Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.1

ambience

3.3

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

49% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Romantic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Although we made a reservation didn’t get seated until 40 mins later. We did not eat until an hour and a half after our reservation. The manager Alfred put us in the most awkward situation by complaining about another party that was within an ear shot. This place is poorly managed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

They was short cooks and we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

We left because we waited for over 45 Monte’s with a reservation and no sign of being seated in sight. There were two large parties awaiting to be seated. The hostess said that all of the tables were not working and she didn’t want to overload the new chefs. Oh, it was my birthday also. We ended up going to Two Urban Licks for a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Service was very very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was my daughter's 21st birthday. We had Chef Taylor. He was very good & accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went to the Benihana downtown Atlanta on Sunday and it was ridiculous!!! Told the hostess that the bathroom had a bloody max pad on the floor at 615 and trash all over the floor. Went back to the bathroom at 830 and the bathroom looked the same way. Not going back. As well as the server having too many tables which makes everything slow. Need to hire cooks and servers! In addition, didn't eat my chicken that came with my Rocky's choice due to it being chewy and didnt taste fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, terrible service. Our reservations were at 9 and we didn't get sat until 9:30 and we didn't get our food until around 10:30. We waited 20 minutes before we got checked in and my boyfriend had to go hunt the hostess down. The food is great though. If it wasn't such bad service it would of given it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was terrible. The cook had the grill up to high and burned all of the food. My shrimp was over cooked. He didn't do any tricks and cross contaminated on multiple occasions while preparing the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had a reservation, still weren't seated for 30-45 minutes. The waitress was inattentive, had to send drinks back, and requests box/bag several times. Her acrylic nails were nothing shy of cringe worthy and her hair should have been up with all of the flames going and what not. Dirty plates and silverware, could only imagine what the back looks like. Didn't see the 2 star rating until it was too late. The chef came out 45 minutes after we initially placed our order. My date is an adult beverage connesuir, but we both immediately noticed that our vodka was a cheap substitute. Live and learn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Kay was awesome. Food is so so. The ambience could use a little love. Dingy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant was a mad house. We sat at the front counter waiting for ANYONE for 20 minutes. People out the door with "reservations" waiting to even talk to a hostess. Completely ridiculous, we walked away without even seeing a hostess as they were completely missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We arrived for our reservation 15 minutes early. We were told to wait a few minutes and the hostess would be back to seat us. We waited 30 minutes and then we went back to the hostess stand and were told that we did not check in yet. We were told that we would need to wait 30 -
45 minutes or we could sit in the sushi area if there was a table available. So we sat in the Sushi area and received water after 10 minutes. Then we waited to order...After an hour and 15 minutes we left after never getting to place an order and only receiving water. The staff was rude, impatient and totally inept. Would not advise anyone to eat at this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Made an reservation for 7:30. Walked in to check in at 7:25. There was a line of other people just waiting to check in with the host who hadn't been seen in 20 minutes. Same with the host stand at the other entrance. Found out there was another group there for their 7 PM reservation waiting who still hadn't been seated by the time I gave up and left around 7:45. I also discovered that at least 5 full tables had been reserved by myself and other groups for 7:30. All tables were already full and others waiting so clearly they were overbooked. I tried to wait for the host so I could make sure the card on our reservation wouldn't be charged for no show but after 15 minutes I gave up.

We have been reserving Benihana for Dragon Con Sunday dinner for at least 5 years and each year it gets worse. This will be our last year doing so. I understand Dragon Con is a busy time but that's no excuse to overbook and understaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Location isn't prepared to handle large business spikes. Staff is poorly trained and inconsistent with quality, presentation, technique, cleanliness, service, and knowledge. Manager was sought, and when found, apologized and offered nothing more. Many serving dishes were poorly cleaned and service was slow due to staff having to constantly stop to seek out new, clean plates, bowls, etc. Cook mangled the food - dicing large Shrimp? Dicing NY strip steak and filet AS IT COOKS? Why?!
Very strongly discourage dining here unless it's your last option.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a 6:30 reservation. There was only one hostess who was barely at the podium. After people had checked in, she couldn't find them on the list. Tables were open, but they weren't seating people. At 7pm, she finally came and didn't look at the list, but just asked who had reservations. Then took whoever was closer to her. She said she'd be right back to seat everyone else. 15 minutes later she still hadn't returned. After multiple complaints were they finally sat us at around 7:20. Then they didn't even fill the table, so I went and found more people to fill up the table.
Once we were seated, the service and food were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, entertaining, and very delicious fresh food!!!! Loved it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always the best choice for Saturday night DragonCon weekend. Tasty food, quick service once you are seated. Great amount of food for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing. I love coming here for birthdays or any other special occasion. The people here treated me and my family very well. Will always come back here!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food was good, the service was good. The appetizer came during the meal, but I assume part of that was because we went right when they opened. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Service was great but the food was flavorless! Cook was entertaining but the food lacked seasoning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Everything was good except we were seated with a disruptive family which made the experience very unpleasant and unenjoyable. I much rather would have waited to sit with a better group of fellow diners...overall food was great and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This host when u first come in customer service was dry and not welcoming ..she had an attitude with me because I was 10 mins late on my reservations ..I would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

