should all suffer. For the amount of money we spent, we should have gotten a "smile" and more customer focused service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Yum

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The most tender steak I have ever eaten. Love the cooking show, it is a two hour meal and a great Friday night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just an okay experience

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to celebrate my son's 10th birthday with our whole family for lunch. The wait staff was lacking in refilling the drinks and generally looked uninterested. They ran out of one of thier signature tea drinks. The "chef" didn't give us a show or say much of anything to us. He just cooked the food in front of us. We have been to other restaurants like this and they have put on an exciting show while cooking the food. Very disappointed. We will not be returning

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My kids love it great dining experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My kids love it great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our food was not even cooked properly. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our food was not even cooked properly. I don't know if our cook was having a bad day but everything was rushed and nothing was cooked the way we asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went for someone in our family's birthday and both the chef and waitress were extremely nice. The place had good food and overall gave us a great time. No wait time at around 4ish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience with good food but overpriced!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

It was a great experience with good food but it was very overpriced! The service is nice but the chef is basically the only one who makes the place worth going to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disguste

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I was disgusted to find out that someone with no reservation takes precedent on those who did. Also, I ordered lunch specials but the bill reflected full price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Thanks for everything! Great time!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Its always a day if we are treating to Benihana! Thank you for everything!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went out for my aunt's birthday. Went a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Went out for my aunt's birthday. Went a little early to take part in happy hour before having dinner. Happy hour was great although our server seemed a little frustrated with some of our requests. Once seated with two other guests, we ordered drinks, appetizers and then our meals. Dinner was great, as well as, the overall service. Will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

It was my birthday and I felt like it was all about me, thanks to my waitress. Shoutout to her, she was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it here!!! Wish I could go every week!!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food!!! Great service!!! Would recommend it to anybody!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cherry Hill Nj location

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

I have had great times in the past at this location. However, my last visit was disappointing. I had a resveration for 7pm. We were seated at 730. We were handed our menus and drink orders we taken. Once our drinks came, we place our orders. Then waited 45 minutes for the chef to appear. He was not prepared , running out of both sauces and had to leave to get more. They chef lacked personality. When we placed out order we were told there was no up charge for the chicken fried rice. That was wrong.

We spoke to the manager and the up charge was removed. We also complained about the long wait. Nothing was done about it. Very disappointed. Next time I will go the PA location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a great experience at Benihana.. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Always a great experience at Benihana.. I love the Splash-N-Meadow and my drink of choice is the Coconut Mojito

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was crowed with no room at all ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The place was crowed with no room at all. The drinks was high and nasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

What happened

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Our family loves this restaurant. We have all of our family birthday dinners here.

We have been coming to this restaurant for over thirty years.

I did not see management as much and the crew appeared understaffed no matter what day that you dine. On my last two visits our soup was luke warm. I kindly brought it to the attention of our waitress and she took back all of our soups and it was returned fresh but just as cold.

This time we dined with 3 other couples and we all noticed luke warm soup again. Some of them did not even eat their soup.

On my way out I did find management and talked about my last two visits but was told it was the new way they are keeping their soup.

I hope that this temporary as we really enjoy eating there

Enjoy your dining

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.