About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

good for groups (100)
special occasion (94)
kid-friendly (58)
See All
great for lunch (36)
fit for foodies (32)
romantic (17)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Minimum 1 hour wait even with reservation

Dined 4 days ago

Reservation is useless, had to wait 1 hour to sit, then 1 hour to see the chef.. minimum 3hours for dinner

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had a reservation for 7:45pm. I didn't ...

Dined 4 days ago

I had a reservation for 7:45pm. I didn't get seated till after 8pm. On top of that I didn't leave the restaurant till after 10pm. It literally took all night! I recommend reserving a dining time why earlier than you'd like to eat because you probably be waiting and eating an hour or two later than planned. I wouldn't recommend Benihana for everyday dining because the wait time , but the food is to die for, so for special occasion worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

dissappointment

Dined 4 days ago

Reservation @7pm wasn't seated til 7:45pm by the time we ate it was 8:30pm everyone over hungry and chief was just going through the motion. Food good but way to long of wait. Book early or eat something before.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. One of my fa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience. One of my favorite Benihanas. Great atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We've been many times, but probably won' ...

Dined 6 days ago

We've been many times, but probably won't be back to this location again. Our server was not good. She rarely checked on the table and just wasn't personable. The chef didn't do any kind of special show or tricks other than the volcano. It was just disappointing overall. Honestly, I don't know why we keep coming back when each time the quality of the experience continues to decline.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Had to wait for the chef for more than 4 ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had to wait for the chef for more than 45 minutes-- this was on a Tuesday; Waitress tried to explain and be accommodating in explanation for long wait

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlsbad location never disappoints. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Carlsbad location never disappoints. It's a large restaurant and we always request Val as our server. We have a large family and require two tables and management is always accommodating. It never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great experience we love the f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a great experience we love the food and the cook. His name is Oliver. He was the best The guys at the reception not so great

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The young lady that was serving us and o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The young lady that was serving us and our chef (believe his name was Sal) were both amazing and they should both be acknowledged! It wa my husbands birthday and we brought our 16month old daughter. The waitress took really good care of us. She noticed the baby being fussy and offered and brought rice for her almost immediately so I could feed my baby. The chef cooked the best food I've had at Benihana. We left extremely satisfied with the restaurants service and food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great for a birthday party or event.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great for a birthday party or event.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an excellent time as usual. We have been here many times over the past few years and will continue to do so. Bartender that night was especially good. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very happy to have had Chef Israel make ourmealonceagain, he'sexcellent!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Reservation

Dined on April 30, 2016

I made a reservation for 4:45 for a party of 4 and arrived at 4:40 to check in. The hostess checked us in and asked that we have a seat. At 5:10 I asked the hostess why bother making a reservation if I was going to wait 30 minutes for a table. At that time, she sat us at a table. When we were seated, and might I add only 2 tables in the restaurant were occupied, I asked if we could remain alone. She responded yes. No sooner were our drinks brought to us, she was seating 2 others with us. Again I asked her why bother asking if we could be alone if she was only going to bring 2 other guests to our table within minutes. On your reservation site you asked if we had any special diet restrictions. I indicated that one guest in our party could not have garlic. The chef never acknowledged the request. It had to be called to his attention. Again, why bother noting an allergy ahead of time if no mention was made by the staff. Thought you'd like to know.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my girlfriend's first time and ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my girlfriend's first time and she loved it. I brought her date night, since the kids were with their grandma. Thank you

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always come for birthdays

Dined on April 29, 2016

One of the best for birthdays. This time an exception with service. Never refilled any drinks and did not take our photo at the end. Something my children look forward too each year. Chef and food were delightful and amazing as usual.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Celebration Fun!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We always love to come to Benihana! The food is always delicious and the show is excellent. Our chef was extra entertaining and the kids had a wonderful time. I had the Lychee martini and it was delicious. It was my birthday and they always make it super festive. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because of how long it took. We arrived at 7:00 and our reservation was at 7:15 on a Thursday evening. We were not sat until almost 7:45. There was not a chef ready for us and we had to wait for a bit after we were finished with our soup and salad. The server was super polite and apologized but we were hungry with kids on a school night. We did not leave until 9:40 which was really too late. I love Benihana and I am sure we will be back. I just hope that next time we will not be left waiting for an extra 45 minutes to an hour total.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a bad meal.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place to go for good food. Plus you get a lot for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service.

