About Benihana - Broomfield

515 Zang St
Broomfield, CO 80021-8229
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Flat Irons Bvld

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 410-0482

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/broomfield-co-bo

Parking Details:
Self parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Call to reserve a private dining room.

Benihana - Broomfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Broomfield ›

good for groups (77)
special occasion (71)
kid-friendly (58)
See All
great for lunch (22)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (13)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food

Dined 5 days ago

Great food but the service by the person getting your drinks was really slow and they didn't offer the ice cream that came with our meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We made a reservation but still waited a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We made a reservation but still waited an hour to be seated. We then waited another 30 min for the chef. During that time the waitress was not very attentive. The soup wasn't hot and basically broth and scraps of mushroom and fried onion. The salad was in a tiny bowl. The fried rice cooked was not enough for the whole table. The flavor of the food was good. The waitress didn't offer the sorbet that came with the meal in the end.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience. The c ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience. The chef was friendly, and a great cook. We will be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

Food was good

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was good. But not worth the price. Service was exceptional. They are very attentive and friendly.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced bad service

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server was inattentive and had a rude attitude when we asked for drink refills, the food was undercooked and way overpriced for what it was. They need to offer more soup and salad options including dressing.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Had to wait 15 minutes even though we ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had to wait 15 minutes even though we had a reservation and were treated dismissively by the hostess. Had to wait a long time for drinks and refills. Waitress forgot some of the rice bowls and we didn't get the green tea. You get very little and very basic food for the high price. Total ripoff. Should have known better - this is just a gimmick type place. Similar to the kind of poor experience you get at a Melting Pot, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The standards at Benihana have dropped s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The standards at Benihana have dropped significantly over the last year or two. The staff seem OK, but he quantity and quality of food items has decreased. Still worth going to occasionally, but not nearly as good an experience which leaves the door open for other options.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

chefr was entertaining and the food was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

chefr was entertaining and the food was great, had the lobster and filet

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, delicious food, & prompt ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Friendly staff, delicious food, & prompt service as always. We'll definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Prices

Dined on May 8, 2016

This trip i had ordered the trio but wanted to substitute lobster tail for the shrimp. I had expected an upgrade charge but an additional $18 was rediculous. It cant possibley have been that much more. My wife ordered a bottle of wine that was a mini bottle, also disappointing. My wife dropped her salad bowl and it broke, the waitress seamed appaled and made her upset as we were with our whole family. My wife and I try to come twice a year but the last to trips we have had issues. We may look elsewhere to celebrate from now on. When it is this pricy we should walk away satisfied every time. We spent $314 and wish we had just went to chili's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our chef seemed to be distracted. Food w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our chef seemed to be distracted. Food wasn't as great as I had hoped.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun for Kids

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great place for taking your child on their birthday! They made a 12th birthday very fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Terrible service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Once we were seated (with 4 kids), our group of 7 waited 90 minutes for the chef to come out and start preparing the meal. Overpriced, mediocre food and not worth the 3-4 hour timeframe it takes to actually eat a meal here.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The restaurant seemed understaffed. Ther ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant seemed understaffed. There were not enough cooks. Our table waited over 1 hour for our cook

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1

It took over 1 hour from the time we wer ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It took over 1 hour from the time we were seated until a chef showed up at our table began preparing our meal.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Entertaining but slow

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Always fun, but very slow that night-- not enough chefs in the house. But, with the birthday coupon it's a good deal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Slow service, good experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to this Benihana recently for a coworker's birthday lunch. We assumed the "Express Lunch" on their menu would cater to the business luncher's need to get in and out in 60 minutes, but we were there for almost 30 minutes before our order was even taken. Our chef was great once he came out, funny, efficient, etc. It took another 20 minutes to get our bill after we were all done eating. The actual dining experience was great, the speed of the before and after meal portion could definitely be improved upon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our waiter quit halfway through our meal ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our waiter quit halfway through our meal. We asked another waiter for refills and the next course and he said he already had 4 tables. The manager finally helped us but was very short and obviously very busy. Not a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome time!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food, service, and show was amazing! Such a friendly staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Too little for too much.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was prepared in a wonderful atmosphere, but The value was not there. What You got was so little compared to the price. I Would not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Maverick our chef was awesome!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Maverick our chef was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maverick was our chef. He is incredible!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Maverick is entertaining, a great chef and our dining experience was wonderful because of him. He is a great member of your team and I will continue to come back because of his excellent service!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole thing was amazing! The atmosph ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The whole thing was amazing! The atmosphere was just right not to quiet but not to loud and the food was delicious!

