About Benihana - Burlingame

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ben-burlingame - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
California Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Sushi - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Trio - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Fried Rice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Fried Rice Giants Version - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Salad - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Heart Shaped Fried Rice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Onion and Mushroom Soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Mushroom soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet Mignon - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steaming Veggies - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
shrimp appetizer - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
 Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
 Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Splash & Meadow (steak and shrimp) - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Benihana Onion Soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Deluxe Treat (Filet Mignon & Lobster) - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Strawberry Passion Delight - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Salmon Boat - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Rocky's Choice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Burlingame ›

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Groups (63)
Good for Birthdays (62)
See All
Kid-friendly (48)
Fun (44)
Scenic View (38)
Great for Lunch (35)
Casual (31)
Family Style (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Waterfront (20)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
People Watching (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service was extremely slow for our g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Our service was extremely slow for our group of 8 on this particular evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Benihana's used to be a fun and interest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Benihana's used to be a fun and interesting place. It is a sad shell of what it used to be. Dull and overpriced with so-so food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Always consistent. Have been going for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always consistent. Have been going for over 30 years!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was my birthday. The chefs and waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

It was my birthday. The chefs and waiters made me feel very the special the whole night. The food was amazing and the drinks were also great. It's a great place to be with family and friends. Will definitely be back soon!!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was really slow. Our reservation ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was really slow. Our reservation was for 1230, but we didn't receive our drinks and our food order wasn't taken till after 1. The party next to us sat approximately 25 minutes after us and finished eating and paid for their meal before us. Normally it wouldn't be that huge of an issue but we have a 15 month old and his attention span after sitting for a half an hour and then going another hour of cooking and eating was really challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

You can find things on menu for someone ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

You can find things on menu for someone not really liking Japanese cooking

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

There was a Brawl by some Indians and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

There was a Brawl by some Indians and this frightened us very much! It was too loud and we couldnt converse very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

This had been a favorite spot for our fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This had been a favorite spot for our family get-togethers and special occasions for many years. The food used to be very good and the hibachi chefs very entertaining. Lately it's been rather inconsistent, but we kept coming back for tradition and the convenient location. This last visit was just not as enjoyable as before. We were a large party, so a mandatory 18% gratuity would be added. As such, our server did not seem to care about being friendly or providing quality service and instead was perfunctory like a robot. Our chef tried to be funny but instead came across annoyingly awkward. His culinary skills were also lacking. The shrimp and scallops were overcooked to almost rubbery. The steak orders were wrong (the rare was okay, but the medium-rare came out medium, the medium came out too well-done) and the overcooking spoiled otherwise good cuts of filet mignon. The onions were almost burnt but the mushroom and zucchini were fine. The salmon dish was bland, the asparagus spears wasted (half cut and thrown away, serving only the tips) and the accompanying avocado tartar sauce turning brown was inedible. The green tea ice cream at the end was awful and tasted fake. Sad to see that the place has really gone downhill. Starting with the generic IKEA-style white dishes (used to be Japanese patterned stoneware), poor service, not very good cooking, and the prices have gone up although the quality has gone down. We used to enjoy coming here for good food and a fun time, albeit a bit pricey. Unfortunately, our last visit was just not worth the money spent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Always a fun place to dine

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a fun place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Got there early was seated right away

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Got there early was seated right away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

No complaints. I would go back again. Hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

No complaints. I would go back again. Highly recommend that you ask for the chef "Moises" to serve you. He has a great attitude and a smile to boot. He made certain everyone at his table enjoyed the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was very good and service was excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was very good and service was excellent the wait staff was very attentive to everyone's needs

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Quality of service and food has diminish ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Quality of service and food has diminished significantly over the past few years. You get less for more at Benihana. Also, if you make a reservation at a specific time, expect to wait another 20-25 beyond your reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Two groups of us totaling 14 went to Ben ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Two groups of us totaling 14 went to Benihana's follow a special occasion. Although, we had two separate 2:00 lunch reservations for seven each, the restaurant was very busy and our siting was delayed about an hour. No worries we went to the bar for a couple of drinks and great conversations. After being sited and our orders taken (which was about another 1/2 delayed), I asked the manager if they would still honor the lunch menu because we has 2:00 reservations and now it was officially dinner. She said that she would and we were actually served the dinner portions! In addition, they did a great job in getting us two table together in an on-clove area and needless to say we had a wonderful time! If you are open minded, not pressed for time and willing to roll with any unforeseen delays you will always have a great time and great food!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I was worried about taking my 5 and 3 ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I was worried about taking my 5 and 3 year old grandkids but it turned out to be a fun enjoyable experience for them and myself. It has been years since I had been to a Benihana. Favorite thing from my dining experience at Benihana was the picture they take at the end of your dining experience. Great memories captured in a photo!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch habachi steak never fails to p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The lunch habachi steak never fails to please. My companion had the duet with shrimp and steak. Great chef.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

