About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
3 More
Best Value
Westside
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

special occasion (168)
good for groups (160)
kid-friendly (93)
See All
great for lunch (70)
fit for foodies (44)
romantic (28)
hot spot (21)
great for brunch (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (4)
 (3)
 (2)
notable wine list (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

In the day, Benihana was a relatively se ...

Dined 3 days ago

In the day, Benihana was a relatively sedate setting with chefs whose teppanyaki knife skills were unsurpassed. Eight to ten people surrounded the grill, while the star of the show (excluding the food) was the teppanyaki chef. He (and it was always a Japanese male chef who often spoke little English) would put on quite a show: juggling knives, cooking food to perfection, and serving food, often by throwing it, yet never missing a plate. Grills had vents over them to take away the steam and drifting odors and food particles. The current Benihana is quite different. No vent, no Japanese chefs, no perfect performances, and definitely not sedate. It was noisy, the chef was adequate, but not spectacular, and the food, though very good, wasn't quite the same. So, why did I rate the experience so highly? It was the fun of celebrating a special event with good friends, while still getting dinner and a show. Had a great time, and, for a special occasion, would probably go back again (even if my clothes smelled of my dinner afterwards).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year Treat!

Dined 5 days ago

I love Benihana! I go there once a year in my Birthday month, since I live 39 minutes away. They have a Chefs Table coupon, where you get $30 free! I did not spend a dime on my own meal! You just bring a friend and make them buy an entree and then you're golden! Love this generous coupon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was perfectly done and very te ...

Dined 5 days ago

The steak was perfectly done and very tender.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook had some great tricks. We enjoy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our cook had some great tricks. We enjoyed it very much. Everything was cooked to our specifications . We will definately tell others about this experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Long wait with resevations

Dined on May 22, 2016

The cook got lost on his was to work or so he said. No I am sorry, nothing just a very long wait . I ordered the new york steak medium and it was bleeding when he put it on my plate

food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Food was good. Atmosphere was stressful ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good. Atmosphere was stressful. A customer threw his food at his chef complaining food was over cooked so chef was removed. Our clothes smelled so bad we had to wash everything the next day. Poor ventilation!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time and happened to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time and happened to arrive while lunch was still being served. The lunch menu prices are quite reasonable and the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana's is a great place to eat at. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana's is a great place to eat at. You get dinner, and a show. The chefs are very accommodating, and friendly. My kids were very entertained and loved the food....even my picky eater ate well! We love Benihana's!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana is an EXPERIENCE everyone shoul ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Benihana is an EXPERIENCE everyone should have at least once!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Troy was amazing! Best expier ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our waiter Troy was amazing! Best expierence at Benihana!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, fair service

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was great and our server was awesome. Made a reservation for 6:30pm and was told that the entire party needed to be there in order for us to be seated. Once the entire party was there still had to wait 15-20 minutes before we got a table. What is the point of making a reservation if you can't be seated at the time you requested?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana never disappoints! The food is ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Benihana never disappoints! The food is amazing and the service is great! We celebrated 3 birthdays this week and what a fun place to do so. We also had 2 people in our party with a seafood allergy. Our wait staff and chef pleasantly accommodated our needs so that everyone enjoyed their meal. Fun place to celebrate special occasions and you definitely do not leave hungry!! Don't forget the green tea ice cream at the end :).

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Will Return... However

Dined on May 17, 2016

Don't get me wrong...we all have our first day at a job...but the cook was not funny and butchered the "performance" and jokes they all do. I have been going to Benihana for 14 years now. Their food is always good and consistent. However.... The female cook was Way off on the seasoning. She ruined the fried rice with an insane amount of black pepper and managed to burn the veggies that go in the rice. The steak was also bland even though we asked for garlic butter added. I'll return, but will not have this cook. Also....front desk staff could smile and pretend they Don't hate their job.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time we came in 3-4 ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was the second time we came in 3-4 weeks and both times they weren't out of the onion soup. Kind of disappointing since it's one of their popular items.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

MEH - Definitely not worth the $95, whic ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

MEH - Definitely not worth the $95, which only one of us got a full meal. Service was terrible, ambiance was dark and closed off, not to mention they cleaned the grill after serving our food so you get a face full of burn food fumes while you are eating. This place has gone downhill since the last time I have been there in 2009.

food3
ambience3
service1

Waiter Tyrell was extremely rude!!!!! ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter Tyrell was extremely rude!!!!! Never been treated so poorly... We spoke with the manager and he was kind enough to deal with it... But that type of service makes you rethink dining there ever again!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun place, be prepared to wait. We had ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fun place, be prepared to wait. We had a reservation for 9pm and didn't get in till 9:30. Great chefs and fun atmosphere. bit expensive but you pay extra for the show.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Unfortunately, we were greeted by a very ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Unfortunately, we were greeted by a very unfriendly hostess. After we were seated, it took quite awhile to be served and quite awhile for the chef to come out. We have been here many times and we thought the chef was incredibly good. He really put on a good show. But the fact that you have such a bad person greeting puts a damper on the evening. And the timing of the soup, salad and main dinner was not good. We won't be coming back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening!

