Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.92mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.92mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.92mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 0.92mi
  2. Distance: 1.38mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About Bella Notte

Bella Notte means Beautiful Night in Italian. Join us at our table & let us create your beautiful dining experience! This is a place to satisfy the appetite with Italian gusto. Enjoy the season's freshest ingredients and some unique dishes that are sure to become your next favorite! Remember, in Italy food & drink don't just make it possible to live, they're a part of what makes life worth living.
Italians say, "A tavolo non s'invecchia".
(People do not get old at the table)-spend enough time at ours and you'll believe it's true!

3715 Nicholasville Road
Lexington, KY 40503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rojay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 245-1789

Website:
http://www.bellalexington.com/

Entertainment:
Dine with us Friday or Saturday evening & be amazed by our magician while you're enjoying your meal!

Catering:
Let us know about your office lunch, an off-site party or any other event that we can cater for you. Choose from our full menu or let us know if you have any special requests. No group is too small or large!

Parking Details:
Convenient parking is available in the front parking lot or next door at Surf's Up Grill.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Toyoda

Private Party Facilities:
We have a couple options available for private parties including an intimate room accommodating up to 23 people, and a romantic patio (heated/cooled, depending on the weather) with a fireplace and white linen covered tables, which comfortably seats up to 60 people. We offer several differently priced set menu options and we are happy to accommodate any special requests to the best of our ability. Contact our private party manager to set up your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Blair: (859) 245-1789

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bella Notte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Seasonal (9)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fireplace (9)
Fun (8)
Family Style (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good was so great and amazing server even on a busy Friday night.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere was very good as always. The only reason I didn't give our experience 5 stars was the server. She was efficient, but had zero personality. I don't think she spoke 10 words to us the entire time. Other than that, we had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was excellent. Would definitely recommend to all my friends and family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I stumbled upon this restaurant on a quick 2 night trip to Lexington. Being vegetarian, there are limited options for good cuisine, so myself and a group of friends (many of them also vegetarian) decided to go eat at this Italian restaurant. What I expected was generic vegetarian Italian food: cheesy, one-note pasta. What I got instead was food that was simply divine to eat. Our waitress was incredibly helpful and very cheerful, and the entire experience was surprisingly quick. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who happens to come to Lexington.
P.S. I ordered manicotti with tomato-basil cream sauce. Simply astounding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Friend night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is one of my go to places so extremely disappointed this visit. My food came out cold, sent back and it returned to table 3 minutes later - reheated and again not hot. Our waiter greeted us, took order and due to large party at another table didn't return until bringing the check. Other staff served our meals, and never checked after my meal was brought back to see how it was - would have sent back again, but gave up when nobody came by. Empty salad plates sitting on table and were not cleared until after entrées served and water glasses were left to go empty and never refilled. Again, very disappointed This visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We took some family members out to eat and they loved it! The food and ambiance is unforgettable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

While we always look forward to dinner at Belle Notte and our food was excellent on this visit, the service was a bit slow. I don't think this is the norm but it was a busy night after a basketball game which likely explained the Sat night crowd. I think I will pay more attention next time to the schedule of athletic events when I make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had told my nephew and wife that Bella Notte was one of the best restaurants in Lexington and after Friday evening, they agree. We each ordered something different and each meal was delicious. Thanks for such a great experience and keep up the good work.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been coming here for years and it is still a favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has been my wife and I's second visit to the restaurant. We have been pleased both times. The food is very delightful and not outrageously priced. We had an appetizer, 2 soups, and 2 entrees. After a 20% tip, the final bill was a bit more than $60 and we were both very full. We took home leftover bread (the bread is worth taking home). It's definitely a good place for a date or a nice but not too fancy dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The best part of the evening was my wonderful partner!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service, great food, and friendly employees. Great place to take your date out to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our only complaint was our server (138 Ian C). He neglected to tell us about the specials or any features on the menu which we heard the server next to us explain to her customers after we had already ordered. We observed the efficiency and attentiveness of this other server and were wishing we were in her section. When we asked Ian why we had not been told of the specials his response was that he thought we were ready to order. I replied that was because we did not know there was anything else to consider other than the menu items. Empty salad plates were not removed, even though he walked by our table three times with empty hands, so that when our meals arrived we had to remove our plates ourselves. I was not asked about a refill on my wine until after my meal was finished. We enjoyed the food and the ambience very much so we would return with the request that we have a different server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service! It's dressy, yet casual so you can really wear either and fit in. The restaurant is really pretty with different rooms. I was celebrating my anniversary and they waiters were really nice with bringing out surprises that I had planned for my date.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server was wonderful! We were seated in a small room so my husband and I could enjoy our Valentines date without the crowd and noise of the front.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My partner and I have been going to Bella Notte for a while. It has been one of our favorite places. But, on the last two occasions, we have noticed a drop off in service. It seems that more tables have been put into the dining area, making some of the seating sub par. Service has gotten slow, especially bar service.

