About Bella Aquila

775 Rivershore Lane
Eagle, ID 83616
View Larger Map

Bella Aquila is a “ristorante romantico” with linens on the tables along with fresh flowers. The most beautiful patio in the entire Treasure Valley overlooks the North branch of the Boise River and is framed by two large rock fountains. Dress up and have a romantic dining experience with your special somebody or have a casual meal with friends or family. Private dining available for groups up to 70 people, inside or out (up to 40 in the private back room). Italian cuisine featuring house made pastas, sauces, breads and desserts prepared with the freshest local products available. Our Menu is a blend of traditional dishes from all over Italy as well as some twists and local flavors. We keep things interesting by offering seasonal, monthly and daily specials to highlight our culinary team’s imagination and skills. Our delicious food is complimented by a wine list that brings some of the best that Idaho, the Pacific Northwest, California and Italy offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:30pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 8:30pm; Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Rivershore Ln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 938-1900

Website:
http://bellaaquilarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Local talent is highlighted on our beautiful patio overlooking the Boise River. Contact the restaurant for more information regarding scheduled live entertainment.

Catering:
Bella Aquila Catering brings Italian BBQ to you. Your meal is prepared fresh at any location from our mobile kitchen trailer. Grilled food, Trager smoked meats, fresh pastas and right out of the oven baked goodness are yours anywhere.

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking surrounds Rivershore Place, the home of Bella Aquila. Turn off of Eagle Road at the signal on Rivershore Lane then left into our parking lot. Some spaces are restricted during daytime hours Monday through Friday.

Public Transit:
Public transit has stops within a short walk of Bella Aquila.

Executive Chef:
David Knickrehm

Private Party Facilities:
Private parties of 8 to 80 are possible and welcomed. Our dining room is divided into several areas and offers semi-private and more private options (limited by the size of your party). One semi-private area will accommodate a group up to 20 and overlooks the Boise River. Our private back room will seat up to 40 comfortably and our beautiful patio can accommodate up to 80 people. We offer a broad range of menu options and have a full bar, as well as beer and wine. We can tailor a wonderful private dining experience to fit all budgets.

Private Party Contact:
Chad Cooper, General Manager: 208-938-1900

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Eggplant Parmasean
  • Pesto Spinach Fettucini
  • Bruschetta
  • Calamari
  • Cioppino
  • Porco
Eggplant Parmasean
Pesto Spinach Fettucini
Bruschetta
Calamari
Cioppino
Porco

Bella Aquila Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Outdoor Dining
Idaho
4 More
Romantic
Idaho
Best Ambiance
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Eagle ›

great for outdoor dining (61)
special occasion (52)
scenic view (51)
See All
romantic (44)
neighborhood gem (34)
great for brunch (26)
notable wine list (22)
great for lunch (22)
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was perfectly cooked, the staff ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was perfectly cooked, the staff was attentive but not intrusive, and the views from the patio were beautiful. The cottonwoods were heavily shedding and blowing in the water and food but it was not too much of an issue.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Father's day Brunch ever. Amazing ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best Father's day Brunch ever. Amazing setting by the river, caring staff & superb food

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Bella Aguila. Always greeted by th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love Bella Aguila. Always greeted by the owner. Ambiance is pleasant. Great patio. This past Sunday was the only time I was disappointed with my meal. Poached eggs were not drained properly, so hollandaise sauce was runny.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Hors d'oeuvres: Excellent crab cakes! ...

Dined 7 days ago

Hors d'oeuvres: Excellent crab cakes! Wine list: They had a nice selection of wines. Main course: Both dinner entrées were good, not great. Service : Our server, Ryan, was excellent!

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Waiter was very helpful and went the ext ...

Dined 7 days ago

Waiter was very helpful and went the extra mile to get what I wanted. Unfortunately everything ordered, appetizers, main meal, were piled on the table at one time. The table was small and much time spent piling things up to get on the table. A little coordination between wait staff and chef to stage the eating experience would have been more appropriate. The auxiliary wait staff need to be trained. Coming to the table every couple of minutes, interrupting to ask you if you needed anything is annoying and should be avoided. Food was "average" with no spark...just solid table fare and plenty of it. Not impressive enough for special occasions. 4 stars for main waiter, 1 star for auxiliary wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on June 7, 2016

We're big Bella Aquila fans! Love their happy hours and love their dinners. This last visit was for my mom's 90th birthday. Our server remembered us from our last visit. The special was scampi pasta which we all ordered. It was the best I've ever had! Fresh pasta, fresh shrimp, fresh herbs, and the sauce was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe our favorite Boise place.

