About Bellwether

302 East Illinois St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Bellwether features an eclectic modern american cuisine that includes everything from a signature bellwether salad, to wraps and burgers, to steaks and seafood dishes. There is also an outstanding wine, beer, and spirits selection. The dining room features 3-150' screens that come down from the ceiling to enjoy any of your favorite Chicago sports teams.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 3:00am
Saturday-Sunday 3:00pm - 3:00am

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Columbus

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 222-1800

Website:
http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJ every night starting at 9pm, DJ Defcutdon mixes music along with music videos during his sets at Bellwether. 3 - 150" projector screens along with TV's at the bar.

Catering:
Check out http://www.bellwetherchicago.com/catering/ for our full catering menu!

Parking Details:
We do validate for the parking lot next door. $15 for up to 4 hours.

Executive Chef:
Vincent Munday

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellwether Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, nice looking place! celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food, nice looking place! celebrated my sisters last weekend single dinner here. great food, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and you receive l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was delicious and you receive large portions! Also, the actual design and decorations inside of the restaurant are beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was very good, food was adequate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was very good, food was adequate, drinks very good and setting very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been here several times and this ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been here several times and this restaurant is located in the lobby of the Embassy Suites Lakefront on the way to the Navy Pier. Food has always been very good and a great selection. Fish tacos are amazing. I would highly recommend this eatery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is really just an hotel restaurant, b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is really just an hotel restaurant, but one that we found to be very tasty - though the service was a bit slow. I would not really go out of my way to eat here, but if I were staying here or walking to Navy Pier, I would not hesitate to stop in again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the food & the whole vibe of the p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Loved the food & the whole vibe of the place!!! I would recommend this to all my friends when in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love bellwether the service is great a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love bellwether the service is great as well as the good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good electroswing music, great ceviche a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good electroswing music, great ceviche and meal. Server was a nice. Pretty empty place for a Saturday night, but good view of first floor guests on the second floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a really nice lunch here. I appr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a really nice lunch here. I appreciated the reminder phone call the day before to confirm our reservation. I was surprised at how empty the restaurant was, though, because my spinach salad with goat cheese, candied almonds, and lemon vinaigrette (I added chicken) was absolutely wonderful. I guess my only complaint would be that the salads were pricey since the proteins were an added charge.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Small portion sizes

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Small portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A frequent flyer at this place since it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A frequent flyer at this place since it first opened (live right near it). Always a good spot to come if you want to watch a game and have some drinks with friends. The apps and burgers are great. As far as the "fancier" food, I've tried a couple of times and have not been impressed. Service has always been great for me. They have changed up the menu and ambiance for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice atmosphere and the food was delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nice atmosphere and the food was delicious. Service was attentive...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect location near Sheraton Grand. Se ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Perfect location near Sheraton Grand. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

belltastic!!!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

the food here is excellent. the shrimp cocktail is a winner. cesar salad is outstanding. the chicken sandwhich is the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect for business lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Dined here for lunch with a client and a few colleagues. Had a reservation but it didn't look like it was necessary. We were seated immediately. Someone delivered waters promptly and the server stopped by and said she'd be with us shortly. She seemed pretty swamped and we did wait a little, but it wasn't excessive. Service was good, food was great. I had a BLT that was perfection. Others had burgers and the salmon cobb salad. All said the food was excellent. I would go back for the BLT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

bellwether

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a lovely time and delicious food at the bellwether.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the gnocchi and my husband had the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I had the gnocchi and my husband had the lobster ravioli and both entrees were pretty bad. I did have the brussel sprouts which were okay and the wine was very reasonably priced as it was during happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

not good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Took a client for lunch. Service was great but the place was dead and the food not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The Blt was not good. All bread no lettu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The Blt was not good. All bread no lettuce or tamato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service; Food was tasty

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was tasty. I am always hesitant going to restaurants that are attached to hotels for fear they'll be just another hotel chain's vision. But I was pleasantly surprised with Bellwether and I will find myself visiting for drinks, or snacks and definitely lunch/dinner on weekends when I am visiting the Mag Mile!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks, both wife and I thoroughly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great steaks, both wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the 10 oz filet mignonette and Caesar salads. Great server Themis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Hugh portions, delicious, to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great food, Hugh portions, delicious, top shelf adult drinks, the Chef uses only the highest quality food products, I have eaten there three times this week, two dinners, one lunch, wide selection of meal choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great wings and chicken tenders and dece ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great wings and chicken tenders and decent fries. It's a good quick bite before the movie theatre which is right next door. Overall good but don't expect exceptional service or anything. Decor is pretty neat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Gross and Confused

