About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Ahwatukee / Chandler
Special Occasion
Ahwatukee / Chandler
Most Booked
Ahwatukee / Chandler
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

special occasion (153)
good for groups (124)
kid-friendly (57)
See All
great for lunch (47)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (39)
hot spot (25)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
 (2)
 (2)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

If you have never been here I highly rec ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you have never been here I highly recommend you try it out its one of the best places to eat!

food3
ambience2
service1

I had a reservation and the three girls ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I had a reservation and the three girls at the front desk were seating other parties telling me that our table was not yet ready. Nothing more. After several minutes we asked again and got the same answer. That we would be seated. I asked a third time. The girls were extremely rude. I had family visiting from Germany who had never experienced Benihana. We went to a manager to ask when we might be seated. He spoke to the rude three at the front desk and proceeded to tell us out table was almost ready. We waited more. More people were seated and we were not. Finally were seated and then our cook was no where to be found. Sat and waited. Worst experience ever and I will never go back. .

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We like to take people here who have nev ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We like to take people here who have never been to Benihana. This time was a snowbird neighbor, and it was very fun. She was a bit nervous at first, sitting at a hot table with strangers, but in no time we were all talking and having a good time. Our chef was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a reservation,yet still waited 30 mi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had a reservation,yet still waited 30 mins to be seated. The girls at the front didn't seem to be interested in the customers disapproval of having to wait outside. Although the waitress was super nice and so was the chef cooking for us, the food was blah. Tipical corny show that they set up for you minus the good flavor like they have a sapporo. i had a better experience at sapporo. I did love the souvenir pic that they take snd give to you for free!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Paying for the name

Dined on May 8, 2016

While the food and service were very good indeed, I feel the experience was simply not worth the very expensive final tally. I cannot be more adamant that the food was quite good but it was not something that wowed us. You didn't leave feeling that you had the absolutely best.

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The price of the food is high for the po ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The price of the food is high for the portions you get. The service is great and the chef was entraining. Our table had someone that had food allergies to just about everything, so it was hard to enjoy dinner since everything was a danger to this person not in our group.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael was our chef and he was great an ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Michael was our chef and he was great and made our experience wonderful

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was great as always and it's fu ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great as always and it's fun getting to interact with people who come from all over. The chefs don't seem to be as fun and engaging these days. Less tricks too which is unfortunate since most of us come for the show aspect. But overall it's still a great place to eat and spending a couple of hours.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wow, wow, oh wow

Dined on May 7, 2016

we waited 35 minutes to get seated (tabled?) with a reservation. I believe it was a staff shortage, mainly they needed more table chefs. excellent, excellent service; our waitress was the best server ever !! this was Saturdae afternoon, 07 May Chandler, the Eve of Mothers Day.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Time

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to Benihana after not being able to get a reservation a few weeks back. The food was good and our chef was good at keeping the table entertained. Our waitress, although she tried her best, was adequate....and very hard to understand. My party asked several times to repeat herself, but still we still didn't understand what in the world she was saying. That along with the noisy atmosphere created a laughable moment. Other than that, we had a great time and the food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place to celebrate birthdays.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We actually had three birthdays in our party of five. Last year we did the same thing. The kids look forward to do this every year.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night of Laughter

Dined on May 1, 2016

Friendly Undeniable fun, good food and service Nice, clean, Great Experience! Carlos and Mime we love you! Thank you, Wewillbeback....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3

Looked to be a scheduling problem becaus ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Looked to be a scheduling problem because they crammed 9 people into one table. It was very tight with no extra room.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always keeps me coming back

Dined on April 30, 2016

Always keeps me coming back

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow wait staff due to training

Dined on April 29, 2016

I thought the food was good. They had a good variety for lunch. Everything tasted good and fresh. The wait staff was a little slow in the express lunch area due to training new servers.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Benihana is great for a dinner and a show.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Its the same show every time, but thats what makes it great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Saul

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our chef Saul was amazing. Watching hIm prepare our meal was exciting and made our experience fun.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Absolutely aweful service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Absolutely awful staff. They are rude. Never cleared dishes to the point that I was having to clear soup and salad dishes from in front of the birthday girl when they brought desert because they just kept piling more dishes on the table. Never brought refills and when I asked for more refills the girl sighed. Totally incompetent. If she's unhappy with her job then she should leave and let someone else have it. We spoke to manager who offered us two cards for an upgrade to chicken fried rice on our next purchase of an adult entree...