Dined on June 4, 2016

In all the years going here, always good service and food. Would highly recommend going here. If weather good , the patio is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

SELECTIVE

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good salad and pizza. You have to be selective. Their sauces are too heavy. Sometimes the food is better than other times. Inconsistency is a problem.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and relaxing atmosphere out o ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Great food and relaxing atmosphere out on the patio watching the river. Really enjoyed it!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

evening with friends

Dined on May 29, 2016

dinner on the terrace close to the river, was perfect evening and weather. The waitress was excellent. the food was top notch. Have eaten there before and always very satisfied and the friends we took this time were very impressed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place... It's the best Itali ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I love this place... It's the best Italian restaurant in Boise

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in the Treasure Valley

Dined on May 21, 2016

Maybe the finest eating in the State of Idaho! Tried them all, and this Bella Aquila tops them all. No matter the occasion, this is the site to have it. Great patio dining virtually on the Boise River with all the greenery you might want and two wonderful Rock Waterfalls to provide the 'white noise' that is so important to fine dining. Good wine list and a wide variety of dining choices make this a must-enjoy restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistently Good

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I frequently dine here with friends and alone. Bella Aquila has a pleasant atmosphere, good food, and a nice wine selection. The service personnel have always been helpful and friendly. In the warmer weather we love to sit outside next to the river. It is always a romantic time for the two of us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Our dining experience was very nice, lov ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our dining experience was very nice, lovely setting on the patio and we dined early so was not crowded. Would love to have had soup or salad come with our meals as the price point is quite high...seems the higher the price the less you get these days. My family thought the portions very small and we had to request more bread as there was only one small piece per person in the basket. I had the Seafood Fettuccine and it was plenty for me although the flavor was rather bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Snobbish waitress

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was okay during our friends get together that night except for an amazingly stand offish waitress. She acted like she was the queen, and we were there to serve her. She became a little softer and nicer closer to the bill/tip time though. We probably won't come again just because of this one person.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow slow slow

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mothers Day. Now you expect that it will be busy but it wasn't too bad. They were seating people without a reservation. Everything went fine but the food took over an hour to arrive. It was eggs, how hard is it to cook eggs? Not going back.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful Mother's Day brunch on the patio

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bella Aquilla has a beautiful patio. Their brunch was delicious. We will definitely be back this Spring/Summer to have brunch or dinner. I had dinner with some friends there this last winter and it was also very good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I have been several times. Never disappoints. Mother's Day breakfast was fantastic. Patio dining is incredible. Indoor seating is great as well. The service is always spot on, everyone is super friendly and accommodating, and the food is always wonderful and consistent. Definitely go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just so so...

Dined on May 8, 2016

For an upscale restaurant I expected more. The beef carpaccio was rather bland, not much flavor. Entrees were just ok, nothing really tasty or exciting. It took forever to arrive and we had to hunt down the server every time we needed something. We've been here several times and I think this may be the last. The food's not bad, just nothing special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Promising Restaraunt

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere was exceptional (we dined outside) and the menu was imaginative and unique. The result was somewhat disappointing to our taste, especially the appetizers. One entree was excellent and the other good to very good. This, of course, is a subjective judgment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food, very sluggish service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Normally I have nothing but glowing things to say about Bella and I seek it out for special occasions. This time though, I was there with 3 other friends to celebrate a birthday and we could hardly get the server to give us the time of day. 45 minutes to have our orders taken, 80 minutes to actually get our food. The server talked about drinking whiskey at home and seemed to not to want to be there. I'll still go back but it was bad luck of the draw this time with a bad server.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening dining.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beautiful Riverfront outdoor dining. Attentive servers that rarely miss a beat. Foodies will appreciate menu items and nightly specials. Halibut is our favorite as well as the Salmon. Great italian menus items that are staples. Bella never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting, fabulous food, who co ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Beautiful setting, fabulous food, who could ask for more?

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was wonderful, the atmosphere was great.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The meal was wonderful and the atmosphere was great. The restaurant was closed down and empty by 10:30 pm.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Mediocre service, good food

Dined on April 23, 2016

For being an upscale restaurant, the service of the support staff, i.e. Hostess, bussing staff did not align with "upscale." We felt as though we were putting them out by walking in (as a reservation) and when making any request. We were not greeted or welcomed, and were shown our table with an "I don't care that you're hear, and I really don't want to be here attitude, and it continued with the "busser," when we requested bread, lighting our candle, water, etc. No one greeted us with a hello, or welcome to Bella Aquila, my name is ... The two redeeming qualities were the cocktails and the food. We are customer service enthusiasts as I have worked in the restaurant service management industry for 8 years. For us, the subpar service demonstrated by the support staff was enough to make Bella Aquila a deal breaker. We'll stick with our consistent favorite fine dining Italian favorite in Meridian.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Not the normal expected service.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Met by a new young lackluster hostess. Unusually slow service. Even with a 5:30 seating, four waiters on a patio that eventually filled to about 1/2 to 3/4 capacity, no appetizers order, it took about an hour and 10 minutes to get the entree to the table of four.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent patio atmsphere on the river!

