Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.3

ambience

3.3

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Fun (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Casual (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I generally like Benihana, but our chef was rude and boring. He laughed at me when I told him a dietary restriction that I had, in front of my co-workers. This was a business lunch, and I felt very frustrated that a server/chef/anyone would act this way in a service role. I will not be back - I think I'm officially done with Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

long wait even with reservations. The were short staffed on chefs we were told. Yum yum sauce wasn't good or taste I'm use to In Minnesota. Food was amazing, service was great, they meet our accommodations with my daughter's food allergies. Staff pleasent and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Everytime I go to your Benihana I have a great time.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service was great ! However, made reservations for 2:30, did not get seated until 3:30 and the wait time for the cook took another 30 mins. Did not leave until 4:30.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I'm a regular for Benihana, but this location is the absolute worst! The service is terrible, along with the food and customer service. The cook was very rude and dry! The waitress spent most of her time sitting at a table on the other side of the room on her cellphone. If you can't get a reservation at the Buckhead location, just go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Seated quickly with a reservation. Kay was our server. She's always great! Jay was our chef. Everything was seasoned well and tasted great!

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awful.....please please clean your bathrooms. The food was ok not the best it could have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went for an express lunch at this Benihana but it took just as long as a regular dining experience to get our food. Also our service was bare minimum and not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Cj the Chef was amazing. The food was delicious and prepared in a timely manner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This was the worst experience of my life!. I went to Benihana for my birthday & "chef" J.B definitely ruined it. 1. I had reservations at 5pm. The whole table finally got seated after the hostess finally came to the front. 2. The chef did not come out until 6-630pm. When J.B came out the first thing he said was "They took me off my break early" He was upset. He was not even dressed properly and made sure to tell the table. 3. He did not do ANY tricks he cook the food which the rice was overcook and the chicken was beyond rubbery. One of the customers at the table was recording the whole experience, once she started to record J.B advised he is about to f* sh up! Yes he cursed and said that at the table which was recorded live on Facebook. Then instead of him giving us our appetizer shrimp first he just cook our entree's meals. My girlfriend was sitting with an empty plate the whole time. I ask him if the shrimp was the appetizer because myself and the other customer ordered the Benhiana Delight with extra shrimp. J.B replied smartly "I'm just trying to hurry up and cook your meal I can cook the shrimp appetizer in a minute"I proceeded to excuse myself and speak to the manager and head chef. The manager was apologetic I do appreciate that. The manager proceeded to comp our meal which I appreciated but I told him I wanted to leave because this was a horrible birthday experience. The manager ask me again to stay and try to enjoy which we tried. While coming back in the restaurant my girlfriend came out upset advising the chef was argumentative to her. She told him about his service which he advised " This is just a job to me, I don't care." When we came back the chef was cooking everyone's steak. Looking at my plate he dropped all my food in my yum yum sauce and on the table. When we ask where was my girlfriend steak he advise he did not cook my girlfriend steak because she got up then proceeded to say this is a wack a** table. This was the worst experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I stepped on a used sanitary pad in the ladies room while trying to avoid the puddles and soggy rolls of toilet paper. On top of that, there was no toilet paper available in either of the two stalls. No soap left in the hand pump. I have been in cleaner bathrooms at gas stations. I can't believe this.

I had a reservation at 9pm, and I was not sat until 9:20 only for our food to start coming out at 10:20. This location is 100% understaffed and under trained. I would not recommend coming back here to any tourist or visitor, let alone locals such as ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Look elsewhere for hibachi and sushi. This place under delivers on food quality and service despite the Benihana name and $25-$35 hibachi dinner prices. The restaurant is clearly understaffed - we had to wait a long time for the chef, had to ask for drink refills, had to ask for ice cream which was included with most of our dinners, etc. I think this is a management problem - both at the restaurant location level and above. The chef was friendly but did not cook food to order (salmon under cooked - steak over cooked), used way to much pepper and did not distribute food evenly (poor guy at the end barely got any veggies). We had a party of 8 - we drove from Alpharetta to meet 3 friends staying at the downtown Hyatt, which is next door to Benihana. We will not be going back. Don't worry about the generic response thanking me for my feedback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Bathrooms out of order. Customers have to take a longggg walk to the Hyatt. Upset customers.

No typical Asian cooks for hibachi. Was not the great hibachi experience I've had at Benihannas before.

No plans to ever return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I use to visit for lunch, and I brought a person in for a birthday dinner 06/06. TERRIBLE!!! I was embarrassed. Then I came down to celebrate my birthday TERRIBLE AGAIN. The lady next to me was upset as well. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good was good but took for every to get service

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My waiter abandoned us when he got another table. We had to wait about 20 minutes for our salads. Refills were slow to non existent. The chef was excellent and professional. I still left s generous tip but it wont happen again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Wait was a little long

