About Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

1260 Channel Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Bella Vista Restaurant is Santa Barbara's most beautiful al fresco oceanfront dining experience. Showcasing organic, Italian inspired California cuisine, helmed by Executive Chef Alessandro Cartumini, the restaurant is known for the freshest seafood and pasta entrees, a Thursday night crudo bar with shucked oysters, shrimp and scallops at sunset and one of the most celebrated Sunday brunches in the United States.

The restaurant’s décor features fireplaces, rare marble stone floors, rich mahogany and a hand-carved wine wall. Bella Vista’s international wine list is recognized by Wine Spectator and showcases a wide range of local Santa Barbara County producers. OpenTable has bestowed Bella Vista with 2015 Diner's Choice Awards in ten different categories.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:30am,
Sunday Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Breakfast Buffet: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 1:30pm;

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm,
Sunday Lunch: 1:30pm - 5:00pm;

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-8237

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/santabarbara/dining/restaurants/bella_vista/

Entertainment:
Music played through centralized system.

Parking Details:
The Four Seasons Biltmore offers complimentary parking for anyone dining in Bella Vista. Street parking is also available along Channel Drive.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Cartumini

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SEAFOOD AT SUNSET
Every Thursday l 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Enjoy oysters shucked to order, crudo bar, shrimp and scallop skewers at Ty Lounge as you take in the dramatic Santa Barbara sunset.

FREE CORKAGE NIGHT
Available Monday evenings

Restaurant Photos

  • Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
  • Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
2 More
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (89)
Scenic View (89)
Special Occasion (78)
See All
Romantic (67)
Great for Brunch (43)
Great for Lunch (37)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great! Loved it.

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great! Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place. The whole place hits ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love this place. The whole place hits the spot for me. Nice service, great view, good food, one couldn't ask for much more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always amazing food. Very fresh, local i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always amazing food. Very fresh, local ingredients. And a view of the ocean. A perfect, relaxing evening. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for a birthday brunch and it was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We came for a birthday brunch and it was a great experience. First place I've ever found to have endless bloody Mary's, and the food was amazing. The service was a little slow, but they were very friendly and professional. Definitely coming back

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Sensational as always a great Sunday bru ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sensational as always a great Sunday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect place for a special m ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely perfect place for a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always...food and view were terrific. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As always...food and view were terrific. Entire experience was sullied by the miss use suffered by my credit card. My brand new, never been used before card mysteriously had a mid-night charge the following day. The only time my card was out of my control was when it was taken by the server to run through the credit card machine. Perhaps Bella Vista ought to invest in table side credit card machines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

Come here for the views, if you're visit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Come here for the views, if you're visiting Santa Barbara, I recommend you stop by and have lunch here, reasonable prices considering the setting with beautiful views of the ocean. The food was very good but not great. It's good place to bring your family for lunch, kid friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Veal Parmesana was tough and raw in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Veal Parmesana was tough and raw in the middle. Very disappointing and I'm not one to complain about under cooked beef. I usually like it rare.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Octopus salad had very little octopus

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Octopus salad had very little octopus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely meal and beautiful view. We got ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Lovely meal and beautiful view. We got there at 5pm just as the restaurant opened and practically had the entire place to ourselves. Janelle, our server was very attentive and personable. The meal was lovely. We will certainly be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second visit for Brunch-wonderful fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our second visit for Brunch-wonderful food, service and views. Great choice of food available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great resort restaurant at the Four Seas ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great resort restaurant at the Four Seasons. We ate here 4 times during our stay last week including the Sunday brunch with local friends. The service is polished and excellent, the food amazing, and the views are incredible. Nothing not to like about this restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sunday Brunch at the Biltmore for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had Sunday Brunch at the Biltmore for a girlfriend's birthday, and I'll admit, it blew me away. The ambiance, quality of food, quality of service and overall experience was tremendous. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restauran. The food was very n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the restauran. The food was very nice and i recommend the souffle. They got busy towards the end of the night so we had a bit of a wait for dessert and the bill. The did say rhe souffle took 20min but then didnt come back to see if we wanted it for about 15min. The good news is the view of the ocean and ambiance are fantastic. It wasnt bad to be there longer. Really nice restaurant for an occassion

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We enjoyed the view and the food was ama ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We enjoyed the view and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, beautiful view. The ser ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food, beautiful view. The service started out fine, but then our waiter seemed to forget about us. Not a huge problem since we were enjoying the view, and not in a hurry, but expected better service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Always a wonderful experience with frien ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a wonderful experience with friends, family and out of town guests. Our favorite is the outdoor patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every thing was great! It's a very beaut ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Every thing was great! It's a very beautiful view and very lovely gardens.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service, view, food presentation, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great service, view, food presentation, and flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening! Bella Vista staff we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful evening! Bella Vista staff went out of it's way to make it memorable evening -- it was their way of taking care of a problem we had encountered during a prior visit. It was much appreciated and the way establishments should take care of their frequent guests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a bit slow. Long wait betwe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service was a bit slow. Long wait between seating and ability to place order.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful property. Outside seating. Ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful property. Outside seating. Very romantic setting with the sound of the Pacific Ocean in the background and the food was second to none. Top that off with ultimate service and there is no better choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food OK but for its quality overpriced. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food OK but for its quality overpriced. However, the location offers a great view on the beach and Ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyed our 36th anniversary dinner on t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Enjoyed our 36th anniversary dinner on the patio at Bella Viata. The view of the Pacific was outstanding with the waves lapping on the shore. The service, food and ambiance were as exceptional as the setting. Would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting Views/Lackluster Food My wife ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Enchanting Views/Lackluster Food

