About BayVue

854 South Wellwood Ave
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
View Larger Map

BayVue's philosophy is to serve the freshest food available. Whether its fresh fish, steak or a simple luncheon salad, we offer you an enjoyable, casual experience. Come dine with us in our main dining room, outside patios or visit our newest addition, The Rooftop, all overlooking the Great South Bay. Covered patio and outdoor patio seating reservations are weather permitting and cannot be guaranteed

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 11:30am- 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Montauk Highway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(631) 991-3370

Website:
http://www.bay-vue.com/

Parking Details:
Summer months we offer valet parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BayVue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Long Island / Hamptons
Scenic View
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Lindenhurst ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Scenic View (44)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wait staff at the place is great. Ne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

The wait staff at the place is great. Never a problem, and patience of a saint with my granddaughter :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service was great the only thin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and Service was great the only thing that ruined the experience are the big fruit flies they have! It's totally disgusting I killed 3 of them with the bread basket before it got to my food! Gross!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The staff are very accommodating. Have b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The staff are very accommodating. Have been there a few times. Always consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The weather was perfect for an outdoor s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The weather was perfect for an outdoor summer dinner. Confusion started at the door. We made reservations through Open Table but couldn't get a table outside on the deck or the patio and no one could explain how the other people who had reservations were able to be seated outside. though I was assured they had reservations for that area of the restaurant. The serving staff was very quick and super friendly. The food was embarrassing. We had a broiled seafood plate that looked like half the food was missing and everything was wet - soaking wet. $32 for a disgusting entree. We had a baked lobster mac and cheese which had no flavor of anything...and had two microscopic pieces of lobster claw and the pasta too was in a puddle of water. That for $27. If you only want drinks I'd say go.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It was ok. Would i rush back, no. I orde ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was ok. Would i rush back, no. I ordered a bowl of soup, which had to be returned, as it was not hot. Neither was my friends or my wife cup of soup. my friend told the food runner, he did not want it anymore, and to take off the bill. Upon returning to the table, my soup was now hot, but they re-heated my friends soup, not my wife. The service was good, as she was outgoing and good. The chicken on my salad was dry, but ok. My wife salad, and friends salad was good. Would we never come back, no. Are we rushing back, no. Everything overall, was OK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and ambiance was good. Nice views - ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and ambiance was good. Nice views - enjoyed the day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was fine. Not good or gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was fine. Not good or great, passable. I assume the view must be what you're paying for because the food was really expensive and super mediocre. I don't mind spending $25 a plate or $10 for a mix drink if the food is better than I can make at home but it wasn't. Salmon was under seasoned. Waited over 15 minutes for drinks and when the waitress came back I asked if there was a backup at the bar. She said no. Food came out extremely fast and after tasting it I wasn't surprised. The view is absolutely incredible. Good live music. Service was bad. Forgot our leftovers on the table came back to grab them 30 seconds later and the food was already gone. Fastest service we had all night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We (6) arrived on Friday 8/5/16 at aroun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We (6) arrived on Friday 8/5/16 at around 7:50PM and parking of course was non existent and valet was overwhelmed and it seemed like one gentleman doing it all.

I opted to park several blocks away as I don't valet anyhow.

We waited for our table for about 20 mins. not bad considering how crowded it was.

Our waitress (Ashley?) was pleasant.

We gave our dink orders and apps and all turned out well to this point.

The music was good but loud so it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Our dinner orders were placed and entree's from $28 to $36.

This is where it goes downhill for 4 out of 6.

Three platters were cold to luke warm and the others were warm but not hot.

For the amount of money they charge it should be a home run.

Let's face it it's seasonal not really on THE WATER (Canal) not like The View, or Nicky's on The Bay (another overpriced establishment sub par food). We told the Waitress and said the Mgr. would come over. She did and we explained our displeasure. She offered us Coffee and desert. We just didn't want anything else from them at this point. After some negotiating she removed 3 entrees off the bill which totaled $96. A very nice gesture on her part and we tipped the waitress on the full bill. TO THE OWNER - Get your staff up to speed either hire more staff in the kitchen don't place some food on the plate it sits get's cold then put hot food on there later and your over tabled wait staff can't get the food out to the customer in a timely fashion. Also another tip.....Negotiate with the marina or boat parking to have customers overflow their cars to another lot. At these prices you need to get more customer oriented and seasonal isn't from March. It's end of April till maybe November.

Thank you for listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

All of the above! The staff, the food, t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

All of the above! The staff, the food, the efficient service and the view itself make the "BayVue" a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Cajun scrimp was excellent all three ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Cajun scrimp was excellent all three of us order it and bisque soup

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service plus a lovely wat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service plus a lovely water view! Live music Friday night..just a wonderful place for a fun night out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We keep our boat at marine max and the B ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We keep our boat at marine max and the Bay Vue is so convenient. Great shrimp cocktail, great chowder and great lobster. Service very friendly and right on!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a litt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyable outdoor dining. Service a little slow sometimes but worth the wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here. Friends had gone before ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time here. Friends had gone before and had mixed reviews. I wanted to enjoy an afternoon near re water so I decided to try it. Service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and in too of their game. Lunch was delicious, drinks were great and the bay view was perfect. Def will be back next time in rooftop deck. A perfect afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Friday afternoon/evening location. Our waitress Linda was excellent and provided great recommendations. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:3 ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Was there on a Thursday night around 6:30. We sat outside and had the tilapia and shrimp over angel hair pasta in a scampi like sauce. Very adequate portion. Would definitely recommend. Waitress was extremely personable and did a great job

