About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
Benihana - Carlsbad
House Ginger Salad
Sushi Combo Deluxe
Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi
Lunch Boat With Chicken
Spider Roll
Boston Roll
Benihana Appitizer
Green Tea Ice Cream
Pineapple

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for Groups (91)
Kid-friendly (58)
See All
Great for Lunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food with attentive staff memb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food with attentive staff members and an enjoyable experience overall. It is a noisy environment but I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Champagne needs to be kept very cold whe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Champagne needs to be kept very cold when served. Perhaps a standing bucket with ice like most restaurants provide would be ideal. Lobster portions are way too small for the steep price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun experience for kids and adults ! Sup ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fun experience for kids and adults ! Super yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good excellent. service was so so. she f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

good excellent. service was so so. she forgot to bring us our green tea & ice cream. she seemed a little frazzled

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We requested someone good because last t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We requested someone good because last time we had a mediocre chef and we got someone great this time. Food was great and we got great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining experience was great however ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The dining experience was great however we did not have the same experience at the bar. The bar tender was not at all welcoming and in the way a bit rude. I knew there were a couple that was there before us but we all stood there and he passed us several times attending to a couple next to us but not as much as recognizing us to even say hello or to give us indication he even saw us. But instead when I finally got his attention, "well that couple was there first". I knew he was helping those couple but he was inches from my face and did not bother to at least say I will be with you in a moment or something to acknowledge our presence. He did not make us feel welcome and it may have seemed we are a bother to him.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is way too hott! Please turn up the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is way too hott! Please turn up the air conditioning so I'm not sweating while eating my dinner. Thank you:)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My reservation was for 7 but did not get ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My reservation was for 7 but did not get seated until 730 and the bartender was not attentive. My Sangria was awful and I told them and I was not offered a new one. I ordered a California roll and it never came. It was my anniversary and we were seated with children. I probably will not go back for dinner just lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I recommend this place for absolutely ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I recommend this place for absolutely everything BUT the service. The food, the drinks my husband ordered, down to the lemonade I ordered, was all perfect. Except our service, our waitress (believe it said Samantha on receipt) was everything but personable, she took an order from my husband and overlooked anything I wanted. She was more focused on the family across from us, which it wasn't their first time, but it was ours but didn't even ask us. I was frustrated and just wanted her availability to answer a question I had. My husbands used plates were taken right off hand but I was inconvenienced with mine on the edge of the table meanwhile the chef was filling my new plate, also while I watched her walk past about 3 times empty handed without grabbing mine. We were impressed with everything but our waitress, and will return in hopes she is not our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and looki ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and looking forward to the Benihana experience. it wasn't the special night we had hoped for. We waited for our table in the bar area and ordered appetizers. It took 25 minutes to finally get our apps. When we got to our dinner table, the server explained the menu, took our drink orders and then our food orders, delivered our soup and salad, then disappeared. No water refills, no checking in for the next hour. The chef was entertaining and personable. But when he cooked the spicy chicken for my husband and nephew, he neglected to tell them they could choose the degrees of spice. The server didn't ask either when she took the order. The food was inedible as the spice level was a 10. When the server DID return to ask if we wanted dessert, she said the chef was supposed to ask on a scale of 1-10, how spicy it should be. Also, be prepared to spend almost 2 1/2 hours at the table. Too long with young kids. We've been here before, but tonight's birthday celebration was a big disappointment. Will think twice about celebrating here again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was very good, but this is not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was very good, but this is not a place to take small children. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated. Once we were seated we waited another 40 minutes for the chef to come to the table. The server was lovely and we had drinks and salad prior to the meal, but the wait was just too long. The whole dinner took over 3 hours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

One guest server was a little inpatient. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One guest server was a little inpatient. Top of fans were dropping and I got wet. Some came to dry so we appreciated that. Even tho it dripped the entired dinner .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ray was an awesome cook! Friendly and ke ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ray was an awesome cook! Friendly and kepts us all entertained! Our waitress Stephanie, needs an attitude adjustment!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We waited over an hour beyond our reserv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We waited over an hour beyond our reservation to eat even at 9:30 at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Went here for my birthday. We arrived h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went here for my birthday. We arrived half an hour early and waited at the bar. The bartender was friendly, and our service there was very good. The restaurant was busy and quite loud; lots of large parties. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and our chef was entertaining. You get a lot of food with dinner - so much that my husband and I had enough for another meal as take-home. Our steak was overcooked, (ordered medium and it was medium-well to well). Luckily we both ordered tenderloin so it was still tender.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ask for Chef Sean and you will be sure t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ask for Chef Sean and you will be sure to have perfectly cooked food. Stay away from server Samantha because she was the worst server ever! Never came back to check on our party or refill our drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Was a great experience for a date with m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Was a great experience for a date with my daughter and wife. Music was a little loud for the dinning area

