Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge

Adjacent to our namesake tree and at the heart of the Resort, Beach Tree features Italian and Mediterranean inspired cuisine featuring the best ingredients from Hawaii Island farms, ranches and fishermen. Specialty dishes include our house-made Spaghetti Cacio e Pepe or our Mascarpone, Prosciutto and Arugula pizza with hand-tossed crust baked in our brick oven. Enjoy nightly live entertainment while you taste samples of our extensive list of wines by the glass, a locally brewed beer on tap or a hand-crafted cocktail. Dinner reservations required.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Lite Fares: Daily: 3:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.fourseasons.com/hualalai/dining/restaurants/beach_tree/

Entertainment:
We feature live entertainment nightly, ranging from contemporary Hawaiian music to blues and soft rock. In addition we provide live Hula Thursday through Saturday.

Parking Details:
Complimentary self parking or valet services available.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Bellec

Private Party Facilities:
BAREFOOT DINNER
Hualalai's newest private dining option, our Barefoot Dinner is truly a toes-in-the sand experience. Set on the beach, in front of Beach Tree, 10 to 24 guests will enjoy a family style customized menu of Hawaii Island's freshest ingredients,
cooked alongside the table and perfectly paired with wine. Leave your shoes behind and enjoy a spectacular meal under the stars in paradise.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Beach Tree Restaurant, Bar and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Waterfront (13)
Romantic (12)
See All
Scenic View (11)
Live Music (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant for an awesome sunset diner. Menu with different options from pizzas to more gourmet choices. I wish they had more local dishes. Good wine options. Go early to not miss the sunset!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Did not expect as many kids to be at a restaurant at the Four Seasons resort. Food was good, service was ok, at best. Our waitress was either spread too thin (too many tables) or just not very attentive. Value was not good. Very expensive meal for two people. Would have expected food quality and quantity to be better for how much we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and service. Excellent food. Beautiful ocean view.
Price about two to three times what you might expect, so best for special occasions or if you are using someone else's expense account.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Beautiful setting, nice service, good food. Loved the live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was so great ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2017

To say this restaurant has a beautiful setting is an understatement. Our entrees were delicious as were all of our other choices.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was good just not excellent. Service was quite slow. Beautiful atmospere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Very nice, casual atmosphere. Great view of the ocean and sunset while dining. Kids play on grass or sand while waiting for food. Good food. No complaints. Would recommend....don't think you need to dress up for dinner but also wouldn't come in beach attire. Enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Mediocre food at expensive prices. Wine prices are ridiculously exorbitant

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Ambiance plus the actual food were wonderful. The lobster and shrimp appetizer was unique and delicious.
The wine selection went from good/affordable to out of sight.
As far as the entree selection was concerned, the Tuscan grilled chicken was the best I can remember in my lifetime.
There's no doubt we'll be return customers during future Big Island visits

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have been many times. The food, service and ambiance is great but the value for some items is questionable - $27 for a Manhattan?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great service and amazing sunset view. Live music was so talented! Would recommend. The kanpachi dish was sooo ono!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ambience was great except for kids running and screaming all night in the grassy area in front of our table. Food and menu was mediocre. Our salad consisted of a pile of arugula with a miniscule amount of parmasan on top. The ceviche was sour and boring lacking flavor. The short ribs were nice, but nothing I couldn't do better at home. Our dessert was delicious and complimentary for our anniversary. Our waiter was very nice and professional. The view was exceptional. I've consistently been disappointed with all of Four Seasons restaurant's food selection. Highly over rated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I made the reservation for my husband's birthday and he really enjoyed the dinner at Beachtree with family. The food was good, wait staff was very friendly, and the view made our special occasion even more special. The Caesar salad in particular was sooooo delicious. The drinks are a bit on the pricey side. The live musicians in the background made the dinner that much more pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Loved everything. Food and service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Seems to have an identity crisis. Awesome food with very high prices you would expect at a fine dining establishment, but loud, noisy family place. We thought we were having a romantic evening for our anniversary, but LOTS of out of control children banished that idea very quickly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Marinara sauce for the fried seafood appetizer was way too salty and drinks took too long. Two draft beers arrived after the appetizer. Also they recommended the pork chop and it was bland and tasteless. Location and ambiance was great. Food was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Bon Bons for desert were truly special. Starters were very good. Entree was OK. Service was very slow, but the waitress was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great for a night out and wonderful food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We have dined here many times and we usually sit at the bar to enjoy the view. We always know we are going to to drop at least $200 but the experience is always worth it. Last night the bartender was Mike and he seemed like he was both in a hurry and just wouldn't stop trying to sell us more stuff. As soon as we sat down, we ordered a $95 bottle of wine. He then suggested we get a bottle of red too----before we even ordered. He proceeded to try to sell us additional drinks, appetizers and desserts. Just to be clear, we were there less than an hour, it wasn't late and we didn't finish our wine until after our dinner. I felt like I was at McDonalds and I was being asked if I wanted to supersize my meal or add an apple pie. It really killed the experience for us and made us resist the temptation to have an after dinner drink. We noticed he was doing this to everyone at the bar. You just don't expect this at the 4 Seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Staff were fantastic and went out of their way to help make our engagement special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always great food and great atmosphere. Sunset dining is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was excellent as always. The fish on the special was overlooked and the sauce which was supposed to be a little spicy wasn't at all.
My shirt rib was good, but I preferred how it was done before. The bruschetta appetizer was delicious. And the greens that we ordered as a side were too salty. As a whole, the meal was too salty. I used to get the gnocchi but since the head chef was changed we find in general everything is too salty. This used to be our favorite restaurant, we still come once and a while because the view can't be beat and the service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Loved this place! Amazing food and views! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our family loves Beach Tree! Food and atmosphere are perfect!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food great service

