About Benihana - Carlsbad

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (46)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Kid-friendly (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Casual (16)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Business Meals (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
973 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Chris was our chef and he was amazing, funny and a great cook!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at this Benihanas in carlsbad and unfortunately it was a bad experience we made reservations at 9:00pm arrived at 8:30am and was offered to be seated earlier but was not sat down until 9:05pm...we then ordered our drinks and it took them 15min to bring our beverages and we placed our food order and waited another 45min for our chef to start making our food FORTUNATELY the chef was VERY nice his name was Tam and after complaining to the manager we got one of our dishes written off our bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good food and a good time!! Chefs are very entertaining!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Way too loud. Couldn't carry on a conversation. Was overcharged for items that were not ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Food and service were excellent and we had a great time. It was a bit too noisy for easy conversation. Definitely a fun and tasty place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It was a birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Booked a reservation for my boyfriends birthday, then we waited 30 minutes before we left for another restaurant, with people coming in after us who got seated first. The manager was condescending and very unprofessional. He felt it necessary to explain to us how a reservation worked... would never go back and would never recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The restaurant is good, but one of the employees ruined what could have been a great time celebrating a special occasion. This employee was using a toothpick in public and trying hard to get food pieces out of his mouth. He kept the toothpick in his mouth as he was bussing tables! I mentioned it to our waitress and all she did was giggle. I kept my eye on him (how could I not), and he was at one point leaning against a wall looking at his cell phone in one hand and picking his nose with the other. He was touching his hair, hand back in his mouth touching his toothpick. Here I was with my group trying to enjoy our show while watching a completely different and disgusting show a few feet away. He then started putting new dishes and silverware out. I excused myself from our table and went to find a manager.

The manager apologized and told me this employee had been spoken to about the toothpick. I guess he goes around with his toothpick in his mouth on a regular basis. This employee needs to attend some food handling courses.

I don't know if I will be back. A manager should be much more cognizant of what is happening in his restaurant. The employees were working around with this other employee with a toothpick in his mouth like it was no big deal. I wonder if it was ok with the manager too? It looked very low class in what I considered to be in a nice restaurant. If I'm going to spend $200 on dinner, I expect more from the restaurant and it's employee.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My cousin had to go to the ER because a piece of metal in the food got cought in her throat

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:30 and we were seated promptly. However, our chef didn't come to our table until 7:27pm. Almost an hour after we were seated! Both our party and the party seated with us had small children. So the wait was not ideal. Our chef showed up, after I asked to speak with the manager. The manager was never sent to our table, but at least the chef finally came. I at least expected the manager to come an apologize our acknowledge the delay.. This was on a Tuesday pm, and it wasn't necessarily a super-busy evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I love this place, but lately with the long hour waits even with a reservation sucks and the lack of staff sucks. Waitress need to stop rushing customers. I'm paying couple hundred dollars I go, I want to relax. Chefs are always the best, well the old school ones only.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

My birthday tradition I simply love benni=)
We usually come here twice a year. Not to mention their lunch deals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our chef was the best part of the dinner. Our server was very friendly best service we have had there so far

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Worst service ever. We were there for an 8 year old birthday. Our reservations were 615. They sat us at 730, chef arrived at 815, we finished at 945.

Too late for our son. I will never go here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Service was horrible . We got seated at 5:45 and they didn’t even take our order until 7! We had 6 kids w us which made it even worse . They also stuffed us at a table that was way to small. Overall we were beyond disappointed. The silver lining was our server. She did the best should could with what was handed to her. But we won’t be going back anytime soon. Such a shame because our family does generally like this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Everything was very nice and only 2 small issues: our table reservation was for 6:45 but the actually grill-master didn't start cooking until about 7:35. I am not sure if this is normal, but I noticed others at our table a bit inpatient too. We had long since finished appetizers, dinner salads, and had a slight uncomfortable wait time. Jumbo shrimp just slightly overcooked and a little rubbery. Other than those two items which I must emphasize are fairly minor, the wait staff, hosting staff, chef were excellent. Food quality was quite good and flavorful. The ambiance and show is what one goes for and it does not disappoint. Excellent for any special occasion. I do recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I was extremely happy with the overall experience. From the service all the way to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been to this Benihana’s in the past, but this visit wasn’t as good as past visits. I enjoyed my dinner but the scallops and veggies didn’t taste as good as in the past. Also the hibachi chef we had didn’t put much effort into engaging and entertaining the table as other chefs. I was also disappointed that we forgot our photo on the table. I called them right after we got home and realized we didn’t have it and was told that it had been thrown away. They don’t even save the passwords so that you can retrieve the digital photo. My suggestion is to save the photo or at least the password for the website to retrieve the digital photo for at least 24 hours in case the customer forgets or loses the photo. They could even charge $5.00 or $10:00; I would have paid for a replacement copy. Overall I had a good experience but it wasn’t as good as past visits. I hope my next visit turns out better.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I Really enjoy the food and the chefs are always entertaining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and they offered to seat us early. We were seated with drinks at 8:10pm, had our soup and salad delivered almost at the same time and we didn't see the waiter again until about 8:35 (we had to ask a different waitress for water). He apologized that the chef will hadn't arrived, said he would get him now, and offered to get the manager. The chef came out 15 minutes later to start cooking but we were too hungry that we decided to leave. Ruined our night and birthday dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