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Server made recommendations that turned out to be an awesome choice. Staff was friendly, quick service and always with a smile. Great atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hi, my family and I celebrated our sons ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Hi, my family and I celebrated our sons birthday as we always do. Since our visit was right after school all four of our kids were starving and were looking forward to some yummy Benihana grub. The momentum took a bit longer than usual as the restaurant was down some staff however our Chef Ray saved the day, as soon as he came to the table he took care of business quickly and professionally, food was cooked perfectly tasty and everyone was happy. Ray was very personable as well and even though he was a new Chef to the Carlsbad location, he adapted well and did a great job! The 2 managers on staff I believe it was Scott and ??? also did a great job supporting everyone behind the scenes. Great team and already looking forward to our next trip back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent this visit, thank you

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food was excellent this visit, thank you

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time at Benihana

Dined on April 25, 2016

One of my favorite places to go for a good meal and a good time. The service was greate, the food was AMAZING as always, and the chef (Sal) was hilarious and entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food!

Dined on April 24, 2016

All the food was excellent and delicious. Best fried rice I ever tasted.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always never disappoints.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food is always hot and fresh. Chef Tam was friendly and fun. As usual great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place to have fun and a nice dinne ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great place to have fun and a nice dinner with friends and family!!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Good food bad waiter

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everythin was good except the waiter cooks where fun outgoing and perfect for the family. My waiter forgot about us and I had to ask multiple times from different waiters and higher staff to get us refreshments trays to go and tab.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Garlic butter is key

Dined on April 13, 2016

Normally love eating here but chef didn't use garlic butter on our steak. Simple but noticeable difference

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything great except the hostesses

Dined on April 12, 2016

The Chef was entertaining, funny, fast, and you get a lot of food for your money. The food improves with the sauces. The hostesses however were unsmiling, unfriendly, & cold. Too bad, it put a sour taste in our mouth at the beginning and end of our visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding fun while you eat

Dined on April 10, 2016

Such a great place to enjoy food while you watch your chef make your delicious food in an extremely unique way. I loved it

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great celebration lunch

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch with our family, many of whom had not been there before, celebrating our daughter's First Communion. The chef was lots of fun in his showmanship with our food. The onions on fire were a hit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Fun for a special occasion

Dined on April 5, 2016

I hadn't been to Benihana in 35+ years. The food was delicious! Unfortunately, it's very loud inside, and difficult to converse. Also very difficult to communicate with the chef & server, who both had soft voices and heavy accents. The food was great, but the "show" was somewhat lackluster (maybe because we went on a Monday night?). I also feel it's overpriced for what is offered. $10 for a glass of mid-range Chardonnay? Yikes!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Benihanas!

Dined on April 3, 2016

What a great show what great food what a great experience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Pricey but fun

Dined on April 3, 2016

I took my family and some friends here to celebrate a birthday. We did have to wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time. Our chef was a lot of fun. I asked him if the food had MSG, he seemed a little puzzled but said he didn't think it did. About an hour after dinner I got the MSG headache symptoms, so I think they do use MSG. Our meal was pricey, over $200 for 7 people, no drinks.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun Show and Delicious Food!!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Had a fun Birthday dinner with a good friend. Our chef was very nice and did a fantastic job of preparing the food in a fun way. We were thoroughly entertained. Both meals were delicious, I had the Spicy Tofu and my friend had the Colossal Shrimp. Yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Cook was not prepared onion soup was col ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Cook was not prepared onion soup was cold and the cook barely used garlic butter food dry

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great place!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our first visit to Benihana's was excellent. I was able to use the website to schedule a reservation for the same day. We were seated within minutes of arriving and dining shortly after. David was our chef and he was enthusiastic and charismatic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Decent

Dined on March 19, 2016

This benihana was okay. The was unexpected. Its located next to a hotel. The food was tasty but small in portion for the price.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a gem!

Dined on March 16, 2016

I frequent Benihana, all dofferent locations... Carlsbad is by far my favorite location! The festive, exciting experience is great for both adults and kids!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2

Had reservations and we still waited for ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Had reservations and we still waited for 40 minutes. TERRIBLE!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Standardly good

Dined on March 12, 2016

Benihanas is always a good place to come with friends. We came here for my buddy's birthday. Our chef was a funny guy with a lot of jokes. Benihana's always seems to have funny chefs. The cocktails were good and the food was pretty dang good. The bill was much higher than expected, however, still pretty reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 8, 2016

I will always support this establishment. Although I cannot say what exactly happened, Mtt and his team are number 1! Could not ask for a better experience. Wonderful. New Steak, ribeye, for two is awesome!!a

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.