About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salad
  • Salmon Mango
  • Benihana Delight
  • Onion Tower
Salad
Salmon Mango
Benihana Delight
Onion Tower

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
East Valley
Special Occasion
East Valley
1 More
Most Booked
East Valley
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

special occasion (126)
good for groups (108)
kid-friendly (59)
See All
great for lunch (40)
fit for foodies (28)
romantic (27)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

My reservation was for 745pm and I wasn' ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My reservation was for 745pm and I wasn't seated until 8:30pm. Our drinks took 15 min to arrive and our chef took another 45 min to arrive. We didn't start eating until almost 10pm. It took well over 30 min to have the waitress process the payment. We were the last guests to leave. It was my daughters 15th birthday and we had a terrible experience. When I spoke to the manager her only response was "Thank you for your feedback."

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Never made it there for our reservation ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Never made it there for our reservation due to the restaurant's air conditioner going out so they closed the restaurant for the rest of the day. No discount offers were made since it was to be for Father's day.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had made a reservation for father's da ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I had made a reservation for father's day at 7:15 PM on father's day. We showed up at 7pm and we're told that the air conditioning was out and we would have to find another place to eat. They said they called everyone with a reservation at 6pm but we had not received a call. They did not offer any assistance to find another place to eat on father's day nor offer any type of gift card or anything for a future visit. We had to call around to find another restraunts that could accommodate 6 people

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had reservations for Father's Day and ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We had reservations for Father's Day and showed up to a closed restaurant which is ridiculous considering we had reservations we should have been contacted so that we could make other arrangements.

food1
ambience1
service1

Never called us to tell that their ac wa ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Never called us to tell that their ac was working. Came all the way from Phoenix to find out that we couldn't dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here this time for my birthday a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We went here this time for my birthday and had a great time. The chef was awesome. I forget what his name was. This location has its ups and downs. It seems like almost every time we go it has a new manager. They do seem to be getting better though. I think they must be short on chefs or just don't have enough scheduled at the same time because it does take longer for us to get through a meal than what it used to. We used to be eating our salads and soup and the chef would be right out starting the show. Now we are finished with both our soup and salad and still have to wait another 20 minutes or so for our chef to come. The food was cooked just perfect. I ordered the filet and shrimp which I pretty much get every time. if I could tell the manager to do one thing that would be to have more chefs on hand so there would not be such a long wait between courses. Its extremely difficult when you bring small children with you and they have to wait with nothing to do.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4

Walked in with reservations for 4:30pm. ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Walked in with reservations for 4:30pm. We're told they would get us seated as soon as they could. Waited around for 10 minutes and it was very hot inside. Asked if it was that hot in the back by the tables and were then informed the AC was broken. It was 113 degrees outside and almost as hot in there. They could have told us when we walked in AND if we have a reservation we should be seated anyways and not wait around. Father's Day every other place had two hour wait. Thanks for the memorable Father's Day Benihana.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

A/c were out and waited a longtime even ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A/c were out and waited a longtime even with a reservation

