About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

California Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Sushi - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Trio - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.0

ambience

3.3

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (19)
Family Style (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Romantic (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a blast !!!!! The chief was top notc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a blast !!!!! The chief was top notch. We will definitely be back for the food and entertainment.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I advised in my reservation, once to the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I advised in my reservation, once to the hostess, and to the server that it was my son's birthday and they never acknowledged it. Server forgot our appetizer. Steaks were over cooked. The chef was not very interactive. I expected more for a $200 meal for three people. Food overall was fine but, nothing exceptional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food !!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to the restaurant at 6:50 for a 7 pm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Got to the restaurant at 6:50 for a 7 pm reservation. Wasn't sat until 8:30 after waiting at the hibachi table until 10:00 pm when we gave up and left hungry. Had this happen at Benihana on peachtree in Atlanta several times over the past few years while at a trade show I would go there for lunch but avoid at all costs for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been to Benihana's before at this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I have been to Benihana's before at this location and others and have never had such a horrible experience. They were so understaffed that we didn't get a chef to our table for two hours after our arrival. The staff was nice and apologetic and the manager gave us a discount but it was too little too late. The bathrooms were also deplorable which concerns me with what the status of the kitchen would be. This is a location we will never go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The only reason I gave poor reviews is b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The only reason I gave poor reviews is because the management that night was horrible. Over booked reservations and took walk-ins when they did not have the staff to accommodate. They had about 20 tables full- and only 4 chefs to cook the meals. Chef and waitress staff were great, management made it a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Very disappointed in our experience. Fir ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very disappointed in our experience. First time to the restaurant chain. We arrived 15 min early to our reservations and was finally seated after 7 after finding a 2 me hot stand. Our chef did not arrive until 830. He never greets us smiled or did any of the "tricks". We did not get our rice our desserts. I commented that it was a birthday celebration when I made reservations, had to mention it after we got our checks. Everyone around us was miserable and not eating either. , everyone was waiting. We never got an apology or anything. Everyone was rude and looked mad. Fortunately we sat with people that made our experience better. I took the birthday girl for her first hibachi and was very disappointed. There is a reason for all the bad reviews. Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Took an hour for the so called ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Horrible

Took an hour for the so called chef to finally reach our table

No personality, , no tricks no nothing

I could have done a better job

Don't go here

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I hate this location!!!! Very bad custom ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I hate this location!!!! Very bad customer service.... horrible wait time and I had made a reservation... Buckhead location much better!!!!! I haven't been in a while... I thought the service had changed!!!! It's worse!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a 5:30 reservation. Were sat at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation. Were sat at 6:15. Waited 30 more mins before getting anything to drink including water. Waited even longer for a Chef. Out of just about every beer on the menu. I will never go back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was good, service was excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was good, service was excellent. Don't expect an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was the worst way to spend my birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was the worst way to spend my birthday day the service the cook and manager was terrible. I will never recommend anyone to this location EVER!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reservations were a joke. Had OpenTable ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Reservations were a joke. Had OpenTable reservations at 8pm. We arrived a little early at 7:45pm. We were sat at 8:40pm. Then it took an hour for our chef to show up to cook the meal. So, around 10pm we were able to eat. At one point at another table, a customer got so fed up, they started cooking their own food!

The steak was paper thin, and although we asked for medium rare, it was all cooked well done, zero pink. We were just glad to finally eat! We also had 3 kids with us, so you can imagine how tired and hungry they were by 10:15. The manager offered us tempura shrimp as some sort of apology, but basically the other manager (or owner?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

It was great for four people who have do ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was great for four people who have done a trade show together and spent a lot of time together to unwind and be entertained by the chef! We waited a while for our "food show" to begin but were given complimentary appetizers to compensate while we enjoyed cocktails.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not much stood out ... restuarant seemed ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Not much stood out ... restuarant seemed to have become more run down since last time we dined. Waited in bar as table was not available at reserved time. Bar tender slow to serve us. Seemed very chaotic overall. Once seated at table, finished soup, salad and waited another 20-30 mon for chef. Not your typical experience. Probably will strike this from our list in future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The wait time was horrible even with a r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The wait time was horrible even with a reservation and service was worst than the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was amazing the drinks were as ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was amazing the drinks were as well the chef Jay was awesome I would love for him to be the chef anytime that I visit everything was amazing and right on time this is my spot I love this restaurant

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Benihana to celebrate a birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We dined at Benihana to celebrate a birthday. The cook was pleasant but the soup, salad and the main course was awful. The different spices were not appealing to our taste. A couple of people became ill with a stomach virus later in the evening. This was an expensive lesson for the quality of food received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Let's just say my reservation was at 5:3 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Let's just say my reservation was at 5:30 the hostess was a stickler for time 530 I left there at 8:25 it was to be an hour and a half experience it last longer than it should have it took over an hour just to get drinks and a first course ordered double rice they been preparing a bride so I had to waithad to wait for the shaft asked three different associates for the rice I receive my second order of rice towards the end of the hibachi cooking

