Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

4.7
359 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Special Occasion
Adjacent to our namesake tree and at the heart of the Resort, Beach Tree features Italian and Mediterranean inspired cuisine featuring the best ingredients from Hawaii Island farms, ranches and fishermen. Specialty dishes include our house-made Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe, Piedmontese steak for two, Tuscan fries, roasted Hamakua mushrooms and our local hamachi crudo with avocado and Hawaiian chilies. Enjoy nightly live entertainment while you taste samples of our extensive list of wines by the glass, a locally brewed beer on tap or a hand-crafted cocktail. Dinner reservations required.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Lite Fares: Daily: 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 325-8000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Thomas Bellec
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
BAREFOOT DINNER
Hualalai's newest private dining option, our Barefoot Dinner is truly a toes-in-the sand experience. Set on the beach, in front of Beach Tree, 10 to 22 guests will enjoy a family style customized menu of Hawaii Island's freshest ingredients,
cooked alongside the table and perfectly paired with wine. Leave your shoes behind and enjoy a spectacular meal under the stars in paradise.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary self parking or valet services available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We feature live entertainment nightly, ranging from contemporary Hawaiian music to blues and soft rock. In addition we provide live Hula Thursday through Saturday.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Nikki did a great job

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Taylor, our server, was exceptional and had the perfect balance of being accessible when needed and letting the four of us enjoy the great food, spirits and ocean front location. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversaries and Taylor surprised us with two extraordinary desserts that were heavenly. After we expressed a desire to try to make one of the dishes once we returned home, she even shared the chef’s recipe via email. The entire experience couldn’t have been better. The Beach Tree will be on our short list on our return visits. Mahalo Taylor and the entire team at the Beach Tree. We felt the aloha.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great food Amazing service and overall a wonderful experience would do it again anytime

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food and view were excellent. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

this is an amazing restaurant and setting.
staff is terrific.
food is superb.

the tomato and mozzarella is great
Bronzino and the fresh catch were excellent.

if you want to create memories, go to the Beach Tree Restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

my husband and i were married at the Four Seasons 15 yrs ago.
we returned this week and it was just as special a location,
service and setting..

the food was terrific
along with the service and ambience .

this is a must and we are going back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We've eaten at the Beach Tree three years in a row for my wife's birthday. It's a beautiful place. The past two years they have brought out a special dessert for her birthday and this year they didn't, but that's OK. I don't expect every visit to be perfect, but at $250 for two they should come close. My pasta was delicious but could have been hotter, and my wife just didn't love her Ono, had to ask for some lemon to give it more flavor. The location is stellar, just gorgeous, and the service is usually impeccable. Our server hastily cleared another table under the roof when it started to rain. Good for her. We'll probably return but we are slightly less enthusiastic about it I think. (Not that they care that much I suppose, we don't stay at the hotel.) Another thing: there was a wedding party at the hotel and I think a lot of them were at the restaurant. Their little kids were running around on the lawn in front, which was fine and fun. But when the kids started running around among the tables, the parents should have shooed them away. And when the parent's didn't, management should have said something to them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Absolutely great location right on the beach. The live music added to the wonderful atmosphere. We had fun watched the kids playing on the lawn with the sunset in the background. The service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Came early to have a drink and watch the sunset. Ordered a Macallan 12. When we got the bill it was for a Macallan 15 and was $35. I know prices are higher for drinks in Hawaii, but really? $35? So don’t give someone a higher priced drink without asking if that is okay first. The highest I have ever paid for a Macallan 12 was $20 at Pebble Beach and it was a double. The food was fantastic and the service exemplary. But even a basic vodka cranberry was still $15. I guess that’s what you get when you dine at a resort where the rooms start at $1000 a night. Anyone who can afford that probably doesn’t care how much their drink costs. We found drink costs at decent dinner restaurants around the island to be high, usually like $14 for a Mai Tai, unless you hit happy hour. Even in over priced Seattle, they don’t cost that much. I guess you are captive while on the island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We have never been disappointed with the food, view or staff. Casual with breathtaking views, wonderful Hawaiian music and a friendly, attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Had party of 8 ages from 7 to 74. All had a great meal and time. Very good vibe with fine Hawaiian music and hula dancer at sunset. Lovely beach setting, energetic crowd, great service. Seafood was fresh and delicious, steaks were perfectly prepared, good wine choices. Don’t miss this great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

