About Benihana - Burlingame

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Rice
Fried Rice Giants Version
Salad
Heart Shaped Fried Rice
Onion and Mushroom Soup
Mushroom soup
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Filet Mignon
Steaming Veggies
shrimp appetizer
 Chicken
Shrimp
 Shrimp
Benihana Onion Soup
Splash & Meadow (steak and shrimp)
Strawberry Passion Delight
Deluxe Treat (Filet Mignon & Lobster)
Salmon Boat
Rocky's Choice

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

special occasion (123)
good for groups (116)
kid-friendly (86)
See All
scenic view (68)
great for lunch (62)
fit for foodies (31)
hot spot (22)
great for brunch (19)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (11)
romantic (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal and met nice table ...

Dined 3 days ago

Had a wonderful meal and met nice table mates from out of town. It was my birthday, there was 4 total in our party. Got to use my $30 gift certificate and loved my free dessert and group photo as a souvenir of the event. Food was great and our chef most friendly. Good service, good food, we will return! Only complaint-acoustics not great and very noisy :-(

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and great food as alwa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic service and great food as always. The perfect place for celebration

food4
ambience4
service4

our reservation was at 7 & they did not ...

Dined 4 days ago

our reservation was at 7 & they did not seat us at till 7:30.. Their excuse is short of Chef.. They know they're always busy..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GReat service, food, entertaining and pe ...

Dined 4 days ago

GReat service, food, entertaining and personable food preparation

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service from both the server and t ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great service from both the server and tableside chef who put on a great show. That said, the food was just OK with the shrimp being overcooked and the noise level so loud It was difficult to carry on a conversation with the person next to you let alone with the rest of the group spread out around the cooking table (we were a group of 7). The remaining items were pretty good, but not memorable enough to endure that noise again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is consistently good every time! We ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food is consistently good every time! We like to celebrate family birthdays here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Very dirty and food was over cooked.

Dined 5 days ago

Very dirty and food was over cooked.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been here many times and this wa ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

We have been here many times and this was the worst ever. I think it was because it was a late reservation. Next time if they don't have anything earlier I will just go somewhere else. We had to track down the server for our drinks, salads and soups after waiting at the table for over 30 mins. The chef had already started cooking the main meal by time we got it. Every time we needed a refill or anything we had to hunt down the server ourselves. The chef was on his last table and clearly ready to go home.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Teppanyaki style restaurants have been a ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Teppanyaki style restaurants have been a hit with my daughter since she was very young so we thought it would be fun to treat her to this to congratulate her on her new job. We haven't been for awhile but it is always a pretty fun experience. You can get into it (clap, laugh, ooh and ahh) or just sit quietly, either way. Prices are a little strong, but it was fun.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience, food, service, and cook was ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Experience, food, service, and cook was great. Love their happy hour prices on sushi.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We set in bar for 30 minutes never were ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We set in bar for 30 minutes never were even asked if we wanted a drink (and we were at table next to bar). Got seated and took more than 30 minutes for cook to get to our table. We likely never go on "special "day again they do not allow for the extra people. Otherwise I like the place just do not go there on a holiday

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Our chef was a tall hispanic gentleman w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef was a tall hispanic gentleman who was fabulous! Wish I got his name. My youngest daughter said it was the best restaurant ever. Waitress disappeared and it took 10 mins before someone paid attention to our request for more drinks. Food was better than expected and cooked perfectly. Worth the price.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good as usual, but the serv ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good as usual, but the service wasn't very good, and the cook didn't have much excitement. It was a bit smoky also.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been dining at this location over ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I have been dining at this location over 25 years. Each visit brings back happy memories & the opportunity to create new ones.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I was disappointed as the restaurant was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I was disappointed as the restaurant was VERY crowded and there was literally 3 chefs on hand taking care of over 25 tables. We waited an hour (had a reservation) to be seated, and another hour before our chef made it to the table. Also, had made the reservation for my sons graduation, and our chef admitted it was his third day on the job. He was very kind and competant, but nowhere near the level of showmanship we were expecting from Benihana. Will choose another location for special occasions in the future, especially at this price.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Long

