About Benihana - Alpharetta

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! If you’ve never been to Benihana before, let us tell you what you can expect: Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups of eight to ten, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood.



Or you can visit our sushi lounge where a talented sushi chef will prepare the freshest sashimi, maki and signature sushi rolls with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine. Smaller tables and more intimate seating is available in the lounge or bar on a first-come, first-served basis, whether you’re looking to enjoy one of our delicious Benihana Teppanyaki entrées or our amazing selection of sushi!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Restaurants in Alpharetta ›

special occasion (24)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (14)
See All
kid-friendly (12)
fit for foodies (10)
hot spot (7)
romantic (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

One favorite locations. I went for my bi ...

Dined 4 days ago

One favorite locations. I went for my birthday and had a delicious dinner with family. We arrived close to closing and many of the employees had already left, so service was a little slow.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2

The food is always delicious at this loc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always delicious at this location! The chef was wonderful as well.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Although this is NOT healthy food since ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Although this is NOT healthy food since all food is cooked in fat/butter, it is good for a once in awhile dining.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

After an absolutely horrible experience ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

After an absolutely horrible experience at the Buckhead location, we ended up at the Alpharetta location. Stay as far away from that Buckhead location. Possibly the rudest service we've ever received in Atlanta. Now onto this location, which was leaps and bounds better... We had fun at Benihana. Even though we usually go to a different hibachi restaurant, we received a gift card for Benihana so we gave it a shot. The most impressive thing to us was their kids menu. One of our daughters prefers sushi, so having a sushi option for kids was a really nice surprise. The food was about average and the portions served were just enough. My only caution would be for vegetarians/pescetarians: The fried rice contains chicken, so be sure to tell the server you'd like the hibachi chef to cook it without the chicken.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

the layout of the restaurant

Dined on June 18, 2016

the layout of the restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing staff, great food

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my first time at a Benihana and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a bit expensive, but I got a seaweed salad, shrimp, veggies, chicken, rice and two cocktails for $40. The service was AMAZING from the greeters to our waiter and chef. All around awesome dinner, and it was tons of fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Bad all the way around

Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant has really gone down hill. Won't be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fun times, good food, not so sure why th ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Fun times, good food, not so sure why the negative feedback on Yelp. Just make a reservation and everything should go well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Retirement Send Off Lunch

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Food and service was awesome! We dined there for lunch for a retirement lunch for my co-worker. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Event was wife's birthday. Unfortunately ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Event was wife's birthday. Unfortunately it was Monday night, day after Mother's Day. Nearly empty. Understaffed. NOT the A Team. Mgr. was unaware of Flower Delivery feature found on their website. Nearly did not get the $80 floral arrangement. Table chef made serious effort to care for us. Earned a large tip. He saved the evening.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Restaurant Totally Not Prepared

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 1 pm. Several people were waiting. We finally got seated at 1:45. Then had to wait for the chef to start cooking for another 10 to 15 minutes. Food was good however.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Benihana in metro Atlanta

Dined on May 7, 2016

The two downtown locations are good but way too small for the crowds that are coming to eat. Alpharetta has ample room and LOTS of tables. As always, excellent food and presentation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

Restaurant has changed the availability ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Restaurant has changed the availability of the Yum Yum sauce (shrimp sauce). They keep it in back and only serve it if you ask for it and then they only give you one small dipping amount. I was told I would be required to pay for more than that so other people at my table ordered some and have it to me. I am told this is a local management decision. Not a very good for those who love the sauce.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reservations not honored!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We reserved a 7:30 dinner time in advance using the online site. When we arrived we were before 7:30 we waited until 7:45 and then we were told that we would not be seated until about 8:20. We then left before we wasted anymore of our time.

food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Rude waitress!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our waitress was very rude! She was short with her answers and had an attitude. I recently moved here from NY, and she is the first Georgian I have encountered with such a bad attitude! It felt like I was in NY again, and that is NOT a good thing!!!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

First timers

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have been to benihanas many times over the years. The show has become blase/ boring. They do the same thing each and every time. Your lucky if you get your chef to interact with you. Ours did but the table behind us had four kids and the chef barely spoke. The food use to be the bomb now it's mediocre. Not much flavor. Still love the fried rice. If your a first timer it would be great. We drive 45 min to get to benihanas and pass a bunch of smaller yet closer Japanese steakhouses. We are going to start trying them. Benihanas gave us some great memories but they have become to robotic

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great spot!

Dined on April 23, 2016

GREAT FOOD! The best I've had in a while. Very clean, good service, great experience. The only this I do not like is that you sit with strangers, but that is the style of this type of food. Will certainly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

We arrived for a reservation and were se ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We arrived for a reservation and were seated promptly, which was impressive, but the empty seating area should have given us a clue as to how the dinner would go. The server was clumsy and kept forgetting orders. She called one of the diners in our party a ma'am twice when he doesn't look or sound feminine at all. She did not refill drinks or bring extra napkins- until we had to ask 3 times- she kept forgetting. The sushi was lackluster and the food was not impressive. The chef was extremely boring, did no tricks or jokes at all. The meat was unseasoned. The rice was still crunchy and the new need to charge extra for garlic butter, yum-yum sauce and basically every sauce is foolish considering how much the menu items are. I'll stick to eating at Taki!

food5
ambience5
service1

The manager was very rude and I will nev ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The manager was very rude and I will never eat here again

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good gastronomic experience ! Good ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good gastronomic experience ! Good food and good service . Just didn't understand why the price is more expensive than Benihana Atlanta ?? We paid in Atlanta usd 14,75 for a Mignon and here in Alphareta usd 25. For the same food, same restaurant chain....

