About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Chicken Salad
Shrimp Gumbo
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Cowboy Rib Steak
Crab Cakes
Calamari
Bltc Sandwich
Seared Tuna Salad
Cedar Plank Salmon
Potato Soup
Baxter's Sirloin Steak
Blackened Shrimp Salad
Bone In Ribeye

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (182)
Special Occasion (143)
Romantic (100)
See All
Good for Groups (71)
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Great for Lunch (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Hot Spot (44)
Notable Wine List (35)
Kid-friendly (28)
Great for Brunch (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Sort By:
Newest
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing and the view at sunset ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing and the view at sunset couldn't be any prettier! We will be back again!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Baxter's is one of our favorite fine din ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Baxter's is one of our favorite fine dining places at the Lake. The food and ambiance makes it fine dining but the dress is still casual comfortable if you want. The service is top notch, the view of the lake and sunset is beautiful. The salmon is outstanding and so are the steaks. My husband enjoyed the ribs, fall of the bone, and sauced just right. No room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Baxter's is one of the best restaurants in the Lake of the Ozark's. Service and food are top notch. Service is very good and wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I have eaten their several times and have never regretted it. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Private Room, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks with awesome house steak sa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great steaks with awesome house steak sauce. Not a bleu cheese guy but bacon and bleu cheese potato as a side you cannot beat. Delicious

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can be a bit noisy but the food and se ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I can be a bit noisy but the food and service is worth it. It should be voted #1 restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks. My favorite menu item "Walleye" was not available due to chef's finding it not up to his standards....which I appreciate. The salmon was a great sub and I totally loved it. The cheesecake was excellent!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops with zucchini, mushrooms an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The scallops with zucchini, mushrooms and potatoes were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience.

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always amazing food! I have gotten the c ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always amazing food! I have gotten the chef's special on two different occasions and was not disappointed. I would recommend highly to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Baxter's many times--pr ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at Baxter's many times--pretty much every time we are at Lake of the Ozarks. So I am repeating here what I have said about this restaurant before. This is the best restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks and it would be hard to beat at any other location. There are a wide variety of choices on the menu, as well as dinner specials. They are all excellent. Some highly recommended examples are scallops, halibut, tuna, trout, and pork loin. There are plenty of good wine choices. The service is always friendly and efficient. The offerings of this restaurant are very reasonably priced, especially considering the quality of the food, the view and the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, service and ambiance. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food, service and ambiance. The menu suits everyone we bring to Baxter's, including picky eaters!!! A great varied menu for all appetites. Be sure to try the Brandy Alexanders......so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, great food, great service. S ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great view, great food, great service. Strongly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, atmosphere, and waitress were all ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food, atmosphere, and waitress were all great. Wonderful way to end our vacation. We definitely will return on our next trip to the Ozarks.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good with ample portions. Servi ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good with ample portions. Service was little slow and restaurant was stuffy after coming in from outside where it was hot and humid, was expecting it to be cooler inside. Small item but they only brought two rolls with meal and we were not offered any more. Would have gladly paid for extra because they were tasty. Dessert menu was same thing you might see at Applebee's, nothing notable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything good about Baxters. Every tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything good about Baxters. Every time we're at the lake we go there for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants we visit (not just at the lake). The food is always remarkable. They begin with quality products like USDA Prime beef and fresh fish. The chef is creative and skilled and it shows in every meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening with friends. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice evening with friends. Enjoyed the view, food and very good service. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We've always wanted to go here and final ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've always wanted to go here and finally got a Saturday evening reservation. It was a significant birthday for my sister, and they were thrilled with the view and the food. We were as well. Now my favorite restaurant for fine dining at the lake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Table was facing directly into the very ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Table was facing directly into the very bright setting sun.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Our server was not friendly. Two times t ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was not friendly. Two times that she refilled our glasses she was so sloppy that she got water all over my leg and shoes and really did not care. I would not go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Everything was and generally always is w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was and generally always is wonderful. Tonight however the maitre d was a rude old cuss that had no business being where he was - if he can't handle pressure get him out of there - can't imagine being rude to my paying customers as he was that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Potatoes with bacon and Bleu cheese sauc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Potatoes with bacon and Bleu cheese sauce was awesome! Also LOVED the gooey butter cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great view, food, and service. My only ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great view, food, and service. My only issue is they try to push you very fast to turn the table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I don't remember our waitresses name but ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I don't remember our waitresses name but she was hands down one of the best waitresses that we have ever had at any restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! No wait at all. View am ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great! No wait at all. View amazing! Only downside was, since it's such a popular place, noise level was very high! Hard to have a conversation with our friends just across the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

