Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Benihana - Anchorage

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Anchorage is located at the corner of 8th and “L,” near many downtown attractions, including the Anchorage Museum, Alaska Center for Performing Arts, Dena’ina Convention Center and Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. It’s a 5-minute cab ride to the Alaska Railroad terminal and 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport.

1100 W 8th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Satruday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

BANZAI HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 8th and L street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-5212

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/anchorage-ak-ac

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Fun (33)
Good for Birthdays (27)
See All
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Family Style (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Romantic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Came during lunch and it wasn't too busy. The meal was great as always and our waitress and chef were awesome!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food, i always love going there; planning on the next outing there to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were the last group before closing. I ordered the steak and shrimp. The steak was not a tender cut. The shrimp was okay but the dipping sauces were thin and not that tasty. The salad was fresh and the ginger dressing was good. The soup was good. My husband ordered the ahi tuna. He enjoyed it. The decor is tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Young chef was great, he did a chicken design with eggs and med it lay an egg:) Kids were excited to see the new tricks! Our server was easily overwhelmed initially and highly distractible. We experienced him complaining as well as excessive chatting a times which impacted the timing of orders being taken and items received. Luckily the manager assisted our large party and that made all the difference! We appreciated all he did in assisting from starting our 1st course to providing extra drinks and checking in on our party. Thank You!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Lunch took two and a half hours and they said we could only order from a holiday menu which was nearly 2x the price of a normal lunch order(Mother's Day) and there was no difference with what they normally serve. The place was half full and the complaint about waiting an hour at the table with nothing but water wasn't recieved well by management. The chef was great and food was fine but not exceptional as it should of been for the price gouging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Prom night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is typically annually our favorite place for a birthday. The chef this time was polite and apologized that he was not good at the "theatrics". This was fine since we've seen it all and just wanted a nice meal with family. Unfortunately his lack of skills did not stop there. He was clumsy throughout with his instruments and was unable to retain the details of the meals and specifications. Putting food that was requested to be withheld still on diners plates. He over cooked everyone's food. Although it was not horrible it was not good. Three meals were scallops that were like rubber.
The waiter was nice but not nearly as funny as he thought and didn't know when to stop talking. Unfortunately he also didn't keep track of when to come back and check on us for refills and to take away dishes. The chef had to keep stacking them on the table behind him. Overall this was not the best experience we've enjoyed in the past. Fortunately they have another year to work on it before we come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The cook was very entertaining. The steak and salmon was the best, tender! They brought ice cream to the birthday boy and sang to him . We will return for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wife and I arrived for our reservation and were then crowded to a Teppan table with a large family with children and infants. the other group pushed past us to rush to the table and leave my wife and i with one seat each at either end of the table. We politely asked if it would be possible for them to move so we could sit together. The hostess promptly walked away and the family just ignored us. There was not enough room anyway with the car seat holder so we walked out. We should not have been seated at a table where there obviously was not enough room and at least should have been helped by the hostess when we could not sit together and were left at opposite ends of a giant table where we could do nothing but wave at one another. Now I know why after living in Alaska for 8 years i have never had anyone recommend this restaurant to me. Sorry we tried to do something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We are always happy with the meals at Benihana, love the cooking performance and the food is always good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Celebration for AA

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great place for a dinner show. Staff great and very attentive. We like this place for special events like birthdays or anniversaries.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome Chef and wait staff. Great food. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I love coming here for special occasions 😁 I love the hibachi steak and chicken, the fried rice is amazing! Freshly made in front of you, the entertainment is a bright encounter, i love Benihana.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our 1-1/2 year old granddaughter really enjoyed the show. The food was good and plentiful (we had a lot of leftovers). Benihana is a family favorite for special occasions, like birthdays.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time at dinner and our waiter (sorry but can't recall his name) and cook (Danny) were awesome! We had a five year old with us and Danny kept her entertained. Our waiter was personable and fun!

