About Benihana - Alpharetta

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.4

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Fun (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Family Style (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We had to wait almost 20 minutes to be seated although we had an appointment. That was disappointing but it got worse because after we were finally seated we waited another 30 mins for our chef to arrive. Fortunately he was amazing and saved the day. Food was delicious thanks to Maiz our chef!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

It was My birthday. They didn't even acknowledge my birthday and I told the hosts. The cook dropped the fork then picked it up and wiped it off a couple times with a damp rag. The cook walked away from cooking to go get bowls. I had to ask for my ice cream and then the guy comes out and sings by himself. This was the worst birthday experience I have had.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect! The chef and food were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely love Benihana Mansell Rd. It's the best location for service, ambiance, & and the chefs are phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Taking my two favorite ladies out. First time at benihanas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I went to celebrate my birthday and the server was outstanding! He had us laughing and just enjoying ourselves! We all came from Columbus, Georgia and everyone had a ball!!! Sabrina Leonard

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was delicious and our chef was fantastic!! I will definitely go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I went to Benihana for a date night on 2/15/17 and our experience was not good. Our bad experience began when the chef was cooking the fried rice and placed it on my plate with a huge dollop of butter on top of the rice. I asked the chef if he could take the rice off and cook the butter into the rice and he proceeded to move the butter onto the side of my place. Next thing is when he was cooking the meat I asked for a little extra seasoning on the filet mignon and he proceeded to putting way too much salt and pepper on my wife and I steaks. At this my wife and I were unable to eat our meal so I called for the manager. She told me that he was one of her best cooks and couldn't believe that what I said was true. She said she would take care of us. We received the bill and noticed that she gave us a $20 discount. I'm not normally one to complain but considering how I spent a significant amount of money that night and my wife and I were both unable to eat our meals a $20 discount was a slap in the face. Needless to say we will not be returning to Benihana anymore. One of the worse dining experiences I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant location is good, environment is ok. Just food are very pricy consider it's just fried rice...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a blast. Brought a new addition to our family there for the first time and she absolutely loved it. We also had the BEST chef Steve. He cooked for my wife and I on our anniversary 2 years ago at the downtown location and everytime we visit there we ask for him and would be told he was not there and Sunday there he was. Needless to say, our meal was outstanding and the kids were delighted with his antics and presentation. Will definitely eat here again

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our chef was wonderful! Our server was not. Sauces and rice came well after our food had arrived. Refilling our drinks from the bar literally took 30 minutes. My husband had to find a manager to ask for a fork and our server, yet the manager never stopped by the table. We will not return. Extremely overpriced for horrible service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was very slow. Twenty minutes to get a refil on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was my first time here and I had an amazing time. Everyone was nice and the guys were funny. This is an experience you must try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Worst location of Benihana, food was not cooked correctly and the service - well no service is more like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waiter was slow bringing water, chef did not impressed me, brought 3 young adults with who have never been there before, no interaction with birthday boy. Years ago was better. Didn't like rice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was fantastic as usual. My friends tried something new this time - the spicy chicken and they were thrilled!!! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love Benihana and have been at that location several times. The food is usually very good, I think that location is the one with the best chefs, specialli the Hispanic chefs, they are even better than a Japanese chef they have or had there. However there was a change of management in that location, they have new staff and the service has declined significantly. For example, before, once we were done with our appetizers, they used to remove the plates immediately and now we had to put the plates on the side, because nobody picked them.

