Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Beaujolais Bistro

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Authentic (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fireplace (15)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (11)
Scenic View (11)
Waterfront (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Historic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was greasy. Ordered lobster & was a small portion of was seemed to be langustino smothered in butter. Horrible. Was served the worst calamari that I have ever had. Tasted like deep fried onion ring batter, couldn't finish, Beet salad was ok. Have been to many French restaurants in different states & this restaurant can't begin to compare. Very expensive for very low quality. Stay away unless you want to waste your money.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been here a dozen times over the last 3+ years....and I have to say, this was not a good experience. 1: It took 1/2 hour from the time we sat down and ordered an app for the app to arrive and for them to open our wine....we sat there and finally snagged another server to go track down our server. 2: I ordered the boneless lamb shank (w/ lentils, yogurt, carrots...)....The only problem is I think someone Thought Vanilla Yogurt was the same as Plain Yogurt....they are not....the sweetness really messed up the dish. 3: There was a party of 6 with two small children seated at the opposite end of the dining room...You know that High Pitched Squeal kids are now emitting...well...that went on our entire meal....over and over and over. So, people who bring toddlers to a find dining restaurant....if you can't control them - don't bring them.....Wait Staff...when the balance of your diners are turning around and pleading with their eyes for the party to Get Out...DON'T offer dessert...DON'T offer coffee....offer them the Check and the Door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food, amazing service :) Definitely high end experience, will be coming back for more :)

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!! The service and the food were impeccable! We will definitely visit again the next time we are in Reno!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Too noisy and overpriced for The meal was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service! Seemed quite expensive to me ($165 including tip for 2 adults) but I would say it's definitely worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Lee was our waiter and he is excellent. He is friendly, efficient and knows the menu well. The food was excessively salty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Server and bus boy were nice and attentive. Bartender was in "la la land." We were almost finished with our appetizers before our drinks were served. We had to ask server to see about our drinks. Restaurant and bar were not busy. My husband's ordered the duck breast. It was flavorful but extremely tough. He should have sent it back to the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

When we are in town visiting family, we always plan a meal here. Would compete well in any town but is a standout in Reno for sure!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is modest at best. Lack of inspiration in the kitchen. Menu has been static for years. Interesting location on the Truckee River

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Superb, friendly, intimate restaurant with authentic, delicious food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We ate at Beaujolais Bistro on Valentine's Day. I don't know of a more romantic spot in Reno than what we enjoyed here. The food and ambiance was spot on. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we went there for the first time the other night, the service , ambiance, and food were all exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent Food and service. Wonderful restaurant. Great Location on the river.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's dinner was so romantic and delicious. The atmosphere was amazing with a view of the river. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have always been impressed with the food when I have had dinner here. We were celebrating my husband's and best friend's birthdays at this dinner and choose the pre fix menu with wine pairing. It was fantastic. My only negative note I would have is when each course of wine and food was delivered to the table it was never explained. That being said the food and wine pairing was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This has become our go-to spot for fine dining in Reno. I have yet to have even a minor gripe about any part of the service or food. The drinks are hand-crafted, consistent, and exquisite. The French Onion Soup is by far the best that I have ever had. It is business casual, but there's absolutely no pretentiousness about it. The servers and their support staff are all amazing. It's extremely clean, the food is fresh, and the menu rotates along the same theme, but with seasonal changes to ensure the peak freshness of the ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service spotty. One dish not hot. Too long for table to be cleared after finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Each course was a unique experience. The quality of the food, from the warm Rosemary bread to the most creative deserts was exquisite. Rarely can you get a filet mignon you can cut with a fork. We look forward to more visits, and the opportunity to explore more of the desert selections. And kudos to our waiter who was an expert in all things Beaujolais, and most helpful with just the right recommendations based on our interest and dietary limitations. The staff goes all out to make your visit positively memorable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