Food was great!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I had set a reservation and then we get there and ask to be able to sit by ourselves.that didn't happen. So we walked out with out even eating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 10, 2017

They did not have enough Chefs scheduled to work so we had to wait nearly two hours until our food was even started. This is understandable, things like that happen sometimes. Our waitress was very nice and moved as fast as she could. A manager/supervisor of some sort came over, was very rude, offered us free ice cream and laughed and said, but it already comes with your meal. That interaction was not appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We usually love our visits to Benihana, but were pretty disappointed this visit. We sat for over an hour before the cook arrived and started to repair our food. Our reservation was for 4:30, but no one at our table had food until after 6. Our server for the evening also wasn't the greatest.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our first time with a caucasian Chef turned out to be one of the best quality meal I have ever had before. Delicious fried rice, perfectly cooked meat and his dry humor all harmonized to make the dinner special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Land and sea was excellent. Not to much garlic butter just good flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was a little on the expensive side, but our server and chef were both fantastic in helping with me and my fiancé' engagement.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A Birthday celebration, well celebrated due to excellent service, each - from the hosts/hostesses, bar tender, server, assisting servers, chef/cook and to the management that checked on our table. Thank you very much! Well done to all the staff👌🏾👌🏾👌🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service and staff always great! Hostess was so sweet an accommodating unfortunately our waiter wasn't the best as often is the case when we come - but we don't care we love the food,atmosphere, chefs, and adorable friendly hostesses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Out to dinner for our 21st wedding anniversary, with our two young daughters--We LOVED Benihana!!
Our daughters were very entertained, and we were impressed with our quick and "nimble" food preparer/server!
ALSO--
GREAT service/GREAT food!
Thank you-Benihana!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great, service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The chef Justin was excellent he catered to my young grand kiddos they really enjoyed it. The food was perfect cooked just the way we asked and he is an awesome show man doing all kinds of amazing tricks. The experience there was amazing we left with big smiles on our faces. Great food and good times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Family hadn't been out in a while and wanted to go somewhere nice. The chef was funny and very friendly. He kept not only my husband and I laughing but our 3 year old as well. The food was amazing and he made sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always a nice experience. The show is built into the price, the portions arent that large. The salad could be better. The rice and the teriyaki shrimp are tasty (ask for more sauce). The colossal shrimp with garlic butter&lemon is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 16, 2017

You go for the experience. The entertainment is great and the cooks are funny.

The food can be hit or miss. The seared tuna was awesome and the salmon was good. The chicken however was rubbery and not great.

If you have an aversion to onions, go eat somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We were seated on time and the chef was wonderful. He made a point and making it enjoyable for the kids and getting the meals correct. The food was excellent and was cooked to order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food! Sat with a family of 4 young children. Very noisy. Cook focused on them

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

While pleased with the dining experience, I find it inappropriate that the reservation update I did with your service was not passed on to the resturant.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was prepared as requested and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Aaron was our server. He was awesome. Kids had a good time and actually tried new food. Great time.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything was good except the bug in the salad ...extra dividend unwanted

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We waited one and a half hours for the chef to arrive at our table. However, his positive and entertaining attitude partially excused his tardiness. I ordered a Hibachi grilled salmon filet for $26. Included with the entrée was onion soup, salad, steamed rice, grilled onion and zucchini, and shrimp saute. I was happy with the food, although the onion soup tasted like bland salt water. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Only after 27 minutes and asking for a manager for any kind of service did we see a server. The food was fair . The chicken was over cooked, the shrimp was not cleaned and the filet had ribbons of uncooked fat. Spending $270 on a meal you would expect a little more than that. Atmosphere was noisy and I sorry to say this wil be our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

we went to eat for our daughter's birthday. the wait staff were welcoming and accomodating. We enjoyed our lunch and were very pleased with our experience.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing! Valentine's Day was packed but the service was amazing and the food was delicious. Also everyone got a little card for a free appetizer in the future as a little gift for Valentine's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.