Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (25)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I had a great time here Sunday, my only complaint is that i wish they had the yum yum sauce but they don't lol.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, good service, great chef. The chef did a great job cooking, was entertaining, and very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to a few Benihana's over the years, this is because far the worst. I'm giving it a lousy review because the place is dirty and disgusting. It could really use a deep clean. Plus, it's more like a Chuck-E-Cheese with all the kids there. Birthday party central. It's definitely kid friendly, but not a date night place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Miguel our Server & Joe our Chef simultaneously & absolutely made my return visit a great one. This time I dined & although I did not partake in the Hibachi setting, Miguel took very good care of me with my straight from the kitchen orders.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

My daughter wanted to go for her 12th birthday because she loved the theatrics of the chef (she went to a friend's birthday there) and thought the food was good too. There were quite a few other tables with young guests celebrating their birthdays too. So it was clearly kid friendly. She enjoyed it which was the most important part.

So if you're expecting a romantic dinner this is not the place. First you share your table with other folks which is fine but not private. You could have been seated at my daughters birthday table and enjoyed the birthday song and some other catchy tune. Maybe worst of all you leave smelling like a French fry.
The food was fine but not great for the price.

The quality of the chef will probably make the biggest difference in your experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This time my experience with Benihana waa very bad. The server was totally not listening. There was place for only seven people on the table but she got an extra chair to seat me at the same table. I told her it is too crowded. But she insisted. There was no place to keep my stuff. I practically held my bowls and plates in my hand to eat. There was no silverware and plate for the extra person. I asked her for it but she forgot inspite of reminding three times. I had to get up and ask another server to help me. But when i got the fork ther was food on it and my plate. I asked her to change it and she took many reminders again. I had not finished eating and she almost took my plate from my hand. This was a very bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Celebrated our 40th anniversary where we use to go on dates. Food and service was just as amazing as we remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food is good, and the chefs and servers are friendly and helpful. The chefs' antics are genuinely entertaining for kids. On the other hand, the restaurant is loud, and our particular maitre d' seemed especially unfriendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Very fun family friendly place! Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This place is a bit TOO KID FRIENDLY for me. It had been many years since we had been there. Our last experience was when it was located in the Air Rights building....it was terrible. It was noisy, there were kids running around and at one point a child ran into our waitress while she was carrying hot sake' and it spilled on me. I was burned but not seriously. Fast forward quite a number of years....we were there last Sunday. Ir was excessively noisy, there were kids running around NON STOP and no parent nor manager made any attempt to stop them. I know the current generation is parents do nothing to reprimand their children, but for goodness sake, a manager should have made some sort of statement to the multiple tables with uncontrolled children. If we move past that, the service was good, the food was exactly what I expected, and i enjoyed the meal, HOWEVER, I won't go back. I understand the "Family"concept but there has to be SOME POINT where it becomes an inconvenience to other diners and a liability ton the establishment. If there is a time when it isn't SO DAMN NOISY I would go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We are long time customers of Benihana. Our last visit just wasn't quite right. The presentation both by the chef and of the food on the plate was lacking. It was sloppy and rushed. The food was not cut up small enough to use chopsticks. The fried rice was flat. The vegetables were unappealing. They seem to be moving away from the Japanese enticement.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good food and a good show. Sergio always does excellent. The wait can be bad at the bar. Over half an hour to get sushi. But still the food is great. They switched the yum yum sauce recipe though so it isn't as good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Chef Mauro was fantastic! Very engaging with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had grand kids with us and went for the excitement of the food prep.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was good. The prices went up a lot since our last visit. I think the food portions are a bit smaller as well. They no longer do the complimentary photo for special occasions. They've also replaced their nice cloth napkins with cheap paper napkins like you find at a fast food place.

We felt rushed to finish eating and leave. The waiter came to take the desserts orders while we were still eating the main course. As soon as we took our last bite they were clearing away the dirty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Overall the food was great. I had a reservations and only waited a couple minutes to be seated. I love the rice, shrimp, mushrooms, onions, soup and salad, I could eat that everyday and be content. The drinks are great but very pricey. I had a birthday coupon which brought down the cost of my meal. They have come down a little bit on the tricks and stunts, maybe because I've seen it before and because I remember how it was when I was younger and was much more impressionable, but overall the chef was nice and did a good job. We were one of his last tables. I really couldn't have asked for much more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and family enjoyed the chefs! Would recommend this to anyone looking to have fun watching their meals get prepped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Hanging out with friends for the weekend, we were trying to figure out where to go for dinner. I mentioned Benihana and the other 2 friends said, "LET'S DO IT!" A glass of plum wine as we were chilling 'til our chef showed up to entertain us with silly, cheesy, but FUN antics made for an enjoyable evening with friends. It's not fast food so we enjoyed a leisurely evening laughing and talking. We were stuffed so it was a great choice for a Saturday evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience at Benihana. We went to celebrating my sisters and dad's birthday