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The wait was 45 minutes to be seated WIT ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait was 45 minutes to be seated WITH a reservation. It took 30 minutes to get served. THe place was like an oven!!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The Chef at your table is always a great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Chef at your table is always a great experience at Benihana. The food is a bit pricey, but you won't go away hungry. The table was very crowded and the adjoining table was very close and crowded. For $50 per plate without alcohol, that is pricey for a lack of ambiance. The waitress was slow on refills and attention to detail. It won't stop me from coming back, but it won't be my first choice.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Father's Day with my husba ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated Father's Day with my husband and my parents and our two kids. Our server was very attentive and the service was fast! We always love the hibachi grill there, our kids find it very entertaining. It was my parents' first time and they had a pleasant experience! Our chef was okay, but overall, it was a great time there!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I had not been to a Benihana's in about ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had not been to a Benihana's in about 3 years. The main reason I stopped going was because the entertainment provided at the tables during the cooking process is very lackluster compared to what it used to be and the prices are even higher. $250 for a party of 4 and there was even less entertainment value than last time i went. A couple of the same little tricks, but so much less than several years back. For the money, I know several similar places that provide equal or better entertainment, great food, at a more cost effective price. The ambiance and the brand are not the same as these places, but I am comfortable at the Ruth Chris or Outback so that is not a big concern for me.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The waitress spilled our drinks on us by ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The waitress spilled our drinks on us by accident and I was the one hit with the most damage. We had to move tables. When the manager came out he went to apologize to the wrong table not ours and my phone had water damage and the manager and he said he would come back later to check to see if it was working. The food took too long between sides, veggies and meats. By the time it was all out my other food was cold. When we were getting ready to leave the manager came back to ask the table as a whole how was it and I addressed him directly and told him my phone was back to working. He said good. Never was any compensation offered for a bad experience. No free dessert. No free meal. Nothing.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Our family has celebrated my birthday at ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our family has celebrated my birthday at Benihana's the past 5 years. This year the food was not very good. My son got up from the table because he started to not feel well. My husband had a sore stomach that night. We thru out the left overs. Not so good! Won't be back next year.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was amazing from chef and wa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was amazing from chef and waitress BUT the front Hostesses and mgt was less than to be desired. We arrived for a reservation we made at 6:45 and wasnt seated until 7:30! Whats the use of having a reservation then? The hostesses and mgt was like "yeah it happens. What can ya do?" Well, heres a suggestion. How about reserve some of the back tables for the specific reservation times? Disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Good is good , but the wait was very lon ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Good is good , but the wait was very long for having reservation

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LOVE Benihana. It's a taste you just can ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

LOVE Benihana. It's a taste you just can't get anywhere else. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Benihana in Chandler. Arizona ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went to Benihana in Chandler. Arizona for my daughter's 16th birthday and we had a great meal and a wonderful time. We will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Food Poisoning

Dined on June 6, 2016

First time to Benihana for 3 out of 4 people. Following the meal 2 out of 4 people came down with food poisoning. I cannot recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was amazing and Kyl ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The whole experience was amazing and Kyle our chef was awesome he did things that made me say wow!!!!! The whole experience was truly exceptional with it being me and my family first tins there!!! Way to go Kyle... You did great sir!!!

food5
ambience5
service3

We always have a great time at Benihana! ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

We always have a great time at Benihana! They are very attentive and very entertaining. Unfortunately, the hostess that greeted us during our 1 PM lunch was not very nice. In fact, she was quite rude and didn't attempt to accommodate our party. Our chef Saul was awesome! however, our server had a huge language barrier and made a lot of mistakes during our meal. It held our party up by at least 30 minutes. We love Benihana so we will definitely come back.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Old decor, could use sprucing up & others....

Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been going here for over 10 years and I don't think anyone has ever dusted the light fixtures or sugar cane display near the hostess podium. There is so much dust and grime collected there. Rather disgusting way to start out your dinner experience. Also, there is not enough seating area when you have to wait such a long time. Very frustrating! Also, why are we never given a spoon with our fork & chopsticks? We need those for all the dipping sauces and yet, we have to ask each and every time for someone to bring us them. Save alot of time if it was available right away. Also, there needs to be consistency with the cooks EACH AND EVERY TIME!!!! They should all be well trained and not just amateur night on a weekend night!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our group of eight people celebrated a special birthday with a visit to Benihana. We truly enjoyed our dinner, and the chef, Andres, was very entertaining and skilled at his craft. This is not just a meal, it’s an experience. The manager and the hostess both checked on us during the course of our meal. We were very impressed with the food, and the level of service during this visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice time

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a nice time at Benihanna this time. We did ask for a certain chef, that way I know we would have a good show. Only one thing concerns me about going there now is that for some reason it seems to take about 2 hours to get through a meal as compared to the one hour it used to take. We have been coming here ever since moving to Arizona 10 years ago and it just seems to take longer and longer every time we come.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend has never been to Benihana and ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

