About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-chandler - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
California Roll - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Sushi - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Trio - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Chef Trick - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Salad - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Salmon Mango - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Benihana Delight - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ
Onion Tower - Benihana - Chandler, Chandler, AZ

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
East Valley
Most Booked
East Valley
Best Restaurants in Chandler ›

Good for Birthdays (48)
Good for Groups (38)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Fun (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Kid-friendly (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Casual (20)
Family Style (17)
Healthy (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Spicy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten at Benihanas all over the cou ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have eaten at Benihanas all over the country for many years (equates to over a hundred times). This was the worst overall meal experience that I have ever had at a Benihana restaurant. New cook (felt sorry for him) trying to figure out what to do next and nervously trying to be a Johnny Carson at the same time. Dirty dishes stacked up between guests making the situation very uncomfortable and difficult to even eat off the plate in front of me. Service deserved less than one star if any at all. I regret that we drove more than 30 minutes for an experience that could be rivaled by a fast food joint. Benihana in the future - yes, Benihana Chandler - doubtful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Went to have dinner with my family! It w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went to have dinner with my family! It was a wonderful experience and the chef was great!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good but the food tasted awf ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service was good but the food tasted awful and by the time it was one the plate to eat it was cold.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great experience as always. Love the foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great experience as always. Love the food! The atmosphere is so fun. Our server was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Our chef was from Mexico and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food. Our chef was from Mexico and even though she didn't perform all the fancy flourishes, she did a very good job and the food was done just the way everyone wanted. Our waiter was also very nice and friendly. Overall it was a good time for all of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at Benihana is an experience all ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Dining at Benihana is an experience all to itself. The food is good, the chef's preparation of the food is fun and colorful and it is all done in a spirit of good times. In our opinion, it is not a place to dine often, but from time to time when you desire something different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I had reservations for 545 Pm. We got th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I had reservations for 545 Pm. We got there at 540 and they told us that the table was going to be ready in 20 minutes. We decided to have sushi instead of teppanyaki. We sat at the bar. The first server took our drink orders and we ordered tea, then after he found out we were not going to get alcohol he never came back to take our order. After 7 minutes of just waiting. A new server asked us if someone had take care of us and we said no. She took our order and from there everything was good. Food quality and taste were good. Prices were good. I will. Ot come back to eat at this restaurante again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We finally left after waiting 20 minutes ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We finally left after waiting 20 minutes for our table. Management (Sheree) was beyond rude when I asked if it was normal to have to wait so long despite having a reservation. We will not be going back to this location as long as she still works there. Benihana lost a life long fan in their terrible management decisions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

really over the top- 4 star- excellence ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

really over the top- 4 star- excellence in food and service. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taylor, our chef, was great. He was fun ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Taylor, our chef, was great. He was funny and had some tricks we hadn't seen. Our server, Nancy, was very attentive. It is always noisy in there but I am glad it is always busy. The food always tastes good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a full 40 minutes after our reser ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was a full 40 minutes after our reservation time by the time the waitress took our drink orders. Aside from that, we had a great time and good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I felt this was very expensive for what ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I felt this was very expensive for what you get. They try to add value with lots of low cost "courses". The seafood dish I ordered was low on seafood with mostly veggies and noodles. The drinks were supposed to be on special for happy hour but we were charged full price. Dinner for two people with 3 alcoholic drinks, two entrees, an appetizer and dessert was outrageous.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Actually pretty disappointed - first tim ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Actually pretty disappointed - first time visit - came for a semi romantic birthday date night and got stuck at a full table with two other families we didn't know - one of which spoke very loudly in another language throughout the entire dinner show...very annoying, especially given we went early on purpose to beat the dinner crowd and there were only two other tables even in use in the whole restaurant! I doubt we'll be back unless we have a birthday coupon and nowhere else to go - too bad too because the food was delicious and the cook was very entertaining - the ambience and squishing of parties together totally ruined it for us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great show and very good food. Friendly ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great show and very good food. Friendly and attentive staff. I would recommend to anyone that wants a show and dinner at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress did not notify the chef of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The waitress did not notify the chef of my dates food allergies. She brought me the wrong drink 3 times. The chef barely used any butter and the food wasn't flavorful. Out of 8 of us no one gave her a tip because of how she prepared our food . They prepared his meal in the back and it took another 45 minutes after everyone was servered for him to get his meal. Then they couldn't find the prepared meal. The manager offered us a discount, but somehow they forgot to take it off the check.. it was a nightmare!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First experience and am VERY pleased!! T ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First experience and am VERY pleased!! Taylor the Chef was not only skilled, but very energetic and animated. He engaged the children at the table as much as the adults. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Spicy, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good, you know when going ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food is always good, you know when going there what to expect to pay.our last visit the waiter that sat us was rude and disrespectful.made a few snide comments..also messesd up order.forgot our tea at end of meal.our chef was pleasant but did not show off many skills besides onion volcano...we enjoyed the tables chef next to us instead...we felt rushed as food was cooked very fast.....not sure if we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

I have to say that I have been here abou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have to say that I have been here about 8 to 10 times, we skipped coming last year. I never cared for anything I had, or the service, but my little one liked it, so we came every time we had a birthday. ,she found it fun, she is 10 now. sadly I knew she wasn't going to enjoy the night due to a growing spurt, she has no memory of it. too tired... anyhow this is the first time I really liked the waitress, and the chef, and the food, (although I ordered the tuna steak (I didn't complain because everything else was pretty good. the tuna was raw, and I mean ice cold in the center. but the sashimi was a delight along with the soup and my daughters steak, We complimented the new Manager. and said we will come back, I think We tipped generously cuz she went way above trying to please all 8 of us at the table. also a quick note, I noticed improvments here and there and I appreciate them, (no automatic 18 percent tip) I tipped cash last time so I was shocked when the 18 percent was included. Very happy to see the sushi quality improve , and we had a lovely time.

