About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/W - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (578)
neighborhood gem (456)
notable wine list (410)
See All
good for groups (396)
special occasion (396)
great for lunch (352)
hot spot (191)
romantic (174)
late-night find (95)
kid-friendly (92)
great for brunch (51)
vibrant bar scene (46)
 (16)
great for outdoor dining (16)
 (15)
 (13)
 (12)
 (11)
 (7)
scenic view (6)
 (6)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
12299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Always happy eating at Becco. Our waiter ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Always happy eating at Becco. Our waiter was swamped with large parties and we were patient as we don't like to rush through dinner. The manager came over within minutes to take drinks order and tell us the specials which was very nice.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Pesto wasn't as good as usal.tables are too close

Dined 3 days ago

Tables are way too close to each other. Will not be returning for an anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined 3 days ago

As usual, the staff at Becco was wonderful. My wife and I have been celebrating our wedding anniversary for the last eight years and it has always been a fantastic experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food quite good, service so what spotty ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food quite good, service so what spotty and wine service okay.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambiance was great. The service was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance was great. The service was good however the food was sub par. The restaurant was busy therefore the bus staff rushed us.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Crazy busy hot spot. Waiter seemed pre-o ...

Dined 4 days ago

Crazy busy hot spot. Waiter seemed pre-occupied. Had the pasta Tasting menu, one of the three dishes was simple and good, spaghetti with tomato sauce, the other two were weak especially the beef short rib lasagna with a cream sauce, sweet in flavor and not good. The best two dished were the veal chop Parmesan, tender veal and crisp and the hanger steak with polenta. Calamari app and Caesar salad were good as well.

food5
ambience4
service4

Loved the pasta special and the $29 wine ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved the pasta special and the $29 wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived 30 minutes late due to heavy ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We arrived 30 minutes late due to heavy nyc traffics but were seated immediately with kindness! The service is impeccable. Delicious wine recommendation. Burrata, antipasto grilled vegetables and the tri pasta selections were amazing. We are looking forward to coming back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overal, the ambiance, the service from M ...

Dined 4 days ago

Overal, the ambiance, the service from Marsello, the wine list, and the food were all OUTSTANDING!!! Thanks for a wonderful birthday! My daughter and I LOVED it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

The noise level was unacceptable even af ...

Dined 5 days ago

The noise level was unacceptable even after asking the server to address this issue.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very good italian meal, and $29 wine bot ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very good italian meal, and $29 wine bottle list, perfect pre theater meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girl's night out

Dined 5 days ago

Great food & service, perfect timing to get to show afterwards. Never a disappointment!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grea service and super food are a winnin ...

Dined 5 days ago

Grea service and super food are a winning combination!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Prices have gone up in the 30-plus years ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Prices have gone up in the 30-plus years we've eaten here, but it's still fun--good food, good service, and near to theater.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

GOOD FOR AFTER MATINEE EARLY DINNER HAD ...

Dined 6 days ago

GOOD FOR AFTER MATINEE EARLY DINNER HAD NICE BOTTLE OG WHITE WINE (BECCO OWN BRAND)

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I've had in the th ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of the best meals I've had in the theatre district! Awesome Bronzino, and the pasta trip special is yummy!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta lunch special ( samples of 3 ...

Dined 6 days ago

The pasta lunch special ( samples of 3 pastas of the day) was delicious and a good value. Nice touch with the $29 wine menu. Great friendly and attentive service. Highly recommended especially pre-theatre.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second time at Lidia's rest ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time at Lidia's restaurant. The food is very very good. The hot food comes really hot (a good thing!) You won't leave hungry as is the case nowadays with many restaurants. Only negative is that the tables are really tiny so they barely hold your plate and drink and the bread and you are REALLY close to the people on either side of you -- you hear their conversations whether you want to or not!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pasta special rules

Dined 7 days ago

I love the pasta specials for lunch. My fav is the pasta that's rolled like taffy and filled with motzerella cheese. Simply delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late for an 11:30 reservatio ...

Dined 7 days ago

We arrived late for an 11:30 reservation, 11 ladies ready to attend the theatre. The waiters were so attentive, cheerful and could not have been more graceful. Due to traffic, we were late, they welcomed everyone, brought the meal and we were out in time for the play. The meal was excellent. A truly wonderful experience from start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to impress!! Thank you for y ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Never fails to impress!! Thank you for your years of wonderful service.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I was thrilled to be going to Lydia's re ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I was thrilled to be going to Lydia's restaurant but was disappointed in my chicken breast dish--it was VERY hot and overcooked/tough. I was expecting it to be moist and juicy. The ambience is similar to a Little Italy restaurant, crowded, close together with great service. I won't be going back because the food is most important to me.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good... food and service...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Always busy, has a great atmosphere and service friendly and food good...

