About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House Ginger Salad
  • Sushi Combo Deluxe
  • Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
  • Lunch Boat With Chicken
  • Spider Roll
  • Benihana Appitizer
  • Boston Roll
  • Green Tea Ice Cream
  • Pineapple
House Ginger Salad
Sushi Combo Deluxe
Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Spider Roll
Benihana Appitizer
Boston Roll
Green Tea Ice Cream
Pineapple

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

special occasion (105)
good for groups (102)
kid-friendly (61)
See All
great for lunch (32)
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (20)
romantic (17)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
589 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came here for my birthday dinner and it ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Came here for my birthday dinner and it was a disappointment . The waitress brought the main dish out with no rice. We told her we needed our rice, but still didn't bring it out. We had to remind her many times of what we needed. At the end of dinner, no one came by to give us our birthday ice cream, picture, or birthday song. It was a bad dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Coming here a lot for Birthdays, lately ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Coming here a lot for Birthdays, lately the service has not been great, so we will probably look for another spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good atmosphere but the food was under s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good atmosphere but the food was under seasoned and tasted bland.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place. Staff was the best it made ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place. Staff was the best it made the expensive food well worth it

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Looking forwar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our experience was great! Looking forward to our next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Teppanyaki Sean was great and very e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Teppanyaki Sean was great and very entertaining! We thoroughly enjoyed the entire event

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

1/2 hour late after reservation.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

1/2 hour late after reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We went along to celebrate both a birthd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went along to celebrate both a birthday and anniversary and as always, we were not disappointed with the service nor the entertainment of the chef in front of us. It was a first time for our children (5 and 2) who both took much delight in the experience and keep asking us when we are going back again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a birthday with the fa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate a birthday with the family. It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday nights are always busy, yet the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Saturday nights are always busy, yet the food is always great!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had 7:15 reservations, arrived at 7:0 ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had 7:15 reservations, arrived at 7:05...after waiting until 7:35 to be seated and watching people come in and be seated who didn't have reservations we were finally asked if we had been help and we said yes that we had reservations and we're waiting to be seated. We finally left at 7:45 and as we walked out they said they were just about to seat us. What a waste of time. AVOID this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The blonde bartender working on Friday h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The blonde bartender working on Friday had a smug attitude. Not to mentioned the cocktail was garbage had too much juice no alcohol. Our dinner reservation was at 6:15pm our chef came out after an hour. The other party seated with left before the dinner was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The cooks put on a show, they are amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The cooks put on a show, they are amazing and makes the dining experience fun and enjoyable. The food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there to celebrate my birthday s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were there to celebrate my birthday so my meal was free but I was not treated that way. The server was very attentive, the chef was fun and entertaining. The food was excellent.

The only disappointment was that the outside atrium was closed. Since I get excellent food at which ever restaurant I go to, the atrium at the Carlsbad site is one of the reasons we went there. We drive over an hour to get there and it is a beautiful place to relax while waiting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at Benihana's all the time and I c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I eat at Benihana's all the time and I can't say enough about the whole experience. I go there as often as possible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't impressed. I 've eaten at place ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I wasn't impressed. I 've eaten at places like this before and this one was a real disappointment. The service was average at best and for what you pay to eat at places like this you expect better. I won't be eating at this particular Benihana again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The most amazing meal ever. Our Chef, Sa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The most amazing meal ever. Our Chef, Sal? Not sure but that might be his name, was funny, conversant and an excellent chef. He kept our big party entertained and his ad lib was cute. Thanks for another amazing meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion or to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great place for a special occasion or to have an entertaining dinner! The chefs are amazing and they really engage the kids with entertainment!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always a hit or miss depen ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This place is always a hit or miss depending on your chef. Our experience was a definite miss. The chef forgot to give our son the shrimp in his child's shrimp and steak plate ... Then he gave my son another child's chicken as that child had nothing but rice for a long time and then he gave my fillet to the gal next to me and gave me a cheap strip steak .... He had no portion control as some of the guest had tons of rice and at the other end of the table the bowls were 3/4 full at best. He had to make over food so many times it was a complete disaster. It was no fun at all ... ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This location is quite refreshing compar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This location is quite refreshing compared to the mission valley one. Only complaint is there are no sound barriers. All the tables are in one large room and the noise is over the top, very difficult to visit with your own party. Our chef was so entertaining and made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for my birthday. It was great! I a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Went for my birthday. It was great! I a birthday song, and free sherbert. The chefs were friendly, and children had a ball. I would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was very pleasant and the kids with us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was very pleasant and the kids with us were excited and had lots of fun with the chef

