About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
Meatballs
Osso buco alla Becco
3 Pastas Special
Zuppa Di Pesce Misto
Roasted Pulled Pork
Bread Service
Pesto Rigatoni
Bistecca Alla Becco
Spicy Pasta Bolognese W/ Fried Shrimp
Olives
Octopus Salad And Skate Antipasto
Pumpkin Ravioli
Sarme
Ricotta, Honey And Peas
Antipasto Platter
Antipasti
Zuppa de Pesce
Stuffed Peppers
Tiramisu
Three Pasta Special - Sinfonia Of Paste
Tuna With Pickled Ramps
Fried Calamari
Assorted Dessert Sampler
3 Pastas
Antipasto
Burrata On Toast With Asparagus
Caesar Salad
Seafood Antipasto
lasagna
Zabaglione
Antipasto Misto
Sinfonia Di Paste
Deep Fried Fluke
Octopus Salad
Pesce Spada
Tagliatelle
Ravioli
Trio De Pastas
Ommegang Witte Wheat Ale
Antipasto And Seafood Plate
Grilled Lamb Porterhouse
Halibut
Contorni: Spinach
Strudel Di Mele
Three Daily Pasta Preparations: Stingingnettle Gundi, Penne with Tomato and Fresh Basil, and Fettuccine with Beef Short Rib Ragu
Contorni: Funghi Trifolati
Gelati Misti: Mint Chocolate Chip
Dessert Sampler
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Osso Bucco
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
potatoes
Bread & Grissini
Assorted Grilled And Marinated Vegetables
Cheese & Honey
Grilled Mortadella
Penne
Pollo Limon
Cheesecake
Spaghetti Pomodoro
Panna Cotta And Strawberry Sorbet
Rigatoni Bolognese
Polenta with Speck
Polenta W/ Crispy Speck
Fegato
apple streudel
Ceasar Salad
Ricottina
Insalata Cesare
Mozzarella Lavorata in Casa
Spaghetti With Tomato And Basil
Semolina Gnocchi
Orecchiette with Bacon
Espresso
Beef Meatballs
Gamberi 'Al Forno'
Lemon Chicken
Pasta
Hanger Steak
Veal
....delicious.
Black & White Panna Cotta
Tuna
Mixed Dessert Platter

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (511)
Special Occasion (440)
Neighborhood Gem (427)
See All
Notable Wine List (355)
Good for Groups (348)
Great for Lunch (309)
Hot Spot (174)
Romantic (139)
Late-night Find (102)
Kid-friendly (77)
Great for Brunch (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
12776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was outstanding along wit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant was outstanding along with food and service I plan on returning soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Becco regularly post and pre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

We dine at Becco regularly post and pre theater. The food is alway delicious. They use quality ingredients and the portions are generous. The wait staff is helpful and friendly and if you have a reservation you never have to wait.

I have noticed a few things lately though. This recent experience we opted not to order the tri pasta special which is very popular. Instead, we ordered off the lunch menu. Our order took longer than expected and our waiter was incredibly inattentive. This was disappointing because it was my mother's first experience at Becco and she was really looking forward to it. We had a delicious enjoyable experience however and will absolutely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great after theatre find! Found was deli ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great after theatre find! Found was delicious, very accommodating and lots of choices.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

good food served well. pasta special alw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

good food served well. pasta special always delights.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had the pasta and it was good. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had the pasta and it was good. It wasn't the best pasta I ever had but I appreciated the freshness of the ingredients and the effort to prepare it. It was good but didn't wow me. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. One negative I have is that we had a 7 pm reservation and we weren't seated until 7:15. And there wasn't even an explanation as to why I'd have to wait. We were just ushered to the bar in an obvious ploy to get us to buy drinks. My wife doesn't drink so no luck there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We chose Becco to go to after matinee di ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

We chose Becco to go to after matinee dinner as i had previously been there before years ago and it was fabulous. This time was a complete disappointment . Although the meal started with an excellent ceasar salad. The dressing was a little bland. All 3 friend chose the unlimited pasta special . The 3 choices were Spaghetti with marinara and basil, Artichoke Ravioli and Penne with short ribs. Spaghetti OK but nothing special. Artichoke Ravioli was OK but came out cold. The 3rd choice never came around even though we asked no less then 3 times. Service was horrible. Waiters disinterested and were chit chatting at service bar. Servers were hit and miss with no pattern so bypassed us continuously. Place was crowded but not worth a trip back. Not as good as I had remembered or other Italian restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Went before a show and it's a perfect lo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went before a show and it's a perfect location for that. The service is great. Very nice and accommodating. All three of us loved our food and there was plenty of it. No skimping here!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious pasta! Great menu selections, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious pasta! Great menu selections, outstanding service. I plan to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My uncle and I went here for a late brun ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

My uncle and I went here for a late brunch before heading to the theater to see Book of Mormon. We absolutely LOVED our food and the 3 pasta option is delicious. Will definitely be back in the future to try more menu options!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Seated beneath strong air conditioning, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Seated beneath strong air conditioning, food was cold within minutes.

No normal pasta dishes on the menu, only as part of the "unlimited quantities of 3 defined pastas" deal. Unfortunately none of the 3 were particularly good.

