About Benihana - Burlingame

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Benihana - Burlingame
Fried Rice
Fried Rice Giants Version
Salad
Heart Shaped Fried Rice
Onion and Mushroom Soup
Mushroom soup
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Filet Mignon
Steaming Veggies
shrimp appetizer
Shrimp
 Chicken
 Shrimp
Splash & Meadow (steak and shrimp)
Benihana Onion Soup
Deluxe Treat (Filet Mignon & Lobster)
Strawberry Passion Delight
Salmon Boat
Rocky's Choice

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

Special Occasion (127)
Good for Groups (127)
Kid-friendly (99)
See All
Scenic View (81)
Great for Lunch (64)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Brunch (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Romantic (22)
Fun (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Waterfront (13)
Casual (13)
Family Style (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a good show, quality of food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good show, quality of food was good, Chef was excellent. A bit tight for 10 people, if just taking half a section. I recommend keep it to 8 people if taking half the section. Great if you have group of 16 people so you can occupy entire section of cook top area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined at Benihanas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I have dined at Benihanas on several occasions and our past experience was definitely not the most appealing. We were dining in celebration of my mother in laws 73rd birthday. Both our host and our chef lacked the Benihana dining skill set and customer service, not vibrant, lack presentation spark and from what we have to compare to-- did not put effort into relating to those at the table. The dining experience felt rushed-- they didnt even take our photo, which I thought was customary to the Benihana experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a reservation for 9pm. We werent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation for 9pm. We werent seated until about 9:45 and werent served drinks for almost 30 minutes after. The wait times had the entire table complaining

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, People Watching, Waterfront, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Came to Benihana Burlingame for a birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Came to Benihana Burlingame for a birthday dinner. Waiter was very good with his service. Cook was somewhat entertaining, but seen better and worse. As for the food, it's expensive for the quality and the fried rice is not worth the price especially when the bowl is filled all the way.

Overall, it's entertainment if you can afford it, but if you are on a budget, I think you can BBQ your own meat and entertain yourself and save yourself $40.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We always have dinner here after a conve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We always have dinner here after a convention we attend at the Hyatt Regency. It's always crowded and this time was especially busy. We arrived way before our 9pm reservation hoping we could get seated early, but that did not happen. So we were all tired and hungry by the time we were seated. The service was extremely slow. It made no sense because the evening was winding down, but we had to wait for a long time in between visits from our server and for our chef to arrive. The chef was excellent and the food was excellent. Once we got to this part of the meal, we were very happy. But once the chef left, we were back to long waits for the server to appear. I love the food at Benihana, but I don't know that I would choose to eat at this particular restaurant again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Horrible service. Waited a long time fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Horrible service. Waited a long time for our table and forgot to take my daughters birthday picture. She was upset. That's her favorite part

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

It's a bit difficult to rate a dining ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It's a bit difficult to rate a dining experience when we didn't get to dine. We had a reservation for 2:15pm. Upon checking in, I asked how long our wait would be and was told that as soon as a table became ready we would be called. After waiting for 15 minutes, we were then told that there was a 45 minute wait from the time of our reservation. Other people seemed to have been waiting longer than us and indicated that long wait times, despite having a reservation, were the norm. Why then bother taking reservations? At 2:45pm we left with our very hungry children. Greatly disappointed especially since Benihana has a well documented business model highlighting it's supposed efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The waiting time was horrible, my reserv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The waiting time was horrible, my reservation was at 1:15 pm and the cook didn't start till 3 pm. If they know that Sundays are such busy days they should have more staff. And also only one waiter per two tables so they aren't all confused and mess up because they are so busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Very dirty restaurant and terrible servi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very dirty restaurant and terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Had a 745 reservation, waited 45 minutes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a 745 reservation, waited 45 minutes to be seated. that is my only complaint. food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was super fun!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was super fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This experience was not as pleasant as m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This experience was not as pleasant as my other experiences in the past. Basically, our server and chef spoke to the other half of our table primarily in Spanish and my husband and I were left to ourselves. We don't understand or speak Spanish, so to be excluded from conversation with the chef during half of dinner, is not appropriate. This led to my not having a great dining experience and I will probably not come back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Experience was very good.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Chef and waiter were both awesome. Good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Chef and waiter were both awesome. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana's is one of my very favorite re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Benihana's is one of my very favorite restaurants. The food is very good and most times the chef has outstanding talent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It's not the same as it was used to be. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It's not the same as it was used to be. There aren't any Japanese Chefs. Most of them are non-Japanese chefs. The place need a major renovation. Furniture is outdated and carpet needs to be replaced.

