About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Buffalo Chicken Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Shrimp Gumbo - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Spinach Artichoke Dip - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Cowboy Rib Steak - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Crab Cakes - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Calamari - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Bltc Sandwich - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Seared Tuna Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Cedar Plank Salmon - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Potato Soup - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Baxter's Sirloin Steak - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Blackened Shrimp Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Bone In Ribeye - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (38)
Special Occasion (33)
Waterfront (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful dinner. Our waitress ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner. Our waitress Andreann and Chef Sean customized a dish for my wife. The setting was very relaxing and the food was excellent. We highly recommend J Brunners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gooey Buttercake Sundae is amazing! ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Gooey Buttercake Sundae is amazing! It was quiet, we had a beautiful view of the lake and had outstanding service! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was prepared well and the taste ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was prepared well and the taste was excellent. The server was very prompt. We have dined here many times and it has been consistently good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated Grandma Marylou Carlock's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated Grandma Marylou Carlock's 80th Bday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We again were treated to a stunning lake ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We again were treated to a stunning lake view at the beautiful Lake of the Ozark here at Baxter's! Being New Years Eve, a couple special additions were added to the already wonderful menu. Ted and his crew did not fail on this special evening! We were seated right on time as reservations are almost always a must on New Years Eve. We were greated and offered drinks right away. We enjoyed one of my favorite bottles of wine, along with an Ahi Tuna dinner and a Filet dinner. All I can say is everything we had from the salad to the potato, vegetable, and entree was even better than usual! They outdid themselves on this special eve! On top of a fabulous dinner we enjoyed cheesecake for dessert which topped off the night! I cannot say enough about this place. It is our favorite and am ready to return as soon as possible!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Waterfront,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly staff, clean, the p ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, friendly staff, clean, the place to be!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve dinner

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was good and pasta dishes were ama ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steak was good and pasta dishes were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service excellent food/wine. G ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service excellent food/wine. Great evening and good way to start the holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good every visit!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and good every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and atmosphere of the restauran ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and atmosphere of the restaurant were wonderful. Our waiter was not the best. We had to ask for refills every time and he seemed to act like it was a chore to help us. He was rushed it seemed. The restaurant was not crowded on this Tuesday evening so I am baffled a bit what the problem was. We did enjoy our meals. The portions were nice size and food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food and service as always. L ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service as always. Love Baxter's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Christmas Eve eve dinner date togeth ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our Christmas Eve eve dinner date together! Wonderful food, great service, perfectly mixed drinks! And the view as always was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there twice recently and both ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We've been there twice recently and both times our shrimp cocktail was wonderful and KC strip steak delicious! Service is always great!

Prices are moderate and good value for food quality... enjoyed my cosmopolitan drink! We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baxter's never disappoints and always de ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Baxter's never disappoints and always delivers a wonderful eating experience. The staff is always knowledgeable and attentive. The food is so pleasing to the palate!! There is something for everyone on this menu!!! The location overlooking the Lake of the Ozarks is breathtaking and so are the sunsets! You just can't beat Baxter's for the view, the service and especially the food!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great from the service to ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything was great from the service to the tasting of the food. Not to mention, the view was FANTASTIC. Best view at the lake!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant at Lake of the O ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks!! Food is always great and you know it will be super quality. Service is outstanding. They have the best of everything from food to drinks and service is always excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usual good food and service. a bit nois ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Usual good food and service. a bit noisy. wish they would invest in ceiling noise dampening.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing! Great choices pre ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was amazing! Great choices prepared and presented with excellence. Our server was on top of everything without being intrusive. Wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service. Best res ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always great food and service. Best restaurant at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Baxter's is a great place for great dini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Baxter's is a great place for great dining. We have been there several times and have never had bad service or a bad meal. Well worth the effort if you are in the area.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's is on a bluff overlooking the b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Baxter's is on a bluff overlooking the beautiful Lake of the Ozarks. We timed our dinner so we could enjoy sunset through their large windows. The restaurant honored our request for the best seat in the house...the corner table giving us the most panoramic view. Our waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about both the menu and the wine list. The food was delicious, nicely plated and very generous servings. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a very pleasant experience w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It's always a very pleasant experience when we dine at Baxters. Not once since they've opened have we

been disappointed. One of my favorites is the Salmon! Love the tuna, as well as the yummy ahi tuna salad. Our son loves the meatloaf and pasta dishes. Beef is a favorite of my husband's.

A perk is that the owner and staff are so welcoming and professional. The best staff at the lake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I have booked a ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is the second time I have booked a business lunch at Baxter's and both times I have been impressed with the food and atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Second visit. Excellent dining experienc ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Second visit. Excellent dining experience. Could not be happier with the food and service. No better place to watch a sunset.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place we stopped by after being re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place we stopped by after being recommended it from the hotel. Defintely home made food!

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for my husband's birthday on Sat ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday on Saturday. We had a reservation and we were seated promptly. We have been there many times before and the service was somewhat lacking this time. It took quite a while to receive our drinks. In fact, we had our appetizer before our drinks came. The food was good but the menu is kind of limited. I would go more often if they changed their menu occasionally or at least had more daily specials. Food was good. It choices are limited.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Been here many time, always a great expe ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Been here many time, always a great experience, excellent service, diverse menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we're on our way to Columbia fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Whenever we're on our way to Columbia for business, we work in a stop at Baxter's. Never fails to delight!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant at the lake. Gre ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the lake. Great food and service at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal we ordered was outstanding! St ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The meal we ordered was outstanding! Steaks cooked to perfection and the baked potato was still hot after we finished our steaks!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An enjoyable dining experience. xxxxxxx ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An enjoyable dining experience. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting and dined later at nigh ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were visiting and dined later at night. We could not see the lake, so the view would have been fabulous earlier in the night, our fault! The food was just okay, not fabulous. It was our anniversary and they did not acknowledge it at all. Just an okay night, would try again in the summer for the view and maybe a more casual choice of dinner selection.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome as always -- so blessed to have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Awesome as always -- so blessed to have Baxters open year round!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service for our special occasion! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service for our special occasion! We really enjoyed ourselves! Thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd trip to Baxter's Lakesid ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 3rd trip to Baxter's Lakeside and we keep coming back for the food and the great service. If you only had time for one meal at the lake, I would make it a Baxter's experience. The food is served hot and they are very conscientious about the display of the food. The first 2 times I reserved through open table and the last time I made a call into the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was superb as per usual, but two thin ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was superb as per usual, but two things can be greatly improved upon. One is eating a long black hair I pulled out of my mouth. :( The second is the finesse of waiters.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I love the energetic vibe in the bar! B ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love the energetic vibe in the bar! Bartenders and drinks were wow...dirty goose martini and a grey goose sea breeze. Dinner was delicious...filet and sea bass! They have a nice wine selection. We had a bottle of Rutherford's merlot. Can't wait to come back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are from the KC area, and frequently ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are from the KC area, and frequently dine at Baxter's. It's our "favorite" restaurant at the lake, and the menu, staff, and management always exceed our expectations!

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to place at the lake. Fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our go-to place at the lake. Food is always good, view is outstanding. It is always clean, attentive wait staff, great variety of food and drink choices. Great, comfortable activity level in bar and restaurant. Ted is always there to keep things running well and of high quality. Our favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, , People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.