About Beef 'N Bottle

4538 South Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28209
View Larger Map



We will open for large groups of 30 or more during the day, between 11am and 4pm, and provide dining, meeting space and A/V equipment for a set fee ! Call 704-523-9977 for details.... Special Note: The Main dining room or "The Old Part" as locals call it, is booked weeks in advance!!!

Consistently The Best Steaks In The USA...By USA Today!

The Beef ' N Bottle Steakhouse in Charlotte, NC has been the locals choice for fine steaks and seafood since 1958. We are located at 4538 South Blvd In Charlotte, NC 28209. Just 10 minutes from the airport. 1/2 price wine bottles & glasses Monday & Thursday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

1 and 1/2 hour BOOTH time limit on weekends and holidays.


Cross Street:
1 Block North of Woodlawn Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 523-9977

Website:
http://www.beefandbottle.net/

Parking Details:
We offer plentiful parking in the back of the restaurant in our private parking lot. It can accommodate up to 60 vehicles and all parking is FREE

Public Transit:
We are about a 5 minute walk to the Lynx Blue line, which is convenient to Uptown. Panther stadium and the new BB&T ballpark.

Executive Chef:
Lisa Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for business dinners, etc for up to 10 guests Sunday-Thursday. We take larger parties (up to 25ppl) in our enclosed Atrium area which is both heated and air conditioned!

Private Party Contact:
Host/Hostess: (704) 523-9977

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Beef 'N Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for Birthdays (29)
Historic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Business Meals (26)
Authentic (23)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great steak, always impeccable ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great steak, always impeccable service. Beef and Bottle is a quaint, old school steak house that is a great for a special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The level of service was above anything ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

The level of service was above anything I would have expected. We were seated promptly even though they were very busy. We waited for nothing but were not smothered by the staff. Our food was prepared perfectly and was more than we could finish. This is our restaurant for all special occasions and perfect for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an amazing experience. We took de ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always an amazing experience. We took desserts home this time and they were great!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a regular OpenTable- but seating wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I am a regular OpenTable- but seating was not in a booth/ which one was open in full sight from me- the entire time.

Noise level grows outside booth.

In future OpenTable reservations should merit booths!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Good visit but service was a bit spotty. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good visit but service was a bit spotty. Server was very friendly and attentive but she disappeared for way too long in between. Apps came in soon, but main course took almost 45 mins from the time we ordered. Still, really cool place to eat a steak with friends or family, with retro feeling and quality steaks since they updated the kitchen a few months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was one of a kind.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was one of a kind.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here to celebrate a birthday and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were here to celebrate a birthday and the whole night was great. Our waitress was awesome and the food was so good, 10x better then Ruth's Chris, which we had gone to recently.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our second time at the restaurant was as ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our second time at the restaurant was as good as the first one. Being in the quiet room was better atmosphere for our anniversary this year. The steak was wonderful as were the sides. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef 'n Bottle is a wonderful dining exp ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Beef 'n Bottle is a wonderful dining experience. The food is always excellent and the atmosphere is so unique. Always great, friendly service.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Historic, Fun, , Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friends birthday. Service and food w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A friends birthday. Service and food was amazing but it was definitely hard to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal.Steak was superb and service ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great meal.Steak was superb and service was excellent. Old time steak house from the 50's. Nothing fancy outside. Great food and ambiance inside.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, David, was very helpful and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our waiter, David, was very helpful and attentive. The food was excellent. Beef 'N

Bottle is one of Charlotte's oldest and best restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Avoid the house salad, everything else i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Avoid the house salad, everything else is great. I wish they had fresh bread, but the cheese ball is part of their charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful as usual. Howev ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was wonderful as usual. However, the waitress lacked attention. I told her I would have water as long as she kept my glass full, no problem she said. That did not happen. Need more of the wonderful blue cheese salad dressing & had to go find the waitress to let her know!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Steaks were delicious! Dressings fabulo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Steaks were delicious! Dressings fabulous. Pricing was more than I expected. Great waiter. Would do again but for special occasion. Too pricey for everyday folks.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate a birthday. O ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were there to celebrate a birthday. One of the best places in Charlotte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to our evening. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were looking forward to our evening. The two of us who ordered the Rib-eye steaks (medium rare) were extremely disappointed. The steaks were unbelievably tough, to the point that they were almost impossible to cut, much less eat. The other guests fared better, as they ordered different cuts. We still enjoyed being together, but the sub-par meat definitely marred the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for my 29th birthday. Everything ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We went for my 29th birthday. Everything was delicious! We started out w the oysters Rockefeller - great choice! I loved the salad, the filet and the birthday brownie!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful!! Hands down. Don't go with a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful!! Hands down. Don't go with a chain steak house. Go old school. Being form New York and eating at steak houses around the country. This is hands down my favorite. Make sure you get the Delmonico.! Stay away from the oysters!! But everything else. Wonderful

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. Not necessarily ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

What a great restaurant. Not necessarily a sight for sore eyes on the outside but a fantastic classic upscale steakhouse inside. The food was outstanding. 1/2 price wine on mondays helped. I will definitely come back here again

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff extremely friendly and knowle ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wait staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable..Always there when you need them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a reservation at 9, then two people ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a reservation at 9, then two people walked in front of us without a reservation and they got seated 40 minutes before us. We didn't get seated till close to 10. Ate here many of times very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Beef and Bottle is a Charlotte instituti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beef and Bottle is a Charlotte institution. Diane was a great server. We were seated at a good seat and were moved to a better seat without asking. The food was delicious and the ambiance cozy. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food. Would ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great night out. Plan to linger and enjoy the ambiance. Loved hearing all the "oldies".

