About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Salmon Lunch Boat
  • Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms
Salmon Lunch Boat
Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Bethesda / Chevy Chase ›

good for groups (56)
special occasion (48)
kid-friendly (43)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was bland. The chef made a lot ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was bland. The chef made a lot of noise with seasonings but the shakers must be empty. Also, the chef was not as energetic as others. he knew the script but the energy level was not there. I was disappointed. Have had better food and entertainment during past visits.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I felt rushed while eating dinner. The w ...

Dined 6 days ago

I felt rushed while eating dinner. The waiter returned several times to collect money for the bill.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The service was very slow. Despite our ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was very slow. Despite our reservation, we had to wait past our allotted time. Once seated, the time to order and receive first parts of dinner were way too long. The food was good, but pretty pricey. Certainly not a "goto" place, but ok for once in a while.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

My family and I decided to try Benihana ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My family and I decided to try Benihana instead of our usual habichi restaurant. We were first struck by the fact that none of the staff was Japanese; in fact, our chef was actually Hispanic. Not that this would affect his ability to cook... it was just odd. Our chef was only slightly engaging and was not overly entertaining. The food was a bit disappointing, as it was bland and tasteless. We are glad we tried Benihana, but will stick to our old favorite standby the next time we want to eat at a Japanese Steakhouse.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We were seated by ourselves and nobody c ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We were seated by ourselves and nobody came to help us or ask if we wanted anything for 20 minutes. When we stopped a waitress and asked her for water, she ignored us and kept serving her own tables. Finally we had to ask a bus boy for water and he in turn found us a waitress to help us.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

I like it. Nothing unexpected or unpleas ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I like it. Nothing unexpected or unpleasant.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We we the first people seated at our tab ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We we the first people seated at our table. The cook did not even arrive until much later, after the table was full and then he ended up preparing our food and serving us last.

food3
ambience3
service3

Great fun for 3 generations of our famil ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great fun for 3 generations of our family down to a two year old

food4
ambience3
service5

The chef was outstanding. Great personal ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The chef was outstanding. Great personality and skill!

food3
ambience3
service4

This is one of the worst Benihana locati ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

This is one of the worst Benihana locations. Very unauthentic experience. Try have really gone downhill

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy!!!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Had a blast... I enjoy the food every time I have been there. Yummy food!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was good. When I've gone in the pa ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was good. When I've gone in the past I remember it tasting better. Service was ok. The guy preparing our meal was entertaining.

food4
ambience3
service3

Service was a little slow. Despite reser ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a little slow. Despite reservation it took 30 minutes for us to be seated.

food4
ambience4
service5

The cook was hilarious

Dined on May 26, 2016

The cook was hilarious

food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently good! A go to for birthday ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Consistently good! A go to for birthday celebrations.

food1
ambience2
service1

Terrible service, no courtesy by the wai ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Terrible service, no courtesy by the waiter. Couldn't eat because the waiter didn't ordered our food to the kitchen. After 1 hour asked me if we want something to eat forgetting that i've already ordered. If you wanna eat sushi in in a calm place, I don't recommend you go there.

food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! H ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our waiter Julian was the worst ever! He took a very long time to bring our food, we were sitting in the lounge area and no one else was there. He never brought the crayons for my kids he said he was going to bring. When I asked about them he says , oh we don't have any more. He never bothered to come tell us that. I had to go find him to inquire about our food and the crayons. He was standing talking to the hostess. We ordered our food at approximately 4:20, we didn't get our food until after 5:00!!!! The food was very good, but the service was the worst!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my daughter her for her 20th birthday

Dined on May 13, 2016

I love the energy feel of this place . I definitely would return to try more Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Very Overrated Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a special occasion, being a small birthday luncheon. The reservation was placed for 3:30p and we did not start to revieve the main course until roughly around 5:00p. The way each part of the main course was served was spaced out about 15 minutes, so by the time the last part was served, everything else would be cold. Because of this, it was neccesary to order more food than I expected to make up for the cold food I had been waiting to eat. I had heard all positive things about this restaurant but unfortunately this experience did not support what I was hearing. Also, shortly after the bill had been paid and we began to wrap up, the manager came to the table and told our party that we would need to leave, because our seats were needed at the time. This experience at this particular Benihana was not satisfactory. Would not recommend to ANYONE.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overall good

