About Becco

355 West 46th Street
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Lidia Bastianich & her son Joe's Theater District mainstay. Best known for the $22.95 pasta tasting menu & the great selections on the $29 Italian wine list. Loved by locals & out of towners alike, Becco has been serving consistently delicious regional Italian cuisine since 1993. Located on the famed Restaurant Row in NYC's Theatre District, Becco is open for lunch & dinner seven days a week. Enjoy signature dishes, like the Osso Bucco, as well as the bounty of fresh seasonal preparations. The Reserve Wine list has many of Italy's best known producers, as well as some more eclectic wine makers. A knowledgeable staffer will be on hand to help you make a great choice. With 18 years on restaurant row, great food & great service help make Becco the right choice time & time again.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 10:00
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Wednesday: 11:30 - 2:30/4:00 - 12:00
Thursday: 12:00 - 3:00/4:30 - 12:00
Friday: 12:00 - 3:00/5:00 - 12:00
Saturday: 11:30 - 3:00/4:00 - 12:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 3:00/3:00 - 10:00

Cross Street:
Between 8th and 9th Avenues

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 397-7597

Website:
http://www.becco-nyc.com/

Parking Details:
Becco is not affiliated with a specific parking garage; however, there are 2 lots East of the restuarant on 46th street.

Public Transit:
All of the following trains stop at Times Square 42nd Street
N/Q/R - 1/2/3 - A/C/E - 7 - S

Upper East Side: Take the to Lexington Avenue/59th Street & transfer to the downtown to Times Square 42nd Street.

Executive Chef:
William Gallagher

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
Meatballs
Osso buco alla Becco
Caesar Salad
3 Pastas Special
Heirloom Tomato With Mozzerella
Fish, Shrimp And Scallop With Lobster Brado Over Polenta
Mushroom Ravioli
Pasta With Pesto And Green Beans
Black Pasta With Shrimp
Pasta Trio
Zuppa Di Pesce Misto
Roasted Pulled Pork
Bread Service
Pesto Rigatoni
Bistecca Alla Becco
Spicy Pasta Bolognese W/ Fried Shrimp
Olives
Octopus Salad And Skate Antipasto
Pumpkin Ravioli
Sarme
Ricotta, Honey And Peas
Antipasto Platter
Antipasti
Zuppa de Pesce
Stuffed Peppers
Tiramisu
Three Pasta Special - Sinfonia Of Paste
Tuna With Pickled Ramps
Fried Calamari
Assorted Dessert Sampler
3 Pastas
Antipasto
Burrata On Toast With Asparagus
Seafood Antipasto
lasagna
Zabaglione
Antipasto Misto
Sinfonia Di Paste
Deep Fried Fluke
Octopus Salad
Pesce Spada
Tagliatelle
Ravioli
Trio De Pastas
Ommegang Witte Wheat Ale
Antipasto And Seafood Plate
Grilled Lamb Porterhouse
Halibut
Contorni: Spinach
Strudel Di Mele
Three Daily Pasta Preparations: Stingingnettle Gundi, Penne with Tomato and Fresh Basil, and Fettuccine with Beef Short Rib Ragu
Contorni: Funghi Trifolati
Gelati Misti: Mint Chocolate Chip
Dessert Sampler
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Osso Bucco
Sea Scallops & Shrimp
potatoes
Bread & Grissini
Assorted Grilled And Marinated Vegetables
Cheese & Honey
Grilled Mortadella
Penne
Pollo Limon
Cheesecake
Spaghetti Pomodoro
Panna Cotta And Strawberry Sorbet
Rigatoni Bolognese
Polenta with Speck
Polenta W/ Crispy Speck
Fegato
apple streudel
Ceasar Salad
Ricottina
Insalata Cesare
Mozzarella Lavorata in Casa
Spaghetti With Tomato And Basil
Semolina Gnocchi
Orecchiette with Bacon
Espresso
Beef Meatballs
Gamberi 'Al Forno'
Lemon Chicken
Pasta
Hanger Steak
Veal
....delicious.
Black & White Panna Cotta
Tuna
Mixed Dessert Platter

Private Dining

With 5 dining rooms, Becco has many options for anyone looking to plan a cocktail party, family reception or corporate function. From the 4 course Abbondonza menu to cocktail receptions, Becco's party packages are specifically designed to fit your individual group needs.

