About Benihana - Cherry Hill

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was really good.. except chef mixed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was really good.. except chef mixed up my husband and my steak. He got my rare steak and I got his well done meat. Table was full and since I was on the corner seat it was hard to have all the dishes in front of me. I think Benihani is not quite as good as it used to be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

I have been to many tepanyaki places but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been to many tepanyaki places but never the famous beniganna's. It was definitely the "chain" version of the experience. The frill tables were packed in so tight if you ever leaned away from the grill you'd be leabing i to a person seated behind you.

Usually these experiences include impressive shows of cutlery spinning, food tossing and guest interaction. Our chef made an onion volcano, failed to throw peices of food into his pocket twice, and otherwise just made our meals. He seemed not very trained and extremely nervous. We felt a bit bad for him.

Our waitress was hard to track down and forgot a drink I ordered twice. And two cocktails we tried to order from the menu were no longer available despite being featured inserts in the menu. All in all we didn't get our drinks until half way through the dinner. After the meal the table waited awkwardly for at least 15 minutes before we could get her attention and get the check.

All in all I would not recomend. Almost any other hibachi place is going to give you a better experience for your money than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Had to wait 30 minutes when table not re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had to wait 30 minutes when table not ready for 7:30 reservation. Service was slow. Our server was confrontational. The food service was a bit disjointed. Avoid this place if you care about these things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We have been to Benihana in Cherry Hill ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We have been to Benihana in Cherry Hill a couple of times now. Always a treat, and always leave full! The servers did a great job!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was nothing to brag about. A regular ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was nothing to brag about. A regular Hibachi style restaurant. The cook was not entertaining or engaging as they are at the Hibachi restaurants. He didn't make it fun for the kids.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I love this Benihana! The staff is aweso ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I love this Benihana! The staff is awesome and the food is so tasty!

The only thing that is irritating is the customers who complain to try to get free food.

The people who work here are saints for putting up with all the obnoxious people.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior performance by chef and excelle ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Superior performance by chef and excellent food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I take my family every year for my birth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I take my family every year for my birthday I spent $650. I had to wait 20 minutes for someone to take our drink order. we were placed in a tiny room and we left there smelling like food. I honestly will not be coming back just FYI.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

This location is by far not as good as o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This location is by far not as good as other locations :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was "ok" but nothing special. Bever ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was "ok" but nothing special. Beverage service was slow at the start but got better as the dinner progressed.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Meal was not as good as previous experie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Meal was not as good as previous experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent. The host was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The service was excellent. The host was very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You get a show and they cook the food in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

You get a show and they cook the food in front of you. What more can I say.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were surrounded by noisy children and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were surrounded by noisy children and the manager refused to move us to a more quiet section. It was extremely hot at our table even before or chef started cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Awful service Did not seat us at designa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Awful service

Did not seat us at designated reservation time despite making us return their call to confirm a reservation that we had made at Open Table

Then we waited 30 minutes at table until other people that we did not know joined us.

Terrible terrible terrible

Stay away

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been going to this location for 2 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I have been going to this location for 20 plus years and things have definitely taken a turn for the worst the food was subpar and the service was not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We have been going to this Benihana sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been going to this Benihana since my kids were little. They are now 20 somethings and we still love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was good!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really nice place with great food, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Really nice place with great food, great hibachi chefs and very entertaining

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good time here. Althou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always have a good time here. Although people go for the entertainment, the food is actually pretty good. My wife had thhe sushi and sashimi and I had the teppanyaki dinner. Fish was fresh and it's always fun to watch the chef grill your dinner and throw it at you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait was uncalled for 150 mins after ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The wait was uncalled for 150 mins after my reservation. The manager did not even apologize and hid in the office everyone was complaining this was the worst trip in 15 years of going to your store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I will never go back to Benihana in cher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I will never go back to Benihana in cherry hill again, terrible service, food wasn't great, just a terrible visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The waitress was great and responsive to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waitress was great and responsive to our requests.

This was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and a special night was ruined by a chef who refused to admit that he had given our cooked shrimp order to another couple.

The manager and waitress both sided with their chef and refused to replace my order.

While the experience of having a chef cook your meal at your table up until that point was very enjoyable, I will never go to this resteraunt again since the manager and waitress took the word of the chef over that if 6 customers who saw the chef make the error.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed my meal here with my family visi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyed my meal here with my family visiting! Chef was great but price is a little steep.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time and good food. Must have a lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great time and good food. Must have a lot of time because preparation takes time, but we'll worth it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and great food!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our hibachi chef was miserable. Killed t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our hibachi chef was miserable. Killed the energy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone was very attentive to our needs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everyone was very attentive to our needs. Things were clean. Food was delicious. The little show we got was great. Celebrated a 16th birthday. Kids loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful experience my second ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a wonderful experience my second time there and my dates first time. The food was really good the chef was hilarious and quick.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. Unfortunately, d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was wonderful. Unfortunately, despite having reservations, my family and I waited 30 minutes to be seated. Once seated, we waited an additional 45 minutes before the chef came to our table to prepare the food. The manager gave us a coupon for our next visit due to the restaurant lacking chefs and/or staff, but it did put a damper on my sons birthday celebration. The Chef as well as the food was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner. Everyone was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. Everyone was amazing and he food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a birthday lunch. Service was a l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

It was a birthday lunch. Service was a little slow even though it wasn't crowded. Then when we went to pay the card machine was down. We had to scramble to find cash. The food was great and servers nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have probably eaten at this place over ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have probably eaten at this place over 200 times. All depends on the chef. This one was not good. My husbands mushrooms were so salty they were not edible. The rest of the food was not good. I have had great meals at this place. This one was terrible. Too expensive to be this bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

I always enjoy myself at Benihana (cherr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I always enjoy myself at Benihana (cherry hill). Always satisfied & they have amazing staff members very friendly & helpful

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always enjoyed Benihana. It's a lit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I've always enjoyed Benihana. It's a little pricey but it's really delicious food. The chefs are always great.

I'll be back again soon.😀

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

first time to Benihana. went with my fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

first time to Benihana. went with my family it was very family friendly. had a great time like dinner with a show. i will definately go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions seem much smaller and pricing s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Portions seem much smaller and pricing stayed the same?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our tableside chef was great - he really ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our tableside chef was great - he really interacted with my Grandsons and made the birthday celebration special. Our waiter was also wonderful with the boys.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UND ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 20, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UNDER COOKED AND OVER PRICED FOR THIS QUALITY

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

the food was excellent as usual. the co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

the food was excellent as usual. the cooker did a good job.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.