Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 59 times today

Benihana - Beaverton

4.4
2103 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
  • Fun
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH:
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday : 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 643-4016
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2103 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

We had a great past experience but unfortunately, our Chef this time was overly playful. His antics were overdone and his act became annoying after about 30 minutes.

I don’t think a Chef should ever throw food at the customers. Our Chef threw a few shrimp tails at my mom and son... we did not appreciate it or find it funny.

It’s not Benihana, it was Chef Jose who we did not like.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was a fun night to celebrate a birthday. Food was good and the service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The food and servers were excellent. The only complaints really are that they put the menus on the clean plates, ( menus are usually the dirtiest things in a restaurant) and that your clothes always smell afterwards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was a fun dinner. And, Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Had an excellent evening celebrating for my sons birthday, were seated with a very nice family and had a wonderful chef. We have been several times and the chef kept us laughing and surprised with new entertainment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Father day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Our family of three went to Benihana’s to celebrate Father’s a Day. We had a wonderful experience from the moment we stepped in the door from the host stand from the moment we exit after dinner. Our server Tomiko was a delight. Very knowledgeable and sweet. Our chef was awesome and engaging.
We had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

All of our dinner prepared by the chef was so heavily peppered it almost wasnt edible. The only thing my toddler son could eat was the fried rice because everything else was too spicy from so much pepper. It was our first time and thethey had an overpriced holiday menu for Fathers Day. It was a one a done trip for my family.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Chef was entertaining. Noise level loud, including screaming children, parents doing nothing about it; very disruptive to all.
Food was on the overly seasoned side, and in my opinion, not enough vegetables. Ordered the filet mignon with accompanying mushroom. There were a total of at least 5 people who had the mushrooms that came with their order. I was first served what amounted to 1 medium size cut up shroom.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was fine. In fact probably better than in the past. But it was super loud and we all walked out smelling like a grease pit.
They also don’t do gluten free very well, and none of their sauces or salad dressing are gluten free. Since it’s soy sauce that adds the gluten, they should be able to do a g-free version fairly easily.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We go frequently, but this time our chef didn’t do the “whole show” because almost everyone at our table had been before. That was fine, but a little boring...especially considering the chef behind us was over the top and VERY loud.
My daughters medium rare steak was served to her after my medium steak, and it was cooked thru. She was a little disappointed.
We’ll still go back because it’s consistently yummy and a favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Loved the experience and the food! Definitely going back again! Good for large groups!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Mateo and Sophia were wonderful...our grandson enjoyed Mateo fancy cooking and his use of the utensils. Sophia was just wonderful in making sure we were well taken care of throughout the evening.
We come to Benihana's for special occasions and will continue to do so.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our chef seemed a little inexperienced but he was great! What a fun time! We will be back! The manager as well as the rest of the staff were very attentive and wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Service was exceptional! Will definitely return!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Had filet and lobster. Didnt get the shrimp appetizer till the end of dinner. Got our lobster last, after pretty much everyone else and ourselves had finished everything else. Have eaten there many times and never had the shrimp or lobster come out last. 2 people requested no onions, he read that after the fact, so he picked out 4 pieces of zucchini out of the onion mixture, after it was cooked, and gave it to them. The food was really good though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

My son’s 13th birthday.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We have been to Benihana many times over the years and in different locations. This was not a great experience and we will not be going back for these reasons:
1-Our reservation was for 7:30. It was 8:15 when I got up to ask if someone could at least bring us water while we were waiting. 8:30 was when we got water.
2-Overcrowding tables into small spaces makes accessibility virtually impossible.
3-Overcrowding the tables into small spaces also traps smoke from the cooking. Our eyes were burning the whole time.
4-food was average. Racism was well above average as the chefs throw around Japanese stereotypes along with their knives. I was actually embarrassed to be there. The only reason we stayed was that my son wanted Benihana for his birthday dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Enjoyed the food as well as the entertainment by the chef. Only downside was, even though we had reservations, we did not get a table until almost a 1/2 hour late, but I would go back again.

It definitely is an energetic place and fun, but if you are looking for a quiet dinner, this is not it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

We had a party of 6 for a birthday party. First time for me. What a great experience! I've already made reservations for a return trip!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I made a reservation for a surprise dinner for my husband’s Birthday. Our dining experience was good but the reservation system was terrible.

