About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Fun (68)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Family Style (47)
Kid-friendly (44)
Casual (43)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Scenic View (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Waterfront (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Happy Hour (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
People Watching (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (10)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Spicy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We waited a long time to get seated and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

We waited a long time to get seated and for our chef to start making the food but what made up for it was the experience with the Chef. His name was Ruben. He was outstanding!! Loved his attitude and cooked the food fast and thorough. I am a regular customer so I enjoyed my dinner very well this evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We made an 8pm reservation for two. Chec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We made an 8pm reservation for two. Checked in at 7:45. Got a pager. Sat in the bar area until 9:15pm and we left! I asked twice when we would be seated and neither time was given an answer. I love the food here, but it was disappointing that we didn't get to eat this time! The place was packed and others around us said they had been waiting for 2 hours. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent Chef who obviously enjoys his ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent Chef who obviously enjoys his job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation and still had to wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation and still had to wait and they did not tell us why. The service was slow for drinks and they had to be reminded. Worst of all was that we were a party of 7 and they still put in 18% gratuity. On their site it says gratuity of 18% for a party of 8 or more. We found that out later. That's a shame!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food and cook great. Service not so grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and cook great. Service not so great. Very different than in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a reservation for 8, didn't get seat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a reservation for 8, didn't get seated till 8:30, our drinks didn't arrive till 8:45, and dinner didn't actually start till after 9. I've come here multiple times and never experienced this before today, so I will return! However none of the employees seemed to be happy to be there, and no one explained to us why it was taking so long. Otherwise, great food! Always delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

This was a horrible post-Valentine's din ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a horrible post-Valentine's dinner experience. We had a reservation at 7:30pm and didn't get seated until 40 minutes later. From there, it took 20 minutes to get a menu, 60 minutes later to get any food. Count that as 9:30pm as being fed for an original reservation of 7:30pm. The usual expensive prices for this place did not warrant a comeback as this dinner messed up our schedule and experience for coming back again, especially with this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was great and the chef was ente ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great and the chef was entertaining. However even with reservations we still waited over half an hour to be seated and with a child, that feels like forever. I was under the impression that reservations were to speed up the process.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Got there at 845 for our reservation at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Got there at 845 for our reservation at 9. Didn't even get seated till 10. Served at 1015. Didn't eat till 1030. Wasn't even hungry at that point...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

worst server didnt even get a refill or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

worst server didnt even get a refill or anything throught my dinner!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Me and my family always go there for spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Me and my family always go there for special occasions. This time they made us wait 2hours to seat us down. When everyone else was getting seated before us. Then we had to wait another 20-30 min so the cook can start because apparently they never turned on the grill. Never had this kind of service at Benihanas not sure what was going on that night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We always have a great time! Good food! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We always have a great time! Good food! Great Service!

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!! Great reservations on a bus ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great time!! Great reservations on a busy night. Love this app

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE HAD RESERVATIONS BUT STILL HAD TO WAI ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

WE HAD RESERVATIONS BUT STILL HAD TO WAIT. SERVICE WAS AVERAGE. SOUP CAME AT ROOM TEMPERATURE. IT WAS A FUN CELEBRATION WITH 6 FAMILY MEMBERS. WASN'T TOO IMPRESSED THIS TIME WITH THE FOOD OR SERVICE

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is my first review EVER. We have b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is my first review EVER. We have been coming to Benihana's for years to celebrate family birthdays, and unfortunately this was our LAST time. Waiting for over an hour and a half, even with a reservation, is just unacceptable. When you get our drink order wrong at the bar, bring the wrong appetizers to our table, and just overall make mistake after mistake, it seals the deal. We will no longer bring our family to this establishment as we have been made to feel completely unimportant and all the "special" was taken out of our occasion. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I prefer a different Benihana location, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I prefer a different Benihana location, Cupertino always seats us on time! This was our first visit at the Burlingame location but will never go again. We had 6pm reservation and was not seated until 7pm. Service was horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to wait almost an hours or the ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had to wait almost an hours or the table and then another 45 minutes till the chef showed up. Overcrowded and suoer loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

My wife and I have been going here for y ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I have been going here for years but our last couple of visits have been sub-par.

