About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Groups (71)
Good for Birthdays (64)
See All
Fun (58)
Casual (46)
Scenic View (44)
Waterfront (43)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
People Watching (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Authentic (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Great Beer (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 15 hours ago

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious as usual. The service was great too. I just wish that they would stop trying to cram more than 8 people at a table, unless they're all in the same group. I was in a party of 6, seated with a party of 3. It was a little crowded. Last time my party of 6 was seated with 2 parties of 2 (10 total). That was kind of uncomfortable. Probably more so for the 2 couples.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

A bite pricey, but always fun for a group or family social occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great meal and fun, good value for the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Benihana has been one of my favorite restaurants over the years, but I find that the quality has slipped. One of the things that kept me coming back was the onion soup served before the main course. For some reason, they have decided to change it!! I was very disappointed in the new version. It used to have a very nice, mild onion flavor with a garnish of thin strips of French-fried onions on top. That plus the salad and the dips were three of the outstanding features of their food for me. The soup now does not have the same flavor and they use scallions instead of the French-fried onions. Also, the last few times I've been there, the soup looks steaming when they bring it to the table but was actually cool to the taste. It seems like corners are being cut, while prices are still rising.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

this place is good for small parties up to 8 people and for children. We didn't go to Benihana for the over priced food but rather the entertainment as requested by the young birthday boy. Since everything is cooked in front of you and the hood above is mostly a decorative item don't wear anything nice because you are going to be covered with grease. Kids enjoyed the show that our chef put on while cooking our food so I guess it was worth it.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great place for a birthday party of 6 to 8 folks.
Great entertainment as you eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Service could've been more attentive - we had to look for our server each time we needed something and he disappeared at one point for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Reservation was for 7 did not get seated till 8:15 we got a beginner chef who was making mistakes. He used way too much butter on everything. They also forgot 2 birthdays at my table. We had to ask them if they were going to sing to us. We got home at 11:30 and with a 2 year old that's just too late. I will be going to Cupertino next time. Chef was very friendly though and so were our servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went to celebrate my birthday with friends.
Carlos was our chef
Amazing time and a good group at our table.
Food was delicious as usual.
Looking forward to my next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

We've been at this specific restaurant and have different chefs cooking for us and I understand that every chef cooks different, but this chef was different in a way of order but overall I was happy with his cooking

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great food. Always enjoy coming out for lunch or dinner to this spot

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I usually like coming here, this time I wasn't impressed at all, it was my son Birthday . We had reservation which they called our name n we didn't here them with all the noise. My daughter had to ask them if they called our name. We sat with a lovely family which was enjoyable. It took really long to bring our drinks. I would recommend you don't go on a special occasion. Just go to enjoy diner and friends more like it. They didn't sing Happy Birthday, they did ask but it was time to go. He was sad about that ,which was my fault because I said no, it was late and the experience wasn't fun this time. The food is good, but never go on a special occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Benihana in Burlingame sits right on the Bay and so has nice views. The experience inside is a typical hibachi scene. Very loud, you'll sit with strangers, the chef prepares your meal at the grill in front of you. There was a heat wave when we were there and it was a little uncomfortable with all the people packed in and the grills all going at once. Good place for a fun dining experience, but nothing special and maybe a little overpriced. Definitely make reservations...we had to wait a few minutes even with ours, but walk ins were being told the wait was an hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Pros: good food and good service. Will recommend to go during lunch hour for teppan. Since dinner is double in price for same dishes.
Cons:
Avoid booking reservations around long weekends and public holidays. With overbooked reservations, the services and food are rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good food good drinks good scenery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This location is the best, been going to this Burlingame location since I was a kid. Staff is really friendly and kind.. Great food and entertainment enjoyable fun every time.. Pricing isn't bad either.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I suggest the lobster tails be served whole without the spices. We were disappointed in the taste it as we like dip our lobster in clarified butter. We may as well have ordered chicken.
We like the Benihana experience, next time we will be a group of 8 so that we can have our own table. When sitting with unfriendly table mates the experience is awkward. I think when people share a table they should use courtesy and be friendly in order to have a happy dinner experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I've been here many times, but the service this time was terrible. Our server never returned after she brought us our drinks. We finally were able to track down the manager and he said he would be bring the drinks and we still waited 15 min. By the time we got them, dinner was over. Our cook (I think he's name was Surgio) did a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great for a waterfront view but request preference and when you arrive make sure they have your request, you will probably have to wait longer for a table with view to open. This is a very busy restaurant and the waiting service could be improved upon by adding more staff as it seems to always be over booked resulting in poor service.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My cook must be new because he missed his cues several times. He also stopped his cooking in the middle and watched other cooks at other tables. My chef putted too much soy sauce and salt on our foods. I can't pick my chef ahead of time so I still like the place and recommend it to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love this place service is always good, great food lots to choose from, the crunchy shrimp rolls are soo good also very good cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had family and friends from out of town. Went to Benihana's for a dinner. We had a great time. The place is always busy but the staff manage to always be courteous and friendly. We were sat at the teppanyaki table within minutes and our server arrived almost instantly. The chief arrived soon after and the fun began. The chef was quite entertaining and was great with the kids. The food was cooked just right. My only criticism is the low ceiling. The teppanyaki table gives off so much heat that everyone (including the chef and the kiddos) is sweating. It makes it a bit difficult to stay relaxed and feel sociable. We've been to Benihana's at other locations and they seem a lot more airy and way less steamy. Nevertheless, a good time was had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great experience,good to celebrate with my sister birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Everything was very well the service was good and very happy to eat there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I did not expect we had to share the table with other parties...
Pretty noisy, never good for business conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

