About Benihana - Broomfield

515 Zang St
Broomfield, CO 80021-8229
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. The moment you enter Benihana Broomfield you will be captivated by the large saltwater aquariums that adorn the walls. Venture into the dining room to find it bright and airy, with two enclosed, two-table dining rooms that afford private space with sliding shoji doors. Benihana is located in the “Main Street” complex across from Flatiron Crossing Mall. Enjoy Happy Hour, Monday through Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Flat Irons Bvld

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 410-0482

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/broomfield-co-bo

Parking Details:
Self parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Ben-broomfield - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
California Roll - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Sushi - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Trio - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO
Chef Trick - Benihana - Broomfield, Broomfield, CO

Private Dining

Call to reserve a private dining room.

Benihana - Broomfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (34)
Fun (27)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Kid-friendly (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Family Style (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (12)
Open Kitchen (8)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Spicy (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was fun! Watching the chef cooking ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

This was fun! Watching the chef cooking everything and then eating the fantastic meal. I'd go again! Only for special occasions though; it's pretty pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are paying that much for a meal, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

If you are paying that much for a meal, the wait staff should come and fill drinks. We never got a refill and when a fork was dropped on the floor the meal was over for everyone else by the time a fork was brought. Second time to this location and service very poor and slow each time. Not worth the money when all you do is wait for service. Makes a special occasion frustrating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Less and less food every time I go in, f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Less and less food every time I go in, for the price

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

This restaurant is one of our favorite p ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorite places to go for special occasions. It is moderately expensive, but there are deals to be had if you are looking. Our server recommendations were very tasty, and the chef was one of the best we have had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an 8pm reservation for our party ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had an 8pm reservation for our party of 5 and weren't seated until 8:20. Once seated, the wait staff and chef were attentive and great. Keep in mind that for smaller parties, you're likely going to be dining at a table with total strangers -- that can be a hit or miss proposition (in our most recent case it was a definite miss).

Also, there was a young woman who was so drunk her friends carried her out of the restaurant twice (they carried her back inside in between).

Overall, it's an entertaining experience, but I've had much nicer meals for considerably less $.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Way overpriced. 170 dollars for two adu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Way overpriced. 170 dollars for two adults and one child. The other families at the table were anti social duds. Everyone just staring at each other.

Way too loud from other tables.

The chef was great and fun to watch.

Won't go back at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was excellent as always but our ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was excellent as always but our cook was not as excellent as the food. The cook is who makes the experience an experience and this go around was less than impressive. He was unorganized and socially inept.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Freezing cold. Awful chef. Hit 3 guests ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Freezing cold. Awful chef. Hit 3 guests with props trying to do tricks. Steaks way over cooked. Not fun won't be back. Definitely not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

It's our birthday place because it's so ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It's our birthday place because it's so fun and we had our fave waiter Stephanie! Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always but the chef an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was great as always but the chef and server were not! I asked for well done and ended up with medium well. The veggies were also under cooked and we only ended up with 3 shrimps instead of the normal amount we normally get. Had to wait forever for our soup and when the chef finally came he seemed like he was rushing through everything and only focused on one person at the table. At the end of the meal, which we were celebrating a birthday didn't even get a happy birthday from the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Service was abysmally slow and they forg ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was abysmally slow and they forgot things we asked for. We had get up out of our chairs to get things ourselves. I took over an hour from the time we sat down until the table chef showed up. The manager even apologized, but when we were wrangling 4 elementary school-aged children, apologies don't help much. Chef was superb and the food was very good. Tip: book reservation for 1 hour earlier than you want to eat; and bring activities for young children

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food tasted good; however, our cook gave ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food tasted good; however, our cook gave us each food item one at a time, taking about 5-8 minutes in between, making our eating experience not enjoyable. (e.g. fried rice first; then the shrimp appetiser; later the vegetables which we ate by themselves; at the end we got our steak or lobster, when we had nothing else on our plates. We have visited Benihana multiple times and found that this last visit was disappointing.

For the amount of money we paid, we expected better.

