Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Zabu ZabuZabu Zabu
(26)
Shabu-shabu | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
B & BB & B
(18)
American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
TownieTownie
(51)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
GatherGather
(2815)
Californian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
FIVEFIVE
(1705)
American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
TigerlilyTigerlily
(6)
Contemporary Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Corso RistoranteCorso Ristorante
(1491)
Italian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Julia's at the Berkeley City ClubJulia's at the Berkeley City Club
(501)
French | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Longbranch SaloonLongbranch Saloon
(113)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Belotti Ristorante e BottegaBelotti Ristorante e Bottega
(79)
Italian | Oakland, East Bay
Reserve Now
Revival Bar+KitchenRevival Bar+Kitchen
(1385)
Californian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
La MarchaLa Marcha
(195)
Spanish | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Namaste Madreas CuisineNamaste Madreas Cuisine
(24)
Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Plearn ThaiPlearn Thai
(24)
Thai | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Nico's HideawayNico's Hideaway
(30)
Italian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now

About Belli Osteria

2016 Shattuck Ave
Berkeley, CA 94704
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Downtown Berkeley, Belli Osteria is a quaint and casual place to enjoy sumptuous dishes made with many local and seasonal ingredients. Our osteria began with the dream of creating a locale whose focus is not just Italian inspired dishes, but pastas and raviolis that are made artisanally and in-house. We take special pride in sourcing ingredients that are local, and whenever possible, organic.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Th 5:30pm-9:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Su 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between University and Addison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 704-1902

Website:
http://www.belliosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Metered street parking. Multiple parking garages nearby.

Public Transit:
Downtown Berkeley BART Station, Multiple AC Transit Bus Lines.

Executive Chef:
Paul Oprescu

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never Disappointed

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

We've eaten at Belli Osteria about 8 times so far and will continue to go back because I can honestly say I have never had a dish that didn't delight. Appetizer, first course, second course or desert - all have been spot on and delicious. This last time we had just returned from 3 weeks in Tuscany and the meal was a trip down memory lane. Wonderful. I can highly recommend Belli Osteria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Italian Pasta

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 29, 2014

Their special provenance is squid ink sauce and pasta. But everything at this small gourmet gem is delicious. And the service is always gracious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

every bite delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 22, 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful meal before going to Berkeley Rep. Starting with the attentive and personable server, then the delicious appetizers of braised tongue in a rich tomato broth with nicoise olives and salad with walnut paste and cheese artfully spread along the sides of the bowl, through the sublime house-made ravioli filled with beef and marinated tomatoes, and kabocha-based pillowy gnocchi, I savored every moment. The only disappointment was that we had absolutely no room for dessert. And an unexpected treat with our check - our server reminded us of the 10% discount for Berkeley Rep patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tuesday evening for 5

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 22, 2014

Casual but not drab. Beautiful setting. Big cloth napkins. GREAT FOOD. All 4 of my friends enjoyed their entrees. I had black pasta ravioli with orange ground salmon. Interesting colors. Not skimpy on the salmon. Place filled up, but we stayed about 1/2 hour after we had eaten without feeling we had to go.

Lucille

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent find!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 20, 2014

4 of us dined there on a Sunday evening. It's a lovely inviting and intimate space. All aspects of dinner from the attentive(not hovering)waiter to the perfectly prepared and presented antipasti, arugula salad, pasta and secundi were outstanding. The recommended wine perfectly complimented the dinner. Great find in downtown Berkeley(close to BART). It is an upscale dining experience not to be missed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sure to go back

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 20, 2014

My friend and I have enjoyed dinner here on several occasions prior to attending Berkeley Rep productions. The location is convenient, the service is good, and the food is outstanding and reasonably priced. The menu options are limited but each one seems to be carefully prepared and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Small place on the go to street in Berkeley (Shattuck), where there are several excellent restaurants (i.e., Comal), but found this place by chance, and while it was noisy and the service not the best, the food was excellent; great homemade pasta. Actually everything we ordered was great. Highly recommended for a great mea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dined here before the theatre, and it wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Dined here before the theatre, and it was packed and noisy. Limited menu. Enjoyed the fish, but portions were small for the money. Good place to go before Berkeley Rep, but I wouldn't make a special trip otherwise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Pre-theater Special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

This restaurant gets crowded with pre-theater crowd so reservations are a must. Hit it around 7:45 and you should be able to get in. Limited to wine and beer; no bar, but food is great and service, when not slammed with customers, is very good. We are repeat customers and value this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Italian

