About Bella Notte

3715 Nicholasville Road
Lexington, KY 40503
View Larger Map

Bella Notte means Beautiful Night in Italian. Join us at our table & let us create your beautiful dining experience! This is a place to satisfy the appetite with Italian gusto. Enjoy the season's freshest ingredients and some unique dishes that are sure to become your next favorite! Remember, in Italy food & drink don't just make it possible to live, they're a part of what makes life worth living.
Italians say, "A tavolo non s'invecchia".
(People do not get old at the table)-spend enough time at ours and you'll believe it's true!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rojay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 245-1789

Website:
http://www.bellalexington.com/

Entertainment:
Dine with us Friday or Saturday evening & be amazed by our magician while you're enjoying your meal!

Catering:
Let us know about your office lunch, an off-site party or any other event that we can cater for you. Choose from our full menu or let us know if you have any special requests. No group is too small or large!

Parking Details:
Convenient parking is available in the front parking lot or next door at Surf's Up Grill.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Toyoda

Private Party Facilities:
We have a couple options available for private parties including an intimate room accommodating up to 23 people, and a romantic patio (heated/cooled, depending on the weather) with a fireplace and white linen covered tables, which comfortably seats up to 60 people. We offer several differently priced set menu options and we are happy to accommodate any special requests to the best of our ability. Contact our private party manager to set up your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Blair: 8592451789x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rigatoni Romano - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Apple Crisp - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Specialty Cocktails - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Linguini Vongole - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Bella Chicken Piccata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Flourless Chocolate Torte W/ Preserved Cherry Sauce - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Rustica Salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free Pasta Arrabiata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Chocolate Souffle - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Cheesecake - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
lasagna - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Peach Bellini - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Penne Fresco - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fizz 56 - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Calamari - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Pom Pom Salmon - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Lemoncello-Tini - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Great Wine List - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Salmon salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Hamburger - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Pasta - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free Penne Arrabiata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free House Salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fritto Misto - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Peppered Pork Chop - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Panna Cotta - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Chicken Parmesean - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fresh Caprese - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Ravioli With Tomato Basil Cream Sauce - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY

Bella Notte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Central Kentucky
Italian
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
2 More
Best Service
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (16)
Romantic (16)
Authentic (13)
Casual (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Low light setting makes it excellent for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Low light setting makes it excellent for a date or special occasion. Food tasted great and was seasoned very well.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely wonderful food and I eat out ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely wonderful food and I eat out regularly at quality dining establishments. Attention to detail on appetizer, main course and desserts. Excellent attentive service. I could not find one thing to complain about.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for a romantic and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great place for a romantic and cozy atmosphere and outstanding food and wine. My favorite way to dine local in Lexington.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I go to Bella Notte, I get th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Every time I go to Bella Notte, I get the spaghetti and meatballs. Their meatballs are so good, and so craveworthy, that once, I actually thought hard enough about them that I was able to "taste" them solely based on my memory of how good they are! I'm also a big fan of the music they play. The classic jazz standards from the Great American Songbook really add to the atmosphere. And you can't beat the decor. Anywhere in the restaurant, you feel like you're outside, whether next to the giant tree, on the terraza, or under the stars.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Bella Notte for our anniversa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We visited Bella Notte for our anniversary dinner. We don't live in the Lexington area and were down visiting a local Bed & Breakfast. We specifically went to Bella Notte because we had eaten there before when passing through for a similar occasion. The bread is really good and worth waiting for it fresh from the oven. The character of the place is great.

We recommended it to the other guests at the B&B as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere. Great service. Aweso ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Great service. Awesome food. Friendly quiet atmosphere. This restaurant is beautifully decorated with such a peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant with a tastefully ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with a tastefully crafted menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Timely service for our ta ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great service. Timely service for our talkable table of 5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an excellent restaurant. Plenty to ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

What an excellent restaurant. Plenty to choose from on the menu, and our choices --penne Gorgonzola and chicken Marsala -- were delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good at Bella Notte ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food is consistently good at Bella Notte. We've never had a disappointing meal here and service is fast and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was terrific!!! By having an O ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was terrific!!! By having an Open Table reservation, there was "no wait time", and there was a crowd! The service was outstanding and the food as fine as ever. We are not regular customers -- had been there when our child was in grad school at UK -- and were in the area and did not want to miss the chance to go to Bella Notte!!! It was a great as ever!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were kept waiting almost as long as w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were kept waiting almost as long as walk-ins, then seated after a couple ARRIVING AFTER WE DID. We expressed our displeasure, nobody cared. Comp us an appetizer, maybe? The food was mediocre, it was very noisy, our waitress could not tell me what the house red was, and I spent $80 on a meal only a bit better than Olive Garden. Can't understand the love for this place. Must be folks who have never had a truly good Italian meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great dining experience. Nice variety on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great dining experience. Nice variety on the menu, both food and drinks. A definite palate pleaser. Fun atmosphere. Would definitely return again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic find during weekend in Lexingt ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fantastic find during weekend in Lexington. Thoroughly enjoyed special autumn special of butternut squash soup followed by delicious chicken picatta. Nice offerings of wine by the glass as well. Glad we had a reservation as restaurant was full with people waiting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm thrilled to report that my daughter ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'm thrilled to report that my daughter & I had the best dining experience that we've had in YEARS. Food was wonderful, the staff (especially our waiter Lance) worked very diligently to make certain our visit was terrific. My only regret is that I live in Knoxville Tn and this awesome restaurant is in Lexington Ky. Thanks to Belle Notta. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time visit. Food overall was goo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Second time visit. Food overall was good. Mac and was cold parts. Ian was our server again. He'sone of the best. Can't say enough him. Very attentive and helpfull with menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening with tasty food, service ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Perfect evening with tasty food, service was great and good value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Lexington once or twice a year ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We visit Lexington once or twice a year from Pittsburgh, and eating at Bella Notte is always on our to do list. We are never disappointed in the food or the service. We highly recommend this wonderful Italian restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service! I woul ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Delicious food and great service! I would recommend Bella Notte for families and singles. It is a nice setting for casual and special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wifes favorite place to eat. I agree ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My wifes favorite place to eat. I agree with her ,but it is a bit noise.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