food2
ambience1
service1
value2

blah

Dined on March 22, 2016

We go to Benihana's all the time but this time the service was poor and the food was very Blan! The chef was entertaining but again the food wasn't up to par.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef was great he was enthusiastic and a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Chef was great he was enthusiastic and atmosphere was what I expected. The black cherry and plum Manhattan was fabulous from the bar....overall great job everyone.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

You come here for one reason:

Dined on March 19, 2016

...and that reason is for the fun of having someone cook your food right in front of you. That entertaining aspect hasn't changed over the years, and is still fun. The food is decent-to-good and prices are reasonable. The house cocktails my boyfriend and I tried weren't great; I'd likely order a more classic cocktail or stick to wine next time. Overall, we had a fine, fun dinner, but there's nothing here to blow your socks off.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and fun!

Dined on March 15, 2016

An evening at Benihana's is one that everyone has to try at least once...or on every family birthday, as is the case in ours! We love going for many reasons starting with the great food. The menu has a wonderful variety of choices for adults and kids and the drinks include alcohol or non-alcoholic beverages. If you join their Birthday Club, you get a free dinner in the month of your birthday too! Second to the food is the dining experience. We requested, through the OpenTable app, an experienced chef and we were not disappointed. The hibachi chef does not just 'cook' for you, he 'entertains' you/your party. We had a 6-yr-old with us and the chef included him in many of his cooking 'tricks'. Watching the joy on his face and hearing his shrieks of delight made dinner even better! Finally, it is a great value for your money. If we weren't getting a 'show/performance' and/or if the food wasn't that good, you might say it was a bit expensive. But I think it's worth every penny considering it's prepared right in front of you with the freshest ingredients, served the second it's done (hot off the grill!), you're highly entertained the entire time, and it tastes fantastic!! Can't get much better than that!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My review

Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall nice meal, had to wait 15 minutes getting there 5 minutes before our reservation time. Best part was the chef, great guy, entertaining, prepared food very well. Was disappointed in beer selection, I.e., first three beers selected they were out of. No Local micro brews provided. Our server was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Quality food, lots of laughs, poorly trained chef

Dined on March 4, 2016

Maybe it's because we're spoiled, but this visit to Benihana was average at best. We moved here from Florida where we would frequent one of Benihana's flagship restaurants. The building itself had a lot more character and even though it's a chain restaurant, it still provided an authentic dining experience. Benihana in Broomfield, not so much... I will say the two highlights were our server (she was working the entire side of the restaurant by herself all night and was very attentive) and the quality of the food (ingredients always seem to be above average). Beyond that, the experience as average at best. Our chef was not well-trained and was kind of a goofball, although he did have a good sense of humor. We did come on a week night so maybe it was an off night for the chef or perhaps it's because the group we shared the table with ordered a dinner to go and made several other special requests... Not sure, but the chef was off his game so much he actually spilled the to go order on the floor and had to refire the meal. This basically ruined the rest of the meal as everything ended up being served one at a time. Don't get me wrong, I like all the ingredients, but when you have to eat a pile of onions before they get cold with no steak, it's kind of a bummer. Overall, the server and quality of food saved the meal, but we might try a different location in the future.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Very disappointed

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had reservations for 6:30 and wasn't sat until 7:40. The greeters were very rude, not one smile. Seemed put out that we were there. The lady that took our drinks was the only one all night that smiled and was helpful. Our cook barely talked and seemed exhausted. Very disappointed in the whole night. Will not go back.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Not organized

