About Benihana - Chandler

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (37)
Kid-friendly (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Family Style (29)
Casual (26)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (15)
People Watching (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Spicy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fun time celebrating a birthday. The food preparation is very entertaining and the quality and amounts were very good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The service was horrible

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was very good, the chef was excellent. very entertaining. There was a wait for boxes and the check, but otherwise all was fine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Their chefs can't cook anymore....it used to be you got someone who had done it for 10 years minimum and now you get less than 6 months , a year or less. It's a joke of its former self. Will not be back to benihana which is sad for me because I used to truly enjoy this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I made a reservation and was not seated for another 20 minutes

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experienced chef. Loved his job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was fantastic! Food was delicious! Great place to bring family, enjoy great food and have fun! This is my favorite place to eatand I will be back! I suggest you give it a try. The chef puts on a great show for you to enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

As usual we made a reservation for 645p. We get there 635 and told there will be a wait as people are still eating. We finally get seated at 720. Nobody asked if we wanted drinks or even water or appetizers while we waited. Once seated the service was great as was the food. The price as expected was high but that is a known. They did take 20% off for the wait but by the time dinner was over out kidd were so crabby

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our Chef Taylor was excellent !!! He was fun, friendly & engaging. We had a special needs adult and a 1 yr old in our group and they we mesmerized by him & his 'tricks'. We all enjoyed him and our dinner very much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Benihanas was absolutely delicious! The food was excellent! The experience was outstanding! Our Chef Sam was the best! He was so fun and entertaing! He made the night relaxing and enjoyable! The food was so good! Benihanas has the best fried rice I have ever eaten! The steak falls apart in your mouth. The shrimp was delicious too! We all loved the sushi!! We went on a family date to eat dinner. Our boys all loved it! They range from the ages of 16 to 6. It is great for all ages. We had the best time at Benihanas! We will definitely go back!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I enjoyed a Birthday dinner with family. The Chef expertly wielded his "weapons" (cooking utensils) and cooked us a delicious dinner, while entertaining us. It was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This time, we got an inexperienced chef. He took forever and spilled a beverage on a young couple on their prom date. He forgot several ingredients and had to re-cook several lobsters at our table due to them being under-cooked. Our food was salty too. I usually order the grilled ahi; it wasn't so good this time. I'll have to be more careful in the future with my order. We come down from Kingman, when we are in the area to dine. I will go someplace else next time. I do love Chandler though. Note: even our complimentary photo was blurry. :-(

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The cook was AMAZING, and the servers were very friendly and constantly smiling.
Great fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I visited a Benihanas in Florida and it was 10x better then this location. This location reaked of grease (they need better ventilation), the chef didn't seem very happy to be at work that night, and I felt rushed. My husband and I were there celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary and very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love going to Benihana in Chandler. Their staff is always very friendly and their food is amazing!! I definitely will be going back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food made us sick. They got started late during lunch hour and didn't get our drinks started for almost 30 min. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I will start by stating that we made reservations however seating, cooks arrival wait time was way excessive without any apology or gratuitous gesture. I have dined at Benihana on numerous occasions; variations of days and times. I assume there had to be a staffing shortage of sorts. What should have been a 2 hour dinner ended 4.5 hours later...Fyi we arrived @ 7pm. IT WAS A TUESDAY 😐

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The wait to be seated with a reservation is beyond ridiculous, then waiting for the chef to come is even longer. No one should have to wait 3 1/2 hours to eat

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We would not come back here! Sushi was not fresh, sub par considering the price charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food & Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Good food good fun. The cool has a great attitude and made it fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very amazing , and of course yummy ! Favorite place in town ! 😋

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Benihana is one of my most favorite restaurants from back when I was younger and residing in New York. I adore the ambiance, the food is delicious, the servers are friendly and the 'Asian' Chefs are amazing and entertaining and it is a great dining experience. Unfortunately, I had a HORRIBLE experience at the Scottsdale location. The service was terrible and slow and it took over an hour for them to bring someone to our table. When they finally pulled a 'dish washer' from the kitchen to act like a chef, he did not speak English and could not effectively communicate with the guests. We ended up taking our food in a to-go container and threw it away. It was the worst dining experience I have ever encountered and would never go back to the Scottsdale location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

One of the very worst experiences of my life. My 40th birthday was March 30 (I didn't use their birthday special coupon) and I always heard that Benihana was a great place to dine. Well, I made reservations two weeks in advance, arrived on time and was told my table wasn't ready. What is the point of making a reservation when you still have to wait 30 minutes to be seated? I thought to stay because I had friends coming to dine with me and didn't want to drag them to another restaurant needlessly. Well, I should have dragged them to another restaurant because our waitress would go off somewhere and not reappear for 20 to 30 minutes at a time. The highlight of the night was our chef Kevin, who was so entertaining and funny. I tipped him instead of the vanishing waitress. After we told her she will not get a tip, she said that she has to give the chef 10% of her tips whether or not she gets a tip. She said they were short-handed and it wasn't her fault. It's not what you do but how you do it. She should have made us aware of the situation instead of leaving us high and dry. And, then, she shamelessly, passed blame onto her place of employment. I will NEVER dine at Benihana in Chandler, AZ again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our chef Andrew was amazing! Not only did he cook us a delicious meal, but he made us laugh throughout the entire experience and really made it special for my mom and brothers birthdays!!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food was great! A tad slow in getting seated, but great service thereafter.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 28, 2017

It was our first time there and we had a blast. The food was wonderful

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This was the fourth year in a row I've been for my birthday, but this year this service was terrible, it took about 15 minutes before we ever got greeted or drinks the food was also cold and over cooked, and no birthday celebration either. I would not go again next year is sad because I look forward to it every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Benihana's has great food and service, with some entertainment. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It was great took my 5 year old daughter. She insisted we go back. Juan was great. There were other kids there and he put on a show for all of them. Thank you Juan.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food. Fun to watch
. Excellent chef and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The wait time (over 30 min) in spit of have a reservation is why i didn't rate my overall experience higher. The chef was really good-could tell he was new but did a great job with the food..less on the entertaining.
All in all good. We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Go hungry because the food is so good! We always go to this location & everyones friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was grandson's 10 birthday and we had a great time. Our Chef was fantastic and took extra care of my grandson. My grandson is still talking about what a great time he had. Our table partners were fantastic. Can not wait to go again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Cook was not well prepared, food was undercooked. Requests made were not taken into consideration as previous visits had zero issues. Very disappointed with today's visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I'm disappointed that I have to sit at a Teppan table now to use my $30 birthday certificate. I just wanted to have sushi and not all of the stuff at the table. I'm not much on the cooking thing. I just want to go with friends and have my sushi. I'm not sure if I'll go back.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 15 min to get table. Then we had to wait for 1 hr 15min for the chef. Too hungry. In total it took two and half hours for the dinner.
Food was quite good. Ambience also good. However we had to share our table with strangers as each table seats 8.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My lunch for my son's 13th birthday was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The restaurant itself just seemed like it could use a good cleaning. It was an ok experience but won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food is great. The chefs always are super friendly and the funny tricks they do
while cooking and the interaction with everyone at the table is awesome. Great portions
of food from soup to the meal of your choice

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.