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Pasta!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

The pasta trio was wonderful! The meal starts with a Caesar salad and then three waiters arrive with hot skillets full of three different pastas. All were delicious & the gnocchi was light as a feather. Awesome desserts too! It's right in the theatre district, so perfect for those special nights.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Think this is a very good value, especia ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Think this is a very good value, especially in the theater district. My only complaint is that the tables for 2 are very small making it difficult to place more than two plates at one time.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. The 3 pasta pre fixe c ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place. The 3 pasta pre fixe cannot be beat. And they have a 29.00 per bottle wine list that has some great wines. Our dinner was pre theatre and they kept everything on time to assure a relaxing meal and getting to our show on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was good, but it was so noisy t ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was good, but it was so noisy that the two of us could hardly talk to each other

food3
ambience4
service2

We have dined here several times. Most h ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

We have dined here several times. Most have been better than this, which started with very oily menus and multiple requests for a high chair for our 2 year old. Service changed or rather stopped in the middle of dinner. The "fresh" fish special halibut was fishy and tasted like it had been frozen. The spaghetti with marinara was delicious and hot but the mushroom ravioli so rather bland and watery. The risotto served with the chicken was flavorful. I have given better reviews to this place in the past and was highly disappointed with this visit.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love Becco! Delicious food - Lidia Bas ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

I love Becco! Delicious food - Lidia Bastianich is BRILLIANT. And, it's an AMAZING deal to get unlimited pasta for $25 for dinner with bread and salad. #thedream

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Special Occasion dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant. Service and Food were outstanding. Would have preferred to be in the main dining room. Our table was in the bar area. It just didn't feel as open or special, as the this was a birthday dinner occasion. Next time I will request different room.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Crowded, little space between tables. Mi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Crowded, little space between tables. Might be common in NYC. Service was solid. Food was great. I would go back. Had pasta of day sampler.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to take family

Dined on May 22, 2016

Took some family visiting from out of town. They loved the proximity to Times Square and the cozy atmosphere. We all ordered the pasta trio and enjoyed every bite. Too stuffed for desert but I recommend this place to others. Great deal and very quick service especially if you are seeing a show. Upscale but casual. Reservations totally recommended for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Pre Theater Perfect

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have eaten at Becco several times before going to the theater. The daily prix fixe, three pasta menu is a great deal, as is the $29 wine bottle list. Service is attentive, and they make sure you leave for the show on time.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The $29 wines and the 3-course pasta mea ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The $29 wines and the 3-course pasta meal are unbeatable! One look at the staff also proves you have embraced diversity. Congratulations!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food Was Good

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was excellent, nice atmosphere, value was good. I had the caesar salad/stuffed peppers and my friend had soup/seafood over polenta...she made the better choice in my opinion!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-Theater Pasta Special

Dined on May 22, 2016

Pre-theater pasta special is a good value, except that on the last two occasions, one of the pasta options was only so-so. So rather than three choices, it really was two. Food quality was good, but not spectacular.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food at a great price. We've been ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food at a great price. We've been several times now, and would recommend it to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a delicious low cost get together

Dined on May 22, 2016

Becco is a phenomenal place to come for an inexpensive get together. There is a $29 wine list with an AMAZING Bastianich Sauvignon Blanc, and the sinfonia de pasta is to dye for. For a very low cost, you get unlimited salad and a variety of three different daily pastas. I always have a great time and leave very full when I dine at Becco!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wine selection

Dined on May 22, 2016

Found a favourite bottle of Amarone on the wine list. Unfortunately wasn't in stock so a replacement bottle was decided upon. The bottle was decanted somewhere other than in my presence and was brought to my table. I wasn't enamoured with the wine so sent it back. Another bottle was brought to me table, unopened, and we decided to try that one. Again the waiter brought 2 glasses and the decanted wine. We accepted the wine and the waiter poured out 2 glasses and left the table with the decanter. Buy this time wasn't sure what I was drinking whether it was the $100.00 bottle I ordered or some other wine. In hind sight I should have asked that the bottle, un-canted be left at my table. Live and learn!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

I have eaten at Beccos many times and ha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have eaten at Beccos many times and have never had a bad experience yet. The food is always great and the staff is very helpful. I just wish it was a bit bigger

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.