Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (41)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Kid-friendly (40)
Family Style (28)
Casual (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
People Watching (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Spicy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Our anniversary with our children and their spouses and my mom who is turning 92.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was good but honestly the food was subpar. I thought this was the pinnacle of "Hibachi" I've had better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It is my favorite place to go for special occasions. We will be back very soon especially on our wedding anniversary on 11/2/2017.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pool service, very slow, and very disorganized. The salads did not come until after the entree dishes were being served. Then, the table was very overcrowded. In addition, the chef was preparing the food so fast that the kids, ages 4-9, were unable to enjoy. We asked the chef to slow down repeatedly with no success. We have been there many times before and it was always pleasant, however on this occasion the speedy chef and poor service ruined the birthday celebration. They also neglected to take photos and sing happy birthday which was a disappointment to the children as they spent the whole night watching the birthday celebrations at so many other tables.

I am only maintaining my position of recommending the restaurant because we have had pleasant experiences in the past.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This place was fun to be. I was taken back by the dated interior and I would recommend some upgrades. The drinks were stiff with an excellent waiting staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Everything was amazing. Ricardo was a great server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrating with our 5 year old. He was super excited the entire time and Mauro our cook was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and the birthday song and ice cream they presented to me and another guest celebrating her birthday too were very nice. But, there is something patrons should be aware of so they don't waste time searching. The restaurant does not have its own parking lot for customers. When we arrived, we ran into another party walking around looking for signs to see if the parking lot right next to the restaurant building was designated for restaurant patrons before we fed meters where we were already parked. We learned the parking lot does not belong to the restaurant. Therefore, the only options are street parking or a metered lot behind the restaurant that actually charges less per hour than street parking. One surprising disappointment while there was the Ladies restroom. It was rather messy. I went to the front desk to report this, waiting about a minute or so for one of the hostesses to return but neither did so I returned to my table. Staff I saw in the dining room on my way back to my table were walking so quickly (no one's path crossed mine) that I didn't want to chase anyone down and chance that they didn't understand english and my explanation of the unkept restroom needing attention. So, I just let this go. Because I assume this situation was an exception, I will return to the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Nothing extraordinary-went for dinner with my son. Food was average but not spectacular. On the higher end in terms of pricing and the chef didn't put on quite the show i was expecting for a Hibachi place. Place itself needs a bit of an update as it's an older establishment and although dinner was fine i don't think i'd be back. too many better places to try in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The atmosphere is loud and vibrant. The food is fun to watch for all ages! They need to clean up a few things, we brought cake for a birthday and they didn't give us enough plates for everyone and when they brought an extra plate it was dirty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The only good part my experience there was the host station, right when we came in I was greeeted and seated no wait and very nice.... looks over 15mins for drinks, the and our hibachi chef was not very personable he didn't talk at all I don't think he understood us because someone use at our table was allergic to mushroom ans he said it several times but he still put mushrooms on the grill with everything else and then the guy had to wait until his food was all recooked in the back away from mushrooms. Was a really bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good experience. Enjoyed the food and the preparation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Came with my two boys on a Thursday night. The chef was very entertaining and the food was good, as always. If you ask to use the survey code for a discount the same day you receive it, they will let you.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had to wait a little longer than in other occasions, but it is well worth it. Our kids and us love the show, the fried rice and the filet mignon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

At 4:30 this place was completely empty. Was a bit erie and strange to be the only ones in the massive dining room (8+ cooking stations with 2 tables each). Seeing servers walking around prepping, joking back and forth and on their cell phones. Yes, they open at 3, but apparently no one shows up until closer to 5. Service was fine. Nothing notable at all. Chef seemed more interested in finishing than actually entertaining. Probably wouldn't return to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family and I have been to Benihana previously, but this visit was the least enjoyable. While our server was nice and attempted to cater to our table, we noticed that he was a little slow bringing parts of our meal out (our salads were brought out when chef arrived to cook). We had to ask for refills and for our desserts.

If the server had been taught how to juggle more than one table at a time, our service would have been better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was great. Had to wait for awhile to be seated, but it was worth it. Will eat there again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had four kids in our group and they had a blast!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great meal with lots of entertainment with the hibachi style cooking. I love seeing the cooking done in front of us. I would definitely return and recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, average sized portions, but be prepared to share your dining experience with strangers and tolerate a lot of happy birthday singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The bartender was being very short with us when we were attempting to order drinks before happy hour ended. He then imposed a non-existent rule that we could only order one drink at a time, looked at our IDs for like 2 minutes each, and walked like three places before starting our drinks all in an attempt to not give us happy hour deals. That was disappointing as it was my birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I go every year for my birthday. This year Benihana switched up their restrictions, and they no longer do the photo. I wish they'd bypass the birthday song to the tune of "If You're Happy and You Know It" while they make you dance. It's likely hated even more by the staff than the guests. I did have a great time, and our chef was the best yet - Amaya. He was wonderful! He was very skilled and gave a lot of show. This is such a fun place for kids - especially if they've never done tepanyaki.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

