About Battello

502 Washington Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07310
View Larger Map

Situated on the Hudson with breathtaking views of the Manhattan skyline, Battello offers an unforgettable culinary experience featuring a contemporary Italian-based, seafood-influenced menu designed by one of New Jersey’s top culinary masters, Chef Ryan DePersio.

With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 2:30 PM

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM

LIGHT BAR MENU
Monday - Sunday: 2:30 PM - 5:00 PM

Cross Street:
Located within the Newport Marina

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(201) 798-1798

Website:
http://www.battellojc.com/

Entertainment:
From culinary experiences to live musical acts, Battello offers its guests a variety of dining and nightlife options.

To be notified of our upcoming events, please visit our facebook page.

Catering:
Battello offers multiple catering options - both on-premise and off-site. Please contact events@battellojc.com to learn more.

Parking Details:
Battello offers valet parking Friday and Saturday nights for $10 as well as shuttle service to and from validated parking available at The Westin. Limited reserved parking spots for patrons of Battello are available in the Newport Marina. Valet Parking and shuttle services also available for special events.

Public Transit:
Battello is located steps from the Newport PATH station and the Newport stop of the Hudson Bergen Light Rail. Taxis are generally available at the Taxi Stand at the corner of Washington Blvd and Town Square Place. For those traveling by boat, complimentary dockage is provided based on availability. Please call 201.798.1798 to arrange.

Executive Chef:
Ryan DePersio

Private Party Facilities:
With its soaring ceilings, electrifying views of the Manhattan skyline, delectable cuisine and exquisite spaces as unique as the events they host, Battello offers an unforgettable setting with world-class amenities for your celebration.

Private Party Contact:
Events at Battello: 2017981798

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With soaring ceilings and series of open elegant areas including two bars, a lounge that is equipped for live entertainment, several dining rooms, a 16-person private wine cellar and a bridal suite, the possibilities for curating unforgettable, intimate and unique experiences at Battello are limitless. Please contact events@battellojc.com for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello
Battello

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Battello Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Jersey - North
Most Booked
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Jersey City ›

Scenic View (97)
Special Occasion (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
See All
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Hot Spot (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Waterfront (14)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food plus great view of the ci ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food plus great view of the city.

Bustling but noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant. Beautiful view. Really ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant. Beautiful view. Really accommodating and welcoming to our 15 mth old little boy. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not as good as imagined. Service was slo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Not as good as imagined. Service was slow. Food was good, but some dishes were just weird. Almost like the chef tried too hard to use funky ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I am planning my baby shower here and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am planning my baby shower here and I have to say I loved everything on the brunch menu. Everything was delicious and the decor, ambiance and view are amazing!! It's a real gem in the Newport area of Jersey City. Loved watching the boats go by :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and view. Food was tasty an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place and view. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. Great decor. Thx. My new spot. Hard to locate though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrendous. One of our meals ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Service was horrendous. One of our meals was not at all as described on the menu. Entrees were served 90 minutes after we finished our appetizers.

Our waiter was never clearly defined. One person told us he was taking out drink order but was not our waiter, he was the only person we saw all evening.

We were told 3 times that dinner would be out shortly, the last by the manager. Dinner came 30 minutes after his visit.

We finished dinner in 10 minutes and left. Manager took an insulting 10% off the bill.

Avoid this one. Many better options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place for after work happy hour, d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great place for after work happy hour, date night and groups. Food is amazing, highly recommend the grilled octopus and romaine wedge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a business lunch and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went for a business lunch and the service was horrifically slow. The restaurant was not even half full, so hard to understand why it took so long.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We could not have been more pleased with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We could not have been more pleased with the food and service. We will be going back soon to say the least!

