About Beaujolais Bistro

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Authentic (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fireplace (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (10)
Waterfront (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Superb, friendly, intimate restaurant wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Superb, friendly, intimate restaurant with authentic, delicious food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Beaujolais Bistro on Valentine ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

We ate at Beaujolais Bistro on Valentine's Day. I don't know of a more romantic spot in Reno than what we enjoyed here. The food and ambiance was spot on. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we went there for the first time the oth ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

we went there for the first time the other night, the service , ambiance, and food were all exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food and service. Wonderful re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent Food and service. Wonderful restaurant. Great Location on the river.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner was so romantic and d ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's dinner was so romantic and delicious. The atmosphere was amazing with a view of the river. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have always been impressed with the fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have always been impressed with the food when I have had dinner here. We were celebrating my husband's and best friend's birthdays at this dinner and choose the pre fix menu with wine pairing. It was fantastic. My only negative note I would have is when each course of wine and food was delivered to the table it was never explained. That being said the food and wine pairing was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This has become our go-to spot for fine ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This has become our go-to spot for fine dining in Reno. I have yet to have even a minor gripe about any part of the service or food. The drinks are hand-crafted, consistent, and exquisite. The French Onion Soup is by far the best that I have ever had. It is business casual, but there's absolutely no pretentiousness about it. The servers and their support staff are all amazing. It's extremely clean, the food is fresh, and the menu rotates along the same theme, but with seasonal changes to ensure the peak freshness of the ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service spotty. One dish not hot. Too lo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service spotty. One dish not hot. Too long for table to be cleared after finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Each course was a unique experience. The ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Each course was a unique experience. The quality of the food, from the warm Rosemary bread to the most creative deserts was exquisite. Rarely can you get a filet mignon you can cut with a fork. We look forward to more visits, and the opportunity to explore more of the desert selections. And kudos to our waiter who was an expert in all things Beaujolais, and most helpful with just the right recommendations based on our interest and dietary limitations. The staff goes all out to make your visit positively memorable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So wonderful to find an authentic french ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

So wonderful to find an authentic french restaurant in Reno. The onion soup was one of the best ever. We had the scallops & the beef bourguinon - both excellent. Service was outstanding - Lee was our server. A real treat after getting fed up with wonderful restaurants that are still inside noisy casinos.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal, this is the best restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic meal, this is the best restaurant in Reno for a high class meal in a charming setting. I'm never disappointed. The crepes for dessert will ensure that I return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a fine restaurant: the supe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is such a fine restaurant: the superb food, perfect lighting and decor, location right on the river, the overall and easygoing elegance. A credit to the city, the region, and the West. Highest recommendation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their food was outstanding, one of our f ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Their food was outstanding, one of our favorites in Reno. Been going there when they were on West St. Love their new location on the river.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience and great wine list ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fantastic experience and great wine list/food. A must when you are visiting Reno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so good. Everyone was very ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was so good. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely go back. It was on the pricey side but still worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Unfortunately our ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing! Unfortunately our server was less then accommodating. Everything we asked for he made us feel like it was a bother. Put a damper on an otherwise excellent evening.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Hands-down the best food in Reno! The D ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hands-down the best food in Reno! The Duck Confit was fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally impressed! Great food, wine, s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Totally impressed! Great food, wine, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. Good for just the two of us or for a group of 10 (as we had last week). Excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always perfect. French onion sou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is always perfect. French onion soup is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic unexpected restaurant in Reno. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic unexpected restaurant in Reno. Get away from the casino and spend your winnings on something/someone special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Reno. We dine he ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The best restaurant in Reno. We dine here for all of our special days (holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, etc.), and they always deliver an excellent meal. Melody almost always waits on us and she is a gem. She is super-friendly, knows the wine and dinner menus, can always explain how the dishes are prepared, and is always there when you need something.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with the family for a pre-Christmas ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went with the family for a pre-Christmas special dinner. We were kept waiting despite the reservation and arriving in time, but the place doesn't have many tables and these things happen. Dinner was great, my first time in this location. Will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The French Onion soup was rich and just ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The French Onion soup was rich and just the right amount of slight creaminess from the wonderful cheeses used - And The Cassoulet was perfection from the balance of the cannellini beans - garlic- and sausage, pork belly, and duck confit. Nothing could have been better on a cold December night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit in years. Excellent Fre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time visit in years.

Excellent French food

Spectacular French wine list

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and dessert.