Also, the person at the front, who greets the customers and find the reservations is very rude. We always make a reservation there and with the old management, the wait was 15 min maximum (with reservation) and now we had to wait 35 min and we saw a person from another party asking when they were going to be seated because they had a reservation and the person at the front said: "Having a reservation is not a guarantee that you will be seated at that time" and she was very rude. I would understand 10-15 minutes wait maximum with a reservation, because sometimes they can be a little behind, but more than 30 minutes is unacceptable. And also, reservations should have priority and right now they won't seem to have priority. I will probably keep going because of the chefs, but definitely will go less frequently and never for special occasions.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Sadly, we had too many issues at Benihana's in Alpharetta. To me, it seemed Management or owners see the restaurant as a Cash Cow, and don't care about the customer in any fashion. This is harsh words from me, as in all of my 46 years on this earth, I have never walked out of a restaurant. BENIHANA is the first! Of importance for the OPEN TABLE APP, Benihana in my honest opinion, does not care about Reservations. We arrived at 8:20 for our 8:30 Reservation. No Hostess was at the front desk until 8:35 and disappeared again for 10 minutes after checking people in... The two couples before us with 8:30 reservations were seated by 8:45... We were forgotten and people without reservations were seated before us. We were sat about 9:05... We left at 9:40, with waters and salads STILL NOT served at our table, and a chef going to a table sat 20 minutes after us. I'm sorry... Poor Service all around and the Manager honestly was clueless to what was going on, and he should be on top of the seating and moving of customers in and out of the establishment. Then, again, as we talked to him when we left, he seemed to be putting out more fires with customers than anything else, as there was a line to speak to him. What does this say about an establishment to you??? NOT GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We dined at Benihana for our son's 9th Birthday. It was his first time at Behihana. Our server was prompt and attentive and our Teppanyaki chef was fun and friendly. Our meals were quite good. Disappointed, though, that the hostess failed to communicate to our server that it was our son's Birthday even after speaking with her by phone and discussing it at our arrival. (Our OT reservation would not accept a modification for Special Comments.) Fortunately, our server heard the other party at our table wish our son HBD as they were leaving. She immediately arrived with an extra birthday surprise with a candle for our son and sang HBD . We will return for the great food and fun and communicate directly with the server for any special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Birthday Dinner...Carlos, as usual, prepared a wonderful meal!!! He is the best chef at the Alpharetta location (in my opinion). I had a good time

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I gave this location 4 stars instead of 5, because we made a reservation for 6:30PM but weren't seated until 7PM. Once we were seated, a group of folks who didn't have a reservation began eating before we did. We waited another 20 minutes before they assigned our table a chef. Besides the initial part, everything else was great! The chef was funny and did an excellent job at preparing our lobster tails and steak. Speediness is why I gave them 4 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had reservations at noon and didn't get seated till 12:20 and order not taken till 12:45.

Food is always good however service and management is terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Garrido , our hibachi chef , was great at adapting to what the children found most exciting . Very good for a family feast feeling but where everyone has their own meal choices . special occasions are perfect . open festive atmosphere , reasonable price for time spent with customer and large amount of food

Hibachi side is not good for rushed meal or quiet conversations

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The manager was very rude! But the wait staff was very nice and attentive. The food taste was fair and the soda was flat. Probably wouldn't come back to this location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a great time celebrating with our group! The chef was super entertaining, the food was amazing and our table was a lot of fun!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Don't waste your time. 3rd time that we've had terrible service. And the management staff could care less. We had a 6pm reservation on a Thursday night for 4 people. Didn't get seated until 6:45. The manager Frank (name we were told by our Chef) was the rudest person I've ever dealt with in a restaurant. If it wasn't for my grandmother being in town we would've left. I've never been treated so terrible at a restaurant. Such a shame because it is good food but I will never go back because of the service. We've been to quite a few Benihana's around the US and this is by the far the worst one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food, great service! The picture for my birthday was a nice touch as was the dessert.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The chef was horrible! He took forever to make our food and it was burnt/over cooked. Two other tables who were seated after, ordered after us, and had the same amount of people at their table finished before we were even done getting our actual entrees. To top it all off the place is nasty. There was food all over the floor like it hadn't been swept all day, walls had stains and holes. I go to Benihana's often and this is the worse experience I've ever had, won't be going back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My experience with the chef was great my server was awful she did not check on us forgot rice which she did not come around until check time, no refills, and forgot my husbands birthday and sang to someone else!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We made a reservation for 7pm for 5 people. However once we got there we had to find a host to check in after waiting for several minutes at the host stand! Then we didn't get seated until 50 minutes after our reservation. Unacceptable for a reservation to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really had a good time.. Nice people and excellent service from waiter and chef. One of our favorite places...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The place is comfort and relaxing. Great food, cook, server. Love the drinks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This location discriminates against age. I took my family for my son's birthday- we were treated well, wished happy birthday, revived a complimentary desert and had a great evening.

