About Bellini's Ristorante & Bar

6801 Cahaba Valley Rd. Suite 106
Birmingham, AL 35242
View Larger Map

Great ideas often occur in the most comfortable of settings and Bellinis is no exception. With that in mind, in 2008 after discussing ideas over a bottle (or 2) of wine, the concept of Bellinis was formed. Come see why "Life is Sweet" at our place. Relax and enjoy your own glass of wine among friends and see where your discussions take you. At Bellinis OUR Passion is YOUR Food and YOUR Service.

Bellini's features 100% Prime Organic Beef, housemade pastas, veal, seafood and classic Tuscan Italian dishes. Bellini's maintains an extensive wine selection and weekly desert specials. Our bar opens weekdays at 4pm for drinks and dinner service begins at 5pm Monday to Saturday.

We have two private dining areas available for large parties. Our private dining room accommodates 20 to 25 patrons and features a 48" TV with audio visual capabilities. Our Intimate Dining room accommodates 10 to 15 patrons. Reservations are suggested.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11am to 2pm, Saturday 11am to 3pm & Bar Menu 3pm to 5pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Bar Opens at 4pm Daily for Happy Hour Specials.

Cross Street:
280 and 119

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 981-5380

Website:
http://www.ourbellinis.com/

Entertainment:
Bar features either concert DVD's or sporting events on a 48" Big Screen TV. Main Dining area features light jazz and classical italian music.

Catering:
For catering services please call 205-502-7272.
Our catering services include: Party trays Executive meals Hot and cold buffets Corporate gift cards Full audio visual services Corporate dining accounts Food and Wine pairing dinners On-premise and off premise catering available at all metro area facilities Custom menu’s for pre-selection of wine and food.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Cates

Private Party Facilities:
Bellinis features two private rooms. Our largest room will hold up to 30 people and has audio visual capabilities. Our smaller room will hold up to 16 people.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bellini's Ristorante & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (57)
neighborhood gem (45)
fit for foodies (45)
See All
romantic (32)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for lunch (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a nice experience! Food is above ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a nice experience! Food is above average, service generally excellent, and it's a nice place for casual lunch/dinner as well as a great place to take visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our favorite place to dine. Always great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our favorite place to dine. Always great food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it was 10 minutes before our waitress ca ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

it was 10 minutes before our waitress came to our table after our arrival. her inattentiveness became even more pronounced and continued throughout evening when we didnt order alcohol. Disappointing service, but the food and ambiance were great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This is my favorite restaurant and as us ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant and as usual the food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Bellini's. The menu was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I really enjoyed Bellini's. The menu was varied and the general atmosphere was warm and relaxed. I ordered steak and it was a bit overcooked, so maybe order a rarer steak than you normally would (I ordered medium, but it was more like medium well). Everyone else at my table raved about their orders. I tried several bites and had to agree! I would definitely suggest ordering off the pasta menu. Service was excellent, we didn't have to wait long for our food, and our table (for 6) was ready, even though we showed up before our reservation. I would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was very good with a nice menu ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was very good with a nice menu and list of specials. Our waiters were excellent. We would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We shared a cheese and meat platter for ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We shared a cheese and meat platter for an appetizer, it was tasty and enough for 2. My wife had Veggie Lasagna and I had Penne Alla Romano. Portions were generous, food was hot and delicious. Service was good. We were originally seated in back room that had nothing to help soften the noise. We asked to be moved and were promptly seated in the main room which had fabrics to help buffer the noise. We were able to have enjoyable conversation while we ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

This place has got it all, from really g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This place has got it all, from really good service to a chef that knows how to cook.We will be here time and time again. Awesome Food/Service 6*. It is great to go into a place, where the staff seems to really have tried everything on the menu, and can really give you good suggestions on what you might like on this and the next visits, along with the great chef specials!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally, Bellini's gets high marks from ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Normally, Bellini's gets high marks from me. We took six people for a birthday dinner last week. I chose the 16oz cowboy ribeye ($45). All of our other dishes were fine but the steak was low quality and I would challenge that it was 16 oz. It was also flavorless. I know that Italian is their specialty but this is the most expensive item on the menu and I expected a much higher quality meal than I received. A comparable steak at Pappadeaux's is much higher quality and cheaper.

I didn't complain because everyone else's meal was good but I will avoid ordering steak

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place for dining. Went for a spec ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great place for dining. Went for a special occasion and everything worked well.

