Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Benchmark Eatery

4.2
110 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Good for a Date
Located in the heart of Santa Barbara; BENCHMARK eatery is focused on delivering value driven dishes and generous cocktails, all in a comfortable environment. Individuals, couples, families, locals and/or tourists will all find Santa Barbara’s BENCHMARK eatery to be a solid representation of the surrounding community.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily 11:30a–10p
Happy Hour Daily 4p - 6p
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 845-2600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
W Anapamu St
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout
What 110 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Baby back ribs are extremely meaty and tender. Burgers are very good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

great food, great service, good prices, good drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Overall great place, going again later this week!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

My Brother and sister-in-law were in town we took them here for dinner, drinks were very good (old school) was great, service was great food was good burgers are awesome Half rack of ribs was a little salty for my taste but was good. the soft tacos were very messy but tasted great all in all 3 1/2 stars

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The manager, Nora is outstanding. She runs a great operation. The other manager, Pete is hilarious and makes you really feel right at home!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We go here when going to a show at the Granada Theater across the street. The food is good, the service is spotty. It's a busy place on show nights, and not enough staff for the extra Influx,would be my guess. We just plan for the extra time at this point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

I had the Pork Banh Mi and it was incredible!!!! Cozy outdoor seating with heaters and a beautiful view of state street. Very reasonably priced delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent place to dine inside or in the outside patio. Great ambiance, friendly bartenders. We sat at the Bar and ordered appetizers and cocktails. It was so relaxing and beautiful. All the staff was courteous and answered our questions regarding appetizers. Restrooms were super clean!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Too much loud noise from noisy groups sitting near us

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Visited recently for a family dinner. Family of 5 includes picky eaters and foodies and Benchmark Eatery fit the bill perfectly. Everyone was very pleased with their selection. Fish tacos in particular were rated as "excellent" - and they're quite large. Other items selected include pulled pork sandwich on fresh brioche bun - "delicious." Carnitas tacos and seafood pasta were both devoured. All food was fresh and servings were ample. Although we ate inside, they have a beautiful, large patio area that looks like it would be a great place for drinks and people-watching. If you're looking for a solid, reliable, restaurant with a well-rounded menu, Benchmark Eatery hits the mark. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Big portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

My husband and I love to go here when we are in Santa Barbara. We love the roasted chickpeas that they serve. I love the variety of salads that they offer. I got the spinach salad and added a piece of salmon on top. It was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food for adults and kids. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely go back when in town!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Great burgers!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 6, 2017

The kitchen forgot to make our dessert but our waitress was incredibly nice. Not the best benchmark experience but they are great 99% of the time so I can't complain much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2017

Coming from LA, my daughter and I were pleased with the ambiance and the waitress was attentive and cheerful. We were able to split the half fried chicken, abd the salad dressing was to die for! Excellent food at a great value.
They should sell the salad dressing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Nice open layout. KFC flavored chickpeas was a nice welcome treat. Was turned off by dirty spoon for the clam chowder. Bottom of spoon still had a gross piece of yuck stuck in it. Lemon drop martini was great. Salmon size was a tad small. Braised short rib was so-so. Generous portion of bland green veggies and a good size mashed potatoes. It was just ok. Nothing too memorable to warrant a return . We want to rate it a 4 but the dirty spoon was just GROSS.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

My fiancée and I had the most wonderful dinner at Benchmark Eatery! We ate on their outdoor patio. The ambience is romantic, yet casual. The food and drinks are very affordable and of the highest quality. We will definitely be going back there again soon, and I highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Getting seated took longer than expected but it was an overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2017

Benchmark never falls short! We are happy every time we dine here. It is our favorite Special Occasion restaurant. Great food, amaxing wine list and a relaxed fun vibe. Check out the NY Steak Skewers and Fried Chicken Sandwich...but whatever you do, DO NOT leave without trying the chocolate cookie dessert...and don't fool yourself, go for the Large!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for Mother's day lunch...came from LA. It was lovely. Great food, service and ambiance. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was horrible. Our waitress was MIA the whole time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I met my dad and his girlfriend for dinner and everyone loved what they ordered. There were plenty of vegetarian options (my husband and I are both vegetarian) and the pozole appetizer was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2017

I order steamed mussels frequently and these were not up to standard. I'm from SF Bay Area and these mussels were not up to par. Too large and very chewy to eat. I ate 1/4 of my meal. My friend experienced the same.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2017

The service was slow ... the food was as pedestrian as the menu. With all the other better choices in SB., we would not return to this restaurant at all
It was much better as Maggie's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2017

Nice atmosphere and great service. Food was delicious

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We were underwhelmed with the food (sopes & Arlington burger - ordered medium rare, arrived well done) but the service was good. Enjoy your chickpeas!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2017

Great atmosphere. Indoor - outdoor. Big portions on food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

My girlfriend and I decided to take a road trip to Santa Barbara on Easter Sunday. We stumbled upon this place from using OpenTable. We arrived in the late afternoon and were both hungry after driving about an hour and a half. We ordered fried calamari as an appetizer but after we placed our order the server brought out a complimentary serving of deep-fried chickpeas. My only knock would be that the chickpeas came out after we were there long enough to order the appetizer. It was a lovely day and our server was nice. I ordered the fried chicken sandwich and my girlfriend ordered an opened faced tuna melt and a drink called a La Paloma. We were both thoroughly satisfied with our meals. Although it's not oceanside dining, the food and location are still good enough to sit and people watch. The food, service, and prices are a great overall value and I suggest anyone that visits Santa Barbara to stop by.

You can't go wrong selecting this place for a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2017

Fun in-town eatery. We went because we heard that the people who started Brophy's opened Benchmark. The food Was really good and even served those great garlic baked clams you can only get at Brophy's.
Our server was friendly and knew the menu well.
Definitely worth a stop if you're in Santa Barbara.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was friendly but sporadic. The girl kept disappearing for ages. But when she was there was very friendly and helpful. The food is more like what you want while drinking (a lot) but not really what you want for a nice, quality meal. Tons of fried bar snacks, weird chicken wings that were basically half a chicken and made me stop eat meat again (that is an upside though). Convenient location across from Granada, good for patio dining or large parties but again, more to have snacks while drinking rather than a place to eat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant was so noisy we could hardly hear each other- if you go there request NOT to sit outside- that's where it was so noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

It was great food and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Timing of delivery dishes to the table a bit uneven. Signature highly recommended dish - Salmon- OK but nothing special, was OK. Patio great corner on State Street though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2017

Very nice place. Keep in mind Thursday is high school night so expect a noisy environment with lots of kids. Good food, great service, value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place to stop and dine while visiting Santa Barbara. Ok, so it's not oceanside dining, but the food and location make up for not having a beach view. The food was excellent, the service warm and friendly, and the prices were good, so overall a great value. What they did with brussel sprouts is nothing short of amazing ... even if you don't like them, this appetizer will make you want more. And the burrata was also outstanding. Also recommend the grilled chicken chop salad.

You can't go wrong selecting this place for a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great, not too loud, service was timely and the waitress was friendly. Not a huge fan of the modern look of the interior, but overall it was a very enjoyable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great staple for a date night, dinner/drinks with friends or a quick bite. The menu and drink selections will satisfy everyone. The food is quality, tasty and a good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2017

This is an excellent pre-theater place for dinner as it is right in the Santa Barbara theater district. The food is good and the atmosphere is Pleasant

Report
Helpful
1
2
3