About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Beaverton is located near Washington Square Mall on the west side of Highway 217.The restaurant features a beautiful patio to enjoy sushi and teppanyaki lunch during the day or by the fire pit in the evening. The Beaverton location offers two private dining rooms, one with two teppanyaki tables to seat 16-20 guests, and the other with three tables, perfect for larger groups.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

HAPPY HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (106)
Good for Birthdays (105)
Fun (86)
See All
Good for Groups (67)
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Kid-friendly (56)
Family Style (48)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Worth the Drive (41)
Casual (32)
Open Kitchen (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Authentic (28)
People Watching (21)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (16)
Romantic (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been often, but our chef this time was f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Been often, but our chef this time was fabulous - really went the extra mile to engage the people at the table and joke with them. Great experience.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate 2 birthdays a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there to celebrate 2 birthdays and everyone was extremely nice and courteous. The food timing was excellent, we did have to ask for forks, but there are definitely worse things. The staff was very quick at clearing up the table when we were done as the the table was cleared out within minutes of us leaving. I know this because my husband left the take out at our table, we got out to the front door and it was already gone by the time he turned around. eh, more our fault for forgetting it, but a true testament to how quickly the staff work.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Me and my girlfriend went to Benihana fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my girlfriend went to Benihana for Valentine's Day, we expected a great experience since we love Asian cuisine. The food tasted great and the ambiance was lovely that was about everything good. The price of the meal was the best but not to bad. What I was annoyed about was there portions, eating at the dollar menu at Taco Bell was more filling then this restaurants 6 course meal, I actually ended up buying some popcorn at the theater after the meal.

The "first course" was literally a small cup of broth. I ordered the Benihana trio an inadequately small chicken breast and filet mignon compared to our other table mates, which made me and my girlfriend feel discriminated against. The price of the meal was not bad but what we received for the amount was the problem as well as how we felt while we dined there. We will probably not return or at least not to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

All the Service guys were excellent. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

All the Service guys were excellent. The tables are worn out tho. I also saw a cook coming out with his lunch in the main floor in a T-shirt.

Our Cook Lola was great at cooking the food just how we like it, very clever and kept us entertained. Not fancy flying food but precise cooking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally Benihana is a great experience. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Normally Benihana is a great experience. Initially this was no different. Pleasant and attentive servers, great appetizers, bon homme at the table. But then the so-called "chef" pretty much ruined the meal. Besides constantly screeching in a high falsetto, dropping dishes, cutlery and food during the "show", and cooking some items badly, he put a damper on the meal. It was sad, because he obviously thought he was the star of the night. Someone needs to give him decafe and send him back for a training refresher.

The fried rice, normally a favorite had so much pepper in it that half the table couldn't eat it. Main courses were adequate but hardly the normal "exciting". I heard a number of complaints/grumbles from others at the table, so at least I know I wasn't the only one dissappointed. Fortunately, the serving staff helped us get replacements from the back kitchen or made partial credit.

I'll go back, but I'll be wary of this chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated in the side room and had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated in the side room and had a wonderful time. There was a lot of excitement and noise, but it was the fun kind were everybody laughed and talked. The food was amazing as usual, as was the entertainment. This was a Monday and all the talent I could see were doing an excellent job and their guests were very happy also. Can't wait to go again next month.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, , Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great chef. Great service. Amazing food! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great chef. Great service. Amazing food! My family and I had a lot of fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for years. We lo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been going here for years. We love this place and is a favorite for many family members when it's their birthday and they choose to go here for their birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first table we taken to, the stove t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The first table we taken to, the stove top did not work, this was after we waited almost an hour to be served anything. Then we were moved to a new table and it looked like the stove top was not working. I complained and was told to "calm down" by the cook. The cook was surly and rude which really diminished the whole dining experience. Plus, because they cook in the same table/room you eat, your clothes end up stinking forever... Used to like this place but will NEVER go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Such a good Time here! Great Food, Grea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Such a good Time here! Great Food, Great Show, and Great Service!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, the food was excell ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time, the food was excellent and the service was very attentive. This was the chef's first time on the line preparing for customers but she handled the inevitable errors with grace and made it a good experience for all of us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food as always and Mateo was great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food as always and Mateo was great and is great every time we have him!! Thank you for fitting us in since we were late

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for my wife's birthday and the whol ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for my wife's birthday and the whole family had a great time. My kids loved the food and loved the cook! Brad was B-Rad! He hooked my 8 year old up with the child friendly chopsticks and my son loved them. Food, of course, was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, chef was not fun lik ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was excellent, chef was not fun like most. Took over 30 minutes once we ordered to even get soup.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Entertaining and lively! Great for spec ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Entertaining and lively! Great for special occasions. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second time at the Beaverto ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was our second time at the Beaverton location, celebrating our son's birthday. Overall, it met expectations. Our chef didn't appear as enthusiastic or skilled as others around us but he was still entertaining and the kids enjoyed it. The lingering odors from the grills are a deterrent but if you know that you must wash clothes after eating there (part of the deal). Overall, the kids enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great time and something everyo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always a great time and something everyone enjoys.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were very good. Again ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food and service were very good. Again the chef used slightly different approaches for some of the entrees (such as steaming the lobster tail this time, vs. no steaming the last time), so I would say the quality control is still uneven. Or, the customer should be asked which they prefer. To us it seems they are training some new chefs but without close supervision. We had no major complaints about the food or the service, other than one in our party had requested medium-rare for her steak and she got medium instead. These are no deal-breakers per se, but we would still prefer to more uniform and consistent experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, excellent show; What more co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food, excellent show; What more could you want

