Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Beaujolais Bistro

Chef Bill Gilbert's charming French style bistro in downtown Reno celebrates authentic French cooking as well as modern interpretation of French cuisine.

We serve Niman Ranch beef, lamb, and pork, Liberty Duck, and much of our organic produce is sourced locally including wild and exotic mushrooms from Connie Green.

Our extensive bar and wine list is available early for your pleasure. Outdoor seating is also available seasonally. Private dining arrangements are available on request.

We are proud to be voted "Reno's Best French Restaurant" for over a decade, and "Reno's Most Romantic Restaurant" in 2014 by the Reno News & Review.

753 Riverside Drive
Reno, NV 89503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Sunday 5-9p.m. Bar open at 4pm.
Closed Mondays.

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 323-2227

Website:
http://www.beaujolaisbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking at the Parking Gallery
at the corner of 1st and Sierra

Executive Chef:
Bill Gilbert

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room

Private Party Contact:
Bill Gilbert: (775) 323-2227

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Bastille Day, July 14

Beaujolais Nouveau on the 3rd Thursday in November.

Beaujolais Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Authentic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Scenic View (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Waterfront (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Historic (9)
Fireplace (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

Beaujolais Bistro offers traditional French cuisine in a cozy old house atmosphere in a beautiful and largely unknown location near the Truckee River west of downtown. The food is usually excellent. We've been 3 times. I marked it down a little this time due to the exceedingly salty duck confit. But the bacon wrapped date appetizer and the strawberry gazpacho were absolutely excellent. A wonderful and different option from the casino dining in Reno.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was wonderful but the service was poor. Our waitress told us that the kitchen was short staffed. This is too bad but shouldn't affect the guests. They need to figure out how to handle when the operation is short staffed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everything from appetizers to dessert was absolutely delicious. The service was impeccable. The menu choices were creative. We love going to this restaurant for special occasions because the food is so special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of Reno's finest and only true French restaurant that I am aware of.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants; never disappoints!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 15, 2017

What a fantastic meal! Our party of four each got something different, and we were all very impressed, even my food snob father! I put 4 stars for ambiance only because it was chilly, and we were even sitting by the fireplace. They said something was wrong with the heater. But the view is beautiful and the house itself is charming. We were treated very well, not rushed at all even on a busy Mothers Day evening. This is my favorite Reno restaurant thus far.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a great place to bring my French girlfriend for dinner. A little bit of home for her. The food was wonderful....service was a 10....beautiful decor.....all made for a special evening. I rarely write reviews....but I was impressed by the whole experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

When this bistro was located on West Street I found the service, ambiance and especially the food to be just what I expect from a French bistro. The move to nearer the river has improved the view and added more room between tables. I had a duck breast, which was accompanied by broccoli and scalloped potatoes for the main. There are so many ways to destroy a duck breast while it's still in the kitchen, but it came to me at the perfect temperature and doneness with a gentle sauce that did not distract. Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent cocktails, meal and service. This is a gem of a restaurant for locals. It is our favorite spot for a tasty meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good overall, price is on the steep side with a bit to much noise from other groups.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place live the food , go when ever we are in Reno!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Booked here for an anniversary dinner and was extremely happy. Food was amazing from the bacon wrapped dates to the lamb and stuffed pork chop. Service was one of the best and the river out front of restaurant was perfect to sit at after dinner. Would love to come back when in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Kitchen and bar service was very slow, to the point of not wanting to return even though I have been here numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We love both a romantic dinner at BB , as well as gathering with friends for sharing the incredible apps and vast wine selection. I like to start with the mushroom cigars and brussels and my most recent entree, the pork chop, was delicious! The ambiance is cozy and classy; the lighting is just right.
I also enjoy meeting clients at the bar for their happy hour small plates and unique array of cocktails. If you haven't been, go and be delightfully surprised!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is superb, the service is timely, the staff is happy, and the deserts are unique and a true delight.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wow! I loved everything about this establishment . . . the location on quiet Riverside Drive across the street from the Truckee river made for a lovely setting. One negative: if you have a reservation, leave extra time to find parking in this mostly residential neighborhood. This was a birthday date, and everything was prepared and served in a way that made me feel well cared for. We ate early, so staffing was light to begin, but once we had our drinks and appetizer things progressed smoothly. Cuisine is seasonal and changes, but I highly recommend the Bibb lettuce salad with mixed nuts and the lamb shoulder, as well as the orange creme brûlée. We also had the chocolate cake but it was too chocolatey (never thought I'd type those words!) and not sweet enough for me. The consistency was lovely, though. The menu was thoughtful, creative, and offered a wide selection for those with different tastes and appetites. We will return!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Arguably the best restaurant in Reno! The food is excellent and the service is top notch. Perfect spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I made a reservation online. Then I personally called to arrange for a specific table at 7pm and was promised that table.
When we arrived there was a couple sitting at that table and I was told that they don't guarantee tables causing us to wait 30 extra minutes for our table. Very disappointing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The restaurant promoted their wines by the glass on their website, but our server had no idea what to pair with our entrees. This should be in hand at all times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 17, 2017

