About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: 2017981798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ
Battello, Jersey City, NJ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (44)
Waterfront (40)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Music (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were fortunate to eat here. Great ev ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were fortunate to eat here. Great evening view of downtown NYC, great service and tasty food make this a place we'd return to; if it's open that night! They are mainly an event location so they are not always open to the public; call first!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Katerina was an exceptional asset to my ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Katerina was an exceptional asset to my night. It was my husbands birthday and we had missed our flight back home, so making an impromptu reservation, Battello turned out to be the perfect dinner option. This restaurant has breath taking views of New York City, with its freedom tower shining bright ahead of you in the patio area. The indoor decor is very dimly lit and relaxing, creating the perfect ambiance for a sweet and tender evening. All in all, the Iron Skillet Steak (if that is what it was called) was cooked to perfection-for someone who likes rare meat, we all know just how hard it can be to get it just right. The crab cake was also to die for-and I don't even enjoy sea food. It seems like everything about this experience was just right, and I can't thank them enough for allowing me to turn my husband's day around in a different city, with a spectacular view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue with water and city view ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful venue with water and city views. Food was good..not excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Battello's is a restaurant that we would ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Battello's is a restaurant that we would definitely go back to. We had halibut and black sea bass and both were well made.

We also had the octopus for appetizer. It was very good. Very well made.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was friendly but far too fas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The service was friendly but far too fast.

It is nice to take one's time sometimes !

We really got the impression to be rushed and that they couldn't wait to go home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Beautiful view from every angle (we sta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful view from every angle (we started at 5:30 on a Sunday)lots of small flickering lights, the supermoon on this clear night created a spectacular view over the water...the grilled octopus appetizer was delicious:tender, well seasoned, moist, great grill flavor (even better than Varka's!)...the ricotta gnocchi with sausage bolognese sauce was delicious . Both selections were nice and hot, fresh. Would definitely have that again. My husband had the squash soup that was a bit too sweet. He also had the blackened sea bass over grilled squash that was tasty and very colorful. Would definitely eat there again and recommend this interesting spot

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Each dish we had was amazing (scallops, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Each dish we had was amazing (scallops, porkchop and salad). Thanks for a fabulous meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent atmosphere with an astonishing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Excellent atmosphere with an astonishing view of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed my dinner with business colleagu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Enjoyed my dinner with business colleagues. Lovely view and excellent steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere was amazing. The wai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food and atmosphere was amazing. The waiter James was excellent. Overall 10/10 would go to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only does the restaurant have an ama ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Not only does the restaurant have an amazing view, it also has amazing interior decor and delicious food. Staff was friendly and attentive. We were here on a business dinner and would come here again for business or pleasure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This place is a real gem! The ambiance i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This place is a real gem!

The ambiance is so beautiful and the food delicious.

The assistant manager was so personable and accommodating as was our server.

Completely satisfied with our dinner and will return soon!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had eaten here under prior ownership ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I had eaten here under prior ownership and wasnt impresed . So i figuredto try it out under new ownership.The food and service were good but as before disappointed with the ambiance. Take away the beautiful view of the city and youre left with with a large voluminous space without much character.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very attractive venue. Service a bit slo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very attractive venue. Service a bit slow on a Friday night but the food was worth waiting for. The halibut was very fresh and well prepared and portions were of reasonable size. The glassed in room on the waterfront does get a bit chilly, so bring a wrap or wear a sweater.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were thoroughly disappointed with Bat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were thoroughly disappointed with Battello. We went there for our anniversary dinner and were expecting better. The seafood tower was amazing, the ambiance was superb, but our waiter was terrible. We were there on Friday evening and understand that it was busy, but we saw our waiter 2 times, when you took our orders and when he gave us the check. We had the Bucatini pasta and it was okay. I ordered Lobster Risotto and it was decent. However, my girlfriend ordered the Fish special and literally had less than a couple bites. I took a bite of the fish to see if it was okay and it was beyond overcooked. Our server did not bother to come by the table to ask how was dinner, but a "runner" made a comment about why hadn't my girlfriend touched her fish, she informed him that it was not good and he subsequently (without our knowledge) to the Manager. I am not sure of the gentleman's name, the runner but he was awesome and provided great service all through night, which is why we tipped him more than the waiter. The manager came over asked about our meal, we were candid about it and he did comp the fish. All in all, we were extremely disappointed as this is supposed to be a "high end" restaurant in Jersey City. We actually previously discussed maybe getting married at Battello because of it's location and the ambiance, but now that is definitely not a consideration.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

This was our first time dining here, it ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was our first time dining here, it was my son's 21st birthday and I wanted a nice vibrant atmosphere as well as good food. Battello was everything and more! The food was excellent, we were seated at a table against one of the windows facing the NY skyline, even though it was a rainy night we still had a spectacular view!

