About Benihana - Carlsbad

755 Raintree Drive
Suite 100
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Located just off Interstate 5 at Poinsettia Lane and minutes from beautiful sun-drenched beaches, Benihana in Carlsbad offers four separate areas in which to enjoy a meal. Choose from the hibachi grill dining room, the comfortable cocktail lounge, the spacious sushi bar with a private alcove and seating for eight, or the outdoor patio for cocktails and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Poinsettia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 929-8311

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/carlsbad-ca-ca

Parking Details:
Free parking for Benihana guests

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining.

Book your next event in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations. Subject to availability; please call for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Sushi - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Trio - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Chef - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
House Ginger Salad - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Sushi Combo Deluxe - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Yellowtail Jalapeno Sashimi - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Lunch Boat With Chicken - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Spider Roll - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Boston Roll - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Benihana Appitizer - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Green Tea Ice Cream - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA
Pineapple - Benihana - Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

Benihana - Carlsbad Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (61)
Special Occasion (53)
Fun (49)
See All
Good for Groups (42)
Kid-friendly (39)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Family Style (25)
Casual (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Open Kitchen (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (11)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Dancing (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

When I first reserved a setting online, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

When I first reserved a setting online, I thought it would be a slow day since all times were available. Boy was I wrong. Had reservations at 7pm, didn't get seated until 730pm. Then after they took our order, we waited another 45 minutes for the cook to actually come to our table and start cooking. So that's 45 minutes for the soup and salad. The cook didn't do anything new so it was quite boring. Only came here to use up my bday coupon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a reservation to celebrate my hus ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation to celebrate my husband's birthday at the Mission Valley location which was closed so we went to Carlsbad, a 40 minute drive each way. We had $200 in gift cards we wanted to use. We were advised they weren't able to process the gift cards which was very upsetting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Two weeks ago, we celebrated a friend's ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Two weeks ago, we celebrated a friend's birthday at Benihana in Mission Valley, San Diego. It was a fun, festive experience. I took my family to Benihana Carlsbad to celebrate my grandson's 8th birthday. It was an extremely disappointing experience. We were a family of 5 -- 3 adults and 2 children, ages 8 and 10. The young man that seated us, sat us with 3 strangers. I told him that we were celebrating a birthday and would prefer that our family had our own table, especially since the children tend to be on the shy side. He refused and informed us that they had to fill the tables with 8. Within about 20 minutes of our being seated with strangers, a family of four was seated by themselves at the table in front of us. Shortly after that, a family of five was seated in the next table. Meanwhile, there we sat with our silent children. Additionally, in Mission Valley, children that were celebrating their birthday were given chef's hats and a photo to take home. Our children did not receive either. There was nothing festive about our "celebration". Midway through our lunch, I stopped by the front desk to mention to the person that had seated us that there were two tables of four and five people and that it was outrageous that we could not have had that same courtesy. He did not even have the courtesy to reply. Clearly, some customer service training is in order. I would never return to Benihana Carlsbad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

My boyfriend and I got really sick short ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I got really sick shortly after dining in yesterday. I am not sure if the sashimi was bad, but we both did not feel well. We come all the time so it must have been something yesterday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value1

Always a great time for our fam! We enj ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a great time for our fam! We enjoyed our chef very much!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. The chef was entertai ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a great time. The chef was entertaining and engaging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and chef was very nic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was delicious and chef was very nice. We had a 6:15 reservation, were seated about 10 minutes late, and did not get served our drinks until an hour later. Soup, salad and dinner were even later. After complaining twice about the incredibly slow service we were finally informed that two chefs had not come in. It would have been greatly appreciated if this information was provided when we arrived. Had we known dinner would not be served until 8 pm, we would have gone elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The portion was very unequal. The chef w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The portion was very unequal.

The chef was very subdued and. Ouldn't hear what he was saying and he was very unorganized and messy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Love the food, it's just too loud and it ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Love the food, it's just too loud and it seems to take a long time for everything. Had reservation at 6:45 did not get seated until 7, drinks took another 15 minutes we were not done until almost 9.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good. Our chef was ex ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was very good. Our chef was excellent and made it fun. My major complaint would be the smoke.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana is always fun. The food is goo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Benihana is always fun. The food is good and various for all the diners. They love having birthday people in for the fun. The chefs are fun and do an excellent job, both for excellent cooking to entertainment along the way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every anniversary, my husband and I go t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Every anniversary, my husband and I go to Benihana. Teppenyaki stuly is so fun and great for family too. I enjoy and food taste great everytime I go. This is my favorite restaurant for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 8:30PM, we arriv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:30PM, we arrived at 8:25PM only to wait until after 9:00PM to be seated. Our "chef" arrived closer to 9:30PM and everyone's order was incorrect. We didn't begin eating until after 10:00PM. Had I known it would take over 90 minutes to begin eating a meal that was over $100.00 for two people, we would have gone elsewhere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Took a long time to get our chef, which ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took a long time to get our chef, which makes it hard when you have young kids. Food was okay, but needs more seasoning. Chef was okay but couldn't really understand what he was saying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The food is pricy, but the quality of fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is pricy, but the quality of food is outstanding, also they load you with tones of food, so make sure you are hungry before going there.

