Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Beaujolais Bistro

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Scenic View (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Waterfront (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance was great for a special occasion dining experience. The food was delicious, but a little pricey. We probably will ont dine here for special occasions for that reason.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful location and great service. I started with the escargot and asked if they could be served out of the shells. The waiter and kitchen staff accommodated this special request without issue. The duck breast entree was delicious. All in all, a very nice evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a great time. The food was great. It was a little overpriced for Reno - especially the wine - but if you're going for a special occasion it's OK. The service was a little slow, but, they were very nice and courteous.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We reserved last minute for 8pm table. Sat at the bar ( very happily) for half hour waiting for the table. The staff came over repeatedly to apologize for our wait. It was worth it. Service was great and food was excellent. Would go back next time we're in Reno!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This place is one favorites and I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Halibut was a tad bit over cooked otherwise everything was fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our first time there and we were impressed by the general menu, special cocktails and service.
Especially enjoyed the escargot and sweetbreads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I have gone to Beaujolais Bistro several times at their previous location, but love there new place along the Truckee River. The service was wonderful. The atmosphere is great for friends and romance. The food was very well prepared. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all of my friends...and strangers.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is a high end dining experience with professional service, outstanding food, and absolutely gorgeous setting. The staff at Beaujolais really go out of their way to accommodate individual needs and provide an excellent dining experience.

It is very expensive, but the quality of food and service match the price. All of my dining partners agreed that their meals were very good. The wine and drink selection is outstanding. Service is leisurely, I would have liked to see attention to our drink orders a little more diligent, but it a minor negative among many many positives.

We have been here many times before and it is one of our top choices for special occasion dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Another fantastic meal. As usual, we thoroughly enjoyed the service, food and ambiance. Thank you Chef Pete Gilbert - great evening again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Went for a nite out dinner and a movie with an out of town friend.
Due to being hard to find escargot almost anywhere was happy to find on their menu.

The food was great. Service was a little slow. Ambiance was ok. It is a pretty tight confined dining area.
So the noise level was pretty high for a casual restaurant.

But the food was well worth the wait. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Dinner at the B. Bistro was my birthday present! It was a delicious and perfectly served meal, as usual!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The whole dining experience was wonderful. The food, the service both outstanding. Looking forward to my next dining experience there.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Took myself on a date the other night and I fell in love with Beaujolais. I'm already a huge lover of France so this place fills all the voids I miss about that country. I recommend to everyone! Also the Sorbet dessert is SO GOOD!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

horrible service dampened the whole evening---quality of food and wine list excellent, but service sucks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We really enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro. The preparation was outstanding. The duck was simply the best duck we have ever had. The Opakapaka was excellent as well. The Pinot Noir by Hahn from Santa Lucia was okay. Be sure and try the Brussels sprouts. The portion sizes were generous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Not the same as when we went 18 months ago. Waitress was overworked and left us sitting for long periods before ordering. Food was good, but not matching the price point. Many other up and coming Reno restaurants to visit before returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was excellent. We had escargot for appetizers and it was outstanding. My wife had vichyssoise for soup and it was the perfect cold soup for a hot night. I had The French onion which was out of this world and could be a meal in itself!. The salmon was cooked perfectly and was very tasty. My wife had the tenderloin medallions which did not require a knife. The atmosphere was good although we asked for a corner table A week before our appointment when we made our reservations and only got close. Seat was very hard, and that was unfortunate as we had an hour wait between our soup and the entrée. It was no problem for us as we were not in a hurry, but our waitress thought it was and was nice enough to wave our corkage fee. Will definitely go back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Outstanding food with excellent service. It was a hot day and the portable fans set up in the dining room kept things cooler, but elevated the noise level and spoiled the ambiance just a little. No matter, this is first class Reno dining!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was spectacular. The restaurant was clearly understafffed, with only one waiter. The barternder and others chipped in to keep the process moving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I found this place on a trip through Reno when it was still located downtown and were wonderfully happy to find such wonderful cuisine. We have been there a few time now including this last visit on our 41st anniversary "tour". The new location is beautiful and has enhanced the dining experience marvelously. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food and excellent service .

great for special occasions our anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had the most amazing time celebrating our two year anniversary! Everything about the establishment is high quality! Loved it!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I have to start by saying that this has been one of our favorite restaurants in Reno for over 4 years. This time our reservation requests were not honored, because of the inept host, and we were also quite disappointed in the menu. The host (very inexperienced and awkward) was terrible. Our server was excellent, and he helped get us settled at a nice, alternative table.
Do not order the soft shelled crab! It was not fresh and contained very little crabmeat. That being said, the date appetizer and the radish appetizer were both good, as was the beet salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Pro: Nice ambiance, steak was very good and cooked medium rare as ordered.

Con: Steak was served with stringy French fries and no vegetables (oh sorry one cold cherry tomato cut in half) ($35); duck was served not fully cooked, not pink but raw red; even though we had two appetizers and soup we had to wait over half hour after the soup for the entrees.

