About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (36)
Fun (35)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Kid-friendly (30)
Family Style (29)
Casual (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
People Watching (11)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I went for an early birthday dinner. We had the whole table to ourselves. Junior, the chef, did a great job of cooking our meal in front of us. A great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived on time for our reservation and waited nearly 45 minutes before being seated. The two managers seemed to be constantly confused and either unable or unwilling to help the patrons. Others were also standing, waiting, and being ignored.

As we left I looked at the floor around and table and it was filled with old foods scraps.

This place needs new management! In that past have enjoyed Benihana and were looking forward to having a great night out with the family. We will not be returning and will not be recommending this place or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is rather tired looking. The dining experience is fun, especially for kids.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was as always great chef had a hard time getting all of the orders correct and had to ask us numerous times. Fork dropped on floor asked for a new one and by the time the fork arrived everyone at the table was finished eating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We heard a lot of good tings about this place so we decided to try it.

Atmosphere is unusual and kind of cool, they cook right in front of you, cook was trying to do some cool tricks, it was interesting.

However, we ordered expensive meal $40 per person, ordered filet mignon as part of the dish, ask multiple times RARE for two orders and medium rare for another. The guy said yes OK every time, but he removed medium rare steak from grill first (and I guess that was done right), then he removed "RARE" steak from the grill, but it was medium at best.

Total bill was more than 50 per person and there was not a lot of food or drinks, there many more places I would go before I choose this place again, and I guess people know that too, on the weekend there were only two or three parties.

Talking about how busy they are reminded me one more thing. We reserve table using open table website about an hour in advance, when we came there were two parties in the whole restaurant, but they told us to wait for 10 -15 min until our reservation time, why? In the 90% empty place, and when we left it was still empty...

I think it has to do with how many people they can put at the one table, and how they want to keep table as full as possible. But that makes you seat with the group of other people at your table. We asked for particular seats at this table and we were told no you have to take the four we gave you. Even though these seats were empty (2 out of three) we were still not allowed to seat in them. We end up with one extra person placed at our table, and they did not asked for permission to seat him.

You know when i come to the restaurant and spend this much money I want to seat with my family and not share the table, I want to have private conversation, and I want to have front row seat watching cook, but i get two of them on the side and cannot change them even if the other two are empty, really?.

That was our first and the last time at this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

I was disappointed with the portions as well as the taste. I expected more from Benihana due to the hype around the name. I frequent Kobes Japanese Steakhouse because of the taste, portion size, and the ambiance. Benihana had great service, but I won't be a return customer.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I Love this restaurant, my food was delicious. I haven't been to Benihana since I lived in Hawaii.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Poor service-very disappointing. Have eaten at Benihana in miramar- much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great for people who needs to get out and spend more quality time with their loved ones and to catch up with friends and family... 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 for me I would rec people to go here

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lunch was a small portion than expected, they didn't serve us the salad that was supposed to come with the meal. And the tables are wayyy to close to the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a really great experience. Our chef Mauro was also and really entertained our children 1,3,6,8. Food was great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Thanks Benihana-Bethesda and staff for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I felt like our service was rushed. Unfortunately I have had better Japanese style food at a less expensive price. It's not worth the money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We always love to go to Benihana. It has become a tradition for the birthdays in my family. This past Saturday we went for my birthday and our chef was terrible. He must have been new, but he could not do any of the special things that usual Benihana chefs usually do. He was not skilled with his knife and could only cut in large pieces, and very slowly. He could not catch items in his hat or his pocket. It was sad to watch him try. He couldn't even catch the shakers and fork that he flipped into the air. Worst of all, it seems he could not read the printout of the table's order, and he was just handing out food to whoever seemed interested. the other family at our table didn't remember their order, and as a result my kids got very little of the steak they ordered. We could not explain this to the chef because he was overwhelmed, slow, and after a while we just wanted to get out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For the price you pay, I was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was bland. The waiter was slow and didn't ask if it was our first time, which it was. The chef wasn't that good and messed up on his 'tricks'. The food was very bland and had no flavor. I left still hungry and had to pay a ridiculous amount of money for food that was not enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Seems like the quality of food is slipping. Been to similar restaurants without the same reputation with far better quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing experience I will return me and my date had a great night and enjoyed every bit of our food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome awesome awesome!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wouderful place great opinions, good drinks kid friendly

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our chef name was Amil and he stated that he was new. However, he fit right in because the food was delicious. I will be requesting Amil is Cesar not working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great, show was great. The chef was entertaining. Our group as a whole had fun!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Too noisy. Impossible to carry a conversation within ourselves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was my first visit to any Benihana and it was amazing. The server was funny and polite. She changed my order with no problem and I got just what I asked for. The chef was a riot and had everyone laughing as we watched him cook our food. The ambiance was perfect and the layout is beautiful. I'm definitely going back and will take friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The birthday boy (10) chose this as his place to go. The chefs are marvelous and make it a lot of fun - taking care of the kids and asking them what they like. You go for the fun and the experience more than the food. The drinks are expensive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good customer service. Very good food I will continue to visit keep up the good work