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

First visit to Benihana in many years ... still a fun experience with very good food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I received an email saying I didn't show, when indeed our party of 8 waited more than 25 minutes to be seated along with about 20 other people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food and service were ok except there was a hair in my daughters rice. We thought it would also be a better cooking show than other types of places in the area and it was not any more exciting or entertaining for the kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love celebrating at Benihanas. Always good food and good company.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good service but very slow cooking. Sat down at 1230. Ordered a few minutes later. Got hibachi steak served at 2pm. One of two families there at that time so not crowded when we arrived. In past was done in under an hour. This time took 2 hours.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It's been years since I've been to a Japanese steak house and decades since I've been to a Benihana. This was much as I remembered it - good service, good chef, fun "show." What I loved was their ability and willingness to accommodate two food allergies within our party - one to shellfish and one to gluten. They cooked the items for these guests before contaminants touched the hibachi. What I missed is how I remember the food tasting and the portions. While it was good and I enjoyed my meal, I have this memory of Benihana, specifically, having food I would crave and be unable to find or replicate any other way. Perhaps I've become a snobbish foodie. Perhaps I've acquired the requisite skills to cook delicious food at home. Perhaps it was always more about the special events which brought me to Benihana that made the food seem so spectacular. Either way, the nostalgia has worn a bit and while still good it's just not what I remembered.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to benihana my whole life-one of my all time favorites. This visit was disappointing. My white rice never arrived and the chef didn't cut our food small enough so we had to cut it ourselves which is difficult considering they don't give you a knife. Also it was my daughters birthday and normally they take a family picture, but not this time

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lights were not properly positioned at the grill across from us and our table was blinded. We were sitting with a family with young children and although I have my own and don't mind, had I been anyone else there would have been complaints as the kid was almost laying on me and I'm just surprised that the restaurant, knowing it's community seating, doesn't ask the parents to flank their children so as to avoid children potentially ruining others' dining experience.

Otherwise, the food is delicious and the service is outstanding. I accidentally sloshed one of my sauces (into my food, so I hadn't lost it), and the chef immediately asked if I wanted it refilled, while he was cooking the food! You usually don't get that kind of attentive service at typical dining establishments.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Took over 35 minutes to get seated even though we had a reservation. Service was really bad. Servers looked overwhelmed. Would not go there again.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

despite our reservation, we had to wait 35 minutes to be seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My son loves benihana. He would give it 4 stars all around but the service was slow this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Birthday. Staff very friendly and attentive. Great environment for the family including kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Had a great experience!! My chef was wonderful! The restaurant is very nic & welcoming!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's the kind of place you go to for the table-side entertainment, not so much for amazing food, it's not. This is the first time I have been in years and went with a group for a birthday celebration. It seems the table-side entertainers/chefs vary quite a bit in their skill level and I noticed those at other tables doing things our chef did not attempt. Our chef was a bit on the boring side, though he clearly was trying. Maybe he's new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and service were great. I was very impressed with the hibachi and sushi.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Went w family and friends. It was entertaining for the children but the the food was ok and the ambience was old and old mantained, and doesnt feel so clean.
But it was ok for the price we paid. General was a good experience.
The kids loved it though!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I LOVEEEEEEEEEEE Benihanas but this time the experience wasn't like it normally was. The chef was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo slow, boring and overcook most of our food. The portions were alot less than what we normally get. On top of that, there was barely any entertainment during the cooking process which is definately not the norm. I tried to help the chef out and even let him know that he needed to pep his step and add a little more flavor and at least act like his job but he did not budge. If this was the apollo, the chef would've been bood off the stage and I am not joking. The food was bland, the rice was semi hard and had no taste and it literally took an hour to cook for 3 people. It was so slow I thought it was part of the act but then realized this was really happening and it was getting worst by the minute. Luckily, the place wasn't packed because I know other people would've felt the same and it would've felt worst. I laughed because it was unbelievable that a chef was trained and put on the floor with this kind of result. I go to habachi biweekly and this by far was the worst and with Benihanas having a good name it sure made the company look bad which I hope it isn't a regular thing. I have came to this location a year ago and years before that and I always had an amazing experience but this time was the complete opposite. What made it more disappointing was the fact that we spent close to $200 and left unhappy and hungry because food wasn't to its expectation at all. I hope this place gets it together because it cost too much to leave unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Although a little too noisy for my taste, the food & fun at the table made up for it.
Our personal chef, Sherween, was excellent.
They didn't get one dish out until the table had almost finished but removed the cost of the Sushi plate because of the delay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was cooked to perfection. the Chef was very show professional with his technique of Japanese cooking. Service was fast. Just an all around wonderful dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Definitely not a 'class act.' There are three people behind the desk where they check you in and not one of them made any attempt to be welcoming. They leave you standing awkwardly on line, waiting for a table well past the reservation time, whereas they should at least suggest having a drink in their bar. The woman who seated us called our name into the bar and, when we identified ourselves still standing in line, she rolled her eyes (!) and very ungraciously led us to our table without a word or even a smile. The waitstaff did not get our order right and some of our meal was served to another diner at the table, who immediately started eating it. Awkward. Once a waitress was within calling distance, about a 15 minute wait, she apologized and went to rectify their mistake but the meal was almost over before mine was complete. They did not refill our water until they brought us the check. The food was well-prepared by the chef but the portions have noticeably decreased. The griddle was grungy around the edges and the noise level was chaotic. It seems to be a free-for-all with regard to children's activities, so definitely a better place to visit when you have unruly kids in tow. Otherwise, I do not recommend going here.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Was very disappointed, drove quite a distance and was always very impressive . It was not really crowded for fathers day . However wait staff was slow, unresponsive, fortgetful . Food was extremely salty. To the steak being inedible . Very small portions of food . And the chef was not entertaining at all. Just a very dull dinner ☹️

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.