If you are looking for Italian food simi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

If you are looking for Italian food similar to food in Italy, this place will not work. If you are looking for an okay American spin on Italian food - this place is just fine. The panna cotta was way too sweet, and had sugary, not tasty (lower quality caramel sauce on top). The fried calamari were underwhelming and chicken piccata was just okay. The butternut squash soup was acceptable, but slightly below average for a typical Italian fare. The servers were nice and the place has a cute ambiance, I probably wouldn't go back though. An update to my review - the food actually turned out to be not so great quality - I've felt the excess oils all night.... Not typical of the type of food that I consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and quality of food at Bella ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service and quality of food at Bella Notte is exceptional. It's one of our favorite places to visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and the portion ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was really good and the portions large. The atmosphere was really nice and the service was outstanding. We will be going back again soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was just ok but the food was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our server was just ok but the food was great - we will go back. We had 8 people & the bill was $334. With great food & wine. Ambiance was worth the $$ but the service should have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food, prices and service. Than ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Excellent food, prices and service. Thanks Kendell.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had searched top places in Lexington, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had searched top places in Lexington, this wasn't anything grander than an Olive Garden. I had higher expectations especially with the higher prices, but this had no ambiance and nothing stand-out when it came to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I went to Bella Notte with my girlfriend ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I went to Bella Notte with my girlfriend for her birthday. Service was wonderful, food was delicious, and the signature dessert (The Chocolate Souffle) was to die for. We have decided to add this to our list of restaurants we frequent.

For what we ordered, the price was on par. We did not eat there for a long time because it sounded more expensive than it is. Price is similar to that of Olive Garden.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spending a weekend in Lexington. We had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spending a weekend in Lexington. We had been very disappointed in food we had eaten so far. Belle Notte was a great change. The service was outstanding . They actually turned down the AC, because the vent was blowing on us. They also offered to move us.We enjoyed a great meal at great prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

This was my girlfriend's and my second t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was my girlfriend's and my second time at Bella Note. Again, the food and service were outstanding. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had always enjoyed going to Bella Not ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had always enjoyed going to Bella Notte. When we return to Lexington it is number one on our list. We were able to dine twice on this trip. We often say how we wish we had a restaurant like Bella Notte in Pensacola. Good food, good atmosphere, nice staff who always make you feel welcome.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food and the dessert ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the dessert! The bread is special, keep it going like this!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday dinner. Quick service took us right to our table. Waitress provided good service and the food was prepared in a good timely manner not too fast to where we were rushed out and not too slow to where we were sitting there wondering if they'd forgotten about us. Food was excellent. Well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love coming to bella notte, great ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always love coming to bella notte, great food and service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love Belle Notte. Favorite italian ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love, love Belle Notte. Favorite italian in Lexington. All of their pasta dishes are delicious. I especially love the pesto. For occasions when I am not feeling pasta, their Tuscan meatloaf is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service . Chocolate souffle was w ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great service . Chocolate souffle was worth the trip. Half price wines on Thursday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to Bella Notte since ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have been going to Bella Notte since 2000. My wife and I moved away from the area in 2013. We still have children in the area and every time we visit Lexington we go to Bella Notte. Also we have dined internationally and across the U.S. And Bella Notte consistently measures up to the top restaurants we have dined at. Thanks Bella Notte management and service team!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Wood Oven, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and I had not been to bella nott ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

my wife and I had not been to bella notte iin some time. it was even better than we fremembered. VERY PLEASED

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place. You can dress up and have a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place. You can dress up and have a romantic night or just go for a nice dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Seasonal Bucatini w/Heirloom tomato ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Seasonal Bucatini w/Heirloom tomato sauce was absolutely delightful! Enjoyed bringing out of town friends to my favorite spot in Lex - I knew I could count on their meals being superb...and they were (1 had the scallops and 1 had the Ahi Tuna Steak).

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to Belle Nott ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I have been to Belle Notte several times over the past 5 years when visiting Lexington. We always have wanted to return at least once each visit, but the last couple of times the service hasn't been that great. During our visit last week, if our server had just glanced our way when cleaning the table next to us or when passing on two other occasions I could have let him know we needed something but instead I had to eventually ask another server to send him to our table.

The food is always awesome and the prices are very good. Management just needs to train the servers to be more attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.