Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today
Special offers available. See details

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

3.3
887 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 522-9629
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Andrew Young International Blvd
Additional
Beer, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Happy Mother's Day. Don't just give a gift. Give an experience like any other.
For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in
Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Benihana Promotional Card. Offer available 4/10/18 - 5/13/18 Promotional Cards valid 5/14/18 - 6/17/18.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 887 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.3based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.2
service
3.2
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
54% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Great place for to take a date. Food and service was great as well. I was looking for more of a show during the cooking process but I guess things have changed. Other than the stains on my shirt from the food preparation it was a pretty good date night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant lacked customer service. From the manager to the staff. The time it took for the chef to come to our table was unacceptable. Our reservation was at 6 we did not eat until 7:30p.m. There need to be a complete change in staff in order to change this establishment.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 7 days ago

Service was very very slow for downtown business crowd. Extremely short staffed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Very poor service and the waitress were very nasty and rude, the table were nasty and very dirty

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Very low class. I left and went to a better restaurant

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Party of 3 having a Birthday Lunch, we waited over 30 mins to be seated even though we had a reservation. Once seated we waited an hour to receive beverages ordered from the bar, soup or salad. When the chef came the orders were wrong; luckily he was able to correct the issue. When we complained to General Manager and stated that we'd be giving the restaurant a poor review he took a defensive posture, arms folding asking "Is that a threat?" We paid our bill and left but I will never return to this establishment again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

JoJo our chef was fantastic, everyone that helped us was fantastic. As overall we had a great night to celebrate my birthday and date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It was good!! Except for the Teppanyaki chef kept getting our order wrong. & he made a few other mistakes also. But he did has a good attitude, I will say that!! His name was Jalen, I believe.. our waitress was VERY pleasant, & I KNOW we ran her to death w/ our party of 4 requests!! 😁 overall my experience was good though, better than the Buckhead location, because the customer, the rudeness of those employees, & even the Head Manager over there is even horrible!!
This was my 1st visit at this location, & I will definitely choose this location over the Buckhead location now hands down!!
Thanks Benihana Downtown location for a good Birthday meal!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The wait was too long. They didn't have enough cooks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Dinner with my family

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We really enjoyed our dinner. The only drawback was that they didn't have enough chefs that night, so it led to a much longer evening than we'd anticipated, even with reservations. Otherwise, wait staff and chef were excellent and food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Love it.. Took my wife here for her birthday....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

My husband and I both were celebrating our birthdays. We had an awesome time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2018

It took 30 minutes until someone took our drink order and 1hr. 5 min. until the chef came out. They forgot our salad. Everyone at the table agreed that the chef put way too much salt & pepper and butter on the food. Men’s restroom was filthy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Jojo was our chef and he was amazing. He was very personable and funny and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had reservations and still spent a total of 2 hours at the restaurant. We waited while seated at the table for almost an hour before the food was brought out and started. While the food was good, the wait time hampered our patience and impeded upon our other plans for the evening. This was our first time there and it will be the last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It was great, sat at bar and enjoyed meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

JoJo our chef was great! He had our whole table conversating with one another!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Service was absolutely terrible. I made reservations at 1 and didn’t get seated until 1:10 despite being there early. By 1:45 our orders were placed but all we received was water by that time. Waiter seemed new and management could careless about the incovinevece. However, the food was decent...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The wait was long, our reservation was at 7:30pm but we didn’t seat til 8pm

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Short version: don’t waste your money! The food is mediocre, service is trash, and you will not get everything you order.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I won't ever recommend this Benihanas to anyone!!!! We waited 20 minutes to get acknowledge after we were seated. Since no-one had come to our table they say 4 more people, at a table that was only meant to accommodate 8. Someone finally decided to grace is with their presence and we then had to wait for the additional guests to decide what they wanted. After our orders were taken we waited over 45 minutes for a chef but still no-one. We just got up and left! They ruined my child's birthday because that's all she wanted was Benihanas, so we drove 2 hours so she could have that. Only to be disappointed because she they wouldn't serve us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food was ok, but the host I didn’t like. I was getting ready to leave and there were guests who left 1 minute before me and she let them leave out of the door closest to the street but as soon as I walked up she told me no I couldn’t exit from that particular door, yet she had the door open. So I had to walk all the way around (back through the restaurant And through the mall) to exit and my car was parked directly across the street which was closer to the door she wouldn’t let me out of

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Everything was outstanding for my daughter's 16th birthday.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I usually enjoy Benihana lunch duo but, I had to wait entirely too long to get any type of food. The people at other tables were also upset at the wait and very few of the staff seemed concerned about it.

