About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Benihana - Chandler
Salad
Salmon Mango
Benihana Delight
Onion Tower

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Special Occasion
East Valley
Most Booked
East Valley
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

Special Occasion (112)
Good for Groups (101)
Kid-friendly (58)
See All
Great for Lunch (35)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (17)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great for parties! But hard to hear the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great for parties! But hard to hear the other end of your table due to noise level. Food was tasty & everything ran smoothly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Despite notifying and reminding the wait ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Despite notifying and reminding the waiter, chef and manager on multiple occasions, my daughter’s birthday was ignored while another child, who was at our table, birthday was the focus of the entire meal. The other family even pointed out that there were two kids with birthdays at the table. That was a bummer – so much for going to Benihana for special occasions. Also, the carpet is very dirty which makes you feel that other things may be neglected. That being said when you are sitting at the cooktop and the chef is doing a good job obeying all the food-handling regulations you worry less. I ordered Seafood Diablo and several of the ingredients listed on the menu were missing. I asked for this spicy dish extra-spicy. My dish was cooked last (no big deal) but then when it was served and others were finishing, our waiter started working another table and I couldn’t get a drink to save my life. Also, I know the chefs have to learn but our chef was noticeably less skilled compared to the other chefs on shift this evening. That’s just bad luck of the draw, but seemed to be the way this night was going. All in all, it was a very bad experience.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This is the third year in a row that my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the third year in a row that my friend and I have celebrated my birthday there. It has become something of an anticipated tradition. Everyone is always friendly and eager to do whatever is necessary to ensure an enjoyable visit. I foresee our spending many more happy birthdays at this establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am a big Benihana fan but I am not sur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I am a big Benihana fan but I am not sure who is running this location. Its gotten dirty and the food just isn't as good other locations. I even first hand witnessed a chef leave the restroom without washing his hands. what a shame.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent as always!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is my daughters fave pla ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This restaurant is my daughters fave place to go. The food is great. The staff is great and they put on a great show while making the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did a reservation, but there was still ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I did a reservation, but there was still going to be a 45 min wait from the time that we arrived, 15 minutes early.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always love going here ! Sometimes wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We always love going here ! Sometimes with a big group or just the 2 of us. the food is great and it is always entertaining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy a culinary show. Fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to enjoy a culinary show. Food is good and service is very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was new. He did good consider ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our chef was new. He did good considering he was so new

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing Waitor, amazing food, love it! G ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing Waitor, amazing food, love it! Great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although I had a reservation we had to w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although I had a reservation we had to wait ~25min beyond our reservation time to be seated. No explanation was given, which was frustrating. Once we were seated everything went well, server was very attentive and fun, chef was great and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time as always at Benihana! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great time as always at Benihana! First time I ordered the teriyaki beef, beef was a little tough served medium rare but the flavor was great. Probably wouldn't order that again , but wanted to try something new. My daughter ordered the Filet Mignon and Colossal shrimp. It was delicious and tender. Our chef had a dry, funny personality and was very entertaining. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Compared to other Benihana restaurants t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Compared to other Benihana restaurants the food here was far superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

This was for my sons birthday and althou ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was for my sons birthday and although we requested the birthday club for him (multiple times) no meal coupon ever came. The food was just OK and we thought it was a bit overpriced. Staff acted like they had much better things to do than serve the customers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Always awesome EVERYTIME we go. Food is ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always awesome EVERYTIME we go. Food is always great and servers and cook always very nice and helpful

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff not very accommodating for my ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wait staff not very accommodating for my daughters birthday dinner! :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

I've been here multiple times with my fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I've been here multiple times with my family and friends. Food is always great, and service is usually too. There were four of us in my party, service started off great until hot soup was spilled over myself by the server, who immediately cleaned the soup off of the table and gave me napkins to clean myself. She apologized for her mistake, I would've thought that the manager on duty would've come over to apologize as well, but that never happened . Service continued as usual, and I went home with a stained white E-40 t-shirt, and khakis. Needless to say, I couldn't enjoy my meal or the show, because that incident put me in a sour mood.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

