Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Benihana - Bethesda

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Bethesda is located on Wisconsin Avenue in beautiful downtown Bethesda, just a short drive from Washington D.C. Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room; perfect for private parties, corporate meetings, and large birthday celebrations. Ask about our Private Event Dining options. Subject to availability. Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 4–7 p.m. Enjoy signature cocktails, specialty sushi rolls and a variety of appetizers starting at just $3.00.

7935 Wisconsin Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Woodmont Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 652-5391

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/bethesda-md-bb

Private Party Facilities:
Ask about Private Event Dining Book your next event for up to 32 guests in our private dining room. Perfect for private parties, corporate meetings and large birthday celebrations. Subject to availability.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (49)
Special Occasion (42)
Fun (40)
See All
Good for Groups (36)
Kid-friendly (33)
Family Style (27)
Casual (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
People Watching (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious as always. However, the guy that was sitting at the front desk was horrible. He was very rude. I'm upset that I didn't get his name to write management.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have been going to Benihana in Bethesda for the last several years, and unfortunately
what used to always be delicious food and great entertainment by the table side Chef has
gone slowly down hill in quality on many levels. Not only did our chef look as though he had a "few drinks" before he started cooking; but his white jacket was incredibly stained with food from either an earlier cooking experience or when he had his drinks he also spilled his lunch all over himself. The restaurant itself looked dirty and old and our waiter appeared as though he had too many people to wait on, he was extremely forgetful (we had to remind him several times for things) and just displayed the overall "I don't want to work here" look. Lots of kids....with shoes off (not sure why)..and just ....not a great experience. My hope is that they get their act together. In the "old days" it was really tasty and a fun place to go with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved out chef. Made Mother' Day very fun for my family and I.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The waiter constantly messed up our order and didn't bring a drink to one member of the party until the meal was almost over. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere is lively and it is an exciting experience for kids. That said, the bathrooms and restaurant need a deep cleaning. The pre-dinner soup was very greasy (instead of light) and the chef, while very pleasant, needed a bit more training. Overall, the experience was ok. I would return because my child was excited to see the food cooking in front of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good atmosphere an experience we'll have fun especially if you have kids

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

WE WERE SURPRISED WHEN WE FOUND THE MENU TO BE A "HOLIDAY" ONE. BUT ONCE WE GOT PAST THAT, WE HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME. THE PRICES WERE A BIT HIGHER ON THE HOLIDAY MENU ALSO. MOST WERE COMBINATION MEALS. THE CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM WAS OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was completely disappointed by my visit. I have been a frequent diner at this establishment for years. So, I thought that celebrating my completion of graduate school should only be done here. Boy was I incorrect . Not only were we seated 40 minutes after our scheduled reservation time we were unable to sit together because as we were told another party would not leave. Additionally, our cook kept forgetting everyone's order although he had a ticket right in front of him. He then became confrontational when we expressed the errors he was making. My food was subpar and I didn't fully enjoy myself. Unfortunately, I do not see myself ever visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall, my family had a pretty poor experience at Benihana. We had a 7:00 pm reservation for 14 people on Saturday, which required two back to back tables. We were going for my sister's college graduation and wanted this to be a pleasant experience for her. There was no parking and we were in four separate cars. Two of us found parking on a street nearby. This meant that part of our party arrived shortly before 7:00 and a few others had to leave and find additional parking. We checked in immediately and were told we could not be seated until the remainder of our party arrived (they were still finding parking). Once they finished parking and walked over, I checked in and said our party had all arrived (time was 7:12pm). I was told we would be seated in 10 minutes, which went by and our children (6 in total, all age 9 or younger) were getting restless. I approached them again and asked if our table was ready, they told me that we lost our reservation because we didn't check in until after 7:15 pm and we should wait on the normal/no-reservation list. Although this was inaccurate as I had checked the time, we had no choice but to wait as it was Saturday and there aren't a ton of restaurants that would take a party of 14 easily. We ended up waiting another 15 minutes for tables to be ready. Once we were seated - in two separate tables, we were not given menus and had to ask three times before they were provided. Our chef was fabulous and funny and the food was overall fine, but pricey given the experience thus far. The waiter was terrible - he spilled water on my sister (twice) while pouring her drink and dropped a few things (including the metal water pitcher, which was luckily empty at the time). Overall the service was awful and it became a very stressful meal when it should have been an exciting time for my sister. I do not recommend this and should have checked the reviews prior to going as they speak similarly to the issues my family encountered.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I am always obsessed with going to Benihana - but this time the quality of food was subpar. Our chef was amazing - very engaging and funny, but the quality of food just wasn't the same as I remember it. The rice tasted stale. Not sure what went wrong, but it was a shame since we were celebrating a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I usually have a fantastic time when I come to Benihana, but this visit was mediocre. The waiter would seem to get lost for long periods of time every time he left the table. We would be looking around like, "where'd he go", he kept disappearing. If his service would've been better, the experience would've been better. But no worries, I will be back. :-)

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love Love Love Benihana Fried Rice and everything else but the fried rice this the key to the meal!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was really dissapointed the habachi chef was not Asian. It created a different vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, we waited 25 minutes are were only seated when we were walking out. The chef was uninterested, the server did not remember requests, the food was too salty, and the noise level too high!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A friend was celebrating her birthday and wanted to go to Benihana. I have not been to a Benihana restaurant in years so figured, why not? My friend declined to be in the main room with the teppanyaki grills 'coz she didn't want to leave the restaurant "smelling like she'd been cooking"....yeah, she's weird like that....food was cooked as ordered and that beef was soooooo tender you didn't need a knife! Really enoyed the Green Tea Ice Cream for dessert....yum! Next time, I'd go with a bunch of friends to have the experience of the food being prepared in front of me with the antics of the chef!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I've always loved Benihanas! I love going with my nephews they love watching the chef do all his tricks.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wouldn't seat us because of too many people, kept pushing us back, 45 minutes so we left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

You can't beat Benihana for a fun kids' celebration. The night we went, the front desk and servers were clearly understaffed for the volume of guests and the service suffered as a consequence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My family had a wonderful time dining at Benihana Bethesda. Our food was delicious and my niece truly enjoyed her birthday dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I think if I had not had a previous experience with hibachi style dining it would be ok but comparing it to an authentic restaurant leaves a lackluster experience. Here is our experience.