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

Portions were large and the pappardelle with beef was delicious, I ate the whole large portion. Caesar salad was delicious with fried anchovies on top, but maybe a tad too much dressing. Really delicious wine and a delightful quiet Tuesday evening at 7:30pm, excellent service although the main dish took a tad too long, the waitress gave us a a free lemon sorbet which was perfect for after the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Check please!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

Appetizers and salads are wonderful here. Great gazpacho, in particular. Pasta dishes are uneven although definitely ambitious. Gnocchi was leaden heavy, but other pasta dishes have been good. However, it is extremely difficult to get the bill, and then pay within a reasonable amount of time -- even when you have explained that you are going to theater.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

We read the good reviews, but belli was above and beyond their reviews. Service was attentive, menu was creative and taste was extremely flavorful and tasty. Will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 24, 2014

Hard to beat. Exceptionally good food. Service was hooked. Noise: in keeping with current trends (shouting level). Just be quiet and enjoy the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Is Belli Osteria slipping?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

After several exceptional meals at Belli Osteria I was disappointed this time. The salads were excellent, but the main courses not so good. My companions had dense gnocchi and leathery ravioli, though they ate them. I sent my tripe back -- it had a nasty, gamey flavor that its overly peppered sauce failed to disguise -- and ate a second salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

New Italian

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

All of our dishes were consistently good with generous portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our first dinner here and will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food but indifferent service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Visiting in Berkeley, we booked through Open Table about an hour-and-a-half before our arrival. When we arrived the Maitre d' said "oh, we stopped checking our computer." There was a table available, however, and we were seated--and then we waited about 10 minutes until the server finally came over (and the restaurant did not seem especially busy). The food and wine then appeared in good time and all was very tasty and well prepared and presented. The server was very charming and friendly and apologetic, but then we were left waiting at the end of the meal for someone to come and take a dessert order. The management made up for it with a complementary gelato--which was quite good. Enjoyed ourselves despite the lapses. Would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Inventive and Varied Menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

We have enjoyed Belli Osteria on several occasions. They always have interesting and tasty specials. And, the main menu varies. There are usually 2 or more choices of ravioli and they are consistently outstanding and often unique. It's a great place to dine before an event at Freight and Salvage, Berkeley Rep, Aurora Theater, etc. or any time you crave non-standard Italian food in a friendly setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great find!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2014

We had a great meal at Belli Osteria. Stumbled upon it on open table and decided to check it out. We were very pleased!

The service was really exceptional and so friendly with our children. Food was overall very delicious--would give 4.5 stars if I could.

The burrata and melon was delicious; as was the house made ravioli and linguini with seafood. "gelato" was not like gelato--more like ice cream but still good. We will be back for sure. Many thanks to the wonderful waitress Chantay for her **Amazing Service** and friendliness. For her alone--we will come back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely food, terrible service.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

We have brought friends here many times & did so last Saturday. Reservation asked for quiet table, one offered near open door too chilly, said they had to leave it open. Waited 40 minutes for another table, and after we were seated were ignored for 15 minutes. Friend went to host to complain that we couldn't get anyone's attention, and host completely ignored him. Saw that they had another party at table near door, and had closed the door for them. Were in restaurant 1 hour before receiving any food. They said it was because we were seated when new parties came in, but they were served before we were, even though we had been waiting an hour. Terrible. Our friends won't be coming back. The food is so good we will give 2nd chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

doesn't get better!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

Hands down this is my favorite restaurant in the east bay. The food is absolutely incredible. California coast albacore conserva, green beans, purple potatoes with thyme vinaigrette & spicy aioli is TO DIE FOR. The squid ink linguini with pacific octopus, venus clams & gulf shrimp with butter & chardonnay...amazing!

Not only is the food so goo you will want to eat there every night, but the service is impeccable! The table is cleared after each course or used dishes/utensils, so you start fresh...who does that??! It's so subtle you don't even notice it, but you can't help but notice. Everyone there is friendly, professional and lovely.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. FIVE STARS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific intimate restaurant with wonder ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

Terrific intimate restaurant with wonderfully friendly, professional, efficient staff. Delicious salads and dishes. Excellent range of good wines. The seafood black pasta is great. One of the best moderately priced restaurants in the entire Bay area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Why isn't it packed?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2014

We've been there 3 times now and there is always a table for us as soon as we arrive. Go now before the buzz fills this place up. The food and dessert are SO good! I especially like the ricotta gnocci & my husban loves the steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Tasty Menu...for Omnivores

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

I'm an an omnivore, so the current menu looks delicious, but my girlfriend is vegetarian, so that was one thing that was lacking. A couple of vegetarian alternatives, sans mushrooms (for her), would be nice. I hope Belli Osteria would consider that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Perfect dinner!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

