About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown
Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (31)
Great for Lunch (28)
See All
Kid-friendly (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very loud. Did not see many Asian chefs. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very loud. Did not see many Asian chefs. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Love it. We eat here 2-3xs a month 😋

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love it. We eat here 2-3xs a month 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was lost and a complete mess ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The hostess was lost and a complete mess, but once we were seated it was smooth sailing. The food was absolutely amazing, the chef was very friendly and funny, was very fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious exactly what my f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was delicious exactly what my family and I were expecting. The ambience is perfect for friends and or family to get together and enjoy a perfect meal made with a little entertainment before your eyes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was not cooked properly we had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was not cooked properly we had a cook named Keon. He did not know what he was doing at all he took food off of one ladies plate and put it back on the grill while our steaks where still on the grill. it also took him over 2 hours to prepare everyone's food. it was the biggest waste of money. I will not return. Not to mention we made a reservation and still ended up waiting over and hour to be seated. the Asian older short lady at the front door was very rude, and she gave our table to another party.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I am from Washington dc, been to Georgia ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I am from Washington dc, been to Georgia many times, first time in Atlanta, beautiful city, found the restaurant online, easy to make reservation, my date and I enjoy the show that the chef put on with preparing our meals, the food was excellent, thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally go to the Benihana in buckhead ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Normally go to the Benihana in buckhead but the cooks rarely do a great job anymore. The downtown location was so good that it will be my new Benihana of choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

We did not get seated till 29 min after. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We did not get seated till 29 min after. Sushi bar ran out of rice. Soup cold. Chef took another 15 min to wait. Just cooked no show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were seated on time and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were seated on time and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took a little over 30 min for the che ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It took a little over 30 min for the chef to come. I reserved a time for 12:30. I had to wait until 1:00pm when people who arrived at the table several minutes later arrived. I was actually a few minutes early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great time talking with table mates. Enj ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great time talking with table mates. Enjoyed 2 birthdays at the table. Great stuff😆

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was excellent. Our chef, howev ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food was excellent. Our chef, however, was dull and boring. He was not ready to perform (cook) on his own yet. The service, otherwise, was great. I only went to a Benihana because my colleagues wanted to, but after this experience, I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I come here often because I work in the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I come here often because I work in the Marriot and I love Hibachi; however customer service is awful and the wait times for table and food is extremely long. However, by reserving I was seated fast but we had to wait over 30m before the cook came out. Because of the customer service and long wait times, it has caused me to eat her once a month instead of once or twice a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

I have been to other locations and this ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have been to other locations and this was by far the worst location I have visited. The server was average being slightly attentive, but the entree was disappointing. I have never found myself desiring steak sauce at a hibachi restaurant until now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was just bad! The rice was not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was just bad! The rice was not cooked and crunchy. When we asked for noodles instead we were dismissed by the manager. They brought out more rice and attempted to cook it after we had received all other portions of our meal. The food was not seasoned well.

We were excited to visit this restaurant as the one in our hometown was closed but the experience was tremendously disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Understaffed, extremely unorganized, che ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Understaffed, extremely unorganized, chef messed up our order, forgot items, overcooked food, absolutely no personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great ambiance and the chef was entertai ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great ambiance and the chef was entertaining!!! We went there for a birthday and the setting was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor Service. Initially our orders were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Poor Service. Initially our orders were taken promptly, then the waiting started (except drinks came pretty quickly). As we watched cooks finish at other tables, we still waited for our cook to arrive. One of the other persons at our table complained. Finally the cook came out, however his cart did not have everything on it. He put the rice onto the grill, but then had to leave because the vegetables and the chicken were not on his cart. He also got the onion prepared for the usual "volcano" presentation at these types of restaurants, but did not have a lighter on his cart, so he just did not do that routine. He gave the usual pre-cooking demonstration of utensils, but by that time all were just wanting him to start cooking after waiting 1.25 hours to get started. The folks next to us ordered lobster, and had to ask him to put back on the grill as it was underdone. To me the fried rice had much less flavor than usual, and I wonder if it was he was too much of a rush. My wife's shrimp was extremely salty. There was no post cooking demonstration like the other tables saw. Our cook obviously wanted to do the minimum to get by, and get done. The folks across from us had to leave before eating their full meal since it took so long and they have another engagement to attend to (they though two hours would be enough time, but it was not). I think this chain in considered top of the line for Japanese steakhouses, but they did not prove it this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Besides the long wait due to them being ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Besides the long wait due to them being short staffed our chef Javiar provided excellent service and great tasting food:)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that we take to specifically go there to eat. We love the food and company that is at our table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant my parents have raved about for years. We were a few minutes early and got seated before our reservation time. When I talked to the server and chef about the foods that would make me sick, they were both well educated and helpful. While the chef was cooking, I could see the care that went into the order of food on the grill---nothing that would make me sick was on the grill before my food was prepared, and it was thoroughly cleaned between batches. I ordered the filet mignon hibachi lunch done medium rare, and it came exactly as requested. The food was delicious, but the restaurant itself was pretty loud, especially given that we were on of only a handful of tables there in the mid afternoon. Despite the noise, I intend to come back on future trips to Atlanta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the food at Benihana and it is so ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the food at Benihana and it is so much fun to have the chef at your table preparing the meal in front of you. I come to this restaurant for special occasions and just regular dining.

