Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Benihana - Anchorage

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Anchorage is located at the corner of 8th and “L,” near many downtown attractions, including the Anchorage Museum, Alaska Center for Performing Arts, Dena’ina Convention Center and Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. It’s a 5-minute cab ride to the Alaska Railroad terminal and 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport.

1100 W 8th Ave
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday - Satruday: 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:30 pm

BANZAI HOUR
Monday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between 8th and L street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 222-5212

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/anchorage-ak-ac

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Anchorage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Fun (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing, but it took 45 minutes to receive a drink from our waitress. I was looking forward to good fast service so i could get to bed at a decent time, but it took 2 whole hours for everything to make its course. Again, very pleased with the food, just not as pleased with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Have gone there many times. The last few times we have gone have been different. Don't see the normal wait staff except for in the bar. Seems like a big turn over in the staff. The chefs are all different and the food portions are getting much smaller. Unfortunately we will be looking for a different place to go. Pretty sad we have always enjoyed going to Benihana's. Not so much now.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had fun and it was overall a good time. Our only complaint is that it took a long time to get service and we had a new chef. We were there for 3 hours and took a long time to get our food. The drinks were delicious and our server was very patient with our large table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

totally enjoyed the entertainment/show put on by the chefs ... watching the food prepared right in front of us. The hosts, chefs, everyone that I came in contact with was all friendly and warm personable. the portion of food was well more than I could eat .. and the host/server even boxed if for me to take home. There was only two in my party... and the people seated at the table with us (two in their party) were very friendly and courteous... totally enjoyed their company... conversation was held by all. It was my friend's birthday.. and I felt she was treated royally .. and she was given a photo of the evening for self keeping and remembrance. It was so easy to make reservation ... made reservation online... after I made the reservation online .. I called and they had it set up .. I mean I called like immediately after I made them online .. and everything had gone through successfully. thank you again for everything... I laughed so much.. and I left there feeling absolute wonderful and awesome... I was in awed with the whole experience of the evening. Thank you thank you thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Danny is the best chef there. Very good about allergies. With the best tricks ever. They even do magic now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

the food was slightly over salted but the alcohol was impressive and well presented.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took 3 hours and reservations don't seem to matter to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My Birthday dinner was spectacular good food,family, the whole experience was exactly what I wanted for my special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Enjoyed our visit. The food was delicious. Lots of birthday going on, including min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Good food, kids are always entertained, mgmt was very accommodating for the occasion, overall it was an enjoyable evening. It does get loud and can be difficult to have conversations.., over all I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Took way too long. It was terrible. I understand being busy but we waited over 30 minutes just for the chef to show up. He also made us feel uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The chef is what makes it at Benihana. Last 3 visits they have been not great. Not funny, food not consistently cooked from one visit to the next. The chefs need to be able to multi task so the veggies, meat, rice are served at least close to together. I think it's a struggle to keep employees. They also seem to be cutting back on the amount of food. Little to no veggies anymore. Still very expensive, but the value is slipping. Maybe Kobe next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Kayzee was AMAZING! We have had many chefs @ our local Benihana yet somewhere we had not yet had him until this last visit. It was my parent's first visit to Alaska and they enjoyed their dinner and the creative entertainment provided by Kayzee immensely! He mad it unforgettable, Thank You Kayzee!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My sisters and I haven't seen each other for a while so we decided to have a dinner date. As soon as we got there we were greeted by Cedo and was seated right away. Our server Aaron introduced himself as soon as we were seated. We had 8 people in our party and chef Kasey was amazing--attending to all our requests. Service was fast and everyone was friendly. They even sang happy birthday for 4 of my sisters. My sisters have never been to Benihana before so it was a memorable first experience for them! We would definitely come back! :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wasn't as good as usual. Sushi in the bar was great. Gordon was awesome. Dining was just ok. Food didn't have a lot of flavor to it which is really unusual. We dine here quite a bit and was a little disappointed tonight. Hopefully it will be better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Leipzig)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wer Tepaniaky will und auf Animation am Tisch steht. Dem gefällt das sicher. Wir wollten Sushi und haben dann den Raum gewechselt gewechselt weil man Sushi am Tisch serviert bekomnt und nicht am Grill. Dort waren wir fast alleine. Sushi war super! Und die Bedienung sehr freundlich.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Benihana will always be my favorite restaurant. It is my choice for my birthday dinner every year! I always order the hibachi shrimp. The food is amazing. The chefs are amazing. The staff is always so friendly. Never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our family enjoys this restaurant we always have a good time with good food. We would like you to consider putting vegetarian items back on the menu, thanks

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food and service was awful! We will never be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food and entertainment. Wonderful for a family meal

