About Beacon Bar and Grill

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Restaurant Photos

Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Mini Waffles - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Bottomless Mimosa - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Tacos - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Bbq Chicken And Cheese Quesadilla - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Mexican White Cheese And Spinach Dip - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Watermelon martini - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Peach martini - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Appletini - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Sunday Brunch Buffet - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Mimosa - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Salmon - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Scallops - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC
Shrimp and Grits - Beacon Bar and Grill, Washington, DC

Specials

Holiday Nights Dining

Special valid Dec 16, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

New Year's Eve Celebration Dinner

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 7:00 PM - 11:30 PM

New Year's Day Champagne Brunch

Sunday Jan 1, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Wine Night Special

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Holiday Nights Dining

Special valid Dec 16, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy 25% Off Entire Dinner Menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Promotion is exclusive of alcoholic beverages. Special valid Dec 16, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Celebration Dinner

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 7:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Bring your family or your friends and celebrate with us New Year's Eve. We designed just for you an elegant 4 courses Festive Menu: Amuse, Appetizers & Varied Entree Options & Desserts with Unlimited Champagne! Live DJ Entertainment From 7PM To 1AM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Pre fixe Menu $65.00 Per Person Advance Reservations Recommended. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 7:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

New Year's Day Champagne Brunch

Sunday Jan 1, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Details

Best Champagne Brunch in all Washington DC will be open on New Year's Day From 12PM to 4:30PM Festive Buffet including Traditional Favorites $38.95 per person / $15.95 Children 12 and Under. Price Subject to Tax & Gratuities. Excludes Tax and Tip. Advance Reservations Recomended. Special valid on Sunday Jan 1, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 4:30 PM.

Happy Hour

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Daily Happy Hour. $4 beers, $5 draft beers, $5 wines, and $6 Champagne cocktails. Pitchers and Platters for larger groups from $8 to $16. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Wine Night Special

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% off on all Wines by the Bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Apr 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (37)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my friends to the Beacon Bar and Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Took my friends to the Beacon Bar and Grill for Sunday brunch. Despite the 45 minutes it took to find parking, the food/service was on par as usual. Our server was attentive, the host was accommodating and the buffet attendants friendly. The vibe was also comfortable due to the noise level being muted; a plus when some places have you yelling at your company. Great place for friends or a more intimate date.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Beacon Bar on a Sunday for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I've been to Beacon Bar on a Sunday for brunch which was amazing but this time we went on a Saturday which was best for my sister (birthday) and cousin. I will never go again on a Saturday that's for sure...totally disappointed in the food and services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was a great deal for Thanksgiving inc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was a great deal for Thanksgiving included unlimited Champagne. The atmosphere was relaxing. We didn't feel rushed through our meal. Definitely planning on going back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner. The menu choices were excellent and well prepared. With endless mimosas and dessert included it was a terrific alternative to cooking. Our server was very friendly and professional and all aspects of the service were great 👍🏽

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for Thanksgiving Day dinner. I ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I went for Thanksgiving Day dinner. I had the pomegranate salad, which was ok. I then had the turkey entree, which came with stuffing and brussel sprouts. The turkey didn't seem fresh and it was salty. I then had the pumpkin pie for dessert and that was ok. I did like the unlimited champagne and mimosas. Our waiter Richard was friendly and helpful. ... From the staff who bus the tables, i wish more attention was made to detail such as making sure we had utensils for different dishes, and when we needed more water or champagne. I think it may be a nice place for a happy hour.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Beacon ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Beacon Grill. It looked beautiful on-line, but is even more fantastic being there. The service and food was absolutely fantastic. I did not want to leave, but we needed to because it was Thanksgiving, after all, and people needed to be seated!!

It was the best Thanksgiving. I cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as i hoped it would be. Prob ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Not as good as i hoped it would be. Probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Kind of a mistake to eat here. None of u ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Kind of a mistake to eat here. None of us 4 were happy with food taste, quality or portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Ask for Desi ...she gives excellent cust ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Ask for Desi ...she gives excellent customer service as a waitress !!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanks for the great service I enjoyed m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Thanks for the great service I enjoyed my bday! The staff were great and happy to serve and help. I even was able to have the waiter Tom take photos and videos of my bday group.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and service. Did not lik ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved the food and service. Did not like that we were sat in the "State Room" when I saw open tables available in the regular dining area!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

We were seated at a table with glass sha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were seated at a table with glass shards all over it, the food was cold and overlooked, and "bottomless" service meant mimosa refills once every half hour. Very disappointing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

This is a must for any DC brunchers! Bea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is a must for any DC brunchers! Beacon House Bar and Grill never disappoints for Sunday Brunch. The variety is vast, food is delicious, and servers are always attentive (keep the mimosas topped off!). Definitely need a reservation to enjoy your time here and your party needs to be on time!

