About Benihana - Carlsbad

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (57)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Birthdays (45)
See All
Good for Groups (44)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Family Style (8)
Romantic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

As much as we love the food here, our most recent dining experience will most likely be our last. I will never understand the point of making a reservation just to be seated almost an hour past our reservation time. It would be one thing if it was only a one time experience, however, it has been the past three times. Like I said, love the food. Be ready to wait for an hour before you are seated, even with a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It was 5 of us celebrating our daughter's birthday. Overall, we had a great time and the kids and met a very nice couple at our hibachi table. A little understaffed but the waiter was mindful and tried to keep up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but chef was new and it took forever to be prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Fun family time with great food! Christian our table chief was fun, humorous and entertaining!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I would recommend only because it looked liked an experience we have never had and would like too, but had a bad experience with seating, we had a 730 reservation and checked in at 7, we were told we could sit in lounge or bar area and we would be called. We were never called, it was 740 and just figured they were running behind. Bar tender asked waitress to check on it, came back 15 minutes later to tell us someone else had taken our spot and said they were us, we were never called on. I thought that was the purpose of making a reservation, manager did say he was sorry and would sit us at next Available seat but by then we were discouraged and hungry and left, was our first time there and really wanted to experience hibachi as we never had. Bar tender commented that it happens alot that peolpe just say they are other people, maybe there should be better accountability. The bartender and drinks and appetizer was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

What a wonderful choice for sharing my birthday! Was seated with a lovely family. They were a joy to celebrate our birthdays together. The chef was funny and entertaining as per always. Service was great food was fun and delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Benihana's is more of our go-to for birthday's, given the chef's entertaining food preparation. The food is certainly good, but it comes at premium.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is the first time that I was truly disappointed at Benihana in Carlsbad. The server, Brice was not very attentive. My wife had to ask for a tea refill. I asked for a water refill when I had no water left. It took him about 5 minutes to refill my water. We brought another couple with us as my wife and I were celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary. There was another couple celebrating a birthday and there were two other ladies at the table of which one was celebrating her birthday. Brice brought out ice cream for the two birthday people, but he never asked any of the 6 others if they wanted ice cream or dessert. Certainly as we were only celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary, we were not entitled to free ice cream.

The chef was Israel and he was entertaining. We had him as a chef before, but this time we were severely disappointed. I always order the Sea Side. My small shrimp did not taste good at all. My calamari did not taste good. My scallops and jumbo shrimp tasted better. However, I received so little jumbo shrimp. I believe that Israel gave some of my jumbo shrimp to the two other ladies.

My wife and I always celebrate our birthdays at Benihana as we believe that the $30 dollar discount is a good deal and the food and service has been great in the past. Benihana has also been our favorite restaurant for lunch. This was such a terrible meal and disappointing experience for us on our 42nd wedding anniversary. I spent $150.00 for a bad meal and terrible service. I don't think that we'll be going to Benihana Carlsbad for our birthdays in 2018.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Used the birthday certificate and I was surprised that if I only purchased her birthday meal which was over $30 that I couldn't get the happy hour prices on the sushi that was offered at happy hour. The certificate reads 1 entre meal needed to be on the bill before the $30 could be applied. Can not be combined with happy hour however I did by the meal for over $30 but they couldn't honor the happy hour on the sushi we ordered. So basically I could have told my server separate checks and we would have been ok. Ended up buying 2 meals at over $30 and then the happy hour sushi was honored. Somehow that doesn't make sense. We had a great meal, will go back again because we like the service and the staff is great. This location seem to be empty the last 4 times we went there for lunch or dinner. Might consider how the certificates are applied. People are looking to eat out but at the same time enjoy a little savings also.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We came with family to celebrate our son's 5th birthday. Everyone was great! Angel S. our chef was amazing. He was very entertaining and the food was delicious!!! I did not get their names but our waitresses were also attentive and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went for our daughter's birthday with a family of 5. Tried to put in a reservation but could only get a later 8pm slot. We arrived a bit early but they managed to seat us a few minutes before our reservation time, but for those that might not like it, it is shared seating. Each table seats 8 so we were seated with another couple, which was fine with us. The server came over without much a wait and took our orders. Soup and salads came out first and then after a short wait, the cook came over with a cart with the rest of our food for the evening. The cook tries to be entertaining but we obviously got a much less experienced cook who really just made a lot of noise as opposed to showing a lot of skills with his utensils... He dropped them on the skillet quite often but he did his best and was good enough, I guess. He made the fried rice and then proceeded to prepare vegetables, followed by the main courses. Unfortunately the couple we were seated with had seafood allergies and we ordered a bunch of seafood so the beef and chicken was made first and the seafood had to wait. The food was prepared well but for the cost, I didn't think the volume was so great. We were reasonably full but not stuffed by any means. We had a couple of birthdays at our table so they gave us all free ice cream to close out the evening. Overall, it was a good experience and I think we'll go back sometime, but it is a bit pricey and you kind of have to roll the dice on who you're seated with and who your cook will be.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was great! Understaffed in the bar for happy hour and their hot sake machine was not working - service was slow but friendly. Their birthday Chef's Table program is the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This is a fun place for any celebration! Very entertaining good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Promptly greeted and seated. Great dinner. Fun place for small groups of 8 or less.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Been there quite a few times, but really bad experience tonight:
1) ordered two appetizers and one never came but we were charged for it and one came during dinner

2) ordered drinks: water, tea and soda were empty until well into dinner

3) dinner arrived right after soup and salad, no time to enjoy salad.

