About Benihana - Beaverton

9205 SW Cascade Ave
Beaverton, OR 97008-7189
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Between Hall and Scholls Ferry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 643-4016

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/beaverton-or-bv

Private Party Facilities:
Private two-table and four-table rooms available for your special get-togethers.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Lobster Tails
Ahi Poki
Fiket Mignon
Lunch Boat
Chicken Wings
Tuna tataki
Salmon sushi
green salad
Fish And Lobster
Vegas Roll
Benihana Onion Soup
Teppanyaki
Caterpillar Roll
Salmon Hand Roll
Negihama Hand Roll
Dragon Roll
Tempura Shrimp
Fried Rice, Habachi Shrimp & Vegetables
Habachi Scallops
Spicy Tuna Roll
Onion Soup
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Takara Plum Wine
Saba
Thompson Delight

Benihana - Beaverton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
2 More
Special Occasion
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Beaverton ›

special occasion (154)
good for groups (145)
kid-friendly (95)
See All
great for lunch (53)
fit for foodies (36)
romantic (21)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for brunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here for our birthdays every yea ...

Dined 3 days ago

We come here for our birthdays every year. It's so much fun and the food is great. It's become our birthday tradition for years now.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had fun with my kids. They enjoyed it- ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had fun with my kids. They enjoyed it- their first time there

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

The food was awful my scallops were so o ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was awful my scallops were so over cooked and everything was under seasoned and over priced

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and outstanding service ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding meal and outstanding service!! Would highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The only reason why we came was for my w ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The only reason why we came was for my wifes birthday. She order Yakisoba noodle with her dinner and never got them. We also ordered steamed rice witch the server forgot to bring us. Service is always a hit or miss, sometimes its good but this time it was a miss. I know no one probably reads this but thought I would give it a shot.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The stove was never turned on so it took ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The stove was never turned on so it took forever to start cooking. We ended up having to move tables and there were no comps for the inconvinience. We had starving little kids and I expected some small quick appetizers for the kids since it took 2 hours to cook our food. The cook and waiter meld screaming at each talking across the room which was distracting to an already starving group of people. We usually have a great time but not this time.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Only acceptable after 7. Go earlier and ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Only acceptable after 7. Go earlier and it is fine. Later, it is only okay.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great food and show, but the ventilation ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great food and show, but the ventilation in parts of the restaurant was lacking. With the way they cook, the garlic and onions make it hard see and breath at times. They are busy every night so its always an issue.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate Father's Day with o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We came to celebrate Father's Day with our Godparents. The meal was wonderfully prepared by Malik. We requested him from a prior visit and he did not disappoint. We always enjoy coming back and he made it all the more eventful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We usually get great service and excepti ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We usually get great service and exceptional food at Benihana's. This time was a disaster. The chef was messy, clumsy and dangerous. He tried juggling his knives and cooking utensils and kept dropping them. When cooking the fried rice he lost one egg off the stove and shattered a rice bowl while throwing it in the air. At that point he had to clean up the broken china and start over from the beginning. The second attempt at cooking the fried rice wasn't much better. When he was passing out the food he lost his balance and nearly fell onto the stove! There was no show and his inexperience really showed. For the most part the food was o.k. but some of our group refused to eat the chicken because it wasn't cooked all the way through.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was wonderfull untill the bil ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was wonderfull untill the bill the waitress told us to tip according to the whole amount. I know that. How rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Benihana is my husband's favorite restau ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Benihana is my husband's favorite restaurant so his pick for Father's Day. In spite of reservation did have to wait about 15 minutes past our table time but not bad. The chef was nice but definitely not the best that we have had at previous visits. The waitress forgot everyone's salad but apologized profusely at the end of the meal and comped us a few ice creams. Manager did come by and apologize as well so all good. The meal itself was good but not the best I have had at Benihana. I upgraded my usual of Rocky's Choice to filet mignon and it was a bit tough; not as tender as I have had elsewhere. Still love Benihana and will give them another try in the future.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The cook at our table was wonderful... B ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The cook at our table was wonderful... B-RAD. He was funny, entertaining, and skillful. The attendants for our table were prompt with the water re-fills. The group picture was a nice touch. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The thing I was disappointed with was we ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The thing I was disappointed with was were there to celebrate a birthday we were told we get aa birthday song a picture and a free desert spent almost $90 for two of US and we did not get any of those things and I told 3 different people we were celebrating my husband birthday so that was a disappointment.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Had a reservation for 12:15. Weren't bro ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Had a reservation for 12:15. Weren't brought to our table until 12:45! What's the point of a reservation if they aren't going to seat you for half an hour. This NEVER fails at Benihana!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and a fun time with ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a great meal and a fun time with our chef. The 2very young children in the party enjoyed the experience as much as the adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal, as usual! We went on a M ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful meal, as usual! We went on a Monday at 6:00pm and I was amazed how busy it was. Waited about 15 minutes past our reservation, the only thing slightly negative. I had steak, chicken and shrimp combo. Fabulous! Fried rice is a must!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

