Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.40mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Beef 'N Bottle

.
We will open for large groups of 30 or more during the day, between 11am and 4pm, and provide dining, meeting space and A/V equipment for a set fee ! Special Note: The Main dining room or "The Old Part" as locals call it, is booked weeks in advance!!!

Consistently The Best Steaks In The USA...By USA Today!

The Beef ' N Bottle Steakhouse in Charlotte, NC has been the locals choice for fine steaks and seafood since 1958. We are located at 4538 South Blvd In Charlotte, NC 28209. Just 10 minutes from the airport. 1/2 price wine bottles & glasses Monday & Thursday.

4538 South Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

1 and 1/2 hour TIME LIMIT for 4 or less, 2 hour TIME LIMIT on 5 or more


Cross Street:
1 Block North of Woodlawn Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 523-9977

Website:
http://www.beefandbottle.net/

Parking Details:
We offer plentiful parking in the back of the restaurant in our private parking lot. It can accommodate up to 60 vehicles and all parking is FREE

Public Transit:
We are about a 5 minute walk to the Lynx Blue line, which is convenient to Uptown. Panther stadium and the new BB&T ballpark.

Executive Chef:
Lisa Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for business dinners, etc for up to 10 guests Sunday-Thursday. We take larger parties (up to 25ppl) in our enclosed Atrium area which is both heated and air conditioned!

Private Party Contact:
Host/Hostess: (704) 523-9977

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Beef 'N Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for Birthdays (29)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (24)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (21)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

We’ve been going to the Beef and Bottle for years. The place is as good today as it was the first time. Had another great experience last night. Keaton, our server, was awesome! We’ll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful once again.
Best filets in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great until we were asked to leave our booth because someone was waiting for it. It was 8:30 and we just finished our coffee and just finished paying the bill. We were Just finishing up but then rushed and pushed out of our seat was uncalled for when there were plenty of empty table as around us. Our out of town guess was shocked as we were an had to apologize to him a few times. He left in disbelief

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Wonderful food. Unpretentious atmosphere. Not for folks who want to see and be seen but if you value good food and nice people this is your place

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Simply the best in Charlotte. We don't want to go anywhere else for steak. It's the wait staff that make it even better. Our server had been there 15 years - great guy - shared history of the business with us. Special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2018

We had a 5:30 reservation and arrived on a rainy Friday night at 5:38pm. The hostess was rude and told us we were late and that we must be finished by 7:00pm because they needed our table. The restaurant was half full, it was storming outside, really? Horrible first impression. Just give us good service and we would have been finished by 7:00pm no problem.

The steaks were very good, excellent quality and cooked perfectly. We ordered a crab dip and oysters Rockefeller appetizer. The crab dip was very good, the oysters Rockefeller very bad. There was some weird ginger flavor not normally associated with this dish (I am from New Orleans, where it was invented). We has appetizers, steaks and even shared a cheese cake dessert (very good cheese cake). We paid the check by 6:55pm...such an unnecessary poor first impression.

The restaurant is old, but we'll maintained, overall not too impressed with the decor and low celings. Table service and steaks were very good. No owner or manager in sight greeting guests or talking to customers, that I could see. As we left I felt unappreciated. I prefer Ruth's or DelFrisco's for the price which seemed about equal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

I have looked forward to visiting this restaurant for years. Unfortunately, our experience was not as wonderful as everyone else that I have spoken to. We do not get out for date night a lot with two young kids, so it was even more disappointing. First we were sat at a booth in the corner next to the bathroom. The door was expanded due to the humidity so we heard people struggling to get in and out of the restroom all night. When I asked to be moved to a different table I was told there were no other tables available. We came to a 5:30 dinner and I saw multiple tables empty from the start to end of our dinner. Our server was underwhelming. He got us what we needed and was pleasant, but I had to ask him for the specials and he was not around for a majority of the meal. It seemed like everyone else had and experience with their servers and we had an $100 dinner that you could get anywhere else. I watched multiple servers give exceptional service to other tables, so needless to say I was extremely disappointed. Also, I had the filet and Lobster with crab topping with a wine butter sauce, it came with the crab, but no sauce. When I asked the server he told me it did not come with the sauce, and brought me some butter and a red sauce. I was still charged for the other topping. Just a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

The food was excellent and our server was the BEST. She really took good care of us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Had heard of this place but had never tried it during my 23 years in the immediate Charlotte area. Met son & daughter-in-law for a nice weeknight dinner together at the Beef & Bottle and was sorry I had not tried it sooner. Around for 60 years, B&B serves excellently prepared high quality steaks with all normal toppings available. As my daughter-in-law doesn’t eat red meat, I was careful to review the dinner menu on-line before suggesting the B&B and was pleasantly surprised to find several good seafood and chicken alternatives. That even led me to choose the very satisfying filet and crab cake combination.

