About Benihana - Burlingame

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fried Rice
Fried Rice Giants Version
Salad
Heart Shaped Fried Rice
Onion and Mushroom Soup
Mushroom soup
Shrimp Lover's Roll
Filet Mignon
Steaming Veggies
shrimp appetizer
 Chicken
Shrimp
 Shrimp
Benihana Onion Soup
Splash & Meadow (steak and shrimp)
Strawberry Passion Delight
Deluxe Treat (Filet Mignon & Lobster)
Salmon Boat
Rocky's Choice

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Peninsula
Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

special occasion (118)
good for groups (112)
kid-friendly (79)
See All
scenic view (62)
great for lunch (58)
fit for foodies (30)
great for brunch (19)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (13)
romantic (9)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was great, enjoyed it

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was great, enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ive been to Benihana many times, but thi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ive been to Benihana many times, but this was by far the worst experience ive ever had. We had a 7:00 reservation, didnt get seated until 7:30. We waited at least another 30 minutes to get a chef, we were told one of their sushi chefs was let off early so we were unable to get our sushi order (the other chef was running 40 mins behind so they denied our order) and finally our poor chef, who weve had before, looked so tired. He tried hard, but i think our food quality lacked due to this. On top of everything else our service was minimal and not not to be found most of the time... A very poor experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Enjoyed my weekly lunch date with 11 yea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed my weekly lunch date with 11 year old son here. View outside was outstanding. Service efficient. He liked his steak and I enjoyed the scallops.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had Benito as our chef. I usually don ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had Benito as our chef. I usually don't write reviews, but this is super worthy of a review. We had the best time our family has ever had at a restaurant. Benito was personable, lovable, hilarious, warm, welcoming, and all around great! Great chef, and great employee. We will forever request Benito as our chef for all future visits. We love Benito!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I got home i got sick from the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

When I got home i got sick from the food still not feeling good today

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great for any occasion! We had a very pl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great for any occasion! We had a very pleasant cook with a great sense of humor, which made the experience all the more pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The revamp of some items makes it look l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The revamp of some items makes it look less authentic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not our best visit! Soup was oily, salad ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Not our best visit! Soup was oily, salad was mushy, fried rice was burnt, chef was not entertaining.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It's my birthday... I made a 7pm reserva ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It's my birthday...

I made a 7pm reservation...

We were seated almost 8pm...

The ice cream or sherbet on a 6 course meals was not offered to us at the end...

I was the only one who got a dessert due to the free cupcake as a celebrant...

I was finally home when I realized they didn't even give us the free picture they took...

It was very disappointing...

We all agreed the following day that we will take Benihana off on our restaurant list...

So sad...

Very sad....

😓

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

This is was the worst Beni Hana we have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is was the worst Beni Hana we have ever been to. The management was seriously lacking. The customer service was horrible, the waitress was frazzled and forgetful, the chef was both unskilled and appeared bored. He just cooked the food; there was no "show". Our chef began cooking after the table next to us and finished before the other chef. The manager took no responsibility, but said there had been a lot of complaints and that he was new and had been sent from the San Francisco Beni Hana to assess what problems there were and to correct them. However, it was unclear how long he had been there considering there were still problems.

Do not go to this Beni Hana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place to take someone special to c ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place to take someone special to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yes I was very happy to see the matier D ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

yes I was very happy to see the matier D was reading my open table request all it was that I wanted seat to the left of the cook my wife is deaf in one ear so that's the side she hears better we would have sat at any seat but the experience was or is better there Thanks oh and the food was great too

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Benihana - Burlingam ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've been going to Benihana - Burlingame for over 10 years and this visit was special. Food was very good, service was outstanding and they seem to be organized with plenty of servers. It appears that management has changed and customers are now a priority and treated with a positive attitude that they want our business. Staff seemed appreciative of us the customer being there. No more attitude like prior visits. Keep up the good work.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Only drawback was that I had a reservati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Only drawback was that I had a reservation and waited ~35 minutes to be seated. That is called 'overbooking'. Unfortunate. The restaurant is very popular as it is close to SFO. Overbooking should not be a problem as the restaurant has been there for years. They should have it down by now. It won't kerp me from dining there, though.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Joshua our server was really very attent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Joshua our server was really very attentive and provided an excellent service.no matter how busy he is , he has time to check our table.my family always dine at this location and will definitely look for him.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say, it's Benihana!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What can I say, it's Benihana!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cook benito was excellent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Cook benito was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been at this Benihana restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I have been at this Benihana restaurant before. We had to wait even though I had made reservations. The 'chef' was not friendly, did not smile, nor speak much except to ask how we wanted our steak cooked. I've tasted better food and had much better service for the price we paid. I probably will not return to this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It is sad to see a decline in a favorite ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It is sad to see a decline in a favorite...over 40 years of going to Benihana since my father first took me. I took my children (always their birthday request) and now my grandchildren.

