About Benihana - Beaverton

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Birthdays (94)
Fun (78)
See All
Good for Groups (69)
Good for a Date (60)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Kid-friendly (43)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Casual (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Authentic (21)
Family Style (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
People Watching (20)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Romantic (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Healthy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

First time visit, good ambiance overall not sure ibwould visit again, felt too californian@

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is good, tends to be spendy and the service this night was super slow.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to three Benihana's this one was really bad. My spicy chicken tasted like rubbery chemicals and when I told them they asked if they could make me another. I didn't want more of the same so I passed . Might be a one off incident but I won't be returning for the price the food should never be that bad!!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

This Benihana is always a favorite. My waiter CJ was dope, told me he always makes sure glasses are full which he did. Great service, hooked up my sherbet to go. Been here many times and will be many more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Ordered both lunch and dinner items. Same portion but dinner cost twice as much. The quality of the food has definitely deteriorated since several years ago when I last visited the place. Soup tasted like cup noodle and salad looks more like those you get at low end restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Cooker was excellent but server Yumi was rude, and forgot several items..Also her tone was harsh and rude when asked to repeat her self.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were very unhappy with our dinning experience here. To start, we had 6:30pm reservations but were not seated until close to 7:00pm. After that, the service was slow and sloppy. The food order was wrong the first time and the chef had to redo our entree. We also were up-charged for fried rice without any explanation of the additional charge when asked if we would like it with our entree. Although the chef was friendly and talented, it did not make up for the slow service, long wait times, surprise charges on the bill, and incorrect entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a great time. It's always loud and very hard to hear our hostess, but she is very patient and made sure everyone was taken care of. Our chef, Edi did a fantastic job. 工ジ さん は とても じょうず です.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I go to restaurants a lot and Benihana is one of my most favorites. The atmosphere is happy and fun. The food is always outstanding! Very fresh, delicious and cooked to perfection by the awesome chefs. The chefs who staff the place have amazing skills and do fun tricks that everyone enjoys.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Worth the drive and the money. I LOVE the atmosphere, the super fun and friendly waiters and chefs that make you laugh, and of course, the amazing and delicious food. 5/5 stars!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We come here every year for our birthdays. Everybody has an off night and this was one of them. There seemed to be issues from beginning to end and for a busy Saturday night we had the rookie squad. Our chef was obviously new and very nervous. He was making so many mistakes and dropping things that we began to feel sorry for him. We couldn't watch because we felt it made it worse. Drinks were very slow coming out. Our pictures were taken but never brought to us and we left without them.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Birthday celebration. Great atmosphere this evening. Very good food. Overall good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Salmon poke was good but extra salad and cumcumber blocked flavor of salmon. Consider leaving all the greens out.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We love this place and will keep returning. We love attending for family functions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This place is always a favorite. The food is delicious, we all enjoy the show during preparation. My kiddos are especially fascinated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I gave the ambiance only two stars beacuse it can be EXTREMELY loud in the restaurant. I know the cooks are energetic and it's great to get other guests fired up (cheering/ clapping/ laughing), but the table next to us was SO incredibly loud. So loud in fact, that we couldn't hear eachother speaking. We literally had to yell and plug/ cup our ears to focus. And the server forgot my parents rice bowls, we had to ask for them, but no biggie.

Per usual though, the cook was a blast, the server was super friendly and very helpful, and the food was AMAZING.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our Chef was Angel and he is the best! We ask for him every time we go in. We know almost everyone by name. We just love going there.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Hard to hear hostess ... not flexible on meat-free requests ... didn't even have brown rice, even though it's on the menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

