Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.13mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.34mi

About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fun (22)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Romantic (9)
Casual (8)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was great the service was absolutely horrible and then at the end of our dinning experience my niece left headphones on the table along with a stylus pen and when we went back in to get them (only two mins later) they were gone and the manager refused to question his staff. You have thieves in your business we spent a good $300 and you treated us like garbage. Will not be returning here at all. Such a disappointment, its sad because I am a regular customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Horrible experience. Took over 30min to get our drinks. Then they forgot to turn the stove on so we had to wait even longer. Just to get our soup took an hour.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had reservations for 8:15 and weren't seated until 9pm. Then the wait for food to be prepared took another 20 mins. By the time the food was ready we were ready to go. The only good part of the date was the waiter and the cook were very nice. I also wasn't aware that you're being seated with random strangers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall wonderful experience except -
Kids meal $14
Kids fried rice upcharge $4
Kids drink $4
$22 for a kids meal seems a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were there for my sons birthday and was not impressed at all with food placed looked run down and needs an update bad cook didn't know what he was doing not a hibachi feeling the people we sat with were also very rude to us as well as the staff I didnt complain to management cause I will not come back it was a waste of time and money they should do something we all expected more seeing as you need to have reservations and even with them had to wait 20 mins because the other party of people were late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent service. Andrew, our chef, did an excellent job. He kept us entertained. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Love this place I go there a lot the service and food is always freat

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been coming here since I could remember.... I have NEVER had a problem with this restaurant until this past time. We had reservations for 7:15pm. The women at the front desk it would be a couple minutes before we sat. So we went to the bar and waited. People who didn't have reservations were getting seated before us. When we finally got to our table at 7:45, it took 25 minutes for a server to come to our table. She took our drink/food order, then took another 20 minutes for her to bring our drinks. Soup came... then salad... needless to say we did not leave there until 9:45. This will be the last time I go there...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love this place! Food is delicious and you get plenty for the money. It's loud, but a fun place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food is always good but the atmosphere has changed drastically. We use to frequent the restaurant a lot but haven't been there in over a year. The dress code is lax and the patrons are undesirable. Thereb was a large party that shared 2 tables across from each other and they were just yelling back and forth to each other. Very sad to my husband and I. This was one of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Benihana is a great restaurant but what makes it the best is the staff. Everyone who works there is awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Birthday for wife

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We went in March 2017 and were also there a year ago. A few issues: 1. When you have a reservation, you still wait 30 min longer than the reservation time for a table. 2. Service is terrible. Takes forever to get drinks, appetizers and food takes long too as you have to wait for a chef to come to the table. 3. Not family friendly as a result of all the waiting, hard to have a meal that kids can enjoy and be patient.

Food is good and chefs are fun to around. If they could get the service right, it would be a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They can TAKE the reservation but we had to wait about 30 minutes after reservation to be seated. More than an hour after reservation chef started cooking.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

we had a great time I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Celebrated yet another birthday at Benihana. Always a great time with great food and drinks!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love love love the Benihana! You must go to this restaurant, exceeds expectation.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The bathroom was disgusting, from the smell to the trash. Bathrooms should be checked more. Bill was too high for 2 ppl. $135 plus tip. food was good and the drinks but waitress should advice price for big drinks. We paid $35 plus $2 for the beer inside (ridiculous price). They sat us with 2 annoying kids couldn't enjoy much.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was good and the customer service was good. However, I had to use the restroom and the women's restroom smelled liked the worst gas station bathroom!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

BEST FOOD EVER! Best cook (Andrew) , Speechless. Just great !

