Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (46)
Fun (41)
Kid-friendly (40)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Special Occasion (30)
Casual (29)
Family Style (29)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
People Watching (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

We had to wait a little longer than in other occasions, but it is well worth it. Our kids and us love the show, the fried rice and the filet mignon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

At 4:30 this place was completely empty. Was a bit erie and strange to be the only ones in the massive dining room (8+ cooking stations with 2 tables each). Seeing servers walking around prepping, joking back and forth and on their cell phones. Yes, they open at 3, but apparently no one shows up until closer to 5. Service was fine. Nothing notable at all. Chef seemed more interested in finishing than actually entertaining. Probably wouldn't return to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

My family and I have been to Benihana previously, but this visit was the least enjoyable. While our server was nice and attempted to cater to our table, we noticed that he was a little slow bringing parts of our meal out (our salads were brought out when chef arrived to cook). We had to ask for refills and for our desserts.

If the server had been taught how to juggle more than one table at a time, our service would have been better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had four kids in our group and they had a blast!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great meal with lots of entertainment with the hibachi style cooking. I love seeing the cooking done in front of us. I would definitely return and recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, average sized portions, but be prepared to share your dining experience with strangers and tolerate a lot of happy birthday singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The bartender was being very short with us when we were attempting to order drinks before happy hour ended. He then imposed a non-existent rule that we could only order one drink at a time, looked at our IDs for like 2 minutes each, and walked like three places before starting our drinks all in an attempt to not give us happy hour deals. That was disappointing as it was my birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Did not get in. They said at the front desk that they did not have our reservation that I made on Opentable. This is not the first time that this restaurant did not have a reservation that I made. I would always recommend that you call before coming to this restaurant. THEY ARE INCOMPETENT IDIOTS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I go every year for my birthday. This year Benihana switched up their restrictions, and they no longer do the photo. I wish they'd bypass the birthday song to the tune of "If You're Happy and You Know It" while they make you dance. It's likely hated even more by the staff than the guests. I did have a great time, and our chef was the best yet - Amaya. He was wonderful! He was very skilled and gave a lot of show. This is such a fun place for kids - especially if they've never done tepanyaki.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

All great as uaual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Ricardo did an excellent job preparing our meal, the filet was so tasty and juicy!!! Our server was very attentive to our needs, she replenished our beverages without being asked. While the fried rice is a bit pricey, I will return and recommend Benihana to others.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a terrible experience at the Bethesda Benihana. We had a reservation for my 9 year old's birthday at 6:45 on a Saturday night. We were not seated until 7:15. Then we had to wait 10-15 minutes before a server even came over to the table to take drink orders. We watched other groups get seated after us get immediate drink service. By the time we actually had water served to us it was a full hour past our reservation and then we had to wait for food still. Our chef did the bare minimum of fun stuff and dumped huge amounts of butter into everything. My husband complained to the manager multiple times and finally he came over and said he would discount our meal. Honestly, we would have preferred to pay full price and have a nice experience. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was a birthday dinner for my daughter and her friends. The place has become cheesy. They had fun though! Our waiter was Italian and our chef was Mexican.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The overall experience was ok. When I made my reservation, I noted it was for my niece's birthday. No mention was made of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have been to Benihana on several occasions. We only go when we have a coupon or a special occasion because it is expensive. Always like the food and service. This particular night the chef did not put on a spectacular show and could have seasoned the food a little more but usually we enjoy it immensely with our kids. The chef did feel he overcooked my steak and made me another one without even asking. It was very nice and I never would have complained about the first one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Good one isjssjsjkskbjdjdjdjdjdjdkslslaksjjsjssjjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdkdjdjdjdjdjdjdjsk

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. Our service was excellent. Not many patrons during the time we came so we were sat and served promptly. Our drinks were tasty. Our chef was nice as well! We definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat. They never disappoint me!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Omg i had the most amazing birthday at Benihana!!!!! Everyone was amazijg and accommodating! It was the best!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I went for an early birthday dinner. We had the whole table to ourselves. Junior, the chef, did a great job of cooking our meal in front of us. A great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was HORRENDOUS. Service was unbelievably slow and unaccommodating. They ran out of chicken, which 90% of our table had ordered. It took two hours for our chef to even show up to the table. The credit card machine was somehow malfunctioning so we were stuck there at the end of the meal for an additional 30 minutes doing nothing with very little apologizing from the staff or management. Drinks were not refilled. The bar closed without a heads up about last call to the table. Awful awful awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and waited nearly 45 minutes before being seated. The two managers seemed to be constantly confused and either unable or unwilling to help the patrons. Others were also standing, waiting, and being ignored.

