About Beacon Bar and Grill

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Restaurant Photos

Beacon Bar and Grill
Mini Waffles
Bottomless Mimosa
Tacos
Bbq Chicken And Cheese Quesadilla
Mexican White Cheese And Spinach Dip
Watermelon martini
Peach martini
Appletini
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Mimosa
Salmon
Scallops
Shrimp and Grits

Specials

Sky Bar

Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Award Winning Champagne Grand Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

Sky Bar

Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Best view of the city Happy Hour - Daily from 5pm to 6;30pm Live DJ - Every Wednesday, Friday & Saturday "Art Soire" Every Thursday Rooftop Live Performances. Excludes Tax and Tip. Cocktails and Appetizers menu. Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Award Winning Champagne Grand Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Top 5 rated brunches by OpenTable diners 10 years in a row. Omelet, waffle, & carving stations, breakfast breads, multitude of salad choices, fried chicken, grilled salmon, hot entrees,a fabulous dessert bar and more....$38.95 adults and $15.95 kids. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Nov 13, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Washington, D.C. Area
Great for Brunch
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Great for Brunch (71)
Good for Groups (41)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Fun (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Family Style (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a GREAT time here!!! The food was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a GREAT time here!!! The food was amazing. Great buffet! Service was awesome as well! Thanks Dezi

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Freezing, lots of mosquitoes inside, pan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Freezing, lots of mosquitoes inside, pancakes soaked in syrup. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The reservation was made two weeks in ad ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

The reservation was made two weeks in advance for a Birthday celebration. When we arrived, no one seemed to know anything about our reservation. We were finally seated although servers passed us several times and ignored us. Then we had to wait another 15 minutes to receive menus. We ordered martinis that came in water glasses. We had to make several requests for bread before it arrived. The only positive experience was the food, which was quite good. The waiter never came back to check on us or to see if our food was okay. It was a disappointing experience and I expected much better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I am always satisfied with the high leve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am always satisfied with the high level of exceptional service that the Beacon Bar & Grill offers. It is definitely my number place to go when i want to invite business acquaintance, family and friends for a great get together.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That brunch buffet....wow ! Great select ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

That brunch buffet....wow ! Great selections. Definitely a satisfied customer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was very nice. I got together with ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was very nice. I got together with a friend, and it was quiet and thus easy to talk. I had salmon, and he had halibut. Both were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my second visit. I rally enjoy ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my second visit. I rally enjoyed it once again! The brunch selection is absolutely scrumptious. Get a early reservation because it gets really packed after 12pm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made my reservation bringing my cousins ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Made my reservation bringing my cousins from NC who heard all the great things about the brunch. Called ahead, my ENTIRE party was in the building and because two of them were in the bathroom. The manager felt it necessary to come tell ask me 2 didn't I say the party was here. It was not a good moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite places for Sunday bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

One of my favorite places for Sunday brunch. I always enjoy the variety of foods made available and most importantly the continous flow of my favorite brunch drink....mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Their rooftop bar was very understaffed ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Their rooftop bar was very understaffed and service was absolutely terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I would go again!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a winner, especially for a group ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always a winner, especially for a group of friends. Sunday brunch is the best.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the food and price was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I really enjoyed the food and price was comparable to other places in DC, especially in that area. Great for brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food is fine - even exciting at times. We always ask for a table in Desi's section. We have been asking for her since she began working at the BBG. She is an incredible person,always pleasant, a very attentive server no matter how many tables are full - in short she makes a good experience a great experience. We will be going back for brunch in a few weeks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot with a three course me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great brunch spot with a three course meal and bottomless drinks. We requested to sit in this area which had a booth and a chair next to it with a round table, and it was an amazing spot to sit in. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great for a bottomless brunch, we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Really great for a bottomless brunch, well worth the price for the amount of refills on the mimosas alone. Food was sub-par. It was just okay. It was nice to get a three course meal for so cheap and the service was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

The lobster ravioli was amazing! My boyf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The lobster ravioli was amazing! My boyfriend's NY strip steak cut like butter however it was undercooked. The unlimited champagne was also a great touch to date night. My boyfriend and I will be returning!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have really liked to go up on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Would have really liked to go up on the roof, but it was entirely too loud. Even a block away outside the noise level was so high my ears hurt. This is hugely disappointing.

Overall, the restaurant did not live up to the hype that I read online.

