About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Chicken Salad
Calamari
Potato Soup
Shrimp Gumbo
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Cowboy Rib Steak
Crab Cakes
Seared Tuna Salad
Cedar Plank Salmon
Bltc Sandwich
Baxter's Sirloin Steak
Blackened Shrimp Salad
Bone In Ribeye

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (168)
special occasion (133)
romantic (99)
See All
good for groups (69)
great for outdoor dining (61)
fit for foodies (56)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for lunch (45)
hot spot (43)
vibrant bar scene (42)
notable wine list (35)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (13)
great for brunch (13)
Sort By:
Newest
910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made a reservation around sunset a we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We made a reservation around sunset a week ahead of time at a place that advertises the fabulous lake views. We were seated in one of the few places where you couldn't even see a window. We were seated late and the waitress shared how she was busy with a large table multiple times. I thought I was going to fall asleep waiting for our entree. Also we heard the host scolding waitresses more than once which further ruined the atmosphere. I felt like we were not even on the radar from a service perspective. Food was fine but not good enough to go back. Terrible experience for our anniversary and my husbands birthday. No good memories created at Baxter's, that is for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Great food and atmosphere, however our p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and atmosphere, however our party was asked(politely)to have any after dinner drinks at the bar and not at our table. The reason given was that other people with reservations were waiting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Why settle for anything else? Simply the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Why settle for anything else? Simply the best at the Lake by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great table service-great view of Lake o ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great table service-great view of Lake of the Ozarks. Food was good but nothing out of the ordinary,a bit pricey.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Love this place whether for lunch or di ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love this place whether for lunch or dinner a must when going to the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again our table was rushed because ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Once again our table was rushed because there were so many diners waiting for their reservation. Not offered coffee or dessert. Although it may be your policy to rush people out as soon as possible because of the crowd, it certainly puts a damper on the whole dining experience. Thank you...sh

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and service as usual. We bri ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service as usual. We bring friends and everyone is always happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group of 6 and we all agreed that it was ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Group of 6 and we all agreed that it was one of the best meals we have ate. The 18 oz. bone in rib eye wasn't much different than the 14 oz. in our opinion, but both were excellent. We would all recommend Baxter's to anyone looking for a great meal at a moderate to high price range.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Evening was super super super super supe ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Evening was super super super super super great! We enjoyed ourselves! :-)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We are part-timers at the lake, and freq ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We are part-timers at the lake, and frequent this local gem. They always know us by name, the people and the place are always inviting, the view is nothing less than amazing as is the food. One of my favorites at the lake, or anywhere for that matter!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Baxter's on many occasion ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have been to Baxter's on many occasions since it opened at the lake and it was excellent as always.

The only thing I would have done different is take a different seat. If you wear hearing aids like me, sitting with your back to the large windows will cause sound to rebound off the glass and make it very difficult to hear and understand those close to you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On vacation at the Ozarks and happened t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

On vacation at the Ozarks and happened to find you online. Of all places we ate yours was the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the view amazin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was awesome and the view amazing. We watched the sunset while having a delicious meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxters is always a very pleasant dining ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Baxters is always a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host/Owner did not seem to take our ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The host/Owner did not seem to take our reservation through open table serious . He noted that many people don't show up which made him a bit of a skeptic. Other than that, it was excellent food and an awesome view!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and service. Waitress was att ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and service. Waitress was attentive. Our favorite gooey butter cake was delicious as were the entres. It was my wife's birthday desert was free. I have taken customers and family to Baxters have not been disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good - but the salads and s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was good - but the salads and soup were served immediately after we got our appetizer. The meal felt rushed. We also had made a reservation and requested a window. We weren't seated at one and two window tables weren't used for nearly an hour. When we asked they said windows are given out based on when reservations are made, but it did appear favorite/regular customers got them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were at the Lake for my BD weekend an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were at the Lake for my BD weekend and I found this online and booked it for a Friday night to celebrate by BD dinner and hopefully see the sunset. The owner got us a table by the window facing the sunset. The food, service, cleanliness, everything was outstanding. We went back the next night and will be back eveytime we are staying in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Baxters a couple of time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have been to Baxters a couple of times. Always pleased with quality of food and service. The view is very nice and the atmosphere was pleasant. It is a great spot at the Lake.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Baxter's is our go-to place for special ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Baxter's is our go-to place for special occasions and when we want to showcase the lake's beauty to new visitors.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been a fan of Baxter's for many y ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been a fan of Baxter's for many years. I had the opportunity to take a recording artist and her team to any place at the Lake and I instantly chose Baxter's! I know that people in Nashville have many choices for great food, but they don't have the view. They all raved about the place!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent as a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always! You won't find a better view!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The blackened scallop special was excell ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The blackened scallop special was excellent. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great as usual. W ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food and service were great as usual. We suggested Baxter's not knowing our friends had lunch there, but they were all for going back in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 9 people to celebrate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a group of 9 people to celebrate a birthday and had the private room. It was so nice to be in there as it got a little crazy! Our waitresses were great and the food was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Baxter's never disappoints always have g ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Baxter's never disappoints always have great food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant I the lake, hands down!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Best restaurant I the lake, hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Managers and bartenders do not grasp cus ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Managers and bartenders do not grasp customer service. We have been going here for the last 3 to 4 years and have always felt that it will get better. There is not a culture of customer service all the way through the restaurant. And it starts with the ownership on down. We got some good feedback from the servers that the ownership does not respect their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

