About Baxter's Lakeside Grille

2124 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

An authentic American restaurant with a great bar - that's the idea behind Baxter's. We're perfect for just about any dining occasion or gathering that calls for great food, warm, personal service and an
inviting, casual atmosphere. Our classic American restaurant builds on the rich history and tradition
the Lake Area is known for. We use only the finest, freshest ingredients, coupled with personal service and warm, inviting surroundings. We're happy to bring this dining experience to the Lake of the Ozarks. Baxter's is the perfect place for a business or casual lunch, a special evening out, a family get together after a long day on the Lake, or 'just
because.' We can accommodate most any group from an intimate dinner for two to a business or family party in our private dining room. And don't forget our classic American bar, one of the Lake's great places to meet friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday thru Thursday 4:00pm - 9:30pm Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed Monday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-2669

Website:
http://www.baxterslakesidegrille.com/

Catering:
Our catering options are customized to meet your needs. Prepared trays to full service dinners. Please call Corey Roberts at 573-365-2669 for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is onsite as well as a shared lot with First National Bank, an adjacent lot to the right. For additional over flow a lot is accross the street in front of the post office. Valet is available weekends during the summer season.

Executive Chef:
Corey Roberts

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room Seats 16. Perfect for business or family gatherings

Private Party Contact:
Corey Roberts: 5733652669x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our Bar and Restaurant are available for your next function. Please call Corey Roberts for pricing and options 573-365-2669

Restaurant Photos

Buffalo Chicken Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Shrimp Gumbo - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Spinach Artichoke Dip - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Cowboy Rib Steak - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Crab Cakes - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Calamari - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Bltc Sandwich - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Seared Tuna Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Cedar Plank Salmon - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Potato Soup - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Baxter's Sirloin Steak - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Blackened Shrimp Salad - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO
Bone In Ribeye - Baxter's Lakeside Grille, Lake Ozark, MO

Baxter's Lakeside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Special Occasion (47)
Waterfront (39)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
1010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place we stopped by after being re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place we stopped by after being recommended it from the hotel. Defintely home made food!

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for my husband's birthday on Sat ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday on Saturday. We had a reservation and we were seated promptly. We have been there many times before and the service was somewhat lacking this time. It took quite a while to receive our drinks. In fact, we had our appetizer before our drinks came. The food was good but the menu is kind of limited. I would go more often if they changed their menu occasionally or at least had more daily specials. Food was good. It choices are limited.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Been here many time, always a great expe ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Been here many time, always a great experience, excellent service, diverse menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whenever we're on our way to Columbia fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Whenever we're on our way to Columbia for business, we work in a stop at Baxter's. Never fails to delight!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant at the lake. Gre ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the lake. Great food and service at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal we ordered was outstanding! St ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The meal we ordered was outstanding! Steaks cooked to perfection and the baked potato was still hot after we finished our steaks!

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An enjoyable dining experience. xxxxxxx ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An enjoyable dining experience. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting and dined later at nigh ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were visiting and dined later at night. We could not see the lake, so the view would have been fabulous earlier in the night, our fault! The food was just okay, not fabulous. It was our anniversary and they did not acknowledge it at all. Just an okay night, would try again in the summer for the view and maybe a more casual choice of dinner selection.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome as always -- so blessed to have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Awesome as always -- so blessed to have Baxters open year round!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service for our special occasion! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service for our special occasion! We really enjoyed ourselves! Thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd trip to Baxter's Lakesid ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 3rd trip to Baxter's Lakeside and we keep coming back for the food and the great service. If you only had time for one meal at the lake, I would make it a Baxter's experience. The food is served hot and they are very conscientious about the display of the food. The first 2 times I reserved through open table and the last time I made a call into the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was superb as per usual, but two thin ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

It was superb as per usual, but two things can be greatly improved upon. One is eating a long black hair I pulled out of my mouth. :( The second is the finesse of waiters.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I love the energetic vibe in the bar! B ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love the energetic vibe in the bar! Bartenders and drinks were wow...dirty goose martini and a grey goose sea breeze. Dinner was delicious...filet and sea bass! They have a nice wine selection. We had a bottle of Rutherford's merlot. Can't wait to come back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are from the KC area, and frequently ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We are from the KC area, and frequently dine at Baxter's. It's our "favorite" restaurant at the lake, and the menu, staff, and management always exceed our expectations!

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go-to place at the lake. Fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our go-to place at the lake. Food is always good, view is outstanding. It is always clean, attentive wait staff, great variety of food and drink choices. Great, comfortable activity level in bar and restaurant. Ted is always there to keep things running well and of high quality. Our favorite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation on Open Table beca ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We made a reservation on Open Table because we were busy with tourist activities during the day. The restaurant called and left a voicemail to confirm our reservation, which we did not receive because we were busy with other things during the day. When we arrived (5 minutes early), we were told they had to "reset" our table because we hadn't returned their phone call. To me, this defeats the purpose of the restaurant participating in an online reservation system. We booked online because we did not have the ability to call on the phone. They were haughty and rude.