Becco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (416)
Special Occasion (394)
Neighborhood Gem (360)
See All
Notable Wine List (304)
Good for Groups (279)
Great for Lunch (264)
Hot Spot (130)
Pre/post Theatre (128)
Romantic (126)
Late-night Find (76)
Good for a Date (75)
Kid-friendly (69)
Authentic (67)
Casual (61)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Great for Brunch (51)
Outstanding Value (48)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Comfort Food (41)
Fun (39)
Family Style (38)
Business Meals (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Worth the Drive (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Cozy (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
People Watching (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
12961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome....as usual! The food & Raif, ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome....as usual! The food & Raif, our waiter, made for a splendid afternoon of dining. The wine Raif chose for Gerald was wonderful. We are trying to purchase a case...or two...or three!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food will be much better. Ver ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Though the food will be much better. Very loud , tables too close together. Feel like the restaurant is over rated.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

After a great time at Becco earlier this ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

After a great time at Becco earlier this year, this second trip was a huge disappointment. Though we had a reservation, they stuck us in the bar area -- perhaps because we were early -- where the seating is tighter and the noise level much higher. One of the three pastas in the "symphony" had clams, which we did not want, so they gave us linguini without clams, or anything else, and it arrived lukewarm. Ditto for the mushroom ravioli. Only the third pasta came hot. Waiter was curt and a bit huffy when we declined the clams. Won't be back in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Becco was good I did think that it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Becco was good I did think that it was loud. We sat upstairs at 530pm and it was very busy and loud. Food was good. Would recommend Becco to my friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was excellent and for a theater ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and for a theater district restaurant very reasonably priced. We both had the three pasta special for $25. The mushroom ravioli was especially good as well as the linguini with clams. The farfalle pasta was good but the sauce ordinary. BTW it was unlimited pasta. The special came with either a classic Cesar salad or antipasto. The Cesar was very good, the antipasto unique and exceptional if you like Octopus Nice selection of $29 wines. We were too full for dessert. Surprisingly this was the only pasta on the menu. The main courses looked very nice as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Becco's is a definite go-to when in NYC. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Becco's is a definite go-to when in NYC. The service and food is exceptional; the menu extensive with so many deliciously fresh items to choose from. I highly recommend Becco's whenever your near Restaurant Row...and even if you not, make the trip -- you won't be sorry!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 4th visit to Becco. Dinner be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my 4th visit to Becco. Dinner before theatre.

We were seated in the back room where there are tables for 2. Both of us had shopping bags and area became very tight. We were sitting close to both parties on either side of us, and were not able to hear our own conversations!

Over food was good, commercial grade Italian, nothing 'very' special.

The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant is very good as a prehea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is very good as a preheater restaurant.

They offered a special which consisted of 2 salads, (octopus or Cesear) plus 3 fresh hot pastas.

They continued to replenish the pasta plates. The service was friendly. The special was $25, a real bargain inn New York City. The location was great with a short walk to any of the theaters.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Pre or post Broadway theater....perfect! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Pre or post Broadway theater....perfect! Deelish from appetizers to dessert - and it won't break the bank. You won't complain about the wine selections at $29 a bottle that actually taste good! A bit crowded but it makes for fun, spontaneous conversations! A happy tasty place!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Truly amazing Italian food. Worth the t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Truly amazing Italian food. Worth the trip no matter where in the country you're coming from. If you're in NYC for theater, be sure to include Becco in your plans. The pasta trio in simply unbeatable. Be sure to take them up on their bottle of wine deals. Service and food are exceptional!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and an excellent value in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and an excellent value in the pris fix/all you can eat pasta option! The atmosphere is friendly and lively and the service was terrific; they could not have been more accomodating and friendly. We had an international group of 9 and everyone walked away delighted! Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food. Nice $29 bottles ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and food. Nice $29 bottles of wine. Shared pasta was a great idea.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in the theater district ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant in the theater district. Very good food, great service and kept to our pre-theater schedule.

A winner!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. A li ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently good food and service. A little noisy but a good choice if you are going to the theater.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner in between Broadway shows. Becco ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner in between Broadway shows. Becco never disappoints. It's always crowded but we had nice conversations with the people sitting near us. Food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I would say overall that my experience a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I would say overall that my experience at Becco was perfect...as I said to the waiter it's remarkable how they are able to accommodate the theatre crowd and get them to the matinee on time without seeming to rush anyone - they are real pros.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great pre theatre meal!! Highly recomme ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great pre theatre meal!! Highly recommend the pasta special for lunch! Really great bread. Fast but you don't feel rushed. Great $29 wine menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always consistently good food and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistently good food and service. Their pasta special is not only tasty but great value. Never had a bad meal. Bear in mind that when there is the pre-theater crowd it can be rather noisy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy and noisy but still able to hear ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Busy and noisy but still able to hear out table conversation ok. Nice cozy Typical NYC restaurant in Hells Kitchen. Reasonable prices and good deal on $29/bottle wine list. Great service and friendly atmosphere. Good Italian menu, very tasty pasta choices. A " be- back " type of place.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

If there is a better value in NYC, I'm n ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

