About Benihana - Alpharetta

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Alpharetta ›

good for groups (27)
special occasion (26)
great for lunch (17)
See All
kid-friendly (14)
fit for foodies (10)
romantic (8)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed the meal and the server and cook ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the meal and the server and cook was fine. At the end of the meal, I went to the ladies room and there was paper all over the floor, and it was poorly maintained. I was really taken back that the restrooms were truly in terrible condition. Toilets weren't flushed and it was very dirty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Order was taken wrong. Server was not ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Order was taken wrong. Server was not accommodating. Manager was engaged and not to the satisfaction to the other diners. Party of eight that comes about monthly, mostly with more.

Basic issue was Spicy chicken was ordered off the lunch menu and requested to have Tofu substituted for 3 orders, this is standard order for this group of vegetarians.

Business response was no because they had no way to track that inventory. It was possible to order exactly as requested but pay the dinner price.

This is unacceptable and you have lost this business and that of the peers (mostly Indian company) in the future. You have lost my business because of embarrassment for my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

WE HAD A RESERVATION AT 6:30PM AND THE W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

WE HAD A RESERVATION AT 6:30PM AND THE WE WERE NOT SEATED UNTIL 7:00P - ONCE OUR ENTIRE PARTY ARRIVED WE NOTIFIED AND THE HOSTESS AND SHE FORGOT ABOUT SEATING US. THE FOOD WAS GREAT - THE SERVICE NOT SO MUCH.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and service!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table cook was great, server was margina ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Table cook was great, server was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We have been going to this Benihana for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been going to this Benihana for 7 years to celebrate my son's birthday. We had 6:00 reservations and weren't seated until 6:45. Did not see a server until almost 7:20 and only then after we notified the manager, who wanted to blame the staff. That being said, the chef was OUTSTANDING and made up for the lack of service. Thank you Steve (chef) for making what started out as a miserable night, into a great one.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall rating of the restaurant was 5 s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall rating of the restaurant was 5 stars but the people we shared the table with brought that down. Very demanding and not friendly.

Brought my 5 & 7 year old grands for the first time. They loved the experience and the food!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a 7:00 dinner reservation for my ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a 7:00 dinner reservation for my son's birthday, but did not get seated for 40 minutes. The cook had zero personality and did not speak the entire time. My mom found a six inch hair cooked in her chicken and when the manager came over his response was "it's not my staff". We should have went to Kani House instead. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We did not sit until 30 minutes after ou ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We did not sit until 30 minutes after our reservation time. The service was slow and it was apparent they were short staffed. There were several empty tables but not enough cooks to service everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The restaurant is busy. But the bathroo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant is busy. But the bathrooms are disgusting. I would wait until you get home to go to the bathroom. We were there early and the bathroom was destroyed.

Other than that. Our waiter was friendly and good. He was training someone else and they were prompt and courteous. Our chef was hard to understand but the food he made was excellent and he knew all the flipping and tricks. He was also good to the kids.

Overall a good experience and we will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Soup served cold, forgot to serve the st ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Soup served cold, forgot to serve the steamed rice no refills on iced tea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant. T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service was HORRIBLE..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Horrible experience. Even with reservati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Horrible experience. Even with reservations, waited for hour an half before getting seated. Another hour before actually getting to order. District manager/ GM manager was rude. Didn't receive the food we order correctly and couldn't even get a drink refill. Food was great, but service wait was horrible. Never going back for over charged food we never received and small portions. I'm sticking to Kiku's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation for 2 on July 4th a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 on July 4th at 9pm and when we got there they informed us that the A/C was out and that it was very hot. We asked if they could call another restaurant and see if they could accommodate our reservation and they lady at the front just seemed like see didn't want to help us in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was fresh and tasted wonderful. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was fresh and tasted wonderful. I had the spicy tofu steaks and my husband had a steak and shrimp dish. The tofu sauce was very, very spicy which I enjoyed. I was pleased to have a vegetarian option beyond grilled vegetables!

Our only issue with our Benihana meal was the lack of pizzazz in our hibachi presentation. There was a significant amount of faking it, with our chef tapping on his utensils or the grill surface, but very little actual show. I think of Benihana as being the premier hibachi-style restaurant but even the standard tricks I see at my neighborhood hibachi were not attempted. Nothing surprising or clever was done.

