About Benihana - Chandler

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (62)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Fun (48)
Good for Groups (44)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Kid-friendly (32)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Healthy (14)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Family Style (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great deal for your birthday. Sign up and take a friend. Food was great. The chef was friendly but he just went through the motions with us. I've gone about a half dozen other times in my life and all the other chefs seemed really engaged. That's the only reason I rated service as a three which according to this scale is still good. I was content with the service but have been used to great chefs when I've been there before.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Took my friend here for Father's Day. We were seated very quickly and the waitress was very attentive and fast. The habachi chef was awesome! We had a great time and the food was even better. The chef even made a few special sauces upon request of some of the others at our table. I think we'll have some special sauce requests of our own next time. They looked yummy!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Benihana is a great place for families, and the food is awesome

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious food great chefs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellant good food entertaining nice location clean good waiters

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing, portions were an issue. The chef was pretty much going through the motions. Sat with a party of five and they seemed to receive better service than my family of 3. My husband asked for an extra side of fried rice and was told the sushi chef would make that to which my husband replied "I want you to cook it" from there on he seemed to be skipped for drinks and stiffed on the portions. Considering the main reason we wanted to dine there was the hibachi and the show the chefs provide, we were disappointed. We tipped our chef because the food he prepared was delicious. Pre Fathers Day celebration and my husband got ignored for asking for a simple request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Kids meal was a good value. We walked in and the fixtures had a lot of dust and dirt. Food tasted just ok. If you have never been, it is fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We got to the resultant at 745 for 8pm reservations...no t seated until 815...our cook was great, still learning but was fabulous. Out server was less than interested in our table. We did not get out checks until 945 and by that time I was ready to go and didn't even stay for my birthday ice cream. Over all not the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The air was broke the restroom so dity had reservations at 2:30 never sat my family tell 3:30 never left tell after 5pm and it is always that way service is so so slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Made reservations 2 weeks in advance. Arrived 15 minutes before my reservation. There we 70 people waiting to be seated. I was assured I would be seated before the big party was seated. I was seated after. I noticed the fried rice with chicken didn't taste the same as before. It was missing the sesame seeds. Maybe you quit using them. I prefer the sesame seeds in the rice. The grill cook was great and pleasant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Over cooked and dry fillet mignon and the chicken. and the veggie were served last and over cooked, but the waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It was a pleasant experience over all. At first I found the welcoming employees distracted and didn't pay attention to us. But the service after that was very welcoming and professional. The food was delicious! The price was more expensive for Japanese vegetables and meat, but I understood it included the cost of the chef cooking in front of you.😊
There was no hospitality of employees while leaving the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Mediocre food flavor. Chef was young and not engaging. Group we sat with were unsociable. Had a HUGE problem with a gift card. At the end of the day they fixed the gift card situation. But very expensive for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I had an excellent experience. The server was very polite and professional.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I love benihanas always hits the spot 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We always enjoy Benihana's and a favorite of my son who had a birthday. So best place to celebrate. Chefs are always entertaining and a great way to meet other people if you don't fill the table with your own group.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was delicious and the chef was very entertaining. All around a great place to eat.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was exceptional! Our chef was very good, and quite entertaining. Drink service was very slow, and left something to be desired.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was really good

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our chef was AMAZING. Demetri made our table and night. I would go back and request him again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service was terrible- everything was delayed from water refills, to the waitress even picking up used dishes or glasses. To start, the wait for our reservation ended up being more than half an hour, so I am unsure why someone would need to reserve a table if they would not follow this standard. They also placed us in a teppan table with 6 others, totaling 9 people. Other tables have a maximum of 7. The individual sitting next to me and I kept bumping elbows while reaching for our drinks. If you like going to a restaurant and listening to at least 4-5 sudden bursts of loud birthday song throughout your dinner, you are welcome to go here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Shrimp was very dry and only saw the waitress once.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I took my wife and children to Benihana's for my wife's 40th b-day! It was our first time dining there. It was an amazing experience and we will remember that night for years to come. Our children enjoyed the experience and loved the food too! We look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The chef was amazing, his fried rice was tops! The server seemed bored and un-attentive. She had little attention to detail, was slow, and sloppy. Every drink that was served was set down in a manner that caused them to spill. Handed each bowl of hot soup from the chefs position at the table instead of coming around. (As she reminded us each that the bowl was hot.) As with the drinks, she had bobbled the tray on her way to the table and soup was all over the outside of the bowl, and now on everyone's hands. I had to flag her down to get refills after the whole table had been empty for a while. That was the only round of refills the table got. During the meal, the chef wasn't set out the correct amount of bowls for rice, and there was zero other staff available, resulting in him being forced to leave food cooking unattended to seek out what he needed. After serving dessert, and singing to the celebrators; she dropped the checks and simply walked away. No mention of the photo, or to check refills. We had an early dinner hour, so the restaurant wasn't busy. I think there was maybe 3 other tables seated in the entire place. I am normally the first to excuse less than stellar servers, as I realize that we all have bad days. But when I come to a restaurant at the price point of Benihana, I expect a different level of service than I could get at any run of the mill casual dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The atmosphere, food and "show" are unique and keep us coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The carpet is old and black due to years of filth! The restaurant looks old and run down inside. The staff are very nice and the food is good. They need to renovate the interior before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the food and the service.Reasonable price for great food. Will go back again and again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had a wonderful time at the Teppan-Yaki table. It's a great place to sit around and talk to each other while having a good time. Great atmosphere for Fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food timing was very strange with vegetables coming out last after everything else was already eaten and the bathroom had 1/2 foot of standing water. It was gross and the food was ok, but not for that price. This location has gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Benihana never disappoints with keeping kids entertained and drinks in parent's hands. Reservations are a must and you still might need to wait a little until your table is ready, but it's a fun yearly hot spot to celebrate birthdays.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were there for my daughters graduation and our cook was very good and so was our waitress. We even got to take a picture.
Thank you for a memorable moment!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Worst experience ever, we waited 30 minutes before a waiter even asked what we wanted to drink. The chef was horrible, my rice was crunchy, chicken was burned black, soup was cold. Nothing was good and they didn't even offer a discount only a free ice cream which obviously I didn't want.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Waitress was awesome teppanaki chef was on drugs and couldnt cook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had lots of fun food was good. Waiter was young and he sucked!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I took our extended family for dinner before my sons high school graduation. Made reservations on OpenTable and indicated what time we had to leave by to make graduation check in. The staff was very accommodating throughout the meal! The chef was super awesome!!!!! My son had a great time, great experience, and great meal. I thank the staff for all their effort to make the night special! Thank you!!!!👍👍

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Demetri, our cook, was spectacular--fantastic personality and superb cook!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was good but service was all kinds of wrong. We were seated at a table a few minutes before one right next to us. The other table got served first. At 53 minutes after our reservation time finally we got soup. It should NEVER take as long as it did for us to get our food. We also waited for quite a while for drink refills. We were served our chicken fried rice, then protein and then vegetables. The zucchini was way over cooked at that point and I was disappointed. This was probably our 10th visit and maybe our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Went in with my house my birthday dinner. I've been coming here for about 7-8 years now for my birthday but this year it just seem like the waitress was not tentative. We pretty much had to ask her for the tea and for the birthday ice cream for our table and had the family next to us not asked about the picture, we would not have had our yearly picture taken either. :( Could of been better.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service with great food! I would go back again! Recommend all to try!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.