About Bellini's Ristorante & Bar

6801 Cahaba Valley Rd. Suite 106
Birmingham, AL 35242
View Larger Map

Great ideas often occur in the most comfortable of settings and Bellinis is no exception. With that in mind, in 2008 after discussing ideas over a bottle (or 2) of wine, the concept of Bellinis was formed. Come see why "Life is Sweet" at our place. Relax and enjoy your own glass of wine among friends and see where your discussions take you. At Bellinis OUR Passion is YOUR Food and YOUR Service.

Bellini's features 100% Prime Organic Beef, housemade pastas, veal, seafood and classic Tuscan Italian dishes. Bellini's maintains an extensive wine selection and weekly desert specials. Our bar opens weekdays at 4pm for drinks and dinner service begins at 5pm Monday to Saturday.

We have two private dining areas available for large parties. Our private dining room accommodates 20 to 25 patrons and features a 48" TV with audio visual capabilities. Our Intimate Dining room accommodates 10 to 15 patrons. Reservations are suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am to 2pm, Saturday 11am to 3pm & Bar Menu 3pm to 5pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Bar Opens at 4pm Daily for Happy Hour Specials.

Cross Street:
280 and 119

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 981-5380

Website:
http://www.ourbellinis.com/

Entertainment:
Bar features either concert DVD's or sporting events on a 48" Big Screen TV. Main Dining area features light jazz and classical italian music.

Catering:
For catering services please call 205-502-7272.
Our catering services include: Party trays Executive meals Hot and cold buffets Corporate gift cards Full audio visual services Corporate dining accounts Food and Wine pairing dinners On-premise and off premise catering available at all metro area facilities Custom menu’s for pre-selection of wine and food.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Cates

Private Party Facilities:
Bellinis features two private rooms. Our largest room will hold up to 30 people and has audio visual capabilities. Our smaller room will hold up to 16 people.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellini's Ristorante & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Alabama
Best Service
Birmingham
Neighborhood Gem
Birmingham
2 More
Romantic
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (62)
neighborhood gem (59)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Graduation Dinner

Dined 4 days ago

Our group was celebrating a graduation dinner last night, and we had a fantastic time at Bellini's. The hostess, bartender, and our waiter were so nice and helpful, and the service was great. Everyone loved their food. We all sampled what others were having, and everything was delicious! The atmosphere is great too--beautiful and cozy, and not too loud. Towards the end of our dinner, our graduate looked around and said, "I love this place." We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

enjoyed the atmosphere, service was also ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

enjoyed the atmosphere, service was also very good.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was good, however veggie lasagna no ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good, however veggie lasagna not the best I have ever had, too much ricotta cheese and not enough veggies. Overpriced for what you get. The back room they put us in was very noisy! We have been many times and will continue to go since we consider it our "neighborhood go-to place".

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bellini's for lunch

Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall, great experience. We ordered a hamburger to be cooked well done, and it arrived at the table under-cooked. Our waitress took care of the issue, and within 10 minutes, we had a well-done hamburger.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at Bellini's and just as enj ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Second time at Bellini's and just as enjoyable. Our server, Jade, was very helpful and the dining room staff seemed to be on top of everything, even before being asked. Food was delicious and served piping hot. Fantastic desert as well. We traveled from Gadsden, about a hours drive, to dine at Bellini's and will do so again. I do recommend reservations. We dined on a Tuesday evening and to our surprise, they were busy. Not standing out the door busy but busy. Might have been some folks from the Regions Golf tourney. Great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Food was delicious!! The ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great evening. Food was delicious!! The service was right on target!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bellinis has superb food and a wonderful ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Bellinis has superb food and a wonderful atmosphere. It is an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were very impressed wit ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I were very impressed with the obvious talent of the chef. It is hard to find authentic Italian in the deep South, but Bellini's did a great job of satisfying our palates. We will be returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was our first dinner at the restaur ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first dinner at the restaurant and we completely enjoyed it. We had reservations and got seated quickly. We all ordered a pasta dish, and they were all wonderful! The bread and olive oil dipping wasn't great, but all of the dishes were fabulous. The waitress seemed to be new at her job and a little uncomfortable, but did an ok job. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2

