About Benihana - Carlsbad

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (53)
Fun (49)
Groups (42)
See All
GoodForDates (40)
Birthdays (38)
ChildFriendly (38)
Anniversaries (23)
Casual (22)
CreativeCuisine (18)
FamilyStyle (15)
WorthTheDrive (13)
Romance (12)
Authentic (11)
OpenKitchen (9)
NeighborhoodGem (9)
Foodies (9)
PeopleWatching (8)
Healthy (8)
HappyHour (7)
TastingMenu (6)
Cozy (6)
BarSeating (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
BusinessMeals (5)
Lunch (5)
SundayLunch (4)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
VegetarianOptions (4)
QuietConversation (3)
GreatBeer (3)
ComfortFood (3)
VibrantBarScene (3)
Historic (3)
LateNightFind (3)
ModernDecor (2)
Seasonal (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
Brunch (2)
HotSpot (2)
PrivateRoom (1)
Spicy (1)
GlutenFree (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Benihana - Carlsbad is always GREAT.
Great food.
Great service (bilingual chef).
Kid friendly.
Clean.
Huge. Lots of room.
and LUNCH prices have VALUE

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Soup was cold and no flavor and the chicken was rubbery no good at all rest of dinner ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our server was awesome plus the chef he was beyond awesome it was he's last day so sad we would of come back to see him and request him!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We have been coming to Benihana's for Father's Day for the last 20 years. This was the first time we did not receive a group picture of our family (10 people). Very sad to see that discontinued.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to celebrate a high school graduation. The cook was a 19-20 year old, of name Trevor if I remember correctly, that made this dinner a very delicious and entertaining ocasion.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was over cooked. Service was slow. And the restaurant is incredibly noisy. Can barely talk to the person right next to you. They did NOT deal with food allergies as well as they should have.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I was hoping for a new experience for my wife and I but it turned out to be a expensive group silence fest. We went for our 4year wedding anniversary. So we wanted to be sat alone which we didn't have the option to do. We had a full table of other couples and we figured maybe they might bring some type of group vibe to the experience, but that was not the case. Our chef was not the most exciting he was experienced for sure but he had no pep in his show. so everyone at the table mostly watched the table next to us. Long story short don't believe the hype.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was an awesome experience for my wife and I!!! We had an absolutely amazing time. The chef was great kept everyone at table involved and gave a great show with our delicious dinner he was preparing. A very unique experience very happy we had this date night and picked the awesome place!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on June 11, 2017

La comida es buena pero el servicio de meseros es muy malo. Pésima actitud servicio y atención.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the chef was great,; however, it was incredibly LOUD and hard to hear the person next to you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very loud environment but fun atmosphere. Great show for dinner and fun time. Food is prepared in front of you and is very delicious. You can also eat on the quieter side where it is a regular restaurant vibe and much quieter, where you order the food and they bring it out to your table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love the good food and drink options. The chef's are always personable and fun to watch.
I give it 4 stars for the following: We set reservations for 6:30pm and weren't seated until well after 7:00pm. They said they have a very large crowd come in and people were lingering at their tables. My feeling is that the restaurant is somewhat on the pricey side and one way or another reservations should be honored above taking the chance that something like this might happen.
Also, it was a lot noisier than I remember from last time. Maybe because of how close it is to Legoland there are a lot of kids in the restaurant which brings the noise level up quite a bit.
Overall, I certainly would return especially to celebrate a special occasion. It's a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our chef and waitress were great. Roxy was just awesome

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I love Benihana.. I tried something new this time (shrimp, scallops, and lobster) and absolutely loved it. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Shaun was a great chef. Made it entertaining for the whole table. Great service and great food.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went here for two of my friends daughters graduations... Kindergarten and 6th grade, lol. Anyway, service was outstanding, kind and friendly. We drove from south county to North County because I wanted a change of atmosphere from Mission Valley. Boy was it worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Always fun, great food and service. Very good for special occaisons and events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was my first time to a Benihana in decades, but my daughter really wanted to try it. The "show" is the same as I remember from way way back. Meh. Our cook had a good patter and kept us amused. The service was average.

But the food. Ugh. Average at best. Dressing pooled at the bottom of my salad. Shrimp cooked to toughness. Unremarkable dipping sauces and my New York steak was maybe a half inch thick before it was cut into bite size pieces and cooked. Poor quality meat almost tasteless.

So disappointing. Perhaps for a birthday for the young crowd, for the show. But if you're used to expecting quality for your money, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food and service. Israel was the best preparing our food and a great presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great for kids!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

As always the food was great and the dinner show was awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our experience started out a little shaky, since we had a reservation and we didn't get seated until 35 minutes after our reservation and nobody came to cook for about another 40 minutes. I brought it to the managers attention and he took care of the situation. He not only took care of the situation, but turned an unpleasant experience into a great one. Bryce our waiter and I believe the managers name was Mike.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place. Thanks!! Food (and wine) was great as usual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good, but our table kept getting forgot about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Manager was unreasonable and disrespectful. We bought Benihana's cash cards and he told us that we could not use them. That I had to charge with a credit card or cash. I will not be eating here ever again. Now I am stuck with $200 of cash cards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I got here much earlier than the reservation but they accommodated me to an earlier seating. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband & I went alone to celebrate our anniversary. We were concerned because we would have to share a table with people we didn't know but the family of five we were placed with were a lot of fun and very friendly. The server was a little slow but he was very busy and was apologetic. What made the experience the best was our teppan chef Angel M. He was very interactive and entertaining. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The cleanliness of the restaurant left a lot to be desired. Dirty menus, chairs splattered with food, and the floor looked like it needed a good vacuum.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We love the relaxed feel of this place. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Our chef was professional, knowledgeable and had great sense of humor as our food was prepared. Service was well-timed and friendly, the wine was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2017

There was a horrible leak going on at the time of our visit with trash cans lining the way to catch the drips. More trash cans were set out as the dripping got worse. In fact, I was dripped on as I made ny way to the restroom. We drove over an hour to celebrate my birthday at one of my favorite restaurants. The chef and server were terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was truly horrible. It took forever for us to get our waitress and her attention. Everyone at our table was waiting for over 15-20 minutes for our check while the other table we got sat next to left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was outstanding. I have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The service and food was very good. Our chef was entertaining as he prepared our dinner teppan style.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had another great meal at Benihana for my boyfriend's birthday. I see a lot of people have complained about how long it takes. If you want fast food go to McDonald's you don't go to a teppanyaki restaurant, it's supposed to take time, it's an interactive dining experience, not a drive thru! Our server Mutsuko was great as was the chef and the food is always consisently good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Made a reservation and still ended up waiting 15 mins, and it wasn't even that busy. It was close to an hour before the chef even showed up. I know there are courses before the chef arrives, but an hour....come on. The food was ok, but nothing to write home about, and definitely not worth the extremely high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Waiting around is the name of the game. Although the manager realized it was out of bounds how long we had to wait for the chef that he gave us 25% off our bill. But then trying to pay the bill took another extremely long time. This restaurant is not for the faint of heart.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Slow service overall and took a long time to be seated even though on time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Chef Trevor aka Trouble was awesome. Will request him on return visit

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.