About Benihana - Chandler

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for Groups (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Fun (25)
Casual (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Family Style (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1086 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The manager, waitress and chief we're al ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The manager, waitress and chief we're all great and friendly as well as helpful. I like this Benihanas much better than the one in Scottsdale, this Benihana actually serves you hot soup and hot tea the way it's supposed to be served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was ok, had to wait a while to be s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was ok, had to wait a while to be seated. What happened to the birthday pictures. No one ever said they had stopped

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very rude black manager

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very rude black manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I visit 3x a month should say just how I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I visit 3x a month should say just how I feel about this place

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The cost would have been justified if t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cost would have been justified if the service was better. Our cook didn't realize that our server hadn't brought out the food to complete our dish (steamed rice) so I literally had a plate piled with grilled onions and a chicken breast! We had to catch our server just to get one refill on water and simple drinks and we repeatedly had to ask to get the little table space cleared. It is a multi course meal the server should be available to clear salad and soup dishes before the entree is served. Not impressed and will most likely not visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Love Benihana's! We go for every specia ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Benihana's! We go for every special occasion! It is on the pricey side but the food and ombiance make it well worth the price!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook was amazing. He was funny and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our cook was amazing. He was funny and entertaining the entire meal.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the in laws out to dinner and was s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took the in laws out to dinner and was super thankful that the chef and our waiter were ever so attentive to their requests in Spanish! I love a company who values diversity and is always striving to make everyone feel included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our daughter and her about-to-be fiance ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our daughter and her about-to-be fiance were in town and he had never been there. We had a delightful evening enjoying the food and the spectacle of it's preparation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only issue was I made a reservation f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My only issue was I made a reservation for 5:30pm and we didn't get seated till 6:00pm. Hostess kept telling us it would take a couple of minutes. We were the last to get seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration of two birthdays. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was a celebration of two birthdays. Our personal chef (Saul) was the same one we had on our last visit in late October of last year and HE did not disappoint us. What a great job and great tasting food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The initial customer service was good. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The initial customer service was good. The hostess at the front of the house made accomodations despite me making a mistake with my reservation. Aside from that the meal overall was lacking. My partner ordered the salmon which looked frozen and the chef left it cooking very long along with my chicken as well rendering both dishes very dry and chewy along with the lack of flavor. This was my first time and the chef failed to mention that choosing fried rice on your 5 course meal instead of white would be extra. I later found out on the bill. For the amount we paid the portions were very small and had it not been for the sauces the meal would've been a complete dissapointment. Overall I left feeling like never again. To pay that much and receive unsatisfying food is not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We have been many times and was very dis ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We have been many times and was very disappointed this time. Had a reservation for 5:30pm... got sat at 5:50pm... did not get drinks until 6:20pm. Rice was not done, chef broke a glass on the floor and it was not cleaned up. My husband sat and eat his dinner with glass at his feet. Did not receive refills on drinks. Overall a very disappointing experience and not one that we expect from Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Our cook was awesome. Interacted with ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our cook was awesome. Interacted with everyone, very pleasant experience. Our server was not good. He was not checking up on our table, cook had to call someone to find him. Some of the other guests would get up and get their own refills. So that was a bit of a bummer, everything else was just excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

it was for a birthday and it was so much ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

it was for a birthday and it was so much fun. the food was great and we got a birthday ice cream!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Spicy, , Healthy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef, Taylor, was delightful!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our chef, Taylor, was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Benihana locations throu ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I have eaten at Benihana locations throughout the US and really enjoy the flavor and freshness of Teppanyaki food. Their sushi is also very good. The Chandler, AZ location has always had the most consistent and friendly service of any restaurant my wife and I go to. We go there for family birthday specials or just to have a different meal. We visit 4-6 times a year and rarely face anything that would be considered a disappointment. I would recommend it to anyone, and often include family and friends to get a "full table" to enjoy the experience as a group. We are looking forward to our next visit and expect it to be as enjoyable as any other time we have visited.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have a great time and love the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always have a great time and love the food! The staff are welcoming and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the first thing the cook said was "it's ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

the first thing the cook said was "it's been a long day". There were no stunts like before. Humor was low. You can tell he was totally "burned out" on the job. since he said he's been working since 11am and not done til late that night. They are overworked and the quality has gone downhill. Our reservations was at 6pm and was told it would be a 10 minute wait, ended up waiting 30 minutes. They need to pep up their cooks to like their job and show it. This guy was ready to quit. I probably won't return until I read more reviews that they are getting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

we had made the reservation on open tabl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

we had made the reservation on open table for 1PM however they didn't have a table ready until 1:30pm which was frustrating. Then the chef didn't come out until 30min later so all and all the exp at Chandler was mediocre compared to Scottsdale where we normally dine.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I visit atleast twice a month food is gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I visit atleast twice a month food is great as well as service is great

