Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.1

ambience

3.1

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

51% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (14)
Casual (14)
Romantic (13)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time 👨‍🍳 Taylor did a fantastic job and the food was great. Our server was very friendly and attentive. The manager was very hospitable. Thank you for a great experience

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We made reservations an still waiting over 45 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The cook kept putting salt and pepper on the food and when it was done the food had way to much on it. The stake was well done when everyone ordered medium, the chicken was over cooked and I only got two scallops that were chewey. Its a $10 difference to get 2 scallops that are like chewing rubber? We ran out of drinks 3 times and had our food for at least 10 minutes after asking for the umum sauce that they bring out to every table. Our meals also included surbert but we did not get it. A $55 meal it should have been a little better. Go to the mid town location, its much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything was great. Only problem was we waited 20 mins when we had a reservation. But overall love it

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Tooo 2 hours to get our food , only was two cooks on sit horrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was actually my first time and it was nice, however I was looking forward to see our cook do something different, but when we asked him to he said that he would only be doing a disappearing act at the end. If he wasn't going to do anything extra he should have let everyone at the table know ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

No private parking
Japanese experience was totally lost. It was was ghetto.
What happened to the warm hand towels before you dine.
Waitress was very nice. The cook Juan was pretty good too many misses in his tricks. He needs a little more practice. I clearly stated in the online reservation that i wanted a well experienced cook. The portion of zucchini was very small there was no bean sprouts also. The rice bowl was served upsidedown. The music ambience was so low all you heard was talking. The bathroom were disgusting.
I am sorry i cant recommend this Benihana Restaurant to anyone cor the Benihana experience. Maybe happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Service is very very slow. Food was pretty good though considering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was my wife's 30th bday we had a reservation for 630 and arrived less than 10mins late. The host told us they do not honor reservations if you arrive late which wasn't printed anywhere. We were told we could be added to the walk in list and it would be a 45min wait. We ended up waiting for 2hours and when speaking to the manager he stated that there were other guest who had reservations that had to be seated first... The thing was there were many empty tables but apparently not enough cooks. Once seated we still had to wait another half hour before being served our drinks and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The staff was friendly from the moment I walked in the door. There was a festive mood. The food was amazing - the best hibachi I've ever had, flavorful not salty. I was not in love with the décor, would love to see it a little more trendy/modern but then again it was more of a family crowd.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

HAD A BALL, NICE STAFF COOKS AND FOOD, WILL BE BACK FOR MORE.

Tags: Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very poor customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Drinks were good....teriyaki chicken a bit dry. Server very attentive....

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hostess had a bad attitude. She brushed us off and kept going outside to smoke or talk on the phone. Chef Jo Jo and assistant Christian were wonderful. They turned our experience positive after the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

After waiting 15 minutes from our reservation time to be seated and left with no host to even further ask about wait times we left and ate across the street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Staff and service were excellent

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The service was great! They helped me celebrate my birthday the right way. Food was great, entertainment was great and so was the atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Immediately upon entrance the building seems a bit run down and slightly unclean. The waiting area is very small though organized. The food is subpar for the prices. Can get better Habachi style food for half the price. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive the cook was fun and skilled. Overall was a expecting a more upscale facility but the experience it self was not bad. Probably will not return unless friends or family suggest it.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Omg do not come here this place is sooooo ghetto and horrible. The staff has poor attitudes. We had reservations for 8 pm but had to wait an hour. We asked what was taking so long. The waitress Kay swung the menu's in my face and almost hit me in the face. At that point we started arguing and she tied her hair in a bun and proceeded towards me to fight me!!! I asked for a manager and she was just as rude so im not surprised at how unprofessional the staff was. Eventually we were seated at a dirty table with a dirty grill. We had to ask the cook to clean it. Mind you the cook didnt come until 30 minutes after we were seated. Im so upset that they ruined my mothers birthday. I would never come back here or any location although the svc is much better at the buckhead location. We never even received an apology. Im contacting corporate and advising them to pull the tapes from tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Experience was overall great just that if you order chicken and expect to eat it with your rice you will be waiting till the end of the presentation I suggest getting double rice we were seated seven minutes upon arrival thanks to OpenTable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was good, but the place was quite rundown and dirty. For example, the floor was dirty and there was rice on my seat and on the cooking grill from the last group when we sat down. The service was not very prompt either.

