About Benihana - Broomfield

515 Zang St
Broomfield, CO 80021-8229
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Flat Irons Bvld

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 410-0482

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/broomfield-co-bo

Parking Details:
Self parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Call to reserve a private dining room.

Benihana - Broomfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Broomfield ›

good for groups (71)
special occasion (65)
kid-friendly (54)
See All
great for lunch (19)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (9)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I was disappointed that we were not seat ...

Dined 5 days ago

I was disappointed that we were not seated until half an hour after our reservation time. They apparently were short on chefs. Once we started getting our food, it was entertaining and good food. But the entire evening and our remaining plans suffered severely because of the lack of preparedness. The manager did try to make it right with some starters, but that's about it.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The air conditioner must not have been w ...

Dined 6 days ago

The air conditioner must not have been working properly. It was hotter inside the restaurant than outside. Our chef was nice enough but we could tell that he only been working there a few weeks. It started out fine with the shrimp appetizer and the fried rice. But then the food came slowly and out of order? He started cooking the steak and lobster for my family. And some steak and chicken for another family that we were sharing the table with. We were served and were almost finished when the lady from other family asked about her salmon. Her fish hadn't been started yet. After cooking her fish then he proceeded to cook the zucchini. But we were already finished with our main course. Then after we were served the zucchini he then started cooking the onions. By that time all of us had a small pile of onions on an otherwise empty plate. I guess the chef just needs some practice cooking things together in a timely manner. The dinner was ok but the sushi left a lot to be desired. Won't be ordering that again.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was pretty good. The chef forgot the ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was pretty good. The chef forgot the shrimp that came with the same meal (rocky) that we all ordered until after dessert and decided to make it in the kitchen and had the waitress bring it out then.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

I was very disappointed in my visit this ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed in my visit this time.A lady and her daughter at our table were adamant about their food being cooked first because they were vegetarian and didn't want any of their food to touch any meat. I think this threw the chef off and wasn't comfortable doing his normal acts. If I had it to do over,I would ask to be seated at a different table or just leave.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time there. We had a cert ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great time there. We had a certificate that was sent for my birthday that made it an extraordinary value. I had steak and scallops that were cooked to my taste even though the chef also cooked for 5 others at our table. He was friendly and enhanced our experience greatly. Definitely recommend.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We waited for our table even though we h ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We waited for our table even though we had a reservation. The rice was good however the steak and chicken lacked flavor. The portions were small. Our chef was focused on other patrons he related with more.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Rocky is the best!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The Rocky is the best!

food5
ambience5
service3

Our Hibachi chef was very outgoing and f ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our Hibachi chef was very outgoing and friendly. Our waitress was very slow on keeping our drinks filled. She would only get refills when we called her and asked for it.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Hit and miss

Dined on May 29, 2016

We go to Benihana for pretty much all bday celebrations in our family - this time I felt that the service was not so good, the chef kept telling us how tired he was (besides his off color jokes, there were four kids at the table) . They didn't offer to take the traditional pic, and frankly, after asking so many times when my drink was going to show up, I gave up on asking... Too bad the attitudes couldn't match the quality of the food- I'm pretty sure it's hit and miss with whomever you have the luck to be your chef, so overall I would still recommend Benihana to my friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

justcrownme

Dined on May 28, 2016

on5/28/16. The was busy but no excuse. Server was hard to understand and did not come around to see if we needed anything. The cook had no personality, didn't talk, the food was over cooked.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Though it took awhile to get sat, our re ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Though it took awhile to get sat, our reservation was at 7:15pm and got seated at 7:40, everything was great. The server was great even when she was dealing with a few needy guests at our table. And the chef, Israel made a memorable night for my kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Great food

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food but the service by the person getting your drinks was really slow and they didn't offer the ice cream that came with our meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We made a reservation but still waited a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We made a reservation but still waited an hour to be seated. We then waited another 30 min for the chef. During that time the waitress was not very attentive. The soup wasn't hot and basically broth and scraps of mushroom and fried onion. The salad was in a tiny bowl. The fried rice cooked was not enough for the whole table. The flavor of the food was good. The waitress didn't offer the sorbet that came with the meal in the end.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience. The c ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience. The chef was friendly, and a great cook. We will be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

Food was good

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was good. But not worth the price. Service was exceptional. They are very attentive and friendly.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overpriced bad service

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server was inattentive and had a rude attitude when we asked for drink refills, the food was undercooked and way overpriced for what it was. They need to offer more soup and salad options including dressing.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Had to wait 15 minutes even though we ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had to wait 15 minutes even though we had a reservation and were treated dismissively by the hostess. Had to wait a long time for drinks and refills. Waitress forgot some of the rice bowls and we didn't get the green tea. You get very little and very basic food for the high price. Total ripoff. Should have known better - this is just a gimmick type place. Similar to the kind of poor experience you get at a Melting Pot, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The standards at Benihana have dropped s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The standards at Benihana have dropped significantly over the last year or two. The staff seem OK, but he quantity and quality of food items has decreased. Still worth going to occasionally, but not nearly as good an experience which leaves the door open for other options.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

chefr was entertaining and the food was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

chefr was entertaining and the food was great, had the lobster and filet

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, delicious food, & prompt ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Friendly staff, delicious food, & prompt service as always. We'll definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Prices

