About Beacon Bar and Grill

1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Designer Walter Gagliano's second visioning of BBG introduced a fresh, romantic feel to BBG. Vermeer’s portrait of “Girl with a Pearl Earring” was the muse in creating a new look. “Our original goal was to bring the space to a cleaner more contemporary vibe. When we discovered the over scaled Vermeer print, originally created by Philipe Stark, our fondness for bold romanticism found expression and led our fabric and lighting choices in a different direction" stated Gagliano.
Chef Edgar Melendez introduces a menu that balances his own personal flair and beliefs with the wants and needs of our guests. Clean lines, bright flavors, and unique combinations best describe his culinary style. Menu items are influenced by the seasons in conjunction with local farmers and purveyors. Just like our clientele, our cuisine represents a fusion between regional and global influences. Chef Melendez's goal is to give a truly pleasant and graceful dining experience in a casual, elegant setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon- Fri: 6:30am - 10:30am,

Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday 7:30 AM to 10:00 AM

Saturday 3-Course Prix Fixe Brunch 11 AM to 2 PM Reservations recommended

Sunday Champagne Buffet Brunch: 11 AM - 2:30 PM Reservations recommended

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Happy Hour 7 days a week from 4-7pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 872-1126

Website:
http://www.bbgwdc.com/

Entertainment:
Special Events.

Catering:
Full catering menu is available full service needs. We have many special deals for the upcoming holiday season. Please check our website for exclusive holiday season deals at www.bbgwdc.com.

Parking Details:
Hotel Parking Available @ $10.00 – ample street parking in the evening

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro--Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Melendez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wednesday and Saturday nights enjoy 1/2 off all wines by the bottle off our regular wine list.
Saturday Brunch: 3 course a la carte menu of your choice with unlimited Champagne/Mimosa for $29.95
Sunday Brunch: Award Winning Sunday Brunch Buffet with unlimited Champagne/Bloody Mary for $38.95


Restaurant Photos

Beacon Bar and Grill
Mini Waffles
Bottomless Mimosa
Tacos
Bbq Chicken And Cheese Quesadilla
Mexican White Cheese And Spinach Dip
Watermelon martini
Peach martini
Appletini
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Mimosa
Salmon
Scallops
Shrimp and Grits

Promotions

Dine Out & Eat Up, Extended Aug 15 - 31

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Sep 13, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Sky Bar

Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Award Winning Champagne Grand Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Promotions

Dine Out & Eat Up, Extended Aug 15 - 31

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

It's Restaurant Week - and we just extended it ! Join us for another treat during RESTAURANT WEEK! selections from our regular menu Lunch three-course menu (includes glass of wine) $22 Dinner three course menu (includes unlimited Champagne) $35. Excludes Tax and Tip. Try our Rio Inspired cocktails at our SkyBar. Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

WEEKEND UNLIMITED CHAMPAGNE CELEBRATION DINNERS. Excludes Tax and Tip. 3 course Chef designed seasonal menu. Choice of Appetizer, Entree, Dessert. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Sep 1, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Sep 13, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Daily 50% off all appetizers plus $4 beers, $5 draft beers, $5 wines, and $6 premium cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 13, 2016 - Sep 13, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Sky Bar

Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Best view of the city Happy Hour - Daily from 5pm to 6;30pm Live DJ - Every Wednesday, Friday & Saturday "Art Soire" Every Thursday Rooftop Live Performances. Excludes Tax and Tip. Cocktails and Appetizers menu. Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Award Winning Champagne Grand Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Top 5 rated brunches by OpenTable diners 10 years in a row. Omelet, waffle, & carving stations, breakfast breads, multitude of salad choices, fried chicken, grilled salmon, hot entrees,a fabulous dessert bar and more....$38.95 adults and $15.95 kids. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 16, 2016 - Nov 13, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Contemporary and urban, BB&G complements the lifestyles of our dining guests by providing multiple atmospheres to choose from, private elegant wood paneled rooms reminiscent of a ship, most w/views and or private patio. Innovative cuisine w/ample holiday menus to suit varying budgets and tastes.

