About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Chicken Salad
Calamari
Potato Soup
Shrimp Gumbo
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Cowboy Rib Steak
Crab Cakes
Seared Tuna Salad
Cedar Plank Salmon
Bltc Sandwich
Baxter's Sirloin Steak
Blackened Shrimp Salad
Bone In Ribeye

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (138)
special occasion (105)
romantic (83)
See All
good for groups (57)
great for outdoor dining (53)
fit for foodies (47)
hot spot (40)
great for lunch (39)
vibrant bar scene (38)
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (33)
kid-friendly (16)
great for brunch (10)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Baxters. We ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was our second visit to Baxters. We were celebrating our anniversary. My husband and I like the diversity of the menu. The waitress was very pleasant and prompt. I had the scallops and my husband had the fillet. Both were cooked to perfection. The scallops practically melted in my mouth. Make reservations if you are going on the weekend as this is a very popular place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We have been to Baxters many times but i ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Baxters many times but it's last time I had salmon that was not fully cooked and pretty much dampened a normally good meal. My fault for not sending back to the kitchen to be cooked further. Service was good, but it just shows the importance of food control. I will go back again but not if it happens again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet Mignon was excellent! Perfectly do ...

Dined 6 days ago

Filet Mignon was excellent! Perfectly done and delicious. Romantic night with the amazing view always creates a special date night. Great service too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We always enjoy our time at Baxter's - t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Baxter's - this was a fun Father's Day lunch after church. I'm pretty sure I'm the only one who wasn't totally pleased with the food - I ordered the spinach salad for the first time: I was disappointed because I thought it came with sliced strawberries and my piece of salmon really seemed under cooked (I generally enjoy salmon). Next time I will just go back to the Tim Salad with grilled chicken. Thanks for the great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and their portion ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was delicious and their portions are large too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants at the lake, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the lake, take a date or go with friends and family. You will not be disappointed.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Family reunion at the lake and Baxter's ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Family reunion at the lake and Baxter's is our nice evening out. Husband had 20 oz bone-in rib eye special and it was fantastic. I had sea bass with a mushroom champagne sauce. Fish had light, crispy saute. Appetizer was shrimp cocktail and the shrimp were, indeed, jumbo. Tender and not at all tough. Very busy place that evening (Friday) and noise level is pretty high. Not bad for us but elderly relatives have trouble hearing conversation at the table. View of the lake is lovely. We plan on going to Baxter's every time we go to the lake! Make a reservation for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!! Our wait ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent dining experience!! Our waitress, Britanni, was top of the line!!! We were there celebrating our anniversary!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always!

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service as always!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The greeting when we arrived seemed some ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The greeting when we arrived seemed somewhat surly by "Dale?"

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at Baxter's was great. The ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My experience at Baxter's was great. The staff is professional and friendly. The food is awesome, especially the Cod fish and crab cakes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Baxter's has a terrific view, really goo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Baxter's has a terrific view, really good food, and conscientious service. The decor leaves a little to be desired, and the noise level on a Saturday night was outrageous. I could barely hear my dining companions. The quality of dining at Lake of the Ozarks is pretty bad, so this place is a new favorite of mine there, but the noise level is a serious drawback.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tell all our friends about Baxters. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We tell all our friends about Baxters. Great food, prices, view and servers!!!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine. Beautiful view of lake.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The place was well organized from when we walked in through the dining experience. All the wait staff knew their roles. They were out of walleye that night, but he halibut special was just as good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

leave by 7:30

Dined on June 9, 2016

We we're told we had to leave by 7:30, someone else had our table at 7:30. We might not go back

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience dining at ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Always a wonderful experience dining at Baxter's. It is a great way to start a lake weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

First time at Baxters, got probably the ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

First time at Baxters, got probably the worst table in the house, but I liked my date so I switched sides and my view went from the waiters station to the lake. The food and service were fantastic and the bar area was hopping. We will definitely be going back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Get together

Dined on June 4, 2016

Baxter's is a nice place with a great view and great food. We always enjoy our experience there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than ever

Dined on June 4, 2016

We go here once a year when we make our annual weekend trip to the "Lake". The food is always great, the service consistently wonderful and the location is so convenient. Great bar and great view too. We always look forward to our meal here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST place to dine at the Lake of th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The BEST place to dine at the Lake of the Ozarks! The food is delicious, presentation is awesome and service is excellent! Two thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Okay dining experienceitiv

Dined on June 4, 2016

Not the best. The service was very good, which is the main reason for the positive review. I ordered a KC strip steak that was extremely tough and hard to chew. However, I enjoyed the salad and baked potato. My friends enjoyed their meals, so the evening was not a total waste. I would be willing to give the restaurant another try but would definitely steer clear of the KC strip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite lake dinner.

