About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Benihana - Beaverton
Shrimp & Lobster Tails
Ahi Poki
Fiket Mignon
Lunch Boat
Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Salmon sushi
green salad
Fish And Lobster
Vegas Roll
Teppanyaki
Benihana Onion Soup
Dragon Roll
Negihama Hand Roll
Salmon Hand Roll
Tempura Shrimp
Caterpillar Roll
Fried Rice, Habachi Shrimp & Vegetables
Habachi Scallops
Spicy Tuna Roll
Takara Plum Wine
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Onion Soup
Saba
Thompson Delight

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
2 More
Best Ambiance
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

Special Occasion (159)
Good for Groups (145)
Kid-friendly (88)
See All
Great for Lunch (49)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

VERY slow service. 40 minutes from when ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

VERY slow service. 40 minutes from when we were seated until our chef showed up .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Would love to see fresh local organic op ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Would love to see fresh local organic options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

I love this place and the food. The chef ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place and the food. The chefs are always so nice and always playing pranks. The entertainment mixed with the food just makes the experience at Benihana so much more enjoyable.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We wanted somewhere special to eat which ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We wanted somewhere special to eat which is why we choose Benihana. Our grown children had never been and it would be our last all together family dinner for a few years. Our server was great but didn't offer us ice cream which was offered in the menu with our meals, we could have asked for it but still it should have been offered regardless. The food was almost perfect. It was a little salty compared to what I normally consume but I still enjoyed it tremendously. Lastly, this was not our first time but some of our guests had never been here before and they would have liked their first time picture as a souvenir. The server didn't acknowledge them at all. Which to them was kinda disappointing. I'm sure we will be back again.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Friendly cook

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly cook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there last week and had a poor e ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went there last week and had a poor experience. We gave it another try this week because we thought it might have just been the chef. Unfortunately, we got the same chef this week too! The experience was equally bad. I can't say I'm interested in going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great fun as always! The cooks work in f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great fun as always! The cooks work in front of you and make the experience a kick to to watch . It's on the loud side because of all the tables but the noise is part of the ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place is not cheap, but they have t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is not cheap, but they have the best food prepared fresh right in front of you, by a friendly expert. We highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "chef" must've been new. He was ver ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our "chef" must've been new. He was very sloppy and messy and mixed up orders and didn't do much of the table show that you come to expect from Hibachi restaurants. The chef at one table over engaged our table more than ours did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I have been going to Benihana's for year ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been going to Benihana's for years, but this was my first time going to the one in Beaverton - It was disappointing! My husband and son had never been before and we were celebrating my husbands work promotion. The woman who took our order was wonderful, but the chef was disappointing. He was not as enthusiastic as others, was slow and only preformed only two tricks. We might go back just to see if it was a fluke. I've always enjoyed their food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Our only complaint would be, it takes t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our only complaint would be, it takes the server quite awhile to bring our check, to pick -up our check and bring back our check so we could leave.

Maynor, our chef at the Beaverton, Oregon location was fantastic!!! He showed us tricks we've never seen before. He was very entertaining. We really enjoyed the show and he was funny!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We had early reservations with just five ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had early reservations with just five people and they took forever to seat us, not sure why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our and chef excellent and made sure w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our and chef excellent and made sure wanted for nothing. The chef was very entertaining and personable and not a phoney. Itmade for a memorable 18th birthday for my daughter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and entertaining especially f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and entertaining especially for the kids!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great as always. It's always hi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great as always. It's always hit or miss if you get a great chef or not. We did not this time. And our waiter had other things on his mind. He never offered us hot tea and forgot our included ice creams desserts. I did notice another waitress that was happy and offering up great service at another table. And the chef across from us seemed more energetic. But we would come back for the food and the kids enjoy the cooking table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great fun, easy to interact ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great fun, easy to interact during dinner. 2 year old in our group was entertained enough to sit through a dinner and he ate alot because he loved the food. Our chef gave him special attention through out the presentation of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service used to be much better and the p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service used to be much better and the portion size is MUCH smaller so the value of the experience is poor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Benihana is a great place to celebrate y ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Benihana is a great place to celebrate your birthday and/or other special events with loved ones. The restaurant offers very good service/food with ongoing entertainment by the chefs and other staff. If you are celebrating your birthday, you can avail the $30 birthday discount by signing up on their Chef table system.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a good time, though Amy lost her ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a good time, though Amy lost her groove during the meal. The fans were too loud, and we could not hear her.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We booked a full table to celebrate my s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We booked a full table to celebrate my son's 9th birthday. 2 adults and 6 kids and it was FANTASTIC. The kids were super engaged in the show and the server and chef were proactive in anticipating any "kid" issues, such as bringing the soup with the onions, mushrooms, etc. on the side and taking the ice cream order before too much time passed. It was smiles all around. Great food. Smooth from start to finish.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always good but a bit expens ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is always good but a bit expensive for the quality. You are paying extra for the show, so I'm not complaining. Just know what you're in for when eating here. Due to the nature of the show and the roaring vent fans, it can be quite noisy. Also just something to be aware of. Lots of families and young groups meeting for special occasions. A lot of people clearly treat it as a special event and dress up a bit, but t-shirts and shorts are common as well. I would say dress a little nicer than usual for Portland so you don't feel out of place, and you may even end up sitting with well dressed people at your table. The place is always packed for dinner so do make reservations.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm tired of Benihana malfunctioning wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I'm tired of Benihana malfunctioning with the Open Table system. I didn't get my dining points yet again, because when I tried to make a rez with Open Table I was told the Benihana system was "offline"

