About Benihana - Alpharetta

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

The More You Give, The More You Get

Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017. Promo Cards valid 1/2/18 – 3/31/18. Special valid Nov 14, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (23)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 9 hours ago

Extremely horrible experience.. The host wouldn't seat my party of 3 that I made a reservation for because the third guests was running late..
The waitress was clueless.. not attentive at all.
The cook over cooked the food.. Calamari over cooked, steak over cooked..
It took a total of 2 hours to complete that table and this was during lunch..
Lunch duet is $14.80. Waitress brings bill for $17.80. When asked why it wasn't $14.80, the waitress said she assumed I wanted the premium steak and that's what she placed the order for.. manager comes out and takes $2 off, which still isn't the correct price.. Total disaster!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Cooks called in sick running 2 to 3 hours behind. Had leave,a lot customers leaving

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Always fun but it was a Bday special, it was supposed to include Sherbet etc. there was another Bday person at our table too. Neither got but we didn't bother asking to get it because we knew the service would be so slow to get around to it and we were there on a work night. There must be a staffing problem. Looked as if and the service was as if you were way under staffed? Our food and drink orders appeared to be taken by the manager not wait staff and we had to sit and wait until a cook chef at our table could get there. We noticed the table across from waited even much longer. Additional wait to get our bill to leave. I'm assuming the short staff was because we were there on a Monday night. If this had been a full house weekend it would have been unmanageable I'm sure. Otherwise, the experience was fun and the food was good as always. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

It was great I love this restaurant so glad I could come again.😊👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were treated to a splendid time for three children and five adults celebrating my two year old grandson's birthday. We were lucky to have a chef with an engaging personality and a server who made sure we had everything we wanted. Highly recommended for Sunday lunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Service had gone downhill. The regular staff is no longer there and the current staff doesn't seem to want to be bothered and are at inadequate levels. We had to get up to ask for drinks, refills, and go to wait station to pay the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2017

My husband and I ordered the jumbo shrimp along with their chicken fried rice. Delicious, will return and order it again. Our chef was outstanding , cooking everything just the way we liked it. We also enjoyed having a conversation with him. Asking how long he has been a chef, you could tell he loved his job. The waitress was very sweet too. The management stopped by our table, making sure we were enjoying everything. He was from Chicago so he made us feel at home. It was my birthday and they made me feel special. Go to Benihana you won’t be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

EXCELLENT! Service and food were great on a busy Saturday night! Enjoyed it!!!!
Highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Benihanas changed their prices. I had the teriyaki steak and a pina colada and boyfriend had the chicken and rice and our bill was $87.00!!! And we aren't cheap skates we travel the world and have been to all kinds of restaurants both cheap and expensive and we just a) been to benihanas before at other locations and it's never been that much and b) we would've went somewhere nicer if we were going to spend $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Worst experience ever! I usually go to this location for my birthday every year but never again. Our server and the service was the absolute worst. She never came back to the table for anything. We had to tell her we didn't get our soup after the cook had already put other food on our plates. We asked for water, never got it. Our cook had to keep leaving the grill to do the servers job since she didn't do it. Never got the green tea or ice cream. The next time we saw our server was when she was bringing to go trays to us that no one asked for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As usual did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I will start by saying we have never had a good experience at this location but somehow we manage to make our way back. This particular night my fiancé and I made a reservation and we're sat immediately upon our arrival....BUT WE SAT 20 minutes without being greeted by ANYONE. I had to make my drink at the table since the bartender put I double jack and ginger ale in separate glasses where my fiancé had to hunt someone down for an extra glass and lime. The couple at the table with us waited an extremely long time for their drinks from the bar. I'm normally lenient when it comes to service since i am in the industry but each and every time I am disappointed here.
On to the food. My soup was barely warmed as was everyone else's at the table. New soup was brought out finally. I will say our chef was beyond amazing which was about the only good thing I can say about the experience. O and the kid at our table was cute......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was much nicer than I expected and hope we go again sometime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Quality of food taste is very good and prices high - min $100 for 3 w/o alcohol. Service and staff workers are w/o experience. Always a miss match. Hostess and wait staff are fast food quality while menu prices are white table. Customer expectations should be low. We are always disappointed. Food taste is good but we will only go on a special occasion once a year it is still our sons favorite place for now anyway. A real shame. I think people would make this a regular sludge in their monthly dining out if staff and experience were as good as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Cook was great! The collosal shrimp, scallops and lobster were delicious? 😋😋

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Under trained cooks and terrible service . Really not worth this visit. There are better hibachi options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Horrible service. Everytime we go here there is always something wrong. We keep coming back just because food is great! We will be going to a different location next time. We are done giving this place a chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

