About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
Meatballs
Osso buco alla Becco
3 Pastas Special
Zuppa Di Pesce Misto
Roasted Pulled Pork
Bread Service
3 Pastas
Pesce Spada
Bread & Grissini
Antipasti
Antipasto Misto
Contorni: Funghi Trifolati
Three Daily Pasta Preparations: Stingingnettle Gundi, Penne with Tomato and Fresh Basil, and Fettuccine with Beef Short Rib Ragu
Caesar Salad
Gelati Misti: Mint Chocolate Chip
Insalata Cesare
Ricottina
Mozzarella Lavorata in Casa
Strudel Di Mele
Contorni: Spinach
Pesto Rigatoni
Bistecca Alla Becco
Spicy Pasta Bolognese W/ Fried Shrimp
Olives
Pumpkin Ravioli
Octopus Salad And Skate Antipasto
Sarme
Ricotta, Honey And Peas
Antipasto Platter
Zuppa de Pesce
Stuffed Peppers
Tiramisu
Three Pasta Special - Sinfonia Of Paste
Tuna With Pickled Ramps
Fried Calamari
Assorted Dessert Sampler
Antipasto
Burrata On Toast With Asparagus
Seafood Antipasto
lasagna
Zabaglione
Deep Fried Fluke
Octopus Salad
Sinfonia Di Paste
Tagliatelle
Ravioli
Trio De Pastas
Ommegang Witte Wheat Ale
Antipasto And Seafood Plate
Grilled Lamb Porterhouse
Halibut
Dessert Sampler
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Osso Bucco
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
Pollo Limon
Penne
Cheese & Honey
Grilled Mortadella
potatoes
Assorted Grilled And Marinated Vegetables
Cheesecake
Panna Cotta And Strawberry Sorbet
Rigatoni Bolognese
Spaghetti Pomodoro
Polenta with Speck
Polenta W/ Crispy Speck
Fegato
apple streudel
Ceasar Salad
Orecchiette with Bacon
Spaghetti With Tomato And Basil
Semolina Gnocchi
Espresso
Gamberi 'Al Forno'
Beef Meatballs
Lemon Chicken
Pasta
Hanger Steak
Black & White Panna Cotta
Veal
Mixed Dessert Platter
Tuna
....delicious.

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (538)
neighborhood gem (443)
special occasion (419)
See All
good for groups (378)
notable wine list (354)
great for lunch (327)
hot spot (176)
romantic (158)
late-night find (101)
kid-friendly (77)
great for brunch (53)
vibrant bar scene (48)
great for outdoor dining (27)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
12579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were great. Never felt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were great. Never felt rushed. Waiter made sure we were served and able to make a matinee with no problem.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always reliable and still a great value. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

always reliable and still a great value. i will come back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was overcrowded and the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was overcrowded and the side and back rooms were very hot. The waitstaff just wanted to get people in and out, they didn't care about any kind of dining experience. The pasta was just ok, but the veal parmigiana was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was delicious. Service was great. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious. Service was great. It was a little loud and tables were close to each other but the delicious food make those couple things seem like nothing! Yum! I'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overtime I visit NYC I make a reservatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overtime I visit NYC I make a reservation for this Italian food restaurant in the heart of the theatre district. Fun staff, great food, good wine list......

