Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Belmond El Encanto Dining Room

Enjoy California coastal cuisine with a side of stunning ocean views.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room features comfortable indoor seating and al fresco indulging on The Terrace. The Wine Room is the perfect venue for your private gatherings.

Light dining, sunset hour cocktails, extensive California wines by the glass and Afternoon Tea happen at The Lounge.

The Bar is your place for handcrafted cocktails complemented by live entertainment.

800 Alvarado Place
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Daily: 5pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Lasuen

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-3530

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/el-encanto-santa-barbara/santa_barbara_restaurants

Entertainment:
Enjoy mesmerizing views of the Pacific Ocean and live entertainment while you delight in Executive Chef Johan Denizot’s tempting treats.

Monday - Thursday: Solo pianist from 6:00-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: Vocalist from 6:00-9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: Jazz trio from 11:00am-2:00pm

Parking Details:
Complimentary

Executive Chef:
Johan Denizot

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lush gardens and sweeping ocean views set a lovely scene for your wedding or gathering. From the wisteria-lined Arbor and Lily Pond to the elegant ballroom with exclusive patio, you can select from a variety of Belmond El Encanto’s signature locales to host your event. From rehearsal dinners to ceremonies to post wedding brunches, Belmond El Encanto offers the ideal venue.

Specials

Winemaker Dinner - Bien Nacido Vineyards

Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Winemaker Dinner - Bien Nacido Vineyards

Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us at our Winemaker Dinner where Executive Chef Johan Denizot has married his regionally inspired cuisine with the exquisitely produced Bien Nacido Vineyards. Gather for a welcome reception at 6:30pm, followed by a multi-course tasting menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Winemaker Dinner will take place at The Dining Room and is $120 per person. Special valid on Thursday Sep 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Belmond El Encanto can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Belmond El Encanto Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

79% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff took such great care of my party. I wanted to bring my mom here for lunch on her 70th birthday. They gave us a great table on the patio, brought her a dessert with "happy birthday" spelled out in chocolate and generally made her feel like a celebrity. She was so happy, and so was I!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Having traveled and dined almost all over the world, their cuisine brings me back to different places I had been. Nous avions une souris de canard pour l'apéritif et m'a ramené en France. Il risotto estivo con molte verdure resche mi ha riportato in Italia. We went here to celebrate my partners birthday and he loved it! Thank you for the sumptuous and decadent chocolate cake!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

I'm born and raised in Santa Barbara but had never eaten at the El Encanto's restaurant. For my one year anniversary with my boyfriend, we decided to give it a try and we're so glad we did. There was a rare Santa Barbara thunderstorm that evening which gave us incredible views of lightning on a warm evening on the patio. Our service from the valet staff to the servers at the restaurant were fantastic and the food was incredible. I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a beautiful atmosphere, fantastic food, and an incredible wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was excellent unfortunately the service was poor. This was our second time back we thought we would give it another try because of the excellent food. Unfortunately we had the same experience with poor service. The hostess made no eye contact and was not welcoming to the 3 groups before us waiting to be seated. The waitresses argued over who's section we were in and rarely came back to check on us. It took 15 minutes to receive our drinks and at the end of the evening our coffee never came.
However, the food runners / bussing staff were very professional , friendly and attentive. The valet were also excellent and was again the food was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have to say that I was very pleased - from Ben the valet parking attendant to Peter our waiter - exceptional service - it was my wife's birthday and it could have not been any better - I like what Peter did at the end ever so discreet (no singing) he brought my wife this beautiful piece of pastry with a chocolate sauce inscription on it - such a perfect closing to a perfect meal - Peter ever so gracious (I called him by the wrong name) made it easier for me to absorb my embarrassment. My wife and I are definitely going back in the near future - we were pampered and every detail of our experience at your establishment far exceeded our expectations - you have now (gained) our loyal patronage - thank you very much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

El Encanto is lovely - not inexpensive but a really good experience. It is such a beautiful
location and the combo of food and service doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had heard good things about the Sunday brunch at El Encanto and were not disappointed. The appetizer plate was a great way to start the meal- a nice variety of dishes and not too heavy. Each of us enjoyed our entree and they were portioned well so we actually had a little room to sample the desserts. The setting is beautiful and the view cannot be beat. The only complaint would be the bees that were persistent in their attempts to try our food. Maybe some bee traps strategically placed throughout the patio would help. All in all, one of our new favorites for Sunday brunch. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Beautiful dining room and great views! Unfortunately, the horrible service overshadowed all of it. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. We waited at least 15 minutes before we gave up and walked to the bar to order our drinks. The waitress finally came over after 3 tables seated after us were greeted and served. The food was delicious, but the poor service continued throughout our meal so that is all I remember. Our bill was very overpriced for our experience. It was such a shame to waste a day in Santa Barbara here. Overall, I think it's worth a visit, just cross your fingers that the management sees this review and sets higher standards for their servers.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Perfect, good food, beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wow, what a Sunday brunch! The highlight is the appetizer assortment and dessert station. Absolutely first class. Amazing dishes with a fresh seafood flair. You will not be disappointed with this brunch but $$$$ - expect it but it's an all day meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Gorgeous setting, delicious food, great service. Heavenly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Special place with ambience, well prepared and presented food. Impeccable service. Gorgeous surroundings and worth a visit for a special occasion. We always go when visiting Santa Barbara. It's special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food and service was amazing! We celebrated our anniversary and had a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

