About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Benihana - Bethesda
Salmon Lunch Boat
Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Washington, D.C. Area
Kid Friendly
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bethesda / Chevy Chase ›

Good for Groups (51)
Special Occasion (48)
Kid-friendly (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was OK but the bar tender was v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was OK but the bar tender was very slow. Only one bar tender for the whole restaurant. Also the shrimp had shells in it. The chef was good but lots of shrimp had shells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I went to Benihana for my birthday dinner and had an amazing time. The food was great and so was the atmosphere very nice and quiet

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very tasty and everyone enjo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food is very tasty and everyone enjoys the hibachi grill with your food being cooked right in front of you. Because of how expensive it is, with children, it is very expensive and we only go for a special occasion. If the entrees were more affordable we would surely visit more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Despite making a reservation at 8 o'cloc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Despite making a reservation at 8 o'clock we were finally seated at 8:30pm. Our server was incredibly slow, and a table that sat down after us was getting faster service. After we complained, Benihana took off 20% of the bill. We did not start eating until after 9 PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The concept is great watching food being ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The concept is great watching food being prepared in front of you but it would help if the food at least was seasoned. It was very bland and the service is just interested in turning the tables really quickly as opposed to giving you excellent service. I seriously doubt I would return to a Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food and a lot of fun! Always a go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and a lot of fun! Always a good meal here!

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef and waiter. Both outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Chef and waiter. Both outstanding. Disappointed that because I booked open table through your site I don't get open table points. Also, I never got my birthday meal back in June and no one ever took care of it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second time to this location ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This is our second time to this location and the food is consistently good. The service this most recent time was terrible. We had the first two courses of our meal...the soup and then the salad...and we still had nothing to drink! An hour after we were seated they still had not started cooking. Thank goodness the food was great or it would have been a huge waste of money rather than just an embarrassment to the guests we had brought.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

In general disappointed, especially comp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

In general disappointed, especially compared to the Hibachi restaurant that used to be in Georgetown Park

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

If the waiters take their time and get t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

If the waiters take their time and get the orders right, also concentrate on taking the order right would be best for the restaurant customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We had lots of fun. We took our 5 year ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had lots of fun. We took our 5 year old granddaughter for her birthday. She loved it. The chef spent some time entertaining her with the flaming volcano and made a beating heart out of fried rice. Speaking of the fried, wow, delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went with my two kids (6 and 4) and w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We went with my two kids (6 and 4) and we had a great time and fun, kids loved the show that chef gave us and the food was great for the entire family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the chef's cooking presentation was neat ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

the chef's cooking presentation was neat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was extremely disappointed with my vis ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I was extremely disappointed with my visit. We took a coworker there for her birthday luncheon and the whole experience was not pleasant. The floors of the restaurant were sticky as well as our table area, the wait staff were no where to be found when drinks were needed, some of our food order was forgotten, there was really no flavor to the food at all, we felt rushed out of the restaurant after our meal was completed and we were never asked if we wished to have anything more aka dessert. I am sorry but I won't be recommending this place to dine to others at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We were seated 30 minutes after our rese ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation time and another 30-45 minutes before the cook came to our hibachi station. My kids fell asleep before the meal began!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a great experience at Benihana Be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a great experience at Benihana Bethesda with Cesar as our chef. They were fantastic at handling my son's multiple food allergies!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Do not assume that by making a reservati ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Do not assume that by making a reservation, the restaurant honors it at the given time. We waited for 30 minutes, having had a reservation. It looks like they were understaffed for a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

First time at the restaurant and we were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

First time at the restaurant and we were seated with a Spanish couple. When the cook arrived it was appearant he knew the couple and they began talking in Spanish. He spoke to them the entire time in Spanish and didn't really give a show. He rarely even spoke to make for my family. It made the experience really poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaurant is all about the "knife ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This restaurant is all about the "knife wielding theatre", but the food was surprisingly good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was my first time here and it was ama ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was my first time here and it was amazing.

I really enjoyed the service.

At first I didn't particularly like the fact that we had to sit with other people but it ended up being a great idea.

I would definitely be back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vilma and Xavier are absolutely the best ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Vilma and Xavier are absolutely the best servers there. Mauro the chef is amazing. His food is always delicious. I LOVE Benihana in Bethesda. I try to go as often as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Benihana birthday special is a great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Benihana birthday special is a great perk to make me drive all the way from Virginia ;) Vilma provided great service with a smile and our food was delicious! We look forward to our next visit to Bethesda's Benihana!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They seemed all over the place when I we ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They seemed all over the place when I went which wasn't normal they had a wait because of not enough staff members. They ran out of bags and gave us CVS bags.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The service was great and Mauro the chef ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was great and Mauro the chef was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sergio was amazing. Great job and great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Sergio was amazing. Great job and great service. This was a great time at benihana and their happy hour can't be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual!!! The sushi is so fresh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great as usual!!! The sushi is so fresh !!! I love the four course style of dining and the hibachi style chefs make dinner very entertaining. Look out for onion choo choo trains and many hat tricks! The rocky choice with chicken and steak was sooooo good!!! They're fried rice is packed with flavorful veggies and chicken. Lots of space but separate dining of you need privacy. Overall a great experience for any occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, service was incredib ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good, service was incredibly uneven. The reception could be described as incompetent at best -- I made a group reservation for 6:45pm, we arrived on time, and checked in. Then we had to wait around 30 minutes to be seated. During that time, we saw multiple "walk-in" parties get seated before us, which was very frustrating since we had made a reservation!