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is exceptional. Incredible a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This place is exceptional. Incredible ambiance, beautiful scenery on the water, excellent service and good food. Some of the freshest oysters I've had in a long time.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View is awsome Foods are bit above aver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

View is awsome

Foods are bit above average

Atmosphere is great

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

For an evening out with friends, this is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

For an evening out with friends, this is an excellent place to come. The service, food, and wine list are all superb. Ensure you request an outside table with your reservation, it doesn't hurt to call and confirm your request. Come early to make sure you can get parking on the wharf, this is a popular place and the parking fills up quickly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Battello on numerous occa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have been to Battello on numerous occassions and I always leave with a smile on my face. The views of the harbor and NYC skyline are unbeatable. The food can be a little pricey, but everything I have eaten there has been exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Battelo's is way overpriced for the mini ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Battelo's is way overpriced for the miniscule portion size. Server was very nice, but I will not be back. If you charge high prices, you better serve good food and Much, much much more of it. I left hungry and had to go to a diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. We ate out on th ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was perfect. We ate out on the terrace and it was a perfect sunny, breezy day with excellent views of Manhattan. Very relaxing environment. Drinks and food were great. Our server, Katrina was amazing. We came in close to closing time (we were unaware lunch ended at 2:30) and she didn't make us feel rushed at all. It was our last day in NYC area and this was the perfect restaurant to end our trip on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was great for a first time. The ambian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I was great for a first time. The ambiance was amazing and the food was good. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I didnt like the fact the "Chef tasting ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I didnt like the fact the "Chef tasting" menu wasnt avaliable for one person and it didnt say anything about it on the website. Its either 2 ppl or you cant do it. Unless u pay $30 extra if you are ordering the steak which we were confused about because it says on the menu +$15.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have always enjoyed Battello. Food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have always enjoyed Battello. Food and service was always good but this time was very different. I had the lobster frittata and it had absolutely no flavor. The coffee was burnt. Tasted like it sat in the pot overnight! The waiter seemed as though it was his first day. Probably won't go back. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Knowledgeable staff who were able to rec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Knowledgeable staff who were able to recommend a good wine to pair with our meal (we both ordered the gnocchi half-serving which was delicious and the perfect amount.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my mother to brunch there for her b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Took my mother to brunch there for her birthday and she loved it the view is great has great service it's great for any ocasión lovely place

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Expansive wine and beer list ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great food. Expansive wine and beer list. Excellent service. Decor is interesting and engaging - very pretty.. Very loud, so not a place for an intimate conversation, but that should not dissuade from going. Overall, a great experience. And this was not my first, and not my last, visit!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food plus great view of the ci ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent food plus great view of the city.

Bustling but noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant. Beautiful view. Really ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great restaurant. Beautiful view. Really accommodating and welcoming to our 15 mth old little boy. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great as always !!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great as always !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as imagined. Service was slo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Not as good as imagined. Service was slow. Food was good, but some dishes were just weird. Almost like the chef tried too hard to use funky ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I am planning my baby shower here and I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am planning my baby shower here and I have to say I loved everything on the brunch menu. Everything was delicious and the decor, ambiance and view are amazing!! It's a real gem in the Newport area of Jersey City. Loved watching the boats go by :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and view. Food was tasty an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place and view. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. Great decor. Thx. My new spot. Hard to locate though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrendous. One of our meals ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service was horrendous. One of our meals was not at all as described on the menu. Entrees were served 90 minutes after we finished our appetizers.

Our waiter was never clearly defined. One person told us he was taking out drink order but was not our waiter, he was the only person we saw all evening.

We were told 3 times that dinner would be out shortly, the last by the manager. Dinner came 30 minutes after his visit.

We finished dinner in 10 minutes and left. Manager took an insulting 10% off the bill.

Avoid this one. Many better options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place for after work happy hour, d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place for after work happy hour, date night and groups. Food is amazing, highly recommend the grilled octopus and romaine wedge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business lunch and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went for a business lunch and the service was horrifically slow. The restaurant was not even half full, so hard to understand why it took so long.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We could not have been more pleased with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We could not have been more pleased with the food and service. We will be going back soon to say the least!

A huge thank you to Battello's staff for making our celebration absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place looks very decent and the view on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Place looks very decent and the view on NY harbor and yachts is fantastic. Hostess is nice and accommodating. Menu is not big, but most of the food items are good. All we had that night -- halibut, iron steak, tuna carpaccio were well and tastefully made. This used to be my favorite place in the area for cocktails, but not anymore -- they seem to have decided that alcohol is an optional ingredient in a cocktail. I recommend to order beer or wine. Waiters while ask repeatedly 'how you like it', don't try too hard. I asked to clean my sticky table, but "nice" waiter just ignored it. Another thing -- it was my gf's birthday and he brought a couple of biscotti cookies as "complements of the chef". I had to force myself to leave this guy a tip. It'd be much better to forget about it altogether than to drag a couple of cookies from walmart box and present it as some miracle of chef wizardry. This place could have been really awesome but as it is it is just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was fabulous and the location ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was fabulous and the location is absolutely breathtaking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.