Sincerely,

Sandra Vazquez

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We paid over $100 for two people to eat ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We paid over $100 for two people to eat here and the food was awful. I have been to Benihana's in the past and it has always been a good fun experience. This was NOTHING like what I have experienced before. I would say this meal was maybe worth about $30 for two people. We were definitely disappointed and wished we had made a different decision for New Years. I would NEVER go back and would tell anyone to avoid this place if you like decent food at that price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We came to celebrate my son's birthday. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came to celebrate my son's birthday. Everyone had a great time, and we were very happy with our experience. I wouldn't go without reservations though. It was fully booked, and some walk ins left upset when they couldn't be seated. Great for special occasions, but a little pricey for everyday dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We have dined many times at Benihana, th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have dined many times at Benihana, this time we went around lunch time and ordered dinner. However, our dinner items felt like lunch portions. Also, the soup was just lukewarm and not enjoyable. I paid a lot for dinner and only got lunch. It's going to be a long time before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Just OK food. Service was great, they W ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just OK food. Service was great, they WORKED for their tips! I can make better food than what I had there, in fact I think Panda Express could too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Compared to some of the other locations ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Compared to some of the other locations I have been to it could use a remodel. Service other than the hostesses was good. Hostesses need to put a smile on their face. After all that is your first impression . Even the manager came by to see if we were enjoying ourselves.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We've been coming here for years and thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We've been coming here for years and this was by far our worst experience ever! We didn't have to wait for our table, that was nice. Since we were celebrating my birthday I ordered a strawberry frozen margarita after the waitress confirmed the machine was working again. A few sips in I found myself with a piece of glass in my mouth. I save it and handed it to my waitress who seemed as if I was bothering her and told me she would have another made and not charge me for my glass margarita....oh how thoughtful. After disappearing for some time she finally returned to get out order, again looking less than pleased with us. Our chef came out, was super friendly and great with the kids but was missing part of our order, the kids chicken. We decided it wasn't worth the argument and decided the kids could have rice and corn for dinner. One of the kids with us has a dairy allergy so when we asked our waitress if the sherbet ice cream had dairy she rolled her eyes and walked away to find out, pretty sure she never even checked and came back to say everything has dairy and moved on to ask everyone else if they wanted desert. After we finished eating our not so friendly waitress returned with our bill that included the chicken we never got, an extra rice, soup, and she again pointed out that she took off my first glass filled margarita. Living in Colorado and California we usually visit every couple months and I can honestly say Broomfield has lost my business after this experience. I'll make the drive to Denver or just find another fun restaurant to take the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The chef, Christian (I believe), was ent ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The chef, Christian (I believe), was entertaining and a great hibachi cook! Yummy and fresh steak, scallops and salmon. I love the well balanced meals Benihana provides. The only complaint is that I had reservations for the 3 of us and yet they seated us with 6 other people at a table meant for 8. That would be okay if we were in the same party, but we had 3 separate parites. Too tight of a squeeze.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in this dining ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were very disappointed in this dining experience. We made reservations well in advance but were not seated for over 30 minutes. The chef did not arrive at the table until long after that and was not prepared as he had to make numerous trips back to the kitchen. He cooked each person's meal separately, except for the last three and took a great deal of time on each. By the time we were served our entrée, the rice and veggies were long eaten or cold. The cook could barely speak English and so was limited on his interactions with the diners. The meat was fatty and grisly and tasteless. This was supposed to be a special treat for my son's birthday, but it was a flop. My husband said we will never return because the prices were extremely high for what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We have never been to benihanna. Our usu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have never been to benihanna. Our usual habatchi location, closed. It was a wonderful experience for my family. The hostess at the front desk was a little awkward and not very welcoming. Besides that, I enjoyed my dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our Christmas Day reservation was for 12 ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Day reservation was for 12:30 PM and our party was all on time, but we did not get taken back to our table until 12:45. Our waitress was great and got our drinks in a timely manner, but our cook did not begin our meal until almost 45 minutes after we were seated. This ordinarily would not have been a problem, but we had movie tickets for 2:55 PM in Belmar. Fortunately, we were able to finish our meal without rushing too much and made it to our movie. The manager did apologize about the delay.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for Christmas lunch had a blast.the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas lunch had a blast.the food was awesome our chef was great or waitress looked like Katy Perry..lol..had a nice time at Benihana will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The chef made ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The chef made it fun and his helper was delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always been a fan of the hibachi ex ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I've always been a fan of the hibachi experience, and Benihana delivers. The food was excellent and the staff courteous and attentive. I'll be coming back.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun for the kids , and grown ups too. F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fun for the kids , and grown ups too. Food quite good. Note when asked if you want rice, there is an additional charge. Not a big deal, we would have ordered anyway. Just saying...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

After being seated at 7pm promptly when ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

