About Beau Monde

624 South 6th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Creperie Beau Monde is a perfect place to have brunch, lunch, dinner and drinks! We specialize in Crepes, but the menu also has plenty of appetizers, soups, and salads. Our romantic atmosphere is accommodating for that special date, your family (kids included), as well as large parties. The versatile menu has a wide range of prices that will agree with any budget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday : 12:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday - Friday : 12:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am - 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm Sunday 10:00am -10:00 pm

Cross Street:
6th and Bainbridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 592-0656

Website:
http://www.creperie-beaumonde.com/

Entertainment:
L'Etage is a floor above Beau Monde where we host monthly cabarets as well as weekly DJ nights on Fridays and Saturdays. The space transforms into a popular night club ideal for drinks and dancing after dinner at Beau Monde. L'Etage also caters events like weddings, graduation celebrations, and holiday parties.

Executive Chef:
Donna Robb

Private Party Contact:
Emily Wester: 2155920656x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beau Monde Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Philadelphia
French
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Queen Village ›

neighborhood gem (55)
great for brunch (50)
romantic (49)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
special occasion (41)
great for lunch (31)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (17)
kid-friendly (11)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The good was awesome especially the crêp ...

Dined 5 days ago

The good was awesome especially the crêpe with duck

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love Beau Monde. The staff ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I love Beau Monde. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. The hostess that we see most often (owner/manager?) always says hello and makes sure our personal items are taken care of (I wear a nice hat most of the time which she takes the time to find a safe place for). They pay attention to the little things. Most importantly, the food is consistently amazing. We have been going for several years and there has never been a drop in quality. The escargot is one of the best in the city. The crepes are excellent and masterfully prepared. They have a good wine/beer list of both foreign and domestic products. Beau Monde is our go-to restaurant for special occasions and any time we're in the mood for snails!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and i enjoyed the food, servi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My friends and i enjoyed the food, service and decor . However the noise level especially from a large group near us made, it exceedingly difficult to have a conversation without either shouting or constantly asking, "What did you say?" This spoiled what otherwise would have been a delightful get together .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening with great friends

Dined on May 14, 2016

A good time was had by all- grear friends and food! Only critique- it's was loud.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is fabulous and reasonably priced, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is fabulous and reasonably priced, and the room is beautiful. Great service as well. When I asked for a substitution, the waiter gave a great recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Letdown

Dined on May 8, 2016

Looking for a fun dinner for Mother's Day. Big letdown. Service was terrible. Waiter was inattentive, never brought coffee ordered with dessert. Then took 15 minutes to get the check. We had to get up from the table to track him down. One delicious duck crepe, others were just OK at our table of four. Very expensive considering what you receive.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Doesn't disappoint

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was slower than usual, but this was Mother's Day so that was expected. Our servers were attentive, and the food was good. The noise level was not too high, even though the restaurant was full when we arrived.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food at this restaurant was excellent and there was a wide selection of choices. I know that it was Mother's Day, but the owner should have more wait staff on for the day. Our waitress seemed very overwhelmed. But I must say she was very nice despite being so busy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a table of 6 adults and a baby, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were a table of 6 adults and a baby, the noise level was perfect for lots of across the table talking and laughing, as well as the baby squealing and playing with the silverware. I had the Chick Pea Scramble, it was flavorful, delicious and filling! My 15 month old daughter had the Lemon Sugar Crepe, she loved it! I had a few bites, it was light and airy and very tasty. Everyone at the table raved about their dishes and we 're already planning a second visit!

food4
ambience4
service4

One of my favorite local go to eateries. ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

One of my favorite local go to eateries. Consistently good with helpful and friendly staff who are like old friends as several like Shawn and Libby have been there for about 8 years! I always get my own creation: spinach, Swiss and mushroom with a simple lemon sugar crepe for dessert. And they have the best and most beautiful bloody Mary's in town.

food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Good food, bad attitude

Dined on April 27, 2016

We went to dinner to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Having studied abroad, she really loves French food and the atmosphere that goes along with it. Although the food was good our service was really poor. The restaurant was empty, the reservation was 7:30 and we were out of there by 9:00. He seemed annoyed that he had to wait on us, provide specials, refill wine glasses, etc. It really put a damper on the evening. Probably won't go back, ever....it wasn't like he was busy, there were only three table filled in the whole restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was a great experience! Bloody Mary was ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Was a great experience! Bloody Mary was spot on!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing service, atmosphere and food