If the wait wouldn't have been so long, it would have been better. I didn't get asked what I wanted until a hour after my reservation and didn't leave until a hour after that.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

This was the absolute WORST experience I have ever had at a Benihana. I made a reservation with the Buckhead location for 7pm via OpenTable. The restaurant called to say they were unsure why the system allowed the reservation but they were booked and could not honor it until 9pm. They recommended another location. I then booked the Downtown location via OpenTable for 830pm. We arrived at about 825pm. We were told they were running behind and it would be awhile before we could be seated. After sitting there for 20 minutes we noticed there were several tables of obviously annoyed guests who still did not have a chef and were being addressed by the manager. We asked the host what was going on. She explained they were down a chef and everything was running very very VERY slow. She suggested we try Hooters or a nearby diner if we did not want to wait. (Neither of these locations stack up to Benihana on a star level - absolutely terrible recommendations). I then told her we would be finding an alternate on our own as now 30mins passed since our reservation time and we still had not even been seated. I asked for a manager to address the issue. When a manager finally came over her attitude was immediately rude. Rather then deal with someone who clearly could not professionally address the issue, I asked for the contact information to the General Manager. She asked "why" with a rude tone. I simply asked for it again. She called the security over and then walked off. After several minutes, it was clear she wasnt going to return so we left. We found a very nice steak restaurant nearby and managed to salvage our evening. Ive never been so disappointed with a dining experience. Hopefully they replace the manager and get proper staffing so this does not happen to anyone again. I will only dine at the Buckhead location moving forward. WE have dined there several dozen times and have NEVER had an issue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food was excellant! Our chef was lots of fun!! Others we were grouped with were downers, but that wasn't the restaurants fault. Great evening! Expect to be there a couple hours.....but time went by so fast, it was a great evening!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Bad experience..it took cooks 45 mins just to get to my table..the manager then blame it was the waitess because he was new..smh

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 13, 2018

I have been here several times, this was by far my worst experience.The Service was horrible, the chef was lame and the overall service sucks!!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 13, 2018

There was only 2 servers the food was over cooked and I had a 12:30 reservation and still had to wait 45 minutes I wil not be returning

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 12, 2018

This Visit was THE Worse Ever..... From The Service... the Food.... the Restaurant in Total was a BIG Disappointment........ They really to get Better HELP and More Professional Trained Staff and Cooks...

I mean it's Always a Problem when you go to this Location Dowbtown... But This Visit was THE Worse...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I made a reservation for 8 PM for my 5 friends and I. We arrived at 8:15 PM to the restaurant, and were told we would have to wait an additional 20 minutes to be seated. We waited because we had already paid for parking, and were eventually seated around 8:35 PM. Once seated, we did not receive our drink orders until 8:50 PM. We then did not obtain the first portion of our meal until 9 PM, 45 minutes after arriving for our RESERVATION. The restaurant was extremely understaffed, and the service that was working were obviously overworked, stressed, and unpleasant. One of my Asian friends was also rudely called out by the cook, where the cook asked him if he cooked the same meals as we were eating, implying that my friend was Japanese when he was Vietnamese. The food also was not anything special. I also ordered "Fried rice" along with everyone else in the restaurant, assuming that it was vegetable fried rice (because I do not eat meat). When the cook threw chicken into the fried rice, I mentioned that I had ordered vegetable fried rice, and he insultingly asked me why I order the chicken fried rice if I do not eat chicken. I responded that I had ordered the "fried rice" assuming that it did not have meat, and to relive tensions, I just asked for steamed rice instead. I will not be returning to the restaurant, and hope that others will save their time and stress by also doing so.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had a 800 reservation and the hibachi cook didn’t get to our table until 945. Also we noticed that a table who were seated after us received a cook before us. So this made us a little uneasy and we all confirmed that we like the location in buckhead better than this location! Also the bathroom was horrible... ugh

