About Bella Notte

Bella Notte means Beautiful Night in Italian. Join us at our table & let us create your beautiful dining experience! This is a place to satisfy the appetite with Italian gusto. Enjoy the season's freshest ingredients and some unique dishes that are sure to become your next favorite! Remember, in Italy food & drink don't just make it possible to live, they're a part of what makes life worth living.
Italians say, "A tavolo non s'invecchia".
(People do not get old at the table)-spend enough time at ours and you'll believe it's true!

3715 Nicholasville Road
Lexington, KY 40503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rojay

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 245-1789

Website:
http://www.bellalexington.com/

Entertainment:
Dine with us Friday or Saturday evening & be amazed by our magician while you're enjoying your meal!

Catering:
Let us know about your office lunch, an off-site party or any other event that we can cater for you. Choose from our full menu or let us know if you have any special requests. No group is too small or large!

Parking Details:
Convenient parking is available in the front parking lot or next door at Surf's Up Grill.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Toyoda

Private Party Facilities:
We have a couple options available for private parties including an intimate room accommodating up to 23 people, and a romantic patio (heated/cooled, depending on the weather) with a fireplace and white linen covered tables, which comfortably seats up to 60 people. We offer several differently priced set menu options and we are happy to accommodate any special requests to the best of our ability. Contact our private party manager to set up your next event!

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Blair: (859) 245-1789

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Rigatoni Romano - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Apple Crisp - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Specialty Cocktails - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Linguini Vongole - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Bella Chicken Piccata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Flourless Chocolate Torte W/ Preserved Cherry Sauce - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Rustica Salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free Pasta Arrabiata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Chocolate Souffle - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Cheesecake - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
lasagna - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Peach Bellini - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Penne Fresco - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fizz 56 - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Calamari - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Pom Pom Salmon - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Lemoncello-Tini - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Great Wine List - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Salmon salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Hamburger - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Pasta - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free Penne Arrabiata - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Gluten-Free House Salad - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fritto Misto - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Peppered Pork Chop - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Panna Cotta - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Chicken Parmesean - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Fresh Caprese - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY
Ravioli With Tomato Basil Cream Sauce - Bella Notte, Lexington, KY

Bella Notte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Romantic (19)
Casual (15)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Fireplace (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The penne gorgonzola was delicious. I'm ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The penne gorgonzola was delicious. I'm already craving some more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was nice to have gotten seated on the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

It was nice to have gotten seated on the back patio which had a great ambiance and string lighting. There are a few cozy nooks which would make it nice for a larger group. Food was good, very reasonably priced for what you get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic!!! I would highly recommend if ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fantastic!!! I would highly recommend if you are in lexingrin. You must stop and eat here!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Bella Notte and eat at this rest ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We love Bella Notte and eat at this restaurant most times when we visit Lexington. The food is excellent and the prices are very good for such excellent food. John Michael was our waiter at our most recent visit and I will request for him to be our server when we next visit if he is there. He was very friendly and knowledgeable and made our party of six feel quite welcome.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as usual. Tried the wild boar ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent, as usual. Tried the wild boar seasonal special, and found it to be tasty, tender and hearty. The chocolate soufflé was light and flavorful, just enough dessert for an already full stomach!

I'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual. Always know we will ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic as usual. Always know we will have amazing food and great service. Well done!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without question, Bella Notte is the bes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Without question, Bella Notte is the best overall restaurant in Lexington. Their creative cuisine goes far beyond mere Italian fare. We have sent many friends there who, like us, continue going back. Special kudos for maintaining very reasonable prices.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a ever increasing group of errors a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Just a ever increasing group of errors and bad food and service.

Sent back what was supposed to be a duck risotto which had no duck and tasted like they had mixed jelly into it. Sent it back and didn't risk anything else. My wife's steak was overcooked and over-salted as were the potatoes. She asked for the mushroom sauce on the side and when it came the salt was splashed over the whole plate. None of the servers seemed to notice or care. Just wasn't worth the effort to do anything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I've eaten many meals over many years at ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've eaten many meals over many years at Belle Notte. Without fail the food and service is excellent. I tend to select pasta faves, but there are always some great specials, too. I love that they try to use local foods when possible.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was supper. Wonderful taste, great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Meal was supper. Wonderful taste, great value. I would highly recommend !!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Despite being New Year's Eve, the food w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Despite being New Year's Eve, the food was excellent as always, the service attentive and helpful, the wine pour was generous and the overall dining experience was memorable. Bella Notte is our "go to" restaurant when we go out for a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I were recommended this r ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I were recommended this restaurant when we were passing through Lexington. We thought that it was one of the best Italian restaurants we've been to. The meals use unique ingredients and are well priced! Our waitress was so nice and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the pesto was decent, so close to very g ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

the pesto was decent, so close to very good. i like it in its traditional form, basil heavy, with a lot of cheese grated on top, but, as is generally the case there at bella notte, there wasn't a substantial sauciness to the sauce. it wasn't as if there was no sauce, or that no one made a true pesto, but that there was almost none of that sauce that made it into my bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Came here with a friend. Made same day r ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Came here with a friend. Made same day reservations. Was very impressed with the decor and environment. We enjoyed dressing up for a nice dinner, but there were plenty of people dressed more casually. There was a fireplace in the room where we were seated and the table setting was nice. The prices were excellent, especially for the family portions. We ordered a family lasagna to share and both took leftovers home. Side salads were a great started and we liked the bread, although we both felt the spices in the oil were a bit overpowering. I had a glass of wine and we shared dessert, and the entire ticket was less than $40. The service was exceptional. Very polite and knowledgeable wait staff and good but unobtrusive service. Have already recommended to my family and I will definitely be going back!

