About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.4

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

good for groups (58)
special occasion (56)
great for lunch (32)
See All
kid-friendly (24)
romantic (22)
fit for foodies (12)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I made a reservation to Benihana for a p ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I made a reservation to Benihana for a party of 7 for yesterday evening at 9 p.m. to celebrate my nephew’s Pre-K graduation. We were seated approximately 5 minutes after 9:00 p.m. because our hosted stated that our table was not yet ready. We were eventually seated at one of the tables that was already prepped when we got there. After being seated it took 15 minutes before our server, Chris, to acknowledge our table and to get our drink orders. The quality of customer service, professionalism and the Benihana experience that I am accustomed to was non-existed and my hopes that it would get better diminished as the night progressed. We watched as our server went above and beyond for larger tables as we waited to get something as simple as refill or order our main entrees. At one point, we had someone in our party go and ask a server at another table for a drink refill which she got immediately. After ordering our main entrée, it took the chef over 30 minutes to come out to our table. The disturbing part of it all is there were 5 parties that were seated well after us who had a seamless process from being seated to the chef wowing the party with amazing tricks that Benihana is known for. These parties had their needs attended to and the chef out in 35 minutes from the time that their parties were seated. Honestly every party that were seated after us had quick and efficient service. It took 1 and 1/2 hours before our chef made it to the table and that was after I went to our server, Chris, inquiring why it was taking so long. Our dishes were not done until 11 p.m. and the food was not up to par last evening. We spoke with the kitchen manager, Arata Wakiyama, about why our service did not mirror the typical Benihana experience or emulate the surrounding service we were witnessing with our very own eyes. Mr. Wakiyama offered us a series of excuses that were similar to the ones offered by Chris. The overall experience was not what was expected.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what I expected

Dined on May 19, 2016

The place was very cold .. Although we had a reservation even after all of my party was present we still had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated .. The bathrooms were not very nice at all and could use a make over ...food was just ok .. The chef was distracted while cooking ...needless to say I won't be back !

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a part ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a party of four to celebrate my birthday. I arrived before seven, along with two others. A fourth person pulled into the parking lot at 7:05. When this person entered the restaurant, we approached the podium to be seated. We were told that since we our entire party was not present exactly at 7 p.m., our table was given away to a walk-in party. A manager, who apparently did not care about our dismay, said their policy was to release a reservation if the party was even one minute late. We were told our party would be seated next, within the next 30 minutes. We were actually seated 35 minutes later, along with another party whose 7 p.m. reservation had also been cancelled by the staff. Their wait for a table was for a longer period of time than my party. It was a mystery as to why we both parties couldn't have been seated together at 7:05 p.m. Well, once we were seated, the mystery was easily solved. Our wait for service continued. As it turns out, the restaurant was short-staffed and could only handle a certain number of customers. We only stayed because it was too late to get into other nearby spots. Never again will I visit this location. I should have paid attention to the other online reviews.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. W ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. Were seated and at 7:50pm we still did not have a chef at our table. The manager indicated he was in the back getting ready. At 7:55pm, still no chef, so we left, as did the other couple that they had put at our table.

food5
ambience4
service3

Our server Julian was excellent.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Julian was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Time

Dined on May 8, 2016

The wait to be seated was fairly quick since we had reservations, however the wait to be served the salad was almost an hour, the appetizer came after the salad even later. Considering it was a major holiday (Mother's Day) it was a nice family/friend dinner. I enjoyed the food and entertainment by the chef.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just what I needed!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was great! We were promptly seated, always helps to have reservations. Our chef was awesome and our server Chris was great! My daughter and I share a birthday, the staff made our day very special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I was shocked!

Dined on May 4, 2016

The last time I visited was several years ago but I didn't know how much changed. First of all, as I entered the restaurant, clearly 2 hostesses are at the front desk and didn't bother to seat me even although I was looking lost and couldn't find my party initially. Second of all, the guests were all dressed down except me who was in a dress and heels. No attire necessary I guess. Third of all, if this is all about the Japanese steakhouse experience, where are the Japanese staff. I saw more African-Americans and Hispanics than Japanese/Asian descent employees. Fourth of all, the waiter was absent minded, forgetting our orders, etc. I was totally disappointed, and all on my birthday! I don't plan to go to the other location either...I'm pretty sure it is no different so I won't be going back!