Beacon Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Washington, D.C. Area
Great for Brunch
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Great for Brunch (89)
Good for Groups (63)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Romantic (10)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We do brunch at the BBG a lot. The food is fine - even exciting at times. We always ask for a table in Desi's section. We have been asking for her since she began working at the BBG. She is an incredible person,always pleasant, a very attentive server no matter how many tables are full - in short she makes a good experience a great experience. We will be going back for brunch in a few weeks.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot with a three course me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great brunch spot with a three course meal and bottomless drinks. We requested to sit in this area which had a booth and a chair next to it with a round table, and it was an amazing spot to sit in. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great for a bottomless brunch, we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Really great for a bottomless brunch, well worth the price for the amount of refills on the mimosas alone. Food was sub-par. It was just okay. It was nice to get a three course meal for so cheap and the service was great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

The lobster ravioli was amazing! My boyf ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The lobster ravioli was amazing! My boyfriend's NY strip steak cut like butter however it was undercooked. The unlimited champagne was also a great touch to date night. My boyfriend and I will be returning!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have really liked to go up on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Would have really liked to go up on the roof, but it was entirely too loud. Even a block away outside the noise level was so high my ears hurt. This is hugely disappointing.

Overall, the restaurant did not live up to the hype that I read online.

My friend and I had one appetizer each and left to find something else at another venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the ambiance of this resteraunt. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the ambiance of this resteraunt. We enjoyed from early evening to late night. Live DJ. Great appetizers. We even danced a bit. Staff very friendly. Only negative is no virgin drinks. Everyone does not drink. Will definitely return.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I brung my husband here for a birthday b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I brung my husband here for a birthday brunch on Sunday, August 21st. It was his first time and Beacon Bar & Grill did not disappoint. The food and service was excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't have any complaints. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I don't have any complaints. The food was very appealing and delicious. Sunday brunch is the ticket!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really love doing brunch here, but the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I really love doing brunch here, but the price is a bit steep these days. You do get some great food and endless champagne, mimosas, and bloody marys--and if Desi is your server, your glass will never go dry. She is amazing.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Buffet options were Excellent!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Buffet options were Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A good overall deal. Excellent waiter. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A good overall deal. Excellent waiter. A generous restaurant week deal. If I had to say, the weak culinary link would be dessert. Otherwise, very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited for Restaurant Week. Nunlike ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We visited for Restaurant Week. Nunlike most participating restaurants - that allow you restricted choices - Beacon Bar and Grill allowed choice of three courses from their entire menu! We were also provided with bottomless champagne glasses, compliments of the house. Extraordinary. I had the grilled haddock with asparagus and my husband had cedar plan grilled salmon. Both were of very high quality. Our waiter, Tom, was a delight. We will definitely be regulars at Beacon Bar and Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to go to BBG. Great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's always a treat to go to BBG. Great service, great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went as part of a group of 14 for a bi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I went as part of a group of 14 for a birthday brunch. The location was my suggestion. I had been to restaurant before on a couple of occasions for brunch, but none of the other attendees had. They were all extremely happy with the food selections and preparation, especially the omelettes. Our server was extremely attentive and responded promptly to all of our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stopped for a drink and snacks on our fi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Stopped for a drink and snacks on our first night in town. Made a reservation because unsure on crowds. No one ever came out to greet us at hostess station. Truly just so-so. Waitress pleasant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

A group of us got together for Brunch to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A group of us got together for Brunch to celebrate my son's 22nd birthday. We had a wonderful time! The food was great! The waiters kept our champagne glasses filled with mimosas and when they heard it was my son's birthday, they brought over a special dessert. We had a wonderful time and this has become our go to brunch restaurant of choice!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time to brunch here and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is my third time to brunch here and this time was by far the best ever! Attentive staff, good selection - today they even had a larger desert selection and the qualify of deserts was one of the best I've experienced at a buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time visting and I will be back!! LO ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

1st time visting and I will be back!!

LOVED the chicken and waffles....some of the best tasting food I've ever had..well seasoned.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy the visit. The tacos were g ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always enjoy the visit. The tacos were great. Waitress was very service oriented. Thanks to the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went to Beacon with friends to celebrate my birthday. Have not been there for years. The service by Desi was excellent and the birthday sparkler was a nice surprise. I did notice the selection/variety of food for the brunch was not as much as it used to be. The food was tasty and quantities were always plentiful however the variety that I remember was not there.

