Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Bellwether

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $17 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time for our anniversary here! We brought our two kids as we stayed in the Embassy; they service food and atmosphere were perfect. The server brought us a glass of champagne for our anniversary! It’s worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great variety on the menu, good ambiance and tasty food. Service was friendly and prompt but the food did take a little bit of time - but it was 7:30 on a Saturday.

Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Our service was great. Got our reservation, our table was ready immediately, and the hostess accommodated a guest’s knew-scooter as well. Our steaks were huge, flavorful, and cooked perfectly. Our server was attentive, yet unobtrusive and let us enjoy our meal and conversation. Wonderful experience. Would eat here again. Only drawback is the dim lighting, but we are old, so take that for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2018

My wife and I booked Bellwether for dinner prior to attending a movie at neighboring AMC. This was our first time at this relatively new restaurant. We drink top shelf gin and unlike some other restaurants in the city, they do not overcharge. They accommodated my food allergy and my wife's mussels were excellent. I cannot eat French fries as they are cooked in the same oil as fish. So, I substituted brussel sprouts which were quite tasty. However, most other restaurants will not upcharge an allergy substitute, but this restaurant does. I would have scored Bellwether higher overall and food if my cheeseburger was prepared correctly. It seems the chef /cook has a different definition of medium-rare that I. Mine was cooked essentially medium. This was mentioned to the server but without any offer to remake the burger. I probably would not have accepted that offer anyhow as my past experiences at other restaurants is not good. The delay sets back evening schedules and ruins appetite. We'll probably try this restaurant again given its convenience and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Have been here several times, including having a wedding anniversary celebration with approximately 30 persons. This evening was dinner out with friends. We tried an assortment of items on the menu among us, and friends, who hadn't been there previously, complimented us on our restaurant selection.

Food is good, varied, service is attentive, prices are about average for the Streeterville area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Everything about our experience was excellent from the time we were greeted to our server experience. The food was quite good. The reason the ambiance rating is only fair is due to the condition of the chairs at the tables. They were very wobbly and just plain worn out. Also, our bowls kept tipping as we tried to eat our salads. Not a big deal but something worth noting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Terrible Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Overall we were happy with the restaurant and experience.. seated us earlier than our reservation & server was very nice but we did have a few hiccups ... (1) requested no blue cheese on salad and when brought to the table it had blue cheese so we had to send it back for new (2) bus boy dropped a jar of ketchup near our table and it splattered on our pants/right by our table (3) we were sitting near the entrance to the hotel and every time the door opened it was very cold/cold draft.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Went for NYE with family. Excellent burgers and more importantly excellent service. Cassandra was a star, deserves a raise and certainly earned a healthy tip. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Came here for dinner with my sisters and mom plus a 3-month old. The service was really attentive and friendly . Food was delicious, we were all very happy with our orders. It's a pretty big space (maybe just compared to NYC restaurants?) so I'm not sure if they fill up but I enjoyed that we couldn't overhear other conversations yet it's not like it felt quiet and empty. I'd definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

The staff was great and made our family celebration really nice. The menu for brunch was varied and almost everyone in our party had good choices, that they enjoyed. I had the frittata and it was a it dry and flavorless and had me wishing I had picked the French toast instead. We did have a very nice time though and enjoyed the ambience and overall it was a great selection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The staff was very friendly, first of all. And when we told our waitress that we were in a bit of a rush to catch a movie, she moved everything along. Very responsive! Cocktails were great and it was during happy hour so only $6 each. I got delicious scallops and my husband got the sea bass dish. We split a full-sized salad and it was too much (they do also offer half-size salads). Wonderful flavors, unique and yummy. Too bad we were in such a rush that night, but we will definitely return since we go to the AMC movies next door all the time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great place- extensive menu. Something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2017

This restaurant is our neighborhood gem. We can enjoy their delicious foods at a very reasonable price. The place is open till very late (4 or 5 AM), but is not a regular late-night restaurant that serves mediocre bar foods. Instead, we can enjoy top-notch foods even at very late hours. I've loved all of their dishes so far, but seafood pasta, southwest salad and spinach salad with chicken, beef, or salmon are particularly outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quick Bite, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Late-night Find, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I had requested a table on the second level when I made the reservation but when we got to the restaurant they said there was a large group up there, but yet more than half of the tables were empty. My husband ordered the salmon and they brought him the BLT. When they did bring the salmon out it was burnt and horrible tasting. Our waiter had no personality. For the cost of the meal it was not worth it. We came for Thanksgiving weekend to Chicago and we're very excited to try the restaurant, but after our experience we will never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We arrive at 2:30 for a birthday brunch. Waiter approached us within 5 minutes, came back to take our order, and we never saw him again for 30 minutes. I signal him to come to our table and asked for some bread or something to nibble on. He arrived 15 minutes later and our food came at the same time. 45 minutes to get our order and the place was empty - 2 other tables had people. The food was hot and excellent. But could not recommend for the slowness of getting the order. And the worst part is - they missed the birthday - not even a cupcake with a candle.