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always good food and fun at Benihan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It's always good food and fun at Benihana's. Our chef was excellent. Kept a smile on my 8 year old's face for her birthday! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place always has a foreign high cla ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This place always has a foreign high class feel, not stuffy but elegant and relaxing. Our server was an absolute delight! He was friendly and always ready to help. Our chef was a bit late and while she did put on a show, I felt it paled in comparison to my previous experience. My husband had the Salmon with avocado tartar sauce and I had the Tuna Steak, both were excellent! I was hoping for a bit more food for the cost I think and a bit more flavor in my dish but I may have raised me exceptions since the last time I was there and was blown away by both the flavors and chef's skill for entertainment! It may be a couple things were just a tad off that evening. Overall I would do it again and recommend my friends to come along!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy our evenings out at Beni ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We always enjoy our evenings out at Benihana's. They make it such an enjoyable and entertaining evening for everyone and you're sure to make new friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first time coming at lunch h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was my first time coming at lunch hours so I'm not sure if this played into the slow service. I brought my sister and her statement was you sure better had not come here hungry!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant, but the main reason we go here is for the entertainment. The food is good, but always leaves a charred soy after taste in my mouth that lingers for hours. But, I do not go here for the food, every other restaurant serves pretty much the same offerings, in fact other restaurants taste better. We go here for the entertainment, something different than the other restaurants, and we had one of the best entertainers this time, we laughed and enjoyed his skills with the cooking utensils, jokes and magic tricks. The kids loved it. I won't go back to eat the food, but I will go back to enjoy the show.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food as always, but the experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food as always, but the experience with our chef was not good or up to par. Not for lack of cooking but rather lack of decency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great spot for a group. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great spot for a group. Food was wonderful as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and chief were excellent but foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service and chief were excellent but food wasnt as good as usual just a little off on seasoning. I have had better in my past visits. Really disappointed in green tea ice cream not tasty or creamy at all. Whoever is now making you ice cre find someone new. I've been eating at your restaurant starting in Calif many years ago and now it's just way over priced. Time to change up vegs been serving same thing for years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The host needs to be friendlier. They lo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The host needs to be friendlier. They look so mad and down. I don't find the greeting very inviting as well, and I go every other week.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were made to wait for the rest of our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were made to wait for the rest of our party, even with a reservation - rather annoying. Food was excellent, service person was excellent, but it all seemed hurried and felt like there was no time to linger over coffee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful adventure and great staff and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful adventure and great staff and thanks for not judging one of our group got a little loud but when staff saw they let it be handled by family. Well done!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So loud. Don't go if you want to hold a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

So loud. Don't go if you want to hold a conversation. Fun for the spectacle of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have visiting your restaurants for ov ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have visiting your restaurants for over 30 years and have NEVER been disappointed anywhere in the country. Very very consistent at top level. I have brought family and friends as well as business associates and their families and knew it would be a wonderful experience for all , children and adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food. I recommend going her ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really good food. I recommend going here for special occasion and not when you are starving. The portions are small, and pricey. Fun for kids to watch the chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and wer ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and were not seated till 7:00 pm. It was 8:00 pm by the time we actually got soup and salad, by this time we were starving! It's worse every time we go here. Luckily the food was good, but we won't be celebrating events here very often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Another great meal from Benihana! Chef ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another great meal from Benihana! Chef Cicero was really good- he cooked great food and was very professional. It must have been a particularly busy Sunday or there were not enough servers. They are usually on top of clearing as soon as you're done and you don't have to wait for water for too long but on this particular visit, service was slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The food was very great and the chef was fun to watch, very talented!!! The restaurant was packed and the patrons were all having fun. I definitely will return!!!

Love your reservation app.!!!! Thank you for providing a great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took our grown son out for his birthd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We took our grown son out for his birthday and took his grandparents with us. His grandparents are in their late 80's and usually light eaters, but nearly licked their plates clean. They did run out of brown rice, and were not offered the option of fried rice because the food cart had already been prepared without enough fried rice ingredients. The only real flaw in the evening, was being left with white steamed rice, really our third choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.