About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Sushi - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Trio - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Trick - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Salmon Lunch Boat - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (27)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Family Style (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fun (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made this reservation for my wife and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

We made this reservation for my wife and daughter's birthday. I made sure to express that in the comment section of the reservation and when we arrived at the restaurant. The dinner was going as expected, until the chef began to cook the food. The chef literally peppered my wife's steak. So much so, that the pepper overwhelmed the flavor of the steak. We asked to speak to a manager who stated that he would have another prepared immediately and sent right over. This is crucial because by now everyone else was eating dinner. 30 minutes later, my wife got up to ask the manager about the steak, that hadn't been delivered yet, because we were having our food boxes to go by then. The manager went to another table and said I have t right here! My wife then explained that we were done eating, and he could just take the steak off of her meal. She was very disappointed, as this was her choice of restaurant for her birthday, and I was upset because she was upset. The manager did bring her a meal to go, but by then the damage was done. I'm not sure if we will frequent this restaurant again. Very disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

It's always a good time when we go to Be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

It's always a good time when we go to Benihana. Portions are plentiful and the chef is always entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ian our waiter was fantastic. Our chef w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Ian our waiter was fantastic. Our chef was also lively and paid attention to our specific dietary details. The service at the front desk/host however were not as welcoming as I would expect. Arrived at 8:30 with 5 out of my party of 6 and were told needed to wait for the entire party to arrive. 5 mins later the last person of the party of 6 showed up and we waited another 30 mins before we finally sat down. Had to keep checking with them to see if our table was ready. The service at the front desk almost ruined what finally turned out to be a great night out

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my anniversary and I thought it w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was my anniversary and I thought it would be just the 2 of us at the table to enjoy one another I wouldn't recommend this for a anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

HORRIBLE service. The table next to us ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

HORRIBLE service. The table next to us was seated well after us, ordered after us, and got their drinks and first course before us. And we had kids!! Hibachi chef was very lame. THEY DIDN'T BUS THE TABLE AT ALL DURING OUR MEAL! I had to stop someone to ask them to take the many dirty dishes away before they brought dessert. The server looked at me like it never even occurred to him that we might not want three courses of dishes there when we ate dessert. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great place! We usually come here for sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place! We usually come here for special occasions and always satisfied!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shiroto is such a great cook please give ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Shiroto is such a great cook please give him a raise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been regulars at this Benihana b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We have been regulars at this Benihana but are now rethinking our frequency to this establishment. We were there to celebrate my twins' Birthday. Waitress rushed us, didn't ask if we wanted dessert - just brought the kids rainbow sherbet (didn't offer vanilla or chocolate options, as they usually do), and my son wasn't even asked what he wanted for dinner (waitress walked away and I had to check in with her to order for my son). We weren't done eating dinner and they brought dessert, took a pic, and gave us the check. I've never felt so rushed. I know it was a busy night there, but this was horrible business practice.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Fun time at Benihana with Chef Sergio. G ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fun time at Benihana with Chef Sergio. Great cook and entertainer

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I had a reservation on a Sunday night in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I had a reservation on a Sunday night in November to celebrate birthdays. The restaurant was packed! The chefs never fail to entertain. I don't know who had more fun, my three year old grandson or ninety four year old father in law. Our group of ten had a great time. The food is always reliable.

The hostess could be more attentive. Once my father in law arrived, we asked if he could be seated instead of standing in the foyer, they really did not care or pay much attention to our request. The tables are tight for a group of ten.

The birthday boy (who turned 25), really enjoyed going back to the place he celebrated many childhood birthdays.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My Husband and I brought our daughter to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My Husband and I brought our daughter to Benihana for her sixteen birthday.

It was the first time for all of us coming to the restaurant and it was a pleasant surprise

we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent for lunch- the lunch boat is o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent for lunch- the lunch boat is of great price value for lunch in Bethesda. Fast, efficient and inexpensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated my birthday last week and dec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Celebrated my birthday last week and decided on dinner here. The drinks were amazing!! I highly recommend Haiku Colada!! Definitely see myself coming back for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, nice noise level, and funny ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food, nice noise level, and funny chef! Food was great and the staff were nice about getting me additional condiments-which I appreciated. Overall, I had a great time and will likely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were craving the fried rice with garl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were craving the fried rice with garlic butter and Benihana definitely hit the spot! We took our 5 month old baby and the hostess gave us a car seat holder!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I have been going to Benih ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My family and I have been going to Benihana for years. This is the first time that we had a subpar experience. The food was bland, my salmon over cooked, the waiter was slow and absent and the chef did not engage with the kids. All in all a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