There is a well-known rule that the quality of the food is inversely proportional to the beauty of the view. Every rule has an exception, and El Encanto epitomizes the exception beautifully. This restaurant is set at a gorgeous hotel, with beautiful grounds, and lovely decor. The seating is comfortable and sensible. They have special space heaters so no one will be cold (although when I went, the sun was shining down so hard that the fabulous umbrellas provided much needed shade). The service could not be better. The prices were, well, much lower than I had expected, and easily half of what they should have been (shhh!). So, I know that you expect me to insult the food, but I cannot. Each and every morsel was wholesome goodness prepared perfectly. Very tasty, well made, flawless. I plan to go back often. You should too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were very disappointed in our experience at this restaurant. We had a reservation and were guests at the Belmond El Encanto. We were placed at a back table next to a very noisy bar. In addition, there were several children that were allowed to run around our table. Our waitress was not attentive at all. It took a long time for her to acknowledge us and we were given wine glasses for our champagne. The food was average. I ordered the king crab legs and the portion size was very small. Overall, very disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Do not order the SURF AND TURF. There's more turf than surf and Langoustine, what little morsels there were of it was absolutely terrible , i.e. green and slimy. This was a special birthday dinner ruined by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was good and we were served quite promptly. But we had many wait staff handling our table which was confusing. One person brought bread, another took our order, someone else brought wine, our main course was served while we were still eating our salads and no one was there to clear the plates. So it seems a bit frantic and not particularly relaxing. It's a place where you go to be seen, not necessarily where you go to relax.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

There is no question that this is a beautiful location - stunning in fact. Our waitress was outstanding - but the meal itself lingered a little too long (drinks were slow to come out as was the food). The tables were a little too close together - we were a party of two trying to have a quiet, romantic dinner, sitting next to a party of five, celebrating a birthday. It ruined the ambiance a bit.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Customer service was horrible. Almost half an hour to take our food order. Staff is not attentive to people's tables, and lastly almost 45 minutes to pick up our check. I would not recommend this restaurant to any of my friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was FAIR.....a major disappointment! Blah

Too bad because the view was so pretty.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The setting is beautiful ( ask for a table on the terrace) with sweeping views of Santa Barbara and -on a clear day- the pacific.
The food is well prepared with quality ingredients, though perhaps not all that creative. The rack of lamb is superb, as is the black cod.
HOWEVER, the service is very, very slow.
And our waiter kept bringing and opening bottles of wine without consulting us. As we were a fairly large group, it resulted in a rather inflated bill, which we did not appreciate.
Thus the low rating on service...
Still, this is overall a good experience, something to be tried at least once. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service and great food in an amazing setting. Sitting on the terrace during the golden hours before sunset while you experience amazing service and delicious and beautifully crafted food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ambiance, view and food were all incredible. However, the service seemed to be off as it took 1.5 hours to get our entrees. About 30 minutes before that, one of the wait staff tried to deliver one of our sides which was kind of odd. We were treated to a complimentary dessert (not necessary but a nice gesture). I would still recommend the restaurant as I know kitchens sometimes get behind.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Love El Encanto. Just wish I would get my points for booking on Open Table. I did this time. Not when I went May 17th...even though I was supposed to get 1000 points. My account has me as a no show. It makes me feel like a deadbeat. I was there!!! But, don't let that dissuade you. For a special occasion and $$$ you can't beat the El Encanto for out of town guests!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

What a beautiful venue! High in the hills, the setting looks over Santa Barbara's coastline. The crab in lobster broth with the sushi rice cake was delicious. The service was so attentive and everything was so well prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The little gem romaine Lettuce was petite and delicate ...seemed like it was just picked from the garden. The Caesar vinaigrette was light lemony bright and not overdone.. the grilled prawns were large and succulent . The wine and champagne list were interesting .. great French champagnes ! A glorious view of the city while enjoying perfect service and excellently prepared cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was treating an old dear friend to an early birthday lunch as I am out of town on her actual birth date. She was treated like royalty the moment we came through the door. Our waiter ( I wish I knew his name) was friendly, warm, funny and extremely efficient! He mentioned the menu was new that day and he hadn't had a chance to have any feedback yet but was eager to know what we ordered and what we had to say about it. Robin took over our table when his shift ended and she was equally delightful!! It wasn't my first experience with her and she warmly remembered me. She was equally efficient and perhaps has been there longer as she seemed a little more knowledgeable. She was lovely about acknowledging my friends birthday and eager to answe questions we had about the resort. This has to be one of the loveliest, friendliest and most beautiful restaurants on the Southern California coast!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of top five cuisine in SB.
As part time residents of SB for 25 years, there are only a few restaurants in town that we can sincerely recommend to visiting out of town guests.
ElEncanto is consistently one of those few.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sadly, our experience was not great which was a surprise as we stayed at this hotel last year and have stayed at many of this chain's hotels in Italy which have all been superb.

