About Beaujolais Bistro

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: 775-323-2227x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Restaurant Photos

French Onion Soup
Rosemary Bread
Roasted Duck
Profiteroles
Short Rib Ravioli
Salad
Escargot
Roasted Beet Salad
Lobster Mac n Cheese
Champagne
Beef Bourguignon
Lobster Mac&Cheese
Plum Tartelette
Vegetarian Terrine
Lamb Burger

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
10 More
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Fit for Foodies
Reno
Neighborhood Gem
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

special occasion (60)
fit for foodies (52)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
scenic view (30)
great for outdoor dining (9)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location in residential neighborho ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great location in residential neighborhood next to Truckee river. they have favorable menu range, not too many, just enough selection. Foods are excellent, bit pricy, but worth, .their service was proper and friendly. It was our first try the restaurant for Father's Day, we were quite satisfied, will be back definitely again, hopefully soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was exceptional, Lee was great and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was exceptional, Lee was great and knowledgeable

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Super service. Older crowd a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. Super service. Older crowd and very quiet - no children.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the 5 course dinner with win ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We both had the 5 course dinner with wine pairing and it was fantastic. This restaurant has been in our top five for a number of years.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner with wife, son & his fiance from Wisconsin.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service was excellent, only suggestion would be more shade over the big window as it was shining right in my face.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Worth the Trip

Dined on June 5, 2016

We've eaten here many times over the years dating back to it's location on West St. Chef is always innovating and creating elegant dishes with classic ingredients. Some things rotate on and off the menu depending on season. Others are one time gems. It's always great food, always great service and always a smile on our face when we leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to Beaujolais. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our second time to Beaujolais. Both times the food and service was outstanding. The menu changes daily which gives you variety. We usually order two appetizers and two different dinners and two different desserts. Everything we have ordered has been exquisite. We had Lee as our server both times, and when we go back we will request him again. Great service. He takes his time and explains all the menu items and answers any question you have. He never made us feel rushed and has the food come out with perfect timing.

food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Beaujolais Bistro for our 10-ye ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We chose Beaujolais Bistro for our 10-year anniversary dinner and as usual they did not disappoint. The drinks were perfect as usual; bartender definitely knows how to craft a cocktail. Went for the mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious and plenty for two. I chose the hangar steak frites with bearnaise sauce and it was cooked to perfection. Hubby chose the lobster, scallop and prawns and he enjoyed every perfect bite. David took very good care of us and we will always return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent, but definitely not cheap Fren ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent, but definitely not cheap French food. Great neighborhood with view of Truckee River.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal, the best Mojito I've had ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious meal, the best Mojito I've had in ages. Staff very friendly. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and very nice to go there, foo ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent and very nice to go there, food is great

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience for start ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

What a great dining experience for start to finish. Fine food, excellent service in a romantic setting with views out the window or the fireplace....looking forward to dining there again...soon !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a very nice experience. Over all ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a very nice experience. Over all food and service was good. Its an expensive dining experience and Im not sure al the food was really worth the price. Brussel sprout appt.was strangely cut into really small pieces. Charcuterie platter was miserly. Entrees nicely sized but accompanying vegetables were burnt.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good/great but pricey. Courteous knowled ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good/great but pricey. Courteous knowledgeable staff, prompt service, eclectic menu and we enjoyed our food very much.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The view is nice of the river. Too much ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The view is nice of the river. Too much spice on my wife's lamb though. The creme Brule was perfect. Good not great.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We will be back for more!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The friendly staff seated us as soon as we arrived (we were 15 minutes early) and we had views from two windows. I tried the Bacon-Wrapped Dates appetizer and knew I was in in for a great meal. The Pre Fixe menu was enough food for two even though it was intended for one person, but I had the Liberty Duck and it was fantastic! The menu changes daily and my wife and I can't wait to taste whatever the Chef can make!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants because the food is so delicious and it is served by very considerate and efficient staff members. Yum!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fab special occasion restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and it was nothing short of amazing. The wine list was extensive and so many great options! The oysters were so amazing, both kinds! Our waiter was very attentive as well as the busboy, we were taken care of from beginning to end. Will definitely go back and love that it is right by the river in a cozy little house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC FRENCH EVENING

