Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

Adjacent to our namesake tree and at the heart of the Resort, Beach Tree features Italian and Mediterranean inspired cuisine featuring the best ingredients from Hawaii Island farms, ranches and fishermen. Specialty dishes include our house-made Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe or our Mascarpone, Prosciutto and Arugula pizza with hand-tossed crust baked in our brick oven. Enjoy nightly live entertainment while you taste samples of our extensive list of wines by the glass, a locally brewed beer on tap or a hand-crafted cocktail. Dinner reservations required.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Lite Fares: Daily: 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/dining/restaurants/beach_tree/

Entertainment:
We feature live entertainment nightly, ranging from contemporary Hawaiian music to blues and soft rock. In addition we provide live Hula Thursday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary self parking or valet services available.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Bellec

Private Party Facilities:
BAREFOOT DINNER
Hualalai's newest private dining option, our Barefoot Dinner is truly a toes-in-the sand experience. Set on the beach, in front of Beach Tree, 10 to 24 guests will enjoy a family style customized menu of Hawaii Island's freshest ingredients,
cooked alongside the table and perfectly paired with wine. Leave your shoes behind and enjoy a spectacular meal under the stars in paradise.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Scenic View (9)
Waterfront (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (6)
Live Music (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been many times. The food, service and ambiance is great but the value for some items is questionable - $27 for a Manhattan?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and amazing sunset view. Live music was so talented! Would recommend. The kanpachi dish was sooo ono!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Ambience was great except for kids running and screaming all night in the grassy area in front of our table. Food and menu was mediocre. Our salad consisted of a pile of arugula with a miniscule amount of parmasan on top. The ceviche was sour and boring lacking flavor. The short ribs were nice, but nothing I couldn't do better at home. Our dessert was delicious and complimentary for our anniversary. Our waiter was very nice and professional. The view was exceptional. I've consistently been disappointed with all of Four Seasons restaurant's food selection. Highly over rated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I made the reservation for my husband's birthday and he really enjoyed the dinner at Beachtree with family. The food was good, wait staff was very friendly, and the view made our special occasion even more special. The Caesar salad in particular was sooooo delicious. The drinks are a bit on the pricey side. The live musicians in the background made the dinner that much more pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Loved everything. Food and service was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Seems to have an identity crisis. Awesome food with very high prices you would expect at a fine dining establishment, but loud, noisy family place. We thought we were having a romantic evening for our anniversary, but LOTS of out of control children banished that idea very quickly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Marinara sauce for the fried seafood appetizer was way too salty and drinks took too long. Two draft beers arrived after the appetizer. Also they recommended the pork chop and it was bland and tasteless. Location and ambiance was great. Food was very disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great for a night out and wonderful food and service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have dined here many times and we usually sit at the bar to enjoy the view. We always know we are going to to drop at least $200 but the experience is always worth it. Last night the bartender was Mike and he seemed like he was both in a hurry and just wouldn't stop trying to sell us more stuff. As soon as we sat down, we ordered a $95 bottle of wine. He then suggested we get a bottle of red too----before we even ordered. He proceeded to try to sell us additional drinks, appetizers and desserts. Just to be clear, we were there less than an hour, it wasn't late and we didn't finish our wine until after our dinner. I felt like I was at McDonalds and I was being asked if I wanted to supersize my meal or add an apple pie. It really killed the experience for us and made us resist the temptation to have an after dinner drink. We noticed he was doing this to everyone at the bar. You just don't expect this at the 4 Seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff were fantastic and went out of their way to help make our engagement special!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always great food and great atmosphere. Sunset dining is perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was excellent as always. The fish on the special was overlooked and the sauce which was supposed to be a little spicy wasn't at all.
My shirt rib was good, but I preferred how it was done before. The bruschetta appetizer was delicious. And the greens that we ordered as a side were too salty. As a whole, the meal was too salty. I used to get the gnocchi but since the head chef was changed we find in general everything is too salty. This used to be our favorite restaurant, we still come once and a while because the view can't be beat and the service is always great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Loved this place! Amazing food and views! We will definitely come back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our family loves Beach Tree! Food and atmosphere are perfect!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food great service

Had a table for 7 so we were in the back of the restaurant no breeze. Request a table up front.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the setting. We always share several dishes and keep trying different things

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It doesn't get much better than an evening at Beach Tree! The beach front setting at Four Seasons is fabulous. Add in perfect service, good food and drinks, unobtrusive Hawaiian music along with an unobstructed sunset view ... You will be planning your next visit before leaving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant!!! Nikki "juhee Lee" is a amazing waitress. We request her every time we go. If she isn't there, we go somewhere else. Management is always making sure the place is running tip top. I take all my friends, family, and visitors here. Great oceanview, live music at night. 5 stars all day!!!

