About Beef 'N Bottle

4538 South Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28209
View Larger Map



We will open for large groups of 30 or more during the day, between 11am and 4pm, and provide dining, meeting space and A/V equipment for a set fee ! Call 704-523-9977 for details.... Special Note: The Main dining room or "The Old Part" as locals call it, is booked weeks in advance!!!

Consistently The Best Steaks In The USA...By USA Today!

The Beef ' N Bottle Steakhouse in Charlotte, NC has been the locals choice for fine steaks and seafood since 1958. We are located at 4538 South Blvd In Charlotte, NC 28209. Just 10 minutes from the airport. 1/2 price wine bottles & glasses Monday & Thursday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

1 and 1/2 hour BOOTH time limit on weekends and holidays.


Cross Street:
1 Block North of Woodlawn Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 523-9977

Website:
http://www.beefandbottle.net/

Parking Details:
We offer plentiful parking in the back of the restaurant in our private parking lot. It can accommodate up to 60 vehicles and all parking is FREE

Public Transit:
We are about a 5 minute walk to the Lynx Blue line, which is convenient to Uptown. Panther stadium and the new BB&T ballpark.

Executive Chef:
Lisa Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for business dinners, etc for up to 10 guests Sunday-Thursday. We take larger parties (up to 25ppl) in our enclosed Atrium area which is both heated and air conditioned!

Private Party Contact:
Host/Hostess: (704) 523-9977

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Beef 'N Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Business Meals (26)
Historic (24)
Cozy (23)
Romantic (21)
Authentic (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there to celebrate a birthday. O ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there to celebrate a birthday. One of the best places in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to our evening. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

We were looking forward to our evening. The two of us who ordered the Rib-eye steaks (medium rare) were extremely disappointed. The steaks were unbelievably tough, to the point that they were almost impossible to cut, much less eat. The other guests fared better, as they ordered different cuts. We still enjoyed being together, but the sub-par meat definitely marred the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for my 29th birthday. Everything ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for my 29th birthday. Everything was delicious! We started out w the oysters Rockefeller - great choice! I loved the salad, the filet and the birthday brownie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful!! Hands down. Don't go with a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful!! Hands down. Don't go with a chain steak house. Go old school. Being form New York and eating at steak houses around the country. This is hands down my favorite. Make sure you get the Delmonico.! Stay away from the oysters!! But everything else. Wonderful

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. Not necessarily ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

What a great restaurant. Not necessarily a sight for sore eyes on the outside but a fantastic classic upscale steakhouse inside. The food was outstanding. 1/2 price wine on mondays helped. I will definitely come back here again

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff extremely friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable..Always there when you need them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a reservation at 9, then two people ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a reservation at 9, then two people walked in front of us without a reservation and they got seated 40 minutes before us. We didn't get seated till close to 10. Ate here many of times very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Beef and Bottle is a Charlotte instituti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Beef and Bottle is a Charlotte institution. Diane was a great server. We were seated at a good seat and were moved to a better seat without asking. The food was delicious and the ambiance cozy. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food. Would ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service, delicious food. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great night out. Plan to linger and enjoy the ambiance. Loved hearing all the "oldies".

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Beef and Bottle! Two of our part ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I love Beef and Bottle! Two of our party of five were celebrating birthdays, and as usual, Rick and his team made us welcome and took excellent care of us. The steaks never disappoint. The baked potato and fresh, crisp salads served with the best homemade blue cheese and thousand island dressings are consistently great. The wait staff also make the cocktails for their guests, and they have it down to a science.....best martini on the planet! If you haven't tried this wonderful gem of a steakhouse, you definitely should.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iconic Charlotte Steakhouse. Consistentl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Iconic Charlotte Steakhouse. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were great

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Steaks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Amazing dinner. Food was excellent. Grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing dinner. Food was excellent. Great drinks. Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food and Service! I got a Ribe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent Food and Service! I got a Ribeye and it was cooked to perfection..

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every meal at Beef 'n Bottle is outstand ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Every meal at Beef 'n Bottle is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak and salmon.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great steak and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great visit to B&B. First time ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Another great visit to B&B. First time for one of my friends and he was surprised. As with many diners, if you are used to Capital Grille, you will question what you are doing there once you step into the dark, red-light-lit décor from the 50s, but once you start going through the experience you will get it and learn to appreciate the throwback style.. Food was excellent again and steaks were all perfectly cooked. Service was also strong with a friendly and patient waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delmonico ribeye does not disappoint. Gu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delmonico ribeye does not disappoint. Guest enjoyed filet and lobster tail. Both of us had salads with homemade dressing. French onion soup and fried onion rings were delicious too. Service started slow, chalk that up to holidays. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was good, but not great. Very salty ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good, but not great. Very salty!! The crab dip, however, was terrific.

The staff, including our server, was very friendly. Our server, however, was not present. We needed things and had to ask other staff members for them. We ordered beverages that were never brought, etc. It was 12/23, so they may have just been short-staffed for the holiday rush.

The restaurant was loud, certainly helped by the woman sitting behind us. My daughter, who was sitting next to me, couldn't hear what I was saying. Very annoying situation, and I suspect the staff was annoyed too.

