About Beef 'N Bottle

4538 South Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28209
View Larger Map



We will open for large groups of 30 or more during the day, between 11am and 4pm, and provide dining, meeting space and A/V equipment for a set fee ! Call 704-523-9977 for details.... Special Note: The Main dining room or "The Old Part" as locals call it, is booked weeks in advance!!!

Consistently The Best Steaks In The USA...By USA Today!

The Beef ' N Bottle Steakhouse in Charlotte, NC has been the locals choice for fine steaks and seafood since 1958. We are located at 4538 South Blvd In Charlotte, NC 28209. Just 10 minutes from the airport. 1/2 price wine bottles & glasses Monday & Thursday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

1 and 1/2 hour BOOTH time limit on weekends and holidays.


Cross Street:
1 Block North of Woodlawn Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 523-9977

Website:
http://www.beefandbottle.net/

Parking Details:
We offer plentiful parking in the back of the restaurant in our private parking lot. It can accommodate up to 60 vehicles and all parking is FREE

Public Transit:
We are about a 5 minute walk to the Lynx Blue line, which is convenient to Uptown. Panther stadium and the new BB&T ballpark.

Executive Chef:
Lisa Barnes

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for business dinners, etc for up to 10 guests Sunday-Thursday. We take larger parties (up to 25ppl) in our enclosed Atrium area which is both heated and air conditioned!

Private Party Contact:
Host/Hostess: 7045239977x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Beef 'N Bottle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Charlotte ›

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Historic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Fun (8)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You won't do better when searching for a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

You won't do better when searching for a seafood and or steak restaurant. The one member of our party with seafood allergies was accommodated effortlessly and everyone enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service are always outstandin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding at Beef & Bottle. Rick always makes you feel very welcome and makes sure you are happy with your service. Whether it is a special occasion or just a night out on the town you will always enjoy food and drinks at Beef & Bottle. Top of the line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp cocktail and ribeye steak was out ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Shrimp cocktail and ribeye steak was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Excellent service. Two d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very good food. Excellent service. Two downsides. First, and most important, the room we were sat in was separate from the rest of the restaurant. It was way too bright, small, had a large tv just sitting there, not on, in an almost storage kind of way. The rest of the restaurant had a much better ambiance and darker lighting and I would not sit in that side room again. The other issue was the main dessert our party wanted, they ran out of. Overall, good food, great French onion soup, and excellent service. It is not Ruth's Chris or Palm, but those restaurants are more expensive. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Haven't been here for a couple years (sh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Haven't been here for a couple years (shame on us.....), and we remember all our meals were excellent in the past. However, if anything Beef N' Bottle has gotten BETTER over the years, a rarity in the restaurant industry. Surely we'll be back a TON sooner than a couple years, what an OUTSTANDING steak & OUTSTANDING service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks and service. The salad was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great steaks and service. The salad was great. Prices were a little high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Alot of food options. Onl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great service. Alot of food options. Only down side was the baked potato was not hot. Everything else was hot, from soup to the steak. But we will go again. Sometimes things are just off a little.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Beef 'N Bottle! So much that whe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Beef 'N Bottle! So much that when we visited Charlotte this past weekend, this was the only restaurant reservation we made because it was a MUST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was Excellent !

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food and service was Excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. A must visi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. A must visit in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were excited to try bee ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I were excited to try beef & bottle after hearing so many good things about the restaurant. We enjoyed our soup and the salad, but our steaks were average at best. My husbands ribeye was thin and undercooked. My steak was properly cooked but both lacked flavor. Our sides were just okay. The service was mediocre although our server was friendly and personable. Throughout the night our glasses were empty and it toke a long time to clear the table after our meal. Finally, it was so loud in the restaurant we could hardly hear each other speak. We will stick with outback for a lower priced steakhouse and Del Frisco's for a splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Absolutely fantastic each and every time ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely fantastic each and every time!!! Nothing else compares!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef and bottle didn't live up to my exp ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beef and bottle didn't live up to my expectations. The best things I ate all night were condiments and the lobster bisque.

Steak was overcooked on the first try, and very thin for a NY strip, but the meat tasted good. Everything else we had left something to be desired. Seafood plate had zero flavor or seasoning. Their signature soft cheddar reminded me of the cheese and crackers you get in a lunchbox as a kid.