Had a table for 7 so we were in the back of the restaurant no breeze. Request a table up front.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love the setting. We always share several dishes and keep trying different things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It doesn't get much better than an evening at Beach Tree! The beach front setting at Four Seasons is fabulous. Add in perfect service, good food and drinks, unobtrusive Hawaiian music along with an unobstructed sunset view ... You will be planning your next visit before leaving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant!!! Nikki "juhee Lee" is a amazing waitress. We request her every time we go. If she isn't there, we go somewhere else. Management is always making sure the place is running tip top. I take all my friends, family, and visitors here. Great oceanview, live music at night. 5 stars all day!!!

Bryce Murphy

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Spicy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great place! We had a beautiful sunset table and outstanding service. The fresh catch was delicious and the dessert was second to none!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Could be romantic but tons of kids running on lawn between tables and beautiful sunset. Great for those with kids...

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday. We were treated very well. Made my wife very happy. Will go back for other special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Over rated, decent food, noisy, great setting, good service, expensive, very, for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was ok. I expected it to be 5 star but it was way over priced. Live and learn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This meal was incredible! Smooth, well-prepared Italian dishes for everyone at our table to enjoy. The Prime Rib was a favorite and the special carbonara was pasta perfection. Save room for dessert because the bon bons and banana split were special. Each course was treated with respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant on the Big Island! There are so many fresh creative dishes, both Italian and Island styled. Fantastic wine list as well.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When my dear old Dad came to visit us last week he wanted to take us all out to dinner and we choose the Beach Tree because of its location on the beach. While a bit windy it was beautiful and dining early (5:30PM) suited him perfectly. My husbands Gluten Free diet was tended to with a specially baked mini loaf of bread and attention to what he was ordering. My green flash cocktail was delicious and the variety of wine by the glass suited everyone! There could be some description of the food on the menu- had to ask about everything. I have a shellfish allergy and almost ordered shrimp unknowingly (but I asked)! The Paella was excellent according to my daughter in law and my sons lamb burger was as well. My father ordered the catch of the day and organic salad. Unfortunately that was a bit overcooked and really bland but his taste buds at 90 are shot anyways. The lightning flashing in the distance over the ocean with the waves lit up was dramatic and having the music just far enough away to hear but not hinder conversation was perfect. Thank you for an enjoyable evening! Our waiter who was from Romania was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The restaurant was very busy and loud. Food was good and at $40+ an Entree we do like to be wowed! Service was okay seems like staff was overwhelmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Buyer beware! This is a great open-air location right on the beach at the Four Seasons Hotel ... but Open Table had marked it as $$ with entrees under $30 and the menu online was not exactly what was at the restaurant. My group experienced severe sticker shock over the $71 steaks and $19 Mai Tais. But for a splurge, it's a great choice.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very slow service, both from the waiter (Jan) and the kitchen. Waited over 1.5 hours from seating to when our mains came out; had to inquire several times on delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.