About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.0

ambience

3.2

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

53% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
See All
Fun (21)
Family Style (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Romantic (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrible. Didn't even get to hav dinner. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Terrible. Didn't even get to hav dinner. Arrived for 8:45 reservations, hostess disappeared. Waited til 9:30 then a group who had 7 pm reservations left telling us that they just got seated and we're told it would be another 40 minutes for a chef. Tables were empty because no chefs. At that point I walked out and we ended up

with chicken tenders at the hotel bar... don't take a reservation if you know you don't have enough employees to serve patrons. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was awful. My reservations was at 7:3 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

It was awful. My reservations was at 7:30 and the cook didn't start until 9:45. The manager gave us a 20% discount and told us the issue was that they over booked. Our server was horrible. The server completely mess our order up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We had reservations and still waited ove ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We had reservations and still waited over a hour to be seated. After we were seated it took almost two hours before our chef arrived at our table. This is no joke! With a family of six which included 4 kids the services were below what I expected. Very poor services from the staff and mangers. The chef was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Worse experience. Had reservations for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Worse experience. Had reservations for 6:30; arrived 30 minutes early, didn't get seated until 7:30, chef didn't begin cooking until 8:30. What should have been a hour and a half dinner turned into a 3 hour dinner. On top of that the waitress over charged us. I did a split payment...cash/credit. Checked my account the follow day and my card was charged for the full amount. Will never go back to this location again!!!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Entire staff appears to be in the weeds. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Entire staff appears to be in the weeds. Location needs a refresh. Front of the house rarely seen. Cooks seem preoccupied, and they don't engage the table as they work, which is the point of this style of dining. Legacy dining name and experience that isn't being honored by management. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was delicious. Our waiter just took ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious. Our waiter just took forever to get us everything!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The supervisor Eddie was very very rude ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The supervisor Eddie was very very rude we waited 2 hrs to eat no one wanted to address the issue and then the waitress got upset and my sister and I ordered the same thing and the tickets was different after they only gave a 15% once we made that to her attention she took my sister receipt and went and added money back on the receipt not to mention we didn't get a lot of food all of us at the table seemed to have gotten kids meals for $30 a piece NOT GOOD SERVICE AT ALL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very great place love to eat here me and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Very great place love to eat here me and my wife love this place to deaf

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Dancing, Historic, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, , Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great Beer, Live Music, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Healthy, Cozy, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the worst Valentines Day ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the worst Valentines Day of my life , my wife was not pleased . The food was not done . I guest that they were rushing us because of so many people were waiting . Do they half cooked the food , trying to hurry up . Worst I have ever ate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I just wish I knew they decided to trade ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

I just wish I knew they decided to trade the lunch menu for the dinner menu because it was Valentine's Day.....no special food, no Valentine's Day couple specials, JUST dinner prices for a 12 noon lunch. They had my info, my cell (could have text) as well as my email, since I made a reservation. In any event, we stayed and I felt really bad for our server.... it was clear to see from all the empty tables and crowds waiting they were severely short staffed (both cooks and servers). The prices continue to go up and the shrimps decided to shrink (never had shrimps the size of a nickel at Benihana in the past).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The waiter was extremely slow. It took o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The waiter was extremely slow. It took our table 35 mins to get our check

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The wait time extended more than an hour ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The wait time extended more than an hour after my group had reservations. The staff was also not in a hurry to accommodate our group providing the wait time. The manager also never came around to apologize for the delay.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

The service was very slow and once our p ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was very slow and once our party got there we waited over a hour it was extremely busy not enough cooks

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was Very slow. It was cold. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was Very slow. It was cold. Waitress not friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Had the place all to myself ..... Super ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Had the place all to myself ..... Super Bowl sunday.... Food good , service good..... Until they turn the lights out on me i guess saying time to go ..... We're closing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Chicken had the texture of rubber, there ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chicken had the texture of rubber, there was no flavor in the food overall. This is hands down the lowest quality Benihana I have ever been to. This is no joke, I had better tasting food for lunch the day before at the food court at the self-serve sushi place upstairs from Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Great cooking show. Only th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food. Great cooking show. Only thing I would have liked to be different was our server. He seemed to be new and didn't have much knowledge on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We came towards the end of the evening s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We came towards the end of the evening so the workers were cleaning up around us. Chef made delicious food and had great conversation. Didn't do any tricks (which was fine for us since we visit this chain often).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had a great time when I came .. The ot ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I had a great time when I came .. The other people we were seated with showed us a great time for my birthday but our host took forever coming back to refill our drinks we didn't get our salad until the chef started cooking nor did she ask us if we would like any sauce for our food and she kept walking away towards the end when we were ready to leave . We couldn't find her to get our recipet so we could pay and go .. so we ended up asking another host to get them for us . Then at the end she came to tell us good bye ..

