Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Bellwether

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $17 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Burgers were good but I ordered a strip steak and it was totally over cooked and was not a strip steak cut.
Worst steak I ever had. Considering the location and $36 steak price I was greatly disappointed

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We've eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. Stuffed chicken is particularly a favorite. We even chose Bellwether to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary several months back. Good food and service, pretty setting and quiet enough to have a conversation if desired.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We ordered a ton of items off the menu and found several great ones (chicken skewers, strawberry salad, roasted brussel sprouts and french fries). There were a few that were simply ok (cesar salad and the mussels) and then those that were not great (gnocchi). I think it is a great location if you are having a meal before a movie or a drink after. It was quiet when we were there (7 on a weeknight) and I was surprised how empty it was for that time. Prices were ok -- some were great values (salads) and some were a little on the high side. I would eat here again, but be more selective in the items we picked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday there. Food was very good, especially the desserts. The rack of lamb was good although a smidge over cooked (waitress described it as a little pink but it wasn't). The seafood pasta was really good, shrimps and mussels perfectly good. The whiskey pecan pie and chocolate mousse were also highlights. Overall, great experience, friendly and competent staff, really good food, well worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just looking for a walk around the town , popped open "Open Table", saw they were nearby, had some reservations and the rest is history. Good menu, great service. Asked to be seated at the top level. Nice and quiet up there and great people watching. After dinner they let us be and talked.
Just a nice night with my honey in the best city in the world, enjoying a nice, casual dinner in a nice, relaxing restaurant. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Just okay. We sat upstairs and our server was so so on getting to us as he had a lot of tables. (I think). The food came out pretty quick and the overall feel was almost fast food. I think if we were downstairs and felt more of the atmosphere it could hvae been better, but only 2 tables upstairs and pretty lame. We didn't make it better as we didn't have anything to drink. I ate a burger it was a burger. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was so loud for dinner, I could not have a conversation with the person across the table from me. We were shouting to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Ceviche was fantastic. Gnocchi outstanding. Salads are wonderful too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Judging by the other reviews, we went on a very very off night. The service was non-existent with servers leaving the dining room completely unattended to the point that a couple in the booth next to us left without paying after waiting 20 minutes with no one around to help even after they got up and went looking. The food was like cafeteria food in a hospital. I had the braised short rib with mushroom reduction, polenta, and green beans. The green beans were perfectly cooked, fresh, and seasoned perfectly. The polenta however was dry, lumpy, cold when it arrived, and seasoned with what tasted exactly like the soup packet from chicken flavored Top Ramen. The braised short rib was dry, very obviously 3-5 days old and had been reheated in a microwave. The flavor profile of beef treated this way isn't mistakable for anything else. The mushroom reduction was about a tablespoon of gravy from a box mix that had either dried up under the heat lamp or boiled off in the microwave. I've been a chef for many years and I've owned, operated, and run restaurants in several U.S. states doing everything from fine dining to american grill menus as well as fusion menus in Southeast Asia. I realize that off nights happen but I also know exactly what it looks like when a trendy place with an ambitious menu gets lazy and lets the inmates run the asylum. This was a clear cut case of management asleep at the wheel. Our server, who didn't deliver our food, tried 3 times to get the guy who did deliver our food to actually bring it to our table. 3 times this guy left the kitchen with our food, walked a lap around the entire dining room, and then took our food back to the kitchen without delivering it. 3 times, our server told him it was ours and pointed to our table. It was just bizarre. There were only 3 tables in the whole place and at least 8 staff we could see on duty but it took 15 minutes from the first time our food appeared to when it finally made it to our table on the 4th lap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice restaurant in a good location but poor service. The hostess was extremely rude and it took over an hour for them to serve our food. When I asked if they would validate my parking, the manager replied, "only if you eat here." I was offended because I made a reservation and waited to be seated. I would've left but it was raining and I didn't want to disappoint or inconvenience my friends. Also, if you park in the lot and also go to the movies, they will not honor your parking validation after 4 hours. I couldn't even enjoy my food and the experience to its fullest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Live Sports, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We told of our server it was our first time here, what should we know. His response was what do you want to know? He was no help through the process and in fact was rarely seen. If the food was outstanding you could deal with the sub par service but both sub par food and service made for a night we won't remember for the high points. We visit Chicago frequently and have our favorite places we visit often...this will not be on that list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We picked this place because it was close to our hotel. However, I am pleased to report there are more reasons to go. The strip steak was tender and done just right. I had the pot pie. A treat for me and wasn't disappointed. Our wait staff was great and honestly, there should be more people here. It's a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and service was awesome. Meals were well portioned and the cocktails were very tasty. We were very pleased with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Nice to find a place for a late night seating. Food was delicious though seemed a bit under staffed so attention was at a minimum. A bit pricey but very cool atmosphere. People were very nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I would not call this a family restaurant, but I was traveling with 2 children (12 and 9) and the staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful towards them. If we stay at the Embassy Suites again, we will definitely eat there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was great. I had the stuffed chicken which was excellent. My husband had lobster ravioli it was delicious, but they only have 5 raviolis so wasn't very filling. I would go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Bellweather is a not so well known gem in the Streetervile area, an upscale bar with great dining and diversified menu. Service was outstanding and prices, for an area that is know to be overpriced is exceptionally reasonable. They have some great cocktails and not at all your typical loud barscene. Great place before or after a movie (next door) or for us just a great place for dinner and friends after a tough week on a friday evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food and service are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing service, atmosphere and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Just lousy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Met friends for Happy Hour and ate dinner. The service was good. Our waitress was very attentive. The drinks were good, but the food was just okay. It's difficult to mess up burgers and fries. The sweet potato fries tasted as if they were frozen then fried. Very soggy and didn't have much taste. The burgers were just okay. The ambiance is cool, but I wouldn't likely return. There are just too many other options in the neighborhood with great food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Better than a typical hotel restaurant but still felt like one.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Decent food. But clearly understaffed, as the host was also our busboy and our waiter. Not a good look

