About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: (573) 365-2669

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (41)
Scenic View (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an outstanding meal. The shrimp cocktail was awesome. It included five of the largest shrimp I have ever seen. The bone-in filet's were the tastiest we have had at any restaurant. It was just an all round wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice place to eat! Great food, scenic atmosphere, attentive service, reasonable prices, very clean. One of our favorite places at the lake to go to dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Retirement dinner!! Excellent food; Excellent view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. Great views and amazing food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service and atmosphere is awesome, you have become too pricey you will not see me as often.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

our service was wonderful as usual, always love the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was excellent, view is outstanding, service lovely. Only complaint is our table was directly adjacent to the kitchen, felt like we were on a parade route. Be sure to make reservations, ask for a window far away from the kitchen.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best restaurant at the lake-by far. Everything is prepared to perfection and the service is first class. Never miss it when at the lake.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, excellent view, good, quick service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

This place is always great. I wish I lived closer so I could go more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing Food, great service and a million dollar view! Lively bar with a great deck connected to the restaurant! Good steaks, awesome shrimp cocktail, nice selection and very good salads too! Save some room for the Carmel Gooey Butter cake which is OMG delicious!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Meals at Baxter's are always a treat. Well done, well served and the view is lovely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Disappointed in the food. Have eaten here before and it was very good. Multiple dishes very poor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great FRESH food! Great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had reservations, and for a Friday evening we were glad we did. The Walleye was very good!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Ted does a great job and servers are excellent. Highly recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is, in my estimation one of the best restaurants at the lake. The food and service are consistently excellent. I am a Realtor and purchase gift cards from Baxter's to use as closing gifts for those relocating or purchasing a vacation place at Lake of the Ozarks. My clients always tell me how pleased they were with their dining experience at Baxter's. Baxter's is also our "go to place" to take out of town guests to dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! Best at the lake. Consistently great service and food. Wish we could dine there every evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and great food as always! On a busy Friday night our service was prompt and professional and we were urged to take our time and enjoy the evening. Seated at our table promptly at our reservation time...Baxter's is always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. Our waitress Andreann and Chef Sean customized a dish for my wife. The setting was very relaxing and the food was excellent. We highly recommend J Brunners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Gooey Buttercake Sundae is amazing! It was quiet, we had a beautiful view of the lake and had outstanding service! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was prepared well and the taste was excellent. The server was very prompt. We have dined here many times and it has been consistently good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated Grandma Marylou Carlock's 80th Bday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We again were treated to a stunning lake view at the beautiful Lake of the Ozark here at Baxter's! Being New Years Eve, a couple special additions were added to the already wonderful menu. Ted and his crew did not fail on this special evening! We were seated right on time as reservations are almost always a must on New Years Eve. We were greated and offered drinks right away. We enjoyed one of my favorite bottles of wine, along with an Ahi Tuna dinner and a Filet dinner. All I can say is everything we had from the salad to the potato, vegetable, and entree was even better than usual! They outdid themselves on this special eve! On top of a fabulous dinner we enjoyed cheesecake for dessert which topped off the night! I cannot say enough about this place. It is our favorite and am ready to return as soon as possible!!

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, friendly staff, clean, the place to be!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steak was good and pasta dishes were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service excellent food/wine. Great evening and good way to start the holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and good every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and atmosphere of the restaurant were wonderful. Our waiter was not the best. We had to ask for refills every time and he seemed to act like it was a chore to help us. He was rushed it seemed. The restaurant was not crowded on this Tuesday evening so I am baffled a bit what the problem was. We did enjoy our meals. The portions were nice size and food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. Love Baxter's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve eve dinner date together! Wonderful food, great service, perfectly mixed drinks! And the view as always was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We've been there twice recently and both times our shrimp cocktail was wonderful and KC strip steak delicious! Service is always great!

Prices are moderate and good value for food quality... enjoyed my cosmopolitan drink! We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Baxter's never disappoints and always delivers a wonderful eating experience. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive. The food is so pleasing to the palate!! There is something for everyone on this menu!!! The location overlooking the Lake of the Ozarks is breathtaking and so are the sunsets! You just can't beat Baxter's for the view, the service and especially the food!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything was great from the service to the tasting of the food. Not to mention, the view was FANTASTIC. Best view at the lake!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks!! Food is always great and you know it will be super quality. Service is outstanding. They have the best of everything from food to drinks and service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Usual good food and service. a bit noisy. wish they would invest in ceiling noise dampening.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was amazing! Great choices prepared and presented with excellence. Our server was on top of everything without being intrusive. Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great food and service. Best restaurant at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Baxter's is a great place for great dining. We have been there several times and have never had bad service or a bad meal. Well worth the effort if you are in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Baxter's is on a bluff overlooking the beautiful Lake of the Ozarks. We timed our dinner so we could enjoy sunset through their large windows. The restaurant honored our request for the best seat in the house...the corner table giving us the most panoramic view. Our waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine list. The food was delicious, nicely plated and very generous servings. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It's always a very pleasant experience when we dine at Baxters. Not once since they've opened have we

been disappointed. One of my favorites is the Salmon! Love the tuna, as well as the yummy ahi tuna salad. Our son loves the meatloaf and pasta dishes. Beef is a favorite of my husband's.

A perk is that the owner and staff are so welcoming and professional. The best staff at the lake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is the second time I have booked a business lunch at Baxter's and both times I have been impressed with the food and atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Second visit. Excellent dining experience. Could not be happier with the food and service. No better place to watch a sunset.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place we stopped by after being recommended it from the hotel. Defintely home made food!

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday on Saturday. We had a reservation and we were seated promptly. We have been there many times before and the service was somewhat lacking this time. It took quite a while to receive our drinks. In fact, we had our appetizer before our drinks came. The food was good but the menu is kind of limited. I would go more often if they changed their menu occasionally or at least had more daily specials. Food was good. It choices are limited.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Been here many time, always a great experience, excellent service, diverse menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Whenever we're on our way to Columbia for business, we work in a stop at Baxter's. Never fails to delight!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the lake. Great food and service at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.