About Bella Aquila

775 Rivershore Lane
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Bella Aquila is a “ristorante romantico” with linens on the tables along with fresh flowers. The most beautiful patio in the entire Treasure Valley overlooks the North branch of the Boise River and is framed by two large rock fountains. Dress up and have a romantic dining experience with your special somebody or have a casual meal with friends or family. Private dining available for groups up to 70 people, inside or out (up to 40 in the private back room). Italian cuisine featuring house made pastas, sauces, breads and desserts prepared with the freshest local products available. Our Menu is a blend of traditional dishes from all over Italy as well as some twists and local flavors. We keep things interesting by offering seasonal, monthly and daily specials to highlight our culinary team’s imagination and skills. Our delicious food is complimented by a wine list that brings some of the best that Idaho, the Pacific Northwest, California and Italy offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Rivershore Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 938-1900

Website:
http://bellaaquilarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent is highlighted on our beautiful patio overlooking the Boise River. Contact the restaurant for more information regarding scheduled live entertainment.

Catering:
Bella Aquila Catering brings Italian BBQ to you. Your meal is prepared fresh at any location from our mobile kitchen trailer. Grilled food, Trager smoked meats, fresh pastas and right out of the oven baked goodness are yours anywhere.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking surrounds Rivershore Place, the home of Bella Aquila. Turn off of Eagle Road at the signal on Rivershore Lane then left into our parking lot. Some spaces are restricted during daytime hours Monday through Friday.

Public Transit:
Public transit has stops within a short walk of Bella Aquila.

Executive Chef:
David Knickrehm

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties of 8 to 80 are possible and welcomed. Our dining room is divided into several areas and offers semi-private and more private options (limited by the size of your party). One semi-private area will accommodate a group up to 20 and overlooks the Boise River. Our private back room will seat up to 40 comfortably and our beautiful patio can accommodate up to 80 people. We offer a broad range of menu options and have a full bar, as well as beer and wine. We can tailor a wonderful private dining experience to fit all budgets.

Private Party Contact:
Chad Cooper, General Manager: 208-938-1900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eggplant Parmasean - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
  • Pesto Spinach Fettucini - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
  • Bruschetta - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
  • Calamari - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
  • Cioppino - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
  • Porco - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Eggplant Parmasean - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Pesto Spinach Fettucini - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Bruschetta - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Calamari - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Cioppino - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID
Porco - Bella Aquila, Eagle, ID

Bella Aquila Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Ambiance
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Eagle ›

Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Waterfront (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Private Room (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and service. Congested seating ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and service. Congested seating a downer for our experience. Too pricey for "cafe" seating. Seats were uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Wonderful restaurant with terrific food ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with terrific food and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was first rate but the food ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The service was first rate but the food lacked the finesse needed to really give it more than 3 stars..for instance I ordered the halibut,over a bed of wild rice with asparagus...the rice was skimpy and the asparagus consisted of 4 withered tangled green things that I suppose were actually asparagus..very disappointing

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

POOR- Not our first time there. We've al ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

POOR- Not our first time there. We've always been pleased, and had looked forward to a nice meal for a very special occasion. Something was very different this time. Everything was bland, no flavor. The Waitress excuse, “we cater to a pallet of 60+" WHAT! are you kidding me? We sent my meal back, got our check, and finished dinner elsewhere. Really screwed up my 25th anniversary. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good food, good ambience though a l ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good food, good ambience though a little more privacy would be better (booths or semi-wall separation or something)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Casual get together with friends. Enjoye ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Casual get together with friends. Enjoyed the view of the green belt and Boise river. Excellent and extensive wine list. Food was good, would like to try more items on menu, only tried the pasta dishes. Little pricey but to be expected for this type of restaurant. Would go again if looking for upscale dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here many times. Love the pa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I have been here many times. Love the patio. Nice bar area, very mellow. So many meals to choose from. Love the calamari and minestrone soup. Owners are usually there and are very nice. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was recommended by the fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The restaurant was recommended by the family that joined us for a birthday dinner. Two entrees were served that were not ordered. The correct entrees tried to be served after the other 3 attendees had eaten. A second bottle of wine was ordered expecting the correct entrees to be delivered expediently. The wine wasn't delivered until we asked where it was. We asked to speak with the owner and he was belligerent and not very helpful. It was a family birthday dinner. The family that live there will not be likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We really enjoy Bella Aquila especially ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoy Bella Aquila especially to celebrate a special occasion. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service are always top notc ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food and service are always top notch. We love the patio when the weather is nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice, I can recommend this place. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very nice, I can recommend this place. Excellent all around.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The drinks and the appetizer were tasty. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The drinks and the appetizer were tasty. The steak was supposed to be cooked medium rare and it was cooked medium well. It was a bit disappointing. It is hard to have it returned when everyone else is eating their meals. The spinach was cooked a bit more than I like.