Given that, it still is one of my favorite places for brunch and I will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best brunch locations I've ev ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best brunch locations I've ever been to. So many choices, and so much food...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love the Beacon Bar and Grill truly , I come al the way from PA to go to the buffet brunch everyone is so friendly and it's so 5 I love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking can be difficult. But the food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Parking can be difficult. But the food was fresh and our server, Topher, was OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom has been raving about this place ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My mom has been raving about this place for months so for my birthday, I finally gave it a try. After being seated, we ordered drinks/appetizers and we were told that our waiter was new and on his very first day. The drink took 10 to 15 minutes to arrive even though we were one of four tables inside. When it did arrive, my friend's drink had no straw but we ignored it and ordered our meal. Our appetizers arrived and we were told we would be given silverware by the waitress that appeared to be helping our server out and she never returned with our silverware. We ordered our meal, only to be told 15 minutes later that our meal wasn't available that day so we ordered something else and when it arrived, we were given one set of silverware by yet another server. Our drinks, alcoholic and water, were never refilled. I tend to not be too picky about service but I find it odd that on a slow night, no one helped this other server or held on their promise to bring us refills, silverware, extra napkins, etc. The food was great but the service fell flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great as always - food -service and the ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great as always - food -service and the staff attention. Our guests totally enjoyed the time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Price - value - and service are always g ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Price - value - and service are always god and I enjoy my business lunches there-

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It has been four years since I visited t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It has been four years since I visited this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. Great atmosphere, food and drinks. Please keep the drinks unlimited. The only suggest is: I think you guys should partner up with spot hero (PMI) for parking. This would allow your guest to spend less time looking for a parking space; and more time enjoying your establishment. :) Keep up the great work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We went for Sund ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. We went for Sunday brunch. There was a very large selection of food and unlimited mimosas and Bloody Mary's. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have loved to have had more dining ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Would have loved to have had more dining options on the rooftop. But our server was terrific, our drinks were delicious and the atmosphere and view couldn't be beat. We originally had reservations for the unlimited champagne dinner but changed our minds upon arrival since it was such a perfect night to be outside. We enjoyed our appetizers and drinks but only wished we could have had more to choose from food wise - we would have definitely stayed even longer. I met the manager in the elevator - he was very welcoming, as was all the staff we had encounters with - we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Desi was our waitress and she was great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Desi was our waitress and she was great from beginning to end, just the same way she was when I first experienced this restaurant 2 years ago...love it here, food is awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best brunch ambience I've been to in DC but it greatly depends on where you sit. Great food and very extensive selectio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Second time here loved the food. will b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here loved the food. will be back again

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going for Father's Day was a disappointm ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Going for Father's Day was a disappointment. The food was horrible and it was way over-priced. The brunch had a wide variety of food, but hot dishes were cold and tasteless. We would have been better off going to McDonald's. I would not recommend brunch to anyone unless you've lost your sense of taste and have money to blow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

I booked our reservation to take my husb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I booked our reservation to take my husband to brunch for Father's Day. We were seated promptly at our scheduled time. There were many options for the buffet-style brunch. I enjoyed the waffles, omelets, and desserts. My husband really enjoyed the food and told me he would like to return to this restaurant. Our children also were happy with their choices. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Tables were dirty. Service was slow and confused. I left without wanting to wait anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It is hard to find a reliable and quick ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It is hard to find a reliable and quick place to eat in this neighborhood, so BB&G is a great find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best brunch for the value! Bottomless mimosas and delicious buffet with tons of options!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good time. The food is very goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a good time. The food is very good there and there are a lot of varieties. We sat upstairs and I did not like that because it was far away from the food. Other than that, it is a gem to me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

After being seated at the restaurant por ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

After being seated at the restaurant portion of BBG the waiter did not take our orders and proceeded to say "I'll be right with you" twice, 15 minutes after we had already closed our menus and set them aside. This prompted us to decline service in the restaurant and move up to the Sky Lounge instead. There the service was equally sparse. The waitress took our orders in a timely fashion but proceeded to make us wait for a half hour for the shrimp roll option. Also without informing us, the waitress closed out my tab at the bar which caused confusion when I tried to order a drink on my tab, causing the bartender to ring up my drink and for me to sign multiple bills. The overall ambiance and mood was nice but the service itself was not. Would like to see better trained staff next time I visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Brunch Heaven!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

You can't go wrong with Beacon Bar and Grill if you are looking for a traditional Brunch buffet with endless options! Made to order omelets, waffles. Want some grilled salmon with your fried chicken? If you can't find something to satisfy you at this brunch the problem is definitely with you. :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.