About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (97)
Special Occasion (95)
Fun (84)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Kid-friendly (63)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Family Style (58)
Good for a Date (52)
Scenic View (52)
Casual (48)
Waterfront (47)
Great for Lunch (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Worth the Drive (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Comfort Food (23)
People Watching (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Authentic (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Healthy (15)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Spicy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
 (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

This visit took a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was very poor an inattentive. Chef was OK but waiter was untrained . Took about 3 hours . over a half hour wait with a reservation- unacceptable. No apologies or kind gestures. I heard they like to have people wait so they can run up a bar bill or be subjected to being crammed in the entry way. I have spend thousands at this place over the years but doubt I will return

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated a friends birthday !
Brian was our chef....great food and service.
Fantastic evening

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were rushed during our entire meal. Couldn't enjoy our meal, our cake from a birthday celebration. We were charged for extra things as well that we didn't order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

the dinner felt very rushed, from waiter down to the chef. Seems like the purpose is to get you out of there as fast as possible. No smile on the chef's face the entire time he was prepping the food for us, which kills the whole experience. Not pleasant, would not recommend.
The place has also gotten alot dirtier since I last visited. The floor is sticky everywhere even though it is carpet. Our dinner included ice cream, but because we brought a cake to celebrate my mom's bday they skipped asking us if we want the ice cream all together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I enjoyed my meal however, the food needs more seasoning and/or Garlic butter. Would like to have seen the waiter be more responsive to refills on my soda.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

You can't go wrong with the food and show at Benihana's. Managers are accommodating, especially Tony.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Christopher was our Chef and he was wonderful. 3 generations of family were there for dinner and he helped make it great!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Benito, save this name. The nicest server I've seen over there, very funny and attentive. I got a plate of Colossal shrimp, amazing from the beginning to the end. The only thing I don't admire is that they put people together at the same table, so we were with 3 strangers in which 2 of them were drunk, little upsetting, however, I understand that they do it to save space and make people wait less. It was my third time at Benihana, and all the times were great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We arrived at the time of our reservation yet we had to wait 20 min to be seated.
the host, a young man, left us waiting by the entry and took our buzzer while he took another group in. we had to inquire why we hadn't been seated. then he takes us to a side room and tries to add a chair for us three older men and squeeze us at the edge of one table. as we told him it would not work an older gentleman was nice enough to start another table. yet we were seated on the edge where it seems this restaurant is over packing the tables to make the most seating which made for an uncomfortable seating. I felt we were in a a fast food joint sitting in a small booth. as the cooking started the smoke was all over the place where it seemed that the fan was not working well enough. I went home and I had to put all my clothes into the washer immediately as the food odor emanating from my clothes was so strong I had to open the windows while driving back home. we shared 4 or 5 Sapporo beers which were not chilled enough. the meals came to about $60 for each of us. Had it not been for the company this evening would have been a total loss as the meal and atmosphere were not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Benihana's food is not outstanding, but it is delicious and a lot of fun to experience. It can be very pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had the best experience and great food!
Carlos was our chef.....Carlos was awesome and interacting with all of us.
I always enjoy going with friends to celebrate birthdays or just getting together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

this restaurant does not accept walk-in. so i made reservation it still takes me for another half hour or so to be sit in. Moreover i requested to be sit by window but i was sat in the corner. what the point i made reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

MAKE RESERVATION!!! Its a Very busy place. Nice views of the bay area, SFO, comp. valet parking.

Inside its EXTREMELY LOUD!! Very hard to hear staff. Overall top of the line food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a great chef he was so funny. We had a lot of fun celebrating my parents anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our seating was on time. we had an excellent chef, David. He was great and the food was outstanding. Our girl server was awful and the other gentleman at our table called the manager to complain and justly so. Everything was perfect for our Birthday celebration, except the server said the picture could not be taken. we are never disappointed with the food here, but this time we were not pleased with the server. it will not stop up from returning!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Benihana is nice for a special occasion. The scallops are delicious. Next time, I will ask for less salt, though.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

BEEN to Benihana Burlingame since 2000. Last visit was the worst. As soon as I told the front desk that I had a reservation at 12, the two ladies put on a being annoyed attitude. At around 12:20pm, we were led by a stone faced lady to our table and she put crayons in my kid's plate.

THE server was great. The whole time he was attentive and professional.

THE cook seemed new. Fried rice was flying all around the table while he was cooking. He didn't gave everybody from my group the shrimp sampler, did not gave my kid vegetable for his meal. After I inquired about it and the corn that comes with the meal, he became noticeably unhappy and let the corn burn on the stove. All the while he was very friendly to the other group who shared the same table and chatted with them in non-English and gave the other kid a big portion of vegetables. Really? You can't be this bluntly biased and disrespectful.
Manager was great. She took off one meal from our bill after hearing patiently the complaint.

