About Beaujolais Bistro

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: 775-323-2227x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Restaurant Photos

French Onion Soup - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Rosemary Bread - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Profiteroles - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Roasted Duck - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Short Rib Ravioli - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Salad - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Escargot - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Roasted Beet Salad - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lobster Mac n Cheese - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Champagne - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Beef Bourguignon - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lobster Mac&Cheese - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Plum Tartelette - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Vegetarian Terrine - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lamb Burger - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
6 More
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Scenic View (11)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Waterfront (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was wonderful. The only thin ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was wonderful. The only thing that could have been handled differently was the server came up to us and said the manager wanted to close out the bill since she had been there a long time. I think this could have been handled better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for an outstanding dinner experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places. Always good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of our favorite places. Always good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great time at Beau ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I had a great time at Beaujolais! We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and we couldn't have picked a better location. Service and food were both excellent. Our French hostess was so nice and even spent some time speaking in French with my son. Our server gave great tips on drinks and brought dessert with candle for my son. Would highly recommend Beaujolais and we will be back very soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe you want a bit more info...

The service is top notch; you always feel like your needs are being attended to, but not in an overtly obnoxious way. Someone is always nearby and available, so you don't feel like you've got to go looking for somebody if you need something. Very nice staff, very attentive, and also very discreet (not "in your face" like some places can be, and also not "where the hell did everybody go", like other places.

The food...well, the food is just awesome sauce. We had the Steak Frites, which is done in a classic French style with a savory buttery peppercorn sauce, and hand-cut frites with a delectable aioli sauce. (I'm pretty sure they are hand-cut, but don't take my word for it as I didn't ask...all I can say is that I'm confident they weren't frozen!). We also had the rabbit and chicken Wellington which was SOOO good! Highly recommended...the pastry was light and flaky, the rabbit light but rich at the same time; it seemed like it would be a really rich and heavy dish, but we ate the whole thing..so good.

For dessert, we shared the chocolate mousse which has layers of blackout cake and raspberry coulis. Yum!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual. However onc ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual. However once we were seated, the host immediately poured us water then we did not see anyone for 10 mins. The waitress handled a poor wine selection by me admirably and brought us a different bottle. Other than that we had to pour our own wine throughout the dinner and ask for more water and iced tea as our glasses sat empty most of evening. We had to flag down the host just to get our food boxed and order coffee.

Normally the service is spot on and attentive. I rave about this restaurant and was excited to bring my mom and Gma here for their first experience. I was grateful the food was amazing because they asked me "do you think they would even notice if we left". Not how I wanted heir first experience to be,but again the food was superb and my past experiences have been great so I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Best food I have eaten since leaving Eur ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best food I have eaten since leaving Europe 2 years ago. Menu changes daily based on sourcing of food. One course does not start cooking until previous course is done. Was not an eating experience it's was a dining experience. There is a difference. Will eat here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful ambience.. great service ...fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

beautiful ambience.. great service ...food is over the top....what else can u as

k for?

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful experience as always. Great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A wonderful experience as always. Great place to meet friends over a splendid meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over the past ten years. I have never been so disappointed as I was last Wednesday night. I will not go on about the food or service, did that on Yelp, but I ruined my anniversary dinner by expecting stellar food and service (as in the past), but alas I had had neither.

Not sure what the disconnect was, but hugely disappointed and not sure I will return.

Best,

John

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This was my third time eating at Beaujol ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my third time eating at Beaujolais Bistro in the new setting. Although pricey it is toward the top of my list for special occasion dining. The French onion and beef bourgignon are to die for. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I went there before a conc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My friend and I went there before a concert. The ambiance was intimate in a renovated, old house along the river. Our waiter was gracious, and the food was delicious. We both had the duck, something we normally wouldn't order. It was to die for! The brussel sprouts sidedish was excellent, too!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ambiance and service were excellent. The menu is French country and has comfort dishes like cassoulet and beef bourguignon but also has other more haute cusine offerings. The wine list has choices mostly from France and the US but it is pricey with few lower cost options. The only disappointment was the chocolate mousse dessert. It was served in a tall dark chocolate cylinder with the mousse inside. The mousse was grainy which made it seem heavier and less tasty than others I have tried or even made at home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The November menu with wine pairing was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The November menu with wine pairing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another excellent meal! Bill is a fantas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Another excellent meal! Bill is a fantastic and creative chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have lived most of my 41 years in Reno ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have lived most of my 41 years in Reno. I have never had a better meal in Reno than I did tonight. The Onion Soup à la Gratinée was the best I have had, and I have had many across this earth. The duck breast was cooked to the perfect temperature. Absolutely delicious. My partner had the Hanger Steak Frites. Again, perfect medium rare, tender and flavorful. The libations were also expertly prepared.