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu selections were creative and as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The menu selections were creative and as it turned out ours were delicious. Cudos to the chef who thought of them and carried them out so well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything was pleasant and enjoyable! Our waitress was friendly and helpful when ordering. Food was delish !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first timing coming to BayVu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first timing coming to BayVue and I have to say it was a good time. Everyone was very friendly and kind and the food was good. This is not a complaint towards the restaurant however I want this to be known so it doesn't happen to anyone else. The valet who parked my car went into my arm rest and took money I had in there. He left the coins of course but stole cash and I don't want this to happen to anyone else be very careful if you get you car valeted. The company that parks the cars is not BayVue it's another company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was not our first Bayvue experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was not our first Bayvue experience and was definitely not our best. The fact that we were not able to dine outdoors as we had hope was beyond the control of the restaurant since it was raining. However, we found the wait staff to be lacking in friendliness and caring, and the food was just "ok". We were a party of 6 and I don't think any of us were thrilled with our dining experience. The only reason I would go back is to see a great band, Porch Groove, when they play outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Steaks were horrible

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Steaks were horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Love this place! The food is great, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place! The food is great, and the drinks are delicious. I love the location. It is right on the bay , and you can sit outside or in, depending on your preference. A little pricey for dinner, but worth the splurg. Lunch is a little more reasonable . Our server was soooo nice! I don't remember her name, but she is petite with curly hair! Lol

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thoought the food and service was aver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I thoought the food and service was average I found the entrees to be expensive for what you got. Everything was fine, just nothing special . great outdoor seating!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We ordered the special of the day - tila ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We ordered the special of the day - tilapia with crab meat stuffing. It really had little or no flavor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good!! Waitress was not-robotic and detached, as though not really engaged and listening with a detached attitude. Our entrees came out five minutes into our appetizers we were just beginning to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for dinner with a friend 7/2/16. They had the seafood combo platter and the shrimp was very over cooked. I had the strip steak which I requested cooked as medium and unfortunately was delivered as VERY well done, like shoe leather. First and last time there. For that kind of money was expecting delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. Had apps on upstairs deck and dinner downstairs outside. Both great spots with great views.

Food was also very good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice sitting out by the water however fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice sitting out by the water however food choices were sparse and prices were very expensive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was very pleased with this place. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was very pleased with this place. The view of the water is beautiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Limited menu. Very limited appetizer se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Limited menu. Very limited appetizer selection. Ordered a veggie burger which turned out to be no more than a frozen patty you buy in the supermarket. The clams in the spaghetti with clam sauce were like rubber bands. Burger and crab cakes were decent but nothing special. Only plus to this restaurant is that it is the only waterfront one in Lindenhurst.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Went early on a Sunday evening with my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went early on a Sunday evening with my family. Unfortunately, we were seating across from a group of 4. One child, two drunk parents and their drunk friend. All just arrived off their boat . Most of the other patrons were similar status. Loud, drunk and inconsiderate.

The food was just as bad. Lobster BLT panini came to the table cold and mushy as did the lobster roll. The linguine with clam sauce consisted of mushy linguini with canned watery clam sauce.

The scenery is beautiful but everything is lacking. Horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was not that good they heated s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was not that good they heated something up for me and it took 2 seconds so they must have microwaved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I have been to BayVue a number of times. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I have been to BayVue a number of times. Always have had good food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location ..water view ...great wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great location ..water view ...great wait staff ...food is salty ..salty ..salty ..very disappointing ...had to send back some food ..completely inedible . I emailed restaurant regarding this and they apologized .however dissapointed they did not try to bring me back with either free apps or bottle of wine ...anything ..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Beautiful water front dinning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated outside as requested, which was a ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Seated outside as requested, which was appreciated. Service was attentive to start but fell off after meal was served. So we had to flag down passing busboys to grab ketchup, then more salad dressing, then ask for refills. Food was average to good. Panini was not really flattened and the cheese was not melted inside. Chicken cutlet was way too thick and also dried a bit. Just a thick sandwich, not a true pressed panini. The crab sandwiches were great and a spaghetti meal with Chix parm was greatly enjoyed. A lobster salad though fresh lobster meat and tasty, was atop a dry bland salad that looked like a bag of salad was thrown on the plate. Not nearly enough dressing, nothing but spring salad mix that was somewhat limp..and not even a cracker or toast point? Would not order or recommend it.

Cost versus value was off, would likely not return. Nice view on water, and prices reflected that rather than quality/quantity of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went to BayVue for mom's birthday. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to BayVue for mom's birthday. The staff was so nice and helpful. I had my 15month old with me and they really helped me out with him. We had a great time and the food was delicious. Will go back! :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During the summer this place is packed. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

During the summer this place is packed. We went on a Friday night at 7pm and had the place to ourselves. I don't understand it. The food was great, awesome view of the great South Bay and the prices are reasonable. I do think that if they are going to charge $27 for a bottle of wine they should do better than Barefoot. But the saffron mussels we had as an appetizer were off the chart delicious. I had the Cajun shrimp and scallops and my missus had the seafood diavlo. Both were excellent. Sipping on a cup of hot coffee with a view of the bay... priceless. We were seven offered refills on our coffee, rare these days. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful. The food i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is great. The location is great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Definitely a summer place.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food and service were very good. The restaurant was empty, we thought it was closed , their were very few customers. I wouldn't recommend evenings off season, its very quiet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.