About Benihana - Burlingame

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

special occasion (127)
good for groups (121)
kid-friendly (94)
See All
scenic view (72)
great for lunch (58)
fit for foodies (38)
hot spot (24)
great for brunch (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
romantic (13)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (5)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Resturant by SFO

Dined 5 days ago

Great service, Chefs are very entertaining,,Great Food and Great Ambience

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Made a 6:45pm reservation and did not ge ...

Dined 6 days ago

Made a 6:45pm reservation and did not get seated until 7pm. Waiter repeatedly made mistakes with our order (to be fair they allowed us to keep the incorrect items and bring us he correct ones). The chef did not arrive at our table until 7:45pm, long after we finished our salad and soup. The chef was inexperienced and failed at most tricks and took much liger to prepare the meals than our experiences in the past. Two tables to our left sat 30 minutes after us and their meals were completed before ours. I was with my 3 children (all under 10) and we did not finish until after 9pm.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed myself for my Birthday. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I really enjoyed myself for my Birthday. Our chef was fun and entertaining . The food was very good better than expected. We are going back to try the lunch menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful evening! We were celebr ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What a wonderful evening! We were celebrating 2 birthdays and had an absolute blast! The food was phenomenal as always, the chef (Benito) was hilarious and extremely talented and the restaurant staff was exceptional! It's always a little loud in Benihana, but it's always a blast!

food4
ambience4
service3

I mean really, its benihana. Was a relax ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I mean really, its benihana. Was a relaxed atmosphere with plenty of people celebrating.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server service

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Our server Melinda is never genuinely nice when I have her. We have been coming here once a week for about years already and we have had her several times and she is always with a sour face and always speaks to us in a condescending way. She hovers over the table whenever we request this chef that we love - he is our favorite one and always hovering which is very uncomfortable and annoying. Doesn't management want customers to keep coming back? Well situations like this makes me not want to go back but we only go back because of our favorite chef. If he's gone were gone and we'll go to the downtown Benihana instead.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Even though we had reservations, we stil ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Even though we had reservations, we still had to wait almost 30 additional minutes to get seated. They seemed understaffed on chefs this night. Despite this, the chef we ended up getting was entertaining and put a good amount of garlic butter on everything. I wish they gave more food for the price we paid.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great chefs, terrible waiter and front desk

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an appointment and was not placed at our table with another 30 minutes. The two kids with the reserved list in front just goofed around with each other the whole time. Once we were finally seated, the waiter took forever to give us menus, out desserts at the end, and took forever to give us our check. The chef was great, but the rest of the restaurant was not.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious . What really made my experien ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Delicious . What really made my experience was the ladies I was seated next to. They were so pleasant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef was attempting to do a trick at ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The chef was attempting to do a trick at the start of my meal and his flipping utensil flew out of his hand and hit me in the stomach. Nobody was sympathetic and acted as if I was the one in the wrong. Restaurant is NOT kid friendly. Beware. A chef could hit your child, so lucky it was me and not my children. I was so embarrassed because nobody ever apologized. AND they continued to let that chef cook. He should be fired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone Should Exprience BRIAN THE BENIHANA CHEF

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have eaten here many times some times its been fine, sometimes it has been not so fine....but. IF you see that you have Brian (AKA YouDaMan) you can breathe a sigh of relief and know that a fun time is about to be had by all. Seriously, you can tell that Brian actually cares about his job and how the food tastes...I could tell you of a time when we were causing a stir all over the restaurant by chanting "GARLIC BUTTER!!!". Funny thing? No one at our table was drinking, Brian just is that good. So now you know and you should also go experience Brian.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1

They had only 3 chefs working at lunchti ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

They had only 3 chefs working at lunchtime, and all of the were busy when we came in for our 12pm res. We ended up waiting 40 minutes before we were served. As for the actual experience, well it's a typical Benihana. Enjoy your teriyaki chicken and watch a guy do some spatula acrobatics. Anyway, It's obvious this location is either understaffed or a good bunch of people didn't show up for work. Not my idea to come here but even so I don't appreciate having to wait almost an hour for some fried rice and minced beef.

food1
ambience1
service1

Worst experience every! Burnt everything ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Worst experience every! Burnt everything, less than bad service, harassing tones from the manager when we did not even request to see a manager. DO NOT GO THERE!

food3
ambience2
service1

The service was terrible. Empty glasses, ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was terrible. Empty glasses, no sauce refill and no picture.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place ! The staff is courteous ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Love this place ! The staff is courteous and friendly n give great customer service . We love everything on the menu ! I definitely recommend this place !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Often Visited, Never Tiring

