Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 113 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Burlingame

4.1
2075 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 342-5202
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Happy Mother's Day. Don't just give a gift. Give an experience like any other.
For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 4/10/18 - 5/13/18 Promotional Cards valid 5/14/18 - 6/17/18.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 2075 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
3.8
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 19 hours ago

We waited 1 1/2 hour before the cook cake to us. Not ok. We made th best out of it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Good for party , family and friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

The food is always good but the service was a hot mess. The waitress didn’t speak English well, and messed up our entire order. We ended up payment by for an extra fried rice we did don’t order after being told we wouldn’t be charged for it, but we had to catch our flight and didn’t feel like dealing with it. Poor experience. Oh well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Good food. Super slow service. Disappointing birthday experience. NO photo taken, NO birthday dessert. Just a routine Monday lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

First off, Myself and the group I came with haven't been to a Benihana in over a decade. So we didn't know about the very long wait. We had 745p reservations. We did not sit until 825p. 2 younger female hostess' would respond like they're irritated of everyone asking how long the wait would be. Ken was our chef. Idk if it's because we had a late res and he was tired, but he barely put on a show. We were all actually looking behind him and watching the show put on by another chef at that table. After spending over $350 (with tip) for 6 adults and 1 child, I feel like it wasn't worth the money or "show." Hostess' need an attitude check and they shouldn't make multiple reservations every 15-30 min when they have ppl wait almost 45 min or more to be seated

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

I arrived at 5pm for a 530 reservation to check in so that I could be seated with my party exactly at 530. The host would not let me check in until my entire party arrived. The rest of my party arrived at 520 and we checked in and were told we had a 30min wait. Once we were finally seated we waited another 30min before a server took our drink order. After all of the waiting, we didn’t get our food until 735...2hrs and 5min after our reservation time.

Our chef was also struggling with the wait staff—the wait staff forgot to bring us plates, etc., despite the chef’s repeated request. By the time the plates arrived, the food our chef had prepared had gotten cold and over cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Had a fabulous evening. The chef was very entertaining and food was fantastic

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Love Benihana!!! BUT...the service needs to improve. The staff is very nice but it is slow!!! Reservation was for 4:30, had to get our drinks at the bar since our waiter was not coming around. Had to ask the manager if we had a chef coming soon. It was 5:15. Finally he did and thank goodness Carlos was great!! He was funny and made the experience a lot better. One more recommendation, they really need to remodel!!! It’s outdated & it starting to smell funky in the bar area...bad!!! Food is really good though.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

I love Benihan. I go quite often. This time wasn’t as great as usual. The show was not good. Didn’t really do any tricks and when he did, it would take a few try’s. Our table host was good up until the end. Seemed to rush us out. Waiting like a hawk for our plates to be finished. Then again for bill. I understand it was a Saturday and busy. But I don’t like that

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

As expected.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This is the second time I have been to this location, this time was better than my last, we were actually able to be seated within 30 min with my reservation. My last visit it took two hours to be seated with a reservation. I do have to say that something needs to be done with the bar. It smells awful! I had to stand outside with my drink while waiting for my table. Please take the time to clean the bar daily, pick up the dirty napkins and empty glasses. Will I come back to Benihana , yes! Will I come back to this location, probably not.... not until they do something about that horrible smell coming from the bar. Also, there was about 6 people working behind the bar, they is no reason that someone couldn’t clear glasses, wipe down the bar and greet the customer when they walk up.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Service was beyond awful. Took 40 minutes to get drinks for me and 3 other people. Waiting then another 40 minutes for the server to come over and start making the food. Never got drink refills. Will never go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Expected a big parking lot, was surprised it was tiny -- everyone had to valet. Was shocked how crowded the restaurant was -- apparently like this every day! And so very noisy!!! BUT, it was fun, and the food was really good. I'm not a fan of Fried Rice, but it was amazing (worth the extra money).
I don't know if it is always like this, but service was crazy. I forgot to ask for water and that took at least another half hour just to get it. We had soup (really good), then salad, then finally the water!!
Just be prepared to spend 2+ hours on your dinner!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Had to wait too long for service. CTabke next To is was empty when we sat down, yet their chef was serving their food long before our arrived!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The staff once again made our birthday celebration a very special one. We will continue to go to Benihana's for our special occassions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Always a pleasure to spend an evening at Beni..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was very good, service was poor. Waiter took to long with drinks, appetizers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Food was fantastic. Service was great. I advise coming early on a week night. Wait was only 5 minutes to be seated. The chicken fried rice is wonderful and if you like spicy get the spicy chicken fried rice. So good!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Manager and staff are always super pleasant. Food is great and well served. Only thing, shrimp is ALWAYS overcooked, maybe because they are doing different things at once?