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Overall it was ok. Was there on time for reservation and still had to wait for another 20-30min. Once seated, do not know it air was blowing or air coming thru window area but it was cold. The food was very good but have been at another Hibachi restaurant with similar taste, very pleasing, but 50% less in price. Ok experience but will not be going back to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was good. Cooked right in front of you. I was surprised to see a Hispanic as our cook but he did a good job. Overall, it was extremely busy that day. I'd go again on a slower day and see how it is.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had to wait 45 minutes for our scheduled reservation. A reservation is just that, to reserve a time. To wait 45 minutes with 3 children before we even sit down to that long meal, completely unacceptable. We would have left if we knew it would be that long but they kept telling us they would seat us very shortly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall great experience , kids love it too.
Very neat experience and great food !!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Me and my husband had a great time at Benihana. Jenny Lee was our waitress and she was awesome. The Chef cooked our food absolutely correct. I don't like butter so he could our food on the tabletop but with saffron Oil and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Definitely not impressed. Actually disappointed. Restaurant bathroom was dirty. Made a reservation for 7 still waited about an hour to be seated. Food wasn't that great. Cook needs more practice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was horrible. It took them 20 minutes to take our drink order. They forgot our table was there! I had to get up and grab a waitress. Then, the waitress told us that she wasn't supposed to serve our table! I've been going there for 30 years and I've noticed that the service is going downhill. They had the same wait-staff for years. All new faces now.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Though our chef was friendly and engaging, the flair just wasn't there. He needs more practice with the entertainment part of our meal preparation.

I looked forward to this all year for my birthday and this year was a bit disappointing. Last year my birthday dinner was great.

I called that day to see if we could add another person to our party and was told they were booked solid yet two seats were open at our table and and entire table next to us was completely open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Bathroom was dirty. Made reservations for 3 pm, had to wait until 3:45 to be seated because I guess they were waiting to see if they could fill up the table. Once seated we were told about four times to move down to the two corner seats. We did not want to sit there but the waitress kept insisting. I'm not understanding why we were paying for assigned seating. The only good part of the experience was the chef. He was very friendly and the food was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Made reservations for a birthday party and still waited over an hour when I got there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I guess it was my fault for going early so they had to try the new cook out on us, they comped the couples meal that sat with us they could have comped ours as well but that's the b last time I will be going there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Have been here many times and the food is always great. After coming here the meal prep is boring and it's always the same old predictable displays. Besides that always fun and good food. We were lucky enough to share the table with a couple and young son and the couple were arguing until the man finally left

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My first experience here was horrible. I don't think I would ever return. The food was horrible and for the amount of food they gave you for the price was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was very nice but the service was slow and our cook was boring and not very interesting to watch. The food was good and it was clean.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My date an I had a horrible experience here at this cherry hill location. For it being our 1st time and to choose to come on Valentine's Day I was so humiliated and embarrassed from the lack of service we received to being charged for items we didn't receive and the manager being very nasty in conversation to not refunding my cash that I paid for items I didn't receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was very good and they gave you a lot of the food which is good. The price was way too high.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was really good.. except chef mixed up my husband and my steak. He got my rare steak and I got his well done meat. Table was full and since I was on the corner seat it was hard to have all the dishes in front of me. I think Benihani is not quite as good as it used to be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been to many tepanyaki places but never the famous beniganna's. It was definitely the "chain" version of the experience. The frill tables were packed in so tight if you ever leaned away from the grill you'd be leabing i to a person seated behind you.

Usually these experiences include impressive shows of cutlery spinning, food tossing and guest interaction. Our chef made an onion volcano, failed to throw peices of food into his pocket twice, and otherwise just made our meals. He seemed not very trained and extremely nervous. We felt a bit bad for him.

Our waitress was hard to track down and forgot a drink I ordered twice. And two cocktails we tried to order from the menu were no longer available despite being featured inserts in the menu. All in all we didn't get our drinks until half way through the dinner. After the meal the table waited awkwardly for at least 15 minutes before we could get her attention and get the check.

All in all I would not recomend. Almost any other hibachi place is going to give you a better experience for your money than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had to wait 30 minutes when table not ready for 7:30 reservation. Service was slow. Our server was confrontational. The food service was a bit disjointed. Avoid this place if you care about these things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I've been here many times over the years and some times are better than others. This time, the "experience" wasn't was as good with the chef not being that great with his tricks but the food was actually one of the better tasting ones I have had in a few visits. Its always a good experience overall, especially if we good company.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.