So I book a reservation for my daughter and her friends to celebrate HER birthday 5 days later and they are rushed, not attended to and she never received a birthday desert even though when making the reservation I noted it was her birthday and her friends alerted the service staff as well.

I gave them enough money to tip well, they were dressed nice and are a great bunch of kids who were hoping to enjoy a birthday dinner for my 15 year old.

If they don't plan to treat all customers equally, maybe post a sign that states they discriminate against age so we know what to expect. We will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was horrible and the mangers don't care.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The new chef Carlos was great he cooked our food to perfection! I will request him from here on out...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great but the service could definitely be better. We had to wait awhile for our table even though we had a reservation. And then we had to wait a long time to order. If it had not been for all of the waiting it would have been a better experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Would have been horrible but they did serve alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointing. Food was marginal, the cook was not into it at all, no entertainment at all the atmosphere was awful and the server showed his face only twice throughout the meal we had to flag him down for refills. Benihana use to be known for a fun time and great food. It's been years since I'd been there and it is nothing like what it use to be. Total let down!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was very busy even with reservation, and we have to wait to long to be seated. The hostesses were not friendly and didn't care about our needs.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Casual, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We arrived at 6:20 for our 6:30 reservation. There were several groups there who did not have reservations and more came in while we waited. At 7 pm all others who did not have reservations as well as those who came in after us had been seated. When I asked the hostess why those who came in behind us were seated before us she said she was doing what the computer told her. When I asked how long before we would be seated she had no clue.

Poor customer service and an arrogant attitude. We will not visit this establishment again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

After waiting 1-1/2 hours to be seated, everyone that arrived after us and seated at the same time were done with their dinner as ours started

Grated a small discount was provided for their error but for a birthday celebration with friends more should have been done as we were starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Worst service ever. Had reservations for 6 and arrived 15 mins early. Was seated shortly after 6 but didn't get to place drink order including water until 625. The salad that is included with your meal was served at 6:35. My chicken did not hit the grill until 711. We were there for a birthday and they did not do the picture like they normally do. Had to ask for refills multiple times. Took over two hours and with an infant and a three-year-old that's hard. My biggest problem is the fact that we sat at the table for 25 minutes before anyone came over and brought water or took our drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our party arrived before our scheduled reservation. We waited over an hour and was never seated. We were there to celebrate a birthday and my family was very disappointed. It appears that we won't be able to redeem Birthday coupon due to the day of the week and dinner restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Two of my friends brought me for my Birthday Dinner and we enjoyed it very much. I was disappointed that we didn't get my Birthday picture taken, which I always received every year when I came for my Birthday.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food great celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Always love the food and if you get a table with people that like to converse and the chef is talkative, then you get a great experience. They were a bit short handed on Christmas night but overall it was a good night and I didn't have to cook dinner! Awesome sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Well, to be fair, it was Christmas day. Honorable mention, do not go weekend of Nov 12-14th either. It is everyone's birthday! (count back to Feb 14th).

Not sure if it is just hard to staff anymore, but the last two times the wait just to get a server and chef is quite long. The food shtick is old. But to the new little kids, it's cool I suppose.

The family next to us had a hair in their sushi. The management does apologize and make amends. It just seems that they have been having a hard time lately. It used to be more efficient. They ran out of items. Just not so great anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is always a treat. The chef was a very good entertainer and a great chef. The price was reasonable. A treat for Christmas Eve.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best service we have ever had at this location. Seated quickly. Prompt waiter. Really good chef.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.