About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
House Ginger Salad
Sushi Combo Deluxe
Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Spider Roll
Boston Roll
Benihana Appitizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Pineapple

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Special Occasion (98)
Good for Groups (80)
Kid-friendly (62)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Family Style (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food, I the show by these as the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food, I the show by these as they cook your meal

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent chef that put on a g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had an excellent chef that put on a great show for us. The steak was cooked perfect and we were pleasantly surprised by the lunch prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a ball. This is obviously not th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a ball. This is obviously not the place for conversation and "the Show" is why we go. Our chef had every trick in the book and the servers provided a rousing rendition of Happy B'day. The food was outstanding and I was amazed at the flavors imbued with minimal ingredients. Definitely a treat for those special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Four of us came here for my 40th birthda ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Four of us came here for my 40th birthday -- two adults and two kids (9 and 6). We have been to this location before. Our chef, David, was great -- kept the kids entertained and was very friendly. The food was really just "average" - the veggies and fried rice needed extra seasoning, and the steak was a bit tough (we ordered "medium"). The shrimp was delicious.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I was very let down. This was a party fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was very let down. This was a party for my daughter!! They didn't notice even tho I left a message it was her bday! The cook burn my daughters finger! They messed up our order a number of times!!! So very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

This is my wife's top two restaurants to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is my wife's top two restaurants to eat at. Always great atmosphere and great food. We love to come here!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there and they said they couldn't ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We got there and they said they couldn't find our reservation and told us we would have to wait an hour. So we sat in the other section and our menu was limited, food was over cooked and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

My Chef Angel was the Best! He Cooked th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My Chef Angel was the Best! He Cooked the pork and shrimp to perfection! Also he browned the vegetables! Very nice personality!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were so nice about the fact that we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

They were so nice about the fact that we didn't print our birthday coupon and helped us out. Everything was great. They gave us a great chef for our daughters birthday! Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FUN PLACE TO GO FOR A BIRTHDAY AND BIG G ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

FUN PLACE TO GO FOR A BIRTHDAY AND BIG GROUPS. YOU GET TO WATCH A SHOW WHILE EATING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but the time to be seated left ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Good food but the time to be seated left a lot to be desired. Although I had reservations at 6:30 (and arrived at 6:25 PM), after a delay I was finally seated around 6:55 PM. Not a horrible time delay but for a fairly pricey restaurant I was expecting slightly more in terms of promptness.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The chef we had for dinner had zero pers ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The chef we had for dinner had zero personality and ruined the whole point of going to Benihana's. this is the second time in a row we had this chef and even asked to make sure we don't get him for this visit. Of course we did and just like the last time, the experience was horrible. It was a waste of $130 and not happy since we are frequent visitors of Benihana's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had to wait a while at the table for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had to wait a while at the table for the chef to come over. He was not very entertaining and we noticed the food portions were smaller than the last time we went to a Benihana restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for a date with my boyfriend to cel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went for a date with my boyfriend to celebrate my promotion at work, we had a good time and our chef Sean was great. Usually the chefs are interactive, but Sean went above and beyond with keeping everyone at the table in the conversation. Our waitress was great as well, sadly, I forgot her name. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was amazing

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The chef was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef David is the best Benihana chef we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Chef David is the best Benihana chef we have had1 Incorporating Minions and Frozen material into his cooking routine. Gave all of us (adults and kids) great laughs. Keeping the experience fun and fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too noisy and the restaurant could reall ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

too noisy and the restaurant could really use dividers in between some of the tables to cut down on the noise

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great food and service very entertaining ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and service very entertaining. Loved that we got a free birthday photo very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our choice destination for cele ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our choice destination for celebrating our 12th anniversary and it delivered. Best teppanyaki chef we have had anywhere be far. Food was yummy. Happy to get a reservation same day thanks to Opentable app!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food with attentive staff memb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food with attentive staff members and an enjoyable experience overall. It is a noisy environment but I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Champagne needs to be kept very cold whe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Champagne needs to be kept very cold when served. Perhaps a standing bucket with ice like most restaurants provide would be ideal. Lobster portions are way too small for the steep price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun experience for kids and adults ! Sup ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fun experience for kids and adults ! Super yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good excellent. service was so so. she f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

good excellent. service was so so. she forgot to bring us our green tea & ice cream. she seemed a little frazzled