Overall, if you're looking for an experience, it's nice, but if you're looking for great tasting food, there are better restaurants for the cost.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Fantastic steaks! Doesn't look like much ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic steaks! Doesn't look like much from the outside, and a little dated in decor, but the food was excellent--the ribeye did not disappoint! Only drawback was that we were seated in a small room where the tables were very tight. Still, worth it for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have lived in the Charlotte area for 3 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have lived in the Charlotte area for 30 + years and had never eaten at B&B. My wife and I decided to go for our fourteenth anniversary. This was an excellent idea! The cheese and crackers on the table was pleasant and very old school. the crab dip was hot and perfect with the bread with which it was served. Our steaks (6 ounce filets) were cooked perfectly and fork tender. The sides were fresh and delicious. I made one mistake while dining and ate the steak before my lobster tail. I am sure it was perfect when served but it might have over cooked a bit due to my leaving it on the hot plate while devouring my steak. The overall dining experience was memorable.

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner-great service and excell ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Business dinner-great service and excellent steaks.

I love the old school non chain atmosphere!

Entertained there twice in last month.

Will definitely return.

Best steak house option on that side of Charlote

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have lived in Charlotte my entire life ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I have lived in Charlotte my entire life (I was born the same year Beef and Bottle was established) and it still my very favorite place to eat in the city. Thanks for keeping all the charm and excellent food and wine list

Sincerely,

Miriam Hofsess!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like a trip back to the 60's! I would sa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Like a trip back to the 60's! I would say the ambience is retro, but this place just hasn't ever change because it didn't need to. A really good steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like steakhouses in the 50's, 60's and 7 ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Like steakhouses in the 50's, 60's and 70's must have been like before becoming chain restaurants. Great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Updated and modern this place is not BUT ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Updated and modern this place is not BUT, the food and service could not have been better. It's 4 days later and my husband and I are still thinking the delicious meal we had. Our server was very knowledgeable and informative when we had questions. She was also extremely warm, friendly and attentive.

We ordered a bottle of wine, appetizer(shrimp cocktail), two steak dinners (The Delmonico and the Trio Medallions) AND dessert (apple pie). Everything was outstanding!

If you are looking for a special night out, you should definitely give this place a try!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great, as usual! Sat in bar an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was great, as usual! Sat in bar and Keaton and Kate took very good care of us, thanks so much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Charlotte...... best shrim ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Best steak in Charlotte...... best shrimp cocktail, best creamed spinach. Just like the old low light steak houses. love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were both very good at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Service and food were both very good at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Beef 'n Bottle is always good. This ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The Beef 'n Bottle is always good. This was no exception. Always good to go and eat the great steaks.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 5:00 reservation with a client, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We had a 5:00 reservation with a client, who was caught at the office and did not arrive until a little after 6:00. Ellior, our waiter, was amazing and very understanding. When our party was finally seated and we ordered, the food was OUTSTANDING! I had the NY Strip, my co-worker had the filet and our clients both had the special, which was the filet and lobster tail. Everyone was extremely pleased with their meals. The next time I'm in Charlotte, I'll be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steaks-great onion soup-homemade de ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Good steaks-great onion soup-homemade desserts outstanding. Restaurant was too noisy- not very relaxing. Too many people

Running around. Will definitely return soon

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

A perfect dinner. From the food to the s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A perfect dinner. From the food to the service, I wouldn't change a thing. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. A littl higher priced ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was awesome. A littl higher priced for atmosphere. Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Steaks are fantastic but salad is a joke ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Steaks are fantastic but salad is a joke. Chef puts together plate of rough chopped vegetables and you're supposed to combine with a plain plate of lettuce on your own. Take a look at Burns Steakhouse in Tampa for what a house salad should be.

Also I was put off by the escargot being paired with mushroom. Both umami, yes, but I at least want the illusion of tasting the expensive snail over the 5 cent mushroom. I recommend they buy some proper escargot plates and bread to sop up the garlicky goodness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great waitress, wonderfu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent food, great waitress, wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although we made our reservations well i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Although we made our reservations well in advance and there seemed to be plenty of reservation options we were crowded into a very tiny and VERY loud room. I believe there were 6 tables in the room, and of the 6 - 3 of us were seated within about 10 minutes and all ordered at the same time. It was a complete mess. We were there to celebrate our 10th anniversary but unfortunately we were unable to really even talk. Having said that....the food as amazing as always, and this was the only bad experience we've had. In the future, I will request a table in the main dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Great meal as always. Heidi provides inc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great meal as always. Heidi provides incredible service.

