About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located inside the 285 beltway in the historical city of Buckhead. The restaurant is on Peachtree Street, just three miles south of Lenox Square shopping mall and the legendary Legoland Atlanta. For lovers of the theatre and the arts, Benihana is only three miles from Midtown, home of the famous Fox Theatre and the High Museum of Art. Benihana Buckhead features 19 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs perform nightly on the hibachi grill. Abundant free parking. An 18% service charge is added to all checks for parties eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Benihana Mojito
Sashimi Ceviche
Yakesoba with vegetables
Risingsun Roll
Mackarel Sashimi
yellowtail sashimi
Eel Sashimi
Sashimi Sampler
Rising Sun Roll
17 Herb Benihana Tea
Mango Colossal Shrimp
Hibachi Chicken
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Benihana Sushi
Surf Side

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.4

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

special occasion (43)
good for groups (43)
great for lunch (31)
See All
kid-friendly (21)
romantic (15)
fit for foodies (11)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my annual birthday celebration ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my annual birthday celebration trip. I always enjoy dining at Benihana. The food is always delicious. The ambiance is always wonderful. This trip was really enhanced by our Chef Frederick. Frederick was the most entertaining chef that I have had since I started patronizing Benihana. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We can't wait until our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a little slow not sure how many other tables she had but I just wasn't satisfied with her attentiveness to her customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really liked it. Will go again

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really liked it. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wife's birthday. The environment was just right. The group that we sat with for dinner were all nice people. We will do this again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

i brought my wife there for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

i brought my wife there for her birthday. The food was great as always .

Sorry we miss Frederick who we normally sit with but got a chance to speak with him going out the door.

Can't wait till our next visit!!!!

Being n our 60-70 we like to come early so we can get back home and out of traffic. The manager was so accommodating.....

Thanks for making my wife day special!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not seated on time and the greeter w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was not seated on time and the greeter was a bit rude. But chef and waitress were great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was great. The cook was aweso ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great. The cook was awesome. My only complaint is we waited at the table for awhile before eating.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as it always is at Be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious as it always is at Benihana. The people at our table were not so nice. The chef was good but he didn't really go the extra mile to entertain. It might have been thanks to the surly women sitting next to our party but it was a little disappointing.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate birthday becaus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place to celebrate birthday because they give you a $30 voucher. Rather than that, the food tastes ok.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great birthday celebration.Service was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great birthday celebration.Service was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time at this location and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I had a great time at this location and I look forward to coming back to dine again. Awesome food and great environment

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; however, on the particular day (6/25/16) during lunch the food was extremely under seasoned! I ate 1/4 of my plate and took the rest home. Usually the food is still great the next day, but in this instance it was just as bad as the first day. We will request a different chef the next time we go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always find my way back here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress was super sweet and attenti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our waitress was super sweet and attentive our Chef on the other hand I felt like he kept giving me the least amount out of everyone and it was my birthday plus he forgot my onions altogether so I wasn't happy about that. Not a big deal but I won't get him again. Overall same experience athe Benihana, same choo-choo train.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Don't forget someone's birthday and then ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Don't forget someone's birthday and then say, do you still want us to do it . They wouldn't bring it up if they didn't want it. Otherwise excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No matter what the servers should never ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

No matter what the servers should never asked why you tipped them certain amount

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentabl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentable for Horrible Customer Service and Terrible Management long wait time with reservations, long wait for food and drinks, No organization what so ever Bad attitudes from employees to management, lack of professionalism!!! Overall for the money being spent you can find and establishment that appreciates You.. Have a Blessed Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I really loved the Benihana's experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really loved the Benihana's experience, however I don't think the value of food is good for the amount of money paid. Basically you're being served quite a bit of rice and small amounts of everything else ... for a lot of money. Please make it better! And more Valuable!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I have been to this location on several ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to this location on several occasions during lunch and it has always a good experience except for the wait, in which I didn't trip too much. I took my Dad for Father's Day and people had to complain about patrons at another table, including myself because they were extremely loud and disrespectful as far as their language goes and there were small kids all around. Our waitress and the manager said something to them but they continued until they left building. I as though the manager should have put forth a better effort towards controlling things, because he was chancing loosing more business with those that were aggravated with this issue. The next thing was, the chef took a long time to get all of the food out to everyone. It was good once we received it but he needs to learn how to prepare the food items at a faster pace. Once again, the wait because it looked obvious that there were more people than there were cooks. There were a few tables still vacant and quite a few people waiting.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, service, and value. Will retu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, service, and value. Will return. Making reservations makes life easier.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great experience. Great Food. The chefs are terrific Ialways go here

