About Benihana - Alpharetta

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Kid-friendly (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Family Style (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Vegan (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

First review I've made but it's because it was warranted. We had a 7pm reservation and they finally seated us at 730. Their explanation was "well a lot of people have to wait 2 hours so we should be happy". They put us at a table near the kitchen and we asked to move to a table that was open and clean but they said they would have to clean a dirty table and it would be 15 mins. So we stayed there. Finally my wife could not eat the chicken she was served, it was chewy and tasted funny, They did quickly bring out a new one to cook on the hibachi and said they weren't surprised .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Worst hibachi experience we've ever had. Yum Yum sauce was watered down with soy sauce and was terrible. Food was not good and service was the WORST!!! Had to go get our own drinks from the bar as the server would never bring them! NEVER go again!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The Benihana name speaks for itself. They were definitely having an off day. The staff was clearly upset at organization regarding reservations and whose turn it was for a table. The cook was disengaged and did not do all the normal tricks. We are frequent diners at benihanas and know what to expect. They forgot my sons corn with his kids meal and mixed up steaks. Waiters, hostess and the cook were clearly irritated and it showed. We will most definitely be back but overall, on this particular day, our experience was sub par.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Upon arriving, we found out one member of the party could not make it. When I told the hostess, she was clearly annoyed, and was extremely rude. When we did get a table, there was what looked like melted red wax all over the table. Several people saw this, but no one cleaned it, until our cook went to get the manager. It was finally cleaned, using cooking utensils - it was very strange! The food was decent, especially the seafood and steak options but over priced. The menu also said the meal came with sherbet, but that was not the case, so it added to the fact that it was over priced! Our cook was very friendly, but our server acted like being there was the last place she wanted to be. Overall, it was decent but we will not be returning.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Server very rude . Didn't care about anything must have had a bad day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

authentic and great tasting food, awesome staff,
never had a bad experience at this location
highly recommend advance reservation, they get busy in the evenings

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The chef and food were good, but our server was awful. She had no customer service or manners.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

What a Birthday! We ordered the Filet and Shrimp with fried rice. The meal was o.k along with the slow service and the 2 tablespoons of ice cream for dessert. To be honest, I think I was over the whole experience as well as our waitress and her expression-less way of singing "Happy Birthday" in Japanese.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Best food I've had in a while. I had the Steak Teriyaki and my boyfriend had the chicken teriyaki. You get a lot of great food while enjoying a show. Our servers name was Chico and he was an awesome chef. He got his own modern flare that makes me want to come back again soon. Overall would definitely recommend this place for any occasion, as long as your wallet can keep up.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food just was not good and was way overpriced. Will not return; will not recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The server had to many tables the food wasn't cooked properly the chef didn't speak English. I asked for my steak to be medium it was dry all of the food was very salty.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food! Great environment! Good Prices! Employees friendly and attentive! Will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Had reservation but still had to wait over 30 minutes for table. After soup and salad came, waited 30 minutes before chef came out with dinner. He had to rush cooking. From time of arrival, til we left, it was well over 2 hours. Not sure if they were short handed or not, but the long wait times were unacceptable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Walked in with reservation to be asked to wait around until they got enough people to sit a whole table. Hostess was super rude and the server was even worse. Walked out of restaurant before we could even order it was so bad.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great meal, chef was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Noise level was very high but there were several tables filled with high school kids for prom. Noise level to be expected on such an evening

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was very poor tonight. They did not deliver the steamed rice until we were practically done with our entrees. At the end of the meal, we waited over 5 minutes for the server to return and pick up the check.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chef was good..the waitress was not nice and had a disgusting nose ring.
I cod not believe she was allowed to wear this at work..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall, my experience was just okay. We had a party of 5 for Mothers Day 2017, reservation for 6:30pm. The building itself looks weathered both inside and out. The menu items are semi pricey, so I expect to be visually impressed before I'm seated because that adds to the experience - that so didn't happen. Our lobby wait wasn't bad, but we waited about an hour after being seated which sucked. I sipped on a cocktail to ease the pain. The food was good, not great. Our chef was really attentive and funny, though, so I was happy with him. Hands down, the best part of our night was our server Khota. He was attentive, engaging and was patient with a table that included my 3 picky teen daughters. He made sure we had everything we needed and made our tedious wait a little bit better. He was the bright spot in our evening and deserves all the praise he can get. Love that guy! I would probably only return at the request of the kids or maybe to catch a special. Otherwise, I'll take my hand earned money to another one of the bazillion restaurants in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been to this location several times and have good experiences but this one was not so good. Hopefully an outlier and not an indication of a downward slide. We arrived for our reservation a few minutes early. It was 5-7 minutes before the hostess came back to greet us. At this time she informed me that they were running about 30 minutes behind. Not a huge deal, so we go to the bar area to have a pre-dinner drink. About 20 minutes later while we are in the bar area, a guest from another dining room table comes to a waitress who is walking by and asks to speak to the manager since they have been waiting for over an hour and no server had been to their table yet to take an order. Manager visits table. 5ish minutes later, guest comes back to bar area and asks another staff member to speak to the manager and mentions, still no one has come by their table. We look around and see there are several other tables seated who are starting to look impatient (no drinks, still holding menus, etc.) At this point we decide to leave and go elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation and had to wait an hour to be seated. Once seated, it was more than 30 minutes before our food preparation started. Our dinner was not complete until after 8. The staff was misleading about our wait time. The food was only okay. The bathroom was filthy. We will not be back to this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We waited for an hour past our reservation time. I know it's Mother's Day but what's the point of making a reservation if we still have to sit around?!! Once we were placed at a table, our plates were dirty and we had to order from a special holiday menu. We also sat at the table for an additional 30 minutes before our chef came to cook our food.I probably won't be back anytime soon. It was a very disappointing Mother's Day. Thanks a lot Benihana

