About Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

1260 Channel Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Bella Vista Restaurant is Santa Barbara's most beautiful al fresco oceanfront dining experience. Showcasing organic, Italian inspired California cuisine, helmed by Executive Chef Alessandro Cartumini, the restaurant is known for the freshest seafood and pasta entrees, a Thursday night crudo bar with shucked oysters, shrimp and scallops at sunset and one of the most celebrated Sunday brunches in the United States.

The restaurant’s décor features fireplaces, rare marble stone floors, rich mahogany and a hand-carved wine wall. Bella Vista’s international wine list is recognized by Wine Spectator and showcases a wide range of local Santa Barbara County producers. OpenTable has bestowed Bella Vista with 2015 Diner's Choice Awards in ten different categories.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:30am,
Sunday Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Breakfast Buffet: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 1:30pm;

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm,
Sunday Lunch: 1:30pm - 5:00pm;

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Friday & Saturday 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-8237

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/santabarbara/dining/restaurants/bella_vista/

Entertainment:
Music played through centralized system.

Parking Details:
The Four Seasons Biltmore offers complimentary parking for anyone dining in Bella Vista. Street parking is also available along Channel Drive.

Executive Chef:
Alessandro Cartumini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SEAFOOD AT SUNSET
Every Thursday l 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Enjoy oysters shucked to order, crudo bar, shrimp and scallop skewers at Ty Lounge as you take in the dramatic Santa Barbara sunset.

PIZZA & PROSECCO
Every Monday l 5:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Start your week off right with Pizza and Prosecco at Santa Barbara's most beautiful ocean front setting. Creative and robust pizzas paired with endless Italian bubbles will make Monday nights the best night of your week!

FREE CORKAGE NIGHT
Available Monday evenings

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Sunday Brunch $75

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM

Free Corkage

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Pizza & Prosecco

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Seafood at Sunset

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Sunday Brunch $75

Sundays from 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM

Details
An elaborate buffet-style brunch with gourmet interactive chef stations. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 15, 2016 - Jul 15, 2016 on Sundays from 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM.
Free Corkage

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Free Corkage. Special valid Mar 15, 2016 - Jul 15, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Pizza & Prosecco

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Start your week off right with Pizza and Prosecco at Santa Barbara's most beautiful ocean front setting. Creative and robust pizzas paired with endless Italian bubbles will make Monday nights the best night of your week!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 15, 2016 - Jul 15, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Seafood at Sunset

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Enjoy oysters shucked to order, crudo bar, shrimp and scallop skewers at Ty Lounge as you take in the dramatic Santa Barbara sunset. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 15, 2016 - Jul 15, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
5 More
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Californian
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

scenic view (51)
great for outdoor dining (51)
special occasion (43)
See All
romantic (41)
great for brunch (29)
fit for foodies (21)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (8)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience

Dined 4 days ago

Awesome experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite place in Santa Barbara. S ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our favourite place in Santa Barbara. Staff, food , ambience beyond reproach. Looking forward to our next delightful evening

food1
ambience4
service1

When you pay $125 per person for Brunch ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

When you pay $125 per person for Brunch you expect it to be fabulous. Major fail....the food matched the service......mediocre at best! Would have had better food & service at In & Out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is probably the fourth or fifth time we have brunch here for Mother's Day. It has always been excellent and the best view in California from beach side. Variety of food choices and lots of mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Had reserved a table out on the patio, to have our guests experience the wonderful views. The table was there, but the restaurant had run out of heat lamps, and with the sun going down, it was getting colder quickly. So we had to sit inside. The wine we ordered, after a ten minute wait, turned out no to be available. I ended up being upsold to a bottle at a $50 higher price, after the waiter suggested it would be substituted at no additional cost as the restaurant did not have my wine. Then the waiter poured every drop of the bottle (including sediment) into the decanter (a 1998 Cab with lots of sediment). The waiter suggested the special of the day, which my daughter selected as her main course. Then it turned out ten minutes later they were out of specials. Three vegetable sides were ordered, and despite multiple reminders, showed up after we had all finished our meals. I ordered tuna, was was not seared, and looked more slow-cooked - not appetizing. So all in all, for $600+ for a party of four, money poorly spent. We will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sat outside on the patio and watched whales play while I ate with my two middle-school aged boys. I had the Mahi Mahi wrap - delicious. My son enjoyed the lobster brioche and the other had a pizza. Such a nice lunch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place in Santa Barbara

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We love sitting outside "by the glass" listening to the waves, watching the sunset, and eating delicious food at Bella Vista. The service is wonderful too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very thoughtful staff

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff kept serving breakfast past their usual end time because one member of our group showed up a little late. Ours was a bachelorette group (but not a rowdy one, I promise) and they gave our bachelorette a lovely little dish with sweets that made for a nice photo op.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The menu was not interesting, the food n ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