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our chef Moises was great. Our waiter was great getting us seated, drinks and soup and salad. Then after we couldn't find him. Feel like the waiting has gotten worse. We go for birthdays in my family and when we first started 9 years ago we would be in and out. Now there seems it's at least a 30-45 minute downtime between my empty salad bowl and empty cooking service. It's great food. But it's getting a little long and ridiculous. And also I have found that when we had earlier reservations we would be seated at least 30 minutes late which is why I thought a later reservation would be better. Like I said it starts off great and then just comes to a halt. But Moises was fabulous. We had him once before. If you can guarantee him every time I'd be willing to come back! My daughter said it was her best birthday dinner ever (because of him).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food came out terrible. The server was too.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The cook was new and I didn't have a problem with that until I took the first bite of food. My friends and I go to Benihana at least 3-4 times a month and this time, my bright idea was to try out the Burlingame location. The rice wasn't steamed enough and the cook burning the rice didn't help it either. I was CRUNCHING on fried rice! He also missed ingredients while cooking our meals. I love food and the cooks are always my best friends for the hour I visit but I couldn't deal with the poorly made food and I never complain. I couldn't bare it at all. My lobster had pieces of shell on it still. Complete disappointment. The server seemed overworked and stressed. Maybe they're under staffed though. Wasn't attentive enough. I shouldn't have to flag down a server.

food4
ambience4
service4

Clint, our chef, was very good. Service ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Clint, our chef, was very good. Service staff was okay .... Food was well prepared.

food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Late, as usual

Dined on June 4, 2016

We made reservations for 2:00 and were not seated until after 2:30. No explanations or apology. In fact, they seemed irate the second time we asked how much longer it would be. Our server was friendly and attentive in the beginning but all but disappeared at the end until he brought the check. A busboy poured water into a glass that had Sprite, but after 15 minutes of trying to flag someone down, we gave up. No hot tea was offered at the end, which most of us look forward to. Our cook was great, and it's really the food that keeps us coming back despite the long waits after reservation times (almost every time in over 20 visits) and poor service. Our kids love Benihana, so I think we'll try to stick to the San Francisco and Cupertino locations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Took a bit to get us seated. Very busy n ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Took a bit to get us seated. Very busy night. Drinks were a little slow but they gave us a free round for the wait and we were totally understanding due to the volume of people that night.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated about 40 minutes after ou ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were seated about 40 minutes after our reservation time. Our chef and server were good. It was entertaining. The food was okay. My main complaint was having to wait for our table for so long even though we showed up 15 minutes before our reservation time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not memorable

Dined on May 31, 2016

We celebrate. a. special.occasion. at.benihana.at.least.once.a.year.for.the. food.and. live.entertainment. enjoyed.our.chef.but.the waiter.did.not.acknowledge.my.birthday.or did. A.birthday.song.or special.dessert.it was.a. disappointment

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Definitely not going back.

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This place certainly has gone down hill! Many of beers offered weren't available; no Midori; the exhaust fan wasn't drawing and cooking smoke was blowing on our group; unable to understand the cook and servers; the only seasoning were spoonfuls of garlic butter, blah!...definitely not going back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great time, well taking care of by our chef.

Dined on May 28, 2016

My daughter and husband had food allergies, the chef listen to our needs and made sure we had a great time. Thank you great chef. You really care about our needs, and we sat with other strangers to eat. My daughter had a great time for her graduation dinner. We will be back soon. Thank you great chef.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Food was plan .

