About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bethesda / Chevy Chase ›

good for groups (69)
special occasion (55)
kid-friendly (49)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (10)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

The cook was hilarious

Dined 2 days ago

The cook was hilarious

food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently good! A go to for birthday ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Consistently good! A go to for birthday celebrations.

food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible service, no courtesy by the wai ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Terrible service, no courtesy by the waiter. Couldn't eat because the waiter didn't ordered our food to the kitchen. After 1 hour asked me if we want something to eat forgetting that i've already ordered. If you wanna eat sushi in in a calm place, I don't recommend you go there.

food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! H ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! He took a very long time to bring our food, we were sitting in the lounge area and no one else was there. He never brought the crayons for my kids he said he was going to bring. When I asked about them he says , oh we don't have any more. He never bothered to come tell us that. I had to go find him to inquire about our food and the crayons. He was standing talking to the hostess. We ordered our food at approximately 4:20, we didn't get our food until after 5:00!!!! The food was very good, but the service was the worst!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my daughter her for her 20th birthday

Dined on May 13, 2016

I love the energy feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Very Overrated Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special occasion, being a small birthday luncheon. The reservation was placed for 3:30p and we did not start to revieve the main course until roughly around 5:00p. The way each part of the main course was served was spaced out about 15 minutes, so by the time the last part was served, everything else would be cold. Because of this, it was neccesary to order more food than I expected to make up for the cold food I had been waiting to eat. I had heard all positive things about this restaurant but unfortunately this experience did not support what I was hearing. Also, shortly after the bill had been paid and we began to wrap up, the manager came to the table and told our party that we would need to leave, because our seats were needed at the time. This experience at this particular Benihana was not satisfactory. Would not recommend to ANYONE.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall good

Dined on May 8, 2016

We didn't like the fact that we had to share a table with strangers!!!! We had a party of 5 and they had a party of three. We would have enjoyed the experience more if we didn't have strangers sitting with us!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Family lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great value for family dining. We had 8 people--perfect size for the teppanyaki tables. Chef was entertaining, food was good as always and service was solid. Some needless delay getting to our table on the part of the hostesses was the only blemish on an otherwise great outing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't Go!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Chef was lacking in his cooking skills, rice was overcooked, noise was deafening during the week -- lots of kids' sports teams and teenager gatherings and had to ask for things several times, e.g., fork, more water, etc. I recalled the Benihana experience in Los Angeles, California over 15 years ago -- elegant and dignified. This experience was totally opposite!

food4
ambience3
service5

Our waiter was really nice.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our waiter was really nice.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not a good experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was terrible, food was unseasoned and had no taste. Will never go back. Came for my birthday celebration with my family. Also out waiter told us they have no tofu at all so the vegetarians had to get a bland noodle dish and the waiter forgot to add the extra veggies. Worthless meal.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress and Chef were great!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Thanks - made our birthdays special. Waitress and Chef were great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun Yet Weird

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good but I've had better in terms of hibachi. The people were nice though and it was a fun dinner. We felt very special at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food cooked right before your eyes by a very skilled and entertaining chef.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Benihana ok, but gone is its glory days

Dined on April 19, 2016

I took my BF there for his birthday; he loves the theatrics of the chef, food freshness and watching its preparation. The chef wasn't very entertaining, the food was ok, but not as goods as it had been on previous visits...iiwas mediocre for sure. Price was ok, we had a coupon. would come back but not as a place for celebrating, just for the food. Also, too many kids running around; noise was a bit distracting...

food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening and great food. Energy lev ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great evening and great food. Energy level was high and had a great chef, Mauro.

food2
ambience3
service2

Food all tasted the same. Nothing specia ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food all tasted the same. Nothing special

food2
ambience1
service1

They do not carry yum yum sauce...not go ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

They do not carry yum yum sauce...not good

food4
ambience3
service4

Always a good time & good food at Beniha ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Always a good time & good food at Benihana

food4
ambience4
service5

Fun experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

Fun experience

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is always delicious ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The food and service is always delicious. My top chef is Cesar but if he isn't available, ask for Sergio.

food2
ambience4
service5

Great service but no yum yum sauce anymo ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great service but no yum yum sauce anymore

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was ok

Dined on March 18, 2016

I wavered on putting "no" that I would not recommend that a friend go to Benihana in Bethesda because the hostesses were not very good and the atmosphere has changed immensely since I was last there in 2014. It's more of a club in the bar area. I had reservations and we were sat nearly 30 minutes after our reservations. I was a bit perturbed by that. The food was the typical Benihana fare so I was pleased however there were some slight bumps in our overall service.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Frozen, watery sashimi

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

It was entertaining to go to Benihana for the hibachi experience but the food quality I received for my sashimi entree was poor. The octopus cuts looked and tasted frozen, and left thawed water on my plate, which was unappetizing. I called the waitress, who only visited the table sparingly, to return the plate after one sad bite. They stilled charged me for the soup and salad I ate (small portions for $7). I could only shake my head...

