About Benihana - Chandler

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (52)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Fun (32)
Family Style (32)
Casual (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Kid-friendly (23)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Business Meals (12)
Healthy (11)
People Watching (11)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Spicy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food is great. The chefs always are super friendly and the funny tricks they do
while cooking and the interaction with everyone at the table is awesome. Great portions
of food from soup to the meal of your choice

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The bartender wasn't very helpful and looked agitated when we sat down and even more so when we asked questions about the drinks. The dinner took about 2 1/2 hours which we thought was way too long. Our reservation was for 530pm, we were finally seated at 6pm and didn't walk out the door until 8 pm.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

While we enjoyed our meal, and the server was entertaining, the chef was boring! He did no "show" feats, like flipping cooking tools, a onion volcano, etc! He claimed they didn't do any of the show things during lunch! However, chefs at tables on either side of us did. This was very disappointing. While we will probably go back, we'll INSIST on a showman chef!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It's my favorite restaurant but this time the chef seemed new and nervous. Order rocky choice never got my shrimp appertizer, ordered double chicken friend rice only got one. Chicken was under cooked as was rice steak and vegetables. Everyone at my table complained about it. Will still go 2x a month but that turned me off for awhile.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and plenty of it. Took a little too long to be seated even with reservations.. but always a good time

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was my first time there and it wasn't as good as I anticipated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Brought 3 guests who were never at Benihana before. Had to wait over an hour past our reservation time. Would have been nice to have been updated every so often rather than me having to ask. Was nice that we were offered such a couple of times (First time this has happened). Our chef was very nice and cooked well but was new so the entertainment part of eating here was missing (Not his fault) so was very disappointed that my guests did not get the whole experience even though it still cost the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 7, 2017

For a first time adventure it was very informative and entertaining.
Watching the food being cooked in front of you was very informative and entertaining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was good. Not something I would want to do all the time because it is way overpriced, but fun for one night every year or two.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

1 hour over my reservation, noise level was extremely high, service was poor

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our table chef was very entertaining and the wait staff was great. The food is fresh and very well seasoned. The chef is quick to accommodate any special requests.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Although we are frequent Benihana customers, on this occasion the restaurant should not have taken our reservation. Half of the restaurant was being used for chef training and in the other half , major space was been used for a large birthday party. Even though the space for individual customers was empty, we were seated next to the party which was extremely noisy. When we complained to management, we were told that the noise level was normal for the restaurant (which it was not) and they did not ask the party to tone it down. Eventually, our bill was discounted but that does not solve the way management could have handled the situation and made our meal feel like the normal way Benihana usually treats us.
My wife and I were the first persons trained under the Benihana cooking experience and we have been devoted customers every since. Benihana should have closed the restaurant for the hours of chef training and the party instead of causing our meal discomfort. Given our history, we will visit Benihana again but if we experience a dreadful meal due to similar circumstances, we will be gone as customers.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Outstanding service! Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I always enjoy going to Benihana. My 2 yr old niece calls it good rice lol. The chefs are hit or miss but if you get a good one you're in for a treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a reservation at 8pm for 5 people on a Tuesday night to celebrate a birthday. Weren't seated until after 8:30 and didn't even have a drink until after 9. Service was so slow. Once he arrived, our chef, Taylor, was fantastic though. His food and entertainment was great as well. Getting the check was another nightmare of a delay. Didn't get out of there until almost 10:30. We were very disappointed in the service and for that reason we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We all had a great time , I celebrated with my kids and they enjoyed it as well, Awesome cooking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Normally love Benihana but this time we were not seated for our 6pm reservation. Finally left at 7. Hostess were too busy figuring out where to seat people and looked panicked. Love their food but next time will go to Scottsdale location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 27, 2017

Chicken was over cooked. Ended up taking all the chicken home for the pups.
Also, we were very disappointed that you no longer have the shrimp sauce. That was one of our favorite things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

All in all, our experience was good. Even though we had a reservation, we were not seated for at least 20 minutes. When we got to our table, service started out very slow. We had planned for about a 2 hour experience and had to rush our service at the end of 2 1/2 hours because we had other plans at 6 PM and we were 45 minutes late. Our chef was exceptional in his demeanor and skills.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Juan, our chef, put on a good show. Our grandsons enjoyed it. The food was cooked as requested, tasty, and there was plenty for all.

The one negative is the employee jacket closet in the middle of the seating area. Guests do not want or need to see employees changing clothes while they eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I have always loved Benihana but this last experience was not the best. Even though I had a reservation, we were seated 15 minutes later. We were all adults over 30 but my 31 year old son did not have ID and the waitress would not serve him. We were a group of 6 celebrating a 60th birthday but another couple was seated at our table which was a bit awkward. The chef was fine but he was engaged in conversation with the other guest that was seated with us for his entire cooking presentation. Besides not serving my son, the waitress was not very attentive, or cheerful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had guests in from out of town and wanted them to experience your restaurant. Benihana didn't disappoint. Our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was very attentive and the Chef was awesome. The food was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Simply amazing. The staff, the food, the entertainment all 10/10

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The chef needs additional training in both Showmanship and deficiency. I'm sure he'll be fine with a little bit of time and training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We loved Kevin who prepared the food. We were there for a birthday celebration and had a great time. Kevin is very entertaining, but also prepared great meals for us! Our waitress was also great, but it was very busy on a Friday night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent service. Love that the manger came to every table to great customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The "chef" (Micheal) announced that this was his first day back from having the flu, after he turned and coughed. His attempt to impress us with his "tool skills" resulted in him dropping them on the cook top several times. When he started cooking, he did not time the food to be ready at reasonable intervals....you got zucchini, but not any of your other foods. He did not serve the onions until everyone had their eaten their entire meal and then offered them to us. Most people are not going to eat just a large serving of onions by themselves! Also, there was a child (on his birthday) at our table, but he got his food last. Also, the waiter did not come back to fill water glasses until we were finished with our meal. Will not be visiting this Benihana's again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We made an reservation for 815. Did not get seated until 930. Didn't take order or get drinks until 945. Didn't start cooking until 1015. And didn't leave until 11pm. Worst experience ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

8 pm Reservation.. Didn't seat us until 8:45,but manager gave us a credit on the bill which we appreciated. Chef was new and slow, but fun and personable and food tasted great

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time at Benihana and host was horrible, rude and not making me welcome.
Food took forever to come to us.I don't think I'll be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our table chef was great. Fun time. Little on the expensive side but ?? LOL

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 21, 2017

had reservations and still waited 20 more minutes to be seated
food was wonderful like always bit super slow and poor service from the waitresses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our server disappeared and Ryan Mcloud came over to help out. He is a fantastic server and even got my niece and nephew some stickers. Great person and a great employee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Second time visiting this location, and it made my birthday all the better. I highly recommend Benihana for you special occasion needs or for a night out with friends and/or family!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, great entertainment and wonderful time out for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The portions seem to get smaller & smaller. We noticed that the chef used butter on our steaks. That changed the taste as we did not like it.

The soup and the dinners do not taste the same as they have been all these years. At these prices, I expect the food to always taste the same and be of the highest quality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ask for Kevin he put on an exceptional show, the food was cooked to perfection & the table company was a fun atmosphere. We will be back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All was excellent, but shrimp was cold, having been cooked first.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.