About Benihana - Cherry Hill

5255 Marlton Pike
Pennsauken, NJ 08109
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Cherry Hill is located right across the bridge from Philadelphia, at Points Plaza, where Routes 70 and 38 merge. Enjoy a cold or hot sake in our spacious bar and lounge, or take a seat at our sushi bar for fresh nigiri and specialty sushi rolls. Looking to relax after a long day? Join us for Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m. for specials cocktails, sushi, and assorted appetizers. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm.

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm.

Cross Street:
Route 70

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 665-6320

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/cherryhill-nj-ch

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Sushi - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Trio - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Chef - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ
Chef Trick - Benihana - Cherry Hill, Pennsauken, NJ

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Cherry Hill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Pennsauken ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fun (9)
Family Style (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

first time to Benihana. went with my fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

first time to Benihana. went with my family it was very family friendly. had a great time like dinner with a show. i will definately go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions seem much smaller and pricing s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Portions seem much smaller and pricing stayed the same?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UND ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 20, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SERVED OUT OF ORDER AND UNDER COOKED AND OVER PRICED FOR THIS QUALITY

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

the food was excellent as usual. the co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

the food was excellent as usual. the cooker did a good job.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is always great, the food is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service is always great, the food is good. It's a fun night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I celebrated my 52nd Birthda ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My wife and I celebrated my 52nd Birthday with Family. As usual the service was excellent and the food was delicious!!! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook was so funny, made us laugh the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our cook was so funny, made us laugh the whole night! Food was fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and our chef was very ent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great and our chef was very entertaining.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chefs need to learn to adjust portions . ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Chefs need to learn to adjust portions ..

People at our table did not want veggies in their rice and she added the portion for 8 to ours of 2 we ended with more onions than rice. She was not happy when I asked for her to give me a different portion of rice, but it was not fare to us either. We love the restaurant and have been going to dine there for many years. Our previous experiences have been great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The table we got had to fit 9 people whi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The table we got had to fit 9 people which is too small and everyone has to squeeze to fit in.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome, as always. You guys rock!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Awesome, as always. You guys rock!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I decided to give this location a second ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I decided to give this location a second chance since my last visit in 03/2006 wasn't up to stuff.Much better this time.Top chef.Great waitress's.Food excellent(except calamari which i didn't care for.will go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our Chef, Salvador, was the best ever at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our Chef, Salvador, was the best ever at this or any other Benihana location. We will definately return and request him.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very entertaining and worth your time an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Very entertaining and worth your time and money, for a special occation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

There were only 4 chefs on and it caused ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There were only 4 chefs on and it caused a large delay for us to have dinner. It wouldn't have been as frustrating if the staff addressed our concerns seriously and sent management over when requested. Instead they just let an hour plus tick by with little to no updates. It's the first time I had that long of a wait at the table at the restaurant. I will go back, but the issue needs addressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful, cooked right in front of you, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful, cooked right in front of you, customizable for allergens or dislikes

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was awesome and funny. The bart ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Our chef was awesome and funny. The bartender prior to our dinner was not friendly and acted as though we annoyed him...it was awkward. I even told him I was sorry we "flustered" him b/c I wanted him to know I recognized his rudeness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been eating at Benihana for 25 ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I have been eating at Benihana for 25 years my name is never on the reservation because my ex-wife used to make reservations we had a wonderful experience and will be having many more

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Booked dinner for five people Celebratin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Booked dinner for five people Celebrating an 18th Birthday. I reminded hostess who informed me to tell the waitress. Informed the waitress twice of this special event. We all were disappointed in our chef. While other tables were cheering and having fun our chef was flat and didn't put on the usual performance. You could hardly hear the chef speak, and he wasn't in a good mood and it was obvious!

The birthday song at the end wasn't what it used to be, no happy Buddha with cake on a plate anymore just two small scoops of melted ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was disappointed. We have been going t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I was disappointed. We have been going to Benihana for many years for birthday and other celebrations. It has aways been a fun place to eat with excellent food. This time we had a chef that was very condescending and did not do the usual fun skill moves with the food. The hostess did not pass on the information that my son had a birthday so they presented the other birthday at the table but not him. Just not up to the norm for Benihana.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

one of my favorite spots to eat. Lunch m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