ADVICE to the manager: please train the employees on basic customer service and mandate the employees to treat guests with equal respect regardless of the language the guests speak.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I was disappointed due to your camera not working for a group picture for my birthday. I have no memories. However I did see several of your guest with picture/frame. Ijs

This should of never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The chef show is typically fun to watch. Our chef was young, polite, and fun even though he could not do few of the tricks. That's okay, he was a nice person and tried his best.
What did bothered me most is the food portions. Seems like the entire meal is more like an appetizer or tapas. It didn't used to be like that. I've been going to Benihana (different locations) for past 25 yrs. I ordered steak and shrimp combination and entire meal was minute.
It was disappointing because I do enjoy the food and would like to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Cook must have been new since he couldnt get the menu correct and he was very slow at the preparation. He was friendly

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our initial provider who brought us our drinks and took our orders was less than friendly. We were surprised at how bad his attitude was and poor service. He never took the used dishes away nor did he come to refresh our waters. The cook, on the other hand, was informative and congenial.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was really good. The service is terrible. Drinks and food service was very - very slow. The interior of the restaurant is very dirty. Bathroom was filthy. It will definitely be a long time before I go back .

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was cooked perfectly.

The only down side was the service, the waiter was didnt check on us at all. We were celebrating my moms birthday and she didnt even get a free dessert. It was really a dissapointed experience specially for my mom as a first timer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Server didn't seemed like he cared about his job. Chief was energetic at first but as time went on it seemed like he just wanted to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Customer service was great! Food was amazing !! Food prep was amazing! Would definitely be back!! :)

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Have always loved the food and we had an excellent chef who was friendly/funny and had some fun cooking tricks to share. But we had a reservation, still waited 20 min to be seated, and then waited about 45 min just for our appetizers/first courses and the Chef to appear. The waiting and false reservation status has been an issue the past few times we've been there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Worst service no show but they're supposed to give you that's why it's so expensive the cook was not interacting with any of us overpriced we're not getting the ambience that you're supposed to have and the fun you're supposed to have food was overcooked the people that were sitting at our table were so disappointed that they got up and left without paying

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our host barely talked or engaged in any conversation with the guests, especially the birthday kid. Food is mediocre, tricks are less than what we saw at other similar restaurants. Food tastes just ok, not great, price is over, will not come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Although we arrived at the time of our reservation for lunch, we were seated an hour after our reservation time. So we waited in the bar at a sticky table. No one ever came by to take our drink order. We finally went to the bar to order a mai tai. Instead of a mai tai, they mixed rum and pineapple juice only. When we spoke to the manager about the drinks, they just shrugged and said it is a new bartender. Our server at the table seemed to be rushed trying to take care of too many tables at the same time. Our chef was great and food was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

long wait, even with a reservation and a total zoo. Will go to the Japantown location in SF next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I've been going here for years and this is the first time I've been disappointed. They're clearly short on staff. Long waits even after being seated. Dishes not cleared between courses. They're managing but barely. The food is still great but now the items are cooked one at a time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very bad service
Very disappointed
We go often but this time we were not happy, catered to a family that was at our table, first moved us to a different table & had to wait about an hour to be served because that family wanted a specific chef
They should have had their own table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I always enjoy meals at Benihanas. Very tasty. A bit pricey at night.
Lunch is a good deal. Always crowded though and always have to
wait.

Some cooks are better than others.

Chefs are usually fun and servers are usually nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is the first time I wasn't happy about meal and services. They made a mistake on my brother's order and I order a duet for lunch and the shrimp and beef served was a very small portions. My wife and I went out to the Benihana in Cupertino on Thursday night with friends and they were great. Our normal Benihana is Burlingame and the one in Portland. Portland is always great. My grandkids love it there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Too busy for a Tuesday night. We had an 8 pm reservations but didn't get to sit down until 820 pm, then we had to wait another 30 mins for the chef to start cooking the food. We didn't get out of there until 11 pm. They need to staff their dinner service appropriately. The server was polite and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I always look forward to going to Benihana. We had a really great chef this time who was lots of fun and the food was amazing !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Never a bad meal, my family and I always have a great experience. The food is fantastic, the service is great. The mixed drinks knock you socks off.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great fun restaurant, good food, lively service. Very enjoyable, quite noisy. Good place for a fun family get together.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Hot Spot, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was very fresh. We always enjoy coming to Benihanas for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.