One of the better restaurants in the Reno/Tahoe area. The appetizers and entrees were creative and delicious. Great wine too.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great ambience. Most of our food was fantastic. I ordered the stuffed pork chop and 60% of it was fat. I made out server aware and she said she would talk to the chef. Instead of bringing me a new one or taking it off the bill, the chef comped us a $10 dessert. Not the best customer service I've experienced, but certainly not the worst. Just a bit disappointing for a $200 dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Simply the best restaurant in Reno for fine dining

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The best food in town. We did find the service slow which is unusual. Also, wasn't pleased with our cocktails, small glasses filled to the brim with ice so barely had a few sips of our tasty drinks. I'd rather pay more than be cheated out of our cocktail.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fantastic meal...again. This was our third trip, and we'll keep coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Important business dinner. We got the window table over looking the raging Truckee River. Got there early and wait for my party at the bar. Signature dinners were great and made with great skill. Everyone in our group enjoy the food and the restaurant. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Under-whelming. Neat interior space, the front area of a previous home, but the service was woefully slow and inattentive on a Friday evening 7:00 seating, even with some tables empty. We waited 15 minutes for our entrees after our appetizers were done. Bread wasn't even warmed, salad had way too much dressing, halibut was a bit over-cooked . . . I think that this place fancies itself as upscale as shown by its prices, but we are foodies, and we were decidedly not impressed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A great experience for out anniversary. I appreciated meeting the chef too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was greasy. Ordered lobster & was a small portion of was seemed to be langustino smothered in butter. Horrible. Was served the worst calamari that I have ever had. Tasted like deep fried onion ring batter, couldn't finish, Beet salad was ok. Have been to many French restaurants in different states & this restaurant can't begin to compare. Very expensive for very low quality. Stay away unless you want to waste your money.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been here a dozen times over the last 3+ years....and I have to say, this was not a good experience. 1: It took 1/2 hour from the time we sat down and ordered an app for the app to arrive and for them to open our wine....we sat there and finally snagged another server to go track down our server. 2: I ordered the boneless lamb shank (w/ lentils, yogurt, carrots...)....The only problem is I think someone Thought Vanilla Yogurt was the same as Plain Yogurt....they are not....the sweetness really messed up the dish. 3: There was a party of 6 with two small children seated at the opposite end of the dining room...You know that High Pitched Squeal kids are now emitting...well...that went on our entire meal....over and over and over. So, people who bring toddlers to a find dining restaurant....if you can't control them - don't bring them.....Wait Staff...when the balance of your diners are turning around and pleading with their eyes for the party to Get Out...DON'T offer dessert...DON'T offer coffee....offer them the Check and the Door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent food, amazing service :) Definitely high end experience, will be coming back for more :)

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!! The service and the food were impeccable! We will definitely visit again the next time we are in Reno!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Too noisy and overpriced for The meal was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service! Seemed quite expensive to me ($165 including tip for 2 adults) but I would say it's definitely worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Lee was our waiter and he is excellent. He is friendly, efficient and knows the menu well. The food was excessively salty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Server and bus boy were nice and attentive. Bartender was in "la la land." We were almost finished with our appetizers before our drinks were served. We had to ask server to see about our drinks. Restaurant and bar were not busy. My husband's ordered the duck breast. It was flavorful but extremely tough. He should have sent it back to the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

When we are in town visiting family, we always plan a meal here. Would compete well in any town but is a standout in Reno for sure!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is modest at best. Lack of inspiration in the kitchen. Menu has been static for years. Interesting location on the Truckee River

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Superb, friendly, intimate restaurant with authentic, delicious food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We ate at Beaujolais Bistro on Valentine's Day. I don't know of a more romantic spot in Reno than what we enjoyed here. The food and ambiance was spot on. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we went there for the first time the other night, the service , ambiance, and food were all exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.