After being seated at 7pm promptly when our reservation was it all went downhill from there. First it took 36 minutes to get our drinks. Another family was sat at the table across from us at 730. Their drinks came in 4 minutes. Their order was taken a couple minutes later. Our order was still not taken. After waiting an additional 10 minutes, our order was taken. Table across from us was beginning to get their meal prepared. After another 10 minutes I asked someone why our food wasn't out prior to the table across from us since we arrived 30 minutes prior to them. Then finally 10 min later our food arrives. Chef who cooked for us was good. Was not his fault, that I know of. By the way. Never were we asked if we wanted more drinks or refills. We spent 50 on alcohol alone. When we finally asked someone that was going by if we could get another Coors light. She says yes. 5 minutes goes by. She comes back. We are all out of Coors light. My steak was not prepared as requested. But still ok. They forgot one steak. So one person at our table had to wait until someone brought him another while we were all eating. We get finished eating chef leaves the table and from there it was 30 minutes before we got our check. We get it and it takes her another 10 minutes to bring out card back. Worst restaurant experience I have ever had. we got no apologies not any reasons why it took so long. I was actually told that sometimes if a table has a "difficult" order they put easy tables ahead of harder tables with no regard to arrival times?? Seems like bad planning. Why do you have a manager roaming the floor that doesn't check on how tables are doing. We had to waive down our wait person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Seems like it has been going down hill t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Seems like it has been going down hill the past few years. In need of a good cleaning around grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this place! The chefs are amazing! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love this place! The chefs are amazing! Everyone is so friendly. The only thing that was wrong, was there heat was not working, so they had all these space heaters and cords all over. Except for that, we enjoyed it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of all the Japanese steak houses I h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Out of all the Japanese steak houses I have been too this was least amount of food for the most money. With the hibachi we got 6 pieces of zucchini as our vegetable course. I've been to places that give you noodles and several vegetables, like a normal plate of food. The filet mignon was a very thin cut. Never would have thought that piece was a cut of filet. Also it was extremely cold in the restaurant. I'm in HVAC and I know the outside air units weren't heating probably. They had to have several electric heaters plugged in the dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Amazing time, out chef was from Japan an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing time, out chef was from Japan and he was excellent. The hostess/server, however was not too friendly, hardly ever smiled so we were a little disappointed in that. Overall, great meal, and a lot of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our chef, Cody, was amazing and entertai ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our chef, Cody, was amazing and entertaining but everything else was average at best. The hostess was extremely rude and unhelpful when I proactively called ahead to let her know we were stuck in traffic. She coldly told me if we didn't make it in the 15 minute window after our reservation, we would be deemed a no show. I explained we were celebrating our daughter's eighth birthday and she would be devastated but the hostess was unsympathetic. Luckily, we made it within the window. Our waitress forgot some of our special requests.

In the future, we will be supporting a locally owned restaurant that takes customer service seriously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food. Special lunch prices even o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Special lunch prices even on the weekends. Enough food to fill everyone up.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We coĺme here very often once a week wit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We coĺme here very often once a week with a table of 4 3 times now we have had sara as a waitress every single time weve had her we have had bad service she dosent come and fill our waters when there empty we only see her maybe 3 or 4 times the whole time. The people across from us that got there after us got there drinks way befor we did. Our salads didnt come out until our chef was plateing our rice basically. When i come back this next time i hope i do not have the same issue because spending good money with bad service isnt worth the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and service. Only down side ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food and service. Only down side was it was very cold where my wife and I sat. The heat came and went every once in a awhile but over all it was COLD...

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Absolutely freezing the entire dinner. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Absolutely freezing the entire dinner. Food was good but way over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Went there for my sons birthday. Thought ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Went there for my sons birthday. Thought it would be fun for him. The waiter was not very informative. We received our soap and immediately the cook came and we weren't able to enjoy the soap or salad if we wanted to watch him do any tricks (which was only about 2). He wasn't very playful and felt rushed. The food wasn't the best and service was not great either. Would not go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I always come here and ive had the same ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I always come here and ive had the same server 2 times now. First time she was kind of rude but the second time we had her she was rude had to sit with no water for at least 20 to 30 minutes. She forgot my to go rice after i placed my order. Cook was very good. Servee just wasnt the best

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food was bland and the shrimp appetizer ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was bland and the shrimp appetizer was overlooked. I ordered a "filet" that was fatty and chewy. I asked for a knife to cut the huge pieces and was told they don't have knives. So overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Jeremy was our chef and he was the great ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Jeremy was our chef and he was the greatest. I was really unhappy when I got up to the table because it was two adults and three young boys (4, 5, 7) and... let's be honest, kids suck... The kids were all right, and their parents were awesome. We shouted and cheered for Jeremy, and the more we engaged with him, so he did with us. With much raucous laughter, we annoyed the entire establishment. Everyone was jealous of how good a time we were having. The food was alright, but that's because I'm vegetarian and tofu sucks...

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.