About Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

800 Alvarado Place
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
View Larger Map

Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lasuen

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-3530

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/el-encanto-santa-barbara/santa_barbara_restaurants

Parking Details:
Day use of facilities is $10.00, $5.00 with restaurant/lounge validation.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Belmond El Encanto can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Scenic View (10)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

El Encanto is our favorite spot in Santa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

El Encanto is our favorite spot in Santa Barbara for meals celebrating special occasions. The food is excellent, the service is impeccable, the ambiance is refined, and the view is delightful both night and day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in a respects

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent in a respects

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely environment and stunning view - e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lovely environment and stunning view - especially at sunset

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating my husbands 40th birthday. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrating my husbands 40th birthday. I had made this note on my reservation and thought a small Birthday dessert would have been given to him but it wasn't. This was the only disappointing thing during our brunch, everything else was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and try this restaurant ev ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We are locals and try this restaurant every 6 months or so and are always disappointed in the food. This time was no exception - fish was lousy and menu very limited. And the prices are even higher for poorer food. Only reason to go there is for a drink (also pricey) and the view! At least the waitress was great and took the fish dinner charge off my bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We are long time SB residents who dine a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are long time SB residents who dine at least bi monthly at the Belmond since the renovation. I am delighted with the "New" Chef Johann. He is a genius with food and wine. How he was enticed away from the Bacara Resort I'll never know. The service was impeccable, and we are quite demanding. I am happy to report that, after a few re-opening missteps, The El Encanto has a fine dining room worthy of the their name and reputation.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner at El Encanto. Both the c ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lovely dinner at El Encanto. Both the ceaser and kale salads were delicious. We both enjoyed a special main which featured grilled ribeye, scallops and fresh veggies. Wine and service were very good. The only downside was that we were seated on a couch and dining table, which for us was very uncomfortable as there was insufficient back support and the seating was too low for the table provided.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Every dish was phenomenal, the service w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every dish was phenomenal, the service was excellent and the live music was the cherry on top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was a wonderful blend of option ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The menu was a wonderful blend of options. We loved every item from the drinks to the appetizers to the main to the desserts. It was an exceptional dining experience that I am still thinking about. Absolutely delicious in every way. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a same day reservation because t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We made a same day reservation because the Biltmore was closed for dinner today so as their new winter schedule. We all were great it happened this way as we enjoyed our time at the El Encanto so very much! The food was phenomenal. Service was on point. We were greeted immediately by the valet guy and then the front desk and by the host. Our server Carlos was very attentive, funny yet professional. We were sat at a table we requested and the heaters kept us very warm. Food came quick and the quality and flavor were over the top good. We had the cod, king king crab, and salmon. For dessert, we had their berries cream with hazelnuts ice cream, dark chocolate soufflé (sooo good!) and their signature floating island (they had it since 1918 - yes, you read that right! It's been 99 years!). Not our first time but we will be back again for sure! Just can't wait for the winter to be over so we can come for dinner while it's not completely dark out and we can sit at the terrace and actually get to appreciate the SB view. You did us very well, El Encanto, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

European style service so don't go if yo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

European style service so don't go if you are in a hurry. The view is worth taking your time. Unfortunately they tried to do Gluten Free for me but I still got sick. But for normal people the food will be fine.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Obviously a great location /view and we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Obviously a great location /view and we had excellent service but the food was disappointing. Just OK. Nothing special or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We waited over 45 minutes for our reserv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We waited over 45 minutes for our reservation after asking not to be seated on the stark and cold patio. Restaurant website indicates that if you make reservations online the only option seating is in the dining room, which we preferred. Once we were seated, we sat facing a table that had not been bussed, and remained that way until we asked that it be cleaned up, some 30 minutes after being seated. The food was expensive and not high enough quality in presentation, or flavor, for the price. The server tried his best to make the experience pleasurable, but didn't have much assistance from the front of the house, or the chef. We're trying Lark or Buchon next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was cold and there was very limited ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was cold and there was very limited indoor seating. The outdoor heaters were not adequate. We were provided with blankets. The pasta portions were flavorful, but extremely small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good as always.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good as always.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was served a duck special that really ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was served a duck special that really wasn't good. My salad was Caesar salad was fair.

