About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Shrimp & Lobster Tails
Ahi Poki
Fiket Mignon
Lunch Boat
Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Salmon sushi
green salad
Fish And Lobster
Vegas Roll
Teppanyaki
Benihana Onion Soup
Dragon Roll
Negihama Hand Roll
Salmon Hand Roll
Tempura Shrimp
Caterpillar Roll
Fried Rice, Habachi Shrimp & Vegetables
Habachi Scallops
Spicy Tuna Roll
Takara Plum Wine
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Onion Soup
Saba
Thompson Delight

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
3 More
Best Ambiance
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Special Occasion (154)
Good for Groups (141)
Kid-friendly (88)
See All
Great for Lunch (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (26)
Fun (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Family Style (16)
Open Kitchen (13)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We typically love this location. They mi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We typically love this location. They missed all around on service. It was my daughter's 21st Bday. The waitress forgot to bring the salad and soup, it finally arrived after we asked about it, we had to flag down the bus boy for water, captured the manager to remove plates, we were stuck in the back corner and forgotten aside from the chef. Even the chef seemed to be off. He didn't talk, he didn't do any of the cooking interactions, no talking or joking like normal. It just turned out to be a disappointing, over priced meal with a quiet chef concentrating on his own thoughts, he didn't even ask anyone about how they wanted things cooked. BIG miss over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Always a great place to dine if you want ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great place to dine if you want to have a dining experience ! The food is cooked at your table, by an expert chef with flair . The food is plentiful and tasty, and the menu can please even the pickiest eater. I especially enjoy the seafood entrees, but the steak is cooked to perfection and tender. Kids seem to love the soba noodles, and if you like Sushi, you can order from the very large Sushi menu. You will be sitting family style unless you have a large group. If you are going as a couple or with others, you need to note that it can get very noisy, especially in the evening hours, which can make conversation a bit difficult. At this location in particular, when all the grills are going, it can get quite smoky inside, and your clothes will smell of it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food quality was very good. The onio ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food quality was very good. The onion soup used to be great but now it was just good. Attention to our drinks and refills was very good. The skill of the cook was not so good at all many dropped items and misses. I prefer to see someone with high skill at moving the food around the grill and using the knife not someone who can juggle and try too hard a skill then drop the objects. Focus on the basics first and I would be more impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Love the flair the cooks add and love ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the flair the cooks add and love having the food prepared and cooked on the grill in front of you.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first impression was the 5 or 7 girls ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

My first impression was the 5 or 7 girls at the counter were stuckup and rude. Why do you need that many at the front if they aren't doing anything. They weren't even the ones to sit us. The server was. There wasn't a lot of space to walk to and from our table. Besides that everything was great. Our server was really nice and so was our cook, he was really funny. Yoyo, the man who made the sushi was my very favorite! Thank you Yoyo!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been to this location about 3 tim ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to this location about 3 times now and every time I have been sat with great and friendly patrons and I always have fun with the chefs that I have been placed with. All around great experience and it has not disappointed me yet. I will continue to go back as well as recommend to all my friends and family. Amazing Food TOO!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time to Benihana's. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second time to Benihana's. The first time I went is was just me and my 9 year old and 6 year old and they had so much fun being entertained for dinner that my husband decided to join us this time. So much fun, the cooks are amazing and the food is great. Nothing I can complain about at this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it the food love it the restaurant ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love it the food love it the restaurant and the service wonderful!!

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and service once seated. H ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love the food and service once seated. Hate waiting for our table

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, good entertainment, friendly ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food, good entertainment, friendly service. Always enjoy eating at Benihanas .

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our family loves the experience of seein ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our family loves the experience of seeing the food we eat prepared in front of us!! Always fun :)

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana has community dining style tabl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Benihana has community dining style tables that seat a total of 8. Most of the time, that's fine. This time, I was seated next to the most obnoxious, pessimistic couple ever. Their attitudes really put a damper on my mood and made it harder to enjoy my meal. But, as always, the teppenyaki style cuisine was fun and entertaining and my food turned out great. For dinner, the restaurant is pretty pricy. But lunch was fairly affordable, for a special occasion. As always, it was pretty loud and hot in the restaurant, but that's pretty much unavoidable when there's a grill built into your table. I've been going to Benihana for years and have always loved it and this time was no different.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

AMAZING! Customer Service was in-point! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

AMAZING! Customer Service was in-point! Great bar to wait in while your table is being readied or you are waiting for your party! Cocktails are fabulous! It was our son's 30th birthday and there was never a question with service or FUN!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, love the Fried rice, our ch ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food, love the Fried rice, our chef was personable, and funny. Sake and beer wasn't bad either lol

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Angel was the best. He kept the table en ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Angel was the best. He kept the table entertained and cooked the special request to perfection. Excellent job

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went To Benihana for a birthday dinne ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went To Benihana for a birthday dinner, and it was so crowded and loud that it was impossible to have a conversation. We could not hear the waiter, much less each other. I would not go again for that reason alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Last 2 times, food overcooked was terrib ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Last 2 times, food overcooked was terrible. Service notfriendly and slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I love Benihana because it's a very fun ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I love Benihana because it's a very fun and lively experience to have your dinner cooked in front of you. The food is always consistently good and reservations are a must. Some challenges in getting to your table because they are so busy - we've been seated 15 minutes late the last two times we have been there - so bringing a little patience is a must. We always bring our kids with us, and they are highly entertained. Even our 5 year old is able to sit thru dinner without getting antsy. I do think they could have a better selection of wine, and serve it properly. I ordered a Cakebread Chardonnay that was served at room temperature which was disappointing, because I was so looking forward to it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been coming to this location at l ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have been coming to this location at least 1-2 times a year for the past 21 years. As the prices have increased over time, the quality of the food and the service have decreased. Even after 21 years we still enjoy coming here but the food lacks flavor and we have been unimpressed with the "experience".