Our server had to be told three times th ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server had to be told three times that we were not ready to have our plates removed. Seemed in a huge hurry, but the place was half empty. $14 for a Manhattan is ridiculous. Food was great though.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, not great.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Nothing at Bellini's was truly bad, but nothing was great. The restaurant is small and quaint. Our server was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. We ordered the crab cake appetizer. The presentation was very nice, but the crab cakes were heavily breaded, which lessened their appeal. My companion ordered the filet and the jalapeno mac and cheese. The filet was ordered rare, and was delivered medium, and had to be sent back. The mac and cheese was very good, and by far the best dish ordered. I had a grouper special, served over risotto. The fish was well cooked, but the entire dish lacked flair and flavor. The bill for 2 entrees, an appetizer and four moderately priced glasses of wine was $130 before gratuity. Again, it wasn't a bad meal, but for the price I can think of half a dozen restaurants I would visit before returning to Bellini's.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A good meal with good service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Bellini. The small dining room on the right is the best area to dine in the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never been disappointed at Bellini's.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food is amazing. Wine list is extensive. Setting is great for talking with your guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Italian. Service needs work.

Dined on May 1, 2016

There were 7 people in our group with an 8:30 reservation on Saturday night. Before being seated, some of our party ordered a pizza and some drinks at the bar. The pizza was incredible. Once seated, I ordered another pizza to be a shared appetizer. The server informed me that bar food wasn't served in the dining room. This seems flatly ridiculous to me. If you're proud enough to serve it ten feet away at the bar, why not serve it to a paying customer in the dining room? Charge me double for a "dinner" pizza if you want to be snobby about the dining room. We're at Bellini's. It's not like money is the hang-up. But don't tell me "You can't have the dish you want." For an entree I had the beef tenderloin meatballs and linguine. Absolutely delicious. Another member of our party had the filet, which turned out to be pretty lackluster. My tip would be to stick with the Italian, pasta-based dishes. As we were finishing our entrees it became clear that the staff was trying to wrap things up for the night. Nobody in the group opted for dessert, as we got the distinct impression that we had worn out our welcome. When we received our checks, there was a 20% gratuity added. Rather than enjoying dessert and a few more drinks, and leaving the extra tip that accompanies a satisfactory dining experience, we paid and left. Maybe I will eat here again with a smaller group and an earlier reservation. The Italian was great. The restaurant just didn't seem very customer focused.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Bellini's! I always want to try ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love Bellini's! I always want to try something new but, I always end up getting the pistachio encrusted salmon because I love it so so much! Pastel Formaggio is an amazing appetizer and we love the wedge salad! I have really enjoyed everything about Bellini's, great service, atmosphere, and very consistent!

food4
ambience5
service5

Yummy as usual! Tried the Shrimp Amalfi ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Yummy as usual! Tried the Shrimp Amalfi again at lunch. Better than I remember. Colleague had the sliders with sweet potato fries. I was most jealous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Bellini's has excellent food and service ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Bellini's has excellent food and service. My whole family loves to eat there.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good but it has been better...

Dined on April 20, 2016

My wife and I ate here for her birthday last week. We have been many times before and always have a good meal. The arancini that we order as appetizer was great and highly recommend. I ordered the black and white pasta, which was a special for the night, and my wife ordered Chicken Parmesan. The black and white was very good in the butter sauce but there just was not enough to make a meal. The portion size was definitely lacking for the price that I paid. My wife's Chicken Parmesan was good, but she said it tasted like the noodles were really under cooked and a little to al dente for her liking. The service we had was great and we will likely go back again. I think we just caught them on an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Just OK

Dined on April 11, 2016

I purchased a coupon for this restaurant knowing it would be on my radar. I had read all the articles about it and heard positive reviews. The ambiance was lovely. Our waiter really tried to rush us from the moment we sat down, asking us for drinks mere moments after we sat, and then coming up again perhaps a minute later, asking if we wanted appetizers, and we hadn't even decided on our wine selection. When we asked for more time, he finally gave it to us, but again, tried to force appetizers. I really have trouble with what is considered a high-end place asking us like that. I ordered the shrimp and grits at the waiter's recommendation, and my companions ordered a seafood risotto and the veal Parmesan. The shrimp were cooked to perfection and there were a lot of them, but the grits were tasteless and had absolutely no texture. My friend likened it to cream of wheat. The Veal Parmesan was delicious. The seafood in the risotto was again cooked perfectly, the scallops especially, which are quite easy to overcook. But the rice was again somewhat without taste and was overdone. Risotto should have a little bite. This was mushy. All in all, it was just an OK experience. Still glad I had the opportunity to try it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great date night

