Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Fun (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service all around the only downside was the small portions for the high price 😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The manager was very rude!!! Our cook was nice...but the food really isn't that great! I wouldn't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was just ok for me. The Hibachi food of course was delightful. We had a great cook, great attitude we loved Salvador. Otherwise it was 3 out of 5 stars. They should really step it up with the service staff and do some physical amendments to their facility. The cost is not cheap for dinner and when you pay good money your overall experience should be exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had an overal good time the cook wasn't as entertaining as other hibachi spots but the food made up for it

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Highly recommend every was great chef was all that

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Chef Paul was very funny n would go back just to have him as our chef....good job chef Paul dinner was amazing!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I absolutely love this Benihana location. And this time I had my favorite waitress ❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The soup was more watery than usual. The cook was very new so we did not have our normal experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

My niece and nephew enjoyed the cooking show very much. We adults loved the food. Overall all, I will come again whenever I can. The price was very decent for the amount of food they gave us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My husband & I go to this Benihana twice a year for our birthdays. This time around was my husband's birthday & we had a reservation for 7:30 for 2 people. As per usual, we arrived on time but did not get seated until there were enough people to fill a table of 8. So we waited until 8pm for 6 more people before we were even seated. Once seated we then sat there for another 45 min or so before our chef even came over to begin cooking. So we didn't get our chef until 1 hour & 45 minutes after our reservation. By the time we were done eating, it was nearly 10:30. What made matters worse is that a group that walked in at 8pm was seated right after us & got a chef well before we did. Another table near us has 2 people leave because they were tired of waiting for their chef to arrive.

I feel as though I wrote this exact same review the last time we were there for my birthday. What is the point of having a reservation if we still waited 1 hour & 45 minutes? It is clear to us now that this is not just bad luck. This is how this particular Benihana is run. I think our time at this location is complete. With an infant at home, we can not afford to have our time wasted. Nor should we. Nor should anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was a very good experience thanks to our Chef Peter. Loved the food and the ambiance. Everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food is aways good love the chicken fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

So the first time we went to this location we got the girl and this time this visit we got our again there was some complete difference and it was great! The first time we had the girl she wasn't interactive she didn't seem to really want to be there that's what it felt like but this time she was more attractive she was laughing she was having fun and that made us interact more and that's the whole thing about Benihana is interacting and getting a great show and enjoying some great food with some friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The kids had such a great time. Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I don't why they even pretend that reservations matter. No matter whether or not you have a reservation you will wait 20 minutes for your table. Probably goes with territory for hibachi, but why give people false hope of getting seated at a certain time?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service that we received was outstanding but the taste of the food was a major let down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

16th Birthdsy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went for my bday..... gr8 time! Food was delicious...chef very personalble.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We visited Benihana for a birthday. We did have a reservation, but we still had to wait for a few minutes which wasn't bad due to it being a Friday. When we were seated there was also another party who sat with us. The cook, Gabrielle, was entertaining and accommodating to allergies. Our server, Mariah, provided us with some of the best service I've experienced in a long time; I was very surprised and overjoyed!!!! This was our first time coming here and they definitely made a great impression! With all the good, tasty food you get for the price, I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vegan, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

My husband and I went for dinner and it was great!!!! WE had the tuna and filet with shrimp. Everything was made to order and they were accommodating. Big portions and it was a wonderful evening....very entertaining. We didn't know anyone at our hibachi table but everyone was very friendly. We will definitely go back. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

My fiancé and I have been visiting this location for over 2 years. We go atleast once a week or every two weeks. The quality and freshness of the food is always the same. Depending on the chef, sometimes the food can be bland unless you demand specific instructions at the hibachi table. Overall, it's always amazing and we will be lifetime costumers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. The restaurant is fun and inviting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Our chef( a young lady), was fun and kept up a lively conversation with all at our table. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

My first time going and will definitely go again. Especially for a great meal with my son.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We go here 3or 4 times a month and the last two times we have been there we have had the same waitress and she is the worst. I am really thinking of not going anymore because of her. This is not the job for her she is not friendly and always acts like she is mad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

First time I went to this restaurant was so fantastic I feel in love with the food and cooks very friendly and kind. I will definitely recommend to everyone

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to Benihana's for special occasions and happy hours for 25+ years. Need I say more?