We arrived on time at 8pm but had to wait for our table simply because there wasn't sufficient waiting staff free to take us to our table. Now 810pm, we were seated and ordered our drinks. However, there was a "group at the bar" causing a delay so after several apologies which was good, our drinks arrived at 830pm. The waitress said our drinks would be on the house. Then we ordered however when the starters arrived - there were just two of them and we waited several minutes for the other two starters. My impression was there was insufficient suitably trained waiting staff on that evening to cope and this was an off night or that perhaps service by 8pm -
which can be considered late in the US - just deteriorates. The views are spectacular but the price of dining is high so one expects a high level of service and quality, not just a great view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

First time back in years. Beautiful venue. Nice staff but slow and uneven. For the price, venue and presentation, the meal was laughably bad. The food clearly had been plated and left out for quite a while before being served, the much touted "surf and turf" consisted of a two smallish slices of tough/super sinewy beef and two Costco frozen shrimp. The ice cream for dessert arrived half melted and warm, also left out. The appetizers were excellent. The staff clearly was aware as they only asked how we liked the appetizers and carefully avoided asking the same for the rest of the meal. This restaurant now just serves "hotel food". Pity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Terrific dining experience, incredible view, setting and ambiance. We have to disagree with another recent reviewer who claimed Jillian was inattentive. She was our server this evening and could not have been better, including giving us some very helpful recommendations on menu items. Our favorite dishes were the ahi tuna starter, the beef tenderloin, bay scallops, corn mac and cheese, and the dark chocolate soufflé for dessert. Supporting servers, hostess, and parking valets were also all top notch.
Request one of the outdoor tables with a sofa on one side - though beware you may not want to leave...
This was our first time to dine there and we would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Overall we had a good -not great experience. Our server Kelly was amazing but there were a few things that sort of made the experience feel a little chaotic. There was someone playing a piano inside by the bar and we weren't sure if that was the music being played out on the patio as well. If so the sync was off and they were sort of dueling against each other. If the music being played outside was different - they should have turned it off during the piano set.

As the sun set, it got cold outside and it seemed that the restaurant didn't have full propane tanks for their heaters. Several tables were complaining and you could see the staff trying to do their best to accommodate everyone but the movement based on all of that took away from what was to be a relaxing anniversary dinner. We ended up with 2 blankets for warmth (that still had the dry cleaning bill stapled onto them).

The food was good but nothing that was really unique on the menu. Probably due to the heating situation, when the serving assistant dropped our entree (the steak) at the table he didn't give us steak knives. We also split the yummy corn mac and cheese but they didn't leave us a spoon to dole it out with.

Desert took longer than expected. Yes we knew the soufflé would take 15 minutes but it was way longer than that and we were tired. We were going to take the deserts to our room but advised it would be best to eat the soufflé there. We also had the strawberry shortcake which tasted a little stale.

Overall, it was fine. I would say for such an acclaimed resort Hotel restaurant we expected more. Again we had an amazing server in Kelly, but for some reason it seemed like the restaurant itself didn't know it gets cold in the SB mountains at night, and the assistant servers weren't quite forward thinking (silverware, bringing one blanket, tags/bill from dry cleaning still attached)etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Horrible experience!! My wife and I will never go back, and neither will our friends or family. Our waitress (Jillian I believe) was extremely inattentive and would leave us unattended for long periods of time. Our beef tenderloins were over cooked. The only thing that we liked was the mashed potatoes and the dark chocolate soufflé. What speaks volumes is the fact that we were not the only ones who were dissatisfied with the food and service. During the roughly 1 hour we were there, we heard and saw at least 5 other tables complain about their food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service and best food there is paired with that view

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Killer views, amazing food, and great proseco! I had a vodka club soda and it was served in a crystal glass- very nice touch. Beef tenderloin was definitely worth it. We also ordered the heirloom tomato salad, ahi tuna, mac and cheese, oysters, and scallops: all of which were executed perfectly.

Alicia provided excellent service- try to get in her section if you can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent service; exceptional food and drinks. Unforgettable views of Santa Barbara

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was great but service was a bit slow. Wait staff veey nice though.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

As always, the hotel/decor and the grounds and views are beyond description! Gorgeous! Unfortunately, as always, the food is just ok and the service is so bad as to almost be laughable considering the setting. I have stayed and dined at the hotel for many years before and after their incredible renovation, and remain intrigued as to why they do not or can not raise the bar on their food and food service. It's the only thing that stands in the way of the El Encanto being a first rate luxury resort.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

First off, it's a beautiful location. I hadn't been in years and was going at the recommendation of a friend, but I was a bit disappointed. It did take a while for the food to come out. It was fine because we weren't in a rush, but it was noticeably slow. The food was fine - nothing spectacular though. We thought maybe it was just "off" night for them, but seeing some of the reviews, perhaps not. Given that it's a very romantic spot, the tables are rather close together so you have to speak really quietly. Not sure if I will go back again, which is rather disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Unfortunately the salmon tasted too fishy for me. I didn't eat it. Otherwise the rest of the food was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.