About Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Featuring Italian and Mediterranean cuisine with Californian and tropical influences, Beach Tree offers specialty dishes such as gnocchi with oxtail ragout and hamakua, crimini mushroom and fontina pizza. The restaurant offers over 50 wines by the glass, carafe or bottle. Cocktails feature tropical ingredients, fresh fruit and original combinations. Don't miss the Beach Tree Smash, which mixes pear and lime, or Tom's Pink Shirt, which combines guava liqueur, fresh Waimea strawberries and house-made sweet and sour made from agave nectar and fresh lime juice. In addition to the Barefoot Table experience, guests can enjoy a Chef's counter experience in the heart of the Beach Tree kitchen.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Lite Fares: Daily: 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/dining/restaurants/beach_tree/

Entertainment:
We feature live entertainment nightly, ranging from contemporary Hawaiian music to blues and soft rock. In addition we provide live Hula Thursday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary self parking or valet services are available.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Private Party Facilities:
BAREFOOT DINNER
Hualalai's newest private dining option, our Barefoot Dinner is truly a toes-in-the sand experience. Set on the beach, in front of Beach Tree, 10 to 24 guests will enjoy a family style customized menu of Hawaii Island's freshest ingredients,
cooked alongside the table and perfectly paired with wine. Leave your shoes behind and enjoy a spectacular meal under the stars in paradise.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge
Margarita
Shashimi
Braised Short Ribs
Burrata
Macadamia Nut Ice Cream
Gnocchi
Le Volte Igt 2012
Chicken Chop Salad
Chips, Salsa & Spicy Guacamole
Late To The Party
Super Salad
Mango Gazpacho
Chicken Taco
Catch of the Day
Caesar Salad
Chicken Quesadilla
Mai Tai
Chicken Parmesan
Turkey Burger With Housemade Thousand Island Dressing And Avocado
Ice Cream Trio
Sangria And Margarita
Cocktails
Heart Of Palm Salad
Homemade Oxtail Ravioli
Mahimahi Fish Tacos
Ceviche
Lobster And Shrimp Tempura Roll
Tempura Crusted Spicy Ahi Tuna Roll
Lobster and Shrimp Hot Dog
Spicy Ahi Tempora Roll
Lobster Ravioli
Chocolate Bon Bons
Asparagus Pork Belly Salad
Lobster BLT
Shrimp Scampi With Baby Spinach

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Service
Hawaii / Big Island
1 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kaupulehu ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Romantic (12)
Scenic View (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dinner at Four Seasons. Specta ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dinner at Four Seasons. Spectacular scenery and resort and delicious meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view and the ambience was amazing, b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The view and the ambience was amazing, but the food felt underwhelming for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant we've been at on the Big ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best restaurant we've been at on the Big Island. Right up there with Lahaina Grill in Maui

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. You should go when the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Beautiful view. You should go when the sun sets. This restaurant was amazing. food was delicious. great drinks. romantic. highly recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a burger and it was just okay ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We ordered a burger and it was just okay. Wish we had ordered pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We were here a month ago from Maui to ce ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were here a month ago from Maui to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We came back again and enjoyed it just as much. The WOW Caprese salad from local WOW Farms was unbelievably good, both times. Good pizzas (mascarpone, arugula, prosciutto di Parma; and authentic Margherita from Napoli) and ice cream bon bons dramatically served in a basket with "steaming" dry ice.

Katie was extremely kind to us, going out of her to show island aloha to us in many ways. One example: when we told her we were going to Italy, she wrote down a list of favorite special restaurants from her trip there last year. Katie and Natasha were both friendly and knowledgable about the intricacies of the food preparation and stories about the local farms where the produce and chicken were raised and grown. A delightful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous location, great drinks and memo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous location, great drinks and memorable dinner. Will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Be clear - this is not Four Seasons leve ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Be clear - this is not Four Seasons level food. Gorgeous setting and waitress was lovely. Food was shameful. Menu poorly designed. We planned this to celebrate our last night in Maui for a special treat - I was devastated. I had gnocchi and had to spit out wads of fat from meat sauce 3 times. I have had better at chain restaurants. The other restaurant on property is phenomenal!! Go there. This needs to be fixed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Do not dine here if you are not a hotel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Do not dine here if you are not a hotel guest. They charge an extra 20% to your bill if you are not staying at the hotel. This is not disclosed anywhere. I found out afterwards by checking my bank statement and calling the hotel. They stated that it's a 20% hold on the card until the charges clear and will take 5 business days to clear. NEVER have I ever been charged anything of the sort for dining. Beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Love the place!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific evening. Nothing fell short of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Terrific evening. Nothing fell short of perfect! Roman pasta dishes were done as well as best restaurants in Rome. I

