About Bella Aquila

775 Rivershore Lane
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Bella Aquila is a “ristorante romantico” with linens on the tables along with fresh flowers. The most beautiful patio in the entire Treasure Valley overlooks the North branch of the Boise River and is framed by two large rock fountains. Dress up and have a romantic dining experience with your special somebody or have a casual meal with friends or family. Private dining available for groups up to 70 people, inside or out (up to 40 in the private back room). Italian cuisine featuring house made pastas, sauces, breads and desserts prepared with the freshest local products available. Our Menu is a blend of traditional dishes from all over Italy as well as some twists and local flavors. We keep things interesting by offering seasonal, monthly and daily specials to highlight our culinary team’s imagination and skills. Our delicious food is complimented by a wine list that brings some of the best that Idaho, the Pacific Northwest, California and Italy offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Rivershore Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 938-1900

Website:
http://bellaaquilarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent is highlighted on our beautiful patio overlooking the Boise River. Contact the restaurant for more information regarding scheduled live entertainment.

Catering:
Bella Aquila Catering brings Italian BBQ to you. Your meal is prepared fresh at any location from our mobile kitchen trailer. Grilled food, Trager smoked meats, fresh pastas and right out of the oven baked goodness are yours anywhere.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking surrounds Rivershore Place, the home of Bella Aquila. Turn off of Eagle Road at the signal on Rivershore Lane then left into our parking lot. Some spaces are restricted during daytime hours Monday through Friday.

Public Transit:
Public transit has stops within a short walk of Bella Aquila.

Executive Chef:
David Knickrehm

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties of 8 to 80 are possible and welcomed. Our dining room is divided into several areas and offers semi-private and more private options (limited by the size of your party). One semi-private area will accommodate a group up to 20 and overlooks the Boise River. Our private back room will seat up to 40 comfortably and our beautiful patio can accommodate up to 80 people. We offer a broad range of menu options and have a full bar, as well as beer and wine. We can tailor a wonderful private dining experience to fit all budgets.

Private Party Contact:
Chad Cooper, General Manager: 208-938-1900

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eggplant Parmasean
  • Pesto Spinach Fettucini
  • Bruschetta
  • Calamari
  • Cioppino
  • Porco
Eggplant Parmasean
Pesto Spinach Fettucini
Bruschetta
Calamari
Cioppino
Porco

Bella Aquila Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Outdoor Dining
Idaho
4 More
Romantic
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Ambiance
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Eagle ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Scenic View (50)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Romantic (37)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (12)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Probably one of the best restaurants I'v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Probably one of the best restaurants I've dined at in Boise, and quite frankly I thought I wouldn't find something of this quality in this city. This will be a place my wife and I return to for our date nights.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great job, start to finish. We were we ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great job, start to finish. We were well taken of, and the food was just fabulous. Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always superb, the service e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always superb, the service excellent, and the atmosphere pleasant. I highly recommend Bella Aquila.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on the exceptionally plea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were seated on the exceptionally pleasant patio near one of the water falls. The temperature outside was nearly 100, but because the entire patio is shaded so nicely throughout the day it was really quite comfortable. This is the nicest outdoor patio with a view of the river in the Boise area. We had attentive service from our server, and it was not busy in the restaurant at all. This was our second dinner at this restaurant in a month. Unfortunately we once again found the food to be uninspiring and rather bland. The appetizers sounded good, but were unremarkable in flavor (potato-crab cakes and suppli). After the so-so appetizers we decided to split a Cobb salad. It too disappointed, arriving rather soggy and a bit salty. We have eaten at this restaurant a number of times, always returning because the ambiance both inside and out. Unfortunately the food doesn't fit the bill. We will undoubtedly return, but we will likely come for a drink rather than a meal. The service was good, ambiance very nice, but the food, not so much.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent setting, food was very good, w ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent setting, food was very good, wine also. My one complaint...we were celebrating a birthday, 6 of us, 2 from out of town. I called ahead to tell them about the birthday. After our meal, I reminded our server about the birthday, he said that they did not have a special treat or acknowledgement. I could not believe this. After about 10 min, the waiter brought a piece of cheesecake to share. This was appreciated.