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Beef and Bottle! Two of our part ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love Beef and Bottle! Two of our party of five were celebrating birthdays, and as usual, Rick and his team made us welcome and took excellent care of us. The steaks never disappoint. The baked potato and fresh, crisp salads served with the best homemade blue cheese and thousand island dressings are consistently great. The wait staff also make the cocktails for their guests, and they have it down to a science.....best martini on the planet! If you haven't tried this wonderful gem of a steakhouse, you definitely should.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner! Steaks were perfect. Our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Best dinner! Steaks were perfect. Our server was friendly and set a great tone for our dining experience. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iconic Charlotte Steakhouse. Consistentl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Iconic Charlotte Steakhouse. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were great

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Steaks were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Amazing dinner. Food was excellent. Grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing dinner. Food was excellent. Great drinks. Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food and Service! I got a Ribe ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent Food and Service! I got a Ribeye and it was cooked to perfection..

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every meal at Beef 'n Bottle is outstand ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Every meal at Beef 'n Bottle is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak and salmon.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great steak and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great visit to B&B. First time ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Another great visit to B&B. First time for one of my friends and he was surprised. As with many diners, if you are used to Capital Grille, you will question what you are doing there once you step into the dark, red-light-lit décor from the 50s, but once you start going through the experience you will get it and learn to appreciate the throwback style.. Food was excellent again and steaks were all perfectly cooked. Service was also strong with a friendly and patient waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delmonico ribeye does not disappoint. Gu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delmonico ribeye does not disappoint. Guest enjoyed filet and lobster tail. Both of us had salads with homemade dressing. French onion soup and fried onion rings were delicious too. Service started slow, chalk that up to holidays. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was good, but not great. Very salty ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good, but not great. Very salty!! The crab dip, however, was terrific.

The staff, including our server, was very friendly. Our server, however, was not present. We needed things and had to ask other staff members for them. We ordered beverages that were never brought, etc. It was 12/23, so they may have just been short-staffed for the holiday rush.

The restaurant was loud, certainly helped by the woman sitting behind us. My daughter, who was sitting next to me, couldn't hear what I was saying. Very annoying situation, and I suspect the staff was annoyed too.

Overall, not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Steak and crab cake were excellent.....h ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steak and crab cake were excellent.....have had better bleu cheese dressing....this tasted like just mayo and ok quality bleu cheese. Our server was terrific.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were seated quickly, 10 minutes befor ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were seated quickly, 10 minutes before our reservation. It took a little longer than expected for the server to take our order but once we ordered everything moved along quickly. Great steaks!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, , Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have been coming to Beef n Bottle abou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I have been coming to Beef n Bottle about twice a year for the past 15+ years and I have never been so embarrassed. We invited some dear friends out for a nice meal as a way to say thank you for the generosity they've shown us throughout the year. We made a reservation and appeared on time. We'd told our friends that BNB is a Charlotte tradition - a mainstay - with an ambiance all to itself. And then we were jammed into the back room with a multitude of other holiday parties, seated at a Costco folding table right in the pathway of the waitstaff. As more and more people began waiting at the bar for their tables we began to be bumped by purses and the like. We asked our very helpful, but completely overwhelmed, waiter if we could either have people take their drinks somewhere else or be moved ourselves. After about 15 minutes they chose to move us to an equally loud, but at least out of the main thoroughfare, table that had been vacated (not sure whose reservation suffered by the move but frankly didn't care at that point). The servers immediately folded up the card table we'd been sitting at and removed it (indicating to me that someone realized it never should have been there to begin with). We had to shout to hear one another through the entire meal. The food was fine but not great (we never got any bread), our server made up for his spotty attention with a good attitude and the tab for our "experience" was $283. I felt as though I'd taken our friends to a sports bar for a burger rather than to a fine dining restaurant meant to be a treat. I understand trying to capitalize on the holiday season but found this to be over the top and very disappointing. We will not be back. We'll just cook steaks at home rather than spend what would feed a family of 4 for a month and have to yell across the table and hope not to have a steak knife plunge into our dinner or our hearts should it descend from a tray being precariously passed over our heads. Just completely disgusted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

After 20 years of wanting to eat at BNB, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

After 20 years of wanting to eat at BNB, I finally did it and was so pleased. The steak was cooked perfectly and the loaded potato was scrumptious. We happened to go on a 1/2 price bottle of wine night which was a pleasant surprise. There are two things which could stand improvement. We were seated in a small side room which was TOO cozy - I could not get in my seat without asking the man at the table next to me if he could scoot in. Also it was my 20th wedding anniversary which I noted on my reservation on Open Table however the restaurant did not acknowledge the occasion. Ruth's Chris has never failed to ecognize the occasion if stated on your reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

May be the best piece of beef I have eve ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

May be the best piece of beef I have ever had. Seasoned and cooked to perfection. Attentive and efficient service. A really nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.