Every time I eat here the food is always awesome. This is easily one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my six year old daughter here for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took my six year old daughter here for a special night out. The food was good , but overall the Benihana experience is not what it once was. In the past, the chef's put on much more of a show while preparing the food. Now they just do the typical onion volcano thing and that's about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was horrible. We arrived on time ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was horrible. We arrived on time for our reservation and we waited 10 - 15 minutes before the host was available. Then he told us we would have to wait an additional 30 minutes in the crummy area near the bar and they could not accommodate our reservation. There were only 4 of us. The manager did not offer us a complimentary beverage and the were not interested in keeping our business so we left and went to Nakato which had much better atmosphere and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I ask question about receiving email for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I ask question about receiving email for my birthday as I have not received in the last three years. You don't get your money's worth currently. The reservation was completed online however I called to let staff know I would be late in arriving still had to wait upon my arrival.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even though I had a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the newly added crabcakes and they were outstanding! I really hope you choose to keep them on the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The chef was horrible. I think his name ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The chef was horrible. I think his name was Musraf. I'm not sure about the spelling of his name, i just remember he said he was from Somalia. He was not pleasant at all. If he shows up at your table, I suggest you leave or ask for a new chef.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The overall experience was cool

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The overall experience was cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Thank you Benihana for great customer se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Thank you Benihana for great customer services and excellent food choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant. Great chefs Great Food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nite out

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Made reservation for 8:30, and it took us almost an hour to get seated. But once we were seated, the cook was very entertaining as well as the other guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that she greatly enjoyed and would recommend returning to this location to anyone who asks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The host was really rude. He was very unwelcoming. We waited 45 minutes for our reservation that was placed days before. It was 7 of us waiting. He told us the cooks didnt come in today.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was excellent however, we made ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent however, we made a reservation but when we arrived, we were told it would be 30mins until we would be able to sit. It's not because there were large crowds, the restaurant was unprepared on a Saturday afternoon to handle accommodations. I made a reservation because my group was on a schedule to be at our next destination. I enjoy Benihanas but they have to be better prepared on holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Our experience here was awful. I made a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our experience here was awful. I made a reservation for 4 for May 26th. I made this reservation a week before since we were all coming from out of town. When we arrived for our reservation, there was no one waiting at the front to greet/seat people. A few minutes later someone finally came by, only to tell us the chef was on break and we wouldn't be able to be seated for 30 minutes. We left and went to Gibney's Pub where we were seated quickly and had much better service.

Why allow people to make reservations if you, the restaurant, can't keep them? And why would one of the chefs be on break during peak dinner hours?

Needless to say I will never go back. And I will never recommend a friend or family member go here for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great but the service was h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was great but the service was horrible and I had a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

My first time ever I had awesome time th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My first time ever I had awesome time thanks to our cook Aroof!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana experience was not up to par. I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana experience was not up to par. I was disappointed, the facility has changed and doesn't provide the same upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

My boss took me for Administrative Profe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My boss took me for Administrative Professional's Day. We had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.