About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (58)
Special Occasion (56)
Fun (52)
See All
Kid-friendly (41)
Good for Groups (41)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Family Style (26)
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Authentic (13)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Healthy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Dancing (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, but service was bad. Did ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Food was good, but service was bad. Didn't see the waitress much. I only got my tea refill once. Order was a bit mixed up as well.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We have been there three times and we wi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been there three times and we will go back. Not sure if the resteraunt is short of help, but our waitress seemed swamped. Others had to help her out. I am a true believer in no customer's drink should be empty for a long period without the waitress checking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was great. Always love going ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great. Always love going to the Carlsbad Benihana.

Drinks were tasty and food was delicious. Table mates were great company too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my boyfriend on a Valentine's Day ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my boyfriend on a Valentine's Day date. We had a great time, it was only his second time going to a Benihana. It was our first time going to this location. I highly recommend making reservations as it gets packed very quickly and you can experience a bit of a wait without one. They have a large waiting area and a beautiful out doors waiting area with a fountain and heaters. The tables are for 8 people, so we had 3 other couples at our table. They cook the food in front of you. They had a limited menu for Valentine's day. The waitress was very attentive and got our order correct. The cook not only put on an amazing and fun show, he also cooked the food to perfection! We couldn't have gone to a better place to celebrate. I highly recommend Benihana it's good for a date, special occasions, and it's family friendly!

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

David was absolutely the best. Best chef ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

David was absolutely the best. Best chef we've ever had. Came here for Valentine's Day, and couldn't stop laughing at his jokes. Made the best seafood diablo and definitely going to ask for him every time now. Seriously give this man a raise. A+++

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day dinner was great. Delici ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day dinner was great. Delicious. Chef Sean was entertaining , couldn't have asked for a better night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh food prepared just how you want it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh food prepared just how you want it. Excellent and friendly service from the waiters and chefs.

Tags: Special Occasion, , Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always was fun in the past.... Went this ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always was fun in the past.... Went this week.... what a disaster....Wife and I ordered fillet mignon....Tasted like ammonia... dirty cook area..Minimal service.... Never going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great show, great food, the wait was pre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great show, great food, the wait was pretty long, but not that bad.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our family of six visited the local Beni ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our family of six visited the local Benihana for Birthday dinner. We were joined by a couple who were also celebrating a birthday. Our chef, Jacinto, was very entertaining and adept with all the cutlery and usual Benihana tricks. Our drinks arrived promptly and our orders taken quickly. The noise level is high, so forget about any conversation with anyone other the person seated next to you. They always inquire whether you'd like the white rice or chicken fried rice (neglecting to mention that the latter is an extra $4). Our entrees ranged from the calamari, to scallops, to shrimp and steak/scallop combo. The whole dinner was a fun experience and we enjoyed out outing at Benihana.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

They forgot half of our order and my wif ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They forgot half of our order and my wife for food poisoning. The end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful experience.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Teppan chef was fun and was very fri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our Teppan chef was fun and was very friendly to our two little girls, 6 &10. The food was perfect and we totally enjoyed our birthday celebration. It was a little pricey, so we save going there for very special celebrations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed another great BDAY DINNER! Than ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed another great BDAY DINNER! Thanks to our server and Chef Sean!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I did not receive my points for my recen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I did not receive my points for my recent visit. How do I have this corrected? We celebrated 2 birthdays and our chef was wonderful.

Thank you.

Rachel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Angel was our chef. He was extremely ent ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Angel was our chef. He was extremely enthusiastic and he put on a great show. He actually featured some tricks that my wife and I hadn't seen before at Benihana. He also cooked the food to perfection!

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was here for an anniversary with my bo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I was here for an anniversary with my boyfriend. The food was awesome but you can't be in a private space. It's minimum 6 people per table. It's nice to meet people but if you want something private, try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great time and would do it agai ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a great time and would do it again. the food and service was good and it was very entertaining

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my son, daughter and daughter's fri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my son, daughter and daughter's friend to celebrate her 9th birthday. PERFECT. Kids menu is reasonable. The kids all LOVED it and my daughter - who is a self-described picky eater - ate everything.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very enjoyable evening. Grand kids had a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Grand kids had a lot of fun !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our entire party arrived for our reserva ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our entire party arrived for our reservation at 7:15, 5 minutes early and we were seated 20 minutes late. It was approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes post reservation time before our chef even arrived. One person ordered salad rather than the soup with the meal and got it 20 min AFTER the rest of us all finished our soup and were still waiting for our chef. The cook-top vent was not functioning so it was a no-go on the onion volcano we were looking forward to- also the cook was out of the liquid in the squeeze bottle to create it. A side of noodles was ordered when placing our meal order and it did not make the chef's list. I think he reordered it and when no one had their act together he took care of us himself because after we were done eating someone came by with a plate of noodle asking if it was ours and we just said no. To top it off he server served the wrong person birthday ice cream.

