About Benihana - Alpharetta

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Specials

This Father's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

This Father's Day, give an experience.

onal Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

For a limited time, when you purchase $50 in Benihana Gift Cards, you’ll receive a $10 Promotional Card. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17.Buy your Benihana Gift Cards at your favorite Benihana location or online at Benihana.com. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid 5/16/17 – 6/18/17. Promotional Cards valid 6/19/17 – 7/24/17. Special valid May 16, 2017 - Jun 18, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Kid-friendly (18)
Family Style (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Romantic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Vegan (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Great meal, chef was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Noise level was very high but there were several tables filled with high school kids for prom. Noise level to be expected on such an evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was very poor tonight. They did not deliver the steamed rice until we were practically done with our entrees. At the end of the meal, we waited over 5 minutes for the server to return and pick up the check.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chef was good..the waitress was not nice and had a disgusting nose ring.
I cod not believe she was allowed to wear this at work..

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall, my experience was just okay. We had a party of 5 for Mothers Day 2017, reservation for 6:30pm. The building itself looks weathered both inside and out. The menu items are semi pricey, so I expect to be visually impressed before I'm seated because that adds to the experience - that so didn't happen. Our lobby wait wasn't bad, but we waited about an hour after being seated which sucked. I sipped on a cocktail to ease the pain. The food was good, not great. Our chef was really attentive and funny, though, so I was happy with him. Hands down, the best part of our night was our server Khota. He was attentive, engaging and was patient with a table that included my 3 picky teen daughters. He made sure we had everything we needed and made our tedious wait a little bit better. He was the bright spot in our evening and deserves all the praise he can get. Love that guy! I would probably only return at the request of the kids or maybe to catch a special. Otherwise, I'll take my hand earned money to another one of the bazillion restaurants in the area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been to this location several times and have good experiences but this one was not so good. Hopefully an outlier and not an indication of a downward slide. We arrived for our reservation a few minutes early. It was 5-7 minutes before the hostess came back to greet us. At this time she informed me that they were running about 30 minutes behind. Not a huge deal, so we go to the bar area to have a pre-dinner drink. About 20 minutes later while we are in the bar area, a guest from another dining room table comes to a waitress who is walking by and asks to speak to the manager since they have been waiting for over an hour and no server had been to their table yet to take an order. Manager visits table. 5ish minutes later, guest comes back to bar area and asks another staff member to speak to the manager and mentions, still no one has come by their table. We look around and see there are several other tables seated who are starting to look impatient (no drinks, still holding menus, etc.) At this point we decide to leave and go elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a 5:30 reservation and had to wait an hour to be seated. Once seated, it was more than 30 minutes before our food preparation started. Our dinner was not complete until after 8. The staff was misleading about our wait time. The food was only okay. The bathroom was filthy. We will not be back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We waited for an hour past our reservation time. I know it's Mother's Day but what's the point of making a reservation if we still have to sit around?!! Once we were placed at a table, our plates were dirty and we had to order from a special holiday menu. We also sat at the table for an additional 30 minutes before our chef came to cook our food.I probably won't be back anytime soon. It was a very disappointing Mother's Day. Thanks a lot Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here as took reservations and had a toddler. Table was ready and got drinks right away. Went down from there. Prices were high as only combos, no chicken only. Charged $3.70? extra pp for fried rice - only rice, butter and soy sauce. Our only veggie was zucchini and used onions for everything because cheap. Have never been to any hibachi restaurant that only zucchini and onions, how cheap also the prices were expensive!! Took forever to get a cook to our table. Then we still had plates in front of us when ice cream came for the kids. Took forever to get a check and 2 ladies at our table, not with us, were furious how long it took as told them they had show tickets when arrived. Based on the prices, the upcharge for fried rice and the ridiculous hibachi veggies (usually my favorite part) and no green tea offered, there would never be a need to dine here again. Was supposed to be entertaining dining experience, the cook barely spoke what so ever. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and 2 Mother's Day and am so disappointed in our overall experience and the price of our bill for what we got for 6 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food here was delicious and very well prepared at our table by Steve. Unfortunately, our waitress got two of the five orders wrong, so dinner was delayed while our chef, Steve, got our orders straightened out. The waitress did not bring us the second cocktail and glass of water we ordered, pretty much ignored us after Steve appeared. We had to rely on the waitress at the next table to help us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very loud and boisterous. Waitress wasn't very attentative. Had to ask for drink after not getting it for over 15 minutes. Food wasn't as authentic flavored as I've had at other Benihana locations. Felt like it was customized for the demographics of the area.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day and my daughter's birthday with family. We had a great time and everyone is waiting to return for another visit. Our chef, Rodolpho was magnificent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The chef and the food were great. The greeter wasn't friendly at all, I had to make a comment to her about it and our server never asked to refill our drinks.

The lady's restroom was very dirty. There was tissue paper and water all over the floor. I spent $92 at the restaurant for just my son and I. This was not a $92 restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Eric is the best chef we have ever had! We've been visiting the Alpharetta and Buckhead location for over 5 yrs. Alpharetta became our favorite 2 years ago and Eric exceeded all expectations. He did his job . the waiter and prep. The food was delicious and he kept us all entertained. our age group was from 2-80 years old. The ratings given were soley based on Eric!!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The chef Eric was one of the best Hibachi Chefs I have ever had. He coupled with our server made the service impeccable and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and chef were really good. Chef was friendly and good with the kids. Staff was a bit annoying. We literally lost our reservation because part of our party was stuck in traffic. Almost got stuck behind two other parties for a 45 minute wait. Staff wasn't really accommodating or pleasant about it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice lunch, good service, excellent chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely love the tepinyaki style dining experience. The service tends to be a mite slow at times, but the wait is worth it. The chefs come to the table and perform culinary acrobatics while cooking your meal. My kids always love to see the chef 'playing with the food' and spinning the spatulas and tossing shrimp tails into their hats and pockets.