Dined on April 10, 2016

We have been to Bellinis several times and have never been disappointed. Drinks and diner were great as always and the waitress was very helpful. One of our favorite date night spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice and great atmosphere. Food wa ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Very nice and great atmosphere. Food was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there. The food ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time there. The food was great and staff were very helpful. We will be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great restaurant! Nice wine list. Waitress recommended wines based on your entree. I had the special which was a filet sitting on top of pimento cheese mixture! Delicious!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were both wonderful! An ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food and service were both wonderful! And reasonable prices. Definitely will be back in the future!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yearly Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the atmosphere, food and attention. Third year to celebrate here. We go for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance for adults, our servers ve ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Nice ambiance for adults, our servers very accommodating, and the cuisines were amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not worth the money.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Seafood Medley had more pork than seafood. Still a tasty dish, yummy risotto. Calamari appetizer (recommended by the waiter) was a little rubbery. Tiramisu was overpriced. Although the ambiance is nice, not much privacy/intimacy. Mediocre food for high prices. Girls who answered the phone were very friendly and service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our first time at Belinis and the food and ambience was great. Our server was very attentive and friendly. My only complaint would be that the food took quite a while to arrive at the table(like over and hour to receive our entrees after we were seated). However, once it arrived it was delicious and beautifully presented. The red velvet cheesecake was amazing. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bellini's Review

Dined on March 12, 2016

Bellini's Ricotta Gnocchi is my new favorite dish. The Fettuccine Alfredo is my favorite Fettuccine around. I recently tried the Gnocchi for the first time, and i can't wait to get it again. The sauce that comes withe Gnocchi is perfect for the Gnocchi, and i could see using that particular sauce on other entrees as well. We have had the pleasure of having Jade as our server multiple times, and she always seems to show up at our table at the perfect time. She is always friendly, and makes us feel welcome. You have the try the White Chocolate Bread Pudding. It is the best tasting dessert we have found. We cannot go there and not order it. It is indescribable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Bellini's was absolutely fantastic. The ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Bellini's was absolutely fantastic. The food is always very good. For some reason our table always ends up with a server who either forgets about us or has too many tables...though the staff is very friendly. Either way, the food is good enough to make up for any wait we had to deal with. Bellini's is the best Italian and one of my favorite restaurants in Birmingham and I say that with confidence. The Mediterranean chicken was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine at this neighborhood restaurant ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We dine at this neighborhood restaurant frequently. We have never been disappointed in the food, service or atmosphere. Lovely setting, easy access, cordial staff.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very noisy

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Good food and service. Would recommend. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent

Dined on March 7, 2016

Always excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

This place is awesome and I live around the corner, so this will be my new hide out. Great bar, awesome food and superb service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Night out with husband

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I needed a night out, away from our adorable 4 month old son. We had been to Belinis before, a while back, and enjoyed it. Our service was great and the restaurant was nice but food was lacking. We enjoyed our crab cake app but the lasagna and linguini with meatballs were both average. My husband's lasagna barely had any noodles or sauce. It was 90% ricotta cheese. We actually took it home, added noodles and sauce, and made our own lasagna the next night. Looking back we should have returned the dish. We were very disappointed in our mediocre meals. We may return but will try a different menu item. Thanks

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Samantha, was knowledgeab ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Our waitress, Samantha, was knowledgeable and attentive. Our food and drinks were excellent and arrived timely but we were never rushed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place, great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday in this lovely setting. The menu has many interesting choices, and we both thoroughly enjoyed our food. It was well prepared, elegantly plated, and served with every attention to detail. We love Bellini's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice romantic dinner with great food

Dined on February 19, 2016

Best Filet in Bham! Definatly give it a try. Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

Dined on February 14, 2016

We dined here for my wife's birthday. Food was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.