Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Beaujolais Bistro

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (42)
Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Scenic View (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Authentic (21)
Waterfront (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Organic (5)
Fun (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food with excellent service. It was a hot day and the portable fans set up in the dining room kept things cooler, but elevated the noise level and spoiled the ambiance just a little. No matter, this is first class Reno dining!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was spectacular. The restaurant was clearly understafffed, with only one waiter. The barternder and others chipped in to keep the process moving.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I found this place on a trip through Reno when it was still located downtown and were wonderfully happy to find such wonderful cuisine. We have been there a few time now including this last visit on our 41st anniversary "tour". The new location is beautiful and has enhanced the dining experience marvelously. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food and excellent service .

great for special occasions our anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had the most amazing time celebrating our two year anniversary! Everything about the establishment is high quality! Loved it!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I have to start by saying that this has been one of our favorite restaurants in Reno for over 4 years. This time our reservation requests were not honored, because of the inept host, and we were also quite disappointed in the menu. The host (very inexperienced and awkward) was terrible. Our server was excellent, and he helped get us settled at a nice, alternative table.
Do not order the soft shelled crab! It was not fresh and contained very little crabmeat. That being said, the date appetizer and the radish appetizer were both good, as was the beet salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Pro: Nice ambiance, steak was very good and cooked medium rare as ordered.

Con: Steak was served with stringy French fries and no vegetables (oh sorry one cold cherry tomato cut in half) ($35); duck was served not fully cooked, not pink but raw red; even though we had two appetizers and soup we had to wait over half hour after the soup for the entrees.

Not recommended. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went here for a scaled up restaurant. The place is beautiful and maintains a down-to-earth atmosphere. Unique cocktails and innovative menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. The staff was very friendly and service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Overall the experience was very good, as we have come to expect from Beaujolais bistro. The service was a bit lackluster; the server seemed distracted. Despite being told twice that it was a birthday celebration nothing special was offered… a small thing, but typical in many establishments. The food, overall, was excellent. The liver and fois gras pate was lacking flavor but the duck and halibut entrees were delightful as were the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and Service was excellent, only the ravioli were disappointing. Wobbly and only 4 pieces for 32 $ that is not really right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was fantastic. There were a couple of minor issues ( an ant crawling on the table, a piece of plastic wrap in my cocktail). The server took $6.75 off my bill. I'm not sure where that figure came from but I suppose something is better than nothing. With the cost of the meal, I would've expected more.

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Invited friends to help celebrate my birthday with good wine and food. We were not disappointed. We had a wonderful time and plan to return.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The building and atmosphere are really charming and pleasant however it does not make up for the less-than-decent service or the salty food. For $35 a plate, I feel like the meal could have tasted like something other than salt. There is no depth to the food or complexity to the flavor. Like I said, salt. I cannot emphasize how much it really just tasted like salt. I wouldn't be so adamant if it weren't for the price.

I had the Duck Confit and Braised Lamb, she had the Steak and Frites. Both plates were over salted. The dip that came with my wife's plate tasted like it had coconut oil in it, which the server assured us it was the tarragon. Considering that she couldn't remember what Ghee was called and we figured it out for her, (supposedly in the sauce) I wouldn't be surprised if it was actually coconut oil and she just doesn't know the difference. I'm not accustomed to tarragon, however, so to be fair I honestly don't know if that spice tastes like coconut oil. Sounds suspicious to me. This is only important because one: we neither one like the taste of coconut oil especially for a dip for fries and two: it's a good example of the odd service we received. It sounds like I'm being picky but I only mean it as an example of the type of knowledgeable service. Add in that they only had ketchup as their second dipping sauce, and you have a good idea of the lack.

If you like salty food and a great atmosphere, this place is for you. We spent just under $100 for something I could have put some lemon and pepper on at home.

On a good note, the cocktail was delicious. I should have just had that.