I would recommend and I am going back to dine as well. Ordered roses for our table from their web-site while making reservation. When we arrived my table was ready along with the roses I had ordered. Great evening!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bellinis was our favorite restaurant for ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Bellinis was our favorite restaurant for 9 years, although getting from Birmingham to Bellinis on 280 is horrible. It was worth the bumper-to-bumper traffic for the dinners but now there has been a chef change and the food is disgusting. How can they ruin Chicken Parm and boulonnaise ravioli? Both meals were abysmal and it will be a long time and another chef change before we return. Service was good. Food was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Love that their corkage fee is $15! Egg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Love that their corkage fee is $15! Eggplant parmasean was great. My husband had fettuccine and they added scallops upon request

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and the bread pudding i ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and the bread pudding is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a good experience. The portion s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a good experience. The portion sizes were good. This would be a good place for a date night. However, if it's busy, it could be rather noisy.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was not at all what we expecte ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our food was not at all what we expected I had the redfish schnitzel it was fried with heavy crust and the menu stated pan seared was overcooked the grouper my husband had was not even a dinner size portion even half the size of my palm. Very disappointed for it being our Anniversary dinner. The waitress, however, was very attentive and did an excellent job and the wine was about the only thing we did enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Eggplant Parmesan was tough and chewy. R ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Eggplant Parmesan was tough and chewy. Rigatoni was very good. Tiramisu was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very Disappointing!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We have eaten many times at this restaurant and always found it to be absolutely wonderful. On this occasion however, we noticed that many things had changed. The $45 porterhouse steak was very tough and almost inedible. The portions were half the size they were previously with no change in pricing. They even changed the ingredients of some of their best standards which no longer looked appealing. We were so disappointed in our meal that we will most likely not return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Neighborhood Gem!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a spur of the moment chance to hang out with some special friends who are often out of town. We had not made any reservations and it was almost 5:00 pm. We pulled up Open Table and Bellini's had some options after 8:00 pm ... perfect for us! From the minute we got there until we left, it was absolutely fabulous. Courteous staff, fantastic food, atmosphere was quiet and relaxed, just a wonderful place. We may have overstayed our welcome since we weren't paying any attention to time - when we looked up, there were no other customers in the place and the bar stools were already put away. The staff never acted like we should leave, nor gave us any "looks". LOL! It was a fantastic time - we will definitely go again and hopefully much earlier so we can stay longer!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere always grea ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere always great. Sam the waitress was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food Strange Presentation

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Seated immediately in main dining room as requested. Excellent waiter. Ordered crab cakes and came with greens so didn't order a salad. Chef prepared Veal Picatta which isn't on the menu and has done this for me numerous times. However, this time had a very strange presentation in that a small amount of pasta came out in a very large, deep plate, the sauce and mushrooms came in a small separate bowl with no capers and the breaded and fried veal was on a third plate! Usually, all three are together on one plate with the sauce, mushrooms and capers poured over the veal cutlets. This presentation detracted from my usual enjoyment of this dish. The three crab cakes were delicious and were arranged in a circle with greens in the middle- very nice! Were given plenty of fresh, grated Parmesan as usual. Maybe a new chef accounted for the strange presentation and I guess I will have to specify how it should be done next time. Lastly, I had a gift card and the waiter handled it discreetly and efficiently.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our anniversary dinner and we wer ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was our anniversary dinner and we were so fortunate to have celebrated it at Bellini's! Brittany was our server. She was polite, cheerful and so nice. The other staff was also pleasant and efficient. I can't describe how wonderful the crab cake appetizer, charred Caesar salad, crab and shrimp manicotti were for dinner. However, the white chocolate bread pudding was extraordinary! A truly memorable and special meal that my husband and I will always remember! We can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Graduation Dinner

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our group was celebrating a graduation dinner last night, and we had a fantastic time at Bellini's. The hostess, bartender, and our waiter were so nice and helpful, and the service was great. Everyone loved their food. We all sampled what others were having, and everything was delicious! The atmosphere is great too--beautiful and cozy, and not too loud. Towards the end of our dinner, our graduate looked around and said, "I love this place." We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyed the atmosphere, service was also ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

enjoyed the atmosphere, service was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good, however veggie lasagna no ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good, however veggie lasagna not the best I have ever had, too much ricotta cheese and not enough veggies. Overpriced for what you get. The back room they put us in was very noisy! We have been many times and will continue to go since we consider it our "neighborhood go-to place".

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Bellini's for lunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall, great experience. We ordered a hamburger to be cooked well done, and it arrived at the table under-cooked. Our waitress took care of the issue, and within 10 minutes, we had a well-done hamburger.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time at Bellini's and just as enj ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Second time at Bellini's and just as enjoyable. Our server, Jade, was very helpful and the dining room staff seemed to be on top of everything, even before being asked. Food was delicious and served piping hot. Fantastic desert as well. We traveled from Gadsden, about a hours drive, to dine at Bellini's and will do so again. I do recommend reservations. We dined on a Tuesday evening and to our surprise, they were busy. Not standing out the door busy but busy. Might have been some folks from the Regions Golf tourney. Great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Food was delicious!! The ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great evening. Food was delicious!! The service was right on target!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bellinis has superb food and a wonderful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Bellinis has superb food and a wonderful atmosphere. It is an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were very impressed wit ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I were very impressed with the obvious talent of the chef. It is hard to find authentic Italian in the deep South, but Bellini's did a great job of satisfying our palates. We will be returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first dinner at the restaur ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first dinner at the restaurant and we completely enjoyed it. We had reservations and got seated quickly. We all ordered a pasta dish, and they were all wonderful! The bread and olive oil dipping wasn't great, but all of the dishes were fabulous. The waitress seemed to be new at her job and a little uncomfortable, but did an ok job.

