About Bellini's Ristorante & Bar

6801 Cahaba Valley Rd. Suite 106
Birmingham, AL 35242
View Larger Map

Great ideas often occur in the most comfortable of settings and Bellinis is no exception. With that in mind, in 2008 after discussing ideas over a bottle (or 2) of wine, the concept of Bellinis was formed. Come see why "Life is Sweet" at our place. Relax and enjoy your own glass of wine among friends and see where your discussions take you. At Bellinis OUR Passion is YOUR Food and YOUR Service.

Bellini's features 100% Prime Organic Beef, housemade pastas, veal, seafood and classic Tuscan Italian dishes. Bellini's maintains an extensive wine selection and weekly desert specials. Our bar opens weekdays at 4pm for drinks and dinner service begins at 5pm Monday to Saturday.

We have two private dining areas available for large parties. Our private dining room accommodates 20 to 25 patrons and features a 48" TV with audio visual capabilities. Our Intimate Dining room accommodates 10 to 15 patrons. Reservations are suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am to 2pm, Saturday 11am to 3pm & Bar Menu 3pm to 5pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Bar Opens at 4pm Daily for Happy Hour Specials.

Cross Street:
280 and 119

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 981-5380

Website:
http://www.ourbellinis.com/

Entertainment:
Bar features either concert DVD's or sporting events on a 48" Big Screen TV. Main Dining area features light jazz and classical italian music.

Catering:
For catering services please call 205-502-7272.
Our catering services include: Party trays Executive meals Hot and cold buffets Corporate gift cards Full audio visual services Corporate dining accounts Food and Wine pairing dinners On-premise and off premise catering available at all metro area facilities Custom menu’s for pre-selection of wine and food.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Cates

Private Party Facilities:
Bellinis features two private rooms. Our largest room will hold up to 30 people and has audio visual capabilities. Our smaller room will hold up to 16 people.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellini's Ristorante & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Best Value
Birmingham
1 More
Romantic
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always great, however I got the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is always great, however I got the crab cake sliders tonight. They were ok. Stick with the pasta. It's always excellent. The chicken aka vodka was excellent. Normally I get the Mediterranean chicken. It's always excellent. I'll get it next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good before, but with new chef, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was good before, but with new chef, it's outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FRIENDS FROM OUT OF TOWN TAKEN TO DINNER ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

FRIENDS FROM OUT OF TOWN TAKEN TO DINNER. EXCELLENT IN ALL RESPECTS!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have lived in Birmingham for 12 years ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have lived in Birmingham for 12 years and this restaurant continues to be my favorite year after year. The combinations and flavors are always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We'd heard the steaks were good, but wen ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We'd heard the steaks were good, but went for some Italian classics. We started off with the beef carpaccio as an appetizer and enjoyed it very much. We did think it was a little strange as there were no crustinis/bread included with with the carpaccio. The plate was designed to almost eat like an arugula salad with carpaccio. We still enjoyed it very much however despite the unique presentation of the dish. For entrees my wife had the meatballs over linguine, and I went for the chicken parm. Because the portions were very generous I was able to sample both. The meatball were well seasoned and tender, and the chicken Parmesan was tasty albeit nothing to elevate it into something special that warranted paying a premium price. The bread pudding was probably the star of the show. We found it to be more custard like in texture than any bread pudding I've had before.

Service was very attentive, probably just a tiny bit on the overbearing side but it was nothing that detracted from the meal. Did not really care for the ambiance as I'm just not a fan of dark paints and faux wall finishes.

Overall I'd say the food was better than a lot of Italian food I've head in Birmingham, but I would not say Bellinis makes into the upper echelon of the genre within the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were very disappointed in the food an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food and atmosphere. The service was great, Bell was fantastic. It was very cold in the bar area where we ate. But I must say the food was terrible, really bad. We ordered the ravioli and the lasagna and both were very poor. The lasagna was in a huge crock and was just basically liquid, we located only 3 lasagna noodles, it was just liquid. The ravioli was not any better. There was actual standing water in the bowl, very unappealing to say the least. I did take a photo of our meal, just FYI.

We will not return nor will we recommend Bellini’s to our family and friends. On Saturday we mentioned to a group of friends that we went there for dinner and all 4 of them say “stay away from Bellini’s, they have terrible food”. I am not happy to say, they were correct.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Had a great dinner here Monday night wit ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a great dinner here Monday night with my wife and my parents. We were looking for somewhere nice before a concert that evening. Great drinks, great starter (beef carpaccio), and the entrees were spot on. Traditional pasta dishes for my parents (linguini and meatballs, lasagna), the filet special for my wife, and polenta and shrimp for me. Everything was well prepared and the service was great. Attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list, Filet Fricassee will ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great wine list, Filet Fricassee will melt in your mouth. The bread pudding was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place with great food! The bread ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome place with great food! The bread pudding is wonderful for desert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was our first time dining here and it was a great experience. Loved the food, ambiance and Sam our waitress was the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere. But the food was just o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice atmosphere. But the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

A neighborhood gem. The food quality is ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A neighborhood gem. The food quality is always consistent and superb.

Sam was really pleasant but not as attentive as I'm accustomed from Bellini. For example, we sat 15min to order wine after we made our selection. Next, she seasoned the glasses but never returned to pour. We served ourselves after the wine opened up.