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

I love this location I'm here at least 1 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I love this location I'm here at least 10 times a month lol.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Made a reservation and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Terrible service. Made a reservation and still waited an hour for the chef. The chef showed no enthusiasm and no one apologized for the long wait at the table. I would never go back here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I always enjoy coming to this restaurant. I live around the corner from it and prefer this location to the one in Buckhead. Gets a little crowded at times, so it's best to make a reservation before coming in. They always tell you it's a one hour wait on busy days unless you have a reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very unhappy how we had a reservation at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very unhappy how we had a reservation at 8 but had to wait 1 hour to get our food . Also , there was no yum yum sauce. We did not get a discount on our food or anything extra for the big inconvenience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We had reservations at 5:30 and were sea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had reservations at 5:30 and were seated shortly thereafter. HOWEVER, it was 6:50 before the chef even came out to begin cooking our food. We were there for a total of 2 hours and 10 minutes and it wasn't even crowded!!! WORST service I have ever received. And the staff did not offer us any sort of explanation or discount. We will never go back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Our chef and waitress were wonderful! Al ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our chef and waitress were wonderful! Although we had a reservation, and honestly were about 15 minutes late, it was still another 30 minutes before we were seated. They seemed extremely short staffed (it was New Year's Day)- as though quite a few people had called in, but the waitress was excellent and did a great job under immense pressure! The chef was G.R.E.A.T!! His name is Greg- I wish i could remember the waitresses name!!! I would definitely go back- the experience was ok but it was obviously not their fault that the restaurant was short staffed that day! But the food?? OMG!!!! WONDERFUL!!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not very pleased. I made the reservation ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not very pleased. I made the reservation for the wrong place I normally go the the one on peach tree by the old frank skis. That was my first mistake secondly since we had a reservation for 5 they added gratuity to our ticket next mistake was the pricing I ordered shrimp hibachi and 1 sushi roll drank water and paid $50 I will never go to that one again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Wait was longer

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wait was longer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I was super excited to come here for nye ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was super excited to come here for nye and i had made reservations for 8:00pm. We didnt get seated until 8:30 and there wasnt even alot of ppl there, it was plenty of open tables. Then after sitting there for another 20 min we were told they ran out of prepped rice. So somehow they got rice about 15 min later and the guy comes out to cook. By now we have been here over an hour and HUNGRY! The cook sucked! I had my camera on waiting for the fire and he never did the fire. Like whats hibatchi without the big flames!!??? My first time going...we paid too much money for a shitshow.....wont be back

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

I love Benihana. However, the downtown l ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love Benihana. However, the downtown location is my least favorite. Unfortunately, it was the only location with last minute availability on NYE.

Of all occasions, the restaurant's rice cooker had failed. So, we were served rice 25 minutes after our food had been cooked. And to top it off, the manager insulted us with the offer of a 25% discount....no sir, try again. Rice is a central part of a Japanese meal. If rice wasn't available, we should have been notified before the chef started up the grill. We accepted a 40% discount for this unfavorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Hostess was rude food great

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hostess was rude food great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to MANY different locations. I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've been to MANY different locations. It's my favorite restaurant of all time. Our reservations were at 8:30. I don't think we got our soup until 9:30. Food over cooked. Rice crunchy. Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Chef Keon was Amazing, this was my first ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Chef Keon was Amazing, this was my first visit to Benihana. I celebrated my birthday and had a blast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Historic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Family Style, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations for 730 didn't get a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I made reservations for 730 didn't get a table until 11 and didn't eat until 12. I took my food togo.. It was the worst experience ever and I love this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible sevice! Had reservations, howev ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Terrible sevice! Had reservations, however still had to wait well over a hour and a half to be seated. Once seated, had to wait another hour for a chef. The front attendant did not even acknowledge us when we entered this restaurant! Are all the locations this bad? I recommend complete revamping of this location and proper training of attendees and especially restaurant management. I must conclude from the facts, that because many African Americans go to this restaurant is why customer service is so bad. I need an apology. This restaurant is too costly for this type of treatment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The hosts at the front desk are horrible ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The hosts at the front desk are horrible and they have no customer service. The chef was very accommodating and show a vast amount of customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

It was my daughter 19th BDAY we had an 8 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was my daughter 19th BDAY we had an 8:00 reservation. We did not get seated until 8:45. The restaurant was extremely dirty. Empty tables were guest had sat just had dirty dishes napkins on the floor and staff just walked by like they did not see it. We recieved our drinks after sitting there for 20 minutes and soup and salad 15 minutes later. The Chef did not come out to cook until at least 45 minutes later. The place just looked under staff and the staff that was there seemed not to care at all about the place. We frequent Buckhead location and never really had this problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

It was very good, but the only thing was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was very good, but the only thing was the fact they overbooked on Christmas so even with a reservation your wait was about an hour. Other than that, the food and cook was amazing. It's something a family can truly enjoy and invite others to. We will be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We visited this location on Christmas da ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We visited this location on Christmas day. We had a reservation and our wait was not long; however, the wait inside at the table was really long. I expected so because of Christmas, however, the chef was friendly, but we didn't get the entertainment that I am used to at other locations.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Never got Food....Schedule an reservatio ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Never got Food....Schedule an reservation at 9 o clock. Had to wait 30 mins just to be seated at a Dirty table, than had to wait an extra 45 mins to get salad and soup to and I never even got my coke because they ran out of glasses I decided about 1040 that it was time to leave because our food hadn't came... terrible service and very overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Went out hear on Christmas Eve for my fi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went out hear on Christmas Eve for my fiancé birthday thinking we could have a nice meal. (Group of folks from out of town showed up load and walking around. ) (Cook was very unorthodox and frowned up when you asked him for something.)(Guys at the table wearing ball caps and skull caps)(small to go plates. You needed two for your food)(*drunk guy falling out in the restaurant. This place use to be very classy and upscale. Not anymore.

Will be a long time before I come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.