About Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Featuring Italian and Mediterranean cuisine with Californian and tropical influences, Beach Tree offers specialty dishes such as gnocchi with oxtail ragout and hamakua, crimini mushroom and fontina pizza. The restaurant offers over 50 wines by the glass, carafe or bottle. Cocktails feature tropical ingredients, fresh fruit and original combinations. Don't miss the Beach Tree Smash, which mixes pear and lime, or Tom's Pink Shirt, which combines guava liqueur, fresh Waimea strawberries and house-made sweet and sour made from agave nectar and fresh lime juice. In addition to the Barefoot Table experience, guests can enjoy a Chef's counter experience in the heart of the Beach Tree kitchen.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Lite Fares: Daily: 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/dining/restaurants/beach_tree/

Entertainment:
We feature live entertainment nightly, ranging from contemporary Hawaiian music to blues and soft rock. In addition we provide live Hula Thursday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary self parking or valet services are available.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Private Party Facilities:
BAREFOOT DINNER
Hualalai's newest private dining option, our Barefoot Dinner is truly a toes-in-the sand experience. Set on the beach, in front of Beach Tree, 10 to 24 guests will enjoy a family style customized menu of Hawaii Island's freshest ingredients,
cooked alongside the table and perfectly paired with wine. Leave your shoes behind and enjoy a spectacular meal under the stars in paradise.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Braised Short Ribs - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Burrata - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Gnocchi - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Le Volte Igt 2012 - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chicken Chop Salad - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chips, Salsa & Spicy Guacamole - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Late To The Party - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Super Salad - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Mango Gazpacho - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chicken Taco - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Catch of the Day - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Caesar Salad - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chicken Quesadilla - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Mai Tai - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chicken Parmesan - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Margarita - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Shashimi - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Turkey Burger With Housemade Thousand Island Dressing And Avocado - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Ice Cream Trio - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Sangria And Margarita - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Cocktails - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Heart Of Palm Salad - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Homemade Oxtail Ravioli  - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Mahimahi Fish Tacos - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Ceviche - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Lobster And Shrimp Tempura Roll - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Tuna Roll - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Lobster and Shrimp Hot Dog - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Spicy Ahi Tempora Roll - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Lobster Ravioli - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chocolate Bon Bons - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Asparagus Pork Belly Salad - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Lobster BLT - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Shrimp Scampi With Baby Spinach - Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (11)
Scenic View (10)
Live Music (8)
See All
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a lovely restaurant that we visi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a lovely restaurant that we visited while staying in Hawaii. The food was good. The ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Holly and Bianca are amazing! They knew ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Holly and Bianca are amazing! They knew exactly what was in each dish that we asked about and they made great recommendations. Our dining experience was seamless from start to end. I had the risotto and added shrimp to It (try it you'll love it too) my husband had the prime rib. Great service, excellent food, all in an incredible atmosphere. A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no more beautiful place to dine ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

There is no more beautiful place to dine outside - if there is I do not know where. Food was fresh and fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience, food, and service was ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our experience, food, and service was outstanding. Our waiter Matt was by far the best waiter we've had anywhere! Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, food at Four Seasons always g ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent, food at Four Seasons always great. Nice beach atmosphere