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was great but the dining experi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was great but the dining experience was over two and a half hours. We were an hour and a half late for our next destination because dinner took so long. When the waitress was informed that we were very late she seemed unconcerned and did not try and move things along any faster.

food2
ambience2
service3

April 28, 2016 1:00pm So I arrived at ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

April 28, 2016 1:00pm So I arrived at the restaurant about 15 minutes early because I love to be on time, only waiting 18-20 minutes to be seated, I expected to be seated a little closer to my reservation time, as the girl didn't explain to me! Being seated about 3-5 minutes after 1:00 I was greeted about 15 minutes later by my server ASHLEY, very friendly and knowledgable about the menu and very suggestive. After ordering we waited about 10 minutes for our drinks and salad. So the chef came out almost a hour after I was seated, I've never waited a hour for lunch, the experience took a hour and 40 minutes for me to get my food cooked, then they came with boxes as soon as the Chef left, very friendly service but bad service! The other guest had to ask for refills every time! I don't think I will be returning or eating at a be Benihana's again, and the TOPPING ON THE CAKE. There was no YUM YUM SAUCE, and when asked the reason" because the person who makes it didn't come to work" NEVER AGAIN!

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Extremely LOUD

Dined on April 27, 2016

Extremely LOUD with many, many young children and babies loud singing of birthday song at every table, cannot recommend.

food3
ambience2
service2

The rude asian guy that didn't want to c ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The rude asian guy that didn't want to clean the grill where my party was seated. I'm not going back to that location. The chef was excellent...

food5
ambience4
service1

Frederick was a great chef. The food was ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Frederick was a great chef. The food was delicious and he really made the experience more enjoyable. Service on the other hand was lacking.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

should have listened to reviews

Dined on April 21, 2016

Ordered two sushi rolls that were pretty good and also ordered the Rockys chicken and steak plate. The chef was nice but the food was pretty bland. Good for a one time experience but won't be returning the food was not worth the price, I have had better quality for way cheaper. Must say the worst part was I ended up with food poisoning just like the reviews said.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Get Better Chefs

Dined on April 20, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's birthday so it was a party of 8. It took forever to even get a waitress. She was nice enough but slow as all outdoors. Our cook/chef was horrible...he didn't speak to us, no show and barely said happy birthday. The show is a major reason for going!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Birthday Dinner (Daughter and Mother)

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have always enjoyed Benihana -Atlanta. My residence is less than 2 miles away so I bring out of town guest to dine here often; however I was very disappointed with my visit on 04/18/2016. What should have been a very special occasion for my daughter and I for our birthday was nothing less than disappointing. Our cook was not enthusiastic or entertaining. My grandson noticed the "Birthday Song' being song to other guest and was very sad that we didn't get the same treatment after multiple times telling the cook. We had a party of 8 and everyone felt the same way about the service.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Benihana many times, but ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been to Benihana many times, but this was by far the best chef I have encountered there (Bernard). He did an awesome job with the food. Everything was delicious. He was funny and entertaining and again, the food was delicious!! We enjoyed every bite. Great experience. I would definitely recommend Benihana to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Slow

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food was very slow to be served and it took almost 45 for the cook to come out and cook oir food.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Food always fye

Dined on April 4, 2016

I only eat yakisoba chicken noodle or the chicken with 2 fried rice extra onion....food always good never had a bad day here....keep up the good work benihanna

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for lunch

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food was great, and the Chef was energetic, and fun. The service was great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family had a great Easter Sunday lunch here. They had a different menu but allowed us to use their full menu and was able to order their lunch portion. I live in a state that does not have Benihana so I was excited to come back. The food was great and our chef was very kid friendly. My son loved his show.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

police and dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

Did not appreciate police randomly questioning my date with no reason. The waitress had to tell us what it was about.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was bad and the chef didn't give us a show and we didn't even get yum yum sauce..the whole time there was bad I will not go back to the buck head location again

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Bad service

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was horrible it took 45 minutes to get my drink from the bar. Unorganized and ghetto. I will never go to this location again.

food5
ambience5
service5

it was an amazing experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

it was an amazing experience

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great

Dined on March 21, 2016

I really enjoyed my dining experience at Benihana-Buckhead. It wasn't crowded and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

PERFECT SERVICE!

Dined on March 20, 2016

PERFECT SERVICE!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst experience ever waited 40 mins for ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Worst experience ever waited 40 mins for a table with a reservation at 8 hostess was rude chef finally came at 9:30 and we ate at 10:15 unacceptable never eating here again and I am telling everyone not to support this location

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Will not return. What happened to this place?