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was playing the view was disgusting it was the view of waste and the food was so plain and the chef was boring need more live entertainment better scenery lower prices for the food because the kids didn't get a lot of food for the price that we paid for

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Resturant by SFO

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great service, Chefs are very entertaining,,Great Food and Great Ambience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Made a 6:45pm reservation and did not ge ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Made a 6:45pm reservation and did not get seated until 7pm. Waiter repeatedly made mistakes with our order (to be fair they allowed us to keep the incorrect items and bring us he correct ones). The chef did not arrive at our table until 7:45pm, long after we finished our salad and soup. The chef was inexperienced and failed at most tricks and took much liger to prepare the meals than our experiences in the past. Two tables to our left sat 30 minutes after us and their meals were completed before ours. I was with my 3 children (all under 10) and we did not finish until after 9pm.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed myself for my Birthday. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I really enjoyed myself for my Birthday. Our chef was fun and entertaining . The food was very good better than expected. We are going back to try the lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful evening! We were celebr ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What a wonderful evening! We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had an absolute blast! The food was phenomenal as always, the chef (Benito) was hilarious and extremely talented and the restaurant staff was exceptional! It's always a little loud in Benihana, but it's always a blast!

food4
ambience4
service3

I mean really, its benihana. Was a relax ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I mean really, its benihana. Was a relaxed atmosphere with plenty of people celebrating.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server service

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Our server Melinda is never genuinely nice when I have her. We have been coming here once a week for about years already and we have had her several times and she is always with a sour face and always speaks to us in a condescending way. She hovers over the table whenever we request this chef that we love - he is our favorite one and always hovering which is very uncomfortable and annoying. Doesn't management want customers to keep coming back? Well situations like this makes me not want to go back but we only go back because of our favorite chef. If he's gone were gone and we'll go to the downtown Benihana instead.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Even though we had reservations, we stil ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Even though we had reservations, we still had to wait almost 30 additional minutes to get seated. They seemed understaffed on chefs this night. Despite this, the chef we ended up getting was entertaining and put a good amount of garlic butter on everything. I wish they gave more food for the price we paid.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great chefs, terrible waiter and front desk

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an appointment and was not placed at our table with another 30 minutes. The two kids with the reserved list in front just goofed around with each other the whole time. Once we were finally seated, the waiter took forever to give us menus, out desserts at the end, and took forever to give us our check. The chef was great, but the rest of the restaurant was not.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious . What really made my experien ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Delicious . What really made my experience was the ladies I was seated next to. They were so pleasant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef was attempting to do a trick at ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The chef was attempting to do a trick at the start of my meal and his flipping utensil flew out of his hand and hit me in the stomach. Nobody was sympathetic and acted as if I was the one in the wrong. Restaurant is NOT kid friendly. Beware. A chef could hit your child, so lucky it was me and not my children. I was so embarrassed because nobody ever apologized. AND they continued to let that chef cook. He should be fired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone Should Exprience BRIAN THE BENIHANA CHEF

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have eaten here many times some times its been fine, sometimes it has been not so fine....but. IF you see that you have Brian (AKA YouDaMan) you can breathe a sigh of relief and know that a fun time is about to be had by all. Seriously, you can tell that Brian actually cares about his job and how the food tastes...I could tell you of a time when we were causing a stir all over the restaurant by chanting "GARLIC BUTTER!!!". Funny thing? No one at our table was drinking, Brian just is that good. So now you know and you should also go experience Brian.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1

They had only 3 chefs working at lunchti ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

They had only 3 chefs working at lunchtime, and all of the were busy when we came in for our 12pm res. We ended up waiting 40 minutes before we were served. As for the actual experience, well it's a typical Benihana. Enjoy your teriyaki chicken and watch a guy do some spatula acrobatics. Anyway, It's obvious this location is either understaffed or a good bunch of people didn't show up for work. Not my idea to come here but even so I don't appreciate having to wait almost an hour for some fried rice and minced beef.

food1
ambience1
service1

Worst experience every! Burnt everything ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Worst experience every! Burnt everything, less than bad service, harassing tones from the manager when we did not even request to see a manager. DO NOT GO THERE!

food3
ambience2
service1

The service was terrible. Empty glasses, ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was terrible. Empty glasses, no sauce refill and no picture.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place ! The staff is courteous ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Love this place ! The staff is courteous and friendly n give great customer service . We love everything on the menu ! I definitely recommend this place !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.