About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon Lunch Boat
  • Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms
Salmon Lunch Boat
Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (58)
special occasion (51)
kid-friendly (44)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
great for lunch (16)
romantic (10)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was over cooked and service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was over cooked and service was bad no refill

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

I went to a Benihana years ago in anothe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to a Benihana years ago in another city and it was great. This is not. For one, when I go to a Japanese restaurant, I expect to see Japanese chefs.

The food was bland and not worth the money.

I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great for the kids. Our little guys love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great for the kids. Our little guys love the chefs! Food is ok. Entertainment is better

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fabulous delicious freshly made food rig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous delicious freshly made food right in front of you! Always a lot of fun, especially for special occasions. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE BENNYS ! FOOD IS ALWAYS GREAT LOVE ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

LOVE BENNYS ! FOOD IS ALWAYS GREAT LOVE THE COOKS .!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was inexperienced and very slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our chef was inexperienced and very slow. Consequently out food was over cooked and was very heavy on oil and spicing. Drink service was slow but friendly. Not a well run operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server was not the best. He was obvi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server was not the best. He was obviously young and new. He didn't know what beer was on draft and we had to actually ask him to go find out - because he didn't seem to care.

He clearly took down some orders wrong, because the hibachi chef had to make some corrections/adjustments to the notes. Then at the end of dinner, the server came over and offered ice cream to me for my birthday - but actually almost everyone at the table had ordered a meal that came with ice cream.

Then afterward, he basically asked for a review and it felt very much like he was trying to rationalize/instruct us to tip.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My Lady totally enjoyed her birthday din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My Lady totally enjoyed her birthday dinner. The server was the best! looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the live cooking. Unfortunately, w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love the live cooking. Unfortunately, we had reservation for 6pm, but didn't sit until 6:30. And we had a rookie cook - literally his first time so he many "bobbles" and miscues with the food (dropped chicken, dropped an egg, dropped the knives while some twirling them. And wasn't very lively or entertaining. For a pretty $$$$ meal, you should get a more seasoned cook. Also we had to ask multiple times for things like water refills.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Overall everything went good but the bat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall everything went good but the bathrooms are so filthy I couldn't stand the smell of the bathroom there was toliet paper all over the floor

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

My guests had a great time I thought t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My guests had a great time I thought the chicken was overcooked (dry). Beef was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was bland. The chef made a lot ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was bland. The chef made a lot of noise with seasonings but the shakers must be empty. Also, the chef was not as energetic as others. he knew the script but the energy level was not there. I was disappointed. Have had better food and entertainment during past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I felt rushed while eating dinner. The w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I felt rushed while eating dinner. The waiter returned several times to collect money for the bill.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The service was very slow. Despite our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was very slow. Despite our reservation, we had to wait past our allotted time. Once seated, the time to order and receive first parts of dinner were way too long. The food was good, but pretty pricey. Certainly not a "goto" place, but ok for once in a while.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

My family and I decided to try Benihana ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I decided to try Benihana instead of our usual habichi restaurant. We were first struck by the fact that none of the staff was Japanese; in fact, our chef was actually Hispanic. Not that this would affect his ability to cook... it was just odd. Our chef was only slightly engaging and was not overly entertaining. The food was a bit disappointing, as it was bland and tasteless. We are glad we tried Benihana, but will stick to our old favorite standby the next time we want to eat at a Japanese Steakhouse.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were seated by ourselves and nobody c ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were seated by ourselves and nobody came to help us or ask if we wanted anything for 20 minutes. When we stopped a waitress and asked her for water, she ignored us and kept serving her own tables. Finally we had to ask a bus boy for water and he in turn found us a waitress to help us.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I like it. Nothing unexpected or unpleas ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I like it. Nothing unexpected or unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We we the first people seated at our tab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We we the first people seated at our table. The cook did not even arrive until much later, after the table was full and then he ended up preparing our food and serving us last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great fun for 3 generations of our famil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great fun for 3 generations of our family down to a two year old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The chef was outstanding. Great personal ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The chef was outstanding. Great personality and skill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This is one of the worst Benihana locati ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is one of the worst Benihana locations. Very unauthentic experience. Try have really gone downhill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Yummy!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had a blast... I enjoy the food every time I have been there. Yummy food!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. When I've gone in the pa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was good. When I've gone in the past I remember it tasting better. Service was ok. The guy preparing our meal was entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was a little slow. Despite reser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a little slow. Despite reservation it took 30 minutes for us to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The cook was hilarious

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The cook was hilarious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistently good! A go to for birthday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Consistently good! A go to for birthday celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Terrible service, no courtesy by the wai ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Terrible service, no courtesy by the waiter.

Couldn't eat because the waiter didn't ordered our food to the kitchen. After 1 hour asked me if we want something to eat forgetting that i've already ordered.

If you wanna eat sushi in in a calm place, I don't recommend you go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! H ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! He took a very long time to bring our food, we were sitting in the lounge area and no one else was there. He never brought the crayons for my kids he said he was going to bring. When I asked about them he says , oh we don't have any more. He never bothered to come tell us that. I had to go find him to inquire about our food and the crayons. He was standing talking to the hostess. We ordered our food at approximately 4:20, we didn't get our food until after 5:00!!!! The food was very good, but the service was the worst!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Took my daughter her for her 20th birthday

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I love the energy feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Overrated Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special occasion, being a small birthday luncheon. The reservation was placed for 3:30p and we did not start to revieve the main course until roughly around 5:00p. The way each part of the main course was served was spaced out about 15 minutes, so by the time the last part was served, everything else would be cold. Because of this, it was neccesary to order more food than I expected to make up for the cold food I had been waiting to eat. I had heard all positive things about this restaurant but unfortunately this experience did not support what I was hearing. Also, shortly after the bill had been paid and we began to wrap up, the manager came to the table and told our party that we would need to leave, because our seats were needed at the time. This experience at this particular Benihana was not satisfactory. Would not recommend to ANYONE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Overall good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We didn't like the fact that we had to share a table with strangers!!!! We had a party of 5 and they had a party of three. We would have enjoyed the experience more if we didn't have strangers sitting with us!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Family lunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great value for family dining. We had 8 people--perfect size for the teppanyaki tables. Chef was entertaining, food was good as always and service was solid. Some needless delay getting to our table on the part of the hostesses was the only blemish on an otherwise great outing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Don't Go!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Chef was lacking in his cooking skills, rice was overcooked, noise was deafening during the week -- lots of kids' sports teams and teenager gatherings and had to ask for things several times, e.g., fork, more water, etc. I recalled the Benihana experience in Los Angeles, California over 15 years ago -- elegant and dignified. This experience was totally opposite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very fun environment !

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Very fun environment !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was really nice.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Our waiter was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Not a good experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was terrible, food was unseasoned and had no taste. Will never go back. Came for my birthday celebration with my family. Also out waiter told us they have no tofu at all so the vegetarians had to get a bland noodle dish and the waiter forgot to add the extra veggies. Worthless meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Waitress and Chef were great!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Thanks - made our birthdays special. Waitress and Chef were great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun Yet Weird

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good but I've had better in terms of hibachi. The people were nice though and it was a fun dinner. We felt very special at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food cooked right before your eyes by a very skilled and entertaining chef.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana ok, but gone is its glory days

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I took my BF there for his birthday; he loves the theatrics of the chef, food freshness and watching its preparation. The chef wasn't very entertaining, the food was ok, but not as goods as it had been on previous visits...iiwas mediocre for sure. Price was ok, we had a coupon. would come back but not as a place for celebrating, just for the food. Also, too many kids running around; noise was a bit distracting...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.