About Bellwether

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $15 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
See All
Business Meals (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was disappointed in the taste of the f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was disappointed in the taste of the food. The calamari was gummy and the fish tacos just weren't tasty. The Mango Tango drink was not good to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant is very close to my home ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is very close to my home, but the service was terrible, so I'm not sure I would go back. We noticed another table next to us having to ask for the manager twice also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good place to stop before or after AMC R ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good place to stop before or after AMC River East theaters. Fish & chips were good but had too much batter. Mediterranean flatbread was tasty, but quite salty with kalamata olives and feta cheese. Hummus veggie wrap good. Adequate wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We chose Bellwether for lunch because it ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We chose Bellwether for lunch because it was close to our hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Bellwether has a large menu that includes appetizers, salads, sandwiches, and many main course selections. The three of us each ordered from different parts of the menu and each enjoyed the food. Our server paid ample attention to us and the meal was quick.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This place is great. I love the new spac ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This place is great. I love the new space!!!! Cannot wait to go back and entertain guests here. When this place was vacant it left little in that area. Bellwether is going to do great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed...party of three and a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very disappointed...party of three and all meals were bad and the service wasn't a lot better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The breakfast tacos were amazing and the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The breakfast tacos were amazing and the waffles were also really good.

Service was print and attentive without being overbearing and the decor was nice and modern.

Wish we could have come back a second morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The hostess and wait staff were very fri ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The hostess and wait staff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, the food fell short on taste and menu really lacked variety. We were at a business meeting and it was extremely loud. I suppose if we were going to sit and text to each other, it would be fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

They tried to put six of us in a small b ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

They tried to put six of us in a small booth that barely fits four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This restaurant features creative Americ ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This restaurant features creative American dishes at attractive price points, in a casual yet upscale dining setting. We were there to watch sports and the huge screens did the job perfectly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bellwether is a nice restaurant for a pr ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Bellwether is a nice restaurant for a pre-theater dinner or lunch if you are going to the AMC theater. My fish and chips were very good. The service was very attentive. The small Cobb salad

was very generous and loaded with bacon. Loved it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived at our reservation time and w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We arrived at our reservation time and were seated promptly. The server immediately came over and asked for our drink order and gave us more time to look over the menu. I ordered an iced tea with lemon and my mom just stuck with water. I ordered the lamb burger with truffle fries and my mom had the fish tacos, which came with corn chips. We both enjoyed our meals and the price was reasonable for two people. It was a nice meal before we enjoyed the Chicago International Film Festival next door. I would recommend it as a destination for lunch or dinner and will return again.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Host was excellent in accommodating our ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Host was excellent in accommodating our wish to move to a different table where we could watch the Cubs during Game 1 of the NLCS. Food was excellent. Portion was a bit smaller than usual though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place was great all around - awesom ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place was great all around - awesome food, great service, and really cool vibe. We went there because it was right next to our hotel, but I will go again next time we are in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at this restauran ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at this restaurant however we called in earlier in the day and chose the table we wanted but when we arrived in the evening it had been given to other diners.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, nice looking place! celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food, nice looking place! celebrated my sisters last weekend single dinner here. great food, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and you receive l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was delicious and you receive large portions! Also, the actual design and decorations inside of the restaurant are beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was very good, food was adequate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was very good, food was adequate, drinks very good and setting very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been here several times and this ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been here several times and this restaurant is located in the lobby of the Embassy Suites Lakefront on the way to the Navy Pier. Food has always been very good and a great selection. Fish tacos are amazing. I would highly recommend this eatery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is really just an hotel restaurant, b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is really just an hotel restaurant, but one that we found to be very tasty - though the service was a bit slow. I would not really go out of my way to eat here, but if I were staying here or walking to Navy Pier, I would not hesitate to stop in again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food & the whole vibe of the p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Loved the food & the whole vibe of the place!!! I would recommend this to all my friends when in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love bellwether the service is great a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love bellwether the service is great as well as the good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good electroswing music, great ceviche a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good electroswing music, great ceviche and meal. Server was a nice. Pretty empty place for a Saturday night, but good view of first floor guests on the second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a really nice lunch here. I appr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a really nice lunch here. I appreciated the reminder phone call the day before to confirm our reservation. I was surprised at how empty the restaurant was, though, because my spinach salad with goat cheese, candied almonds, and lemon vinaigrette (I added chicken) was absolutely wonderful. I guess my only complaint would be that the salads were pricey since the proteins were an added charge.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Small portion sizes

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Small portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A frequent flyer at this place since it ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

A frequent flyer at this place since it first opened (live right near it). Always a good spot to come if you want to watch a game and have some drinks with friends. The apps and burgers are great. As far as the "fancier" food, I've tried a couple of times and have not been impressed. Service has always been great for me. They have changed up the menu and ambiance for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice atmosphere and the food was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was attentive...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect location near Sheraton Grand. Se ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Perfect location near Sheraton Grand. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

belltastic!!!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2016

the food here is excellent. the shrimp cocktail is a winner. cesar salad is outstanding. the chicken sandwhich is the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect for business lunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Dined here for lunch with a client and a few colleagues. Had a reservation but it didn't look like it was necessary. We were seated immediately. Someone delivered waters promptly and the server stopped by and said she'd be with us shortly. She seemed pretty swamped and we did wait a little, but it wasn't excessive. Service was good, food was great. I had a BLT that was perfection. Others had burgers and the salmon cobb salad. All said the food was excellent. I would go back for the BLT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

bellwether

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a lovely time and delicious food at the bellwether.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the gnocchi and my husband had the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2016

I had the gnocchi and my husband had the lobster ravioli and both entrees were pretty bad. I did have the brussel sprouts which were okay and the wine was very reasonably priced as it was during happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

not good

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Took a client for lunch. Service was great but the place was dead and the food not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The Blt was not good. All bread no lettu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The Blt was not good. All bread no lettuce or tamato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service; Food was tasty

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was tasty. I am always hesitant going to restaurants that are attached to hotels for fear they'll be just another hotel chain's vision. But I was pleasantly surprised with Bellwether and I will find myself visiting for drinks, or snacks and definitely lunch/dinner on weekends when I am visiting the Mag Mile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks, both wife and I thoroughly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great steaks, both wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the 10 oz filet mignonette and Caesar salads. Great server Themis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Hugh portions, delicious, to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great food, Hugh portions, delicious, top shelf adult drinks, the Chef uses only the highest quality food products, I have eaten there three times this week, two dinners, one lunch, wide selection of meal choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great wings and chicken tenders and dece ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great wings and chicken tenders and decent fries. It's a good quick bite before the movie theatre which is right next door. Overall good but don't expect exceptional service or anything. Decor is pretty neat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Gross and Confused

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was very confused. We never actually had a server. They all said, "I'm not your server but I'll take your order." The food was terrible at best. I think the mashed potatoes were instant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful Dinner!!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our first time to Bellwether was while visiting Chicago for Valentine's Day weekend and it did NOT disappoint! We had a WONDERFUL server, great food and just an all around amazing time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.