Dined on February 29, 2016

Food was delicious, and chef (Nacho) had great patter and rapport with diners. Everyone else in the place needs to step up their game. We ordered drinks at the bar after finally getting bartender to notice us (we were the only ones there), moved to table with promise of sending drinks after us. Three visits from staff and multiple requests of "what did you order?" and still no drinks. At the half hour mark I tried cancelling the order. About 10 minutes after that, we received drinks, which they did have the decency to comp. We're still eating and the staff is waving boxes at us and trying to hustle us out. Not even close to closing, they're still firing food at other tables, and the place wasn't full. Pacing matters.

food5
ambience5
service3

I've been to Benihana's handful of times ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

I've been to Benihana's handful of times. The food and customer service is always excellent. The atmosphere is fun for young and old alike. A great group restaurant and kid/family option. During this visit, there was an extended wait and what appeared to be a lack of chefs. I was later told two chefs had called into work, causing the delay. Our waiter was nice and polite. Our chef, Stephanie, was nice also. Both with the issues not in their control. Operations issues aside; The food was very delicious. I had filet mignon on which was very good and tender. The shrimp, colossal and non, were very tasty. Not being a scallop person, the scallops were also very good. And as always, the fried rice that you can't get enough of. Issues aside, Benihana's is always a great place to eat, with exciting family atmosphere. Benihana's, as stated in my first paragraph, is always a great place for family and kids. A great choice for the young and old alike. The food was absolutely delicious and you cannot go wrong picking this restaurant. The noise level is moderate, some elderly with hearing issues or who want a quiet place to talk, may not prefer it.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food and show, lackluster service

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

The food was good as always, and our chef did a good job cooking. The experience would have been better if our server were more attentive. She didn't write down all of the tables' orders correctly. We needed sweetener and drink refills but could not find her. It was a Monday and felt like they were possibly short staffed or our waitress just didn't care.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unacceptable

Dined on February 21, 2016

Waited for an hour even when we had a reservation. Chef did not engage the table or the children. Food was poor quality. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Very poor service.

Dined on February 16, 2016

It took forever for the waitress to first come to our table, then it took a long time for our drinks to arrive. Took even longer for our starter courses to arrive. When the hibachi chef FINALLY arrived, the hibachi stove hadn't been turned on, so he banged his hands down in anger onto the stove surface and angrily marched off to yell at someone without saying anything to us. EVENTUALLY the stove was ready (after the manager offered apologies and appetizers and drinks, which he actually charged us for...). Once the chef was able to begin, he realized he'd been given the wrong ingredients and had to go back into the kitchen for more shrimp. He mistook my boyfriend's order with that of the lady next to him and ended up lumping a whole bunch of giant shrimp onto his plate. When my boyfriend alerted him, he simply lifted the shrimp from his plate and put it on the lady's plate instead (!). I also never got the steamed rice I ordered - I had to badger the waitress for it. ALSO - the waitress continually spilled each drink she brought to the people at our table (we mopped up after her all night). I was disgusted by the old food and egg-shells on the floor by our feet. Truly gross. All in all a shocking experience for a meal that was so expensive! $90 dollars for two meals and a drink! With that kind of service? I have NEVER reviewed a restaurant before, but I feel I have to now. We will not be going there again.

food3
ambience4
service4

They put the same compound butter on eve ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

They put the same compound butter on everything, so it all kinda tastes the same bad. I ordered the filet and when they brought the steak out it was pretty apparent none of them were filet, even though I was up charged. Also an up charge for fried rice, and my date never even got the steamed rice. All in all a rather poor experience and I would suggest going to a local Japanese grill that appreciates your time and money.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Issues

Dined on February 15, 2016

My reservation was 7:45pm and we didn't eat until 9:15pm. We were sat by glass windows and we were the freezing. The manager didn't do nothing to keep us warm.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Daniel was the best server ev ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server Daniel was the best server ever. Our Chef was awesome too, so much fun!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Pleased.

Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined at Benihana for our first time! It was a great experience. Our chef DJ was an awesome host. He kept our table laughing even though we were all kind of shy at first. He is very talented and I would recommend him! The service was great. Keep up the good job guys. We definitely will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is amazing. We splurged a bit and got to $107 in a hurry.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.