About Beaujolais Bistro

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

French Onion Soup - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Rosemary Bread - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Roasted Duck - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Profiteroles - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Short Rib Ravioli - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Salad - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Escargot - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Roasted Beet Salad - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lobster Mac n Cheese - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Champagne - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Beef Bourguignon - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lobster Mac&Cheese - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Plum Tartelette - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Vegetarian Terrine - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV
Lamb Burger - Beaujolais Bistro, Reno, NV

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Waterfront (9)
Scenic View (9)
Historic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fireplace (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic experience and great wine list ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience and great wine list/food. A must when you are visiting Reno.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was so good. Everyone was very ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was so good. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. I would definitely go back. It was on the pricey side but still worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Unfortunately our ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing! Unfortunately our server was less then accommodating. Everything we asked for he made us feel like it was a bother. Put a damper on an otherwise excellent evening.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Hands-down the best food in Reno! The D ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hands-down the best food in Reno! The Duck Confit was fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally impressed! Great food, wine, s ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Totally impressed! Great food, wine, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. Good for just the two of us or for a group of 10 (as we had last week). Excellent food.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always perfect. French onion sou ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is always perfect. French onion soup is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic unexpected restaurant in Reno. ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic unexpected restaurant in Reno. Get away from the casino and spend your winnings on something/someone special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Reno. We dine he ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The best restaurant in Reno. We dine here for all of our special days (holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, etc.), and they always deliver an excellent meal. Melody almost always waits on us and she is a gem. She is super-friendly, knows the wine and dinner menus, can always explain how the dishes are prepared, and is always there when you need something.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Onion soup was rich and just ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The French Onion soup was rich and just the right amount of slight creaminess from the wonderful cheeses used - And The Cassoulet was perfection from the balance of the cannellini beans - garlic- and sausage, pork belly, and duck confit. Nothing could have been better on a cold December night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit in years. Excellent Fre ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time visit in years.

Excellent French food

Spectacular French wine list

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and dessert.

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good food and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beaujolais Biatro has always been a favo ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Beaujolais Biatro has always been a favorite for our fancy French dinners in Reno. However this was a very frustrating experience. We booked thru Open Table well in advance. I called two days before to confirm the reservation and requested a window table. When we arrived they had no tables available even though they had our reservation. They had no note from my call for a window table. The attendant offered no excuse and no apology. He just said they were busy and suggested we have our holiday dinner at the bar. I told him we were not sitting on a bar stool to have our holiday dinner and said I was very disappointed. He interpreted that to mean I wanted him to throw someone out to make room for us and he said he wouldn't do it. I assured him disappointment did not mean I expected him to throw out a seated patron. The other French restaurant was a drive so we waited at the bar. He did not offer us a beverage on the house which I thought would have been the right way to handle it. We resolved to leave no tip if we ever got a table. Thirty minutes later we were seated by Jana who apologized profusely with no prompting by us. She delivered excellent service and the food was very good. She also comped us two desserts for our inconvenience. Jana saved the day and we were able to relax. We left her a very good tip because she rectified the problem. However, I would think twice before another fancy and expensive service fiasco there. Next time we will dine the The Fourth Street Bistro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We did not like it nor will we ever retu ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

We did not like it nor will we ever return. My GF selected it for a special occasion based on the ratings. For this price point, you have every right to expect good service and exceptional food. We received neither. We asked for lemon in our water and didn't get it. Three other tables were seated after us, and they all received their water, drinks and bread before we did. Each time we had to be the one to hail a server - for the lemon, bread and to place our wine order. While the wine was very good, it took 15-20 minutes to get the bottle. When we asked for additional vegetables with our means, we received 1 1/2 baby carrots, a slice of fennel, and a small plop (2 T?) cooked spinach - for both of us. No one checked back to see how our food was, or if we needed anything else. And no, it was not very busy... it was Sunday evening. We will never go back.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We have celebrated a few of our birthday ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

We have celebrated a few of our birthdays at Beaujolais Bistro and the food is always exceptional. I love the atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful. The only thin ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The only thing that could have been handled differently was the server came up to us and said the manager wanted to close out the bill since she had been there a long time. I think this could have been handled better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Best restaurant in Reno. See Melody for an outstanding dinner experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places. Always good ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of our favorite places. Always good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great time at Beau ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I had a great time at Beaujolais! We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and we couldn't have picked a better location. Service and food were both excellent. Our French hostess was so nice and even spent some time speaking in French with my son. Our server gave great tips on drinks and brought dessert with candle for my son. Would highly recommend Beaujolais and we will be back very soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wow. How's that for a review? Ok, maybe you want a bit more info...

The service is top notch; you always feel like your needs are being attended to, but not in an overtly obnoxious way. Someone is always nearby and available, so you don't feel like you've got to go looking for somebody if you need something. Very nice staff, very attentive, and also very discreet (not "in your face" like some places can be, and also not "where the hell did everybody go", like other places.