From the moment we stepped through the door, we were treated like revered guests. Every staff member was perfect - personable, professional, and friendly. We can't wait to go back.

I am so happy to have discovered this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. We will be going ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food and service. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious,creative gourmet meal ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a delicious,creative gourmet meal in a lovely setting with excellent service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a little overprice the menu, the food wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

a little overprice the menu, the food was good but overprice so, that is the only problem

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Another nice evening at Beaujolais. For ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Another nice evening at Beaujolais. For more sophisticated fine dining in Reno, BB is one of the few options. Beautiful location, friendly staff and a consistent, accessible menu. Will repeat regularly and often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday celebration for my wife. They t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Birthday celebration for my wife.

They tried very hard to make it a intimate dinner.

We both like Rabbit, it wasn't what were used to,

the sausage didn't quite reach the top billing.

Otherwise they would be 5 star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, the restaurant is ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food is wonderful, the restaurant is quite an the waitstaff is great. I would recommend this for great food and drinks any day of the week

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fabulous time. Food was amazing ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a fabulous time. Food was amazing, the service great & our waiter even knew about the "dessert compartment" theory.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous, simply marvelous. Fabulous f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Marvelous, simply marvelous. Fabulous food, atmosphere and service in a lovely environment. I lived in Paris for ten years and know a great restaurant when I experience it. This is one of them.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say our waiter Steve was excellen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I must say our waiter Steve was excellent. Helped make the evening great.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was fantastic, the hostess ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The ambience was fantastic, the hostess greeted us with a very friendly smile and seated us immediately, the waiter went above and beyond for service handling any problems and the food was outstanding, wine list is short and sweet, not confusing... my mom is French and was visiting so I took her there, "tres bon"

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Beaujolais Bistro was phenom ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food at Beaujolais Bistro was phenomenal. I had been there before but my wife hadn't, and she really wanted to celebrate our anniversary there. We ordered a salad, appetizer, two meals and a dessert and everything was absolutely wonderful. A very friendly busboy was great about bringing us bread, and when he noticed we were admiring the old brick, he told us about the history of the building. My wife and I discussed how we wished our busboy would have been our waiter. Our waiter was not fantastic and in fact, was a bit awkward. I have received better service at day-to-day restaurants and it was not what I would have expected for a fine dining experience where things like service count. If she had been a better server, I think the overall experience would have been more special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place to enjoy our wedding anniver ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great place to enjoy our wedding anniversary! Fantastic food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of our food and wine was very good ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Most of our food and wine was very good but.... The lamb dish was very bad as described by our guest and my chicken dish tasted really off.

We have had very good dinners here in the past but this one was a disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was amazing with the pre

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was amazing with the pre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, good atmosphere, we enjoyed o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good food, good atmosphere, we enjoyed ourselves. Pretty much exactly what I expected based on other reviews. My only minor gripe is that we were not seated until nearly 30 minutes after our reservation time, but we waited at the bar where we enjoyed some excellent drinks.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was over the top. Service was atte ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was over the top. Service was attentive without being intrusive. WOW!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Go OK>>>>>END OF STORY!! I mean re ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Just Go OK>>>>>END OF STORY!!

I mean really not to be missed!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was so calming as we sat out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The setting was so calming as we sat outside. The service was perfect, friendly, and knowledgable. The food was perfect in flavor and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful dinner on the lawn. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a delightful dinner on the lawn. As always here - everything was perfectly presented and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took over an hour to receive main course ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Took over an hour to receive main course after salad. Asked the waiter about the food timing and he said that the food was being plated. It took another 20 minutes after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The new place is roomy and enjoyable lik ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The new place is roomy and enjoyable like a home

we had a lovely table and great service and a delicious meal

Everything on their menu is tempting and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellant will go back again the menu ha ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellant will go back again the menu has the monthly wine pairings and revolving daily menu highly recomend

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious as usual. Wish the re ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Wish the restaurant was cooler because it was slightly uncomfortable due to the heat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, our dining experience was exc ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2016

As usual, our dining experience was excellent. The soft shelled crab was wonderful. The chef went the extra mile to produce a vegan meal for one of my guests. We all left happy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.