About BayVue

854 South Wellwood Ave
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
View Larger Map

BayVue's philosophy is to serve the freshest food available. Whether its fresh fish, steak or a simple luncheon salad, we offer you an enjoyable, casual experience. Come dine with us in our main dining room, outside patios or visit our newest addition, The Rooftop, all overlooking the Great South Bay. Covered patio and outdoor patio seating reservations are weather permitting and cannot be guaranteed

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:30am- 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Montauk Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(631) 991-3370

Website:
http://www.bay-vue.com/

Parking Details:
Summer months we offer valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BayVue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Long Island / Hamptons
Outdoor Dining
Long Island / Hamptons
Scenic View
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Lindenhurst ›

great for outdoor dining (38)
scenic view (36)
great for lunch (17)
See All
neighborhood gem (14)
special occasion (12)
good for groups (8)
romantic (7)
fit for foodies (6)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a litt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a little slow sometimes but worth the wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here. Friends had gone before ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time here. Friends had gone before and had mixed reviews. I wanted to enjoy an afternoon near re water so I decided to try it. Service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and in too of their game. Lunch was delicious, drinks were great and the bay view was perfect. Def will be back next time in rooftop deck. A perfect afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. Our waitress Linda was excellent and provided great recommendations. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:3 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:30. We sat outside and had the tilapia and shrimp over angel hair pasta in a scampi like sauce. Very adequate portion. Would definitely recommend. Waitress was extremely personable and did a great job

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu selections were creative and as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The menu selections were creative and as it turned out ours were delicious. Cudos to the chef who thought of them and carried them out so well!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! Our waitress was friendly and helpful when ordering. Food was delish !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first timing coming to BayVu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first timing coming to BayVue and I have to say it was a good time. Everyone was very friendly and kind and the food was good. This is not a complaint towards the restaurant however I want this to be known so it doesn't happen to anyone else. The valet who parked my car went into my arm rest and took money I had in there. He left the coins of course but stole cash and I don't want this to happen to anyone else be very careful if you get you car valeted. The company that parks the cars is not BayVue it's another company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was not our first Bayvue experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was not our first Bayvue experience and was definitely not our best. The fact that we were not able to dine outdoors as we had hope was beyond the control of the restaurant since it was raining. However, we found the wait staff to be lacking in friendliness and caring, and the food was just "ok". We were a party of 6 and I don't think any of us were thrilled with our dining experience. The only reason I would go back is to see a great band, Porch Groove, when they play outside.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place! The food is great, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place! The food is great, and the drinks are delicious. I love the location. It is right on the bay , and you can sit outside or in, depending on your preference. A little pricey for dinner, but worth the splurg. Lunch is a little more reasonable . Our server was soooo nice! I don't remember her name, but she is petite with curly hair! Lol

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thoought the food and service was aver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I thoought the food and service was average I found the entrees to be expensive for what you got. Everything was fine, just nothing special . great outdoor seating!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We ordered the special of the day - tila ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We ordered the special of the day - tilapia with crab meat stuffing. It really had little or no flavor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-robotic and detached, as though not really engaged and listening with a detached attitude. Our entrees came out five minutes into our appetizers we were just beginning to enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. They had the seafood combo platter and the shrimp was very over cooked. I had the strip steak which I requested cooked as medium and unfortunately was delivered as VERY well done, like shoe leather. First and last time there. For that kind of money was expecting delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs deck and dinner downstairs outside. Both great spots with great views.

Food was also very good

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice sitting out by the water however fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice sitting out by the water however food choices were sparse and prices were very expensive.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was very pleased with this place. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was very pleased with this place. The view of the water is beautiful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Limited menu. Very limited appetizer se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Limited menu. Very limited appetizer selection. Ordered a veggie burger which turned out to be no more than a frozen patty you buy in the supermarket. The clams in the spaghetti with clam sauce were like rubber bands. Burger and crab cakes were decent but nothing special. Only plus to this restaurant is that it is the only waterfront one in Lindenhurst.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Went early on a Sunday evening with my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went early on a Sunday evening with my family. Unfortunately, we were seating across from a group of 4. One child, two drunk parents and their drunk friend. All just arrived off their boat . Most of the other patrons were similar status. Loud, drunk and inconsiderate.

The food was just as bad. Lobster BLT panini came to the table cold and mushy as did the lobster roll. The linguine with clam sauce consisted of mushy linguini with canned watery clam sauce.

The scenery is beautiful but everything is lacking. Horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was not that good they heated s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was not that good they heated something up for me and it took 2 seconds so they must have microwaved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I have been to BayVue a number of times. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I have been to BayVue a number of times. Always have had good food and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location ..water view ...great wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great location ..water view ...great wait staff ...food is salty ..salty ..salty ..very disappointing ...had to send back some food ..completely inedible . I emailed restaurant regarding this and they apologized .however dissapointed they did not try to bring me back with either free apps or bottle of wine ...anything ..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Beautiful water front dinning

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated outside as requested, which was a ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Seated outside as requested, which was appreciated. Service was attentive to start but fell off after meal was served. So we had to flag down passing busboys to grab ketchup, then more salad dressing, then ask for refills. Food was average to good. Panini was not really flattened and the cheese was not melted inside. Chicken cutlet was way too thick and also dried a bit. Just a thick sandwich, not a true pressed panini. The crab sandwiches were great and a spaghetti meal with Chix parm was greatly enjoyed. A lobster salad though fresh lobster meat and tasty, was atop a dry bland salad that looked like a bag of salad was thrown on the plate. Not nearly enough dressing, nothing but spring salad mix that was somewhat limp..and not even a cracker or toast point? Would not order or recommend it.

