About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: 2017981798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Jersey - North
Most Booked
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Jersey City ›

Scenic View (114)
Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (74)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for Groups (53)
Great for Lunch (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Brunch (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Octopus as appetizer is amazing. Pasta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Octopus as appetizer is amazing. Pasta and lobster Risotto is very tasteful with reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food, awesome view

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is wonderful. The hostess s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The ambience is wonderful. The hostess staff are super polite. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Took a prospective business colleague to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took a prospective business colleague to Batello for Dinner. We opted for dining outside which was great. The outdoor dining space is covered yet open and right out at the end of the pier so it gives you a great view of the New York skyline across the river. The wine list is a bit short but they do have a nice list of available beers as well. We both had the lobster risotto which was phenomenal. We almost bypassed dessert, but in the end I'm glad we didn't. It was equally amazing. Service throughout was terrific. The restaurant overall is very popular with local business folks, especially on a Thursday night. So if you're planning an dinner I'd recommend reservations. Be ready for an energetic scene as well, it definitely gets busy and is not quiet.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and view were both amazing. Service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and view were both amazing. Service was awful and AC was off, only the fans were on to keep us cool. I was sweating while I was eating my lunch, couldn't wait to finish and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great attentive service and delicious fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great attentive service and delicious food. And the view is spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great views, vibrant scene, incredible f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great views, vibrant scene, incredible food and attentive wait staff. Battello hit all the marks, and made for a great dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The view of the freedom tower was amazin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view of the freedom tower was amazing. Food was good. Service was somewhat slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had great food and wonderful vistas a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had great food and wonderful vistas and terrific service!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice location in jersey city on the wate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

nice location in jersey city on the water. The views of NYC were beautiful. The food was good, we had the crab cake and wedge salad to start. both were really tasty. For entree's we had the lobster risotto which was really great! The portion was actually more than i thought i would get so that was nice. My husband had the gnocchi pasta and that was delicious as well. I had the pineapple cocktail they offer which was great. My husband had the one with basil and that was also great! He ordered a glass of red wine which took a while to come out but our server apologized and gave us a glass on the house, which was really nice of them. For dessert we had the chocolate souffle type dessert which was also very delicious. I would definitely go back for a special occasion it is a bit pricey but it was a nice night out.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I remember this restaurant before the ne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I remember this restaurant before the new owners took over and made it Battello...which I am very glad they did. It has a very wanderlust ambience from the décor and marina location. I would go for the location and décor alone as it makes a great conversation setting. The food is average for the type of genre; nothing I would come back just to have again. It's great for a business dinner, date night, catching up with friends and post work happy hour with your coworkers....and especially if you just want to stop by for wine and dessert. My service here was subpar on multiple occasions....staff rarely stop by to check on your table.....and you wait forever for every request which I would not recommend if you plan on spending your lunch hour here. Overall, I would still recommend this as the pros definitely outweigh the cons. So, grab a pal or loved one, reserve a table and create some memories!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

The service is very slow. We sat down a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service is very slow. We sat down and were asked before we even had menus what we wanted to drink. We asked for a minute to look at the menu and decide but instead of a minute, we were given 25 minutes. The drinks took another 15 to arrive after ordering those. 40 minutes in before we had anything to drink. Not a good start. The food, however, was above average and the setting is pleasant with great views.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had brunch here last week and loved i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had brunch here last week and loved it! The chicken and waffles and short rib with truffled sour cream panini were standouts. We also tasted the steak and eggs and French toast which were both very tasty. My only complaint was that we had to continuously get our waiters attention. Nice guy but I could tell he was swamped- maybe they were understaffed for brunch? Regardless, The view is stunning and the food was delicious! We'll be back for the seafood tower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Outdoor dining gives you a fantastic vie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outdoor dining gives you a fantastic view of Manhattan. Great bar area. Wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was fantastic. Our waiter was very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. Our waiter was very good. All 6 people at our table had the chef's tasting menu. Everything was delicious and the portions were generous. The only issue we had was a very long wait between some of the courses. We were glad not to be rushed through our meal, though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place has really turned around sin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place has really turned around since it opened . The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful with the best view of the city . You won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited this restaurant with my wife b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I visited this restaurant with my wife based on the view and food reviews. We made a reservation with view to the city and it was ready at the time we arrived. The food was very good but the waiting time between the appetizer and the main course was huge. Maybe 25-30 minutes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We reserved a table by the side of the b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We reserved a table by the side of the board walk. The view was great. However we were not surprised by it because of the water front residents. We started witty oysters which is a great disappointment. They were so very small and paper thin. We recommend against it.

Tuna and crab cake are good, but the sauce for the crab cake is too dry and bland.

Targliatelle is salty and the clam has sand in it. Strongly urge the staff do a better job of cleaning them.

Halibut and tuna are generally good and crispy. Still would be better if salt level is controlled. For scallops, if fried three seconds more and leave it to the residual heat, it would have been texturally perfect.