Even though we checked in, the hostesses didn't seem to register that our group was there waiting, and they were not very responsive or helpful when we followed up a couple of times to ask when we might be seated.

Once we were seated around 7:15pm, however, the rest of the experience was great. Our waiter and chef were both excellent, as was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Overall, a fun time with family and frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall, a fun time with family and friends. However, very pricey and am unsure if it's worth the cost. Service was okay but we had to ask multiple times for our appetizers and drinks even though they didn't seem busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

This was the first time I had been to Be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was the first time I had been to Benihana as an adult and it was a great experience! The chef was great, the food was delicious and so were the cocktails. The service was quite slow for drinks and sides but I think we just had an inexperienced server who was "in the weeds" so not holding it against them! Highly recommend for a fun, interactive dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Although I made reservations and arrived ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Although I made reservations and arrived 15 minutes early, it took them 45 minutes to seat my party of 5. During this time, there were walk-ins with the same amount of people in my group that got seated first and got a table all to themselves. I thought to myself "Why did I even bother using OpenTable to make a reservation?"

I finally get my table and we are seated with another party of four. I had my toddler who needed a high chair which made the space unbearable for everyone. I moved my daughter's high chair to the middle of the aisle to make sure everyone had space to eat. The drinks were watered down. The bartender disappeared and the servers couldnt find him (that's what they told us) so it took 30 minutes to get new drinks. We ordered a second round that never came but was included on the check. The person that prepared the chef's cart forgot to pack the items he needed to make the appetizers so we had to wait 20 minutes for that.

It took over an hour from the time we were seated to begin making the meal. That was about 45 minutes prior to closing. We didnt leave until well after closing. They gave us (both parties at the table) a measly 25% off our check after all this, and they were reluctant to do that. The manager actually told us (in a condescending tone)when we got our discount that we still need to tip because its not included on the check! Really??!!! I was insulted because I had already given the chef and our server a cash tip for their efforts to try to appease a VERY DISGRUNTLED table due to things that were out of their control.

This place used to have great service and management. I will NEVER eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We were celebrating my belated birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were celebrating my belated birthday with friends from London and service from ordering til paying was poor. Woman that took our order walked away before final two finished placing it without any apology for leaving. New lady came and delivered one of three appetizers because the other two were not communicated to her. Was able to get them shortly afterwards, but proved beginning lady wasn't a communicator go even her own staff. I didn't get the steamed rice I ordered (never served rice after asking bc chef couldn't understand). I ordered spicy hibachi checked with no scallions so the chef assumed I was allergic to scallions and didn't serve me rice at all. After waiting patiently thinking the steamed rice was on its way and chef began cleaning grill I just ended up sharing with friend there. waitress did not check on meal or drinks afterwards either so hardly anything to drink til very end of night as we were wrapping up to leave. Poor service from the beginning to end so rather disappointed as they have this restaurant overseas too and they (London friends) said quality of food good, but big difference in service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Service and quality seems to have really ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service and quality seems to have really fallen off at what used to be a family favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Food quality was horrible for a Benihana ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food quality was horrible for a Benihana's. I have ate at several other locations and never experienced the service I did here. Our food was salty and the staff stood at our table and watched us as though we were going to run out on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was over cooked and service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was over cooked and service was bad no refill

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

I went to a Benihana years ago in anothe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to a Benihana years ago in another city and it was great. This is not. For one, when I go to a Japanese restaurant, I expect to see Japanese chefs.

The food was bland and not worth the money.

I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great for the kids. Our little guys love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great for the kids. Our little guys love the chefs! Food is ok. Entertainment is better

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fabulous delicious freshly made food rig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous delicious freshly made food right in front of you! Always a lot of fun, especially for special occasions. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE BENNYS ! FOOD IS ALWAYS GREAT LOVE ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

LOVE BENNYS ! FOOD IS ALWAYS GREAT LOVE THE COOKS .!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our chef was inexperienced and very slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our chef was inexperienced and very slow. Consequently out food was over cooked and was very heavy on oil and spicing. Drink service was slow but friendly. Not a well run operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our server was not the best. He was obvi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server was not the best. He was obviously young and new. He didn't know what beer was on draft and we had to actually ask him to go find out - because he didn't seem to care.

He clearly took down some orders wrong, because the hibachi chef had to make some corrections/adjustments to the notes. Then at the end of dinner, the server came over and offered ice cream to me for my birthday - but actually almost everyone at the table had ordered a meal that came with ice cream.

Then afterward, he basically asked for a review and it felt very much like he was trying to rationalize/instruct us to tip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.