Not recommended. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went here for a scaled up restaurant. The place is beautiful and maintains a down-to-earth atmosphere. Unique cocktails and innovative menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. The staff was very friendly and service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Overall the experience was very good, as we have come to expect from Beaujolais bistro. The service was a bit lackluster; the server seemed distracted. Despite being told twice that it was a birthday celebration nothing special was offered… a small thing, but typical in many establishments. The food, overall, was excellent. The liver and fois gras pate was lacking flavor but the duck and halibut entrees were delightful as were the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and Service was excellent, only the ravioli were disappointing. Wobbly and only 4 pieces for 32 $ that is not really right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was fantastic. There were a couple of minor issues ( an ant crawling on the table, a piece of plastic wrap in my cocktail). The server took $6.75 off my bill. I'm not sure where that figure came from but I suppose something is better than nothing. With the cost of the meal, I would've expected more.

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Invited friends to help celebrate my birthday with good wine and food. We were not disappointed. We had a wonderful time and plan to return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The building and atmosphere are really charming and pleasant however it does not make up for the less-than-decent service or the salty food. For $35 a plate, I feel like the meal could have tasted like something other than salt. There is no depth to the food or complexity to the flavor. Like I said, salt. I cannot emphasize how much it really just tasted like salt. I wouldn't be so adamant if it weren't for the price.

I had the Duck Confit and Braised Lamb, she had the Steak and Frites. Both plates were over salted. The dip that came with my wife's plate tasted like it had coconut oil in it, which the server assured us it was the tarragon. Considering that she couldn't remember what Ghee was called and we figured it out for her, (supposedly in the sauce) I wouldn't be surprised if it was actually coconut oil and she just doesn't know the difference. I'm not accustomed to tarragon, however, so to be fair I honestly don't know if that spice tastes like coconut oil. Sounds suspicious to me. This is only important because one: we neither one like the taste of coconut oil especially for a dip for fries and two: it's a good example of the odd service we received. It sounds like I'm being picky but I only mean it as an example of the type of knowledgeable service. Add in that they only had ketchup as their second dipping sauce, and you have a good idea of the lack.

If you like salty food and a great atmosphere, this place is for you. We spent just under $100 for something I could have put some lemon and pepper on at home.

On a good note, the cocktail was delicious. I should have just had that.

Very strange and unsatisfactory experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ate dinner at Beaujolais to celebrate our anniversary. Requested outside seating in advance knowing that it is very limited (accommodates only ~10ppl). Great view of Truckee river and quite, lush surroundings. Affordable fine dinning menu with many unique and traditional selections to choose from. We started with escargot, and for main entree had the Salmon with Lemon-Ginger Lobster sauce and Duck Confit with Lamb Shoulder. Wines by the glass are quite pricy but cocktail menu on par with other establishments so we went that route. Delicious and will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always have delicious dinners here! Fantastic duck confit, delectable lamb shoulder. Also enjoyed buttery escargot served in the shells, as well as an inspiring strawberry gazpacho that I almost got an extra serving of to take home. My date very much enjoyed their halibut served with lobster tail atop, absolutely perfect texture.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Have been to Beaujolais Bistro numerous times over the past 15 years, both at their original location on West St. and their relatively new location on the river. Although our last visit was about 2 years. This was an evening with very close friends which we have not seen in a year.
Food was acceptable at best, but certainly not anywhere near the quality that I would expect based on their prices.
Brussel Sprouts appetizer was exceptional as was the service. Unfortunately, that's the only positive thing I can say about our dining experience. My French Onion soup was not very good at all. Mostly bread soaked in broth with lots of cheese. Never saw or tasted any onions. Served boiling hot such that I burnt the roof of my mouth. It's now 2 days later and my mouth is still very sensitive.
For the main course I ordered the Filet Mignon which was covered with a sauce that overpowered the steak. For the ~$45 price tag on this entree I expected much more.
My wife had as salmon dish. She is a salmon aficionado in that she orders it at restaurants 90% of the time. She was not impressed at all. I believe the price tag for the salmon was in the mid-$30s range and she expected more.
I can not speak for the other two people dining with us, but they were not raving about their dinners either.
Total bill before tip and corkage fee, we brought some world class Pinot Noir with us, was $316. For 4 glasses of white wine with our appetizer, 1 shared appetizer, 3 salads, 1 French Onion soup and 4 entrees.
Based on their pricing, they are attempting to compete with the other top restaurants in Reno. Like Lulou's and 4th Street Bistro. Both of these restaurants are 5-STAR and way ahead of Beaujolais Bistro in terms of the quality and preparation of their offerings.
We're not rushing back to Beaujolais Bistro any time soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Incredible food served in a beautiful setting. Our waiter was very attentive and extremely flexible, he arranged to allow us to eat our multiple plates family style with no fuss. He also accommodated several dietary needs (gluten and dairy free) for our large party. Definitely worth a visit for the service and the best food in Reno!

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I had an enjoyable evening and it was a great dinner. Thanks for running a 1st class operation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Nice dinner over looking the river

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Waterfront, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food and super friendly service. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.