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, waitress was polite and pati ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great menu, waitress was polite and patient, the atmosphere is beautiful. We had two 90 year olds in our party who were rather difficult, the people waiting on our table never broke stride or stopped smiling. The rest of the group was very appreciative for this.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic and food delicious ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was fantastic and food delicious. We entertained our daughter-in-law for her birthday and had the 3 grandchildren with us as well and it was great for all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. They tend to go heav ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was excellent. They tend to go heavy on the oil. Our server was attentive but we had to ask about rewards program. We overheard him tell another table and neglected to mention it to us. Some what quiet. We definitely will be going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service, have always had a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Good food and service, have always had a good experience when visiting Bella Note.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, delicious good. Will happ ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service, delicious good. Will happily return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed in the experience. We ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very disappointed in the experience. We were able to be seated quickly but found ourselves next to a sever cleaning a nearby table, pushing crumbs on the floor and shaking the cloth near my date. This was disconcerting to both of us. We reported the observation to our waiter who very promptly cleaned the crumbs from the floor. The service declined from there. Plates were left on our table for longer than our comfort level while we observed multiple staff members circulating without purpose. The food was disappointingly mediocre and lukewarm. We will not be returning soon as there are many other choices to be experienced in Lexington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing service, we had a great server t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing service, we had a great server that took good care of us.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, including properly cooke ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food, including properly cooked gluten-free pasta which is hard to find in Lexington! Great service, nice wine selection, and Starbucks coffee. They have espresso too, an added bonus which is a bit rare in town.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate my wife's birthday ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We came to celebrate my wife's birthday along with our 2 kids, ages 6 and 2. This has become one of our favorites in Lexington. The food was excellent as it is always consistent. We ordered from the seasonal menu. Everything came out in a timely manner, not too fast no too slow, giving us enough time to enjoy an appetizer and a cocktail beforehand and not feel rushed. We also order dessert, Tira Misu, and the server indulged us with a candle. Overall, another great experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good server, food and atmosphere in the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good server, food and atmosphere in the seating area behind the bar for a quite date night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to eat there and o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was our first time to eat there and our server was excellent as well as was the food and atmosphere. We will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was top notch and t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The customer service was top notch and the food was excellent! We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low light setting makes it excellent for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Low light setting makes it excellent for a date or special occasion. Food tasted great and was seasoned very well.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, , Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely wonderful food and I eat out ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food and I eat out regularly at quality dining establishments. Attention to detail on appetizer, main course and desserts. Excellent attentive service. I could not find one thing to complain about.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for a romantic and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always a great place for a romantic and cozy atmosphere and outstanding food and wine. My favorite way to dine local in Lexington.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I go to Bella Notte, I get th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Every time I go to Bella Notte, I get the spaghetti and meatballs. Their meatballs are so good, and so craveworthy, that once, I actually thought hard enough about them that I was able to "taste" them solely based on my memory of how good they are! I'm also a big fan of the music they play. The classic jazz standards from the Great American Songbook really add to the atmosphere. And you can't beat the decor. Anywhere in the restaurant, you feel like you're outside, whether next to the giant tree, on the terraza, or under the stars.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Bella Notte for our anniversa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We visited Bella Notte for our anniversary dinner. We don't live in the Lexington area and were down visiting a local Bed & Breakfast. We specifically went to Bella Notte because we had eaten there before when passing through for a similar occasion. The bread is really good and worth waiting for it fresh from the oven. The character of the place is great.

We recommended it to the other guests at the B&B as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing atmosphere. Great service. Aweso ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Great service. Awesome food. Friendly quiet atmosphere. This restaurant is beautifully decorated with such a peaceful atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant with a tastefully ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with a tastefully crafted menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Timely service for our ta ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great service. Timely service for our talkable table of 5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an excellent restaurant. Plenty to ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

What an excellent restaurant. Plenty to choose from on the menu, and our choices --penne Gorgonzola and chicken Marsala -- were delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good at Bella Notte ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food is consistently good at Bella Notte. We've never had a disappointing meal here and service is fast and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was terrific!!! By having an O ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was terrific!!! By having an Open Table reservation, there was "no wait time", and there was a crowd! The service was outstanding and the food as fine as ever. We are not regular customers -- had been there when our child was in grad school at UK -- and were in the area and did not want to miss the chance to go to Bella Notte!!! It was a great as ever!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were kept waiting almost as long as w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were kept waiting almost as long as walk-ins, then seated after a couple ARRIVING AFTER WE DID. We expressed our displeasure, nobody cared. Comp us an appetizer, maybe? The food was mediocre, it was very noisy, our waitress could not tell me what the house red was, and I spent $80 on a meal only a bit better than Olive Garden. Can't understand the love for this place. Must be folks who have never had a truly good Italian meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great dining experience. Nice variety on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great dining experience. Nice variety on the menu, both food and drinks. A definite palate pleaser. Fun atmosphere. Would definitely return again.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.