First, we had a standing reservation (albeit early evening) and had to wait for someone else to come for out table to be ready.
Then we were seated, drink orders taken propmtly. I had the passionfruit lemonade but it wasnt my taste so I opted for regular lemonade. Fast food has better lemonade in my opinion.
Then the show, it wasnt very lively. I got the diablo, my partner the hibachi trio. The fried rice was an upcharge and was quite bland.

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Benihana's always has great food and great service. The interaction that the chef has with his guests is always fun to watch. Going again on Thursday for my 50th Birthday and can't wait!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I'm from a Detroit and the food is really cooked right and good it's just like it's thrown together to hurry up and get done! No seasoning had to keep asking for garlic butter no salt or pepper used at all

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It wasn't what we expected. Customer service was not what I expected, I thought this was a "top notch" Japanese steakhouse however that is not what we experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our anniversary with our children and their spouses and my mom who is turning 92.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always good for dinner or a special occasion with the family. Kids love the meal preparation.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was good but honestly the food was subpar. I thought this was the pinnacle of "Hibachi" I've had better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It is my favorite place to go for special occasions. We will be back very soon especially on our wedding anniversary on 11/2/2017.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pool service, very slow, and very disorganized. The salads did not come until after the entree dishes were being served. Then, the table was very overcrowded. In addition, the chef was preparing the food so fast that the kids, ages 4-9, were unable to enjoy. We asked the chef to slow down repeatedly with no success. We have been there many times before and it was always pleasant, however on this occasion the speedy chef and poor service ruined the birthday celebration. They also neglected to take photos and sing happy birthday which was a disappointment to the children as they spent the whole night watching the birthday celebrations at so many other tables.

I am only maintaining my position of recommending the restaurant because we have had pleasant experiences in the past.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This place was fun to be. I was taken back by the dated interior and I would recommend some upgrades. The drinks were stiff with an excellent waiting staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Everything was amazing. Ricardo was a great server.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrating with our 5 year old. He was super excited the entire time and Mauro our cook was awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was delicious and the birthday song and ice cream they presented to me and another guest celebrating her birthday too were very nice. But, there is something patrons should be aware of so they don't waste time searching. The restaurant does not have its own parking lot for customers. When we arrived, we ran into another party walking around looking for signs to see if the parking lot right next to the restaurant building was designated for restaurant patrons before we fed meters where we were already parked. We learned the parking lot does not belong to the restaurant. Therefore, the only options are street parking or a metered lot behind the restaurant that actually charges less per hour than street parking. One surprising disappointment while there was the Ladies restroom. It was rather messy. I went to the front desk to report this, waiting about a minute or so for one of the hostesses to return but neither did so I returned to my table. Staff I saw in the dining room on my way back to my table were walking so quickly (no one's path crossed mine) that I didn't want to chase anyone down and chance that they didn't understand english and my explanation of the unkept restroom needing attention. So, I just let this go. Because I assume this situation was an exception, I will return to the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Nothing extraordinary-went for dinner with my son. Food was average but not spectacular. On the higher end in terms of pricing and the chef didn't put on quite the show i was expecting for a Hibachi place. Place itself needs a bit of an update as it's an older establishment and although dinner was fine i don't think i'd be back. too many better places to try in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The atmosphere is loud and vibrant. The food is fun to watch for all ages! They need to clean up a few things, we brought cake for a birthday and they didn't give us enough plates for everyone and when they brought an extra plate it was dirty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The only good part my experience there was the host station, right when we came in I was greeeted and seated no wait and very nice.... looks over 15mins for drinks, the and our hibachi chef was not very personable he didn't talk at all I don't think he understood us because someone use at our table was allergic to mushroom ans he said it several times but he still put mushrooms on the grill with everything else and then the guy had to wait until his food was all recooked in the back away from mushrooms. Was a really bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good experience. Enjoyed the food and the preparation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Came with my two boys on a Thursday night. The chef was very entertaining and the food was good, as always. If you ask to use the survey code for a discount the same day you receive it, they will let you.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had to wait a little longer than in other occasions, but it is well worth it. Our kids and us love the show, the fried rice and the filet mignon.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

At 4:30 this place was completely empty. Was a bit erie and strange to be the only ones in the massive dining room (8+ cooking stations with 2 tables each). Seeing servers walking around prepping, joking back and forth and on their cell phones. Yes, they open at 3, but apparently no one shows up until closer to 5. Service was fine. Nothing notable at all. Chef seemed more interested in finishing than actually entertaining. Probably wouldn't return to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My family and I have been to Benihana previously, but this visit was the least enjoyable. While our server was nice and attempted to cater to our table, we noticed that he was a little slow bringing parts of our meal out (our salads were brought out when chef arrived to cook). We had to ask for refills and for our desserts.

If the server had been taught how to juggle more than one table at a time, our service would have been better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.