About Benihana - Alpharetta

Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana Alpharetta is located a quarter-mile east of Georgia 400 “Hospitality Highway,” at the corner of Mansell Rd and North Point Highway, near North Point Mall. The Verizon Amphitheatre is only five minutes away. Our spacious restaurant offers twenty teppanyaki tables for hibachi dining and a large comfortable sushi bar with a semi-private meeting space. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

2365 Mansell Rd
Alpharetta, GA 30022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday - Saturday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Cross Street:
North Point Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 461-8440

Website:
http://www.benihana.com/locations/alpharetta-ga-al

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Benihana - Alpharetta Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Cozy (4)
Vegan (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

only 2 servers in the place-food service was slow, drink service was slow. They did not take a birthday pic like they usually do and gave me a huge hassle about using my chefs table birthday certificate. Manager was clueless in all situations. Many unhappy diners in addition to us. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Terrible Experience soup was cold, the server stated there was no salad dressing the chef was did not know how to cook, terrible experience , rice was flying everywhere the bowls in which he put rice were wet as though no one had dried them; me and my party left before any other terrible things good occur. The manager's response was terrible I told him a fish stinks from the head down meaning the restaurant and experience is terrible because management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Overall had a great time at Benihana's. The only thing that could have been better was how long it took us to be seated. We made a reservation through OpenTable. We arrived a few minutes before the reservation and were told it was a 20 minute wait. I do not understand why make a reservation if we are still going to have to wait. Other than that, we had a fun time! They were very accommodating with my food allergies. The food and "show " were very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Took my son for his 15th birthday and invited four of his best friends along with his dad and mom, He wanted a night to remember and always thought it would be cool to have food cooked right in front of him lol, We thank you for allowing him to catch his food that the chef tossed his way and making a heart with the dinner rice. My son smiled all night :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service Great Cooks and very cultural. It's good to train someone else instead of Japanese😄

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My family and friend made this experience the best . Our server was TYLER he was not accurate while taking our order . Tyler seems as though he was in a rush while taking our order . Tyler barley came and checked on our table. The service was a dissatisfaction all together .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Daughters 21St Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The customer service has gotten so much better from previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The wait was too long to be seated when we had a reservation. The sever forgot the other guest at our table order sooo many times. The cook didn't know what to cook because the orders weren't clear. Checking out of this place was the worse. The waiter said it was a new system and he came back to the table to get our order AGAIN so he could print our checks out. Maybe he was not feeling well. It was my boyfriends birthday, so they did sing for him. But I was ready to go. We had already waited so long to get food and checks. This was my first time and it was not good. Will not return to this location. Maybe the one downtown will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food cooked by Maiz was very good, however the service was lacking. Difficult to get our water refilled, 20 minutes just to get our bill after asking repeatedly. Not certain I'd be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Having visited this location several times before, I was disappointed by the level of service we received. Normally appetizers, soup and salad are brought out before the chef comes to the table to prepare the main meal. We received our drinks and later soup, but no appetizers or salads before the chef arrived. Drinks were not refilled, and the chef did not have what he needed and actually had to leave the table to search out the waitress for help. Only after a complaint to the manager did we get our salads and drink refills, but still no appetizer we had ordered. The chef was wonderful, the food was plentiful and tasty, but the service was very poor. Our appetizer did come at the end of our meal--and was cold.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The people at the table we were seated with were very nice. The service was excellent. The chef that we had putting our food together for all those at our table needed a little more practice. He was very nice but we could see he was new at it. Couldn't hear him very well because he spoke very quietly. Burned the zucchini, did kinda messy job making the re-fried rice, over grilled our shrimp but did an excellent job on the onions. We ate everything knowing it was ok but not up to Benihann's real chef cooking. I'm sure in time he will master everything because he told us he loves his job. We will return in the near future and order the colossal shrimp again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Terrible service, waited 40 minutes for drinks that never came. They changed our table and never came back to even give us water. Had to walk out, terrible service, we had a reservation and it was like we were not even there to the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Reservation was for 8PM but we were sat down around 8:40PM. We could barely understand what our waiter was saying and besides that he was very unclear when explaining drinks and menu. When asked for edamame he had to check if they still have some but when he came back he forgot to tell us that they were out so we ended up just ordering our main meal. Later waiter didn't tell us that bar is closing at 9:30PM and we only place order for one round of beers. He ended up bringing another round but made it sound like he pulled some strings to do that. All of of ordered 5 course meals but no one was offered or received green tea which was a part of the meal. Some got 6 course meal which included ice cream but again we got none. And because it was a group of us our gratuity was already included which was unfair because service was one of the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Waitress and chef were great. Hostess was incredibly rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Overall nice experience. We met old friends from out of town for lunch on a Sunday. Friendly service. Good food. Little pricey.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We love Benihana but the service is not the best. We arrived at 5 for dinner but the whole staff is nowhere to be found. They're all at the back trying to set up. Actually at this time, dinner was better than the last time we were there. We sat and waited for an hour and still no chef we walked out. Service has been ridiculous, kinda stopped going. Food is great though. Hoping they pull it together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were not able to dine at this locations due to the 30 to 45 minute wait on all reservations. Also the hostess was very annoyed with my group and several others who were upset about the fact that reservations were not being honored for parties larger than 4. Several individuals walked out, we tried to wait, however the time frame for our table continued to grow. We finally left and went to dine at another establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The women's restroom was not cleaned. I asked that it be cleaned, and it was not done. This is my second visit to the restaurant and the restroom has been dirty both times.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good entertainment and very good service after slow start. Our group of 6 had different selections -- all were good and timely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner and the entertainment at Benihana. Plus they got 100A. Now that's a restaurant you would enjoying eating at.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

