About Benihana - Bethesda

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Sushi - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Trio - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Chef Trick - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Salmon Lunch Boat - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD
Teriyaki Chicken And Mushrooms - Benihana - Bethesda, Bethesda, MD

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fun (23)
See All
Family Style (22)
Kid-friendly (22)
Casual (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came within the last hour before the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We came within the last hour before the restaurant closed. We had great service from Carlos. Everything went well besides the square piece of plastic I found in my food. The server quickly attended to this issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was awful. There seemed to b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was awful. There seemed to be lots of servers and bussers running around with no set roles or responsibilities. Appeared more wait staff would be very helpful for handling the drinks - the bar seemed to be constantly backed up - and to get the soup and salads out in a timely manner.

Food was good. I think the portion size - especially on the fried rice which you now have to PAY FOR - is small. Our chef didn't ask us how we wanted our steak and it was over-cooked. I don't like the "mustard sauce," and definitely prefer the tastier "yum-yum sauce."

Having eaten at a number of Benihana restaurants (MD, VA, Cleveland, Las Vegas), I feel like the overall quality of service and food has significantly declined. Disappointing.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Sons 12th Birthday

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Sons 12th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Easy location to get to; great atmospher ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Easy location to get to; great atmosphere, very attentive staff, Chef's have amazing food flavor -- a fun night

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty, however the cook was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was tasty, however the cook wasnt great at his tricks and there were pieces of food all over the place which took away from the amount we got to actually eat. He keot dropping stuff and wad ovrrall sloppy. I also dont agree with the fast turn around time because you cant really sit and enjoy your food. Once the cook is done hr starts cleaning and it leaves you with 10 mins to eat before they off you a take out container.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food great fun had by everyone. Bi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food great fun had by everyone.

Birthday celebrate

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration. Pleasant atmospher ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Birthday celebration. Pleasant atmosphere. Enjoyable dinner with family!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I would like to see a better well dress ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I would like to see a better well dress front door counter person, because the young lady on January 10 about 1:30 pm was not dress professional to greet people in that type of restaurant. She had on a Nike black sweatshirt at the front desk, this is not appropriate attire to wear.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table was in direct shot of the door ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The table was in direct shot of the door. It was FREEZING. Everyone at the table was wearing full coats and hats. Food was cold despite coming straight off the table top grill. I get there was nothing they could do about it (other than not seat us at that table when there were MANY others available) BUT, we had a baby with us. They knew it was a cold table and didn't say anything. We would have GLADLY waited for a different table. My poor child's hands were ICE! It was awful. And this is a LONG dinner to be SO COLD and drafty. In addition, the filet I ordered was not filet, but regular steak, same as my husband ordered. Server was clueless when we ordered the tuna appetizer. Needed to see it on the menu. All fine IF they would have seated us at a table away from the door draft OR warned us about the draft KNOWING we had a baby with us. Won't be back - at least, in Winter. Poor customer service. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

Really rushed. Salads and apps came AFTE ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really rushed. Salads and apps came AFTER the meal was served. It took 25 minutes to get water!

We go a few times a year and this was the only bad experience we have had - but I don't think we will be going back any time soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

It was okay, food wasn't that good. Our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was okay, food wasn't that good. Our waiter was dope. Good service

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value5

Chef spilled oil on me. Manager was rude ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Chef spilled oil on me. Manager was rude and only chaired about liability, not my well-being.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

We had a great time and the meal was won ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time and the meal was wonderful.

There was a problem with our 8:30. reservation though - we were not seated until 9:20. That was a very long time to wait. Next time we will go elsewhere if we need to have a reserved time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Table next to us was playing an extremel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Table next to us was playing an extremely loud drinking party game. It was so loud that all of the other tables in the room looked visible uncomfortable and no one said anything. The place was disgusting!! Plates, party favors, empty glasses, etc. were all over the area where we were seated. The floor was gross! I could go on, but I won't. We had reservations and were seated one hour after the reservations and didn't receive our food until one hour after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We were seated one hour after our reserv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated one hour after our reservation. We almost left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

For New Years Eve poor job handling or k ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Years Eve poor job handling or keeping reservation time - had to wait nearly one hour after scheduled reservation time to get seated - this includes kids in dinner party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great NYE !!! There were 6 of us...but y ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great NYE !!! There were 6 of us...but yge entire place was rockin'

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a blast at this place, the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a blast at this place, the food was outstanding, my family and I will be going there at least once a week. Our cook was awesome, food was very satisfying.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, , Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just awful. We've been celebrating birt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just awful. We've been celebrating birthdays at Benihana for 13 years and this was the worst experience we've ever had. Gomez, our hibachi chef, ignored our requests and served us food with allergens. Our salads were caked in dirt and Brian, the manager, just didn't seem to care about anything. Don't go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The manager @ Benihana's ruined my birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The manager @ Benihana's ruined my birthday! I scheduled a 3 person dinner for 8:15pm 12/29/16. I walked in at 8:05 with two people in my party, the third person was on his way. The manager informed me that if he sat the two people, the third would not be allowed to sit down. I informed him that he was 15 minutes away. He said we could wait for him. I went to the bathroom and returned to the front desk. There was another party that came in of seven people, they also had one person that was not with them and wanted to seat 8 people total. I let the lady know what the manager had just told me, and even though all of there people were not with them, they were allowed to be seated under an eight person party. Then the manager after stating I could wait for my friend, stated I need to be seated right then, that he could not be seated when he got there and if I was not seated now then I'd just have to wait until later. My reservation was at 8:15, this transpired in no more than 5-10 minutes. I was so upset I left the restaurant at 8:20. The manager could have accommodated my 3 person party. I will NEVER go back to this Benihana's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was very good except no water re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was very good except no water refill. Food was good but not as good as usual especially the fried rice. Chef was very entertaining and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! Food was cooked excep ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was great! Food was cooked exceptional well. Sushi was 'on point'. Will visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

didn't have enough people working. Our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

didn't have enough people working. Our table wasn't ready. Many people were waiting that had reservations.

