Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Mother's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

2.9

ambience

3.1

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

48% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Fun (19)
Family Style (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The host was really rude to my family very unprofessional and didn't care at all it took us almost an hour to be seated after I made a 1:30 appointment for my family. I usually eat at the buckhead location but wanted to try this location out n we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

They over charged us for cocktails at the bar prior to dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

CJ was an awesome chef and was an extra delightful addition to our night. Also lived the enthusiasm of our server. Was quite pleased with the entire dining experience and this was my first time eating with you. Will be returning again. With more friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

My Cook was great. Enjoyed the conversation and he kept that table engaged

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. The experience was entertaining and a good value

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had an 11:30 appointment and we didn't get drinks until 11:50. We didn't have a chef until 12:20. We only had planned an hour for lunch, but that was a huge mistake. The manager came out to try and calm our issue with the slow service but instead of helping he yelled at my boss. The food was ok and our chef was nice. The only thing that made the meal good was the server that stepped in to help the debacle of service we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Overpriced. They tack on everything for fried rice and noodles. Took us 30 minutes to be seated on a slow night. Then had to wait for more to show up. We ended up paying for our drinks and leaving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was an overall good experience, good food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Sadly, the customer service at this location has deteriorated dramatically. Reservation was for 7:30, but wasn't seated until after 8:00 even though the restaurant was not crowded. We stood at the desk for almost 10 minutes before being acknowledged even though staff kept walking past us like we were invisible. The food was good, however, and our chef was pleasant but the experience overall put this location on places to never visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I enjoyed Benihana Downtown Atl. Our server and chef were both awesome. the other guests that we shared our table with were friendly and we enjoyed conversing with each other. I've always enjoyed meeting new people at Benihana.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Horrible waitied 3 hours for food i never waited that long for food and made reservations i deserv some type of compensation for my family or something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I hated that fact that I made a reservation and still had to wait almost 45 minutes. It looked like the restaurant was understaff because there were a lot of empty tables and we had to wait. The server and the cook were excellent. That is why I am gonna give you a pass. Food was great as well.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We were seated in a very small area with six other people. We were scrapped for space to put our meal plates, drinks, and sauce containers. The women's restroom was absolutely disgusting (hair in the sink, an unpleasant smell upon entering, trash not emptied, paper towels on the floor and sink). The food and service was decent but the environment was less than what we expected when paying over 80 for lunch for two adults. Won't be returning to this particular location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The staff go through the motions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Never again. Service was not good. Took them forever to START cooking considering the fact it wasn't anyone in the restaurant. Will never go back to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not what I expected!! Food was not great and the wait was still long even with reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was good. The kids enjoyed the food and entertainment.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was good food and drinks, the chef was very good and entertaining... great after church meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My friend and I were very unhappy we had dirty plates, something black in my drink, no fruit on out drinks she had to bring them back out, both our plates dirty, water sauce, waiter rude, I need my $$ back? for real never will go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Scallops were delicious... Service was top-notched... The sunrise lemon drops are my favorite!...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Staff not friendly. Had kids with us and seemed like we had to wait extra for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We loved the food and atmosphere! Our waitress was AWESOME..our drinks were never empty! It was noisy due to a party that had too much to drink, but security and management handled it very appropriately! We can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is one of the WORST RESTAURANTS IN ATLANTA!!! I had reservations for 7 o'clock but did not see a chef until 9:30 WTF!! I got up and WALKED OUT AFTER U PAID FOR MY DRINK!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