Three of us had the squid ink pasta with mixed seafood. Unlike mostnseafood pastas, this dish was heavily laden wth seafood. So tasty! And the lamb chops was a huge porton--three double chops at a bargain price of $24. The caesar salad was unique and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food in downtown Berkeley

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

This place was fantastic! The food was excellent! I would put this up there with Trattoria Corso and Olivetos. Much better than A16.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great location near Berkeley Rep.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2014

Great location near Berkeley rep. Dining partners said pasta was terrific

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food great . . . But

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

Restaurant noise level way too high. Will probably not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Sublime!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

Fantastic food! Chef Paul is a gem. My favorite restaurant in Berkeley!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just the Best!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2014

We have been here several times, usually before a Berkeley Rep play. The menu is constantly changing, but everything we have had has been absolutely incredible. This time I had the beet salad and the halibut entree. Both dishes used the freshest ingredients, were beautifully presented, and absolutely the best I have ever had. Not a coincidence that my dining companions with all their different choices said the exact same thing about their dishes. The server was attentive, but not intrusive, and she was very helpful and knowledgeable when we asked for suggestions. I also appreciated how she kept in mind our need to leave at a particular time so as not to be late for our play. We love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tucked away in Berkeley on one of the ma ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2014

Tucked away in Berkeley on one of the main streets lies Belli Osteria. Thank you OpenTable for the great find!

They were out of the squid ink linguine and my mom was disappointed because that is why we came here. It was only 7:30 pm on a Sat. Good that they ran out but wow! So we asked them to be creative about the dish and they did, substituting the octopus for more manila clams.

Then they said they ran out of bread? How weird... so when we asked them to be creative about it, they brought out more bread? I don't understand. But when we got our food, each dish was perfect.

I do not know what happened in the beginning with being out (then not being out) of meals, but they made up for it well.

Lovely hostess. Good seating. Will recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was good, but the service was t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2014

The food was good, but the service was terrible with the server's broken english. We had to wait way too long for our food without explanation. When we asked for more bread to mop up the sauce from the appetizer, we were told they were out of bread. This is at 9PM on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Hidden-Away Restaurant Spot

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2014

We've walked by this spot many times without ever seeing it since the restaurant has a narrow front. The food is excellent, nicely presented, cooked well and very tasty. The staff are friendly and helpful with menu selections. The wine list is priced fairly with good variety and can be bought by the glass or bottle. Bravo for another excellent place to eat in Berkeley's Theatre District.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2014

This is a wonderful authentic Italian restaurant with interesting, fresh and creative menu choices. The menu always has an excellent fresh fish entree, which most recently was a perfectly cooked and generous-sized portion of wild salmon. The pasta dishes are unusual and delicious. The salads are outstanding, with an interesting variety of ingredients and large enough for 2 people to share. This restaurant consistently has the best and most satisfying food of any restaurant I have been to in the East Bay. It also has reasonably-priced wines by the glass and bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Fresh & well Prepared Italian Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2014

The Gazpacho soup with the grilled shrimp was a pleasant combination of fresh tasting pureed vegetables with a bit of a bite to the finish. The shrimp were smoky and buttery and very good sized as was the bowl of gazpacho. Scallop appetizer was small (2 large scallops) but well done, although the scallops were a little underdone, but my wife really enjoyed them. I had ravioli stuffed with ham and cheese with a cream sauce & peas. It was excellent, although there wasn't that much to eat as is typical with many ravioli dishes. My wife had the pasta with squid ink sauce with same grilled shrimp as in the gazpacho and some clams, which I also really liked. Had some home made almond caramel ice cream for dessert, which was the perfect touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food served attractively with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2014

Excellent food served attractively with great service. Highly recommend it for before Berkeley Rep.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely duck breast

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2014

Duck breast with cauliflower was lovely. It was served in a bowl which was awkward for cutting and setting down the knife between uses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

in downtown Berkeley

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2014

I had not even realised this restaurant was tucked away next to Comal in downtown Berkeley. We had a large party and every dish was excellent - squid ink linguine with shellfish, salmon with squid ink risotto, the steak & lovely cabbage salad to start. Also loved our server. A new favourite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Belli Up

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2014

No iced tea, a two day expired special on blackboard,terrible service,meh food. So close to theaters, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great find.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2014

I rarely dine in Berkeley but was glad to have found Belli Osteria

The food was hearty & noise level moderate (i hear it can be noisy). Service was a little bit on the slow side :(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.