About Beacon Bar and Grill

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $8.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $28.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Restaurant Photos

Mini Waffles
Bottomless Mimosa
Tacos
Bbq Chicken And Cheese Quesadilla
Mexican White Cheese And Spinach Dip
Peach martini
Watermelon martini
Appletini
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Mimosa
Salmon
Scallops
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

SKY BAR NOW OPEN!

Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Half-Price Burgers!

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Flights of Fancy

Special valid Mar 9, 2016 - Jul 9, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS. Excludes Tax and Tip. 3 course Chef designed seasonal menu. Choice of Appetizer, Entree, Dessert. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Sep 1, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
SKY BAR NOW OPEN!

Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
7 days a week from 5pm until close. With Live DJ's on Wednesdays and Vibe Improvisation Live Performances on Thursdays. Stay tuned for more events (Fridays/Saturdays) to come in May!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 14, 2016 - Aug 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Half-Price Burgers!

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for our signature Angus Burgers at half price on Sunday Dinner-time and Monday Lunch & Dinner every week. Don't miss this long-running tradition!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special runs Sundays 5pm - 10pm, Mondays 11am - 3pm & 5pm - 10pm. Special valid Apr 7, 2016 - Aug 7, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Flights of Fancy

Special valid Mar 9, 2016 - Jul 9, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Discover your new favorite wines or compare old and new worlds with our Wine Flights at the Bar Lounge or in the Dining Room every night! Don't miss the chance to taste expertly-selected, award-winning selections for a great price!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 9, 2016 - Jul 9, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Washington, D.C. Area
Great for Brunch
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

great for brunch (103)
good for groups (66)
special occasion (45)
See All
hot spot (26)
neighborhood gem (22)
great for outdoor dining (20)
great for lunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (14)
fit for foodies (14)
kid-friendly (14)
romantic (11)
scenic view (6)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Desi was our waitress and she was great ...

Dined 3 days ago

Desi was our waitress and she was great from beginning to end, just the same way she was when I first experienced this restaurant 2 years ago...love it here, food is awesome!!!

food4
ambience5
service4

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC but it greatly depends on where you sit. Great food and very extensive selectio

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here loved the food. will b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here loved the food. will be back again

Tags: great for brunch
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Going for Father's Day was a disappointm ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Going for Father's Day was a disappointment. The food was horrible and it was way over-priced. The brunch had a wide variety of food, but hot dishes were cold and tasteless. We would have been better off going to McDonald's. I would not recommend brunch to anyone unless you've lost your sense of taste and have money to blow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked our reservation to take my husb ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I booked our reservation to take my husband to brunch for Father's Day. We were seated promptly at our scheduled time. There were many options for the buffet-style brunch. I enjoyed the waffles, omelets, and desserts. My husband really enjoyed the food and told me he would like to return to this restaurant. Our children also were happy with their choices. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and confused. I left without wanting to wait anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mimosas and delicious buffet with tons of options!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

After being seated at the restaurant por ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

After being seated at the restaurant portion of BBG the waiter did not take our orders and proceeded to say "I'll be right with you" twice, 15 minutes after we had already closed our menus and set them aside. This prompted us to decline service in the restaurant and move up to the Sky Lounge instead. There the service was equally sparse. The waitress took our orders in a timely fashion but proceeded to make us wait for a half hour for the shrimp roll option. Also without informing us, the waitress closed out my tab at the bar which caused confusion when I tried to order a drink on my tab, causing the bartender to ring up my drink and for me to sign multiple bills. The overall ambiance and mood was nice but the service itself was not. Would like to see better trained staff next time I visit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch Heaven!

