Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (23)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Family Style (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We love celebrating at Benihanas. Always good food and good company.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Good service but very slow cooking. Sat down at 1230. Ordered a few minutes later. Got hibachi steak served at 2pm. One of two families there at that time so not crowded when we arrived. In past was done in under an hour. This time took 2 hours.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

It's been years since I've been to a Japanese steak house and decades since I've been to a Benihana. This was much as I remembered it - good service, good chef, fun "show." What I loved was their ability and willingness to accommodate two food allergies within our party - one to shellfish and one to gluten. They cooked the items for these guests before contaminants touched the hibachi. What I missed is how I remember the food tasting and the portions. While it was good and I enjoyed my meal, I have this memory of Benihana, specifically, having food I would crave and be unable to find or replicate any other way. Perhaps I've become a snobbish foodie. Perhaps I've acquired the requisite skills to cook delicious food at home. Perhaps it was always more about the special events which brought me to Benihana that made the food seem so spectacular. Either way, the nostalgia has worn a bit and while still good it's just not what I remembered.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to benihana my whole life-one of my all time favorites. This visit was disappointing. My white rice never arrived and the chef didn't cut our food small enough so we had to cut it ourselves which is difficult considering they don't give you a knife. Also it was my daughters birthday and normally they take a family picture, but not this time

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lights were not properly positioned at the grill across from us and our table was blinded. We were sitting with a family with young children and although I have my own and don't mind, had I been anyone else there would have been complaints as the kid was almost laying on me and I'm just surprised that the restaurant, knowing it's community seating, doesn't ask the parents to flank their children so as to avoid children potentially ruining others' dining experience.

Otherwise, the food is delicious and the service is outstanding. I accidentally sloshed one of my sauces (into my food, so I hadn't lost it), and the chef immediately asked if I wanted it refilled, while he was cooking the food! You usually don't get that kind of attentive service at typical dining establishments.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Took over 35 minutes to get seated even though we had a reservation. Service was really bad. Servers looked overwhelmed. Would not go there again.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

despite our reservation, we had to wait 35 minutes to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My son loves benihana. He would give it 4 stars all around but the service was slow this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Birthday. Staff very friendly and attentive. Great environment for the family including kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Had a great experience!! My chef was wonderful! The restaurant is very nic & welcoming!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's the kind of place you go to for the table-side entertainment, not so much for amazing food, it's not. This is the first time I have been in years and went with a group for a birthday celebration. It seems the table-side entertainers/chefs vary quite a bit in their skill level and I noticed those at other tables doing things our chef did not attempt. Our chef was a bit on the boring side, though he clearly was trying. Maybe he's new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and service were great. I was very impressed with the hibachi and sushi.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Went w family and friends. It was entertaining for the children but the the food was ok and the ambience was old and old mantained, and doesnt feel so clean.
But it was ok for the price we paid. General was a good experience.
The kids loved it though!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I LOVEEEEEEEEEEE Benihanas but this time the experience wasn't like it normally was. The chef was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow, boring and overcook most of our food. The portions were alot less than what we normally get. On top of that, there was barely any entertainment during the cooking process which is definately not the norm. I tried to help the chef out and even let him know that he needed to pep his step and add a little more flavor and at least act like his job but he did not budge. If this was the apollo, the chef would've been bood off the stage and I am not joking. The food was bland, the rice was semi hard and had no taste and it literally took an hour to cook for 3 people. It was so slow I thought it was part of the act but then realized this was really happening and it was getting worst by the minute. Luckily, the place wasn't packed because I know other people would've felt the same and it would've felt worst. I laughed because it was unbelievable that a chef was trained and put on the floor with this kind of result. I go to habachi biweekly and this by far was the worst and with Benihanas having a good name it sure made the company look bad which I hope it isn't a regular thing. I have came to this location a year ago and years before that and I always had an amazing experience but this time was the complete opposite. What made it more disappointing was the fact that we spent close to $200 and left unhappy and hungry because food wasn't to its expectation at all. I hope this place gets it together because it cost too much to leave unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Although a little too noisy for my taste, the food & fun at the table made up for it.
Our personal chef, Sherween, was excellent.
They didn't get one dish out until the table had almost finished but removed the cost of the Sushi plate because of the delay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was cooked to perfection. the Chef was very show professional with his technique of Japanese cooking. Service was fast. Just an all around wonderful dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Definitely not a 'class act.' There are three people behind the desk where they check you in and not one of them made any attempt to be welcoming. They leave you standing awkwardly on line, waiting for a table well past the reservation time, whereas they should at least suggest having a drink in their bar. The woman who seated us called our name into the bar and, when we identified ourselves still standing in line, she rolled her eyes (!) and very ungraciously led us to our table without a word or even a smile. The waitstaff did not get our order right and some of our meal was served to another diner at the table, who immediately started eating it. Awkward. Once a waitress was within calling distance, about a 15 minute wait, she apologized and went to rectify their mistake but the meal was almost over before mine was complete. They did not refill our water until they brought us the check. The food was well-prepared by the chef but the portions have noticeably decreased. The griddle was grungy around the edges and the noise level was chaotic. It seems to be a free-for-all with regard to children's activities, so definitely a better place to visit when you have unruly kids in tow. Otherwise, I do not recommend going here.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was very disappointed, drove quite a distance and was always very impressive . It was not really crowded for fathers day . However wait staff was slow, unresponsive, fortgetful . Food was extremely salty. To the steak being inedible . Very small portions of food . And the chef was not entertaining at all. Just a very dull dinner ☹️