Overall, not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Steak and crab cake were excellent.....h ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steak and crab cake were excellent.....have had better bleu cheese dressing....this tasted like just mayo and ok quality bleu cheese. Our server was terrific.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were seated quickly, 10 minutes befor ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were seated quickly, 10 minutes before our reservation. It took a little longer than expected for the server to take our order but once we ordered everything moved along quickly. Great steaks!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, , Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been coming to Beef n Bottle abou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I have been coming to Beef n Bottle about twice a year for the past 15+ years and I have never been so embarrassed. We invited some dear friends out for a nice meal as a way to say thank you for the generosity they've shown us throughout the year. We made a reservation and appeared on time. We'd told our friends that BNB is a Charlotte tradition - a mainstay - with an ambiance all to itself. And then we were jammed into the back room with a multitude of other holiday parties, seated at a Costco folding table right in the pathway of the waitstaff. As more and more people began waiting at the bar for their tables we began to be bumped by purses and the like. We asked our very helpful, but completely overwhelmed, waiter if we could either have people take their drinks somewhere else or be moved ourselves. After about 15 minutes they chose to move us to an equally loud, but at least out of the main thoroughfare, table that had been vacated (not sure whose reservation suffered by the move but frankly didn't care at that point). The servers immediately folded up the card table we'd been sitting at and removed it (indicating to me that someone realized it never should have been there to begin with). We had to shout to hear one another through the entire meal. The food was fine but not great (we never got any bread), our server made up for his spotty attention with a good attitude and the tab for our "experience" was $283. I felt as though I'd taken our friends to a sports bar for a burger rather than to a fine dining restaurant meant to be a treat. I understand trying to capitalize on the holiday season but found this to be over the top and very disappointing. We will not be back. We'll just cook steaks at home rather than spend what would feed a family of 4 for a month and have to yell across the table and hope not to have a steak knife plunge into our dinner or our hearts should it descend from a tray being precariously passed over our heads. Just completely disgusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

After 20 years of wanting to eat at BNB, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

After 20 years of wanting to eat at BNB, I finally did it and was so pleased. The steak was cooked perfectly and the loaded potato was scrumptious. We happened to go on a 1/2 price bottle of wine night which was a pleasant surprise. There are two things which could stand improvement. We were seated in a small side room which was TOO cozy - I could not get in my seat without asking the man at the table next to me if he could scoot in. Also it was my 20th wedding anniversary which I noted on my reservation on Open Table however the restaurant did not acknowledge the occasion. Ruth's Chris has never failed to ecognize the occasion if stated on your reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

May be the best piece of beef I have eve ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

May be the best piece of beef I have ever had. Seasoned and cooked to perfection. Attentive and efficient service. A really nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As alway it was wonderful.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As alway it was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always. Not a better steak in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Perfect as always. Not a better steak in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John (old man river) has never disappoin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 20, 2016

John (old man river) has never disappointed us. He always remembers we are from Wi. Very impressive.

Tags: Historic, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellently prepared. O ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Delicious food, excellently prepared. Outstanding service despite the crowds that kept the staff hopping. This is a must place for lovers of steak and classic restaurants that have mostly disappeared. Several of us ordered seafood and grilled chicken. Both just as delicious as the "meat." We dined in the back room which is an outside area in warmer weather. We would have preferred the front room with booths or the small room behind it. When people left via the back door ,we were right in the blast of cold air. But more importantly, the room was really noisy because of the large groups (office and friends' office parties) there for holiday celebrations. We couldn't hear across the table. We will come back, but not anytime around the holidays.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I know it's expensive,and I know it's no ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I know it's expensive,and I know it's noisy. But for the best steak in Charlotte, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great spot for an evening out or special ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great spot for an evening out or special occasion! We celebrated my son's 19th bday while he was home from college. A delicious meal and outstanding service. Filet was perfect and we recommend the shrimp cocktail

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Dave was completely inattentive a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Waiter Dave was completely inattentive and setting at table for two when reservations were for 4- reserved FAR in advance and confirmed table hour prior to arrival.

Brought guests who had never been to this historic establishment and were very disappointed at the lack of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food . I've always sat in the fron ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food . I've always sat in the front of the restaurant we were seated in the addition and it's not the same atmosphere. Food is great though.. worth a try 😊

Tags: Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We've eaten here many times over the yea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We've eaten here many times over the years and this was the first time we were seated in the large room (patio?). It was over crowded, noisy, large party next to us, we could not hear our own conversations, and the tables were placed way too close for comfortable dining. Disappointed. However, our server was wonderful! Next time I will request a booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

One of my favorites.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I enjoyed this unpretentio ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My family and I enjoyed this unpretentious landmark restaurant. The food was superb, the wait staff friendly and down-to-earth, and the ambience fun because the restaurant still has that 60s vibe.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had our 26th Wedding Anniv ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My wife and I had our 26th Wedding Anniversary dinner here. The service was outstanding and the staff was very outgoing and personable. Will be back soon!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Business Meals, , Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Beef & Bottle twice befor ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I have been to Beef & Bottle twice before and had great experiences but this last visit was a bit disappointing. Our table of 4 all ordered boneless Ribeyes and they all came out under cooked (some very under cooked). Very surprising for a restaurant that specializes in steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The only issue is comfort, we sat on pla ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The only issue is comfort, we sat on plastic folding chairs which at first was ok but after while very uncomfortable especially when you pay $40 a steak, not good.

Also I sat next to server control computer, where register tape kept ringing in my ear.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

The restaurant received our reservation ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The restaurant received our reservation at a time that they realized they had overbooked. To make sure we'd be accommodated they went out that afternoon and bought a table. Then they offered us a free appetizer as well. Our seat was a bit in the traffic flow but all in all not so bad. Here's to great hospitality all around!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

From the outside, it looks very run-down ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 1, 2016

From the outside, it looks very run-down - however, when you step inside, it is like you have stepped back into an amazing time. Old Hollywood photos cover the walls, there is a cozy bar area with a friendly bartender, and the intimate seating creates the perfect atmosphere...how restaurants used to be! We were celebrating a birthday and all the staff made us feel special. The food was superb and served in an old-school way. I recommended this to many friends and family and will definitely return. Thank you for the impeccable evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.