Dined on June 5, 2016

You can't go wrong with Beacon Bar and Grill if you are looking for a traditional Brunch buffet with endless options! Made to order omelets, waffles. Want some grilled salmon with your fried chicken? If you can't find something to satisfy you at this brunch the problem is definitely with you. :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth It!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the perfect place to enjoy brunch. Made a reservation a month ago for my parents and myself. To celebrate their upcoming anniversary. I had been a few times before. But this was both their first. They stated that they thoroughly enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. My mom even suggested that we make it a monthly thing. ;-)

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BEST BRUNCH!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The buffet brunch, with unlimited mimosas..WAS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! The staff was great, there was no waiting. I do recommend making reservations. When we got there 15 minutes before out reserved time we sat down right @ 1:30, and the drinks were flowing. Food was great, and very tasty!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing and the food is fa ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is amazing and the food is fantastic. The waiters make sure that you are as comfortable as possible. The buffet is always full and fresh! FIVE STARS!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great start to the day!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The walk from our hotel was in a steady drizzle but was very much worth the walk. We had a reservation for the Sunday Brunch and were seated upon arrival in the bar area - it was very warm as they had just cranked the heat up to take the chill out of the room. It did cool down. Our server CARLOS was OUTSTANDING!!! Our "bottomless" glasses were never empty and he had a wicked sense of humor that we both enjoyed! The buffet was outstanding with the standouts being the Chicken and Waffles, Mac 'n Cheese, Omelet Station and Chicken Enchiladas (we're from AZ and for us to say they were good THEY were good!) The price for this brunch buffet is by far more than reasonable! GREAT START TO OUR DAY!!!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We went here for my graduation celebrati ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for my graduation celebration. The place is HUGE - so good spot for larger groups. Also has many rooms so that it didn't get too loud. The Sunday brunch is massive with so many options, great for appeasing different pallets :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent and the buffet was ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was excellent and the buffet was phenomenal! It's exactly what Sunday brunch was meant to be!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place with piano music. Everyone w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place with piano music. Everyone was pleased with the food. I actually had the hamburger which was good. It was a very quiet Fri. eve 8:30pm seating on a graduation weekend in May. Found parking right in front which was very nice.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great Sunday buffet. Food is outstanding ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Sunday buffet. Food is outstanding, however try to avoid major holidays such as Mother's Day. It was way too crowded and the room where the food was kept was extremely hot. But you can sti have a pleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Buffet had lots pf options. Speedy mimos ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Buffet had lots pf options. Speedy mimosa serc8xe2☺☺

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Mother's Day Brunch with Sisters

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sisters and I enjoyed ourselves. The food was good. Actually, this made my third time dining at Beacon. However, the traffic flow was horrible. The manager made the host wait until a person's entire party arrived (even though they made a reservation) before seating them. This made the lobby really crowded and confusing. For example; if you had a reservation for 7 and 6 showed he wanted you to wait for the seventh person. Also, the food area didn't have an easy flow. They only had plates at one station. Which, caused the lines to be really long and slow. They need more space for the food and a better flow of traffic when it comes to large crowds on a special occasion such as Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's Day Brunch special was great! A large variety of breakfast and lunch options and everything was delicious! Very crowded which and to be expected and the buffet is locate down a small flight of stairs.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

More than a special occasion location

Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited this past Mother's Day Brunch and it was EXACTLY what I anticipated/expected, EXCELLENT. Aside from Brunch on special occasions I have been to Beacon for New Years, HU Homecoming, Lunch, Dinner, Staying the night and having breakfast in the morning... no matter the occasion or random visit Beacon ALWAYS delivers on service, food, and ambiance. I would recommend to any and all, and I am highly anticipating my next opportunity to give Beacon my business.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Mom enjoyed it. That's what counts!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made plans to bring Mom and my sister here for Mother's Day brunch. It was ideal because we had seven in our party, including one picky eater child. The food was hot and the variety was good. The staff was absolutely outstanding! The price included unlimited mimosas and champagne, and they delivered on that. If you are a buffet person, you'll love it! Did I mention the staff? From the management, hostesses, chefs, and wait staff--simply outstanding. They made us feel special and that's what you want on Mother's Day, right?

