About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located inside the 285 beltway in the historical city of Buckhead. The restaurant is on Peachtree Street, just three miles south of Lenox Square shopping mall and the legendary Legoland Atlanta. For lovers of the theatre and the arts, Benihana is only three miles from Midtown, home of the famous Fox Theatre and the High Museum of Art. Benihana Buckhead features 19 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs perform nightly on the hibachi grill. Abundant free parking. An 18% service charge is added to all checks for parties eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana Mojito
Sashimi Ceviche
Yakesoba with vegetables
Risingsun Roll
Mackarel Sashimi
yellowtail sashimi
Eel Sashimi
Sashimi Sampler
Rising Sun Roll
17 Herb Benihana Tea
Mango Colossal Shrimp
Hibachi Chicken
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Benihana Sushi
Surf Side

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.4

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (31)
See All
Kid-friendly (21)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant has really gone down hil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant has really gone down hill over the years. The customer service is subpar. We arrived at 6:30 for our reservation and were not greeted by our waiter until 7:05, only after I went to the maitre'd stand and complained. The manager was rude. We did not receive drinks until 7:20. Save your money and go to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The ONLY problem that we had was the hib ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The ONLY problem that we had was the hibachi where we were seated literally blew smoke in our faces - the 4 of us at that end of the hibachi were coughing and having some difficulty breathing - the family at the other end work at this Benihana and knew of this problem when the A/C is on - It was bad enough that IF we return, we will request another hibachi with better

ventilation - it could not be healthy !!!! Evidently, your management knows of this problem as the husband at the end of the table that was NOT effected said that it is a well-known fact!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Be warned it is very difficult to change ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Be warned it is very difficult to change a reservation and if you are even one minute late they will cancel your reservation and you will wait and wait sometimes for well over an hour. Apparently it is ok for you to wait 15-30 minutes for a chef to appear!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The manager was unprofessional offering ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The manager was unprofessional offering no help to an incompetent waitress (who was very rude) -Her name was Tierra. Tierra did not deserve the 20% tip I left.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We went to Benihana for a lunch before h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Benihana for a lunch before heading to the High Museum. This is not the place you go if you are in a hurry. The service is a little slow but the food and 'entertainment' more than makes up for this! My kids and I really enjoyed our experience here. I have a VERY picky eater and he really enjoyed his meal and was making plans to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This is best Benihana location ever I lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is best Benihana location ever I love everything about this location

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible, the atmosphere ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was terrible, the atmosphere was terrible and the restaurant was SOOO dirty and greasy, filthy actually.. I couldn't believe it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Staff wasn't the best we sat for 25 minu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Staff wasn't the best we sat for 25 minutes and no one came by to take our drink orders at least, it wasn't busy at all for us to get serviced poorly, the chef cooking our meal was the best part, he had a lot of personality and was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I did not enjoy dinner due to the fact m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I did not enjoy dinner due to the fact my Japanese Chef was not Japanese. Unwelcomed jokes were offered. Appetizers were served After dinner.. I will not return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was appalling. The place is dirty an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was appalling. The place is dirty and old. The staff is unorganized The food was mediocre at best. You really need to just go to this restaurant and see for yourself. You will be disgusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food and service was exceptional.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVE the food. That is the only reason ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I LOVE the food. That is the only reason I visit either of the Atlanta Benihana locations. Unfortunately dining here is no longer a pleasurable experience. Benihana needs to reclaim their brand and clean up some of these underperforming locations. A reservation here is of little value. No need to be on Open Table. You are just as well to just show up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We waited an Entire HOUR, from the time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We waited an Entire HOUR, from the time we sat at the table before we got our SOUP and SALAD/before the cook came. The Cook "PEDRO" his cooking skills are excellent. We was very pleasant and entertaining to the children. Any special cooking request we had like adding certain sauces to food while cooking, etc... he did it with no resistance or hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This was my annual birthday celebration ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my annual birthday celebration trip. I always enjoy dining at Benihana. The food is always delicious. The ambiance is always wonderful. This trip was really enhanced by our Chef Frederick. Frederick was the most entertaining chef that I have had since I started patronizing Benihana. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We can't wait until our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a little slow not sure how many other tables she had but I just wasn't satisfied with her attentiveness to her customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really liked it. Will go again

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really liked it. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wife's birthday. The environment was just right. The group that we sat with for dinner were all nice people. We will do this again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

i brought my wife there for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

i brought my wife there for her birthday. The food was great as always .

Sorry we miss Frederick who we normally sit with but got a chance to speak with him going out the door.

Can't wait till our next visit!!!!

Being n our 60-70 we like to come early so we can get back home and out of traffic. The manager was so accommodating.....

