About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • House Ginger Salad
  • Sushi Combo Deluxe
  • Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
  • Lunch Boat With Chicken
  • Spider Roll
  • Benihana Appitizer
  • Boston Roll
  • Green Tea Ice Cream
  • Pineapple
House Ginger Salad
Sushi Combo Deluxe
Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Spider Roll
Benihana Appitizer
Boston Roll
Green Tea Ice Cream
Pineapple

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

special occasion (109)
good for groups (108)
kid-friendly (61)
See All
great for lunch (35)
fit for foodies (29)
hot spot (17)
neighborhood gem (17)
romantic (14)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion or to ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a special occasion or to have an entertaining dinner! The chefs are amazing and they really engage the kids with entertainment!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This place is always a hit or miss depen ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This place is always a hit or miss depending on your chef. Our experience was a definite miss. The chef forgot to give our son the shrimp in his child's shrimp and steak plate ... Then he gave my son another child's chicken as that child had nothing but rice for a long time and then he gave my fillet to the gal next to me and gave me a cheap strip steak .... He had no portion control as some of the guest had tons of rice and at the other end of the table the bowls were 3/4 full at best. He had to make over food so many times it was a complete disaster. It was no fun at all ... ....

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This location is quite refreshing compar ...

Dined 6 days ago

This location is quite refreshing compared to the mission valley one. Only complaint is there are no sound barriers. All the tables are in one large room and the noise is over the top, very difficult to visit with your own party. Our chef was so entertaining and made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for my birthday. It was great! I a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for my birthday. It was great! I a birthday song, and free sherbert. The chefs were friendly, and children had a ball. I would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very pleasant and the kids with us ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Was very pleasant and the kids with us were excited and had lots of fun with the chef

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A bit pricy yet good food and entertaini ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A bit pricy yet good food and entertaining...we go for special occasions.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was expensive. Chef was good. We h ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was expensive. Chef was good. We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table even with a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at the Carlsbad locatio ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience at the Carlsbad location. Been here several times and it never dissapoints.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cook was the best recommend going he ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The cook was the best recommend going here and would go again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Hands down worst service we had ever. My ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Hands down worst service we had ever. My husband and i aren't ones ever to complain and thats what we didn't complain when we were there because we've both been in the restaurant industry but the way they ran the place that night was just very poor. Super upsetting that we paid so much to not enjoy the experience thats supposed to come with it !

food3
ambience4
service2

Okay so this was the 1st Time we ever go ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Okay so this was the 1st Time we ever got a new person. With that in mind I understand that training has to happen, things take time to learn, I get that. However we got less food then normal, it took longer then normal, and the service was slow on the drinks ect. I love this Benihana location, we see and talk with EVERY time we come in. I have a family of six and drop over $100 every time we eat there. This one bad Experience will not stop us from coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun night

Dined on June 7, 2016

Hadn't been to Benihana in a long time, and really enjoyed the experience.. Can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on June 7, 2016

We went to celebrate a 10th birthday and 6th grade promotion with friends and family. Our party had a total of 10 ppl. The chef was VERY ENTERTAINING and the 6 kids (ages 10-12) had a great time and ate ALL their food. Our kids love coming here to celebrate a special occasion. Note that this is NOT a quick dine place. It's experiential dining and with 10 ppl, we had a 6pm reservation and left at 8:10pm.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Waitress come back!

Dined on June 5, 2016

For the amount of money we spent, the food was just ok and I feel our waitress could have been more attentive. The best part was definitely watching the chef do his thing! Once the show was over it was a whole lot of waiting. Waiting for our picture, waiting for our dessert waiting for the check then waiting for the check to be picked up. Our waitress seemed like she had too many tables to take care of at once. And when you have small children like I do trying to keep them seated and patient is not easy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Entertaining!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Sean was our chef and he was very engaging, conversing with us as he prepared the food. He even engaged the two boys in the other party with which we shared the table. He did an excellent job preparing the various food items, all the while entertaining us with his skills and conversation. Kuddos to manager, Scott, as well, for providing an enjoyable, welcoming atmosphere. Great food and great fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cramped!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had the 3 seats in front of the 4 person side in front of the chef. I was very cramped. There was not a lot of room between seats. I don't remember it ever being like that but usually it is just 2 of us so we get the ends. I am a left handed eater and couldn't help touching elbows with the lady next to me. I had no room to scoot over. Definetely not comfortable when they put 2 parties of 3 and a couple of 2 together. Would be better to keep it a Part of 4 and 2 parties or 2.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great venue!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We loved our dining experiencexperience at Benihana's. The food was delicious, the chef was entertaining, and the venue was clean. Open table made it easy to make the reservation and we were seated in a timely manner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Paying for the Chef's

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took my wife there for her Birthday. We forgot that you'll be sitting at a table w/ strangers. Turned out ok, although for her Bday, I was hoping for something more romantic. You're paying for the entertainment more than the food. Food is nothing special or unique.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

No wait and server was really nice.