Best steak in the state and probably the South.

Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I heard 3 people rave about this restaur ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I heard 3 people rave about this restaurant within a week - so I told my husband we are going and having filet! It was certainly nothing to rave about and certainly wouldn't go back. The service was great, in terms of people. The table set up was of a regular restaurant, nothing fancy. There was sugar, salt, and pepper on the tables (not cracked pepper), and when we arrived there was a soft cheese in a silver tin and a basket of individually wrapped crackers to drip the cheese in. It was not very impressive.

We decided to start with a recommendation of the French Onion soup. It was good, but again, nothing special. I had a Caesar Salad and my husband had a regular garden salad. It was all iceberg/romaine lettuce, and his came out with some pieces of lettuce that had started to brown. Not what you would expect for a high-priced place. Regardless, the salads were fine. We both ordered filets and he added the scallops. The presentation was poor. My filet came out on a skillet-type plate with a plastic coating and a fried onion on top. My husbands scallops were borderline raw and still opaque. The filet was okay, but nothing special and certainly not the best steak I have ever had in Charlotte. I ordered the creamed spinach for my side, which again, was just okay. My husband got the mushrooms and really enjoyed them. We decided to pass on dessert.

We were seated in the back area that was similar to an outdoor patio that was closed in. The windows were covered with shades and through the shades you could see the chain link fence with barb wire on top that was built up against the windows/walls. The table was uneven and the server pointed it out to me, which was nice enough so I wouldn't spill my drink. Not sure why they wouldn't fix it, if it was enough of a problem to point out.

Our bill was ~$130 and included two beers, in addition to the above. Overall, great service but subpar food.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Wonderful meal and experience! Made bett ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful meal and experience! Made better by our server Keaton who was funny, made excellent recommendations and provided to notch service! We can't wait to come back! Hope to be seated in the main dining room for the cozy old fashioned decor next time.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Beef and Bottle was an excellent value f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Beef and Bottle was an excellent value for the amount and quality of food we had. Frog legs were delicious, steak was excellent, but the bourbon marinated salmon was absolutely unique and fantastic. My only negatives were that the space is a bit dingy, which kind of made it more comfortable even though the food was high quality. I also really liked the soft cheddar cheese they gave us, but the crackers were just saltines. The pie we had for dessert was absolutely wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good service. Friendly and helpful ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very good service. Friendly and helpful. Lisa the hostess is a total delight and very impressive. The staff is quite proud of their work place.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was excellent! The wait staff was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Steak was excellent! The wait staff was the best. Dress is listed as business casual but since it was Panthers game night the crowd was 90% very casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Beef N' Bottle on a date. My ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went to Beef N' Bottle on a date. My husband is not a huge foodie and rarely comments on his food, but he proclaimed aloud that the medallions he ordered are the "best steak he's ever had."

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My Wife have been there several times an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My Wife have been there several times and every time it seems that the Steaks get better and Better. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. They have dinner specials every day, as well as half off wine Mondays and Thursdays. We celebrated our birthdays this last time. Reservations are always recommended as they can be very busy most evenings. Will continue to patronize this restaurant and recommend to all our Friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was visiting Charlotte looking for a gre ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Was visiting Charlotte looking for a great local steakhouse. Saw the reviews for BandB - zeroed in on "don't judge it from the outside, food is great." So I took a risk.

Was very disappointed.

The interior looked as bad as the outside (how low can you make a ceiling?).

Oysters - awful. Obviously not fresh shucked. I asked server and she said they shucked at the beginning of a shift and put in cooler. I saw no evidence of that (no muscle fragments on shells AT ALL.) Tasted bland and tasteless. The picture on their website shows oysters bigger than the shells they are sitting on - key evidence they are reusing shells with canned oysters. Regardless, they were terrible.

Steaks were sub par. Fatty and a long chew.

Trying to remember what was good and can't. Just bummed.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.