If there is a better value in NYC, I'm not aware of it! Love this place! Always excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The pasta special is a selection of thre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

The pasta special is a selection of three pastas, one of the three was good the other two not great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE AND CLOSE TO ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE AND CLOSE TO THE THEATER FOR A CONVENIENT AND ENJOYABLE EVENING

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to have the pasta special. 3 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We decided to have the pasta special. 3 different pastas and all you want! Plus either a salad or vegetable plate. It was delicious. They also have their wine very reasonably priced so you can enjoy a bottle or 2! I've been several times and am never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awful , food was awful , env ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was awful , food was awful , environment was cramped and very loud . I can't believe this is Lidias place what a disappointment for myself and three sisters .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The clever device of $29 bottles of wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The clever device of $29 bottles of wine is really a hook for winos like us. They are importing some of these wines directly (not available in the USA at stores) but the choices are broad and our Montepulcianno de Abruzzi was excellent. The price fixed three pasta dinner we each had was delightful. The cheese platter for dessert was one of the best we ever had.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant overall

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!! Service, food, de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent as always!! Service, food, dessert, cocktails!! Love love love Becco

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful getting back to Becco's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was wonderful getting back to Becco's after a long absence since moving to New Jersey. Becco's never disappoints! I had a fantastic meal of halibut encrusted in potato flakes. Perfectly cooked and served over garlic mashed potatoes with cherry tomatoes and Romano beans. Yum, the flavor all intermingled to create a party on the palate. My companion enjoyed the chef's pasta symphony. This unfailable treat of pasta samplings

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pasta was very average at best

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pasta was very average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

went here for a friends birthday just us ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

went here for a friends birthday just us 2... really great food and the staff was all very nice. food was delicious and they have a huge wine list. great value for nyc

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Noise level is so high it makes conversa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Noise level is so high it makes conversation difficult and detracts from the overall dining experience. Service was slow and indifferent. The waiter took the drink order for the couple at the table next to us although we were seated a good 10 minutes before they were. This restaurant obviously works well for lots of people (very crowded) but we will never go back.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Good is always terrific --- the Ceasar S ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good is always terrific --- the Ceasar Salad and Fried Calamari were outstanding--- also had the pork chop with peppers which was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Typical NY restaurant, we became friendl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Typical NY restaurant, we became friendly with our table neighbors and compared notes on our dishes, all of which were excellent. Theater district and we arrived at 6:15, for reservation. short wait, for table to be ready in very crowded bar. My wife had swordfish - best I ever tasted; I had three pasta special - overwhelming amounts, each one better than the next. With shared appetizer, shared dessert (berries in zabaglione - terrific!), cappuccino and a bottle of wine, total bill for 2 with tip was only $150.00. I highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I've been coming to Becco for many years ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've been coming to Becco for many years now and once again, many of us that sunny Saturday afternoon were there for their exceptional "Sinfonia di Paste" lunch special. They let you choose between an antipasto or a Caesar's salad, then they bring you these heaping pans of fresh pastas, which they serve to you on your plate --3 of them, and really, if you want a second helping, that's OK! The pasta is super flavorful and the experience of the wait staff bringing these heaping, steaming pans of rigatoni bolognese, spinach ravioli, and spaghetti with marinara sauce ----it's entirely soul-satisfying and so good! Oh hey ---you're also right on the same street, a block away from "Hamilton" and other Broadway hits. Oh wait --did I mention that this lunch special is a steal??

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been eating at Becco once or twic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been eating at Becco once or twice each year since shortly after it opened in 1993. The food is consistently excellent and service is always efficient. A trip to The City is not complete without having a meal at Becco!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was good. Best to go after theat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was good. Best to go after theater if you want a quieter atmosphere.

The wine is a good value at $29.00 a bottle and the Italian cheesecake was fabulous!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointed. My reservation for tw ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very disappointed. My reservation for two was placed at an extremely small, awkwardly sized table. Our waiter was initially quite attentive but lost contact as the evening progressed. And our "view" was of the wait/clean up staff standing single file in the dining room. The food was at best fair and not what I'd expect from a restaurant Lydia was aligned with. Their primary concern/focus was on turning over the tables and prepping for the next diners. We will not be planning on a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

wonderful evening with old friends, good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

wonderful evening with old friends, good food, asked for a quiet table and restaurant did the best they could given the pre theater crowd, thank you becco

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was seated right away. Was given a tabl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Was seated right away. Was given a table in the back but requested a table out front and they complied with our request with no hesitation. Food was great...the pasta sampler platter was delicious especially the mushroom ravioli. Service was outstanding! I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this authentic Italian restaurant! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love this authentic Italian restaurant! Whenever we are in NY, it's a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.