My last visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2017

This was our first time here and the service was fine... didn’t really talk much. When we asked for a recommendation, she named two things without explanation. The grilled calamari was good, pork tacos good, truffle fries great and the seafood pasta was awful. The noodles were over cooked, sauce was like paste and no flavor. Will go back just don’t get the pasta.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great seafood. I had the Chilean bass which was amazing. Had the oyster platter at the bar while we were waiting to be seated. Very good. I marked them down because we had a reservation for 6:45 and arrived 30 minutes early. The hostess offered us a seat at the bar until a table opened up. At 6:4o I asked about a table and she had forgotten that we were at the bar waiting for a table. We were seated at 6:45.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Our dinner was excellent and service very professional. Highly recommend

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

This was our 2nd time here and we made sure we were back here. Love this restaurant- great ambiance, great food and most of all great service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We didn't eat but enjoyed some drinks during happy hour. The service was very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Took a risk when choosing the restaurant as we were visitors to Chicago. Pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a very comfortable evening in pleasant ambient surroundings. Starters were very good and the mains were decent quality. Would come back if in locality again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food was fantastic. Portions were great value for the price. Would definitely dine here again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was my first time at Bellwether and I was very pleased. Food was good. Service was excellent and the restaurant wasn't crowded or noisy. I'll definitely be back again soon to try other menu items.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Food was great - something for for everyone. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive. Ambiance was perfect. Restrooms were clean. It was just all around a great restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We were staying inChicago and twop0eople recommended this restaurant to us. Weenjoyed the 1/2 salads. We ordered the spimach salad and the greek salad. They were delicious and were of moderate proportions. We also order the Mediterranean Flat bread. This was unlike any flatbread I had had before. I want to go back and have it again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Have eaten at Bellwether on many occasions. Stuffed chicken breast is our favorite, but we've been happy with everything picked to date. This evening was getting together with a couple of good friends. We ordered a variety of items from the menu, and all were happy with their selections. In past, did a 40th wedding anniversary luncheon here and staff was great both in helping us plan and on the actual day of the luncheon. Decor of restaurant is also interesting, with high ceilings and creative lighting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food was excellent, and the ambience was nice. We went on a weekday evening, so it was not crowded or noisy as others have posted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Bellwether is a great restaurant. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Burgers were good but I ordered a strip steak and it was totally over cooked and was not a strip steak cut.
Worst steak I ever had. Considering the location and $36 steak price I was greatly disappointed

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We've eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. Stuffed chicken is particularly a favorite. We even chose Bellwether to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary several months back. Good food and service, pretty setting and quiet enough to have a conversation if desired.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We ordered a ton of items off the menu and found several great ones (chicken skewers, strawberry salad, roasted brussel sprouts and french fries). There were a few that were simply ok (cesar salad and the mussels) and then those that were not great (gnocchi). I think it is a great location if you are having a meal before a movie or a drink after. It was quiet when we were there (7 on a weeknight) and I was surprised how empty it was for that time. Prices were ok -- some were great values (salads) and some were a little on the high side. I would eat here again, but be more selective in the items we picked.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday there. Food was very good, especially the desserts. The rack of lamb was good although a smidge over cooked (waitress described it as a little pink but it wasn't). The seafood pasta was really good, shrimps and mussels perfectly good. The whiskey pecan pie and chocolate mousse were also highlights. Overall, great experience, friendly and competent staff, really good food, well worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in downtown Chicago. I never have an issue getting reservations. I don't think it's well know but I prefer that. Food is always good and so is the service. Good for all ages depending on the time of day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just looking for a walk around the town , popped open "Open Table", saw they were nearby, had some reservations and the rest is history. Good menu, great service. Asked to be seated at the top level. Nice and quiet up there and great people watching. After dinner they let us be and talked.
Just a nice night with my honey in the best city in the world, enjoying a nice, casual dinner in a nice, relaxing restaurant. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Just okay. We sat upstairs and our server was so so on getting to us as he had a lot of tables. (I think). The food came out pretty quick and the overall feel was almost fast food. I think if we were downstairs and felt more of the atmosphere it could hvae been better, but only 2 tables upstairs and pretty lame. We didn't make it better as we didn't have anything to drink. I ate a burger it was a burger. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was so loud for dinner, I could not have a conversation with the person across the table from me. We were shouting to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Ceviche was fantastic. Gnocchi outstanding. Salads are wonderful too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Casual, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Judging by the other reviews, we went on a very very off night. The service was non-existent with servers leaving the dining room completely unattended to the point that a couple in the booth next to us left without paying after waiting 20 minutes with no one around to help even after they got up and went looking. The food was like cafeteria food in a hospital. I had the braised short rib with mushroom reduction, polenta, and green beans. The green beans were perfectly cooked, fresh, and seasoned perfectly. The polenta however was dry, lumpy, cold when it arrived, and seasoned with what tasted exactly like the soup packet from chicken flavored Top Ramen. The braised short rib was dry, very obviously 3-5 days old and had been reheated in a microwave. The flavor profile of beef treated this way isn't mistakable for anything else. The mushroom reduction was about a tablespoon of gravy from a box mix that had either dried up under the heat lamp or boiled off in the microwave. I've been a chef for many years and I've owned, operated, and run restaurants in several U.S. states doing everything from fine dining to american grill menus as well as fusion menus in Southeast Asia. I realize that off nights happen but I also know exactly what it looks like when a trendy place with an ambitious menu gets lazy and lets the inmates run the asylum. This was a clear cut case of management asleep at the wheel. Our server, who didn't deliver our food, tried 3 times to get the guy who did deliver our food to actually bring it to our table. 3 times this guy left the kitchen with our food, walked a lap around the entire dining room, and then took our food back to the kitchen without delivering it. 3 times, our server told him it was ours and pointed to our table. It was just bizarre. There were only 3 tables in the whole place and at least 8 staff we could see on duty but it took 15 minutes from the first time our food appeared to when it finally made it to our table on the 4th lap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Nice restaurant in a good location but poor service. The hostess was extremely rude and it took over an hour for them to serve our food. When I asked if they would validate my parking, the manager replied, "only if you eat here." I was offended because I made a reservation and waited to be seated. I would've left but it was raining and I didn't want to disappoint or inconvenience my friends. Also, if you park in the lot and also go to the movies, they will not honor your parking validation after 4 hours. I couldn't even enjoy my food and the experience to its fullest.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Live Sports, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.