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! The chef was funny and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great! The chef was funny and entertaining. The cosmonauts S were delightful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing experience, as always. Even on ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing experience, as always. Even on NYE, things ran on time with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been a Benihana customer for well ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been a Benihana customer for well over forty years, it is my wife's favorite restaurant. When we get bad service, and we have, I let the management know what went wrong. This was a spur of the moment meal on New Years eve after a class, the restaurant was frantic. Our server was perfect, he could not have been better. Our chef, I was initially disappointed with, was a young oriental who at first didn't seem to have much personality. I was wrong, his show was over the top and his food was great. We were in Oregon and had what I thought was the best Benihana meal ever (tow years ago), this meal was every bit as good, maybe better. We generally go to Scottsdale as it is a bit easier to get to than Chandler, we will be coming to chandler much more often.

Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Kevin has been the best chef by far ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Chef Kevin has been the best chef by far..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our table was full of laughter, characte ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our table was full of laughter, character and flavor best experience I've had at Benihana's ever. Hats off to our chef who's name escapes me but he's a Toronto Raptors fan and Canadian.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time at Benihana Chandler ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great time at Benihana Chandler for my birthday! We sat in the dining room near the bar not at the hibachi table because we had a baby with us. Our server and the manager Sheree were very attentive and made sure we enjoyed ourselves were comfortable with the food and service. We noticed the manager was very hands on helping to seat people, bus tables, deliver food, etc. She modeled outstanding customer service! I would highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place busy as expected during the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place busy as expected during the holidays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was great, but our waiter was r ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was great, but our waiter was rarely at the table and we ordered the lunch boat and it took nearly 20 minutes to get our white rice with our meal. We had to ask him two times to get it. Our drinks were rarely refilled. Service was poor compared to the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent venue, outstanding chef entert ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent venue, outstanding chef entertainment and food preparation. Very good value, especially at lunch; good service, very good food. We love going to Benihana Chandler.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Kyle was great. Thank you for a great ex ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Kyle was great. Thank you for a great experience. I told everyone how much fun it was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, , Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, bland food, minimal service, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overpriced, bland food, minimal service, chef was pleasant. Will not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good for Christmas meal

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very good for Christmas meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our chefs lacked personal hygiene, his f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our chefs lacked personal hygiene, his fingernails was filthy dirty like he worked at jiffy lube, not a restaurant .. his face was very dirty looking, if the restaurant wasn't so packed i would have asked to be moved ,, it was Gross

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great experience for Christmas Eve after ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience for Christmas Eve afternoon late lunch (2:30PM). 4 adults 2 children. Had great food & service.

Kids loved it. Adults loved it. Food was sooooooooo much. Had to take leftovers home.

Super!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for a family Christmas dinner. Ever ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went for a family Christmas dinner. Everything was excellent and we will return. Very little delay in seating and the Chef was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my daughter's birthday which we s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was my daughter's birthday which we stated at the beginning since we had the birthday coupon. At the end of the evening when the server was taking ice cream orders and took pictures of the birthday people, she forgot my daughter's birthday and we did not get a picture. The server stated she would return to the table when I came back to the table. That never happened and my daughter was not very happy and I was also not happy. We specifically went to Benihana for my daughter's birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was great, only things that were a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was great, only things that were a negative was the half hour wait for a 7:15 reservation. The reason why I made a reservation was to have dinner before a movie. Missed our movie waiting for dinner.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We waited an hour for our reserved table ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We waited an hour for our reserved table. The waitress was wonderful. Our chef was blasé. Most likely tired because they were very under staffed. Disappointing when you spend $400 for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The visit was horrible. Had a reservatio ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The visit was horrible. Had a reservation and asked if possible to be seated separately for the occasion and was told they'd do their best. We ended up being put with a table of 5 touching elbows. Cook wasn't funny at all and didn't do anything spectacular. Not only that, there were 2 birthdays at the table but instead everyone but them got dessert and that was it. Not even a picture. Will not be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.