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I suggested to have dinner at Benihana in buckhead since it was closer and thinking it was buckhead, that it'd be the same (if not better) as my previous experience with the one in downtown that was great. However, that was not the case.

First thing was I could not get a hold of the restaurant. I called about 10 times trying to make a reservation, only to get a machine and phone ringing every time. Finally, I tried making the online reservation which surprisingly is legit.

Secondly, it took forever from the time we were seated for our chef to come out and even then, he was not ready. He had to apologize and run into the kitchen numerous times. We arrived at the restaurant at 6:10pm and did not finish dinner until 8:30pm. The "appetizer shrimp" didn't come until half of everyone's meal was already served and done. My fried rice was cold by the time my filet was finally cooked.

Finally, our server was terrible! We could not find her anywhere to ask for anything. When we did see her, she was standing around talking and laughing with other workers. The chef had to stop and go into the kitchen to get my friend her steamed white rice.

Overall, it was a bad experience and my friends and I will not be returning nor will we recommend this location to anyone. I shouldn't have given them the benefit of the doubt and listened to Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Meal and Entertainment

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chef E. was very entertaining and prepared a perfect meal!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Own ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Ownership should be ashamed.Avoid at all costs. Much better hibachi options in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Fun lunch spot for a group

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We visited as a work group for a team member's birthday and it was a great time. The restaurant is perfect for a group - we had 7 but you could have 8 at a table. The food was delicious and the birthday girl was treated to a free dessert which was thoughtful. Ample parking (free) and great service. Plan on about an hour and a half if you're getting hibachi.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I made a reservation to Benihana for a p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I made a reservation to Benihana for a party of 7 for yesterday evening at 9 p.m. to celebrate my nephew’s Pre-K graduation. We were seated approximately 5 minutes after 9:00 p.m. because our hosted stated that our table was not yet ready. We were eventually seated at one of the tables that was already prepped when we got there. After being seated it took 15 minutes before our server, Chris, to acknowledge our table and to get our drink orders. The quality of customer service, professionalism and the Benihana experience that I am accustomed to was non-existed and my hopes that it would get better diminished as the night progressed. We watched as our server went above and beyond for larger tables as we waited to get something as simple as refill or order our main entrees. At one point, we had someone in our party go and ask a server at another table for a drink refill which she got immediately.

After ordering our main entrée, it took the chef over 30 minutes to come out to our table. The disturbing part of it all is there were 5 parties that were seated well after us who had a seamless process from being seated to the chef wowing the party with amazing tricks that Benihana is known for. These parties had their needs attended to and the chef out in 35 minutes from the time that their parties were seated. Honestly every party that were seated after us had quick and efficient service. It took 1 and 1/2 hours before our chef made it to the table and that was after I went to our server, Chris, inquiring why it was taking so long. Our dishes were not done until 11 p.m. and the food was not up to par last evening. We spoke with the kitchen manager, Arata Wakiyama, about why our service did not mirror the typical Benihana experience or emulate the surrounding service we were witnessing with our very own eyes. Mr. Wakiyama offered us a series of excuses that were similar to the ones offered by Chris. The overall experience was not what was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not what I expected

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The place was very cold .. Although we had a reservation even after all of my party was present we still had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated .. The bathrooms were not very nice at all and could use a make over ...food was just ok .. The chef was distracted while cooking ...needless to say I won't be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a part ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a party of four to celebrate my birthday. I arrived before seven, along with two others. A fourth person pulled into the parking lot at 7:05. When this person entered the restaurant, we approached the podium to be seated. We were told that since we our entire party was not present exactly at 7 p.m., our table was given away to a walk-in party. A manager, who apparently did not care about our dismay, said their policy was to release a reservation if the party was even one minute late.

