About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!



An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Benihana Mojito
Sashimi Ceviche
Yakesoba with vegetables
Risingsun Roll
Mackarel Sashimi
yellowtail sashimi
Eel Sashimi
Sashimi Sampler
Rising Sun Roll
17 Herb Benihana Tea
Mango Colossal Shrimp
Hibachi Chicken
Hibachi Tuna Steak
Benihana Sushi
Surf Side

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

good for groups (45)
special occasion (44)
great for lunch (28)
See All
kid-friendly (23)
romantic (16)
great for brunch (10)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; ...

Dined 6 days ago

I'm a frequent visitor to this location; however, on the particular day (6/25/16) during lunch the food was extremely under seasoned! I ate 1/4 of my plate and took the rest home. Usually the food is still great the next day, but in this instance it was just as bad as the first day. We will request a different chef the next time we go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always f ...

Dined 7 days ago

Can't go wrong with Benihana. I always find my way back here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waitress was super sweet and attenti ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Our waitress was super sweet and attentive our Chef on the other hand I felt like he kept giving me the least amount out of everyone and it was my birthday plus he forgot my onions altogether so I wasn't happy about that. Not a big deal but I won't get him again. Overall same experience athe Benihana, same choo-choo train.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't forget someone's birthday and then ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Don't forget someone's birthday and then say, do you still want us to do it . They wouldn't bring it up if they didn't want it. Otherwise excellent.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

No matter what the servers should never ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

No matter what the servers should never asked why you tipped them certain amount

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentabl ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Benihana should be REMOVED from Opentable for Horrible Customer Service and Terrible Management long wait time with reservations, long wait for food and drinks, No organization what so ever Bad attitudes from employees to management, lack of professionalism!!! Overall for the money being spent you can find and establishment that appreciates You.. Have a Blessed Day

food5
ambience5
service5
value1

I really loved the Benihana's experience ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I really loved the Benihana's experience, however I don't think the value of food is good for the amount of money paid. Basically you're being served quite a bit of rice and small amounts of everything else ... for a lot of money. Please make it better! And more Valuable!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I have been to this location on several ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to this location on several occasions during lunch and it has always a good experience except for the wait, in which I didn't trip too much. I took my Dad for Father's Day and people had to complain about patrons at another table, including myself because they were extremely loud and disrespectful as far as their language goes and there were small kids all around. Our waitress and the manager said something to them but they continued until they left building. I as though the manager should have put forth a better effort towards controlling things, because he was chancing loosing more business with those that were aggravated with this issue. The next thing was, the chef took a long time to get all of the food out to everyone. It was good once we received it but he needs to learn how to prepare the food items at a faster pace. Once again, the wait because it looked obvious that there were more people than there were cooks. There were a few tables still vacant and quite a few people waiting.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, service, and value. Will retu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, service, and value. Will return. Making reservations makes life easier.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great experience. Great Food. The chefs are terrific Ialways go here

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible service!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I suggested to have dinner at Benihana in buckhead since it was closer and thinking it was buckhead, that it'd be the same (if not better) as my previous experience with the one in downtown that was great. However, that was not the case. First thing was I could not get a hold of the restaurant. I called about 10 times trying to make a reservation, only to get a machine and phone ringing every time. Finally, I tried making the online reservation which surprisingly is legit. Secondly, it took forever from the time we were seated for our chef to come out and even then, he was not ready. He had to apologize and run into the kitchen numerous times. We arrived at the restaurant at 6:10pm and did not finish dinner until 8:30pm. The "appetizer shrimp" didn't come until half of everyone's meal was already served and done. My fried rice was cold by the time my filet was finally cooked. Finally, our server was terrible! We could not find her anywhere to ask for anything. When we did see her, she was standing around talking and laughing with other workers. The chef had to stop and go into the kitchen to get my friend her steamed white rice. Overall, it was a bad experience and my friends and I will not be returning nor will we recommend this location to anyone. I shouldn't have given them the benefit of the doubt and listened to Yelp.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal and Entertainment

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chef E. was very entertaining and prepared a perfect meal!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Own ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

A complete disaster of a restaurant. Ownership should be ashamed.Avoid at all costs. Much better hibachi options in Atlanta

