Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Bella Vista Restaurant is Santa Barbara's most beautiful al fresco oceanfront dining experience. Showcasing organic, Italian inspired California cuisine, helmed by Executive Chef Marco Fossati, the restaurant is known for the freshest seafood and pasta entrees, a Thursday night crudo bar with shucked oysters, shrimp and scallops at sunset and one of the most celebrated Sunday brunches in the United States.

The restaurant’s décor features fireplaces, rare marble stone floors, rich mahogany and a hand-carved wine wall. Bella Vista’s international wine list is recognized by Wine Spectator and showcases a wide range of local Santa Barbara County producers. OpenTable has bestowed Bella Vista with 2015 Diner's Choice Awards in ten different categories.

1260 Channel Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:30am,
Sunday Breakfast: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Breakfast Buffet: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 1:30pm;

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm,
Sunday Lunch: 1:30pm - 3:00pm;

Dinner: Monday - Thursday : 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Sunday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-8237

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/santabarbara/dining/restaurants/bella_vista/

Entertainment:
Music played through centralized system.

Parking Details:
The Four Seasons Biltmore offers complimentary parking for anyone dining in Bella Vista. Street parking is also available along Channel Drive.

Executive Chef:
Marco Fossati

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
FREE CORKAGE NIGHT
Available Monday evenings

Specials

POP! Bubbles

Friday Jun 16, 2017 from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

POP! Bubbles

Friday Jun 16, 2017 from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Rosé all day with a special selection of still and sparkling rosé wines! Sip seaside at the Coral Casino Beach and Cabana Club with oysters shucked to order, fresh local seafood and sunsets over the Pacific. $78 per event exclusive of tax & gratuity. Excludes Tax and Tip. Please call (805) 565-8232 to purchase tickets. Special valid on Friday Jun 16, 2017 from 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Scenic View (37)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Waterfront (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Historic (11)
Fireplace (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Mediocre service, down right poor food at top hotel prices. Disappointing wine list in a city known for its wine. Go for the view, it's spectacular but, that's about it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent dining experience. The food and service are top notch, and there isn't a location in Santa Barbara with a better ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, service, views etc. Hard to fault in any way. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Beautiful hotel and wonderful sea views from the the terrace restaurant.
Great food and wonderful service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Authentic, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was our first visit, but won't be our last. The food was excellent, as was the service, and the venue can't be beat! VERY SPECIAL was a Happy Anniversary wish in chocolate, with little sweet treats on the plate :-)

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

For the exorbitant price of the meal I'd expect to at least sit at a quiet nice table. Instead the three of us were seated next to a birthday party of 12 middle age ladies having a kind of a cocktail party. Too many tables are packed into the space so the wait staff is constantly brushing by your arm rushing to other tables. All in all, its like an expensive Chuck E. Cheese or cafeteria. The food is decent but for at least $30 a plate it should be better. I'd recommend sitting on the outside patio as the inside is just too crowded. Again, why is such a "elite" establishment being managed by the college girl hostesses? I'm sure there is an official manager, but I never saw the person. Also, no matter how many times I add a special request via Open Table, its never honored. I'm starting to feel like Open Table reservations get less consideration and are relegated to less desirable tables near the bathroom or kitchen doors. I'll be making reservations via the restaurants website going forward if available.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything about Sunday Brunch here was perfection! I would go again and again! Good job Bella Vista! Keep it up!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service at Bella's vista is phenomenal! The view and ambiance make a romantic experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were able to move our reservation up with a quick call to the restaurant. The wait staff was very helpful, friendly, they took care of my mom and they accommodated my request for a vegan meal (I added it as a note when making my reservation through open table). When we arrived, we didn't need to say anything as our waiter had remembered my request and already worked with the chef to come up with something. The chef created a delicious roasted eggplant, farro, and heart of palm, meal. He also brought us a gorgeous beet hummus, carrot and pita appetizer. My Mother ordered the salmon with parsnip puree and farro salad. We split an order of the roast brussles (I would have eaten a comically large portion, they were perfect). The ambiance was calm, the view amazing and my mom was happy.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Brunch is awesome!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This special place never fails to please and inspire. From the enthusiastic, welcoming yet unobtrusive staff to the delaciies from the kitchen, this is a gem whose magic is always anticipated and appreciated.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent, always a great. Great service, good good, a relaxing and wonderful place to meet or for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had a perfect evening celebrating my husbands birthday. We made our reservations with a little note explaining our evening as being special and that we were not with our kids. We requested a romantic table by the fire and with an ocean view. We were greeted by name and had what we felt was the best seat in the house. Our evening was complimented by our server Zach who was attentive and friendly. He made sure any questions we had were answered and made great suggestions. Thank you to all the team for helping us make a memory we will not forget.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

we were really surprised at how poorly the food tasted, especially being part of such a fine establishment as the Four seasons Hotel. We had the branzino and the lamb and they were both fairly tasteless. Very disappointed and surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great place, made my girlfriend's birthday dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have already recommended to friends-A delightful way to spend an afternoon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Enjoyed our Sunday brunch throughly! Good food, bottomless mimosas. Some vegetarian options as well! Helpful staff and clean bathrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was absolutely wonderful to eat here!! We loved every second

