Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.

800 Alvarado Place
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lasuen

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-3530

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/el-encanto-santa-barbara/santa_barbara_restaurants

Parking Details:
Day use of facilities is $10.00, $5.00 with restaurant/lounge validation.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Belmond El Encanto can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (16)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the ambiance here. Large outdoor patio with spectacular view of Santa Barbara and the coast. Attwnrivw service! Delicious food. Great margaritas. They had a pianist and singer whom added wonderful music!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Conscientious server gave us all a great meal. Best steak I've had in years! The view is wonderful, and after dark the stars almost light up the terrace.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and view of the Channel Islands.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Superb service and excellent food with a great view of the City and the Ocean.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I really wanted to like this more. The view is what you go for! The service was completely inattentive...asked for bread several times (none brought), asked them to light a heater 3 times and was told none were working, but then they lit one for another table and brought it to them, needed to ask to have water filled up. Had the Halibut which was completely over cooked.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

3/7/17 the best , five star ... will be back very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Restaurant is wonderful for the views, ambiance and special occasions but pricey for normal lunches.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was our third dining experience at El Encanto and, once again, it
exceeded our expectations. Our meals were very fresh and creatively
presented. The staff could not have been more accommodating and
friendly, but they knew we wanted to linger, so they came around
at the perfect time. Their menu recommendations were fabulous.
We can't wait to return from the east coast! And this has to be the
most perfect spot in Santa Barbara to watch the sun set!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

What a beautiful place to dine in Santa Barbara! It was the best meal we've had here and that's saying a lot, since there are many wonderful restaurants in Santa Barbara. We all split the crab legs as an appetizer. And the bone marrow was also delicious. And our entrees were wonderful- scallops, cod and salmon! My only complaint is that most of their patio heaters weren't working and I really wanted to sit on the patio. Dang! We'll be back next winter when we are here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

El Encanto is our favorite spot in Santa Barbara for meals celebrating special occasions. The food is excellent, the service is impeccable, the ambiance is refined, and the view is delightful both night and day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall a fantastic dining experience. Course after course we were taken through a wonderful culinary trip to heaven. Escargot, foie gras and spicy crab legs in lobster broth, what else can you ask for. Service was quite elegant from beginning to end with the likes of the manager Julio and the sommelier Jeremy checking in from time to time to ensure we were enjoying our wonderful experience. Jillian was outstanding and paced our dinner perfectly so that we could enjoy the sounds of Luca Ellis who sounded just like Frank Sinatra. Looking forward to returning and mirroring the excellent experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Live Music, Cozy, Casual, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent in a respects

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lovely environment and stunning view - especially at sunset

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrating my husbands 40th birthday. I had made this note on my reservation and thought a small Birthday dessert would have been given to him but it wasn't. This was the only disappointing thing during our brunch, everything else was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We are locals and try this restaurant every 6 months or so and are always disappointed in the food. This time was no exception - fish was lousy and menu very limited. And the prices are even higher for poorer food. Only reason to go there is for a drink (also pricey) and the view! At least the waitress was great and took the fish dinner charge off my bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are long time SB residents who dine at least bi monthly at the Belmond since the renovation. I am delighted with the "New" Chef Johann. He is a genius with food and wine. How he was enticed away from the Bacara Resort I'll never know. The service was impeccable, and we are quite demanding. I am happy to report that, after a few re-opening missteps, The El Encanto has a fine dining room worthy of the their name and reputation.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely dinner at El Encanto. Both the ceaser and kale salads were delicious. We both enjoyed a special main which featured grilled ribeye, scallops and fresh veggies. Wine and service were very good. The only downside was that we were seated on a couch and dining table, which for us was very uncomfortable as there was insufficient back support and the seating was too low for the table provided.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every dish was phenomenal, the service was excellent and the live music was the cherry on top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The menu was a wonderful blend of options. We loved every item from the drinks to the appetizers to the main to the desserts. It was an exceptional dining experience that I am still thinking about. Absolutely delicious in every way. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We made a same day reservation because the Biltmore was closed for dinner today so as their new winter schedule. We all were great it happened this way as we enjoyed our time at the El Encanto so very much! The food was phenomenal. Service was on point. We were greeted immediately by the valet guy and then the front desk and by the host. Our server Carlos was very attentive, funny yet professional. We were sat at a table we requested and the heaters kept us very warm. Food came quick and the quality and flavor were over the top good. We had the cod, king king crab, and salmon. For dessert, we had their berries cream with hazelnuts ice cream, dark chocolate soufflé (sooo good!) and their signature floating island (they had it since 1918 - yes, you read that right! It's been 99 years!). Not our first time but we will be back again for sure! Just can't wait for the winter to be over so we can come for dinner while it's not completely dark out and we can sit at the terrace and actually get to appreciate the SB view. You did us very well, El Encanto, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

