About Benihana - Beaverton

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (103)
Fun (87)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Good for a Date (69)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Kid-friendly (54)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Casual (29)
People Watching (28)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Healthy (12)
Romantic (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Spicy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was mediocre (although the steak was fantastic). We went here for the atmosphere and it did not disappoint. Our chef and server were both amazing. If we go back we will request them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Love coming here for my bdays and special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated our daughter's birthday. Servers were friendly, chef was entertaining, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

My 2 year old loved the chef. Made him laugh. Food was good as always. Enjoy going for my birthday each year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed I have wanted to eat here for 40 years and now wondering why I waited so long. Celebrate my husband birthday 🎉 we had a great evening and plan to come back for linch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We come for all our birthdays. We are usually very satisfied with our food , chef, servers.
NOT THIS TIME ! THE CHEF WAS TERRIBLE, HE HAD ONLY BEEN COOKING ON CHEF TABLES FOR 3 WEEKS. HE WASN'T ENTERTAINING AT ALL, all he did was the volcano. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN OK, BUT HIS COOKING SKILLS HAS ALOT TO BE DESIRED. OUR CHICKEN FRIED RICE WAS GREASY. THE VEGETABLES WERE HARDLY COOKED. OUR STEAKS WEREN'T COOKED CORRECTLY. THE TABLE NEXT TO US WAS EATING THEIR SALAD WHEN WE ARRIVED AND OUR CHEF FINISHED PREPARING OUR FOOD WAY BEFORE THE TABLE NEXT TO US GOT THERE FOOD. OUR CHEF WAS JESUS.
VERY SAD, TO SPEND OUR BIRTHDAY SO LOUSY.😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We were so disappointed with our birthday night:( waited 30 minutes for drinks. Waited 20 or so for food to start cooking:( neighbor table was also waiting and were extremely vocal and upset with slow service 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The waiter Dijon has been our favorite waiter for years. We go to Benihanas 4-5 times every year for special occasions and it's always fun when when we have him as a waiter. We have started requesting him when we go because he makes the unforgettable. But, however, the food is amazing and worth it even if Dijon is not working that night.

Tags: People Watching, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Will be back very soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was awesome but we were also the life of the party.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Late-night Find, People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As always , our family enjoyed our meal. Food is excellent . Good variety. Presentation is fun and interaction with chief is a good part of the fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It appears the physical restaurant space is both too small and inefficient for the staff as well as the guests.
Extremely hard to hear even the person next to you. Too much noise throughout the restaurant.
Restrooms REALLY need to be updated and maintained. The men's room was disgusting. I mentioned same to the front desk on my way out.
Based on the smallness of the restaurant, better processes for staff should be implemented to make the experience better for the customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My son wanted to celebrate his 10th bday at Benihana. we have been there before. Good food and Great show by Chef Cicero.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We go to Benihana a couple times a year. We bring the kids one of those times. We would eat there every day if we could. It's always worth it and always delicious!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I seem to remember it being better. It has been about a year since my last visit there. Now I remember why, it is overpriced for what you get. The chef had very little to no interaction with everyone at the table. He was there to do his little presentation that they all do with no enthusiasm. It was the worst presentation for the price. Wouldn't waste your time going there. Might as well BBQ at your house and save $100. Plenty of better places for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our chef was great, but our waiter seemed way more interested in socializing with certain guests than he was in doing his job. I was there for my birthday and felt very neglected by him for the majority of the time while he paid tons of attention to other guests at our table. I've been to Benihana many times and have never experienced anything like this. It was pretty disappointing. It also made it very hard to decide how much to tip because our chef did a wonderful job and deserved a really good tip.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Been to Benihana in Beaverton many times with EXCELLENT food; three weeks ago we were here with my sister and brother-in-law visiting from out-of-state and had an EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE and EXCELLENT FOOD. But on this occasion (birthday celebration), we felt we were RUSHED through our dinner. And FOOD - my LOBSTER TAIL was terribly overcooked (kept on grill > 20 minutes) and my FILET MIGNON was undercooked, the CHICKEN in the YAKISOBA dish my wife ordered was overcooked, and the BEEF SLICES my son ordered was flooded in far too much TERIYAKI sauce. BUT as I said - food is normally EXCELLENT but not this day!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our chief Chris did a great job in cooking our food and our waitress was pleasant and very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Benihana is the classic place for experiencing a meal that is prepared right at your table and although it had been several years since we had last went there for dinner, we were not disappointed. We went for my brother's 51st birthday and it was a very good choice! Our table included my Mom, brother, and I and another couple, so we were not crowded and there was plenty of room to spread out. Our chef was very charismatic and entertaining. We really enjoyed the show he put on while preparing the food, which was simply delicious! My Mom and brother had the steak and lobster while I had the "Benihana Trio" of steak, chicken, and colossal shrimp. It was very good and very filling! We each had the six-course meal, which was more than enough food! We really enjoyed ourselves and Benihana has now moved back into the rotation of places we will go to in order to celebrate special occasions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Awful, awful place. Service was great, food was horrible. I think they need to work on their ingredients and presentation. No fault of the chef. He did a great job. I think Benihana's as a chain needs to go away. Portland has great food and this ambiance and food menu is outdated. I was pretty ill the next day and had massive stomach pains. It completely ruined my Saturday. I will never eat here again and would never recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fabulous as always ! Excellent food and great entertainment!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was a celebration dinner and we were not impressed. The food was ok but not worth the money. Our chef appeared bored and rushed. It was definetly not the experience promoted on the website. I can see how getting a good chef would certaintly add or enhance the experience but overall, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We live out of Portland, love eating here when we are in the area. Unfortunately this time, it took over an hour before our chef even made it to our table. I have never waited that long. Our chef was ok, the show and size of portions have decreased. Other then that good was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Mateo is always friendly and does a great job as our favorite chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our chef Allen was amazing!! Great food and he was so accommodating to my daughter's tastes/needs. Best experience at Benihana so far!!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had an amazing cook, Mateo. Our waitress left a lot to be desired...but Mateo more then made up for it! We dine here pretty often and he's been the best we've had!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very loud inside and a bit over priced but our chef was very very good and funny. We enjoyed our evening a lot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The lady who served us is not a professional waitress. We hope that she should be more friendly. The cook was very nice but fried rice is too not cooked and its hard rice. Overall the food teaste is good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience there. The service was spot on and the
food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This Benihana is better than the last two we've been to in the San Francisco Bay Area. The food was well prepared, and obviously not just reheated as at some other chains. Service was about the best we've ever had at a teppan restaurant. One of us really enjoys going to Benihana for her birthday, and she was well satisfied with her first visit to this location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food! Friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We love benihana. We spend everyone's birthday there. The staff are great and very friendly.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