we had a great time, the chef did a great job. Our group all ordered different items from the menu, none of us were disappointed. Server was a little slow keeping plates cleared and drinks filled. This was our groups 2nd time and we felt it was bette this time. We look foward to our next adventure.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Way understaffed. Took over 30 minutes to place the food order and another 30 before a chef was available. The server was a nice guy but was spread way too thin. Chef was a really nice guy - but all in all we will not be going back. It shouldn't take over an hour to start getting your food off the grill. 'Management' staff were standing around watching employees work and never lifted a figure to help.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Nicole and Rigoberto provided great service today!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Pretty typical benihana experience - takes a while to get going but once it does it is a good show and good food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We normally have a great experience at Benihana. The food and chef were awesome! The service was extremely slow. Took us an hour to get soup and for chef to come out and cook. We almost left because it took so long. When we got our salads, we were told sorry we are out of dressing. My daughter's order wasn't right either. We had to find a manager to let him know about all of the issues. He never came back over to check on us or even offer us a discount. It was my daughters birthday and only 1 person came to sing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was to salty, way to salty ! The waiter was very impatient, but the cook gave a nice show that's it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Basically terrible service, they leave us at the table waiting for 20min and we already had 15min wait to seat. Our dinner was reserved to 9pm and because all delays ended at 11h30. We had to triple ask everything to receive. Definitely never go back there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Customer service was extraordinary!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great ambiance and food that keeps you wanting more of it all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We had a great time and the food was terrific! Space at the table was a little crowded but we enjoyed it very much nevertheless.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First review I've made but it's because it was warranted. We had a 7pm reservation and they finally seated us at 730. Their explanation was "well a lot of people have to wait 2 hours so we should be happy". They put us at a table near the kitchen and we asked to move to a table that was open and clean but they said they would have to clean a dirty table and it would be 15 mins. So we stayed there. Finally my wife could not eat the chicken she was served, it was chewy and tasted funny, They did quickly bring out a new one to cook on the hibachi and said they weren't surprised .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Worst hibachi experience we've ever had. Yum Yum sauce was watered down with soy sauce and was terrible. Food was not good and service was the WORST!!! Had to go get our own drinks from the bar as the server would never bring them! NEVER go again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Benihana name speaks for itself. They were definitely having an off day. The staff was clearly upset at organization regarding reservations and whose turn it was for a table. The cook was disengaged and did not do all the normal tricks. We are frequent diners at benihanas and know what to expect. They forgot my sons corn with his kids meal and mixed up steaks. Waiters, hostess and the cook were clearly irritated and it showed. We will most definitely be back but overall, on this particular day, our experience was sub par.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Upon arriving, we found out one member of the party could not make it. When I told the hostess, she was clearly annoyed, and was extremely rude. When we did get a table, there was what looked like melted red wax all over the table. Several people saw this, but no one cleaned it, until our cook went to get the manager. It was finally cleaned, using cooking utensils - it was very strange! The food was decent, especially the seafood and steak options but over priced. The menu also said the meal came with sherbet, but that was not the case, so it added to the fact that it was over priced! Our cook was very friendly, but our server acted like being there was the last place she wanted to be. Overall, it was decent but we will not be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Server very rude . Didn't care about anything must have had a bad day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

authentic and great tasting food, awesome staff,
never had a bad experience at this location
highly recommend advance reservation, they get busy in the evenings

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The chef and food were good, but our server was awful. She had no customer service or manners.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2017

What a Birthday! We ordered the Filet and Shrimp with fried rice. The meal was o.k along with the slow service and the 2 tablespoons of ice cream for dessert. To be honest, I think I was over the whole experience as well as our waitress and her expression-less way of singing "Happy Birthday" in Japanese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.