About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (101)
Special Occasion (87)
Fun (81)
See All
Good for Groups (80)
Kid-friendly (66)
Good for a Date (56)
Waterfront (55)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Scenic View (54)
Casual (50)
Great for Lunch (44)
Family Style (42)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Worth the Drive (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Comfort Food (22)
People Watching (21)
Authentic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Business Meals (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Romantic (14)
Healthy (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Private Room (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great Beer (6)
Spicy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Way too crowded and over packed the restaurant. Food was bland but I guess you just go for the performance? Our chef wasn't too entertaining either. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great hibachi steak and entertaining food preparation. Love the fried veggie rice ❤️

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time for a birthday celebration. Definitely pricey, but my kids enjoy it here. Our cook fumbled a few times, but everyone was a good sport about it. Wish they'd change up the tricks a bit more every few years (about how often we go), as it seemed basically the same with just 1 new trick and a bunch dropped off from our last visit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Benihana is an excellent place for a fun meal experience. The chefs are trained not only to do fancy tricks with the food and cutlery, but they're funny, too! They engage all the costumers at the table. They kept us laughing and smiling the whole time.

The food is amazing. excellent cuts of beef, shrimp that pops and melts in your mouth. The fried rice is delicious.

There is an extensive wine list and unique cocktails.

Lots of butter is used, so this is not a good place if on a diet. Nor is it a good place for vegetarians.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We chose to eat our lunch in the lounge because it is quieter.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy Benihana's food and the performance of the cook. The looks on the faces of the children is always priceless.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Benihana never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We came here for my daughters birthday on Sunday. We had reservations at 12:30 and we're seated at about 12:45pm. Once we were seated the server took our drink orders, brought them out along with the salad unfortunately as I was eating it the salad there was some type of dead bug in it which the manager said was not a bug but it definitely was it had wings and eyes. (I wasn't looking for anything free I just wanted the kitchen to be aware and that's what I told our server) it took a while for our chef to come out as I think they must have been short on them because I feel like we waited at least 30-45 minutes but when he came to our table he did not disappoint us at all. He was awesome and really kept everyone entertained. The food he cooked tasted delicious also. Our server only came once to refill our drinks which sucked because she didn't do it until we were finished with our food. But overall the food was good and our chef was great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was good but sometimes the service takes a little while. Can't be in a hurry to leave

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

There is a group of us that went to high school and university together. We love going to the Burlingame Benihana because of the wonderful atmospher and fantastic food. And we'll be going there again soon. Personally, I've been a Benihana customer for about forty years or more.

Jerry

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Private Room, Fun, Healthy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food quality has remained consistent over the years that we have come here to celebrate family occasions. Place - and chef's and servers- uniforms need refurbishing.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I've been here so many times and i love it everytime.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Seated on time with reservation. Mother's Day lunch had shortened menu with only more expensive options listed. Service was more rushed than regular days. Food was not as good as usual. Lower quality and less flavor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love going to bennihana. Always a great time. Fun place and open table makes reservations easy

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Annie was the best we ever had there!!! Very attentive and friendly to my family! The Chef was also excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service and our Chef "Ken" was very entertaining. The Chicken Fried Rice was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Folks at Benihana, I'll let you in on a gastronomic secret: if you want to pretend you're high class and charge good dollars, you have to be able to provide a service. If you can't, get out if the business or lower the prices. Nobody ever asked if I wanted a second drink. I ordered two items after the dinner itself was done. One was never noticed, apparently, the other one arrived after ca 30min+ of waiting, of which ca 15 visibly ostensibly standing and looking for someone helping. Clearly, they only had lower-level servants on the floor and didn't care. And the guy eventually bringing it then stated that the kitchen was busy. That is okay - at a cheapo Mexican taqueria when a tour bus arrives without notice. That is NOT OKAY for a supposedly high class restaurant. Can't organize your kitchen or manage the floor? Get out of the business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