My wife and I had the chance to dine at Belle Vista during a recent visit to SB. When I think of my experiences at 4Seasons properties around the globe I think of exceptional quality, presentation and tastes. In this regard - Belle Vista was a real let down. Don't get me wrong - the views are beautiful - sitting out on the veranda under the trees as the sun goes down. The food was at best a C+. I had the Branzino which was good but not great and certainly not memorable. Branzino when prepared right melts in your mouth and leaves you wanting more. The sides were horrible - both in price and taste. The Brussel sprout dish (and Brussel sprout dishes are popping up everywhere these days) consisted of 6 sliced sprouts with a small teaspoon of goat cheese ($8) My wife made the mistake of ordering the ravioli. It arrived as ONE large ravioli - 6 x 6. Overcooked and showing no finesse in its preparation.

Go here for dessert and a drink - but eat elsewhere as SB as some fantastic dining options .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

This has to be one of the most beautiful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This has to be one of the most beautiful settings for dining in Santa Barbara. We had lunch on the outdoor patio overlooking the ocean and the magnificent grounds of the Four Season Biltmore.

My wife had an outstanding seafood salad, and I enjoyed the mahi mahi wrap accompanied by the most delicious sweet potato fries. We also enjoyed perfectly paired glasses of wine. Our server was friendly and very capable.

A perfect setting for a wonderful lunch in Santa Barbara!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed- This was a spec ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was very disappointed- This was a special BD dinner for my dearest friend. Our salad was wonderful- could not have been better as was the atmosphere, which is why I picked your restuarant. However, Meryl ordered Salmon med/rare and I ordered Bison steak rare -

Hers arrived as requested and mine, WELL DONE! As you can imagine, Meryl ate her dinner alone while I waited for a belated dinner arrived 15 minutes later when I was no longer hungry- just disappointed already without an appetite. I took my dinner home.

T his is not what should happen at a restuarant/hotel of your stature.

Sincerely,

Harriet Mosson

770-7871

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking ocea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking ocean. Great way to start your day with a healthy breakfast and inspiring scenery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Traveling up the California coast, seems ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Traveling up the California coast, seems every restaurant had brussels sprouts on the menu. We tasted five different preparations, and yours was the best. A very pleasant experience overall, even for the high price point. You do need a better selection of wine in the lower price point though, say $40 bottles too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food horribly bland dinner, service poor ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food horribly bland dinner, service poor - wrong orders, dropping everything around us, very dirty under tables from previous guests with small children - a comedy of errors - couldn't wait to leave. Unbeatable views - but much better dinners at other Four Seasons. We will stick to breakfast here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday. I noticed the quality of food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Birthday. I noticed the quality of food and service has degraded since our last visit but the price certainly hasn't gone down. It's all about the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Celebrated our anniversary with a champa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary with a champagne brunch/ service was excellent-our glasses were never empty. Food was very good, nice range, but I feel for the cost there could have been a little more to choose from. Sitting outside makes all the difference.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was spectacular...the food, w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was spectacular...the food, wine/beer, service, decor, and the view. This restaurant is expensive but well worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting outdoors with views of ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful setting outdoors with views of the ocean. Really a lovely spot but the service is not up to par. The spacing between meals is really bad. They served our main meal while we were still eating our appetizers. The gazpacho soup was overwhelmed by a ton of garlic. The pasta dishes are good as well as the main meal options. The staff often forgets to follow up with items and have to ask again and again. Once that part is better managed this could be a top spot to dine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Absolutely beautiful place to dine. Food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Absolutely beautiful place to dine. Food was delicious, a little pricey but not overpriced. Cocktails were very very good but overpriced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were on a girls' trip. Loved being ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were on a girls' trip. Loved being right on the ocean. They had heaters to keep us warm. Food was good. The only thing we didn't like is how long it took. We were there for 2-1/2 hrs. I like to be able to eat dinner & be on to something else within an hour or 1-1/2 hrs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Dining on the patio is always lovely. Se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dining on the patio is always lovely. Service is unobtrusive and excellent. They have gluten-free bread if you ask for it. That was a definite plus. It's our favorite place for a relaxing weekday lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sunday brunch is a favorite event for us ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

sunday brunch is a favorite event for us and we were celebrating a birthday in Santa Barbara so why now. this had our favorite brunch items including bottomless decent champagne (Michelle), caviar with all the fixins and lots of it, sushi, good crab legs and shrimp, BACON, roast lamb and prime rib, some good salads and who cares about the rest. but really they had many dishes that we didn't even try and a special table for the kids which tempted me to try the mac and cheese. Lots of desserts to choose from. Price is steep ($75) but not unusual for brunch and certainly worth is for THIS brunch. i'll be back next time in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Sunday Brunch adventure was it's usu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our Sunday Brunch adventure was it's usual excellent self. Staff is always attentive, food amazing and presentation a gem. Recommended for all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.