DO NOT COME HERE !!! The manager is extremely rude. You have to wait an hour to be SEATED even if you make a reservation. All I wanted was to celebrate my 21st birthday with my family. I am extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love this Benihana location!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2017

There was a time where I would have HIGHLY recommended this Benihana location but NO LONGER!!! This was awful. I am not sure what has happened but it is no longer a go to place for us. We will now drive to the Buckhead or Downtown Atlanta location. Service was not good because our poor server had to many tables to handle. She was sweet but couldn't give her best to all the tables she was manning. The chef was adequate. The food he prepared did have good flavor but again there was something missing. Sorry that it has changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great experience. Possibly created a future husband and wife couple based from it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Made a 6:30pm reservation for my sons birthday. By 7:30 they still had not seated us. We left the restaurant and went to a different Japanese place with no wait. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 24, 2017

You go to hibachi restaurant and play the extra price for the show. The cook we got was not Asian and had no experience. If I want to just watch my food being cooked on a griddle I can go to waffle house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My wife wanted to go for her birthday and they managed to mess up her order pretty poorly. Management gave us a meager discount that didn't even cover a round of drinks and my wife cried on the way home. Everyone was just going through the motions. We will never return to this Benihana again. If you're going for a special occasion take note that they don't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Had to wait over an hour and we had reservations it was my daughter's birthday.

The wait staff was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 15, 2017

only 2 servers in the place-food service was slow, drink service was slow. They did not take a birthday pic like they usually do and gave me a huge hassle about using my chefs table birthday certificate. Manager was clueless in all situations. Many unhappy diners in addition to us. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Terrible Experience soup was cold, the server stated there was no salad dressing the chef was did not know how to cook, terrible experience , rice was flying everywhere the bowls in which he put rice were wet as though no one had dried them; me and my party left before any other terrible things good occur. The manager's response was terrible I told him a fish stinks from the head down meaning the restaurant and experience is terrible because management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Overall had a great time at Benihana's. The only thing that could have been better was how long it took us to be seated. We made a reservation through OpenTable. We arrived a few minutes before the reservation and were told it was a 20 minute wait. I do not understand why make a reservation if we are still going to have to wait. Other than that, we had a fun time! They were very accommodating with my food allergies. The food and "show " were very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Took my son for his 15th birthday and invited four of his best friends along with his dad and mom, He wanted a night to remember and always thought it would be cool to have food cooked right in front of him lol, We thank you for allowing him to catch his food that the chef tossed his way and making a heart with the dinner rice. My son smiled all night :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service Great Cooks and very cultural. It's good to train someone else instead of Japanese😄

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My family and friend made this experience the best . Our server was TYLER he was not accurate while taking our order . Tyler seems as though he was in a rush while taking our order . Tyler barley came and checked on our table. The service was a dissatisfaction all together .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Daughters 21St Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The customer service has gotten so much better from previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The wait was too long to be seated when we had a reservation. The sever forgot the other guest at our table order sooo many times. The cook didn't know what to cook because the orders weren't clear. Checking out of this place was the worse. The waiter said it was a new system and he came back to the table to get our order AGAIN so he could print our checks out. Maybe he was not feeling well. It was my boyfriends birthday, so they did sing for him. But I was ready to go. We had already waited so long to get food and checks. This was my first time and it was not good. Will not return to this location. Maybe the one downtown will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food cooked by Maiz was very good, however the service was lacking. Difficult to get our water refilled, 20 minutes just to get our bill after asking repeatedly. Not certain I'd be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Having visited this location several times before, I was disappointed by the level of service we received. Normally appetizers, soup and salad are brought out before the chef comes to the table to prepare the main meal. We received our drinks and later soup, but no appetizers or salads before the chef arrived. Drinks were not refilled, and the chef did not have what he needed and actually had to leave the table to search out the waitress for help. Only after a complaint to the manager did we get our salads and drink refills, but still no appetizer we had ordered. The chef was wonderful, the food was plentiful and tasty, but the service was very poor. Our appetizer did come at the end of our meal--and was cold.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The people at the table we were seated with were very nice. The service was excellent. The chef that we had putting our food together for all those at our table needed a little more practice. He was very nice but we could see he was new at it. Couldn't hear him very well because he spoke very quietly. Burned the zucchini, did kinda messy job making the re-fried rice, over grilled our shrimp but did an excellent job on the onions. We ate everything knowing it was ok but not up to Benihann's real chef cooking. I'm sure in time he will master everything because he told us he loves his job. We will return in the near future and order the colossal shrimp again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Terrible service, waited 40 minutes for drinks that never came. They changed our table and never came back to even give us water. Had to walk out, terrible service, we had a reservation and it was like we were not even there to the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.