Would go again!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually go to this restaurant every y ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We usually go to this restaurant every year (from 2010 to 2013) because the food was great. I am not too impressed this time. The bread came before dinner used to be extremely great. Now it is no longer the same, just standard affair. I love parpadelle they served before. Now it also tasted different, definitely not as good as before. In addition, the price had increased significantly, probably at least 30%. The parpadelle with wild boar I had before was $25. Now it is a mushroom veal version that is at least $37 I think. Upon a quick internet search, I found out the executive chef has changed since 2014 which was the last time we were there. We probably won't go back there again because of the mediocre food and extremely high prices.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Lack luster. Food just ok...service ok.. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Lack luster. Food just ok...service ok... not worth the cost this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Not our first time here. It's hard to b ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Not our first time here. It's hard to beat the sunset accompanied by creative cocktails. Both the food and drinks are extremely expensive, but it IS the Four Seasons. Nice service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ended up here as a last minute meal a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We ended up here as a last minute meal after manta ray snorkeling. We were able to get in immediately, and our waitress was great. The restaurant is ocean-side and outdoor mostly. The waves made for a great atmosphere. The menu was a little limited for vegetarian dining, but the carnivores really liked their pork chops. I had a pizza that was fine, and the crust was really good with the complimentary pesto that came with the focaccia the next day. The focaccia was actually really good as well. We also got a cool (literally) dessert - bon bons (vanilla ice cream coated in dark chocolate) that came in a basket suspended over a bucket of dry ice. The presentations were what you would expect for an expensive restaurant. The waitress also gave us a great tip for a beach to find nearby that we should see before leaving the next day. We did go by (glad we had a jeep), and it was spectacular! Nice staff, good atmosphere, and good food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Reserva ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Reservations were at 5:30 pm. Server was polite, professional and thorough. Dinner service was incredibly slow, I suspect the food preparation was overwhelmed. Two other managers stopped by to ash how we were doing, explaining that dinner would arrive shortly. There was a very long gap of time from appetizer to dinner delivery.

We traveled from Maui specifically to have Dinner, celebrating the successful completion of a home design with our architect and wife from Kona. I do understand how challenging restaurant operations can be, to deliver a superb experience. This experience was not quite what I hoped for...

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for lunch and dinner. Expensive b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for lunch and dinner. Expensive but on par with all restaurants on premises, other resort dining. Great, knowledgeable and attentive servers. Fresh food and delicious. Would recommend: burger, pizza, ahi tuna burger, pizza and paella. The bon bon dessert on dry ice gets an A+ for presentation and being delectable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome awesome awesome awesome Bartende ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome awesome awesome awesome Bartender the host the waiter 5 star...big cheeeee who from local people...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beach Tree is right on the beach, as you ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Beach Tree is right on the beach, as you would imagine...and on the Four Seasons property - which means very high standards. Great menu, fabulous wine list, beautiful setting. Awesome sunset views. The risotto was spectacular, and the sea bass special was sublime. Service is immaculate. Just like the rest of the Four Seasons Hualali.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time at the Beach Tre ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Beach Tree. The setting was on the beach at sunset. The service was unsurpassed. The food was good. Kind of spendy, but this is Hawaii. We will plan to go back on future visits.

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful environment. Fresh tasting ar ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful environment. Fresh tasting arugula salad and pasta dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious lunch. The dessert was to die ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Delicious lunch. The dessert was to die for. An iced lemon merangue pie.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible beachfront location with amaz ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Incredible beachfront location with amazing food. My wife had a special sandwich with Shrimp and Dungeness Crab on a bacon infused bread that was outstanding. I had the lunch filet with arugula salad - also excellent. The hand crafted cocktail was innovative and delicious. The surf-side setting within view of the pool is an amazing spot to listen to the pounding surf while seating in a comfortable dining pavilion with impeccable service. The mango gazpacho was a delicious starter and the fries with the sandwich were among the best we've ever had. They did not have access to fresh oysters that day so I was sorry to miss out on an oyster po-boy - next time! Evenings here are perfect for sunset with live music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Italian pastas and knowledgeab ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful Italian pastas and knowledgeable wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beach Tree one of our favorites on the I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Beach Tree one of our favorites on the Island. Great food, service and right on the Ocean. Our latest meal there was superb.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View can't be beat. Food was decent but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2016