EVERYTHING WAS VERY GOOD, MY ONLY COMPLA ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS VERY GOOD, MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT A CHEF WAS REQUESTED, AND WE DID NOT RECEIVE THAT CHEF. NEXT TIME MAYBE!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We go to Benihana for all my kids birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We go to Benihana for all my kids birthdays. They love the entertainment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

I ordered the filet mignon dinner menu a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I ordered the filet mignon dinner menu and the waiter who took our order didn't specify it on the paper. So when the chef was giving shrimps to everyone as appetizer, he didn't give me any. The chef had to walk back to the kitchen and get some shrimps for me. The order taker should have been more efficient in writing down details and should pay attention.

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My sons favorite restaurant. Sat at a t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My sons favorite restaurant. Sat at a table wit a family celebrating a birthday. Well behaved kids. Had a great time our chef did an awesome job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't use beginners at the grill! Our ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Don't use beginners at the grill! Our chef was so unorganized and nervous. He tried his best but benihanas should have all mastered grill chefs.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I usually go to Benihana Cupertino. I wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I usually go to Benihana Cupertino. I was pretty disappointed by this location. The place was loud and very very crowded. My stroller with my sleeping child was hit by guests and employees multiple times. We ordered double rice but they didn't write it down so we almost didn't get it. The chef was so bland. He cooked the food and was done, there was no show.

It was a bummer.

Also there should be a sign put out by the road so drivers know where to turn. It was hard to find, esp going at night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Waiting area smells musky. The facility ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Waiting area smells musky. The facility needs upgrade or renovation!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Went here for my 19th birthday! It was o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went here for my 19th birthday! It was obviously packed but we were seated a few minutes after out reservation. It was a Sunday and the chefs were all busy serving other tables. The wait was worth it as well as the complimentary photo with frame at the end :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was extremely disappointed. I had hear ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was extremely disappointed. I had heard really good things and was dying to try it. The service and food were terrible. Although the chef we had was amazing and had us laughing the entire time!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

They've increased the prices (again) and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

They've increased the prices (again) and reduced what they give you. All dishes used to come with a small scoop of ice cream and now only select items do. The scallops were over-cooked to the point of being rubbery. The overhead vents don't work properly so we had smoke covering us all through dinner. I've been going to Benihana's for decades and always bring a group of friends, but this last visit may be my final visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Never had a bad meal here and my latest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Never had a bad meal here and my latest meal was no exception. Although the noise level is on the louder side it's very festive and it's fun to meet and talk with table mates

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun experience for my sons birthday. Sus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fun experience for my sons birthday. Sushi was great, the grilled steak wasn't very flavorful, probably not the best quality meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Terrible again. Overcrowded table. Chef ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Terrible again. Overcrowded table. Chef communicate only with party in front of him in Spanish. It wasn't the language that upset me but that he ingored the couples on either side! He asked my husband if he spoke Spanish and my husband answered in japanese! He was not happy about that!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The food is super yummy. However it is r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is super yummy. However it is really hard to have a conversation with your party due to the vents and other parties. And it is really hard to hear or understand your server. I wish they would speak up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Overall service and food really good but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Overall service and food really good but the chef not to friendly....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Benihana several times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We've been to Benihana several times and know the excellence of the showmanship of the chef. We were given a brand new chef. With that said, it was not what we've experienced in the past. It would of been ok if it were not for a special celebration. I felt the experience and quality did not equate to the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

1st time there and had a great time good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

1st time there and had a great time good food and good drinks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited about 20 minutes for our table wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Waited about 20 minutes for our table with reservation. Server was excellent!! Chef was ok. We are used to more of a show and since we had the kids expected a little more. When we asked him to show the kids some stuff he did. It was very loud but we had 4 kids that sat in a car for 1.5 hours so didn't mind it since they were loud. Overall great experience !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always love Benihana! We were a big p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I always love Benihana! We were a big party and arrived late but they were still able to accommodate us. Thanks Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Of course the VIEW! For once the recepti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Of course the VIEW!

For once the receptionist seated us per our request. The manager himself oftentimes denies us maybe because there's only two of us?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Horrible experience Waited 45 minutes fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Horrible experience

Waited 45 minutes for horrible food and worse customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice place with scenic views of the wate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Nice place with scenic views of the water and they also have free valet parking

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation at 7:00 and was seated at 7: ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Reservation at 7:00 and was seated at 7:45. The food is way over priced. We went to Benihana's a few years ago and it has not improved . Actually just the opposite...wait time was longer and they raised their prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.