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit pricy yet good food and entertaini ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A bit pricy yet good food and entertaining...we go for special occasions.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was expensive. Chef was good. We h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was expensive. Chef was good. We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table even with a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience at the Carlsbad locatio ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience at the Carlsbad location. Been here several times and it never dissapoints.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cook was the best recommend going he ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The cook was the best recommend going here and would go again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down worst service we had ever. My ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hands down worst service we had ever. My husband and i aren't ones ever to complain and thats what we didn't complain when we were there because we've both been in the restaurant industry but the way they ran the place that night was just very poor. Super upsetting that we paid so much to not enjoy the experience thats supposed to come with it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Okay so this was the 1st Time we ever go ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Okay so this was the 1st Time we ever got a new person. With that in mind I understand that training has to happen, things take time to learn, I get that. However we got less food then normal, it took longer then normal, and the service was slow on the drinks ect. I love this Benihana location, we see and talk with EVERY time we come in. I have a family of six and drop over $100 every time we eat there. This one bad Experience will not stop us from coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Fun night

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Hadn't been to Benihana in a long time, and really enjoyed the experience.. Can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We went to celebrate a 10th birthday and 6th grade promotion with friends and family. Our party had a total of 10 ppl. The chef was VERY ENTERTAINING and the 6 kids (ages 10-12) had a great time and ate ALL their food. Our kids love coming here to celebrate a special occasion. Note that this is NOT a quick dine place. It's experiential dining and with 10 ppl, we had a 6pm reservation and left at 8:10pm.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress come back!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

For the amount of money we spent, the food was just ok and I feel our waitress could have been more attentive. The best part was definitely watching the chef do his thing! Once the show was over it was a whole lot of waiting. Waiting for our picture, waiting for our dessert waiting for the check then waiting for the check to be picked up. Our waitress seemed like she had too many tables to take care of at once. And when you have small children like I do trying to keep them seated and patient is not easy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Very Entertaining!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Sean was our chef and he was very engaging, conversing with us as he prepared the food. He even engaged the two boys in the other party with which we shared the table. He did an excellent job preparing the various food items, all the while entertaining us with his skills and conversation. Kuddos to manager, Scott, as well, for providing an enjoyable, welcoming atmosphere. Great food and great fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cramped!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had the 3 seats in front of the 4 person side in front of the chef. I was very cramped. There was not a lot of room between seats. I don't remember it ever being like that but usually it is just 2 of us so we get the ends. I am a left handed eater and couldn't help touching elbows with the lady next to me. I had no room to scoot over. Definetely not comfortable when they put 2 parties of 3 and a couple of 2 together. Would be better to keep it a Part of 4 and 2 parties or 2.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, great venue!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We loved our dining experiencexperience at Benihana's. The food was delicious, the chef was entertaining, and the venue was clean. Open table made it easy to make the reservation and we were seated in a timely manner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paying for the Chef's

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my wife there for her Birthday. We forgot that you'll be sitting at a table w/ strangers. Turned out ok, although for her Bday, I was hoping for something more romantic. You're paying for the entertainment more than the food. Food is nothing special or unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

No wait and server was really nice.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

No wait and server was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Right place at the right time

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had reservations for 2 days at the Holiday Inn Carlsbad after spending Memorial Day weekend in San Diego, were never in Carlsbad before. Did not know what was in the area, pleasantly surprised to see Benihana next to the hotel. Was previously at the same place in Oahu HI 2 years ago, we enjoyed that one so much we tried it again, was not disappointed!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Besides the food being amazing our Chef ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Besides the food being amazing our Chef was extremely entertaining and very engaged with us. Very funny and charismatic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Lively

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Request David as a chef. He's so entertaining and great with kids! Food was classic Benihana.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Plan on at least two full hours I have b ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Plan on at least two full hours I have been there a dozen + times and they are always running behind great experience just make sure you have plenty of time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.