About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Chicken Salad
Shrimp Gumbo
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Cowboy Rib Steak
Crab Cakes
Calamari
Bltc Sandwich
Seared Tuna Salad
Cedar Plank Salmon
Potato Soup
Baxter's Sirloin Steak
Blackened Shrimp Salad
Bone In Ribeye

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (159)
Special Occasion (128)
Romantic (86)
See All
Good for Groups (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Great for Lunch (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Hot Spot (36)
Notable Wine List (28)
Kid-friendly (26)
Good for a Date (19)
Waterfront (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful views, best food experience!!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful views, best food experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we go to the Lake of the Ozar ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Every time we go to the Lake of the Ozarks we make time to go to Baxter's. In our opinion, best dining in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food , great view, great service. ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food , great view, great service. This is one that I definitely want to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good. Excellent breadth of ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always very good. Excellent breadth of menu items. Busy, a bit noisy. A little impersonal when compared to Bentley's, but a good choice for a broader menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat at restaurants for their good fo ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We eat at restaurants for their good food and nice atmosphere. What else can I say - Baxter's Lakeside Grille does a great job.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always look forward to eating at Baxter' ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always look forward to eating at Baxter's when at the lake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst service ever! Mentioned to server ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Worst service ever! Mentioned to server meal was cold, put my finger in mash potatoes and was told, "the way we do things, that's not possible". Later I told waiter, I was serious, the food tasted ok, it was just cold, he again informed me, "that's not possible" and proceeded to say as he was leaving the table, "I guess that means you won't be have having desert". The next we saw him, he delivered our check. We will never go back! Also, lady serving the wine dropped the aerator, the rubber screen portion, on the floor; she picked up, reinserted it and poured the wine?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Wonderful restaurant! Friendly & attenti ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! Friendly & attentive staff, beautiful scenery, & exquisitely tasty food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had an appetizer as my entrée. The sea ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I had an appetizer as my entrée. The seared Ahi Tuna was sashimi-grade, as advertised. The presentation was nice and flavors melded together nicely. I ate every bite, something I rarely do. My date had the Grilled Berkshire Pork Loins and thoroughly enjoyed his meal. We shared the Caramel Gooey Butter Cake with Cinnamon Ice Cream. It was not cloyingly sweet, had a good texture, and was not over-iced. We devoured it.

My only suggestion was to add a sparkling Moscato to the wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been coming to Baxter's since it ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have been coming to Baxter's since it opened and we absolutely love it. Whenever we visit the lake it is on of our go to restaurants. The food is delicious and the service is always very good. The view is spectacular and the ambience is wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third year in a row for our third weddin ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Third year in a row for our third wedding anniversary and it was as good as always. We love coming here because the food is fantastic, staff is friendly and professional, and the view is spectacular. We made a reservation and upon checking in they immediately told us happy anniversary which is such a nice touch. Once we were seated, we were immediately greeted by our delightful server who seeing our bottle of wine, went and got glasses and opened it. Baxter's has a $10 corkage fee for your own bottle you bring in as long as it is not on their menu.

Everything on their menu looked wonderful but in the end I decided to get their Cedar Planked Salmon with double green beans and Dan got their Grilled Ahi Tuna with Red Bliss Potatoes and green beans. Both meals came with a soup or salad so we both got salads, house for me with their homemade dressing and Caesar for Dan. Enjoying our wine and the view, very shortly our salads arrived with their delicious rolls. Soon after finishing the salads our entrees arrived looking delectable. Both fish were cooked perfectly and were well seasoned and the sides were fresh and crispy.

Another very nice touch at Baxter's is they take your picture and present you with it at the end of the meal along with a celebratory dessert- that night it was New York Cheesecake with caramel and chocolate sauce which of course was decadent.

I could not recommend this place enough- great food, atmosphere, and staff. We will continue going back hopefully in years to come. Happy dining!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Baxter's is our favorite place to eat at ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Baxter's is our favorite place to eat at the Lake of the Ozarks! It is imperative that reservations are made because it is always very busy, which is a reflection of how wonderful the experience is when dining there. The food, service, and fabulous views of the lake make each visit special. We look forward to each trip so we can eat at Baxter's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great service, great food, an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always, great service, great food, and a beautiful view of the lake!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible the view is amazi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is incredible the view is amazing we go every time we get to the lake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were great and the view ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service and food were great and the view from the patio was beautiful. Our food came quickly and our waitress was very friendly and helpful. We came with small children and felt like it was a lot to spend with kids. Better for a date night or adult get together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love eating at Baxter's. They have co ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I love eating at Baxter's. They have courteous and competent staff, great food, a breath-taking lake view and a contemporary, fun and upbeat atmosphere. It's a good place to go for special occasions and everyday dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding! Baxter's has become ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always outstanding! Baxter's has become a favorite for my wife and I, and we opted to visit for our anniversary. We enjoyed an outstanding meal, outstanding service, and the million-dollar view that only Baxter's can provide. We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're lucky enough to get one of a f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

If you're lucky enough to get one of a few tables, the view is beautiful. The Italian onion soup was spicier than I expected. The ribs were very good. The halibut was cooked well, but I didn't feel that the sauce complimented it. I originally ordered the walleye, but it wasn't available on a Saturday night at 7:30.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

3 couples, and 2 of the couples celebrat ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

3 couples, and 2 of the couples celebrating anniversaries. I did request a window but I feel we had the best view in the house. It was beautiful.