wonderful place to take kids, my kids ( 7 and 3) not only enjoyed the show by the chef, they loved taste of food, and actually they were excited to try new things. Highly recommended for the families with kids.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expect to spend at least 2 1/2 hours eat ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Expect to spend at least 2 1/2 hours eating. It takes a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed that with the reservation a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Disappointed that with the reservation at 7:45, we still waited over 45 minutes to get seated, then quite a while for the chef to arrive and our chef just seemed a bit tired, but no fault to him because he tried. They also sat us with a big party-they probably should try to seat the small parties together, but they were busy so I get it. The worst part of the dinner was the quality of the chicken. Both my daughter and my chicken was rubbery. I thought it was not cooked so asked the chef to put it back on the grill. He did and cooked it well, but it was still rubbery-not the chefs fault, but the restaurant's chicken. By that time, I just took it to go, but threw it away because it just tasted bad 😞.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It's just ok. The food is just ok. The s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's just ok. The food is just ok. The show is fun. However is just not worth what you pay.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful experience celebratin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful experience celebrating my daughters birthday

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had reservations for 630pm. We didn't ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had reservations for 630pm. We didn't get sat until after 7pm. The service was slow. We didn't eat until 8pm. My waitress nails were long and her nail was in my soup when she handed it to me.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I have gone to the Benihana for dinner p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have gone to the Benihana for dinner previously and lunch was just as good. The food and portion sizes were great. I ordered the suchi and it was terrific. Plus, our server was generous with extra helpings of the great sauces. I look forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our chef was not very engaged with the t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our chef was not very engaged with the table and was not entertaining like the other chefs. Mood was very easy going versus other tables. Food is good and tasty but food is not blow you away for the price. Entertainment can be is amusing although at times somewhat redundant and it really depends on what chef you get. The more engaged your chef is with your table, makes a huge difference.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Went here for Christmas dinner and was n ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Went here for Christmas dinner and was not disappointed. The chef put on a great show. They were very accommodating to my nephew who had his heart set on salmon. Couldn't have been more pleased with the food and experience. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was incredibly bad. We had t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was incredibly bad. We had to wait for our table for 20 minutes, then had to wait for non-alcoholic drinks for 20 minutes. Took a long time for cook to come to table. The restaurant wasn't over crowded, understaffed. I will never go there for a holiday again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Our server was amazing, she was there al ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server was amazing, she was there all evening and kept a smile the entire time. Even though we were her last table, she treated us like we were her first. You are the employee I would welcome at anytime for an open opportunity.

The cook deserves an A!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for Christmas Eve night and everyth ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve night and everything was awesome. Thanks again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A busy Christmas Eve with family. Restau ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A busy Christmas Eve with family. Restaurant had many tables available, but too few servers and table chefs. This resulted in waits to be seated and for a chef to get to table.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was not good. We waited a l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was not good. We waited a long time before anyone came to take our drink and food orders and I had to go see a manager in order to get service. The chef at our table was very good and put on a good show. I think they were understaffed that night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good as unusual . Chef forgot s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good as unusual . Chef forgot some items on meal though. Filet with mushroom should come With mushrooms and shouldn't have to remind them AFTER filet is cooked. Server/drinks took time and server didn't check in enough. Had to find the server twice. Chef must of been newer as whole dinner took close to 2hours. Also didn't do any real show. Though not required but no MOD checking in on everyone. WOuld of been nice. Was overall disappointed in this dining experience in regards to service.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We signed up for the Chef's Table and ha ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We signed up for the Chef's Table and have not received coupons for our anniversary or birthdays in the last year and are disappointed in not receiving them. Also, this time the service was very slow and we had to ask for everything.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Sean our chef was amazing and food was a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sean our chef was amazing and food was awesome. Great experience and always want to go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Dancing, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and Sean, our chef, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was amazing and Sean, our chef, was the best! He did so many cool tricks that I have never seen before. He was awesome! Me and my mom celebrated our birthdays there. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular for lunchtime, and genera ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I am a regular for lunchtime, and generally go for the lunch boat specials, this time we went on the Teppanyaki side for lunch.

enjoyed the show and food very much.

one of our favorite lunch places to go.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was great! A better cut of steak wou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

All was great! A better cut of steak would have been better for the steak and shrimp dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love coming here for birthdays and an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We love coming here for birthdays and anniversaries. The food is always great and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, very fresh and delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was excellent, very fresh and delicious. Margaritas are very good too. We can highly recommend this restaurant and will come back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner here for my son's 6th birthda ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had dinner here for my son's 6th birthday. Theven food was delicious and the chef entertaining!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was freezing but the food was awesome ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was freezing but the food was awesome. A bit expensive but a nice treat for special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was slow. We were the first ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was slow. We were the first ones sat. The table next to us received their drinks and appetizers first. Our chef forgot part of a meal, didn't come out with a rag and had to borrow stuff from his fellow chef. He didn't do a lot of the fun tricks that I have had experienced in the past.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I love to take my family here for Birthd ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I love to take my family here for Birthday celebrations... always so entertaining .

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.