Dined on June 2, 2016

No wait and server was really nice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Right place at the right time

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had reservations for 2 days at the Holiday Inn Carlsbad after spending Memorial Day weekend in San Diego, were never in Carlsbad before. Did not know what was in the area, pleasantly surprised to see Benihana next to the hotel. Was previously at the same place in Oahu HI 2 years ago, we enjoyed that one so much we tried it again, was not disappointed!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Besides the food being amazing our Chef ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Besides the food being amazing our Chef was extremely entertaining and very engaged with us. Very funny and charismatic.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very Lively

Dined on May 28, 2016

Request David as a chef. He's so entertaining and great with kids! Food was classic Benihana.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Plan on at least two full hours I have b ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Plan on at least two full hours I have been there a dozen + times and they are always running behind great experience just make sure you have plenty of time!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always, we eat here so much f ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Awesome as always, we eat here so much for a reason.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Minimum 1 hour wait even with reservation

Dined on May 22, 2016

Reservation is useless, had to wait 1 hour to sit, then 1 hour to see the chef.. minimum 3hours for dinner

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I had a reservation for 7:45pm. I didn't ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had a reservation for 7:45pm. I didn't get seated till after 8pm. On top of that I didn't leave the restaurant till after 10pm. It literally took all night! I recommend reserving a dining time why earlier than you'd like to eat because you probably be waiting and eating an hour or two later than planned. I wouldn't recommend Benihana for everyday dining because the wait time , but the food is to die for, so for special occasion worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

dissappointment

Dined on May 22, 2016

Reservation @7pm wasn't seated til 7:45pm by the time we ate it was 8:30pm everyone over hungry and chief was just going through the motion. Food good but way to long of wait. Book early or eat something before.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. One of my fa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Always a great experience. One of my favorite Benihanas. Great atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was slow (refills, special reque ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow (refills, special requests from server). Steak was chewy and fatty. Took a long time to get bill. Chef was friendly and entertaining.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We've been many times, but probably won' ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've been many times, but probably won't be back to this location again. Our server was not good. She rarely checked on the table and just wasn't personable. The chef didn't do any kind of special show or tricks other than the volcano. It was just disappointing overall. Honestly, I don't know why we keep coming back when each time the quality of the experience continues to decline.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Had to wait for the chef for more than 4 ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had to wait for the chef for more than 45 minutes-- this was on a Tuesday; Waitress tried to explain and be accommodating in explanation for long wait

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carlsbad location never disappoints. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Carlsbad location never disappoints. It's a large restaurant and we always request Val as our server. We have a large family and require two tables and management is always accommodating. It never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a great experience we love the f ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a great experience we love the food and the cook. His name is Oliver. He was the best The guys at the reception not so great

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The young lady that was serving us and o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The young lady that was serving us and our chef (believe his name was Sal) were both amazing and they should both be acknowledged! It wa my husbands birthday and we brought our 16month old daughter. The waitress took really good care of us. She noticed the baby being fussy and offered and brought rice for her almost immediately so I could feed my baby. The chef cooked the best food I've had at Benihana. We left extremely satisfied with the restaurants service and food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great for a birthday party or event.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great for a birthday party or event.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an excellent time as usual. We have been here many times over the past few years and will continue to do so. Bartender that night was especially good. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very happy to have had Chef Israel make ourmealonceagain, he'sexcellent!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Reservation

Dined on April 30, 2016

I made a reservation for 4:45 for a party of 4 and arrived at 4:40 to check in. The hostess checked us in and asked that we have a seat. At 5:10 I asked the hostess why bother making a reservation if I was going to wait 30 minutes for a table. At that time, she sat us at a table. When we were seated, and might I add only 2 tables in the restaurant were occupied, I asked if we could remain alone. She responded yes. No sooner were our drinks brought to us, she was seating 2 others with us. Again I asked her why bother asking if we could be alone if she was only going to bring 2 other guests to our table within minutes. On your reservation site you asked if we had any special diet restrictions. I indicated that one guest in our party could not have garlic. The chef never acknowledged the request. It had to be called to his attention. Again, why bother noting an allergy ahead of time if no mention was made by the staff. Thought you'd like to know.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my girlfriend's first time and ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my girlfriend's first time and she loved it. I brought her date night, since the kids were with their grandma. Thank you

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always come for birthdays

Dined on April 29, 2016

One of the best for birthdays. This time an exception with service. Never refilled any drinks and did not take our photo at the end. Something my children look forward too each year. Chef and food were delightful and amazing as usual.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.