Tags: Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Thank you the great and excellent servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Thank you the great and excellent service, great food, fun, cooking lesson.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food, service & value overall. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food, service & value overall. The only negative was the soup was only lukewarm when served, and it's usually piping hot (which is how I like it). I'll definitely recommend and continue to come for dinner periodically.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service, it just took some time to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Good service, it just took some time to get started with drinks and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food and yummy drinks. The wait sta ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food and yummy drinks. The wait staff was friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We made a reservation , but waited very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We made a reservation , but waited very long time . But the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall only fair. Food was greasy. It w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall only fair. Food was greasy. It was so loud that we could hardly carry on a conversation. The drinks were so weak we could hardly see or taste it and quite expensive. Dinner was expensive and not worth what was charged.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

I made an appointment on Open Table for ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I made an appointment on Open Table for my husband's birthday and when we got to the restaurant with our son, wife, and two kids they said they didn't have one. The people in line before me were told the same thing. I was not happy when they said they would have to work us in with a 2-year-old and a newborn! I thought the girl at the check-in desk was rude. She insinuated I did not have a reservation. I pulled it up and showed it up to her, and asked to speak to a manager. She did not apologize or offer any free appetizer or anything for the mistake. She said they were busy and there wasn't much she could do. A lady waiting there said she was waiting on her to-go order and had been waiting forever. When they brought it, it was wrong so they had to redo it. If it wasn't for the waitress and the chef, the night would be a total loss. However, they were awesome and the food was great after we finally were given a seat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little too much salt. Great service an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A little too much salt. Great service and friendly atmoshere. Good for family and friends

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was horriable the wait fr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our experience was horriable the wait from being seated till we got our food was unexceptable . They schedule to many parties that day and didn't have enough cooks .

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Food is always good at Benihana, but the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food is always good at Benihana, but the experience is largely dependent on your chef. I didn't particularly care for the chef we had, and he left my food in such large pieces, it was difficult to eat.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Menu has changed. Hibachi vegetables us ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Menu has changed. Hibachi vegetables used to include mushrooms, but now they are only served (unless you order them as a side) with certain menu items. Our location took off the crab cakes, which were not very good anyway. Otherwise, food and presentation were very good, our chef, Saul, was awesome!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

They were almost 30 minutes late with ou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

They were almost 30 minutes late with our reservation and the chef must have been having a bad night because he messed up some orders and wasn't interactive like they normally are.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always fun entertainment watching your f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always fun entertainment watching your food be cooked in front of you. The waitress was great and the chef was entertaining.

Very loud in the restaurant, not a great place if you want a romantic conversation, but a fun place if you want to be entertained while you eat.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Typically we Love Benihanas it is dinne ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Typically we Love Benihanas it is dinner and a show; however, our last visit was disappointing! We made reservations for 6:30pm on a Tuesday night. We arrived at 6:20pm when our table was not ready we advised the hostess we would wait in the bar for our table. At 7pm we asked the hostess how much longer and was told we were the next table. At 7:15pm we barely heard the host call our name and when we checked in the hostess pointed to a group of people being seated, when we reached the table, it was full! Apparently they sat the Michelle party instead of the Michael party. So we continued to wait. At 7:30pm we were finally sat at a table and our waitress came over to take orders and then she disappeared. At almost 8pm we asked to speak to a manager. He promised to turn things around. Five minutes later our soup and salad was served and then our drinks. The Chef was funny and entertaining, the food was very good! We will come back for for the food and fun. We just hope the service is better next time.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our cook and waitress were both great! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our cook and waitress were both great! And the food was fantastic! My only complaint is that they squeezed our family of 5 at one cook table with 2 couples, making 9 total people at the table. My husband celebrated his birthday sitting at the edge/corner of the cook's side of the table. Our chairs were all touching and we kept bumping into each other while eating. There wasn't enough room for all the sauce dishes, plates and drinks. It was very cramped!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was fun and a nice date til we got seate ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Was fun and a nice date til we got seated. What's the point of having a special requests section if the host doesn't read it ? My fiancé has PTSD so I asked for us to get a corner table to where people can't walk behind him. The table behind us I had kids running around behind us, hitting my purse and knocking it off my chair, and running into my fiancée chair. Their parents were just watching and weren't reenforcing anything. There were about 5 of them running around like mucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We've been going to Benihana Chandler fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've been going to Benihana Chandler for 5 years. Always a pleasure. Junior is the BEST chef! He's funny, original, and knows what he's doing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was very disappointed on the quality o ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was very disappointed on the quality of food the amount of money we spent overall. The manager wouldn't compensate for anything. I will never go back after that experience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Chef was excellent

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Chef was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice work way easier to book reservation ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice work way easier to book reservations now!!

Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We Love Benihana!! Thank you for always ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We Love Benihana!! Thank you for always delivering a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had relatives visiting from out of tow ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I had relatives visiting from out of town, and they wanted to try a hibachi restaurant. We decided on Benihana in Chandler, AZ. I made an error when reserving the table by selecting 2 instead of 5, but the hostess was able to accommodate us immediately. She didn't make us feel stupid for my error, and handled the situation professionally.

The service and food were amazing. We met a great couple at our table, which made the experience even better. Our waitress even took a few picture of the family and framed it for us. What excellent service!!

I've highly recommended this restaurant to friends and co-workers since that evening. Usually, I'm able to add some negative feedback in reviews, but honestly, Benihana set the bar of perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.