Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Fun (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
People Watching (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a great time . We met a great family with great children. The food was very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overall very good , just waited a while for the chef to come out but after it was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The best habachi I ever had 1 st time I have ever been there better than any other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The floor was sticky, the bathrooms were filthy. The service was poor. They made us wait and we had a reservation. Had two tables and they served one table while the other table watched with no chef coming. My guests ended up leaving without eating. Ruined my sons 13th bday celebration. The manager was kind and apologetic and tried to make it right, but the evening was ruined. We will NOT return. I made the mistake of ignoring the poor reviews based on my previous good experience don't make the same mistake I did. Pick another restaurant. I hope the manager gets a new job at a restaurant with a better support staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My family and i eat here a lot! We always have a great time with family and friends! The food tastes so good! Some cooks are more entertaining than others, but we always have a great time!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Favorite place to go.Have know some of these people for close to 28 years, consider them family!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Waitress was the worst ever, we go there once a week and never a problem till this time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food took too long to prepare. Restaurant space was very confined and not very clean. Cart with food on it for another table was pulled up next to me while the food was being prepared. We then had to wait for that table to have their food prepared before ours could be prepared which was 1 hour.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We went there with the family (party of 8) for my wife's birthday on Monday. She was signed up for the chef's table birthday club and when we presented the $30 off birthday certificate to the waitress, said we could not use it because it did not have the bar code on it. We were very disappointed and will never go back. The cherry hill restaurant is old and run down.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for years and the service has gone steadily down hill. My family and I have eaten here probably 30 times and the service hit rock bottom two Sundays ago. From the time we arrived to when a chef actually came over to our table to cook was a little over 2 hours. The previous time was 1 1/2 hours. They are greatly understaffed and consistently overbook. The place always seems like it's chaos. Unfortunately, we decided that Beni's is a no go from now on. A shame. The food is really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had to argue with the wait staff to accommodate the allergies of my relatives. It was an embarrassment and I won't be going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's Day and I really enjoyed my time with my family I was surprised with a nice dinner and I appreciate that

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Entire “experience” took almost 3 hours. Service was horrible, we waited over an hour and a half for the chef to come out. Drinks took over 30 mins to come out. Food was decent, but not worth the wait. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great. Ac was lacking and dirty around the dining tables and bathroom

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good food. I thought it was a little pricey, though.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

everyone was very rude and was not willing to accommodate my party of 10. OpenTable did not specify that I needed to leave a deposit for a large party. I tried to explain it to the greeter but he was very rude. He made my family and i sit separately for my son's graduation😔


NEVER AGAIN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have visited many times, food is great. Never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Been going for 30 years. Food is good, kids love it. Just like much else, not as good as it was back in the day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very meh as far as benihana goes. Lame chef. Scallops we're ridiculously overcooked. Was no where near worth the price. It convinced my partner to swear he will never go back to a benihana. Sorry not sorry Steve aoki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Service was terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a good time and a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love Benihana and so does my family. We went this time to celebrate Mother's Day. I wish Benihana offered more coupons or ways to get more for your money. We would go more often if it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Andrew once again was EXCELLENT! We have had him twice and never disappointed. He always entertains and so knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I feel that Benihana in Cherry Hill has really gone down hill. I have been going to Benihana for over 30 years and I was extremely disappointed. When we arrived, there was no one at the check in desk and about 10 people waiting around for someone. When the manager arrived to begin checking people in, she did not smile or welcome you once. When we got to the table, we were met with extremely poor service from our waitress. She gave a nasty look when you were ordering or asking for anything. She wrote down my order wrong and when I correct the chef before he started cooking, she looked extremely inconvenienced that she had to get the correct food. I was just extremely disappointed in the direction that Benihana has turned. Between the service and the quality of food, it's just not what it used to be. I will continue to frequent other sushi/hibachi venues instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was great again,can't wait to come back. The food is always good and well cooked