Dined on March 5, 2016

I think we had one of the two worst tables in the place. Right by the kitchen where all of the serves and cooks are constantly walking behind you. The smell coming out of the kitchen was almost unbearable. And what happened to the show the cooks put on? It use to be so much more fun. Now it's just corporate. You can tell that the bottom dollar is the most important thing at this place.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

didnt get to eat

Dined on March 4, 2016

I always enjoy my experience at benihana but due to a water main break my reservation was not awarded but I will say the manager did give me some complimentary appetizer cards. I then went to the downtown location and redeemed my appetizers and enjoyed a great meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

Gave me a major problem honoring my rese ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Gave me a major problem honoring my reservation hostess was rude and not helpful.

food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Hostess and Manager very rude and disrespectful

Dined on February 27, 2016

I made a reservation an entire week before attending for a birthday dinner for 16 people. When I arrived at 8:15 for an 8:30 reservation I checked in and told Deanna I no longer have 16 that it will be 9 for my 8:30 reservation. She said okay I've updated it let me know when the rest of the party arrives. I said okay. We waited right in front of the hostess stand for my parents to arrive to complete our party and at 8:40 I went to the hostess stand and told Deanna that my whole party was here. She then with a nasty attitude tells me well I don't see a reservation here for you. I said I just spoke to you about my reservation. She said well that was for 8pm and it's now 8:40. I said no my reservation was for 8:30 as the email I have says and the email also states that there is a 15 minute grace period for reservations and we're within that time limit. She says you don't have a reservation here. So I pull up the email to show her that says 8:30 reservation party of 16. She says well I don't know it's not in our system I guess you can just go on the walk in list. And I said how long is that wait. She says with the nastiest attitude ever 1.5 - 2 hours. I was like absolutely not I've had a reservation for a week and I've been standing here right in front of you why was nothing said. I ask to speak to the manager which was Shamecka Scott and she walks up with the nastiest attitude too. I explain to her and she just shrugs and says well you were late so we don't hold tables. I said the email I was sent says a 15 minute grace period. Her response was well don't do that anymore. I said well I received it in writing so you don't honor what's in writing. She just says no and walks away. I request to speak to her again and ask for the general managers information to make a formal complaint. We did get seated around 9:15 and our cook was amazing and the food was good. But Deanna and Shamecka left a sour taste in my mouth and ruined my night. Courtney however was very polite.

food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 26, 2016

I had reservations for 7:30...the young lady at the front was rude & very disgruntled. She was ready to cancel my reservation because my entire party wasn't present and it was only 7:40.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure at the Buckhead Benihana

Dined on February 24, 2016

I've been going to this location and the Alpharetta location for many years. My recent experience at the Buckhead restaurant was nothing short of amazing. We always get great customer service and quality food here. The manager on duty was attentive and often came to our table to ensure we were satisfied. We also always seem to get the older female server who has always been so pleasant and friendly! This is the reason I will continue to bring my family to this establishment. I can count on this establishment to deliver great customer service and food each and every visit. My advice to new customers would be to make reservations ahead of time as this location can get pretty busy. I've never had to wait over 20 minutes when making reservations either online or via phone. I look forward to my next visit to Buckhead Benihana.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday

Dined on February 22, 2016

We were celebrating my Birthday. The waitress was great but the cook was very low energy. And we were also sitting with a group that did not have much energy. But they had lots of complaints and special requests. It was not the enjoyable evening we were used to having.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not inpressed

Dined on February 20, 2016

I had heard that this place was good but my girlfriend and I thought it was horrible. I received the wrong drink and the waitress was very slow. The food was very plain and no where close to other similar places.

food5
ambience2
service1
value3

host

Dined on February 16, 2016

The host at this location was very rude. Her attitude was very unproffesional. She need customer service training. She also had other customers complaining on her.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good experience, cook friendly and entertaining

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good experience, cook friendly and entertaining. Will return again soon.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

ok but expected better

Dined on February 13, 2016

we dined in for valentines day and like always the food was great and our Chef made it even better. Our waitress on the other hand did not seem very happy, almost like she didn't want to be there and it always takes away from really enjoying it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Service is good, food not.

Dined on February 9, 2016

Service is good, food is not. Expensive for the quality of food, too salty.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.