Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds.

Private Party Contact:
Bernadette Brillantes: (855) 428-7029

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.4

Noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Groups (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 20 hours ago

It’s was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Hate being packed in like sardines at this restaurant. Luckily, we had an extra seat between us and other family. Food good, server fair. The prices are too high, portions too small. Still, fine for a visit or two a year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

By far my worst dining experience ever, the manager had the worst attitude not hospitable at all, the chef did not engage with us at all, there was a fight that broke out between the manager and another person dining, the chef dropped a bowl while cooking that cut my foot and he not once apologized. I drove 1hr and 25 mins to this restaurant thinking somehow we receive a 4 Star dining experience on Valentines Day and was the complete opposite. My table was still waiting for our food, while the restaurant was closed, cleaners were vacuuming around our table and trying to clean what they could until we were still waiting for the rest of our food to be prepared,I was unable to dine in and eat because the restaurant was closed and most of my food was cold because the chef took so long preparing my choice of meat, funny but we received our appetizers last. Very disappointed in my overall experience!!! Oh yea I was seated 20 mins after my reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was exceptionally good! Everything melted right in your mouth. I wouldn't want any other hibachi after eating at this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Me and partner loved it!! The food is delicious and we had a great time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent except for reception area not professional people at all

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 10, 2018

Our daughter had a fun birthday dinner. Good food and entertaining presentation.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 8, 2018

2 yr Anniversary was a success thanks to our chef Anthony. Im a Chef myself and his culinary skills are A1. Restaurant was clean and staff was courteous. We'll be back and requesting him. Thank again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2018

The person who checks you in when you have a reservation wasn’t very friendly. When I arrived all of my party hadn’t arrived yet. She said: I would have to wait until everyone arrived and I couldn’t be seated beforehand.
Food was okay. The soup we received wasn’t hot. More room temperature. The alcohol beverage I ordered was watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2018

I just wish there was a better way of making the customer have a more quieter table talk to themselves but I'm starting not to like having more people show up at the table being late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on February 6, 2018

The food was great. Chef at my table didn’t use too much butter, which I dislike. The filet mignon was so juicy and tender. I highly recommend any meat with shrimp dish. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2018

It's very gimmicky - wonderful for a kid's birthday party or celebrating a special occasion with family or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2018

My mother was surprised by friends and family for her 91 birthday celebration. We had a great time. The food was delicious and service was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Great place, our table side cook chef was very entertaining. The food is and was amazing.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Took my 3 year old daughter there for her birthday dinner. It was a great fun for the family, especially my 5 year son old, who ate everything in sight.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2018

What happened? The food was AWFUL! PLEASE tell me when did Japanese start putting chicken in the fried rice? I ate the food because I hadn't eaten since that morning. The food at Kobi and other Japanese resturants such as this are MUCH better. I am extremely disappointed...$90.62 wasted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2018

This is definitely a place for kids’ birthdays, just be aware. The noise is shouting level, but the chefs are fun & the food is tasty. I was disappointed that I never did actually get a clean sake glass - the first had a lipstick mark on it (I honestly gagged at that), then the second was equally dirty, but at least it didn’t have a pair of lips obvious. I ordered a bottle of alcohol after that, I didn’t trust the dish washing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Great experience. Only downside is that they were out of Japanese draft beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2018

I always enjoy going to Benihana for my birthday for the amazing value, food, service, and theatrics of Japanese influenced Hibachi preparation and cooking of delicious food.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Great service but the waiting room is too small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We waited forever for our table even with a reservation

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2018

The teppan cook was good. The service was horrible. We received our soup and salad after the main course was served. The server did not refill any drink for the entire table. The restrooms were disgusting. I’ve been to many Benihana restaurants nationwide. This one was the worst by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The staff was rude and the service was terrible. It was definitely the worst hibachi experience I've ever had. The chef barely did any tricks. The hostesses were extremely rude. Our waiter kept forgetting our order (did not bring green tea or ice cream included with meal, even though we asked). Also, I had to ask for water at least 5 different times, and didn't get any until the end of the meal. This experience ruined my birthday. I will not be returning!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2018

There was long wait although we made reservations and it took really long to make the food!

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Too crowded. Food over cooked.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Great Service. Wonderful atmosphere and location.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2018

It was very noisy and not a relaxing environment. A lot of kids running around. I was expecting a classier experience and was disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2018

We go to Benihana every year for my birthday. They send me an awesome coupon and we love the food. Yummy food with table side cooking show!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2018

When we got there, the manager informed us that there 7 group of people waiting ahead of us . It took about an hour to be seated. Fodd was as usual. They gave us 25% discount for not taking reservation properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2018

They were running an hour behind on reservation times causing us to have to wait and the restaurant was so cold that everyone was sitting with their warm coats on. The food and service were good (once we were seated) but they really need to get their act together if they'll continue to accept reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was great but this location is having problems with their heating system. It was one of the coldest night's and the entire restaurant was eating info their coats. No heat and it was blowing cold air. I hope they fix this soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had reservation at 14:00 but didn't get our first course (soup) until 14:30 (or a bit later)- the soup was cold (feel like it was sitting out for long time). Our server just screwed up so many things. Not an ideal way to start a new year, especially paying Holiday menu price.
The cooking started around 14:40 - no complaints to the chef, as he did a wonderful job.
The restaurant is extremely cold. Even with cooking right in front of us, all of us at the table kept our coats on.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I visit this establishment at least twice a year, I’m not a resident of the city, I prefer their chicken fried rice over Kobe’s. Anyway, this particular visit was for dinner on NYE. My reservation was at 930pm I arrived late but they still honored my reservation. The host informed us that the dining room was cold this evening but being as though it was NYE and past 10pm other dining options were slim. Food was okay, the lobster was great. However the waitress never came back after the entrees were done so that I could order another round of drinks. I also expected maybe, since everyone dined with their jackets on a nice gesture, like free chicken fried rice, would’ve been a cool compromise. Either way Benihana is always god for a nice evening dinner. I’m sure next time the temperature will be just right!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

40 minute wait beyond reservation time. Table by door on 15 degree night - had to leave coats on while eating. Shrimp tasted very fishy - could not finish. We eat there all the time, but tonight was a real miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We didn’t get to sit down..we waited about 25 kim for our reserved table along with 20 other people who were waiting longer than we were. Ended up leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

new year's eve, the heat didn't seem to be working. however it took a LOT of agitated people at our table for them to address it by offering a 25% discount. they should have acknowledged the problem as soon as we arrived. even staff was bundled up. instead the manager kept telling staff to tell us that the heat was working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The heat was not working -- on New Year's Eve no less! We were freezing during the entire meal. The restaurant was understaffed which meant that it took 15 minutes to get a glass of water and another 15 minutes to get a refill. Also, the hot soup did not come out after the chef had begun preparing the main courses. The family next to us received their appetizers after they completed their meal.
The chef was distracted and not fun for the kids. Also, the kids like the sherbert and we like the green tea ice cream. Guess what? The restaurant was out of both. At 7:00 p.m. We should have expected some of this being New Year's but it was a lousy experience. We won't go back. If 0 stars was a choice above, I would have gone with that. Not cheap, either.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Terrible. Their heat was broken and they still seated us. They failed to tell anyone at check in that the heat inside the restaurant was not working. Such an awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The place was freezing. Many people wore their coats. Granted it was a very cold day outside but that was a bit extreme. The floors were very dirty and the bathrooms gross. Not sure we will come back with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.