I also wished their table/cook-top bar had a little more real-estate and elbow room, kids hats were blocking view and drink access.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Overall a great experience. As always th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Overall a great experience. As always the chef has a wonderful attitude and makes each of us feel engaged during the process. His server however was nowhere to be found multiple times. Either he needed something for his dish or a water for one of us and she wasn't anywhere. There was a time where he had to leave the table in order to go find his server.

The restaurant was very nice and I'm glad that I was able to enjoy it with my girlfriend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great place to go for a celebration. Alw ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place to go for a celebration. Always a good show from the chefs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

We always have a good time enjoying the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We always have a good time enjoying the artistry and humor of the chef and the food is delicious as well. It has a festive atmosphere and a bit too loud, but a treat of entertainment as well as good food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So much fun to celebrate Birthday's. D ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

So much fun to celebrate Birthday's. Delicious food and fun cooking show!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've enjoyed Beni's for 50 years! I was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I've enjoyed Beni's for 50 years! I was totally amazed when I was 13 years old and the experience and the food and service has stayed consistently great throughout the years!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant needs a serious face lif ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This restaurant needs a serious face lift. The food is very good and the service is outstanding. The floors are greasy, the ceiling is leaking, and the faux leather couches when you walk in are peeling. We paid way too much for dinner to see all of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Was a little noisy but great experience ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Was a little noisy but great experience overall. great food and chef was funny and made great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I first reserved a setting online, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

When I first reserved a setting online, I thought it would be a slow day since all times were available. Boy was I wrong. Had reservations at 7pm, didn't get seated until 730pm. Then after they took our order, we waited another 45 minutes for the cook to actually come to our table and start cooking. So that's 45 minutes for the soup and salad. The cook didn't do anything new so it was quite boring. Only came here to use up my bday coupon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a reservation to celebrate my hus ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had a reservation to celebrate my husband's birthday at the Mission Valley location which was closed so we went to Carlsbad, a 40 minute drive each way. We had $200 in gift cards we wanted to use. We were advised they weren't able to process the gift cards which was very upsetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Two weeks ago, we celebrated a friend's ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Two weeks ago, we celebrated a friend's birthday at Benihana in Mission Valley, San Diego. It was a fun, festive experience. I took my family to Benihana Carlsbad to celebrate my grandson's 8th birthday. It was an extremely disappointing experience. We were a family of 5 -- 3 adults and 2 children, ages 8 and 10. The young man that seated us, sat us with 3 strangers. I told him that we were celebrating a birthday and would prefer that our family had our own table, especially since the children tend to be on the shy side. He refused and informed us that they had to fill the tables with 8. Within about 20 minutes of our being seated with strangers, a family of four was seated by themselves at the table in front of us. Shortly after that, a family of five was seated in the next table. Meanwhile, there we sat with our silent children. Additionally, in Mission Valley, children that were celebrating their birthday were given chef's hats and a photo to take home. Our children did not receive either. There was nothing festive about our "celebration". Midway through our lunch, I stopped by the front desk to mention to the person that had seated us that there were two tables of four and five people and that it was outrageous that we could not have had that same courtesy. He did not even have the courtesy to reply. Clearly, some customer service training is in order. I would never return to Benihana Carlsbad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

My boyfriend and I got really sick short ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I got really sick shortly after dining in yesterday. I am not sure if the sashimi was bad, but we both did not feel well. We come all the time so it must have been something yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

Always a great time for our fam! We enj ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a great time for our fam! We enjoyed our chef very much!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. The chef was entertai ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a great time. The chef was entertaining and engaging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and chef was very nic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was delicious and chef was very nice. We had a 6:15 reservation, were seated about 10 minutes late, and did not get served our drinks until an hour later. Soup, salad and dinner were even later. After complaining twice about the incredibly slow service we were finally informed that two chefs had not come in. It would have been greatly appreciated if this information was provided when we arrived. Had we known dinner would not be served until 8 pm, we would have gone elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The portion was very unequal. The chef w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The portion was very unequal.

The chef was very subdued and. Ouldn't hear what he was saying and he was very unorganized and messy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Love the food, it's just too loud and it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love the food, it's just too loud and it seems to take a long time for everything. Had reservation at 6:45 did not get seated until 7, drinks took another 15 minutes we were not done until almost 9.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good. Our chef was ex ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was very good. Our chef was excellent and made it fun. My major complaint would be the smoke.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana is always fun. The food is goo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Benihana is always fun. The food is good and various for all the diners. They love having birthday people in for the fun. The chefs are fun and do an excellent job, both for excellent cooking to entertainment along the way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every anniversary, my husband and I go t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Every anniversary, my husband and I go to Benihana. Teppenyaki stuly is so fun and great for family too. I enjoy and food taste great everytime I go. This is my favorite restaurant for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.