About BayVue

854 South Wellwood Ave
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
View Larger Map

BayVue's philosophy is to serve the freshest food available. Whether its fresh fish, steak or a simple luncheon salad, we offer you an enjoyable, casual experience. Come dine with us in our main dining room, outside patios or visit our newest addition, The Rooftop, all overlooking the Great South Bay. Covered patio and outdoor patio seating reservations are weather permitting and cannot be guaranteed

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday: 11:30am-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:30am- 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am -9:00pm
Brunch: Sundays from 11:30am-3pm

Cross Street:
Montauk Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(631) 991-3370

Website:
http://www.bay-vue.com/

Parking Details:
Summer months we offer valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BayVue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Long Island / Hamptons
Scenic View
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Lindenhurst ›

Scenic View (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Waterfront (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food , as usual. View of the water ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food , as usual. View of the water that can't be beat. Glad it's close to home.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a regular for us. It Usua ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This place is a regular for us. It Usually never disappoints but I ordered stuffed flounder and found it dry and tasteless. Some of their other dishes are much better. That flounder must have been a fluke.😀

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful view on the water. Great lunc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Beautiful view on the water.

Great lunch. Always enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the setting is very nice this rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

While the setting is very nice this resto needs to train their waitstaff & kitchen.

Service was slow & no extra plate brought for lobster leavings til we prompted

waitress. The egg on the cobb salad was still hot having just been cooked & the

wrong salad dressing was brought.

drinks are large and reasonably priced. probably won't be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

very poor service. sushi was aplus the e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

very poor service. sushi was aplus the entrees were awful. wrapped them up for the dogs. very expensive for the food and service provided. not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Enjoyed dinner service was great food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed dinner service was great food was Also very good , the view was awesome the only down side was we sat inside and it is very loud the place needs some fabric on the walls or something to absorb the noise. outside would have been nicer but it was Saturday and they were pretty busy or the rooftop prob would be also but the weather prohibited that overall a very nice place with reasonable prices and they sell Amstel light would absolutely go back

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great scenic find. Disappointed that de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great scenic find. Disappointed that despite arriving early for reservation, 20 min. Wait for outside seating. Great rooftop bar so no problem! Hostess said she would call when table available. After about 25 min. Someone came up to see if anyone waiting for table downstairs. We were told they had called 3 times & given table away despite my having phone in hand & no calls received. They said 5 min & outside table would be available. After 10 min. We were told it would be another 20 so we took table on inside deck . Still nice view but not what we were expecting. Think the phone system wasn't working but no effort made to accommodate our request!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, the food but especially the pe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual, the food but especially the people who work there, are the best around. Thats why we make BayVue our favorite summer destination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was not as tasty as the last vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was not as tasty as the last visit, but the service and view were still outstanding. Found some food to be bland, for example, the lobster-mac and cheese. But still a favorite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Private Room, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Nice rooftop ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Nice rooftop bar. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful water view if seated outdoors ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful water view if seated outdoors or on upper deck. Food was good, a bit pricey, but not terrible for waterfront. Enjoy

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my sixth time dining there. Each ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This is my sixth time dining there. Each time it's been different. Everything was great this time. On the menu though it states that they have gluten-free options. When I asked Heather, our wait person, if they had gluten-free pasta she said no. It's a shame because there are a

pasta dinners that I would've like to have tried. I found the manager at her desk and I asked her the question about the gluten-free pasta. She agreed with me and said that they should be getting an gluten-free pasta. We'll see.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The wait staff at the place is great. Ne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The wait staff at the place is great. Never a problem, and patience of a saint with my granddaughter :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service was great the only thin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food and Service was great the only thing that ruined the experience are the big fruit flies they have! It's totally disgusting I killed 3 of them with the bread basket before it got to my food! Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The staff are very accommodating. Have b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The staff are very accommodating. Have been there a few times. Always consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The weather was perfect for an outdoor s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The weather was perfect for an outdoor summer dinner. Confusion started at the door. We made reservations through Open Table but couldn't get a table outside on the deck or the patio and no one could explain how the other people who had reservations were able to be seated outside. though I was assured they had reservations for that area of the restaurant. The serving staff was very quick and super friendly. The food was embarrassing. We had a broiled seafood plate that looked like half the food was missing and everything was wet - soaking wet. $32 for a disgusting entree. We had a baked lobster mac and cheese which had no flavor of anything...and had two microscopic pieces of lobster claw and the pasta too was in a puddle of water. That for $27. If you only want drinks I'd say go.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It was ok. Would i rush back, no. I orde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was ok. Would i rush back, no. I ordered a bowl of soup, which had to be returned, as it was not hot. Neither was my friends or my wife cup of soup. my friend told the food runner, he did not want it anymore, and to take off the bill. Upon returning to the table, my soup was now hot, but they re-heated my friends soup, not my wife. The service was good, as she was outgoing and good. The chicken on my salad was dry, but ok. My wife salad, and friends salad was good. Would we never come back, no. Are we rushing back, no. Everything overall, was OK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and ambiance was good. Nice views - ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and ambiance was good. Nice views - enjoyed the day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was fine. Not good or gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was fine. Not good or great, passable. I assume the view must be what you're paying for because the food was really expensive and super mediocre. I don't mind spending $25 a plate or $10 for a mix drink if the food is better than I can make at home but it wasn't. Salmon was under seasoned. Waited over 15 minutes for drinks and when the waitress came back I asked if there was a backup at the bar. She said no. Food came out extremely fast and after tasting it I wasn't surprised. The view is absolutely incredible. Good live music. Service was bad. Forgot our leftovers on the table came back to grab them 30 seconds later and the food was already gone. Fastest service we had all night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We (6) arrived on Friday 8/5/16 at aroun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We (6) arrived on Friday 8/5/16 at around 7:50PM and parking of course was non existent and valet was overwhelmed and it seemed like one gentleman doing it all.

