About Bella Aquila

775 Rivershore Lane
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Bella Aquila is a “ristorante romantico” with linens on the tables along with fresh flowers. The most beautiful patio in the entire Treasure Valley overlooks the North branch of the Boise River and is framed by two large rock fountains. Dress up and have a romantic dining experience with your special somebody or have a casual meal with friends or family. Private dining available for groups up to 70 people, inside or out (up to 40 in the private back room). Italian cuisine featuring house made pastas, sauces, breads and desserts prepared with the freshest local products available. Our Menu is a blend of traditional dishes from all over Italy as well as some twists and local flavors. We keep things interesting by offering seasonal, monthly and daily specials to highlight our culinary team’s imagination and skills. Our delicious food is complimented by a wine list that brings some of the best that Idaho, the Pacific Northwest, California and Italy offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Rivershore Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 938-1900

Website:
http://bellaaquilarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent is highlighted on our beautiful patio overlooking the Boise River. Contact the restaurant for more information regarding scheduled live entertainment.

Catering:
Bella Aquila Catering brings Italian BBQ to you. Your meal is prepared fresh at any location from our mobile kitchen trailer. Grilled food, Trager smoked meats, fresh pastas and right out of the oven baked goodness are yours anywhere.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking surrounds Rivershore Place, the home of Bella Aquila. Turn off of Eagle Road at the signal on Rivershore Lane then left into our parking lot. Some spaces are restricted during daytime hours Monday through Friday.

Public Transit:
Public transit has stops within a short walk of Bella Aquila.

Executive Chef:
David Knickrehm

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties of 8 to 80 are possible and welcomed. Our dining room is divided into several areas and offers semi-private and more private options (limited by the size of your party). One semi-private area will accommodate a group up to 20 and overlooks the Boise River. Our private back room will seat up to 40 comfortably and our beautiful patio can accommodate up to 80 people. We offer a broad range of menu options and have a full bar, as well as beer and wine. We can tailor a wonderful private dining experience to fit all budgets.

Private Party Contact:
Chad Cooper, General Manager: (208) 938-1900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bella Aquila Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Waterfront (17)
See All
Romantic (17)
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I always enjoy going to this restaurant. Food is consistently good, service is excellent, and ambiance is wonderful. A great setting for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our first time here and we will definitely frequent it more often. Food, service, ambiance, and price were all exceptional!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great but we were seated for 10 minutes before they even took our drink order. After we were done with out meal it took our waiter 20 minutes to run my card. I spoke to a coworker about my experience and they shared that they had the same experience. My advice would be for them to find a younger, more energetic staff with basic customer service skills. I most likely won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was fantastic! It was very cozy and lively at the same time. My date and I ordered the same thing, the chicken parmigiana, and it was very delicious. Keith, our waiter, was extremely polite and courteous. I have to give him props. Our Valentine's date was extra special and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The filet Aquila was amazing. They also have a very extensive wine and drink menu. It is expensive but overall a good experience. We will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food just slow. Not a place to go if you at in a hurry because everything is fresh. Their butter spread is to die for. Remarkable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wide variety of menu choices with many price points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

So busy that pasta was over cooked and mushy. Bar service at our table was slow. Love the restaurant and will keep going.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy the cuisine at Bella Aquila. Love the atmosphere and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my fiancé to dinner for Valentine's Day and the place met every need for what I was looking for to make this night feel special. Recommended for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The halibut my wife ordered was terrible. It was overcooked and dry. I thought it was inedible and wanted to send it back but she was uncomfortable with that. In hindsight, I should have insisted we send it back. My meal was just okay. In general, the food we ate was bland and lacked any creativity.

My martini was good but when I got the bill I noticed I was charged extra for bleu cheese stuffed olives. I have never been charged for a garnish in my martini and I have opted for bleu cheese stuffed olives many times in the past. I thought it was petty and ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've always had great service and good food. Love the comfy atmosphere. It's quiet and peaceful.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was great and the service was just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of our favorite places. Food and service is always great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Had a delightful evening at Bella Aquilafor our Anniversary. My partner ordered the Salmon Specialof the day which a blood orange sauce and was delicious. I ordered the pork chops which came with crispy spinach - done in a way I've never had before and we both loved it. For starters we had crab cakes and finished with sharing Chocolate Decadence. Service was great and the view was gorgeous. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very romantic atmosphere!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Started with the bruschetta appetizer. Tomatoes swimming in water. No seasoning or taste. Very little basil. Served with box crackers made to look like toast points. Should have sent it back. Baby wedge salad that was the size of half a head of lettuce. Had to get a second plate to cut the gigantic lettuce in half so I could chop up the salad. Dressing was bland. First entree was a pasta with shrimp and a mediterranean type olive oil sauce with tomatoes. Had a burnt, odd taste. Was extremely dry. Sent it back. Second entree was a fettuccini alfredo with sausage. Was good.

Skipped desert. Waited for a long time for the check and had to ask to have the entree we returned removed. Overall a very poor experience. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited Bella Aquila on NYE and had a fabulous time! The food and the ambience was dazzling...highly recommend trying their seafood/pasta dishes. The creme brûlée looked out of this world...but, they ran out before we ordered! Next time. The only warning is to avoid being seated near the entryway in the dead of winter. Freezing! We dined with our jackets on the entire evening.