Once the food order was placed, service picked up nicely. Thepresentation, quality, speed of delivery and attentiveness improved.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bellini's never fails to satisfy. Our w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Bellini's never fails to satisfy. Our wait staff was nice, and knew all about the menu items. Food was excellent as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I sorta stumbled onto Bellini's via ope ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I sorta stumbled onto Bellini's via open table and couldn't believe the reviews, most of which were glowing. After going, I can see why. The grouper was great, and the white chocolate bread pudding was a real hit with my wife, though a bit sweet for my taste. Our waitress, Brittany (I think?), was superb, very knowledgeable and patient with us on our first visit, which won't be our last. Well worth the trek out 280 --- on a weekend, that is!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grilled grouper, Parmesan risotto good a ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Grilled grouper, Parmesan risotto good as always! Husband had a steak dish that he really enjoyed. White chocolate bread pudding always a hit. Don't miss the bread pudding. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Sam always give us great service! Thank ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Sam always give us great service! Thank you for a great dining experience!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. Nice atmosphere. In a strip s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very good. Nice atmosphere. In a strip shopping center but once inside you don't realize that. Nice decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated in a small room next to t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were seated in a small room next to the bar. Though the bar was not crowded, conversation between the bartender and guests was loud and distracting. The restaurant was not crowded either, so I don't believe it was necessary to seat us next to the bar. It was our first visit there, so I didn't know to ask for something different. Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was incredible! Our server was wonder ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was incredible! Our server was wonderful, the food came out quickly and tasted amazing! We were blown away by how great everything was. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bellini'a is one of my favorite restaura ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Bellini'a is one of my favorite restaurants! It is my absolute favorite Italian restaurant in Birmingham! You have to try this place!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our Daughter's Birth ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were celebrating our Daughter's Birthday

I think our sever was Bella???, not sure as we DID NOT See her very often!!!!

She was AWFUL!!! took our order and never returned. our meals came out, all but one and we had to 'flag' her down to tell her that our granddaughter did NOT receive her dinner!!!

came back ONLY to ask about dessert!!

Really made our Birthday Celebration NOT a GOOD ONE!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This was our second time to eat dinner h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was our second time to eat dinner here. Had something different for appetizer, entrée, and dessert each time. Loved each item both times. Worth every cent. We will be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always, and th ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious as always, and the service here cannot be beat. On this particular occasion there was a large table in our room. They weren't overly loud, but attempts to talk from one end of the table to the other made the room rather noisy and conversation at our table a bit difficult.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sat in the bar- very friendly.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Sat in the bar- very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely at the top of our favorite re ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Definitely at the top of our favorite restaurants. Worth it just for the white chocolate bread pudding!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends from out of town. They loved it. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Friends from out of town. They loved it. Perfect place to entertain.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. However it was rea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. However it was really loud. It was a football game night but still had to feel like I was shouting to talk to my dinner date. Food was really good. Service was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food and adequate/good beer list. O ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good food and adequate/good beer list. One of rare Italian places that has tartufo dessert. Pleasant service, and reasonable value. I will go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten at this restaurant twice and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've eaten at this restaurant twice and both times have had excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love to this place as one ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I love to this place as one of our nights out for an adults only meal and a small break from the little one!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent Italian meal at Bell ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Always an excellent Italian meal at Bellini's; food is consistently delicious and the atmosphere is lovely. Do NOT forget dessert--the White Chocolate Bread Pudding is one of the best things I've ever tasted!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I know I will always have a delicious lu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I know I will always have a delicious lunch in an elegant setting.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular customers. Great food and excell ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Regular customers. Great food and excellent service. Wide variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. Noise level higher th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was good. Noise level higher than we like, making talking a little difficult. Prices are rather expensive. My steak was tough, but cooked to temp I peferred. Dessert was excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great experience! Try the speci ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always a great experience! Try the specials, they are unique and tasty. Great service and food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Cozy, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My filet was perfectly cooked! The tast ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 15, 2016

My filet was perfectly cooked! The taste was very good! My husband had meatballs and linguine. It also was very good with a large portion. The appetizer of Pastel Formaggio and dessert of white chocolate bread pudding was to die for! It was our 1st time and it will not be our last!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Former chef has been replaced, food is e ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Former chef has been replaced, food is excellent once again! Service is perfect and friendly. We almost did not return after an abysmal dinner but thought we'd give it another try and we are glad we did. This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Bellini's -- always have, always ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love Bellini's -- always have, always will. The food is spectacular and the service is always top-notch. It is a quaint little place that's sure the please. I enjoy sitting outside, as well as inside, and on cooler nights, really enjoy the live music. Keep it up!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chefs Special sea food pasta dish was no ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Chefs Special sea food pasta dish was not special. Cold when it came to table and lobster over cooked ( rubbery ). Service was fantastic. A little noisy for a date night would have preferred being seated further away from the bar on a game night... I'll know to request that next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere and great service. Table ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great service. Table management could use improvement as having a fairly early dinner reservation and being stuck on the opposite side of a curtain from the only other couple dining in the restaurant makes no sense. Having to listen to their conversation throughout the meal detracted from the overall dining experience. As for the food, the presentation was fine but I don't think they know about a basic ingredient known as salt. The food had no flavor at all. We would have been better off getting our dinner from The Olive Garden and would have spent far less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.