We were told our party would be seated next, within the next 30 minutes. We were actually seated 35 minutes later, along with another party whose 7 p.m. reservation had also been cancelled by the staff. Their wait for a table was for a longer period of time than my party. It was a mystery as to why we both parties couldn't have been seated together at 7:05 p.m.

Well, once we were seated, the mystery was easily solved. Our wait for service continued. As it turns out, the restaurant was short-staffed and could only handle a certain number of customers. We only stayed because it was too late to get into other nearby spots. Never again will I visit this location. I should have paid attention to the other online reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. Were seated and at 7:50pm we still did not have a chef at our table. The manager indicated he was in the back getting ready. At 7:55pm, still no chef, so we left, as did the other couple that they had put at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our server Julian was excellent.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Julian was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice Time

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The wait to be seated was fairly quick since we had reservations, however the wait to be served the salad was almost an hour, the appetizer came after the salad even later. Considering it was a major holiday (Mother's Day) it was a nice family/friend dinner. I enjoyed the food and entertainment by the chef.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Just what I needed!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was great! We were promptly seated, always helps to have reservations. Our chef was awesome and our server Chris was great! My daughter and I share a birthday, the staff made our day very special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was shocked!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The last time I visited was several years ago but I didn't know how much changed. First of all, as I entered the restaurant, clearly 2 hostesses are at the front desk and didn't bother to seat me even although I was looking lost and couldn't find my party initially. Second of all, the guests were all dressed down except me who was in a dress and heels. No attire necessary I guess. Third of all, if this is all about the Japanese steakhouse experience, where are the Japanese staff. I saw more African-Americans and Hispanics than Japanese/Asian descent employees. Fourth of all, the waiter was absent minded, forgetting our orders, etc. I was totally disappointed, and all on my birthday! I don't plan to go to the other location either...I'm pretty sure it is no different so I won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

The food was great but the dining experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was great but the dining experience was over two and a half hours. We were an hour and a half late for our next destination because dinner took so long. When the waitress was informed that we were very late she seemed unconcerned and did not try and move things along any faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

April 28, 2016 1:00pm So I arrived at ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

April 28, 2016 1:00pm

So I arrived at the restaurant about 15 minutes early because I love to be on time, only waiting 18-20 minutes to be seated, I expected to be seated a little closer to my reservation time, as the girl didn't explain to me! Being seated about 3-5 minutes after 1:00 I was greeted about 15 minutes later by my server ASHLEY, very friendly and knowledgable about the menu and very suggestive. After ordering we waited about 10 minutes for our drinks and salad. So the chef came out almost a hour after I was seated, I've never waited a hour for lunch, the experience took a hour and 40 minutes for me to get my food cooked, then they came with boxes as soon as the Chef left, very friendly service but bad service! The other guest had to ask for refills every time! I don't think I will be returning or eating at a be Benihana's again, and the TOPPING ON THE CAKE. There was no YUM YUM SAUCE, and when asked the reason" because the person who makes it didn't come to work" NEVER AGAIN!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Extremely LOUD

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Extremely LOUD with many, many young children and babies loud singing of birthday song at every table, cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

The rude asian guy that didn't want to c ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The rude asian guy that didn't want to clean the grill where my party was seated. I'm not going back to that location. The chef was excellent...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Frederick was a great chef. The food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Frederick was a great chef. The food was delicious and he really made the experience more enjoyable. Service on the other hand was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

should have listened to reviews

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Ordered two sushi rolls that were pretty good and also ordered the Rockys chicken and steak plate. The chef was nice but the food was pretty bland. Good for a one time experience but won't be returning the food was not worth the price, I have had better quality for way cheaper. Must say the worst part was I ended up with food poisoning just like the reviews said.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Get Better Chefs

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's birthday so it was a party of 8. It took forever to even get a waitress. She was nice enough but slow as all outdoors. Our cook/chef was horrible...he didn't speak to us, no show and barely said happy birthday. The show is a major reason for going!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.