Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Bellwether

4.3
236 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Bar Seating
  • Good for Groups
  • Business Meals
Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 222-1800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Vincent Munday
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Columbus
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $17 for up to 4 hours.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 236 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

It was a disappointment! Soup was not hot, sent it back , and it was still not as hot as desired. We were given our lunch except one. After waiting we had to ask for the remaining lunch. Except for the hummus which was great, the food was mediocre.
I expected much better and would not visit again or recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Andrew, our server, was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great experience as usual! We come here when we are in town and they never disappoint!! Great food selection, great service and love that it is family friendly! We recommend to all friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Perfect in every way.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Went for brunch. It was quiet and roomy. The portions are huge. The food itself is mediocre. My frittata was way over cooked. Good service, but don't go for the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Good prices, good food. Quiet place. Large menu and drinks options

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Celebrating a promotion

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Good was excellent, was a little noisy though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Bellweather is a great neighborhood restaurant which I encourage locals to visit. Bellwether offers the best bloody marys and mimosas. It is a true bargain price on weekends. The bloody mary is delicious and I love the bacon that is part of its garnish.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Fine after movie dining. Unnecessary “boom boom” music. Very unpleasant sound combined with the general restaurant noise I asked for it to be turned down and was ignored

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Overall good service, but when we asked for sweet tea we were given unsweetened tea and a selection of sugars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We had a great time for our anniversary here! We brought our two kids as we stayed in the Embassy; they service food and atmosphere were perfect. The server brought us a glass of champagne for our anniversary! It’s worth trying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Great variety on the menu, good ambiance and tasty food. Service was friendly and prompt but the food did take a little bit of time - but it was 7:30 on a Saturday.

Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Our service was great. Got our reservation, our table was ready immediately, and the hostess accommodated a guest’s knew-scooter as well. Our steaks were huge, flavorful, and cooked perfectly. Our server was attentive, yet unobtrusive and let us enjoy our meal and conversation. Wonderful experience. Would eat here again. Only drawback is the dim lighting, but we are old, so take that for what it is.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

My wife and I booked Bellwether for dinner prior to attending a movie at neighboring AMC. This was our first time at this relatively new restaurant. We drink top shelf gin and unlike some other restaurants in the city, they do not overcharge. They accommodated my food allergy and my wife's mussels were excellent. I cannot eat French fries as they are cooked in the same oil as fish. So, I substituted brussel sprouts which were quite tasty. However, most other restaurants will not upcharge an allergy substitute, but this restaurant does. I would have scored Bellwether higher overall and food if my cheeseburger was prepared correctly. It seems the chef /cook has a different definition of medium-rare that I. Mine was cooked essentially medium. This was mentioned to the server but without any offer to remake the burger. I probably would not have accepted that offer anyhow as my past experiences at other restaurants is not good. The delay sets back evening schedules and ruins appetite. We'll probably try this restaurant again given its convenience and hope for a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Have been here several times, including having a wedding anniversary celebration with approximately 30 persons. This evening was dinner out with friends. We tried an assortment of items on the menu among us, and friends, who hadn't been there previously, complimented us on our restaurant selection.

Food is good, varied, service is attentive, prices are about average for the Streeterville area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 8, 2018

Everything about our experience was excellent from the time we were greeted to our server experience. The food was quite good. The reason the ambiance rating is only fair is due to the condition of the chairs at the tables. They were very wobbly and just plain worn out. Also, our bowls kept tipping as we tried to eat our salads. Not a big deal but something worth noting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Terrible Service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Overall we were happy with the restaurant and experience.. seated us earlier than our reservation & server was very nice but we did have a few hiccups ... (1) requested no blue cheese on salad and when brought to the table it had blue cheese so we had to send it back for new (2) bus boy dropped a jar of ketchup near our table and it splattered on our pants/right by our table (3) we were sitting near the entrance to the hotel and every time the door opened it was very cold/cold draft.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Went for NYE with family. Excellent burgers and more importantly excellent service. Cassandra was a star, deserves a raise and certainly earned a healthy tip. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Came here for dinner with my sisters and mom plus a 3-month old. The service was really attentive and friendly . Food was delicious, we were all very happy with our orders. It's a pretty big space (maybe just compared to NYC restaurants?) so I'm not sure if they fill up but I enjoyed that we couldn't overhear other conversations yet it's not like it felt quiet and empty. I'd definitely eat here again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