But, the food remains excellent. I hope management will re-focus on the service end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very nice atmosphere; varied menu; and great tasting food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My family and I are regular diners at Bella Notte, but our experience last Saturday was distinctly subpar. Our server was slow, unprofessional, and made no effort to establish any rapport. The food, which is usually extremely reliable, was not up to its normal standards. And the front desk failed to mark us off as checking in for our reservation, leading to an email exchange with Open Table for ostensibly failing to honor our reservation. All in all, a highly forgettable evening.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a super meal and very good service.
We expect to come back soon for additional meal selections.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was well prepared, but the portion sizes are more appropriate for family style serving. A wide selection of wines are available. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Daughter's 27th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was wonderful except the chicken piccata which was more like noodles with brown gravy.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The décor is beautiful and cozy with fireplace. The service was outstanding and the food was the best. I highly recommend and will return if I'm back in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I have dined often at Bella Notte and always love the food and service.

However, in recent years, there is a "bacon lover" loose in the kitchen(:-))
There are no potatoes available without bacon and it is added to many soups and entrees, as well.
I understand that some people must have their share of bacon, but I hope they keep alternate versions of potatoes and soups available.

I have made this comment before, but alas, it went unnoticed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Other than parents not controlling the shrill constant screaming of their child, it was a great experience. Manager should have intervened. Lots of children there who were well behaved, though. The screaming of the one child made it very difficult to have conversation. Server, Luke?, was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The penne gorgonzola was delicious. I'm already craving some more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was nice to have gotten seated on the back patio which had a great ambiance and string lighting. There are a few cozy nooks which would make it nice for a larger group. Food was good, very reasonably priced for what you get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic!!! I would highly recommend if you are in lexingrin. You must stop and eat here!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We love Bella Notte and eat at this restaurant most times when we visit Lexington. The food is excellent and the prices are very good for such excellent food. John Michael was our waiter at our most recent visit and I will request for him to be our server when we next visit if he is there. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and made our party of six feel quite welcome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent, as usual. Tried the wild boar seasonal special, and found it to be tasty, tender and hearty. The chocolate soufflé was light and flavorful, just enough dessert for an already full stomach!
I'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Always know we will have amazing food and great service. Well done!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Without question, Bella Notte is the best overall restaurant in Lexington. Their creative cuisine goes far beyond mere Italian fare. We have sent many friends there who, like us, continue going back. Special kudos for maintaining very reasonable prices.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Just a ever increasing group of errors and bad food and service.
Sent back what was supposed to be a duck risotto which had no duck and tasted like they had mixed jelly into it. Sent it back and didn't risk anything else. My wife's steak was overcooked and over-salted as were the potatoes. She asked for the mushroom sauce on the side and when it came the salt was splashed over the whole plate. None of the servers seemed to notice or care. Just wasn't worth the effort to do anything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've eaten many meals over many years at Belle Notte. Without fail the food and service is excellent. I tend to select pasta faves, but there are always some great specials, too. I love that they try to use local foods when possible.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal was supper. Wonderful taste, great value. I would highly recommend !!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Despite being New Year's Eve, the food was excellent as always, the service attentive and helpful, the wine pour was generous and the overall dining experience was memorable. Bella Notte is our "go to" restaurant when we go out for a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I were recommended this restaurant when we were passing through Lexington. We thought that it was one of the best Italian restaurants we've been to. The meals use unique ingredients and are well priced! Our waitress was so nice and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

the pesto was decent, so close to very good. i like it in its traditional form, basil heavy, with a lot of cheese grated on top, but, as is generally the case there at bella notte, there wasn't a substantial sauciness to the sauce. it wasn't as if there was no sauce, or that no one made a true pesto, but that there was almost none of that sauce that made it into my bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.