Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.89mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 1.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.89mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.89mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 1.57mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.89mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: (573) 365-2669

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (101)
Special Occasion (76)
Waterfront (68)
See All
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Worth the Drive (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Romantic (48)
Casual (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Business Meals (32)
Fun (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Lunch (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Three in our party had the Chilean Sea Bass and it was amazing - cooked perfectly - flaky, yet juicy.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food, a little noisy but overall pleasant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated a friend's 50th birthday with a total of 6 girls. Our waitress, Marty, was terrific. We all ordered something different, my filet was perfect, pasta and salomn were delicious. To top off the evening Marty brought out the most amazing dessert platter... Brownie with vanilla ice cream, gooey butter cheesecake with cinnamon ice and New York style cheesecake with strawberries and whipped cream. Thank you Baxter's for making this a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Never had anything but the best in all dishes I've ordered.
Wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Maitre d' almost cancelled us after 10 minutes. Very rude.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very good time at Baxter's the food was delicious we had a great table. We only waited about 10 min after checking in to get seated. My husband had the special and said it was the best steak he ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We've been to Baxter's twice now (once for lunch & once for dinner) and both times were excellent! They have a great lunch menu and everyone in our party said their food was delicious. For dinner, definitely make reservations as this is a popular place and the wait can be a bit long. When we arrived at our reservation time they asked if we wanted to wait a few extra minutes for a window seat and it was worth it! The view is outstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As usual we had exceptional service and our meals were fantastic. Recommend the Baxters duo: fantastic. Had the special "Tuxedo" cheese cake. I'm not a dessert kind of guy, but wow, that was a special treat. Will be back on our next Ozark adventure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Baxter's does not ever disappoint us with the food and service. It gets a little pricey because we tend to indulge for our special occasions out. Will return for another.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service is always excellent here. And I seem to always get a terrific view of the lake.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dinner was awesome just like it is every time we visit. That's the beauty of Baxter's you can always depend on a great meal and great atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was wonderful. I had the scallops and my husband had the Chilean Sea Bass. The weather was overcast, otherwise we would have had a spectacular sunset view. They even gave us a picture to remember our special night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were celebrating our annual girls weekend at the Lake and our third trip to Baxter's in five years. The food is always outstanding and the service prompt and friendly. Even though it was a bit noisy, we had a great time and will go back. We were smart to make reservations the day before.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozarks. Excellent food, service and hospitality.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

While I have been to Baxter's many times over the past years, this time was somewhat disappointing. The food was terrific, per usual, but we were treated quite poorly this go-around. Saturday morning I booked a reservation (assuming for 3) at 5:15. When we arrived, we were told I accidently made a reservation for 2 and there would be no accommodations for at least an hour. Fair enough, it was my fault, or so we thought. After further inspection days later (because Open Table asked for a survey), the reservation was in fact made for 3 , at 5:15 and the gentleman standing at the receptionist's desk lied claiming we made the reservation for 2. Though it may seem trivial, I'd rather be told there was a mix up due to online booking, rather than a blatant lie to try and push down the number of guests. Will this affect my overall view of Baxter's? Most definitely knowing I've never once encountered such a rude gesture. It is truly a shame knowing we have been repeat customers and did not feel welcome for the first time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Best restaurant at the lake..hands down! Service and food can't be beat. And the view isn't bad either!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent as it has always been good food, nice setting

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

As usual Baxter's is outstanding with food and service. Always make a reservation and they are always ready to serve. I have never been disappointed with any food that I've ordered.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Awesome food! Worth the wait, beautiful lake views and sun sets.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have enjoyed Baxter's for years, besides the fantastic view of the lake and sunsets the food has always been excellent every time as well as great service. This is a quality restaurant at the lake that we highly recommend to family and friends and they always report back as very impressed. They have a very nice bar for drinks/cocktails before or after dinner as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Recommend to us for an outta town dinner Extremely loud & noisy dining area, atomesphere felt like a college cafeteria, took 1 hr & 20min for a burger to arrive to table, food was mediocre. Would not recommend for those looking for an upscale evening..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always a great experience and a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service with beautiful views of the lake.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always great food and service. All the staff from Ted to Bernie to all the servers and especially the kitchen staff do a superb job! Not to mention the killer view!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My friends and I raved about this place the entire weekend after eating there. The view of the lake was great. Our server was so nice and helpful. The food was AMAZING! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Was a great meal and incredible service...highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I have never been so offended at a restaurant in my life. When I asked if we could dine outside the owner barked at me and raised his voice to me because he had to close the patio due to the heat. He said we will sit you inside at 815 which was the time of our reservation. He was so rude and aggressive I almost walked out except that we had a visiting guest from Argentina with us and I did not want him to think this behavior was the norm for US hospitality. I was so shocked and upset by his aggression that I really did not enjoy my meal. What a shame that the owner of a restaurant has not yet realized that without customers there is nothing. I have never been spoken to in such a manner before and I was upset and embarrassed that my international guest might see this response as the norm and categorize Americans as rude. A real shame. I will never go back to Baxters again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was great and service was wonderful for a party of 9.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great restaurant, great food, and great ambience. Looks like a populat restaurant and the wait without a reservation can be an hour or more

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The scallops are amazing!!! Probably should not have ordered the gooey butter cake dessert as we were already quite full, but it is soooooo fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We had a good dinner and they were very accommodating to the children in our party. Our service was good until we got our meal; then it was a long time before anyone came back to the table. We were completely finished and then waited a long time before anyone came to clear plates.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We celebrated our daughter's birthday at Baxters and were very pleased. The food was exceptional, the service was excellent and we we all happy - even the toddler who was with us!
Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fabulous restaurant with an outstanding wine selection. Whenever you enter Baxter's you are made to feel like part of the family.

The menu selections are amazing with choices for every palate.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

They were terrific...seated us immediately at a lake view table...service was perfect and food deliscious.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Beautiful view. Food was excellent and service great.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great atmosphere and view of the lake. Plenty of staff on hand to take care of the guests. We had the calamari appetizer with the chipotle aioli (I believe that was what the sauce was). My wife had the Cajun shrimp pasta which was very good. The shrimp were cleaned very well. I ordered the ribeye. It was good but I must say that it didn't live up to expectations based on the price. The wasabi mashed potatoes were really good. Overall, a very good experience, I just think prices are a bit on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

I made a reservation here for my wife and my first year anniversary based on the recommendation of my in-laws who are locals. We were very pleased at how well the food tasted and how good the service was. The pre-meal bread was awesome. When making my reservation I noted it was our anniversary and they set us up with a lake side view table for 2 and a celebratory cheesecake dessert, it really made our dinner feel special. I would highly recommend Baxter's to anyone looking for a nice dining experience with great food at reasonable prices. We will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food lots of choice sure to please everyone in a group. Excellent service without being intrusive!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Vegetarian menu is awesome!!! Multiple options with or without Match "meat". Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.