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great meal, easy pace, interesting decor.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My family and I dined here twice during our stay at the Embassy Suites in the same complex. It was good food with a selection of choices that fit all of our needs. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The service was very poor, we waited 20 minutes to get menus and drink orders. The food came mixed up and so I got someone elses burger, didn't realize it because they were similar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great ambiance. Food was good, but nothing amazing. About what you'd expect for the price downtown. Creative drinks. I'd probably go back, but only for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was good, service was definitely NOT good!!! Our server was very polite but avoided our table for a majority of the night. We sat with empty glasses for about 30 min. Brought the bill before we were ready (didn't ask about another round of drinks or desserts). And anytime we'd try to get her attention, she'd look away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Hadn't been into Bellwether in a while. Our waiter recommended the chicken noodle soup and it was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Good place and in hotel which made it a plus with the client

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I chose Bellwether because it was walkable from the hotel where I was staying. Food was just OK. Server was competent and informed. Nothing special. Prices moderate.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing food. Decent speed of service fitting the crowd. Waitress really confused about brunch specials. Offered special today-only drink specials that matched the prices on the regular daily menu. I asked what made that special and she had no idea what I was talking about.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food and service, quiet enough to have a conversation without yelling, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband loved the pork chops and apples. I had the battered cod but it was too greasy. Other than that the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was mediocre for the price. Lamb chops, terrible. Scallops, very small, tasted ok. Kids had burgers they enjoyed. Alcoholic drinks good. Conveniently located to hotel. Bill was atrocious. Will def eat outside of embassy suites hotel for next dinner meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lovely place, upscale bar and nice restaurant upstairs and surrounding bar area. Menu is great ranging from large selection of burgers to fish, steak and numerous other selections. Also wide choice of appetizers , salads and sides.

Did a great job remodeling the prior RJ Grunt property. Surprisingly, not overly crowded nor noisy. That likely should change as more get familiar with the new format.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went there with family and friends
What a beautiful place
seated promptly
served promptly
We sat on the upper level very nice to view everything
We all enjoyed our meals
will go again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Server was great, food was good though the spinach dip wasn't super flavorful. Good ambiance and my friend and I said we'd be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Alex was a great waiter. I had fish and chips. I loved the French onion soup. I thought the cod was only fair. My son loved the fish. Wives loved their meals. I would come again-probably get something different. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love this place, its old school meets modern. Low lighting and very comfy seats. All of the food is great and the wait staff is super. I would recommend all around.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.