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Really enjoyed the food and portions. The service was awesome. Drinks were great as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Great birthday celebration with coupon and sweet treat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Nice employees, just not a very experienced cook. Food was served over too long a time period. Should not take 3 hours from seating to paying the bill.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Horrible experience, not only was this the dirtiest Benihana my family and i have ever been too. But the staff was very unprofessional talking amongst each other if how horrible it is to deal with taking people’s order over the phone and making their faces and comments about it . THen another male staff member changing out of his work clothes to his street clothes right by the bar . Restroom smelled horrible and was extremely dirty . Chefs cooking area was so dirty right next to where we were eating , trash in the floor by the register at our seating area and gun stains by the entrance . This was for my daughters birthday and we also waited for 10 minutes after waitress took my payment and never returned even though my daughters meal came with an ice cream . We always go to Benihana’s for birthday and this experience has ruined that thought . We are from California and this Atlanta trip was ok till this experience .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I had a horrible experience at this location.I made a reservation for Monday, March 5 at 8pm which was not honored. Our party of 3 were not seated until 8:30pm which I find to be unacceptable. What is the point in a reservation if we still have to wait especially if it's a small group?Then, we waited for 2 hours before receiving a chef at our table.There were other tables that sat down after us and they received a cook before us.We asked multiple times where our chef was and each time we were told that they were working on it or that someone would be over soon.We decided to wait because it was a birthday dinner but 2 hours is completely ridiculous.At 10:30 p.m., we finally received a chef who was super nice and made us feel just a tad bit better. I believe his name was Ellington. He is a tall, light-skin guy with glasses who was super kind and he apologized for the wait.While Ellington was cooking, our server brought our checks over to the table without us asking for it.I did NOT appreciate her bringing the checks out before we had received any food. I felt that was very very unprofessional.She did not even have an excuse as to why she brought the checks out early. The manager (an African american female) came over to our table with an attitude when we started to complain about how we had received our checks early.It made the experience even more unpleasant.She did try to apologize in the end and gave us a 20 percent discount; however, her first impression had already left a nasty taste in our mouth.Additionally, I ordered the Benihana Trio 6-course meal and did not receive the ice cream that should have been included. I asked the manager about the ice cream and she stated "I don't feel like giving you any ice cream".This dinner was for my uncle's birthday and it ruined his night.Considering that I was the one who planned it for him,I was disheartened by this experience and honestly don't think that I can bring myself to go back or recommend it to any of my friends.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I would not recommend this restaurant for anything!! I came for my anniversary. I had a 4:00 pm reservation and did not get seated until 5:00. Once seated the restaurant was very dirty. I waited until 6:00 and still no one had come to take my drink order so my wife and I got up and left .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I had a reservation for my 30th birthday at the Benihana downtown on March 3rd. Thank God that I dined out the night before and had a wonderful experience (at TWO urban licks, please check it out!) because it was entirely disappointing. When we entered the restaurant, there was no one to greet us and we had to wait over 5 minutes for the African American female manager to return to the front. She began to help a couple that arrived after us and when I explained that I was there before them, she wanted to argue and tell me that they were there first. The couple vouched for me and I thanked them. The manager had a very nasty attitude with others that came in the restaurant and I witnessed this as I had to wait almost 30 min past my reservation time to be seated. The overall dining experience was good but having gone to other hibachi grills, the portions were lacking. We had a $50 gift card that we provided in addition to our credit card. The ticket ended up being $49 and some change but we were charged $12 on the card (I saw another review where a gentlemen was charged incorrectly for “gratuity”). It took FOREVER FOR OUR TABLE (separate parties) TO GET OUR RECEIPTS AND CARDS BACK. Also, the bathrooms were kept as if we were in a fast food facility. I will never go back to this or any other Benihana and I wouldn’t advise anyone else to. Again, check out TWO urban licks! It made my first bday dinner/introduction to my 30’s amazing!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23