About Bellwether

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $17 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food and service, quiet enough to have a conversation without yelling, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband loved the pork chops and apples. I had the battered cod but it was too greasy. Other than that the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was mediocre for the price. Lamb chops, terrible. Scallops, very small, tasted ok. Kids had burgers they enjoyed. Alcoholic drinks good. Conveniently located to hotel. Bill was atrocious. Will def eat outside of embassy suites hotel for next dinner meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely place, upscale bar and nice restaurant upstairs and surrounding bar area. Menu is great ranging from large selection of burgers to fish, steak and numerous other selections. Also wide choice of appetizers , salads and sides.

Did a great job remodeling the prior RJ Grunt property. Surprisingly, not overly crowded nor noisy. That likely should change as more get familiar with the new format.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went there with family and friends

What a beautiful place

seated promptly

served promptly

We sat on the upper level very nice to view everything

We all enjoyed our meals

will go again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Server was great, food was good though the spinach dip wasn't super flavorful. Good ambiance and my friend and I said we'd be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Alex was a great waiter. I had fish and chips. I loved the French onion soup. I thought the cod was only fair. My son loved the fish. Wives loved their meals. I would come again-probably get something different. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love this place, its old school meets modern. Low lighting and very comfy seats. All of the food is great and the wait staff is super. I would recommend all around.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Private Room, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was rich but underwhelming, including a strip steak that seemed like something you'd get from a chain grocery store. Very nice wine list, but waiter's knowledge of the winelist wasn't strong – I would fault an owner for not sufficiently training his staff. Hip ambience and was overall a pleasant evening but given real competition in a big city this fits in as equivalent to a mediocre hotel restaurant. Upgrade the food a bit, and the service a bit, and it has real potential.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Walked by Bellwether many times on the way to AMC21 River East. Stopped in with Chicago visitors--what a nice surprise. Great appetizers (try the Brussel Sprouts!) and overall menu. Great kale salad. Pasta dishes and flat breads were tasty. Servers were very attentive. Good Streeterville location for families, couples and get togethers with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice place! Great prices and good food! Service was great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Better than expected for what looked like an upscale bar restaurant. Quiet on the second floor and scallops that were well prepared. Calamari a bit rubbery.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent, nice atmosphere, okay service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We never really saw our waitress but the hostess helped out a lot so we can make our movie on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was great. The service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed in the taste of the food. The calamari was gummy and the fish tacos just weren't tasty. The Mango Tango drink was not good to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is very close to my home, but the service was terrible, so I'm not sure I would go back. We noticed another table next to us having to ask for the manager twice also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good place to stop before or after AMC River East theaters. Fish & chips were good but had too much batter. Mediterranean flatbread was tasty, but quite salty with kalamata olives and feta cheese. Hummus veggie wrap good. Adequate wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We chose Bellwether for lunch because it was close to our hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Bellwether has a large menu that includes appetizers, salads, sandwiches, and many main course selections. The three of us each ordered from different parts of the menu and each enjoyed the food. Our server paid ample attention to us and the meal was quick.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This place is great. I love the new space!!!! Cannot wait to go back and entertain guests here. When this place was vacant it left little in that area. Bellwether is going to do great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very disappointed...party of three and all meals were bad and the service wasn't a lot better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The breakfast tacos were amazing and the waffles were also really good.

Service was print and attentive without being overbearing and the decor was nice and modern.

Wish we could have come back a second morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The hostess and wait staff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, the food fell short on taste and menu really lacked variety. We were at a business meeting and it was extremely loud. I suppose if we were going to sit and text to each other, it would be fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

They tried to put six of us in a small booth that barely fits four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This restaurant features creative American dishes at attractive price points, in a casual yet upscale dining setting. We were there to watch sports and the huge screens did the job perfectly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love coming in for a quick bite and cold beer. My favorite local watering hole. Bartenders are great and food is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Bellwether is a nice restaurant for a pre-theater dinner or lunch if you are going to the AMC theater. My fish and chips were very good. The service was very attentive. The small Cobb salad

was very generous and loaded with bacon. Loved it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We arrived at our reservation time and were seated promptly. The server immediately came over and asked for our drink order and gave us more time to look over the menu. I ordered an iced tea with lemon and my mom just stuck with water. I ordered the lamb burger with truffle fries and my mom had the fish tacos, which came with corn chips. We both enjoyed our meals and the price was reasonable for two people. It was a nice meal before we enjoyed the Chicago International Film Festival next door. I would recommend it as a destination for lunch or dinner and will return again.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Host was excellent in accommodating our wish to move to a different table where we could watch the Cubs during Game 1 of the NLCS. Food was excellent. Portion was a bit smaller than usual though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place was great all around - awesome food, great service, and really cool vibe. We went there because it was right next to our hotel, but I will go again next time we are in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at this restaurant however we called in earlier in the day and chose the table we wanted but when we arrived in the evening it had been given to other diners.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food, nice looking place! celebrated my sisters last weekend single dinner here. great food, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was delicious and you receive large portions! Also, the actual design and decorations inside of the restaurant are beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was very good, food was adequate, drinks very good and setting very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been here several times and this restaurant is located in the lobby of the Embassy Suites Lakefront on the way to the Navy Pier. Food has always been very good and a great selection. Fish tacos are amazing. I would highly recommend this eatery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Modern restaurant popular with tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is really just an hotel restaurant, but one that we found to be very tasty - though the service was a bit slow. I would not really go out of my way to eat here, but if I were staying here or walking to Navy Pier, I would not hesitate to stop in again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Loved the food & the whole vibe of the place!!! I would recommend this to all my friends when in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love bellwether the service is great as well as the good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good electroswing music, great ceviche and meal. Server was a nice. Pretty empty place for a Saturday night, but good view of first floor guests on the second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a really nice lunch here. I appreciated the reminder phone call the day before to confirm our reservation. I was surprised at how empty the restaurant was, though, because my spinach salad with goat cheese, candied almonds, and lemon vinaigrette (I added chicken) was absolutely wonderful. I guess my only complaint would be that the salads were pricey since the proteins were an added charge.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Small portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

A frequent flyer at this place since it first opened (live right near it). Always a good spot to come if you want to watch a game and have some drinks with friends. The apps and burgers are great. As far as the "fancier" food, I've tried a couple of times and have not been impressed. Service has always been great for me. They have changed up the menu and ambiance for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was attentive...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Perfect location near Sheraton Grand. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2016

the food here is excellent. the shrimp cocktail is a winner. cesar salad is outstanding. the chicken sandwhich is the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Dined here for lunch with a client and a few colleagues. Had a reservation but it didn't look like it was necessary. We were seated immediately. Someone delivered waters promptly and the server stopped by and said she'd be with us shortly. She seemed pretty swamped and we did wait a little, but it wasn't excessive. Service was good, food was great. I had a BLT that was perfection. Others had burgers and the salmon cobb salad. All said the food was excellent. I would go back for the BLT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a lovely time and delicious food at the bellwether.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2016

I had the gnocchi and my husband had the lobster ravioli and both entrees were pretty bad. I did have the brussel sprouts which were okay and the wine was very reasonably priced as it was during happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Took a client for lunch. Service was great but the place was dead and the food not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.