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We went to Benihana at my daughter's request for her birthday. The food was good but not what I would have expected for the cost of the meals. If you go, go for the entertain the chef provides, the food is good and edible.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We've visited Benihana many times, so when our daughter told us she would like to celebrate her birthday there we were happy to make a reservation. This visit was awful. We were seated by a girl with a big ring and big flashy diamond hanging from her nose, if that wasnt bad enough it looked like she hadn't washed her hair in a week. Not exactly what you would expect as a first impression in a nicer restaurant. We ordered an appetizer that never came. The chef seemed really inexperienced and clumsy with his tricks, which would have been fine, but the food was terrible. He didn't season anything, seriously, nothing. We watched him cook chicken with a little bit of oil....absolutely nothing else. Steaks and seafood were the same. I watched him use garlic butter on my scallops but I had to ask for it. No salt. No pepper. He forgot the chicken one of the orders and never cooked or served corn which was supposed to come with our kids meals. To make matters worse he kept interrupting people talking in the middle of conversations to give really cheesy one liner jokes that weren't funny. You could be in the middle of a sentence and he would stop you to ask you what drink Chuck Norris would order. It was rude. We complained to a manager half way through the meal and we were told that the guy was new, but he had "been cooking for 20 years" and that's why he was hired. Afterwards our server came by and apologized, he told us another table had the exact same complaint earlier in the evening and he was embarrassed by the food that was being served. They gave us a few bucks off our meal, but even then, I don't know that we'll go back. It's unfortunate because my family use to like this place a lot. I'd posts the chef name but he wasn't wearing a name tag, white guy with strawberry blonde hair and full beard. Guy needs to find a different job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Found Benihana's close to our hotel and so glad we did. The food was excellent as was the service. There was something on the menu for everyone in our group. Our chef was fun and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Anchorage.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our family always has the best time when we eat here! We love it!😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fun experience for family. Disappointed in my steak. My Fillet mignon was not the quality I would have preferred.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Dinner was delicious. The chef was great with 2 small children at our table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 14, 2017

There was an obvious try to get people to agree with the matradie that the service was good. He reiterated this a number of times as if to ensure customers would walk away thinking this. Everything was fine save having to listen to this plea for acceptability.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our reservation was changed from 6pm to 6:45 for some reason but the Front desk person had us seated before 6:45 and gave us extra appetizers for waiting. Our server is really nice and jolly, i forgot her name but she is the black nice lady. Then our chef "Justin Bieber" came in, fun started. Overall experience is fun and food is good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Ww had a great meal and while sharing the table we made some new friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have been to Benihana many times with great experiences, but we went Friday night to celebrate my daughter's 13th bday.We had the worst service. Conner was our server. He was rude, unaccommodating, slow and made it very clear that his only concern was getting the check as high as he possibly could instead of good customer service.There were two adults and 6 pre-teen/teen girls - a mix of 12-14 year olds, all petite athletes - well behaved and excited to celebrate their friend's 13th birthday. They asked for kids menus-not only because the meals are correctly sized for their appetites, but also because they wanted to wear the menu hats. Great photo opps for them and part of the Benihana experience...not to mention great advertising for Benihana as the girls all post their pics on Instagram/Snapchat, but the first thing Conner asked was how old the birthday girl is. We said 13, so he said no kids menus. He took all 6 kids menus away from the girls! We were like what? One of the girls had already ordered a freckled lemonade. He came back and said you can't have this. I said we're willing to pay for it,but he said no, you will need an adult size and the price will go up. I said whatever, order what you want. Benihana is not cheap as it is-a kids meal with upcharged drinks and both salad/soup end up being $25-35/each anyway.We are not cheapskates and were not haggling over prices. But the reality is, these girls could not eat adult size portions and didn't want that much food. When it came time to order the meals, the girls tried again. This guy was a jerk. He charged $45/ea+$5 for 12 and 13 year old's Trio w/fried rice and lemonade.He "forgot" 2 of the girls' soup. I asked for extra zucchini and paid for it,but he ordered 6 slices of zucchini for a table of 8 instead. We were short a chk breast & shrimp.The chef said sorry, he underordered. Then I had to ask twice for the bday photo.I reluctantly tipped 20% anyway b/c I was in the resto biz, but mgmt shld know.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent! Chef Dennis and Chef Danny- Best Chefs in Alaska!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wonderful time. Food was great. Service was awesome. Always a great place to go as a couple or a group. Good times good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Expensive but entertaining. The food is dependable and plentiful - enough for leftovers.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and service,,,,recommend less people per table. This was Father's Day and every table was elbow room only.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wish we had been told that the lunch menu was not available when ordering because of holiday weekend. Management did allow us to order from the lunch menu when we requested. Dinner cost of a meal at lunch time is not acceptable to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great time. Very slow on the service but the restaurant did compensate with free soup and salad and ,Also free drinks so we were happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Disappointing Birthday Experience. Compared to last two years, many changes, not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best service we have ever gotten at a Benihana and best service we got in Anchorage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ordered medium rare filet and got well done not even any pink. Every single food item was cooked and served by itself. Several sauces that were ordered special were forgotten and for one he had to throw my husband's food back on the griddle to add the spicy sauce. Waited a long time with empty water glasses, pretty much the whole meal. The server had to redo the checks because he mixed up everyone's meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service! We were celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.