Dined on May 8, 2016

We didn't like the fact that we had to share a table with strangers!!!! We had a party of 5 and they had a party of three. We would have enjoyed the experience more if we didn't have strangers sitting with us!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Family lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great value for family dining. We had 8 people--perfect size for the teppanyaki tables. Chef was entertaining, food was good as always and service was solid. Some needless delay getting to our table on the part of the hostesses was the only blemish on an otherwise great outing.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't Go!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Chef was lacking in his cooking skills, rice was overcooked, noise was deafening during the week -- lots of kids' sports teams and teenager gatherings and had to ask for things several times, e.g., fork, more water, etc. I recalled the Benihana experience in Los Angeles, California over 15 years ago -- elegant and dignified. This experience was totally opposite!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very fun environment !

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very fun environment !

food4
ambience3
service5

Our waiter was really nice.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our waiter was really nice.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not a good experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was terrible, food was unseasoned and had no taste. Will never go back. Came for my birthday celebration with my family. Also out waiter told us they have no tofu at all so the vegetarians had to get a bland noodle dish and the waiter forgot to add the extra veggies. Worthless meal.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress and Chef were great!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Thanks - made our birthdays special. Waitress and Chef were great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun Yet Weird

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good but I've had better in terms of hibachi. The people were nice though and it was a fun dinner. We felt very special at our table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food cooked right before your eyes by a very skilled and entertaining chef.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Benihana ok, but gone is its glory days

Dined on April 19, 2016

I took my BF there for his birthday; he loves the theatrics of the chef, food freshness and watching its preparation. The chef wasn't very entertaining, the food was ok, but not as goods as it had been on previous visits...iiwas mediocre for sure. Price was ok, we had a coupon. would come back but not as a place for celebrating, just for the food. Also, too many kids running around; noise was a bit distracting...

food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening and great food. Energy lev ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great evening and great food. Energy level was high and had a great chef, Mauro.

food2
ambience3
service2

Food all tasted the same. Nothing specia ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food all tasted the same. Nothing special

food2
ambience1
service1

They do not carry yum yum sauce...not go ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

They do not carry yum yum sauce...not good

food4
ambience3
service4

Always a good time & good food at Beniha ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Always a good time & good food at Benihana

food4
ambience4
service5

Fun experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

Fun experience

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is always delicious ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The food and service is always delicious. My top chef is Cesar but if he isn't available, ask for Sergio.

food2
ambience4
service5

Great service but no yum yum sauce anymo ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great service but no yum yum sauce anymore

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was ok

Dined on March 18, 2016

I wavered on putting "no" that I would not recommend that a friend go to Benihana in Bethesda because the hostesses were not very good and the atmosphere has changed immensely since I was last there in 2014. It's more of a club in the bar area. I had reservations and we were sat nearly 30 minutes after our reservations. I was a bit perturbed by that. The food was the typical Benihana fare so I was pleased however there were some slight bumps in our overall service.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Frozen, watery sashimi

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

It was entertaining to go to Benihana for the hibachi experience but the food quality I received for my sashimi entree was poor. The octopus cuts looked and tasted frozen, and left thawed water on my plate, which was unappetizing. I called the waitress, who only visited the table sparingly, to return the plate after one sad bite. They stilled charged me for the soup and salad I ate (small portions for $7). I could only shake my head...

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Like beni alot

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Benihana always delivers for our kids. Very entertaining and the chefs are fun

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Entertaining

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Great hibachi chef who interacted with the table and kept us entertained. Unfortunately, to no fault of the restaurant, the atmosphere is that of eating on an elementary school playground with the child to adult ratio always seeming to be about 5 to 1.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.