About Benihana - Carlsbad

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Fun (43)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Kid-friendly (32)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Family Style (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (15)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was truly horrible. It took forever for us to get our waitress and her attention. Everyone at our table was waiting for over 15-20 minutes for our check while the other table we got sat next to left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding. I have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The service and food was very good. Our chef was entertaining as he prepared our dinner teppan style.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We had another great meal at Benihana for my boyfriend's birthday. I see a lot of people have complained about how long it takes. If you want fast food go to McDonald's you don't go to a teppanyaki restaurant, it's supposed to take time, it's an interactive dining experience, not a drive thru! Our server Mutsuko was great as was the chef and the food is always consisently good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Made a reservation and still ended up waiting 15 mins, and it wasn't even that busy. It was close to an hour before the chef even showed up. I know there are courses before the chef arrives, but an hour....come on. The food was ok, but nothing to write home about, and definitely not worth the extremely high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Slow service overall and took a long time to be seated even though on time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Chef Trevor aka Trouble was awesome. Will request him on return visit

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The sauces And soup weren't too good but our server Bryce and cook were wonderful. The food was delicious and tasted better the next day

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great place to hang out and have some good fun with the chef. Food is good but it and miss at time. All and all...fun place the have dinner.

Tags: Fun, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great fun for family and friends. Food's great too!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was the longest meal ever. About time we got to the salad a rice I was ready to go to sleep. Sat down at 6:30. Didn't leave the table until 8:45😩. Never again for us. Oh and the food is not even seasoned well

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love this place....special times and great memories with out standing service and food!
Great for all of our family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had reservations still had to wait for our server to arrive. The cook was nice and friendly. He was entertaining to our daughter as well. Our waitress was new but very friendly as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We are three generations and we had a lovely luncheon at Benihana. Fun to watch the chef prepare our lunches; delicious food! We love to come to Benihana in Carlsbad.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The service was extremely slow. Had to ask for refills. Wanted to order an appetizer and could not flag down the server. There was only 3 other tables at lunch so it was not busy. The food was okay, not the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We come here often to celebrate b-days for our family. The services always been great so no complain there. However, the food recently has not been as good as it used to. Everything tasted the same, from fried rice to stir-fry onion to scallops. -- the same soy/butter/salt flavoring combo in every dish. The scallops were very tough and the jumbo shrimps that comes with the seafood was very dry. So disappointing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Way over priced - $40 for a tiny piece of steak and some vegetables, and if you want the chicken fried rice with the meal instead of white rice, you have to pay extra - nearly $4 for a little more than a one-cup serving size. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

THE BEST NIGHT AT BENIHANA EVER!!!!! Our sever Myi was excellent also the chef Christian was AMAZING RAISE HIS PAY MOVE HIM UP IN THE COMPANY HE IS THE REAL REASON I WILL BE TALKING ABOUT THAT NIGHT FOREVER!!😃😃😃😁☺️🤘🏾

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Benihana has long been a tradition amongst my friends with same month birthdays. Unfortunately the Chef's Table introduced limiting date restrictions on their birthday certificates this year, so we can no longer celebrate together, and I went with my usual guest without the rest of the group. We live in San Diego but always drive up to Carlsbad because the location is so much easier for last minute reservations and has reliably shorter wait times. We loved the Chateaubriand and of course the Hibachi chicken fried rice!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Benihana is always a treat, it's entertaining, chef Seiji did a great show. And the food is superb

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great place to eat and always a great experience. Good for the whole family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Dinner was fun with our big group, very entertaining and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Super loud. Not a place for any conversation. Sushi and food is just meh. We've always hear about Benihana but not impressed. It's expensive and loud. Our waiter was great and attentive. I wouldn't go again. Once was good. Also, if you have kids with sensory issues def! Stay away...not a good place to take them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

food was excellent and the service was also kind of expensive but that was to be expected overall i give it 5 stars

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The noise level was too high to carry on a conversation with other people at the same table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We arrived at 4pm and salads come out around 5pm. Hot food wasn't served till around 5:30pm. We left a bit before 7pm. Food and the show were great. This isn't the place to go if you are starving and want to eat right away.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent service. The only thing I would add would be not to set the chairs as close together from each other. There was a chubby guy next to us and even moving was complicated

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our chef was Christian and our waitress was Tracey. Tracey made sure to constantly keep tabs on the table's needs. She was friendly, engaging and a shear pleasure. Christian was by far the best chef we have ever had at Benihana's. He was friendly, energetic, tremendously entertaining and he cooked the food to perfection. When we go back we will definitely ask for a table where the two of them are involved.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Everything was good except when it came to our steak. We like it medium rare and we got medium well, very disappointed. We noticed that the steak was really thin also.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Sal, the chef was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My kids LOVE dining here. All of the chefs are amazing and the waiters are so helpful. Excellent family fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I was never a fan of Benihana but I had to take my husband just because he's never been to Benihana. It was my daughter's birthday and the restaurant is right next to our hotel so why not? Food is not that great, there's too much noise. The chef dropped his spoon with butter, it splattered on the floor and my shoes, he didn't even say anything nor offered napkins to wipe off my shoes. I didn't want to embarrass him so I just kept it cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Our waitress was overwhelmed. It took her forever to get to us and our chef arrived way before our salads! We waited a long time to get our beverages as well. It was very off putting to see people coming in after us being served their drinks and salads when we were there and put it orders in before them. EspeicIally when we were celebrating 2 birthdays in our party. So annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Upon arrival for our reservations we had to wait 15 minutes. Service was really slow. We were at a table with people who kept ordering drinks and since we don't drink we were constantly left waiting. Took forever to get our soup then salad was late and then we had to wait again for the chef who as late. I was excited because it was my husbands first time there and it was his birthday. We were there from 7:30-9:45. However the food was good.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Terrible. Long wait, floors dirty, chef not engaging or energetic at all! It was our daughter's birthday. We come here every year. She was truly disappointed. This will be the last time we patronize this place. Manager was worthless as well!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

For the first time ever... I was completely disappointed... The food was great and our server was sweet but we had 7:15 reservations and dinner wasn't done being served until about 10pm... While I enjoy the "show", I don't enjoy a 3 hour dinner experience... the chef appeared to have the meals mixed up and I was even served incorrect items. We had to take the majority of our meal to go because we had a sitter at home. For the price I paid it was upsetting. As a frequent customer of Benihanas and parents of 4 who rarely get out, this was my least favorite night at my favorite restaurant and just overall disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Even with a reservation we had an additional half hour wait. Our food was over cooked for tappanyaki. Our chef was underskilled but made up for it with personality and our servers were great. All in all we had an ok evening but it was hard to justify with the high price tag of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We like to celebrate our anniversary at Benihanas. This was our 28th. Great place to meet new people. It's entertaining and the food is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love this Benihana the staff is fantastic and the food is always consistent. We love that the happy hour goes until 7pm. The trick is when you seat down at your table is to still go up to the bar to get your drink at a discount otherwise if you order at the table they will charge you the rrgular price. The chef as always very entertaining and very well trained. Go with fun people it makes quite a bit more fun!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We love Benihana's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.