A friend has never been to Benihana and we had her sign up for Chefs Table. She had a wonderful time and we had a great chief who kept things going and was funy.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There was not enough leg room

Dined on May 25, 2016

Once you sit several adults together there is not enough leg room and its pretty uncomfortable to be sitting for en extended period of time in that position.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service here is just bad, bad

Dined on May 25, 2016

even with a reservation we had to wait more than 1 hour to get our table, service was slow and problematic. The guy cooking in front of us was great, he was nice and prepared everything excellent.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here to celebrate my birthday and I ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here to celebrate my birthday and I was not disappointed!

food5
ambience4
service4

Typical Benihana no matter what city you ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Typical Benihana no matter what city you eat in. When we asked for a particular table hostess said they weren't using. But during our dinner we noticed they were seating people there. Our dinner was good but food prep was too slow. Had the lobster and steak. Nothing was served with the steak. Waited for the mushrooms. Served them last but by then steak was cool. Was obvious the cook was new. He kept repeating things to himself. Was nervous for sure. Will go back because the food is always good.

food5
ambience5
service5

If you have never been here I highly rec ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you have never been here I highly recommend you try it out its one of the best places to eat!

food3
ambience2
service1

I had a reservation and the three girls ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I had a reservation and the three girls at the front desk were seating other parties telling me that our table was not yet ready. Nothing more. After several minutes we asked again and got the same answer. That we would be seated. I asked a third time. The girls were extremely rude. I had family visiting from Germany who had never experienced Benihana. We went to a manager to ask when we might be seated. He spoke to the rude three at the front desk and proceeded to tell us out table was almost ready. We waited more. More people were seated and we were not. Finally were seated and then our cook was no where to be found. Sat and waited. Worst experience ever and I will never go back. .

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We like to take people here who have nev ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We like to take people here who have never been to Benihana. This time was a snowbird neighbor, and it was very fun. She was a bit nervous at first, sitting at a hot table with strangers, but in no time we were all talking and having a good time. Our chef was great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a reservation,yet still waited 30 mi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had a reservation,yet still waited 30 mins to be seated. The girls at the front didn't seem to be interested in the customers disapproval of having to wait outside. Although the waitress was super nice and so was the chef cooking for us, the food was blah. Tipical corny show that they set up for you minus the good flavor like they have a sapporo. i had a better experience at sapporo. I did love the souvenir pic that they take snd give to you for free!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Paying for the name

Dined on May 8, 2016

While the food and service were very good indeed, I feel the experience was simply not worth the very expensive final tally. I cannot be more adamant that the food was quite good but it was not something that wowed us. You didn't leave feeling that you had the absolutely best.

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The price of the food is high for the po ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The price of the food is high for the portions you get. The service is great and the chef was entraining. Our table had someone that had food allergies to just about everything, so it was hard to enjoy dinner since everything was a danger to this person not in our group.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael was our chef and he was great an ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Michael was our chef and he was great and made our experience wonderful

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was great as always and it's fu ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great as always and it's fun getting to interact with people who come from all over. The chefs don't seem to be as fun and engaging these days. Less tricks too which is unfortunate since most of us come for the show aspect. But overall it's still a great place to eat and spending a couple of hours.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wow, wow, oh wow

Dined on May 7, 2016

we waited 35 minutes to get seated (tabled?) with a reservation. I believe it was a staff shortage, mainly they needed more table chefs. excellent, excellent service; our waitress was the best server ever !! this was Saturdae afternoon, 07 May Chandler, the Eve of Mothers Day.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Time

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to Benihana after not being able to get a reservation a few weeks back. The food was good and our chef was good at keeping the table entertained. Our waitress, although she tried her best, was adequate....and very hard to understand. My party asked several times to repeat herself, but still we still didn't understand what in the world she was saying. That along with the noisy atmosphere created a laughable moment. Other than that, we had a great time and the food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place to celebrate birthdays.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We actually had three birthdays in our party of five. Last year we did the same thing. The kids look forward to do this every year.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.