we were seated 20 minutes later than our 7 p.m. schedule

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Benihana ... when were you last there? For me it's been decades I think. The experience hasn't changed, and the food was a bit hit and miss (nothing special salad), but when you cook filet mignon rare on a teppanyaki hot top and serve it piping hot in bite-size pieces you can do no wrong. My rare filet was about the tastiest steak I have had this year, and was the best value for sure.

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had to wait about 35 minutes for the Chef. We had to informed the Manager that we had been waiting or we could be waiting longer.

Our reservation was at 7pm and didn't get to eat the main entrees until 8:15pm.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Fun place, although when I was younger (35 years ago), Benihana was an adults-only establishment, and it lended an air of maturity. Now there are children running around (dangerous) with parents oblivious and completely ignorant of the inconvenience they are allowing to happen. Food was very tasty and the service was very friendly (at least our waitress, CJ, was). I noticed some other waitstaff completely non-engaging and inattentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Benihana restaurants are consistently excellent, and this location is no exception. The food was great, as usual. The chef was wonderful and put on a fine show while cooking the ordered food to perfection.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This has to be the worse service. Put 9 adults at one table is just crazy. We asked to be moved and that was like pulling teeth. Nothing like cramming is in like cattle.. never again at Burlingame. This place need some major updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fun and entertaining, food is very pleasant. Great to celebrate a birthday, however very noisy.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had a large party with 3 children. We waited 45min to an hour before our chef came to our table to serve us. Needless to say we had a few meltdowns with the kiddos while waiting for our meal. Fortunately our chef was great and entertaining when he did get to our table - but the wait and servers telling us they were short handed on chefs for the evening was not a good situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always great food.... The best rice!!!!! A little noisy....... but the best around and we come from Turlock.... Wish there was 1 closer.......

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had reservations at 7:30pm and sat at 7:45pm. While the waitress was good our cook did not show up until an hour after we sat 8:45pm. After eating and getting our check we weren't out of there until after 10pm. We have had similar experiences the last few times going however this was the worst. It is unfortunate because this was our go to place for family celebrations. Will be a long time before we go back. They need more staffing as the hostess, waitresses and cooks can only do so much. It is not fair to them as well as the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Could do better with reservations and customer service. Upon arrival, at 6:55pm, indicated it would be a 15 minute wait. Had a reservation for 7pm and was not seated until 7:50pm. Then waited another 30 minutes to order. The chef did good once he got started and the food was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The new spicy chicken fried rice is awesome🌶Can't go wrong with the Trio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We arrived at 5:45 for a 6 pm Rez, called right at 6. Perfect! Due to a chef shortage, as we were told, we didn't get our chef until just after 6:45. Luckily, our server Gianne, was super nice, kept us happy with our soup, salad and drink refills as we waited. She was great! She kept apologizing too, which was nice. Our chef Carlos was worth the wait - he took our special requests in stride "no mushrooms here, no zucchini here, no onions there" and "'more sauce" and "fry us up the chicarones (steak fat)" with smiles. He was especially kind to our 12-year old shy guy and the other party's 2-year old shy girl. What a class act! Super yummy and fun, as always. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Had the best birthday here thank you Benihana Burlingame!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.