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was very confused. We never actually had a server. They all said, "I'm not your server but I'll take your order." The food was terrible at best. I think the mashed potatoes were instant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful Dinner!!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our first time to Bellwether was while visiting Chicago for Valentine's Day weekend and it did NOT disappoint! We had a WONDERFUL server, great food and just an all around amazing time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor waiter didn't ruin our fun

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We often stay at the Embassy and were excited to try the "new" restaurant there. The atmosphere is fun and contemporary...quite a change from the former one. Right from the start we had a poor waiter--seemed frustrated when we didn't know what we wanted to drink yet, and same with the food order. My daughter's order came wrong, and I witnessed myself as the server met our waiter the rolling of the eyes, etc. Bad move. The food however, was delicious and fresh. We will most likely go back (and make sure we get a different waiter!)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Poor Service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Unfortunately our food took about 1 hour to come out. The server I think forgot to put our order in and was a little oblivious to the surroundings. A shame one mistake causes a bad experience and unfortunately probably won't be returning due to this. Everything else was pretty standard to a typical american style restaurant with decent food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Such a cool and interesting atmosphere! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Such a cool and interesting atmosphere! I loved it, its more of something casual like a hangout with your friends. The server was acting weird 1. I couldnt hear him when he spoke (dining area was quiet, so it was him) 2. he came up to our table saying "Guys....(long pause) is everything ok here?" which sort of scared us with that long pause. So the service was a bit odd. The food tasted great but was a bit cold. Mimosas are perfect! I would recommend this place & I will return !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Convenient but Noisy

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

This spot is very convenient to the movie theater we frequent so thought we'd check it out. Server clearly had too many tables and appeared flustered most of the time. Food was decent enough that I would return for a pre-movie bite. However, there was a private party in the lofted space and there were constant waves of loud "woo's" from the group - the kind you would hear during the wave at a football game. I mentioned the noise to the group at the hostess stand on the way out and received a half-hearted "oh sorry" from the hostess and an indifferent shrug from the guy who I am quite sure was the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Mehhh, nothing special

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The table was cracked in the middle. They tried to fit 5 of us in a booth that was fit for three. We were buying drinks, plenty of appetizers, and entrees but got pushed out the door (granted it was NYE). My friend hated the waiter, his service was good, but he thought he had an attitude.

Would not return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food is ok and reasonably priced for ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food is ok and reasonably priced for the neighborhood. But the restaurant needs a point of view or it probably won't last long. Something (beers, burgers, salads) that it does particularly well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were seated, nice and attentive serve ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We were seated, nice and attentive server. One of the meals was (45 minutes) late to the table. It was a New York Strip Steak dinner, not sure what the hold up was, server offered a free glass of wine to our friend. Great food, disappointed with amount of time to bring a steak dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was good, but food was disappoin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Service was good, but food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wonderful!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

Great food! Great atmosphere! We would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We really enjoyed the appetizers and mai ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We really enjoyed the appetizers and main coarses. The spinach rolls were excellent and so were the muscles. We were disappointed in the desserts, they were ok. The cake was dry and mousse grainy.

We liked the new look to restaurant and enjoyed the big screen TVs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service but food could be better

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

My steak sandwich was disappointing. The steak was tough and the onions made the bread

soggy and inedible. The chicken with waffles was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Convenient for The Chicago Film Festival.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Good food at reasonable prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner.The salad with chicken

strips was delicious. The Linguini with Shrimp in a light cream sauce was very good but could have used a bit more flavor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sat us next to a screaming child! Food f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Sat us next to a screaming child! Food fair. Not what i would want for a nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Good Food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Nice place to go after the movies or if you are in the neighborhood. The food was good. Many choices on the menu and the service was also good. The host staff were very helpful with regard to helping 2 disabled guests enter and leave the restaurant, including getting a taxi to come to the front door. Prices are reasonable too,

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fantastic!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Terrrific lunch!! And although they were short staffed, they handled the lunch hour flawlessly!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.