About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located inside the 285 beltway in the historical city of Buckhead. The restaurant is on Peachtree Street, just three miles south of Lenox Square shopping mall and the legendary Legoland Atlanta. For lovers of the theatre and the arts, Benihana is only three miles from Midtown, home of the famous Fox Theatre and the High Museum of Art. Benihana Buckhead features 19 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs perform nightly on the hibachi grill. Abundant free parking. An 18% service charge is added to all checks for parties eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead
Benihana Mojito
Sashimi Ceviche
Yakesoba with vegetables
Risingsun Roll
Mackarel Sashimi
yellowtail sashimi
Eel Sashimi
Sashimi Sampler
Rising Sun Roll
17 Herb Benihana Tea
Mango Colossal Shrimp
Hibachi Chicken
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Benihana Sushi
Surf Side

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Lunch (29)
See All
Kid-friendly (24)
Great for Brunch (14)
Romantic (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been to this location several times ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to this location several times and this has to have been one of my worst restaurant experiences ever. The waitress was absolutely terrible. She made several mistakes on the order and the Chef had to correct it. The Chef, while cooking, had to clear the salad and soup bowls because she disappeared. She would disappear for long periods of time, so many times that the Chef had to inquire with the manager of her whereabouts. The Chef appeared to be overwhelmed by her lack of service to the point that he got the orders mixed up and served guests the wrong food. To top the visit off, the waitress used my card to pay for another guest's meal. Management offered no real apology, just reassurance the my card wouldn't be charged for the other guest's meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was not good. We waited 20+ minu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was not good. We waited 20+ minutes before a server came over to take our drink orders. We did not receive our soup/salad until the chef came out. At the end of the meal, I gave the server my credit card and she did not come back to the table until I flagged her down. She told me that she didn't have my credit card. She & the manager spent about 10-15 minutes looking for the credit card that I gave her. We were not given a discount for the distress that they caused. The manager gave me his card and told me to call him if unauthorized charges appeared on my card. I was not satisfied with this answer and I will not be dining at this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This was the worse dining experience I h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This was the worse dining experience I have had in a long time. It was my parents' 75th birthday celebration (mom and dad). we had a party of 11. it took an hour to be seated despite having reservations. It took another 30 minutes just to get water. The service was horrible. The only saving grace was the chef. Chef Angel was awesome and entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed. Benihana chefs used to be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Disappointed.

Benihana chefs used to be quite entertaining with their knife work and originality, no more. Quite boring actually.

The food was disappointing too. Overpriced and a bit too salty.

Servers were great, but it's not the Benihana of old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

My chef, Uriah, was excellent in every w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My chef, Uriah, was excellent in every way. He was entertaining, funny, & showed excellent customer service skills! We Definitely will be back thanks to him!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love all of your food to taste li ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

If you love all of your food to taste like garlic butter, this is the place for you. The prices have gone up while the quality of food/service have hit the pits.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was exceptional. We had a reall ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was exceptional. We had a really great time. Service was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Waiter was terrible. Never bought our I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Waiter was terrible. Never bought our I cream. Didn't refill drinks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This restaurant has really gone down I u ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant has really gone down I used to really enjoy coming there to eat I will not be attending this location anymore

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Benihana is one big room and not very in ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Benihana is one big room and not very intimate. The waiter and chef were very nice, but we waited an hour for the chef to even start on the grill which was way too long. Then, when the chef did come they had forgotten to turn on the grill so we had to wait another 15 minutes. The manager brought free sushi, but didn't seem to know what was going on and was not very apologetic. I would not recommend it to others, really it is overpriced and i would rather go to a different hibachi place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I visited for my birthday. We were seat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I visited for my birthday. We were seated promptly which I was surprised because there typically is a few hours wait, however, we had to wait for 15-20 minutes before anyone came to the table to take drink orders! The service was horrible, he not only messed orders of people sitting at our table, he messed up the orders of the people sitting at the table next to us. The cook had to smooth over the situation and calm nerves. The evening would have been a bust were it not for the cook. He did a great job of keep spirits up! I've come to this location a few times and the service seems to just keep getting worse.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Normally our experience is great. Our re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Normally our experience is great. Our recent visit wasn't the best. Fast seating with reservations, slow waitress who stopped taking orders to give a waiting table their checks, our courses overlapped and we had to ask for the soup course and dessert. The chef was great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

I love Benihana food however this restau ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love Benihana food however this restaurant was filthy from the bathroom without any toilet paper to the ceiling tiles that were soaked with water and were replaced while we ate. It had been getting bad over the years but it has reached an all time low. It will take a long time for me to go back again. It was just terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