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We requested someone good because last t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We requested someone good because last time we had a mediocre chef and we got someone great this time. Food was great and we got great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining experience was great however ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The dining experience was great however we did not have the same experience at the bar. The bar tender was not at all welcoming and in the way a bit rude. I knew there were a couple that was there before us but we all stood there and he passed us several times attending to a couple next to us but not as much as recognizing us to even say hello or to give us indication he even saw us. But instead when I finally got his attention, "well that couple was there first". I knew he was helping those couple but he was inches from my face and did not bother to at least say I will be with you in a moment or something to acknowledge our presence. He did not make us feel welcome and it may have seemed we are a bother to him.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is way too hott! Please turn up the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is way too hott! Please turn up the air conditioning so I'm not sweating while eating my dinner. Thank you:)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My reservation was for 7 but did not get ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My reservation was for 7 but did not get seated until 730 and the bartender was not attentive. My Sangria was awful and I told them and I was not offered a new one. I ordered a California roll and it never came. It was my anniversary and we were seated with children. I probably will not go back for dinner just lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I recommend this place for absolutely ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I recommend this place for absolutely everything BUT the service. The food, the drinks my husband ordered, down to the lemonade I ordered, was all perfect. Except our service, our waitress (believe it said Samantha on receipt) was everything but personable, she took an order from my husband and overlooked anything I wanted. She was more focused on the family across from us, which it wasn't their first time, but it was ours but didn't even ask us. I was frustrated and just wanted her availability to answer a question I had. My husbands used plates were taken right off hand but I was inconvenienced with mine on the edge of the table meanwhile the chef was filling my new plate, also while I watched her walk past about 3 times empty handed without grabbing mine. We were impressed with everything but our waitress, and will return in hopes she is not our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and looki ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and looking forward to the Benihana experience. it wasn't the special night we had hoped for. We waited for our table in the bar area and ordered appetizers. It took 25 minutes to finally get our apps. When we got to our dinner table, the server explained the menu, took our drink orders and then our food orders, delivered our soup and salad, then disappeared. No water refills, no checking in for the next hour. The chef was entertaining and personable. But when he cooked the spicy chicken for my husband and nephew, he neglected to tell them they could choose the degrees of spice. The server didn't ask either when she took the order. The food was inedible as the spice level was a 10. When the server DID return to ask if we wanted dessert, she said the chef was supposed to ask on a scale of 1-10, how spicy it should be. Also, be prepared to spend almost 2 1/2 hours at the table. Too long with young kids. We've been here before, but tonight's birthday celebration was a big disappointment. Will think twice about celebrating here again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was very good, but this is not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was very good, but this is not a place to take small children. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated. Once we were seated we waited another 40 minutes for the chef to come to the table. The server was lovely and we had drinks and salad prior to the meal, but the wait was just too long. The whole dinner took over 3 hours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

One guest server was a little inpatient. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One guest server was a little inpatient. Top of fans were dropping and I got wet. Some came to dry so we appreciated that. Even tho it dripped the entired dinner .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ray was an awesome cook! Friendly and ke ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ray was an awesome cook! Friendly and kepts us all entertained! Our waitress Stephanie, needs an attitude adjustment!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We waited over an hour beyond our reserv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We waited over an hour beyond our reservation to eat even at 9:30 at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Went here for my birthday. We arrived h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went here for my birthday. We arrived half an hour early and waited at the bar. The bartender was friendly, and our service there was very good. The restaurant was busy and quite loud; lots of large parties. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and our chef was entertaining. You get a lot of food with dinner - so much that my husband and I had enough for another meal as take-home. Our steak was overcooked, (ordered medium and it was medium-well to well). Luckily we both ordered tenderloin so it was still tender.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ask for Chef Sean and you will be sure t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ask for Chef Sean and you will be sure to have perfectly cooked food. Stay away from server Samantha because she was the worst server ever! Never came back to check on our party or refill our drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Was a great experience for a date with m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Was a great experience for a date with my daughter and wife. Music was a little loud for the dinning area

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good. A bit pricy. The noise ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was good. A bit pricy. The noise level is crazy!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was great but our chef really me ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was great but our chef really messed up our fried rice and instead of fixing it correctly he tried to cover it up we did get all of our fried rice comped by the manager but it still was a bummer to not get our fried rice that's our favorite thing when we go to Benihana I've had much better cooks who do a much better job with the food than we had at this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Birthday meal. We always celebrate birth ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Birthday meal. We always celebrate birthdays at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great vegetarian options

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great vegetarian options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.