About Benihana - Alpharetta

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Mother's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

This Father's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Mother's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 4/11/17 – 5/14/17. Promotional Cards valid 5/15/17 – 6/19/17. Special valid Apr 11, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

This Father's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Kid-friendly (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Family Style (18)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Romantic (5)
Spicy (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a reservation for 5:30 and when we got in there was no host to greet us. We stood at the hostess stand for about 5 mins before someone came over to ask us have we been helped. Finally someone comes over and still asks us to wait to be sat even though we had a reservation. Other than that the service was decent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, good entertainment, service was slow even though there wasn't too much of a crowd, our waitress didnt look like she was listening. But the food made up for it so Thumbs up!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner & staff exceeded expectations. Great customer service

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We've celebrated several birthdays at this location and never had a negative experience until this visit. It took 20 minutes to get our drinks, our chef was late, several requests made of the server took a very long time, and my glass was empty for most of my meal. The dinner took 2 hours and the bill was presented and paid before the birthday "celebration" was attempted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was very poor. The chef had to continually get food items from the hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyable.....excellent fried rice, one the best we have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

First visit. We were a group of eight logged in by separate Open Table reservations. Sara, GM,
brought us all together and seated us on time. We all had different items from menu which were delivered with no mistakes. The show was reserved but entertaining. All food was prepared to our liking -- no complaints. No mistakes on separate checks. Server was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Normally like Benihana, but not so much this time. It was my Mom's birthday that we were celebrating & my mine was the day before do we had a lot to celebrate. The hostess specifically asked us what special occasion we were celebrating, but didn't even tell our server or do anything for it so what was the point. Disappointing! Hostess never brought us Edamame that she suggested & we requested. Our chef was good, but food was average...nothing special. Kind of a ho-hum experience. Not very inclined to go again :-(.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food is always really good here. Had a slight issue with the wait time since we had a reservation. Overall, food, service and ambiance very good!

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was my daughter's 14th birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Terrible - wait ed 10 minutes just for the hostess to come and seat us, meanwhile multiple employees just looked over doing. nothing. Service started off fine but once the main course was on our plates we never saw the waiter.
Go to Ichinan that is worth the money and they know service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had a great time!!! The kids always enjoy watching the show that the chef puts on...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Slow, inattentive wait service. We informed the restaurant that we were there on a birthday, but got no special attention. We saw that other customers had birthdays recognized. Also, the chef was very basic and inexperienced, no flair, no special tricks or unique presentation that you would expect at a hibachi grill restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I was very disappointed for $200 we waited over an hour for a chef to assist us. I was very hungry when I came in and became so upset I barely had an appetite when I left. I was shocked at the type of service we received. I dont think I will ever visit this location again....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had to wait almost 20 minutes to be seated although we had an appointment. That was disappointing but it got worse because after we were finally seated we waited another 30 mins for our chef to arrive. Fortunately he was amazing and saved the day. Food was delicious thanks to Maiz our chef!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

It was My birthday. They didn't even acknowledge my birthday and I told the hosts. The cook dropped the fork then picked it up and wiped it off a couple times with a damp rag. The cook walked away from cooking to go get bowls. I had to ask for my ice cream and then the guy comes out and sings by himself. This was the worst birthday experience I have had.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything was perfect! The chef and food were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I absolutely love Benihana Mansell Rd. It's the best location for service, ambiance, & and the chefs are phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Taking my two favorite ladies out. First time at benihanas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to celebrate my birthday and the server was outstanding! He had us laughing and just enjoying ourselves! We all came from Columbus, Georgia and everyone had a ball!!! Sabrina Leonard

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was delicious and our chef was fantastic!! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I went to Benihana for a date night on 2/15/17 and our experience was not good. Our bad experience began when the chef was cooking the fried rice and placed it on my plate with a huge dollop of butter on top of the rice. I asked the chef if he could take the rice off and cook the butter into the rice and he proceeded to move the butter onto the side of my place. Next thing is when he was cooking the meat I asked for a little extra seasoning on the filet mignon and he proceeded to putting way too much salt and pepper on my wife and I steaks. At this my wife and I were unable to eat our meal so I called for the manager. She told me that he was one of her best cooks and couldn't believe that what I said was true. She said she would take care of us. We received the bill and noticed that she gave us a $20 discount. I'm not normally one to complain but considering how I spent a significant amount of money that night and my wife and I were both unable to eat our meals a $20 discount was a slap in the face. Needless to say we will not be returning to Benihana anymore. One of the worse dining experiences I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant location is good, environment is ok. Just food are very pricy consider it's just fried rice...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a blast. Brought a new addition to our family there for the first time and she absolutely loved it. We also had the BEST chef Steve. He cooked for my wife and I on our anniversary 2 years ago at the downtown location and everytime we visit there we ask for him and would be told he was not there and Sunday there he was. Needless to say, our meal was outstanding and the kids were delighted with his antics and presentation. Will definitely eat here again

