About Benihana - Cherry Hill

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Pennsauken ›

special occasion (60)
good for groups (57)
kid-friendly (42)
See All
great for lunch (29)
fit for foodies (24)
great for brunch (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (5)
romantic (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for Mothers day with my chi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was there for Mothers day with my children and went back for Fathers day with my husband it was his first time and he really enjoyed himself. I will definitely be back. Thank You.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed sharing an early Fathers Day ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoyed sharing an early Fathers Day celebration together. The food was prepared to our satisfaction. We will definitely go back. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME, AS ALWAYS!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Always great food and a fun time. It's not all about the 'show'. The Sushi is yummy. On the Hibachi grill, try the steak, scallops and lobster, along with a premium sake. It's all cooked to perfection in front of your eyes with a flair. This time we brought an 8-month old baby girl, who laughed and stared wide-eyed as our chef built a flaming onion volcano. Ask for Paul or Peter if you can get them. They're the most experienced chefs, but all of them are good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy: service, taste overall ambience was great!

Dined on June 8, 2016

First time at Benihana and we have been at other hibachis. We loved and enjoyed our meals! Paid $241 for 7 people but totally worth it! Definitely going back. The taste of the food was unparallel. I cannot describe it. You could taste every flavor from the garlic to the subtletly of the buttle on our lobster. The steak were on point: not dry or overly cooked. And even our autistic son was delighted to try new things. Thank you Eliseo and both Jennies! Recommend this restaurant 100%

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not the right attitude

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We have always enjoyed the Benihana experience. We recently enjoyed the Orlando Benihanna but this one did not have nearly the "customer service" attitude that Orlando had. The initial hostess at the table was cordial, polite and professional and took our drink order in a timely fashion. The real problem was with the Chef. He had a "grumpy old man" attitude. We had two young children and came from a dance recital because the kids enjoyed the Orlando experience greatly. This Chef just went thru the motions - no flare or attention to the kids....just a real boring event for everyone around the table. At the table behind us, the Chef was doing the Volcano with the Onions and more...ours did not of that. It just seemed like he was having a bad day and we should all suffer. For the amount of money we spent, we should have gotten a "smile" and more customer focused service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on June 4, 2016

The most tender steak I have ever eaten. Love the cooking show, it is a two hour meal and a great Friday night out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just an okay experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to celebrate my son's 10th birthday with our whole family for lunch. The wait staff was lacking in refilling the drinks and generally looked uninterested. They ran out of one of thier signature tea drinks. The "chef" didn't give us a show or say much of anything to us. He just cooked the food in front of us. We have been to other restaurants like this and they have put on an exciting show while cooking the food. Very disappointed. We will not be returning

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

My kids love it great dining experience

Dined on May 27, 2016

My kids love it great dining experience

food1
ambience3
service1

Our food was not even cooked properly. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our food was not even cooked properly. I don't know if our cook was having a bad day but everything was rushed and nothing was cooked the way we asked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went for someone in our family's birthday and both the chef and waitress were extremely nice. The place had good food and overall gave us a great time. No wait time at around 4ish.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

great experience with good food but overpriced!

Dined on May 3, 2016

It was a great experience with good food but it was very overpriced! The service is nice but the chef is basically the only one who makes the place worth going to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and service

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Disguste

Dined on April 17, 2016

I was disgusted to find out that someone with no reservation takes precedent on those who did. Also, I ordered lunch specials but the bill reflected full price.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks for everything! Great time!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Its always a day if we are treating to Benihana! Thank you for everything!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Went out for my aunt's birthday. Went a ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Went out for my aunt's birthday. Went a little early to take part in happy hour before having dinner. Happy hour was great although our server seemed a little frustrated with some of our requests. Once seated with two other guests, we ordered drinks, appetizers and then our meals. Dinner was great, as well as, the overall service. Will definitely go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

It was my birthday and I felt like it was all about me, thanks to my waitress. Shoutout to her, she was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it here!!! Wish I could go every week!!!!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food!!! Great service!!! Would recommend it to anybody!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Cherry Hill Nj location

Dined on March 21, 2016

I have had great times in the past at this location. However, my last visit was disappointing. I had a resveration for 7pm. We were seated at 730. We were handed our menus and drink orders we taken. Once our drinks came, we place our orders. Then waited 45 minutes for the chef to appear. He was not prepared , running out of both sauces and had to leave to get more. They chef lacked personality. When we placed out order we were told there was no up charge for the chicken fried rice. That was wrong. We spoke to the manager and the up charge was removed. We also complained about the long wait. Nothing was done about it. Very disappointed. Next time I will go the PA location.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at Benihana.. ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Always a great experience at Benihana.. I love the Splash-N-Meadow and my drink of choice is the Coconut Mojito

food1
ambience1
service1

The place was crowed with no room at all ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The place was crowed with no room at all. The drinks was high and nasty