They were out of many food items. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

It has become our tradition to go to Ben ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It has become our tradition to go to Benihana's in Bethesda for Christmas dinner. Traditional Japanese Steakhouse - food was good, service was good, the family time is priceless.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Much like the reviews on YELP, the wait ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Much like the reviews on YELP, the wait times were pretty crazy even for Benihana, and that's with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Food is awful

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food is awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

The food was good, but the service was s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was good, but the service was so slow we had a 6:45 reservation we were seated by 7:30 then we didn't get anything other than the soups after 8:30. Very disappointing, the food and the chefs were great but other than that the service was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was wonderdul an out server Ian ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was wonderdul an out server Ian was very attentive!! Can't remeber our chef name but he was Fun and kept my little boy entertained!!! Look forward to coming back with a bigger party next time!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went on December to ccelebrate my mom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We went on December to ccelebrate my mom's birthday. We had a great time. The food and service was very good. Our kids loved to see how the chef cooked in front of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Afterwards having lunch, a hour later, w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Afterwards having lunch, a hour later, was taken to hospital, emergency food poisons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food at Benihana is always good. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food at Benihana is always good. We had filet mignon, tuna and salmon and everyone was pleased. The acoustics at the restaurant are such that it is hard to carry on a conversation with anyone not sitting right next to you. They really could use more chefs - we had to wait a while and the people at the table next to us were waiting the whole time we had dinner. Still, we will go back for the reliable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The cook repeatedly dropped the knife. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The cook repeatedly dropped the knife. Actually flipped the fork and itfell onto my husband's hand. He kept forgetting things, so had to make multiple trips to the kitchen. Did not entertain the crowd, no tossing the shrimp or other fun little tricks. We love Japanese steakhouses, but this was the first time visiting Benihana in over 20 years, I was very disappointed, my family of 8 wanted to celebrate my son's 18th birthday. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was not as good as it usually i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food was not as good as it usually is. I had the chicken and steak and the chicken was not good. The chef seemed to forget it was on the grill. it was a bit misshaped so part orlf the chicken was not in contact with the grill for a significant period of the cooking time. as a result it seemed very well done on one section and undercooked on the other.

There also seemed to be some disorganization as the cook ran out of bowls for the rice and forgot another diner's steak.

They have always been excellent in the past so this may just have been an off night.

Also, we wanted to buy some gift cards as there was a bonus offer but they could not get the gift card system to work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

They did not have too many options and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

They did not have too many options and the price was a little too much. But the food was great and the service was phenomenal you really can't ask for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We made this reservation for my wife and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We made this reservation for my wife and daughter's birthday. I made sure to express that in the comment section of the reservation and when we arrived at the restaurant. The dinner was going as expected, until the chef began to cook the food. The chef literally peppered my wife's steak. So much so, that the pepper overwhelmed the flavor of the steak. We asked to speak to a manager who stated that he would have another prepared immediately and sent right over. This is crucial because by now everyone else was eating dinner. 30 minutes later, my wife got up to ask the manager about the steak, that hadn't been delivered yet, because we were having our food boxes to go by then. The manager went to another table and said I have t right here! My wife then explained that we were done eating, and he could just take the steak off of her meal. She was very disappointed, as this was her choice of restaurant for her birthday, and I was upset because she was upset. The manager did bring her a meal to go, but by then the damage was done. I'm not sure if we will frequent this restaurant again. Very disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

It's always a good time when we go to Be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It's always a good time when we go to Benihana. Portions are plentiful and the chef is always entertaining.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ian our waiter was fantastic. Our chef w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ian our waiter was fantastic. Our chef was also lively and paid attention to our specific dietary details. The service at the front desk/host however were not as welcoming as I would expect. Arrived at 8:30 with 5 out of my party of 6 and were told needed to wait for the entire party to arrive. 5 mins later the last person of the party of 6 showed up and we waited another 30 mins before we finally sat down. Had to keep checking with them to see if our table was ready. The service at the front desk almost ruined what finally turned out to be a great night out

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my anniversary and I thought it w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It was my anniversary and I thought it would be just the 2 of us at the table to enjoy one another I wouldn't recommend this for a anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

HORRIBLE service. The table next to us ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

HORRIBLE service. The table next to us was seated well after us, ordered after us, and got their drinks and first course before us. And we had kids!! Hibachi chef was very lame. THEY DIDN'T BUS THE TABLE AT ALL DURING OUR MEAL! I had to stop someone to ask them to take the many dirty dishes away before they brought dessert. The server looked at me like it never even occurred to him that we might not want three courses of dishes there when we ate dessert. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great place! We usually come here for sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great place! We usually come here for special occasions and always satisfied!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, , Cozy, Business Meals, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.