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We came to Beau Monde on the most perfect spring evening. With the out-door section in the back all to ourselves, we had the most perfect dining experience and wonderful evening. Our server, Sophie was what took it all to the next level. Funny, smart and beautiful, she knew the menu inside and out, had great suggestions and even though we were the only couple in her section, we felt welcome and never rushed. After dining at Beau Monde multiple times over the years, this night felt extra special. We can't wait to come back and love bringing our family and friends here as well. THANK YOU Ps The cheese plate is LOADED with fruit, other wonderful accompniements and is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Beau Monde is always excellent and comfo ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Beau Monde is always excellent and comfortable, and the food continues to be comforting yet inventive.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a party

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite neighborhood places and has been consistently good since it opened. Even when you think you have tried every combination they come up with a new special. The savory crepe with a boar ragu was particularly tasty. And if you aren't in the mood for a crepe their salad are equally good. Service is always excellent too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, interesting menu, good food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everyone at Beau Monde was helpful and friendly. Service was excellent. We were there for brunch on a Sunday. The menu had some really interesting options for crepes, both sweet and savory. (Duck crepes...lots of options for cheeses to add...a delicious caponata...) Everyone liked their meal and the crepes were light and fluffy. It was solidly good food and a nice break from the usual brunch fare. We would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good crepes, and other things

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Three of us met for brunch. One reason we chose this restaurant is that they have gluten-free crepes (for the one of us who is a Celiac). The choices are vast, from the pre-set suggestions to the create-your-own. One crepe is sufficient to feel pretty full, especially the ones with a poached egg inside. Those of us who had the "regular" (buckwheat) crepes loved ours. The one friend who ordered the gluten-free wasn't happy; 1) she ordered the same filling as one of us, but a different filling showed up; she didn't realize it until she ate about half the crepe and pronounced it "Just OK". 2) the gluten-free crepe is a chickpea flour, and I guess to make it more interesting, it has herbs in the batter, including rosemary, and my friend has a very strong aversion to rosemary. So, it was great for two of us, not so good for the third. However, the desserts (which can be served in a large wine glass instead of in a crepe) were spectacular. The place was full, and very noisy, so we'll choose a quieter venue for our get-togethers in the future, where we can talk comfortably and catch up with each other. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything went perfectly. Great night!

Dined on April 9, 2016

It was perfect. It was quiet so I could hear myself speaking to my partner. We were able to enjoy every second of the dinner. There were clear descriptions given of the specials and the waiter checked in at appropriate times. I came in nervous and left completely relaxed because I received what I had paid for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem

Dined on April 7, 2016

We love Beau Monde. It is consistently good, the food and the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Crepes are great. Both savory and sweet ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Crepes are great. Both savory and sweet combinations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

French in the very best of ways

Dined on March 20, 2016

I decided to try Beau Monde with my boyfriend because we had tickets to a comedy at L'Etage Venue upstairs later that evening. We are both vegetarian and from the online menu we weren't sure if there would be many choices. We needn't have worried. Expertly mixed cocktails, cauliflower vichyssoise and roasted parsnip salad with fresh pea vines (!?)...and those crepes! Yes, do go for those crepes. Also go for the great cocktails, go for the lovely little French cafe ambiance that has just enough bustle to be interesting, go because they have a lovely old bar and able bartenders. Do not go if you're looking for a cheap night out. My boyfriend and I are on a budget, and this is the sort of evening we save up for. But it was well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best creperie in Philly

Dined on March 20, 2016

I love Beau Monde. They have the best crepes in Philly that I have ever had. It's also a great place to have a date or to eat out with friends. The waiters/waitresses were also very friendly. Service was efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great crepes, really nice atmosphere and ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great crepes, really nice atmosphere and a beautifully cosy fireplace to keep warm during our unusually cold March visit.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always lovely

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Always lovely

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Try the paper thin pizza. Seafood crepe with lobster sauce amazing. Service was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable. We had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Worth It

Dined on March 12, 2016

It was our first time there. We were seated promptly, but it was early. The food was very good, but our server changed mid service. The first one was very good, but the second one was not very attentive. It wasn't busy and we saw two other waiting staff stopping by their tables and in the main room. Our second server was back in the kitchen. We still gave her a 20% tip since she was polite, but she didn't take the order and didn't serve the main course. if you enjoy crepes go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I love Beau Monde