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

THE RESTAURANT IS SET IN A BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED OLD HOUSE 1 BLOCK FROM THE TRUCKEE RIVER WHICH CAN BE SEEN AND HEARD FROM THE FRONT PORCH AND SEEN FROM MANY OF THE ROOMS OF THE HOUSE. I HAD ESCARGOT WHICH WERE AS GOOD AS ANY I'VE EVER HAD IN FRANCE. I FOLLOWED THAT WITH THEIR VERSION OF PAELLA. WITH CHICKEN, SHRIMP, CHORIZO, SALMON, SHELL FISH AND RICE IN A LIGHT, TASTY SAUCE. I LOVED IT. MY FRIEND HAD THE HOUSE SALAD WITH A VARIETY OF GREENS AND GRATED VEGETABLES WITH THE VERY FLAVORFUL HOUSE DRESSING. SHE ALSO HAD THE PUFFED PASTRY VEGETABLE PLATE WHICH SHE LOVED--WOULD GO BACK JUST FOR THESE TWO THINGS, BUT SAW OTHER THINGS ON THE MENU THAT WE WANT TO TRY. SERVICE WAS ATTENTIVE. WAITERS KNEW THE MENU AND WERE HELPED US MAKE INFORMED CHOICES ABOUT FOOD AND WINE.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal at Beaujolais Bistro

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We love this place and have eaten here several times. The menu is ever changing, and NEVER fails to please. Service is great. Can't say enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Nice

Dined on April 17, 2016

We've been going to Beaujolais for years. The food is dependably always excellent and the new location is hip and fun. Our only complaint is that it was fairly busy and crowded and it didn't feel as "special" as it may have in the past. We were there for my birthday and we had to tell the waiter even though my husband had told them when he made the reservation. That said, we had a very nice time and we plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy the experience at Beaujo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We always enjoy the experience at Beaujolais. The food is always amazing and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mommy 'n Daddy date night

Dined on April 10, 2016

It had been over 4 months since we had a chance to go out just the 2 of us, and my wife is a huge fan of French fine dining. We had a rabbit appetizer that consisted of a fruit preserve on top of stewed rabbit meat served in a mason jar, which we scooped out and put on to seasoned baguette toast . We shared the beet salad - beets, citrus, greens and balsamic (?) -- light and refreshing. My wife had the duck, which was served rare and came with scalloped potatoes, and she said it was excellent. I had the skirt steak medium rare, it was cooked to perfection and came with a tarragon béarnaise sauce that was delightful on both the meat and the frites. We had the walnut financier for desert which was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good!

Dined on April 10, 2016

There were four of us dining and we had three different entrees, and three different desserts. All were excellent. It's really worth it when you go out for a nice meal and everything is delicious and obviously prepared with care. The staff is wonderful and the ambience is so special. It is our go to place for special dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place. Great food. Great service. ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great place. Great food. Great service. The only bad is that the seats are really close together and it's hard to have a conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on April 1, 2016

A quiet place in unexpected serene area. Nice view of the river. Food excellent and service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Bad Night

Dined on March 30, 2016

Took 6 people for dinner. Was my son's 26 th Birthday. Slow service. My Strip bass entree came out undercooked . By the time they brought me a another order my guests had already completed there dinner. Replacement order was also undercooked . I refused it. So I never got my entree . 300.00 meal . I'm not going back at this time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Beaujolais Bistro many times before and it has never disappointed us. The food is freshly prepared and delicious. The servers are courteous and efficient. We took our waiters advice and were so pleased with his choices. The restaurant is right across the street from the Truckee river and is really a lovely area .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, as was the servi ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was very good, as was the service. The servers were very knowledgeable and were able to explain the menu items. The ambiance was very nice and calm, perfect for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on March 14, 2016