My wife and I went there for our anniver ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. We made a last minute request to be seated with a lake view and they were very accommodating. We sat at the bar and ordered a few cocktails while we waited for our table and as we left to be seated the bartender told us that the cocktails were complimentary due to our anniversary. Jennifer our waitress was excellent and the food was amazing. Are food was exactly as we requested and delicious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to dine at Baxter's, which is wh ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We love to dine at Baxter's, which is why we routinely take our lake guests there. My husband and I have a list of favorites that we tend to order, not the least of which is the blackened shrimp salad. On our last visit, I chose another favorite of mine--the trout. However, my husband ordered the BBQ ribs for the first time. He was very impressed and described the half rack as "extremely flavorful, very meaty, completely tender, and having absolutely no waste". I think it goes without saying that he will order these again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waitress was a little miffed because I w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Waitress was a little miffed because I was taking too long to decide on a wine/cocktail before dinner. Felt a bit rushed, dinner arrived before finishing soup/salad. Food was great, view was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Baxters. We ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was our second visit to Baxters. We were celebrating our anniversary. My husband and I like the diversity of the menu. The waitress was very pleasant and prompt. I had the scallops and my husband had the fillet. Both were cooked to perfection. The scallops practically melted in my mouth. Make reservations if you are going on the weekend as this is a very popular place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Baxters many times but i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been to Baxters many times but it's last time I had salmon that was not fully cooked and pretty much dampened a normally good meal. My fault for not sending back to the kitchen to be cooked further. Service was good, but it just shows the importance of food control. I will go back again but not if it happens again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We were in town for the weekend and deci ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were in town for the weekend and decided to try it because we were looking for great food and a nice view. At first our server was nice but then half way through the meal she went MIA-no checking back, refilling drinks or anything . We had the grilled shrimp appetizer with the apple jelly which was pretty tasty though the shrimp were REALLY small cheap shrimp. My husband had the trout which was poorly cooked. It was very dry and overcooked- they were so worried about making the grill marks on the fish that they ruined it. I had the pacific rim pasta which was terrible. I could only stomach 2-3 bits before giving up. It was so overly sweet it was like syrup-no balance of heat or savory, just A LOT of sugar (and it is listed as a healthy option). Unfortunately, the server never came back until 20 minutes after we were done so I couldn't get the issue resolved and order something else. They were gracious enough to take the pasta off our bill though. When we paid, the server brought the check back and literally threw it on the table from a couple feet away and ran over the help set up for a large party...no thank you, no bye, nothing. It was odd and pretty rude. If we are back in the area we might go for a glass of wine and the view but leave the food to somewhere else. Very overpriced, poor quality food. Oh-and for those with a sense of humor, the FRIED shrimp appetizer is listed as their lighter, healthier spa option lol.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Filet Mignon was excellent! Perfectly do ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Filet Mignon was excellent! Perfectly done and delicious. Romantic night with the amazing view always creates a special date night. Great service too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our time at Baxter's - t ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Baxter's - this was a fun Father's Day lunch after church. I'm pretty sure I'm the only one who wasn't totally pleased with the food - I ordered the spinach salad for the first time: I was disappointed because I thought it came with sliced strawberries and my piece of salmon really seemed under cooked (I generally enjoy salmon). Next time I will just go back to the Tim Salad with grilled chicken. Thanks for the great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Simply the best at the Lake hands down.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simply the best at the Lake hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and their portion ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was delicious and their portions are large too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants at the lake, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the lake, take a date or go with friends and family.

You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family reunion at the lake and Baxter's ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Family reunion at the lake and Baxter's is our nice evening out. Husband had 20 oz bone-in rib eye special and it was fantastic. I had sea bass with a mushroom champagne sauce. Fish had light, crispy saute. Appetizer was shrimp cocktail and the shrimp were, indeed, jumbo. Tender and not at all tough. Very busy place that evening (Friday) and noise level is pretty high. Not bad for us but elderly relatives have trouble hearing conversation at the table. View of the lake is lovely. We plan on going to Baxter's every time we go to the lake! Make a reservation for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.