Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 5/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

4.5
636 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
  • Good for a Date
Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 770-3530
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Johan Denizot
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lasuen
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy mesmerizing views of the Pacific Ocean and live entertainment while you delight in Executive Chef Johan Denizot’s tempting treats.

Monday - Thursday: Solo pianist from 6:00-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: Vocalist from 6:00-9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: Jazz trio from 11:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Belmond El Encanto can accommodate all of your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great for drinks, fresh ingredients and great view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Outstanding food; too bad even the outdoor seating was very noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Dsy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Love the view, and the service was excellent. The food is very good and on the pricey side. A nice spot for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had great anticipation given the location and food and we were not disappointed with either. The main dissatisfaction came from the service but not because team was discourteous in any way they were all simply overwhelmed because they were under staffed. Had to wait longer than normal to order drinks and then one of the cocktails was completely wrong. Asked for the Whiskey and wine list and apparently there is only one whiskey list available for the entire dining area. Another table next to us observed what was going on and commented on their similar experience but they too went with the flow and felt sorry for the understaffed team. The other table were locals who were more than likely not coming back anytime soon which was also our conclusion as well. We may try again at a later date since the food was really good and hopefully management can work out their staff scheduling challenges.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The menu is not exceptional for either lunch or dinner. A little too formal for a hotel, even a five star hotel, that only has one restaurant. The servers are extremely nice and friendly but need better knowledge about the items on their menu and training on how to serve them. Overall the dining experience was very mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Beautiful ambiance, delicious food, and a knowledgeable, friendly staff. We highly recommend El Encanto for fine dining and a truly special evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wonderful Sunday brunch with a variety of delicious options. It was a bit too loud due to a large table of young people but they were very pleasant and having a good time. Just made it a bit difficult for conversation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Nice ambiance, great location overlooking the beach from a distance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Although pricey, everything from the greeting to tha valet fetching our car was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I’ve been traveling to Santa Barbara for the past 4 years and always wanted to dine here and finally went for brunch. It did not disappoint! The views from the patio and bottomless Bellini’s created a dining memory! Pricey pricey but worth a special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great location, great people, great service, great food, wonderfully civilized without being pretentious, very accommodating without being sappy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Firstly, the hotel is beautiful. Secondly , service was excellent as was the food. The Rock Angel rose was outstanding. Great to see this wine having the attention it deserves!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

The service at El Encanto is impeccable. Without being overbearing, wait staff is there to answer every question & serve all food/drink needs, all quite thoughtfully. Everyone at the hotel actually seems very eager to please, & I hope it becomes a locals hot spot like it used to be.

Our lunch consisted of splitting 3 items, which they did beautifully for no extra charge: a delicate pea soup as a starter, the Riviera salad with wonderful thick bacon pieces (as the lighter entree), & then the classic burger with the yummy onion jam & plentiful thin crispy fries. A very satisfying meal, ending delightfully with a surprise birthday dessert on the house.

Marc made some excellent wine suggestions & we followed suit with the Sandhi Sparkling Rose for the lighter courses, & then two different Cabernets for the burger. A wonderfully relaxing two hour lunch that I wish we could do more often!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great views and location!
Worth visiting for a lazy lunch to take in the views and enjoy and extended lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Perfect! Beautiful view from the terrace. Great service. Didn’t rush us. Delicious food!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Took a business associate here for dinner. He had heard of the establishment, but had never been there. We walked around the grounds before dinner, quite beautiful. This was my 4th visit here, and it has been a while. The meal was markedly better than the last, and my friend said it was one of the best meals he has ever had. He's in his 50's, so that's saying a lot. Wait staff very attentive and made sure everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have dined at the El Encanto several times with mixed results. I absolute love the setting; we often go up for drinks in the nice weather, and it's a wonderful location for a special occasion--one of the few restaurants in Santa Barbara where you can actually talk to your dining companions!
Our recent experience was unfortunate, however. The waitress did her absolute best to deal with a difficult situation, but our dinner experience suffered. Apparently there was some kind of computer glitch so communication with the kitchen wasn't going through. This is not a large restaurant, so surely orders can be placed manually in such a circumstance. But they were not. We waited a LONG time to get our entrees, and when we did, one of them was dried out--as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a long time. Not up to the price point and general expected caliber of this restaurant. Again, the waitress was accommodating and my husband ordered a different entree which came out quickly. But at the end, we were comped a mere two glasses of wine--not much compensation for a birthday dinner gone awry. I think they can do better.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The service was terrible. We didn't seem to have a dedicated server, so service was disjointed. Our dinner food came out before starter plates were cleared, and no one ever asked if we wanted more wine until half way through our dinner. For the price, the service should have been much more professional. We live nearby, but are not likely to go back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

The always elegant El Encanto did it again. Food was amazing. Slight ding on the service after our server forgot to add in the tax, and had to redo our checks. And the valet was nowhere to be found for 5 minutes of waiting outside. Otherwise a very enjoyable experience.


