About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-chandler - Benihana - Chandler
California Roll - Benihana - Chandler
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Chandler
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Chandler
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Chandler
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Chandler
Sushi - Benihana - Chandler
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Chandler
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Chandler
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Chandler
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Chandler
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Chandler
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Chandler
Trio - Benihana - Chandler
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Chandler
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Chandler
Chef Trick - Benihana - Chandler
Salad - Benihana - Chandler
Salmon Mango - Benihana - Chandler
Benihana Delight - Benihana - Chandler
Onion Tower - Benihana - Chandler

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Special Occasion
East Valley
Most Booked
East Valley
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Groups (87)
Kid-friendly (54)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Family Style (9)
Healthy (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrated a birthday and Benihana's did ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated a birthday and Benihana's did not disappoint. The food was tasty as usual however, the chef was below average. The difference in the chefs skill levels are obvious and that is the only negative about this place.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was awesome, but the cook seeme ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was awesome, but the cook seemed nervous. He didn't talk so much. The waitress was great serving us and making sure we had everything we need.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Part of the experience is influenced by ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Part of the experience is influenced by your table mates. Our experience was less than we expected due to the poor attitude of the people with whom we shared a table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Kevin was an amazing chef

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Kevin was an amazing chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a tradition of ours to celebrate o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

It is a tradition of ours to celebrate our birthdays at Benihana. Thank you for offering that service to us and others :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an important day, my birthday , ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was an important day, my birthday , the cook was quite and seemed as if he was ready to go home it was pretty late and I understand he might of had a long day but I had my mom and best friend that had never been before and I just wish they could have experienced a better service a chef that was energetic and happy to do the job.. also food was nit that good I ended up not eating half of it .. I would say this was the worst experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The wait time to be seated was long, eve ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The wait time to be seated was long, even with our reservation. The server was new and inexperienced; she indicated that we was her second table since she started and she didn't have anyone assisting her. She was extremely slow, she didn't understand or learn the menu well, and she was inattentive to our table; she slow on assisting us to place our appetizer orders, and slow on refilling our drinks. And the chef took an enormously long time to come and cook for our table. And the food was immeasurably salty. The Chef's entertainment portion was not up-to-par in which we were use-to seeing at a Benihana. This particular visit & experience was overall disappointing and unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I our experience was excellent. Taylor o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I our experience was excellent. Taylor our head chef did an amazing job . Food was prepared perfectly. The rest of the wait staff was excellent also. We were fortunate this time to be at a table with all adults. I have nothing against children but sometimes it nice to be with just adults.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations still waited an hour. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had reservations still waited an hour. Then the serves was horrible. Waitress dropped drink on my friend and only apologized to the person who's drink it was. Was thee for 2 and half hours. Horrible experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We had an reservation or two and they wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had an reservation or two and they wanted to seat us with 7 other people around his tiny table. There would e no elbow room o even eat. Very disappointing. We asked o be seated elsewhere could guarantee less people at the table. They need to rethink their seating arrangement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the nicest Bennihanna's I've been ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of the nicest Bennihanna's I've been to and I've been to at least 15 different ones. Very upscale and modern look for a Benni's I loved it. Excellent customer service friendly staff. If I lived in Arizona I would go again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The chef we had was so boring. It was ve ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The chef we had was so boring. It was very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I had a very good dining experience, sta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had a very good dining experience, staff and chef were very friendly, the food was amazing!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the best dinner experience was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the best dinner experience was amazing. My 10 yr old daughter a was pleased...

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Benihana's for ov ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We have been going to Benihana's for over 45 years it is our special occasion place and when we just want a great meal. My son grew up on Benihana's for his birthdays he has loved the place since he was 4 and now he is 29. The food this time was a little over cooked but maybe the chef was off tonight. The main reason we go to Benihana is the food no matter where we are it has been consistent and you always meet nice people at the table.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was good his name is Vincent ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our server was good his name is Vincent but our cook literally just talked like he read a script

