About Beacon Bar and Grill

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Restaurant Photos

Mini Waffles
Bottomless Mimosa
Tacos
Bbq Chicken And Cheese Quesadilla
Mexican White Cheese And Spinach Dip
Peach martini
Watermelon martini
Appletini
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Mimosa
Salmon
Scallops
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

SKY BAR NOW OPEN!

Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Half-Price Burgers!

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Sep 13, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
SKY BAR NOW OPEN!

Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Half-Price Burgers!

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Sep 13, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Washington, D.C. Area
Great for Brunch
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

great for brunch (102)
good for groups (68)
special occasion (46)
See All
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (18)
kid-friendly (16)
vibrant bar scene (14)
romantic (10)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate my birthday. Have not been there for years. The service by Desi was excellent and the birthday sparkler was a nice surprise. I did notice the selection/variety of food for the brunch was not as much as it used to be. The food was tasty and quantities were always plentiful however the variety that I remember was not there.

Given that, it still is one of my favorite places for brunch and I will be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best brunch locations I've ev ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best brunch locations I've ever been to. So many choices, and so much food...

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , I come al the way from PA to go to the buffet brunch everyone is so friendly and it's so 5 I love it

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking can be difficult. But the food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Parking can be difficult. But the food was fresh and our server, Topher, was OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom has been raving about this place ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My mom has been raving about this place for months so for my birthday, I finally gave it a try. After being seated, we ordered drinks/appetizers and we were told that our waiter was new and on his very first day. The drink took 10 to 15 minutes to arrive even though we were one of four tables inside. When it did arrive, my friend's drink had no straw but we ignored it and ordered our meal. Our appetizers arrived and we were told we would be given silverware by the waitress that appeared to be helping our server out and she never returned with our silverware. We ordered our meal, only to be told 15 minutes later that our meal wasn't available that day so we ordered something else and when it arrived, we were given one set of silverware by yet another server. Our drinks, alcoholic and water, were never refilled. I tend to not be too picky about service but I find it odd that on a slow night, no one helped this other server or held on their promise to bring us refills, silverware, extra napkins, etc. The food was great but the service fell flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great as always - food -service and the ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great as always - food -service and the staff attention. Our guests totally enjoyed the time

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Price - value - and service are always g ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Price - value - and service are always god and I enjoy my business lunches there-

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It has been four years since I visited t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It has been four years since I visited this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. Great atmosphere, food and drinks. Please keep the drinks unlimited. The only suggest is: I think you guys should partner up with spot hero (PMI) for parking. This would allow your guest to spend less time looking for a parking space; and more time enjoying your establishment. :) Keep up the great work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We went for Sund ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. We went for Sunday brunch. There was a very large selection of food and unlimited mimosas and Bloody Mary's. Excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have loved to have had more dining ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Would have loved to have had more dining options on the rooftop. But our server was terrific, our drinks were delicious and the atmosphere and view couldn't be beat. We originally had reservations for the unlimited champagne dinner but changed our minds upon arrival since it was such a perfect night to be outside. We enjoyed our appetizers and drinks but only wished we could have had more to choose from food wise - we would have definitely stayed even longer. I met the manager in the elevator - he was very welcoming, as was all the staff we had encounters with - we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Desi was our waitress and she was great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Desi was our waitress and she was great from beginning to end, just the same way she was when I first experienced this restaurant 2 years ago...love it here, food is awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC but it greatly depends on where you sit. Great food and very extensive selectio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Second time here loved the food. will b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here loved the food. will be back again

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going for Father's Day was a disappointm ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Going for Father's Day was a disappointment. The food was horrible and it was way over-priced. The brunch had a wide variety of food, but hot dishes were cold and tasteless. We would have been better off going to McDonald's. I would not recommend brunch to anyone unless you've lost your sense of taste and have money to blow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I booked our reservation to take my husb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I booked our reservation to take my husband to brunch for Father's Day. We were seated promptly at our scheduled time. There were many options for the buffet-style brunch. I enjoyed the waffles, omelets, and desserts. My husband really enjoyed the food and told me he would like to return to this restaurant. Our children also were happy with their choices. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and confused. I left without wanting to wait anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It is hard to find a reliable and quick ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It is hard to find a reliable and quick place to eat in this neighborhood, so BB&G is a great find!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mimosas and delicious buffet with tons of options!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good time. The food is very goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a good time. The food is very good there and there are a lot of varieties. We sat upstairs and I did not like that because it was far away from the food. Other than that, it is a gem to me.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

After being seated at the restaurant por ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

After being seated at the restaurant portion of BBG the waiter did not take our orders and proceeded to say "I'll be right with you" twice, 15 minutes after we had already closed our menus and set them aside. This prompted us to decline service in the restaurant and move up to the Sky Lounge instead. There the service was equally sparse. The waitress took our orders in a timely fashion but proceeded to make us wait for a half hour for the shrimp roll option. Also without informing us, the waitress closed out my tab at the bar which caused confusion when I tried to order a drink on my tab, causing the bartender to ring up my drink and for me to sign multiple bills. The overall ambiance and mood was nice but the service itself was not. Would like to see better trained staff next time I visit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Brunch Heaven!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

You can't go wrong with Beacon Bar and Grill if you are looking for a traditional Brunch buffet with endless options! Made to order omelets, waffles. Want some grilled salmon with your fried chicken? If you can't find something to satisfy you at this brunch the problem is definitely with you. :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth It!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the perfect place to enjoy brunch. Made a reservation a month ago for my parents and myself. To celebrate their upcoming anniversary. I had been a few times before. But this was both their first. They stated that they thoroughly enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. My mom even suggested that we make it a monthly thing. ;-)