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

What happened

Dined on March 16, 2016

Our family loves this restaurant. We have all of our family birthday dinners here. We have been coming to this restaurant for over thirty years. I did not see management as much and the crew appeared understaffed no matter what day that you dine. On my last two visits our soup was luke warm. I kindly brought it to the attention of our waitress and she took back all of our soups and it was returned fresh but just as cold. This time we dined with 3 other couples and we all noticed luke warm soup again. Some of them did not even eat their soup. On my way out I did find management and talked about my last two visits but was told it was the new way they are keeping their soup. I hope that this temporary as we really enjoy eating there Enjoy your dining

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fun and tasty

Dined on March 16, 2016

Beni Hana is my family's favorite celebration spot. Every birthday will find us there. This trip was wonderful with good food and friendly staff offering good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Restaurant was cold. We sat next to kids ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Restaurant was cold. We sat next to kids kind of annoying

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We go at least 2x's a year and love it!!! Food is great and servers are sweethearts!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun Night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious and entertaining dinner for my daughter's 12th birthday. Her friends and the adults all had a really nice time. Food was quite good. I had the tuna, husband had the tofu which were both delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great spot for a group

Dined on March 12, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birth at Benihana and it was excellent. It was the first time that I had been there and was not disappointed. The service was excellent as was the food. I recommend it to anybody. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service very good food

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

I arrived at 6:45 for my weekday reservation.Was told they were running 5 minutes late.I was seated in 15 but that wasn't do bad/The waitress came over timely and took our drink order.Although she made a few mistakes they were easily correctable.We then wait from 7pm and al most 8:30 for a chef to come over.The waitress kept coming over to ask if we wanted a more drinks.Which we didn"t.When i asked her where was the chef she just shrugged her shoulders.When he finally arrived the food was very good he prepared it well but wan"t very entertaining and he made one mistake cooking something we didn't order but he gave it to us with no charge so that wasn't a problem for us.This was my first(and last)visit to this restaurant.I was drawn in by a birthday promotion coupon which promised to take 30.00 off the check.When the check came they forgot to take off the coupon which they asked for when i was seated.They did fix this without much problem.The staff is friendly enough and they tried their best but they were overwhelmed by being understaffed for the restaurants clientele.Let me point out that the restaurant was far from full as mnore then 1/2 the tables were empty.In summation very good food very nice staff but not worth sitting for 1 1/2 hours to eat.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Long Time Customer

Dined on March 1, 2016

I have been coming to Benihana for at least 36 years in all different locations , west coast . Florida, NJ, even in the UK and the service was usually very good and food was great. Last Monday the service was poor and an allergy was disregarded. The waitress disappeared and we had to get a manager to fix the soup for the entire table (2 different parties) it was served cold. We then had to get another waitress to bring white rice to the table. When the chef started to cook I said I was allergic to fish expecting him to use a separate spatula for the Salmon he was cooking but he took no notice and used the same utensil for all the cooking. As a result I took entire dinner (anything cooked after the fish went on grill) home for someone else to eat and as it was a birthday celebration (MINE) disappointment doesn't quite cover it. I don't like to have to make a scene and cause a fuss but will not spend ant more money at the Cherry Hill location.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Pleasure

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of my favorite dining locations and I am never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A time to remember

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had an amazing time. We arrived in town, ahead of our reservations, and staff graciously rescheduled us for an earlier time. The accommodations were well suited for the occasion. Jose, our chef, was cordially skillful and made guests feel comfortable. The food and ambiance were great! Will definitely be back for our next celebration!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

i love benihana

Dined on February 21, 2016

i have always loved benihana. lots of things (shrimp, zuccini, mushrooms, onions, etc.) i didn't like until i had them at benihana. truly mouth-opening

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was wonderful. The service was slow.

Dined on February 21, 2016

The cook at our table was entertaining however he spilled my glass of wine all over myself, my phone and my purse. He was very apologetic. But I thought I would have been compensated for having wine all over myself. Not even offered a replacement glass of wine for the one that was spilled.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3

Average food and service. Inside felt ol ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Average food and service. Inside felt old and dingy.

food1
ambience1
service1

Awful! Will not return. Server got our o ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Awful! Will not return. Server got our order wrong. Chef didn't even make any attempt to entertain. Add the loud-mouthed dad who kept ordering more food.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Very friendly staff.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food. Very friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Leon made excellent food!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Leon made excellent food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Chef was Andrew and he was great. Th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Chef was Andrew and he was great. The food was cooked perfect and Andrew was very pleasant.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The waitress was a little slow with drinks.

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a cold night out that evening and it was Valentines day so the place was crowded, but when they turned the grill off the place got cold, like it was blowing cold air.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The waiter was very rude from the time w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The waiter was very rude from the time we walked in. Once we received a different waiter things begin to get better. But even after a manger come over we was not offered anything for the rudeness of the first waiter. I won't be returning.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

Server was not that pleasant but the chef Gabby was fantastic! She turned it around for us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.