The staff were lovely and friendly, but we settled our bill and departed quickly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time to Becco and eac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the second time to Becco and each time was a terrific experience. The wait staff are very friendly and personable. The food is outstanding, and they have a terrific low-price wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was good...great portions....the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was good...great portions....the table next to us was sooooo loud that it ruined our experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Therestaurantwas noisyandalittletightand ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Therestaurantwas noisyandalittletightandwehadonehit--outstandinglambchopandonemiss-chickenwasdry. Wewouldcertainlycomeback saladandsidedisheswerewonderful

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

absolutely the best place on restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

absolutely the best place on restaurant row in manhattan for pre-theater. the all-u-can-eat pasta special, and the extensive list of reasonable wines make for a great meal. try the meatball appetizer if it's on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I think Lydia needs to be in the kitche ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I think Lydia needs to be in the kitchen supervising

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Horrible service. Too crowded. Too loud. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Horrible service. Too crowded. Too loud. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Everything was great the only thing I ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great the only thing I can complain about it that it was so tight. We were sat at a table for two that barely fit our plates of food. WE felt very squished. They even had to move tables out of the way so people could get to their seats

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great for a pre-theater meal. Authentic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great for a pre-theater meal. Authentic food, all tastes fresh and homemade.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally found a New York restaurant near ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Finally found a New York restaurant near the Theater District with great food, service, charm and value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. We were c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food and service. We were celebrating a special birthday, and the waiter (Nino) couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. They even sang for us!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was PERFECT!!!!!!!!! as was t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was PERFECT!!!!!!!!! as was the entire experience and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved our pre theater lunch at Becco - W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved our pre theater lunch at Becco - Waitstaff was attentive, friendly, sensitive to our time needs and un-phased by the deluge that began to pour down on the table next to us (from unexpected torrential rains). Food was FANTASTIC. We will definitely return on our next Broadway adventure. Love this (away from the hub) times square institution.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service Will recommend as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and service

Will recommend as a go to place when visiting NYC

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the pasta special and it was a gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We did the pasta special and it was a great deal and the food was tasty. The $29 wine list also helped keep it an affordable but fun meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience at Becco, with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a great experience at Becco, with great food and professional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another amazing meal at Becco. The 3 pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Another amazing meal at Becco. The 3 pasta special tasting is impossible to beat for quality and value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a late lunch, at 2 pm on a F ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went for a late lunch, at 2 pm on a Friday. We were seated immediately, and had plenty of time to look over the wine list and menu. Service was excellent, although more in the European style (relax and enjoy the food, ambiance, and company). We weren't in a hurry, so that was fine. It was late in the afternoon, so uncrowned. If the room had been full, I think the noise level would have been too much. Excellent food, very authentic Italian, but I expected as much from a restaurant of Lydia B. I love watching her cook on TV, so was looking forward to this lunch - everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was lacking once they realized w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was lacking once they realized we were not ordering appetizers on through, only an entrée. Pasta dishes were lackluster, very disappointing for New York City area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I was delightfully surprised. The wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I was delightfully surprised. The wine was very good and reasonable. The food was very good and the fish was fresh. The ambienc e was small and ok and the service was good. I would definitely go there again and highly recommended. The value was excellent especially for that area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The staff had our table ready when our p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff had our table ready when our party arrived. There were eight of us including a handicapped person in a motorized scooter. The staff was very accommodating and located us near the front of the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was well prepared and delicious! Becco is a very welcoming enjoyable place and we all had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, waiter was terrific but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was great, waiter was terrific but the seating in the back of the restaurant was uncomfortably tight and made the evening less enjoyable than it would otherwise have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food and great prices for NYC. Pa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and great prices for NYC. Pasta special was great. $29 wine list is special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although the service was on the slow sid ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Although the service was on the slow side, we enjoyed the food. It's a great place to go to before theater.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Hadn't been there in quite some time. Wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Hadn't been there in quite some time. Was seated immediately, even before the other person in my party arrived. Well ventilated restaurant on what was a very hot day (we sat in the back room), though the bar area is cooler (if you like that, I do). We didn't have theater plans, so food our food was brought out over time, giving us plenty of time to chat. Excellent food, though 2 of the 3 of the night's pastas, that we ordered extra with our entrees, were a bit bland. That was a first. Would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu selection different than the every ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Menu selection different than the every day norm. Food was good. One of the pastas we had was Gnocchi, however, it didn't have the shape of traditional gnocchi I was used to. It had the consistency of polenta, was round in shape, light and tasty. Service was great however, felt rushed, we were done in an hour, probably due to the restaurant being located near the theatre district. The only negative was it very noisy. I will go back next time I'm in New York overall a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The food was good but too crowded for my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was good but too crowded for my taste. To go to the ladies room I had to ask the table next to me to actually move their table! I felt like cattle in a meat truck. The food was good but I had to ask the waiter to put our bottle of Rosé on ice otherwise it would be sitting on a small shelf next to our table. It was very hot in the restaurant and the bathroom even hotter! I will probably try it for lunch maybe less crowded.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food but too many tables crammed i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food but too many tables crammed in. Service was great but I won't go again due to the noise and cramped space

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Enjoyed the meal with my wife , our firs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Enjoyed the meal with my wife , our first time visiting this restaurant. From cocktails to dessert we had a nice pre show meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever traveling to NYC, I make this a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Whenever traveling to NYC, I make this a stop. This time, took my sons and nephews (ages 12-20) for the first time and they loved the experience. There were options for all and the staff was great as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went before a Broadway play - twice! And ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went before a Broadway play - twice! And doing it again in a couple of weeks!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.