About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (43)
special occasion (36)
great for lunch (27)
See All
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (20)
fit for foodies (19)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated on time and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were seated on time and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time talking with table mates. Enj ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great time talking with table mates. Enjoyed 2 birthdays at the table. Great stuff😆

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was excellent. Our chef, howev ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent. Our chef, however, was dull and boring. He was not ready to perform (cook) on his own yet. The service, otherwise, was great. I only went to a Benihana because my colleagues wanted to, but after this experience, I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I come here often because I work in the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I come here often because I work in the Marriot and I love Hibachi; however customer service is awful and the wait times for table and food is extremely long. However, by reserving I was seated fast but we had to wait over 30m before the cook came out. Because of the customer service and long wait times, it has caused me to eat her once a month instead of once or twice a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

I have been to other locations and this ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have been to other locations and this was by far the worst location I have visited. The server was average being slightly attentive, but the entree was disappointing. I have never found myself desiring steak sauce at a hibachi restaurant until now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was just bad! The rice was not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was just bad! The rice was not cooked and crunchy. When we asked for noodles instead we were dismissed by the manager. They brought out more rice and attempted to cook it after we had received all other portions of our meal. The food was not seasoned well.

We were excited to visit this restaurant as the one in our hometown was closed but the experience was tremendously disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Understaffed, extremely unorganized, che ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Understaffed, extremely unorganized, chef messed up our order, forgot items, overcooked food, absolutely no personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great ambiance and the chef was entertai ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great ambiance and the chef was entertaining!!! We went there for a birthday and the setting was perfect.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor Service. Initially our orders were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Poor Service. Initially our orders were taken promptly, then the waiting started (except drinks came pretty quickly). As we watched cooks finish at other tables, we still waited for our cook to arrive. One of the other persons at our table complained. Finally the cook came out, however his cart did not have everything on it. He put the rice onto the grill, but then had to leave because the vegetables and the chicken were not on his cart. He also got the onion prepared for the usual "volcano" presentation at these types of restaurants, but did not have a lighter on his cart, so he just did not do that routine. He gave the usual pre-cooking demonstration of utensils, but by that time all were just wanting him to start cooking after waiting 1.25 hours to get started. The folks next to us ordered lobster, and had to ask him to put back on the grill as it was underdone. To me the fried rice had much less flavor than usual, and I wonder if it was he was too much of a rush. My wife's shrimp was extremely salty. There was no post cooking demonstration like the other tables saw. Our cook obviously wanted to do the minimum to get by, and get done. The folks across from us had to leave before eating their full meal since it took so long and they have another engagement to attend to (they though two hours would be enough time, but it was not). I think this chain in considered top of the line for Japanese steakhouses, but they did not prove it this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Besides the long wait due to them being ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Besides the long wait due to them being short staffed our chef Javiar provided excellent service and great tasting food:)

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It is well worth the 2 hour drive that we take to specifically go there to eat. We love the food and company that is at our table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was so excited to eat at a restaurant my parents have raved about for years. We were a few minutes early and got seated before our reservation time. When I talked to the server and chef about the foods that would make me sick, they were both well educated and helpful. While the chef was cooking, I could see the care that went into the order of food on the grill---nothing that would make me sick was on the grill before my food was prepared, and it was thoroughly cleaned between batches. I ordered the filet mignon hibachi lunch done medium rare, and it came exactly as requested. The food was delicious, but the restaurant itself was pretty loud, especially given that we were on of only a handful of tables there in the mid afternoon. Despite the noise, I intend to come back on future trips to Atlanta.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love the food at Benihana and it is so ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love the food at Benihana and it is so much fun to have the chef at your table preparing the meal in front of you. I come to this restaurant for special occasions and just regular dining.

Every time I eat here the food is always awesome. This is easily one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my six year old daughter here for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took my six year old daughter here for a special night out. The food was good , but overall the Benihana experience is not what it once was. In the past, the chef's put on much more of a show while preparing the food. Now they just do the typical onion volcano thing and that's about it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was horrible. We arrived on time ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Service was horrible. We arrived on time for our reservation and we waited 10 - 15 minutes before the host was available. Then he told us we would have to wait an additional 30 minutes in the crummy area near the bar and they could not accommodate our reservation. There were only 4 of us. The manager did not offer us a complimentary beverage and the were not interested in keeping our business so we left and went to Nakato which had much better atmosphere and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I ask question about receiving email for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I ask question about receiving email for my birthday as I have not received in the last three years. You don't get your money's worth currently. The reservation was completed online however I called to let staff know I would be late in arriving still had to wait upon my arrival.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had to wait for about 45 minutes even though I had a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed everything. I tried the newly added crabcakes and they were outstanding! I really hope you choose to keep them on the menu.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The chef was horrible. I think his name ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The chef was horrible. I think his name was Musraf. I'm not sure about the spelling of his name, i just remember he said he was from Somalia. He was not pleasant at all. If he shows up at your table, I suggest you leave or ask for a new chef.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The overall experience was cool