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful beach front dining. A bit exp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful beach front dining. A bit expensive, but the view made it worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful location, a bit hard to find i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Beautiful location, a bit hard to find in the dark from the self parking lot, food was excellent, service impeccable. Surprisingly this was actually one of the more reasonably priced meals my two kids and I had, an appetizer, salad, two entrees, and one pina colada, a virgin lava flow, and one soda and It was 160 with tip which wasn't bad especially with such exceptional food, service, and the view was amazing, even at night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I proposed to my wife on the eve of ou ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I proposed to my wife on the eve of our 24th wedding anniversary. Everyone at the restaurant helped me make it the perfect occasion. Out waitress Nikki was AWESOME. She helped us orchestrate and filmed the whole event for us. It was truly special. Thank you Nikki.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service I've had in years. Amazing ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best service I've had in years. Amazing food. Order the Bonbons even if you're full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location but the worst food I' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful location but the worst food I've had over many nights in Hawaii. Terrible service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Excellent WOW salad and authentic pizza

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came here for late 8 pm dinner to celebrate our anniversary, which hostess and waiter acknowledged. We had already filled up on sushi, appetizers and dessert at oceanfront Ulu Sushi Lounge next door. So we ended up eating light. WOW salad with heirloom tomatoes from local WOW Farms (which we are lucky to get at home on Maui) was excellent, Caprese with creamy burrata. We have been to Italy many times, including Naples where Margherita pizza was invented. The Margherita pizza was excellent. We received great friendly service from Jan and Adam. We wanted to buy the great hook necklaces they wore, but we forgot by the time dinner was over.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ocean front dining, excellent food, grea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Ocean front dining, excellent food, great service. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was very rude to my group a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Our waitress was very rude to my group and when my friend and I ordered a drink, she had a manager come over and double check our IDs which felt extremely accusing. Definitely would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

pizza

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The appetizer pizza was one of the best I had. the service was ok but waiter did not fill up our bottled water. Every one had no water and our bottle was placed on the waiter stand.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my 3rd visit to the restaurant . ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is my 3rd visit to the restaurant . Great service , very personal .

Of course the view and environment is unbeatable .

Will come back for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We and our next-door neighbors have enj ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We and our next-door neighbors have enjoyed many lunches and a few dinners at the Beach Tree over the last 10 years. This particular occasion was to say Aloha to those neighbors who are moving to Montana. Everything was perfect ...the food was outstanding and the service efficient but unobtrusive and very friendly. Bianca our server did an excellent job making this a very special good-bye dinner. We started with a champagne toast, then moved on to a half portion of the chef's pasta special for the evening which we shared family style. The entree's were varied and all very good from the GF grass fed hamburger, the Fresh Catch to the snapper served on a bed of sautéed vegetables very much like ratatouille with bit of olive tapenade on top of the snapper. The house-made focaccia served with a flavored olive oil was excellent. We topped the meal off with shared desserts, the Batik Room Bon Bons, circa 1964 and the Chocolate Torte Caprese. As a special treat Bianca poured each of us a sample of a popular "liquid" dessert wine, Moscato D'Asti, Vietti . Our evening at the Beach Tree made for a wonderful memory for all four of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Blackened ahi delicious. Also the pesto ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Blackened ahi delicious. Also the pesto dip for the bread is fabulous. Everything outstanding. Can't make a mistake on any choice.