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

While we had a reservation (and this was for a 12 year olds birthday party, we waited for 30 minutes to be seated. It was incredibly loud including two parties seated next to us with young children and little adult supervision (not the restaurant's fault). Overall, the food was mediocre and the pricetag far too high, especially since we ordered kids' portions.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The servers are always nice. Its like a dining-show. The food is delicious! Very tasty and fresh. It's cooked right in front of you so you can see what is going into your meal. It is a fun, enjoyable and creative way to dine. They are always adding new techniques to make it more interesting. I have been coming to Benihana to eat for several years, it is always excellent. There has never been a time where I am not satisfied. I always try to eat everything on my plate, even if I am stuffed... it's that good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were seated at our table and waited for five minutes. A Birthday party was then seated with us and at the table next to ours. The other table was served first. We waited for twenty minutes and no one ever took our order, not even for a drink. So we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was seated in a timely manner but once everyone ordered drinks, things went downhill. Apparently, the two alcoholic drinks that the table ordered, they didn't have. I told the waiter what I would like to eat three times and I still didn't get what I wanted. I ordered the Hibachi Shrimp - SPICY. The cook placed the shrimp on my plate and the waiter handed me the cold sauce. At the end of the meal, the waiter got two of the orders mixed up and had to recharge the credit cards. I've been to Benihana before and I never had an issue. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I always enjoy the dining experience at Benihana - Bethesda. The food is cooked to order and very tasty.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We came within the last hour before the restaurant closed. We had great service from Carlos. Everything went well besides the square piece of plastic I found in my food. The server quickly attended to this issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service was awful. There seemed to be lots of servers and bussers running around with no set roles or responsibilities. Appeared more wait staff would be very helpful for handling the drinks - the bar seemed to be constantly backed up - and to get the soup and salads out in a timely manner.

Food was good. I think the portion size - especially on the fried rice which you now have to PAY FOR - is small. Our chef didn't ask us how we wanted our steak and it was over-cooked. I don't like the "mustard sauce," and definitely prefer the tastier "yum-yum sauce."

Having eaten at a number of Benihana restaurants (MD, VA, Cleveland, Las Vegas), I feel like the overall quality of service and food has significantly declined. Disappointing.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sons 12th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Easy location to get to; great atmosphere, very attentive staff, Chef's have amazing food flavor -- a fun night

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was tasty, however the cook wasnt great at his tricks and there were pieces of food all over the place which took away from the amount we got to actually eat. He keot dropping stuff and wad ovrrall sloppy. I also dont agree with the fast turn around time because you cant really sit and enjoy your food. Once the cook is done hr starts cleaning and it leaves you with 10 mins to eat before they off you a take out container.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food great fun had by everyone.

Birthday celebrate

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Birthday celebration. Pleasant atmosphere. Enjoyable dinner with family!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I would like to see a better well dress front door counter person, because the young lady on January 10 about 1:30 pm was not dress professional to greet people in that type of restaurant. She had on a Nike black sweatshirt at the front desk, this is not appropriate attire to wear.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The table was in direct shot of the door. It was FREEZING. Everyone at the table was wearing full coats and hats. Food was cold despite coming straight off the table top grill. I get there was nothing they could do about it (other than not seat us at that table when there were MANY others available) BUT, we had a baby with us. They knew it was a cold table and didn't say anything. We would have GLADLY waited for a different table. My poor child's hands were ICE! It was awful. And this is a LONG dinner to be SO COLD and drafty. In addition, the filet I ordered was not filet, but regular steak, same as my husband ordered. Server was clueless when we ordered the tuna appetizer. Needed to see it on the menu. All fine IF they would have seated us at a table away from the door draft OR warned us about the draft KNOWING we had a baby with us. Won't be back - at least, in Winter. Poor customer service. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really rushed. Salads and apps came AFTER the meal was served. It took 25 minutes to get water!

We go a few times a year and this was the only bad experience we have had - but I don't think we will be going back any time soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was okay, food wasn't that good. Our waiter was dope. Good service

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chef spilled oil on me. Manager was rude and only chaired about liability, not my well-being.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time and the meal was wonderful.

There was a problem with our 8:30. reservation though - we were not seated until 9:20. That was a very long time to wait. Next time we will go elsewhere if we need to have a reserved time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Table next to us was playing an extremely loud drinking party game. It was so loud that all of the other tables in the room looked visible uncomfortable and no one said anything. The place was disgusting!! Plates, party favors, empty glasses, etc. were all over the area where we were seated. The floor was gross! I could go on, but I won't. We had reservations and were seated one hour after the reservations and didn't receive our food until one hour after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated one hour after our reservation. We almost left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Years Eve poor job handling or keeping reservation time - had to wait nearly one hour after scheduled reservation time to get seated - this includes kids in dinner party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great NYE !!! There were 6 of us...but yge entire place was rockin'

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a blast at this place, the food was outstanding, my family and I will be going there at least once a week. Our cook was awesome, food was very satisfying.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just awful. We've been celebrating birthdays at Benihana for 13 years and this was the worst experience we've ever had. Gomez, our hibachi chef, ignored our requests and served us food with allergens. Our salads were caked in dirt and Brian, the manager, just didn't seem to care about anything. Don't go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.