Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Bellwether

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $17 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
See All
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

We picked this place because it was close to our hotel. However, I am pleased to report there are more reasons to go. The strip steak was tender and done just right. I had the pot pie. A treat for me and wasn't disappointed. Our wait staff was great and honestly, there should be more people here. It's a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food and service was awesome. Meals were well portioned and the cocktails were very tasty. We were very pleased with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Nice to find a place for a late night seating. Food was delicious though seemed a bit under staffed so attention was at a minimum. A bit pricey but very cool atmosphere. People were very nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I would not call this a family restaurant, but I was traveling with 2 children (12 and 9) and the staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful towards them. If we stay at the Embassy Suites again, we will definitely eat there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was great. I had the stuffed chicken which was excellent. My husband had lobster ravioli it was delicious, but they only have 5 raviolis so wasn't very filling. I would go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Bellweather is a not so well known gem in the Streetervile area, an upscale bar with great dining and diversified menu. Service was outstanding and prices, for an area that is know to be overpriced is exceptionally reasonable. They have some great cocktails and not at all your typical loud barscene. Great place before or after a movie (next door) or for us just a great place for dinner and friends after a tough week on a friday evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food and service are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing service, atmosphere and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Just lousy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Met friends for Happy Hour and ate dinner. The service was good. Our waitress was very attentive. The drinks were good, but the food was just okay. It's difficult to mess up burgers and fries. The sweet potato fries tasted as if they were frozen then fried. Very soggy and didn't have much taste. The burgers were just okay. The ambiance is cool, but I wouldn't likely return. There are just too many other options in the neighborhood with great food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Better than a typical hotel restaurant but still felt like one.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Decent food. But clearly understaffed, as the host was also our busboy and our waiter. Not a good look

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great meal, easy pace, interesting decor.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My family and I dined here twice during our stay at the Embassy Suites in the same complex. It was good food with a selection of choices that fit all of our needs. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The service was very poor, we waited 20 minutes to get menus and drink orders. The food came mixed up and so I got someone elses burger, didn't realize it because they were similar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great ambiance. Food was good, but nothing amazing. About what you'd expect for the price downtown. Creative drinks. I'd probably go back, but only for cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was good, service was definitely NOT good!!! Our server was very polite but avoided our table for a majority of the night. We sat with empty glasses for about 30 min. Brought the bill before we were ready (didn't ask about another round of drinks or desserts). And anytime we'd try to get her attention, she'd look away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Hadn't been into Bellwether in a while. Our waiter recommended the chicken noodle soup and it was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Good place and in hotel which made it a plus with the client

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I chose Bellwether because it was walkable from the hotel where I was staying. Food was just OK. Server was competent and informed. Nothing special. Prices moderate.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing food. Decent speed of service fitting the crowd. Waitress really confused about brunch specials. Offered special today-only drink specials that matched the prices on the regular daily menu. I asked what made that special and she had no idea what I was talking about.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food and service, quiet enough to have a conversation without yelling, nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband loved the pork chops and apples. I had the battered cod but it was too greasy. Other than that the food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was mediocre for the price. Lamb chops, terrible. Scallops, very small, tasted ok. Kids had burgers they enjoyed. Alcoholic drinks good. Conveniently located to hotel. Bill was atrocious. Will def eat outside of embassy suites hotel for next dinner meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Lovely place, upscale bar and nice restaurant upstairs and surrounding bar area. Menu is great ranging from large selection of burgers to fish, steak and numerous other selections. Also wide choice of appetizers , salads and sides.

Did a great job remodeling the prior RJ Grunt property. Surprisingly, not overly crowded nor noisy. That likely should change as more get familiar with the new format.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went there with family and friends
What a beautiful place
seated promptly
served promptly
We sat on the upper level very nice to view everything
We all enjoyed our meals
will go again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Server was great, food was good though the spinach dip wasn't super flavorful. Good ambiance and my friend and I said we'd be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Alex was a great waiter. I had fish and chips. I loved the French onion soup. I thought the cod was only fair. My son loved the fish. Wives loved their meals. I would come again-probably get something different. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love this place, its old school meets modern. Low lighting and very comfy seats. All of the food is great and the wait staff is super. I would recommend all around.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was rich but underwhelming, including a strip steak that seemed like something you'd get from a chain grocery store. Very nice wine list, but waiter's knowledge of the winelist wasn't strong – I would fault an owner for not sufficiently training his staff. Hip ambience and was overall a pleasant evening but given real competition in a big city this fits in as equivalent to a mediocre hotel restaurant. Upgrade the food a bit, and the service a bit, and it has real potential.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Walked by Bellwether many times on the way to AMC21 River East. Stopped in with Chicago visitors--what a nice surprise. Great appetizers (try the Brussel Sprouts!) and overall menu. Great kale salad. Pasta dishes and flat breads were tasty. Servers were very attentive. Good Streeterville location for families, couples and get togethers with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice place! Great prices and good food! Service was great!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Better than expected for what looked like an upscale bar restaurant. Quiet on the second floor and scallops that were well prepared. Calamari a bit rubbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was excellent, nice atmosphere, okay service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We never really saw our waitress but the hostess helped out a lot so we can make our movie on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was great. The service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was disappointed in the taste of the food. The calamari was gummy and the fish tacos just weren't tasty. The Mango Tango drink was not good to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This restaurant is very close to my home, but the service was terrible, so I'm not sure I would go back. We noticed another table next to us having to ask for the manager twice also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good place to stop before or after AMC River East theaters. Fish & chips were good but had too much batter. Mediterranean flatbread was tasty, but quite salty with kalamata olives and feta cheese. Hummus veggie wrap good. Adequate wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We chose Bellwether for lunch because it was close to our hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Bellwether has a large menu that includes appetizers, salads, sandwiches, and many main course selections. The three of us each ordered from different parts of the menu and each enjoyed the food. Our server paid ample attention to us and the meal was quick.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.