The temperature outside was great and we had a good lime despite the poorly cooked steak.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I would recommend this to a friend, grea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would recommend this to a friend, great food, Chelsea did a great job suggesting food and serving. I will return and ask for Chelsea's section.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE are regulars and always have great fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

WE are regulars and always have great food and great service. The outdoor seating is one of the best in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with quality food. Both in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great service with quality food. Both indoor and outdoor dining, with superb ambiance. Fountains outside add to the outdoor dining setting. Chris, our waiter, was personable and professional . Liked the restaurant so much, we revisited it three days later at the end of our Boise stay. Great food menu varieties and extensive wine list. Certainly a must do for anyone seeking a class act restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal. Anniversary special ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another great meal. Anniversary special with atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Inconsistency prevents me from recommend ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Inconsistency prevents me from recommending this location to friends. I've had some great dishes and some average dishes at this location. I've also found that there service is just an inconsistent as their food. They don't seem to have enough staff scheduled to cover the clientele that comes into the restaurant. Considering they have been in Eagle for quite some time, I would assume shift coverage should no longer be a problem. Perhaps my husband and I just keep going to this location at the wrong times. They have been in business for several years, so one would assume that their business model is working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was disappointing. The Calamari ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was disappointing. The Calamari appetizer was rubbery.Not even sure itwasreal calamari. My husband's lacked flavor and was skimpy on the meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Our favorite place!!! I go there with m ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our favorite place!!! I go there with my girlfriends, and my husband and I love going there alone and with other couples. We have never been disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: - great atmosphere, beautiful outd ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Pros:

  • great atmosphere, beautiful outdoor fountain and views of the river

  • food was good with unique dishes to try

Cons:

  • poor service (bit slow, not particularly friendly, seemed indifferent)
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The ambiance and food was excellent.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The ambiance and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best restaurants I'v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Probably one of the best restaurants I've dined at in Boise, and quite frankly I thought I wouldn't find something of this quality in this city. This will be a place my wife and I return to for our date nights.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great job, start to finish. We were we ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great job, start to finish. We were well taken of, and the food was just fabulous. Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always superb, the service e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is always superb, the service excellent, and the atmosphere pleasant. I highly recommend Bella Aquila.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on the exceptionally plea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were seated on the exceptionally pleasant patio near one of the water falls. The temperature outside was nearly 100, but because the entire patio is shaded so nicely throughout the day it was really quite comfortable. This is the nicest outdoor patio with a view of the river in the Boise area. We had attentive service from our server, and it was not busy in the restaurant at all. This was our second dinner at this restaurant in a month. Unfortunately we once again found the food to be uninspiring and rather bland. The appetizers sounded good, but were unremarkable in flavor (potato-crab cakes and suppli). After the so-so appetizers we decided to split a Cobb salad. It too disappointed, arriving rather soggy and a bit salty. We have eaten at this restaurant a number of times, always returning because the ambiance both inside and out. Unfortunately the food doesn't fit the bill. We will undoubtedly return, but we will likely come for a drink rather than a meal. The service was good, ambiance very nice, but the food, not so much.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent setting, food was very good, w ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent setting, food was very good, wine also. My one complaint...we were celebrating a birthday, 6 of us, 2 from out of town. I called ahead to tell them about the birthday. After our meal, I reminded our server about the birthday, he said that they did not have a special treat or acknowledgement. I could not believe this. After about 10 min, the waiter brought a piece of cheesecake to share. This was appreciated.

As we were leaving, I mentioned this to the manager, saying it would certainly be a nice touch .....it is only ONE PIECE to spare, plus it was the end of the evening.

I really like this restaurant, good food & wine....great setting, but their acknowledgement of a celebration would certainly be classy & appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was great, but service was very slo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, but service was very slow. It probably took 20 minutes to get our bottle of wine for the table, although food was prompt and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We visited Bella Aquila for the first ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We visited Bella Aquila for the first time for my Mom's 88th birthday. Chelsea S. our server was awesome!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic place. I will be back o ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a fantastic place. I will be back on alot more!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was cute and sweet but she ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waitress was cute and sweet but she was also either new or just bad! One person ordered soft drink--we had to remind her to bring it. We didn't receive any bread and when we asked about it she just smiled and said sometimes she forget. I ordered the Salmon but received some salmon ravioli thing. She said 'sorry, would you like the other?' If anything, she should have said "I'll make sure they get the correct order and you just enjoy this while we get the correct order." The service was so bad we actually just started to make fun of it.

The food was delicious. The atmosphere wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

We went to Bella Aquila because of the ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Bella Aquila because of the atmosphere I seen walking the greenbelt. everything was nice, but disappointed in lasagna, probably go back to Romano for my lasagna. But loved the patio view at Bella Aquila.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

a generally enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2016

a generally enjoyable dining experience. great ambiance -- fairly quiet and comfortable -- good for conversation. good wine selection, reasonably priced. attentive, pleasant, prompt service. i'd have to say a bit overpriced for, essentially, pasta dishes. in addition, thought the portions were somewhat skimpy (especially salads?). even so, a great place to get together with friends for good food and service in a pleasing atmosphere. good job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sorry to say that the food just not tha ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Sorry to say that the food just not that good. Nice people. nice place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Brought some friends who hadn't been to ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Brought some friends who hadn't been to Bella Aquila before and we were able to sit outside on the patio and used the umbrellas to shade a couple of diners. Service was excellent and food was fresh and included suitable serving sizes for a late lunch. will definitely make the drive out to Eagle to dine there again. Cheers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service by AnnaBelle! Wonder ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Impeccable service by AnnaBelle! Wonderful patio and waterfalls. Very nice overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The most beautiful outdoor patio in the ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The most beautiful outdoor patio in the Boise area. Excellent food and service, as well. The Grilled Polenta with wild mushrooms appetizer is fantastic, as are their homemade pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third anniversary in a row celebration! ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Third anniversary in a row celebration! We like Bella for special occasions on the patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. One f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. One f the best meals I've had in a long time. Another great spot in Eagle ID

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sit outside on the patio if the weather ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Sit outside on the patio if the weather is right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A dining gem along the Boise River. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2016

A dining gem along the Boise River. The patio is especially lovely for summer evening dining, which included live music when we were there. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.