About Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

800 Alvarado Place
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
View Larger Map

Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lasuen

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-3530

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/el-encanto-santa-barbara/santa_barbara_restaurants

Parking Details:
Day use of facilities is $10.00, $5.00 with restaurant/lounge validation.

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you’re celebrating a special birthday, hosting a retirement dinner or just because, The Wine Room is the perfect place to gather.

Enjoy a custom menu in the warm and intimate setting. Sip perfectly paired wines from local vineyards and beyond.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Pugh: 805-770-3716x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.

Restaurant Photos

  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
5 More
Romantic
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

great for outdoor dining (59)
scenic view (58)
special occasion (50)
See All
romantic (47)
fit for foodies (31)
great for lunch (29)
great for brunch (26)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our 2nd tine here - the view is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is our 2nd tine here - the view is spectacular and the patio seating is so relaxing (usually). If you are planning to dine here on the weekend, you may want to ask if any weddings are taking place - it's usually a very relaxing serene place, but with a DJ and rowdy wedding guests, it became something different. Our servers were fantastic and very attentive. Arrive early and enjoy a cocktail and the live music in the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant. Great view, great service ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very pleasant. Great view, great service food is good but not great. Coffee very good for US though

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The outside setting was absolutely perfe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The outside setting was absolutely perfect -- sunset, ocean waves and mountains. Outstanding menu with local ingredients. Staff was professional yet kind. Top rate all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, view and service. A bit p ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous food, view and service. A bit pricey but well worth the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time dining at El Encanto was ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our second time dining at El Encanto was as disappointing as the first time.

The quality and preparation of the food is not worthy of the high prices.

The view is stellar though! Go for cocktails!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We were hoping for a similar experience ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were hoping for a similar experience we had 33 years ago on our honeymoon. We had a late reservation, it took 45 minutes to get seated, they brought the wrong cocktail, our first bite of food arrived almost 90 minutes after our reservation time, and the pleasant music they provided had to compete with the wedding band downstairs. But the full moon was beautiful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Good food, busy and lively atmosphere. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food, busy and lively atmosphere. Great pianist and singer. Some of the best views of Santa Barbara.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was ok. El Encanto has not be consi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was ok. El Encanto has not be consistent. Wine pours for wine by the glass were small based on the price.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

My first time there. A hidden Gem. Fant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My first time there. A hidden Gem. Fantastic AMBIENCE, great SERVICE AND THE FOOD WAS Amazing. My best dining experience in the last few years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Top end of the dining experience all the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Top end of the dining experience all the way around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Food was fantastic. Wi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Food was fantastic. Wine was awesome. They passed out blankets when it got cold. Nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time there in the past ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our 3rd time there in the past week. Staying in SB. The view is awesome and it stops there. Service was non-existent, food was sent back 3x and still not corrected. Manager never stepped foot back at the table to check we poured our own $400 worth of wine purchased there. We called over the manager to discuss and all he could do was apologize for the service. Sadly, not worth it..watched several others complain and walk out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Food and service were great and the view ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were great and the view from the patio was spectacular. A wonderful dining experience on all levels!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The chocolate souffle was well worth the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The chocolate souffle was well worth the wait. Hakan is delightful. The salad we chose was ok, the soup good, the chicken and fish and mac and cheese, my family gave a 6/10. My vegetarian pasta dish a 7.5/10.

Ambience 10/10. Can get chilly.

Breakfast was superb.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Normally a great place. Unfortunately we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally a great place.

Unfortunately we showed up for a price fixed sunday brunch and it was way overpriced for the value, service was very poor, including no alternative offered for unlimited bellinis, drinks not refilled etc, etc.

