About Bella Aquila

775 Rivershore Lane
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Bella Aquila is a “ristorante romantico” with linens on the tables along with fresh flowers. The most beautiful patio in the entire Treasure Valley overlooks the North branch of the Boise River and is framed by two large rock fountains. Dress up and have a romantic dining experience with your special somebody or have a casual meal with friends or family. Private dining available for groups up to 70 people, inside or out (up to 40 in the private back room). Italian cuisine featuring house made pastas, sauces, breads and desserts prepared with the freshest local products available. Our Menu is a blend of traditional dishes from all over Italy as well as some twists and local flavors. We keep things interesting by offering seasonal, monthly and daily specials to highlight our culinary team’s imagination and skills. Our delicious food is complimented by a wine list that brings some of the best that Idaho, the Pacific Northwest, California and Italy offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Rivershore Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 938-1900

Website:
http://bellaaquilarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent is highlighted on our beautiful patio overlooking the Boise River. Contact the restaurant for more information regarding scheduled live entertainment.

Catering:
Bella Aquila Catering brings Italian BBQ to you. Your meal is prepared fresh at any location from our mobile kitchen trailer. Grilled food, Trager smoked meats, fresh pastas and right out of the oven baked goodness are yours anywhere.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking surrounds Rivershore Place, the home of Bella Aquila. Turn off of Eagle Road at the signal on Rivershore Lane then left into our parking lot. Some spaces are restricted during daytime hours Monday through Friday.

Public Transit:
Public transit has stops within a short walk of Bella Aquila.

Executive Chef:
David Knickrehm

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties of 8 to 80 are possible and welcomed. Our dining room is divided into several areas and offers semi-private and more private options (limited by the size of your party). One semi-private area will accommodate a group up to 20 and overlooks the Boise River. Our private back room will seat up to 40 comfortably and our beautiful patio can accommodate up to 80 people. We offer a broad range of menu options and have a full bar, as well as beer and wine. We can tailor a wonderful private dining experience to fit all budgets.

Private Party Contact:
Chad Cooper, General Manager: 208-938-1900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bella Aquila Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Romantic
Idaho
5 More
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Eagle ›

great for outdoor dining (61)
special occasion (59)
scenic view (59)
See All
romantic (57)
neighborhood gem (43)
notable wine list (30)
great for brunch (27)
great for lunch (23)
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in the Treasure Valley

Dined 5 days ago

Maybe the finest eating in the State of Idaho! Tried them all, and this Bella Aquila tops them all. No matter the occasion, this is the site to have it. Great patio dining virtually on the Boise River with all the greenery you might want and two wonderful Rock Waterfalls to provide the 'white noise' that is so important to fine dining. Good wine list and a wide variety of dining choices make this a must-enjoy restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistently Good

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I frequently dine here with friends and alone. Bella Aquila has a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and a nice wine selection. The service personnel have always been helpful and friendly. In the warmer weather we love to sit outside next to the river. It is always a romantic time for the two of us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Our dining experience was very nice, lov ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our dining experience was very nice, lovely setting on the patio and we dined early so was not crowded. Would love to have had soup or salad come with our meals as the price point is quite high...seems the higher the price the less you get these days. My family thought the portions very small and we had to request more bread as there was only one small piece per person in the basket. I had the Seafood Fettuccine and it was plenty for me although the flavor was rather bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Snobbish waitress

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was okay during our friends get together that night except for an amazingly stand offish waitress. She acted like she was the queen, and we were there to serve her. She became a little softer and nicer closer to the bill/tip time though. We probably won't come again just because of this one person.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow slow slow

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mothers Day. Now you expect that it will be busy but it wasn't too bad. They were seating people without a reservation. Everything went fine but the food took over an hour to arrive. It was eggs, how hard is it to cook eggs? Not going back.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful Mother's Day brunch on the patio

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bella Aquilla has a beautiful patio. Their brunch was delicious. We will definitely be back this Spring/Summer to have brunch or dinner. I had dinner with some friends there this last winter and it was also very good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I have been several times. Never disappoints. Mother's Day breakfast was fantastic. Patio dining is incredible. Indoor seating is great as well. The service is always spot on, everyone is super friendly and accommodating, and the food is always wonderful and consistent. Definitely go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just so so...