Breakfast I was served eggs benedict that was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The view, the service , the food , locat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The view, the service , the food , location , awesome . Will return and book a room on our next visit .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent dining experience. I was very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent dining experience. I was very pleased with the service and especially the food. The Chicken was absolutely excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous. Magical. My favorite. The Cobb ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fabulous. Magical. My favorite. The Cobb is the best! They pour Moet brut rose by the glass.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food took a vwry long time to get t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food took a vwry long time to get to the table. Otherwise everything was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful outdoor dining. Very expensive ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining. Very expensive. The food was okay and the service below par for the price. There were flies which one would not expect.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed an especially lovely evening: ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We enjoyed an especially lovely evening: quiet, relaxed, beautiful sunset, heaters for the little chill in the air...did I say quiet?! Ahhh... It was my birthday and the celebratory drink to start was delicious - the non-alcoholic sparkler option was very nice too. I really felt as though we were being well SERVED. If we wanted/needed a suggestion, it was happily made. The menu is different and interesting. We each had a different entrée, and were very pleased with our choices - the way they were cooked and served. I was treated to a nice little birthday dessert, but boy - those lime cheesecake donuts! So yummy. Couldn't have asked for a better evening. Thank you, Belmond El Encanto! Looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views, amazing food, excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Beautiful views, amazing food, excellent service! I would definitely recommend this restaurant, especially for visitors to the area...it's an amazing view of Santa Barbara.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excited to be going to restaurant. Made ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excited to be going to restaurant. Made reservation w guests but later found out time wasn't convenient for guest made repeated calls n left messages (per recording) for them to call back n nobody ever returned call. Guests subsequently cancelled. Next glass of water was knocked over covering me from chest to feet by waiter. Next drink order was not asked for for 30 min. First drink came 40-45 min after seating. Food came quickly after complaints on service but lamb as well as their 'special' soufflé were both at best mildly warm Sent back desert. Another 20 min went by n they showed up w four new deserts (for two of us) to make up for problems

Personally I would hv comp the whole dinner but they only comp the drinks n desert. I also would hv had servers at the table frequently after all the issues happened.

Luvd the atmosphere. Service was marginal at best. Food was good but always not hot. Response to problems was terrible n not responsive No urgency to their actions.

I would give them a second chance but if service was this slow the next time I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting, great view, outstandi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful setting, great view, outstanding service, and quiet. I brought my two 90-ish aunties to lunch. The typical restaurant is much too noisy to hold a conversation. I was looking for a quiet place so that they could hear and participate in the conversation. The El Encanto was perfect. I wasn't enamored with the lunch menu, but it was acceptable. We had a very lovely time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was "okay" but not su ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I thought the food was "okay" but not superior nor especially creative.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Very cozy. Staff are so nice

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very cozy. Staff are so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. The service wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Everything was excellent. The service was attentive, the food was delicious and the setting was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will have a very good meal with an s ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 10, 2016

You will have a very good meal with an superb Look over Santa Barbara and the sea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great outdoor views during dinner. Beaut ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great outdoor views during dinner. Beautiful setting. Food is good but not over the top. The wait staff is friendly and aims to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Took my nephew and his family, six of us ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Took my nephew and his family, six of us all ages, beautiful setting lovely service wonderful food. L Encanto always pleases and enchants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Beautiful atmosphere

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food. Beautiful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

This is the third time we have eaten the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is the third time we have eaten there, first time excellent, second time fair, this last time was terrible - service was non-existent, food was very expensive and terrible. We attended with friends and both of us will not try this place again. My recommendation is save your money and eat at any other local restaurant of which there are many with much better food, servers that care about you, and of course much better pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Service was extremely slow. Got there ri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Service was extremely slow. Got there right at 11am for our sunday brunch reservation. At first, service wasn't bad but it took an hour to get our food and another hour to flag someone down to tell them I Found a WORM in my huevos rancheros. So.. After letting another server know about the worm.. we kept waiting for our server/management to come by & acknowledge the situation. Nothing. No word from management and barely 2 apologies from our actual server. Now their service has really gone down the drain. Server kept apoloziging but didn't exactly say why he was sorry. I had to ASK him if he was notified about my dish and he says "don't worry we'll take care of it." Such vague responses. Take care of 'it'? I wasn't even sure how it was "getting taken care of" since he did not care to explain.

