About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: (201) 798-1798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Spend this Valentine’s Day gazing at the NYC skyline over the Hudson while enjoying Battello's charming ambiance and Chef Ryan DePersio’s delectable three-course prix-fixe menu, offered at $85 per person, complemented by an optional wine pairing at $25 ($50/reserve). Seating is limited; book today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (45)
Scenic View (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Modern Decor (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Live Music (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food- service was very uneven. Att ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food- service was very uneven. Attentive staff but it took over an hour be served on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome place awesome food i like theme ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Awesome place awesome food i like theme

Very good service the guy is awesome he's give as very nice service

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience Enjoyed the foo ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great dining experience

Enjoyed the food and the service

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great but the food and ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ambiance was great but the food and drinks were ok. Service was impersonal and when asked for recommendations, the waiter had none.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Sami, our waiter was incredible . We had ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sami, our waiter was incredible . We had an excellent time, the food was great and we cannot wait to be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy to bring my date, I would I l ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very happy to bring my date, I would I like tonswe more personable option for a bday event or any other event.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chop was absolutely delicious. ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

The pork chop was absolutely delicious. It was not only cooked to perfection, but paired well with the sweet potato puree. By far, one of the best entrees I have had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

went with friends from washington [our t ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

went with friends from washington [our two daughters plus their kids 12 and 7] Table was ready as planned menu comprehensive and service faultless. Great view good food what more would anyone want.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My boyfriend and I had a blissful time d ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a blissful time dining at Battello for his birthday. The restaurant is charming, warm, and cozy with beautiful views of the marina and Manhattan skyline. Unlike many restaurants where the view should suffice for the experience, Battello matches it's views with superb dining. Sami, our waiter was attentive and personable catering to our needs consistently. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great all around!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice location and view of manhattan, but ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice location and view of manhattan, but make sure you are seated next to the window, or else there is not much of a view.

Food is average compared to the price you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Forget the food was great, the service w ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Forget the food was great, the service was excellent, the live music was enjoyable and the parking is free in Jersey City ! The VIEW is to die for. You jut keep thinking that despite all the hassles of living in New Jersey, very few people in this world get to view what patrons of Battello see while dining. Lower Manhattan is Dorothy's view of the Emerald City. It is as if you are floating "on the Hudson", actually you are but on a stable pier. Add great service and reasonable pricing and it is a MUST GO TO !

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food that look lik ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent service and food that look like a work of art and tastes amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Certainly, the most appealing feature of ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Certainly, the most appealing feature of Battello is the view of the lower Manhattan skyline. At the end of a pier and with little obstruction, Manhattan appears in the wall of windows looking out on the Hudson River. We were there for lunch mid-week and there was light patronage, however I have to complement the service staff who were accommodating and friendly. The food was very good, but pricing out with the gratuity at $300 for lunch (4) I expected something more extraordinary. Avoid the seafood tower ($95 for 4 people) which was light on the quantity of items at that price. The main lunch items were delicious and well prepared, but quite pricey. Oh, and the cocktails were excellent . . many kudos to the bar staff for some creative mixes . . also pricey, but in this case worth the extra money. I imagine this place is spectacular (and probably crowded) at night, but it is open and roomy and I suspect a real hot spot.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good to excellent, just wi ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very good to excellent, just wished we would have gotten a table with a view that had been requested 2 weeks prior, and should have been honored as it was not that busy and drove over an hour to get there. Got seated next to servers station which was a bit distracting. Service was good. Would return again but best if seated on patio area

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a wonderful dinner here celebrating ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here celebrating a birthday! Asked for a table near the water and the View did NOT disappoint ! The service was wonderful and the food delicious! Was a lively scene with the most spectacular NYC skyline view! Will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just two hours after eating my daughter ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Just two hours after eating my daughter was sick as a dog and was for 24 hours. She had the beef tartare which is not hard to get right if you are using the freshest cuts... She hadn't eaten anything but lunch at Battello that day so we know for a fact it was from here. Great location and otherwise food is good but there is no more damning a thing than a restaurant giving you a bout of food poisoning. She's fine now but heartbreaking to watch her so ill ... Beware or just stick to really 'safe' dishes like the burger etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Beautiful restaurant right on the water. ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Beautiful restaurant right on the water. Views can't be beat. Menu was limited but quite nice. I had the Black Sea Bass, which was delicious. A little pricey but you're paying for the ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The restaurant is beautiful, and was per ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, and was perfectly and tastefully decorated for the holidays. The view of Manhattan from inside Battello was just perfect. Food wise, the mussels, rigatoni and short ribs were all delicious! Our server, Javier, was well educated on the menu and wine pairings. He helped us make our selections and he was spot on. We will absolutely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Battello continues to be our favorite pl ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Battello continues to be our favorite place . Our server James was extremely attentive as well as the ancillary staff. The manager made a visit to our table to make sure we were enjoying our dining experience. Always a friendly and attentive staff . The food is exceptional . The view of manhattan is just icing on the cake

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall satisfactory. Except: Upon arriv ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall satisfactory. Except: Upon arrival, we waited for the receptionist to be done with her phone-call before being seated. 2) Although a party of two with reservations, choice of seating was cramped and drafty, amid many empty/available tables for four or more. Ultimately, we seated ourselves at a less cramped table (still drafty) for two in another corner of the dinning rm, dangerously close to an exposed electrical outlet; 3) Our waiter and chef were superbly attentive and informed and made for a delightful dining experience at Battello.