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The waiter waste hot soup all over my back and my boyfriends back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. Gomez and Novell were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was the worst hibachi experience ever.
My boyfriend and I love hibachi restaurants we go at least once a month.
We've been wanting to try Benihana for years now but it is not as close as the other hibachi restaurants are to our home. We live in Oxon Hill, Maryland.
So Since my boyfriend gotten a promotion at work I thought it was a great idea to celebrate and surprise him with Benihana.
When we got there around 8:50 I told the host I had reservations for 2 for 9pm.
We didn't get seated until 9:20pm.
No one came to take our drink orders until about 9:40 once the table was full.
The water came out first the drinks took 10-15 minutes to arrive. I only ordered a Pepsi.
The entire table had to constantly ask for refills. Upon ordering our meals my boyfriend asked for extra rice. He never received the rice and when we asked the waiter he stated that the kitchen has closed for the night. The food was okay the portions was really small compared to other hibachi spots like (sakura, sumo, and fuji mountatin) The best thing at this restaurant was the ice cream served at the end ( we had to ask for that as well when the waiter was passing out the check) the waiter was not the best. Benihana did not live up to its name for me I don't think I will ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation and we did not get seated until almost 8:30! And the hosts seemed totally indifferent to the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Everything was great we come a lot for holidays. But just right all the time

