Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls.
Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (16)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Authentic (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Spicy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We love Jenny, so anytime we see her brings great joy! Our Chef was amazing!!! We are not sharing his name because we want him for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Family dinner Sat night fun & busy with lots of other families. Freezing cold inside though !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

The cook was new. He was not skilled in the ways of the restaurant. He cut all of the meat and seafood in huge pieces which were very difficult to eat considering we were eating with chopsticks.

Server was also new. Very slow and inefficient in getting drinks and cleaning up dirty dishes. He took our birthday photo, but. Ever brought it to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2017

We are used to having a “

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Great place! Great service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

ALways excellent nothing else to say, Benihana run's a tight ship and it shows, every time.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Another person at our table who wasn’t in our party took a fried rice that wasn’t hers. This left me without fried rice after the chef passed all the portions out. When he looked confused , She said she ordered white rice. He quickly asked someone to go to the kitchen and bring out more rice and chicken for me. I appreciated that but I was VERY upset management didn’t do anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration. It was tasty and entertaining. We had a fun night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The prices are worth what you get for each order. The onion soup! I had to take some home with me!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great food Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had reservations for 3 people to celebrate a birthday. When we arrived, Jeremy, the “manager,” tried to squish us into a table by putting 3 of us in less than 2 people place seatings (the other 5 people at the table were unfortunately obese and there was only 1 1/2 sears left. They could not even get our chairs to fit in and my mother who is 84 was pushed off of the table completely no matter how we tried to adjust seats. Jeremy knew he couldn’t get the 3 chairs in and was the most rude and obnoxious person I have ever met. He said he really didn’t care and if we didn’t like it to leave. My 9 year old nephew started to cry. We said he ruined my mother’s birthday, and he said “write a bad review.” It didn’t matter to him. An event planner, Brenda, saw what was happening and came over and put us at a regular table with 5 other people. Although she saved the dinner, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Went to Benihana to celebrate a family birthday, food and service were excellent. Hibachi chef was efficient and funny. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Try and go whenever possible. Love the food and the people. Been going here since 1990.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

My 2 friends that accompanied me had never been to the restaurant. They were like little kids! They were completely satisfied with everything. We split the "Blue Ocean" cocktail and they loved it. We'll definitely be back for our ladies night out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Nice fun dinner celebration of wife’s birthday with our four children. The three youngest whom we are adopting were very happy and excited because it was their first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We love Jenny 💕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was our first time at Benihana. We celebrated our Sons Birthday. The food was delicious, the chef entertained and the experience was worth doing again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service was lacking. Took a super long time to get our check. This was after the chef didn’t make one of our entrees. So we had to wait for them to fix the bill. Then they charged for something they shouldn’t. Had to wait again. Probably an extra 30 minutes just to fix the bill. The waitress hair was so long when she turned around it got all over the utensils. Thr tricks from the chef were lacking. It’s a shame the food was good. But don’t see us going back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were given a table in a private room which added to the overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food and service were very good. The waitress and chef were very attentive.
Our only problem was when the check came and were told that the gift card was no good. I tried calling the phone number on the back of the card, only to be told that gift card problems could not be handled over the phone. I went to the web site, only to be told that gift card problems are not handled on the web site. I called the restaurant, only to be told that they cannot handle gift card problems. I got the corporate phone number from the manger and called, but they were closed for the day. I called the next day and was told to send the gift card information to an email address. A couple of days later, they sent an email saying the gift card was defective and they will issue a new one.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great atmosphere for a special occasion. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service all around the only downside was the small portions for the high price 😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I am a frequent goer and as I continue to visit there as been changes that doesn't have me satisfied. I don't like that we are not seated immediately upon arrival, you have to wait until all parties in your reservation arrive in order to be seated. However, I don't see the point of waiting when it takes about a half an hour for the chef to come out to the table and prepare your food. I also do not like that you cannot request a chef of whom you desire upon making a reservation. I also am not happy with the fact you are only allowed to use a Birthday gift credit only Monday-Thursday's and not weekends, well that's he typical times that most people get together with family and friends..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The manager was very rude!!! Our cook was nice...but the food really isn't that great! I wouldn't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was just ok for me. The Hibachi food of course was delightful. We had a great cook, great attitude we loved Salvador. Otherwise it was 3 out of 5 stars. They should really step it up with the service staff and do some physical amendments to their facility. The cost is not cheap for dinner and when you pay good money your overall experience should be exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had an overal good time the cook wasn't as entertaining as other hibachi spots but the food made up for it

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Highly recommend every was great chef was all that

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Chef Paul was very funny n would go back just to have him as our chef....good job chef Paul dinner was amazing!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I absolutely love this Benihana location. And this time I had my favorite waitress ❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The soup was more watery than usual. The cook was very new so we did not have our normal experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

My niece and nephew enjoyed the cooking show very much. We adults loved the food. Overall all, I will come again whenever I can. The price was very decent for the amount of food they gave us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My husband & I go to this Benihana twice a year for our birthdays. This time around was my husband's birthday & we had a reservation for 7:30 for 2 people. As per usual, we arrived on time but did not get seated until there were enough people to fill a table of 8. So we waited until 8pm for 6 more people before we were even seated. Once seated we then sat there for another 45 min or so before our chef even came over to begin cooking. So we didn't get our chef until 1 hour & 45 minutes after our reservation. By the time we were done eating, it was nearly 10:30. What made matters worse is that a group that walked in at 8pm was seated right after us & got a chef well before we did. Another table near us has 2 people leave because they were tired of waiting for their chef to arrive.

I feel as though I wrote this exact same review the last time we were there for my birthday. What is the point of having a reservation if we still waited 1 hour & 45 minutes? It is clear to us now that this is not just bad luck. This is how this particular Benihana is run. I think our time at this location is complete. With an infant at home, we can not afford to have our time wasted. Nor should we. Nor should anyone.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Poor service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was a very good experience thanks to our Chef Peter. Loved the food and the ambiance. Everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food is aways good love the chicken fried rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

So the first time we went to this location we got the girl and this time this visit we got our again there was some complete difference and it was great! The first time we had the girl she wasn't interactive she didn't seem to really want to be there that's what it felt like but this time she was more attractive she was laughing she was having fun and that made us interact more and that's the whole thing about Benihana is interacting and getting a great show and enjoying some great food with some friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The kids had such a great time. Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I don't why they even pretend that reservations matter. No matter whether or not you have a reservation you will wait 20 minutes for your table. Probably goes with territory for hibachi, but why give people false hope of getting seated at a certain time?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service that we received was outstanding but the taste of the food was a major let down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

16th Birthdsy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.