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun lunch spot for a group

Dined on May 23, 2016

We visited as a work group for a team member's birthday and it was a great time. The restaurant is perfect for a group - we had 7 but you could have 8 at a table. The food was delicious and the birthday girl was treated to a free dessert which was thoughtful. Ample parking (free) and great service. Plan on about an hour and a half if you're getting hibachi.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I made a reservation to Benihana for a p ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I made a reservation to Benihana for a party of 7 for yesterday evening at 9 p.m. to celebrate my nephew’s Pre-K graduation. We were seated approximately 5 minutes after 9:00 p.m. because our hosted stated that our table was not yet ready. We were eventually seated at one of the tables that was already prepped when we got there. After being seated it took 15 minutes before our server, Chris, to acknowledge our table and to get our drink orders. The quality of customer service, professionalism and the Benihana experience that I am accustomed to was non-existed and my hopes that it would get better diminished as the night progressed. We watched as our server went above and beyond for larger tables as we waited to get something as simple as refill or order our main entrees. At one point, we had someone in our party go and ask a server at another table for a drink refill which she got immediately. After ordering our main entrée, it took the chef over 30 minutes to come out to our table. The disturbing part of it all is there were 5 parties that were seated well after us who had a seamless process from being seated to the chef wowing the party with amazing tricks that Benihana is known for. These parties had their needs attended to and the chef out in 35 minutes from the time that their parties were seated. Honestly every party that were seated after us had quick and efficient service. It took 1 and 1/2 hours before our chef made it to the table and that was after I went to our server, Chris, inquiring why it was taking so long. Our dishes were not done until 11 p.m. and the food was not up to par last evening. We spoke with the kitchen manager, Arata Wakiyama, about why our service did not mirror the typical Benihana experience or emulate the surrounding service we were witnessing with our very own eyes. Mr. Wakiyama offered us a series of excuses that were similar to the ones offered by Chris. The overall experience was not what was expected.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Not what I expected

Dined on May 19, 2016

The place was very cold .. Although we had a reservation even after all of my party was present we still had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated .. The bathrooms were not very nice at all and could use a make over ...food was just ok .. The chef was distracted while cooking ...needless to say I won't be back !

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a part ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had reservations at 7 p.m. for a party of four to celebrate my birthday. I arrived before seven, along with two others. A fourth person pulled into the parking lot at 7:05. When this person entered the restaurant, we approached the podium to be seated. We were told that since we our entire party was not present exactly at 7 p.m., our table was given away to a walk-in party. A manager, who apparently did not care about our dismay, said their policy was to release a reservation if the party was even one minute late. We were told our party would be seated next, within the next 30 minutes. We were actually seated 35 minutes later, along with another party whose 7 p.m. reservation had also been cancelled by the staff. Their wait for a table was for a longer period of time than my party. It was a mystery as to why we both parties couldn't have been seated together at 7:05 p.m. Well, once we were seated, the mystery was easily solved. Our wait for service continued. As it turns out, the restaurant was short-staffed and could only handle a certain number of customers. We only stayed because it was too late to get into other nearby spots. Never again will I visit this location. I should have paid attention to the other online reviews.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. W ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Arrived at 6:55 for 7pm reservation. Were seated and at 7:50pm we still did not have a chef at our table. The manager indicated he was in the back getting ready. At 7:55pm, still no chef, so we left, as did the other couple that they had put at our table.

food5
ambience4
service3

Our server Julian was excellent.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Julian was excellent.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Time

Dined on May 8, 2016

The wait to be seated was fairly quick since we had reservations, however the wait to be served the salad was almost an hour, the appetizer came after the salad even later. Considering it was a major holiday (Mother's Day) it was a nice family/friend dinner. I enjoyed the food and entertainment by the chef.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just what I needed!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was great! We were promptly seated, always helps to have reservations. Our chef was awesome and our server Chris was great! My daughter and I share a birthday, the staff made our day very special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I was shocked!

Dined on May 4, 2016

The last time I visited was several years ago but I didn't know how much changed. First of all, as I entered the restaurant, clearly 2 hostesses are at the front desk and didn't bother to seat me even although I was looking lost and couldn't find my party initially. Second of all, the guests were all dressed down except me who was in a dress and heels. No attire necessary I guess. Third of all, if this is all about the Japanese steakhouse experience, where are the Japanese staff. I saw more African-Americans and Hispanics than Japanese/Asian descent employees. Fourth of all, the waiter was absent minded, forgetting our orders, etc. I was totally disappointed, and all on my birthday! I don't plan to go to the other location either...I'm pretty sure it is no different so I won't be going back!