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

$25 for what

Dined on April 28, 2016

Just wasn't pleased with the amount of food you get for $25.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Food is good, not service!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We make a reservation but hostess gave our seat away and we end up not being seat till 40 mins later, she even deny it. Would be nice if chief keep the conversation going, he did from the beginning then just silently cook for the rest of the cooking, just awkward

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

Had to wait even though we had a reso T ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Had to wait even though we had a reso Then 45 min more before chef came

food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Reservation needs improvement.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Made reservation and didn't get seated til 45 min later. I can understand having to wait 10 maybe 15 min extra, but 45min is unbelievable for reservations. Also the hostesses should take the time to think before they speak. Having worked in this field, customer service skills is of the utmost importance. I can understand being busy but knowing how to handle the situation is the key. Please really think about why you are in business. Without your customers you wouldn't have a job.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best birthday spot

Dined on April 20, 2016

I love coming to the place for special occasions like my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food wish for more vegetables but o ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Good food wish for more vegetables but other than that real good experience.

food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Fun dinner place

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to Benihana many times, but this past visit seemed to be exceptional this time! Several of us thought it was extra tasty!! My only complaint is the noise level. It is way too loud!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Please put your starter serving staff on lunches

Dined on April 14, 2016

Our chef at the table was outstanding in personality and food prep. Good thing because the friendly and cute server obviously had no idea how to give decent service from not knowing the difference between a split of sparkling wine and a full bottle (then proceeding to drop it off on the table unwrapped and unopened) to picking up empty dishes, using beverage napkins, checking periodically for new drink orders and basically just being present from time to time. Makes me think management doesn't really care since the food is so good and the business is consistent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

RESERVATION.. WHY Bother??

Dined on April 9, 2016

I used this site to make a reservation for 6:30. we got there at 6:25, told the hostess my name, she said she sees the reservation, and said there will be a 10 min wait. I figured Ok, we are a few min early. that 10 went by, and another 10 went by, and now we were 15 min PAST our reservation time, and were told it will still be a few more minutes. This was an anniversary dinner, and at this point my wife was DONE. So we left, no meal no nothing, walked right into the Keg, Sat down with drinks in hand 5 min later, ordered, had great steaks and sides, and spent my $90 there instead!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

very slow - 2 hour lunch

Dined on April 7, 2016

Good food, but it took forever. You need at least 2 hours for lunch

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

2 Hour Dinner - With a new born

Dined on April 4, 2016

We only wanted to be there for 45 to an hour, but we sat around waiting unattended most of the time. We had a new born with us who needed to get home, but it did not speed them up. Slowest / worst benihanna ever

food5
ambience4
service3

Long wait for chef with no communication ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Long wait for chef with no communication by server.

food4
ambience4
service4

Open table reservation was fantastic. W ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Open table reservation was fantastic. Walked in and was seated. Awesome

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The tables

Dined on April 1, 2016

The tables are too small. To have to be sitting so close to a stranger that your knees are rubbing together against theirs is very awkward while your trying to eat and enjoy yourself is a big downer. The tables just need to be pulled back a little bit more and it would be perfect.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Benihana

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great places to go with friends, family or special occasions! Great places for birthdays when you sign up for thirty dollars off.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Cook, waitress & food

Dined on March 30, 2016

The cook prepared & cooked our food per our request. He was very entertaining. Both the service & food were excellent. My family always celebrates a birthday there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I like sitting with other people and cha ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

I like sitting with other people and chatting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Me and my best friend recently visited for her birthday. The staff were attentive, the company was great and the cheap was amazing. great environment and an overall wonderful experience! I would definitely recommend it to others for special occasions, worth every cent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great location to celebrate special events

Dined on March 24, 2016

We always visit Benihana to celebrate joyous occasions because Benihana provides fun food entrainment. The environment is always inviting to all friends, couples, and family groups. I was very pleased that I was able to find dinner reservations at this location at the last minute. Also, they alway make you free wonderful when your celebrating a birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love this place

Dined on March 20, 2016

although it can be a bit noisy at times this is still one of my favorites, ask for Chef Joe, hes wonderful and I recommend the fruit coleda, really really great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our chef Ruben was awesome! He was energ ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our chef Ruben was awesome! He was energetic, friendly and had some tricks that I haven't seen before. The food was somehow better than normal too, which I didn't think was possible.

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Felt Rushed

Dined on March 17, 2016

We felt very rushed. They were sweeping around us while we were still eating. They were cleaning the grill and flinging crumbs near our food. The scoop of ice cream seems to have gotten smaller. Our cook seemed inexperience and didn't talk much . Again it could go back to feel rushed as all the employees just seemed like they wanted to close up and get out.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.