Thanks for making my wife day special!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not seated on time and the greeter w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was not seated on time and the greeter was a bit rude. But chef and waitress were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was great. The cook was aweso ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great. The cook was awesome. My only complaint is we waited at the table for awhile before eating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as it always is at Be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious as it always is at Benihana. The people at our table were not so nice. The chef was good but he didn't really go the extra mile to entertain. It might have been thanks to the surly women sitting next to our party but it was a little disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate birthday becaus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place to celebrate birthday because they give you a $30 voucher. Rather than that, the food tastes ok.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great birthday celebration.Service was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great birthday celebration.Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time at this location and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I had a great time at this location and I look forward to coming back to dine again. Awesome food and great environment

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; however, on the particular day (6/25/16) during lunch the food was extremely under seasoned! I ate 1/4 of my plate and took the rest home. Usually the food is still great the next day, but in this instance it was just as bad as the first day. We will request a different chef the next time we go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always find my way back here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress was super sweet and attenti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our waitress was super sweet and attentive our Chef on the other hand I felt like he kept giving me the least amount out of everyone and it was my birthday plus he forgot my onions altogether so I wasn't happy about that. Not a big deal but I won't get him again. Overall same experience athe Benihana, same choo-choo train.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Don't forget someone's birthday and then ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Don't forget someone's birthday and then say, do you still want us to do it . They wouldn't bring it up if they didn't want it. Otherwise excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No matter what the servers should never ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

No matter what the servers should never asked why you tipped them certain amount

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentabl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentable for Horrible Customer Service and Terrible Management long wait time with reservations, long wait for food and drinks, No organization what so ever Bad attitudes from employees to management, lack of professionalism!!! Overall for the money being spent you can find and establishment that appreciates You.. Have a Blessed Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I really loved the Benihana's experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really loved the Benihana's experience, however I don't think the value of food is good for the amount of money paid. Basically you're being served quite a bit of rice and small amounts of everything else ... for a lot of money. Please make it better! And more Valuable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I have been to this location on several ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to this location on several occasions during lunch and it has always a good experience except for the wait, in which I didn't trip too much. I took my Dad for Father's Day and people had to complain about patrons at another table, including myself because they were extremely loud and disrespectful as far as their language goes and there were small kids all around. Our waitress and the manager said something to them but they continued until they left building. I as though the manager should have put forth a better effort towards controlling things, because he was chancing loosing more business with those that were aggravated with this issue. The next thing was, the chef took a long time to get all of the food out to everyone. It was good once we received it but he needs to learn how to prepare the food items at a faster pace. Once again, the wait because it looked obvious that there were more people than there were cooks. There were a few tables still vacant and quite a few people waiting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, service, and value. Will retu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, service, and value. Will return. Making reservations makes life easier.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great experience. Great Food. The chefs are terrific Ialways go here

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I suggested to have dinner at Benihana in buckhead since it was closer and thinking it was buckhead, that it'd be the same (if not better) as my previous experience with the one in downtown that was great. However, that was not the case.

First thing was I could not get a hold of the restaurant. I called about 10 times trying to make a reservation, only to get a machine and phone ringing every time. Finally, I tried making the online reservation which surprisingly is legit.

Secondly, it took forever from the time we were seated for our chef to come out and even then, he was not ready. He had to apologize and run into the kitchen numerous times. We arrived at the restaurant at 6:10pm and did not finish dinner until 8:30pm. The "appetizer shrimp" didn't come until half of everyone's meal was already served and done. My fried rice was cold by the time my filet was finally cooked.

Finally, our server was terrible! We could not find her anywhere to ask for anything. When we did see her, she was standing around talking and laughing with other workers. The chef had to stop and go into the kitchen to get my friend her steamed white rice.

Overall, it was a bad experience and my friends and I will not be returning nor will we recommend this location to anyone. I shouldn't have given them the benefit of the doubt and listened to Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Meal and Entertainment

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chef E. was very entertaining and prepared a perfect meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Own ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Ownership should be ashamed.Avoid at all costs. Much better hibachi options in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Fun lunch spot for a group

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We visited as a work group for a team member's birthday and it was a great time. The restaurant is perfect for a group - we had 7 but you could have 8 at a table. The food was delicious and the birthday girl was treated to a free dessert which was thoughtful. Ample parking (free) and great service. Plan on about an hour and a half if you're getting hibachi.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I made a reservation to Benihana for a p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I made a reservation to Benihana for a party of 7 for yesterday evening at 9 p.m. to celebrate my nephew’s Pre-K graduation. We were seated approximately 5 minutes after 9:00 p.m. because our hosted stated that our table was not yet ready. We were eventually seated at one of the tables that was already prepped when we got there. After being seated it took 15 minutes before our server, Chris, to acknowledge our table and to get our drink orders. The quality of customer service, professionalism and the Benihana experience that I am accustomed to was non-existed and my hopes that it would get better diminished as the night progressed. We watched as our server went above and beyond for larger tables as we waited to get something as simple as refill or order our main entrees. At one point, we had someone in our party go and ask a server at another table for a drink refill which she got immediately.

After ordering our main entrée, it took the chef over 30 minutes to come out to our table. The disturbing part of it all is there were 5 parties that were seated well after us who had a seamless process from being seated to the chef wowing the party with amazing tricks that Benihana is known for. These parties had their needs attended to and the chef out in 35 minutes from the time that their parties were seated. Honestly every party that were seated after us had quick and efficient service. It took 1 and 1/2 hours before our chef made it to the table and that was after I went to our server, Chris, inquiring why it was taking so long. Our dishes were not done until 11 p.m. and the food was not up to par last evening. We spoke with the kitchen manager, Arata Wakiyama, about why our service did not mirror the typical Benihana experience or emulate the surrounding service we were witnessing with our very own eyes. Mr. Wakiyama offered us a series of excuses that were similar to the ones offered by Chris. The overall experience was not what was expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not what I expected

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The place was very cold .. Although we had a reservation even after all of my party was present we still had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated .. The bathrooms were not very nice at all and could use a make over ...food was just ok .. The chef was distracted while cooking ...needless to say I won't be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.