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Celebrating my husbands 50th Birthday (which was stated in my OpenTable reservation). They wouldn’t honor the $30 off birthday coupon because it lacked the barcode (we signed up on the website the day before - what did the world do before barcodes were invented, anyway?); we could redeem the coupon at a later date, within 30 days. Adding insult to injury, they didn’t give (or forgot) his complimentary birthday desert. What a disappointing 50th birthday celebration for my husband. How EMBARRASSING is THAT..?!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Our waitress was nice but it took long to get items we requested, our bill, and didn't receive our tea at the end as requested. For $240 tab for 6 people, it was quite pricey considering our services was not up to par.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Unfortunately, we did not have a very good experience this time. Hadn't been to Benihana in a long time and it was disappointing. From check in and through dinner. Checked in a few minutes before our reservation time, watched people come in, get seated and there we still sat. Fifteen minutes past our reservation time and I was told table was being cleaned. Checked back in 10 minutes after that and was told that we were late checking in so they were trying to get us a table. Apparently, when I first checked in, the young lady didn't check us in and we were only checked in when I checked 15 minutes later. Lost my patience.

Sat down at the table and our waitress promptly took care of us. Ate the soup and salad and sat for another 30 minutes waiting for our chef. He finally arrives, doesn't introduce himself and just starts cooking away. A few failed tricks, well done food with black crusting and bloody beef when I asked for it well done.

It was my daughters 18th birthday and I spent over $200 on a dinner that was disappointing. My kids wanted to see the onion volcano but that didn't happen. It was a very long night for a mediocre dinner but I put a smile on my face for my daughter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

It was my fiancé’s birthday and I wanted to take her to a place she hasn’t been. It was a great experience and I can’t wait to come back again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Booked an appointment for 2pm. Promptly seated at about 2:03pm. No one comes to greet us until about 2:25pm. Ordered an appetizer and waitress forgot to place it. Chef doesn't come until about 3:15pm. Complained to manager and they give us 2 plates of edamame (How... Apptetizing). Ended up finishing our food and leaving at 4pm. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was great to bring my kids with me and enjoy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Not a nice restaurant for the price, decor and atmosphere is bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food. I recommend the duet for lunch.

Carlos is an excellent chef. He is fast, polite and fun. He made a Mickey Mouse out of the cooked rice. One other chef creates a chicken out of the cooked eggs.

Service on hot tea and water is slow. Benihana could use more assistance on the beverage service during meals. It is difficult getting the waiters attention.

A tip: For dinner diners sign up for the Birthday Certificates in-line since they give out $30.00 towards dinner meals on your birthday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We had a 5:30 reservation on a Thursday evening - upon arriving at 5:20 we were handed an electronic beeper. We were seated at 6:10 - dinner orders were taken at 6:40ish. Dinner was basically served at 7:15 with us leaving the restaurant at approximately 8pm. Receiving dinner 1.5 hours after my reservation did not make for a very "special occasion" and spending 2.5 hours enduring the noise level further damaged the occasion. The waitress seemed overwhelmed - we were short one place setting & plate and food was being served before we could get her attention and obtain a plate. No drink refills were offered to my party until dinner was over. The food however, was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great.We Eat Here Once A Week

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Service was horrible, had to ask for refills multiple times, utensils and etc.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Our server was an organized kind of all over the place and the food was not that tasteful .The prices have gone up for lunch so probably won’t visit as often

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Our reservations were at 6:30 they didn’t seat us until 7:15 and dinner didn’t start until 8:15 - horrible service this place has gone downhill !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Excellent food and service. Noisy. Took a little while to receive our bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

First time there with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed the service and food provided and the awesome ppl we shared the table with. Outstanding. Cant wait to go back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Were where sat late and at a very dirty table. There were still dishes on a tray present and the grill was not clean. After about 15 mins of no one showing up, I had to get the manager. She apologized and took our drinks and food order for the whole table. The food prep was out of order and took forever to cook our food. He cooked to many dishes separately. He had asked a different server for some new scallops and a lobster, twice, before it was brought out. I have never been so disappointed as tonight. There was a birthday at our table, as was told to the manager and waiter. No one came and sang to her. That couple didn't even eat their food. They took it home. The couple next to us had to leave as the night took too long. Was extremely sad for the birthday girl as well as all of us.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We were seated 20 min after reservations at 9:05 pm server took our drink orders and appetizers and dropped off the drinks and never came back. The soup and salads came out while the chef was making the rice ...we asked for forks for kids and finally 20 min later it came ... I was so frustrated as we could have chosen any restaurant for my husbands birthday and it was a complete disaster ..the management Lisa just glared and said we’re sorry .... server and management as this location need to be retrained horrible experience and will advise all my friends and family not to come here

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We didn’t get sat until an hour after our reservation and even once we did it took the server another 15 min to get over to us. He rarely showed up throughout the meal. This was such a terrible experience. It was my mother’s birthday and we didn’t leave until 11pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Benihana is my favorite restaurant, I will recommend this place to all my friends, great service and good food. Fun to celebrate any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I really had a great time with my family and the food was delicious! We had a great chef and awesome sever! We felt so comfortable and I loved when they sang me Happy Birthday!
Thank you guys for everything !

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
52

Tweets by Benihana - Burlingame