About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Lobster Tails
Ahi Poki
Fiket Mignon
Lunch Boat
Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Salmon sushi
green salad
Fish And Lobster
Vegas Roll
Benihana Onion Soup
Teppanyaki
Caterpillar Roll
Salmon Hand Roll
Negihama Hand Roll
Dragon Roll
Tempura Shrimp
Fried Rice, Habachi Shrimp & Vegetables
Habachi Scallops
Spicy Tuna Roll
Onion Soup
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Takara Plum Wine
Saba
Thompson Delight

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
1 More
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

special occasion (155)
good for groups (144)
kid-friendly (93)
See All
great for lunch (54)
fit for foodies (42)
romantic (23)
hot spot (19)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (7)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

I enjoy the ambiance of this restaurant, but the main reason we go here is for the entertainment. The food is good, but always leaves a charred soy after taste in my mouth that lingers for hours. But, I do not go here for the food, every other restaurant serves pretty much the same offerings, in fact other restaurants taste better. We go here for the entertainment, something different than the other restaurants, and we had one of the best entertainers this time, we laughed and enjoyed his skills with the cooking utensils, jokes and magic tricks. The kids loved it. I won't go back to eat the food, but I will go back to enjoy the show.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food as always, but the experience ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food as always, but the experience with our chef was not good or up to par. Not for lack of cooking but rather lack of decency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great spot for a group. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for a group. Food was wonderful as always.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and chief were excellent but foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service and chief were excellent but food wasnt as good as usual just a little off on seasoning. I have had better in my past visits. Really disappointed in green tea ice cream not tasty or creamy at all. Whoever is now making you ice cre find someone new. I've been eating at your restaurant starting in Calif many years ago and now it's just way over priced. Time to change up vegs been serving same thing for years.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The host needs to be friendlier. They lo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The host needs to be friendlier. They look so mad and down. I don't find the greeting very inviting as well, and I go every other week.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We were made to wait for the rest of our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were made to wait for the rest of our party, even with a reservation - rather annoying. Food was excellent, service person was excellent, but it all seemed hurried and felt like there was no time to linger over coffee.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful adventure and great staff and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful adventure and great staff and thanks for not judging one of our group got a little loud but when staff saw they let it be handled by family. Well done!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So loud. Don't go if you want to hold a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

So loud. Don't go if you want to hold a conversation. Fun for the spectacle of it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have visiting your restaurants for ov ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have visiting your restaurants for over 30 years and have NEVER been disappointed anywhere in the country. Very very consistent at top level. I have brought family and friends as well as business associates and their families and knew it would be a wonderful experience for all , children and adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food. I recommend going her ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really good food. I recommend going here for special occasion and not when you are starving. The portions are small, and pricey. Fun for kids to watch the chef.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and wer ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm and were not seated till 7:00 pm. It was 8:00 pm by the time we actually got soup and salad, by this time we were starving! It's worse every time we go here. Luckily the food was good, but we won't be celebrating events here very often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Another great meal from Benihana! Chef ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another great meal from Benihana! Chef Cicero was really good- he cooked great food and was very professional. It must have been a particularly busy Sunday or there were not enough servers. They are usually on top of clearing as soon as you're done and you don't have to wait for water for too long but on this particular visit, service was slow.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The food was very great and the chef was fun to watch, very talented!!! The restaurant was packed and the patrons were all having fun. I definitely will return!!!

Love your reservation app.!!!! Thank you for providing a great service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took our grown son out for his birthd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We took our grown son out for his birthday and took his grandparents with us. His grandparents are in their late 80's and usually light eaters, but nearly licked their plates clean. They did run out of brown rice, and were not offered the option of fried rice because the food cart had already been prepared without enough fried rice ingredients. The only real flaw in the evening, was being left with white steamed rice, really our third choice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere was great. One ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great. One tidbit to know; is the food comes one at a time with the entrée last. you will be full before the entrée if you do not wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Troy, our server was fantastic! Great jo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Troy, our server was fantastic! Great job keeping us all engaged and enjoying our visit. Malik, our cook, was ok. Not a lot of "show" from him. On our other visits, the cook was much more engaged and had more of a show for us as guests. The quality of Malik's cooking was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Not great food but not terrible. You are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Not great food but not terrible. You are paying for experience, however some of the "chefs" give better show than others. The chef behind us was giving an excellent show but ours was "ok". Would not return but glad to finally fo

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Fun table cooking experience. The chef ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fun table cooking experience. The chef and servers were friendly and engaged the group. Food was fantastic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good fun, great food and entertaining. E ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Good fun, great food and entertaining. Edi did a great job and took of all of us really well.