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good. A bit pricy. The noise ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was good. A bit pricy. The noise level is crazy!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was great but our chef really me ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was great but our chef really messed up our fried rice and instead of fixing it correctly he tried to cover it up we did get all of our fried rice comped by the manager but it still was a bummer to not get our fried rice that's our favorite thing when we go to Benihana I've had much better cooks who do a much better job with the food than we had at this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Birthday meal. We always celebrate birth ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Birthday meal. We always celebrate birthdays at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great vegetarian options

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great vegetarian options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food just okay. Kind of hot. Chef pers ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food just okay. Kind of hot. Chef perspiring. He worked hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

They seated are group when one of the me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

They seated are group when one of the members was waiting for two people to show up since they don't cook the food until everyone is seated we had to wait 20 minutes for these people to show up. They shouldn't have seated the lady with our group since her party was not all there. The chef was adequate but his show was mediocre.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I was in before , the food was great sp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I was in before , the food was great spically the rice . But when I was there this time it was not like the previous time.ttime.the rice was out of butter .

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had nine people at our table and it w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had nine people at our table and it was way to crowded. I could not even get my plate in front of me to eat. Also had a rookie chef. Not very good compared to ones I have had in the past . Food was good. Service seemed very fast to eat and get out!!!! I want the dining experience!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was brought out to everyone at diff ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was brought out to everyone at different times instead of all at once. Our hibachi chef spilled half of one persons steak on the table, missing his plate, & picked it up & put it on his plate immediately for him to eat. My food was made using teriyaki sauce instead of the spicy chicken sauce, which I had ordered and he confirmed before making, making my food overly sweet to my liking. Very disappointed this visit, usually it is much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food is excellent. Very fresh, great ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is excellent. Very fresh, great quality. The service is very good.

Great value. The only problem is the noise level and it's not possible to have conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Came here for my birthday dinner and it ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came here for my birthday dinner and it was a disappointment . The waitress brought the main dish out with no rice. We told her we needed our rice, but still didn't bring it out. We had to remind her many times of what we needed. At the end of dinner, no one came by to give us our birthday ice cream, picture, or birthday song. It was a bad dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Coming here a lot for Birthdays, lately ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Coming here a lot for Birthdays, lately the service has not been great, so we will probably look for another spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good atmosphere but the food was under s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good atmosphere but the food was under seasoned and tasted bland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place. Staff was the best it made ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place. Staff was the best it made the expensive food well worth it

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Looking forwar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our experience was great! Looking forward to our next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Teppanyaki Sean was great and very e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Teppanyaki Sean was great and very entertaining! We thoroughly enjoyed the entire event

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

1/2 hour late after reservation.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

1/2 hour late after reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We went along to celebrate both a birthd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We went along to celebrate both a birthday and anniversary and as always, we were not disappointed with the service nor the entertainment of the chef in front of us. It was a first time for our children (5 and 2) who both took much delight in the experience and keep asking us when we are going back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a birthday with the fa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to celebrate a birthday with the family. It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saturday nights are always busy, yet the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Saturday nights are always busy, yet the food is always great!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had 7:15 reservations, arrived at 7:0 ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had 7:15 reservations, arrived at 7:05...after waiting until 7:35 to be seated and watching people come in and be seated who didn't have reservations we were finally asked if we had been help and we said yes that we had reservations and we're waiting to be seated. We finally left at 7:45 and as we walked out they said they were just about to seat us. What a waste of time. AVOID this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The blonde bartender working on Friday h ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The blonde bartender working on Friday had a smug attitude. Not to mentioned the cocktail was garbage had too much juice no alcohol. Our dinner reservation was at 6:15pm our chef came out after an hour. The other party seated with left before the dinner was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The cooks put on a show, they are amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The cooks put on a show, they are amazing and makes the dining experience fun and enjoyable. The food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.