Dined on May 11, 2016

I absolutely love Benihana. Everything was perfect. Food was delicious and the whole experience was so enjoyable!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful evening...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Took my mom and dad to celebrate my mom's 70th birthday. They had never been there before. It was a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great customer service

Dined on May 4, 2016

Malik was our chef, he was amazing! My daughter lived him. He was funny and he kept a conversation going the entire time. Would totally request him as our chef next time.... Also, Best chicken we have ever had...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun time

Dined on May 3, 2016

We had a personable chef and waitress. Nice change of pace for lunch.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All staff was friendly and professional

Dined on May 3, 2016

Benihana is one of my favorite restaurants. I've been going to many locations in the US since the 70's. We love to go for Birthdays or Anniversary's. We've never been disappointed with the food or service. I've always recommended it highly

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Funny Birthday with mini disappointment

Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to celebrate my birthday by myself and was seated with a group of 2 ladies. They were great (we didn't know each other) and our server thought all 3 of us were together. It didn't click for us until near the end and then we clarified it and our server was embarrassed, but we told her it was all good, just a good laugh!! The Food was ok (not the best I've had sadly), not a lot of flavor and not fully mixed. I had the fried rice and a good chuck of it hadn't been mixed so it was a fried rice/white rice mix. I had Rocky'Rock's choice and the steak was cooked great, but the chicken wasn't fully cooked, so it had a odd texture.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service staff did a good job but our ser ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Service staff did a good job but our server never offered us any dessert so we went someplace else. Food was ok. Soup and salad were the usual. Grilled veggies were very greasy and overcooked. Steak and shrimp were ok, thank goodness there is dipping sauce for flavor. Fortunately, I went online and requested a table with no childeren, was amazed at the number of young kids running up and down the aisle and parents were lauging plus the manager did nothing to contain this. Sign by front door says something like 'Appropriate Dress Required' but many guests wearing shorts and some guys even wearing tank tops. This used to be a nice place for fine dinning but now, its like a Japanese Chuck E Cheeses'. To top if off, as soon as we walked out the the front doors, we noticed all our clothes smelled like grease. Yuck.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

Dined on April 30, 2016

We celebrated my Mom's 82nd birthday. It was fun and the staff made her feel special. Our waitress was so nice and even gave us an extra picture of her with her birthday sundae. We all had a very nice time. Thank you, Benihana!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a good time if you can afford it

Dined on April 28, 2016

Loud,fun,expensive, Benihanna is always a good time! Cheaper at lunch time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Felix is awesome!!! Thank you for an awe ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Felix is awesome!!! Thank you for an awesome time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to these resturants for forty years.

Dined on April 25, 2016

I have gone to Benhana 's In many states for forty years. I have never been disappointed in the food or service. I have taken people there on business for their first experience and on special occasions with my family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy Birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was amazing! I especially recommend the filet, it was out of this world!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service. I messed up reservations ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service. I messed up reservations and they still managed to get us a seat with out waiting. Food was delicious. Kids friendly too!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love Benihana!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for celebrations. Love the food and having the food prepared right in front of you is highly entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Make sure you plan for 2 hrs for a meal ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Make sure you plan for 2 hrs for a meal here. The waitstaff is slow to bring you drinks, soup and salad. And your chef will not arrive until 45-60 min after you are seated. And you can't really carry on a conversation during this wait time as everyone else is screaming over the fans and other customers. And hope you don't have a person with allergies at your table, else they must cook that person's ENTIRE meal in front of you (as you salivate and your tummy rumbles). But when they finally get to you, the food is so good that you forget about all of it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A fun dining experience for young and old!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Love this novel experience of cooking and eating - food was good even if a bit salty. All of us enjoyed the theater created by our chef - his skill and sense of humor. The staff was great, making all of us feel welcome, and our 9 year old first timer is ready to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun dinner would do it again

Dined on April 16, 2016

Had a great time. Everyone at the table was surprised on the wait once seated. The volcano was a little too much for our little one who's four.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Filet Mignon was tender and flavorfu ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The Filet Mignon was tender and flavorful. I also love the chicken fried rice and shrimp.

food5
ambience4
service5

Meat flavors are so good with your tasty ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Meat flavors are so good with your tasty sauces.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on April 10, 2016

We took our 3 daughters to dinner to celebrate my retirement, it was a very special night had by all. The cook, and wait staff were very pleasant and very helpful with drinks and dinner suggestions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Less service & quality, regardless of high cost .

Dined on April 10, 2016

You certainly don't visit Benihana for the healthy and high end culinary delights. Its about the show and ambiance. However, I recall the show being more of the focus. During this visit the chef displayed a few of the old standard tricks and then got down to preparing the meal. At no time did he engage the children (Ages 10-16). The wait staff, attentive at first, relatively disappeared as soon as the orders were taken. It was my son's 12th birthday and we had to hunt down a wait staff team member to remind them. The mug, promised as part of the "Kid's Club" never materialized. Although, our family still enjoyed themselves, Benihana has most definitely lost its flavor.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Slow service

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was really slow. We had to wait an hour before our food was being cooked.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.