Cost versus value was off, would likely not return. Nice view on water, and prices reflected that rather than quality/quantity of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went to BayVue for mom's birthday. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to BayVue for mom's birthday. The staff was so nice and helpful. I had my 15month old with me and they really helped me out with him. We had a great time and the food was delicious. Will go back! :)

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During the summer this place is packed. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

During the summer this place is packed. We went on a Friday night at 7pm and had the place to ourselves. I don't understand it. The food was great, awesome view of the great South Bay and the prices are reasonable. I do think that if they are going to charge $27 for a bottle of wine they should do better than Barefoot. But the saffron mussels we had as an appetizer were off the chart delicious. I had the Cajun shrimp and scallops and my missus had the seafood diavlo. Both were excellent. Sipping on a cup of hot coffee with a view of the bay... priceless. We were seven offered refills on our coffee, rare these days. We love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful. The food i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is great. The location is great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Definitely a summer place.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food and service were very good. The restaurant was empty, we thought it was closed , their were very few customers. I wouldn't recommend evenings off season, its very quiet.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Bay View = View of the Bay

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Lovely setting for a restaurant, but the food was less than stellar. Not bad, mind you, just ... meh. Linguine with white clam sauce was served barely lukewarm. Lobster roll was filled with a dry lobster salad (mayo? celery? Nope.) on a hot dog roll that hadn't even been warmed. Great onion rings, though, and the chocolate lava cake was to die for.

If there weren't so many other fine restaurants I'm waiting to try, I'd go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Decent but OVER PRICED!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

I would like to preface this by saying that we eat out often. When I first read the Yelp reviews about how pricey this place was, I really didn't pay much attention. After all, this is Long Island and eating out is expensive. I should have paid more attention to those reviews. I wouldn't say it was expensive. A better word would be over priced. We went on a Friday night and were seated outside. It's not really a water view. It's more like a marina view but it was nice to eat outside. It wasn't too crowded which was also nice. They charge $9 for a very small glass of white wine. Their wine glasses are tiny and it was half full, so it was 2 oz. at most. Other places charge $9 for a glass of wine, but you are actually served a glass of wine, not a shot glass of wine! We ordered the crunchy tuna and avocado appetizer $14. It was good but incredibly small, about the size of a Dunkin Munchkin. Not a $14 item for sure. The clincher for me was my black & white sesame tuna salad. It was $19 and served on a luncheon sized plate with a three small strips of tuna, lettuce, carrot, little tortilla strips and canned orange segments. The dressing was good and it was fresh but it was NOT a $19 salad! We skipped dessert. We were in and out in an hour. Sadly, we won't return. This place has potential. The food is good, the service was ok, but if they don't step up their game with their overpricing, they are not going to last.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Prdk

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We were a party of eight, we drove over 30 minutes to try this restaurant and I'm glad we did. The outdoor water lee and casual ambiance was great. Good was fine and the service was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

it's a keeper

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great food except for the baked clams. Excellent friendly staff eager to help w selections. Drink menu is great too

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great place to enjoy drinks with a beautiful view of the bay and marina. Terrific ambiance . Our waitress was very friendly. The fish and chips were good. However, the shrimp was overcooked(rubbery) , the baked clams were about the size of quarter and not very tasty.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

everything - the menu selection, the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

everything - the menu selection, the food itself, the locations' ambiance, and last but not least, the staff, especially Linda our waitress. Pu it all together and was a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

This restaurant couldn't be more aptly named! Boasts a beautiful view over the bay, especially from the upper outdoor deck. It has a full American menu plus a nice offering of Sushi & Sashimi. If you enjoy watching all the boats coming and going, the canal provides plenty of activity for your viewing pleasure. If you've never been there, hurry while the weather is still nice so you can sit outside.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food. It seems you get better serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

Great food. It seems you get better service if you are a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

All was very good ...except for their WI ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

All was very good ...except for their WINES!!!!

House wines are terrible! Food Very good yet their service is slow, and they really don't know who ordered what, but all in all a great fun place to dine.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

woukd not recommend this restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Dining Room was too noisy. They basically kicked us out at 10:30 PM on a Saturday night when we were just about ready to order another round of drinks. Bar maids were very nice and engaging. Other than that I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

GREAT PLACE FOR DINNER, APPETIZERS AND D ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

GREAT PLACE FOR DINNER, APPETIZERS AND DRINKS. WE WERE THERE ON A BEAUTIFUL EVENING WITH FRIENDS. MUSIC WAS GOOD, THE ONLY DOWN FALLL WAS THE EXTREMELY LOUD BOATS AT TIMES, BUT WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect summer dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

First time dining experience for our party of 8. I was looking for a fun outdoors place with good food, extended menu, good service, nice atmosphere, etc. BayVue fulfilled all these needs plus more. The music added to our special celebration for my daughter's birthday. And unlike many other restaurants on Long Island's south shore, the prices were reasonable. We all would definitely go back again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just average

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

We went for a weekday dinner and sat outside on the deck. The outdoor seating makes for a good vibe but the view is not all that special. The seafood was decent but average. We recommend the baked clams appetizer as it was loaded with stuffing and quite tasty. The service was attentative but a little rough around the edges. They do accommodate children very well. Parking is an issue. On the whole, it was a good but not great experience. I am not sure we would return. There are some nicer options on the water which hit on all cylinders that I would go to before BayVue.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.