We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our server had to be told three times th ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Our server had to be told three times that we were not ready to have our plates removed. Seemed in a huge hurry, but the place was half empty. $14 for a Manhattan is ridiculous.

Food was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Good, not great.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Nothing at Bellini's was truly bad, but nothing was great. The restaurant is small and quaint. Our server was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. We ordered the crab cake appetizer. The presentation was very nice, but the crab cakes were heavily breaded, which lessened their appeal. My companion ordered the filet and the jalapeno mac and cheese. The filet was ordered rare, and was delivered medium, and had to be sent back. The mac and cheese was very good, and by far the best dish ordered. I had a grouper special, served over risotto. The fish was well cooked, but the entire dish lacked flair and flavor. The bill for 2 entrees, an appetizer and four moderately priced glasses of wine was $130 before gratuity. Again, it wasn't a bad meal, but for the price I can think of half a dozen restaurants I would visit before returning to Bellini's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A good meal with good service

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Bellini. The small dining room on the right is the best area to dine in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have never been disappointed at Bellini's.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Food is amazing.

Wine list is extensive.

Setting is great for talking with your guests.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian. Service needs work.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

There were 7 people in our group with an 8:30 reservation on Saturday night. Before being seated, some of our party ordered a pizza and some drinks at the bar. The pizza was incredible. Once seated, I ordered another pizza to be a shared appetizer. The server informed me that bar food wasn't served in the dining room. This seems flatly ridiculous to me. If you're proud enough to serve it ten feet away at the bar, why not serve it to a paying customer in the dining room? Charge me double for a "dinner" pizza if you want to be snobby about the dining room. We're at Bellini's. It's not like money is the hang-up. But don't tell me "You can't have the dish you want."

For an entree I had the beef tenderloin meatballs and linguine. Absolutely delicious. Another member of our party had the filet, which turned out to be pretty lackluster. My tip would be to stick with the Italian, pasta-based dishes.

As we were finishing our entrees it became clear that the staff was trying to wrap things up for the night. Nobody in the group opted for dessert, as we got the distinct impression that we had worn out our welcome. When we received our checks, there was a 20% gratuity added. Rather than enjoying dessert and a few more drinks, and leaving the extra tip that accompanies a satisfactory dining experience, we paid and left. Maybe I will eat here again with a smaller group and an earlier reservation. The Italian was great. The restaurant just didn't seem very customer focused.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Bellini's! I always want to try ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We love Bellini's! I always want to try something new but, I always end up getting the pistachio encrusted salmon because I love it so so much! Pastel Formaggio is an amazing appetizer and we love the wedge salad! I have really enjoyed everything about Bellini's, great service, atmosphere, and very consistent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy as usual! Tried the Shrimp Amalfi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Yummy as usual!

Tried the Shrimp Amalfi again at lunch. Better than I remember. Colleague had the sliders with sweet potato fries. I was most jealous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bellini's has excellent food and service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Bellini's has excellent food and service. My whole family loves to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good but it has been better...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My wife and I ate here for her birthday last week. We have been many times before and always have a good meal. The arancini that we order as appetizer was great and highly recommend. I ordered the black and white pasta, which was a special for the night, and my wife ordered Chicken Parmesan. The black and white was very good in the butter sauce but there just was not enough to make a meal. The portion size was definitely lacking for the price that I paid. My wife's Chicken Parmesan was good, but she said it tasted like the noodles were really under cooked and a little to al dente for her liking. The service we had was great and we will likely go back again. I think we just caught them on an off night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just OK

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

I purchased a coupon for this restaurant knowing it would be on my radar. I had read all the articles about it and heard positive reviews. The ambiance was lovely. Our waiter really tried to rush us from the moment we sat down, asking us for drinks mere moments after we sat, and then coming up again perhaps a minute later, asking if we wanted appetizers, and we hadn't even decided on our wine selection. When we asked for more time, he finally gave it to us, but again, tried to force appetizers. I really have trouble with what is considered a high-end place asking us like that.

I ordered the shrimp and grits at the waiter's recommendation, and my companions ordered a seafood risotto and the veal Parmesan. The shrimp were cooked to perfection and there were a lot of them, but the grits were tasteless and had absolutely no texture. My friend likened it to cream of wheat. The Veal Parmesan was delicious. The seafood in the risotto was again cooked perfectly, the scallops especially, which are quite easy to overcook. But the rice was again somewhat without taste and was overdone. Risotto should have a little bite. This was mushy. All in all, it was just an OK experience. Still glad I had the opportunity to try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.