We had a group of 8 people an really enj ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a group of 8 people an really enjoyed our chef! His name was Aaron and he was fantastic. Thank you for sending him to our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No longer the place we used to love. Foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

No longer the place we used to love. Food quality and flavor just okay, not fun anymore, screaming kids and expensive for something so ordinary. No longer special.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Was great as always. Their staff make ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Was great as always. Their staff make everyone feel special, and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, WE LOVE THE CHICKEN FRIED RI ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, WE LOVE THE CHICKEN FRIED RICE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress added more of a tip to my bill ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress added more of a tip to my bill I had to dispute with my bank.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Our table chef was excellent! His show w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our table chef was excellent! His show was great but the food was even more flavorful than it normally is. Not sure whatbhisnsecretbwas, but he did a great job.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good the service was great the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was good the service was great the chef was not as others I have previously have.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Good food and great service. Our cook Er ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good food and great service. Our cook Eric was very good and entertaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had an overall awful experience. I wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I had an overall awful experience. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was great,7:00pm reservation ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great,7:00pm reservation on point,service very good and chef really nice too,Alots of fun at this restuarant,I give them from 0-10 big 10

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our chef Kevin was excellent! Great food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our chef Kevin was excellent! Great food, good show, a must anyone looking for a nice dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bartender did not know how to make a sim ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bartender did not know how to make a simple martini. Think he may have been messing with the new waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food that is cooked in front of you ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good food that is cooked in front of you. Make sure to have a reservation. We had fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

They really need to replace the greeters ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They really need to replace the greeters currently on staff. Walked in on time for my 5pm reservation and was told they were not open yet. It was 5:02pm. She continued to vacuum around my family and give us dirty looks as we waited. As other customers walked in they received the same rude treatment. I tried to give my reservation information to her but she ignored me.

Besides her bad attitude was her appearance: Dirty uniform and uncombed hair. Left an unprofessional and sloppy impression of the restaurant. Benihana is not a classy Japanese restaurant.

Finally, another greeter or manager arrived to help but the damage was done to many customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Preparing of the food in front of us

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Preparing of the food in front of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first time to a Benihana and we were ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our first time to a Benihana and we were very pleased. Service was excellent. Cook/Chef very entertaining. Food very tasty! We were worried with it being a chain restaurant but were pleasantly surprised by the grill food:)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have enjoyed Benihana, never le ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I always have enjoyed Benihana, never lets me down!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was great, service was very nic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was great, service was very nice. Took my boyfriend for his birthday and the servers as well as our head chief said Happy Birthday throughout the entire night, great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Kyle is the best. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great time. Kyle is the best. He made the rice look like Pac Man. 🍚

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything! The manager was nice a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved everything! The manager was nice and settled an issue I had with my daughters birthday reservations . made my daughters happy. Food was great chef was awesome. Place was clean & service was fast

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time as always at this loc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I had a great time as always at this local site. I like this one and the Vegas site the best. I have been going to Benihana for over 40 years since my first time in Beverly Hills where I was lucky enough as a kid to meet your founder. I do miss the custom plates but I was told they were 80 dollars a piece so that is understandable. I do like that you now have chefs from different ethnic groups and the young man on this night was spot on. In the old days I remeber they were sent to Japan for training. My mother used o speak "on the down low in spanish" to a chef at the Beverly Hills site who he told us he was the only non full blooded Japanese with the company at the time. I love the Teppan table dining style and prefer it to other local places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation through OpenTable ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We made a reservation through OpenTable for 7 pm. We got there 10 minutes early, checked in and was told a couple of minutes for the table to be ready. We checked in again at 7 and said the table was still not ready and told a couple more minutes. At 7:10 pm, we checked in again and told 5-10 more minutes. We decided to go into the bar and eat some sushi. At 7:28 pm, the hostess came to us and advised our table was now ready. We got seated and our table host was extremely nice (best part of experience). It was now around 8:10 pm when we decided to go tot the manage to let him know we were dissatisfied as our chef had never showed up. The manager said he would take care of it immediately, which he did. Our service began getting better. Good was good. Bill came and manager gave discount for issues encountered. Nice save.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.