Service is good and within expectations.

Given the experience yesterday, doubtful if I ever have the drive to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

It was okay. To start we made reservatio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was okay.

To start we made reservations thru open table, parking was easy to acquire on a Wednesday night. Normally valet is $10.

To start we got the Burrata heirloom appetizer which was really tasty ($14).

For the entree I ordered the dinner portion of the egg fettuccine ($25) which just didn't have enough flavor. It was quite bland and definitely was missing something. It was not worth the $25. My husband got the chicken entree ($27) which was pretty standard, again nothing amazing.

Service was polite but forgetful and at times slow. They carry a house wine, which the waiter offered a sample of but never brought to our table. We ended up getting a $39 bottle of wine which was excellent.

The 2 cocktails we got were decent but not worth the $12 as they tasted very watered down. $12 is a craft cocktail and these just did not taste that great.

We asked for the dessert menu but then decided to opt out of it because for the prices we just didn't feel that the food was that great. $11 for dessert didn't seem worth the price or calories.

The waiter made no conversation and was very robotic and dull. It was actually our anniversary and if he had bothered to ask or just talk to us we would have shared the info. He could have cared less and just wanted us to order, get our food and get out.

The view is nice but you can see the same view anywhere on Washington Ave/along the pier.

Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

-----------------Good food. ----------- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

-----------------Good food.

----------------Just too long to have order taken((15 min).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday cel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday celebration on the water that my family will never forget. Super friendly servers and a really in-depth seafood menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful; close to perfe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful; close to perfect for a Sunday evening. Our server, Tammy, was terrific handling my (hearing impaired and eccentric) mother-inl-law with the highest level of patience. Our apps, entrees and desserts were all four starts, the mussels were devoured in minutes upon arrival. My one suggestion would be to makes the 'wines by the glass' more clearly summarized or promoted on winelist....Older wine drinkers will not order it if they cannot read it or find it on menu. :-) We cannot wait to go back to Battello.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They made us wait for more than 30 min o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They made us wait for more than 30 min our dinner. And they just react when I asked for the check. Only saying "sorry"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Phenomenal in e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Phenomenal in every way!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good has improved ..menu has changed ..g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good has improved ..menu has changed ..good wine selection .. Great happy hour and live music..

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visited Battello on a Thursday evening ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I visited Battello on a Thursday evening with my friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. I was little disappointed with the overall experience, mainly because of the service. I needed some information on the appetizer that we ordered but the server's description was just not adequate enough. Plus he was not very attentive to our table. Food was also just average. I have been to other high end restaurants in that area before and they had way more variety of food with much better taste. We ended up ordering seafood tower, Pignolu crusted halibut and prawns scampi (may be other dishes taste different). Anyhow, the best thing was the view. I would recommend this place to people who wants to just hang out in the bar and enjoy the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Went here twice in our 4-days in Jersey ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went here twice in our 4-days in Jersey City! One of the best on this side of the Hudson.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is to die for and the food is o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The view is to die for and the food is outstanding. 4 people no duplicates apps, pasta, entree and dessert and not one dish was subpar. Go now - just make sure you have a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location being on the water surroun ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Nice location being on the water surrounded by boats. The food was prepared different and really good. I would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My comment is good, so I go there twice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My comment is good, so I go there twice in my trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Although we requested a table by the wat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Although we requested a table by the water and came very early in a week day, around 5:30pm, it took a bit of persistence to get seated by the water. Tables were available, not just as they intended to use them. The food was good and the service otherwise great, just wished they were more customer service oriented when it comes to satisfying sitting requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

words cannot describe how fabulous every ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

words cannot describe how fabulous every detail was. we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out! Good vibes!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great night out! Good vibes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular view of the Lower Manhattan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Spectacular view of the Lower Manhattan skyline especially on a clear evening.

Well prepared food, a good menu with accent on sea food and Italian specialties.

Attentive service and not to noisy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expected more. View & ambiance very nic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Expected more. View & ambiance very nice, but food & service were just ok. Very expensive. Maybe good for corporate events. We went for my wife's birthday, and enjoyed the place just enough because of the river. That takes it to 3 stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A spectacular view accompanied by excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A spectacular view accompanied by excellent food makes for a very special occasion. Add on seamless service and a relaxed ambiance, and it's a wrap!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to see the 4th of July fireworks ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went to see the 4th of July fireworks and were not disappointed The food was excellent and the view spectacular . Service was great too we will definitely be back soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite disappointed with the food - did n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Quite disappointed with the food - did not order an entrée after receiving stale bread during the appetizer round!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had an excellent time at Batello. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had an excellent time at Batello. The view is realy amazing. We were there for brunch on 4th of July, and it was not very crowded, however the patio was almost full. The staff was very friendly and the food very good. We will definitely come back and recommend Batello to our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. Food and service are goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful view. Food and service are good. Will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.