Highly recommended and will be back again (and again!).

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly disappointed. This was my first ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Highly disappointed. This was my first Saturday brunch at Beacon and I won't return. The server was rude and impatient. They shoved my party of into a booth with a stray chair despite the restaurant being empty. Food was mediocre at best. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Hosted - 5 friends for dinner and the fo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Hosted - 5 friends for dinner and the food, service and attention were excellent - I visit this restaurant often and always enjoy my visits. They told me it was a new menu and the items I tried were truly excellent. Thanks for making our visit such fun!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I absolutely adore this place! I always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I absolutely adore this place! I always look foward to this visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasure to dine at the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It is always a pleasure to dine at the Beacon Bar and Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here with groups several tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been here with groups several time. The food is good and a nice ambience. They have unlimited mimosas and bloody mary's at no additional charge. The food changes from time to time but they retain the basics. Great place to meet friends and catch up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beacon Bar & Grill was an amazing brunch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Beacon Bar & Grill was an amazing brunch experience for myself and my daughter...I wanted to do something with her because she is doing great in school and we had a nice time together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining guests all seemed happy which mea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Dining guests all seemed happy which means the establishment was up to par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent Sunday brunch. One of the bes ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. One of the best in the metro area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Food is always delicious and fresh.. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Food is always delicious and fresh.. The services is always on point and pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and setting was great. When I c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food and setting was great. When I come back to DC, I will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a GREAT time here!!! The food was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a GREAT time here!!! The food was amazing. Great buffet! Service was awesome as well! Thanks Dezi

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a friend visiting from out of town ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took a friend visiting from out of town to the Beacon for brunch on Saturday. She enjoyed the food and since it was a rainy Saturday, the place was nice and quiet. Enjoyed the food as the usual and the unlimited mimosas. Would come again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Freezing, lots of mosquitoes inside, pan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Freezing, lots of mosquitoes inside, pancakes soaked in syrup. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The reservation was made two weeks in ad ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The reservation was made two weeks in advance for a Birthday celebration. When we arrived, no one seemed to know anything about our reservation. We were finally seated although servers passed us several times and ignored us. Then we had to wait another 15 minutes to receive menus. We ordered martinis that came in water glasses. We had to make several requests for bread before it arrived. The only positive experience was the food, which was quite good. The waiter never came back to check on us or to see if our food was okay. It was a disappointing experience and I expected much better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I am always satisfied with the high leve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am always satisfied with the high level of exceptional service that the Beacon Bar & Grill offers. It is definitely my number place to go when i want to invite business acquaintance, family and friends for a great get together.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That brunch buffet....wow ! Great select ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

That brunch buffet....wow ! Great selections. Definitely a satisfied customer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was very nice. I got together with ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was very nice. I got together with a friend, and it was quiet and thus easy to talk. I had salmon, and he had halibut. Both were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my second visit. I rally enjoy ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my second visit. I rally enjoyed it once again! The brunch selection is absolutely scrumptious. Get a early reservation because it gets really packed after 12pm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made my reservation bringing my cousins ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Made my reservation bringing my cousins from NC who heard all the great things about the brunch. Called ahead, my ENTIRE party was in the building and because two of them were in the bathroom. The manager felt it necessary to come tell ask me 2 didn't I say the party was here. It was not a good moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite places for Sunday bru ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

One of my favorite places for Sunday brunch. I always enjoy the variety of foods made available and most importantly the continous flow of my favorite brunch drink....mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their rooftop bar was very understaffed ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Their rooftop bar was very understaffed and service was absolutely terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I would go again!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a winner, especially for a group ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a winner, especially for a group of friends. Sunday brunch is the best.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the food and price was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I really enjoyed the food and price was comparable to other places in DC, especially in that area. Great for brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food is fine - even exciting at times. We always ask for a table in Desi's section. We have been asking for her since she began working at the BBG. She is an incredible person,always pleasant, a very attentive server no matter how many tables are full - in short she makes a good experience a great experience. We will be going back for brunch in a few weeks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot with a three course me ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great brunch spot with a three course meal and bottomless drinks. We requested to sit in this area which had a booth and a chair next to it with a round table, and it was an amazing spot to sit in. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great for a bottomless brunch, we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Really great for a bottomless brunch, well worth the price for the amount of refills on the mimosas alone. Food was sub-par. It was just okay. It was nice to get a three course meal for so cheap and the service was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.