HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Benihana - Anchorage

4.4
630 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Anchorage is located at the corner of 8th and “L,” near many downtown attractions, including the Anchorage Museum, Alaska Center for Performing Arts, Dena’ina Convention Center and Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. It’s a 5-minute cab ride to the Alaska Railroad terminal and 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Satruday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

BANZAI HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 222-5212
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 8th and L street
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Wine
What 630 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Birthday (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined 16 hours ago

Birthday celebration for grandson

Report
Helpful
smadara 
2.0  Dined 6 days ago

We had a newer chef, and he was very passive aggressive with his jokes. We would have been able to look past that if the food was well made. Both of our steaks, seafood, and even veggi's were not cooked, nor seasoned like they usually are. We are frequent customers, and really aren't picky, BUT had to write a review since his entire demeanor, and the experience was poopy. Hopefully we'll have better luck next time!

Report
Helpful
JasperK 
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Let’s get the bad out of the way. Not sure if they had a sushi chief in training that night but the shushi rolled we ordered was blah “I’ve had better from the local grocery stores” tasteless and falling apart. On a good note they didn’t charge us for it so that was nice. Everything else we had was amazing. The fillet mignon was off the charts silky smooth and melted in your mouth mmmmm. We had two types of steak both great and a few different types of shrimp. I don’t like sea food and theses were awesome. A bit pricey and a bit of a wait but totally worth it.

Report
Helpful
LymasJ (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Food was great! Kayzee was a wonderful cook and did some things that I hadn’t seen in my many years of frequenting a Benihana. The waiter got overwhelmed which ended with empty glasses on our table. It’s bad when the cook has to summon a waiter to fill drinks at his table.

Report
Helpful
PatrickJ (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Teppanyaki is my favorite, Love it, food was delicious

Report
Helpful
John (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place to eat and watch the food get made. My girl and I had a wonderful time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Valentines Day celebrations. Outstanding dinner and service.

Report
Helpful
cheriep (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Dennis is the best cook there! He is awesome! Our food was delicious

Report
Helpful
Vacationdinner (Anchorage)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Food was just ok for the price... noise level high!

Report
Helpful
Gerry (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Great food and chef. Wait staff was a little nonexistent during most of the dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipGail (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Never disappointed when I go there. The food was great and my group spent our time chuckling over the jokes and comments. Service was great as well.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Our server and chef was amazing. Need to request kayzee for your chef. He was a blast.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

This is not my first time here, but this go around the food was really bland, and our server (not the chef) forgot our appetizer, kids drinks, rice, desert, and to-go boxes. Seemed a bit rediculus to pay the prices we did for such lack in service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
3.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Staff was great, but food was just ok this particular night.

Report
Helpful
vixxyak (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Servers shouldn't have to run the credit cards...waited at the front desk for almost ten minutes while my server finally got to it...meanwhile front desk staff of four stood around bs-ing in front of me...I hope the servers are paid well with taking orders..setting up tables...bussing tables serving AND running back to take payments....and front desk (over) staff just standing around.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Excellent, as usual.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

Wonderful food and excellent service from both the server and chef.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 15, 2018

Great food and great experience...highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Server was attentive and efficient. Loved the chef (Dennis)! My son always picks Benihana for his birtday dinner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
2.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

The server we started with completely ruined the occasion. She was in such a rush!! As soon as we sat down we were rush to know what to drink what to eat it was awful and the bad thing is it wasn’t the first time we had her. So I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt the first time but now with the SECOND TIMEi was like NO she will no stress and rush me around to pick. Her is Cindy by the way.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
4.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

Everything was great. I ordered Roc

Report
Helpful
vipGail (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2018

As always food was fantastic and Our Chef, Kayzee kept us in stitches the whole time. Great way to celebrate!

Report
Helpful
Tutu (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Another "fun" meal! Celebrated 2 birthdays for a 5 and 7 year old. The kids always enjoy watching the chef cook their meal and how special they ate made to feel!

Report
Helpful
Avi8or (Anchorage)
3.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Took our teenager and her 5 friends to celebrate birthdays. The kids loved it! They laughed, enjoyed the entertainment, and ate all their food. They sang a birthday song to her and took our photo. It was a fun time, but a little noisy for conversation.

Report
Helpful
msdash (Anchorage)
3.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Birthday celebration but they forgot to sing or take a photo.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful Christmas dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Good food and a show. Great for people watching. Large portions. Thanks for being open on Christmas Day.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

What a wonderful Christmas meal. The service today was excellent. We had a wonderful chef who was very personable yet quick which was greatly appreciated.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

The food was excellent as always and our chef especially talented. Thank you for the lovely Christmas meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Anchorage)
5.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

Fun environment, the cook entertains while preparing your meal. Light hearted & engaging experience, but wouldn’t recommend as a quiet intimate setting.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22