Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Benihana - Anchorage

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Anchorage is located at the corner of 8th and “L,” near many downtown attractions, including the Anchorage Museum, Alaska Center for Performing Arts, Dena’ina Convention Center and Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. It’s a 5-minute cab ride to the Alaska Railroad terminal and 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport.

1100 W 8th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Satruday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

BANZAI HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 8th and L street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-5212

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/anchorage-ak-ac

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Our family always has the best time when we eat here! We love it!😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner was delicious. The chef was great with 2 small children at our table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

There was an obvious try to get people to agree with the matradie that the service was good. He reiterated this a number of times as if to ensure customers would walk away thinking this. Everything was fine save having to listen to this plea for acceptability.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our reservation was changed from 6pm to 6:45 for some reason but the Front desk person had us seated before 6:45 and gave us extra appetizers for waiting. Our server is really nice and jolly, i forgot her name but she is the black nice lady. Then our chef "Justin Bieber" came in, fun started. Overall experience is fun and food is good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Ww had a great meal and while sharing the table we made some new friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have been to Benihana many times with great experiences, but we went Friday night to celebrate my daughter's 13th bday.We had the worst service. Conner was our server. He was rude, unaccommodating, slow and made it very clear that his only concern was getting the check as high as he possibly could instead of good customer service.There were two adults and 6 pre-teen/teen girls - a mix of 12-14 year olds, all petite athletes - well behaved and excited to celebrate their friend's 13th birthday. They asked for kids menus-not only because the meals are correctly sized for their appetites, but also because they wanted to wear the menu hats. Great photo opps for them and part of the Benihana experience...not to mention great advertising for Benihana as the girls all post their pics on Instagram/Snapchat, but the first thing Conner asked was how old the birthday girl is. We said 13, so he said no kids menus. He took all 6 kids menus away from the girls! We were like what? One of the girls had already ordered a freckled lemonade. He came back and said you can't have this. I said we're willing to pay for it,but he said no, you will need an adult size and the price will go up. I said whatever, order what you want. Benihana is not cheap as it is-a kids meal with upcharged drinks and both salad/soup end up being $25-35/each anyway.We are not cheapskates and were not haggling over prices. But the reality is, these girls could not eat adult size portions and didn't want that much food. When it came time to order the meals, the girls tried again. This guy was a jerk. He charged $45/ea+$5 for 12 and 13 year old's Trio w/fried rice and lemonade.He "forgot" 2 of the girls' soup. I asked for extra zucchini and paid for it,but he ordered 6 slices of zucchini for a table of 8 instead. We were short a chk breast & shrimp.The chef said sorry, he underordered. Then I had to ask twice for the bday photo.I reluctantly tipped 20% anyway b/c I was in the resto biz, but mgmt shld know.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent! Chef Dennis and Chef Danny- Best Chefs in Alaska!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wonderful time. Food was great. Service was awesome. Always a great place to go as a couple or a group. Good times good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Expensive but entertaining. The food is dependable and plentiful - enough for leftovers.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and service,,,,recommend less people per table. This was Father's Day and every table was elbow room only.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wish we had been told that the lunch menu was not available when ordering because of holiday weekend. Management did allow us to order from the lunch menu when we requested. Dinner cost of a meal at lunch time is not acceptable to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great time. Very slow on the service but the restaurant did compensate with free soup and salad and ,Also free drinks so we were happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Disappointing Birthday Experience. Compared to last two years, many changes, not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best service we have ever gotten at a Benihana and best service we got in Anchorage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ordered medium rare filet and got well done not even any pink. Every single food item was cooked and served by itself. Several sauces that were ordered special were forgotten and for one he had to throw my husband's food back on the griddle to add the spicy sauce. Waited a long time with empty water glasses, pretty much the whole meal. The server had to redo the checks because he mixed up everyone's meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service! We were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good for a group or special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Chef Danny is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 8, 2017