All great as uaual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Ricardo did an excellent job preparing our meal, the filet was so tasty and juicy!!! Our server was very attentive to our needs, she replenished our beverages without being asked. While the fried rice is a bit pricey, I will return and recommend Benihana to others.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a terrible experience at the Bethesda Benihana. We had a reservation for my 9 year old's birthday at 6:45 on a Saturday night. We were not seated until 7:15. Then we had to wait 10-15 minutes before a server even came over to the table to take drink orders. We watched other groups get seated after us get immediate drink service. By the time we actually had water served to us it was a full hour past our reservation and then we had to wait for food still. Our chef did the bare minimum of fun stuff and dumped huge amounts of butter into everything. My husband complained to the manager multiple times and finally he came over and said he would discount our meal. Honestly, we would have preferred to pay full price and have a nice experience. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was a birthday dinner for my daughter and her friends. The place has become cheesy. They had fun though! Our waiter was Italian and our chef was Mexican.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The overall experience was ok. When I made my reservation, I noted it was for my niece's birthday. No mention was made of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have been to Benihana on several occasions. We only go when we have a coupon or a special occasion because it is expensive. Always like the food and service. This particular night the chef did not put on a spectacular show and could have seasoned the food a little more but usually we enjoy it immensely with our kids. The chef did feel he overcooked my steak and made me another one without even asking. It was very nice and I never would have complained about the first one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Good one isjssjsjkskbjdjdjdjdjdjdkslslaksjjsjssjjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdkdjdjdjdjdjdjdjsk

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and pleasant. Our service was excellent. Not many patrons during the time we came so we were sat and served promptly. Our drinks were tasty. Our chef was nice as well! We definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

One of my favorite places to eat. They never disappoint me!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Omg i had the most amazing birthday at Benihana!!!!! Everyone was amazijg and accommodating! It was the best!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I went for an early birthday dinner. We had the whole table to ourselves. Junior, the chef, did a great job of cooking our meal in front of us. A great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was HORRENDOUS. Service was unbelievably slow and unaccommodating. They ran out of chicken, which 90% of our table had ordered. It took two hours for our chef to even show up to the table. The credit card machine was somehow malfunctioning so we were stuck there at the end of the meal for an additional 30 minutes doing nothing with very little apologizing from the staff or management. Drinks were not refilled. The bar closed without a heads up about last call to the table. Awful awful awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and waited nearly 45 minutes before being seated. The two managers seemed to be constantly confused and either unable or unwilling to help the patrons. Others were also standing, waiting, and being ignored.

As we left I looked at the floor around and table and it was filled with old foods scraps.

This place needs new management! In that past have enjoyed Benihana and were looking forward to having a great night out with the family. We will not be returning and will not be recommending this place or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The restaurant is rather tired looking. The dining experience is fun, especially for kids.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was as always great chef had a hard time getting all of the orders correct and had to ask us numerous times. Fork dropped on floor asked for a new one and by the time the fork arrived everyone at the table was finished eating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We heard a lot of good tings about this place so we decided to try it.
Atmosphere is unusual and kind of cool, they cook right in front of you, cook was trying to do some cool tricks, it was interesting.

However, we ordered expensive meal $40 per person, ordered filet mignon as part of the dish, ask multiple times RARE for two orders and medium rare for another. The guy said yes OK every time, but he removed medium rare steak from grill first (and I guess that was done right), then he removed "RARE" steak from the grill, but it was medium at best.

Total bill was more than 50 per person and there was not a lot of food or drinks, there many more places I would go before I choose this place again, and I guess people know that too, on the weekend there were only two or three parties.

Talking about how busy they are reminded me one more thing. We reserve table using open table website about an hour in advance, when we came there were two parties in the whole restaurant, but they told us to wait for 10 -15 min until our reservation time, why? In the 90% empty place, and when we left it was still empty...

I think it has to do with how many people they can put at the one table, and how they want to keep table as full as possible. But that makes you seat with the group of other people at your table. We asked for particular seats at this table and we were told no you have to take the four we gave you. Even though these seats were empty (2 out of three) we were still not allowed to seat in them. We end up with one extra person placed at our table, and they did not asked for permission to seat him.

You know when i come to the restaurant and spend this much money I want to seat with my family and not share the table, I want to have private conversation, and I want to have front row seat watching cook, but i get two of them on the side and cannot change them even if the other two are empty, really?.

That was our first and the last time at this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was disappointed with the portions as well as the taste. I expected more from Benihana due to the hype around the name. I frequent Kobes Japanese Steakhouse because of the taste, portion size, and the ambiance. Benihana had great service, but I won't be a return customer.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.