On each visit, the evening sun has been ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

On each visit, the evening sun has been an annoyance, since the touted lake view is to the west. A simple venetian blind, lowered only half way would preserve the view and block most of the rays. We were told that some diners had asked to be removed from window seats because of the heat. Drink glass sat empty for too long. Lots of minions passing by, but no one checked the libations which is where the profits lie. Nevertheless, food was very tasty, my drink was made perfectly and food delivery was quick. At this level, reservations should be handled on time, yet the host made us feel at home and communicated often. This is a very good eatery which could easily be made one of the Lake's best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My adult granddaughter and I ate at Baxt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My adult granddaughter and I ate at Baxter's this week. We arrived early but told them were would gladly wait to be seated at a window table as I had requested when making the reservation. He offered to seat us earlier at a different table that was available if we would like. I declined. My granddaughter ordered the Chicken and pasta entree and I ordered the small fillet, cooked medium. We also had a Caesars salad and the crab cakes for an appetizer. The crab cakes were excellent and I recommend them. She loved her pasta dish and my steak was cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth. I also had the smashed sweet potatoes and asparagus. The service was excellent . The only problem was that it was a little too hot in the restaurant and the A/C could have been better. Also, I was seated facing the sun as it was beginning to set. Even though they have some sheer shades to pull down they do not block the harsh sun rays in your eyes if you are directly facing the window. It made my dining experience very uncomfortable. There were also a group of men at a large table behind us that we're a little loud, but that's going to happen sometimes. This is my third time to eat here and I will return. It is a little pricey so check the menu before going if you are on a budget. Definitely make a reservation before going to Baxters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice fine dining

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very nice fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fantastic. Consistent. Spectacular food ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic. Consistent. Spectacular food & dining experience! Best place to share with family & friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no other restaurant at the lake ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There is no other restaurant at the lake that we enjoy and trust like we do Baxter's. From the professionalism of the maître d to the fun of the bartenders then on to a perfectly prepared meal by your extremely talented chefs. Each of our meals were perfect, salmon, pasta and the steaks purchased by four in our party. This is the reason we always bring our lake guests to Baxter's. Excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this has always been a reliable place fo ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

this has always been a reliable place for good food and service, however our last trip on July 30 was terrible. The food and drink was way below par and not prepared properly. Waiter acted like we were so fortunate to be in his presence! There are way too many good restaurants at the Lake to waste time with one that has become very inferior. If it was just mine I would say maybe a bad night but all dinners were way below par especially give the prices!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Always fabulous! A great dining experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always fabulous! A great dining experience with a menu that can please everyone. We've never had a meal we did not like in all our years of dining here. That's a great track record!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baxter's menu has completely changed. Up ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Baxter's menu has completely changed. Upscale food and prices without the upscale service. No options for a lighter, less expensive dinner choice. They used to have sandwiches on their dinner menu but not any more. They also charge you $6.00 split plate charge....seriously? It is so noisy in there, it's hard to visit with your table. We have been coming since they opened. Not any more. We are done with Baxter's. Too many other places to eat at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I love going here. The reason for this v ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I love going here. The reason for this visit was my birthday!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! The service was outstanding ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

What a find! The service was outstanding, the food looked and tasted divine, and the ambiance of the restaurant was fantastic. We will make it a "must stop" every time we are in Lake Ozarks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfectLove the food love ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything was perfectLove the food love the service love the atmosphere loving ambience love the everything my husband and I had a great time we met with friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation around sunset a we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We made a reservation around sunset a week ahead of time at a place that advertises the fabulous lake views. We were seated in one of the few places where you couldn't even see a window. We were seated late and the waitress shared how she was busy with a large table multiple times. I thought I was going to fall asleep waiting for our entree. Also we heard the host scolding waitresses more than once which further ruined the atmosphere. I felt like we were not even on the radar from a service perspective. Food was fine but not good enough to go back. Terrible experience for our anniversary and my husbands birthday. No good memories created at Baxter's, that is for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Great food and atmosphere, however our p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, however our party was asked(politely)to have any after dinner drinks at the bar and not at our table. The reason given was that other people with reservations were waiting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service and food...always a p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic service and food...always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Why settle for anything else? Simply the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Why settle for anything else? Simply the best at the Lake by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great table service-great view of Lake o ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great table service-great view of Lake of the Ozarks. Food was good but nothing out of the ordinary,a bit pricey.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.