About Benihana - Alpharetta

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta
Benihana - Alpharetta

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Alpharetta ›

Good for Groups (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Kid-friendly (16)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sat at the sushi bar. Fast service, exce ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sat at the sushi bar. Fast service, excellent sushi roll and drink

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a birthday dinner there...fabulou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a birthday dinner there...fabulous food, always a fun experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have always enjoyed Benihana but this ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have always enjoyed Benihana but this location is head and shoulders better than the other two metro Atlanta locations. The restaurant is roomy. The food is always excellent. There is plenty of parking. Just a great location.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is me and my wife's favorite place ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is me and my wife's favorite place to eat. Usually visit once a month. Good food, staff is friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite making a reservation and arrivin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Despite making a reservation and arriving with time to spare, our party of two had to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The waitress and food were good, but bat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The waitress and food were good, but bathrooms were not keep clean and they were doing maintenance right beside us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

This is the best Benihana in Atlanta

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This is the best Benihana in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

6:30 reservation. Arrived at 6:25 and ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

6:30 reservation. Arrived at 6:25 and checked in. At 6:50 I asked how long it was going to be and was told 45-minutes longer. After asking for the manager we were seated within 5-minutes. There were a lot of other people complaining about not being seated on time. The entire dining area was a real mess and only half-seated. They were extremely under-staffed. But why not at least seat people at unused tables and offer drinks and appetizers? The staff were friendly but rushed around. The cook was not like the usual hibachi experience you would expect, probably because he was under too much pressure to get the food done and move on. Food was just ok. Really sad experience for a Benihana. Bad management from the terrible condition of the grounds outside of the restaurant to the staffing inside. We will not return and would suggest going to a different hibachi. Benihana's has obviously fallen off their once very high horse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Had 6:00 reservations and was not seated ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had 6:00 reservations and was not seated until after 7:00. Front of restaurant packed with people who had reservations and were not seated. Hostess did not update those who were waiting. Restaurant understaffed. Service slow and inattentive. What we ordered was not delivered first time. Was a birthday celebration and very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Was not greeted when entering the restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Was not greeted when entering the restaurant, restroom was nasty, did not take my birthday photo, waited 30 minutes for a 7:00 reservation, didn't bring out birthday dessert or ask if I wanted dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I love Benihana I use to eat there every ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I love Benihana I use to eat there every Saturday before I started working when I eat there Wednesday it was good but it wasn't great the service sucked in the person cooking should have interacted more seems like he didn't know what he was doing the amount of food was horrible for the amount of money that was spent other then that it was ok

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Enjoyed the meal and the server and cook ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the server and cook was fine. At the end of the meal, I went to the ladies room and there was paper all over the floor, and it was poorly maintained. I was really taken back that the restrooms were truly in terrible condition. Toilets weren't flushed and it was very dirty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Order was taken wrong. Server was not ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Order was taken wrong. Server was not accommodating. Manager was engaged and not to the satisfaction to the other diners. Party of eight that comes about monthly, mostly with more.

Basic issue was Spicy chicken was ordered off the lunch menu and requested to have Tofu substituted for 3 orders, this is standard order for this group of vegetarians.

Business response was no because they had no way to track that inventory. It was possible to order exactly as requested but pay the dinner price.

This is unacceptable and you have lost this business and that of the peers (mostly Indian company) in the future. You have lost my business because of embarrassment for my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

WE HAD A RESERVATION AT 6:30PM AND THE W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

WE HAD A RESERVATION AT 6:30PM AND THE WE WERE NOT SEATED UNTIL 7:00P - ONCE OUR ENTIRE PARTY ARRIVED WE NOTIFIED AND THE HOSTESS AND SHE FORGOT ABOUT SEATING US. THE FOOD WAS GREAT - THE SERVICE NOT SO MUCH.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and service!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table cook was great, server was margina ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Table cook was great, server was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We have been going to this Benihana for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been going to this Benihana for 7 years to celebrate my son's birthday. We had 6:00 reservations and weren't seated until 6:45. Did not see a server until almost 7:20 and only then after we notified the manager, who wanted to blame the staff. That being said, the chef was OUTSTANDING and made up for the lack of service. Thank you Steve (chef) for making what started out as a miserable night, into a great one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall rating of the restaurant was 5 s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall rating of the restaurant was 5 stars but the people we shared the table with brought that down. Very demanding and not friendly.

