About Benihana - Chandler

3025 W Chandler Blvd
Chandler, AZ 85226-5220
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Chandler is situated in the perimeter shops at Chandler Fashion Center, the area’s finest shopping mecca just off the 101 Price Freeway at Chandler Blvd. It is near the Chandler Center for the Performing Arts as well as the Arizona Railway Museum. Enjoy Happy Hour each Monday through Thursday from 5-7 p.m., and on Friday between 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
101 Freeway Exit

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 812-4701

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/chandler-az-cd

Parking Details:
Free parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Chandler Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (45)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Casual (30)
Family Style (29)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fun (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (12)
Healthy (12)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Spicy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The portions seem to get smaller & small ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The portions seem to get smaller & smaller. We noticed that the chef used butter on our steaks. That changed the taste as we did not like it.

The soup and the dinners do not taste the same as they have been all these years. At these prices, I expect the food to always taste the same and be of the highest quality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Ask for Kevin he put on an exceptional s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ask for Kevin he put on an exceptional show, the food was cooked to perfection & the table company was a fun atmosphere. We will be back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

All was excellent, but shrimp was cold, ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All was excellent, but shrimp was cold, having been cooked first.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday place, my family and I go ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great birthday place, my family and I go 3-4 times per year!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was terrible. There was honestl ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was terrible. There was honestly nothing good I can say. The waitress mixed the entire tables orders randomly on the bills. The cook was not enthusiastic and just banged the utensils against the grill. The table next to us got leaked on. The whole evening was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. Loved our ch ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved our chef, waitress

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always know what you are getting; some e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always know what you are getting; some entertainment, get to know some new people at

the Teppan tables, very tasty food, god value.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Long wait for our Chef but we met 3 othe ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Long wait for our Chef but we met 3 other fun couples and the food was excellent.

Best Lobster and steak anywhere. Wish they had a location in the West Valley.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was awesome, as always. Very fri ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was awesome, as always. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date with my honey and was seated with a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Date with my honey and was seated with a family with 2 kids under 10 who were exceptionally rude and disrespectful. Felt most sorry for the couple at our table celebrating their anniversary.

Kids took up more tan their share of space, no consideration for the chef, did not listen when asked questions, spent more time on their phone playing games while their exceptionally rude parents spoke extremely loud with every person who walked past.

Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely love enjoying food at Benihan ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love enjoying food at Benihana. So fun to watch our fresh food made right before out eyes and be entertained by chef at the same time. Food is always excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a "great" time !!! Food was "yummy" ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had a "great" time !!! Food was "yummy" ! You can always depend on food being consistent & good ! Enjoyed getting together w/ my sister & having a terrific dinner !!! Love the "soup & salad " ....."dressing on salad " always soooo good ! Could be a "meal" all by them self's !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The chef was not very good, but the serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The chef was not very good, but the server was great. Not a fun experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The food was tasty, but overpriced. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food was tasty, but overpriced. The Benihana experience is not what it used to be.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good location for a business lunch. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very good location for a business lunch. Being able to have a reservation is a definite plus.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our reservation was set and confirmed fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our reservation was set and confirmed for 11:30 am on a Sunday. When we arrived we were informed the restaurant didn't open until 12 noon so we had a 30 minute wait outside the restaurant. We were seated with another group of 5. We ordered from the lunch menu and I literally got 4 bites of chicken and two shrimp as my entree. The kids at our table literally had tons more food from the kids menu. I left hungry. I'm not sure it was because I ordered from the lunch menu or the chef miscalculated the food (I was last to be served). I would have ordered from the dinner menu if I had known it was so little food. Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We love this Benihana! We always have gr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We love this Benihana! We always have great service and incredible food! A perfect place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great experience. Food is gre ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a great experience. Food is great. Enjoy the teppanyaki style cooking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Tempe Benihana and it ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have been to the Tempe Benihana and it was much nicer and the chef was far better. However our server was fabulous.

