About Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown

229 Peachtree St NE
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Just a 10-minute walk from the Georgia World Congress Center, Benihana is located on the ground floor (Level A) in downtown’s Peachtree Center Mall. There’s easy access from the mall and adjacent Hyatt Regency and Marriott hotels, or enter from Peachtree Center Avenue. There are many popular attractions nearby such as America’s Mart, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta Underground and the World of Coca-Cola, all easily accessible to Benihana on foot, by car or Marta Rail. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm, Sunday:Closed until dinner time.

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Andrew Young International Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 522-9629

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-aa

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

California Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Sushi - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Trio - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown, Atlanta, GA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Atlanta - Downtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Fun (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (13)
Family Style (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is my fav Benihana restaurant in At ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

This is my fav Benihana restaurant in Atlanta, however, they have started to hire new chefs that just don't cook and deliver the meal the way the older tenured chefs do! In particular on this visit, my shrimp wasn't cooked throughly so it was limp/soft and tasted very fishy. The chef, Jay, didn't let it cook like it should've. He moved it around too much! He got an attitude with me when I voiced my concerns but I didn't care bc I gotta enjoy my food if I gotta pay for it! Hopefully, the new chefs get some training from Linh, Carlos, Javier, Eleo, Marouf, etc!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on time and were seated but t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived on time and were seated but the service was very slow, even though the restaurant was not full. It was very noisy and we spent lots of time waiting. The appetizer took too long to come out and the soup was not hot. For me, the salad was the best part of the meal. The waiter was not attentive and we had to ask for everything, i.e., refills, dish removal, etc. The hibachi chef was nice but his presentation was not memorable. We probably won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The food and service were good, but they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were good, but they should tell people they do not honor reservations. Its pointless to make a reservation since they make you wait the same amount of as if you walked in. Highly disappointed by the wait time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our cook Jo Jo was awesome. The food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our cook Jo Jo was awesome. The food was delicious as usual!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good.... Drinks was great...... ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food was good.... Drinks was great........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always great

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great cook. Waiter was inattentive and c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great cook. Waiter was inattentive and charged me for sauce that should've been free or he could've told me I'd be charged. It showed up on my bill as a sauce by a different name that I never ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Place was full of cooking smoke and dirt ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Place was full of cooking smoke and dirty. We usually eat there every time we visit ATL but not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

The restaurant overall was a great atmos ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant overall was a great atmosphere and great service. The only thing was that our waitress was a little rude and wasn't really friendly as much as the chef was but overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chef Juan was as entertaining as he ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our chef Juan was as entertaining as he was qualified to creatively manage the five diners orders with aplomb. Two ate noodle dishes, one had a fish based dish, another a tenderloin steak while the fifth was vegetarian. All presented in phases so no one ever felt like they were waiting to be served.

His explanations of the hibachi method were as entertaining as they were instructive. I particularly liked the onion volcano which included table vibration.

We left satisfied, and if honest, wanting Juan Moore. Okay, that last bit was a pun but hopefully suggests the good time we shared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time we visit our grands in Atlant ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Every time we visit our grands in Atlanta, we treat them to an exciting meal at Benihana's. From the hostess to our servers and chef everyone is so polite and professional. They make you feel welcome and ensure your needs are met.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my birthday with my hu ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with my husband. The worst experience of my life. I never felt so ignored in my whole life. The host was very rude. I made reservation even when she said I didn't. I felt crowded out and hurt. I worked downtown at a coffee shop at 200 Peachtree St. as an Assistant Manager, I just never expected to receive this type of hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was good, service was very slow ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was good, service was very slow due to it looked as if they did not have enough cooks, although we had to wait 3 hours to eat, the people at our table fun, made conversation, and kinda made the wait go by some what fast I think we will would visit there again when we are in Atlanta.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved it! Will return

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Loved it! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 1st visit to this location a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was my 1st visit to this location and I was a little skeptical due to the location. I was hard to find since its located inside of a mall I personally feel the address should be where the outside sign is located. I was not too thrilled that I did make a reservation and still had to wait until that time to be seated even though I was slightly early. Overall it was a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always a Nice Experience to Eat at Benih ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

always a Nice Experience to Eat at Benihana Downtown Atlanta, Ga. Great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was not easy to locate. I called twen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

It was not easy to locate. I called twenty minutes before our reservation for a landmark because we were already there and couldnt find it. They didnt tell me they were actually on another road that wasnt their address or that there was a parking deck across the street for convenience. So we walk in 4 MINUTES late and they wouldnt seat us for being late. Waited 20 minutes to be seated with numerous empty tables in the restaurant. Service was horrible, environment was way too loud, restrooms were nasty. We will not ever go to this location again.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been to Several other Benihana lo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been to Several other Benihana locations around the country, including the other two locations here in the Atlanta area, and have always been very pleased with the service and food. This particular location, in downtown Atlanta, was not a good representation of how Benihana treats there customers or the quality of their food. The worst part is that I had been telling my girlfriend how good Benihana is, since she had never been before, only to have her extremely upset by the end of the dinner.