Had a group for business. Made reservations three months in advance. My group was skeptical about the menu, but clean plates all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent! I highly recommen ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is excellent! I highly recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, ok service

Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I dined at Beaujolais during our recent weekend in Reno. When we walked in we saw that the space was very romantic and upscale, yet comfortable. We ordered some wine and oysters, and settled in for a nice meal. What ended up happening was kind of disappointing, especially considering the price point of the restaurant. While the food was good (8 of 10?), the service lacked professionalism. Not that the staff wasn't nice or friendly; they were. It's just that we never knew who was attending to us. Now, I've been to many restaurants where service is shared amongst the staff, and usually the staff is so well trained that although you may not have that "one person" who sees you through your entire experience, you always feel like you are taken care of. That did not happen at Beaujolais. It may have been an off-night for the staff, but there were a few times that we thought we had been forgotten. I don't believe they had any "specials" per se, but our initial waiter didn't tell us about the food or the restaurant. After we ordered our appetizers, it was a loooooong time before anyone took our entree order. Much longer than what could be accounted for by just spacing the courses out. I ordered a second glass of wine and it took so long to arrive that I thought it had been forgotten. No one seemed to be on top of refilling waters, either. Overall, the food was good. The braised lamb with cous cous was tender and flavorful. My husband loved his beef bourguignon. The space was romantic. I would have liked to have been paid more attention to, though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Even on a bad night they are good

Dined on March 6, 2016

In Reno this place is among my top three along with Lulu's and 4th Street Bistro. This evening was a little rocky. Owner/chef and manager were uncharacteristically not there. (they need days off too). Service was a little less attentive than usual at first, then our server pulled it out -- by bringing a great bottle of wine (different than we had first thought) and just acknowledged things were a little strained that night. Go there and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Show ~ No Dough

Dined on March 6, 2016

The restaurant was very pleasant to be at. The food (two of us so only two of the entrees tasted), unfortunately, a bit disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Another satisfied customer

Dined on March 5, 2016

Second time here. Overall, we enjoy coming to this restaurant. Server was a little odd to say the least, I assume it's just his personality - socially awkward? Food is always great. I would give food 4.5, not 5. Prices are relatively high, but that's what you expect for fine dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Execellent food, good cozy environment, ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Execellent food, good cozy environment, but noisy.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

Beaujolais Bistro has never failed to meet our expectations and our dining experience this week was no different. From the moment we stepped inside the staff made us feel welcome and started what was a great service experience. The wine list was definitive and the food was exceptional. Watching a master chef such as Bill prepare the meal truly added to the ambiance for a special evening. The entire experience was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall amazing. 5 stars to food and service.

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had a couple signature cocktails and they were very good. The food made by a chef was delicious, hot and got to us in a timely manner. The service was all you could ask for, they had great teamwork! Will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

Our waiter seemed to be thrown off his g ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our waiter seemed to be thrown off his game once we asked for his advice on white wine with our meal. He didn't seem to know the wine selection very well. Had to ask for assistance a couple of times. Food presentation was nice. Risotto very mushy and bland. Waiter seemed to be avoiding us during the main course. Didn't check on us once while we ate. Don't feel like the value was there for dropping nearly $185 on dinner for 2. Hope it was an off night. Won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfection!

Dined on February 5, 2016

The chef here never disappoints, always a new selection daily. With so many great choices it's hard to decide which direction to go! I settled in with a French 75 cocktail to review the menu, only to decide on the fresh pasta with exotic mushrooms, artichoke hearts and more shaved truffles than I have ever experienced outside Italy! It was beyond exceptional! My husband settled on the sweetbreads and he was not disappointed either! The gingerbread cake with a dollop of salted carmel ice cream was sublime! My favorite date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.