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The overall experience was cool

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Thank you Benihana for great customer se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Thank you Benihana for great customer services and excellent food choices.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love benihana. It's a great restaurant. Great chefs Great Food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nite out

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Made reservation for 8:30, and it took us almost an hour to get seated. But once we were seated, the cook was very entertaining as well as the other guests.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Birthday dinner for my girlfriend that she greatly enjoyed and would recommend returning to this location to anyone who asks.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The host was really rude. He was very unwelcoming. We waited 45 minutes for our reservation that was placed days before. It was 7 of us waiting. He told us the cooks didnt come in today.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was excellent however, we made ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent however, we made a reservation but when we arrived, we were told it would be 30mins until we would be able to sit. It's not because there were large crowds, the restaurant was unprepared on a Saturday afternoon to handle accommodations. I made a reservation because my group was on a schedule to be at our next destination. I enjoy Benihanas but they have to be better prepared on holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Our experience here was awful. I made a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our experience here was awful. I made a reservation for 4 for May 26th. I made this reservation a week before since we were all coming from out of town. When we arrived for our reservation, there was no one waiting at the front to greet/seat people. A few minutes later someone finally came by, only to tell us the chef was on break and we wouldn't be able to be seated for 30 minutes. We left and went to Gibney's Pub where we were seated quickly and had much better service.

Why allow people to make reservations if you, the restaurant, can't keep them? And why would one of the chefs be on break during peak dinner hours?

Needless to say I will never go back. And I will never recommend a friend or family member go here for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great but the service was h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was great but the service was horrible and I had a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

My first time ever I had awesome time th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My first time ever I had awesome time thanks to our cook Aroof!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Benihana experience was not up to par. I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Benihana experience was not up to par. I was disappointed, the facility has changed and doesn't provide the same upscale experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

My boss took me for Administrative Profe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My boss took me for Administrative Professional's Day. We had a good time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had reservations and STILL were sat f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We had reservations and STILL were sat for 48 minutes before getting a chef to even approach the table. I told the staff twice we were there for a birthday and we received no happy birthday acknowledgements. We also ordered to-go for a co-worker and her salad was missing after we asked them to make sure it was in there. Food is good but their service is never what it should be.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

This was work related. Service was grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was work related. Service was great and food was Excellent!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed my food and the service I rece ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I enjoyed my food and the service I received. It was Awesome

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was wonderful and the chef did a great job

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service no one there seemed to want ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Poor service no one there seemed to want to be there including the manager. Had a 4:30 reservation took a hour to be seated and served a drink and the restaurant was over half empty!

The waitress was left alone to wait a table of 8 and a table of 6 on her second day on the job Poorly trained and knew nothing about the menu!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Awful Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

FROM START TO FINISH...DRESS ATTIRE WAS NOT FOLLOWED FOR OTHER CUSTOMERS .. it seems like anyone could of shown up from the streets and be invited in....BARTENDER fail to make drinks right...his solution was to give my wife some strawberry puree on the side to add to it....managers agreeing back and forth with customer...customer had to make a suggestions in order to continue with his anniversary ....will always remember this day for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Birthday

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Nice but along wait time. I think the waiter was new...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Not Good for Business Lunches

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

While I've frequented this Benihana's locations for years working in the downtown location, I was very disappointed on my most recent visit and certainly won't be back for lunch. We had a 1pm appointment. I was told we'd still have to wait 20 minutes initially. Clearly, I'm on my lunch break and had an appointment of which we were on time for. After complaining to the manager, we were seated at an empty table. I knew then we'd still have to wait for the table to fill up and a chef to be available. This location is ALWAYS short on chefs and have too many hostesses/servers. I then noticed the manager and team lacked the fundamentals of logistics and organization. There were people seated for "express" when they could of have seated with us to close out the table. I noticed a chef was going to a table with no reservations but had arrived before we did so got the chef first. Our lunch lasted 1.5 hour of which we knew what we wanted to eat, drink, and asked for the check right away. We would have done "express" but the limited options of what you can eat and even how my rice can be prepared takes away from the experience. Comparatively I might as well go the "Great Panda". Needleless to say, I did not enjoy my time there. However, as always, my food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I made a reservation for some co workers and I to attend Benihanas for lunch. When we arrived the waitress informed me that she could not locate my reservation and I had to wait an additional 30 minutes which made me late returning to work. I will never return to this location.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.