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great first experince definatel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was a great first experince definately would recomment it

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my son's birthday with family ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Celebrated my son's birthday with family and friends. It's great for birthdays. The food is good and chef is always entertaining. Great for the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We do enjoy dining at Benihana, it has b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We do enjoy dining at Benihana, it has become a mini tradition for the kids birthday dinner since they love watching the chef cook (and perform a bit while doing so). It's simple and flavorful for what you are getting (just be prepared for high sodium dinner), and while overpriced, the family enjoys their time there. They win on the fun, easy meal score. The reason my reviews are not better is because over the past year the service has eroded quite a bit. It shouldn't take 40 minutes to get a chef to our table, and over 2 hours to dine. It's just too long. Also food quality varies with chef quality in this setting and we have not had the most experienced chefs the past few times. This results in either overcooked steaks or not the best fried rice, along with less entertainment for all. And my last issue is the poor ventilation - while I realize it is hard to mitigate the cooking smell when you have so many grills going at one time, it really is quite stuffy/overwhelming, and requires all clothes to go into the wash after dining there, and a shower, unless you want to carry around that Benihana smell. A bit of negative. Considering how busy the place is, you would hope for more effort and higher overall quality...but perhaps it is because they are so busy that they are falling slightly behind on service and quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Chef was new and clumsy. He forgot some ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Chef was new and clumsy. He forgot some of the food and had to leave the grill twice. He miss tossed a spatula and it hit my husband, at least it wasnt the big fork...The food was overcooked. The couple across from us ordered lobster and it was very overcooked. The shrimp saute appetizer in the bar was very overpriced for 8 tiny pieces of shrimp. The menu was cut down a lot since our last visit. The restaurant was super smokey. We usually visit once a year on our daughters birthday and I don't see us going back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our cook and waitress were amazing. Our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our cook and waitress were amazing. Our group had a great time and super fun. Diner was was delicious.. better then what expected.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun place to go for a special o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a fun place to go for a special occasion. We were seated right away, and our server came over right away as well. Our chef for the night was friendly, funny, and entertaining. Great experience as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always great and service is as w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is always great and service is as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here for my 6th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Went here for my 6th wedding anniversary with a group of 9. Service was excellent, Hibachi chef was entertaining and funny! Great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef at adjacent cook area added pepper ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Chef at adjacent cook area added pepper to flaming onion, which caused chocking smoke. Very uncomfortable to eyes and lungs for myself and others in the area. Otherwise meal was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jose was our chef and was terrific! He ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Jose was our chef and was terrific! He and Sophia who took great care of us, really made it a special night out. Thanks!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana is definitely the place to go f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Benihana is definitely the place to go for the experience. The food was great and came as a 5 course meal, which was amazing, but I thing the best part of the night was the service. The food is cooked right in front of you by humorous and friendly cooks, and the waiters and other staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great time! Scott, our waiter w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Always a great time! Scott, our waiter was fantastic! Jose, our cook, was right on with his cooking and he was really funny! Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of our clothes reeked

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All of our clothes reeked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a great time, met new ppl that sa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a great time, met new ppl that sat at our table.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really love this place for special occas ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Really love this place for special occasions, we celebrate our birthdays here every year. It's a bit on the spendy side but includes all courses. Plus, if you become a member of the Chef's Table, you'll receive a $30 voucher toward your birthday meal. Wait staff is attentive, table chefs are entertaining. The entire dining experience is fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and entertaining. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Service was great and entertaining. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a very fun experience!! We love B ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Always a very fun experience!! We love Benihana- you get great food and entertainment all together!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana never disappoints! Great Filet ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Benihana never disappoints! Great Filet and chicken fried rice!! Love this place

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a class act place. The food is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is a class act place. The food is fantastic, the chef's are personable and entertaining. We had our two boys with us and they were constantly playing tricks on them. Everyone had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been patronizing this restaurant ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We have been patronizing this restaurant since it opened years ago. Over the last year or so we have noted a deterioration in aspects of the food prep and overall service -- such things as a lack of consistency in the onion soup, the dipping sauces, even the salad dressing; food presentation not always consistent (but always very flavorful), and the overall attentiveness of the servers. This time the chef left the meat in pieces that were too large to eat, and with only forks or chopsticks as utensils it made for challenging eating. Food tasted just great. The overall service on this latest visit was good, but the team seemed slightly "off" in timing. Maybe some new staff still trying to gain their footing? Bottom line -- sometimes I wish they'd scale back the theatrics a bit and focus on doing their jobs in order to present a consistent product on every visit.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fun, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, delicious food, fun staff ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service, delicious food, fun staff. A worthy splurge for a special night.

One downside: ventilation! Our eyes burned from the food cooking throughout the room, and all our clothes had to go straight into the wash when we got home from the smell.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.