Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About BayVue

BayVue's philosophy is to serve the freshest food available. Whether its fresh fish, steak or a simple luncheon salad, we offer you an enjoyable, casual experience. Come dine with us in our main dining room, outside patios or visit our newest addition, The Rooftop, all overlooking the Great South Bay. Covered patio and outdoor patio seating reservations are weather permitting and cannot be guaranteed

854 South Wellwood Ave
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
OPEN for the season!
Spring Hours:
Tuesday-Thursday: 12:00pm-9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 12:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Montauk Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(631) 991-3370

Website:
http://www.bay-vue.com/

Parking Details:
Summer months we offer valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BayVue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (7)
Scenic View (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice experience. The server was nice. Beautiful day out by the water. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing experience for mom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice pre-Mother's day dinner. Energetic server. Food was good
Mom happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always enjoy this place. Our server, Kyle was accommodating, friendly, and gracious. Unfortunately the shrimp was overlooked and please, please work on your espresso. Everything else was fantastic

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was alright, drinks were average. View of the bay gives it a nice edge but since you're sitting in plastic chairs it doesn't really feel fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love BayVue and couldn't wait for it to open for the season!! The food was excellent as usual. The cocktails perfect. This time at BayVue we celebrated Easter on Saturday. My mother-in-law is hearing and sight impaired and loves BayVue. She feels very welcomed and special at BayVue. All staff are helpful. Linda is especially wonderful and we try to be seated in her area. See you soon! Hopefully, we'll get back for Mother's Day! We had a very nice time at BayVue for Mother's Day last year.
Susan & Steve Scotto

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful for brunch with the ladies. Our server Linda, was attentive and always had a smile. I will definitely go back!!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service and food was exceptional.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overall nice atmosphere and good service. Can't beat being by the water. Had shrimp parm. Have had better. Lacked a bit of flavor. Their molten lava cake was delicious. Would go back just for that.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for our 10 year wedding anniversary and we enjoyed the food. We would recommend it and have recommended it to family members. We are looking for to going back again. I'm

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Used to come all the time. We keep our boat at marine max. Always ordered the lobster. It was Always good. Last time we were there no lobster. The food was awful..
Won't come again unless the lobster is on menu!!!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Lovely water view on the deck. Food was fresh, delicious, and served in a timely manner. Server was responsive and cordial.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Unfortunately, I would just recommend this restaurant for the food and the atmosphere. We were a table of eight celebrating my dad's 70th birthday. It took the waitress 15 minutes to come to our table to take a drink order. The bartender did not know how to bartend. I ordered a drink off of their specialty cocktail menu (blueberry vodka, lemonade and lemon wedge). I received blueberry vodka and seltzer, no lemon. I like seltzer, so I did drink the drink. The next drink I ordered was a Cosmopolitan. It tasted like a margarita. My aunts dish was supposed to come with vegetable risotto, and received rice pilaf. The waitress quickly and graciously rectified the mistake with the kitchen and brought out the risotto. The waitress may have earned a 20% tip if she took more care to our table and earned the restaurant more income if she checked on us for more drinks. I worked in the restaurant industry my whole life as a waitress and bartender. I don't like giving negative reviews. This could be a very good establishment with better training.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good food , as usual. View of the water that can't be beat. Glad it's close to home.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This place is a regular for us. It Usually never disappoints but I ordered stuffed flounder and found it dry and tasteless. Some of their other dishes are much better. That flounder must have been a fluke.😀

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Beautiful view on the water.
Great lunch. Always enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

While the setting is very nice this resto needs to train their waitstaff & kitchen.
Service was slow & no extra plate brought for lobster leavings til we prompted
waitress. The egg on the cobb salad was still hot having just been cooked & the
wrong salad dressing was brought.
drinks are large and reasonably priced. probably won't be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

very poor service. sushi was aplus the entrees were awful. wrapped them up for the dogs. very expensive for the food and service provided. not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed dinner service was great food was Also very good , the view was awesome the only down side was we sat inside and it is very loud the place needs some fabric on the walls or something to absorb the noise. outside would have been nicer but it was Saturday and they were pretty busy or the rooftop prob would be also but the weather prohibited that overall a very nice place with reasonable prices and they sell Amstel light would absolutely go back

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great scenic find. Disappointed that despite arriving early for reservation, 20 min. Wait for outside seating. Great rooftop bar so no problem! Hostess said she would call when table available. After about 25 min. Someone came up to see if anyone waiting for table downstairs. We were told they had called 3 times & given table away despite my having phone in hand & no calls received. They said 5 min & outside table would be available. After 10 min. We were told it would be another 20 so we took table on inside deck . Still nice view but not what we were expecting. Think the phone system wasn't working but no effort made to accommodate our request!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual, the food but especially the people who work there, are the best around. Thats why we make BayVue our favorite summer destination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was not as tasty as the last visit, but the service and view were still outstanding. Found some food to be bland, for example, the lobster-mac and cheese. But still a favorite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Private Room, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Nice rooftop bar. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful water view if seated outdoors or on upper deck. Food was good, a bit pricey, but not terrible for waterfront. Enjoy