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

BBG Regular

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've visited BBG on several occasions, mostly for Mother's Day Brunch. My mom loves the large variety of food options. This year there were problems with the layout that I haven't seen in past years. The plates were "only" located next to the waffle station which meant the line was extremely long, spilling out into the dining area. The line was filled with people waiting for waffles and people trying to get plates. There was definitely a lot of confusion. It would have been nice to have plates available in other areas. I hope next year the set-up will be revised to allow people to get their plates and then stand in the line for their food options. The food was delicious as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Brunch w/ Unlimited Mimosas

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food overall was great. There were so many choices I wasn't sure what to get. Besides A La Carte they had the options to pay a set price for 1 app 1 entree and 1 dessert, the unlimited Mimosa was included here. For the apps they had some simple options but I went with the Smoked Salmon. It didn't taste bad, if anything it tasted fresh boarder line plain, personally for my taste it was missing something to give it or enhance the flavor. Their basket of bread looked good, I tried a bit of that from one of the other guest. For Entree I got the French Toast, which was amazing, even better were the breakfast potatoes that came with everything. Overall it was a great experience and I would love to got back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Bad food

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

This place was a huge miss. I never complain about everything but the guacamole was old, the chips were burnt, the soup had not flavor, the blackened salmon was flavorless, the fries were cold, the chimichuri skirt steak was bland, the salads weren't dressed well. Won't be dining there again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good vibes!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was great! Food was good! Parking, atrocious!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in DC

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service, food, and outdoor seating -- all incredible! Can't wait to go back. Their Sunday brunch is outstanding. If you want normal breakfast/lunch food then this is it! And bottomless champagne -- yes, please!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

No to Beacon Bar&Grill

Dined on April 17, 2016

No more at Bar&Grill. The of food have changed. Also, the clientele, loud conservation.

food5
ambience4
service2

We always visit for our group of ladies ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We always visit for our group of ladies bday. So this time food was great as ALWAYS BUT...the service wasn't as good as we are use to. Vencentio was NOT on his "A"GAME YESTERDAY. We had to continually ask other servers for refills, condiments! He was M.I.A. for a while. We were a little disappointed in that. But over all visit went great and we will be back !!

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it will be back next time I am in ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Loved it will be back next time I am in DC

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "GO To" place

Dined on April 10, 2016

We always take out of town guest to BBG and celebrate special occasions there. Our server - Sabrina - was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautful venue, delicious food

Dined on April 10, 2016

It's a great restaurant to a nice get-together with friends and enjoy good food. The spread is bountiful so there is something for everyone. Serving staff is very attentive and pleasant. The endless mimosas are a bonus. Perfect brunch or lunch spot. The inside is dimly lit while they have spaces by large windows so that you can view outside. It's your choice. Overall, I would recommend for a nice fancy Sunday brunch or lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My Neighborhood hang out!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Love coming here - relaxed and truly fun! Great prices - great food and a new menu! Total fun.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for weekend brunch

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great for weekend brunch. Friendly staff. Good ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful brunch experience at Beacon Bar and Grill.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an Amazing time here with Friends fo ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Had an Amazing time here with Friends for Sunday Brunch. Our waiter, Lee was the best ever. The whole staff work great with making sure all glasses were full and that it was just an all out Great Brunch. We already have reservations for next week.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing service & misleading menu - PASS

Dined on April 2, 2016

Despite checking that the menu for Saturday brunch was a la carte and prix fixe, the waitress was very abrupt in telling us that we were just "wrong." We were given a menu that had prices for each item and a 3-course price at the top, so you can see our confusion . . . She then proceeded to insist that all persons provide ID to drink the champagne that came with the brunch, despite the obvious 70+ age of the guests. Perhaps she thought it was cute but the guests found it offensive. No one who wasn't drinking alcohol was offered tea, coffee or juice as a substitute. The whole experience felt like a massive amateur hour and it really put a damper on a very special occasion. We would not go again. EVER

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Good food and decent service

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was tasty and the waiter was nice, but we ordered bar drinks twice and both times it took around 10 minutes for them to be delivered. The waiter did acknowledge that the drinks would be on their way, so I'm guessing it was the bar that was slow. A small section of outside seating is available, with a very simple ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Skip it!

Dined on March 31, 2016

We had a reservation for 6, but the restaurant does not have tables big enough for 6 people, so we were placed around 2 small, round tables, which did not allow for enough room. The service was slow. The drinks tasted watered down. The music was too loud. The food was good, but there are many other places in DC which offer a good atmosphere, good service and good food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Great food - service and being recognized is extremely pleasing to me. Staff is very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.