About Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

800 Alvarado Place
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
View Larger Map

Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lasuen

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-3530

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/el-encanto-santa-barbara/santa_barbara_restaurants

Parking Details:
Day use of facilities is $10.00, $5.00 with restaurant/lounge validation.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.

Restaurant Photos

  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
  • Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room
Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Belmond El Encanto can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
6 More
Scenic View
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Great for Lunch
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Scenic View (53)
Romantic (43)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fantastic. Service was not "fin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was not "fine dining" worthy. Had to repeatedly ask for more water, also had to pour our own wine. Restroom was out of toilet paper. When I told a staff member, there was no apology, simply a "thanks for letting me know". A staff member brought me a complimentary dessert with candle (lovely), however, it was delivered at the exact moment my husband left the table for the restroom, so I was sitting alone with a candle/flame. I expect a high end restaurant to have paid closer attention and waited for all of the table party to be present for this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We trusted Open Table to recommend a goo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We trusted Open Table to recommend a good restaurant in a town we had never before visited, and they did. The setting is beautiful, especially as the coastline lights up after sunset. The waiter was helpful, recommending a wine we especially enjoyed. The food was wonderful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in Santa Barbara also So. Cal . ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The best in Santa Barbara also So. Cal . Food is fantastic and natural ... Best view in SB and service is Five Star like the Hotel

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iconic restaurant that continues to deli ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Iconic restaurant that continues to deliver exceptional cuisine and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Several small issues linked to the servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Several small issues linked to the service:

-One chair was missing at the table, staff did not seem to care

-Order lost in the kitchen, when the dishes finally arrived, my younger had to wait 10 more minutes to get hers

-Waitress forgot that I paid the bill and ran after me like if I was a thief running out the door (she took and processed my card 5 minutes before)

-The vallet tried to give my car to another couple

Staff was really nice, but they kept making small mistakes. Other than that, view was amazing and food was good.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

It was so dark outside that I could no ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was so dark outside that I could not see what I was eating. The lighting at the table was way too dim.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We celebrated our 48th anniversary with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated our 48th anniversary with dinner as a gift from our son and his wife. It was a beautiful evening and dinner was fabulous. We would love to take the whole family back sometime.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rarely do you ever encounter such except ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Rarely do you ever encounter such exceptional, sincere and outstanding service. The service is only matched by the food and wine pairings. This restaurant is truly special, a real gem and a wonderful find. We've been several times and each time are reminded at what a special, truly extraordinary experience this is.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful spot to have a long lunch on ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A beautiful spot to have a long lunch on the terrace. Very attentive service. Food is great every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff and servers couldn't have been ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The staff and servers couldn't have been more attentive and professional! They didn't hover, but we never lacked for refills for our beverages, as well as, checking in to see if we needed anything in addition to our order. From the Valet /wait staff service, the priceless view, the incredible serene grounds to the scrumptious meal it was magnificent---we only wished we could have stayed longer than just lunch. We're going back for a longer stay!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've ever had.. Perfect in ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal I've ever had.. Perfect in every way. Looking forward to going back soon.

The live music was a perfect touch brought an additional layer of class to a amazing evening. Quintessential Santa Barbara, casual yet elegant, relaxed yet precise. perfect experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best restaurants we ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was one of the best restaurants we found in SB area. Very cool place to eat; fabulous views; friendly staff and nice vibe; and food (along with the storehouse) best in area we found.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I live nearby and have visited El Encant ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I live nearby and have visited El Encanto several times. Great view from outside but food portions are small and expensive and too complicated. The hamachi was good but my lamb was two bites and $40. My friend's fish was four bites. It took over an hour to get our food delivered and we had to get up and search for people to get us more wine, etc. There are many employees running around all the time but ineffective for sure. I will go back for drinks, maybe, but it's not at the top of my list at all. People from out of town like it here though, and I go when they want to.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Appetizers were fantastic. Entrees good ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Appetizers were fantastic. Entrees good. Drinks flowing. Very romantic and elegant dining. Lovely setting and great drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My steak was ordered medium rare. It ca ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My steak was ordered medium rare. It came to the table well done, but I was with clients and could not send it back without ruining our meal's ambience. At $48 for the steak (a la carte), I would expect perfection. The other people in our party seemed to enjoy their meals. The dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great restaurant. Perfect setting for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great restaurant. Perfect setting for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will definitely return when we are back ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Will definitely return when we are back in Santa Barbara. This place is a gem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I regularly come to this restaurant in t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I regularly come to this restaurant in this lovely hotel because I know that it will always be a great experience. I brought someone who I wanted to thank for coming through for me. We had a scrumptious meal. The service was impeccable. The view of Santa Barbara was fantastic. From the moment one drives to the front of the hotel one feels very special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This al fresco dining experience is not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This al fresco dining experience is not to be missed. Fantastic food, great wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 2nd tine here - the view is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is our 2nd tine here - the view is spectacular and the patio seating is so relaxing (usually). If you are planning to dine here on the weekend, you may want to ask if any weddings are taking place - it's usually a very relaxing serene place, but with a DJ and rowdy wedding guests, it became something different. Our servers were fantastic and very attentive. Arrive early and enjoy a cocktail and the live music in the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant. Great view, great service ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very pleasant. Great view, great service food is good but not great. Coffee very good for US though

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The outside setting was absolutely perfe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The outside setting was absolutely perfect -- sunset, ocean waves and mountains. Outstanding menu with local ingredients. Staff was professional yet kind. Top rate all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food, view and service. A bit p ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous food, view and service. A bit pricey but well worth the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time dining at El Encanto was ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our second time dining at El Encanto was as disappointing as the first time.