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Despite having 5:30 reservations, we had to sit around for 30 minutes at our table before our server would take our order. There were only 3 people in our party so they wanted to wait to see if another party or two would walk into the restaurant to fill our table. While I can appreciate their desire to consolidate seatings at the hibachi stations, reservations should be honored. Our dinner should not have been delayed for the potential of walk-in diners especially since the restaurant never gave us forewarning that waiting as long as we did to even place our order was a possibility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great service. Delicious food with fresh ingredients. I was celebrating my my birthday and loved the souvenir photo that was given to take hone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were given our salads and, prior to being able to get the chopsticks out of the wrapper, we received our soups. A little too fast and felt hurried with the second course.
For dessert we were offered a variety of ice creams. We ordered the green tea ice cream (which is one of the attractions to this restaurant). After going to the kitchen, the server returned saying that they didn't have any.
The people working there were very nice and friendly, but timing of courses and knowledge of inventory were lacking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was our daughter's birthday - weeknight - birthday never recognized (despite writing it into Open Table) until the bitter end when we asked about it - pathetically a person who was clearing tables sang with us... asked what kind of ice cream - got her psyched for a special flavor - waited 10 min and only had vanilla. Slowest service at the end... and we were CRAMMED at our table with one person too many at the other group. I didnt raise a fuss b/c I didnt want to tarnish her birthday memory but I don't think we'll be back again anytime soon...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Went this past week for my wife's birthday (with our birthday coupon, which, if you don't know about: you sign up for their emails/membership whatever online and then on your birthday month-ish you get a $30 off coupon). We were promptly seated and then waited for more people to join our table before the show began. We ordered the frozen smoothies and the passion fruit strawberry one was especially great. The food and show are wonderful. The chicken fried rice and dipping sauces are delicious. The personality and skill of our chef Martinez were both clearly evident. The onion choo choo train especially is great with accompanying flickering lights and everything. Because it was my wife's birthday as well as someone in the other party at our table, they had the birthday boy/girl get up and dance while the servers sang to them. If you're up for a meal out with something a little extra, Benihana is the place to go for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I spent 327.60 including tip and couldnt even get them to sing happy birthday to my wife. The bartender was not interactive or approachable just a waste of my time and money. I will never recommend this location nor will i be spending my money there EVER again. I should have went to ruth chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great had a blast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was delicious as always. However, the guy that was sitting at the front desk was horrible. He was very rude. I'm upset that I didn't get his name to write management.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The chef didn't disappoint but the restaurant seemed a bit old and tired and could use a good scrub.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have been going to Benihana in Bethesda for the last several years, and unfortunately
what used to always be delicious food and great entertainment by the table side Chef has
gone slowly down hill in quality on many levels. Not only did our chef look as though he had a "few drinks" before he started cooking; but his white jacket was incredibly stained with food from either an earlier cooking experience or when he had his drinks he also spilled his lunch all over himself. The restaurant itself looked dirty and old and our waiter appeared as though he had too many people to wait on, he was extremely forgetful (we had to remind him several times for things) and just displayed the overall "I don't want to work here" look. Lots of kids....with shoes off (not sure why)..and just ....not a great experience. My hope is that they get their act together. In the "old days" it was really tasty and a fun place to go with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved out chef. Made Mother' Day very fun for my family and I.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waiter constantly messed up our order and didn't bring a drink to one member of the party until the meal was almost over. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere is lively and it is an exciting experience for kids. That said, the bathrooms and restaurant need a deep cleaning. The pre-dinner soup was very greasy (instead of light) and the chef, while very pleasant, needed a bit more training. Overall, the experience was ok. I would return because my child was excited to see the food cooking in front of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day so service wasn't great. Our sever seemed to be overwhelmed and forgot about my table. We waited a long time for our checks and had to ask another server to give us boxes. By the time he came back we didn't even want our desserts that came with our meals. Overall I've have better hibachi experiences at other establishments.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good atmosphere an experience we'll have fun especially if you have kids

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

WE WERE SURPRISED WHEN WE FOUND THE MENU TO BE A "HOLIDAY" ONE. BUT ONCE WE GOT PAST THAT, WE HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME. THE PRICES WERE A BIT HIGHER ON THE HOLIDAY MENU ALSO. MOST WERE COMBINATION MEALS. THE CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM WAS OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was completely disappointed by my visit. I have been a frequent diner at this establishment for years. So, I thought that celebrating my completion of graduate school should only be done here. Boy was I incorrect . Not only were we seated 40 minutes after our scheduled reservation time we were unable to sit together because as we were told another party would not leave. Additionally, our cook kept forgetting everyone's order although he had a ticket right in front of him. He then became confrontational when we expressed the errors he was making. My food was subpar and I didn't fully enjoy myself. Unfortunately, I do not see myself ever visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.