They have the best food, staff and atmosphere of any restaurant around, it is my favorite place to eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We went to celebrate our daughter's 11th birthday as this was where she wanted to go. We had a 5:15 reservation on a Monday night and weren't seated until 5:45. The waiting area had loud music and the hostess was impersonal. We were seated in the back room near the waterfall and it was like stepping into a meat locker - freezing air blew on us the entire dinner.

It took another half hour for us to get our water glasses and for the chef to show up. He meant well but his attempts at being funny/entertaining were painfully awkward and bordered on irritating. Worse yet, his food was not prepared well as the chicken was overcooked and rubbery as was the shrimp. It was too noisy to have a conversation with my family as the ambient noise made it difficult to hear one another. Overall our experience there left a lot to be desired which was disappointing given how this is is a more expensive restaurant. Also, I know there isn't much they can do about it due the nature of the chef cooking right in front of you but we were rather put off by our clothing wreaking with a stench of fried rice when we got home from dinner.

I will never return there again after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always good! The food is fabulous and love that they cook it for you. My favorite restaurant

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service is always very slow. They take forever to refill drinks. I got scallops and they were fishy tasting. I give it to the cook who made some weird funky steak. Realized I didn't like it. He ordered and cooked me a new one on him. As busy as this place is 7 days a week. I am surprised they don't have a second location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Really awesome as always. Twins 17th birthday. Service was great, food delicious. Really love it here. Try to get here a few times a year. You just can't go wrong. Memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We loved it! It was our first time there, and our hook Jose was very interactive with all of us have us all laughing.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We always enjoy the entertainment at Benihanas and have made it a tradition to celebrate birthdays there. We were disappointed to say the least. Not only were we forgotten by the hostess after making advanced reservations, we were seated against a wall and our chef, Amy, was terrible, inexperienced, unengaging, and hard to understand/hear. Her skills leave a lot to be desired. She dropped her spatula and her culinary skills were 1 on a 1-10 scale. Our food orders were mixed up and by the time it was done everything was cold due to the slow, unorganized process. On the positive side Dijon was excellent! He took our order and picture and sang to our son, VERY entertaining! Our whole purpose for going to Benihanas is of course the great food, but the entertainment. Chef Amy was a HUGE disappointment. $300 later and a non-memorable birthday, VERY disappointed :( We'll certainly think twice about returning.
Thanks for taking the time to read our review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I love coming to Benihana but always get placed in the back of the restaurant where it seems we get forgotten with staff and also it's so darn cold back there. Next time I reserve a table I will definitely request the front section where it's more comfortable. My son always has to bring his sweatshirt and one for his legs when we're sat way back by the water fountain. Otherwise food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.