About Benihana - Beaverton

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (117)
Good for Birthdays (111)
Fun (99)
See All
Good for Groups (79)
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Kid-friendly (58)
Family Style (52)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Casual (40)
Open Kitchen (39)
Worth the Drive (35)
Authentic (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Healthy (21)
People Watching (21)
Romantic (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Cozy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Spicy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely loved the customer service. We had an awesome chef named Mateo! Highly recommend coming here for a nice dinner out. Free ice cream for birthday dinners!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Great tasty food, very nice service and you have to use the $30 birthday coupon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed dinner there. The theatrical portion of the dinner was lacking. Lacked energy and engagement. Food tasted great. Steak cooked the way I requested. Service was attentive. 4 stars.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Love going to Benihana once or twice a year. The chefs are entertaining, the overall service is great!
My only complaint would be the strong food smell (you literally have to wash everything you wear after a visit there) and the noise level caused by the fans.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Reservations weren't valued at this location. I made reservations with another table and confirmed the tables would be close. We were sat down at 6:30 (our reservation time) however we weren't seated with the other half of our party and were left standing around another table due to the other half of the party not being sat down until 30mins after the reservation time. The manager and greeters were rude. However the chef and waitress were amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The manager was useless and our reservation time meant nothing. I had a reservation for 6:30 made 2 weeks in advance with a second table. The first table was seated on time the second table didn't get seated until 7:00 , half of our party was done before the other half sat down and everyone was there well before our reservation time

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The only thing is that after leaving, my clothing and even my hair smelled very very strongly of the cooking.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We celebrate my boyfriend's birthday there for dinner. Food was great! The chef was performing just OK, not too professional thou.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food & spectacular service! One of the best place's in Portland to spend a special occasion at, can't wait to go again :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was excellent and service was great. Sometimes a little too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food good. Quite expensive. Fun time. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Allen our chef was awesome! He was funny and the food was cooked perfectly. Thank you for your amazing hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We visited to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday. We had an AWESOME experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

As usual this place ceases to disappoint, as long as you got some money to burn. Not to say it wasn't worth every penny...just be ready because this isn't your neighborhood Applebee's. Good food, good atmosphere worth the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It took an hour for someone to come serve our table and the intial waiter forgot the sushi... so the only good part was the guy who cooked our food. He was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went for Lunch on a Saturday. We had booked ahead and was on time for the appointment. The Service was great. The food was awesome and the chefs were very friendly to us and to the kids. We all loved the cooking (including our kid). Will definitely come back for another occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Malik did a great job as our chef! He was very entertaining and skilled.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Not sure why but it didn't seem to matter that it was our anniversary and the chef didn't provide the table side grilling experience you would expect, no tossing of shrimp or any other activities. For the experience the price should be lower i can get same quality of food at any half decent steak house but for half the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love chef Ciscero and the staff is great. Always willing to accommodate if you ask!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

the service lady, taking our orders, was like always in a big rush,, she even took our soups before we had finished and took my husbands salad and was still eating it, I ended up giving him mine,..,.,
the food was not of good portion that we have had in the past, very small qtys for what we pd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

B-rad was so funny and cooked all our meats to perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Healthy, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had a reservation for 5 people at 7:45, didn't get seated until 8:20 and then it took over an hr to get our food. Very very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My twins 9th birthday told you 8 times it was their birthday and server forgot my drink 5 times acted like he didn't even remember on the 6th time following dinner I was told after they gave me the bill that I needed to have a birthday coupon and they would not let me print it or show it to them on my phone every time I come more and more and nickel-and-diming without any credit we come trying to get in often very difficult to get time to come in based on how busy you are which for you is good but you say you have $30 off 4 birthday and my twins had their birthday March 11th we came in and you would not allow me the $30 off can you explain that please?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We visited for lunch on March 8th. While we had to wait more than 30 minutes after being seated before food arrived, Angel was well worth the wait. Great job.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Chris, our chef was amazing! He worked a long day and did not complain at all! He was very entertaining to watch and everyone that was working was very nice.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Went there for my boyfriend's birthday-his first time ever to a hibachi styled restaurant. I have been to several in other places. The chef seemed newer to the job. Food was delish. My boyfriend was happy. Staff were very nice

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We always have a good time at Benihana. This time our cook was not AS entertaining as past ones have been. She was very sweet and did a great job, but we were there for our son's birthday and there were not many of the traditional "tricks" the cooks do. But we had fun anyway and the food was great! Also, our server was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed our visit very much
To be expected our clothes did smell awful afterwards . But sitting around a flat top it's to be expected

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was as always, a fun time. Enjoyed the cook's skill and banter. The food is very good. A great time had by all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cicero the chef was great, but felt rushed by the wait staff who almost forgot about the dessert and did forget about the tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good food, great staff...can be a bit loud. Good for children ages 4 and older.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was so much fun. The kids loved it and so did we. The best part was when we got the portrait to go. Nice way to end a memorable night n to keep it with us forever

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Sat with a Gluten Free stranger so the food was all cooked in the wrong order. I should have my main meats before I even get my shrimp and chicken fried rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The chef we got was great amazing and funny interacted great with the party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I was unhappy with my food. My steak was cooked perfectly but nothing had very much flavor. Veggies were over cooked.

Our waitress was very upbeat and pleasant. Just needs work on her cooking skills.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Super fun spot to eat with friends and family! Great food and very entertaining!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I went to Benihana Monday night for my birthday dinner with friends, and the food was good, but not particularly remarkable. Our hostess was friendly, but our teppanyaki chef left something to be desired. He cooked the food well enough, but he seemed disorganized and like he didn't quite know what he was doing. None of the table tricks were as engaging and spectacular as they are with chefs I've had in the past, and he didn't have any of the flair or skill I come to expect from Benihana chefs, dropping ingredients and spilling food onto the grill and table.

In addition, and I hesitate to bring this up because it's not often something people tend to think about, but one of my friends who was at dinner with us is a trans man. While the chef was preparing our fried rice, he shaped the cooking rice into a person with egg shell eyes (I was not wild about having broken egg shell on my food after he'd already gotten shell pieces into the eggs while prepping them, but that's another issue entirely) and then moved the shells down to the figure's chest to say "he's not a real man at all!", imitating the shells as breasts. It was palpably awkward for my friend, as he is, in fact, a man with breasts. While I know the chef surely meant no ill will, it definitely did kill the mood of the party, and is something Benihana should keep in mind when training their employees.

I've been a Benihana customer for years, and I know that they can do better than this, but had this been my first visit (as it was for two of my guests) I would not be making plans to return any time soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a lot of fun tonight. Reliably delicious food and courteous service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 28, 2017

B-rad was an awesome chef and fun. The last two times were not so great and we were a bit apprehensive but this time made up for it. Great food. Great fun. Your clothes will stink after.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We love Benihana, but this was the absolute worst experience. Our chef did NOT interact with anyone at the table and was very quiet. She wasn't skilled with tricks or shuffling the spatulas etc dropped them every time and flung food everywhere. The experience took almost 2 hours and this was my moms first time coming and I raved how wonderful it was but her salmon was SO undercooked. Amy took it back and cooked it more but it was still very uncooked and then she blamed it on the thickness but never apologized. It made my entire group not want to go back! Very disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.