It seems that little things just keep dropping off;

  • Ice cream is no longer included (not a really big deal but when you add that on top of everything else that is in decline with this restaurant, why bother.
  • The restrooms have needed major attentio the last couple of visits.
  • The service (Not the chef - he was good) was slow...Sushi was a slightly lower quality than we've had in the past.
  • The onion soup - or whatever it was supposed to be - was awful. It used to be something I looked forward to.
  • Even the salad dressing has changed - or at least it was different.

When we brought our complaints to the staff up front, we were told it's always been like that. Wrong!!!

All these little annoyances add up to the point where it is no longer worth our time or money to go there anymore - Especially since it's a good 45 minute drive to get there from our home.

If this was only a one time occurrence, I might overlook it and try again. But things have been going downhill for awhile now and we are finally done with Burlingame Benihana.

I may try a different Benihana in the future in the hopes that this isn't a chain-wide decline - but this one has lost its charm for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We went for my husband's birthday. Howev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. However this place was obviously over booked when we walked in. We waited half a hour to be seated. I will only be back for a special occasion and that usually is every 5 years!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Benihana's is an awesome restaurant as m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Benihana's is an awesome restaurant as my wife and I get a new experience every time we go there. The service is tremendous and we were seated at the time we asked for. The server attended to my wife dietary concerns. We enjoyed the scenic view of San Francisco Bay at sunset!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had maybe the only actual Asian chef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had maybe the only actual Asian chef there. His name was Brian and he was super good. Doesn't matter the race. I just point that out because I've been there maybe 20 times over my life and 97% it's a latin cook (just as good). Everyone puts on a great show and better yet the food is fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fun, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They sat us in a dark cold corner with n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They sat us in a dark cold corner with no windows and the waitress was not on top of her game. Everything else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Most disappointing - party of 5 - 3 kids ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Most disappointing - party of 5 - 3 kids - made 8 pm reservation - what's the point! We had to wait to 9:15 to be seated! And left restaurant around 11! My last time I will never go back there - my kids can go without us!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Loved it as always and our waitress was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved it as always and our waitress was the best EVER !!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply consistent and fun with good valu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply consistent and fun with good value, had three birthday celebrations and had a memory that will last a lifetime ! Thanks

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration great food, chef gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Birthday celebration great food, chef great waitress Mia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We were pretty disappointed with our las ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were pretty disappointed with our last visit at Benihanas. We took our son, and his two friends, for our son's 10th birthday. We come to Benihanas pretty frequently. It was a first time experience for one of his friends, and it was a pretty bad one. The Chef, "Saul" or "Raul" didn't seem very happy or enthusiastic with his cooking display. He dropped an egg, left the table, ran back to get one in the kitchen, and continued to miss most of his tricks in the hat and shirt pocket with his egg and shrimp tails. He also didn't season the food very well. My boyfriend's Steak, has no salt or pepper on it. My steak was so hard it was difficult to chew through. I also used the Chef's soy sauce for our rice, as it lacked in flavor as well. Our son had also fallen on the slippery bathroom floor and bumped his head, due to lack of a "slippery" sign. We informed him to notify one of the staff to put a sign in the bathroom to further prevent anyone else from slipping. When we notified the waiter about my tough steak, as I had not touched it, the waiter went to grab the Manager, Tony. Tony, who was mainly arguing with me, instead of hearing me out, told us that Saul was the "Head Chef' so it was impossible that he made a mistake while cooking. He asked me if I wanted the same Chef to remake my steak. I said, "No Thank you". Tony then said, "I'll remove the steak portion only, off of your order" (Since I had ordered the Splash n Meadow -Steak & Shrimp). That was fine by us. The thing that was upsetting was how we were treated by Tony, the Manager. He did not come back at all to ask if we were alright, or if the problem was solved. Instead, he checked on the other guests at our table as well as the guests at the other table across from us. It was very awkward, as we looked at him, and he pretended not to see us. This was our first interaction with the Manager, as we have never had a complaint before, and will be our last. Pretty disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Benihana's has been one of my favorite r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Benihana's has been one of my favorite restaurants for the last 20 years, I am never disappointed and find all service's handled in a professional manner. I have taken mostly all of my business associates and friends to dine with me at Benihana's because they never disappoint no matter what day of the week it may be. I recommend this restaurant all those folks who are looking for a dining experience that won't be forgotten any time soon. Regards

