About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salad
  • Salmon Mango
  • Benihana Delight
  • Onion Tower
Salad
Salmon Mango
Benihana Delight
Onion Tower

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Special Occasion
East Valley
Most Booked
East Valley
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

special occasion (121)
good for groups (109)
kid-friendly (59)
See All
great for lunch (35)
fit for foodies (27)
romantic (25)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great,7:00pm reservation ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was great,7:00pm reservation on point,service very good and chef really nice too,Alots of fun at this restuarant,I give them from 0-10 big 10

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our chef Kevin was excellent! Great food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our chef Kevin was excellent! Great food, good show, a must anyone looking for a nice dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bartender did not know how to make a sim ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Bartender did not know how to make a simple martini. Think he may have been messing with the new waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food that is cooked in front of you ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good food that is cooked in front of you. Make sure to have a reservation. We had fantastic service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

They really need to replace the greeters ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They really need to replace the greeters currently on staff. Walked in on time for my 5pm reservation and was told they were not open yet. It was 5:02pm. She continued to vacuum around my family and give us dirty looks as we waited. As other customers walked in they received the same rude treatment. I tried to give my reservation information to her but she ignored me.

Besides her bad attitude was her appearance: Dirty uniform and uncombed hair. Left an unprofessional and sloppy impression of the restaurant. Benihana is not a classy Japanese restaurant.

Finally, another greeter or manager arrived to help but the damage was done to many customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our first time to a Benihana and we were ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our first time to a Benihana and we were very pleased. Service was excellent. Cook/Chef very entertaining. Food very tasty! We were worried with it being a chain restaurant but were pleasantly surprised by the grill food:)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have enjoyed Benihana, never le ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I always have enjoyed Benihana, never lets me down!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was great, service was very nic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The meal was great, service was very nice. Took my boyfriend for his birthday and the servers as well as our head chief said Happy Birthday throughout the entire night, great experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Kyle is the best. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great time. Kyle is the best. He made the rice look like Pac Man. 🍚

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time as always at this loc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I had a great time as always at this local site. I like this one and the Vegas site the best. I have been going to Benihana for over 40 years since my first time in Beverly Hills where I was lucky enough as a kid to meet your founder. I do miss the custom plates but I was told they were 80 dollars a piece so that is understandable. I do like that you now have chefs from different ethnic groups and the young man on this night was spot on. In the old days I remeber they were sent to Japan for training. My mother used o speak "on the down low in spanish" to a chef at the Beverly Hills site who he told us he was the only non full blooded Japanese with the company at the time. I love the Teppan table dining style and prefer it to other local places.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation through OpenTable ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We made a reservation through OpenTable for 7 pm. We got there 10 minutes early, checked in and was told a couple of minutes for the table to be ready. We checked in again at 7 and said the table was still not ready and told a couple more minutes. At 7:10 pm, we checked in again and told 5-10 more minutes. We decided to go into the bar and eat some sushi. At 7:28 pm, the hostess came to us and advised our table was now ready. We got seated and our table host was extremely nice (best part of experience). It was now around 8:10 pm when we decided to go tot the manage to let him know we were dissatisfied as our chef had never showed up. The manager said he would take care of it immediately, which he did. Our service began getting better. Good was good. Bill came and manager gave discount for issues encountered. Nice save.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was tasty and preparation was excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was tasty and preparation was excellent. Sequencing was a little odd, however. Each food item was presented independently and our "appetizer" vegies were cooked and added to our plates last, after our meat entrees had been consumed. A couple of people at our table were also served only part of their combo entree (chicken was forgotten), and the missing items were also served separately so that, after finishing most of the meal, they each ended up with a plate of only chicken. Strange. We have dined at other Benihana restaurants before, but this was our first experience at this location. We will give it another shot!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's my favorite restaurant, and for goo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's my favorite restaurant, and for good reason great scene and amazing food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for family and friends in gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place for family and friends in groups and to celebrate special occasions. Our chef made the experience fun too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kyle our chef was fantastic! I've been c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Kyle our chef was fantastic! I've been coming to Benihana for my birthday for years and he was by far the best one I've had. Very personable, funny and entertaining. Our host was great too. I can't remember his name but he had darker hair and skin and a really big smile :) Awesome service, awesome time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My reservation was for 745pm and I wasn' ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