Overall...highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was a perfect ending to another birthday! We had a table right by the windows and the snow on the deck and trees made for a perfect ambiance. The background music was not overbearing and conversations were quite. The staff were very attentive and punctual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and service is wonderful, and the noise level is low enough to provide an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual. Nice to find they were open late on Christmas Eve.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Been here multiple times for brunch and dinners, always great service, great food and great ambiance. When the weather is good nothing beats their outdoor patio next to the river.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Although we checked in then went to the bar until our table was ready, the staff never came to get us. 40 minutes later we had to check to see if our table was ready and they were not busy! Food was ok, no bread was offered at all-- server really tried hard however when the bill came he tried to charge us again for our bar tab even though we had closed it. Glad I kept the receipt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice dinner , food is always excellent ,service is quick and courteous.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Waterfront, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was very good and moderately priced. Recommend highly. Truly enjoyed the eggplant. A big plus was that we were able to have great conversations without raising our voice or straining to hear.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As always, Bella Aquila provides a lovely setting on the river combined with a solid menu and terrific service. It rarely disappoints. One minor concern - the vitello marsala was a bit thicker than we've experience before.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First time. Highly recommend! Food and service were top notch. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious! We enjoyed our meal, and the seating was perfect for a friend holiday celebration.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Bella Aquila is one of those places where we know we will get great service and great food. We definitely weren't disappointed on this visit. I usually try the special or one of the salmon dishes, while my wife goes for a chicken pasta dish. On this night, the special and the pasta were done perfectly. Keith, our server, was very prompt and anticipated our needs, and also had a great table-side manner. The owner stopped by our table, which tells me how much management cares about customers. We have never had a bad experience here and we highly recommend this place to our friends. Pay this place a visit and make sure you save room for the Creme Brulee.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food and service. Congested seating a downer for our experience. Too pricey for "cafe" seating. Seats were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with terrific food and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The service was first rate but the food lacked the finesse needed to really give it more than 3 stars..for instance I ordered the halibut,over a bed of wild rice with asparagus...the rice was skimpy and the asparagus consisted of 4 withered tangled green things that I suppose were actually asparagus..very disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

POOR- Not our first time there. We've always been pleased, and had looked forward to a nice meal for a very special occasion. Something was very different this time. Everything was bland, no flavor. The Waitress excuse, “we cater to a pallet of 60+" WHAT! are you kidding me? We sent my meal back, got our check, and finished dinner elsewhere. Really screwed up my 25th anniversary. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good food, good ambience though a little more privacy would be better (booths or semi-wall separation or something)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Casual get together with friends. Enjoyed the view of the green belt and Boise river. Excellent and extensive wine list. Food was good, would like to try more items on menu, only tried the pasta dishes. Little pricey but to be expected for this type of restaurant. Would go again if looking for upscale dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I have been here many times. Love the patio. Nice bar area, very mellow. So many meals to choose from. Love the calamari and minestrone soup. Owners are usually there and are very nice. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The restaurant was recommended by the family that joined us for a birthday dinner. Two entrees were served that were not ordered. The correct entrees tried to be served after the other 3 attendees had eaten. A second bottle of wine was ordered expecting the correct entrees to be delivered expediently. The wine wasn't delivered until we asked where it was. We asked to speak with the owner and he was belligerent and not very helpful. It was a family birthday dinner. The family that live there will not be likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoy Bella Aquila especially to celebrate a special occasion. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food and service are always top notch. We love the patio when the weather is nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very nice, I can recommend this place. Excellent all around.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The drinks and the appetizer were tasty. The steak was supposed to be cooked medium rare and it was cooked medium well. It was a bit disappointing. It is hard to have it returned when everyone else is eating their meals. The spinach was cooked a bit more than I like.

The temperature outside was great and we had a good lime despite the poorly cooked steak.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would recommend this to a friend, great food, Chelsea did a great job suggesting food and serving. I will return and ask for Chelsea's section.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

WE are regulars and always have great food and great service. The outdoor seating is one of the best in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great service with quality food. Both indoor and outdoor dining, with superb ambiance. Fountains outside add to the outdoor dining setting. Chris, our waiter, was personable and professional . Liked the restaurant so much, we revisited it three days later at the end of our Boise stay. Great food menu varieties and extensive wine list. Certainly a must do for anyone seeking a class act restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another great meal. Anniversary special with atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Inconsistency prevents me from recommending this location to friends. I've had some great dishes and some average dishes at this location. I've also found that there service is just an inconsistent as their food. They don't seem to have enough staff scheduled to cover the clientele that comes into the restaurant. Considering they have been in Eagle for quite some time, I would assume shift coverage should no longer be a problem. Perhaps my husband and I just keep going to this location at the wrong times. They have been in business for several years, so one would assume that their business model is working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was disappointing. The Calamari appetizer was rubbery.Not even sure itwasreal calamari. My husband's lacked flavor and was skimpy on the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite place!!! I go there with my girlfriends, and my husband and I love going there alone and with other couples. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Pros:

  • great atmosphere, beautiful outdoor fountain and views of the river

  • food was good with unique dishes to try

Cons:

  • poor service (bit slow, not particularly friendly, seemed indifferent)
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The ambiance and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.