At our last visit the chef had to leave our table, not once, but twice, because all of the food that he was to prepare was not on his cart. He hardly put on a show (which for us, I don't care but there were two people at the table who have never been to a Benihana and if I were them, I wouldn't come back).

Overall, the cooks lack consistency and the food isn't that special. Our favorite cook is Brad because he puts a little extra effort into the meals that he cooks and makes the occasion a special one. Even if it were your 85th time at the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Everything was fantastic , good food, gr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was fantastic , good food, great service except the Air in the dinning room. It's was smoky all over, I could not stayed for long because I could not breath, my nose was stuck.

When we ( was four peoples) went into the car, our clothes was smelled very bad...

I love to be there again but I hope you can do something like hook up more fans, more ranger hood to suck all the smoky air out that would be awesome for the customer health.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

our chef was energetic and funny. some i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

our chef was energetic and funny. some impressive cooking utencils show.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always good - chef was friendly ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is always good - chef was friendly - waitress was available for whatever we needed.

We go about 1-2x a year and always enjoy it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time there and I was highly imp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My first time there and I was highly impressed. Our server was friendly and Attentive with our table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as usual. I had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was excellent as usual. I had the Benihana Trio, and my wife had the steak & shrimp. The chef was entertaining and was cooking at the right pace during our dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our grill wasn't heated so we had to wai ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our grill wasn't heated so we had to wait an extra 15 min for it to warm up. Manager offered us appatizers at no charge but we had already ordered some and eaten them by that point. So they brought out an appetizer anyways. There was no compensation on the bill so we paid the full price even though the grill kept going out. I was in the restroom several times that night after eating there, something must've been wrong with my food. That was all I ate so it wasn't something else. We will not be back. Our chef requested our meals all be free because of the issues with the grill

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a great place to enjoy family and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always a great place to enjoy family and be entertained while eating. Nothing but great experiences !

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Missed their yummy salad which was missi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Missed their yummy salad which was missing at lunch. Was it always missing? Our chef did was not nearly as entertaining as other tables. We were jealous. No shrimp tail in hat trick we love and hardly any personal interactions with table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating my sons 16th Birthda ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were celebrating my sons 16th Birthday. We had so much fun. The food was great! The cooks were friendly and entertaining! Our host was great! The whole experience was great!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY slow service. 40 minutes from when ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

VERY slow service. 40 minutes from when we were seated until our chef showed up .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

It was very good. The reservation set up ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was very good. The reservation set up was very easy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to other Benihana's in the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have been to other Benihana's in the past and wanted to try this one. It was my husband's birthday and the birthday of two other people at our table. The food was good, the server was excellent, but the chef was just OK. He was mostly just going through the motions. He never interacted with the birthday people, except to ask them questions about their order. He was mostly interacting with the chef at the table bedside us. One thing that was different from other similar restaurants is that you had to pay 4.00 extra if you wanted the fried rice. Most places will automatically fix the fried rice, as it enhances the show, but they serve steamed rice.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was terrible, he brought us o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our waiter was terrible, he brought us our soup and salads, took orders. But then he was never seen again until we had to ask another waiter from another table to get him. Then when we explained how unhappy the service was he got an attitude with us and rudely said he would take our ice cream orders. Other parties at our table agreed with his service not being up to par. He never served us any hot tea which came with everyone's meal. We had to ask for the manager, which was the only saving grace of the evening. I had come for my birthday celebration, which I have been doing every year since I was about 15, I am now 34. So clearly I value this restaurant as a staple in my life, I love the food, the location, the decor, the friendly and happy chefs and usually the great no outstanding service. Sorry to say it but Benihana of Beaverton you let this one slip for the night.

I will return again, I usually visit 4-6 times a year. And hopefully next years birthday will be the best of them all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Would love to see fresh local organic op ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Would love to see fresh local organic options on the menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I love this place and the food. The chef ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I love this place and the food. The chefs are always so nice and always playing pranks. The entertainment mixed with the food just makes the experience at Benihana so much more enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wanted somewhere special to eat which ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We wanted somewhere special to eat which is why we choose Benihana. Our grown children had never been and it would be our last all together family dinner for a few years. Our server was great but didn't offer us ice cream which was offered in the menu with our meals, we could have asked for it but still it should have been offered regardless. The food was almost perfect. It was a little salty compared to what I normally consume but I still enjoyed it tremendously. Lastly, this was not our first time but some of our guests had never been here before and they would have liked their first time picture as a souvenir. The server didn't acknowledge them at all. Which to them was kinda disappointing. I'm sure we will be back again.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It just felt run-down and tired. The car ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

It just felt run-down and tired. The carpets were dirty. The bathroom was a mess. There were spare chairs stacked along the wall next to our table, along with a broom and dust pan. It was incredibly noisy and the whole experience just felt rushed, over-played and not very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Friendly cook

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Friendly cook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there last week and had a poor e ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went there last week and had a poor experience. We gave it another try this week because we thought it might have just been the chef. Unfortunately, we got the same chef this week too! The experience was equally bad. I can't say I'm interested in going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great fun as always! The cooks work in f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great fun as always! The cooks work in front of you and make the experience a kick to to watch . It's on the loud side because of all the tables but the noise is part of the ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place is not cheap, but they have t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is not cheap, but they have the best food prepared fresh right in front of you, by a friendly expert. We highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.