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is my favorite place on the lake for dinner. The food is excellent and I have always had very good service. The only down side is that it must be everyone's favorite, so I would definitely suggest making reservations well in advance. I would recommend the bacon blue cheese potatoes to go along with your entrée. Delicious! You can't go wrong at Baxter's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Lake Sunset View Dining

Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined last Friday night, staff very accommodating, pleasant, and helpful with dining selections. The food was fabulous! The sunset view on the lake makes this place very special to us! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The evening was wonderful. The food and ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

The evening was wonderful. The food and service were excellent. We would recommend and return again

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were 15 minutes late but Baxter's hon ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were 15 minutes late but Baxter's honored the reservation. So grateful. Sogood. Great food. Great service.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, great view!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a fabulous birthday dinner there. The food was fabulous and the view was beautiful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great view, good Service and food

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I took my mother out for a nice lunch on Memorial weekend. Service was good, food was good, and we were at an inside table that had a ten mile view of Lake of the Ozarks. Life is grand!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Love going to Baxter's when we are at th ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love going to Baxter's when we are at the lake.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bf

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love Baxter's. The service and the food is always excellent! My favorite place to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best burger! House made with the finest ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Best burger! House made with the finest cuts of beef. I ordered it well done and it was perfectly cooked well but still juicy not dry! It comes with choice of salad or soup and choice of potato! The service is excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the view

Dined on May 25, 2016

We travel to the lake regularly and this was the first time we've eaten at Baxter's. The food was excellent and the service was too. The ambience was a little too noisy with others in too close proximity. Would have liked seating to be a little more private. We didn't eat on the patio, but looked and it was really beautiful. We had a wonderful view of the lake, but even with the curtains there were areas where light was in eyes. We will come again!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 25, 2016

We were in Osage Beach for vacation, and heard about this place and thought we would give it a try and glad we did! Steak was excellent, baked potato was perfect the home made desert I can't describe how good it was, if you get a chance give it a try, if on the weekend better get a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for date nightnight or roma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great choice for date nightnight or romantic /special ocassion. I took my girlfriend for her 29th birthday this past weekend. We both had the Carbonara Pasta. It was super deeeelish! Waitress was extremely helpful, understanding, and polite. The calamari was a little too exotic for us (heads attached) and she removed the item from our bill without a problem. When we are back in the Ozarks, we will revisit Baxter's. Thanks for making her birthday memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Baxters. We always get great foo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love Baxters. We always get great food great service and a great view!! Several of our friends from our town (Rolla) dine there often.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

Found this place on google maps in search of a lakeside restaurant. Went out to celebrate a birthday visiting Osage Beach for a long weekend. The atmosphere was outstanding, not to mention the view of the lake. The waitress also brought out a small piece of cheesecake to share to celebrate the birthday!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our favorite place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Baxter's has been our favorite place to dine at the Lake of the Ozarks since our first visit several years ago. That rating was reinforced last year when we went there for our Anniversary dinner. The view from the window-side tables is just fantastic. But, view doesn't mean much if the food and service are not equal. Happily, this is not the case with Baxter's! The food is always first rate as is the service. I think it is a mark of excellent service that once food is ordered, the patron should not have to identify themselves to the server as the party who ordered the item being served. At Baxter's, the person bringing a particular course is not necessarily the person who took the order. Even so, they know exactly who ordered which dish without asking the patron. Nice job, Baxter's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

My friend and I were asked to leave our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My friend and I were asked to leave our table after one hour and forty-five minutes for the next reservation, even though we still had wine in our glasses. Will never go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food with a very nice view. M ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very good food with a very nice view. My steak was cooked perfectly. Even though the restaurant was packed, our food came out quickly.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sirloin was thicker, tougher and less fl ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Sirloin was thicker, tougher and less flavorful than the last time we had the same there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.