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here from California at the suggest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came here from California at the suggestion of my daughter who ate here a couple of years ago. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becco never fails to fulfill our expecta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Becco never fails to fulfill our expectations both in terms of service and food. The pasta is excellent and the wine selection is outstanding, not only by the bottle but by the glass. Service is always courteous and efficient.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing. Service was cursory at be ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointing. Service was cursory at best. Doesn't live up to it's reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Perfect spot for an early dinner before ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect spot for an early dinner before heading to a Broadway show! The pasta was fabulous--and the atmosphere was that of a NYC neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Disappointed-- expected more from famous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Disappointed-- expected more from famous chef Lidia Bastianich. Pasta was not flavorful, sauce barely visible, very watery. Trader Joes frozen pasta dishes are better. Caesar salad was not made freshly-- tasted like it say around for hours. The only thing we enjoyed was the $29 Montepulciano. Had high hopes, but they were dashed. Bread basket was good, and servers were nice , but the entire experience felt very pedestrian, and the meal seemed more about quantity than quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Overall very nice. Quiet upstairs table ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall very nice. Quiet upstairs table and great food. Only distraction was training of new staff and congregation of wait staff near the bathroom. Obviously, need to train staff but should keep them secluded when not needed out on the floor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Met my cousin and his colleagues who we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Met my cousin and his colleagues who were in NY C on business. Becco was a great success.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was great. Wine price reasonable. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Wine price reasonable. Just a bit too loud.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very average.It was recommended to us bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very average.It was recommended to us but was mostly disappointed.Order was screwed up with waiter not bringing was was ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistently outstanding and Cesar is in ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently outstanding and Cesar is incredibly professional and friendly

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been to Becco in years. Found it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Haven't been to Becco in years. Found it to be the same quality & delightful food. Pastas are the best. Hoping to catch Lidia. Maybe next time! Will be back soon. Service was excellent as well.💜

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for Becco for dinne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations for Becco for dinner after seeing Cagney (which was wonderful). The food was excellent and the service outstanding. It was a bit tight, tables on top of each other and a bit noisy. This is not a place for a nice quiet romantic dinner. But overall, it was a very nice dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic food, great menu, and service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food, great menu, and service is exceptional. Tables are a little close together though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best part of Becco is the daily 3 pa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best part of Becco is the daily 3 pasta special, which is unique to them. All their food is delicious; the staff is efficient, comical, and attentive. Our waiter was rather comical and executed a few jokws throughout out meal. He was on top of the service for our table. We never lacked for anything. The whole experience was wonderful. We would highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to spot in NYC for after ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is our go-to spot in NYC for after theater dining. We would not pass up the chance every time we are in town. I recommend it to all of my friends and have never been disappointed. Very reasonable; always crowded!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was bland and way overpriced. We ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 7 days ago

Pasta was bland and way overpriced. We were seated in the bar despite having reservations ahead and it was crowded and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

great food and just as important is its ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great food and just as important is its location--midtown --in the heart of nyc

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been a regular at Becco's since the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I've been a regular at Becco's since the early 1990's! It went through a period of disarray for a while but then came back into glory.

Still, not every visit is a gem. This one was an off day. First the waiter left half my salad on his serving plate and just disappeared into the kitchen! Then, the 3 pasta dish wasn't the greatest. The flavors didnt quite mesh.

I usually would give the venue 4's or 5's. My "service" rating is for the pasta and salad guys. the main waiter was fine.

Still I'm sure the next time will be better. These days happen

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Three of us chose the pasta special whic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Three of us chose the pasta special which was excellent. I chose the antipasto which was great except for the octopus, couldn't handle it. I asked for more sauce for the spaghetti and waitress brought me a small bowl. She was very attentive but not overbearing. I've been to Becco's before and always enjoyed everything. My husband had the chicken with arugula and liked it also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects. Can't go wro ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent in all respects. Can't go wrong. Had the specialty pastas of the day, one was better than the other. Reasonably priced food and wine. Antipasta appy was delish

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveled from Philly just to visit Becco ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Traveled from Philly just to visit Becco for lunch with my mother and sisters. We ordered the pasta special where you get unlimited amounts of the 3 pastas of the day along with a salad or antipasti . ALL for only $19.95 - what a STEAL. We also had the meatballs (amazing!) and the cheesecake. Our server was fantastic and the food was nothing less than outstanding. If I lived in NY I would be here all of the time!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Becco several times. Whe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been to Becco several times. When going to this restaurant expect to wait to be seated. It is very popular and noisy; however, once seated you can still carry on a conversation with the people at your table. The food is very good so go hungry, it is a lot of food. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service. All a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. All around wonderful dining experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place in theater district for an e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place in theater district for an excellent meal. We shared burrata with broccoli rabe as an appetizer and it was delicious. I had the short rib main course and it was fork tender and full of flavor. Wife had the lobster fradiavlo special which was also delicious. we shared panacotta for desert with an espresso and went home full and satisfied

