About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (45)
special occasion (38)
great for lunch (24)
See All
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (18)
hot spot (17)
fit for foodies (13)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time ever I had awesome time th ...

Dined 5 days ago

My first time ever I had awesome time thanks to our cook Aroof!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Benihana experience was not up to par. I ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana experience was not up to par. I was disappointed, the facility has changed and doesn't provide the same upscale experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My boss took me for Administrative Profe ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My boss took me for Administrative Professional's Day. We had a good time.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had reservations and STILL were sat f ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We had reservations and STILL were sat for 48 minutes before getting a chef to even approach the table. I told the staff twice we were there for a birthday and we received no happy birthday acknowledgements. We also ordered to-go for a co-worker and her salad was missing after we asked them to make sure it was in there. Food is good but their service is never what it should be.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was work related. Service was grea ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was work related. Service was great and food was Excellent!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my food and the service I rece ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I enjoyed my food and the service I received. It was Awesome

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was wonderful and the chef did a great job

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

Poor service no one there seemed to want ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Poor service no one there seemed to want to be there including the manager. Had a 4:30 reservation took a hour to be seated and served a drink and the restaurant was over half empty! The waitress was left alone to wait a table of 8 and a table of 6 on her second day on the job Poorly trained and knew nothing about the menu!!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

FROM START TO FINISH...DRESS ATTIRE WAS NOT FOLLOWED FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS .. it seems like anyone could of shown up from the streets and be invited in....BARTENDER fail to make drinks right...his solution was to give my wife some strawberry puree on the side to add to it....managers agreeing back and forth with customer...customer had to make a suggestions in order to continue with his anniversary ....will always remember this day for sure!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Birthday

Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice but along wait time. I think the waiter was new...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Not Good for Business Lunches

Dined on April 28, 2016

While I've frequented this Benihana's locations for years working in the downtown location, I was very disappointed on my most recent visit and certainly won't be back for lunch. We had a 1pm appointment. I was told we'd still have to wait 20 minutes initially. Clearly, I'm on my lunch break and had an appointment of which we were on time for. After complaining to the manager, we were seated at an empty table. I knew then we'd still have to wait for the table to fill up and a chef to be available. This location is ALWAYS short on chefs and have too many hostesses/servers. I then noticed the manager and team lacked the fundamentals of logistics and organization. There were people seated for "express" when they could of have seated with us to close out the table. I noticed a chef was going to a table with no reservations but had arrived before we did so got the chef first. Our lunch lasted 1.5 hour of which we knew what we wanted to eat, drink, and asked for the check right away. We would have done "express" but the limited options of what you can eat and even how my rice can be prepared takes away from the experience. Comparatively I might as well go the "Great Panda". Needleless to say, I did not enjoy my time there. However, as always, my food was good!

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 22, 2016

I made a reservation for some co workers and I to attend Benihanas for lunch. When we arrived the waitress informed me that she could not locate my reservation and I had to wait an additional 30 minutes which made me late returning to work. I will never return to this location.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great everything. Food, people, ambience. You name it. Eat here often because of this.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on April 17, 2016

I enjoyed myself with my son. Great food! Everyone was so polite and the servers made sure we were okay throughout dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great time

Dined on April 17, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. My ex-wife really enjoyed herself. I think I made a hit with her. The cook was very help and attentive to everyone at the table. He was really entertaining.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just great all round

Dined on April 16, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant so much everything feels great with the service,entertainment, and good food. This is A plus restaurant in my book. It is always great here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over rated

Dined on April 15, 2016

The chef took too long to prepare the food, by the time my entree was complete my food was cold.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Nightmare Lunch

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wait for a CocaCola 20 minutes, order lunch in half empty restaurant 40 minutes, waiter wrote everyone's order incorrectly which made the chef mess up. Lunch took 2 hours. People had to worry about parking violations, getting back to work, asking for to go containers before food was completed cooking. Just a nightmare!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good. Chef was awesome....and "tal ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great good. Chef was awesome....and "talented".

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible service!!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was the worst service we've received at any place in downtown Atlanta. Our reservation was at 6, we weren't seated until 630. We sat there until 715 before soup arrived. Our salad arrived well into the meal. We never got refills. My husband had to go find a busser to help us. We literally saw our server twice...once to get drinks, once to get Bill. Food was ok. Hype for the name really. Spare yourself and go elsewhere!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst birthday experience in my life.