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

great place for good food and entertainment. the filet and shrimp is always great!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was a enjoyable experience for our son's birthday

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Everything was great till came time to pay. Was sent a Birthday certificate to use. Attempted to use it and was told it had been used. Was embarrassed in front of all others at the two tables. Manager then continued to say he wouldn't honor anything. Told him was my first and last time dining here. Happy Birthday to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fun and quirky. Always interesting who you meet when forced to eat with strangers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was horrible it was my birthday, no show, no tricks no nothing! Another woman at the table ruined it for everyone she kept complaining and the chef had to stop so many times he couldn't do anything and he was annoyed which put a black cloud over the entire table.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good place for date it's Hibachi so expect Hibachi prices on the lower high end, average date is probably around $100

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I called the night before to place a reservation and they told me no reservations were available and that they were not accepting walk ins. So I booked a reservation for the following day through open table. When I arrived, a group of hostesses were at the front and I gave my name to which the hostess replied, "Oh I am so sorry we don't have you down". Then she said, "just kidding". I did not laugh or think it was funny and it came off as being very unprofessional.

Food was not that great, not very flavorful at all. I ordered the same alcoholic drink twice and it was completely different both times. Our tab came out to about $180 for a party of two; two adults and one child. I don't think the quality of the food or ambience of this restaurant justified the price.

In addition, the carpeted floors were extremely dirty and the high chair that was given to us had to be extensively wiped down (by me).

While taking a trip to the bathroom, I couldn't help but notice a hallway full of what appeared to be wet towels on the floor. I do not know what the towels were cleaning up, but it was a huge turnoff. If my husband and child were not already seated, I would have left but at this point, I was committed.

I will not return to this restaurant in the future. There are better hibachi sushi spots out there and I believe this restaurant is completely overrated.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great fun for my family celebrating a birthday. Our chef was not as entertaining/enthusiastic as we've had at other hibachi places, but we still had a wonderful meal. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, Benihana is a great evening out. The food is consistently good, and they always put on a great show.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We were seated immediately upon our arrival. We were not informed of what to expect or what was expected of us. We had not been there before and that made it difficult. There were no prices available so it made choosing dinners difficult. We were not advised that there was an extra cost for fried rice. Our chef, Salvador, was known to the other four people at our table and spoke in spanish to them most of the time he was cooking. The three of us were just kind of there. He performed his "act" well, I guess. He could not hear us asking/telling him things. I needed him to isolate my chicken from the shrimp due to my shellfish allergy. He just smiled and cooked them together anyway. Fortunately, my reaction was minimal as I took medicine immediately. We watched the chef from the next table and he interacted with everyone at that table continually, even the children. The food was good and I cannot complain about the general service. We were celebrating my grandson's 21st birthday and he was thrilled that your staff sang to him at the end of our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was extremely slow. We had a 6:30 reservation and didn't leave until 9:30. There were several times throughout the evening that they got orders wrong. The bathroom was filthy.

However, overall, the staff was very friendly and apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We waited about 15 minutes passed our reservation time to be seated. When seated waited another 20 minutes for a waitress . Finally a girl came said she was new .... took a really long to order and get drinks. The entire meal was slow. It was our daughters birthday and they forgot the special singing and desert and slammed down the black bill folio . It had some one else's credit card in it . We flagged down the waitress and gave it back.. so they brought us another bill .. this too was the wrong one ( we didn't order sushi etc) flagged the waitress down again .. she said she was sorry and she would bring the right check ... so we finally get the correct check and I give her my credit card .. and we wait and wait and wait . 20 minutes goes by. I'm upset and I want my credit card back . I walk up to the girl at the door and she said the computer had frozen and we can't pay with a credit card. So I I got my card back and we scrapped up $265 plus a nice tip and gave it to the waitress .. she never even offered us a receipt for all the cash

We will not be returning to this Benihani.. service was very very bad . Slow and kinda of rude. We will spend our money else where .

We always loved it here. But it has gone way down hill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.