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was great but the dining experi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was great but the dining experience was over two and a half hours. We were an hour and a half late for our next destination because dinner took so long. When the waitress was informed that we were very late she seemed unconcerned and did not try and move things along any faster.

food2
ambience2
service3

April 28, 2016 1:00pm So I arrived at ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

April 28, 2016 1:00pm So I arrived at the restaurant about 15 minutes early because I love to be on time, only waiting 18-20 minutes to be seated, I expected to be seated a little closer to my reservation time, as the girl didn't explain to me! Being seated about 3-5 minutes after 1:00 I was greeted about 15 minutes later by my server ASHLEY, very friendly and knowledgable about the menu and very suggestive. After ordering we waited about 10 minutes for our drinks and salad. So the chef came out almost a hour after I was seated, I've never waited a hour for lunch, the experience took a hour and 40 minutes for me to get my food cooked, then they came with boxes as soon as the Chef left, very friendly service but bad service! The other guest had to ask for refills every time! I don't think I will be returning or eating at a be Benihana's again, and the TOPPING ON THE CAKE. There was no YUM YUM SAUCE, and when asked the reason" because the person who makes it didn't come to work" NEVER AGAIN!

food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Extremely LOUD

Dined on April 27, 2016

Extremely LOUD with many, many young children and babies loud singing of birthday song at every table, cannot recommend.

food3
ambience2
service2

The rude asian guy that didn't want to c ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The rude asian guy that didn't want to clean the grill where my party was seated. I'm not going back to that location. The chef was excellent...

food5
ambience4
service1

Frederick was a great chef. The food was ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Frederick was a great chef. The food was delicious and he really made the experience more enjoyable. Service on the other hand was lacking.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

should have listened to reviews

Dined on April 21, 2016

Ordered two sushi rolls that were pretty good and also ordered the Rockys chicken and steak plate. The chef was nice but the food was pretty bland. Good for a one time experience but won't be returning the food was not worth the price, I have had better quality for way cheaper. Must say the worst part was I ended up with food poisoning just like the reviews said.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Get Better Chefs

Dined on April 20, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's birthday so it was a party of 8. It took forever to even get a waitress. She was nice enough but slow as all outdoors. Our cook/chef was horrible...he didn't speak to us, no show and barely said happy birthday. The show is a major reason for going!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Birthday Dinner (Daughter and Mother)

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have always enjoyed Benihana -Atlanta. My residence is less than 2 miles away so I bring out of town guest to dine here often; however I was very disappointed with my visit on 04/18/2016. What should have been a very special occasion for my daughter and I for our birthday was nothing less than disappointing. Our cook was not enthusiastic or entertaining. My grandson noticed the "Birthday Song' being song to other guest and was very sad that we didn't get the same treatment after multiple times telling the cook. We had a party of 8 and everyone felt the same way about the service.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Benihana many times, but ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been to Benihana many times, but this was by far the best chef I have encountered there (Bernard). He did an awesome job with the food. Everything was delicious. He was funny and entertaining and again, the food was delicious!! We enjoyed every bite. Great experience. I would definitely recommend Benihana to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Slow

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food was very slow to be served and it took almost 45 for the cook to come out and cook oir food.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Food always fye

Dined on April 4, 2016

I only eat yakisoba chicken noodle or the chicken with 2 fried rice extra onion....food always good never had a bad day here....keep up the good work benihanna

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for lunch

Dined on March 31, 2016

The food was great, and the Chef was energetic, and fun. The service was great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family had a great Easter Sunday lunch here. They had a different menu but allowed us to use their full menu and was able to order their lunch portion. I live in a state that does not have Benihana so I was excited to come back. The food was great and our chef was very kid friendly. My son loved his show.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

police and dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

Did not appreciate police randomly questioning my date with no reason. The waitress had to tell us what it was about.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Service

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was bad and the chef didn't give us a show and we didn't even get yum yum sauce..the whole time there was bad I will not go back to the buck head location again

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Bad service

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was horrible it took 45 minutes to get my drink from the bar. Unorganized and ghetto. I will never go to this location again.

food5
ambience5
service5

it was an amazing experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

it was an amazing experience

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great

Dined on March 21, 2016

I really enjoyed my dining experience at Benihana-Buckhead. It wasn't crowded and the service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.