Service was excellent, reflecting the fact that many of the crew have been there for many years. Quality was outstanding, and the relatively reasonable price made it a high value night.

We’ll definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 9, 2018

This was an 80th Birthday celebration and, although the B&B did not know about it, the service, food and ambiance were stellar.
When we asked the waiter at the end of our meal if there was a birthday treat for a special birthday, he said "of course" and appeared with a dessert to share.
Awesome experience. An iconic Charlotte restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great way to spend an evening. Incredible meal and equally great service. Can’t wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2017

What a find! We’ve lived in CLT for ten years and didn’t discover Beef N Bottle until now. Simply THE best steakhouse in Charlotte! Great meal, great friendly service! We’ll be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

So disappointed. When we arrived we were told that we could only have the table for 90 minutes. Had I known this I would never have gone to eat there under these circumstances. So right off the bat we were clock watching making us feel rushed. This is an expensive restaurant and the timing of a meal is very off putting. They try to double or triple seat but they would be better served treating their clientele better.

The restaurant was very noisy..it was hard to have a conversation in a normal tone.

Our server was terrific and tried to calm us down. We ordered and waited quite a while for our food to arrive. The steaks weren’t up to par.. both were extra fatty. The sides were cold. We didn’t bother to send anything back. We were over our allotted time but allowed to finish our meal.

I’m not sure I will return..there are other options for steak in Charlotte.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

I have tried multiple high-end restaurants and this was by far the best quality, service and overall experience!

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We love the food at the Beef and Bottle and go quite often- lately we have been relegated to a small room in the center of the restaurant which we do not like and had requested to be seated in a different location- either of the other rooms which was promptly ignored. I had made the reservation very early to assure this didn't happen- we will have to call in the future- as written instructions are not addressed apparently thru open table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Food awesome service ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Perfect night!! Service and food was outstanding!! Rick knows how to run a restaurant! Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2017

We arrived at 6:25 pm for a 6:30 pm reservation on 12/21. We waited 5 minutes and an elderly gentleman sat us, looked as his watch and said ‘We need the table back at 8:00 pm. You should have enough time.’ We were surprised. First, on OpenTable, there is no mention of a time limit. Second, we are in Charlotte – not New York. Suffice it to say, we now felt like we were up against the clock. By the time the main meal service was done it was 7:45 pm. They asked if we wanted dessert and we declined - clock ticking. Around that time the elderly gentleman, who we later found our is a co-owner, asked how things were. We stated our frustration with the ‘time limit’. He shrugged his shoulders, said that ‘this is how we do things’ and then walked off! We did not even have time to tell him about the cold food…

Given the time, we skipped appetizers and went for the mains and sides. Three of us ordered the filet and lobster tail combo. One of us ordered just the filet. Each entrée came with two sides. For those of us with the lobster tail, they arrived overcooked and barley warm. The clarified butter was starting to congeal. My steak was medium rare as I had ordered. However, two of us had ordered the fillets as medium well, yet they clearly arrived as medium rare. Each of the steaks is served with an onion ring on top - they were cold and inedible. Sides were fine, but baked potatoes and salads are hard to mess up. All of that for 4 people came to $350 with one $60 bottle of wine.

Our server that night was fine. However, the food issues coupled with the co-owner's attitude were all a let down. Some will say that Beef and Bottle is ‘old school’ or ‘an institution’. Don’t get sucked in. At best, this place is below average and is clearly showing signs of decay. Read the management responses to negative reviews – most places are interested in learning how to do better. They just hurl insults.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Awesome! Our waiter was attentive but did not rush us. Steak was perfect and wine served was at correct temp. Enjoyed the evening! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2017

It’s hard not to love this fabulous restaurant. We save it for special occasions, but it is so wonderfully delicious, I could go every week! Service is always impeccable and the steaks are heavenly. We love the 1950s themed supper club atmosphere. It’s just delicious fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was fantastic. A great place to go still. Went there frequently when I lived on that side of town. Happy I went back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Absolutely perfect as always. We were seated immediately per my request at a booth instead of a table. Steaks were cooked perfectly as ordered. My date had the broccoli (which I had never had before) and it was cooked perfectly. Yellowfin appetizer is my new go-to. Love the wasabi sauce and it’s not super filling where you can’t enjoy the rest of your meal. Just a great meal and my favorite restaurant in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 13, 2017