Dined on April 1, 2016

I had a reservation for 8:30pm but my party & I were not seated until 8:55pm. Once we were seated we were not greeted by our server for 15 minutes. And it took our chef another 40minutes to come to our table and start up our meal. The restaurant was closed by time our chef started cooking & he still had two more tables to service We left very late. Passed closing. Plus the server refused to take my Free Birthday photo that is a significant nice gift from Benihana.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Went there to celebrate a 60th birthday. ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Went there to celebrate a 60th birthday. The waitstaff was wonderful and accommodating . The food was delicious . My party had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a great time.......celebrated my daughter bday!!!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, wait too long

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Benihana is good in general. Food is the same at most locations . But they don't have enough cooks at this location and the wait after you are seated and order is over an hour. Also, $4 to add fried rice is too much and $7 to park. If you go here just make sure you have over 2 hours.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

No air conditioning

Dined on March 12, 2016

There was no air conditioning there. I wish we could have been informed prior to arrival.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We did not get good service at all.

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our server took a very long time to get back to us. She knew we were on a business lunch, and we ended up staying for an hour and a half because we had to wait for everything. I made a reservation well in advance and we still had to wait 25 minutes for our table even when all of our party arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Awesome experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

I enjoyed the waitress that I had and I enjoyed the cook that I had I enjoyed all of the activities that took place for my birthday experience it was an amazing night I truly thank everyone at Benihana for making my experience awesome

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and I am a New Yorker

Dined on March 5, 2016

I was visiting Atlanta for a few days and decided to check this place out, now there is one in New York but I have never been to it. I had a great time. The chef was entertaining, the food was amazing and the experience was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Food

Dined on March 4, 2016

More cooks should be working on Thursday night. We were seated right away with reservations at 7. It was an hour later before we were served our salad and soup.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2

Had a reservation but still had to wait. ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Had a reservation but still had to wait. Service was slow, and the restaurant seemed to be understaffed. Our chef, Maruf, was the bright spot of or day.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Reservations don't matter

Dined on February 29, 2016

Unfortunately, reservations were made three days in advance for 7 pm. Our party was not seated until 8:30. The Chef want wait staff did a good job. I won't be back to this location.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and our chef Carlos w ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

The food was great and our chef Carlos was great. This is a great location and doesnt have the same crowd as the Buckhead location which is a plus!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Needs To Improve

Dined on February 22, 2016

Food and service was very good. Nice staff. But too many hibachi stations were crammed in the restaurant. Ventilation was bad and it was way too warm. Finally, while the food was good, the portions were pretty small. Not what I am used to at a typical Benihana.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on February 18, 2016

Great customer service! Great dining experience! Great place to celebrate someones birthday.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Reservations are pointless

Dined on February 16, 2016

Made a reservation for Monday at 8. Arrived 15 mins earlier and was told that there was be a 30min plus wait. After waiting for a table for about 10 mins we decided to just take a seat in the non-habachi area.l which defeats the purpose of going to a hamachi restaurant but anyways; it took over 45 mins for our food to come out which is ridiculous. The one good thing all night was the waiter Coda. He did what he was supposed to do. Overall not worth the $75 spent there at all.

food5
ambience5
service5

My waiter Danikia was awesome

Dined on February 16, 2016

My waiter Danikia was awesome

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

RESERVATIONS ARE POINTLESS

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had a reservation for Valentines Day that I made a month and a half in advance. I got to the restaurant 15 minutes early and got seated in a good time. I was made to sit in the middle of some children and a couple on the other end. It took 15 minutes for me to get my drink order because there weren't enough waiters. Then we wait 45 minutes for a chef. But I asked for the manager within 43 minutes of that wait time and asked him what was going on. I told him my circumstances with me having been reserved this seat and have been waiting for over 30 minutes. He simply looked at me and told me to go sit down. I was mistreated by the manager and the chef. I will not go back.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service and the food was horrible. M ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service and the food was horrible. My waitress was very rude and short...I asked for a refill on my drink and she never brought it, didn't refill drinks not once. The amount of food I received was way less than I normally get and the chicken was over cooked, I didn't receive mushrooms with my vegetables. The cook also didn't have any personality, he said maybe two words the whole night. If this was my first experience at habachi I would never want habachi again. Benihana has really went down and I will never eat there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine

Dined on February 12, 2016

I usually frequent your outing for special occasions and every visit has turned out to be remarkable

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Food, but Improve Customer Service

Dined on February 12, 2016

I enjoy dining here for lunch seeing my office is only a block away. However, their customer service has been disappointing on several occasions. On this instance, it took our waitress until "the end" of the chef's cooking routine to bring us sauces. Even after several of our guest apart of our parties went to inform different personnel, no one thought it was important enough to ensure we were satisfied. Right when it was time for us to pack up is when they brought us what we needed, which is when we began eating, and needed to ask for to go boxes at the same time. Furthermore, they seemed "bothered" because we informed them of what we needed. Many of us stated we will possibly stop coming here, seeing customer service means soooooo much more than their food. Please improve ASAP.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.