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THE BEST BRUNCH!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The buffet brunch, with unlimited mimosas..WAS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! The staff was great, there was no waiting. I do recommend making reservations. When we got there 15 minutes before out reserved time we sat down right @ 1:30, and the drinks were flowing. Food was great, and very tasty!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing and the food is fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is amazing and the food is fantastic. The waiters make sure that you are as comfortable as possible. The buffet is always full and fresh! FIVE STARS!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great start to the day!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The walk from our hotel was in a steady drizzle but was very much worth the walk. We had a reservation for the Sunday Brunch and were seated upon arrival in the bar area - it was very warm as they had just cranked the heat up to take the chill out of the room. It did cool down. Our server CARLOS was OUTSTANDING!!! Our "bottomless" glasses were never empty and he had a wicked sense of humor that we both enjoyed! The buffet was outstanding with the standouts being the Chicken and Waffles, Mac 'n Cheese, Omelet Station and Chicken Enchiladas (we're from AZ and for us to say they were good THEY were good!) The price for this brunch buffet is by far more than reasonable! GREAT START TO OUR DAY!!!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my graduation celebrati ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for my graduation celebration. The place is HUGE - so good spot for larger groups. Also has many rooms so that it didn't get too loud. The Sunday brunch is massive with so many options, great for appeasing different pallets :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was excellent and the buffet was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was excellent and the buffet was phenomenal! It's exactly what Sunday brunch was meant to be!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place with piano music. Everyone w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place with piano music. Everyone was pleased with the food. I actually had the hamburger which was good. It was a very quiet Fri. eve 8:30pm seating on a graduation weekend in May. Found parking right in front which was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday buffet. Food is outstanding ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Sunday buffet. Food is outstanding, however try to avoid major holidays such as Mother's Day. It was way too crowded and the room where the food was kept was extremely hot. But you can sti have a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Buffet had lots pf options. Speedy mimos ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Buffet had lots pf options. Speedy mimosa serc8xe2☺☺

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch with Sisters

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My sisters and I enjoyed ourselves. The food was good. Actually, this made my third time dining at Beacon. However, the traffic flow was horrible. The manager made the host wait until a person's entire party arrived (even though they made a reservation) before seating them. This made the lobby really crowded and confusing. For example; if you had a reservation for 7 and 6 showed he wanted you to wait for the seventh person. Also, the food area didn't have an easy flow. They only had plates at one station. Which, caused the lines to be really long and slow. They need more space for the food and a better flow of traffic when it comes to large crowds on a special occasion such as Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch special was great! A large variety of breakfast and lunch options and everything was delicious! Very crowded which and to be expected and the buffet is locate down a small flight of stairs.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than a special occasion location

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited this past Mother's Day Brunch and it was EXACTLY what I anticipated/expected, EXCELLENT. Aside from Brunch on special occasions I have been to Beacon for New Years, HU Homecoming, Lunch, Dinner, Staying the night and having breakfast in the morning... no matter the occasion or random visit Beacon ALWAYS delivers on service, food, and ambiance. I would recommend to any and all, and I am highly anticipating my next opportunity to give Beacon my business.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mom enjoyed it. That's what counts!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I made plans to bring Mom and my sister here for Mother's Day brunch. It was ideal because we had seven in our party, including one picky eater child. The food was hot and the variety was good. The staff was absolutely outstanding! The price included unlimited mimosas and champagne, and they delivered on that. If you are a buffet person, you'll love it! Did I mention the staff? From the management, hostesses, chefs, and wait staff--simply outstanding. They made us feel special and that's what you want on Mother's Day, right?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

BBG Regular

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've visited BBG on several occasions, mostly for Mother's Day Brunch. My mom loves the large variety of food options. This year there were problems with the layout that I haven't seen in past years. The plates were "only" located next to the waffle station which meant the line was extremely long, spilling out into the dining area. The line was filled with people waiting for waffles and people trying to get plates. There was definitely a lot of confusion. It would have been nice to have plates available in other areas. I hope next year the set-up will be revised to allow people to get their plates and then stand in the line for their food options.

The food was delicious as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch w/ Unlimited Mimosas

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food overall was great. There were so many choices I wasn't sure what to get. Besides A La Carte they had the options to pay a set price for 1 app 1 entree and 1 dessert, the unlimited Mimosa was included here. For the apps they had some simple options but I went with the Smoked Salmon. It didn't taste bad, if anything it tasted fresh boarder line plain, personally for my taste it was missing something to give it or enhance the flavor. Their basket of bread looked good, I tried a bit of that from one of the other guest. For Entree I got the French Toast, which was amazing, even better were the breakfast potatoes that came with everything. Overall it was a great experience and I would love to got back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Bad food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

This place was a huge miss. I never complain about everything but the guacamole was old, the chips were burnt, the soup had not flavor, the blackened salmon was flavorless, the fries were cold, the chimichuri skirt steak was bland, the salads weren't dressed well. Won't be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good vibes!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was great! Food was good! Parking, atrocious!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best in DC

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service, food, and outdoor seating -- all incredible! Can't wait to go back. Their Sunday brunch is outstanding. If you want normal breakfast/lunch food then this is it! And bottomless champagne -- yes, please!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No to Beacon Bar&Grill

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

No more at Bar&Grill. The of food have changed. Also, the clientele, loud conservation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.