A huge thank you to Battello's staff for making our celebration absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place looks very decent and the view on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Place looks very decent and the view on NY harbor and yachts is fantastic. Hostess is nice and accommodating. Menu is not big, but most of the food items are good. All we had that night -- halibut, iron steak, tuna carpaccio were well and tastefully made. This used to be my favorite place in the area for cocktails, but not anymore -- they seem to have decided that alcohol is an optional ingredient in a cocktail. I recommend to order beer or wine. Waiters while ask repeatedly 'how you like it', don't try too hard. I asked to clean my sticky table, but "nice" waiter just ignored it. Another thing -- it was my gf's birthday and he brought a couple of biscotti cookies as "complements of the chef". I had to force myself to leave this guy a tip. It'd be much better to forget about it altogether than to drag a couple of cookies from walmart box and present it as some miracle of chef wizardry. This place could have been really awesome but as it is it is just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was fabulous and the location ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was fabulous and the location is absolutely breathtaking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & server excellent. Each of our par ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food & server excellent. Each of our party of five enjoyed their appetizer, entree & dessert. Ambiance improved once the (too loud) live music ended. Requested a table outdoors, which was not honored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I went to Battello for the first time fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I went to Battello for the first time for a business lunch. The view as great sitting outside. I ordered grilled salmon with broccoli rabe which was delicious. My guest ordered a pasta dish.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice ambiance for romantic occasions. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Nice ambiance for romantic occasions. Always great service. The best lamb I've ever had is from Battello.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Except for the noise level, it was terri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Except for the noise level, it was terrific. Of course, we had clear weather and good timing for the view; therefore, I honestly do not know if the experience would be as good if the weather were bad! The food was indeed very good as was the service.

Seating could use more space between tables and again, less noise.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale restaurant with great menu and v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Upscale restaurant with great menu and view of the water and NYC skyline. The service was excellent and probably the best grilled octopus I've ever had. Highly recommend dining here.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Octopus as appetizer is amazing. Pasta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Octopus as appetizer is amazing. Pasta and lobster Risotto is very tasteful with reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food, awesome view

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious food, awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is wonderful. The hostess s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The ambience is wonderful. The hostess staff are super polite. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Went there with my wife and mother for l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went there with my wife and mother for lunch. It was a terrific experience the food was very good the view Of New York is absolutely beautiful. Very accommodating and friendly staff.looking forward to going back there with my wife for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took a prospective business colleague to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took a prospective business colleague to Batello for Dinner. We opted for dining outside which was great. The outdoor dining space is covered yet open and right out at the end of the pier so it gives you a great view of the New York skyline across the river. The wine list is a bit short but they do have a nice list of available beers as well. We both had the lobster risotto which was phenomenal. We almost bypassed dessert, but in the end I'm glad we didn't. It was equally amazing. Service throughout was terrific. The restaurant overall is very popular with local business folks, especially on a Thursday night. So if you're planning an dinner I'd recommend reservations. Be ready for an energetic scene as well, it definitely gets busy and is not quiet.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and view were both amazing. Service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and view were both amazing. Service was awful and AC was off, only the fans were on to keep us cool. I was sweating while I was eating my lunch, couldn't wait to finish and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great attentive service and delicious fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great attentive service and delicious food. And the view is spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great views, vibrant scene, incredible f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great views, vibrant scene, incredible food and attentive wait staff. Battello hit all the marks, and made for a great dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The view of the freedom tower was amazin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view of the freedom tower was amazing. Food was good. Service was somewhat slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had great food and wonderful vistas a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had great food and wonderful vistas and terrific service!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice location in jersey city on the wate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

nice location in jersey city on the water. The views of NYC were beautiful. The food was good, we had the crab cake and wedge salad to start. both were really tasty. For entree's we had the lobster risotto which was really great! The portion was actually more than i thought i would get so that was nice. My husband had the gnocchi pasta and that was delicious as well. I had the pineapple cocktail they offer which was great. My husband had the one with basil and that was also great! He ordered a glass of red wine which took a while to come out but our server apologized and gave us a glass on the house, which was really nice of them. For dessert we had the chocolate souffle type dessert which was also very delicious. I would definitely go back for a special occasion it is a bit pricey but it was a nice night out.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I remember this restaurant before the ne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I remember this restaurant before the new owners took over and made it Battello...which I am very glad they did. It has a very wanderlust ambience from the décor and marina location. I would go for the location and décor alone as it makes a great conversation setting. The food is average for the type of genre; nothing I would come back just to have again. It's great for a business dinner, date night, catching up with friends and post work happy hour with your coworkers....and especially if you just want to stop by for wine and dessert. My service here was subpar on multiple occasions....staff rarely stop by to check on your table.....and you wait forever for every request which I would not recommend if you plan on spending your lunch hour here. Overall, I would still recommend this as the pros definitely outweigh the cons. So, grab a pal or loved one, reserve a table and create some memories!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

