About Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead

2143 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located inside the 285 beltway in the historical city of Buckhead. The restaurant is on Peachtree Street, just three miles south of Lenox Square shopping mall and the legendary Legoland Atlanta. For lovers of the theatre and the arts, Benihana is only three miles from Midtown, home of the famous Fox Theatre and the High Museum of Art. Benihana Buckhead features 19 teppanyaki tables where showman chefs perform nightly on the hibachi grill. Abundant free parking. An 18% service charge is added to all checks for parties eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Cross Street:
Peachtree Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-8565

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/atlanta-ga-at1

Additional:
Takeout

Restaurant Photos

Ben-atlanta-buckhead - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
California Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Sushi - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Trio - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Benihana Mojito - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Sashimi Ceviche - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Risingsun Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Mackarel Sashimi - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
yellowtail sashimi - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Eel Sashimi - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Sashimi Sampler - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Rising Sun Roll - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
17 Herb Benihana Tea - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Mango Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Yakesoba with vegetables - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Chicken - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Hibachi Tuna Steak - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Benihana Sushi - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA
Surf Side - Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead, Atlanta, GA

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

onal Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/31/16. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2015 - Dec 31, 2015. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/16 – 3/3. Special valid Nov 16, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Atlanta - Buckhead Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.4

ambience

3.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Kid-friendly (17)
Casual (16)
Fun (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Family Style (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to try this location as oppos ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We decided to try this location as opposed to the North Point location because it was easier for our whole party to meet here. What a mistake. I wish we would have just went to the NP location. The wait staff was slow and had plenty of attitude, the chef cooked pretty good but lacked any enthusiasm or personality. The restrooms were in an awful state, my wife decided to wait for us to leave before using the bathroom. Overall, it was not up to par with the experiences we've had at our regular location. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Service is never good but tonight was th ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Service is never good but tonight was the worst and the food was not good at all. The manager acted as if he didn't care about all 8 people's complaints at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

HORRIBLE Service for slow start with min ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

HORRIBLE Service for slow start with minimum tables in use

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I found that my experiences at Benihana ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I found that my experiences at Benihana depend on the chef. My experience this time was great. The chef was entertaining but not over the top and focused on getting our food cooked. I appreciated that! We were in and out in an hour...that has NEVER happened before. This chef knew how to cook multiple meals at one time very well. Our food was tasty and hot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is my absolute favorite restuarant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is my absolute favorite restuarant. I drive 4.5 hours JUST to eat here several times a year. The food is amazing.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Benihana lives off the popularity of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Benihana lives off the popularity of their name for far too long. There have been other hibachi restaurants that have arisen that offer superior quality service, flavor, ambience, and value. The hibachi cooks at other locations perform their duties with more showmanship and alacrity, and yet, Benihana is still a formidable brand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great evening! Bernard the Chef was exce ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great evening! Bernard the Chef was excellent! Food and drinks were good as usual.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The place was full and our server was al ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The place was full and our server was all over the place. The place could use some renovations and maintenance. Walls were chipped, floor was messy, and the bathroom is outdated. Face lift is needed. Had reservations and had to wait an extra 20 minutes to be seated. The chef was slow and some guests were served too late. Never received the green tea. Not that organized too much choas.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

I always come too this benihana with my ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I always come too this benihana with my mom and this time we came there was egg shells in my rice but I didn't complain about it because mistakes happen and I didn't want too get the cook in trouble or anything , every time I come the hostess are very rude and so are the waiters , but that's not going too stop me from coming because I love benihana and that's the only reason why I still go .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our check was split with cash and card. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our check was split with cash and card. The whole bill came to $39 and only $10 and change was put on the card. My friend checked her checking acct today and it had been charged $40. (She paid $10 and change for her bill and $8 as tip.). The Alpharetta location was horrible last yr but we decided to give the Buckhead location a try.. this is highly disappointing. The best part of it all was the chef that took care of us. He was funny and sweet and made great food. That's two strikes against this company. (The problems from last yr was horrible from start to finish. Maybe we should have known.)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When I arrived at the restaurant they ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

When I arrived at the restaurant they had canceled my reservation and I was only one minute late but the manager for the restaurant took care of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Service was great my spouse enjoy his se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was great my spouse enjoy his self along with our family

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the service tonight will ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the service tonight will visit again soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chef was great our server was amazin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our chef was great our server was amazing he was on top of what he was doing glasses were never empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef for your table always puts on a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The chef for your table always puts on a good show.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine here.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my time here, especially our C ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I enjoyed my time here, especially our Chef and server. They were both excellent and extremely courteous. The table where we sat was a little cold though, and some of my guests food got cold because of the AC vent. Otherwise we didn't have any issues.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I always enjoy my food!! The female bath ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I always enjoy my food!! The female bathroom is disgusting. The bathroom stalls are really outdated and dirty. The hot water will burn you badly if you're not careful. The bathroom shouldn't be in this condition to be in "Buckhead"!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a very nice birthday dinner; chef wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had a very nice birthday dinner; chef was entertaining and food was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was underwhelming. We wai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Our experience was underwhelming. We waited 15 minutes and we're sat with a group of college aged teens. That didn't totally kill the vibe. The restaurant was kind of dim and dirty. There was an upcharge of 3.75 for fried rice with or w/o chicken. All 8 ppl upgraded and the cook made a single chicken breast for the rice FOR 8 ppl. The portions were surprisingly small and by the end of dinner I was ready to leave. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was great as always and the ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was great as always and the service was great as well. We sat with a group of people that we were able to interact with and have conversation with. It was a great outing. I do believe however, that the time it takes to explain the menu was a bit long especially when almost everyone at the table had previously visited the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was overall good. Our server ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Experience was overall good. Our server had two large tables so he wasn't able to accommodate us very much but the server at the table next to us stepped in and helped us out.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our chef was fantastic - fun - entertain ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Our chef was fantastic - fun - entertaining. Good time. Portions could have been a little bigger, but maybe that is a lunch thing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I haven't been to this Benihana in years ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I haven't been to this Benihana in years and was looking forward to my visit as I used to frequent the area and have always enjoyed my time. But my last visit - wow. This place has gone extremely downhill. Our chef was awesome, very funny and the food was delicious. But the service wasn't that good. The ambiance wasn't the same either. Benihana used to be a pretty decent place but now it has the vibe of Friday's. meh. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Everyone was extremely nice and willing ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Everyone was extremely nice and willing to go above and beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We waited to be served over an hour "aft ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We waited to be served over an hour "after: being seated. The restrooms were subpar at best, I told the manager on duty and I'm assuming she handled it because I never went back in to use it a 2nd time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We had a great time .My family enjoyed t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great time .My family enjoyed themselves and the food must I say was quite delicious . Ill be back there soon...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was pretty good and the servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

