About Benihana - Alpharetta

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chef Cooking - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
California Roll - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Chef Cooking - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Spicy Tuna Roll - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Sushi - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Filet And Chicken - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Filet And Colossal Shrimp - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Hibachi Chateaubriand - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Hibachi Tuna - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Steak And Lobster - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Trio - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Lunch Boat - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Steak And Chicken - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Chef - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Chef Trick - Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA
Benihana - Alpharetta, Alpharetta, GA

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.4

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Kid-friendly (16)
See All
Fun (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Family Style (11)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time celebrating with our gr ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had a great time celebrating with our group! The chef was super entertaining, the food was amazing and our table was a lot of fun!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't waste your time. 3rd time that we' ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Don't waste your time. 3rd time that we've had terrible service. And the management staff could care less. We had a 6pm reservation on a Thursday night for 4 people. Didn't get seated until 6:45. The manager Frank (name we were told by our Chef) was the rudest person I've ever dealt with in a restaurant. If it wasn't for my grandmother being in town we would've left. I've never been treated so terrible at a restaurant. Such a shame because it is good food but I will never go back because of the service. We've been to quite a few Benihana's around the US and this is by the far the worst one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food, great service! The picture ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service! The picture for my birthday was a nice touch as was the dessert.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was horrible! He took forever t ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The chef was horrible! He took forever to make our food and it was burnt/over cooked. Two other tables who were seated after, ordered after us, and had the same amount of people at their table finished before we were even done getting our actual entrees. To top it all off the place is nasty. There was food all over the floor like it hadn't been swept all day, walls had stains and holes. I go to Benihana's often and this is the worse experience I've ever had, won't be going back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

My experience with the chef was great my ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My experience with the chef was great my server was awful she did not check on us forgot rice which she did not come around until check time, no refills, and forgot my husbands birthday and sang to someone else!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We made a reservation for 7pm for 5 peop ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We made a reservation for 7pm for 5 people. However once we got there we had to find a host to check in after waiting for several minutes at the host stand! Then we didn't get seated until 50 minutes after our reservation. Unacceptable for a reservation to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Really had a good time.. Nice people and ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really had a good time.. Nice people and excellent service from waiter and chef. One of our favorite places...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is comfort and relaxing. Great ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

The place is comfort and relaxing. Great food, cook, server. Love the drinks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This location discriminates against age. ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This location discriminates against age. I took my family for my son's birthday- we were treated well, wished happy birthday, revived a complimentary desert and had a great evening.

So I book a reservation for my daughter and her friends to celebrate HER birthday 5 days later and they are rushed, not attended to and she never received a birthday desert even though when making the reservation I noted it was her birthday and her friends alerted the service staff as well.

I gave them enough money to tip well, they were dressed nice and are a great bunch of kids who were hoping to enjoy a birthday dinner for my 15 year old.

If they don't plan to treat all customers equally, maybe post a sign that states they discriminate against age so we know what to expect. We will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The service was horrible and the mangers ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was horrible and the mangers don't care.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

The new chef Carlos was great he cooked ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

The new chef Carlos was great he cooked our food to perfection! I will request him from here on out...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but the service could ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great but the service could definitely be better. We had to wait awhile for our table even though we had a reservation. And then we had to wait a long time to order. If it had not been for all of the waiting it would have been a better experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing. Food was marginal, the co ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointing. Food was marginal, the cook was not into it at all, no entertainment at all the atmosphere was awful and the server showed his face only twice throughout the meal we had to flag him down for refills. Benihana use to be known for a fun time and great food. It's been years since I'd been there and it is nothing like what it use to be. Total let down!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

It was very busy even with reservation, ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was very busy even with reservation, and we have to wait to long to be seated. The hostesses were not friendly and didn't care about our needs.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Casual, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We arrived at 6:20 for our 6:30 reservat ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

We arrived at 6:20 for our 6:30 reservation. There were several groups there who did not have reservations and more came in while we waited. At 7 pm all others who did not have reservations as well as those who came in after us had been seated. When I asked the hostess why those who came in behind us were seated before us she said she was doing what the computer told her. When I asked how long before we would be seated she had no clue.

Poor customer service and an arrogant attitude. We will not visit this establishment again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

After waiting 1-1/2 hours to be seated, ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

After waiting 1-1/2 hours to be seated, everyone that arrived after us and seated at the same time were done with their dinner as ours started

Grated a small discount was provided for their error but for a birthday celebration with friends more should have been done as we were starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Worst service ever. Had reservations for ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Worst service ever. Had reservations for 6 and arrived 15 mins early. Was seated shortly after 6 but didn't get to place drink order including water until 625. The salad that is included with your meal was served at 6:35. My chicken did not hit the grill until 711. We were there for a birthday and they did not do the picture like they normally do. Had to ask for refills multiple times. Took over two hours and with an infant and a three-year-old that's hard. My biggest problem is the fact that we sat at the table for 25 minutes before anyone came over and brought water or took our drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Our party arrived before our scheduled r ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our party arrived before our scheduled reservation. We waited over an hour and was never seated. We were there to celebrate a birthday and my family was very disappointed. It appears that we won't be able to redeem Birthday coupon due to the day of the week and dinner restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Two of my friends brought me for my Birt ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Two of my friends brought me for my Birthday Dinner and we enjoyed it very much. I was disappointed that we didn't get my Birthday picture taken, which I always received every year when I came for my Birthday.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food great celebration

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food great celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Well, to be fair, it was Christmas day. ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Well, to be fair, it was Christmas day. Honorable mention, do not go weekend of Nov 12-14th either. It is everyone's birthday! (count back to Feb 14th).

