About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY
Becco, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (448)
Authentic (237)
Good for a Date (221)
See All
Special Occasion (213)
Neighborhood Gem (200)
Outstanding Value (198)
Casual (182)
Notable Wine List (181)
Comfort Food (171)
Fit for Foodies (165)
Great for Lunch (154)
Good for Birthdays (149)
Good for Anniversaries (149)
Good for Groups (131)
Creative Cuisine (122)
Fun (119)
Family Style (114)
Cozy (105)
Business Meals (84)
Sunday Lunch (80)
Romantic (77)
Worth the Drive (76)
Hot Spot (68)
People Watching (49)
Kid-friendly (42)
Late-night Find (41)
Tasting Menu (41)
Good Vegetarian Options (41)
Bar Seating (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Seasonal (34)
Great for Brunch (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Private Room (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Quick Bite (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Healthy (13)
Historic (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Organic (5)
Vegan (5)
Scenic View (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
14309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the pasta special. Everything is gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Love the pasta special. Everything is great!! Wine was delicious!! Got one of the $29 bottles. The service was wonderful!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, , Hot Spot, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived an hour early for reservation ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived an hour early for reservation and were seated before we could even order a drink at the bar! The food was amazing. I had the special short ribs and could. Or have been happier. My husband had the lamb chops and they were perfect. My only complaint s very minor, I love dessert and I felt the choices were so so and the dessert I did order was okay. We finished most f it just to. It waste money. So definitely go for the dinner but get dessert elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hands down the best Italian food at a gr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the best Italian food at a great value. The service, ambiance, and food are all amazing! I will be eating here every time I am in the area from now on!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a weekend lunch with a large gr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for a weekend lunch with a large group... service and food were both excellent. Would absolutely return if I find myself on restaurant row again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, atmosphere, and staff. The $ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, atmosphere, and staff. The $29 wine menu is awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfect. Always consistent. The on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Just perfect. Always consistent. The only place I ever go in NYC!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, , Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was wonderful! We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The whole experience was wonderful! We were in a quiet corner upstairs for lunch, the wait staff were attentive, informative making suggestions and taking care of desires before our asking. The food was wonderful. We had stuffed peppers, lemon chicken, and fennel sausage...highly recommend all. The waiter chose a digestiv for us which was lovely. When I am in the theater district I always dine at Becco's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and our waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was excellent and our waiter found the answers to any of our questions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was a great experience and very affor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a great experience and very affordable. I will most definitely return to this location.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

David was a great waiter! Great sense of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

David was a great waiter! Great sense of humor. So fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the three pasta dinner and re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed the three pasta dinner and really enjoyed them. But the best part was the antipasti course--that was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Was a great place for a lunch date

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Was a great place for a lunch date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Becco is what it is, large plates of Ita ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Becco is what it is, large plates of Italian food. My whole fish was good. The meatballs were huge and flavorful 3 were too many for one person.

I was able to find two really good bottles of wine at the $29.00 wine list.

The three pasta was all you can eat but probably the weakest dish we had for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Returned for a mid-week pre-theatre dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Returned for a mid-week pre-theatre dinner. The unlimited three pasta special was fantastic. I can't wait to dine here again soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great place. We've been here o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great place. We've been here once before- before a show and they have the whole pre- show thing down perfectly so you don't feel rushed. The only reason I gave it 4 stars this time is that I ordered the Zuppe di Pesce ( a mixed seafood soup over polenta) and the shrimp and fish were way over cooked. The scallops were fine and the broth and polenta were yummy.

The restaurant is bigger than it looks and has a number of small dining rooms on 2 floors.

Overall always a great experience.

PS- the extensive $29/bottle wine list is a great deal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy going to Beccos when we go to t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoy going to Beccos when we go to theatre. We have eaten here at least ten times over the past several years and it is always consistently good. We love the trio pasta special and all other dinner specials we have sampled. The meatballs are wonderful. $29 wine list is a good value. Disappointed that the Morellino de Scansano was not available on the wine list this time. Enjoyed a Montipulciano.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food but a bit overpriced. But the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food but a bit overpriced. But the food really is special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Great spot for a business night out in m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for a business night out in mid-town west - go a little later (e.g 7:30 on) to avoid the pre-theater crowd. There are not too many real Italian restaurants west of broadway w/o going deep into hell's kitchen so this is a great spot for solid Italian food with a menu that is diverse enough to please everyone and accessible enough to not come off as snobby. Just good Italian food. The $29 wine menu also keeps things simple and reasonable for the expense report.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As usual Becco did not disappoint, the f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual Becco did not disappoint, the food is outstanding and we always enjoy a selection from the $29 wine list. This is the best place in NYC and the prices are so reasonable I cannot see how they do it. It fills up lightning fast so reservations are a must, the service tends to be a bit slow because of the crowd but the wait staff is very courteous and knowledgeable . Three diners and the bill was only $140 including tax ,appetizer, entrees, a bottle of fine wine and cappucino for all, can't beat it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Been here before. Second time around, i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Been here before. Second time around, i felt like a tables for two is not worth their time. had to switch table since original table and chairs could hardly fit in the space they positioned it.... and we watched as they tried to seat 3 more couples in same spot, and each time, the couples requested to be seated somewhere else!! Veal was chewy, but other than that, we were satisfied with the rest of the meal. Upstairs is quiet, but they can afford to improve the overall atmosphere.. downstairs, very noisy, noticed as we were leaving.