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a beautiful setting. The food was delicious and the service was second to none. I will recommend it to my family and friends. Thank you.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Impressed from the start of the of the dining experience with the hostess acknowledging that I had made requests on my Open Table reservation, without saying anything to alert my wife to the upcoming surprises. We were seated on time. Note there, reservations are strongly suggested and an early seating is recommended because the Bella Vista fills quickly, regularly. One of my requests was to have 2 champagne cocktails delivered as we were seated, and they were delivered. My other note was that this was a birthday celebration, and at dessert time, was delivered a dessert plate with bite sized chocolates and a chocolate script Happy Birthday! The service was very good, the menu quite varied, a nice wine list, and the food was well prepared. An excellent dining experience. We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Missed opportunity. With one of the most spectacular settings, this restaurant should shine. Unfortunately, the food is only average and the service is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Celebrated a family get-together. The consensus was that the service was terrific, the appetizers were wonderful, and the entrees were mediocre. My salmon was beautifully cooked, but a little too cooked. A lamb chop order was well cooked but bland. A pasta dish was too oily to be pleasant. Go for drinks and charcuterie!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ricardo our waiter was exceptional, knowledgeable, and attentive as was all the staff. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Usually, this is GREAT. It is always my 'go to' restaurant when we have guests. However, the service on Saturday was slow, the salmon burger was fishy and my chicken was dry. Must have been a really off day.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful evening outside at The Biltmore. Romantic setting, delicious food, yummy margarita, wonderful service

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I was hosting 6 Nuns for a special dinner and booked the patio specifically at 7:00 pm for a 7:20 pm sunset. When we arrived I was told no table was available. I insisted and we were seated 15 minutes later with no view and one heater. I requested an additional heater throughout the evening and never received one. The staff even moved a heater from the adjacent table across the entire restaurant rather than warming my 6 Nuns in full habit. Appetizers were served without utensils, dinner was served without side dishes, vegetables arrived after the entree had been cleared and we had no plates. $600 later and no alcohol I vowed I would not return to this iconic, beautiful venue based on the worst service I have ever experienced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love this restaurant! My romantic dates are even more special with my fiancé.. the food and service is always amazing!! all smiles of here :)

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Shrimp cocktail was a miss. Crab salad was a hit. Kids meal were solid. Service was great, but it was busy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best Sunday brunch of my life. Amazing! Ask for a seat outdoors on the patio if you want a great ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Super service from Christine- great ambiance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Beautiful setting - efficient service - good food - not really memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We celebrated my mother's 70th birthday at Bella Vista this past weekend. The beauty of the venue and the breathtaking view was the perfect backdrop for our tribute to our mom. Everything from the menu to the service was exquisite. Would highly recommend this very special restaurant for celebrations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The staff was amazing. Food was good. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We had fantastic service, questions answered politely and fully, the food was great, served warm and timely, and the setting was topnotch with ocean views, a beautiful dining area, landscaped to perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It's a very expensive buffet but you are paying the the view and ambience. Food is decent and presentation is nice. Server was questionable. It seemed as though we started with one but didn't really see him or get anything til the check drop off. The hosts at the restaurant could have been friendlier. For example the rest of the hotel staff greeted you and smiled. Apparently this is a foreign concept inside the restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were there for a nice birthday dinner. The Four Seasons (Biltmore) is a one-of-a-kind spot for this sort of entertaining. The views are among the best in Santa Barbara. Coupled with the Four Seasons 5-star level of service, it's hard to beat.

They accommodated us with a secluded outdoor table, complemented with its own gas heater. Even though the evening was brisk, we felt fine. The wine list is extensive, and yet you can find good bottles in the $60 range. The food I would say is about average for a fine dining place. I always enjoy it, but don't usually get blown away with the quality or presentation. It's good, but not necessarily why you'd come there.The service, however, was exceptional, from the valet to the wait staff.

I would definitely recommend the Four Seasons for a cozy, fire-lit, romantic evening. There's no other place like it in Santa Barbara and what it does well is worth going for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very good place to celebrate special occasions. Outside seating and view are spectacular. Chocolate souffle is a real hit!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The setting is perfect and the day was lovely. The food was excellent and well presented. Our service was pleasant and attentive enough. The hostesses, however, left much to be desired. They were haughty and just plain unpleasant to deal with. Really, training is needed here.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was incredible!! Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.