Bryce Murphy

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Spicy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great place! We had a beautiful sunset table and outstanding service. The fresh catch was delicious and the dessert was second to none!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Could be romantic but tons of kids running on lawn between tables and beautiful sunset. Great for those with kids...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday. We were treated very well. Made my wife very happy. Will go back for other special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Over rated, decent food, noisy, great setting, good service, expensive, very, for the food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was ok. I expected it to be 5 star but it was way over priced. Live and learn!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This meal was incredible! Smooth, well-prepared Italian dishes for everyone at our table to enjoy. The Prime Rib was a favorite and the special carbonara was pasta perfection. Save room for dessert because the bon bons and banana split were special. Each course was treated with respect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant on the Big Island! There are so many fresh creative dishes, both Italian and Island styled. Fantastic wine list as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When my dear old Dad came to visit us last week he wanted to take us all out to dinner and we choose the Beach Tree because of its location on the beach. While a bit windy it was beautiful and dining early (5:30PM) suited him perfectly. My husbands Gluten Free diet was tended to with a specially baked mini loaf of bread and attention to what he was ordering. My green flash cocktail was delicious and the variety of wine by the glass suited everyone! There could be some description of the food on the menu- had to ask about everything. I have a shellfish allergy and almost ordered shrimp unknowingly (but I asked)! The Paella was excellent according to my daughter in law and my sons lamb burger was as well. My father ordered the catch of the day and organic salad. Unfortunately that was a bit overcooked and really bland but his taste buds at 90 are shot anyways. The lightning flashing in the distance over the ocean with the waves lit up was dramatic and having the music just far enough away to hear but not hinder conversation was perfect. Thank you for an enjoyable evening! Our waiter who was from Romania was excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The restaurant was very busy and loud. Food was good and at $40+ an Entree we do like to be wowed! Service was okay seems like staff was overwhelmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Buyer beware! This is a great open-air location right on the beach at the Four Seasons Hotel ... but Open Table had marked it as $$ with entrees under $30 and the menu online was not exactly what was at the restaurant. My group experienced severe sticker shock over the $71 steaks and $19 Mai Tais. But for a splurge, it's a great choice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very slow service, both from the waiter (Jan) and the kitchen. Waited over 1.5 hours from seating to when our mains came out; had to inquire several times on delay.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Beach Tree. The waitress (Katie, I think?) was very knowledgable and helped us decipher the menu for things we weren't sure about. The food was delectable! one of the favorite meals of our week-long trip!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Stunning view. Expensive but you're paying for that. Overall worth it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This is the best Restaurant my wife and I have ever gone too!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant that we visited while staying in Hawaii. The food was good. The ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Holly and Bianca are amazing! They knew exactly what was in each dish that we asked about and they made great recommendations. Our dining experience was seamless from start to end. I had the risotto and added shrimp to It (try it you'll love it too) my husband had the prime rib. Great service, excellent food, all in an incredible atmosphere. A must try!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

There is no more beautiful place to dine outside - if there is I do not know where. Food was fresh and fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our experience, food, and service was outstanding. Our waiter Matt was by far the best waiter we've had anywhere! Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent, food at Four Seasons always great. Nice beach atmosphere
Would go again!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We usually go to this restaurant every year (from 2010 to 2013) because the food was great. I am not too impressed this time. The bread came before dinner used to be extremely great. Now it is no longer the same, just standard affair. I love parpadelle they served before. Now it also tasted different, definitely not as good as before. In addition, the price had increased significantly, probably at least 30%. The parpadelle with wild boar I had before was $25. Now it is a mushroom veal version that is at least $37 I think. Upon a quick internet search, I found out the executive chef has changed since 2014 which was the last time we were there. We probably won't go back there again because of the mediocre food and extremely high prices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Lack luster. Food just ok...service ok... not worth the cost this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Not our first time here. It's hard to beat the sunset accompanied by creative cocktails. Both the food and drinks are extremely expensive, but it IS the Four Seasons. Nice service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.