We were disappointed. We were there for ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We were disappointed. We were there for a special occasion, but our chef appeared to be very inexperienced. She was dropping utentials, and seemed clumsy. The combo I ordered had steak and chicken and when I ate the chicken it was rubbery and I wondered if it was not completely cooked. For the price, I expected a far better experience. I doubt we will return anytime soon as we generally don't spend this much money for a meal without an expectation of great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not go here often. But, I really sh ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I do not go here often. But, I really should. Everyone is friendly, good with younger kids and great at explaining for how it works to first time customers!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was amazing! From start to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My experience was amazing! From start to finish the staff was polite and the food was delicious. I cant wait to go again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This place is always fun for a special o ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This place is always fun for a special occasion or birthday celebration with friends. The cooking show is always fun, although this last visit was slightly disappointing as our chef was clearly not as skilled as the other chefs. The food and service was still very good. I highly enjoyed their birthday song, dessert, and photo gift. YOU MUST MAKE RESERVATIONS IN ADVANCE, unless you don't mind waiting a ridiculously long period of time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very personable staff and extremely atte ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Very personable staff and extremely attentive.

food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Took a friend here to for her first time ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took a friend here to for her first time to celebrate her birthday. Our table was full with other parties. We had talked Benihana up so much to our friend and she was so excited. The only thing the chef did for a "show" was spin the egg on the spatula.... He did nothing else except say outloud every thing he was adding. While the grill across from us had a flame volcano going and had was being interacted with... Very disappointed this visit....

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

This time wasn't as fun as previous time ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

This time wasn't as fun as previous times. The portions also seemed much smaller.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lean, delicious food. Just wish that the ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Lean, delicious food. Just wish that the service including being seated at the table were more efficient, quicker.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lots of fun

Dined on May 28, 2016

I love Benihana! You get to witness some excellent knife skills and other talents while the food is being prepared in front of you. Went for a birthday and they give you a free small dessert and picture of your special time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

In the day, Benihana was a relatively se ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

In the day, Benihana was a relatively sedate setting with chefs whose teppanyaki knife skills were unsurpassed. Eight to ten people surrounded the grill, while the star of the show (excluding the food) was the teppanyaki chef. He (and it was always a Japanese male chef who often spoke little English) would put on quite a show: juggling knives, cooking food to perfection, and serving food, often by throwing it, yet never missing a plate. Grills had vents over them to take away the steam and drifting odors and food particles. The current Benihana is quite different. No vent, no Japanese chefs, no perfect performances, and definitely not sedate. It was noisy, the chef was adequate, but not spectacular, and the food, though very good, wasn't quite the same. So, why did I rate the experience so highly? It was the fun of celebrating a special event with good friends, while still getting dinner and a show. Had a great time, and, for a special occasion, would probably go back again (even if my clothes smelled of my dinner afterwards).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

long wait time/slow service

Dined on May 27, 2016

Even with a reservation we had to wait over a half hour for a table. The waiting area is very small and crowded. Greeting staff was not friendly. Once seated service was very slow. Our chef was good, and the taste of the food was very good, but part of our meal was forgotten and served at the very end. Don't know if I can recommend to others.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once a year Treat!

Dined on May 26, 2016

I love Benihana! I go there once a year in my Birthday month, since I live 39 minutes away. They have a Chefs Table coupon, where you get $30 free! I did not spend a dime on my own meal! You just bring a friend and make them buy an entree and then you're golden! Love this generous coupon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was perfectly done and very te ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The steak was perfectly done and very tender.

food3
ambience3
service3

We didn't sit at a cook station table. W ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We didn't sit at a cook station table. We sate in the sushi bar. The food was not the same and a little dissapointing. I will always choose to sit at a grill station in the future! Also our waitress was not very attentive. Usually we LOVE this place. Not our normal review.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our cook had some great tricks. We enjoy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our cook had some great tricks. We enjoyed it very much. Everything was cooked to our specifications . We will definately tell others about this experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Long wait with resevations

Dined on May 22, 2016

The cook got lost on his was to work or so he said. No I am sorry, nothing just a very long wait . I ordered the new york steak medium and it was bleeding when he put it on my plate

food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Food was good. Atmosphere was stressful ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good. Atmosphere was stressful. A customer threw his food at his chef complaining food was over cooked so chef was removed. Our clothes smelled so bad we had to wash everything the next day. Poor ventilation!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time and happened to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time and happened to arrive while lunch was still being served. The lunch menu prices are quite reasonable and the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana's is a great place to eat at. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana's is a great place to eat at. You get dinner, and a show. The chefs are very accommodating, and friendly. My kids were very entertained and loved the food....even my picky eater ate well! We love Benihana's!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Benihana is an EXPERIENCE everyone shoul ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Benihana is an EXPERIENCE everyone should have at least once!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fun time

Dined on May 19, 2016

I've only been to Benihana a few times and it's always a good night out. The food is delish and pretty healthy. It's fun watching them cook on the grill and do tricks with the utensils. Highly entertaining time. This location is easy to get to, very clean, and the staff has been great every time I've been here. I am positive I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Troy was amazing! Best expier ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our waiter Troy was amazing! Best expierence at Benihana!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, fair service

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was great and our server was awesome. Made a reservation for 6:30pm and was told that the entire party needed to be there in order for us to be seated. Once the entire party was there still had to wait 15-20 minutes before we got a table. What is the point of making a reservation if you can't be seated at the time you requested?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.