Tags: Authentic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

This is my 4th time to Becco in 2 months ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is my 4th time to Becco in 2 months. My server was not the friendliest of people and seemed to want to rush us when we asked menu questions. My first 3 times to Becco, my server was Hector. Unfortunately, we were seated upstairs and Hector was not up there. Going forward, I would only request to be seated in Hector's section.

I wish Becco had, at least one, gluten free pasta option. It does not. I have had to eat the same thing 4 times as it seem to be the only gluten free option.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for lunch before a Broadway matinee ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for lunch before a Broadway matinee. Enjoyed a three course lunch (bread plate, anti-pasto, and "all you can eat" 3 pasta special). Food was delicious and waiter assisted us in purchasing a wine which complimented our meal. A very good value for a delicious lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great home style Italian food, and good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great home style Italian food, and good wine, choice simplified by the "all wine is $29" menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great server, extensive menu with many d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great server, extensive menu with many desirable options at reasonable prices. Food was excellent. Great value any time...I now understand why it is so hard to get a reservation!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a nice corner table but tables are c ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a nice corner table but tables are close and we were upstairs. There was nothing on the walls and it really lacked ambiance. Our waiter was fabulous and he was a master covering all 10 ish tables! All three pasta of the day were excellent! The seafood trio was delicious however my salmon was overcooked.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great spot for pre-theater dining! I re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for pre-theater dining! I recommend the chefs pasta-trio prix fixe option and definitely choose the antipasto with seafood as your first course! The cold octopus salad was wonderful!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have not been to Becco for a few years a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Have not been to Becco for a few years as we were living out of the country. It's as good as ever....maybe even better. Food is first class and reasonable wine prices. You cannot beat the value for the money spent. I highly recommend!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the 3 pasta special and chose the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I had the 3 pasta special and chose the vegetables, seafood for an app. The Caesar salad was delicious but the veggies were not good. Pasta over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

I always go to Becco every time I am in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I always go to Becco every time I am in NYC!! The pasta trio is always delicious & all of their bottles of wine are $29, which is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and have enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Have been here many times and have enjoyed it immensely. This time the food was rather bland from soup to salad to entree. First time I have been disappointed. Coming back next week, so stay tuned!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ordered bottle of white wine. When waite ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ordered bottle of white wine. When waiter opened for us to taste , it was warm. He offered to chill it got a while and it would be ready when we ate. Not at all acceptable. Got a manager who got another bottle. Food was good. Attitude was not. Spend your money elsewhere where you are appreciated. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

While a good choice in the theatre distr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

While a good choice in the theatre district and a good value, find the Caesar salad tasteless and the pasta dishes pretty ordinary. Everyone was pleased with their entrees - salmon, pork, sausage, seafood. We were seated on the terrace upstairs - it was uncomfortably cold. We kept our coats on. Hard to find great food in the theatre district, but I'd opt for Blue Fin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great as always!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great as always!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too many tables in such a small spac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Way too many tables in such a small space. U can't even hear your own conversation. The pasta special was anything but special. We did enjoy the bread and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Becco never disappoints. Pasta Sinfonia ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Becco never disappoints. Pasta Sinfonia & wines are a great value and the menus always have fabulous seasonal specials in addition to classics. And they strive to make sure you make it to the theater in time!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My third time eating here while visiting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My third time eating here while visiting Manhattan/Times Square. The pasta combo is always good and filling with great service. Cramped quarters so go early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The antipasto which ws pairedwith the ch ...

 
 (México)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The antipasto which ws pairedwith the chef special 3 pastas was amazingly different and delicious. It could have been a meal in itself. Loved it!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here many time but this time t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been here many time but this time the three pasta selection was nice but tasted just ok. Pumpkin ravioli, penne bolognese and spaghetti with marinara have all been better on previous visits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Small tables and very busy. Better to Si ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Small tables and very busy. Better to Sit upstairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I've been to Becco many times, mainly fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've been to Becco many times, mainly for dinner -sometimes for lunch- it is a good, reliable place for pre-theater meals and has good value wine list. Dinner is also reasonably priced and comes with salad. However we were very disappointed to see that lunch does not come with salad and for the same food lunch is more expensive than dinner. Feels like a rip-off. If Becco continues this pricing policy for lunch then we will go to nearby restaurants on 9th ave instead

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.