The other metro Atlanta locations are VERY nice and I expected the same for the downtown location. I was very disappointed. We chose this location as we were going to see a show at the Fox. If we had not promised our daughter Hibachi for her birthday, we would have left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I made reservations for 7 pm for my daughter's birthday- there were 5 of us- we arrived at 6:50- the place was busy but not crowded and several of the hibachi tables were vacant- starting around 7:10 I began to ask why we weren't seated- the woman at the check in said " 3 more minutes " - after multiple requests we were finally seated at 7:25 without any explanation- water and drinks took another 15 minutes and they finally started preparing the food at 8 pm- the chef was extremely nice and entertaining- it wasn't his fault but overall service was so slow that we decided to leave shortly before 9- my 5,8 year old grandsons had school the next day so- no dessert, no cake, no " happy birthday " - that is my last visit to that Benihana's and I will have to wait until I-85 is repaired before heading north to any of the others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

After many years of the two locations downtown have lost it's steam

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The reception area is very cramped and the hostess did not seem very interested in her job. Eventually we were seated at a very crowded hibachi table. There was NO wi-fi or cell service so forget about checking in on social media. The server took a long time to get around to drink orders, and we eventually got our water. Our drinks arrived moments before the food. The server vanished and we did not get water or drink refills until just before the check arrived. The chef was quite pleasant and the food was good, but after the 3rd attempt I do not think we'll be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very similar to all Benihanas. Smaller location, you should get a reservation in order to avoid waiting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We shared a table with 2 other couples which was ok. The coconut mojito was really good. The portion size omfrom the lunch menu was more than filling- more than I could eat at one time. The only con for me was the wait time. I made a reservation and still ended up waiting for almost 20 minutes to be seated and once we were seated we waited for an additional 20-30 minutes before the chef began to prepare our food. We visited on a Thursday during lunch with a 12:30pm reservation. Overall, it was a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Everything was great from the time we walked through the door as far as the service goes. Everyone in each area were nice, pleasant, courteous and professional to us, including the bartender Lintu and our cook Maruf, who's names I remembered. The food was cooked perfectly to all our tastes and the he even made the experience interesting enough whereas we were interacting with one another although we didn't know each other. I would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good Birthday dinner

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had reservations at 7 did not sit down until about 8 then it took forever to get a cook. We didn't start eating until 9pm. Then my fiancé tried to tell the manager he wanted to talk to him he put his finger up like hold on walked past and never came to talk to him. We waited so long to eat my stomach started hurting that when he did cook I didn't even want the food. I don't see the point in making a reservations and u have to wait for an hour to sit down an eat. Will never come back to this location.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was my first time at your restaurant. I reserved dinner for my daughters 24th Birthday dinner. The waiter was absolutely horrible. And very argumentative. He didn't even acknowledge my daughters birthday after we mentioned it. I ordered Tofu steak and wasn't made aware that they were sold out until I was standing there complaining to the manager about what had already happened. He apologized and asked me what I'd like to have instead. I'm curious to know what would have happened if I had not went to speak with the manager. Would I just have not had any food prepared :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Terrible service. We had a 6:30 reservation but didn't get seated until 7:10. When finally seated the chef took another 30 minutes to START preparing the food. My wife and I had tickets to a 8:00 show and needless to say we missed half due very poor management. This is the second negative experience we've had with Benihanas and frankly the last experience we'll have with Benihanas. Don't waste your time and money. There are plenty of other hibachi/sushi restaurants in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was a great family experience - my children enjoyed it thoroughly, and it was a beautiful place for my parents to spend time with their grandchildren over an awesome meal!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

CJ the cook was great . We were in and out thanks to the reservation

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We made a reservation and did not get seated or order our food until an hour later. I ordered the steamed lobster, but our chef grilled the lobster. When I asked him why it was grilled versus steamed, he lied and said they stopped doing steamed lobster. I asked him when did they stop and he replied "that week." He then went and got the steamer and made me another lobster in the correct way. Our meat and vegetables were over seasoned and our rice had no taste. We will not be going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This Benihana has had its struggles with certain chefs using too much garlic butter and not cooking the way Rocky Aoki intended but we gave it another shot and Our chef "Angel" cooked up a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was awful, waiter took order order wrong. Chief got upset because he was fixing wrong dish.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant was extremely packed, but we made a reservation and only had to wait because we arrived early. The energy was good. The server was a little slow, but I assume that was due to how busy it was. I was pleasantly surprised that the drink I ordered...long island ice tea...was perfect. We had a great group at our table, so it made for an energetic dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My friend and I had a horrible experience. We will not be returning. The food wasn't good. The chef was not engaged in our meal. The food was made sloppy. It took over an hour before our waitress came to the table. The appetizer was horrible. I will never visit this location ever again. The bathroom were nasty and the doors were beat up. An awful location for such a nice and common area for visitors. Not a good look for nice downtown restaurant in Atlanta. The owner really needs to renovate and hiring competent people. No wonder the buckehead location is always full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We were 15 minutes late for reservation because of a flaming car on the interstate and parking confusion. We lost our reservation and had to wait. Never had that happen- anywhere. Chef was great but the process was very slow. Waited forever at the table before he started real food. I don't know what the hype is about with Benihana. Prefer other hibachi restaurants

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Horrible service and dirty. We sat for 45 mins before we received our drinks. It was not a busy night, however it took over an hour in half for a chef to begin preparing our meal. We asked for a manager and when he finally decided to present himself, he was rude and short! He cuts us off, and refused to listen to our concerns. The place smelled of some bad odor and the carpet was horribly dirty. I was from out of state, and have visited multiple other chains throughout the country. This was the worse DO NOT EAT THERE! Poorly managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.