As we left I looked at the floor around and table and it was filled with old foods scraps.

This place needs new management! In that past have enjoyed Benihana and were looking forward to having a great night out with the family. We will not be returning and will not be recommending this place or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The restaurant is rather tired looking. The dining experience is fun, especially for kids.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was as always great chef had a hard time getting all of the orders correct and had to ask us numerous times. Fork dropped on floor asked for a new one and by the time the fork arrived everyone at the table was finished eating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We heard a lot of good tings about this place so we decided to try it.
Atmosphere is unusual and kind of cool, they cook right in front of you, cook was trying to do some cool tricks, it was interesting.

However, we ordered expensive meal $40 per person, ordered filet mignon as part of the dish, ask multiple times RARE for two orders and medium rare for another. The guy said yes OK every time, but he removed medium rare steak from grill first (and I guess that was done right), then he removed "RARE" steak from the grill, but it was medium at best.

Total bill was more than 50 per person and there was not a lot of food or drinks, there many more places I would go before I choose this place again, and I guess people know that too, on the weekend there were only two or three parties.

Talking about how busy they are reminded me one more thing. We reserve table using open table website about an hour in advance, when we came there were two parties in the whole restaurant, but they told us to wait for 10 -15 min until our reservation time, why? In the 90% empty place, and when we left it was still empty...

I think it has to do with how many people they can put at the one table, and how they want to keep table as full as possible. But that makes you seat with the group of other people at your table. We asked for particular seats at this table and we were told no you have to take the four we gave you. Even though these seats were empty (2 out of three) we were still not allowed to seat in them. We end up with one extra person placed at our table, and they did not asked for permission to seat him.

You know when i come to the restaurant and spend this much money I want to seat with my family and not share the table, I want to have private conversation, and I want to have front row seat watching cook, but i get two of them on the side and cannot change them even if the other two are empty, really?.

That was our first and the last time at this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was disappointed with the portions as well as the taste. I expected more from Benihana due to the hype around the name. I frequent Kobes Japanese Steakhouse because of the taste, portion size, and the ambiance. Benihana had great service, but I won't be a return customer.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I Love this restaurant, my food was delicious. I haven't been to Benihana since I lived in Hawaii.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Poor service-very disappointing. Have eaten at Benihana in miramar- much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great for people who needs to get out and spend more quality time with their loved ones and to catch up with friends and family... 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 for me I would rec people to go here

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lunch was a small portion than expected, they didn't serve us the salad that was supposed to come with the meal. And the tables are wayyy to close to the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a really great experience. Our chef Mauro was also and really entertained our children 1,3,6,8. Food was great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Thanks Benihana-Bethesda and staff for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I felt like our service was rushed. Unfortunately I have had better Japanese style food at a less expensive price. It's not worth the money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We always love to go to Benihana. It has become a tradition for the birthdays in my family. This past Saturday we went for my birthday and our chef was terrible. He must have been new, but he could not do any of the special things that usual Benihana chefs usually do. He was not skilled with his knife and could only cut in large pieces, and very slowly. He could not catch items in his hat or his pocket. It was sad to watch him try. He couldn't even catch the shakers and fork that he flipped into the air. Worst of all, it seems he could not read the printout of the table's order, and he was just handing out food to whoever seemed interested. the other family at our table didn't remember their order, and as a result my kids got very little of the steak they ordered. We could not explain this to the chef because he was overwhelmed, slow, and after a while we just wanted to get out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For the price you pay, I was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was bland. The waiter was slow and didn't ask if it was our first time, which it was. The chef wasn't that good and messed up on his 'tricks'. The food was very bland and had no flavor. I left still hungry and had to pay a ridiculous amount of money for food that was not enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Seems like the quality of food is slipping. Been to similar restaurants without the same reputation with far better quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing experience I will return me and my date had a great night and enjoyed every bit of our food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome awesome awesome!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.