Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.71mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located inside the 285 beltway in the historical city of Buckhead. The restaurant is on Peachtree Street, just three miles south of Lenox Square shopping mall and the legendary Legoland Atlanta. For lovers of the theatre and the arts, Benihana is only three miles from Midtown, home of the famous Fox Theatre and the High Museum of Art. Benihana Buckhead features 19 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs perform nightly on the hibachi grill. Abundant free parking. An 18% service charge is added to all checks for parties eight or more.

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.4

ambience

3.4

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

59% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (30)
Casual (22)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Fun (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (3)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I was very disappointed that the restaurant was closed when I arrived for my 2:00 pm reservation for my daughter's birthday lunch. Poor customer service! An email would have been nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Reservations was cancelled by location due to maintenance issues.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My sever was amazing!! If my recommendation of her receiving a raise or promotion was based off of her service should would be a CEO!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My guest and I visited this establishment over the weekend. I was dissatisfied with the ambiance and food at the restaurant. Our server was wonderful but the quality and of expectations for this restaurant was terrible . I was embarrassed for my guest especially since it was the first time visiting your establishment after I spoke so highly from previous dining experiences

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food great service just a really good experience chef Benihanashawty was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was so so. The chefs were spread very thin covering several tables. The server got my drink order and forgot my silverware. They need an improvement overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It's run down and needs to be renovated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It did not take long for us to be seated, although we were early for our reservation. I waitress Jodeci did take a long time to get our orders and none of us understood why, because the restaurant was not full - at best 3 tables including ours was there. We waited 40 mins. no exaggeration, for our chef (Chef E) to come. He was humorous, generous, creative and late.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2017

It was busy seemed short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This restaurant is starting to go completely down hill. Had a 4:30pm reservation and was not seated until after 5:15pm. Was advised that they now charge for every condiment that was initially free with the dinner menu i.e, yum yum sauce, garlic butter, teryaki sauce, etc. It took forever to receive drinks from the server and was basically rushed at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had a reservation for 9:00pm Saturday night. One person in our party was running a few minutes late so we were told we had 15 minutes before the reservation was cancelled & we could not be seated without her. We finally got seated at almost 10 o'clock and waited forever before a waitress came over, this time could've been spent waiting on my friend to arrive AT the table. But I understand rules are rules, cool. First off, the food does not match the prices, why is there a $4 for friend rice when majority of everyone that eats hibachi wants fried rice? And the small bowls of rice didn't make it better, the portion of food doesn't make any sense compared to the price you pay. Overall if anything I'd recommend KIKUS, you get more bang for your buck and it taste much better, not to mention you get more energy and interaction with the chef!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was Great, Cheif was Awesome
Good was cooked just perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We decided to go here instead of our usual Alpharetta location since I had gone to this location 40 years prior as a 6th grader and had not been back since. Will not elaborate everything that was wrong. The server we had was the bright spot - she was very god and tried to mitigate. The wait for the cook was extreme - over an hour - once we were at the table. There were cleanliness issues, the bathrooms were not well supplied, etc... I attribute the issues to management rather than the individual staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was awesome , the chef/cook Steven is awesome he made the experience enjoyable for all ages. The server made sure we always had refills on our beverages. They food was seasoned just right. I will come back again for my birthday !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Disappointed, is an understatement and if I had read these reviews first, then I would not have eaten at Benihana! Now I don't mind tipping when the service is good but this server ended up with a $33 tip with automatic gratuity that she didn't deserve and that's double of what the chefs make per hour and they do the real work!

In essence, nothing or no one could have warned me for the horrible experience that I would encounter because when I lived in the greater Atlanta area in the 80s, the Benihana at 229 Peachtree St., NE was my spot, so when I moved back here four years ago, I couldn't wait to eat there again. However, after this experience, I'm done, especially with this Buckhead location!

The first thing I notice at all restaurants due to my experience in nutrition services is their inspection score and Benihana's score from February was 82 and that should have been my cue to leave! Secondly, the greeter had an unpleasant, I mean a nasty attitude...call it what it is! We had a reservation for 7pm and the place wasn't even crowded and we didn't get seated until nearly 7:30pm... in the very back where the temperature was teeth clacking, ICE COLD!!! Thirdly, here comes the server with an unpleasant disposition! AAARRRGGGHHH! Who hired these servers? I get better customer service from the young people at Chick Fil-A! But hey, that's probably why the police department has an officer camped out in the lobby because you would just expect something to break out with all the nastiness from the service you receive.

Lastly, the only good thing about our dining experience was the personable chef, Edra, and the food but each item got cold as soon as the chef placed it on our plates because of the freezing cold temperature in the back where we were seated. Bottom line, enter this Benihana at your own risk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Birthday! Disappointed that they couldn't print my picture! First time ever I've visited a Benihana and I didn't get my photo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very slow. Too noisy. Took forever to get appetizers and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was pretty good. An argumentative couple next to my party ruined the mood though. Be careful about arriving early. Out reservation was canceled by hostess when we arrived early. Not sure why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Overall service is ONLY getting 3 stars because our chef Edra saved the restaurant for us. Our server brought water, 15 minutes later brought us drinks and some of the appetizers but not all. Once our chef Edra began (who has a great character and enjoys joking around) we never saw our server again until it was time to get the bill. So too bad if you wanted more drinks( last I checked margins on alcoholic drinks are high at restaurants but I guess they don't need that money), also when looking in one of the bill envelopes with cash in it went on onto ask "is this all for me?"