if you pay $75/person NOT including tip, you'd expect the decency for them to provide better service. I've gotten better service at Chili's. This is the second time i've been to this establishment and i am not sure i'll return for another visit or recommend this beautiful place to anyone else. I really wanted to love this place.. Its unfortuneate that this place relies on its beautiful views because i wouldn't pay $75/person again for this kind of service. Kitchen, head chef, and management need to step up their communication and organizational skills. Also, i don't appreciate your server thinking he is funny by being sarcastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

The server was a disaster, we ordered an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The server was a disaster, we ordered and later she came apologizing because they didn't have prawns we were so confused because we never order prawns, when we ordered pour food we ask for pork and she suggested to have it medium cooked so we went with it...when they brought it was overcooked so we sent it back because it was dry...desert time came and they gave us the menu without telling us what items weren't abailable only when we ordered the soufflé they inform us that they have ran out ... So overall was very disappointing... At the end the Chef came to our table to "apologize" but more to tell us that we did not cut the pork by the very center where was actually medium ... So upsetting and did not offer anything to like make it up or anything, definitely no going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Maybe there was a wedding prior or some ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Maybe there was a wedding prior or some other event. However, everything was off tonight. We waited 15 minutes for the hostess to seat us.... wait she said we would have to wait for them to clear the table despite there being many open tables. We would another 30 minutes to be seated. This is bizarre and completely unacceptable. The hostess was unapologetic and rude. After being seated not where'd hoped with a view but rather right next to a couple having an intense private discussion. Why seat us here?

Because we were so late being seated we ended up being the last people dining and clearly the last dish of the night. Our server was apologetic and good but we couldn't win. It was clear everyone working just wanted to go home. While we had hoped to have a special last night in Santa Barbara meal and experience, we had an apathetic and sad mean. I left feeling disappointed and a little bit like I wasted money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

From the moment we drove up Friday eve t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

From the moment we drove up Friday eve thru the Santa Barbara hills to being seated at our outdoor edge balcony patio table overlooking the town & ocean view, we were enthralled with our Special Birthday dinner at El Encanto -which we'd heard about 10 years before & had kept on our List -To-Do-SOME-DAY,not being local & NOW was it!!

We'd been told to arrive @ 6:30PM to watch the 6:45PM sunset by the attentive hostess prior -(beautifully setting in west as if on cue!), while we were treated to superbly creative appetizers, mouth-watering meals, great drinks & wine & superior service by All who came to our table-including Christian, our wonderful waiter, who answered our meal questions with helpful suggestions & fulfilled ALL our dining requests-with several surprises-including unexpected Special dessert added to the evening's 3 hour relaxed, romantic dining experience.

The World stood still -while twinkling city lights slowly appeared along with the stars & it was indeed as we'd hoped-EL ENCANTO...an Enchanted Evening-well worth it ALL!*

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, , Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is as beautiful as it gets; a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The place is as beautiful as it gets; a clear nights in Santa Barbara makes this place sparkle! The service from our waiter was wonderful; he was attentive; knowledable and friendly.

We shared an appetizer of grilled octopus with chorizo and it had a well balanced flavor with hits of excellence. My wife had the beef tenderloin with a side of wild mushrooms - although they gracefully corrected the problem, the steak was overcooked - served medium well instead of medium rare. The mushrooms were void of flavor - a huge misfortune. My chicken was flavorful and rather enjoyable for a barbaric individual like myself - my wife made a fitting comment because of the poor presentation and rather exagerated portion.

Call me old-fashioned but at the elevated price point I expected beautiful linen and nicer steam-ware - it would have made the experience better.

Last but not least, the live background music was magical - this is worth a quick return trip for drinks at the bar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The El Encanto is one of the most beauti ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The El Encanto is one of the most beautiful spots to dine in Santa Barbara. The service is outstanding! Some items on the menu are great and some just ok. I would go back anyway as it's a special place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This Hotel has more value than our expec ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This Hotel has more value than our expectations. The view was incredible. The staff and the service was excellent good. The quality of the food and the taste is one of the best we have ever had. the rooms were very clean and comfortable. we will definitely go back.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.