About Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

1260 Channel Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Bella Vista Restaurant is Santa Barbara's most beautiful al fresco oceanfront dining experience. Showcasing organic, Italian inspired California cuisine, helmed by Executive Chef Alessandro Cartumini, the restaurant is known for the freshest seafood and pasta entrees, a Thursday night crudo bar with shucked oysters, shrimp and scallops at sunset and one of the most celebrated Sunday brunches in the United States.

The restaurant’s décor features fireplaces, rare marble stone floors, rich mahogany and a hand-carved wine wall. Bella Vista’s international wine list is recognized by Wine Spectator and showcases a wide range of local Santa Barbara County producers. OpenTable has bestowed Bella Vista with 2015 Diner's Choice Awards in ten different categories.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:30am,
Sunday Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Breakfast Buffet: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 1:30pm;

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm,
Sunday Lunch: 1:30pm - 5:00pm;

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Friday & Saturday 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-8237

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/santabarbara/dining/restaurants/bella_vista/

Entertainment:
Music played through centralized system.

Parking Details:
The Four Seasons Biltmore offers complimentary parking for anyone dining in Bella Vista. Street parking is also available along Channel Drive.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Cartumini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SEAFOOD AT SUNSET
Every Thursday l 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Enjoy oysters shucked to order, crudo bar, shrimp and scallop skewers at Ty Lounge as you take in the dramatic Santa Barbara sunset.

PIZZA & PROSECCO
Every Monday l 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Start your week off right with Pizza and Prosecco at Santa Barbara's most beautiful ocean front setting. Creative and robust pizzas paired with endless Italian bubbles will make Monday nights the best night of your week!

FREE CORKAGE NIGHT
Available Monday evenings

Restaurant Photos

  • Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
  • Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
3 More
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Californian
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

scenic view (75)
great for outdoor dining (74)
special occasion (63)
See All
romantic (57)
great for brunch (35)
great for lunch (30)
fit for foodies (25)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (12)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful property. Outside seating. Ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful property. Outside seating. Very romantic setting with the sound of the Pacific Ocean in the background and the food was second to none. Top that off with ultimate service and there is no better choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food OK but for its quality overpriced. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food OK but for its quality overpriced. However, the location offers a great view on the beach and Ocean.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyed our 36th anniversary dinner on t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Enjoyed our 36th anniversary dinner on the patio at Bella Viata. The view of the Pacific was outstanding with the waves lapping on the shore. The service, food and ambiance were as exceptional as the setting. Would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting Views/Lackluster Food My wife ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Enchanting Views/Lackluster Food

My wife and I had the chance to dine at Belle Vista during a recent visit to SB. When I think of my experiences at 4Seasons properties around the globe I think of exceptional quality, presentation and tastes. In this regard - Belle Vista was a real let down. Don't get me wrong - the views are beautiful - sitting out on the veranda under the trees as the sun goes down. The food was at best a C+. I had the Branzino which was good but not great and certainly not memorable. Branzino when prepared right melts in your mouth and leaves you wanting more. The sides were horrible - both in price and taste. The Brussel sprout dish (and Brussel sprout dishes are popping up everywhere these days) consisted of 6 sliced sprouts with a small teaspoon of goat cheese ($8) My wife made the mistake of ordering the ravioli. It arrived as ONE large ravioli - 6 x 6. Overcooked and showing no finesse in its preparation.

Go here for dessert and a drink - but eat elsewhere as SB as some fantastic dining options .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

This has to be one of the most beautiful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This has to be one of the most beautiful settings for dining in Santa Barbara. We had lunch on the outdoor patio overlooking the ocean and the magnificent grounds of the Four Season Biltmore.

My wife had an outstanding seafood salad, and I enjoyed the mahi mahi wrap accompanied by the most delicious sweet potato fries. We also enjoyed perfectly paired glasses of wine. Our server was friendly and very capable.