I asked for a longer reservation because I needed to have a meeting as well as dinner. It was in my special request for this time and the reason we came early. While we had the meeting we ordered appetizers and drinks. When we were finished we ordered dinner and wine. Our entrees were pushed on top of our salads and our waitress told us we had to leave in 30 min. She almost refused to offer dessert and dropped the check when she brought the pie with a curt “thanks” before running away. I have never spent $300+ and been ushered out so fast. I will reconsider before going here for business again. I did alert the restaurant and expected better results. We would have spent easily another $100 and always gone back had this not happened. They were lucky the food was so good but I will likely skip special occasions moving forward.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Great food and great service. The actual location looked a little sketchy and inside was a li The top “rustic” but the great food and service made up for it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Food was great waitstaff even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Always an excellent choice for a business meal with out of town guest! Very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was really good. Everything else, not so much. Our table was in the back corner right next to the bathroom and felt separated from the restaurant. The table was usually surrounded by open and closed tray stands laying around. My wife and I went their for her 40th birthday and that was mentioned in our reservation. It seemed like most groups were at the restaurant for a birthday and we witnessed them bringing over a complimentary dessert to all those tables, but nothing for us. We waited about 15 minutes or so after we had finished eating our meat for our waiter, or anybody else, to come back to our table and ask about dessert or coffee and after waiting so long, we were ready to just leave. All in all, it was about 20-25 minutes from when we finished eating until I was able to sign the check and get out and this is a place where they have signs up on the door limiting dining to 90 minutes and we couldn't get out fast enough. Just not attentive at all.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

I come here once a year with my wife in December. It was the best steak I have had in years. I think it was even better than last year. I would definitely recommend it for any date. But be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 28, 2017

We had been told this was the best place to get a steak. The steak was good, the potato was filling, and housemade bleu cheese was special and right for the occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2017

energeticand noisy is two different things it was very noisy ,,,a quieter spot than at the enterance door would be nicer on hot date night ,,it was a greatr place to eat and hang though...going again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

During a weekend getaway to queen city I Googled restaurants near us where we were staying at beers and Bottles popped up it look like it be interesting to eat there make a reservation and it was absolutely amazing Best I Ever Had it can be a little pricey two people was $100 plus tip special occasion type restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Amazing steaks. Great service. Great times! Very busy but courteous and the bartender was great.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Another great meal at Beef and Bottle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 21, 2017

The occasion for Beef N Bottle was to celebrate my husbands birthday! We had excellent service and the waitress said she had only been working there 7 months. It has been at least a year sense we visited this neighborhood gem and as always the food did not disappoint. You can count on the food being consistently cook to your liking. Definitely recommend if you want steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 21, 2017

We love Beef & Bottle for special occasions. This visit was not as awesome as it usually is. We were served wilted/browning iceberg lettuce & my husband’s medium-well done stake was mooing if poked with a fork in the Center and medium rare at best on the edges. When we asked the waitress if they could cook it a bit more she said since we were taking the left overs home it was better to leave it like this, never even acknowledging it was not cooked properly. Service was ok, but not what expect for the price. This was our first ever not great experience and I would give it another try for sure, the scampi sauce is from heaven, but if the next experience was not great, that would be the end.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Excellent as always. Steaks are the best. Our go to for dining out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2017

It was awesome! Best steak (and meal in general) that I’ve had in a long time. Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Beef and Bottle is the best kept secret in Charlotte. We come here every year for our anniversary and they always make us feel special. Incredible food, awesome service and the best steak in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Our second time visiting, this visit was just as great as the first !
We will be back again for sure ! Laura P. is THE perfect server
we'd like to add !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Our steaks were incredible, and service fantastic! Oyster appetizer was delicious, as was dessert.
A few side notes that didn't bother us at all, but might be good to know:
The sides were good and salad fresh, but nothing can compare to the steaks so the sides seem less great. Our server had prompt attention, and brought out complimentary dessert for a birthday. Since drinks, and each course were brought out promptly (but only after the previous course finished) we dined in just under 2 hours (taking our time). However, we have heard that after two hours they will ask you to order your next round of drinks from the Bar. knowing this in advance, it wasn't an issue and we never felt rushed.

Strongly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.