The portions are sizeable with the exception of the ice cream that comes with specialty items, but we never leave hungry.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Haven't been in a while, but just as I remember, it is GREAT. Good food and lots of it (cooked perfectly), fun, and you get to talk to other people at the table (we learned a lot about Cuba). I ate every bite and was stuffed. If you haven't been there, go, and if you have been, go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We truly enjoyed our experience there the chef was engaging and funny. Only thing i wasn't happy with isvthe young lady that took our order. She asked about allergies which we almost had an issue with, and we had piles of dishes in front of us that wasn't cleared and she made a comment about the missing bus boy either way i thought she should never leave customers with piles of dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Even though we made an Open table reservation, we still had some problems getting/delays getting seated at a bit of an off hour for lunch, ie: a bit later than arriving at four normal lunch.

However, they chef at our table was extremely entertaining!

The last 3 or 4 times I've been to the Alpharetta Benihana, I have been disappointed that our Chef was not excited or exuberant enough to put on a good show which is half the reason you go to Benihana!

This time we got the full he'll go to service a fabulous chef and we were well attended to!

I believe the chef's name was, Roberto.

Thank you, Julia
404-447-1457, Mobile

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience and fun! Celebrated a 10th birthday with family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

this place has gone downhill! first the hostess saw our reservation then ignored it and proceeded to seat non-reservation people. I flagged a manager down and she verbally abused the hostess for not seating us in front of the entire waiting area. The waitress took 15 minutes to come to the table just for drink orders. Restrooms had not been tended to in quite sometime (we got there at 6pm so they should have been relatively clean). Horribly managed and the food is just meh these days. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was delightful and entertaining - we sat with a large family - parents and five children - polite, well-behaved, ate their food - enjoyed the parents.

The group behind us - unfortunately - was "rowdy" and had a screaming child. Fortunately, about the time the child started screaming - we were ready to leave!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We went to Benihana because we expected to see the typical "performance" associated with a Hibachi dinner. The chef was good but did not entertain - he just cooked silently the whole time. It was rather disappointing, although the quality of the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Steve was our chef , he was amazing....I have been going to Benihana's for over 5 years and he is the first one that kept me laughing . He had so many jokes , and plus he taught us that the calamari that is served there is a better quality because it is a steak like instead of the rings. It was an amazing time. Plus the environment was great. But helpful hint , please make sure you make reservations. It is essential or you will have a wait. I learned a couple of years ago reservations will come first. Overall great food, you can have them to tailored it to way you need it to be. I can't have salt on my food and they made it to my preferences. They also have brown rice, if those like me who can't have fried rice.

It was a great time because the people we got to eat with was from a different culture and it made me really enjoy it more because we had an amazing diverse table. 5 STARS!!!! Of course

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vegan, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was a little salty but all in all it was so good. I had left overs for 2 more meals.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Showed up for our 8pm reservation. The hostess tried to cram the 4 of us (myself, my wife and 2 kids) into a three top. We resisted, then were told that the only other option was to wait for one of the only three chefs to become available... thirty minutes later.

Both the hostess and the manager seemed indifferent. Funny thing is, there wee about 13 other patrons with the same reservation and the same issue. So, we all left at the same time. 13 people all filed out of the restaurant at the same time and the manager and hostess seemed to not care.

We went to Cheesecake Factory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We Waited for over an hour to be seated and then another hour before the shift came out we never got our salads until after the shift started to cook which was way beyond we already had our share of appetizers this location service has gone down really down hill and I need to contact corporate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It's a place where you can enjoying with family is awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went here, remembering the wonderful "show" the cooks put on in front of you. Our chef must have been new, because he only rolled the eggs around on the cooktop, and missed his egg toss 4 times, then quit trying. Nothing else. I ordered lobster tails with my dinner, and I'm not sure it was cooked completely, and had a very fishy taste, so I didn't eat it.

Some in our party wanted an option other than ginger dressing on their salad, and there was no option.

For a group of 7 people, we could have seen a better show, and better food elsewhere for $350. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My parents and I sat at the bar to drink before dinner and while the host sat couples alone at tables so a family comes in with two young children and another family with a young baby we didn't have a choice to sit alone after we had asked to sit by ourselves we sat down and then she proceeds to sit couples alone at tables. It was good food but the hostess was not very nice and not willing to work with us

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a reservation for 5:30 and when we got in there was no host to greet us. We stood at the hostess stand for about 5 mins before someone came over to ask us have we been helped. Finally someone comes over and still asks us to wait to be sat even though we had a reservation. Other than that the service was decent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Good food, good entertainment, service was slow even though there wasn't too much of a crowd, our waitress didnt look like she was listening. But the food made up for it so Thumbs up!

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dinner & staff exceeded expectations. Great customer service

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've celebrated several birthdays at this location and never had a negative experience until this visit. It took 20 minutes to get our drinks, our chef was late, several requests made of the server took a very long time, and my glass was empty for most of my meal. The dinner took 2 hours and the bill was presented and paid before the birthday "celebration" was attempted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service was very poor. The chef had to continually get food items from the hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyable.....excellent fried rice, one the best we have had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First visit. We were a group of eight logged in by separate Open Table reservations. Sara, GM,
brought us all together and seated us on time. We all had different items from menu which were delivered with no mistakes. The show was reserved but entertaining. All food was prepared to our liking -- no complaints. No mistakes on separate checks. Server was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.