About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: 2017981798

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Jersey City ›

scenic view (118)
special occasion (86)
romantic (80)
See All
great for outdoor dining (72)
fit for foodies (67)
good for groups (60)
great for lunch (46)
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (40)
great for brunch (40)
vibrant bar scene (30)
notable wine list (26)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday cel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday celebration on the water that my family will never forget. Super friendly servers and a really in-depth seafood menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful; close to perfe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful; close to perfect for a Sunday evening. Our server, Tammy, was terrific handling my (hearing impaired and eccentric) mother-inl-law with the highest level of patience. Our apps, entrees and desserts were all four starts, the mussels were devoured in minutes upon arrival. My one suggestion would be to makes the 'wines by the glass' more clearly summarized or promoted on winelist....Older wine drinkers will not order it if they cannot read it or find it on menu. :-) We cannot wait to go back to Battello.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They made us wait for more than 30 min o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They made us wait for more than 30 min our dinner. And they just react when I asked for the check. Only saying "sorry"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Phenomenal in e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Phenomenal in every way!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Battello on a Thursday evening ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I visited Battello on a Thursday evening with my friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. I was little disappointed with the overall experience, mainly because of the service. I needed some information on the appetizer that we ordered but the server's description was just not adequate enough. Plus he was not very attentive to our table. Food was also just average. I have been to other high end restaurants in that area before and they had way more variety of food with much better taste. We ended up ordering seafood tower, Pignolu crusted halibut and prawns scampi (may be other dishes taste different). Anyhow, the best thing was the view. I would recommend this place to people who wants to just hang out in the bar and enjoy the view.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Went here twice in our 4-days in Jersey ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went here twice in our 4-days in Jersey City! One of the best on this side of the Hudson.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is to die for and the food is o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The view is to die for and the food is outstanding. 4 people no duplicates apps, pasta, entree and dessert and not one dish was subpar. Go now - just make sure you have a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location being on the water surroun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Nice location being on the water surrounded by boats. The food was prepared different and really good. I would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My comment is good, so I go there twice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My comment is good, so I go there twice in my trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

words cannot describe how fabulous every ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

words cannot describe how fabulous every detail was. we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out! Good vibes!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great night out! Good vibes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular view of the Lower Manhattan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Spectacular view of the Lower Manhattan skyline especially on a clear evening.

Well prepared food, a good menu with accent on sea food and Italian specialties.

Attentive service and not to noisy.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expected more. View & ambiance very nic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Expected more. View & ambiance very nice, but food & service were just ok. Very expensive. Maybe good for corporate events. We went for my wife's birthday, and enjoyed the place just enough because of the river. That takes it to 3 stars.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A spectacular view accompanied by excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A spectacular view accompanied by excellent food makes for a very special occasion. Add on seamless service and a relaxed ambiance, and it's a wrap!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to see the 4th of July fireworks ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went to see the 4th of July fireworks and were not disappointed The food was excellent and the view spectacular . Service was great too we will definitely be back soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite disappointed with the food - did n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Quite disappointed with the food - did not order an entrée after receiving stale bread during the appetizer round!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had an excellent time at Batello. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had an excellent time at Batello. The view is realy amazing. We were there for brunch on 4th of July, and it was not very crowded, however the patio was almost full. The staff was very friendly and the food very good. We will definitely come back and recommend Batello to our friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. Food and service are goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful view. Food and service are good. Will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a beautiful night the view of Manhatt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

On a beautiful night the view of Manhattan is unsurpassed. It looks as if you can touch the World Trade Center.

Logistics were an issue, despite a prominent sign it was unclear that we were able to drive onto the pier for the restaurant.

Wondeful to visit here, but tough for New Yorkers because it is right outside the Holland tunnel

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent. People where ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was excellent. People where very helpful. It was our anniversary and we told the restaurant when we made the reservation. It was clearly communicated to the staff and they gave us great treatment.

Evan was a pleasure.

Food was very good with creative presentation without being over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for lunch on a weekday. We are b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for lunch on a weekday. We are big fans of Fascino , so we tried this. It is every bit as good as Ryan's first place. We both has a black pepper pasta with shrimp. Delicious! The food took a while to come from the kitchen but, was well worth the wait. The setting is amazing. You are on a pier with yachts on either side and New York skyline in front. This is a definite place to try and return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food! And the drinks are invent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing food! And the drinks are inventive and strong.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing ambience. Wings were creative an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing ambience. Wings were creative and quite good. Oysters were tiny, bland and overpriced. Burger was average at best. But I got a chilled soup that was horrendous. I took a spoon and couldn't have a sip more. My wife couldn't get past a taste. The worst part was our waitress coming by several times and seeing me with a full bowl yet never acknowledging it. When we got our check, she didn't ask me if I wanted it packed. So she knew we didn't like it. But never offered any remedy. We won't go back for anything except drinks in a nice environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