our dinner was pretty good and the service was ok - they were able to accommodate our large party of 13 people at one table which was nice

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Horrible! My daughter got trapped the b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Horrible! My daughter got trapped the bathroom. Management acted like wasn't a deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had a great time. It took the host a b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I had a great time. It took the host a bit longer than I thought it should have but he was good. He didn't interrupt when he saw we were talking to each other and he was fun and entertaining.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I don't think you get enough food for th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I don't think you get enough food for the price charge.

I don't think you should be charge for some yummy sauce or ginger after you have merchant a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

For this being my first time to a Beniha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

For this being my first time to a Benihana I was quite disappointed, at least with this location. The dress code in place is not enforced by any means despite there being a sign when you immediately enter the restaurant. Service was a little slow; however, our Teppanyaki chef managed quite well despite several challenges of having to change his way of cooking the food and in what order due to others at the table with food allergies. That being said, I've had better from lesser known Japanese steakhouses, and left quite hungry at the end of my meal. I will not be returning to this location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The Hibachi table concept has been copie ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Hibachi table concept has been copied over and over so this is nothing new. What needs improving is the overall experience. By that I mean, the ordering process, the attentiveness of the wait staff, and especially the check out process. I have never eaten at one of these concepts that did a good job of keeping drinks filled, asking if anyone needs anything and just providing a high level of good service in the casual dining segment. For example, my wife would have ordered a second glass of wine, but no one was around to take the order on a timely basis. By the time she is half through the meal, it's too late. You're leaving serious money on the table by not capturing this business.

The check out process by itself is so slow that I would seriously consider not coming back unless I just had time to burn. Finally, the cooking show by now is so over exposed, it needs to be updated. How many times can you expect patrons to come back and watch the onion volcano and the choo choo train thing? The chefs are talented, but you need somebody like Cirque to come in and update your presentation. It's dated and if you aren't careful, your concept is going to die a slow death. I know the Peachtree Street location has been there a long time so it will drive a lot of traffic just on that aspect alone, but just take some advice from a couple that dines out 2-3 times a week spending $50-$75 on average per meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to this location several times ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I've been to this location several times and this has to have been one of my worst restaurant experiences ever. The waitress was absolutely terrible. She made several mistakes on the order and the Chef had to correct it. The Chef, while cooking, had to clear the salad and soup bowls because she disappeared. She would disappear for long periods of time, so many times that the Chef had to inquire with the manager of her whereabouts. The Chef appeared to be overwhelmed by her lack of service to the point that he got the orders mixed up and served guests the wrong food. To top the visit off, the waitress used my card to pay for another guest's meal. Management offered no real apology, just reassurance the my card wouldn't be charged for the other guest's meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was not good. We waited 20+ minu ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service was not good. We waited 20+ minutes before a server came over to take our drink orders. We did not receive our soup/salad until the chef came out. At the end of the meal, I gave the server my credit card and she did not come back to the table until I flagged her down. She told me that she didn't have my credit card. She & the manager spent about 10-15 minutes looking for the credit card that I gave her. We were not given a discount for the distress that they caused. The manager gave me his card and told me to call him if unauthorized charges appeared on my card. I was not satisfied with this answer and I will not be dining at this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This was the worse dining experience I h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

This was the worse dining experience I have had in a long time. It was my parents' 75th birthday celebration (mom and dad). we had a party of 11. it took an hour to be seated despite having reservations. It took another 30 minutes just to get water. The service was horrible. The only saving grace was the chef. Chef Angel was awesome and entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointed. Benihana chefs used to be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Disappointed.

Benihana chefs used to be quite entertaining with their knife work and originality, no more. Quite boring actually.

The food was disappointing too. Overpriced and a bit too salty.

Servers were great, but it's not the Benihana of old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and the food and service were usually good. This particular time they had some new chefs at other tables who were wayyyyyyy more entertaining. The only thing our chef kept saying was, "ooooooo garlic butter, take a picture." ThThe other tables were laughing and way more engaged than ours. So my suggestion to you is make sure you get the most animated chef they had. After a while my 2 year old started saying "ooooooo garlic butter," Cause that's all the chef ever said. Overall it was ok. There were three birthdays at our table. Needless to say, "party was over there." Nowhere near us. :(

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My chef, Uriah, was excellent in every w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My chef, Uriah, was excellent in every way. He was entertaining, funny, & showed excellent customer service skills! We Definitely will be back thanks to him!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love all of your food to taste li ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

If you love all of your food to taste like garlic butter, this is the place for you. The prices have gone up while the quality of food/service have hit the pits.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.