OK, Benihana...chain, 70's, John Belushi, cheezy... but... damn, it's pretty good. Lunch is a great value at $15 with a choice of two meats (chicken, beef, shrimp, scallops, calamari) that come with soup, fried rice and veggies, done on the grill in that Beni way. We ordered a soft shell crab appetizer that was ok but not worth the price. Sake selections tend toward the sweet. Service is ok though plates can pile up. The "chef" was fantastic, as you would want him to be, twilling knives, joking, teasing the kids, good stuff. I haven't been in here in years but I think I'll come back. FUN!!!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Both the service and food were fantastic. The server was quick to provide refills of our drinks and generally took good care of us. The chef, Malique (sorry I don't know the spelling!), was amazing. I appreciated the way that he organized preparing all of the different foods on the grill for a full table of 8 guests. I have never had a better meal at Benihana! If I could, I would ask for this chef each time that we visit this restaurant. We would like to go more often, but we live 30 miles away. . . .it's definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Portion sizes have gone way down. Everything costs extra now, fried rice is extra, ice cream is extra and it used to be included in the moderately high price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Always good food and great servers. The hibachi chef, Allen, was amazing with his tricks and charisma. It's expensive to eat here but very worth it for special occasions. Thank your staff for making my sister and brother in law's anniversary wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A great place for special occasions. We were there for my birthday and at least a dozen others were doing the same! A great place to meet new friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was great, steak prepared correctly. Went for birthday and used coupon, love the deal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was not prepared in a timely manner...my $40.00 lobster was served cold while waiting for the rice and vegetables..the kids meals should have been served first but the chefs timing was off...also the steak was very chewy..and hard for the kids to eat..for the prices they charge they should get there act together...👎🏻

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good price for the food you get ... Kids will love this place since the chef is playing/cooking in front of you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had not been to Benihana's in many years and my daughter wanted to have her family birthday there. What fun we had! Wait staff was great -- our chef was very talented and kept everyone involved in the cooking of our meal. We had ages 6 to 60 at our table and I think everyone had a great time. Would recommend it if you want a fun time out -- not for a quiet, romantic dinner however.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our waitress Sophia was awesome!!! The food was outstanding, and as always it was awesome!!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beer selection was poor. I could not understand the waitress and she had a hard time hearing the customers.

Good food. Pricey. Chef was great and it was good he confirmed the orders because of the language barrier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

You guys rock! It was a lot of fun and the service was excellent

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Celebrated 3 birthdays in our family. We go for everyone's birthday, it's a tradition, we've been going to the Beaverton Benihana for 18 years now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Everything was amazing I always love my experience there. It was very noisy and sometimes hard to listen to table conversations but other than that it was amazing, I would go back every month if I could!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Benihana's continues to shine for feeding your freshly prepared meals in front of you. The food is flavorful and plentiful, sitting with others gives you an innovative opportunity to have new conversations and make friends. It's not a casual dining place but make the reservation anyway especially for the special occasions like Birthdays, Anniversaries, and Wedding day dining. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My family and I have gone for YEARS for our birthdays. This last time was one if the first where it was not as good as usual. The table did not heat up at first and when the manager gave the table complementary appetizers, it wasn't taken into consideration that we were not all one party. There was a party of six and us, a party of two. The chef was nice but seemed a little flustered by the table not heating properly and I feel that impacted our meal. Even with this situation, I would recommend Benihana to others but if I had paid full price (birthday coupon/discount was used), i would not have been thrilled.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our cook and waiter (Dijon) were awesome! Made for a memorable birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Spicy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My filet mignon was over cooked to be shoe leather. I asked for "pink" or medium. The empty dishes just sat at my elbows since I sat at the end. Very disappointed in this service especially in regard for the price you pay. The chef was a young lady who dropped serving spatula trying to be cute. She really needs training. Not wanting to go back and spend such a lot of money and perhaps get the same service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Just a lot of fun. Great wait staff. Went here for my sons 15th birthday. We had a blast. Make your reservations way in advance. They get booked up very fast.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My sis and I decided to bring our dad here for Father's Day celebration, and it was fantastic! My dad enjoyed the food and a bit of entertainment. Definitely was a great way to celebrate with him. The food was on-point as usual, especially my fave fried rice! Our service was awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great experience overall. Background noise from the exhaust fans made it hard to talk to others at the end of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Matt was very good at the chef for our table. Worked with the kids at the table too.
Thought though the prices would stop us from coming very often since the prices
for Rice, soup, and salad are low cost items compared to the entrée. Should be
about 10 dollars less would be more reasonable. (15 years in the food industry as
GM and Area Supervisor)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.