About Beaujolais Bistro

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: 775-323-2227x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Restaurant Photos

French Onion Soup
Rosemary Bread
Roasted Duck
Profiteroles
Short Rib Ravioli
Salad
Escargot
Roasted Beet Salad
Lobster Mac n Cheese
Champagne
Beef Bourguignon
Lobster Mac&Cheese
Plum Tartelette
Vegetarian Terrine
Lamb Burger

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
14 More
Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Fit for Foodies
Reno
Neighborhood Gem
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

Special Occasion (60)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
See All
Romantic (42)
Notable Wine List (37)
Scenic View (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took over an hour to receive main course ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took over an hour to receive main course after salad. Asked the waiter about the food timing and he said that the food was being plated. It took another 20 minutes after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellant will go back again the menu ha ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellant will go back again the menu has the monthly wine pairings and revolving daily menu highly recomend

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious as usual. Wish the re ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Wish the restaurant was cooler because it was slightly uncomfortable due to the heat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, our dining experience was exc ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

As usual, our dining experience was excellent. The soft shelled crab was wonderful. The chef went the extra mile to produce a vegan meal for one of my guests. We all left happy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Never disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Charming with Amazing food an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Absolutely Charming with Amazing food and Service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this off -the- beaten path gem in R ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love this off -the- beaten path gem in Reno. You won't feel like you are in Reno at all! We ate outside to the sound of the Truckee river under a huge tree canopy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant setting and ambiance inside and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Pleasant setting and ambiance inside and outside. Service was very accommodating. Air conditioner blasts one in various areas, so had to move to different table. Generally tasty well-presented food, but not a diverse selection. Steak frites was tasty but the toughest I can ever remember, fries were excellent. Avocado/artichoke soup was so-so. Artichoke bottom appetizer was delicious but not fantastic. Wife's chicken dish was outstandingly original and delectable. Overall somewhat too pricey for what you get (we had no pre-dinner drinks or wine this time). I would think and think again before returning, or recommending, which is not to say it should be off my list or anyone else's. The potential exists to be a totally pleasing place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at was over the top - Bill is a ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food at was over the top - Bill is an uber-talented chef. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Reno. Bill's menu never fails to impress and he should be called the "small plate king"...talented ideas and love of ingredients with superior culinary skills.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beaujolais Bistro continues to be our fa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beaujolais Bistro continues to be our favorite. The menu always has something unusual, and you can count on it being expertly prepared and served. This evening we chose a Prix Fixe dinner, consisting of mussels, which according to my wife were delectable (I don't eat mussels, so I had their delicious onion soup), soft shell crab a la muniere which was heavenly, Arctic Char, prepared with vegetables and seasoning, done to a turn, a cheese and nut plate which I actually didn't understand but was good, and dessert was a fig and date pastry topped with vanilla bean ice cream. The service, as always, was superb, and while I'm not a wine drinker, I'd bet the wine pairings were expertly done. Beaujolais is not inexpensive, but the meal there has always been well worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a house converted into a restaur ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is a house converted into a restaurant so it's cozy. Some tables are really close together but the food is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Charming staff and wild game on the menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Charming staff and wild game on the menu. Pleasant find in the wasteland of Reno!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of the restaurant stood out ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant stood out the most. It felt very French inspired. The food was good, but not great. I think some small changes would make the food stand it and turn this into a top dining spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very specially prepared and ser ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was very specially prepared and service was very personable. They use peanut oil for frying, but were very sensitive to our peanut allergy issues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A hidden gem in a lovely old neighborhoo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A hidden gem in a lovely old neighborhood that few know of right on the river east of town. Wonderful job of turning an old house into a charming restaurant. Superb French food. We've been twice and loved it both times. One negative this time -- the seat I had was directly facing west into the sun with no blinds or shade of any kind to stop the glare. Had to go get my sunglasses out of my car. I think I had the only seat in the house like this. But it would take a small effort/expense with great returns to put some sort of shade on that window. It happens enough that a passing waitress made a comment about how bad my seat was, but it would be better in 20 minutes (which it was).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came back here for the first time in a w ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came back here for the first time in a while and food was good as always. But service was very uneven. We were seated and given water and bread, and then no one ever came back. I finally got up and ordered drinks at the bar for us. I asked someone passing by who our server was and that made them realize we didn't have one. One Server brought our main courses, set them down and then walked away without pouring wine (or even offering to). We ordered a creme brûlée dessert that was supposed to come with shortbread, but didn't. The server who brought that course told us they ran out. When the check came I mentioned it and that server told us the pastry chef hadn't come in that day. So I pointed out it shouldn't have been on the menu and as a result one dessert was taken off the check. We were going to bring some out of town friends here, but based on this experience we may not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I went there to celebrate my 9th wedding ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I went there to celebrate my 9th wedding anniversary. Every course was absolutely delicious! They did not disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting outdoors was lovely, but the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The setting outdoors was lovely, but the service was very slow. We wanted to order dessert but didn't want to wait a half hour for it. The server was apologetic, but management should have had enough staff available to cover all the tables without such long waits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We brought our visiting family to Beaujo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We brought our visiting family to Beaujolais Bistro for a treat. The daily menu, food and timing of the service was perfect. Our nephew and his wife said it was the best meal of their lives.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered Foie gras which when served was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ordered Foie gras which when served was cold, sent it back and the chef personally brought out a new one at no charge and apologized. First time there, might go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were in Reno 2 years ago and went her ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were in Reno 2 years ago and went here. On our return trip we made it back and was not disappointed. A terrific meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful anniversary dinner. ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a delightful anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and the service excellent. We appreciate the assistance Stephen gave us in choosing a wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful special occasion or just ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful special occasion or just nice dinner out place. It's a bit pricy, but worth it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were all very excited about trying Be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were all very excited about trying Beaujolais since all in our party are foodies and have heard positive reviews from friends. We had ordered the pre fix menu. Drinks and appetizers were excellent however, our entrees were all over seasoned (and we truly love seasoning!) and the wait staff (although accommodating) was not the friendliest. Was a bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. Great food and service. Love the location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second year in a row that my ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is the second year in a row that my dad and I have come here to celebrate my birthday. Both times have been excellent. The food is always amazingly flavorful, beautifully presented and I never get tired of admiring the renovation of this old home. The service was on point although they did seem a bit under staffed and stressed as a result, otherwise I have nothing but glowing things to say! Perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband and I enjoyed delicious oyste ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed delicious oysters, radishes with butter and maldon and brussel sprouts with bacon to start. We shared a salad and a beautiful halibut entree along with a bottle of wine. What a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location in residential neighborho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great location in residential neighborhood next to Truckee river. they have favorable menu range, not too many, just enough selection. Foods are excellent, bit pricy, but worth, .their service was proper and friendly. It was our first try the restaurant for Father's Day, we were quite satisfied, will be back definitely again, hopefully soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was exceptional, Lee was great and ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was exceptional, Lee was great and knowledgeable