Dined on April 20, 2016

If you're looking for a romantic night out or a casual, fun patio exerience, you will love Bella Aquila. The menu offers something for everyone. My personal favorites are the sirloin salad and chicken marsala. You can't go wrong with starting off with martinis and mussels!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food, ok service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Phenomenal food, but it has a strange crowd you feel out of place whether your dressed up or down. Fantastic outdoor seating, little pricey for the service. Will go back to just get appetizers on the deck, the dining area is a bit cramped and awkward

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time visitor

Dined on April 11, 2016

We were invited to participate in a fund-raiser dinner here, so I read up on the reviews, scanned the menu before going. The reviews were either good or bad. So I thought I would try to pay attention to the experience, and honestly didn't experience any of the negative comments seen on the reviews. Having lived in Italy for 4 years, we are always a bit leery in ordering in an Italian restaurant, but ordered the Clams & Mussels as an appetizer, rated it a 6/10. My husband ordered the Chicken Picatta and said it was a 8.5/10. Daughter ordered the Tortellini Carbonara, giving it a 7/10. I had a spinach salad and thought it was good. Wine suggestion was wonderful, a Malbec. Husband had a top shelf martini that was exceptionally good. We arrived at 5:00pm, the owner welcomed us and seated us outside, which was beautiful and relaxing. Service was prompt and courteous, with our waitress, Stephanie, very familiar with the menu and wine/drink options. An all in all great experience and definitely will go again. The only negative comment I would make is that, each time I drive past this restaurant, the kitchen crew is standing at the side of the building in their white aprons, smoking, which, when we walked up, wafted towards the entrance and is not an inviting first impression.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

We love Bella Aquila! Everything is grea ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We love Bella Aquila! Everything is great...especially the bread. A huge kudos to Eric, an extraordinary waiter. The view of the Boise River from the patio on a warm, sunny day is heaven!

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful patio. Great dining experience ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Wonderful patio. Great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant in Eagle

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visiting Bella Aquila on Sunday for brunch for the first time and were thrilled with everything about the experience. The room, with a view of the river through the trees is beautiful, the food was outstanding with great variety, and the staff was warm and welcoming. We can't wait to visit again and highly recommend it. The eggs benedict was wonderful, and the smoked chicken and sweet potato hash with a poached egg was a perfect brunch treat.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem - must visit regularly

Dined on February 28, 2016

Hands down, the very best dinner experience in the Boise/Eagle area

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bella Bella Aquila

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

We discovered this gem on our first trip to Idaho. Bordering the Boise River, the views are wonderful. We never experienced the outdoor dining, but the dining inside was delightful. We loved the variety of homemade pasta on the menu...and the flat bread is truly fabulous! The restaurant provides a relaxing environment at lunch time, which seemed perfect as we looked out at the Boise River. Thank you, Bella Aquila!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I've eaten here a few times and every ti ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've eaten here a few times and every time the service and food leave me satisfied. I really like the way they keep the quality consistent. Best place I've eaten in all Idaho.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall, the experience was good. We we ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Overall, the experience was good. We were all satisfied with our food. Although, for the price, it would have been nice to have been offered more water.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

My opinion of this restaurant is a "good but not great" pick for a private romantic/date night dinner. There was nothing WRONG with the dinner or service, just wasn't mind blowing. I don't feel that you will be disappointed but I don't see myself clambering to go back there like I do for some restaurants. The wine list and the location right on the Boise River are the 2 best things. The chef went VERY heavy on the garlic, and I LOVE garlic, but too much and I was surprised to see the Valentine's Day Specials printed on a photo copied piece of pink paper like you would see at my kids PTA Dinner. All in all, not a bad place to go, with a few tweaks this place could be AWESOME!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Very Good

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I dine at Bella Aquila regularly. The owners are usually there to oversee great service. The staff is always friendly and attentive. We rarely have an entre' item we do not like and almost always find the presentation and taste great. We love sitting on the patio by the river in warmer weather. We brought our daughter and 1yr old granddaughter and had a great time. We felt welcome with a young child. To be fair, our granddaughter was content and not fussy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the serene surroundings. Will continue to go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

I was served frozen succotash on my $30.00 plate!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Husband and I went on Valentines day. I expected a far better meal than what we received. We were told that his "Petite Filet" was 8oz. It was more like 5. My blackened salmon was served with rice pilaf (which is short for we're not committed to do anything better) along with frozen succotash. The rice was cold and the lima bean, corn, green bean, and carrot menagerie was terrible. BTW, be aware that they don't honor substitutions....(wow!)

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.