As for the food, it isn't at all spectacular. It's bland and sauces are diluted with water. The entertainment is great for kids but it hasn't changed in years so it tends to be boring. Overall great atmosphere with overpriced okay food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Benihana did a great job of managing the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Benihana did a great job of managing their reservations as they took us in within five minutes and they did not have a lobby area full of patiently-waiting diners.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable experience celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had an enjoyable experience celebrating a birthday. The one thing I did notice was that there is a lot of use of salt in the food (which is probably why it tastes good)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food is bland. just not good. hostess wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

food is bland. just not good. hostess with attitude. long wait despite reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

You must stop rushing people, I have not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

You must stop rushing people, I have noticed the last couple of times I was there, everyone was in a great fast race to get you served and out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

They were obviously overbooked and under ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

They were obviously overbooked and under staffed. Food was brought out in batches, shoved onto the table and the waiter would disappear for 20 minutes. Too many screaming children and parents that could care less that their little monsters were running around making a mess and disturbing paying customers. Whom ever was setting up the Chef's carts in the kitchen just wasent getting it...every cart we saw, the Chef was complaining that something was missing.

I specifically asked that my meat be prepared with no salt....what did the Chef do...he dumped salt on it !!! I called him on it, he apologised and has a fresh steak brought out, prepared it correctly but what did he do...finished the original and gave it to someone else at the table FOR FREE...how does that figure??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

They actually had horrible customer serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They actually had horrible customer service. We arrived 5minutes late due to their valet service. They had us wait 35 minutes to get seated, cheF took another 30 min to getto table. The servers switched out continously. Took forever toget our bill, and chef didn't even do all food tricks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Extremely dirty, the floor was covered w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Extremely dirty, the floor was covered with food. Food all over carpet and walkway. The bathroom had paper and waste littered everywhere. We literally sat on food crusted into chair and under our feet. I told the receptionist that this place is filthy and she said she will talk to management, but did nothing about it . Would not recommend to anyone. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Place smelled like old carpet and smelly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Place smelled like old carpet and smelly wet rags when we were seated. Super loud so I could not have a moderate conversation with my party. Waiter and cook was not hospitable and never put a smile on their face. I felt that they were annoyed through the whole process. Recommendation: Need to upgrade the place and retrain your employees. Will not be going anytime soon or maybe not at all anymore and I (WAS) a #1 fan of your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I am always a little disappointed about ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I am always a little disappointed about the fact that after all their years in business and this shared table seating with multiple dining parties, they still can't quite smoothly manage checking in customers and seating them quickly, especially when you have a reservation...otherwise, once you are finally seated, the service is great, the chefs entertaining, and the food tasty and well executed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is not in focus in this place. H ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Service is not in focus in this place. Hostess was not really trying to care - her role was just to fill the space. Here you should be aware that you will be sharing table with other people with no ability to affect whom to share table with. In my case it was a family with few kids. Very wierd experience and no attempt of hostess to help you. Place is not focused on the overall customer experience. Food.... you typically come to restaurant to get experience. In this case atmosphere and service were so bad, that food could not play well. The only option for the place to have fun is when you come with large group to occupy the whole table, get lucky seat with decent location and if you do no expect good service - then you would be able to have fun and enjoy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Had reservations for two and didn't know ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had reservations for two and didn't know we had to be placed on a table with 3 other people we didn't know. Expected to have a private dinner date with just me and my date with the chef. Felt really rushed by the server and didn't get the chance to look over the menu until I was ready. Just really awkward having to share a table with random people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