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good food - Benihana in name only - Poor Chefs

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been going to Benihana for 30 years and has always been one of my favorite experiences no matter where I am in nation. This place is awful - our chef couldnt do any of the 'fun' performance components, tried to catch shrimp tails 6 times - failed...tried to build volcano - failed after 3-4 tedious min then said he wld do at end and never did, slowest shrimp peeling ever and on and on. What a disappointment for the kids... Benihana used to be the pinnacle of hibachi, the standard, which is why we drove the 20 min vs goingg to one of the local hibachi's - WHAT A WASTE OF TIME - save $ and save time -you local hibachi chef will be better than what they have there for sure. Also, mentioned to owner / mgr - he cldnt have cared less LOL...

food4
ambience4
service4

The wait to be seated was a little longe ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The wait to be seated was a little longer than expected with a reservation but there were large parties ( pre prom groups) so it was understandable. Food and service is always good.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Never Again

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was the worst experience I have had at Benihana and it is actually on of my favorite restaurants to attend. The server was great and attentive but the chef was rude and it seemed like he rushed to complete our meal. The food was flavor less, he wasn't attentive, didn't smile, and did not interact with our table. I wanted to request to speak to the manager but I was so over it that I just decided to never go this location ever again and I will not recommend anyone to this location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers

Dined on March 15, 2016

Daniel and Janet were wonderfull like always!!! The food delicious!! The drinks fantastic!! Thanks.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was amazing

Dined on March 5, 2016

The staff was amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Customer service was exceptional. Food ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Customer service was exceptional. Food was fresh and Georgo prepared it made to order!

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Not Worth It!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went to Benihana's for my daughter's 9th birthday celebration. We will not be back! It is overpriced with poor service. We made reservations and when we arrived we were told that a server hadn't shown up so it would be a little bit of a wait. (I don't mind waiting for a few minutes, but this is NOT how you greet your customers.) We told the host that it was our daughter's birthday. He told us to tell our server. When we were seated, we told our server and he said okay. As the meal proceeded, we had to reminder our server a couple times about our drinks. At time for dessert, we told our server again that it was our daughter's birthday. When he brought out the ice cream, there was no candle in it so AGAIN we told him it was our daughter's birthday. He quickly left the table then returned with the candle in the ice cream. He sent another server to get the camera. They then discovered that the camera didn't work, so he left again. Finally, they sang to her and gave her dessert. When we received the bill, we were charged for edamame which we ordered but never received along with a drink that we had already paid for at the bar. The only positive to our evening (besides being with our family) was our chef, Bill. He was very friendly and entertaining!

food4
ambience2
service2

There was only one server and she was se ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

There was only one server and she was serving 5-7 tables all by herself. Manager never came over to apologize.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

L's birthday

Dined on February 27, 2016

great environment and food but service could have been a little better. waitress only cane around once to refill drinks and that was after meals were eaten.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going here for Valentine's Day was a great choice

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've had Japanese food where the chef cooks in front of you before but this was like no other. A great portion of food, polite and speedy service, and ambience to serve any occasion, and best of all great value for your money. Overall I had a great time and so did my wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Heard so much about this place and how g ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Heard so much about this place and how good it was suppose to be top notch, but nothing different than just a regular hibachi restaurant that's cheaper.

food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Loosing its Charm

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Benihana, and specifically this location, for six years now. We've been in the birthday club and go at least once a year for it, and occasionally go at other times as budget allows. We have pictures the Benihana team has taken as part of the birthday experience that we can look at and see a bit of nostalgia around the place. But over the last year or two, it seems the quality of service has been on a decline. Food is still good, no complaints there, but it seems like every time I go now (last time was this past weekend for Valentine's Day), there's always something that is a problem. A couple of years ago, it was a problem where they wouldn't let me get sushi with the birthday club ticket, despite the ticket not saying it. Customer Service resolved that issue graciously when the manager would not. There was another issue I've forgotten about now. This past Valentine's, it was something about they couldn't offer the full sushi menu at lunchtime, only the two options that were on the lunch menu specifically, despite one person saying the full menu is available. I'm getting tired of having "just okay" experiences for a meal that cost us more than $70 for two people. I have lovely experiences at places that cost a fraction of that like Chick-fil-a or Panera, where the staff go out of their way to ensure guests are having a great experience. I feel Benihana Alpharetta staff don't care about their guests having a great experience and will likely seek another location in the Atlanta area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my husband here for Valentine's day. Even though the seating was close we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere! Customer service was great as well. Definitely will go again.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Visit

Dined on February 14, 2016

I think the restaurant is very over rated. The food was dry , the cook mumbled the entire time, it was extremely cold even after the waiter asked the manager to turn down the air and the wait before a cook arrived at the table was very long.

food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Overly expensive

Dined on February 13, 2016

The price has gotten exorbitantly high. Never again.

food3
ambience5
service1
value1

Very Disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

Terrible service: we had to wait 30 minutes even with a reservation... Waited another 15 minutes for drinks. Meal came with rice, which we never got... Then had to wait 15 minutes for our bill!! We will not be back!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good place,

Dined on February 4, 2016

Was accommodating made reservation but was running late seated us as soon as we arrived. Service is very friendly food was pretty good. Would come back got the Rockys choice steak and chicken was pretty good even though cook was not as experienced as some of the other cooks. They do a nice birthday celebration the desert they serve is very nice and enjoy the happy birthday in Japanese that is always fun!".............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Terrible experience

Dined on January 27, 2016

For a Tuesday night with very few people in the dining room, I would expect better. In short, here's how the night went: service was incredibly slow, we never received our appetizers, drinks took forever and were watered down and soup was cold. I won't be returning.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.