My fiancé and I always go to Benihana for our birthdays and we always have a good experience. The food was good and the waitress was very attentive and polite.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

This place was horrible!! Management was horrible. They refused to serve people walking in. We had a reservation at 8 and came to our reservation for over an hour. We left and went to another restaurant around the corner waaaaayyy better and less expensive. DONT EVER HERE!! The people are rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service and quality was unsatisfactory. Not well organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One the worse experience I have ever had at a restaurant, 3 hour wait with RSVP, Staff Was Rude, It was dirty.

I Will Not Be Back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service here was terrible...made reservations for 8pm and didnt sit down until almost 930pm...sat down got water and didnt get served food until 10:30pm. Service at this location was horrible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was my b-day and everything was fine just had to wait a Lil longer than expected with our reservation but overall 5 stars. It was worth their wait. Thanks , Kenya P.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We made a reservation at 6:30pm to celebrate my daughter going to high school. We were not seated at the table until 7:30pm. We got our soup and salad but still had to wait until 8:45pm until the chef came to cook the food. I was very disappointed having to wait almost 3hrs before our food was cooked. It took away from the special occasion and i couldn't even enjoy my food because we had to wait so long. I will say that the waitress and the chef were great, and food did taste good. The manager didn't come to our table and i had to ask the waitress to speak to her. I have been to this Benihana before and i was very surprised with what happened, because this had never happened before. I really do love Benihana but this experience really was not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was so slow. We were all starving and had to ask when they would start bringing food. My husband's mix drink was so watered down that he returned it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

While the food was delicious, the ambiance left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was pretty much a sea of grill tables with very few people in the restaurant. There were no decorations or partitions. The bar was too brightly lit. Overall, the food was fantastic but the environment was cold and unwelcoming.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The ambiance was horrible. There's no sufficient waiting area and it was quite a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

No one came to sear us. We had to find a hostess. The server took our order with a crayon and did not take our drink until we were seated at least 15 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I visit Benihana's at least twice a month. This by far was the worst experience I've had in all my years as a patron. I had a 7:30 reservation and wasn't seated until 8:00. Once seated it took 10-15 for someone to even acknowledge the table, which was the loud mouth GM. We barely saw our waitress as I think she was over assigned with other guess. The straws that broke that camel's back was during our food prep. There was another group, not included in my 2 person reservation, that said they were allergic to mushrooms. Instead of preparing all items first and cooking mushrooms last (as they would with seafood allergies) they didn't serve the hibachi mushrooms at all to anyone!!!! That's part of my meal Benihana! I love the veggies! It's part of what I'm paying for right?!?! When asked about not getting mushrooms, the chef said oh well! No sauces were given until I ASKED THE CHEF! Usually before they begin cooking, sauce choices are explained to the table and given out. I had received my rice, shrimp, chicken and almost my steak before I had to beg for sauces. Then...wait for it...the person allergic to mushrooms was not satisfied with the temperature her steak was cooked (which she requested). She picked the steak up with her fingers, put them in the empty rice bowl and asked the chef to cook it more. The chef was cooking the onions at this time. He took the bowl and dumped the steak on the grill, next to the onions! Using the SAME cooking utensils, continued to finish the onions, serve them to the table and then returned to touching this unsanitary steak that was plucked from the plate with this woman's fingers and long colored finger nails! We were done and outraged at this point! How gross?!?! I will never return to this Benihana and their practices should be investigated. Just an AWFUL experience that I'd never expect to receive from the Peachtree Center location. Be WARNED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Joyful place for family or groups of friends, the food was amazing but a little on the expensive side. Enjoyed every moment bit the wait could've been a bit better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

No one told us that they were out of everything when we came in. We set down to ordered and found out the sushi bar was closed and they were out of onions. Its was very inconvenience since we made the restaurant. We ended up leaving going to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

So good! Will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was great but service was slow. My reservation was for 9 pm. Although we were seated at 9:05 the chef didn't arrive at our table until 10:10 pm. One hour for a drink, soup and salad is too long!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very nice restaurant with good options and friendly staff. Only complaint is not all of the promised courses like shrimp and vegetable appetizers were provided.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We showed up about 5 minutes before our reservations. We were asked to wait for 5-10 minutes; that would not have been a problem. Instead the wait was about 30 minutes. Once we were seated, we had to wait again for any service. Water was brought after about 15 minutes. Drinks 15 minutes later and it was close to an hour before our order was even taken. We were very close to walking out of the restaurant at this point - hungry and disappointed.
Once our order was taken, soup and salad appeared within a somewhat reasonable time. Then, once again, we had to wait for the hibachi chef to arrive. The food, once it was prepared was enjoyed.
All in all a disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.