The age old question of where do you wan ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The age old question of where do you want to eat is never a problem when it comes down to Benihana. The dining experience is a special one when considering the needs of a family of five. We go for birthdays and on this occasion we were celebrating mine and my son's. This experience was better than the last time we were there due to our chef Jose. Our server Marcus was quick and efficient and hit on everything that makes the whole dining experience fun for us. Any meal where the kids can feed for themselves is a success and this evening was a fun example for everyone involved. Special thanks to Benihana for sending out the birthday voucher!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice atmosphere,nice food show,good food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice atmosphere,nice food show,good food,above expectations,nice place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Classic Benihana experience. Very busy o ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Classic Benihana experience. Very busy on a weekend but could seat us quickly with our reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and Sergio gave a g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food was amazing and Sergio gave a great presentation. It was only four people and he still gave it his all. Such a great time. The only negative is they allowed the pork to be undercooked if wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Show was fun. The food tasty. The sa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The Show was fun. The food tasty. The sauces delicious. The desert selection limited, but tasty.

No coffee. The afternoon venue was a good choice for a business lunch.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening with my grandchildren. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great evening with my grandchildren. They enjoyed the antics ofvthev chef and loved the food. Really good family restaurants.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My kids loved Benihana and the chef, Jos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My kids loved Benihana and the chef, Jose Martinez, made the experience so fun and enjoyable!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Was disappointed with the quantity of th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Was disappointed with the quantity of the food. Shrimp was over cooked.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is not my first time at Benihana's. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This is not my first time at Benihana's. I am a regular at my home town location. When there is an opportunity to bring the whole family together for a great meal and a great experience we come here.

This location has not been updated like some of the others. It could use a more modern feel. The age of everything was very apparent. This worn out appearance cost it one star.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining experience was great! The first t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dining experience was great! The first time we went in Vegas 5 months ago and we enjoyed it also. Would recommend this spot in a minute and will definitely be returning!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I guess it may not be fair to compare th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I guess it may not be fair to compare this restaurant to say Like Kobes...but yeah, I did and was highly disappointed. The food just wasn't as good as I was expecting it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Always a fun family outing at Benihana - ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Always a fun family outing at Benihana - especially for Birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was OK but the bar tender was v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was OK but the bar tender was very slow. Only one bar tender for the whole restaurant. Also the shrimp had shells in it. The chef was good but lots of shrimp had shells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinner and had an amazing time. The food was great and so was the atmosphere very nice and quiet

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very tasty and everyone enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food is very tasty and everyone enjoys the hibachi grill with your food being cooked right in front of you. Because of how expensive it is, with children, it is very expensive and we only go for a special occasion. If the entrees were more affordable we would surely visit more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Despite making a reservation at 8 o'cloc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Despite making a reservation at 8 o'clock we were finally seated at 8:30pm. Our server was incredibly slow, and a table that sat down after us was getting faster service. After we complained, Benihana took off 20% of the bill. We did not start eating until after 9 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The concept is great watching food being ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The concept is great watching food being prepared in front of you but it would help if the food at least was seasoned. It was very bland and the service is just interested in turning the tables really quickly as opposed to giving you excellent service. I seriously doubt I would return to a Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food and a lot of fun! Always a go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and a lot of fun! Always a good meal here!

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef and waiter. Both outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Chef and waiter. Both outstanding. Disappointed that because I booked open table through your site I don't get open table points. Also, I never got my birthday meal back in June and no one ever took care of it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time to this location ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is our second time to this location and the food is consistently good. The service this most recent time was terrible. We had the first two courses of our meal...the soup and then the salad...and we still had nothing to drink! An hour after we were seated they still had not started cooking. Thank goodness the food was great or it would have been a huge waste of money rather than just an embarrassment to the guests we had brought.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

In general disappointed, especially comp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

In general disappointed, especially compared to the Hibachi restaurant that used to be in Georgetown Park

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

If the waiters take their time and get t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

If the waiters take their time and get the orders right, also concentrate on taking the order right would be best for the restaurant customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We had lots of fun. We took our 5 year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had lots of fun. We took our 5 year old granddaughter for her birthday. She loved it. The chef spent some time entertaining her with the flaming volcano and made a beating heart out of fried rice. Speaking of the fried, wow, delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went with my two kids (6 and 4) and w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We went with my two kids (6 and 4) and we had a great time and fun, kids loved the show that chef gave us and the food was great for the entire family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.