We chose this restaurant because our friends were visiting from the mainland and we hadn't been before. It was their last night here and we wanted to make it special. The ambiance, decor and view of the surf ocean-side was good. However, the waitress was clumsy, forgetful and slow. Our friends ordered the Agnolotti and a Salsiccia Pizza (that was served without plates on the pizza pan in front of her). My husband & I ordered the Lasagna Verde for Two and it was awful. It had no seasoning and tasted like cheeseburger macaroni hamburger helper. The waitress never came back to check on us until dinner was over. We ate half and expected the remaining half to be boxed, however the waitress asked if she could take it out of our way and didn't bring it back. Our dog missed out - we wouldn't have finished it.
We're locals in Kona and won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Beautiful location! Service is so good and the daily special is awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Would have been the perfect sunset dinner if Mother Nature cooperated, but even without it- the ambiance, music, food and service were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Amazing restaurant, everything we ordered was delicious. Beet salad, mascarpone pizza, angolotti, and dessert ice cream bon bons. Live music was nice and loved how they lit up the ocean even though it was dark. Overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Upstanding food and service. One of the best on the Big Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Beautiful setting. Relaxed but refined beach side ambiance.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2018

I know it’s the Four Seasons but $27 for a martini is over the top.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Service was excellent but I would expect that at a Four Seasons restaurant. Everything we ordered was delicious. Only suggestion to the restaurant would be to move the hostess stand off to the side rather than blocking the view for the customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The place was incredible with the exception of the wood smoked grill which blew all over us all night. Our clothes smelled like we were in a fire but everything else was incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

We have dined at the Beech Tree previously
Didn’t disappoint, recommend highly

Food was perfect, and service excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I loved the food . The chef is rather creative. His raviolis were delicious. Chef Higgins was also kind enough to chat with us . Our server was excellent and so lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Amazing restaurant. Great view, music. Fabulous with allergies.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

as always, the food, the atmosphere, the service, and the sunset were exquisite. the wine list has something for everyone, and so does the menu. if you're gluten free, the options are delicious from table breads to pizza.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 7, 2018

We were disappointed with this restaurant which we had visited several times before. It was not the quality that the Four Seasons represents. The appetizers were huge in size they would easily serve as entree size. This led to us over ordering and we had to take half of the meal home. The fritto misto was very greasy and not crispy enough, it seemed that the oil that it was fried in was not hot enough. The day’s special porchetta was not a traditional porchetta which should be juicy throughout. The meat in the center was dry and the crispy rind on the outside was tough and I had a hard time cutting it. The service was impersonal, almost unfriendly and we had to keep asking for water refills. We hope that the Four Season will evaluate both its menu and service and bring them up to the expected standard.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

On one of our only rainy nights in Hawaii, we made last minute reservations here. Service was great, food was great, ambiance was great. One of my favorite places to eat on the big island.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Would rate it higher if I didn't have to wait 45 min for my table even though I had a reservation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2018

I know anyplace with real estate like this will be expensive--RIGHT on the ocean with sunset views--but I still had sticker shock. I had the place on my list because of its cocktail menu, which I'd seen online without prices. $19 is the cheapest cocktail? And at least one was over $40? That's the kind of thing you should tell people in advance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The restaurant is in a lovely setting. Service is exceptional! The menu is limited. Many dishes are overpriced, ie steak for $67 and a Manhattan for $27. They offer carafes of wine which is a great way to buy wine. Overall, this is a nice place, but be careful about the prices on what you order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Outstanding evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Shared beet salad - plenty of beets. Pork wrapped in pork belly was well done, but wouldn't order again. Short ribs were excellent - came falling off bone. Expensive, but the quality of the evening worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

One of the best settings in the world!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

What a great experience. This was our first time to Beach Tree, celebrating my husband's birthday. We had a 5:30 reservation which was perfect timing for catching sunset while dining. We had a fantastic table with a great view. Our server, Matt, was perfectly attentive and knowledgeable. We started with the charcuterie platter, all of which was great. I had the pumpkin tortellini, which was a special and it was delicious. My husband had the spaghetti and it too was delicious. We were also lucky enough to see a mom and baby whale breach while we were there! We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Excellent food and very understanding waiter. Our elderly parents were struggling with choices and he was more than accommodating. We really appreciated the friendliness and kindness of all persons we met there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Changed chefs and the food is not as good as before.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

If you are visiting the Big Island a trip to Beach Tree is a must. Food, service, view and experience are phenomenal. Make sure to make reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We arrived and checked in early and proceeded to the bar to wait. It was extremely busy so we had a bite at our table with Wine. Bar foods are excellent and filling. Service friendly and efficient

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Slightly better than average food but the music and service covered up any disappointment . Sunset and Hawaiian live music. Indoor, sort of ,and open air, all with good views

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 7, 2017

VERY underwhelmed by our dinner here. My husbands flatbread was rubbery and flavorless, despite having sausage on top. My crisp wasn’t bad, but it was pretty flavorless....again despite having jalapeño on top. Out salads were average at best and the server seemed rushed and poorly trained. For the prices I’m paying, this place was a serious let down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

The service is great, menu has many choices and the view wonderful

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge