About Benihana - Carlsbad

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fun (49)
See All
Good for Groups (42)
Good for a Date (38)
Kid-friendly (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Casual (24)
Family Style (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Open Kitchen (15)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Dancing (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Upon arrival for our reservations we had to wait 15 minutes. Service was really slow. We were at a table with people who kept ordering drinks and since we don't drink we were constantly left waiting. Took forever to get our soup then salad was late and then we had to wait again for the chef who as late. I was excited because it was my husbands first time there and it was his birthday. We were there from 7:30-9:45. However the food was good.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Terrible. Long wait, floors dirty, chef not engaging or energetic at all! It was our daughter's birthday. We come here every year. She was truly disappointed. This will be the last time we patronize this place. Manager was worthless as well!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

For the first time ever... I was completely disappointed... The food was great and our server was sweet but we had 7:15 reservations and dinner wasn't done being served until about 10pm... While I enjoy the "show", I don't enjoy a 3 hour dinner experience... the chef appeared to have the meals mixed up and I was even served incorrect items. We had to take the majority of our meal to go because we had a sitter at home. For the price I paid it was upsetting. As a frequent customer of Benihanas and parents of 4 who rarely get out, this was my least favorite night at my favorite restaurant and just overall disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Even with a reservation we had an additional half hour wait. Our food was over cooked for tappanyaki. Our chef was underskilled but made up for it with personality and our servers were great. All in all we had an ok evening but it was hard to justify with the high price tag of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We like to celebrate our anniversary at Benihanas. This was our 28th. Great place to meet new people. It's entertaining and the food is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love this Benihana the staff is fantastic and the food is always consistent. We love that the happy hour goes until 7pm. The trick is when you seat down at your table is to still go up to the bar to get your drink at a discount otherwise if you order at the table they will charge you the rrgular price. The chef as always very entertaining and very well trained. Go with fun people it makes quite a bit more fun!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We love Benihana's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We always have a great time at Benihana. The food is really good and the service is good too. The only problem we had this time was they were a half hour late seating us for our reservation. We made a reservation for 7:45 and got seated at 8:15. That's kinda too late to eat dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Angel and Tracy were awesome as our servers/cook! So much fun if you want a funtime ask for them... So entertaining, friendly and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Karina was absolutely amazing! She was fun and engaging and we absolutely adored her!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fun place to celebrate a special occasion with family or friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We came here to celebrate our daughter's 10th birthday. From the very beginning, all the staff made her feel special. The service was great and we were seated on time. This was a far better experience than when we came last year. Our chef was funny and the food was yummy. They really improved overall.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My family loves going here for special occasions. Great service from Angel and Christian!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great time for my son's birthday. In the beginning it was really loud so I couldn't hear what the hostess was saying. I wish I would have asked about the gluten free or vegetarian options. It was really nice they took a picture of us and sang Happy Birthday and the food was delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our chef (Jeff) was great! Really enjoyed his skills and humor.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food is great! Service is extremely slow. Expect to be there for 3 hours.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:30 PM. While we were seated promptly, it took over 45 minutes for the chef to come to our table. We had young children who were very tired and hungry, so I don't recommend this restaurant unless you can get an earlier reservation. The restaurant was also extremely smoky. The fans did not seem to be working very well.

Once the chef did arrive, he was great. We had a number of dietary restrictions (soy allergy, low-salt diet) and he was very accommodating. The food was tasty and the chef was funny, entertaining and skilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good, but service was bad. Didn't see the waitress much. I only got my tea refill once. Order was a bit mixed up as well.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our order and another guest order was delayed because they forgot to bring some items out. Chef had to go back himself to get it. Told we could a pic taken, then they said printer was broken. Then asked if we wanted ice cream, we said yes, green tea ice cream, he came back later and said they were all out. Then a guest finally got her piece of salmon at the very end of dinner that was forgotten, she had to take it home. The experience was awful. Mission Valley is better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been there three times and we will go back. Not sure if the resteraunt is short of help, but our waitress seemed swamped. Others had to help her out. I am a true believer in no customer's drink should be empty for a long period without the waitress checking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was great. Always love going to the Carlsbad Benihana.
Drinks were tasty and food was delicious. Table mates were great company too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my boyfriend on a Valentine's Day date. We had a great time, it was only his second time going to a Benihana. It was our first time going to this location. I highly recommend making reservations as it gets packed very quickly and you can experience a bit of a wait without one. They have a large waiting area and a beautiful out doors waiting area with a fountain and heaters. The tables are for 8 people, so we had 3 other couples at our table. They cook the food in front of you. They had a limited menu for Valentine's day. The waitress was very attentive and got our order correct. The cook not only put on an amazing and fun show, he also cooked the food to perfection! We couldn't have gone to a better place to celebrate. I highly recommend Benihana it's good for a date, special occasions, and it's family friendly!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

David was absolutely the best. Best chef we've ever had. Came here for Valentine's Day, and couldn't stop laughing at his jokes. Made the best seafood diablo and definitely going to ask for him every time now. Seriously give this man a raise. A+++

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner was great. Delicious. Chef Sean was entertaining , couldn't have asked for a better night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fresh food prepared just how you want it. Excellent and friendly service from the waiters and chefs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always was fun in the past.... Went this week.... what a disaster....Wife and I ordered fillet mignon....Tasted like ammonia... dirty cook area..Minimal service.... Never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great show, great food, the wait was pretty long, but not that bad.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our family of six visited the local Benihana for Birthday dinner. We were joined by a couple who were also celebrating a birthday. Our chef, Jacinto, was very entertaining and adept with all the cutlery and usual Benihana tricks. Our drinks arrived promptly and our orders taken quickly. The noise level is high, so forget about any conversation with anyone other the person seated next to you. They always inquire whether you'd like the white rice or chicken fried rice (neglecting to mention that the latter is an extra $4). Our entrees ranged from the calamari, to scallops, to shrimp and steak/scallop combo. The whole dinner was a fun experience and we enjoyed out outing at Benihana.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our Teppan chef was fun and was very friendly to our two little girls, 6 &10. The food was perfect and we totally enjoyed our birthday celebration. It was a little pricey, so we save going there for very special celebrations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed another great BDAY DINNER! Thanks to our server and Chef Sean!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I did not receive my points for my recent visit. How do I have this corrected? We celebrated 2 birthdays and our chef was wonderful.

Thank you.

Rachel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Angel was our chef. He was extremely enthusiastic and he put on a great show. He actually featured some tricks that my wife and I hadn't seen before at Benihana. He also cooked the food to perfection!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I was here for an anniversary with my boyfriend. The food was awesome but you can't be in a private space. It's minimum 6 people per table. It's nice to meet people but if you want something private, try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a great time and would do it again. the food and service was good and it was very entertaining

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my son, daughter and daughter's friend to celebrate her 9th birthday. PERFECT. Kids menu is reasonable. The kids all LOVED it and my daughter - who is a self-described picky eater - ate everything.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Grand kids had a lot of fun !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our entire party arrived for our reservation at 7:15, 5 minutes early and we were seated 20 minutes late. It was approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes post reservation time before our chef even arrived. One person ordered salad rather than the soup with the meal and got it 20 min AFTER the rest of us all finished our soup and were still waiting for our chef. The cook-top vent was not functioning so it was a no-go on the onion volcano we were looking forward to- also the cook was out of the liquid in the squeeze bottle to create it. A side of noodles was ordered when placing our meal order and it did not make the chef's list. I think he reordered it and when no one had their act together he took care of us himself because after we were done eating someone came by with a plate of noodle asking if it was ours and we just said no. To top it off he server served the wrong person birthday ice cream.
I also wished their table/cook-top bar had a little more real-estate and elbow room, kids hats were blocking view and drink access.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Overall a great experience. As always the chef has a wonderful attitude and makes each of us feel engaged during the process. His server however was nowhere to be found multiple times. Either he needed something for his dish or a water for one of us and she wasn't anywhere. There was a time where he had to leave the table in order to go find his server.

The restaurant was very nice and I'm glad that I was able to enjoy it with my girlfriend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.