As we were leaving, I mentioned this to the manager, saying it would certainly be a nice touch .....it is only ONE PIECE to spare, plus it was the end of the evening.

I really like this restaurant, good food & wine....great setting, but their acknowledgement of a celebration would certainly be classy & appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was great, but service was very slo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, but service was very slow. It probably took 20 minutes to get our bottle of wine for the table, although food was prompt and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We visited Bella Aquila for the first ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We visited Bella Aquila for the first time for my Mom's 88th birthday. Chelsea S. our server was awesome!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic place. I will be back o ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a fantastic place. I will be back on alot more!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was cute and sweet but she ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waitress was cute and sweet but she was also either new or just bad! One person ordered soft drink--we had to remind her to bring it. We didn't receive any bread and when we asked about it she just smiled and said sometimes she forget. I ordered the Salmon but received some salmon ravioli thing. She said 'sorry, would you like the other?' If anything, she should have said "I'll make sure they get the correct order and you just enjoy this while we get the correct order." The service was so bad we actually just started to make fun of it.

The food was delicious. The atmosphere wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

We went to Bella Aquila because of the ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Bella Aquila because of the atmosphere I seen walking the greenbelt. everything was nice, but disappointed in lasagna, probably go back to Romano for my lasagna. But loved the patio view at Bella Aquila.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

a generally enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

a generally enjoyable dining experience. great ambiance -- fairly quiet and comfortable -- good for conversation. good wine selection, reasonably priced. attentive, pleasant, prompt service. i'd have to say a bit overpriced for, essentially, pasta dishes. in addition, thought the portions were somewhat skimpy (especially salads?). even so, a great place to get together with friends for good food and service in a pleasing atmosphere. good job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sorry to say that the food just not tha ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Sorry to say that the food just not that good. Nice people. nice place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Brought some friends who hadn't been to ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Brought some friends who hadn't been to Bella Aquila before and we were able to sit outside on the patio and used the umbrellas to shade a couple of diners. Service was excellent and food was fresh and included suitable serving sizes for a late lunch. will definitely make the drive out to Eagle to dine there again. Cheers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service by AnnaBelle! Wonder ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Impeccable service by AnnaBelle! Wonderful patio and waterfalls. Very nice overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The most beautiful outdoor patio in the ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The most beautiful outdoor patio in the Boise area. Excellent food and service, as well. The Grilled Polenta with wild mushrooms appetizer is fantastic, as are their homemade pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third anniversary in a row celebration! ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Third anniversary in a row celebration! We like Bella for special occasions on the patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. One f ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. One f the best meals I've had in a long time. Another great spot in Eagle ID

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dining gem along the Boise River. The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A dining gem along the Boise River. The patio is especially lovely for summer evening dining, which included live music when we were there. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found a wine from a vineyard we knew in ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Found a wine from a vineyard we knew in Washington. Although the prices for the wines were a bit pricey we were impressed with the selection. Wait staff very helpful and nice. We arae from out of town and this was recommended by a family member. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfectly cooked, the staff ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was perfectly cooked, the staff was attentive but not intrusive, and the views from the patio were beautiful. The cottonwoods were heavily shedding and blowing in the water and food but it was not too much of an issue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Father's day Brunch ever. Amazing ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Father's day Brunch ever. Amazing setting by the river, caring staff & superb food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Bella Aguila. Always greeted by th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love Bella Aguila. Always greeted by the owner. Ambiance is pleasant. Great patio. This past Sunday was the only time I was disappointed with my meal. Poached eggs were not drained properly, so hollandaise sauce was runny.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Hors d'oeuvres: Excellent crab cakes! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hors d'oeuvres:

Excellent crab cakes!

Wine list:

They had a nice selection of wines.

Main course:

Both dinner entrées were good, not great.