If I tried to reserve any more than 8 seats online, I got a message that nothing was available at any time. I reserved 8 for 7:30 and sent a message requesting 9. The next day I called the restaurant because more people wanted to join and I asked if they could accommodate that. They told me they could seat 10 at a table and could split two tables but I would have to come at 8:15 instead. So I told everyone 8:15. I called back 5 minutes later because 1 more person wanted to come. Someone else answered and said they had no record of the changes and said I was down for 7:30 for 9 people. I explained my prior conversation and they then said 8:15 for 13 would work.

5 days later , the day of the dinner 3 people cancelled at 7:15. I called the restaurant to update them so they would not have to hold part of a second table. Daniel , the manager on duty told me that they had no record of my 8:15 reservation for 13 people. They had me down for 7:30 for 9 people and that they could not take us at 8:15 because they already had 2 big parties. I explained that we already told everyone to come at 8:15 because that’s what I was told was available. He said they’d try to make it work for us but we might need to wait a little longer. He said he would note under our 7:30 reservation that we were going to be late.

Our server was amiable, the busser made it clear he was not in the mood to be working that night, but our chef Taka and his service was the redeeming quality of this whole experience. We were his last table of the night but he treated us like we were his first. The food was great.

The reservation process needs serious work, especially where it seems that nobody took any notes about the changes I made over the phone and nobody seemed to care all that much that there was this lack of communication.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We went for a graduation celebration. The chef was super funny and really engaging. The kids loved it and the whole table was laughing. Food was really good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Roger was excellent! He was tons of fun and a great chef to boot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great place for Birthday celebration. Appreciate that Benihana provides meal coupons for birthdays!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Benihanas has come to be my favorite restaurant. I particularly love the food and would recommend it to anyone seeking a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Benihana’s is our go-to place for special occasions. The food is consistently well prepared, the service thoughtful, and the interaction with the chef great fun. The addition of a family photo is a nice touch. Well done, Benihana’s Beaverton!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We came to Benihana to celebrate my husband‘s birthday. We had our discount coupon and presented that to the server. We made our choices and then soup was brought out. After we finish the soup course the salad was brought out. Then the chef came out. He introduced himself and put on a great show. First though he went around to make sure that he had everybody’s order correct. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted scrumptious. When he was finished he thanked us and cleaned the grill. There were four other people at our table and at that point we just all enjoyed our dinners. It was an incredibly wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Perfect place to enjoy dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Very crowded and the cook “forgot” my meal so everyone ate before me. Good food and fun atmosphere though

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Sodium restriction diet for one member of our party was meet by staff with professional consideration. Very much made our night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We had a blast! The kids (ages 2-3) loved watching the food get made. Roger was our chief and he was amazing and very talented. He paid attention to the kids and made sure they had a great time. We eat here frequently and this was by far the best time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

This was our first time in this type of environment. The diners where friendly as well as the staff. The show was fun and the food was very good. This would be a great place to celebrate any occasion especially a birthday. The staff is very enthusiastic with the birthday song!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Service continues to suffer. Had to ask for everything including rice. I know you sell a lot of the fried rice, but it is no authentic. Japanese don't cook with garlic butter. I lived in Japan and the new recipe used is not as good in my opinion. No birthday photo because the printer was broken. This location is blocks away from an office supply store. Just go buy a new one!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

My first visit was on my birthday and I had a so much fun! Our chef was wonderful! Besides is a little bit expensive, but it was worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Great food and fun entertainment. Difficult to hold conversations based on noise level and how you're situated around the table. Don't reccomend for an intimate meal, but great for a fun night out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

This was my first time going to Benihana, and I must say that it exceeded all of my expectations! The food was amazing, and reasonably priced, it is a little on the pricier end, but worth every penny!
This was dinner and a show all in one. Our chef was engaging for all ages. Jokes were appropriate and spread out. He explained every step of what he was doing and ingredients used.
The service is as great, our host/waiter was attentive and paying attention to our beverages and needs. Bringing refills without needing to be asked, and very courteous.
It can get very loud and hard to hear at times, but it is very festive and fun place to be with family and friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

I didn’t know that we would have the grill by the table, and have a spectacular cooking show from the chef, so I felt very amazed and thought that it’s probably a great place to celebrate or have an entertaining dinner. Prices seemed fair too and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The taste of food is quite dissappointing this time, the taste is not as good as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Benihana is one of our favorite special occasions restaurants plus just a nice fun dinner anytime. The food is better than average, and you always get a good show.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food at Benihana - Beaverton is delicious! It's a great place to celebrate a birthday or other special occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
53

Tweets by Benihana - Beaverton