The food...well, the food is just awesome sauce. We had the Steak Frites, which is done in a classic French style with a savory buttery peppercorn sauce, and hand-cut frites with a delectable aioli sauce. (I'm pretty sure they are hand-cut, but don't take my word for it as I didn't ask...all I can say is that I'm confident they weren't frozen!). We also had the rabbit and chicken Wellington which was SOOO good! Highly recommended...the pastry was light and flaky, the rabbit light but rich at the same time; it seemed like it would be a really rich and heavy dish, but we ate the whole thing..so good.

For dessert, we shared the chocolate mousse which has layers of blackout cake and raspberry coulis. Yum!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic as usual. However onc ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual. However once we were seated, the host immediately poured us water then we did not see anyone for 10 mins. The waitress handled a poor wine selection by me admirably and brought us a different bottle. Other than that we had to pour our own wine throughout the dinner and ask for more water and iced tea as our glasses sat empty most of evening. We had to flag down the host just to get our food boxed and order coffee.

Normally the service is spot on and attentive. I rave about this restaurant and was excited to bring my mom and Gma here for their first experience. I was grateful the food was amazing because they asked me "do you think they would even notice if we left". Not how I wanted heir first experience to be,but again the food was superb and my past experiences have been great so I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Best food I have eaten since leaving Eur ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best food I have eaten since leaving Europe 2 years ago. Menu changes daily based on sourcing of food. One course does not start cooking until previous course is done. Was not an eating experience it's was a dining experience. There is a difference. Will eat here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful ambience.. great service ...fo ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

beautiful ambience.. great service ...food is over the top....what else can u as

k for?

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful experience as always. Great ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

A wonderful experience as always. Great place to meet friends over a splendid meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over th ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

I have enjoyed Beaujolais Bistro over the past ten years. I have never been so disappointed as I was last Wednesday night. I will not go on about the food or service, did that on Yelp, but I ruined my anniversary dinner by expecting stellar food and service (as in the past), but alas I had had neither.

Not sure what the disconnect was, but hugely disappointed and not sure I will return.

Best,

John

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This was my third time eating at Beaujol ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my third time eating at Beaujolais Bistro in the new setting. Although pricey it is toward the top of my list for special occasion dining. The French onion and beef bourgignon are to die for. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I went there before a conc ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

My friend and I went there before a concert. The ambiance was intimate in a renovated, old house along the river. Our waiter was gracious, and the food was delicious. We both had the duck, something we normally wouldn't order. It was to die for! The brussel sprouts sidedish was excellent, too!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and service were excellent. The ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Ambiance and service were excellent. The menu is French country and has comfort dishes like cassoulet and beef bourguignon but also has other more haute cusine offerings. The wine list has choices mostly from France and the US but it is pricey with few lower cost options. The only disappointment was the chocolate mousse dessert. It was served in a tall dark chocolate cylinder with the mousse inside. The mousse was grainy which made it seem heavier and less tasty than others I have tried or even made at home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The November menu with wine pairing was ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

The November menu with wine pairing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another excellent meal! Bill is a fantas ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Another excellent meal! Bill is a fantastic and creative chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have lived most of my 41 years in Reno ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

I have lived most of my 41 years in Reno. I have never had a better meal in Reno than I did tonight. The Onion Soup à la Gratinée was the best I have had, and I have had many across this earth. The duck breast was cooked to the perfect temperature. Absolutely delicious. My partner had the Hanger Steak Frites. Again, perfect medium rare, tender and flavorful. The libations were also expertly prepared.

From the moment we stepped through the door, we were treated like revered guests. Every staff member was perfect - personable, professional, and friendly. We can't wait to go back.

I am so happy to have discovered this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. We will be going ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food and service. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious,creative gourmet meal ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a delicious,creative gourmet meal in a lovely setting with excellent service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a little overprice the menu, the food wa ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

a little overprice the menu, the food was good but overprice so, that is the only problem

Tags: Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Another nice evening at Beaujolais. For ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Another nice evening at Beaujolais. For more sophisticated fine dining in Reno, BB is one of the few options. Beautiful location, friendly staff and a consistent, accessible menu. Will repeat regularly and often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday celebration for my wife. They t ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

Birthday celebration for my wife.

They tried very hard to make it a intimate dinner.

We both like Rabbit, it wasn't what were used to,

the sausage didn't quite reach the top billing.

Otherwise they would be 5 star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is wonderful, the restaurant is ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food is wonderful, the restaurant is quite an the waitstaff is great. I would recommend this for great food and drinks any day of the week

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fabulous time. Food was amazing ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a fabulous time. Food was amazing, the service great & our waiter even knew about the "dessert compartment" theory.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous, simply marvelous. Fabulous f ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Marvelous, simply marvelous. Fabulous food, atmosphere and service in a lovely environment. I lived in Paris for ten years and know a great restaurant when I experience it. This is one of them.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say our waiter Steve was excellen ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

I must say our waiter Steve was excellent. Helped make the evening great.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.