About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (79)
Good for Groups (78)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Fun (69)
Kid-friendly (53)
Casual (50)
Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (46)
Great for Lunch (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (20)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Business Meals (16)
Family Style (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Great Beer (9)
Healthy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Spicy (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We always enjoy a great and ample meal here. The service is always attentive and it's a fun place to celebrate as well. It's nice to repeat visit when you know what you will get.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Is fun to watch, but wait too long for service.and reservation is 6:30 but didn't seat almost at 7:00. An my wife order the most expensive steak dinner, but the beef is too chewy , I guest when u cook the steak after chop up is like that, and also most of the food is too salty.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband didn't realize until after dinner, but he never got the scallions that came with his meal... other than that, all was tasty and good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cancún)·Dined 6 days ago

Cook was great! Service was a little slow and inattentive. Only problem with the food was a person with allergies so made all the food to their liking. Maybe next time cook their plate in the back. Other than that great as usual.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed 😔 we had 2:00 reservations but we were not seated until 2:50. A party that had 2:30 reservations was seated before us. The cook did a great job however we all felt he was a little frustrated with the management and he didn't put much of a "show". Going to Benihana for birthdays has been a tradition but after this I'm not sure we'll ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We had 2 reservations for 2 and 4 they combined then into one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had a reservation at 8:15PM we were told to wait about 10 minutes multiple times! Eventually our chef arrived at our table he began cooking at 10:00PM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our reservation was at 7:45pm, we sat at our table waiting for 1 hour and 1/2 to get our food going. The table across had the same issue. We didn't eat until 9:30. This is very unacceptable in the restaurant business. We were all very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The atmosphere went great with the night out with friends. Love the chef's energy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Was a 15th bday meal. Was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Bad! Waited at Valet for 30
Minutes on our way in, took another 20 minutes to get a server when we were seated to get drinks, then took 40 more minutes to finally get a chef!
Bathrooms are disgusting!!!
The place is so busy they just dont have enough trained staff to handle it, the manager seemed clueless and lost.
My kids love Benihana but i hate the high prices and lousy service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

once again disappointed by the chef and waiter. the waiter only refill my glass but not my husband, mom, or dad. we were rushed out...no tea was offered. dessert came with meal and we had to ask for it when we got the check!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

good food good service good restaurant good time thank you

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great casual atmosphere. The chef was very entertaining. Food was fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had a reservation for 4pm, but didnt get seated until 4:20pm. Other than that it was just as you would expect from Benihana.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent meal . Service was fair. Food was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was so busy the service was poor. The food was good as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We took our kids there for the first time and they loved it! Food and service were wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Such a fun experience and great food! Lovely view too of the water.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We was a reservation for dinner at 8:45 pm to celebrate my daughter graduation. We was 9 people and we arrive at 8:00pm and I show to the front desk lady and she said yes you are in my list. We order some drinks and seat at the front beach to wait for our table to be ready. Well people was in and out, but after 9:00pm I ask to a guy for our turn and he check again in the computer and said your be next, but I see that he check me in at tha point. I know for sure the First Lady never checked me in at 8:00pm when I arrived for the first time. We wait and FINALLY we been seated after 10:00pm and the dinner order was stared after 10:30. I DONT RECOMEND THIST RESTAURANT. And addition the complete service was no good WE WAIT MORE THANT 2 HOURS TO START EATING OUR DINNER

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The place was very loud and dilapidated. You can still smell amonia in the air despite the dining room being a kitchen of sorts. Our food was not great. I got the lobster and filet mignon. The lobster was a bit chewy and not very flavorful and the filet mignon did not seem like a mignon as it had a fair bit of gristle in it. The chef looked bored and gave an underwhelming performance. Finally, the whole thing was not cheap. We paid almost $200 for two people, granted we each had two drinks but still.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very slow service tonight but still wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food, great ambiance. Nice place for a special occasion - as long as you don't mind sitting with otgrrs6.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The service with the servers were horrible. She disappeared and didn't see her until we got our check.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

benihanas is a place for great food. I can go anytime of day. Me and my girlfriend live Benihanas we're there mostly every weekend. The food is delicious. The more garlic butter the better remeber to tell your chef to add extra for better tasting food. To benihanas, Thank you for all the love and good service you guys give us every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Overall good experience but we waited 45 minutes after our reservation time to have the chef come out and begin cooking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our friends 50th birthday!! The service was wonderful and the cooking show was fun. My only complaint is that my lobster was over cooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great dining show with so so food. Great view of SFO but very high noise levels and very dirty toilets.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Love it as always. Will be going back for sure soon!

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Saul was our chef and he was very friendly and outgoing. Our party had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Careful the management team along with the coworkers will make accusations about the customers. Be especially careful of the tall Latin/white hostess (didn't want to give her name!) enough said...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I came many times here, but in the moment , the cook guy didn't cook good my food and the people who I share the table was so picky ..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great overall! Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our server was not attentive to our group of 8. We had to ask for everything from water to pick up of used dishes.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The place has looked the same for years and years. It's a busy place because everyone loves the chicken fried rice and it looks a little banged up inside. Could use a good remodel.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It's always a hit or miss every time we go here. This time definitely an unpleasant visit. My order was missing shrimps and the steak is not cooked as I requested. The server forgot multiple orders and we had to wait for the next time he comes around. It's just a bad experience than before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was great until the waitress got upset because we did not leave the SUGGESTED tip. Key word SUGGESTED! She said "i dont get any of that money it will all go to the chef". Not my problem we left a good amount for a tip. We will not be returning to this location!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day. We have been coming for years here for special occasions. Always a fun experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Took way too long before cook showed up...more than an hour after we were seated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a very good and entertaining cook. Made an online reservation and we called on time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.