Beautiful setting for sunset. Elegant yet casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful location and you will pay for it

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The location of the Beach Tree restaurant is right on the beach at the Four Seasons Resort in Holualoa. The location is spectacular and the resort lights the incoming waves at night. The setting is wonderful for enjoying the sunset and it's fun to watch the young children playing in front of the restaurant on the grassy area. Unfortunately, the meal and wine is very, very expensive, so make sure you are expecting this before booking a reservation. The food is very good, as it should be for the premium prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Best barefoot elegance restaurant ever - ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Best barefoot elegance restaurant ever - service, food, atmosphere, scenery, sunset, cocktails - thank you for a wonderful memory

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a beautiful night!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a beautiful night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hate hate to leave! Beach tree is crowd ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Hate hate to leave! Beach tree is crowded so better make resos before you leave for Hawaii!! They have a variety of dishes.....pasta, fresh fish.....all so good!! The tomato bruschetta is amazing......fresh tomatoes, fresh grilled bread.....so good!! We eat at least two times every big island visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very good!! Incredib ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The restaurant was very good!! Incredible views!! We came there not knowing it was at the Four Seasons! We also came there because there were $$ on the description!!!! The restaurant is $$$$!!! The bill with 2 appetizers, 2 adult entrees, 1 child entree, carafe of wine and a 1 dessert with tip was almost $300!! That isn't 2 dollar signs!! We ate at a lovely place called Cafe Pesto with the same quality and amount of food and wine...actually even better food if you ask me and the bill with tip was $130!! That's what I call 2 $$ signs!! Also I saw a picture of sashimi on one of the photos which was nowhere to be found!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always great!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I LOVE Beachtree. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. The food and drinks are always delicious. The view is one of the best on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my 2nd time , loved it the first time and still loving it.

We mainly ordered the beet salad and 3 veggies side dishes - Superb!

and we had their french rose wine , perfect with the food .

The spread that comes with the table bread is delicious.A meal all to itself !

Great service , very attentive staff .

Will be back for sure !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ok restaurant.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

An ok restaurant. Very expensive for what you get. Ok as one of several restaurants to dine at while on the Big Island but would not drive a long way to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fabulous

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We have been to the Beach Tree many times since it opened and has never failed to be a wonderful evening. The service was great ( very accommodating to one of our party who was not feeling great), the setting is spectacular. We did a lot of sharing and enjoyed all of our food, especially the. Pieta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal from start to finish. The ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Excellent meal from start to finish. The view is spectacular, perfect for a sunset dinner. Our server Teahani was very friendly, attentive and made great wine suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, great service,food is pretty good

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

The location is perfect. The Four Seasons is a great hotel. We loved that they are kid friendly and it's outdoors for a beautiful sunset dinner. The menu is overdone. The food was good but in my opinion, they are trying too hard with their overdone menu choices. It makes ordering dinner very confusing. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for a great dining experience while in Hawai'i.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Beach Tree is our "neighborhood" restaurant, but Saturday was the first time I can say we were disappointed. We had drinks at the bar before hand, bartender ( not sure of his name) was surly , no eye contact and his service was minimal. Tom the other bartender was great. Our dinner waiter was cold and again served us minimally. Food for all four of us was disappointing. 2 people ordered that exact same thing, but appearance was entirely different (waiter said it was the same dish). The mango dessert was delicious as usual, but portion has been reduced.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent food, breathtaking views of th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food, breathtaking views of the ocean and lovely music and hula entertainment quietly located on the side. I had a great Mai tai drink with a tasty dinner. A bit pricey but a great special dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean Side Jem

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

The ocean side location and sunset are magnificent. The dinner menu nearly match the ambiance. The pastas are made in house and are excellent. The service was very attentive and knowledgable of the menu. One of the top five restaurants on the Big Island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was the best the food excelle ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Our server was the best the food excellent and the view was breathtaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine, but not fabulous...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I always have very high expectations at any Four Seasons property, but have been disappointed at Hualalai a number of times. The Beach Tree is the most consistent, and it was fine. We had a very nice server, and a table near the "outside". It seems a shame the truly outside tables are only set up for drinking, and most of those were empty. The lighting is too bright, and the whole terrace is unremarkable. The trail back to the restrooms is dark and confusing. I had to take my guests there, as they had not been before. The ladies room is off to the side in darkness. The food was fine, but not spectacular. The dessert, which sounded promising, (dark chocolate round cake with ice cream) was instead boring and slightly dry. My pasta dish was good and the arugula salad was basic, but nice. My friends said theirs was "average". My husband said it was "the least good food I had this trip". We enjoyed Brown's Beach House at the Orchid and Huggo's in town more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food in a beautiful setting

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Good food in a beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.