First My Order Came late from the Sushi Bar and My Wife's lunch was almost finished.My Fried Rice became Cold.The Second time My food was not the right order.
In the End,My Meal was on the House.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My son's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Went to celebrate our anniversary, it was a wonderful experience every time we go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everyone who ordered the chicken was sick the next day. My scallops were overcooked and tough. Overall experience in this restaurant has been getting worse...and this time was the last time for us. Its a shame because we have gone to this restaurant for decades. To see it decline is very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Try and avoid busy Saturday nights. Staff seem to take forever to serve you. Chefs are busy at other tables. Could behalf hour before they show up.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had 6 in our party so 2 extra seats went to a nice couple. The cook was hallarios made my daughter's laugh. We all had Chicken steak shrimp. Make sure u ask him to give you some garlic butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were asked if we were there for a special celebration and we responded for a birthday. There were other birthday celebrants at other tables and the staff sang Happy Birthday. The server took our orders and asked what kind of rice we wanted; we assumed this came with all the meals since we were asked. Had I known it didn't, I wouldn't have ordered it. I ended up just picking at it. We paid additional for the rice for two people. Also, I had the lunch boat. Because this wasn't prepared at the table, I was served after everyone in my party finished eating. No staff sang to our celebrant during our visit. Also, I gave the coupon for a free child birthday mug when we arrived. Prior to us leaving, I mentioned it and was told the server would bring it over. We never received it. I've been to Benihana on several occasions previously and was satisfied. After this experience, I don't anticipate returning.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Sushi prepared well. Meat and other ingredients of high quality and delicious. Most meal selections include soup, salad, appetizer, entree of choice, and ice cream. Always busy and a bit loud. Lots of birthday parties. Skill of cook assigned to your table will vary in entertainment value. A fun place for kids, not very romantic for adults. Poke bowls now available as appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It took the chef over an hour to get to our table after we were seated. He rushed the dinner service we asked for steak to be medium well and it was raw. It was a really really bad experience. We have been coming here for every family birthday for the past 10 years time to find a new spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Chef felt a little rushed. Maybe it was just a case of wrong place wrong time, but I've had better experiences every other time I've been here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Reso was 6, sat us at 6:05.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Even with a reservation it took 15-20 mins to be seated. The front desk staff were not attentive. They gave me a buzzer and when I came back 5 mins later asked for my name again because. They hadn't taken it down. However, the food and service was nice afterward.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I normally have a great time , and we came for my daughter's 24th birthday, everyone was okay, the chef didn't cook the food to my exact specifications but he fixed it when I asked him too. I think the food became a bit smaller and the prices went up a bit, so I was hoping for a little more entertainment i figure that's why the price is so high. It would have been nice if the waiter came by and offered more water or soda more often than me having to flag someone down. Overall I had a good time because i was seated to a nice entertaining gentleman from out of town but if it wasn't for the other guest I think it would have been extremely boring , I left a 20% tip because I generally do but I wondered if I should have done that since I wasn't completely satisfied with my service and my daughter said her food wasn't as good as it usually is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. I've been going to this restaurant for 24 years and I will never step foot in it again and will tell everybody I know to do the same. So upsettingly bad. Went for a very special occasion and the night was ruined. Need complete new management and the hiring needs a lot of help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Took 35 minutes to sit us after our Reservation time, then took another 30 minutes to start the services.
The restaurant is grossly understaffed, the staff that is there is clearly overworked and not only do they look miserable, they will openly tell you that they hate the manager "who doesn't know what he is doing"... and I couldn't agree with them more.
Bad, experience all the way around... our 3rd time there in a year, wouldn't return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Love this place for special occasions or just a night out

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The Chinese server was terrible. As soon as we were seated, she came to take food order. We were not ready, and I ordered 2 bottles of beer w/4 glasses, and 2 tuna rolls. Again and again she hurried us before we got beer. Finally we got beer but only 1 which was not enough for 4 glasses. Tuna rolls, appetizer, did not come until salad, soup, fried veggie and shrimp is over, and we cancelled them. Upon cheff leaving, she brought doggy boxes.
She looked always in a hurry, and accordingly, there were many mistakes on order and on check.
There were 3 groups of people at our table, and all of them found mistakes on checks. I found Edamame, which we didn't have, and 5 fried rice were on the list, although we were 4 people, one of whom ordered steamed rice.
At last, I didn't receive my Credit card after check. I told her so, and she asked me to check my wallet. I said no, said that I had not received CC. She started to look around on the floor. Finally we found it in her pocket.
I'm from Japan, and I always have dinner at Benihana in various places on the very last day in US. It was first time for me that Benihana desappointed me deeply.
Surely, I'll never come back to this Benihana.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Overall: I generally love the food and experience at Benihana, which is why I took my cousin there to celebrate his bday, but this most recent experience left me extremely disappointed.

Special Occasion: We were celebrating a birthday, which I had noted in my reservation and had asked for a special table with a view, yet when we showed up, they said they didn't know it was for a birthday (and seemed annoyed that I mentioned it). After dinner and after we had paid, I had to ask for our print out of the standard Benihana photo they take of parties. I had to wait 15minutes in the l lobby of the restaurant before they could find it and the hostess seemed rather annoyed and put out that I asked.

Timing: We had 6:30 reservations and they didn't seat us until 6:50 at which point we had to wait another 15minutes for another party to join our table (the group was either late or their reservation wasn't until 7) in order to begin our service. Again, extremely disappointing and unprofessional to make half the table wait until the other half shows up 30minutes later. If they couldn't accommodate my 6:30 reso, they should have let me know.

Service: Poor. The waitress seemed annoyed in general. She also made mistakes on every party's bill (3 parties at our table) and each of us had to review line by line, why it was inaccurate.

Experience: The chef was pleasant and friendly, as you'd expect, but he wasn't very skilled and the food was fairly bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We bring the extended family several times a year for birthday anniversaries. Food is ok, the chefs are working hard but the rest of the staff is under pressure and does not pay attention to the service provided. We were disappointed to see the staff not cleaning up the table before bringing in the cake and taking pictures. This kind of service does not justify the ever increasing prices.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Benihana is my grandchildren's favorite place to eat for special occasions such as birthday's etc. My first time for lunch and it was packed full, as it is with dinner. Good menu choices and prices for lunch. My 13 year old grandson could have eaten more, but that is mainly because he doesn't do veggies! Only negative was there is no Valet parking at lunch, which proved challenging for my group and also family we shared table with. Probably would not pick Friday again. Fun, enjoyable time! My granddaughter loved her birthday photo!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Only here for guests visiting because of the entertaining cooks. I don't like the fact that valet parking is a must, it holds up the traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Did not have to wait long to be seated. Great service staff. Clint is the best Benihana chef!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great preformance. Food is good but not too plentiful for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.