My friend and I had one appetizer each and left to find something else at another venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the ambiance of this resteraunt. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance of this resteraunt. We enjoyed from early evening to late night. Live DJ. Great appetizers. We even danced a bit. Staff very friendly. Only negative is no virgin drinks. Everyone does not drink. Will definitely return.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I brung my husband here for a birthday b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I brung my husband here for a birthday brunch on Sunday, August 21st. It was his first time and Beacon Bar & Grill did not disappoint. The food and service was excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't have any complaints. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I don't have any complaints. The food was very appealing and delicious. Sunday brunch is the ticket!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love doing brunch here, but the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I really love doing brunch here, but the price is a bit steep these days. You do get some great food and endless champagne, mimosas, and bloody marys--and if Desi is your server, your glass will never go dry. She is amazing.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Buffet options were Excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Buffet options were Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A good overall deal. Excellent waiter. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A good overall deal. Excellent waiter. A generous restaurant week deal. If I had to say, the weak culinary link would be dessert. Otherwise, very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited for Restaurant Week. Nunlike ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We visited for Restaurant Week. Nunlike most participating restaurants - that allow you restricted choices - Beacon Bar and Grill allowed choice of three courses from their entire menu! We were also provided with bottomless champagne glasses, compliments of the house. Extraordinary. I had the grilled haddock with asparagus and my husband had cedar plan grilled salmon. Both were of very high quality. Our waiter, Tom, was a delight. We will definitely be regulars at Beacon Bar and Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to go to BBG. Great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's always a treat to go to BBG. Great service, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went as part of a group of 14 for a bi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I went as part of a group of 14 for a birthday brunch. The location was my suggestion. I had been to restaurant before on a couple of occasions for brunch, but none of the other attendees had. They were all extremely happy with the food selections and preparation, especially the omelettes. Our server was extremely attentive and responded promptly to all of our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped for a drink and snacks on our fi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Stopped for a drink and snacks on our first night in town. Made a reservation because unsure on crowds. No one ever came out to greet us at hostess station. Truly just so-so. Waitress pleasant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A group of us got together for Brunch to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A group of us got together for Brunch to celebrate my son's 22nd birthday. We had a wonderful time! The food was great! The waiters kept our champagne glasses filled with mimosas and when they heard it was my son's birthday, they brought over a special dessert. We had a wonderful time and this has become our go to brunch restaurant of choice!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time to brunch here and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is my third time to brunch here and this time was by far the best ever! Attentive staff, good selection - today they even had a larger desert selection and the qualify of deserts was one of the best I've experienced at a buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time visting and I will be back!! LO ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

1st time visting and I will be back!!

LOVED the chicken and waffles....some of the best tasting food I've ever had..well seasoned.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy the visit. The tacos were g ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always enjoy the visit. The tacos were great. Waitress was very service oriented. Thanks to the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate my birthday. Have not been there for years. The service by Desi was excellent and the birthday sparkler was a nice surprise. I did notice the selection/variety of food for the brunch was not as much as it used to be. The food was tasty and quantities were always plentiful however the variety that I remember was not there.

Given that, it still is one of my favorite places for brunch and I will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best brunch locations I've ev ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best brunch locations I've ever been to. So many choices, and so much food...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , I come al the way from PA to go to the buffet brunch everyone is so friendly and it's so 5 I love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking can be difficult. But the food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Parking can be difficult. But the food was fresh and our server, Topher, was OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom has been raving about this place ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My mom has been raving about this place for months so for my birthday, I finally gave it a try. After being seated, we ordered drinks/appetizers and we were told that our waiter was new and on his very first day. The drink took 10 to 15 minutes to arrive even though we were one of four tables inside. When it did arrive, my friend's drink had no straw but we ignored it and ordered our meal. Our appetizers arrived and we were told we would be given silverware by the waitress that appeared to be helping our server out and she never returned with our silverware. We ordered our meal, only to be told 15 minutes later that our meal wasn't available that day so we ordered something else and when it arrived, we were given one set of silverware by yet another server. Our drinks, alcoholic and water, were never refilled. I tend to not be too picky about service but I find it odd that on a slow night, no one helped this other server or held on their promise to bring us refills, silverware, extra napkins, etc. The food was great but the service fell flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great as always - food -service and the ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great as always - food -service and the staff attention. Our guests totally enjoyed the time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Price - value - and service are always g ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Price - value - and service are always god and I enjoy my business lunches there-

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It has been four years since I visited t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It has been four years since I visited this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. Great atmosphere, food and drinks. Please keep the drinks unlimited. The only suggest is: I think you guys should partner up with spot hero (PMI) for parking. This would allow your guest to spend less time looking for a parking space; and more time enjoying your establishment. :) Keep up the great work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.