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our chef was wonderful! Our server was not. Sauces and rice came well after our food had arrived. Refilling our drinks from the bar literally took 30 minutes. My husband had to find a manager to ask for a fork and our server, yet the manager never stopped by the table. We will not return. Extremely overpriced for horrible service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was very slow. Twenty minutes to get a refil on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was my first time here and I had an amazing time. Everyone was nice and the guys were funny. This is an experience you must try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Worst location of Benihana, food was not cooked correctly and the service - well no service is more like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waiter was slow bringing water, chef did not impressed me, brought 3 young adults with who have never been there before, no interaction with birthday boy. Years ago was better. Didn't like rice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was fantastic as usual. My friends tried something new this time - the spicy chicken and they were thrilled!!! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love Benihana and have been at that location several times. The food is usually very good, I think that location is the one with the best chefs, specialli the Hispanic chefs, they are even better than a Japanese chef they have or had there. However there was a change of management in that location, they have new staff and the service has declined significantly. For example, before, once we were done with our appetizers, they used to remove the plates immediately and now we had to put the plates on the side, because nobody picked them.
Also, the person at the front, who greets the customers and find the reservations is very rude. We always make a reservation there and with the old management, the wait was 15 min maximum (with reservation) and now we had to wait 35 min and we saw a person from another party asking when they were going to be seated because they had a reservation and the person at the front said: "Having a reservation is not a guarantee that you will be seated at that time" and she was very rude. I would understand 10-15 minutes wait maximum with a reservation, because sometimes they can be a little behind, but more than 30 minutes is unacceptable. And also, reservations should have priority and right now they won't seem to have priority. I will probably keep going because of the chefs, but definitely will go less frequently and never for special occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Sadly, we had too many issues at Benihana's in Alpharetta. To me, it seemed Management or owners see the restaurant as a Cash Cow, and don't care about the customer in any fashion. This is harsh words from me, as in all of my 46 years on this earth, I have never walked out of a restaurant. BENIHANA is the first! Of importance for the OPEN TABLE APP, Benihana in my honest opinion, does not care about Reservations. We arrived at 8:20 for our 8:30 Reservation. No Hostess was at the front desk until 8:35 and disappeared again for 10 minutes after checking people in... The two couples before us with 8:30 reservations were seated by 8:45... We were forgotten and people without reservations were seated before us. We were sat about 9:05... We left at 9:40, with waters and salads STILL NOT served at our table, and a chef going to a table sat 20 minutes after us. I'm sorry... Poor Service all around and the Manager honestly was clueless to what was going on, and he should be on top of the seating and moving of customers in and out of the establishment. Then, again, as we talked to him when we left, he seemed to be putting out more fires with customers than anything else, as there was a line to speak to him. What does this say about an establishment to you??? NOT GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We dined at Benihana for our son's 9th Birthday. It was his first time at Behihana. Our server was prompt and attentive and our Teppanyaki chef was fun and friendly. Our meals were quite good. Disappointed, though, that the hostess failed to communicate to our server that it was our son's Birthday even after speaking with her by phone and discussing it at our arrival. (Our OT reservation would not accept a modification for Special Comments.) Fortunately, our server heard the other party at our table wish our son HBD as they were leaving. She immediately arrived with an extra birthday surprise with a candle for our son and sang HBD . We will return for the great food and fun and communicate directly with the server for any special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Birthday Dinner...Carlos, as usual, prepared a wonderful meal!!! He is the best chef at the Alpharetta location (in my opinion). I had a good time

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I gave this location 4 stars instead of 5, because we made a reservation for 6:30PM but weren't seated until 7PM. Once we were seated, a group of folks who didn't have a reservation began eating before we did. We waited another 20 minutes before they assigned our table a chef. Besides the initial part, everything else was great! The chef was funny and did an excellent job at preparing our lobster tails and steak. Speediness is why I gave them 4 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had reservations at noon and didn't get seated till 12:20 and order not taken till 12:45.

Food is always good however service and management is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Garrido , our hibachi chef , was great at adapting to what the children found most exciting . Very good for a family feast feeling but where everyone has their own meal choices . special occasions are perfect . open festive atmosphere , reasonable price for time spent with customer and large amount of food
Hibachi side is not good for rushed meal or quiet conversations

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The manager was very rude! But the wait staff was very nice and attentive. The food taste was fair and the soda was flat. Probably wouldn't come back to this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a great time celebrating with our group! The chef was super entertaining, the food was amazing and our table was a lot of fun!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Don't waste your time. 3rd time that we've had terrible service. And the management staff could care less. We had a 6pm reservation on a Thursday night for 4 people. Didn't get seated until 6:45. The manager Frank (name we were told by our Chef) was the rudest person I've ever dealt with in a restaurant. If it wasn't for my grandmother being in town we would've left. I've never been treated so terrible at a restaurant. Such a shame because it is good food but I will never go back because of the service. We've been to quite a few Benihana's around the US and this is by the far the worst one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.