Very strange and unsatisfactory experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ate dinner at Beaujolais to celebrate our anniversary. Requested outside seating in advance knowing that it is very limited (accommodates only ~10ppl). Great view of Truckee river and quite, lush surroundings. Affordable fine dinning menu with many unique and traditional selections to choose from. We started with escargot, and for main entree had the Salmon with Lemon-Ginger Lobster sauce and Duck Confit with Lamb Shoulder. Wines by the glass are quite pricy but cocktail menu on par with other establishments so we went that route. Delicious and will return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always have delicious dinners here! Fantastic duck confit, delectable lamb shoulder. Also enjoyed buttery escargot served in the shells, as well as an inspiring strawberry gazpacho that I almost got an extra serving of to take home. My date very much enjoyed their halibut served with lobster tail atop, absolutely perfect texture.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Have been to Beaujolais Bistro numerous times over the past 15 years, both at their original location on West St. and their relatively new location on the river. Although our last visit was about 2 years. This was an evening with very close friends which we have not seen in a year.
Food was acceptable at best, but certainly not anywhere near the quality that I would expect based on their prices.
Brussel Sprouts appetizer was exceptional as was the service. Unfortunately, that's the only positive thing I can say about our dining experience. My French Onion soup was not very good at all. Mostly bread soaked in broth with lots of cheese. Never saw or tasted any onions. Served boiling hot such that I burnt the roof of my mouth. It's now 2 days later and my mouth is still very sensitive.
For the main course I ordered the Filet Mignon which was covered with a sauce that overpowered the steak. For the ~$45 price tag on this entree I expected much more.
My wife had as salmon dish. She is a salmon aficionado in that she orders it at restaurants 90% of the time. She was not impressed at all. I believe the price tag for the salmon was in the mid-$30s range and she expected more.
I can not speak for the other two people dining with us, but they were not raving about their dinners either.
Total bill before tip and corkage fee, we brought some world class Pinot Noir with us, was $316. For 4 glasses of white wine with our appetizer, 1 shared appetizer, 3 salads, 1 French Onion soup and 4 entrees.
Based on their pricing, they are attempting to compete with the other top restaurants in Reno. Like Lulou's and 4th Street Bistro. Both of these restaurants are 5-STAR and way ahead of Beaujolais Bistro in terms of the quality and preparation of their offerings.
We're not rushing back to Beaujolais Bistro any time soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Incredible food served in a beautiful setting. Our waiter was very attentive and extremely flexible, he arranged to allow us to eat our multiple plates family style with no fuss. He also accommodated several dietary needs (gluten and dairy free) for our large party. Definitely worth a visit for the service and the best food in Reno!

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I had an enjoyable evening and it was a great dinner. Thanks for running a 1st class operation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Nice dinner over looking the river

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Waterfront, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food and super friendly service. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Have always loved this restaurant. Last night salad, wine drinks bread were delicious as always but 2 of our dinners were very salty. Was very disappointed as all other experiences have been great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We go there every year for my birthday. We requested an outside table and was assured we would get one. We arrived on time and we're told they did not have an outside table for us. It would be an hour. We decided to have wine and h'ours de vours at the bar while we waited. It was quite hot and noisy inside but the bartender was friendly while we waited for our table. Our table became available about 30 minutes later. Once we were outside it was quiet and cool. Just what we like. The filet came out luke warm but was good. The soft shell crab was incredible. It was recommended to us by fellow diners and we recommended it to the table next to us. The fruit sorbet for dessert was so fresh and refreshing. Our server was fabulous and very friendly. I'll make sure our request for an outside table is taken care of when we return next year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What can we say....they know how to do soft shell crab! Never had a poor experience here. Always top notch service and great food. Our favorite in Reno.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beaujolais Bistro offers traditional French cuisine in a cozy old house atmosphere in a beautiful and largely unknown location near the Truckee River west of downtown. The food is usually excellent. We've been 3 times. I marked it down a little this time due to the exceedingly salty duck confit. But the bacon wrapped date appetizer and the strawberry gazpacho were absolutely excellent. A wonderful and different option from the casino dining in Reno.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was wonderful but the service was poor. Our waitress told us that the kitchen was short staffed. This is too bad but shouldn't affect the guests. They need to figure out how to handle when the operation is short staffed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything from appetizers to dessert was absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable. The menu choices were creative. We love going to this restaurant for special occasions because the food is so special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of Reno's finest and only true French restaurant that I am aware of.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants; never disappoints!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a fantastic meal! Our party of four each got something different, and we were all very impressed, even my food snob father! I put 4 stars for ambiance only because it was chilly, and we were even sitting by the fireplace. They said something was wrong with the heater. But the view is beautiful and the house itself is charming. We were treated very well, not rushed at all even on a busy Mothers Day evening. This is my favorite Reno restaurant thus far.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was a great place to bring my French girlfriend for dinner. A little bit of home for her. The food was wonderful....service was a 10....beautiful decor.....all made for a special evening. I rarely write reviews....but I was impressed by the whole experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 13, 2017

When this bistro was located on West Street I found the service, ambiance and especially the food to be just what I expect from a French bistro. The move to nearer the river has improved the view and added more room between tables. I had a duck breast, which was accompanied by broccoli and scalloped potatoes for the main. There are so many ways to destroy a duck breast while it's still in the kitchen, but it came to me at the perfect temperature and doneness with a gentle sauce that did not distract. Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent cocktails, meal and service. This is a gem of a restaurant for locals. It is our favorite spot for a tasty meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good overall, price is on the steep side with a bit to much noise from other groups.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place live the food , go when ever we are in Reno!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Booked here for an anniversary dinner and was extremely happy. Food was amazing from the bacon wrapped dates to the lamb and stuffed pork chop. Service was one of the best and the river out front of restaurant was perfect to sit at after dinner. Would love to come back when in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Kitchen and bar service was very slow, to the point of not wanting to return even though I have been here numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We love both a romantic dinner at BB , as well as gathering with friends for sharing the incredible apps and vast wine selection. I like to start with the mushroom cigars and brussels and my most recent entree, the pork chop, was delicious! The ambiance is cozy and classy; the lighting is just right.
I also enjoy meeting clients at the bar for their happy hour small plates and unique array of cocktails. If you haven't been, go and be delightfully surprised!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food is superb, the service is timely, the staff is happy, and the deserts are unique and a true delight.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.