I hope their chefs get the 95-98% of the tip since let's face it that is WHY you go to this restaurant. Also opentable never mentioned a dress code, some of our guests for this dinner drove a hour to get to the restaurant. When greeted by a giant sign saying strict dress code enforced, we were relieved we thought to dress nice but it could really turn some people off from using opentable when not receiving full necessary information.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were seated immediately upon arriving at the restaurant! The chef was friendly and most entertaining! The food as always was delicious! It was a great value for the money and amount of food received!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great taste. The food was good. I've been a few times before.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

It was absolutely the worst Benihana experience of my life -- been going to Benihana for 40 years and this was THE WORST location I have ever been to. It was managed like a circus.. horrible! Apparently they charge extra for more sauces now as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I was completely disappointed I previously visited this location about two months ago for family dinner and it was great however a lot of things have recently changed it is no longer worth the money they are now pennypinching for everything including up charging you for sauces and butter !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Birthday was this month

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food and service was mediocre at best. Will not be returning to Atlanta-Buckhead location ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good was good. Cook was good. Waitress was not good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was mine and my husband's first time there. We went with a couple of our friends whose gone before. It absolutely blew us away. The food, the atmosphere and the hibachi display by our chef Dekota. He was as equally amazing as the food. 2 Thumbs up 👍!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Several things wrong on this visit the vent wasn't working at the table therefore all the smoke blew in my face there were children at the table and didn't get the full excitement/ entertainment because of the vent situation when reported to the manager she said there was nothing he could do but shut the table down the table shouldn't have been open from the beginning he didn't even offer an incentive, the chef didn't have enough rice so we ordered double rice my guest only had 1 -1/2 order of rice instead our waitress gave us o w to go but it wasn't the same effect from on the table. On the vegetables the chef didn't cook any mushrooms with our onions. Again the manager wasn't any help and acted like he wasn't concerned or cared, I will have to go to another facility why my needs are met. When I am paying I expect full service.
Very Disappointed Customer

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Went to Benihana for a birthday celebration for two people. We had a great time staff gave very good service and the entire evening was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Benihana was once my favorite restaurant but I am very sad to say that it is slowing becoming one of my least favorite restaurants. I have had two bad experiences at two different locations within the last few months. I am very disappointed that it may be time to search for a new favorite restaurant. The day after my father's funeral, I decided to gather my family together for family time. What a huge mistake that I made. If I could rate this place with a zero then I would. I had a reservation for 3:30 pm and wasn't seated until 4pm. They were busy so I understood . I left the restaurant at 5:15pm because I never received any food while there. People were seated after us but received their food before us. This place is such a joke. Sat there for over an hour to be offered 25% off my meal. I will never recommend this place to anyone. I'd rather starve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, great service! I have dined her twice and will dine again when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Decided to come here with a few friends for my birthday. Had a wonderful time! The food was great! Our Chef was awesome from the "Southside". Lol. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I have been to Benihana's for many years, yet it remains a treat. Angel, the chef, was superlative. Though I have seen the "show" many times, Angel managed to include some new moves that I had never seen before. The food was plentiful, tasty, and fulfilling. Did I say fulfilling? Even the ice cream was a treat sufficient to make an old man feel like a kid again. Anyone that wants the very best should go to Benihana Buckhead.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food, the chef was awesome, service was good...a little slow but only because it seems like they were a bit short handed, but the waitress was nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I was disappointed because the service was not up to par. Everybody got there fried rice and I had to wait for my steamed rice. I was on my second portion before it came. The drinks was slow to come to the table. I ordered a 6 course meal and only got four. I was short with my shrimp appetizer and got less mushrooms because somebody wanted extra. I was not asked if I wanted my dessert or tea.I can go on but you get the idea. The cook was so boring and not enthused at at. I took my nephew there for the first time and I was not happy overall.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It would be nice if they had some regular tables that are not community tables especially if you are trying to celebrate something or someone special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great experience and food was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The cook and waitress were great, but the hostess was sort of rude. The food was pretty good, but I kinda hate how some of it gets cold while waiting for the rest to cook.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Took an hour to be served despite having small children with us. Waiter was not attentive and had to find him to get drinks. Bad experience! We will not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

For me to hear so much about this restaurant. It was not what i expected. The experience was horrible . It was my bday, we came from nc and was ready to enjoy our self at this resturant. The service was not good, I should not have to telling i i want my drink refill, we here reservations at a certain time did not get seated till 30 min later. The manager was ride and not hrlpfull when someone of my party was not happy. Just overall it was a bad experience and I will never return to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.