About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (49)
special occasion (45)
great for lunch (28)
See All
romantic (25)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (18)
fit for foodies (18)
great for brunch (12)
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that w ...

Dined 4 days ago

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that we take to specifically go there to eat. We love the food and company that is at our table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant ...

Dined 5 days ago

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant my parents have raved about for years. We were a few minutes early and got seated before our reservation time. When I talked to the server and chef about the foods that would make me sick, they were both well educated and helpful. While the chef was cooking, I could see the care that went into the order of food on the grill---nothing that would make me sick was on the grill before my food was prepared, and it was thoroughly cleaned between batches. I ordered the filet mignon hibachi lunch done medium rare, and it came exactly as requested. The food was delicious, but the restaurant itself was pretty loud, especially given that we were on of only a handful of tables there in the mid afternoon. Despite the noise, I intend to come back on future trips to Atlanta.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the food at Benihana and it is so ...

Dined 5 days ago

I love the food at Benihana and it is so much fun to have the chef at your table preparing the meal in front of you. I come to this restaurant for special occasions and just regular dining. Every time I eat here the food is always awesome. This is easily one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I took my six year old daughter here for ...

Dined 6 days ago

I took my six year old daughter here for a special night out. The food was good , but overall the Benihana experience is not what it once was. In the past, the chef's put on much more of a show while preparing the food. Now they just do the typical onion volcano thing and that's about it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was horrible. We arrived on time ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was horrible. We arrived on time for our reservation and we waited 10 - 15 minutes before the host was available. Then he told us we would have to wait an additional 30 minutes in the crummy area near the bar and they could not accommodate our reservation. There were only 4 of us. The manager did not offer us a complimentary beverage and the were not interested in keeping our business so we left and went to Nakato which had much better atmosphere and great service.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I ask question about receiving email for ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I ask question about receiving email for my birthday as I have not received in the last three years. You don't get your money's worth currently. The reservation was completed online however I called to let staff know I would be late in arriving still had to wait upon my arrival.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even though I had a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the newly added crabcakes and they were outstanding! I really hope you choose to keep them on the menu.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The chef was horrible. I think his name ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The chef was horrible. I think his name was Musraf. I'm not sure about the spelling of his name, i just remember he said he was from Somalia. He was not pleasant at all. If he shows up at your table, I suggest you leave or ask for a new chef.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

The overall experience was cool

Dined on June 17, 2016

The overall experience was cool

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Benihana for great customer se ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Thank you Benihana for great customer services and excellent food choices.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant. Great chefs Great Food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

A nite out

Dined on June 10, 2016

Made reservation for 8:30, and it took us almost an hour to get seated. But once we were seated, the cook was very entertaining as well as the other guests.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that s ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that she greatly enjoyed and would recommend returning to this location to anyone who asks.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service

Dined on May 29, 2016

The host was really rude. He was very unwelcoming. We waited 45 minutes for our reservation that was placed days before. It was 7 of us waiting. He told us the cooks didnt come in today.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was excellent however, we made ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent however, we made a reservation but when we arrived, we were told it would be 30mins until we would be able to sit. It's not because there were large crowds, the restaurant was unprepared on a Saturday afternoon to handle accommodations. I made a reservation because my group was on a schedule to be at our next destination. I enjoy Benihanas but they have to be better prepared on holiday weekend.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our experience here was awful. I made a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our experience here was awful. I made a reservation for 4 for May 26th. I made this reservation a week before since we were all coming from out of town. When we arrived for our reservation, there was no one waiting at the front to greet/seat people. A few minutes later someone finally came by, only to tell us the chef was on break and we wouldn't be able to be seated for 30 minutes. We left and went to Gibney's Pub where we were seated quickly and had much better service. Why allow people to make reservations if you, the restaurant, can't keep them? And why would one of the chefs be on break during peak dinner hours? Needless to say I will never go back. And I will never recommend a friend or family member go here for anything.

food5
ambience1
service1

The food was great but the service was h ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was great but the service was horrible and I had a reservation!