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I won't be back. Service was unacceptabl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I won't be back. Service was unacceptably slow. Food was decent, but we had to ask for soy sauce, yum yum sauce, etc. chef had none of this and it took the server 10 minutes to return with anything. There were plenty of servers, but they all stood around doing nothing. This is one of the worst managed restaurants I've ever been to, and I have been to a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was horrible. They were very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was horrible. They were very disorganized and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

It was great. But that's always. Never h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was great. But that's always. Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. However service was dece ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was great. However service was decent. Had a reservation and still was seated late and didn't receive any food for over an hour after being seated. Could have been a much better experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Terrible service and terrible customer s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Terrible service and terrible customer service. Finally gave up and went elsewhere! Took forever just to get water. A must avoid location!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love this place and our chef cj was the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Love this place and our chef cj was the best....i cant wait till next time

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, , Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can only go to the downtown location a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I can only go to the downtown location after having horrible experiences at the buckhead location. Our chef Juan was great and he put on a good show for my daughter and another toddler that was at the table. The food was good as expected.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There was no yummy sauce and that was no ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 24, 2017

There was no yummy sauce and that was not communicated until after the meal was prepared. The food took longer than normal. The waiter was too busy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had a blast !!!!! The chief was top notc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a blast !!!!! The chief was top notch. We will definitely be back for the food and entertainment.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I advised in my reservation, once to the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I advised in my reservation, once to the hostess, and to the server that it was my son's birthday and they never acknowledged it. Server forgot our appetizer. Steaks were over cooked. The chef was not very interactive. I expected more for a $200 meal for three people. Food overall was fine but, nothing exceptional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food !!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to the restaurant at 6:50 for a 7 pm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Got to the restaurant at 6:50 for a 7 pm reservation. Wasn't sat until 8:30 after waiting at the hibachi table until 10:00 pm when we gave up and left hungry. Had this happen at Benihana on peachtree in Atlanta several times over the past few years while at a trade show I would go there for lunch but avoid at all costs for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I have been to Benihana's before at this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I have been to Benihana's before at this location and others and have never had such a horrible experience. They were so understaffed that we didn't get a chef to our table for two hours after our arrival. The staff was nice and apologetic and the manager gave us a discount but it was too little too late. The bathrooms were also deplorable which concerns me with what the status of the kitchen would be. This is a location we will never go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The only reason I gave poor reviews is b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The only reason I gave poor reviews is because the management that night was horrible. Over booked reservations and took walk-ins when they did not have the staff to accommodate. They had about 20 tables full- and only 4 chefs to cook the meals. Chef and waitress staff were great, management made it a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Very disappointed in our experience. Fir ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very disappointed in our experience. First time to the restaurant chain. We arrived 15 min early to our reservations and was finally seated after 7 after finding a 2 me hot stand. Our chef did not arrive until 830. He never greets us smiled or did any of the "tricks". We did not get our rice our desserts. I commented that it was a birthday celebration when I made reservations, had to mention it after we got our checks. Everyone around us was miserable and not eating either. , everyone was waiting. We never got an apology or anything. Everyone was rude and looked mad. Fortunately we sat with people that made our experience better. I took the birthday girl for her first hibachi and was very disappointed. There is a reason for all the bad reviews. Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Took an hour for the so called ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Horrible

Took an hour for the so called chef to finally reach our table

No personality, , no tricks no nothing

I could have done a better job

Don't go here

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I hate this location!!!! Very bad custom ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I hate this location!!!! Very bad customer service.... horrible wait time and I had made a reservation... Buckhead location much better!!!!! I haven't been in a while... I thought the service had changed!!!! It's worse!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a 5:30 reservation. Were sat at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation. Were sat at 6:15. Waited 30 more mins before getting anything to drink including water. Waited even longer for a Chef. Out of just about every beer on the menu. I will never go back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was good, service was excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was good, service was excellent. Don't expect an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was the worst way to spend my birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was the worst way to spend my birthday day the service the cook and manager was terrible. I will never recommend anyone to this location EVER!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reservations were a joke. Had OpenTable ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Reservations were a joke. Had OpenTable reservations at 8pm. We arrived a little early at 7:45pm. We were sat at 8:40pm. Then it took an hour for our chef to show up to cook the meal. So, around 10pm we were able to eat. At one point at another table, a customer got so fed up, they started cooking their own food!

The steak was paper thin, and although we asked for medium rare, it was all cooked well done, zero pink. We were just glad to finally eat! We also had 3 kids with us, so you can imagine how tired and hungry they were by 10:15. The manager offered us tempura shrimp as some sort of apology, but basically the other manager (or owner?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.