The quality and preparation of the food is not worthy of the high prices.

The view is stellar though! Go for cocktails!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We were hoping for a similar experience ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were hoping for a similar experience we had 33 years ago on our honeymoon. We had a late reservation, it took 45 minutes to get seated, they brought the wrong cocktail, our first bite of food arrived almost 90 minutes after our reservation time, and the pleasant music they provided had to compete with the wedding band downstairs. But the full moon was beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Good food, busy and lively atmosphere. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food, busy and lively atmosphere. Great pianist and singer. Some of the best views of Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was ok. El Encanto has not be consi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was ok. El Encanto has not be consistent. Wine pours for wine by the glass were small based on the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

My first time there. A hidden Gem. Fant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My first time there. A hidden Gem. Fantastic AMBIENCE, great SERVICE AND THE FOOD WAS Amazing. My best dining experience in the last few years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Top end of the dining experience all the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Top end of the dining experience all the way around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Food was fantastic. Wi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful view. Food was fantastic. Wine was awesome. They passed out blankets when it got cold. Nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time there in the past ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our 3rd time there in the past week. Staying in SB. The view is awesome and it stops there. Service was non-existent, food was sent back 3x and still not corrected. Manager never stepped foot back at the table to check we poured our own $400 worth of wine purchased there. We called over the manager to discuss and all he could do was apologize for the service. Sadly, not worth it..watched several others complain and walk out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

This is an amazing restaurant. Best in S ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is an amazing restaurant. Best in Santa Barbara. We have been going for 30 years. The service , view, wine and food is amazing! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great and the view ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service were great and the view from the patio was spectacular. A wonderful dining experience on all levels!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The chocolate souffle was well worth the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The chocolate souffle was well worth the wait. Hakan is delightful. The salad we chose was ok, the soup good, the chicken and fish and mac and cheese, my family gave a 6/10. My vegetarian pasta dish a 7.5/10.

Ambience 10/10. Can get chilly.

Breakfast was superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

What can one say about this place? Of co ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

What can one say about this place? Of course the views and setting are spectacular! One of the best spots in SB! Really lovely and upscale but also at same time relaxed and warm and inviting. Sitting out on terrace was wonderful. The service is superb and they are clearly well trained. The food seemed well done in terms of beaitifu lol presentation but it wasn't perfectly executed and at this price you expect better. My fish was not crispy skin and it was served cold had to send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Normally a great place. Unfortunately we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally a great place.

Unfortunately we showed up for a price fixed sunday brunch and it was way overpriced for the value, service was very poor, including no alternative offered for unlimited bellinis, drinks not refilled etc, etc.

Will be back but not for the sunday brunch. Its still the best view restaurant in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Enjoyed a lovely meal on the patio on a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely meal on the patio on a recent Thursday afternoon for lunch. We were seated along the edge of the patio, providing a sublime view of Santa Barbara. Just a beautiful spot to sit outside and enjoy a meal. My husband enjoyed his BLT...although the fries were a bit spicy for his liking. I ordered a pasta dish - very good, but nothing out of the ordinary. You come here to sit outside and enjoy the view. Food, although good, is secondary to the scenery.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The deck and view are unmatched in Santa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The deck and view are unmatched in Santa Barbara. The presentation of food was noteworthy. The execution of the food was did not met our expectation. Our choice was from their fish selections. The other protein selections may have been better. Note: The bar menu and the breakfast menu were all excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT TO BELMOND EL E ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

THIS WAS MY SECOND VISIT TO BELMOND EL ENCANTO IN A MONTH. I LOVE THIS PLACE FOR A SPECIAL AFTERNOON OR EVENING MEAL SO I TOOK HUBBY THERE FOR SUPPER ON FATHERS' DAY - MY SECOND VISIT TO THE RESTAURANT. THE SETTING, THE BEAUTIFULLY APPOINTED LOBBY, BAR AND PATIO ARE ALL SUPREME - TRULY SPECIAL. IT'S A WONDERFUL PLACE TO RELAX AND LINGER AS LONG AS YOU LIKE, ENJOYING THE MAGNIFICENT PANORAMA OF THE SANTA BARBARA COASTLINE. I LOVE THAT IT'S CASUAL OR DRESSY - WHATEVER YOU NEED IT TO BE. THE BAR MUSICIAN AND PIANO PLAYER ON FRI - SAT NIGHTS ARE FANTASTIC AND ADD A WONDERFUL EXTRA ELEMENT OF ELEGANCE AND SOPHISTICATION TO THE SETTING WITH THEIR WONDERFUL MUSIC SELECTIONS. I LOOK FORWARD TO THE GOOD-BUT-NOT-GREAT SERVICE AND FOOD CATCHING UP TO THE REST OF THE EXPERIENCE. I PLAN TO CONTINUE TO VISIT TO ENJOY WHAT'S ALREADY GREAT AND CHECK IN ON HOW THE SERVICE AND FOOD ARE ADVANCING.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was lacking, we rarely saw o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was lacking, we rarely saw our server and the food took quite a long time to get out. We found out that they had a sommelier, not from our server, but by seeing him serving some of the tables around us. The sommelier was outstanding. The wine he recommended was very good and paired perfectly with the meal we had ordered. He was very attentive and even gave us advise on other pairings.

I ordered stake which was poor, by any standards. The kids order the Rack of lamb which was very, very good. My wife ordered the duck which was also very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.