Dined on May 8, 2016

This trip i had ordered the trio but wanted to substitute lobster tail for the shrimp. I had expected an upgrade charge but an additional $18 was rediculous. It cant possibley have been that much more. My wife ordered a bottle of wine that was a mini bottle, also disappointing. My wife dropped her salad bowl and it broke, the waitress seamed appaled and made her upset as we were with our whole family. My wife and I try to come twice a year but the last to trips we have had issues. We may look elsewhere to celebrate from now on. When it is this pricy we should walk away satisfied every time. We spent $314 and wish we had just went to chili's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our chef seemed to be distracted. Food w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our chef seemed to be distracted. Food wasn't as great as I had hoped.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun for Kids

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great place for taking your child on their birthday! They made a 12th birthday very fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Terrible service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Once we were seated (with 4 kids), our group of 7 waited 90 minutes for the chef to come out and start preparing the meal. Overpriced, mediocre food and not worth the 3-4 hour timeframe it takes to actually eat a meal here.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The restaurant seemed understaffed. Ther ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant seemed understaffed. There were not enough cooks. Our table waited over 1 hour for our cook

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1

It took over 1 hour from the time we wer ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It took over 1 hour from the time we were seated until a chef showed up at our table began preparing our meal.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Entertaining but slow

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Always fun, but very slow that night-- not enough chefs in the house. But, with the birthday coupon it's a good deal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Slow service, good experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to this Benihana recently for a coworker's birthday lunch. We assumed the "Express Lunch" on their menu would cater to the business luncher's need to get in and out in 60 minutes, but we were there for almost 30 minutes before our order was even taken. Our chef was great once he came out, funny, efficient, etc. It took another 20 minutes to get our bill after we were all done eating. The actual dining experience was great, the speed of the before and after meal portion could definitely be improved upon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Our waiter quit halfway through our meal ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our waiter quit halfway through our meal. We asked another waiter for refills and the next course and he said he already had 4 tables. The manager finally helped us but was very short and obviously very busy. Not a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome time!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food, service, and show was amazing! Such a friendly staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Too little for too much.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was prepared in a wonderful atmosphere, but The value was not there. What You got was so little compared to the price. I Would not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Maverick our chef was awesome!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Maverick our chef was awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maverick was our chef. He is incredible!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Maverick is entertaining, a great chef and our dining experience was wonderful because of him. He is a great member of your team and I will continue to come back because of his excellent service!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole thing was amazing! The atmosph ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The whole thing was amazing! The atmosphere was just right not to quiet but not to loud and the food was delicious!

food2
ambience1
service1
value2

blah

Dined on March 22, 2016

We go to Benihana's all the time but this time the service was poor and the food was very Blan! The chef was entertaining but again the food wasn't up to par.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef was great he was enthusiastic and a ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Chef was great he was enthusiastic and atmosphere was what I expected. The black cherry and plum Manhattan was fabulous from the bar....overall great job everyone.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

You come here for one reason:

Dined on March 19, 2016

...and that reason is for the fun of having someone cook your food right in front of you. That entertaining aspect hasn't changed over the years, and is still fun. The food is decent-to-good and prices are reasonable. The house cocktails my boyfriend and I tried weren't great; I'd likely order a more classic cocktail or stick to wine next time. Overall, we had a fine, fun dinner, but there's nothing here to blow your socks off.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and fun!

Dined on March 15, 2016

An evening at Benihana's is one that everyone has to try at least once...or on every family birthday, as is the case in ours! We love going for many reasons starting with the great food. The menu has a wonderful variety of choices for adults and kids and the drinks include alcohol or non-alcoholic beverages. If you join their Birthday Club, you get a free dinner in the month of your birthday too! Second to the food is the dining experience. We requested, through the OpenTable app, an experienced chef and we were not disappointed. The hibachi chef does not just 'cook' for you, he 'entertains' you/your party. We had a 6-yr-old with us and the chef included him in many of his cooking 'tricks'. Watching the joy on his face and hearing his shrieks of delight made dinner even better! Finally, it is a great value for your money. If we weren't getting a 'show/performance' and/or if the food wasn't that good, you might say it was a bit expensive. But I think it's worth every penny considering it's prepared right in front of you with the freshest ingredients, served the second it's done (hot off the grill!), you're highly entertained the entire time, and it tastes fantastic!! Can't get much better than that!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My review

Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall nice meal, had to wait 15 minutes getting there 5 minutes before our reservation time. Best part was the chef, great guy, entertaining, prepared food very well. Was disappointed in beer selection, I.e., first three beers selected they were out of. No Local micro brews provided. Our server was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Quality food, lots of laughs, poorly trained chef

Dined on March 4, 2016

Maybe it's because we're spoiled, but this visit to Benihana was average at best. We moved here from Florida where we would frequent one of Benihana's flagship restaurants. The building itself had a lot more character and even though it's a chain restaurant, it still provided an authentic dining experience. Benihana in Broomfield, not so much... I will say the two highlights were our server (she was working the entire side of the restaurant by herself all night and was very attentive) and the quality of the food (ingredients always seem to be above average). Beyond that, the experience as average at best. Our chef was not well-trained and was kind of a goofball, although he did have a good sense of humor. We did come on a week night so maybe it was an off night for the chef or perhaps it's because the group we shared the table with ordered a dinner to go and made several other special requests... Not sure, but the chef was off his game so much he actually spilled the to go order on the floor and had to refire the meal. This basically ruined the rest of the meal as everything ended up being served one at a time. Don't get me wrong, I like all the ingredients, but when you have to eat a pile of onions before they get cold with no steak, it's kind of a bummer. Overall, the server and quality of food saved the meal, but we might try a different location in the future.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.