I opted to park several blocks away as I don't valet anyhow.

We waited for our table for about 20 mins. not bad considering how crowded it was.

Our waitress (Ashley?) was pleasant.

We gave our dink orders and apps and all turned out well to this point.

The music was good but loud so it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Our dinner orders were placed and entree's from $28 to $36.

This is where it goes downhill for 4 out of 6.

Three platters were cold to luke warm and the others were warm but not hot.

For the amount of money they charge it should be a home run.

Let's face it it's seasonal not really on THE WATER (Canal) not like The View, or Nicky's on The Bay (another overpriced establishment sub par food). We told the Waitress and said the Mgr. would come over. She did and we explained our displeasure. She offered us Coffee and desert. We just didn't want anything else from them at this point. After some negotiating she removed 3 entrees off the bill which totaled $96. A very nice gesture on her part and we tipped the waitress on the full bill. TO THE OWNER - Get your staff up to speed either hire more staff in the kitchen don't place some food on the plate it sits get's cold then put hot food on there later and your over tabled wait staff can't get the food out to the customer in a timely fashion. Also another tip.....Negotiate with the marina or boat parking to have customers overflow their cars to another lot. At these prices you need to get more customer oriented and seasonal isn't from March. It's end of April till maybe November.

Thank you for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

All of the above! The staff, the food, t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

All of the above! The staff, the food, the efficient service and the view itself make the "BayVue" a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cajun scrimp was excellent all three ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Cajun scrimp was excellent all three of us order it and bisque soup

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service plus a lovely wat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service plus a lovely water view! Live music Friday night..just a wonderful place for a fun night out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We keep our boat at marine max and the B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We keep our boat at marine max and the Bay Vue is so convenient. Great shrimp cocktail, great chowder and great lobster. Service very friendly and right on!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a litt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a little slow sometimes but worth the wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here. Friends had gone before ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time here. Friends had gone before and had mixed reviews. I wanted to enjoy an afternoon near re water so I decided to try it. Service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and in too of their game. Lunch was delicious, drinks were great and the bay view was perfect. Def will be back next time in rooftop deck. A perfect afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. Our waitress Linda was excellent and provided great recommendations. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:3 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:30. We sat outside and had the tilapia and shrimp over angel hair pasta in a scampi like sauce. Very adequate portion. Would definitely recommend. Waitress was extremely personable and did a great job

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu selections were creative and as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The menu selections were creative and as it turned out ours were delicious. Cudos to the chef who thought of them and carried them out so well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! Our waitress was friendly and helpful when ordering. Food was delish !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first timing coming to BayVu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first timing coming to BayVue and I have to say it was a good time. Everyone was very friendly and kind and the food was good. This is not a complaint towards the restaurant however I want this to be known so it doesn't happen to anyone else. The valet who parked my car went into my arm rest and took money I had in there. He left the coins of course but stole cash and I don't want this to happen to anyone else be very careful if you get you car valeted. The company that parks the cars is not BayVue it's another company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was not our first Bayvue experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was not our first Bayvue experience and was definitely not our best. The fact that we were not able to dine outdoors as we had hope was beyond the control of the restaurant since it was raining. However, we found the wait staff to be lacking in friendliness and caring, and the food was just "ok". We were a party of 6 and I don't think any of us were thrilled with our dining experience. The only reason I would go back is to see a great band, Porch Groove, when they play outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Steaks were horrible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Steaks were horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Love this place! The food is great, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place! The food is great, and the drinks are delicious. I love the location. It is right on the bay , and you can sit outside or in, depending on your preference. A little pricey for dinner, but worth the splurg. Lunch is a little more reasonable . Our server was soooo nice! I don't remember her name, but she is petite with curly hair! Lol

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thoought the food and service was aver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I thoought the food and service was average I found the entrees to be expensive for what you got. Everything was fine, just nothing special . great outdoor seating!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We ordered the special of the day - tila ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We ordered the special of the day - tilapia with crab meat stuffing. It really had little or no flavor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-robotic and detached, as though not really engaged and listening with a detached attitude. Our entrees came out five minutes into our appetizers we were just beginning to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. They had the seafood combo platter and the shrimp was very over cooked. I had the strip steak which I requested cooked as medium and unfortunately was delivered as VERY well done, like shoe leather. First and last time there. For that kind of money was expecting delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs deck and dinner downstairs outside. Both great spots with great views.

Food was also very good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice sitting out by the water however fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice sitting out by the water however food choices were sparse and prices were very expensive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.