It took as an hour and a half for lunch. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It took as an hour and a half for lunch. We received our soup and salad right away but it took another 30 minutes for the rest of the table to get theirs. After an hour and a half, I had received my steak which was doused in garlic butter but not my shrimp. Finally after complaining we were told there was a food allergy at the table and that was why our shrimp and scallops came last. No one told us this plus it still shouldn't have taken that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Never went to Benihana's and had a bad e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Never went to Benihana's and had a bad experience. Howver they should pay closer attention to the cleaniness and keep the supplies stocked in the bathrooms.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I normally go to the downtown location b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I normally go to the downtown location but decided to give this one a try for my grandson's birthday. We had wonderful time. Our reservation was at noon on Saturday and we arrived around 1145. We were immediately seated and fortunate enough to not have to share our table with anyone else. Our server was very pleasant and very attentive to our needs. The star of the show was our chef Nelson. He was very personable and we laughed the entire time. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was great. I will definitely return. Oh, and of course we liked the free parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has really gone down hil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant has really gone down hill over the years. The customer service is subpar. We arrived at 6:30 for our reservation and were not greeted by our waiter until 7:05, only after I went to the maitre'd stand and complained. The manager was rude. We did not receive drinks until 7:20. Save your money and go to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The ONLY problem that we had was the hib ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The ONLY problem that we had was the hibachi where we were seated literally blew smoke in our faces - the 4 of us at that end of the hibachi were coughing and having some difficulty breathing - the family at the other end work at this Benihana and knew of this problem when the A/C is on - It was bad enough that IF we return, we will request another hibachi with better

ventilation - it could not be healthy !!!! Evidently, your management knows of this problem as the husband at the end of the table that was NOT effected said that it is a well-known fact!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Be warned it is very difficult to change ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Be warned it is very difficult to change a reservation and if you are even one minute late they will cancel your reservation and you will wait and wait sometimes for well over an hour. Apparently it is ok for you to wait 15-30 minutes for a chef to appear!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The person who paid for the meal put $3. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The person who paid for the meal put $3.00 on the tip line to be deducted from her credit card. However, a 1 was added and it appeared to be a $13 tip. This was not correct and her credit card company alerted her of the issue. Additionally, we did not receive our soup and had to ask for it at the end after the meal was completely over and the table had actually been cleared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The manager was unprofessional offering ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The manager was unprofessional offering no help to an incompetent waitress (who was very rude) -Her name was Tierra. Tierra did not deserve the 20% tip I left.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We went to Benihana for a lunch before h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Benihana for a lunch before heading to the High Museum. This is not the place you go if you are in a hurry. The service is a little slow but the food and 'entertainment' more than makes up for this! My kids and I really enjoyed our experience here. I have a VERY picky eater and he really enjoyed his meal and was making plans to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This is best Benihana location ever I lo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is best Benihana location ever I love everything about this location

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible, the atmosphere ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was terrible, the atmosphere was terrible and the restaurant was SOOO dirty and greasy, filthy actually.. I couldn't believe it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Staff wasn't the best we sat for 25 minu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Staff wasn't the best we sat for 25 minutes and no one came by to take our drink orders at least, it wasn't busy at all for us to get serviced poorly, the chef cooking our meal was the best part, he had a lot of personality and was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I did not enjoy dinner due to the fact m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I did not enjoy dinner due to the fact my Japanese Chef was not Japanese. Unwelcomed jokes were offered. Appetizers were served After dinner.. I will not return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was appalling. The place is dirty an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It was appalling. The place is dirty and old. The staff is unorganized The food was mediocre at best. You really need to just go to this restaurant and see for yourself. You will be disgusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food and service was exceptional.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVE the food. That is the only reason ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I LOVE the food. That is the only reason I visit either of the Atlanta Benihana locations. Unfortunately dining here is no longer a pleasurable experience. Benihana needs to reclaim their brand and clean up some of these underperforming locations. A reservation here is of little value. No need to be on Open Table. You are just as well to just show up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We waited an Entire HOUR, from the time ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We waited an Entire HOUR, from the time we sat at the table before we got our SOUP and SALAD/before the cook came. The Cook "PEDRO" his cooking skills are excellent. We was very pleasant and entertaining to the children. Any special cooking request we had like adding certain sauces to food while cooking, etc... he did it with no resistance or hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This was my annual birthday celebration ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my annual birthday celebration trip. I always enjoy dining at Benihana. The food is always delicious. The ambiance is always wonderful. This trip was really enhanced by our Chef Frederick. Frederick was the most entertaining chef that I have had since I started patronizing Benihana. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We can't wait until our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The chef was awesome, our waitress was a little slow not sure how many other tables she had but I just wasn't satisfied with her attentiveness to her customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really liked it. Will go again

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really liked it. Will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It fit the occasion of celebrating my wife's birthday. The environment was just right. The group that we sat with for dinner were all nice people. We will do this again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

i brought my wife there for her birthday ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

i brought my wife there for her birthday. The food was great as always .

Sorry we miss Frederick who we normally sit with but got a chance to speak with him going out the door.

Can't wait till our next visit!!!!

Being n our 60-70 we like to come early so we can get back home and out of traffic. The manager was so accommodating.....

Thanks for making my wife day special!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not seated on time and the greeter w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was not seated on time and the greeter was a bit rude. But chef and waitress were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was great. The cook was aweso ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great. The cook was awesome. My only complaint is we waited at the table for awhile before eating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as it always is at Be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious as it always is at Benihana. The people at our table were not so nice. The chef was good but he didn't really go the extra mile to entertain. It might have been thanks to the surly women sitting next to our party but it was a little disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate birthday becaus ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great place to celebrate birthday because they give you a $30 voucher. Rather than that, the food tastes ok.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great birthday celebration.Service was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great birthday celebration.Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.