About Benihana - Burlingame

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. There is no better view on the waterfront of South San Francisco Bay than at Benihana in Burlingame. You can watch the tide rolling in or the jumbo jets on arrival at San Francisco International airport, all while dining on a delicious meal at the teppanyaki grill or enjoying a sushi feast in the lounge. Express Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. and Happy Hour is available from Monday to Thursday from 4-7 p.m. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

1496 Old Bayshore Hwy
Burlingame, CA 94010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 342-5202

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/burlingame-ca-bu

Entertainment:
Our chefs will dazzle you with their culinary cooking magic that will amaze your eye as well as your appetite.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-burlingame - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
California Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Sushi - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Trio - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Fried Rice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Fried Rice Giants Version - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Salad - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Heart Shaped Fried Rice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Onion and Mushroom Soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Mushroom soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Shrimp Lover's Roll - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Filet Mignon - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Steaming Veggies - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
shrimp appetizer - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
 Chicken - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
 Shrimp - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Splash & Meadow (steak and shrimp) - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Benihana Onion Soup - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Deluxe Treat (Filet Mignon & Lobster) - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Strawberry Passion Delight - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Salmon Boat - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA
Rocky's Choice - Benihana - Burlingame, Burlingame, CA

Benihana - Burlingame Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Fun (62)
Good for Birthdays (59)
See All
Good for Groups (55)
Family Style (42)
Kid-friendly (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Casual (39)
Good for a Date (36)
Scenic View (31)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Waterfront (26)
Worth the Drive (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Healthy (12)
People Watching (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Business Meals (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
 (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first server Melinda was so hostile ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first server Melinda was so hostile and rude I don't understand why she is still serving here. She is so bitter with everything at work. Our server that took over was excellent. We have had him in the past & always takes care of us. Food was great, for the price not so much but it was really quiet & slow which I liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely wonderful as always! Our chef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely wonderful as always! Our chef, Carlos, was hilarious, and truly made this time memorable!!!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, People Watching, , Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Private Room, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The other party at our table was kind of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The other party at our table was kind of glum, but that's not the restaurant's fault. :-)

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited way to long for there signature d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited way to long for there signature drink and after half an hour had no cups...

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Benihana used to be my go-to place...Not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Benihana used to be my go-to place...Not anymore. I've been a loyal customer for about 14 years now and as the years have gone on, instead of Benihana getting better, it has gotten worse. The food quality has gotten worse, same with the food portions getting smaller. I am disappointed, and may not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

It was amazing!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short on cooks but food was usual Beniha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Short on cooks but food was usual Benihana deliciousness.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Long wait for a chief after being seated ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Long wait for a chief after being seated however the waiter did offer apitizers on the house after waiting for approximately one hour. Great food

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Even with reservation we had to wait 45 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Even with reservation we had to wait 45 minutes. The food is overpriced. The picture they took at the end was way out of focus.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Date night was perfect... too bad famili ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Date night was perfect... too bad families can't sit with families & dates sit with dates. There were 2 dates & a family of 4 with 2 kids who could have benefited with another family instead was ignored :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benito was awesome and the food was grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Benito was awesome and the food was great! My son enjoyed his birthday there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful experience dinner was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was a wonderful experience dinner was great

Both my boyfriend and I enjoy the food and drinks

We will be returning with the family

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I've been going to Benihana for over 10 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I've been going to Benihana for over 10 years and it's always fascinating to watch the chef perform different ways of entertainment. The food is excellent and the choices are plentiful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Benihana our chef was great but t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love Benihana our chef was great but the waitress was rude and disappeared for 45 minutes and forgot my sons steamed rice which caused him to get fussy because he was hungry. They say 9 people at our table it was really crowded because of this

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Came here for my Son's birthday as he lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Came here for my Son's birthday as he loves the show and the food is tasty.

I think it's well suited for a first date place because it's casual dinning and the view is nice of the Bay and SFO airport.

The downside is the food is prepared in way too much butter, artery clogging levels, but of course it's tasty.

The chefs try to make the experience a memorable one with the knife show, the onion volcano, and the heart shaped fried rice.

But don't go if you're very hungry because the portions are small and if you ever want seconds on the fried rice, for example, that's not possible. Dessert menu is extremely limited.

Again the place is fun and lively but can be a bit noisy when people at the other table are shouting or speaking loudly.

