About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (125)
special occasion (103)
romantic (79)
See All
good for groups (50)
great for outdoor dining (47)
hot spot (45)
fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (39)
vibrant bar scene (39)
great for lunch (37)
notable wine list (34)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (13)
great for brunch (10)
Sort By:
Newest
846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best burger! House made with the finest ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Best burger! House made with the finest cuts of beef. I ordered it well done and it was perfectly cooked well but still juicy not dry! It comes with choice of salad or soup and choice of potato! The service is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined 6 days ago

We were in Osage Beach for vacation, and heard about this place and thought we would give it a try and glad we did! Steak was excellent, baked potato was perfect the home made desert I can't describe how good it was, if you get a chance give it a try, if on the weekend better get a reservation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for date nightnight or roma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great choice for date nightnight or romantic /special ocassion. I took my girlfriend for her 29th birthday this past weekend. We both had the Carbonara Pasta. It was super deeeelish! Waitress was extremely helpful, understanding, and polite. The calamari was a little too exotic for us (heads attached) and she removed the item from our bill without a problem. When we are back in the Ozarks, we will revisit Baxter's. Thanks for making her birthday memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Baxters. We always get great foo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love Baxters. We always get great food great service and a great view!! Several of our friends from our town (Rolla) dine there often.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

Found this place on google maps in search of a lakeside restaurant. Went out to celebrate a birthday visiting Osage Beach for a long weekend. The atmosphere was outstanding, not to mention the view of the lake. The waitress also brought out a small piece of cheesecake to share to celebrate the birthday!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our favorite place

Dined on May 20, 2016

Baxter's has been our favorite place to dine at the Lake of the Ozarks since our first visit several years ago. That rating was reinforced last year when we went there for our Anniversary dinner. The view from the window-side tables is just fantastic. But, view doesn't mean much if the food and service are not equal. Happily, this is not the case with Baxter's! The food is always first rate as is the service. I think it is a mark of excellent service that once food is ordered, the patron should not have to identify themselves to the server as the party who ordered the item being served. At Baxter's, the person bringing a particular course is not necessarily the person who took the order. Even so, they know exactly who ordered which dish without asking the patron. Nice job, Baxter's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

My friend and I were asked to leave our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My friend and I were asked to leave our table after one hour and forty-five minutes for the next reservation, even though we still had wine in our glasses. Will never go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food with a very nice view. M ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very good food with a very nice view. My steak was cooked perfectly. Even though the restaurant was packed, our food came out quickly.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sirloin was thicker, tougher and less fl ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Sirloin was thicker, tougher and less flavorful than the last time we had the same there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Lake Ozark with friends from Ce ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Visiting Lake Ozark with friends from Central Valley California. We both enjoyed the feel of the restaurant and the location on the top of a bluff looking out over the lake was wonderful. The restaurant had a simple décor which did not distract from the view. The server was terrific and the food was excellent. Wonderful location for a great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a fantastic dining ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic dining experience at Baxters last weekend. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and although they don't take reservations for outdoor dining, they made sure to accommodate. Great food, view and service every time! Absolutely love Baxters.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful night out!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We rarely go out for "nice" dinner but each time we do, we pick Baxter's. The food is always good and the service is even better. Would recommend Baxter's for that "wonderful night out"!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb service, attention to detail and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Superb service, attention to detail and well prepared dishes. My favorite place at the lake.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location, great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed an incredible sunset sitting on the patio.The view was spectacular, as was the service and the food. Everyone from the maitre d to the bartenders to the waitress were attentive, friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and excellent service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

As a lake regular, we visit Baxter's often. The food is always wonderful. We had a wonderful waitress--she was professional, knew the menu, and connected with our group. I would suggest this for anyone looking for a nice restaurant when visiting the lake!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The walnut encrusted Walleye was amazing ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The walnut encrusted Walleye was amazing. Flavorful and smooth transition to sweet potatie puree.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant at the Lake!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Their menu offers many favorite choices of ours. The walleye encrusted with almonds was absolutely fresh and flavorful with just the right amount of crunch-delicious! The chicken was cooked to perfection-white all the way through but still tender, juicy and not dried out. We like the the fresh offering of vegetables as well . There are several potato choices, . We love the lake views and the boats docked nearby. Their bar and patio are very enjoyable as. We definitely will go again. There are several items on the menu to try!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I wanted to try somewhere new for our anniversary. We looked online and checked out the menu- we liked the variety! We aren't big sea food eaters. We made a reservation ahead of time. We had to wait about 10 minutes later than our reserved time to be seated. Our waitress was very knowledgable and friendly. She made sure we had full drinks, and the food was OUTSTANDING! Best grilled chicken I've ever had. I'm glad we were on the opposit side of the bar though, a Royals game was on and people were getting loud cheering. Overall great experience I've already been recommending it to others to try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service4

The best part of the restaurant is the v ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The best part of the restaurant is the view. We wanted a table with a view but we're told that although we had reservations it would be 35-40 min. for a view. I would suggest verifying that you will have a good table before coming to Baxter's.

