Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.68mi
  2. Distance: 2.69mi
  3. Distance: 2.79mi
  4. Distance: 3.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.68mi
  2. Distance: 2.69mi
  3. Distance: 2.79mi
  4. Distance: 3.15mi

About Bedford Village Inn

Bedford Village Inn features fresh, regional cuisine in 7 unique dining rooms. The property also features a hip winebar, Corks, and a casual Tavern to fit any dining mood. The restaurant has been a AAA Four Diamond recipient for 18 years; DIRoNA winner since 1996; named Best Restaurant in NH and one of the Top 10 in the US. They offer the largest Wine Cellar in NH, over 8,000 bottles/750 labels and have received the 'Best of Award of Excellence'. All reservations are strictly for the Dining Room. Corks, Tavern and the Patio are seated on a first come first served basis. Visit our website for complete information.

2 Olde Bedford Way
Bedford, NH 03110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Weekend Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday -5:30pm - 9:00pm; Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
101 West

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 472-2001

Website:
http://www.bedfordvillageinn.com/dining/

Parking Details:
Complimentary

Executive Chef:
Peter Agostinelli

Private Party Facilities:
The BVI welcomes groups of all sizes, from a small business meeting to a large holiday event.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Quinn: (855) 973-9402

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Bedford Village Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (25)
Worth the Drive (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort by
S
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal service and food! Much needed night out, and it delivered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to BVI more than a dozen times and every time, except this one, the experience was stellar. We had cocktails in the Tavern and one person in my party asked about the cheese platter appetizer she'd had in the Tavern previously. The waiter was "sure" they did not have it. He returned with the Tavern menu which was not initially provided showing the exact appetizer. We moved to the dining room from there and were promptly greeted and offered beverages by our server. The amuses vouches we had were excellent, as well as the wines we selected. All of us ordered seafood entrees; two scallop dishes, swordfish, salmon. The preparations looked amazing. However, the size of the servings was rather small given the price. The ingredients are not extraordinary (except the Brussel Sprouts had chestnuts). The scallops were over seasoned with salt and over cooked to well done. The swordfish portion was very small and slightly overdone. If it had been busy when we arrived for our reservation (5:30 pm), I might have given the benefit of the doubt that the chef was too busy. However, we were one of two parties seated in the dining room, so there should have been adequate time to prepare our meals and not overcook/season them. Unfortunately, this was the worst experience I have had at BVI. I will plan on returning for a final "test", but am not optimistic. Hopefully this was an isolated incident.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

I came to the Bedford Village Inn for a celebration dinner. They exceeded my expectations. There was a congratulations card from the staff and some ribbons on the table prior to our arrival. I asked to have a bottle of champagne delivered when I made the reservation and as soon as we were sat the bottle was brought to us which was perfect. We ordered soups and appetizers and were given a complimentary sample dish thanks to the chef. My boyfriend ordered the scallop and shrimp dish which was surprisingly a huge portion and I ordered the duck and it was cooked perfectly. The food was absolutely delicious! Our server, Fouad, was outstanding. We loved him! Would definitely recommend him! For dessert we had the chocolate bag and they even added a chocolate plaque that said "congratulations" on it. Great service, great atmosphere, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Going to the Bedford Village Inn is our treat to ourselves every anniversary and it is never disappointing! If you want to be spoiled then this is the place to come. The Christmas decorations make the older part of the building feel even more special than normal. We love the Tavern and Corks but for special occasions it has to be the dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Still the best restaurant in New Hampshire by far!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

I have always seen the hype for the BVI and thought that it didn't stand a chance of living up to its reputation but it surpassed my expectations. From the moment we were seated next to a cozy fireplace we knew this was going to be something special. Our server was a younger lady that instantly made us feel comfortable and at home. She was always close by and seemed to know what we needed before we did. The food was outstanding and I would recommend the mushroom toast and the dry aged sirloin. My one complaint was that they have such a good range of beer, whiskey and wine that I wanted to try it all. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

My son got married at BVI 20 years ago and we have great memories. My wife ,another couple and I came down from Vermont for the Trans Siberian Orchestra concert and wanted a special place to have a quiet dinner. Great service and wonderful food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

Ambience, Service and food were all EXCELLENT!!! Requested, and got, a table by the fire and everything was fantastic.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was good, service was slow. Nothing spectacular. Nothing on the dessert menu was appealing to me. Did I say the service was slow???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Not only was the food and atmosphere outstanding, our server was extraordinary!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

It was fantastic. Dinner was amazing . The filet was mouth watering.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

We renewed our vows a year ago and it was awesome! So we decided every year to celebrate their! BVI always makes it so special