My reservation was for 745pm and I wasn't seated until 8:30pm. Our drinks took 15 min to arrive and our chef took another 45 min to arrive. We didn't start eating until almost 10pm. It took well over 30 min to have the waitress process the payment. We were the last guests to leave. It was my daughters 15th birthday and we had a terrible experience. When I spoke to the manager her only response was "Thank you for your feedback."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Never made it there for our reservation ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Never made it there for our reservation due to the restaurant's air conditioner going out so they closed the restaurant for the rest of the day. No discount offers were made since it was to be for Father's day.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had made a reservation for father's da ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I had made a reservation for father's day at 7:15 PM on father's day. We showed up at 7pm and we're told that the air conditioning was out and we would have to find another place to eat. They said they called everyone with a reservation at 6pm but we had not received a call. They did not offer any assistance to find another place to eat on father's day nor offer any type of gift card or anything for a future visit. We had to call around to find another restraunts that could accommodate 6 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had reservations for Father's Day and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had reservations for Father's Day and showed up to a closed restaurant which is ridiculous considering we had reservations we should have been contacted so that we could make other arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Never called us to tell that their ac wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Never called us to tell that their ac was working. Came all the way from Phoenix to find out that we couldn't dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We went here this time for my birthday a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went here this time for my birthday and had a great time. The chef was awesome. I forget what his name was. This location has its ups and downs. It seems like almost every time we go it has a new manager. They do seem to be getting better though. I think they must be short on chefs or just don't have enough scheduled at the same time because it does take longer for us to get through a meal than what it used to. We used to be eating our salads and soup and the chef would be right out starting the show. Now we are finished with both our soup and salad and still have to wait another 20 minutes or so for our chef to come. The food was cooked just perfect. I ordered the filet and shrimp which I pretty much get every time.

if I could tell the manager to do one thing that would be to have more chefs on hand so there would not be such a long wait between courses. Its extremely difficult when you bring small children with you and they have to wait with nothing to do.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walked in with reservations for 4:30pm. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Walked in with reservations for 4:30pm. We're told they would get us seated as soon as they could. Waited around for 10 minutes and it was very hot inside. Asked if it was that hot in the back by the tables and were then informed the AC was broken. It was 113 degrees outside and almost as hot in there. They could have told us when we walked in AND if we have a reservation we should be seated anyways and not wait around. Father's Day every other place had two hour wait. Thanks for the memorable Father's Day Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

A/c were out and waited a longtime even ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A/c were out and waited a longtime even with a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

The wait was 45 minutes to be seated WIT ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait was 45 minutes to be seated WITH a reservation. It took 30 minutes to get served. THe place was like an oven!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Made reservations and still waited 20 mi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Made reservations and still waited 20 minutes to be seated. Light fixtures and other things in the main entrance are extremely dusty and made me question how clean the restaurant was. Food was OK. Chef/cook was fun and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The Chef at your table is always a great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Chef at your table is always a great experience at Benihana. The food is a bit pricey, but you won't go away hungry. The table was very crowded and the adjoining table was very close and crowded. For $50 per plate without alcohol, that is pricey for a lack of ambiance. The waitress was slow on refills and attention to detail.