Dined on May 8, 2016

For an upscale restaurant I expected more. The beef carpaccio was rather bland, not much flavor. Entrees were just ok, nothing really tasty or exciting. It took forever to arrive and we had to hunt down the server every time we needed something. We've been here several times and I think this may be the last. The food's not bad, just nothing special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Promising Restaraunt

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere was exceptional (we dined outside) and the menu was imaginative and unique. The result was somewhat disappointing to our taste, especially the appetizers. One entree was excellent and the other good to very good. This, of course, is a subjective judgment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food, very sluggish service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Normally I have nothing but glowing things to say about Bella and I seek it out for special occasions. This time though, I was there with 3 other friends to celebrate a birthday and we could hardly get the server to give us the time of day. 45 minutes to have our orders taken, 80 minutes to actually get our food. The server talked about drinking whiskey at home and seemed to not to want to be there. I'll still go back but it was bad luck of the draw this time with a bad server.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening dining.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful Riverfront outdoor dining. Attentive servers that rarely miss a beat. Foodies will appreciate menu items and nightly specials. Halibut is our favorite as well as the Salmon. Great italian menus items that are staples. Bella never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, fabulous food, who co ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Beautiful setting, fabulous food, who could ask for more?

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was wonderful, the atmosphere was great.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The meal was wonderful and the atmosphere was great. The restaurant was closed down and empty by 10:30 pm.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre service, good food

Dined on April 23, 2016

For being an upscale restaurant, the service of the support staff, i.e. Hostess, bussing staff did not align with "upscale." We felt as though we were putting them out by walking in (as a reservation) and when making any request. We were not greeted or welcomed, and were shown our table with an "I don't care that you're hear, and I really don't want to be here attitude, and it continued with the "busser," when we requested bread, lighting our candle, water, etc. No one greeted us with a hello, or welcome to Bella Aquila, my name is ... The two redeeming qualities were the cocktails and the food. We are customer service enthusiasts as I have worked in the restaurant service management industry for 8 years. For us, the subpar service demonstrated by the support staff was enough to make Bella Aquila a deal breaker. We'll stick with our consistent favorite fine dining Italian favorite in Meridian.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Not the normal expected service.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Met by a new young lackluster hostess. Unusually slow service. Even with a 5:30 seating, four waiters on a patio that eventually filled to about 1/2 to 3/4 capacity, no appetizers order, it took about an hour and 10 minutes to get the entree to the table of four.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent patio atmsphere on the river!

Dined on April 20, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic night out or a casual, fun patio exerience, you will love Bella Aquila. The menu offers something for everyone. My personal favorites are the sirloin salad and chicken marsala. You can't go wrong with starting off with martinis and mussels!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, ok service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Phenomenal food, but it has a strange crowd you feel out of place whether your dressed up or down. Fantastic outdoor seating, little pricey for the service. Will go back to just get appetizers on the deck, the dining area is a bit cramped and awkward

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time visitor

Dined on April 11, 2016

We were invited to participate in a fund-raiser dinner here, so I read up on the reviews, scanned the menu before going. The reviews were either good or bad. So I thought I would try to pay attention to the experience, and honestly didn't experience any of the negative comments seen on the reviews. Having lived in Italy for 4 years, we are always a bit leery in ordering in an Italian restaurant, but ordered the Clams & Mussels as an appetizer, rated it a 6/10. My husband ordered the Chicken Picatta and said it was a 8.5/10. Daughter ordered the Tortellini Carbonara, giving it a 7/10. I had a spinach salad and thought it was good. Wine suggestion was wonderful, a Malbec. Husband had a top shelf martini that was exceptionally good. We arrived at 5:00pm, the owner welcomed us and seated us outside, which was beautiful and relaxing. Service was prompt and courteous, with our waitress, Stephanie, very familiar with the menu and wine/drink options. An all in all great experience and definitely will go again. The only negative comment I would make is that, each time I drive past this restaurant, the kitchen crew is standing at the side of the building in their white aprons, smoking, which, when we walked up, wafted towards the entrance and is not an inviting first impression.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

We love Bella Aquila! Everything is grea ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We love Bella Aquila! Everything is great...especially the bread. A huge kudos to Eric, an extraordinary waiter. The view of the Boise River from the patio on a warm, sunny day is heaven!