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2017

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful environment both inside and out. Just lovely with a lot of attention to detail. The cocktails were delicious as was the caesar salad (crispy and tasty). My husband had duck with farro (an interesting crunchy grain) and cauliflower. He said it was good. I had the special which was Veal Loin with polenta and tri-color carrots. The waiter asked how I'd like it cooked and I told him to leave it to the chef as he/she would know best. The Veal Loin came out dry, chewy, tough, fatty and tasteless!!! The polenta was interesting and the carrots were delicious. I didn't say anything at the time, as I didn't want to ruin what otherwise was a perfect evening to celebrate our anniversary. The meal was pricey, but, had it been at least good, it would have been worth it. I called the next day to let the chef know how disappointed I was. We did get a desert and a square of chocolate with "Happy Anniversary" written on it was included as was a card from BVI. A very nice and personal touch. As I was thinking back, the last few times we've been there, the main course has been "just okay" or "disappointing". Next time we may just go into the pub and enjoy the beautiful ambiance there! Wish they could do something better with the main courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Like all the best parts of New Hampshire: BVI delivers on a solid, traditional experience that reminds you why the classics became classics in the first place. The cuisine is on the conservative side (no molecular cooking here) with only the occasional nod to latest trends with offerings like a charcuterie offering on the first page of the menu. But, man, great flavors and care goes into every plate or bowl and, especially, the cocktail.

The only shortfall was the service. Though endearing, our waiter was easily as old as the Inn itself and kept forgetting key parts of the service (to bring appetizers, coffee for the other half the table, the to-go bag). The intimate dining room also afforded us multiple opportunities to watch him dig out the write-up on the days specials which kept escaping his memory (there were two).

All in all, an amazing experience at a very reasonable price. It's the gold standard in the state for a reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Wonderful experience!
Loved our waiter, he was so sweet and very attentive.
Lovely night, looking forward to going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our server, Omer K, took excellent care of us. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. The only complaint was that there could have been more betts in the beet salad. Other than that, we rthoroughly enjoyed our appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Just celebrated 40 th anniversary I requested a table by a fireplace and was not disappointed. Where have you had Caymus by the glass? Wonderful time and the food was excellent If I am ever in area again I will go out if my way to have dinner there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Perfect experience. Wonderful atmosphere. Food is superb. Service is outstanding. We look forward to many events at BVI!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We found a gift certificate that was 10 years old for the Bedford Village Inn!! I called them to ask if they would honor it and there was no hesitation at all!! My husband and I enjoyed our 23rd anniversary gift 10 years late and it was wonderful! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was SPLENDID. What a treat!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Zachery was great! We loved the extra TLC celebrating 26 years of happiness. Thank you !

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We stayed at the Bedford Inn for a night through our fall color travels and knew we wanted to try the restaurant. We were not disappointed at all. The food and wine was fabulous and we all loved our meals... ribeye steak, swordfish and scallop and shrimp dishes. The atmosphere was beautiful in the front dinning room and because we went on a slow night, we were able to get a tour of the rest of the restaurant that was part of the original homestead... truly, a treat in itself. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

We go there every year on our anniversary. Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wife and I dined there while on vacation in New Hampshire. Having traveled all day we were looking for a nice quiet restaurant with good seafood choices. We were very pleased with the food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Excellent dinner served in a beautiful dining room with great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our second time eating at the Bedford inn and it was better than the first time. The food and service was amazing. I can't say enough good things about this place. I'd recommend the Bedford to anyone looking for a great dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Exceptional place, great food, service and incredible atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding setting, food, service and price! Keep up the great work! Yes, we will be back as soon as we can!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Omer our waiter was knowledgeable and funny. Didn't appreciate the two energetic children near us but that was no fault of the restaurant. The ribeye was worth every penny. Perfectly cooked to M-R. The chocolate bag has to be experienced. A great personalized experience for our 15th anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was wonderful, the service was excellent. The setting was nice, though we didn't wander the grounds much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Was good. Loved the food.
Quite and lovely restaurant

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had been to the Inn several times in the past and decided to celebrate a special anniversary here. The restaurant and service were very classy but not pretentious. The courses were spaced nicely. My only complaint would be the fact that the noise level was rather high.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

very disappointed. while the presentation was lovely, the food didn't have much flavor. the tomatoes were tasteless, the swordfish was bland. creme brûlée was delicious. waiter was very odd although the service was good. very long wait to get more water - I almost got up to get it myself.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great night! Celebrated my wife's birthday. We come here for many special occasions. As always, great service, excellent food, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

An enchanting venue with an excellent menu. The service was exceptional, especially our waiter, Homer. The salmon was moist and beautifully done and another diner's filet was excellent with a demi glaze that was perfectly seasoned. We are anxious to try the Sunday Brunch, too! The decor was quite tasteful and the ambience was just right for a celebratory dinner with good friends. All in all, a most delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was amazing , along with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Food great, service great. Wait staff friendly and attentive, but not over bearing

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.