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Like beni alot

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Benihana always delivers for our kids. Very entertaining and the chefs are fun

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Entertaining

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Great hibachi chef who interacted with the table and kept us entertained. Unfortunately, to no fault of the restaurant, the atmosphere is that of eating on an elementary school playground with the child to adult ratio always seeming to be about 5 to 1.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

The quality, food portions, and service ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

The quality, food portions, and service from Benihana has fallen to horrible levels. I will not be returning to them again. Unless you want super small cubes of overpriced meat, don't go there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

The Terryiaki Steak was excellent. Our ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The Terryiaki Steak was excellent. Our server and chef was excellent. This was my first time there and I was pleasantly surprised. Will definitely be going back.

food3
ambience2
service4

Way too cold they need to crank up the h ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Way too cold they need to crank up the heat

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Experience, Especially For Kids

Dined on February 25, 2016

My son has discovered Japanese food so I thought he would enjoy the show and the food at Benihana. He invited a friend and the two ten year olds were not disappointed! They enjoyed the chef's skills and especially liked the onion volcano and the flipping of the shrimp tails into the hat. I was disappointed that the first two beers I had ordered from there menu were out of stock but that was really the only glitch in what was a very nice. The food was good and the atmosphere fun so I would highly recommend it for a special occasion such as a birthday or just a different type of evening out, especially for kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

In and out - felt like a burden

Dined on February 24, 2016

I have been going to Benihanas across the world for special occasions and this was by far the worst experience I have had. It felt like we were a burden to them rather than a customer. We were asked to sit earlier than our reservation although we requested time to sit and have a drink at the bar. We were asked for our order less than 30 seconds after sitting at the table. We got our soup and salads before we received our drink order. The portion sizes were much smaller than any other visit i have had at other Benihanas ( I have never left another location hungry). They server brought to go boxes before the meal was done being served. The check was brought before we finished eating or received our desert. The table was fully cleared and being wiped down before we had finished our drinks. To be in and out the door in less than 90 minutes is ridiculous, especially when we were celebrating my wives 30th birthday. Very disappointing experience and we will not be returning or recommending to anyone.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Birthday Place!!!

Dined on February 23, 2016

I go to Benihana every year on my birthday, and they never disappoint. This year I went with three work friends, and we all had a great time! The food was outstanding, as always, and I so appreciate their very generous birthday voucher ($30). I recommend a Benihana birthday to all my friends and really enjoy going back every year. Sergio was our chef, and he was wonderful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Was great had a wonderful night with my ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Was great had a wonderful night with my family

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Need to experience

Dined on February 22, 2016

I have been going to Benihana for years. I love that they have not changed the flavors I love. However, I really can only go on special occasions because of the price. We have a family of five and with the $30 birthday certificate, no alcohol, we still spent about $100. We did notice new dishware which ended up with smaller portions of rice, soup, and salad, as well. You can do the math. Love the "show" and the food though!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was tasty and the service was e ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was tasty and the service was excellent

food4
ambience3
service4

Food was great and the chef was very per ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was great and the chef was very personable because we seated alone. By far the best experience I've had here all the times we have visited Benihana.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Japanese food made with prodigious GARLIC BUTTER?!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Does that sound correct to you? I hadn't been to a Benihana since I was a child, so this might as well have been a first visit. The hot food, prepared by Hispanic cooks (not Japanese "chefs" -make of that what you will-) cannot possibly be authentic. They put garlic butter on everything. The rice, the meat, the seafood, the veggies. I sure wouldn't call the flavors subtle. The seafood was low-moderate quality and at least in the case of our party of 10, they overcooked all of it. Scallops included...boohoo. They served us some fillet of fish that looked like a compressed block of perhaps pollock?, not sure what it was. A fresh fillet of fish it was not. I can assure you of that. If you're a foodie, don't waste your time here. Its all a big gimmick based on a chef cooking in front of you on griddle. A Hispanic cook that in our case spoke unintelligible English. Luckily most of us at the table spoke Spanish. Hilarious. And if Trump scares them all back across the border who is going to cook at Benihana?!??!? This is not Japanese food. Period.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

This location isn't that great

Dined on February 20, 2016

When we first arrived, there was nobody manning the front desk. We were early so we went to the bar. The bartender refused to serve my sister because she had an out of town license. He wouldn't even look at it to see she was 21, so we all decided we wouldn't patronize the bar. Once we were seated, the waitress was hard to understand and was slow with our drinks. The food was decent, but they no longer serve the yummy yummy sauce. The atmosphere was dated; I've an aversion to buildings without windows. The staff needs to learn better English and the hospitality overall needs major improvement.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

Lots of fun for the kids. The staff was ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Lots of fun for the kids. The staff was very attentive and friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.