food5
ambience5
service5

My first time ever I had awesome time th ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My first time ever I had awesome time thanks to our cook Aroof!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Benihana experience was not up to par. I ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana experience was not up to par. I was disappointed, the facility has changed and doesn't provide the same upscale experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My boss took me for Administrative Profe ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My boss took me for Administrative Professional's Day. We had a good time.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had reservations and STILL were sat f ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had reservations and STILL were sat for 48 minutes before getting a chef to even approach the table. I told the staff twice we were there for a birthday and we received no happy birthday acknowledgements. We also ordered to-go for a co-worker and her salad was missing after we asked them to make sure it was in there. Food is good but their service is never what it should be.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was work related. Service was grea ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was work related. Service was great and food was Excellent!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my food and the service I rece ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I enjoyed my food and the service I received. It was Awesome

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was wonderful and the chef did a great job

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

Poor service no one there seemed to want ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Poor service no one there seemed to want to be there including the manager. Had a 4:30 reservation took a hour to be seated and served a drink and the restaurant was over half empty! The waitress was left alone to wait a table of 8 and a table of 6 on her second day on the job Poorly trained and knew nothing about the menu!!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

FROM START TO FINISH...DRESS ATTIRE WAS NOT FOLLOWED FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS .. it seems like anyone could of shown up from the streets and be invited in....BARTENDER fail to make drinks right...his solution was to give my wife some strawberry puree on the side to add to it....managers agreeing back and forth with customer...customer had to make a suggestions in order to continue with his anniversary ....will always remember this day for sure!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Birthday

Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice but along wait time. I think the waiter was new...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Not Good for Business Lunches

Dined on April 28, 2016

While I've frequented this Benihana's locations for years working in the downtown location, I was very disappointed on my most recent visit and certainly won't be back for lunch. We had a 1pm appointment. I was told we'd still have to wait 20 minutes initially. Clearly, I'm on my lunch break and had an appointment of which we were on time for. After complaining to the manager, we were seated at an empty table. I knew then we'd still have to wait for the table to fill up and a chef to be available. This location is ALWAYS short on chefs and have too many hostesses/servers. I then noticed the manager and team lacked the fundamentals of logistics and organization. There were people seated for "express" when they could of have seated with us to close out the table. I noticed a chef was going to a table with no reservations but had arrived before we did so got the chef first. Our lunch lasted 1.5 hour of which we knew what we wanted to eat, drink, and asked for the check right away. We would have done "express" but the limited options of what you can eat and even how my rice can be prepared takes away from the experience. Comparatively I might as well go the "Great Panda". Needleless to say, I did not enjoy my time there. However, as always, my food was good!

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

I made a reservation for some co workers and I to attend Benihanas for lunch. When we arrived the waitress informed me that she could not locate my reservation and I had to wait an additional 30 minutes which made me late returning to work. I will never return to this location.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great everything. Food, people, ambience. You name it. Eat here often because of this.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on April 17, 2016

I enjoyed myself with my son. Great food! Everyone was so polite and the servers made sure we were okay throughout dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great time

Dined on April 17, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. My ex-wife really enjoyed herself. I think I made a hit with her. The cook was very help and attentive to everyone at the table. He was really entertaining.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just great all round

Dined on April 16, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant so much everything feels great with the service,entertainment, and good food. This is A plus restaurant in my book. It is always great here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over rated

Dined on April 15, 2016

The chef took too long to prepare the food, by the time my entree was complete my food was cold.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Nightmare Lunch

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wait for a CocaCola 20 minutes, order lunch in half empty restaurant 40 minutes, waiter wrote everyone's order incorrectly which made the chef mess up. Lunch took 2 hours. People had to worry about parking violations, getting back to work, asking for to go containers before food was completed cooking. Just a nightmare!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good. Chef was awesome....and "tal ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great good. Chef was awesome....and "talented".

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible service!!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was the worst service we've received at any place in downtown Atlanta. Our reservation was at 6, we weren't seated until 630. We sat there until 715 before soup arrived. Our salad arrived well into the meal. We never got refills. My husband had to go find a busser to help us. We literally saw our server twice...once to get drinks, once to get Bill. Food was ok. Hype for the name really. Spare yourself and go elsewhere!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst birthday experience in my life.

Dined on April 1, 2016

I had a reservation for 8:30pm but my party & I were not seated until 8:55pm. Once we were seated we were not greeted by our server for 15 minutes. And it took our chef another 40minutes to come to our table and start up our meal. The restaurant was closed by time our chef started cooking & he still had two more tables to service We left very late. Passed closing. Plus the server refused to take my Free Birthday photo that is a significant nice gift from Benihana.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went there to celebrate a 60th birthday. ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Went there to celebrate a 60th birthday. The waitstaff was wonderful and accommodating . The food was delicious . My party had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.