About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were surrounded by noisy children and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were surrounded by noisy children and the manager refused to move us to a more quiet section. It was extremely hot at our table even before or chef started cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Awful service Did not seat us at designa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awful service

Did not seat us at designated reservation time despite making us return their call to confirm a reservation that we had made at Open Table

Then we waited 30 minutes at table until other people that we did not know joined us.

Terrible terrible terrible

Stay away

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been going to this location for 2 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I have been going to this location for 20 plus years and things have definitely taken a turn for the worst the food was subpar and the service was not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We have been going to this Benihana sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been going to this Benihana since my kids were little. They are now 20 somethings and we still love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was good!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really nice place with great food, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Really nice place with great food, great hibachi chefs and very entertaining

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good time here. Althou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always have a good time here. Although people go for the entertainment, the food is actually pretty good. My wife had thhe sushi and sashimi and I had the teppanyaki dinner. Fish was fresh and it's always fun to watch the chef grill your dinner and throw it at you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait was uncalled for 150 mins after ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The wait was uncalled for 150 mins after my reservation. The manager did not even apologize and hid in the office everyone was complaining this was the worst trip in 15 years of going to your store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I will never go back to Benihana in cher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I will never go back to Benihana in cherry hill again, terrible service, food wasn't great, just a terrible visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The waitress was great and responsive to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waitress was great and responsive to our requests.

This was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and a special night was ruined by a chef who refused to admit that he had given our cooked shrimp order to another couple.

The manager and waitress both sided with their chef and refused to replace my order.

While the experience of having a chef cook your meal at your table up until that point was very enjoyable, I will never go to this resteraunt again since the manager and waitress took the word of the chef over that if 6 customers who saw the chef make the error.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed my meal here with my family visi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyed my meal here with my family visiting! Chef was great but price is a little steep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time and good food. Must have a lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great time and good food. Must have a lot of time because preparation takes time, but we'll worth it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and great food!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our hibachi chef was miserable. Killed t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our hibachi chef was miserable. Killed the energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone was very attentive to our needs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everyone was very attentive to our needs. Things were clean. Food was delicious. The little show we got was great. Celebrated a 16th birthday. Kids loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful experience my second ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a wonderful experience my second time there and my dates first time. The food was really good the chef was hilarious and quick.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. Unfortunately, d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was wonderful. Unfortunately, despite having reservations, my family and I waited 30 minutes to be seated. Once seated, we waited an additional 45 minutes before the chef came to our table to prepare the food. The manager gave us a coupon for our next visit due to the restaurant lacking chefs and/or staff, but it did put a damper on my sons birthday celebration. The Chef as well as the food was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner. Everyone was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. Everyone was amazing and he food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a birthday lunch. Service was a l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

It was a birthday lunch. Service was a little slow even though it wasn't crowded. Then when we went to pay the card machine was down. We had to scramble to find cash. The food was great and servers nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have probably eaten at this place over ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have probably eaten at this place over 200 times. All depends on the chef. This one was not good. My husbands mushrooms were so salty they were not edible. The rest of the food was not good. I have had great meals at this place. This one was terrible. Too expensive to be this bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I always enjoy myself at Benihana (cherr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I always enjoy myself at Benihana (cherry hill). Always satisfied & they have amazing staff members very friendly & helpful

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always enjoyed Benihana. It's a lit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I've always enjoyed Benihana. It's a little pricey but it's really delicious food. The chefs are always great.

I'll be back again soon.😀

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

first time to Benihana. went with my fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

first time to Benihana. went with my family it was very family friendly. had a great time like dinner with a show. i will definately go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions seem much smaller and pricing s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Portions seem much smaller and pricing stayed the same?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our tableside chef was great - he really ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our tableside chef was great - he really interacted with my Grandsons and made the birthday celebration special. Our waiter was also wonderful with the boys.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UND ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 20, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UNDER COOKED AND OVER PRICED FOR THIS QUALITY

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

the food was excellent as usual. the co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

the food was excellent as usual. the cooker did a good job.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is always great, the food is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service is always great, the food is good. It's a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I celebrated my 52nd Birthda ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My wife and I celebrated my 52nd Birthday with Family. As usual the service was excellent and the food was delicious!!! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook was so funny, made us laugh the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our cook was so funny, made us laugh the whole night! Food was fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and our chef was very ent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great and our chef was very entertaining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chefs need to learn to adjust portions . ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Chefs need to learn to adjust portions ..

People at our table did not want veggies in their rice and she added the portion for 8 to ours of 2 we ended with more onions than rice. She was not happy when I asked for her to give me a different portion of rice, but it was not fare to us either. We love the restaurant and have been going to dine there for many years. Our previous experiences have been great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The table we got had to fit 9 people whi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The table we got had to fit 9 people which is too small and everyone has to squeeze to fit in.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome, as always. You guys rock!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Awesome, as always. You guys rock!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a "ok" time, it was a bit awkward ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I had a "ok" time, it was a bit awkward at first since my date & I had to share a table with like six (6) other people. I didn't like the fact that Benihana asked you to register on their website but don't provide annual birthday coupons like it stated. I went there for dinner a few years ago, registered for the birthday club but never got a birthday voucher . I went back online to try it again but was told me that I was already registered . So needless to say I was robbed of my $30.00 voucher like the other two guess at the table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I decided to give this location a second ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I decided to give this location a second chance since my last visit in 03/2006 wasn't up to stuff.Much better this time.Top chef.Great waitress's.Food excellent(except calamari which i didn't care for.will go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our Chef, Salvador, was the best ever at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our Chef, Salvador, was the best ever at this or any other Benihana location. We will definately return and request him.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very entertaining and worth your time an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very entertaining and worth your time and money, for a special occation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There were only 4 chefs on and it caused ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There were only 4 chefs on and it caused a large delay for us to have dinner. It wouldn't have been as frustrating if the staff addressed our concerns seriously and sent management over when requested. Instead they just let an hour plus tick by with little to no updates. It's the first time I had that long of a wait at the table at the restaurant. I will go back, but the issue needs addressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful, cooked right in front of you, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful, cooked right in front of you, customizable for allergens or dislikes

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.