So wonderful to find an authentic french restaurant in Reno. The onion soup was one of the best ever. We had the scallops & the beef bourguinon - both excellent. Service was outstanding - Lee was our server. A real treat after getting fed up with wonderful restaurants that are still inside noisy casinos.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic meal, this is the best restaurant in Reno for a high class meal in a charming setting. I'm never disappointed. The crepes for dessert will ensure that I return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is such a fine restaurant: the superb food, perfect lighting and decor, location right on the river, the overall and easygoing elegance. A credit to the city, the region, and the West. Highest recommendation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Their food was outstanding, one of our favorites in Reno. Been going there when they were on West St. Love their new location on the river.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fantastic experience and great wine list/food. A must when you are visiting Reno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was so good. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely go back. It was on the pricey side but still worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing! Unfortunately our server was less then accommodating. Everything we asked for he made us feel like it was a bother. Put a damper on an otherwise excellent evening.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hands-down the best food in Reno! The Duck Confit was fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Totally impressed! Great food, wine, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. Good for just the two of us or for a group of 10 (as we had last week). Excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is always perfect. French onion soup is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic unexpected restaurant in Reno. Get away from the casino and spend your winnings on something/someone special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The best restaurant in Reno. We dine here for all of our special days (holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, etc.), and they always deliver an excellent meal. Melody almost always waits on us and she is a gem. She is super-friendly, knows the wine and dinner menus, can always explain how the dishes are prepared, and is always there when you need something.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went with the family for a pre-Christmas special dinner. We were kept waiting despite the reservation and arriving in time, but the place doesn't have many tables and these things happen. Dinner was great, my first time in this location. Will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The French Onion soup was rich and just the right amount of slight creaminess from the wonderful cheeses used - And The Cassoulet was perfection from the balance of the cannellini beans - garlic- and sausage, pork belly, and duck confit. Nothing could have been better on a cold December night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time visit in years.
Excellent French food
Spectacular French wine list

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good food and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beaujolais Biatro has always been a favorite for our fancy French dinners in Reno. However this was a very frustrating experience. We booked thru Open Table well in advance. I called two days before to confirm the reservation and requested a window table. When we arrived they had no tables available even though they had our reservation. They had no note from my call for a window table. The attendant offered no excuse and no apology. He just said they were busy and suggested we have our holiday dinner at the bar. I told him we were not sitting on a bar stool to have our holiday dinner and said I was very disappointed. He interpreted that to mean I wanted him to throw someone out to make room for us and he said he wouldn't do it. I assured him disappointment did not mean I expected him to throw out a seated patron. The other French restaurant was a drive so we waited at the bar. He did not offer us a beverage on the house which I thought would have been the right way to handle it. We resolved to leave no tip if we ever got a table. Thirty minutes later we were seated by Jana who apologized profusely with no prompting by us. She delivered excellent service and the food was very good. She also comped us two desserts for our inconvenience. Jana saved the day and we were able to relax. We left her a very good tip because she rectified the problem. However, I would think twice before another fancy and expensive service fiasco there. Next time we will dine the The Fourth Street Bistro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We did not like it nor will we ever return. My GF selected it for a special occasion based on the ratings. For this price point, you have every right to expect good service and exceptional food. We received neither. We asked for lemon in our water and didn't get it. Three other tables were seated after us, and they all received their water, drinks and bread before we did. Each time we had to be the one to hail a server - for the lemon, bread and to place our wine order. While the wine was very good, it took 15-20 minutes to get the bottle. When we asked for additional vegetables with our means, we received 1 1/2 baby carrots, a slice of fennel, and a small plop (2 T?) cooked spinach - for both of us. No one checked back to see how our food was, or if we needed anything else. And no, it was not very busy... it was Sunday evening. We will never go back.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We have celebrated a few of our birthdays at Beaujolais Bistro and the food is always exceptional. I love the atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great from top to bottom. Service and food. It wasn't too busy and the chef came out to greet us and ask how our meal was. A nice touch. We had one of the later reservations and the only issue was that staff was cleaning up as we were still eating so it felt a bit rushed so we didn't have dessert and just ordered the bill. I would definitely recommend and we are going back again for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.