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful patio. Great dining experience ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful patio. Great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant in Eagle

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visiting Bella Aquila on Sunday for brunch for the first time and were thrilled with everything about the experience. The room, with a view of the river through the trees is beautiful, the food was outstanding with great variety, and the staff was warm and welcoming. We can't wait to visit again and highly recommend it. The eggs benedict was wonderful, and the smoked chicken and sweet potato hash with a poached egg was a perfect brunch treat.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem - must visit regularly

Dined on February 28, 2016

Hands down, the very best dinner experience in the Boise/Eagle area

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bella Bella Aquila

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

We discovered this gem on our first trip to Idaho. Bordering the Boise River, the views are wonderful. We never experienced the outdoor dining, but the dining inside was delightful. We loved the variety of homemade pasta on the menu...and the flat bread is truly fabulous! The restaurant provides a relaxing environment at lunch time, which seemed perfect as we looked out at the Boise River. Thank you, Bella Aquila!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten here a few times and every ti ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've eaten here a few times and every time the service and food leave me satisfied. I really like the way they keep the quality consistent. Best place I've eaten in all Idaho.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall, the experience was good. We we ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Overall, the experience was good. We were all satisfied with our food. Although, for the price, it would have been nice to have been offered more water.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

My opinion of this restaurant is a "good but not great" pick for a private romantic/date night dinner. There was nothing WRONG with the dinner or service, just wasn't mind blowing. I don't feel that you will be disappointed but I don't see myself clambering to go back there like I do for some restaurants. The wine list and the location right on the Boise River are the 2 best things. The chef went VERY heavy on the garlic, and I LOVE garlic, but too much and I was surprised to see the Valentine's Day Specials printed on a photo copied piece of pink paper like you would see at my kids PTA Dinner. All in all, not a bad place to go, with a few tweaks this place could be AWESOME!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Very Good

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I dine at Bella Aquila regularly. The owners are usually there to oversee great service. The staff is always friendly and attentive. We rarely have an entre' item we do not like and almost always find the presentation and taste great. We love sitting on the patio by the river in warmer weather. We brought our daughter and 1yr old granddaughter and had a great time. We felt welcome with a young child. To be fair, our granddaughter was content and not fussy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the serene surroundings. Will continue to go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

I was served frozen succotash on my $30.00 plate!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Husband and I went on Valentines day. I expected a far better meal than what we received. We were told that his "Petite Filet" was 8oz. It was more like 5. My blackened salmon was served with rice pilaf (which is short for we're not committed to do anything better) along with frozen succotash. The rice was cold and the lima bean, corn, green bean, and carrot menagerie was terrible. BTW, be aware that they don't honor substitutions....(wow!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere is great, especially in the summer when you can sit outside. The food was beautifully prepared and served in a timely manner. The wine list is awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Family table well served

Dined on February 9, 2016

We had family in for the week and this provided a nice dinner for the group. We always enjoy coming here. Th food is dependably good and the wine list not so over the top that a good bottle can be had a reasonable prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good!

Dined on January 23, 2016

My only complaint was it was very crowded, so I want to go back when the weather warms up, and we can spread out and relax a bit more.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They treat customers with appreciation.

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We love the quiet, cozy atmosphere. Bella Aquila offers large variety of food choices on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

View was great, my steak was super tende ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

View was great, my steak was super tender and flavorful. The service was efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eagle Gem

Dined on January 14, 2016

Always love eating at Bella Aquila! Food is always good and atmosphere is really nice! Very accommodating to dietary needs or if you just want to switch an item out! During the warmer weather, dining on the patio is a must!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great discovery in Eagle, ID

Dined on January 8, 2016

This is our second time at Bella Aquila. Food and service have both been very good each time we went. The "office building" location might make you wonder what to expect. However, the experience is definitely worth it. Very good food, good quantities, reasonably priced, great service. We will be going back here regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant; food food.

Dined on January 1, 2016

A lovely restaurant with very reasonable prices. Even on New Year's Eve when it was packed, we were able to hear ourselves talk and have a conversation - something that's hard to find these days! The food is excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Our waitress was great. ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was great. Our waitress was great. The person that delivered the drinks was not kind. We also noticed he was insulting to the other wait staff.

food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Not Great

Dined on December 25, 2015

Server was strange. Kept trying to speak Italian here and there but it was very awkward. Tried bringing us someone else's entrees. I had Fettucine Bianco, my wife had the salmon ravioli. The chef uses far too much sugar in the sauces. Both entrees were too sweet, if you can imagine that. Had a bright light from the hostess stand shining in my eyes. I don't recommend this restaurant.

food3
ambience2
service2

Dissapointed

Dined on December 13, 2015

I was all excited to try what I had heard was an amazing place but we got sat behind everything by the wine racks and on the other side of the bench was a large party very loud. I told them how dark it was but they had already sat us and every time someone came to check on us it was like an inconvenience they had to make the trip. the seafood pasta was very good but the veal masala was more like a gravy and very salty. it was so hard to see we took dessert to go.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.