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

This is my sixth time dining there. Each time it's been different. Everything was great this time. On the menu though it states that they have gluten-free options. When I asked Heather, our wait person, if they had gluten-free pasta she said no. It's a shame because there are a
pasta dinners that I would've like to have tried. I found the manager at her desk and I asked her the question about the gluten-free pasta. She agreed with me and said that they should be getting an gluten-free pasta. We'll see.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The wait staff at the place is great. Never a problem, and patience of a saint with my granddaughter :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food and Service was great the only thing that ruined the experience are the big fruit flies they have! It's totally disgusting I killed 3 of them with the bread basket before it got to my food! Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The staff are very accommodating. Have been there a few times. Always consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The weather was perfect for an outdoor summer dinner. Confusion started at the door. We made reservations through Open Table but couldn't get a table outside on the deck or the patio and no one could explain how the other people who had reservations were able to be seated outside. though I was assured they had reservations for that area of the restaurant. The serving staff was very quick and super friendly. The food was embarrassing. We had a broiled seafood plate that looked like half the food was missing and everything was wet - soaking wet. $32 for a disgusting entree. We had a baked lobster mac and cheese which had no flavor of anything...and had two microscopic pieces of lobster claw and the pasta too was in a puddle of water. That for $27. If you only want drinks I'd say go.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was ok. Would i rush back, no. I ordered a bowl of soup, which had to be returned, as it was not hot. Neither was my friends or my wife cup of soup. my friend told the food runner, he did not want it anymore, and to take off the bill. Upon returning to the table, my soup was now hot, but they re-heated my friends soup, not my wife. The service was good, as she was outgoing and good. The chicken on my salad was dry, but ok. My wife salad, and friends salad was good. Would we never come back, no. Are we rushing back, no. Everything overall, was OK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and ambiance was good. Nice views - enjoyed the day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was fine. Not good or great, passable. I assume the view must be what you're paying for because the food was really expensive and super mediocre. I don't mind spending $25 a plate or $10 for a mix drink if the food is better than I can make at home but it wasn't. Salmon was under seasoned. Waited over 15 minutes for drinks and when the waitress came back I asked if there was a backup at the bar. She said no. Food came out extremely fast and after tasting it I wasn't surprised. The view is absolutely incredible. Good live music. Service was bad. Forgot our leftovers on the table came back to grab them 30 seconds later and the food was already gone. Fastest service we had all night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We (6) arrived on Friday 8/5/16 at around 7:50PM and parking of course was non existent and valet was overwhelmed and it seemed like one gentleman doing it all.
I opted to park several blocks away as I don't valet anyhow.
We waited for our table for about 20 mins. not bad considering how crowded it was.
Our waitress (Ashley?) was pleasant.
We gave our dink orders and apps and all turned out well to this point.
The music was good but loud so it was difficult to hold a conversation.
Our dinner orders were placed and entree's from $28 to $36.
This is where it goes downhill for 4 out of 6.
Three platters were cold to luke warm and the others were warm but not hot.
For the amount of money they charge it should be a home run.
Let's face it it's seasonal not really on THE WATER (Canal) not like The View, or Nicky's on The Bay (another overpriced establishment sub par food). We told the Waitress and said the Mgr. would come over. She did and we explained our displeasure. She offered us Coffee and desert. We just didn't want anything else from them at this point. After some negotiating she removed 3 entrees off the bill which totaled $96. A very nice gesture on her part and we tipped the waitress on the full bill. TO THE OWNER - Get your staff up to speed either hire more staff in the kitchen don't place some food on the plate it sits get's cold then put hot food on there later and your over tabled wait staff can't get the food out to the customer in a timely fashion. Also another tip.....Negotiate with the marina or boat parking to have customers overflow their cars to another lot. At these prices you need to get more customer oriented and seasonal isn't from March. It's end of April till maybe November.
Thank you for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

All of the above! The staff, the food, the efficient service and the view itself make the "BayVue" a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Cajun scrimp was excellent all three of us order it and bisque soup

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service plus a lovely water view! Live music Friday night..just a wonderful place for a fun night out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We keep our boat at marine max and the Bay Vue is so convenient. Great shrimp cocktail, great chowder and great lobster. Service very friendly and right on!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a little slow sometimes but worth the wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time here. Friends had gone before and had mixed reviews. I wanted to enjoy an afternoon near re water so I decided to try it. Service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and in too of their game. Lunch was delicious, drinks were great and the bay view was perfect. Def will be back next time in rooftop deck. A perfect afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. Our waitress Linda was excellent and provided great recommendations. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.