Brought my 5 & 7 year old grands for the first time. They loved the experience and the food!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a 7:00 dinner reservation for my ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a 7:00 dinner reservation for my son's birthday, but did not get seated for 40 minutes. The cook had zero personality and did not speak the entire time. My mom found a six inch hair cooked in her chicken and when the manager came over his response was "it's not my staff". We should have went to Kani House instead. I will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We did not sit until 30 minutes after ou ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We did not sit until 30 minutes after our reservation time. The service was slow and it was apparent they were short staffed. There were several empty tables but not enough cooks to service everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

The restaurant is busy. But the bathroo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant is busy. But the bathrooms are disgusting. I would wait until you get home to go to the bathroom. We were there early and the bathroom was destroyed.

Other than that. Our waiter was friendly and good. He was training someone else and they were prompt and courteous. Our chef was hard to understand but the food he made was excellent and he knew all the flipping and tricks. He was also good to the kids.

Overall a good experience and we will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love this location. Benihana is a great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love this location. Benihana is a great spot to celebrate special occasions. We enjoyed our dining experience. The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Soup served cold, forgot to serve the st ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Soup served cold, forgot to serve the steamed rice no refills on iced tea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant. T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. The service was HORRIBLE..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Horrible experience. Even with reservati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Horrible experience. Even with reservations, waited for hour an half before getting seated. Another hour before actually getting to order. District manager/ GM manager was rude. Didn't receive the food we order correctly and couldn't even get a drink refill. Food was great, but service wait was horrible. Never going back for over charged food we never received and small portions. I'm sticking to Kiku's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation for 2 on July 4th a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 on July 4th at 9pm and when we got there they informed us that the A/C was out and that it was very hot. We asked if they could call another restaurant and see if they could accommodate our reservation and they lady at the front just seemed like see didn't want to help us in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was fresh and tasted wonderful. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was fresh and tasted wonderful. I had the spicy tofu steaks and my husband had a steak and shrimp dish. The tofu sauce was very, very spicy which I enjoyed. I was pleased to have a vegetarian option beyond grilled vegetables!

Our only issue with our Benihana meal was the lack of pizzazz in our hibachi presentation. There was a significant amount of faking it, with our chef tapping on his utensils or the grill surface, but very little actual show. I think of Benihana as being the premier hibachi-style restaurant but even the standard tricks I see at my neighborhood hibachi were not attempted. Nothing surprising or clever was done.

Great food but don't expect a show!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for my friend's birthday. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We went there for my friend's birthday. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly. I will visit there again. They do have a variety of food, and we enjoyed our Filet Mignon and shrimp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Benihana to celebrate my birth ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went to Benihana to celebrate my birthday. Due to the timing, it had to be a solo visit. The staff took care of me as soon as I arrived and I had a pleasant time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We always enjoy Benihana but especially ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always enjoy Benihana but especially since we started coming to the Alpharetta location. Downtown and Buckhead locations are always overbooked and crowded; Alpharetta is a larger location and we always get seated fairly quickly (even if we arrive early for reservation) and the meal service begins fairly quickly as well. We have yet to experience the bar scene (we usually have our kids with us) but is seems to be rather lively. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lot of fun and food was delicio ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a lot of fun and food was delicious. The chef was very funny and he put on an show while cooking our food. 100% recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, as usual! Drinks, food w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great, as usual! Drinks, food were excellent. Service a little slow; but manageable for lunch time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

One favorite locations. I went for my bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One favorite locations. I went for my birthday and had a delicious dinner with family. We arrived close to closing and many of the employees had already left, so service was a little slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is always delicious at this loc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always delicious at this location! The chef was wonderful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Although this is NOT healthy food since ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although this is NOT healthy food since all food is cooked in fat/butter, it is good for a once in awhile dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After an absolutely horrible experience ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

After an absolutely horrible experience at the Buckhead location, we ended up at the Alpharetta location. Stay as far away from that Buckhead location. Possibly the rudest service we've ever received in Atlanta. Now onto this location, which was leaps and bounds better...

We had fun at Benihana. Even though we usually go to a different hibachi restaurant, we received a gift card for Benihana so we gave it a shot.

The most impressive thing to us was their kids menu. One of our daughters prefers sushi, so having a sushi option for kids was a really nice surprise.

The food was about average and the portions served were just enough. My only caution would be for vegetarians/pescetarians: The fried rice contains chicken, so be sure to tell the server you'd like the hibachi chef to cook it without the chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

the layout of the restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the layout of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing staff, great food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my first time at a Benihana and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a bit expensive, but I got a seaweed salad, shrimp, veggies, chicken, rice and two cocktails for $40. The service was AMAZING from the greeters to our waiter and chef. All around awesome dinner, and it was tons of fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad all the way around

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant has really gone down hill. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fun times, good food, not so sure why th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Fun times, good food, not so sure why the negative feedback on Yelp. Just make a reservation and everything should go well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.