Thanks!!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to bring the grandkids to Beniha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We love to bring the grandkids to Benihana. The chefs keep the kids entertained. And, the adults always love the food - always so fresh and fun to watch the cooking!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We come here for our birthdays every yea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We come here for our birthdays every year. It's so much fun and the food is great. It's become our birthday tradition for years now.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had fun with my kids. They enjoyed it- ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Had fun with my kids. They enjoyed it- their first time there

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awful my scallops were so o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was awful my scallops were so over cooked and everything was under seasoned and over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Outstanding meal and outstanding service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Outstanding meal and outstanding service!! Would highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only reason why we came was for my w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The only reason why we came was for my wifes birthday. She order Yakisoba noodle with her dinner and never got them. We also ordered steamed rice witch the server forgot to bring us. Service is always a hit or miss, sometimes its good but this time it was a miss. I know no one probably reads this but thought I would give it a shot.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The stove was never turned on so it took ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The stove was never turned on so it took forever to start cooking. We ended up having to move tables and there were no comps for the inconvinience. We had starving little kids and I expected some small quick appetizers for the kids since it took 2 hours to cook our food. The cook and waiter meld screaming at each talking across the room which was distracting to an already starving group of people. We usually have a great time but not this time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Only acceptable after 7. Go earlier and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Only acceptable after 7. Go earlier and it is fine. Later, it is only okay.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Came out for my birthday and enjoyed a g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Came out for my birthday and enjoyed a great dinner and used my 30 dollar off birthday coupon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and show, but the ventilation ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and show, but the ventilation in parts of the restaurant was lacking. With the way they cook, the garlic and onions make it hard see and breath at times. They are busy every night so its always an issue.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We came to celebrate Father's Day with o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came to celebrate Father's Day with our Godparents. The meal was wonderfully prepared by Malik. We requested him from a prior visit and he did not disappoint. We always enjoy coming back and he made it all the more eventful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually get great service and excepti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We usually get great service and exceptional food at Benihana's. This time was a disaster. The chef was messy, clumsy and dangerous. He tried juggling his knives and cooking utensils and kept dropping them. When cooking the fried rice he lost one egg off the stove and shattered a rice bowl while throwing it in the air. At that point he had to clean up the broken china and start over from the beginning. The second attempt at cooking the fried rice wasn't much better. When he was passing out the food he lost his balance and nearly fell onto the stove! There was no show and his inexperience really showed. For the most part the food was o.k. but some of our group refused to eat the chicken because it wasn't cooked all the way through.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was wonderfull untill the bil ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was wonderfull untill the bill the waitress told us to tip according to the whole amount. I know that. How rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Benihana is my husband's favorite restau ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Benihana is my husband's favorite restaurant so his pick for Father's Day. In spite of reservation did have to wait about 15 minutes past our table time but not bad. The chef was nice but definitely not the best that we have had at previous visits. The waitress forgot everyone's salad but apologized profusely at the end of the meal and comped us a few ice creams. Manager did come by and apologize as well so all good. The meal itself was good but not the best I have had at Benihana. I upgraded my usual of Rocky's Choice to filet mignon and it was a bit tough; not as tender as I have had elsewhere. Still love Benihana and will give them another try in the future.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The cook at our table was wonderful... B ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The cook at our table was wonderful... B-RAD. He was funny, entertaining, and skillful. The attendants for our table were prompt with the water re-fills. The group picture was a nice touch. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The thing I was disappointed with was we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The thing I was disappointed with was were there to celebrate a birthday we were told we get aa birthday song a picture and a free desert spent almost $90 for two of US and we did not get any of those things and I told 3 different people we were celebrating my husband birthday so that was a disappointment.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a reservation for 12:15. Weren't bro ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had a reservation for 12:15. Weren't brought to our table until 12:45! What's the point of a reservation if they aren't going to seat you for half an hour. This NEVER fails at Benihana!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We had a great meal and a fun time with ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a great meal and a fun time with our chef. The 2very young children in the party enjoyed the experience as much as the adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, as usual! We went on a M ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful meal, as usual! We went on a Monday at 6:00pm and I was amazed how busy it was. Waited about 15 minutes past our reservation, the only thing slightly negative. I had steak, chicken and shrimp combo. Fabulous! Fried rice is a must!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed. We were there for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were disappointed. We were there for a special occasion, but our chef appeared to be very inexperienced. She was dropping utentials, and seemed clumsy. The combo I ordered had steak and chicken and when I ate the chicken it was rubbery and I wondered if it was not completely cooked.

For the price, I expected a far better experience. I doubt we will return anytime soon as we generally don't spend this much money for a meal without an expectation of great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

I do not go here often. But, I really sh ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I do not go here often. But, I really should.

Everyone is friendly, good with younger kids and great at explaining for how it works to first time customers!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.