Dined on May 9, 2016

We visit the restaurant often and the experience is always special. We usually stop in for a late dinner when flying out of San Francisco on the midnight flight to Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We choose this place for celebrating min ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We choose this place for celebrating mine and friend's birthday together. We went to Benihana San Francisco before, so we wanted to see what is different in Burlingame. We liked it much better. Luckily for us we got seated by the window, so we could enjoy a beautiful view. Our waiter was very nice and attentive and the place doesn't feel as crowded as in a city.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef went out of his way to showcase ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The chef went out of his way to showcase new tricks. I brought my mom here for dinner and she had a fantastic time.

food4
ambience3
service2

We made reservations for a birthday. We ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We made reservations for a birthday. We did not receive any birthday accommodations. No song, no photo. Such a horrible way to celebrate a birthday. Service was also horrible. I waited 20 mins for a glass of water.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Entertainment and good food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a great time with family and an out of town guest. Food was very good! I thought the portions of food were very generous making it a reasonable value. Because it's teppanyaki, it can be a bit noisy. I recommend this place for some kind of celebration...there is definitely a fun vibe here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

long wait, poor service

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:45pm, arrived & checked in at 7:35pm and weren't seated until 8:10pm. The food and drinks took very long to arrive. The chefs cooking and organization was not up to par. The server was not attentive to our needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

NO COMMUNICATION AND A ONE HOUR WAIT

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had reservations at 7:15p but were taken in early at 7p with two other groups. We received our drinks, soup and salads. Then we waited almost an hour for our Chef to show up and start cooking our food. The whole time we were all waiting our waiter did not return once to offer any refills or additional drinks. We didn't leave until almost 10:00pm on a Thursday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Benihana food is always good

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great classic and the lunch specials are hard to beat. Give yourself enough time because even with reservations etc your wait time will be at least 20 mins to be seated.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Celebration Was a Success for My Aunt :)

Dined on April 23, 2016

The cook/chef named Brian was great! He had so much energy, sense of humor and friendly. The other servers where great as well. The only thing that was disappointing for me was we never received our hot tea as it was mentioned in the menu. And we were never told we were going to be seated with others. Other than that, it was a great night full of laughter and delicious food :)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food and service are gr ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love this place. Food and service are great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Chefs are always fun. My brother had a v ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Chefs are always fun. My brother had a very enjoyable birthday dinner! He will remember it forever. Thank you

food4
ambience4
service4

No wait, good food and service.

Dined on April 8, 2016

No wait, good food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Benihana

Dined on April 7, 2016

I always have a good time at Benihana's. Great place for a birthday celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

It's Benihana, how can you go wrong!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

It's Benihana, how can you go wrong!

food5
ambience5
service5

Chef was entertaining and fun.

Dined on April 6, 2016

Chef was entertaining and fun.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places to eat n I enj ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat n I enjoy the view n service is wonderful .

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Excellent customer service ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Amazing food. Excellent customer service. Chefs are friendly and entertaining. Benito, our chef, makes the experience so much better.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fabulous

Dined on March 30, 2016

The food was outstanding! Great way to celebrate birthdays or any occasion for that matter Looking forward to going back Check out the happy hour bites and cocktails.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mehhh..

Dined on March 25, 2016

Maybe this place was a little too hyped up for me. It was my first visit, and probably my last. Lunch is a great value, price wise, but food and service was short of spectacular.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diablo Sauce

Dined on March 25, 2016

I highly recommend ordering the side of diablo sauce to add to your rice, seafood or meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great experience if you don't mind waiting

Dined on March 24, 2016

Our kids love the experience and the fried rice. My issue is that you always have to wait so long - even with a reservation! I thought with a very early 4:30 reservation, we wouldn't have to wait. Wrong. We waited 25 minutes - which is short compared to a more normal eating time of 6. We've waited an hour even with reservations. I wish they would figure out how to better schedule. Food and ambiance is good. It's a nice dining experience once you are actually seated.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to celebrate with

Dined on March 22, 2016

Benihana's is almost always our first choice to celebrate special occasions at with our family. Although it can be a little noisy, especially later in the evening, getting together around the teppan watching the chef work his magic while enjoying cocktails is the best. And the aroma from the garlic butter when it hits the griddle is undescribable and so delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was good. But you'll h ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food and service was good. But you'll have to make a reservation because they do not take walk ins. This place is great for birthday parties, but it's best if you have 8 people so you don't have to sit with people you don't know.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Not impressed

Dined on March 19, 2016

Usually come here but this place is going downhill. The waitress got the order wrong. Brought the wrong order of sushi. The cook sharpened his knofe over the food and touch his serving spatula on other people already eaten food. I didnt even eat after all this. No good. I just wish I got the cooks name

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

It was good experienced today than the l ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

It was good experienced today than the last 3 weeks ago our cook talk and did alot of stuff than the before. Which what is benihana all about.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.