Great food but don't expect a show!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for my friend's birthday. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We went there for my friend's birthday. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly. I will visit there again. They do have a variety of food, and we enjoyed our Filet Mignon and shrimp.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Benihana to celebrate my birth ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went to Benihana to celebrate my birthday. Due to the timing, it had to be a solo visit. The staff took care of me as soon as I arrived and I had a pleasant time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We always enjoy Benihana but especially ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always enjoy Benihana but especially since we started coming to the Alpharetta location. Downtown and Buckhead locations are always overbooked and crowded; Alpharetta is a larger location and we always get seated fairly quickly (even if we arrive early for reservation) and the meal service begins fairly quickly as well. We have yet to experience the bar scene (we usually have our kids with us) but is seems to be rather lively. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lot of fun and food was delicio ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a lot of fun and food was delicious. The chef was very funny and he put on an show while cooking our food. 100% recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, as usual! Drinks, food w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great, as usual! Drinks, food were excellent. Service a little slow; but manageable for lunch time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

One favorite locations. I went for my bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One favorite locations. I went for my birthday and had a delicious dinner with family. We arrived close to closing and many of the employees had already left, so service was a little slow.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is always delicious at this loc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always delicious at this location! The chef was wonderful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Although this is NOT healthy food since ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although this is NOT healthy food since all food is cooked in fat/butter, it is good for a once in awhile dining.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After an absolutely horrible experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

After an absolutely horrible experience at the Buckhead location, we ended up at the Alpharetta location. Stay as far away from that Buckhead location. Possibly the rudest service we've ever received in Atlanta. Now onto this location, which was leaps and bounds better...

We had fun at Benihana. Even though we usually go to a different hibachi restaurant, we received a gift card for Benihana so we gave it a shot.

The most impressive thing to us was their kids menu. One of our daughters prefers sushi, so having a sushi option for kids was a really nice surprise.

The food was about average and the portions served were just enough. My only caution would be for vegetarians/pescetarians: The fried rice contains chicken, so be sure to tell the server you'd like the hibachi chef to cook it without the chicken.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

the layout of the restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the layout of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing staff, great food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my first time at a Benihana and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a bit expensive, but I got a seaweed salad, shrimp, veggies, chicken, rice and two cocktails for $40. The service was AMAZING from the greeters to our waiter and chef. All around awesome dinner, and it was tons of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad all the way around

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant has really gone down hill. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fun times, good food, not so sure why th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Fun times, good food, not so sure why the negative feedback on Yelp. Just make a reservation and everything should go well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Retirement Send Off Lunch

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food and service was awesome! We dined there for lunch for a retirement lunch for my co-worker. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Event was wife's birthday. Unfortunately ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Event was wife's birthday. Unfortunately it was Monday night, day after Mother's Day. Nearly empty. Understaffed. NOT the A Team. Mgr. was unaware of Flower Delivery feature found on their website. Nearly did not get the $80 floral arrangement. Table chef made serious effort to care for us. Earned a large tip. He saved the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant Totally Not Prepared

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 1 pm. Several people were waiting. We finally got seated at 1:45. Then had to wait for the chef to start cooking for another 10 to 15 minutes. Food was good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Best Benihana in metro Atlanta

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The two downtown locations are good but way too small for the crowds that are coming to eat. Alpharetta has ample room and LOTS of tables. As always, excellent food and presentation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant has changed the availability ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Restaurant has changed the availability of the Yum Yum sauce (shrimp sauce).

They keep it in back and only serve it if you ask for it and then they only give you one small dipping amount.

I was told I would be required to pay for more than that so other people at my table ordered some and have it to me.

I am told this is a local management decision.

Not a very good for those who love the sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Reservations not honored!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We reserved a 7:30 dinner time in advance using the online site. When we arrived we were before 7:30 we waited until 7:45 and then we were told that we would not be seated until about 8:20. We then left before we wasted anymore of our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Rude waitress!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our waitress was very rude! She was short with her answers and had an attitude. I recently moved here from NY, and she is the first Georgian I have encountered with such a bad attitude! It felt like I was in NY again, and that is NOT a good thing!!!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

First timers

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have been to benihanas many times over the years. The show has become blase/ boring. They do the same thing each and every time. Your lucky if you get your chef to interact with you. Ours did but the table behind us had four kids and the chef barely spoke. The food use to be the bomb now it's mediocre. Not much flavor. Still love the fried rice. If your a first timer it would be great. We drive 45 min to get to benihanas and pass a bunch of smaller yet closer Japanese steakhouses. We are going to start trying them. Benihanas gave us some great memories but they have become to robotic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great spot!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

GREAT FOOD! The best I've had in a while. Very clean, good service, great experience. The only this I do not like is that you sit with strangers, but that is the style of this type of food. Will certainly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We arrived for a reservation and were se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We arrived for a reservation and were seated promptly, which was impressive, but the empty seating area should have given us a clue as to how the dinner would go. The server was clumsy and kept forgetting orders. She called one of the diners in our party a ma'am twice when he doesn't look or sound feminine at all. She did not refill drinks or bring extra napkins- until we had to ask 3 times- she kept forgetting. The sushi was lackluster and the food was not impressive. The chef was extremely boring, did no tricks or jokes at all. The meat was unseasoned. The rice was still crunchy and the new need to charge extra for garlic butter, yum-yum sauce and basically every sauce is foolish considering how much the menu items are. I'll stick to eating at Taki!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The manager was very rude and I will nev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The manager was very rude and I will never eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Very good gastronomic experience ! Good ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good gastronomic experience !

Good food and good service .

Just didn't understand why the price is more expensive than Benihana Atlanta ??

We paid in Atlanta usd 14,75 for a Mignon and here in Alphareta usd 25. For the same food, same restaurant chain....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.