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We was seated at 11:15am, 3 guests total at the table including me. Once seated took our orders and stated we was only guest for this table. Our cook didn't come out until 11:50am which is ridiculous and I never experienced that! It was two other tables and they was finished before us. Our cook was missing her items and forgot our shrimps and I had to mention that to her supervisor that was shadowing her. So much food was dropping as she was putting on our plate even I had shrimp and onions dropped outside my plate. Overall the food had to be soaked down with garlic butter that I requested at the end to make it taste better. Our server was great, he was always on the drinks and never let it be empty! But overall we left at 1pm, i had to rush to get to my son appointment in lithonia. I never been in Benihana during slow business hours and staying over hour an half!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Food was excellent and the service was great. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The only thing I would change would be the menu. I would expand that totally.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This restaurant was not as good as the other location at all. I had a reservation but the cook still didn't start cooking for over 1 hour 15 min. I also didn't get exactly what I ordered, so I questioned the cook and was told they didn't let him know so he didn't bring it out but would be sure it was removed from the bill. Didn't look very clean like an upscale place like the one in Buckhead. I would never go to this location again. Food was taken home for the most part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant is very overrated. It's overpriced for the portions that you get. Gratuity is automatically added no matter your group size. There is an up charge just for fried rice which should already come with the meal. They did not give us desert. The chef does not interact. Our waiter did not check on us until time for check. Overall bad experience. Will not return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a reservation for my daughters birthday party called four times to make sure everything was a go each time i called i got a break down of the price since the reservation was for 1pm (which is lunch time). Once we arrived on Saturday we where told that their was no lunch menu do to the holiday (Father's Day) i explain to the young lady that no one told me this the 4 times i called and i even called Saturday on the way there and still noone told me. So we had to cancel the reservation because it was a party fot my daughter 14teen birthday and the fact that we planned around lunch time so that i could pay for her friends. NOT PLEASED AT ALL. Her birthday was messed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I was meeting a friend for an express lunch and we made reservations the night before. When we arrived we was seated immediately and our order was taken. Our reservation was for 1130 and the waiter placed out express lunch in at 1146. The waiter brought out our soup and salad and drinks then he never came back. People who arrived after us who had the hibachi lunch were seated and attended to by their waiter. We sat for 30mins with empty glasses wondering where our EXPRESS LUNCH was. We ask the manager what was taking so long and he told us he would find out. Still our waiter waited on his other table instead of us. Around 1245 our EXPRESS LUNCH arrived. The waiter just dropped our food off and left he never asked if we need anything else.. it was the manager who we had to wave our hand to tell him that we needed some sauces and refills. Our waiter came back and dropped the bill off..he still did not say anything..very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Bad that had to wait for the full party before we were seated. I noticed so many being turned away because of lack of chefs not tables. The receptionist was not warm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our chef and waiter were both phenomenal but I had a hard time with the hostess, trying to get a seat at open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We love Benihana and have eaten in the restaurants in a number of cities. Great value for the money. A great place to eat while in Atlanta for the Rotary International Convention.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was my first visit for my hubby's birthday and I was sooo disappointed. They open at 2:00 and the floor was nasty and trashy. The seats had food particles and the back of the seats we sat in were sticky. The cook and the servant was awesome but the restaurant was dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Hostess was terrible and unprofessional. JoJo bizarre Chef he was amazing and Morgan was our waitress she was great as well.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We tried steak, shrimp and salmon and all were good. Don't go looking for a low calorie meal, they add a lot of butter, but tastes great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Eat before you come if you're hungry. Service is very slow you'll be waiting over an hour and that's with a reservation..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My daughters absolutely loved CJ OUR CHEF.... He cut and prepared the meal exactly to their liking ..... Hes great and i will always request him

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had a reservation for over a week. When I arrived on time I add, I was told I would still have a 2hr wait because they only had 5cooks. They did, however offer me the bar. The food arrived fast and tasted pretty good. I really wanted the show experience though. I recommend don't bother relying on a reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our cook was outstanding,but the waiter was a little rude and wasn't as attentive as we would like sometimes he wasn't around we will have to get other waiters to find him on simple things like refills of our beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Had a great time 👨‍🍳 Taylor did a fantastic job and the food was great. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The manager was very hospitable. Thank you for a great experience

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We made reservations an still waiting over 45 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The cook kept putting salt and pepper on the food and when it was done the food had way to much on it. The stake was well done when everyone ordered medium, the chicken was over cooked and I only got two scallops that were chewey. Its a $10 difference to get 2 scallops that are like chewing rubber? We ran out of drinks 3 times and had our food for at least 10 minutes after asking for the umum sauce that they bring out to every table. Our meals also included surbert but we did not get it. A $55 meal it should have been a little better. Go to the mid town location, its much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything was great. Only problem was we waited 20 mins when we had a reservation. But overall love it

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Tooo 2 hours to get our food , only was two cooks on sit horrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was actually my first time and it was nice, however I was looking forward to see our cook do something different, but when we asked him to he said that he would only be doing a disappearing act at the end. If he wasn't going to do anything extra he should have let everyone at the table know ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

No private parking
Japanese experience was totally lost. It was was ghetto.
What happened to the warm hand towels before you dine.
Waitress was very nice. The cook Juan was pretty good too many misses in his tricks. He needs a little more practice. I clearly stated in the online reservation that i wanted a well experienced cook. The portion of zucchini was very small there was no bean sprouts also. The rice bowl was served upsidedown. The music ambience was so low all you heard was talking. The bathroom were disgusting.
I am sorry i cant recommend this Benihana Restaurant to anyone cor the Benihana experience. Maybe happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.