Our experience started at 7:29 by waiting 15 minutes at the hosted stand for someone to greet us for our 7:30 reservation. When they finally did come we were informed that we were late. After sitting in the waiting area for another 45 minutes we were seated with two other groups of people that were from out of town. We all wired there for another 30 minutes before getting our drinks. We then waited another 30+ minutes for someone to come out and start preparing our food. The food was mediocre and the chef clearly didn't want any part of being there.

While talking with the other people, who had never been to a Benihana, They all asked if this was how the place usually was and I felt obligated to reassure them that this was not how the experience is at other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The new chefs need more training....... ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The new chefs need more training....... Rice dry not enough SOY SAUCE.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The food is always great

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After dinner, we all got sick. Won't be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

After dinner, we all got sick. Won't be going back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed with every aspect of m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Very disappointed with every aspect of my experience. The place was empty, but the host acted like a reservation was needed. I did have one, but still. They changed their menu and rewrite 8an extra $3 for fried rice instead of white. No substitutions either. The didn't give out the white sauce. They switched to a mustard sauce. Yuck. Just disappointed. Then people at the bar had shirts with profanity. Not the place. Especially for the expense of the meal. I expected more.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

My fav place

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My fav place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The service and ambia ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good. The service and ambiance was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

This was my wifes first experience with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was my wifes first experience with Benihanas ,everything was excellent from our waiter Rashad to our Chef Jay. It was a truly enjoyable experience because of these 2 gentleman. The food was excellent,service excellent,the drinks not so impressive (Mai Tai)was not so good,but all in all 5 Star Experience!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly loud. Not from people but fro ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Incredibly loud. Not from people but from an uidentified source that sounded mechanical. When ordering, they would not accommodate a request for habachi with just vegetables, like all other Benihanas have done and so I was forced to order something I didn't really want. We decided to leave by the time the table finished ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went for my friend's birthday and it was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Went for my friend's birthday and it was her first time. We were not pleased with the service and did not get the full Benihana experience. It was her birthday and we were also denied a picture for the event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Chef Keon was A1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Chef Keon was A1

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was terrible. My chef too ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My experience was terrible. My chef took a long time to arrive at our table. The chef wasn't prepared. He left the grill twice to get items he needed that weren't on the cart. He did maybe two special tricks on grill. I payed the extra cost for chickend fried rice and one other person did but the entire table received chicken fried rice. A couple next to me begin arguing and the lady punched the guy. Nothing was said or done. And food was no better than a local Chinese restaurant that does Hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was great service was great and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great service was great and the table of people we sat with were all respectful and decent

I will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great show and great food. Didn't acknow ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great show and great food. Didn't acknowledge either of our birthdays even when we reminded her

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My fav place

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My fav place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed my daughter sweet 16 an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I really enjoyed my daughter sweet 16 and will be coming back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to a Benihana in about 30 ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I hadn't been to a Benihana in about 30 years, but we needed a Japanese restaurant that was open on Sunday for our daughter's family birthday dinner. Since we live close to Downtown, I selected this location, but I am still kicking myself for not reserving the Benihana in Buckhead, which I assume - at least - has a much better ambiance and service, if not better food. The Downtown Benihana is a dreary hole in the wall with less than no ambiance. Not even the staff seemed happy to be there. The exhaust fans for the ovens are extremely loud and were left on the entire time, not just when our chef was cooking, which made any sort of conversation practically impossible. The hibachi food was overwhelmingly seasoned with MSG and the sashimi was fishy smelling and tasting. Yuck! I told the server and the hostess it was my daughter's birthday, and although they did bring her free ice cream, they did not put a candle in it or say happy birthday or make any reference at all to her birthday. I would happily have paid for the ice cream in exchange for some sort of birthday acknowledgement. I will never go here again and would vehemently discourage anyone else from visiting this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

First we didn't have to wait long for ou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

First we didn't have to wait long for our table. The ambiance was very relaxing and peaceful .We enjoyed the chef and all his moves. And the waitress was very attentive and friendly like our chef was. We also enjoyed the birthday song and the sorbet. Outside of this place being very hard to find, especially for those who don't venture downtown frequently, our experience was great. Everyone was talking about who they could recommend them to and what occasions they might want to come back for.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Horrendous experience - sat 90 minutes a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Horrendous experience - sat 90 minutes after reservation. We were the only party waiting -. Don't waste your time.... for a 4 hour mediocre experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food has taken a plunge... The ric ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food has taken a plunge...

The rice was lumpy and dry nor was it seasoned with an adequate amount of garlic butter . Additional charges were added to the bill to add more butter. There was a serving of either soup or salad when you used to get both. The main course noodles were over seasoned with sauce and hard. The meal experience was "Awful".

It used to be very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

If was fun to spend time with my Mother ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

If was fun to spend time with my Mother and sister's for my birthday. If it was not for the "certificate" we probably would have found an cheaper version somewhere else. Thanks for making my Birthday extra special:)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This location was not a nice as the othe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This location was not a nice as the other locations I've visited across the country. I definitely won't waste my time going back here. The service was extremely slow and not professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Waiting area was too crowded and not org ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Waiting area was too crowded and not organized. Greeter was not professional.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.