Will be back but not for the sunday brunch. Its still the best view restaurant in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Enjoyed a lovely meal on the patio on a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely meal on the patio on a recent Thursday afternoon for lunch. We were seated along the edge of the patio, providing a sublime view of Santa Barbara. Just a beautiful spot to sit outside and enjoy a meal. My husband enjoyed his BLT...although the fries were a bit spicy for his liking. I ordered a pasta dish - very good, but nothing out of the ordinary. You come here to sit outside and enjoy the view. Food, although good, is secondary to the scenery.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The deck and view are unmatched in Santa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The deck and view are unmatched in Santa Barbara. The presentation of food was noteworthy. The execution of the food was did not met our expectation. Our choice was from their fish selections. The other protein selections may have been better. Note: The bar menu and the breakfast menu were all excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT TO BELMOND EL E ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT TO BELMOND EL ENCANTO IN A MONTH. I LOVE THIS PLACE FOR A SPECIAL AFTERNOON OR EVENING MEAL SO I TOOK HUBBY THERE FOR SUPPER ON FATHERS' DAY - MY SECOND VISIT TO THE RESTAURANT. THE SETTING, THE BEAUTIFULLY APPOINTED LOBBY, BAR AND PATIO ARE ALL SUPREME - TRULY SPECIAL. IT'S A WONDERFUL PLACE TO RELAX AND LINGER AS LONG AS YOU LIKE, ENJOYING THE MAGNIFICENT PANORAMA OF THE SANTA BARBARA COASTLINE. I LOVE THAT IT'S CASUAL OR DRESSY - WHATEVER YOU NEED IT TO BE. THE BAR MUSICIAN AND PIANO PLAYER ON FRI - SAT NIGHTS ARE FANTASTIC AND ADD A WONDERFUL EXTRA ELEMENT OF ELEGANCE AND SOPHISTICATION TO THE SETTING WITH THEIR WONDERFUL MUSIC SELECTIONS. I LOOK FORWARD TO THE GOOD-BUT-NOT-GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD CATCHING UP TO THE REST OF THE EXPERIENCE. I PLAN TO CONTINUE TO VISIT TO ENJOY WHAT'S ALREADY GREAT AND CHECK IN ON HOW THE SERVICE AND FOOD ARE ADVANCING.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was lacking, we rarely saw o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was lacking, we rarely saw our server and the food took quite a long time to get out. We found out that they had a sommelier, not from our server, but by seeing him serving some of the tables around us. The sommelier was outstanding. The wine he recommended was very good and paired perfectly with the meal we had ordered. He was very attentive and even gave us advise on other pairings.

I ordered stake which was poor, by any standards. The kids order the Rack of lamb which was very, very good. My wife ordered the duck which was also very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband and I were in Santa Barbara f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I were in Santa Barbara for the weekend and we were referred to the El Encanto Terrace for dinner to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant and our dining experience was excellent! We arrived early to have a drink in the bar and listened to some live music. Then our dinner out on the terrace. I had a Duck Breast special with Duck Confit tamales and squash blossoms, and my husband had the Steak special with oysters. Both meals were delicious along with salads we ordered. The service was great, too. What a great evening! I highly recommend this for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great evening with superb food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great evening with superb food and outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location is beyond fantastic. The ou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The location is beyond fantastic. The outdoor patio and views is a must for out of towners. The service is lackluster, and be prepared to wait. It seems that no one is really well trained. It is a disappointment as this is a place I would frequent as a neighbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

It wasn't our first visit to dine, but f ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It wasn't our first visit to dine, but first with the new chef. Food was delicious but our server was rather strange. She was a bit off-putting and not gracious or sincere. We will try it again and hope for someone else.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Celebrated our anniversary by returning ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary by returning to El Encanto for a sun-drenched lunch on the beautiful terrace with its embracing view of the coastal hills and Pacific shore. Everyone is welcoming, and the staff even recovered a cap we had dropped near our table and had ready for us when we returned the next day to recover it. The food presentation is very attractive, and the setting rivals anything we've enjoyed along the Amalfi Coast. Don't forget to spend some time strolling the grounds of this refuge. You'll be restored by the calm and beauty of the shaded charming, brick walkways with their varied and lush plantings. This is a destination. We look forward eagerly to our next occasion to visit this very special place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing service, tasty food and wonderful ambience

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I don't often go to "fancy" restaurants because my husband creates amazing meals at home. But, this restaurant is amazing. The service, the view and the food are quite remarkable

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to celebrate our 50th wedding an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Decided to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary at the same place that we celebrated our 25th. Same great view. Great wine list with many limited production Central Coast wines as well as Napa/Sonoma and French. They are very knowledgable on their wines and we try to support our Central Coast wineries whenever possible. Truly an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Old world charm

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The location was exceptional and we had a table in the al fresco dining room with unobstructed view of the town below and the beautiful coastline. The wait staff were very efficient and attentive. We were very relaxed and not rushed.