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Have been going to Benihana restaurants ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Have been going to Benihana restaurants for years. They are consistently good and entertaining.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for seafood lovers. Meats are mor ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great for seafood lovers. Meats are more limited but options are delicious. Would recommend as fun group event, not an intimate ambiance.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time, may the birthday dinne ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a great time, may the birthday dinner experience fun. Will do it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It can take a few hours to get through t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It can take a few hours to get through the entire sit down meal, but this is a fun place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for parties! But hard to hear the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great for parties! But hard to hear the other end of your table due to noise level. Food was tasty & everything ran smoothly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Despite notifying and reminding the wait ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Despite notifying and reminding the waiter, chef and manager on multiple occasions, my daughter’s birthday was ignored while another child, who was at our table, birthday was the focus of the entire meal. The other family even pointed out that there were two kids with birthdays at the table. That was a bummer – so much for going to Benihana for special occasions. Also, the carpet is very dirty which makes you feel that other things may be neglected. That being said when you are sitting at the cooktop and the chef is doing a good job obeying all the food-handling regulations you worry less. I ordered Seafood Diablo and several of the ingredients listed on the menu were missing. I asked for this spicy dish extra-spicy. My dish was cooked last (no big deal) but then when it was served and others were finishing, our waiter started working another table and I couldn’t get a drink to save my life. Also, I know the chefs have to learn but our chef was noticeably less skilled compared to the other chefs on shift this evening. That’s just bad luck of the draw, but seemed to be the way this night was going. All in all, it was a very bad experience.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This is the third year in a row that my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the third year in a row that my friend and I have celebrated my birthday there. It has become something of an anticipated tradition. Everyone is always friendly and eager to do whatever is necessary to ensure an enjoyable visit. I foresee our spending many more happy birthdays at this establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am a big Benihana fan but I am not sur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I am a big Benihana fan but I am not sure who is running this location. Its gotten dirty and the food just isn't as good other locations. I even first hand witnessed a chef leave the restroom without washing his hands. what a shame.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is my daughters fave pla ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is my daughters fave place to go. The food is great. The staff is great and they put on a great show while making the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did a reservation, but there was still ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I did a reservation, but there was still going to be a 45 min wait from the time that we arrived, 15 minutes early.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love going here ! Sometimes wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We always love going here ! Sometimes with a big group or just the 2 of us. the food is great and it is always entertaining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a culinary show. Fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to enjoy a culinary show. Food is good and service is very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was new. He did good consider ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our chef was new. He did good considering he was so new

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing Waitor, amazing food, love it! G ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing Waitor, amazing food, love it! Great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I had a reservation we had to w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although I had a reservation we had to wait ~25min beyond our reservation time to be seated. No explanation was given, which was frustrating. Once we were seated everything went well, server was very attentive and fun, chef was great and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time as always at Benihana! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great time as always at Benihana! First time I ordered the teriyaki beef, beef was a little tough served medium rare but the flavor was great. Probably wouldn't order that again , but wanted to try something new. My daughter ordered the Filet Mignon and Colossal shrimp. It was delicious and tender. Our chef had a dry, funny personality and was very entertaining. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This chain location has been visited for ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This chain location has been visited for all of our family BD celebrations family for as long as I can remember. While they have had issues in the past (like refusing to serve my 90-yr-old mother a birthday martini because she did not have her driver's license i.d. with her), they seem to have gotten it back together. Wish the chefs had comparable skills, but sometimes the "beating heart" is fun no matter how many times you've seen it. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Compared to other Benihana restaurants t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Compared to other Benihana restaurants the food here was far superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

This was for my sons birthday and althou ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was for my sons birthday and although we requested the birthday club for him (multiple times) no meal coupon ever came. The food was just OK and we thought it was a bit overpriced. Staff acted like they had much better things to do than serve the customers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Always awesome EVERYTIME we go. Food is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always awesome EVERYTIME we go. Food is always great and servers and cook always very nice and helpful

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff not very accommodating for my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wait staff not very accommodating for my daughters birthday dinner! :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

I've been here multiple times with my fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been here multiple times with my family and friends. Food is always great, and service is usually too. There were four of us in my party, service started off great until hot soup was spilled over myself by the server, who immediately cleaned the soup off of the table and gave me napkins to clean myself. She apologized for her mistake, I would've thought that the manager on duty would've come over to apologize as well, but that never happened . Service continued as usual, and I went home with a stained white E-40 t-shirt, and khakis. Needless to say, I couldn't enjoy my meal or the show, because that incident put me in a sour mood.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We had a group of 8 people an really enj ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a group of 8 people an really enjoyed our chef! His name was Aaron and he was fantastic. Thank you for sending him to our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.