We had such a lovely dinner and enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had such a lovely dinner and enjoyed every minute from sitting down until we finished our meal. I loved our waitress (Chelsea?) and she was very attentive but gave us our space. We never felt rushed and just really enjoyed the scenic views, our conversation and had an absolutely wonderful meal. The scallops were absolutely the best I've ever had and my husband had the hangar steak which was just delicious. Would absolutely go again and again and again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was our first time. Will surely return, ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Was our first time. Will surely return,

even for just drinks. Clientele mostly over age 30. Staff accomodated our seating request. Surprised us with Dessert 'on the house' for our Anniversary. Lovely dinner and you cant beat the view of NYC! Recommended if in downtown Jersey City.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Wednesday evening, and stil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We went on a Wednesday evening, and still it was crowded and LOUD beyond "lively".

Service was spotty, very pleasant but slow, dishes didn't always match the menu description, altho nicely prepared , bread was surprisingly dry and almost stale. It's a very pretty place, always hopping with energy which is great for a bar scene, but for dining? not so much.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Amazing! We Will definitely be ! I can't ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing! We Will definitely be ! I can't wait to tell everyone I know about this wonderful place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Battello for Father's Day Dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Visited Battello for Father's Day Dinner--booked via OpenTable based on the ambiance and location. The view of the Manhattan skyline did not disappoint, the restaurant is beautiful and the views along the marina are breathtaking. I ordered the gnocchi and it was very good, but the portions were a bit smaller than expected. However, I would definitely come back for dinner and drinks again since it's such a beautiful and accessible spot.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful setting and awesome views. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting and awesome views. We had a lovely father's day dinner.The service was excellent and the food very good

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice to celebrate my boyfriends bir ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice to celebrate my boyfriends birthday and the waitress was kind enough to bring a birthday dessert on the house which made the night special! Beautiful view and ambiance inside the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Absolutely outstanding! Their staff has ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! Their staff has been so kind and dedicated in supporting me due to having celiac disease. For the first time, I can pick relatively anything on the menu and the chef (and staff) adjusts it so I can eat safely. We've enjoyed having family dinners there and romantic nights out. Thank you so much Battello!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the view, the service--all imp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food, the view, the service--all impeccable. JAVIER is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our overall experience with Batello was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our overall experience with Batello was okay, not impressed at all. The service is okay to horrible. We waited over 20 minutes before someone came over to our table, and we did look around they did have enough staff but no one seemed to care and at least come and greet our table. If you are driving, there is a $10 parking fee. Will I go back? Maybe the food and ambiance of the place is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

A lovely special place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was dreamy with the sail boats rocking and a spectacular view of the Hudson and NYC. Truly a Jersey City neighborhood jewel. We had a seafood tower for two and a lovely French rose`. Thank you for the excellent dinner and service. It was my significant other's birthday and we had a blast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Views, Great Staff!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Fantastic dining experience thanks to Tami our waitress; the manager also came in regularly to check in on us.. My wife and I went on a Tuesday night for our wedding anniversary and they were able to acccomodate our request for a table outside with a view in the corner. We had a great time an enjoyed the experience. Food was good not great but the ambiance and surroundings were fantastic. The guard at the parking entrance was a bit of a tool.. he said there were no parking spots available however some of the livery drivers that were there due to a special event waived us in saying there were plenty of spots. I think we woke up the guard from his nap. Highly recommend to try this place at least once. I would even come back if I'm in Jersey City again.. we live in Manhattan so we don't get over to JC that often.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday - Battello

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great view of NYC, great service. The food is good but not outstanding.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Battello should change their name to BARtello

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, the place was very crowded in the bar area and outside with the special happy hour deal they have. The dining room is only separated from the bar area by a wall of glass-lit jars, and our table was against this wall of jars, so boisterous bar conversations spilled over into the dining area, making it very difficult to carry on a conversation. What made matters worse was the insistence of our not so pleasant waiter that we needed to order our appetizer and entree rounds together due to the busyness of the kitchen. Well it didn't matter because both courses took a very long time to come out and our unattentive waiter could care less and the poor service reflected that. The food was delicious but was overshadowed by the ambiance.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

food want's that impressive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Menu is limited, and for the price and location they could offer a more refined menu. Quality and quantity was OK.

Service is impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for my boyfriend's bday. Staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Went for my boyfriend's bday. Staff was friendly food and drinks were great, and views were awesome! It was a Thursday night so happy hour specials and live music played until about 8:30. Overall great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. Service was friendly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was very good. Service was friendly and attentive. The noise level inside the restaurant (we were seated in area away from bar) was painfully high. We couldn't hear each other speaking. There was a live musician playing which didn't help.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.