Overall for a place to visit once a year it's ok.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The quality of the food and service has ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The quality of the food and service has truly deteriorated over the years. I had a stomach ache and headache for two days and my stomach was very swollen. I never want to go back to Benihanna nor would I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The demeanor of the reception staff is a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The demeanor of the reception staff is an unpleasant beginning. Smaller portions, higher prices, longer waits even with a reservation. I've been coming here for over 20 years and I remember when it was different. Rather a shame to see the decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This particular location always seats la ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This particular location always seats late, at least 15 minutes. Server was nice and accommodated requests but took forever to clear the table between salad, soup and dinner. Food is good though. Prices have gone up. Almost $30 a dinner. Still, I would come back.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I got there 835 cause i have a reservati ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I got there 835 cause i have a reservation for 845 pm and the lady at the front desk cancell my reservation cause there were calling somebody else last name.lopez which wasnt my last name and then they got me wait until 920 to get me a table , even walkin people were seat before us, the lady with glases at the front desk need to pay more atention on what she is doing !!! Bad service from the moment we walked in

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The management overbooks this restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The management overbooks this restaurant. Our reservation was at 7:15 and we were squeezed in a table of 10 at 8:30. Our chef was bored and didn't know any tricks. He acted like he was hitting people with the utensils. Bathroom was flooded and packed. Awful value for the money. Management overbooks and overworks the employees. What a chaotic awful scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The tables usually seat 8, but they squi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The tables usually seat 8, but they squished 10 at our table. It was a little too crowded, and I think a little too busy for the chef. Ten people is a little too many, especially since there were three different parties at the table. The food is always good however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Our waiter only checked on us twice and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our waiter only checked on us twice and our 2nd drinks came after we finished our meal. He also reminded us 3 times about leaving a tip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Not a fan of valet only parking, should ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Not a fan of valet only parking, should have a lot for people that don't like punks touching their cars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always great service. Wonderful show pu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always great service. Wonderful show put on by the chef.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always full and busy and noisy and smell ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always full and busy and noisy and smelly but good high quantity food

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We always love coming here to celebrate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We always love coming here to celebrate birthdays or even regular occasions .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to learn how to take reservati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

They need to learn how to take reservations at this restaurant. We arrived at 8:00, seated at 8:30, didn't get served until 9:15. A lot of waiting around and just bad service overall. They are always busy and my expectations are low there (you're there for the show, not the food), but when they say 8:00 and you don't eat until 9:15, that is crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The staff is over worked. The management ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The staff is over worked. The management doesn't care. It a real disappointment. Waited 45 min. for a reservation. Then got seated AFTER a couple who checked in 15 min. after us. I will NEVER EVER be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We had a reservation for 7:30 but were n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:30 but were not seated until 8:20 pm. They need to do a better job of managing their reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

FOOD NOT PREPREPARED AS ASKED, ORDERED A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

FOOD NOT PREPREPARED AS ASKED, ORDERED A CHATAUBRIAND RARE, MEAT SERVED MEDIUM. THREE PEOPLE ORDERED LOBSTER TAILS, CHIEF COOKED TWO LOBSTER TAILS AND SERVED IT TO THREE PEOPLE. I DO NOT APPRECIATE ORDERING THREE ITEMS AND ONLY COOKING TWO AND BEING BILLED FOR THREE. OVERALL AS A REGULAR CUSTOMER, OVERALL I WAS DISAPPOINTED FOR THE FIRST TIME. WE ARE NOT SURE WHEN WE ARE GOING BACK NOW BECAUSE OF THIS DINNER.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I had a great time and tho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My fiancé and I had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the food and entertainment. We got along GREAT with our table, so it turned out to be a memorable anniversary for us. We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice place with good food. More fri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very nice place with good food.

More fried rice pls. Better portion

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were seated an hour after our reserva ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We were seated an hour after our reservation time.

The waiter was poor and non attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

placing reservation w/waiting time of 20 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

placing reservation w/waiting time of 20 minutes...

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Good service, great food, fun atmosphere

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good service, great food, fun atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This it was ok had reservations and stul ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This it was ok had reservations and stull had to wait more than 30 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was excellent Service: We had som ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent

Service: We had someone new ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Had a great time! They were about 15 min ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a great time! They were about 15 minutes late to seat us for our reservation and it was quite loud...but it was New Year's Eve and they were packed so it was totally understandable. We love Benihana and will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

waitress needs to concentrate on the tab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

waitress needs to concentrate on the tables she is serving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Benihana is Benihana. It's loud, but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Benihana is Benihana. It's loud, but that is to be expected with all the knives clanking and people clapping. I don't have a kids, but kids love Benihaha because it's an experience that kids would love. I like it every once in a while. It's entertaining.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.