View can't be beat. Food was decent but didn't blow me away. Portions are fairly small. Live music was great and not too loud. Get a reservation before sunset and enjoy the view. Very good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was just okay, was expecting better ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was just okay, was expecting better, but service was wonderful with a beautiful view in a gorgeous tropical setting. My suggestion is to install ceiling fans to keep things a little cooler since it is an open air restaurant in a sunny location.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The location, view, and music were wonde ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The location, view, and music were wonderful. The food however was just OKAY. We had better cocktail mixtures at the Lava Lava club down the street. Overall, I would try it one more time; however if the experience ends up being the same I probably would not return. Other restaurants in the Four Seasons were better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

the is very good and the drinks is very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

the is very good and the drinks is very good and really enjoyed have dinn

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

can't beat open-air dining on the Kohal ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2016

can't beat open-air dining on the Kohala coast . The chef utilizes local ingredients in a relaxed setting. Try the wild boar pasta or the stone-fired pizzas. The service is attentive, but not over-bearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Bianca was one of the best servers I hav ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Bianca was one of the best servers I have ever had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and continuously come bac ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful food and continuously come back as this is one of my favourite spots. Lay night service was very poor which made for a less enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Wonderful dinner at Four Seasons. Specta ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful dinner at Four Seasons. Spectacular scenery and resort and delicious meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view and the ambience was amazing, b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The view and the ambience was amazing, but the food felt underwhelming for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant we've been at on the Big ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best restaurant we've been at on the Big Island. Right up there with Lahaina Grill in Maui

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. You should go when the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Beautiful view. You should go when the sun sets. This restaurant was amazing. food was delicious. great drinks. romantic. highly recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a burger and it was just okay ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ordered a burger and it was just okay. Wish we had ordered pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Fabulous location, great drinks and memo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous location, great drinks and memorable dinner. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were here a month ago from Maui to ce ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were here a month ago from Maui to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We came back again and enjoyed it just as much. The WOW Caprese salad from local WOW Farms was unbelievably good, both times. Good pizzas (mascarpone, arugula, prosciutto di Parma; and authentic Margherita from Napoli) and ice cream bon bons dramatically served in a basket with "steaming" dry ice.

Katie was extremely kind to us, going out of her to show island aloha to us in many ways. One example: when we told her we were going to Italy, she wrote down a list of favorite special restaurants from her trip there last year. Katie and Natasha were both friendly and knowledgable about the intricacies of the food preparation and stories about the local farms where the produce and chicken were raised and grown. A delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be clear - this is not Four Seasons leve ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Be clear - this is not Four Seasons level food. Gorgeous setting and waitress was lovely. Food was shameful. Menu poorly designed. We planned this to celebrate our last night in Maui for a special treat - I was devastated. I had gnocchi and had to spit out wads of fat from meat sauce 3 times. I have had better at chain restaurants. The other restaurant on property is phenomenal!! Go there. This needs to be fixed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Do not dine here if you are not a hotel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Do not dine here if you are not a hotel guest. They charge an extra 20% to your bill if you are not staying at the hotel. This is not disclosed anywhere. I found out afterwards by checking my bank statement and calling the hotel. They stated that it's a 20% hold on the card until the charges clear and will take 5 business days to clear. NEVER have I ever been charged anything of the sort for dining. Beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Love the place!

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific evening. Nothing fell short of ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Terrific evening. Nothing fell short of perfect! Roman pasta dishes were done as well as best restaurants in Rome. I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful beach front dining. A bit exp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful beach front dining. A bit expensive, but the view made it worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful location, a bit hard to find i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beautiful location, a bit hard to find in the dark from the self parking lot, food was excellent, service impeccable. Surprisingly this was actually one of the more reasonably priced meals my two kids and I had, an appetizer, salad, two entrees, and one pina colada, a virgin lava flow, and one soda and It was 160 with tip which wasn't bad especially with such exceptional food, service, and the view was amazing, even at night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I proposed to my wife on the eve of ou ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I proposed to my wife on the eve of our 24th wedding anniversary. Everyone at the restaurant helped me make it the perfect occasion. Out waitress Nikki was AWESOME. She helped us orchestrate and filmed the whole event for us. It was truly special. Thank you Nikki.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.