I've been to this resturant twice. Both times it has been noisy and I have always got a bad table.
The value of the food is definitely lacking. Way to expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I really enjoyed eating dinner at Benihana's. It was my Birthday and they made me feel special! Excellent service and food!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have eaten at Benihana's many times over the years. Our servicer was a little hard to find but the gentlemen cooking our food was entertaining as heck! He was funny and engaging with our entire table! Our table had a lamp out so reading the menu was a little tough on our side of the table. The restaurant gets a little smoky as it gets later. My 5 year old had swollen red eyes by the time we left at eight o'clock. We enough coming here! The food is consistently good. Fried rice is AMAZING!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have always loved Benihanas and its always amazing. But this time was even better. Our chef was Christian and hands down made the evening. He was so funny and so entertaining. Such a great time! I recommend to everyone

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Minor technicality but the manager on duty did a fine job resolving it. Great chef and server!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

+ it is a good to great restaurant , we will come back again and again. everything was awesome,.
We had very good Chef and waitress in our table. You have a good restaurant.
My family loves your place. specially my 10 years old son. Your chef is great and waitress is very professional.
It seems the AC over the table was not working and it was very hot while we were sitting waiting for chef to show up , as the heat of grill made everyone uncomfortable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday dinner and the staff pretty much ruined the surprise we had. Also, I can't stand that they blow up my email with TONS of advertisements but NONE of their coupons ever apply. Make sure your birthday dinner only lands Monday-Thursday or you don't even get to use your birthday coupon! What crock is that?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent experience overall. Great food. Great chef.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Went for my daughters birthday with a couple of friends and the girls had a blast!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The experience was amazing, our cook was awesome and kept up with our conversations we had going on and the food was amazing. Will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Depending on the chef you get the experience differs.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always a fun time going here. Yea, it's a little on the loud side, but the food was excellent and we lucked out with cool people next to us around the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

It didn't matter that we had a reservation, they had at least 5 empty tables and we still waited 25 minutes for a table. Then another 35 minutes just to get the drink order. Very poor service. The food was not as good as usual either, although our cook was very good. We were there for a birthday and they brought us the check before they even asked if we wanted dessert or to celebrate our son's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great Chef and a great server, both worked as a team and were fast.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

It was a fun event. We were celebrating two birthdays in our department and a retirement.
A fun atmosphere and our chef Sal was so sweet and fun to watch.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Chef Trevor was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We went for my son's birthday in a group of 7, but only ended up being 6 people. Seated immediately. Appetizers came promptly and the server was very attentive and helpful. As always, the preparation of the food was highly entertaining, although out group was actually talking to each other most of the time. Our chef might have felt a little neglected and ignored, but the food was delicious. My two vegans asked that their food be cooked first (to avoid any possible meat or butter touching it) and the chef complied. It was a great night, enjoyed by all!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I really enjoyed my visit to Benihana. I hope to come back on my next birthday as well. I especially liked the tempura boat. A feast for my senses all embedded on a modeled wooden Japanese boat.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went on a Thursday for dinner and since it was earlier we had to share our table.. I didn't mind but I had my kids and the other couple was on a date so it made me feel awkward because the girl in the date want to pleased to share ...I think there should be an option if you mind sharing a table or if you want it alone

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.