The service is very slow. We sat down a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service is very slow. We sat down and were asked before we even had menus what we wanted to drink. We asked for a minute to look at the menu and decide but instead of a minute, we were given 25 minutes. The drinks took another 15 to arrive after ordering those. 40 minutes in before we had anything to drink. Not a good start. The food, however, was above average and the setting is pleasant with great views.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had brunch here last week and loved i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had brunch here last week and loved it! The chicken and waffles and short rib with truffled sour cream panini were standouts. We also tasted the steak and eggs and French toast which were both very tasty. My only complaint was that we had to continuously get our waiters attention. Nice guy but I could tell he was swamped- maybe they were understaffed for brunch? Regardless, The view is stunning and the food was delicious! We'll be back for the seafood tower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Outdoor dining gives you a fantastic vie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outdoor dining gives you a fantastic view of Manhattan. Great bar area. Wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was fantastic. Our waiter was very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic. Our waiter was very good. All 6 people at our table had the chef's tasting menu. Everything was delicious and the portions were generous. The only issue we had was a very long wait between some of the courses. We were glad not to be rushed through our meal, though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place has really turned around sin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place has really turned around since it opened . The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful with the best view of the city . You won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited this restaurant with my wife b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I visited this restaurant with my wife based on the view and food reviews. We made a reservation with view to the city and it was ready at the time we arrived. The food was very good but the waiting time between the appetizer and the main course was huge. Maybe 25-30 minutes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We reserved a table by the side of the b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We reserved a table by the side of the board walk. The view was great. However we were not surprised by it because of the water front residents. We started witty oysters which is a great disappointment. They were so very small and paper thin. We recommend against it.

Tuna and crab cake are good, but the sauce for the crab cake is too dry and bland.

Targliatelle is salty and the clam has sand in it. Strongly urge the staff do a better job of cleaning them.

Halibut and tuna are generally good and crispy. Still would be better if salt level is controlled. For scallops, if fried three seconds more and leave it to the residual heat, it would have been texturally perfect.

Service is good and within expectations.

Given the experience yesterday, doubtful if I ever have the drive to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

It was okay. To start we made reservatio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was okay.

To start we made reservations thru open table, parking was easy to acquire on a Wednesday night. Normally valet is $10.

To start we got the Burrata heirloom appetizer which was really tasty ($14).

For the entree I ordered the dinner portion of the egg fettuccine ($25) which just didn't have enough flavor. It was quite bland and definitely was missing something. It was not worth the $25. My husband got the chicken entree ($27) which was pretty standard, again nothing amazing.

Service was polite but forgetful and at times slow. They carry a house wine, which the waiter offered a sample of but never brought to our table. We ended up getting a $39 bottle of wine which was excellent.

The 2 cocktails we got were decent but not worth the $12 as they tasted very watered down. $12 is a craft cocktail and these just did not taste that great.

We asked for the dessert menu but then decided to opt out of it because for the prices we just didn't feel that the food was that great. $11 for dessert didn't seem worth the price or calories.

The waiter made no conversation and was very robotic and dull. It was actually our anniversary and if he had bothered to ask or just talk to us we would have shared the info. He could have cared less and just wanted us to order, get our food and get out.

The view is nice but you can see the same view anywhere on Washington Ave/along the pier.

Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

-----------------Good food. ----------- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

-----------------Good food.

----------------Just too long to have order taken((15 min).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday cel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing Night at Batello! A birthday celebration on the water that my family will never forget. Super friendly servers and a really in-depth seafood menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful; close to perfe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful; close to perfect for a Sunday evening. Our server, Tammy, was terrific handling my (hearing impaired and eccentric) mother-inl-law with the highest level of patience. Our apps, entrees and desserts were all four starts, the mussels were devoured in minutes upon arrival. My one suggestion would be to makes the 'wines by the glass' more clearly summarized or promoted on winelist....Older wine drinkers will not order it if they cannot read it or find it on menu. :-) We cannot wait to go back to Battello.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They made us wait for more than 30 min o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They made us wait for more than 30 min our dinner. And they just react when I asked for the check. Only saying "sorry"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.