food3
ambience5
service5

I ordered the pork loin. It was deliciou ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

I ordered the pork loin. It was delicious! I have to say that the young green beans were very tough and the smashed sweet potatoes were very fibrous and not very good this time. My husband had the filet and scallops. It was delicious also. I tried one of the scallops and it seemed a little undercooked. His green beans were also tough but his red potatoes were good. We also had a Caesar salad, spinach dip and a bottle of wine. The chips with dip were a little stale also. We had a very very early reservation so there were not many people dining yet. I recommend this restaurant even though the sides were not as good as they could have been. I will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always food and service was excellent.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I live local and am able to visit this restaurant on a periodic basis and I'm never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great experience, but beware time limits!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food at Baxter's was excellent and it would be hard to beat the view. All staff we encountered were very friendly, attentive, and were obviously trying to add to an overall wonderful experience. The only thing that slightly bothered me was the "time limit" placed on us. We had a reservation for 6:00, and even arrived early so as not to be late and cause an issue for ourselves. However, we waited until 6:15 for our table to be ready, and were then told that because the table was by a window, we needed to be done by 7:30. I know from previous experience that their normal time window given for these seats is 1 1/2 hours, so they shorted us our time due to no fault of our own. In the end, we did complete our meal in the allotted (shortened) time and this was partly due to the VERY fast arrival of our food (10-15 minutes). Had we not received our food within 20 minutes of ordering, I would have complained about the time limit issue, but did not need to do so given the speed with which it arrived.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great evening with ladies

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was delicious, view was outstanding, friendly staff, and outstanding service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

48 Anniversary

Dined on April 6, 2016

A great place to celebrate our special anniversary or just for a really good diner with our friends. Our favorite place at the Lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's is my favorite place to go when ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Baxter's is my favorite place to go when "down at the Lake". The food never disappoints, the wait staff is always great and the view is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

To die for...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent meal but were really blown away by the dessert -- you have to order the Gooey Butter Cream Cake w/Cinnamon Ice Cream! Wow!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on April 5, 2016

Always a great place to go with clients. Loved the food and view, and Frank the bartender remembered by name. Awesome place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent

Dined on April 3, 2016

Baxter's is always the same with their excellent service and food. The waitress was outstanding and even remembered when we had dined there months ago. When in the Lake of the Ozarks go to Baxter's for Lunch or Dinner, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great steaks and drinks Wonderful atmosphere and beautiful view Great service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on March 26, 2016

One of my wife and I's favorite restaurants anywhere. Baxters has a special place for my Wife and I. Had our First Date there, We were Engaged there, have spent every Valentines day but 1 there. Its are go to for a date night out or meeting a group of people. They are always accommodating with requests if possible. we recently had a group of 8 for dinner and it was great as always. No matter what you order I recommend trying the Wasabi Smashed Potato's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

To start, when you give your name when you walk in, they remember who you are! I love that personal touch. The food is amazing and the view of the Lake of the Ozarks is amazing! The service is excellent and friendly. The wine list is great! We love Baxters!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Try the cedar plank salmon, yum! And th ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Try the cedar plank salmon, yum! And the views of the lake and the eagles are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We have been here countless times, and I never have any regrets. Whether we bring our own wine, and or have an amazing cocktail, it's a perfect experience. Same goes for the service, staff and cuisine. Birthdays, to a casual dinner in the bar or restaurant, girls night, lunch or a romantic dinner with my husband. Never disappointing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food with an amazing view

Dined on March 19, 2016

Wonderful Dinner experience, my family enjoys coming to Baxter's Lakeside Grill every time we come to the Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Great view. Nice place. The timing was o ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Great view. Nice place. The timing was off on our meals.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Good but could be better!

Dined on March 16, 2016

The view! That is what Baxter's has in abundance. The steak...I was disappointed. I had the chef's cut steak which was a KC strip. It had so much gristle in it. It was barely edible in parts. The pieces that were edible were absolutely delicious and cooked perfectly. One of our glasses had chips in the rim and thankfully did not cut the mouth of my dinner guest. Overall, the dinner was OK. Not any better than could be done at home, so go for the view, the service and the atmosphere not the food. The service is excellent and prompt.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always. Food is always exce ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful as always. Food is always excellent and the sunsets are to die for. Very well run restaurant. Food is always served hot and is very consistent each visit. Love Baxters!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was amazing as usual! Best p ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our dinner was amazing as usual! Best place at the lake! Lindsey took great care of us!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Baxter's may not be in the great class b ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Baxter's may not be in the great class but it is consistently good and an enjoyable experience. And that is a real value at the Lake where quality and service may vary widely at other restaurants. The Evesham Pinot Noir was a nice value at $40. Salmon and Pacific Rim Pasta meals were tasty. Nice service provided by Jesse a veteran on the Baxter's staff. We had a god time and that is what the Lake is about.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.