The staff was great and made our family celebration really nice. The menu for brunch was varied and almost everyone in our party had good choices, that they enjoyed. I had the frittata and it was a it dry and flavorless and had me wishing I had picked the French toast instead. We did have a very nice time though and enjoyed the ambience and overall it was a great selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

The staff was very friendly, first of all. And when we told our waitress that we were in a bit of a rush to catch a movie, she moved everything along. Very responsive! Cocktails were great and it was during happy hour so only $6 each. I got delicious scallops and my husband got the sea bass dish. We split a full-sized salad and it was too much (they do also offer half-size salads). Wonderful flavors, unique and yummy. Too bad we were in such a rush that night, but we will definitely return since we go to the AMC movies next door all the time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Great place- extensive menu. Something for everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

This restaurant is our neighborhood gem. We can enjoy their delicious foods at a very reasonable price. The place is open till very late (4 or 5 AM), but is not a regular late-night restaurant that serves mediocre bar foods. Instead, we can enjoy top-notch foods even at very late hours. I've loved all of their dishes so far, but seafood pasta, southwest salad and spinach salad with chicken, beef, or salmon are particularly outstanding.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 24, 2017

I had requested a table on the second level when I made the reservation but when we got to the restaurant they said there was a large group up there, but yet more than half of the tables were empty. My husband ordered the salmon and they brought him the BLT. When they did bring the salmon out it was burnt and horrible tasting. Our waiter had no personality. For the cost of the meal it was not worth it. We came for Thanksgiving weekend to Chicago and we're very excited to try the restaurant, but after our experience we will never come back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 19, 2017

We arrive at 2:30 for a birthday brunch. Waiter approached us within 5 minutes, came back to take our order, and we never saw him again for 30 minutes. I signal him to come to our table and asked for some bread or something to nibble on. He arrived 15 minutes later and our food came at the same time. 45 minutes to get our order and the place was empty - 2 other tables had people. The food was hot and excellent. But could not recommend for the slowness of getting the order. And the worst part is - they missed the birthday - not even a cupcake with a candle.

My last visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

This was our first time here and the service was fine... didn’t really talk much. When we asked for a recommendation, she named two things without explanation. The grilled calamari was good, pork tacos good, truffle fries great and the seafood pasta was awful. The noodles were over cooked, sauce was like paste and no flavor. Will go back just don’t get the pasta.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Great seafood. I had the Chilean bass which was amazing. Had the oyster platter at the bar while we were waiting to be seated. Very good. I marked them down because we had a reservation for 6:45 and arrived 30 minutes early. The hostess offered us a seat at the bar until a table opened up. At 6:4o I asked about a table and she had forgotten that we were at the bar waiting for a table. We were seated at 6:45.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Our dinner was excellent and service very professional. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

This was our 2nd time here and we made sure we were back here. Love this restaurant- great ambiance, great food and most of all great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

We didn't eat but enjoyed some drinks during happy hour. The service was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Took a risk when choosing the restaurant as we were visitors to Chicago. Pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a very comfortable evening in pleasant ambient surroundings. Starters were very good and the mains were decent quality. Would come back if in locality again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Food was fantastic. Portions were great value for the price. Would definitely dine here again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

This was my first time at Bellwether and I was very pleased. Food was good. Service was excellent and the restaurant wasn't crowded or noisy. I'll definitely be back again soon to try other menu items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was great - something for for everyone. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive. Ambiance was perfect. Restrooms were clean. It was just all around a great restaurant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2017

We were staying inChicago and twop0eople recommended this restaurant to us. Weenjoyed the 1/2 salads. We ordered the spimach salad and the greek salad. They were delicious and were of moderate proportions. We also order the Mediterranean Flat bread. This was unlike any flatbread I had had before. I want to go back and have it again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Have eaten at Bellwether on many occasions. Stuffed chicken breast is our favorite, but we've been happy with everything picked to date. This evening was getting together with a couple of good friends. We ordered a variety of items from the menu, and all were happy with their selections. In past, did a 40th wedding anniversary luncheon here and staff was great both in helping us plan and on the actual day of the luncheon. Decor of restaurant is also interesting, with high ceilings and creative lighting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

The food was excellent, and the ambience was nice. We went on a weekday evening, so it was not crowded or noisy as others have posted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Bellwether is a great restaurant. Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Bellwether