The cauliflower soup was outstanding and our fish - halibut and salmon were cooked to perfection. Did not care too much for the sides.

Would definitely return to try the other dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely setting, very good food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The soup was fantastic, the Hamachi was very good and the pasta was tasty but nothing special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful ambience, excellent service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ate here on Sunday morning. We passed on the $75 pp brunch, but enjoyed an excellent breakfast instead. The service is beyond compare, and the ambience on the outside terrace is wonderful. The weather was a bit cloudy and overcast that morning, but the restaurant could hardly be responsible for that !

I will say that, when we asked for the breakfast menus, we had to get "permission" from the manager. Obviously, they would've preferred that we order the $75 pp brunch, but as neither my husband nor I were inclined to drink alcohol so early in the day, it didn't make much sense to us to order from the brunch menu. Instead, we each had a fabulous breakfast and the bill for the both of us was about $75. A much better deal, and we enjoyed all the pleasures of the fine service and environment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Terrace

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We usually sit at the table for two along the view side of the patio, under the umbrellas. This time, we sat side by side on a curved sofa on the terrace, overlooking the patio and the stunning and soothing views beyond. My friend is a resident, I am a frequent visitor. We both enjoyed our setting, our table, our lunches, so very much. This is a special spot, be sure to dine here for lunch when you are in Santa Barbara. Places like this are one in a million. The rose' is always a perfect choice, and my chopped salad was the best I've ever had. The menu has many good selections. How can you not love this spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both entrees were overlooked and had lit ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Both entrees were overlooked and had little flavor. Very overpriced for the quality of the meal. Go for cocktails only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Awesome experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came here for our 40th wedding anniversary. We were here for our 15th and was trying to duplicate the experience. We had wonderful service and the food was the best I've had in a long time. Of course the views are spectacular. Thank you for a fantastic night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's birthday dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have lived in Santa Barbara for three years, having only visited EL Encanto for cocktails. We had friends from Boston in town to help us celebrate Charlotte's birthday. They are world travelers and true bon vivants. Everything was as we had hoped . Thanks to some added attention by the General Manager, Shaun O'Bryan the service, food and ambiance was superlative. We will definitely return. Frank and Charlotte DiTirro.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Location

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We went for lunch on my birthday and the food and service were impeccable. The outdoor dining is a romantic location with an ocean view

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In spite of a stunning view over Santa B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

In spite of a stunning view over Santa Barbara and a comprehensive compact menu, the staff seemed to forget they were part of a five star hotel. This is an outdoor dining area only with some tables under cover. The heat lamps were scattered chaotically throughout the tables and some bunched up against the railing and spoiled the view. Most of them apparently did not work. The hostess offered us a blanket. The appetizer crudo shrimp was inedible even to those with an adventurous palette. The waitress made no attempt to replace the appetizer or remove it from our bill.

Good wine list.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Simply a fabulous experience. Beautiful ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Simply a fabulous experience. Beautiful setting amd delicious food. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great meal in a beautiful setting with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A great meal in a beautiful setting with perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

A pre-Mother's Day luncheon. Perfect in every way. Fabulous view, delicious food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I love coming to this hotel for the food, wine, superb treatment and amazing view. I always know that it will be wonderful. This is a place you can take anyone or just come here by yourself.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Picturesque

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Beautiful from the moment you get out of your car. Pretty grounds, lovely el fresco dining, food was excellent. My friend had the BLT, and I had the Kale Salad with Chicken. Both were delicious and generous portions too. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everywhere we went, we were greeted with a smile and asked if we needed anything. Fun afternoon, eating great food and enjoying the beautiful views of downtown Santa Barbara.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.