A perfect setting for a wonderful lunch in Santa Barbara!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed- This was a spec ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I was very disappointed- This was a special BD dinner for my dearest friend. Our salad was wonderful- could not have been better as was the atmosphere, which is why I picked your restuarant. However, Meryl ordered Salmon med/rare and I ordered Bison steak rare -

Hers arrived as requested and mine, WELL DONE! As you can imagine, Meryl ate her dinner alone while I waited for a belated dinner arrived 15 minutes later when I was no longer hungry- just disappointed already without an appetite. I took my dinner home.

T his is not what should happen at a restuarant/hotel of your stature.

Sincerely,

Harriet Mosson

770-7871

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking ocea ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking ocean. Great way to start your day with a healthy breakfast and inspiring scenery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Traveling up the California coast, seems ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Traveling up the California coast, seems every restaurant had brussels sprouts on the menu. We tasted five different preparations, and yours was the best. A very pleasant experience overall, even for the high price point. You do need a better selection of wine in the lower price point though, say $40 bottles too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food horribly bland dinner, service poor ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food horribly bland dinner, service poor - wrong orders, dropping everything around us, very dirty under tables from previous guests with small children - a comedy of errors - couldn't wait to leave. Unbeatable views - but much better dinners at other Four Seasons. We will stick to breakfast here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday. I noticed the quality of food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Birthday. I noticed the quality of food and service has degraded since our last visit but the price certainly hasn't gone down. It's all about the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Celebrated our anniversary with a champa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary with a champagne brunch/ service was excellent-our glasses were never empty. Food was very good, nice range, but I feel for the cost there could have been a little more to choose from. Sitting outside makes all the difference.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was spectacular...the food, w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was spectacular...the food, wine/beer, service, decor, and the view. This restaurant is expensive but well worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting outdoors with views of ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Beautiful setting outdoors with views of the ocean. Really a lovely spot but the service is not up to par. The spacing between meals is really bad. They served our main meal while we were still eating our appetizers. The gazpacho soup was overwhelmed by a ton of garlic. The pasta dishes are good as well as the main meal options. The staff often forgets to follow up with items and have to ask again and again. Once that part is better managed this could be a top spot to dine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Absolutely beautiful place to dine. Food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Absolutely beautiful place to dine. Food was delicious, a little pricey but not overpriced. Cocktails were very very good but overpriced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were on a girls' trip. Loved being ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were on a girls' trip. Loved being right on the ocean. They had heaters to keep us warm. Food was good. The only thing we didn't like is how long it took. We were there for 2-1/2 hrs. I like to be able to eat dinner & be on to something else within an hour or 1-1/2 hrs.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Dining on the patio is always lovely. Se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dining on the patio is always lovely. Service is unobtrusive and excellent. They have gluten-free bread if you ask for it. That was a definite plus. It's our favorite place for a relaxing weekday lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sunday brunch is a favorite event for us ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

sunday brunch is a favorite event for us and we were celebrating a birthday in Santa Barbara so why now. this had our favorite brunch items including bottomless decent champagne (Michelle), caviar with all the fixins and lots of it, sushi, good crab legs and shrimp, BACON, roast lamb and prime rib, some good salads and who cares about the rest. but really they had many dishes that we didn't even try and a special table for the kids which tempted me to try the mac and cheese. Lots of desserts to choose from. Price is steep ($75) but not unusual for brunch and certainly worth is for THIS brunch. i'll be back next time in town.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Sunday Brunch adventure was it's usu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our Sunday Brunch adventure was it's usual excellent self. Staff is always attentive, food amazing and presentation a gem. Recommended for all

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. First time there. Nice ambiance. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great. First time there. Nice ambiance. Was just what we needed. Everyone was super nice. And our server Walter was fantastic!!