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was very disappointed by the overall experience at this restaurant.
I made a reservation for 7 pm, but was not seated until 7:30. I discovered this was due to the fact that a separate party would be at the same hibachi table and they did not arrive until later. I'm unsure if they were late or had a later reservation.
The hibachi chef was very new, she admitted she had only started a week prior, but did a good job considering her tenure.
We ordered drinks that took 10 minutes to be served.
Tables where previous diners had finished their meals and left were not cleaned for some time.
As for the restaurant itself, it was run down and the carpet was in desperate need of cleaning with visible stains and was sticky when walking on it.
The food itself was okay, but served oddly. First vegetables, then meat/fish and last rice.

I would not recommend or go to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Pricey for a family. Same "routine" every time. Food is good not spectacular. Just wish there was more variety in the "show".

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We love it here! They are always so lively and there is always plenty of delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Worst experience ever !!!! Charge for everything the serve is slow. And management has no regard for customer experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Due to a shellfish allergy my food was prepared in the back kitchen separate from the rest of my group.
My food arrived before the chef came to our table to cook the rest of my party's food.
I asked the waiter if I could be served at the same time as my table and he brought over who I think was a manager.
He basically told me that my options were to take my food now or the kitchen could remake but they were busy so it would likely be after my party was served. It doesn't seem like a crazy request to want to enjoy dinner with my group and he was so rude in how he spoke to me.
Instead, he took my food back and set it under a warmer. When the waiter brought it back out it was lukewarm.
The rest of our party enjoyed their food however management could have been much more professional and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food and service were great. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because my mother and I ordered white rice instead of the chicken fried rice and we never received it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We took our kids (7,8) there for dinner on a Saturday night. It was great! The food was awesome, the staff was friendly and fun and we would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love this place!! Never a dull moment. Celebrated my best friends 31st birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I made reservations for a special birthday. we arrived late due to traffic and they couldn't accommodate us, even though there were seats in the dining room. this is our second visit within the last 6 months, and the food is def going downhill. we ordered chicken fried rice. there was so little chicken in there, you would need a magnifying glass to find it. don't think we'll be going back. I checked the reviews for the Plymouth meeting location and their reviews were just as bad. it's a shame, as it was a fun place to celebrate birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Our third time here. Food as good as always. Part of the experience is the chef st your table. Ours wasn't too engaging; he just walked through his presentation. A little disappointing. Also, the "host" could not have cared less that we were customers. Completely inattentive. The job was obviously getting in the way of his weekend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I made reservations for my boyfriend's birthday about a week in advance. He'd never been to Benihana and was excited to finally try it out. We get there several minutes prior to our reservation and everyone at the front desk (a host and waitress) just stare at us. So, I let them know we have a reservation and let them know my name. The host was still puzzled, but let us know that it'd be a few minutes before we got a seat. About 15 minutes go by and no one says anything and the restaurant isn't crowded. So, no we're puzzled. At this point, it's late, the vibe is off and we just decided to go try another restaurant (gyu-kaku in center city, yum!) Before leaving, I asked the manager to cancel our reservation. He didn't seem to care at all, so I asked him what the delay was & he just scoffed and laughed the question off.

At the end of the day, I understand having to wait and wouldn't mind if the customer service was great, but the entire vibe of the restaurant seemed like no one wanted to be bothered.

I don't recommend wasting your time at this Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 11, 2017

Have been coming here for years ! Brought my sister for lunch this visit . She had never been there! She was impressed and loved the food!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.