It won't stop me from coming back, but it won't be my first choice.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We celebrated Father's Day with my husba ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated Father's Day with my husband and my parents and our two kids. Our server was very attentive and the service was fast! We always love the hibachi grill there, our kids find it very entertaining. It was my parents' first time and they had a pleasant experience! Our chef was okay, but overall, it was a great time there!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to a Benihana's in about ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had not been to a Benihana's in about 3 years. The main reason I stopped going was because the entertainment provided at the tables during the cooking process is very lackluster compared to what it used to be and the prices are even higher. $250 for a party of 4 and there was even less entertainment value than last time i went. A couple of the same little tricks, but so much less than several years back. For the money, I know several similar places that provide equal or better entertainment, great food, at a more cost effective price. The ambiance and the brand are not the same as these places, but I am comfortable at the Ruth Chris or Outback so that is not a big concern for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The waitress spilled our drinks on us by ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The waitress spilled our drinks on us by accident and I was the one hit with the most damage. We had to move tables. When the manager came out he went to apologize to the wrong table not ours and my phone had water damage and the manager and he said he would come back later to check to see if it was working. The food took too long between sides, veggies and meats. By the time it was all out my other food was cold. When we were getting ready to leave the manager came back to ask the table as a whole how was it and I addressed him directly and told him my phone was back to working. He said good. Never was any compensation offered for a bad experience. No free dessert. No free meal. Nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Our family has celebrated my birthday at ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our family has celebrated my birthday at Benihana's the past 5 years. This year the food was not very good. My son got up from the table because he started to not feel well. My husband had a sore stomach that night. We thru out the left overs.

Not so good!

Won't be back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was amazing from chef and wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was amazing from chef and waitress BUT the front Hostesses and mgt was less than to be desired. We arrived for a reservation we made at 6:45 and wasnt seated until 7:30! Whats the use of having a reservation then? The hostesses and mgt was like "yeah it happens. What can ya do?" Well, heres a suggestion. How about reserve some of the back tables for the specific reservation times? Disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good is good , but the wait was very lon ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good is good , but the wait was very long for having reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

LOVE Benihana. It's a taste you just can ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

LOVE Benihana. It's a taste you just can't get anywhere else. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to Benihana in Chandler. Arizona ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We went to Benihana in Chandler. Arizona for my daughter's 16th birthday and we had a great meal and a wonderful time. We will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Poisoning

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

First time to Benihana for 3 out of 4 people. Following the meal 2 out of 4 people came down with food poisoning. I cannot recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The whole experience was amazing and Kyl ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The whole experience was amazing and Kyle our chef was awesome he did things that made me say wow!!!!! The whole experience was truly exceptional with it being me and my family first tins there!!! Way to go Kyle... You did great sir!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a great time at Benihana! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We always have a great time at Benihana! They are very attentive and very entertaining. Unfortunately, the hostess that greeted us during our 1 PM lunch was not very nice. In fact, she was quite rude and didn't attempt to accommodate our party. Our chef Saul was awesome! however, our server had a huge language barrier and made a lot of mistakes during our meal. It held our party up by at least 30 minutes. We love Benihana so we will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Old decor, could use sprucing up & others....

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I have been going here for over 10 years and I don't think anyone has ever dusted the light fixtures or sugar cane display near the hostess podium. There is so much dust and grime collected there. Rather disgusting way to start out your dinner experience. Also, there is not enough seating area when you have to wait such a long time. Very frustrating! Also, why are we never given a spoon with our fork & chopsticks? We need those for all the dipping sauces and yet, we have to ask each and every time for someone to bring us them. Save alot of time if it was available right away. Also, there needs to be consistency with the cooks EACH AND EVERY TIME!!!! They should all be well trained and not just amateur night on a weekend night!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding food and experience

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our group of eight people celebrated a special birthday with a visit to Benihana. We truly enjoyed our dinner, and the chef, Andres, was very entertaining and skilled at his craft. This is not just a meal, it’s an experience.

The manager and the hostess both checked on us during the course of our meal. We were very impressed with the food, and the level of service during this visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

nice time

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a nice time at Benihanna this time. We did ask for a certain chef, that way I know we would have a good show. Only one thing concerns me about going there now is that for some reason it seems to take about 2 hours to get through a meal as compared to the one hour it used to take. We have been coming here ever since moving to Arizona 10 years ago and it just seems to take longer and longer every time we come.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.