This Benihana location can use better re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This Benihana location can use better refrigerator to chill their bottled and tap beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was EXTREMELY slow. We have eate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was EXTREMELY slow. We have eaten at numerous Benihana locations and never have any of them been so slow. Took over an hour for our cook to get to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Every thing was just Ok,except couldn't ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Every thing was just Ok,except couldn't taste the chicken in the fried rice,maybe because it was finely chopped,lacked seasoning.But it was all Good.We Ordered a Variety for Lunch with a family of six.Resonable priced for what extras you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food presentation and taste was great. A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food presentation and taste was great. A big hit for our out of town guests. We will come back as a fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a reservation for 8pm and we came ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a reservation for 8pm and we came in at 8:05pm on the dot because of Valet; when we got in the little boy at the front handed me a buzzer; we then waited and waited. Mind you I have 2 kids one is 2 years old and 7 years old and my toddler niece. My sister and mother and uncle were in town so we wanted to have a great dinner for the Labor Day weekend. Prior to us coming in I called when we were outside and said please hold the table and we have all parties in the car since we took the suburban; they said OK no problem. By that time I was getting a little irritated since we have a time limit with toddlers and their maximum attention span, my sister and I spoke with the front and they admitted to giving our table away to non rsvp'd guests, angry I saw the manager coming up and I mentioned that the Cupertino location suggested us which was *** (not dropping names) and his wonderful staff, the manger apologized since they are supposed to hold table rsvp's for 15 mins atleast. He said us down for our table of 8 that takes up an entire table with kids and a high chair, the server was OK and it felt as if he was rushing us, like order now and let me know drinks please; we were a little hungry so why not? I ordered the steak tuna and it was def not cooked right it was overlooked and chewy and so was everyone's steak. Seafood was ok and you couldn't g wrong with that. Otherwise the show was ok too since my 7 year old had fun and the chef put a show on for the little ones. You are basically paying for the show and it's expensive almost $50/ person with gratuity for parties of 6 or more it's 18% off the bat. This is food you can make yourself at home or you're better off going to Fleming's Palo Alto and enjoying a nice grade steak and some seafood. Probably won't be back for years.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

After waiting an hour to be seated (with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

After waiting an hour to be seated (with a reservation), I was unimpressed with service, food quality and ambiance. Even my 16 year old son, who's birthday we were celebrating, said he would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food is good, but the place is run down ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is good, but the place is run down and need to be renovated ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

The restaurant able to sit us after a 20 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant able to sit us after a 20 minutes wait. But overall, we are satisfied with the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great food and fun, plus you get ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great food and fun, plus you get the show which is always fun to watch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

For any occasion, we always go to Beniha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

For any occasion, we always go to Benihana. It's fun for all is including the kids.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was just okay. It felt like his ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The chef was just okay. It felt like his heart wasn't really in it. We are regulars at both the Burlingame and San Francisco locations, and this was not one of the better experiences.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Upon arrival we were greeted and seated. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted and seated. Unfortunately we were a party of 2, we were seated at a table that had a party of 3 at one end and a party of 2 at the other end. Neither group acknowledged us. We have attended dinner/lunch events where we know we won't know anyone at the table but we go to enjoy a good meal and hope for small talk, at least a polite greeting. All through the dinner service nobody spoke to us, except for the chef who was very friendly and entertaining. Lesson to be learned, go with a group of at least 7 - 8 people so you have your own table and a fun food experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So bad they gave us 50% off. Over an 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

So bad they gave us 50% off. Over an 1 1/2 late on our reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.