Service was great, food was great, and they brought us a nice treat to celebrate after our meal.

I also just love how everyone's meal is brought at the same time. A nice touch.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great view and great dining experience.

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great view and great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baxter is IT on the Lake - Great Food, A ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Baxter is IT on the Lake - Great Food, Amazing View, Fab Service!

Enjoyed summer sunset dining at Baxter's Lakeside Grille and we all agreed it was the best fine dining we enjoyed on the lake. Salad and entree portions were huge, so plan accordingly. Prices are reasonable. View is spectacular. Arrived early for our res (be sure to make a reservation), and enjoyed a drink in the bar and loved the view, great and friendly bar service. We initially preferred to dine outdoors (hot, sultry evening), but were seated indoors, which turned out to be much better. We were seated along corner floor-to-ceiling windows with unbelievable lake views . Air con was just right! Friend had cedar plank salmon with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. I had pasta carbonara, among the best I've ever had, but we couldn't come close to finishing. Sort of a waste of good food, but we loved our meals. Friend was celebrating milestone birthday, so we were treated to a yummy dessert with candle and a cute photo op. What a great memory of a fabulous dinner. We really think Baxter's has the best dining in Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and the view at sunset ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was amazing and the view at sunset couldn't be any prettier! We will be back again!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Baxter's is one of our favorite fine din ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Baxter's is one of our favorite fine dining places at the Lake. The food and ambiance makes it fine dining but the dress is still casual comfortable if you want. The service is top notch, the view of the lake and sunset is beautiful. The salmon is outstanding and so are the steaks. My husband enjoyed the ribs, fall of the bone, and sauced just right. No room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Baxter's is one of the best restaurants in the Lake of the Ozark's. Service and food are top notch. Service is very good and wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I have eaten their several times and have never regretted it. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Private Room, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks with awesome house steak sa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great steaks with awesome house steak sauce. Not a bleu cheese guy but bacon and bleu cheese potato as a side you cannot beat. Delicious

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is always good. Nice people g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place is always good. Nice people good food and the best view at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can be a bit noisy but the food and se ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I can be a bit noisy but the food and service is worth it. It should be voted #1 restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks. My favorite menu item "Walleye" was not available due to chef's finding it not up to his standards....which I appreciate. The salmon was a great sub and I totally loved it. The cheesecake was excellent!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops with zucchini, mushrooms an ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The scallops with zucchini, mushrooms and potatoes were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience.

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just can't go wrong with Baxters -- alwa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just can't go wrong with Baxters -- always a great meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing food! I have gotten the c ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always amazing food! I have gotten the chef's special on two different occasions and was not disappointed. I would recommend highly to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Baxter's many times--pr ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have eaten at Baxter's many times--pretty much every time we are at Lake of the Ozarks. So I am repeating here what I have said about this restaurant before. This is the best restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks and it would be hard to beat at any other location. There are a wide variety of choices on the menu, as well as dinner specials. They are all excellent. Some highly recommended examples are scallops, halibut, tuna, trout, and pork loin. There are plenty of good wine choices. The service is always friendly and efficient. The offerings of this restaurant are very reasonably priced, especially considering the quality of the food, the view and the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, service and ambiance. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great food, service and ambiance. The menu suits everyone we bring to Baxter's, including picky eaters!!! A great varied menu for all appetites. Be sure to try the Brandy Alexanders......so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, great food, great service. S ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great view, great food, great service. Strongly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, atmosphere, and waitress were all ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food, atmosphere, and waitress were all great. Wonderful way to end our vacation. We definitely will return on our next trip to the Ozarks.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good with ample portions. Servi ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good with ample portions. Service was little slow and restaurant was stuffy after coming in from outside where it was hot and humid, was expecting it to be cooler inside. Small item but they only brought two rolls with meal and we were not offered any more. Would have gladly paid for extra because they were tasty. Dessert menu was same thing you might see at Applebee's, nothing notable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything good about Baxters. Every tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything good about Baxters. Every time we're at the lake we go there for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants we visit (not just at the lake). The food is always remarkable. They begin with quality products like USDA Prime beef and fresh fish. The chef is creative and skilled and it shows in every meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening with friends. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice evening with friends. Enjoyed the view, food and very good service. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We've always wanted to go here and final ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've always wanted to go here and finally got a Saturday evening reservation. It was a significant birthday for my sister, and they were thrilled with the view and the food. We were as well. Now my favorite restaurant for fine dining at the lake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.