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It is just amazing to watch that talente ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It is just amazing to watch that talented staff work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food, service, and managemen ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding food, service, and management. They never disappoint me. I can always bring guests here and know that Becco's will blow them away with flavorful food and attentive staffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to Becco many times. I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to Becco many times. I have never eaten off the regular menu. Always had the pasta selection of the day. Unfortunately this visit wasn't as good as the past. The clams in the sauce were very salty. The mushroom ravioli sauce was watery. Pasta was over cooked. Typically not the case for Becco. I hope this was just a rare occasion because I really love this place. The $29 bottle of wine was very good. The place was a mess. The bathrooms were downright filthy. I'm sure Lidia and her family would not approve. Get a good cleaning crew to keep up with all the demands. I hope to return and find Becco in good order again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

We chose Becco on the recommendation of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We chose Becco on the recommendation of a good friend. Although it was a hot night we requested a table outside. After 15 min without water or sign of a server, even tho we were within sight of the hostess, we decided to leave and ate at a place down the street. They might not miss our business but it was a shame because the food sounded good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Becco was recommended to me by a co-work ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Becco was recommended to me by a co-worker because it was walking distance from our hotel, which she had also suggested. I had no trouble getting a reservation for the date/time requested and someone from Becco called me a couple of days ahead to confirm. Our meal was fabulous and the waitress was very knowledgeable and efficient. The atmosphere is very nice but not formal or fussy - we saw some diners dressed nicely for a night out and others wearing shorts. I'm planning a return weekend trip to NYC and look forward to eating at Becco again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Becco is a good go-to for a quick dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Becco is a good go-to for a quick dinner before a Broadway play. The service is very fast and attentive and appreciated when time is limited. However, speed can also work against a restaurant, the presentation and quality of appetizers were not good. On the plus side the Sabayon dessert was very good, and entrees were good with large portions if you have a big appetite.

I wouldn't call it fine dining any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

First, the good points: Becco is conven ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First, the good points: Becco is convenient to the theatre district, has a long list of inexpensive wines, and has very attentive service. The Caesar salad is excellent, the portions are generous, and some of the pasta is delicious. But unfortunately, there are bad points: the place is way too crowded, especially near the door, and so noisy that it was physically uncomfortable. The waiter pushed the restaurant's own wine as fitting our taste request; it did not, and was not very good (though I should have known better than to get the house wine). Two of my pasta sampler dishes were good; the third, linguini with clams, was very garlicky and the clams were tough. One of our party thought her food was good; the others thought theirs was just ok. Sorry to say that we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

My 2nd time at Becco. One of my favorite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My 2nd time at Becco. One of my favorite restaurants in NYC. Wonderful food and outstanding professional staff

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Becco does great with very aut ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always Becco does great with very authentic Italian food. The 3 pastas are always a must. As a main course or even as an appetizer. You can not beat the $29.00 bottles of Italian wines. Good selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere, great food , poor wait ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food , poor waiter. Would up back in a heartbeat👍🏻

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Our waiter was terrible and it totally r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter was terrible and it totally ruined our evening. He was rude, condescending, slammed down plates and didn't make eye contact. When we said we needed more time to decide on dinner choices he told us it would take a "long time because this isn't fast food." This was on a weekday night after the theater crowd was already gone and there were several empty tables so there was no reason to rush us. People around us ordered the same dishes we did within a few minutes of us placing our order, they got their food but we waited, and waited until it got ridiculous. I think our food sat under a warming lamp before it was delivered to the table because everything was so overdone, dry, and basically a total waste. My brother ordered medium rare lamb chops and they were dark grey, shrunk, and beyond well done. The manager comped us for the chops but didn't really seem to care. We have been to Becco SO many times and it's always been great. This waiter needs to be fired, we would never go there again. I have never had such poor service anywhere at any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.