We will come again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Very nice special menu for restaurant week

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good food; stunning setting but poor service. The servers were friendly but forgetful. We had to wait 5 minutes for a maitre’d to check us in for our reservation; we were served soup without soup spoons and had to wait for them; the waiter forgot the bread; etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

We had a lovely anniversary lunch together. The staff was attentive and fun. We chose from the Restaurant Week menu and enjoyed the selection very much. We especially liked the Happy Anniversary played strawberries. So kind and thoughtful.
We were, however, sent a mild reprimand for not honoring our reservation the next day. Not sure why, but we see that was cleared up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

awesome time....wonderful food and perfect setting

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We had one waiter who seemed to be the one who “owned” our table, but several others also stopped to help us. the result was too many people involved with nobody really managing. This restaurant hs a great reputation, location and prices to match. We expected better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

The experience was great. The restaurant itself is very upscale with an excellent fine dining menu. So this location would be perfect for celebrating special occasions with friends and family. Dress code is not enforced, but it is a good idea to get dressed up to match the occasion, ambience and the food itself.
Plating, presentation and service are excellent. Bay scallops are highly recommended for choice of entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Girls night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Outstanding, as always. Our favorite place in Santa Barbara for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

This was a Valentines date, a few day late, for my wife and I, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience for us to just relax and enjoy each other's company while savoring a delicious meal and enjoying the gorgeous sunset. We will definitely return again soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Service not good for a fine establishment; coffee spilled and instead of bringing new, waitstaff stayed at the table wiping up coffee with a napkin and leaving the same cup. Food very mediocre for pricey location, and not much for lunch to choose from. Request for outdoor patio was honored, and appreciated. Go for the views and location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This is our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara .. food is great , service is impeccable 5 stars , great for visitors and is unforgettable ... Gary Rollé

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

food is very great. I mean very great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Beautiful setting but once again the inefficient and inexperienced waitstaff is a major drawback to dining at the El Encanto Restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 13, 2018

We have dined at the El Encanto many times over the past 20 years. It used to be a special restaurant with very good food and a beautiful view from several tables in the dining room. Our experience this week for a pre-Valentine's Day dinner was disappointing from start to finish.
Having made a reservation for a window table three weeks ahead of time we were disappointed to be told upon our arrival that the remaining window table was reserved for a hotel guest who had made a request. We were seated instead at a banquette table for four. The seating options at our table were a much too low sofa or a high dining chair- both uncomfortable. Within 15 minutes of our being seated, an additional table was carried into the dining room and placed by the window. I thought at that moment that perhaps the table was for us, but no, a couple carrying drinks from the bar was seated next to that window. Meanwhile the other empty table by the window remained unoccupied.
On this particular evening the outside was a cool 50 degrees yet the doors between the outside patio and the dining room remained open all evening. After we jokingly requested our waiter ask if one of the patio heaters could be brought into the chilly dining room, he closed the two open doors to the patio. In less than 5 minutes one of those doors was reopened and remained open the rest of the evening.
The food was ok but not special in any way. And the bottle of wine we chose was a favorite of ours though the price at this restaurant was $50 more than at another Santa Barbara restaurant that we frequent.
We still like this location for warm weather patio seating, but we won't return for dinner. We are now quite embarrassed that we gave a generous gift certificate to a well know local chef and his wife at their retirement dinner. Hopefully they will use our gift certificate for the hotel spa and not the dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Glad we went. Best views in Santa Barbara. Nice to have indoor and outdoor options

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Could not have been better

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Servers were pleasant but very uninformed and were not well trained.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Beautiful place and great food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We arrived ahead of our 7:30 reservation at 6:50 pm to have drinks in the bar area with our friends who live in Santa Barbara—we were visiting from LA. The bartender was so busy frantically filling drink orders for the dining room that we were never able to put in a drink order. We sat and chatted in a sofa near the bar and were never paid the least attention. When we were seated on the patio we were served bread and discovered that only one of us had a bread and butter plate. Our entrees were mediocre at best. Drinks were absurdly expensive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Beautiful setting with great views. Minor hiccup with the filet being overdone but they took care of it and comped the meal. The duck was amazing. Would definitely go back and try other dishes.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by Belmond El Encanto Dining Room