About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
Meatballs
Osso buco alla Becco
3 Pastas Special
Zuppa Di Pesce Misto
3 Pastas
Roasted Pulled Pork
Bread Service
Pesce Spada
Bread & Grissini
Antipasti
Antipasto Misto
Contorni: Funghi Trifolati
Three Daily Pasta Preparations: Stingingnettle Gundi, Penne with Tomato and Fresh Basil, and Fettuccine with Beef Short Rib Ragu
Caesar Salad
Gelati Misti: Mint Chocolate Chip
Insalata Cesare
Ricottina
Mozzarella Lavorata in Casa
Strudel Di Mele
Contorni: Spinach
Pesto Rigatoni
Bistecca Alla Becco
Spicy Pasta Bolognese W/ Fried Shrimp
Olives
Pumpkin Ravioli
Octopus Salad And Skate Antipasto
Sarme
Ricotta, Honey And Peas
Antipasto Platter
Zuppa de Pesce
Stuffed Peppers
Tiramisu
Three Pasta Special - Sinfonia Of Paste
Tuna With Pickled Ramps
Fried Calamari
Assorted Dessert Sampler
Antipasto
Burrata On Toast With Asparagus
Seafood Antipasto
lasagna
Zabaglione
Deep Fried Fluke
Octopus Salad
Sinfonia Di Paste
Tagliatelle
Ravioli
Trio De Pastas
Ommegang Witte Wheat Ale
Antipasto And Seafood Plate
Grilled Lamb Porterhouse
Halibut
Dessert Sampler
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Osso Bucco
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
Pollo Limon
Penne
Cheese & Honey
Grilled Mortadella
potatoes
Assorted Grilled And Marinated Vegetables
Cheesecake
Panna Cotta And Strawberry Sorbet
Rigatoni Bolognese
Spaghetti Pomodoro
Polenta with Speck
Polenta W/ Crispy Speck
Fegato
apple streudel
Ceasar Salad
Orecchiette with Bacon
Spaghetti With Tomato And Basil
Semolina Gnocchi
Espresso
Gamberi 'Al Forno'
Beef Meatballs
Lemon Chicken
Pasta
Hanger Steak
Black & White Panna Cotta
Veal
Mixed Dessert Platter
Tuna
....delicious.

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (546)
neighborhood gem (454)
special occasion (398)
See All
notable wine list (382)
good for groups (361)
great for lunch (332)
hot spot (186)
romantic (162)
late-night find (91)
kid-friendly (81)
great for brunch (47)
vibrant bar scene (39)
great for outdoor dining (23)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
12442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I return again and again because the foo ...

Dined 3 days ago

I return again and again because the food never disappoints and the waitstaff has always been the right amount of friendly and down to business. To start, the gin & tonic was excellent and we all raved about the calamari! Service can be a little spotty given that it's always incredibly busy (3 of the entrees came out together and a fairly significant wait for the other 2 entrees was a drag). It was a disappointment to the one person in our party that ordered the trio of pastas that the one pasta she wanted a second helping of was no longer available. Still, we all did enjoy ourselves and will gladly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 87 year-old mother and I were going t ...

Dined 3 days ago

My 87 year-old mother and I were going to a matinee and having lunch before the show. Becco did not disappoint. It never does! Gracious service. Warm and welcoming. Wonderful food and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best pasta deal anywhere, great fresh ma ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best pasta deal anywhere, great fresh made food!! .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent! The waiter spill ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent! The waiter spilled sauce on my newly purchased hat when he was serving, did not discover until we were already home in PA, otherwise overall very good.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

We were disappointed...we went post thea ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were disappointed...we went post theatre...service was very slow to get drinks but super fast to bring food (appetizer came before drinks) ...bread box was awesome...pasta trio was average and stuffed peppers also average...fried mozz was good...we loved getting a bottle of wine for $29....wouldn't go back though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to dine at Becco whenever fr ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We continue to dine at Becco whenever friends or family are in town and are never disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

It was incredibly loud. Hard to have a c ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was incredibly loud. Hard to have a conversation with our family at the same table. Service was excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5

Service was great on a busy night. We sa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was great on a busy night. We sat upstairs in a nondescript room tucked in a very tight corner. The food was average at best. Short ribs were fatty and the pulled pork was flavorless. I was expecting something outstanding but I've had better food on my grill at home. Disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Italian food and wine in a nice at ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great Italian food and wine in a nice atmosphere in a great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Becco for pre- theater dining, lu ...

Dined 4 days ago

I love Becco for pre- theater dining, lunch or dinner. Everything from the appetizers to dessert are very well dinner, delicious, rustic, good quality ingredients, and hardy portions. I've dined at Becco at least 10 times and each time I was highly satisfied and delighted. In addition, Becco has very reasonable prices for a Manhattan restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I was there twice in the past two weeks. ...

Dined 4 days ago

I was there twice in the past two weeks. I found it to be one of the better restaurants for pre-theater dining, both for matinee and evening shows. With the exception of the noise level, the food, service and ambiance were quite good. I would recommend this place anytime.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always a pleasure to have pre-thea ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

It is always a pleasure to have pre-theater lunch or dinner at Becco. The menu offers many wonderful choices. The waitstaff is efficient and knowledgeable about the food. We had a delicious lunch at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every time I go to NYC I dine here. Conv ...