European style service so don't go if you are in a hurry. The view is worth taking your time. Unfortunately they tried to do Gluten Free for me but I still got sick. But for normal people the food will be fine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Obviously a great location /view and we had excellent service but the food was disappointing. Just OK. Nothing special or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We waited over 45 minutes for our reservation after asking not to be seated on the stark and cold patio. Restaurant website indicates that if you make reservations online the only option seating is in the dining room, which we preferred. Once we were seated, we sat facing a table that had not been bussed, and remained that way until we asked that it be cleaned up, some 30 minutes after being seated. The food was expensive and not high enough quality in presentation, or flavor, for the price. The server tried his best to make the experience pleasurable, but didn't have much assistance from the front of the house, or the chef. We're trying Lark or Buchon next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was cold and there was very limited indoor seating. The outdoor heaters were not adequate. We were provided with blankets. The pasta portions were flavorful, but extremely small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good as always.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was served a duck special that really wasn't good. My salad was Caesar salad was fair.
Breakfast I was served eggs benedict that was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The view, the service , the food , location , awesome . Will return and book a room on our next visit .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent dining experience. I was very pleased with the service and especially the food. The Chicken was absolutely excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fabulous. Magical. My favorite. The Cobb is the best! They pour Moet brut rose by the glass.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food took a vwry long time to get to the table. Otherwise everything was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining. Very expensive. The food was okay and the service below par for the price. There were flies which one would not expect.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We enjoyed an especially lovely evening: quiet, relaxed, beautiful sunset, heaters for the little chill in the air...did I say quiet?! Ahhh... It was my birthday and the celebratory drink to start was delicious - the non-alcoholic sparkler option was very nice too. I really felt as though we were being well SERVED. If we wanted/needed a suggestion, it was happily made. The menu is different and interesting. We each had a different entrée, and were very pleased with our choices - the way they were cooked and served. I was treated to a nice little birthday dessert, but boy - those lime cheesecake donuts! So yummy. Couldn't have asked for a better evening. Thank you, Belmond El Encanto! Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Beautiful views, amazing food, excellent service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant, especially for visitors to the area...it's an amazing view of Santa Barbara.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excited to be going to restaurant. Made reservation w guests but later found out time wasn't convenient for guest made repeated calls n left messages (per recording) for them to call back n nobody ever returned call. Guests subsequently cancelled. Next glass of water was knocked over covering me from chest to feet by waiter. Next drink order was not asked for for 30 min. First drink came 40-45 min after seating. Food came quickly after complaints on service but lamb as well as their 'special' soufflé were both at best mildly warm Sent back desert. Another 20 min went by n they showed up w four new deserts (for two of us) to make up for problems

Personally I would hv comp the whole dinner but they only comp the drinks n desert. I also would hv had servers at the table frequently after all the issues happened.

Luvd the atmosphere. Service was marginal at best. Food was good but always not hot. Response to problems was terrible n not responsive No urgency to their actions.

I would give them a second chance but if service was this slow the next time I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful setting, great view, outstanding service, and quiet. I brought my two 90-ish aunties to lunch. The typical restaurant is much too noisy to hold a conversation. I was looking for a quiet place so that they could hear and participate in the conversation. The El Encanto was perfect. I wasn't enamored with the lunch menu, but it was acceptable. We had a very lovely time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I thought the food was "okay" but not superior nor especially creative.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very cozy. Staff are so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Everything was excellent. The service was attentive, the food was delicious and the setting was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2016

You will have a very good meal with an superb Look over Santa Barbara and the sea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great outdoor views during dinner. Beautiful setting. Food is good but not over the top. The wait staff is friendly and aims to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.