*But we were not seated promptly (they owned being behind, tables ready, but not enough chefs) *there were toothpicks on the floor in front of the hostess stand when we arrived (sloppy customer I presume), but they were still there AS we left 2 hours later. **The bathrooms are ALWAYS in need of servicing and this night was no exception, in fact, worse than normal. Someone had thrown up in a stall, I made the hostess aware. She said she was the one that had "partly" cleaned, and was going back as soon as possible....ICK!! Trashcans overflowing by 7 pm. **Prices continue to rise, portions continue to diminish. **Sometimes, most often lately (and we go at LEAST once a month), the SHOW takes precedent over the perfection of the cooked food (as in overcooked, dried out, on "burnt" side). I'm not as critical of a place I get a free burger for my bday, & average plate is $10-$15 ...but when we spend near $400 for 6 people and only 2 got drinks...well, something is SADLY WRONG when I have this many justifiable complaints about the evening from start to finish! SAD

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Had a wonderful meal and met nice table ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Had a wonderful meal and met nice table mates from out of town. It was my birthday, there was 4 total in our party. Got to use my $30 gift certificate and loved my free dessert and group photo as a souvenir of the event. Food was great and our chef most friendly. Good service, good food, we will return! Only complaint-acoustics not great and very noisy :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and great food as alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fantastic service and great food as always. The perfect place for celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

our reservation was at 7 & they did not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

our reservation was at 7 & they did not seat us at till 7:30.. Their excuse is short of Chef.. They know they're always busy..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

GReat service, food, entertaining and pe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

GReat service, food, entertaining and personable food preparation

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from both the server and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great service from both the server and tableside chef who put on a great show. That said, the food was just OK with the shrimp being overcooked and the noise level so loud It was difficult to carry on a conversation with the person next to you let alone with the rest of the group spread out around the cooking table (we were a group of 7). The remaining items were pretty good, but not memorable enough to endure that noise again.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We order the colassal Shrimp but feel no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We order the colassal Shrimp but feel not enough Shrimp I'd given. But the Shrimp is always fresh.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Food is consistently good every time! We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food is consistently good every time! We like to celebrate family birthdays here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very dirty and food was over cooked.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very dirty and food was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We have been here many times and this wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have been here many times and this was the worst ever. I think it was because it was a late reservation. Next time if they don't have anything earlier I will just go somewhere else. We had to track down the server for our drinks, salads and soups after waiting at the table for over 30 mins. The chef had already started cooking the main meal by time we got it. Every time we needed a refill or anything we had to hunt down the server ourselves. The chef was on his last table and clearly ready to go home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Teppanyaki style restaurants have been a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Teppanyaki style restaurants have been a hit with my daughter since she was very young so we thought it would be fun to treat her to this to congratulate her on her new job. We haven't been for awhile but it is always a pretty fun experience. You can get into it (clap, laugh, ooh and ahh) or just sit quietly, either way. Prices are a little strong, but it was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Experience, food, service, and cook was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Experience, food, service, and cook was great. Love their happy hour prices on sushi.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We set in bar for 30 minutes never were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We set in bar for 30 minutes never were even asked if we wanted a drink (and we were at table next to bar). Got seated and took more than 30 minutes for cook to get to our table. We likely never go on "special "day again they do not allow for the extra people. Otherwise I like the place just do not go there on a holiday

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Our chef was a tall hispanic gentleman w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our chef was a tall hispanic gentleman who was fabulous! Wish I got his name. My youngest daughter said it was the best restaurant ever. Waitress disappeared and it took 10 mins before someone paid attention to our request for more drinks. Food was better than expected and cooked perfectly. Worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good as usual, but the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good as usual, but the service wasn't very good, and the cook didn't have much excitement. It was a bit smoky also.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have been dining at this location over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I have been dining at this location over 25 years. Each visit brings back happy memories & the opportunity to create new ones.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed as the restaurant was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I was disappointed as the restaurant was VERY crowded and there was literally 3 chefs on hand taking care of over 25 tables. We waited an hour (had a reservation) to be seated, and another hour before our chef made it to the table. Also, had made the reservation for my sons graduation, and our chef admitted it was his third day on the job. He was very kind and competant, but nowhere near the level of showmanship we were expecting from Benihana.

Will choose another location for special occasions in the future, especially at this price.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Long

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our chef Moises was great. Our waiter was great getting us seated, drinks and soup and salad. Then after we couldn't find him. Feel like the waiting has gotten worse. We go for birthdays in my family and when we first started 9 years ago we would be in and out. Now there seems it's at least a 30-45 minute downtime between my empty salad bowl and empty cooking service. It's great food. But it's getting a little long and ridiculous. And also I have found that when we had earlier reservations we would be seated at least 30 minutes late which is why I thought a later reservation would be better. Like I said it starts off great and then just comes to a halt. But Moises was fabulous. We had him once before. If you can guarantee him every time I'd be willing to come back! My daughter said it was her best birthday dinner ever (because of him).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food came out terrible. The server was too.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The cook was new and I didn't have a problem with that until I took the first bite of food. My friends and I go to Benihana at least 3-4 times a month and this time, my bright idea was to try out the Burlingame location. The rice wasn't steamed enough and the cook burning the rice didn't help it either. I was CRUNCHING on fried rice! He also missed ingredients while cooking our meals. I love food and the cooks are always my best friends for the hour I visit but I couldn't deal with the poorly made food and I never complain. I couldn't bare it at all. My lobster had pieces of shell on it still. Complete disappointment. The server seemed overworked and stressed. Maybe they're under staffed though. Wasn't attentive enough. I shouldn't have to flag down a server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Clint, our chef, was very good. Service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Clint, our chef, was very good. Service staff was okay .... Food was well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Late, as usual

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We made reservations for 2:00 and were not seated until after 2:30. No explanations or apology. In fact, they seemed irate the second time we asked how much longer it would be.

Our server was friendly and attentive in the beginning but all but disappeared at the end until he brought the check. A busboy poured water into a glass that had Sprite, but after 15 minutes of trying to flag someone down, we gave up. No hot tea was offered at the end, which most of us look forward to.

Our cook was great, and it's really the food that keeps us coming back despite the long waits after reservation times (almost every time in over 20 visits) and poor service. Our kids love Benihana, so I think we'll try to stick to the San Francisco and Cupertino locations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Took a bit to get us seated. Very busy n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Took a bit to get us seated. Very busy night. Drinks were a little slow but they gave us a free round for the wait and we were totally understanding due to the volume of people that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.