John made all the food perfect!!! Put server was great too

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Tonight's show by our chef was fun. The food was great. Las Vegas roll was amazing as always. I'd recommend it and eat there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Birthday meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Tonight was the perfect dinner for our daughter's birthday celebration. Danny is an excellent chef! Our server was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Busy and loud as always. Food was good but our chef messed no less than 4 orders up at our table. Waitress was almost non-existant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Came during lunch and it wasn't too busy. The meal was great as always and our waitress and chef were awesome!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great service and food, i always love going there; planning on the next outing there to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We were the last group before closing. I ordered the steak and shrimp. The steak was not a tender cut. The shrimp was okay but the dipping sauces were thin and not that tasty. The salad was fresh and the ginger dressing was good. The soup was good. My husband ordered the ahi tuna. He enjoyed it. The decor is tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Young chef was great, he did a chicken design with eggs and med it lay an egg:) Kids were excited to see the new tricks! Our server was easily overwhelmed initially and highly distractible. We experienced him complaining as well as excessive chatting a times which impacted the timing of orders being taken and items received. Luckily the manager assisted our large party and that made all the difference! We appreciated all he did in assisting from starting our 1st course to providing extra drinks and checking in on our party. Thank You!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lunch took two and a half hours and they said we could only order from a holiday menu which was nearly 2x the price of a normal lunch order(Mother's Day) and there was no difference with what they normally serve. The place was half full and the complaint about waiting an hour at the table with nothing but water wasn't recieved well by management. The chef was great and food was fine but not exceptional as it should of been for the price gouging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Prom night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is typically annually our favorite place for a birthday. The chef this time was polite and apologized that he was not good at the "theatrics". This was fine since we've seen it all and just wanted a nice meal with family. Unfortunately his lack of skills did not stop there. He was clumsy throughout with his instruments and was unable to retain the details of the meals and specifications. Putting food that was requested to be withheld still on diners plates. He over cooked everyone's food. Although it was not horrible it was not good. Three meals were scallops that were like rubber.
The waiter was nice but not nearly as funny as he thought and didn't know when to stop talking. Unfortunately he also didn't keep track of when to come back and check on us for refills and to take away dishes. The chef had to keep stacking them on the table behind him. Overall this was not the best experience we've enjoyed in the past. Fortunately they have another year to work on it before we come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The cook was very entertaining. The steak and salmon was the best, tender! They brought ice cream to the birthday boy and sang to him . We will return for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wife and I arrived for our reservation and were then crowded to a Teppan table with a large family with children and infants. the other group pushed past us to rush to the table and leave my wife and i with one seat each at either end of the table. We politely asked if it would be possible for them to move so we could sit together. The hostess promptly walked away and the family just ignored us. There was not enough room anyway with the car seat holder so we walked out. We should not have been seated at a table where there obviously was not enough room and at least should have been helped by the hostess when we could not sit together and were left at opposite ends of a giant table where we could do nothing but wave at one another. Now I know why after living in Alaska for 8 years i have never had anyone recommend this restaurant to me. Sorry we tried to do something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We are always happy with the meals at Benihana, love the cooking performance and the food is always good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Celebration for AA

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great place for a dinner show. Staff great and very attentive. We like this place for special events like birthdays or anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome Chef and wait staff. Great food. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I love coming here for special occasions 😁 I love the hibachi steak and chicken, the fried rice is amazing! Freshly made in front of you, the entertainment is a bright encounter, i love Benihana.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our 1-1/2 year old granddaughter really enjoyed the show. The food was good and plentiful (we had a lot of leftovers). Benihana is a family favorite for special occasions, like birthdays.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a great time at dinner and our waiter (sorry but can't recall his name) and cook (Danny) were awesome! We had a five year old with us and Danny kept her entertained. Our waiter was personable and fun!

Food was great!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I had set a reservation and then we get there and ask to be able to sit by ourselves.that didn't happen. So we walked out with out even eating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.