Suggestion: Pls consider diversification by incorporating "sampling" into your "brunch" menu. That's why we were there; somewhat disappointing to learn only available at dinnertime.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Spicy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, , Seasonal, Disabled Access, People Watching, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a lovely restaurant right on the wa ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

What a lovely restaurant right on the waterfront -- food was tasty; service was complimentary; portion size could be a little bit more hefty. Overall, it was a nice family Christmas Eve lunch celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I live in the neighborhood and arranged ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

I live in the neighborhood and arranged to meet a professional work colleague here for lunch. The dining room was very cold. Even though I was wearing boots and was sitting in sunlight my feet were uncomfortably cold.

The waiter was pleasant but inattentive. Forgot to bring bread to the table. Forgot to set a spoon for my companion's soup. Forgot to refill water glasses. It was even hard to get his attention after he had taken our order.

Drinks were OK. The food was nothing special. Considering the restaurant was not even 30% occupied when we sat down which should mean the kitchen had adequate time to prepare our dishes they seemed to be tossed together without much attention or effort.

Considering the price point I think there are much better dining values close by. The view does not compensate for all the restaurant's shortcomings. Perhaps that is why the place was not even 30% occupied at lunch on a weekday.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I enjoyed myself along with my another c ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

I enjoyed myself along with my another colleague and my manager. Good food and fast service and friendly staff. The view at the Marina was also great - watching the skyline of New York from Jersey City. Awesome!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and outstanding view

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed everything. It was worth more t ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed everything. It was worth more than I paid. Seafood tower is something special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, , Business Meals, Waterfront, Spicy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was presented well and tasted f ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was presented well and tasted fabulous--Cassandra was very attentive even though she was also waiting on a large party. Would definitely go back--

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views!

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

While everything was just about perfect ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

While everything was just about perfect (the food, the wine, the atmosphere) what really sold me was the wait staff. Our waiter was soooooo nice, and even remembered it was my boyfriend's birthday on a really off the cuff comment I made. When our cake came out with a "Happy Birthday" sign and a candle, I was so impressed. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were fortunate to eat here. Great ev ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were fortunate to eat here. Great evening view of downtown NYC, great service and tasty food make this a place we'd return to; if it's open that night! They are mainly an event location so they are not always open to the public; call first!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Katerina was an exceptional asset to my ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Katerina was an exceptional asset to my night. It was my husbands birthday and we had missed our flight back home, so making an impromptu reservation, Battello turned out to be the perfect dinner option. This restaurant has breath taking views of New York City, with its freedom tower shining bright ahead of you in the patio area. The indoor decor is very dimly lit and relaxing, creating the perfect ambiance for a sweet and tender evening. All in all, the Iron Skillet Steak (if that is what it was called) was cooked to perfection-for someone who likes rare meat, we all know just how hard it can be to get it just right. The crab cake was also to die for-and I don't even enjoy sea food. It seems like everything about this experience was just right, and I can't thank them enough for allowing me to turn my husband's day around in a different city, with a spectacular view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue with water and city view ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful venue with water and city views. Food was good..not excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Battello's is a restaurant that we would ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Battello's is a restaurant that we would definitely go back to. We had halibut and black sea bass and both were well made.

We also had the octopus for appetizer. It was very good. Very well made.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was friendly but far too fas ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was friendly but far too fast.

It is nice to take one's time sometimes !

We really got the impression to be rushed and that they couldn't wait to go home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Beautiful view from every angle (we sta ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful view from every angle (we started at 5:30 on a Sunday)lots of small flickering lights, the supermoon on this clear night created a spectacular view over the water...the grilled octopus appetizer was delicious:tender, well seasoned, moist, great grill flavor (even better than Varka's!)...the ricotta gnocchi with sausage bolognese sauce was delicious . Both selections were nice and hot, fresh. Would definitely have that again. My husband had the squash soup that was a bit too sweet. He also had the blackened sea bass over grilled squash that was tasty and very colorful. Would definitely eat there again and recommend this interesting spot

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Each dish we had was amazing (scallops, ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Each dish we had was amazing (scallops, porkchop and salad). Thanks for a fabulous meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent atmosphere with an astonishing ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent atmosphere with an astonishing view of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed my dinner with business colleagu ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Enjoyed my dinner with business colleagues. Lovely view and excellent steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere was amazing. The wai ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food and atmosphere was amazing. The waiter James was excellent. Overall 10/10 would go to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only does the restaurant have an ama ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Not only does the restaurant have an amazing view, it also has amazing interior decor and delicious food. Staff was friendly and attentive. We were here on a business dinner and would come here again for business or pleasure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.