For a Monday night, a federal holiday at that, You all were short of staff which is not in your total control but for there to be only 4 chefs and You guys close at 10 is ridiculous. I reserved 2 seats for 9 pm arrived at 8:40 and wasn't seated until 9:15. There were several customers with the same situation. The chef arrived at our table around 10:15 about an hour after we were seated which was the case for all the customers in the vicinity. This is not my first at a Benihana's but all the ones I have been to are far better than this.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When we arrived we had to wait about 10-15 minutes for a hostess to greet us. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 30 minutes. Got to the table the waitress took the order and after about 30 minutes we were informed their were only 4 cooks and we ended waiting another hour before we actually got a chef to cook our food. The waitress got the order wrong and a member of my party only got fried rice to eat and the rest of her food was given to another guest at the table . With no validation for parking it was an extra expense to go back and pay for extended parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our chef was fine, but our server vanished in the middle of service, leaving us stranded at our table waiting for boxes and checks to come. After trying to grab someone's attention for upwards of 30 minutes, one of the groups eventually left cash on the table and walked out. The other group didn't even get all of the food they'd ordered. My group actually came to their defense because they were super patient, and the manager was more concerned about his server vanishing than his customers. They ended up leaving without their food. I will never go to this location ever again. Ridiculously bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This was my first time ever eating at Benihanas & quite frankly I was very excited. I made a reservation for 7:30 & arrived on time despite having a hard time locating the actual restaurant. Our waitress was helpful at first, but definitely seemed overwhelmed with how busy the restaurant was and how understaffed they were. Despite being seated at 7:40, our chef did start our meal until 9:15 PM. The food was good and I commend our chef for trying to engage even after the bumpy start. However, I don't think I will be back to this particular location.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was a terrible experience. They were overbooked for the amount of staff they had scheduled yet there were several empty tables. Our reservation was at 8 and we didn't a chef to cook for us until 10:25. There were no apologies or meal upgrades to compensate. Further, the chef did not do anything besides just cook the meal - no tricks or theatrics and the food was not very good. Overall, it was the worst restaurant experience we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Terrible. Didn't even get to hav dinner. Arrived for 8:45 reservations, hostess disappeared. Waited til 9:30 then a group who had 7 pm reservations left telling us that they just got seated and we're told it would be another 40 minutes for a chef. Tables were empty because no chefs. At that point I walked out and we ended up
with chicken tenders at the hotel bar... don't take a reservation if you know you don't have enough employees to serve patrons. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was awful. My reservations was at 7:30 and the cook didn't start until 9:45. The manager gave us a 20% discount and told us the issue was that they over booked. Our server was horrible. The server completely mess our order up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Poor customer service. Bad experience. We were seated about 45 minutes after our reservation time only to wait another 30 minutes for service. They were not properly staff for the evening, and waiter explained that several cooks had called out for the evening. This prolonged service at tables and many people waited for 30-45 minutes for their food. Management did offer a free appetizer but it was too late. Definitely will not go to this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations and still waited over a hour to be seated. After we were seated it took almost two hours before our chef arrived at our table. This is no joke! With a family of six which included 4 kids the services were below what I expected. Very poor services from the staff and mangers. The chef was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Worse experience. Had reservations for 6:30; arrived 30 minutes early, didn't get seated until 7:30, chef didn't begin cooking until 8:30. What should have been a hour and a half dinner turned into a 3 hour dinner. On top of that the waitress over charged us. I did a split payment...cash/credit. Checked my account the follow day and my card was charged for the full amount. Will never go back to this location again!!!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a reservation for 6pm. Hostess did not arrive until 6:15pm. We were seated at 6:45pm. The chef did not come out until 8pm. Server was on multiple tables, and could not keep up. We had to stop and ask other servers for drinks. Spoke to the Manager and she was very nonchalant when we mentioned we were seated before a table, but they already had a chef. I will NOT go back to this location. We ordered to entrees, 1 adult drink, 1 tea and it was around $88. The chef was nice but the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Entire staff appears to be in the weeds. Location needs a refresh. Front of the house rarely seen. Cooks seem preoccupied, and they don't engage the table as they work, which is the point of this style of dining. Legacy dining name and experience that isn't being honored by management. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was delicious. Our waiter just took forever to get us everything!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The supervisor Eddie was very very rude we waited 2 hrs to eat no one wanted to address the issue and then the waitress got upset and my sister and I ordered the same thing and the tickets was different after they only gave a 15% once we made that to her attention she took my sister receipt and went and added money back on the receipt not to mention we didn't get a lot of food all of us at the table seemed to have gotten kids meals for $30 a piece NOT GOOD SERVICE AT ALL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very great place love to eat here me and my wife love this place to deaf

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Dancing, Historic, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great Beer, Live Music, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Healthy, Cozy, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was one of the worst Valentines Day of my life , my wife was not pleased . The food was not done . I guest that they were rushing us because of so many people were waiting . Do they half cooked the food , trying to hurry up . Worst I have ever ate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I just wish I knew they decided to trade the lunch menu for the dinner menu because it was Valentine's Day.....no special food, no Valentine's Day couple specials, JUST dinner prices for a 12 noon lunch. They had my info, my cell (could have text) as well as my email, since I made a reservation. In any event, we stayed and I felt really bad for our server.... it was clear to see from all the empty tables and crowds waiting they were severely short staffed (both cooks and servers). The prices continue to go up and the shrimps decided to shrink (never had shrimps the size of a nickel at Benihana in the past).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.