one of my favorite spots to eat. Lunch menu is much cheaper option if you go before 2.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 14 year old grandson requested to hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My 14 year old grandson requested to have dinner here to celebrate his birthday. We had all had a great time. The food was good and the chef was entertaining. I'm glad he wanted to celebrate there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time dining at Benihana's and i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My first time dining at Benihana's and it was my birthday, I had a wonderful time. I especially loved the way the food was prepared in front of us and I was able to see what other people ordered and how their food was prepared as well. Our cook and server were excellent and made sure our orders were exactly what we wanted. I was in a party of 3 and we sat with 4 other people, the conversation was lovely and centered around the food and the fact that 3 of us were celebrating birthdays on the same date! We had pictures taken and the 3 birthday people received ice cream and were serenated by the staff with a English and Japanese version of Happy Birthday. My only issue was that I so enjoyed the Benihana rice that I wanted a larger portion :-)

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same usual good food and table experienc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Same usual good food and table experience. Was a delain chef coming to table to prepare meal so kids got antsy. Other than that very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Always a great time at this professional ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a great time at this professional establishment. Love the chefs and waitress'. Even had a drink at the bar! Everything was perfect as usual.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service and food was excellent; howe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

the service and food was excellent; however there was a longer than usual wait time for a chef/cook. We was advised due to the amt of ppl at the table the chef/cook assigned refused to cook which was very disappointing however the chef/cook who did come out was excellent he made our food very tasty and delicious. So, I am happy the other cook refuse to cook for our party, bc it worked out in our favor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Food is Delicious! My Husband love, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Food is Delicious! My Husband love, love, love dining at Benihana and would if he could dine there every day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

as always, an excellent meal with great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2016

as always, an excellent meal with great service. where else can you get good food and a show at a great value? We always enjoy dining at Benihanas. We highly recommend the hibachi filet and shrimp, very tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Jenny was AWESOME as usual, the chef was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Jenny was AWESOME as usual, the chef was great with the kids too and did an excellent job. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beni Hana Cherry Hill is our go-to Birth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Beni Hana Cherry Hill is our go-to Birthday celebration place. Great food, fun, family friendly!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've visited to a few Benihana's and thi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've visited to a few Benihana's and this one is added to the list of favorites. Our group had a great experience, thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining at Benihana. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was my first time dining at Benihana. It was my birthday and I wanted to try something new. I ordered the frozen non-alcoholic Strawberry Passion Fruit for my beverage. There were so many choices of food to choose from; it was hard. I decided to go with the Teriyaki Chicken and Hibachi fried rice. I was in awe while watching the chef cook in front of us and doing little tricks. It was really a nice experience. Our waitress was very funny and nice as well. I will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THEY WERE OUT OF CERTAIN ITEMS ON THE ME ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

THEY WERE OUT OF CERTAIN ITEMS ON THE MENU( TOFU) . DIDN'T HAVE SUFFICIENT DISHES FOR SOME OF THE FOOD ITEMS. NOT ENOUGH RICE BOWLS. IT WAS A SATURDAY NOT OVERLY PACKED. WE INDICATED A B-DAY NEVER ACKNOWLEDGED. DID NOT OFFER PHOTOS. SEEMED ILL PREPARED FOR THE EVENING. SECOND DRINK REQUESTS TOOK A LONG TIME

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was very pleased when the staff made a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was very pleased when the staff made accommodations for several party members who had food sensitivities. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typical Benihana. Recently remodeled and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Typical Benihana. Recently remodeled and updated. Can't beat a good hibachi every now and then, this fits the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was fantastic as always, chef put o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was fantastic as always, chef put on a nice show. A great evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

There was a drastic difference between m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2016

There was a drastic difference between my trip in February, 2015 and my trip in July, 2016. The server was fine but the cook didn't give us a show. He showed his annoyance with the other 2 people at our table. The food was nowhere near the quality that it was in 2015. It was almost like the place was on the verge of bankruptcy. I had no words when the GM came around to ask how everything was. I'm sorry to say that I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Benihana was great. Our chef Andrew cook ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Benihana was great. Our chef Andrew cooked out food perfectly and added the right amounts of seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our local Japanese restaurant closed and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our local Japanese restaurant closed and we have tried several attempting to find one that measured up to Sakura. The food at Benihana was very good and their service was great. The only thing was that the bill was twice what we paid at our local restaurant.

We will go again for our next special occasion

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a treat to take the family or a n ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a treat to take the family or a nice date night. However, the experience depends on who you get as the table chef. The ol' volcano & choo- choo with onions is way old. They Ned some fresh tricks. Place is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.