Dined on March 12, 2016

Although parking in that neighborhood is HORRIBLE (I paid $15 to park in a lot after circling the streets for 45 minutes), this place is a gem. It completely reminds me of Paris and I enjoy the food immensely. I would not bring children here unless they are very well behaved and used to dining out. Come here for an adult brunch or romantic date night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Never miss a chance to have a meal here when I'm in Philly. came for the annual Flower Show and took my two daughter. We enjoyed crepes, salmon platter and Croque Monsieur. Sat by the fireplace and enjoyed people watching and the excellent service. Wish I could've lingered in Philly all day and return for lunch for some of there fab sounding specials. This place never disappoints. When the bill cam, I was pleasantly surprised as I've often paid way more for far less. Will be back each and ever time I'm in Philly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very enjoyable

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our meal. We had a fantastic bottle of wine (a must have for any meal), the escargot (which was also delicious), I had the salmon crepe and my wife had the coq au vin & swiss crepe (both which we're fantastic). The service was efficient and friendly enough. All in all, I recommend Beau Monde and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

So fun and delicious. Great meal. Excell ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

So fun and delicious. Great meal. Excellent service!

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

fave spot, very disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Usually this is my favorite restaurant in the whole city but I was very very dissipointed In their Valentine's Day menu. They completely nixed their gluten free crepes for the night without making a note of it to let customers know (I have celiacs disease) and would not sub anything out. I made the reservation three weeks before Valentine's Day so if I knew that I wouldn't have been accommodated I would have went somewhere where I could get more than 2 things on the menu. You can't pick and choose when you feel like accommodating food allergies. They tried to be apologetic but it seemed Insencere. I was planning on booking a party there at some point but I think I'd rather find a place that is more flexible and sympathetic with restricted diets.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal! We had a brief wait at th ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Fabulous meal! We had a brief wait at the bar for our table. Not a big deal, but, while waiting, they brought us a complimentary cheese and fruit plate anyway. Bloody Mary's and brunch food were outstanding. Would return in a heartbeat.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I expected to like the food at Beau Mond ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I expected to like the food at Beau Monde more than I did. Beet soup tasted like mashed up beets. The crepe part of the desert crepe was not up to par. Our sever was great. Would try it again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the old world romantic feel of Beau Monde!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Beau Monde reminds us of a romantic French Bistro! The roaring fire and the cozy décor make it a great place to relax and enjoy a special meal! Valentine's Day is perfect for Beau Monde!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another birthday hit!

Dined on February 3, 2016

We dined at Cafe Beau Monde for my wife's birthday. She loved it so much last year that she asked if we could go back, and I felt the same way! Excellent food, the crepes are incredible and the ingredients show a good vision from the chef. Everything was paired well. Since I made a special note in open table that it was her birthday, the hostess reserved the table by the fireplace for us! Very sweet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food - tasty and fresh - although I ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food - tasty and fresh - although I had a salad and the dressing could have been a little more flavorful. The crepes were very good and they had excellent soup.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good crepes - great variety

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

I've enjoyed Beau Monde for brunch before , but this was my first lunch there. My gluten-sensitive friend was delighted to find that they've recently added gluten-free crepes to the menu (as in, nearly every crepe can be made gluten-free, depending on the filling). I ordered the lunch special, French onion soup and a crepe; the soup was pretty good, and the crepe was great, but both together make for a very filling lunch, and I couldn't finish the crepe. I forgot that the crepes there are large. It was a cold day, and they seated us right in front of the fireplace, which was delightful. The restaurant was not very full of people, so the noise level was very low.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Be willing to pay for something worth paying for

Dined on January 4, 2016

Lovely scene, well-prepared food, certainly filling. Just be willing to pay an easy $40 per person for a dinner, appetizer or dessert, and drink. The staff was very nice, but seemed a little out in left field. Very spacey, and not very knowledgeable. I definitely recommend the crepes, and use your own ingredients. Three is plenty for a crepe, and it's usually cheaper than the suggested ones. And they are plenty filling. You'll never leave this place feeling like you need more, only that you'll want more. Also, be sure to allow time. It's very easy to spend 3 hours in there.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice Brunch

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We had a great brunch before attending a show. The food was delicious and bountiful! My husband could not finish his crepe! His mimosa was well prepared and my "Virgin Mary" was tangy. While we did not have children with us, we noticed that this restaurant was very popular with young families. Because it is kid friendly with special placemats and sturdy high chairs, the children were very well behaved. We only took notice of the number of children when we saw a friend with his family and grandchild.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food3
ambience4
service5

Charming ambience. The pate plate was wo ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Charming ambience. The pate plate was wonderful and extremely generous. Unfortunately the dinner crepes were just ok - the heavy crepe texture and uninspired filling were a disappointment.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.