Thank u!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch ever. Beautiful presentation ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best brunch ever. Beautiful presentation. Unlimited Mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great location, ambiance and the food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

great location, ambiance and the food was excellent

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The service can not be topped. Excellent food as well. They made us feel special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous view

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The view is gorgeous. The food was just OK, but the view more than made up for any other inadequacy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great Place

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service was great, the ocean view was fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Group Hangout

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My friends and I were in Santa Barbara over Memorial Day weekend and wanted a nice spot to chillout after a long day of Kayaking. We had reserved a table for 7 with a special request to be seated on the patio. They were happy to seat us outside and we had a wonderful ocean view. The restaurant wasn't too busy and we were enjoying our meals and drinks for 2-3 hours while the gas warmers kept us cozy. Overall a great end to our Santa Barbara! Highly recommend Bella Vista!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

From time to time we drive from Los Angeles to Santa Barbara just for the Sunday brunch. Excellent variety of foods available from made to order omelets to a carving station with prime rib, lamp and salmon. Salad makings galore. All kinds of fruit in season. A dessert spread that will delight every sweettooth and every chocoholic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful setting by the ocean

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything was lovely at this aptly named restaurant. Burger was very good as were both the sweet potato and truffled potato French fries.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite place in Santa Barbara. S ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our favourite place in Santa Barbara. Staff, food , ambience beyond reproach. Looking forward to our next delightful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Romantic Setting, inventive ok ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Beautiful Romantic Setting, inventive okay food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about the place, will g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Loved everything about the place, will go back again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you pay $125 per person for Brunch ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

When you pay $125 per person for Brunch you expect it to be fabulous. Major fail....the food matched the service......mediocre at best! Would have had better food & service at In & Out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is probably the fourth or fifth time we have brunch here for Mother's Day. It has always been excellent and the best view in California from beach side. Variety of food choices and lots of mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had reserved a table out on the patio, to have our guests experience the wonderful views. The table was there, but the restaurant had run out of heat lamps, and with the sun going down, it was getting colder quickly. So we had to sit inside. The wine we ordered, after a ten minute wait, turned out no to be available. I ended up being upsold to a bottle at a $50 higher price, after the waiter suggested it would be substituted at no additional cost as the restaurant did not have my wine. Then the waiter poured every drop of the bottle (including sediment) into the decanter (a 1998 Cab with lots of sediment). The waiter suggested the special of the day, which my daughter selected as her main course. Then it turned out ten minutes later they were out of specials. Three vegetable sides were ordered, and despite multiple reminders, showed up after we had all finished our meals. I ordered tuna, was was not seared, and looked more slow-cooked - not appetizing. So all in all, for $600+ for a party of four, money poorly spent. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great Mother's Day lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sat outside on the patio and watched whales play while I ate with my two middle-school aged boys. I had the Mahi Mahi wrap - delicious. My son enjoyed the lobster brioche and the other had a pizza. Such a nice lunch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place in Santa Barbara

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love sitting outside "by the glass" listening to the waves, watching the sunset, and eating delicious food at Bella Vista. The service is wonderful too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thoughtful staff

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff kept serving breakfast past their usual end time because one member of our group showed up a little late. Ours was a bachelorette group (but not a rowdy one, I promise) and they gave our bachelorette a lovely little dish with sweets that made for a nice photo op.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu was not interesting, the food n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The menu was not interesting, the food not up to the quality of the hotel and

over priced. The service was slow but very friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The Best Celebration Ever!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband's birthday was Sunday and he had never been to the Biltmore for a Sunday brunch. We had the absolute best time! The weather was perfect...the outdoor seating with a spectacular view of the ocean was lovely and the food and mimosas were out of this world. He relaxed for a couple of hours and enjoyed the experience. Outstanding service and we will definitely return. We drove from Long Beach to Santa Barbara for his celebration and it was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Booked a 7:00 reservation 1.5 months prior to dinner date. Arrived early to have a cocktail at the lounge, then on to Bella Vista. Upon checking in we were lead to the patio for our table and were seated by the drink station near a table with obnoxious “loud talkers”. We were disappointed with our seating as it was a special occasion and we specifically requested seating by the ocean. We requested, from our hostess, to be seated by the wind screen closest to the wonderful ocean view and we were accommodated. This was the best decision! We had a wonderful server and the entire meal was a memorable experience. The wine selection was great. We Had Caprese, Lobster Radiatore (exceptional!), the Tuna, and the special of the night. For dessert, we shared the Molten Chocolate Cake. Wonderful experience, we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.