The menu was not interesting, the food not up to the quality of the hotel and over priced. The service was slow but very friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Celebration Ever!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband's birthday was Sunday and he had never been to the Biltmore for a Sunday brunch. We had the absolute best time! The weather was perfect...the outdoor seating with a spectacular view of the ocean was lovely and the food and mimosas were out of this world. He relaxed for a couple of hours and enjoyed the experience. Outstanding service and we will definitely return. We drove from Long Beach to Santa Barbara for his celebration and it was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

Booked a 7:00 reservation 1.5 months prior to dinner date. Arrived early to have a cocktail at the lounge, then on to Bella Vista. Upon checking in we were lead to the patio for our table and were seated by the drink station near a table with obnoxious “loud talkers”. We were disappointed with our seating as it was a special occasion and we specifically requested seating by the ocean. We requested, from our hostess, to be seated by the wind screen closest to the wonderful ocean view and we were accommodated. This was the best decision! We had a wonderful server and the entire meal was a memorable experience. The wine selection was great. We Had Caprese, Lobster Radiatore (exceptional!), the Tuna, and the special of the night. For dessert, we shared the Molten Chocolate Cake. Wonderful experience, we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrrific ocean view!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Always love eating here, there is a wide variety of tasty dishes and the view can't be beat. The service is always very good, even when it's really crowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's simply no better place to eat in SB!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This location is pure happiness. There's no prettier place or a better view in all of Santa Barbara, or even Southern California. Absolutely remarkable. On top of that, it's the Four Seasons. The service is impeccable, and the food options for brunch is over the top amazing. The brunch buffet - wow. Eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, salad, meats, fish, sushi, omelette station, pancakes, shrimp, oysters, etc, etc, etc.... i could go on and on. There's no way to do this full justice. Simply put, it's worth the price tag and definitely my top pick. This was our wedding annversary and it was perfect. A special thanks to Maria S. (Swedish Maria!) for remaking our wedding mini cake too! Yum! Worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had just sold our house after an eight month listing and went to Bella Vista to celebrate. The staff ~ and especially the Assistant Manager Emily ~ did everything they could to make it a memorable night, and we felt really spoiled! Highly highly recommend the venue, the food, wine, service... could not have been better!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

View & LOW price

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

View & LOW price

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful birthday dinner on the garden terrace

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

The service was wonderful very patient and accommodating. We wanted to and to order a series of small plates rather than large entrées. The staff was most cooperative and the food Was delectable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Completely overpriced for Sunday Brunch food.

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was frustrated before I got there because the restaurant called me on three separate occasions to confirm. On the first call they required a credit card to hold the reservation. I would assume that with a credit card, they would not continue to call. I was wrong. They still called twice more. That's overkill.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambiance

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Bella Vista is a great place for a romantic dinner especially outside. A cool place to have a glass of wind with a friend as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

GREAT LOCATION

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Lovely setting, elegant décor and good service. Food average, although the Black Cod, special of the day was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was great but was too loud, seem ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service was great but was too loud, seems like the spacing of tables could be better for the size of the room. We were seated in a walk way space. The seats were very large and overstuffed, good for curling up with a book or to watch tv but not to eat or have a conversation. I felt the food was tasty ( I had the Lobster pasta dish and the Caprese salad) and well served but I would have appreciated more options on the menu. The wine list was good. I guess I expected more for a restaurant in the SB Biltmore, it was just another nice hotel restaurant, nothing exceptional. There are better options in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing taste and great setting

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food tasted fantastic and the ambiance was beautiful

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A seaside gem

Dined on March 1, 2016

Bella Vista is one of the most charming and beautiful spots in the world. You will never be disappointed and the view is spectacular . Food is always great, service the best, and their special brunches are out of sight, the very best. You will pay a bit more here, but is is worth every penny, save up a little extra from your favorite fast food place and try it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and amazing location.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Amazing food and amazing location.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Awesome site; okay food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Beautiful building, restaurant, and setting. Food is expensive for the quality (we had breakfast). However, the setting makes this a great option for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding

Dined on February 25, 2016

We have been to the Biltmore on many occasions starting in 1968. The dining is always just right and the hotel is just terrific, too. None finer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. M ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. My husband and I are already talking about when we can go back! Great veal, ravioli, meatballs, dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Four Seasons

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Loved everything about The Four Seasons. Fabulous food and the very best brunch. However openTable had brunch listed at $36 when I got the bill it turned out that brunch was$75 per person. I was shocked. OpenTable needs to update the menu that you put online.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch at Bella Vista

Dined on February 21, 2016

Fantastic ! Better than expected and my expectations were very high. Everyone at the hotel, first of all, from the gentlemen at valet to staff throughout the restaurant were professional, friendly and ultra-helpful. Didnt get even an ounce of attitude out of anyone. Food was very good, selection of choices probably a bit better than overall quality - didnt find much I hadnt seen elsewhere. Desserts were all fresh and very good, lamb and salmon outstanding. The view was just as good as it gets of a Santa Barbara seascape at noon. Brandon, our waiter, was very attentive and was especially endearing when he presented my wife and I with a very adorable dessert prepared especially for the occasion of our 10th wedding anniversary. Upon driving out of the parking lot, we felt special. Thank you Four Seasons, Bella Vista and Brandon.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch

Dined on February 19, 2016

Lunch was great, the dessert was the best!!! We all ordered the Budino and it was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special outdoor dining!