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Super service. Older crowd a ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. Super service. Older crowd and very quiet - no children.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the 5 course dinner with win ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We both had the 5 course dinner with wine pairing and it was fantastic. This restaurant has been in our top five for a number of years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with wife, son & his fiance from Wisconsin.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service was excellent, only suggestion would be more shade over the big window as it was shining right in my face.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Worth the Trip

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We've eaten here many times over the years dating back to it's location on West St. Chef is always innovating and creating elegant dishes with classic ingredients. Some things rotate on and off the menu depending on season. Others are one time gems.

It's always great food, always great service and always a smile on our face when we leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time to Beaujolais. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our second time to Beaujolais. Both times the food and service was outstanding. The menu changes daily which gives you variety. We usually order two appetizers and two different dinners and two different desserts. Everything we have ordered has been exquisite. We had Lee as our server both times, and when we go back we will request him again. Great service. He takes his time and explains all the menu items and answers any question you have. He never made us feel rushed and has the food come out with perfect timing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Beaujolais Bistro for our 10-ye ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We chose Beaujolais Bistro for our 10-year anniversary dinner and as usual they did not disappoint. The drinks were perfect as usual; bartender definitely knows how to craft a cocktail. Went for the mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious and plenty for two. I chose the hangar steak frites with bearnaise sauce and it was cooked to perfection. Hubby chose the lobster, scallop and prawns and he enjoyed every perfect bite. David took very good care of us and we will always return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, but definitely not cheap Fren ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent, but definitely not cheap French food. Great neighborhood with view of Truckee River.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious meal, the best Mojito I've had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious meal, the best Mojito I've had in ages. Staff very friendly. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and very nice to go there, foo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent and very nice to go there, food is great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience for start ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

What a great dining experience for start to finish. Fine food, excellent service in a romantic setting with views out the window or the fireplace....looking forward to dining there again...soon !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice experience. Over all ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had a very nice experience. Over all food and service was good. Its an expensive dining experience and Im not sure al the food was really worth the price. Brussel sprout appt.was strangely cut into really small pieces. Charcuterie platter was miserly.

Entrees nicely sized but accompanying vegetables were burnt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.