Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.68mi
  2. Distance: 2.69mi
  3. Distance: 2.79mi
  4. Distance: 3.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.68mi
  2. Distance: 2.69mi
  3. Distance: 2.79mi
  4. Distance: 3.15mi

About Bedford Village Inn

Bedford Village Inn features fresh, regional cuisine in 7 unique dining rooms. The property also features a hip winebar, Corks, and a casual Tavern to fit any dining mood. The restaurant has been a AAA Four Diamond recipient for 18 years; DIRoNA winner since 1996; named Best Restaurant in NH and one of the Top 10 in the US. They offer the largest Wine Cellar in NH, over 8,000 bottles/750 labels and have received the 'Best of Award of Excellence'. All reservations are strictly for the Dining Room. Corks, Tavern and the Patio are seated on a first come first served basis. Visit our website for complete information.

2 Olde Bedford Way
Bedford, NH 03110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Weekend Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday -5:30pm - 9:00pm; Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
101 West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 472-2001

Website:
http://www.bedfordvillageinn.com/new-hampshire-restaurants/dining-room/index.cfm

Parking Details:
Complimentary

Executive Chef:
Peter Agostinelli

Private Party Facilities:
The BVI welcomes groups of all sizes, from a small business meeting to a large holiday event.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Quinn: (855) 973-9402

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Bedford Village Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

very disappointed. while the presentation was lovely, the food didn't have much flavor. the tomatoes were tasteless, the swordfish was bland. creme brûlée was delicious. waiter was very odd although the service was good. very long wait to get more water - I almost got up to get it myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great night! Celebrated my wife's birthday. We come here for many special occasions. As always, great service, excellent food, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

An enchanting venue with an excellent menu. The service was exceptional, especially our waiter, Homer. The salmon was moist and beautifully done and another diner's filet was excellent with a demi glaze that was perfectly seasoned. We are anxious to try the Sunday Brunch, too! The decor was quite tasteful and the ambience was just right for a celebratory dinner with good friends. All in all, a most delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was amazing , along with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Food great, service great. Wait staff friendly and attentive, but not over bearing

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was fun for us to eat in an authentic New England inn and our overall experience at the Bedford Inn was very good. The restaurant seems to strive for low-key Yankee elegance and creative cuisine and, in my opinion, by and large it succeeds, but at a hefty price. The service was outstanding, as was the special "chocolate bag" dessert, enough for two, perhaps 3 people. My wife and I each had a scallop and shrimp entree which was very good, but the margaritas we ordered were small and drowned in ice. We would return for a birthday or anniversary, perhaps, but this is beyond our budget for a Saturday night dinner out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Phenomenal food with attention to detail...a great dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been to the BVI a few times with colleagues and have never had a bad experience. My favorite is their wine bar (Corks), great atmosphere, never too crowded or loud, great place to go after work! Bartenders are always very nice and accommodating.

My most recent visit was at their Dining Room. Other than a few apps, this was the first meal I have had the BVI and it will not be the last. I made a reservation to conduct a business meeting with (at the time) a "potential"client. Although I was a bit aprehensive that it may be too "formal", it was perfect. My client had been there before and had even complimented my choice. I asked for a quiet table and they sat us in one of the smaller dining rooms in the back of the restaurant, it was private and worked very well. We were equally impressed with our meals and that with the fantastic wine selection, made for a seamless and succesful meeting!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

How fine dining should be. Excellence all around. Food, service, wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I recently reconnected with an old friend and asked her to dinner. Being from Manchester and having been to all the restaurants in the south end, I really wanted to try something new. I was looking for a place to impress and the BVI did just that! Extensive wine list, knowlagable staff, and gorgeous dining rooms! The menu was very reasonably priced and by far the best meal I have ever had! I had the herb crusted swordfish and my date had the prosciutto wrapped cod fillet. We were both so stuffed from dinner but could not resist dessert. She had heard about their "famous" chocolate bag, so we decided to share it. WOW. Overall, an amazing night! Thanks BVI!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We always love BVI. It is unfortunate that reservations can only secure indoor spots, since the outdoor area in the summer is the biggest draw. The food and service were excellent, as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were excellent! My only complaint was that they offered us water, but we did not know that we would have to pay $7 for water!!! I have never paid for water at a restaurant in the United States.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was fabulous, ambiance was wonderful, service was not very good. Slow server who forgot drinks. Food makes up for mediocre service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

No complaints other then they didn't have the wine I ordered off of the wine list. Food was good overall and very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

great food atmosphere service always go there for special occasion definitely will return

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lovely special occasion restaurant. Impeccable service and wonderful food. A bit pricey but worth it for a very nice dinner. Service was amazing and someone is always available for your needs. A great recommendation for a nice meal of special celebration. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Took a friend from California to dinner there on Monday and we had the time of our lives! Everything was exceptional and delicious. Our friend is making a point to return from California to eat at this restaurant again as she says it's a "must". We're local and are repeat patrons and completely enjoy our experiences at BVI each time we're there. Our server, Michelle, was fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place is top notch!! I have had my share of steaks everywhere, this place has far exceeded all of them!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely setting good food and service. Veal porterhouse was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