This continued on with the service from our waiter. When we asked questions about menu items or preparations, we got responses such as, "probably not" or "We don't do that". One small example was with two scoops of ice cream for three kids and asking about splitting that into three bowls. We were told they were not able to accommodate that request...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Have been to Baxters twice when visiting ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Have been to Baxters twice when visiting friends who have a condo at the lake. Both times the food was delicious and the service warm and friendly. We enjoyed our meals thoroughly--both times. Love that you take reservations. Makes a difference and when you pair that with offering nice food in a beautiful atmosphere--can't be beat at Lake of the Ozarks. It is a favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great view of Lake atop cliff. Very good ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great view of Lake atop cliff. Very good food, good variety, reasonably priced for higher end restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Baxter's is consistently good! We had t ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Baxter's is consistently good! We had the filet and it was like butter, it was SO tender. We love the round tables that accommodate a larger party because it allows you able to visit better. Great view and always great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A group of us were at the lake for a con ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

A group of us were at the lake for a conference and someone recommended Baxter's to us. I made a reservation for us and we were seated right on time. The waitress was very attentive and the service was excellent. The food was great! Each of our group loved their meals. I had the KC strip and it was one of the best steaks I have had in a long time. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as usual. Beauti ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and service as usual. Beautiful sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. Great place. Will ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding as always. Great place. Will always recommend this place to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from our waitstaff -- ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service from our waitstaff -- very attentive. Food better than good, not quite great, but was above expectations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good. They were out o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was very good. They were out of some items but we would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made the trip to Baxters from Kansas Cit ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Made the trip to Baxters from Kansas City specifically because it's our favorite restraint. Celebrating a birthday, we made reservations ahead of time for a table with a perfect sunset view and that is exactly what we got. The food, as always, was spot on. The service was amazing (Thank you Elie!) Lastly, the view and the sunset were perfect. Thank you goes out to the staff at Baxter's who make this our favorite destination for a dining getaway.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Baxter's is a wonderful restaurant with great food and service. Its menu is great and the chef does an outstanding job in quality and presentation. Love dining here!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, and the service ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food was delicious, and the service was amazing. A wonderful birthday dinner at a lovely restaurant!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baxter's appeared to be the true example ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Baxter's appeared to be the true example of fine dining at Lake of the Ozarks. The food was very good, the waitress pleasant and attentive and the overall appearance exceptional. Should we visit the area again we will definitely have dinner here again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday celebration ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration girls night ! The food was delicious although the birthday girl wanted walleye and it was not available. She had the salmon instead and said it was very good. The wait staff was excellent and attentive but not overly so. The one complaint we have was the sun was right in 2 of the ladies eyes for almost the entire meal. They had to wear their sunglasses in order to look up. I know this restaurant is known for it's view but perhaps the tables could be reconfigured . Don't know the solution but it was annoying for them.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed Baxters. The staff wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We really enjoyed Baxters. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. The hostess helped us get a table by the window so we could watch the sunset. We booked a table through OpenTable on our drive down to the lake and had no problem with the reservation. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our 41st anniversary with ...

 
·Dined on October 5, 2016

We celebrated our 41st anniversary with another couple. What a special time we had and dinner was awesome.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food are alway wonderful. T ...

 
·Dined on October 3, 2016

Service and food are alway wonderful.

The spectacular view is an added bonus to a great dinning experience.

Our server Anna Marie was engaging and efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our annual visit to Baxter's duri ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had our annual visit to Baxter's during a visit to the Osage Beach area. Great experience as always. I enjoyed the halibut, while my husband had a steak. The view of the lake is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was served hot and delicious! ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was served hot and delicious! The service was attentive and gracious. I would recommend Baxter's for any special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked our reservations on open table ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We booked our reservations on open table for the first time and everything went great. Our table was ready on time even on a Saturday night. We visit Baxter every time we are in town and can't say enough about the place. This is how things should work,make a reservation and go eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views, best food experience!!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Beautiful views, best food experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we go to the Lake of the Ozar ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Every time we go to the Lake of the Ozarks we make time to go to Baxter's. In our opinion, best dining in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food , great view, great service. ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food , great view, great service. This is one that I definitely want to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good. Excellent breadth of ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always very good. Excellent breadth of menu items. Busy, a bit noisy. A little impersonal when compared to Bentley's, but a good choice for a broader menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We eat at restaurants for their good fo ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We eat at restaurants for their good food and nice atmosphere. What else can I say - Baxter's Lakeside Grille does a great job.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.