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here as took reservations and had a toddler. Table was ready and got drinks right away. Went down from there. Prices were high as only combos, no chicken only. Charged $3.70? extra pp for fried rice - only rice, butter and soy sauce. Our only veggie was zucchini and used onions for everything because cheap. Have never been to any hibachi restaurant that only zucchini and onions, how cheap also the prices were expensive!! Took forever to get a cook to our table. Then we still had plates in front of us when ice cream came for the kids. Took forever to get a check and 2 ladies at our table, not with us, were furious how long it took as told them they had show tickets when arrived. Based on the prices, the upcharge for fried rice and the ridiculous hibachi veggies (usually my favorite part) and no green tea offered, there would never be a need to dine here again. Was supposed to be entertaining dining experience, the cook barely spoke what so ever. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and 2 Mother's Day and am so disappointed in our overall experience and the price of our bill for what we got for 6 people.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food here was delicious and very well prepared at our table by Steve. Unfortunately, our waitress got two of the five orders wrong, so dinner was delayed while our chef, Steve, got our orders straightened out. The waitress did not bring us the second cocktail and glass of water we ordered, pretty much ignored us after Steve appeared. We had to rely on the waitress at the next table to help us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very loud and boisterous. Waitress wasn't very attentative. Had to ask for drink after not getting it for over 15 minutes. Food wasn't as authentic flavored as I've had at other Benihana locations. Felt like it was customized for the demographics of the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day and my daughter's birthday with family. We had a great time and everyone is waiting to return for another visit. Our chef, Rodolpho was magnificent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The chef and the food were great. The greeter wasn't friendly at all, I had to make a comment to her about it and our server never asked to refill our drinks.

The lady's restroom was very dirty. There was tissue paper and water all over the floor. I spent $92 at the restaurant for just my son and I. This was not a $92 restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Eric is the best chef we have ever had! We've been visiting the Alpharetta and Buckhead location for over 5 yrs. Alpharetta became our favorite 2 years ago and Eric exceeded all expectations. He did his job . the waiter and prep. The food was delicious and he kept us all entertained. our age group was from 2-80 years old. The ratings given were soley based on Eric!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The chef Eric was one of the best Hibachi Chefs I have ever had. He coupled with our server made the service impeccable and the food was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and chef were really good. Chef was friendly and good with the kids. Staff was a bit annoying. We literally lost our reservation because part of our party was stuck in traffic. Almost got stuck behind two other parties for a 45 minute wait. Staff wasn't really accommodating or pleasant about it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice lunch, good service, excellent chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely love the tepinyaki style dining experience. The service tends to be a mite slow at times, but the wait is worth it. The chefs come to the table and perform culinary acrobatics while cooking your meal. My kids always love to see the chef 'playing with the food' and spinning the spatulas and tossing shrimp tails into their hats and pockets.

The portions are sizeable with the exception of the ice cream that comes with specialty items, but we never leave hungry.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Haven't been in a while, but just as I remember, it is GREAT. Good food and lots of it (cooked perfectly), fun, and you get to talk to other people at the table (we learned a lot about Cuba). I ate every bite and was stuffed. If you haven't been there, go, and if you have been, go again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We truly enjoyed our experience there the chef was engaging and funny. Only thing i wasn't happy with isvthe young lady that took our order. She asked about allergies which we almost had an issue with, and we had piles of dishes in front of us that wasn't cleared and she made a comment about the missing bus boy either way i thought she should never leave customers with piles of dishes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Even though we made an Open table reservation, we still had some problems getting/delays getting seated at a bit of an off hour for lunch, ie: a bit later than arriving at four normal lunch.

However, they chef at our table was extremely entertaining!

The last 3 or 4 times I've been to the Alpharetta Benihana, I have been disappointed that our Chef was not excited or exuberant enough to put on a good show which is half the reason you go to Benihana!

This time we got the full he'll go to service a fabulous chef and we were well attended to!

I believe the chef's name was, Roberto.

Thank you, Julia
404-447-1457, Mobile

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience and fun! Celebrated a 10th birthday with family.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

this place has gone downhill! first the hostess saw our reservation then ignored it and proceeded to seat non-reservation people. I flagged a manager down and she verbally abused the hostess for not seating us in front of the entire waiting area. The waitress took 15 minutes to come to the table just for drink orders. Restrooms had not been tended to in quite sometime (we got there at 6pm so they should have been relatively clean). Horribly managed and the food is just meh these days. Probably won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was delightful and entertaining - we sat with a large family - parents and five children - polite, well-behaved, ate their food - enjoyed the parents.

The group behind us - unfortunately - was "rowdy" and had a screaming child. Fortunately, about the time the child started screaming - we were ready to leave!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went to Benihana because we expected to see the typical "performance" associated with a Hibachi dinner. The chef was good but did not entertain - he just cooked silently the whole time. It was rather disappointing, although the quality of the food was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.