Dined 5 days ago

Every time I go to NYC I dine here. Convenient to Broadway Theater District..great food always.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the pasta!!! Great food and great ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love the pasta!!! Great food and great prices AND in the theater district!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our daughter and son-in-law met my husba ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our daughter and son-in-law met my husband and I at Becco for dinner before going to a broadway show on a Friday night. We all enjoyed our dining experience, from appetizers to dessert. The food was excellent, the service attentive and efficient, and the atmosphere lively and upbeat. To top it off, Lydia happened to be there, and we had an opportunity to meet with her--such a gracious, wonderful lady--and we went out walking on air. Great evening from start to finish--highly recommended--but be sure to make reservations beforehand so you'll be sure to get a table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place for pre-theater dinner on ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous place for pre-theater dinner on restaurant row. I had the daily pasta special and the menu has a page of wines by the bottle for under $30. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious food (and drink)!

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food (and drink)!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We like the place. The service was dece ...

Dined 6 days ago

We like the place. The service was decent. The wine list was cheaper than most places ($29 for a number of bottles). They had a pasta deal where you can eat three pastas (whatever the three of the day are) and you can get more of each. Food was okay.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have $29 bottles of wine that are p ...

Dined 6 days ago

They have $29 bottles of wine that are pretty good...that's rare in any restaurant, but especially in NYC

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We have eaten at Becco before and were p ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at Becco before and were pleased with the food both times. The food is good for the value if you get the pasta selections for the day and that was very good. The service last week was VERY slow, it took about 10-15 minutes for the server to even come over to get our drink order.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The flexibility concerning the compositi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The flexibility concerning the composition of the meal (pasta) was unsufficient. The roomtemperature was much too cold and there was an constant flow threw the room. Sitting in the back, just before the kitchen, by the passage of the personnel was uncomfortable. But - the food was excellent made and we would recommend it to other people.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The food is nothing short of amazing. Th ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food is nothing short of amazing. The service is very friendly and approachable. The portions are huge! Come prepared to eat and get what you paid for. The unlimited pasta tasting is very filling. Highly energetic surroundings (not necessarily "loud"). Seats are close to each other, tables are almost touching. Depends on what you're looking for! Overall, had a great time there.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food I have had in a long time. I w ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Best food I have had in a long time. I wish I had something even comparable on the west coast. If you want great Italian food GO!

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible service. Don't waste your time ...

Dined 7 days ago

Terrible service. Don't waste your time. Get the unlimited pasta dish, but have to wait 15 minutes for each new round. Overpriced for what you get. Manhattan has much more to offer than getting fleeced by this restaurant. Service quality is pathetic.

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

The service was excellent, the food was ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent, the food was very good and the value for the money was excellent in comparison to other places we ate while in NYC. Would definitly recommend to others.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place to visit - food, va ...

Dined 7 days ago

Always a great place to visit - food, variety of menu, daily specials seem to always be different, great service and reasonable pricing - you can never go wrong here!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an amazing experience!

Dined 7 days ago

Such an amazing experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a nice ending to a day trip to NYC. ...

Dined 7 days ago

What a nice ending to a day trip to NYC. My daughter and I were very pleased with our meals from start to finish. Our meals were delicious, portions very good, and price was great. We plan to eat there again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Place has changed since I was there in M ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Place has changed since I was there in March of 2015. Food quality has dropped off quite a bit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a consistent (and yummy) dining e ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always a consistent (and yummy) dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time that I dined at ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This was the second time that I dined at Becco , this time I brought my husband. We both loved it and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Seated in smallish upstairs room, noisy ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Seated in smallish upstairs room, noisy and crowded. Sorry to say would not go back or recommend. Pastas and fish were prepared very well; lamb was tough; chicken breast was dry. Excellent dessert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the short rib special last Tuesday.. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Had the short rib special last Tuesday.....phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Love, love, love this place.

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Love, love, love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here for lunch...had a nice t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

First time here for lunch...had a nice time! Food and service was wonderful, as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food! Quick and friendly service ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Amazing food! Quick and friendly service with attentive servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We arrived at the restaurant at around 2 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant at around 2:45pm. The waiter gave us lunch menus and then, after we choose our entrees, decided to switch us to the dinner menu (just to charge us more for the same entrees). Service was horrible. I had to ask for water 4 times before it actually arrived. Food was okay. Overpriced for sure. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heaven. A gorgeous meal and wonderful at ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Heaven. A gorgeous meal and wonderful atmosphere. I have dined here many times and always been thrilled. An NYC gem! Signed, jason st. Little

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good when one of the meals w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was good when one of the meals was over cooked fish. Everyone apolized. Gave a different meal. Just don't expect this to happen in this type of restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

not good for a late night, good food, bu ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

not good for a late night, good food, but felt like leftovers. Was passed from 1 waiter to another. Food was decent, but nothing special. Will not go back for just prior to closing again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.