I went to this location due to it being closer to where I work but I will make the drive to Tempe next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was not a good experience. They see ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This was not a good experience. They seemed to be unstaffed and couldn't keep up with the number of people. Our chef took forever to come and seemed to not want to be there and rushed thru everything. My mom confirmed her order but they didn't bring out the food to make the order. This became obvious when there wasn't enough chicken or steak based on what people ordered. When we questioned, the chef stated he confirmed she only has 2 chicken fried rice - but our server showed the chef her full order which he messed up. They remade her order - fast and it was under cooked. We had a bday at our table and they forgot which made the young girl sad. Everyone's food was not good and the manager did give a discount but didn't seem to care our entire table had a horrible experience. Every time we have gone here over the past 3 months this for birthdays or just dinner - it has been one bad thing after another. Management needs to get it together with their chefs, servers and hostess staff. We won't be going back and will go to Scottsdale the next time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We had a great time!! Our server Ryan Wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a great time!! Our server Ryan Was THE BEST we had and even the cook Dimitri (not sure on the spelling) Next time we go will be sure and try to get there station..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a fun dinner for my birthday ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was such a fun dinner for my birthday. My son who is 12 and doesn't like to leave the house and doesn't like many foods had fun and enjoyed his meal. It is fun to interact with chef. Chef Kevin did a fantastic job and took very good care of us! I think this might be our go-to place for family celebrations 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was terrific. I have been goin ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The meal was terrific. I have been going to Benihana restaurants for the past 40+ years. Our chef, Michael, was the best one I have ever seen...especially his egg trick. And Josiah was of the same caliber. By far, the best assistant. Keep both on your staff!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Expensive, but good. Food needs more sea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Expensive, but good. Food needs more seasoning. The chef we had was good! They used to take your picture, we didn't get one this time though :(

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The wait was non-existent, the food and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The wait was non-existent, the food and service were both very good. Had to wait for an open date and time, but certainly worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have been numerous times ( 9 times) i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been numerous times ( 9 times) in past the two years for special occasions (BD, Anniversary) and alway very pleasant. Food is great, chief was entertaining and the service / servers were impeccable in detail.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was longer than expected, th ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was longer than expected, the chef was really talented. The food was great.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Chef was amazing our server a young Asia ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Chef was amazing our server a young Asian woman was more interested in flirting with three other young men at our table who appeared to be friends of hers.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The manager, waitress and chief we're al ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The manager, waitress and chief we're all great and friendly as well as helpful. I like this Benihanas much better than the one in Scottsdale, this Benihana actually serves you hot soup and hot tea the way it's supposed to be served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was ok, had to wait a while to be s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was ok, had to wait a while to be seated. What happened to the birthday pictures. No one ever said they had stopped

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very rude black manager

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very rude black manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I visit 3x a month should say just how I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I visit 3x a month should say just how I feel about this place

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The cost would have been justified if t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The cost would have been justified if the service was better. Our cook didn't realize that our server hadn't brought out the food to complete our dish (steamed rice) so I literally had a plate piled with grilled onions and a chicken breast! We had to catch our server just to get one refill on water and simple drinks and we repeatedly had to ask to get the little table space cleared. It is a multi course meal the server should be available to clear salad and soup dishes before the entree is served. Not impressed and will most likely not visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Love Benihana's! We go for every specia ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Benihana's! We go for every special occasion! It is on the pricey side but the food and ombiance make it well worth the price!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook was amazing. He was funny and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our cook was amazing. He was funny and entertaining the entire meal.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both myself and my boyfriend got sick af ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Both myself and my boyfriend got sick after eating here .. we felt as if someone socked us in the stomach. It lasted for two days . Eill not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Took the in laws out to dinner and was s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took the in laws out to dinner and was super thankful that the chef and our waiter were ever so attentive to their requests in Spanish! I love a company who values diversity and is always striving to make everyone feel included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our daughter and her about-to-be fiance ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our daughter and her about-to-be fiance were in town and he had never been there. We had a delightful evening enjoying the food and the spectacle of it's preparation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only issue was I made a reservation f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My only issue was I made a reservation for 5:30pm and we didn't get seated till 6:00pm. Hostess kept telling us it would take a couple of minutes. We were the last to get seated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration of two birthdays. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was a celebration of two birthdays. Our personal chef (Saul) was the same one we had on our last visit in late October of last year and HE did not disappoint us. What a great job and great tasting food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.