As long as you put the correct address on the GPS, you shouldn't have a hard time looking for this place. Went here for dinner with the best friend for her birthday. We had clam chowder for appetizer and it was really good. She ordered Scottish salmon for her entree. I ordered Kurobuta Pork paired with M&D Earthquake red wine for mine. The pork was a little too salty for my taste. And we ordered vanilla creme brûlée and chocolate bag for dessert. The chocolate bag was the highlight of our meal. Definitely good place for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was fantastic. I took my sister out for her birthday dinner. She had the duck and she absolutely loved it. I had the seafood pot and that was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The food with a French cuisine flair was exceptional. Kudos to the chef and his staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Attention to detail for food preparation is not equal to the price.
Over cooked expensive entree does not deliver value.
Many better options available in Manchester.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I were given a gift certificate. It was one of the absolute best meals we've had in a long time. We look forward to going back and enjoying more of their delicious food.

Our server was wonderful and everyone was very attentive and had the table cleared immediately.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I found that the place was kinda stuffy! The staff was trying to be so by the books that I actually found it at times rude and interrupting to our dinner. They actually had us pick up the food we were eattig off the plates ( we had to put everything into our hands ) so they could take those out of the way. And this was not our waitress but the pleople clearing dishes, ect. The appetizers were ok, but none that leave me wanting that again. I had the duck for dinner and it was great! Highly recommend that dish. The choloclate lava cake leaves more to be desired but the carrot cake was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One meal was great the other was bad had to send it back, put a damper on a Birthday celebration.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. It was quiet and perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Absolutely the best meal I ever had! From the lobster stuffed cherry tomato, the tequila oysters, the steak with creamed spinach and polenta to the most amazing chocolate dessert, even the beer and Whistle Pig whiskey was top notch! Fifth visit and never a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Extremely stuffy and pretentious. We found the food to be very bland and uninspired. Also, service was not very attentive. This could be because it was restaurant week and they figured that we were "cheap customers", but in all honesty we were looking for a high end place for special occasions. This will not be on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A nice night with friends, Great Food and Service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The BVI was great in every respect . Service is friendly, professional and attentive, food is excellent and dining rooms are very well appointed. Entrees are worth the price and an expecially good place to celebrate a special occassion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband and I had a lovely quiet dinner on a Sunday evening. I had a fish entrée and he had chicken. Both of us enjoyed our meals. The mushroom toast appetizer was our favorite! We shared pear bread pudding for dessert which was also quite good. Staff was friendly. Service was spot on. I highly recommend it for the food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 6, 2017

A very enjoyable evening,good food, nice people,comfortable. We will be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Birthday celebration for my wife. Service was excellent, great wine selection. We had a selection of cheeses to start recommended by the waiter, excellent selection. Appetizers were great. The main dishes, lamb rib eye for me was cooked to perfection. My wife had the seafood plate, served with risotto which she enjoyed very much. Dessert was great too. We had a great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A very special place. I've been going here for special occasions for over 25 years, and it is always a very special meal that impresses everyone who I take here. Menu comprises creative takes and combinations on "normal" foods. It will not intimidate those who want regular, old dinner, yet, the foodie will be pleased and impressed with the creativity.
Great management, and very talented help. They know their wines and how to serve attentively and when to stay out of the way.
I can't recommend the BVI highly enough.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Small portions. Cod was dry. Wedding in process was their excuse for slow service. Wine came after we finished the meal and had to come off the bill. On the bright side we were seated immediately and our server was friendly. Otherwise a bland almost painful experience. Not what you expect when the tab is $130 for two entrees, one glass of wine and one desert. Save your money and visit Burton's Grill or Tuscan Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server Sirosa was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, wine list and was a very attentive server. The menu choices were excellent. I selected duck breast with sweet potato puree and spaghetti squash. The flavor was unique, but not diverse enough given the mild flavor of the duck and the sweetness of the two squashes. My wife ordered the lamb special with the pinot hollandaise sauce. The lamb was slightly overcooked and needed additional sauce given the dryness. The other two members of our party enjoyed their meals and had nothing to say except how delicious they were. We have been coming to BVI for over 20 years and will plan to return to try other menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We once again had a wonderful 3 hour dinner catching up with great friends. We were never rushed and received exceptional service from the staff. The food as alway's was fabulous!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a wonderful business meal experience on a Friday night from a very late reservation. Ambiance of an old tavern with wonderful accommodations. The Food was superb and they easily handled the alcohol requests for specific brands. five star all the way around. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Although I arrived with a long heavy wool winter dress coat over my arm, neither the hostess nor the waiter offered to hang it, check it, or otherwise help, so I was left struggling to fit it on my dining chair without dragging it on the floor as a tripping hazard. While I was attempting this maneuver, the hostess also handed me their large menu folder while I was still standing! I felt very truly rushed. This was quite an inelegant beginning, and cast a rather unwelcome tone to the atmosphere of fine dining expected at this restaurant. Once we were seated and proper service began, things improved, (other than the uncomfortable coat-thick lumpy chair back). I know that BVI understands they only get once chance to make a welcoming first impression, and they surely didn't. Three of our four meals were very good, and one not so much.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.