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good food and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beaujolais Biatro has always been a favo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beaujolais Biatro has always been a favorite for our fancy French dinners in Reno. However this was a very frustrating experience. We booked thru Open Table well in advance. I called two days before to confirm the reservation and requested a window table. When we arrived they had no tables available even though they had our reservation. They had no note from my call for a window table. The attendant offered no excuse and no apology. He just said they were busy and suggested we have our holiday dinner at the bar. I told him we were not sitting on a bar stool to have our holiday dinner and said I was very disappointed. He interpreted that to mean I wanted him to throw someone out to make room for us and he said he wouldn't do it. I assured him disappointment did not mean I expected him to throw out a seated patron. The other French restaurant was a drive so we waited at the bar. He did not offer us a beverage on the house which I thought would have been the right way to handle it. We resolved to leave no tip if we ever got a table. Thirty minutes later we were seated by Jana who apologized profusely with no prompting by us. She delivered excellent service and the food was very good. She also comped us two desserts for our inconvenience. Jana saved the day and we were able to relax. We left her a very good tip because she rectified the problem. However, I would think twice before another fancy and expensive service fiasco there. Next time we will dine the The Fourth Street Bistro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We did not like it nor will we ever retu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We did not like it nor will we ever return. My GF selected it for a special occasion based on the ratings. For this price point, you have every right to expect good service and exceptional food. We received neither. We asked for lemon in our water and didn't get it. Three other tables were seated after us, and they all received their water, drinks and bread before we did. Each time we had to be the one to hail a server - for the lemon, bread and to place our wine order. While the wine was very good, it took 15-20 minutes to get the bottle. When we asked for additional vegetables with our means, we received 1 1/2 baby carrots, a slice of fennel, and a small plop (2 T?) cooked spinach - for both of us. No one checked back to see how our food was, or if we needed anything else. And no, it was not very busy... it was Sunday evening. We will never go back.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We have celebrated a few of our birthday ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We have celebrated a few of our birthdays at Beaujolais Bistro and the food is always exceptional. I love the atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great from top to bottom. Service and fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great from top to bottom. Service and food. It wasn't too busy and the chef came out to greet us and ask how our meal was. A nice touch. We had one of the later reservations and the only issue was that staff was cleaning up as we were still eating so it felt a bit rushed so we didn't have dessert and just ordered the bill. I would definitely recommend and we are going back again for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful. The only thin ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The only thing that could have been handled differently was the server came up to us and said the manager wanted to close out the bill since she had been there a long time. I think this could have been handled better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for an outstanding dinner experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places. Always good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of our favorite places. Always good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great time at Beau ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I had a great time at Beaujolais! We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and we couldn't have picked a better location. Service and food were both excellent. Our French hostess was so nice and even spent some time speaking in French with my son. Our server gave great tips on drinks and brought dessert with candle for my son. Would highly recommend Beaujolais and we will be back very soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe you want a bit more info...

The service is top notch; you always feel like your needs are being attended to, but not in an overtly obnoxious way. Someone is always nearby and available, so you don't feel like you've got to go looking for somebody if you need something. Very nice staff, very attentive, and also very discreet (not "in your face" like some places can be, and also not "where the hell did everybody go", like other places.

The food...well, the food is just awesome sauce. We had the Steak Frites, which is done in a classic French style with a savory buttery peppercorn sauce, and hand-cut frites with a delectable aioli sauce. (I'm pretty sure they are hand-cut, but don't take my word for it as I didn't ask...all I can say is that I'm confident they weren't frozen!). We also had the rabbit and chicken Wellington which was SOOO good! Highly recommended...the pastry was light and flaky, the rabbit light but rich at the same time; it seemed like it would be a really rich and heavy dish, but we ate the whole thing..so good.

For dessert, we shared the chocolate mousse which has layers of blackout cake and raspberry coulis. Yum!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual. However onc ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual. However once we were seated, the host immediately poured us water then we did not see anyone for 10 mins. The waitress handled a poor wine selection by me admirably and brought us a different bottle. Other than that we had to pour our own wine throughout the dinner and ask for more water and iced tea as our glasses sat empty most of evening. We had to flag down the host just to get our food boxed and order coffee.

Normally the service is spot on and attentive. I rave about this restaurant and was excited to bring my mom and Gma here for their first experience. I was grateful the food was amazing because they asked me "do you think they would even notice if we left". Not how I wanted heir first experience to be,but again the food was superb and my past experiences have been great so I will be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Best food I have eaten since leaving Eur ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best food I have eaten since leaving Europe 2 years ago. Menu changes daily based on sourcing of food. One course does not start cooking until previous course is done. Was not an eating experience it's was a dining experience. There is a difference. Will eat here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful ambience.. great service ...fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

beautiful ambience.. great service ...food is over the top....what else can u as

k for?

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful experience as always. Great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A wonderful experience as always. Great place to meet friends over a splendid meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over the past ten years. I have never been so disappointed as I was last Wednesday night. I will not go on about the food or service, did that on Yelp, but I ruined my anniversary dinner by expecting stellar food and service (as in the past), but alas I had had neither.

Not sure what the disconnect was, but hugely disappointed and not sure I will return.

Best,

John

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.