4) shrimp served cold

5) chicken dried out

6) dirty dishes left on table during dessert

7) no manager ever came by table to apologize or say hello; obviously didn't care about customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food and great experience for the family its not as expensive everyone tinks well worth the money

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was great. A fun time for a group dinner. The chef knife show was fun to watch. Only con is nosie level way too loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was great, but the waiting time til start cooking is very long. You may wait for a while after you get seated.
Also depend on the Teppanyaki shef, your experience will be whole different.
But ovwr all, we love Benihana no matter which location you viait, taste awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I have celebrating mine and my family members (children) birthday dinners at your restaurant for the last 25 years. And sadly from my perspective, it has been going down hill for the last 7 years or so. The food portions and smaller for how much you pay and the authenticity of the restaurant has gone down. I am Japanese American and come for not only the food but for the service as well And I really don't like having a non Japanese cook when I visit your restaurant
After all it is called Benihana NOT Robertitos
So I hope you can make a change in the way your restaurant operates, because there are a lot of authentic Japanese restaurants out there with quality food, price and service.
Kind Regards,
Randy Marshall
(760) 468-5523

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Oir chef Jose was great our food was awsome. And the environment was cheerful . Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

The cook was over 20 minutes late to our table, another guest at the table immediately broke a sweat and began coughing from a shellfish allergy attack. Filet was way overdone, not med-rare as ordered. When the waiter refilled our drinks, he gave me back shrimpman's Dr. Pepper, that he had been coughing and gagging into all night. Same waiter that had never cleared empty drinks or appetizer plates. The entire table got a discount on account of the cook being late. Appreciate the effort, but doesn't make up for all the shortcomings. Poor service, poor food, nothing to return for. Disappointing... not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

If your looking for a romantic dinner, this is NOT the place. Loaded with kids. Requested a table without kids, and they ignored request.

Food good, service good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

First of all, the waitress was very attentive, and sweet. Then our chef had a great personality, and an obvious love for cooking and his job.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Always delicious and entertaining. Had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our chef Jose was absolutely amazing!!!! The food was cooked perfectly and we all had a blast!!!! Always a great time here!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday with the whole family. We had a wonderful waitress, and a fantastic chef. The food was great, and we enjoyed it all as a family. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone! I can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was great for our group! Everyone liked the food and the kids really enjoyed watching the chef! It's very noisy but we had a great time!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great time! My kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good atmosphere and great chef (Angel S). Had a great time celebrating my wife's grandmothers birthday.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went to celebrate my son's b-day. We were a party of 4. In which, 3 of us requested to have our meat rear well and only one of us wanted it medium cook. I think there was a problem with the language barrier, our server was Jose (who happens to be from Peru); he made our meet well done meat. And he assumed I speak spanish and asked me where I was from, and that's when I found out he was from Peru, which is where I'm from. Then he kept doing his culinary show but trying to talk to me and asking me where I live, how long I've been here, and what part of Peru I was, etc. I'm sorry, but if I go to a restaurant with my family, I'm there to eat and to have a conversation only with my family and I want less interactions with others as much as possible, especially strangers. I didn't go there to make friends or to talk about where I'm from. Then when I told the waitress about the meat issue (at the end of our dinner, right before we paid) and all she said was: Oh, I'm sorry about that!. And that's all we got. She didn't offer to make it up to us, with a discount, or a future coupon, or anything! It was a bad experience, and my kids who are super picky just like me, wasn't happy with his meat and didn't want to eat!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our chef was fun but overall the service was VERY slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We live in Carlsbad and love coming here. My twins always choose Benihanas for their birthday dinner. It can get a bit pricey for a single mom, but the joy it brings the kids is worth it. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Birthday dinner at Benihana was fantastic as usual. Great food and atmoshere, Chef Tam did a great job and made our birthday girl feel special. Definitely will return

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I ordered kids meals for my young daughters and fried rice was added at additional price without my knowing it. I ordered childrens meals because we ordered sushi rolls as well. It’s like money was no object or something to the waitress when she full well knew that I wanted to go healthier as I did tell her this.

Also, it would have been fine if that was the only thing that I didn’t like, but I think I ate a whole stick of butter by myself. It was pretty grossly over-buttered.

By the time I had a chance to say I didn’t want so much butter, it was too late. The oil that was on the grill would have been plenty! I’ve been to Teppan Yaki many times and this was the most butter that I had ever seen in my life getting plopped on all over the place without even a chance to stop it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was good, but service was a disaster. We have a 6 year old and they apparently forgot to cook his food. We have a long wait until he was finally served. After a nearly 3 hour meal we finally finished. But then the waitress needed to run my card again, because she forgot an item we ordered. Then she forgot to return my charge card. NEVER AGAIN!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I love Benihana but this is my most favorite Benihana restaurant. Amazing service from beginning to end. Jorge was an incredible chef, great skills, interacted with us and our kids.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Chef and waiter both energetic and fun the food was well prepared and come to pleasing taste

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The chef was great but the server was horrendous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was the worst I have ever had there. It was my birthday the waiter and one other sang Happy Birthday and said they were going to sing in Japanese. After they sang in English the waiter just walked away. I told him I wanted to take my leftovers home and he put plates on top of my plate and then asked me if I still wanted it REALLY? We had someone take a picture for my birthday he saw it and finally came over. It was very disappointing ☹️

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a great chef and server. The chef not only did a great cooking but was also very entertaining. Each of our meals were prepared as we ordered. (Medium rare etc. ) Fun place to go with a group especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.