Dined on February 16, 2016

We went to the Four Seasons for dinner to celebrate a birthday and had requested a table that we had enjoyed before. For some reason, that table wasn't available, but the one they gave us turned out to be perfect. It was private, romantic and warmed by a gas burner. Our food was delicious, service friendly, and a special birthday plate to end a wonderful evening. Of course it doesn't hurt to be sitting right by the beach!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great restaurant. Still disappointed I have not received my $50 check from OpenTable for my points and the points have been deducted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a perfect place to get away and ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a perfect place to get away and enjoy yourself for the day into the early evening. We had a wonderful dinner splurging on appetizers and extra sides with our entrées. Get the Brussel sprouts!! They were by far the most amazing dish we tried! Also no need to worry about portion size, we had plenty to indulge and take home with us. It had a beautiful setting overlooking the ocean and the grounds of the hotel are just as stunning. Our waiter, Tyler, was very helpful, engaging, and knowledgable about the menu. This is a must for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on January 31, 2016

The Sunday brunch is a must ! The food is great and the service is outstanding...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

They care about your experience

Dined on January 22, 2016

Nothing is overlooked as far as your dining pleasure is concerned. Superb service & choices for all food types. One in a million patio view of heading ocean surf & Anba Capa Island

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but an all-atood time

Dined on January 16, 2016

Brought my brother and SIL here for my SIL's birthday lunch (as I did last year) and (both years) it did not disappoint. Tasty, quality sandwiches, salads, and beverages (wine, beer); solid service; and an unobstructed outdoor (but pleasantly shaded) view of the Pacific all made for a lovely celebration. It's not cheap, but it does make for good memories.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth every penny!

Dined on January 10, 2016

My husband and I recently celebrated our first anniversary and he surprised me with a quick trip to Santa Barbara. Since it was a Sunday and we had to drive home and work the next day, we opted for a nice brunch over dinner, and we really couldn't have made a better choice! The setting was clean and comfortable with ocean views, every member of the staff that we encountered was kind and professional, and the buffet spread was AMAZING! There were so many choices, and I don't think either of us tried something we didn't like. Then, when we finally decided we couldn't eat another bite, our waiter brought out a little plate of treats with "Happy Anniversary" in written in chocolate! It was the perfect touch to cap off our experience, I really can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated my birthday at the Bella Vista. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding and friendly. She had salmon dish and I had a veal milanese dish. The selection of wines by the glass was also nicely varied and reasonable. We both had a New Zealand Chardonnay. I highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Usual Four Seasons Never let me down

Dined on January 2, 2016

Reserved dinner at Bella Vista to surprise my wife with the place as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and she totally loved it .. Not the first time at Four Seasons in general but it was the first time at this place and they were above and beyond my expectations as usual. Great Place from the moment you walk in to the moment they served us a complimentary Champaign for our anniversary occasion and finally to the moment you are leaving. I think our Man of the night his name was "Adrian" .. Great informative person and he truly represented the chain

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Dinner/ Party for eight on 1/1/2015

Dined on January 2, 2016

We had a 50th Birthday party set up for my wife. Bar and restaurant were accommodating and had a nice ambiance. Service was on par and flexible with us running behind schedule. The restaurant was out of a few of our wine selections but with many to choose from alternates were more than satisfactory. Food was on par, dinner items were prepared well but portions were on the light side as typically expected. Overall, we enjoyed our time but have to say the heated floors, while seemingly nice at first, became an issue the longer we stayed. The dinning room floor so warm that a few of us had to take turns going outside to cool off. The rest of us had to put our feet up somehow or rest on feet on our heals to get away from the excessive floor heat. I had asked for the heat to be turned down several times. It was finally explained to me that the heated floors would not cool down that much. We'll come back in the spring when the patio doors of the Bella Vista are open to the ocean breeze and the wonderful outdoor terrace seating.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Pricey but opulent New Year's Eve buffet

Dined on January 1, 2016

I made dinner reservations here for New Year's Eve but was not told when I did that it would be a buffet, which turned out to be opulent and fun, but very pricey. I love this restaurant and the location is sublime, but a little more information on the event would probably have caused me to book somewhere else where we would have a quieter, more intimate, table service dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.