Not sure if it is just hard to staff anymore, but the last two times the wait just to get a server and chef is quite long. The food shtick is old. But to the new little kids, it's cool I suppose.

The family next to us had a hair in their sushi. The management does apologize and make amends. It just seems that they have been having a hard time lately. It used to be more efficient. They ran out of items. Just not so great anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Always love the food and if you get a ta ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always love the food and if you get a table with people that like to converse and the chef is talkative, then you get a great experience. They were a bit short handed on Christmas night but overall it was a good night and I didn't have to cook dinner! Awesome sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Christmas dinner with friends.

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always a treat. The chef wa ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is always a treat. The chef was a very good entertainer and a great chef. The price was reasonable. A treat for Christmas Eve.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best service we have ever had at this lo ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best service we have ever had at this location. Seated quickly. Prompt waiter. Really good chef.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had placed a reservation for 6:30pm fo ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

I had placed a reservation for 6:30pm for my wife and our children. Upon entering there was no seats in the waiting area and no one to be found. 10 min later a hostess came to the stand and I told her of my reservation and she said that my reservation was for two days later then I showed her my phone and she said it would be a minute. 15 min later I approached the manager and he took me back to the hostess who said I never checked in. I should have ejected then! We finally got seated then we waited another 30 min to get our bowl of soup then 20 min for chef. His table show was the lamest I've ever witnessed At a hibachi. We spent over two hours and almost 200$. Food was ok but it took everything I had not to melt down in front of my children. I also used the restroom which I don't think had been cleaned in a long long time. In my opinion this restaurant should probably just close. The staff seemed to hate their jobs and it's a shame. I won't be back and I urge you all to make a different choice than here. I hate to make such a bad review but it was probably one of my top five worst dinning experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

I love coming to Benihana. The food is ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

I love coming to Benihana. The food is always delicious and I always get Rocky's Choice. I noticed that the chicken was different this time. Not necessarily bad, but just different tasting. I love the chicken fried rice so much that I always order a double order. It was superb as always. Our service was a bit off this time, but we still had a good time overall.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I had a 12:30pm reservation but no one c ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had a 12:30pm reservation but no one came to the front to seat us until almost 1pm. The waitress kept coming to see if we needed anything but forgot my extra mustard sauce every time, finally someone else brought me my sauce but I was pretty much finished with my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was ok compared to similar resta ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was ok compared to similar restaurants. Chef could have put on better show

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent dining experience at the Hibac ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent dining experience at the Hibachi table, the chef was ver entertaining and attentive.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service wasn't so great. I had a reserva ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service wasn't so great. I had a reservation and still took about 15 minutes to get seated even though there were open tables. It took the waitress about 15 minutes to even come to our table to take our food orders. Other than that, the experience was great. Chef made us laugh and the food was great.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Staff was friendly and very accommodatin ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Staff was friendly and very accommodating my Son loved it for his birthday.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place ever to spend quality time an ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best place ever to spend quality time and excellent food.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, , Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was so terrible, it reach ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our experience was so terrible, it reached comedic proportions. 3 months ago the service had gotten so bad I said I'd never go back. But we did. This was the final time, ever. We waited for 20 minutes for someone to get our drinks, and that only happened after I complained. There was no show from the "chef" - he cooked the meal as fast as he could without entertainment. When the "chef" fist came to the table, the party next to us had an appetizer and they asked him if it was vegetable tempura or shrimp tempura. The "chef" said "how would I know- I don't know what you ordered" and starting cooking. I almost fell out of my chair. It took me 40 minutes to get a refill on my wine, for which I asked three people, and one was the manager. The manager said he sent the bartender home and he didn't know where the bottle of wine was I was drinking was. I asked for extra "yum" sauce when I ordered. I was very explicit about wanting a lot. It came after I was done with my food and I complained about it 4 times. I asked the manager for the sauce at the same time I asked for the wine, and he said there was a policy change and he had to charge me. I laughed and said I didn't care, and that I was spending 35 dollars on my entrée and 16 per glass of wine, why would I care about whatever he was going to charge for sauce. It's a little absurd to charge for sauce, but hey, whatever they need to do to protect their declining revenue due to their awful service. Anyway, the finally sauce came when I was done. Then the manager asked if everything was ok and I told him the food was good but there wasn't a show (which my little daughter loves). He literally yelled across the restaurant at our server to ask who the "chef" was. He then started yelling at our "chef" across the restaurant telling him to apologize to us for not doing a show. It's funny to note the "chef" simply an ignored the manager. The party seated with us had their own similar problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We enjoy celebrations at Benihana becaus ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoy celebrations at Benihana because the entertainment is engaging and service is so good. NOT ANY MORE. What a disappointment. The chef was not engaging. The service was inattentive. The food was ok. Last time for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Be prepared to sit with people who you d ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Be prepared to sit with people who you don't know...and know that that could really change the experience...and not for the good. My husband and I have had hibachi at other places and I have always wanted to try Benihana. Herd great things. The food was fair, but looking at the table next to us the chef was more engaged, prepared the food in an order that was logical, and was faster with his preparation. Our waitress was nice, but extremely slow and had too many tables. Would not go back unless it was to do the chef class. This may be fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great hibachi chef truly wonderful! Ser ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great hibachi chef truly wonderful! Service staff was a bit slow on checking up on our table but overall still a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

New chef, Carlos....prepared the most de ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

New chef, Carlos....prepared the most delicious meal for my daughter and I. I frequent this location a lot, this was the first time I've ever had the most flavorful, we'll seasoned tasty meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed dining at Benihana as always. T ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Enjoyed dining at Benihana as always.

Thanks to your staff for another wonderful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very entertaining. Went for our son's 21 ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very entertaining. Went for our son's 21st birthday. Coda was excellent server, Steve was great Chef.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.