Service :

Our server, Ryan, was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Waiter was very helpful and went the ext ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waiter was very helpful and went the extra mile to get what I wanted. Unfortunately everything ordered, appetizers, main meal, were piled on the table at one time. The table was small and much time spent piling things up to get on the table. A little coordination between wait staff and chef to stage the eating experience would have been more appropriate. The auxiliary wait staff need to be trained. Coming to the table every couple of minutes, interrupting to ask you if you needed anything is annoying and should be avoided. Food was "average" with no spark...just solid table fare and plenty of it. Not impressive enough for special occasions. 4 stars for main waiter, 1 star for auxiliary wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We're big Bella Aquila fans! Love their happy hours and love their dinners. This last visit was for my mom's 90th birthday. Our server remembered us from our last visit. The special was scampi pasta which we all ordered. It was the best I've ever had! Fresh pasta, fresh shrimp, fresh herbs, and the sauce was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe our favorite Boise place.

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

In all the years going here, always good service and food. Would highly recommend going here. If weather good , the patio is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SELECTIVE

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Good salad and pizza. You have to be selective. Their sauces are too heavy. Sometimes the food is better than other times. Inconsistency is a problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food and relaxing atmosphere out o ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great food and relaxing atmosphere out on the patio watching the river. Really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

evening with friends

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

dinner on the terrace close to the river, was perfect evening and weather. The waitress was excellent. the food was top notch. Have eaten there before and always very satisfied and the friends we took this time were very impressed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place... It's the best Itali ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I love this place... It's the best Italian restaurant in Boise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best in the Treasure Valley

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Maybe the finest eating in the State of Idaho! Tried them all, and this Bella Aquila tops them all.

No matter the occasion, this is the site to have it. Great patio dining virtually on the Boise River with all the greenery you might want and two wonderful Rock Waterfalls to provide the 'white noise' that is so important to fine dining. Good wine list and a wide variety of dining choices make this a must-enjoy restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Good

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I frequently dine here with friends and alone. Bella Aquila has a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and a nice wine selection. The service personnel have always been helpful and friendly. In the warmer weather we love to sit outside next to the river. It is always a romantic time for the two of us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our dining experience was very nice, lov ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our dining experience was very nice, lovely setting on the patio and we dined early so was not crowded. Would love to have had soup or salad come with our meals as the price point is quite high...seems the higher the price the less you get these days. My family thought the portions very small and we had to request more bread as there was only one small piece per person in the basket. I had the Seafood Fettuccine and it was plenty for me although the flavor was rather bland.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Snobbish waitress

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was okay during our friends get together that night except for an amazingly stand offish waitress. She acted like she was the queen, and we were there to serve her. She became a little softer and nicer closer to the bill/tip time though. We probably won't come again just because of this one person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Slow slow slow

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mothers Day. Now you expect that it will be busy but it wasn't too bad. They were seating people without a reservation. Everything went fine but the food took over an hour to arrive. It was eggs, how hard is it to cook eggs? Not going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Beautiful Mother's Day brunch on the patio

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Bella Aquilla has a beautiful patio. Their brunch was delicious. We will definitely be back this Spring/Summer to have brunch or dinner. I had dinner with some friends there this last winter and it was also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Definitely a Gem

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I have been several times. Never disappoints. Mother's Day breakfast was fantastic. Patio dining is incredible. Indoor seating is great as well. The service is always spot on, everyone is super friendly and accommodating, and the food is always wonderful and consistent. Definitely go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just so so...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

For an upscale restaurant I expected more. The beef carpaccio was rather bland, not much flavor. Entrees were just ok, nothing really tasty or exciting. It took forever to arrive and we had to hunt down the server every time we needed something. We've been here several times and I think this may be the last. The food's not bad, just nothing special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Promising Restaraunt

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere was exceptional (we dined outside) and the menu was imaginative and unique. The result was somewhat disappointing to our taste, especially the appetizers. One entree was excellent and the other good to very good. This, of course, is a subjective judgment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, very sluggish service

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Normally I have nothing but glowing things to say about Bella and I seek it out for special occasions. This time though, I was there with 3 other friends to celebrate a birthday and we could hardly get the server to give us the time of day. 45 minutes to have our orders taken, 80 minutes to actually get our food. The server talked about drinking whiskey at home and seemed to not to want to be there.

I'll still go back but it was bad luck of the draw this time with a bad server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.