P. Juarez

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. Waited a long ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The service was terrible. Waited a long time to get back our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I love that I can make a reservation thr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love that I can make a reservation thru open table. The food is always great. This was the first time our waitress was a bit new perhaps bit overall experience was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

When I called to add 1 person to a Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

When I called to add 1 person to a Sunday lunch they were "no hassles" in adding. The steak was tender. Lobster tails perfect.

Only thing to change is a old sponge smell at the table. This is a good place for groups or a special day.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Waited 45 minutes with reservations. Foo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waited 45 minutes with reservations. Food good as usual waitress seemed overwhelmed, inattentive , forgetful, and below usual standards. She even forgot the birthday cake we brought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We got seated 30 minutes later then our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We got seated 30 minutes later then our reservation time. They stuck us at a table with no view. The server was not very attentive and not very engaging or pleasant. The cook was entertaining but spoke very little English so couldn't talk to him. The food was mediocre nothing to brag about and cost too much. Highlight of the night, the couple that's sat with us ran out without paying their bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Betty and Rolando were great. They were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Betty and Rolando were great. They were friendly and attentive. Rolando was entertaining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was really good and our cook was very en ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Was really good and our cook was very entertaining

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our son birthday everyone ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We celebrated our son birthday everyone invited attended, parking attendant valet parking was convenient, the reception welcoming accommodating and service fantastic all through the evening, even the Youngest kids clapped hands with delight after.

Chef really put on a wonderful entertaining

Show the food was delicious as always.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The kids love coming here. Great experie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The kids love coming here. Great experience all the time except this last time we felt rushed when they came out to bring the to go boxes. We noticed that the other tables chef was helping them packing their food. But at our table, the host gave our boxes and left. The chef never came back.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We love his place. The only con was that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love his place. The only con was that I did make a 5pm reservation and arrived 10 minutes early and we were not seated until about 5:20pm. Which would have been ok except I had my hungry children with me which I noted on the reservations. But other then that our chef and waitress were awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Of all the remaining Benihana's in the B ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Of all the remaining Benihana's in the Bay Area, this is perhaps the best. Assuming you get a table with a view, you will enjoy it. Sadly, overall, the quality of the Chefs in cooking and in the show they give has really gone hill. Have been going to Benihana's restaurants since they first open in the Bay Area (about 40 years ago), you can really see the difference.

In the past, the "show" was part of the magic of the overall dinner "event" and it was useful to impress first time people to the restaurant. Now the show is normally less than a minute (if even that) and often the quality of the "show" is pretty poor. The chefs often drop their tools and even the choo-choo train made with the onions is no longer impressive if even done (at our table it was skipped but the table next to us, the Chef did it).

Enough of that however...

The actually quality of the food is high and the taste of the food is very good. Overall, the wait staff are good but the number of tables each wait person is responsible for is too high. The ability to get refills on Beer & wine is often a 10-15 minute exercise. The wine list is good and try the house Merlot if you can. It is really smooth and has a good flavor to it.

That said, I am looking forward to my next visit. If you can, skip the Concord location. They are still having issues. The very best Benihana's are the two in London and the one in Bangkok.

Do sign up for the Chef club as the discount for your birthday is a nice gift.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for a birthday celebration. Love th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. Love this place. Just takes some time, plan for about a two hour dinner, but so so so tasty!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.