About Bastone Brewery

419 S Main St
Royal Oak, MI 48067
View Larger Map

A Royal Oak mainstay since 2004, Bastone Brewery takes both its name and culinary style from the famous Belgian city. The 1930s era establishment sets the stage for a restaurant and brewery where award-winning Belgian beer is crafted onsite for the finest flavor and character. The menu features an array of classic burgers, Belgian mussels and frites, artisan pizzas and European-inspired entrees.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, Brewery, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fifth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 544-6250

Website:
http://www.bastonebrewery.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Young

Private Party Contact:
Christy Kelly: (248) 544-6250

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Bastone Brewery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (15)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Taken well care of from the time we step ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Taken well care of from the time we stepped in the door. Food was great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a group of 10, our table was rea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a group of 10, our table was ready with no waiting. The service was very good, my food was very tasty. I had the grilled steak on a potato pancake , I would order it again. This was our groups first time visiting Bastone's Brewery.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service outstanding. Food was good noth ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service outstanding. Food was good nothing that blew me away!

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a birthday party reservation. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was a birthday party reservation.

Nicely enough, I reserved 8 spots for 7 confirmed friends and myself instead of reserving extra seats. "yes, I was thoughtful". As I arrived to the restaurant, a 9th friend calls me and informs me he will be joining as well.

I walked up to the host (Night of 2/11) and requested an extra chair. THE HOST was super defensive and did not suggest any help. I walked back thinking to myself, "great deal this extra chair". I came up to her again and requested some solution for this, she suggested the last person sits at the bar when our table was in the back "thanks that was very helpful" and I walked away.

Finally, our waiter was nice and called the manager without us requesting for him, and he kindly helped us squeeze a chair in.

Bottom line, a host should be welcoming, helpful and suggestive, not drawing lines in the ground and offering NO possible solutions. We were seriously considering to leave to another place.

Although the night kicked off with a bit of a bitter experience, everything else was great. We loved our waiter and food. I don't recall her name but she was wearing Pink and she was very nice to us.

The only food I found not okay was the calamari appetizer. Its supposed to be appeting, however, it was super salty. It felt like I was eating Salt Powers.

Thank you for the birthday chocolate truffle cake it was amazing and probably the best in town... I called it "mouthgasm".

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint was for the onion soup ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My only complaint was for the onion soup. It was LOADED with croutons and next to no onions. Tried to pick out some of the bread. The flavor was good. Next time I would ask they leave out the bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very presently surprised on our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were very presently surprised on our first visit. Good food. Good beer. Staff attentive. Will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess and waitress were unfriendly; ha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hostess and waitress were unfriendly; hamburger was raw and even after it was sent back, it was still came back no where near the medium I asked for (waitress did not as how I wanted it cooked); kids mac and cheese was very bland and we couldn't even taste the cheese (how do you mess up macncheese?)(waitress didn't seem to notice or care that the entire entree was remaining); calamari was good but over salted. Overall very disappointing. Don't plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great bar, excellent beer. The menu has ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great bar, excellent beer. The menu has a wide variety of food including vegetarian options. Would recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great French Fries....that's about it. O ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great French Fries....that's about it. One of the worst waitresses I've ever had at a "nicer" restaurant.... she did not go over the brewery's beer list at all, never even told us about the specials for the evening until I said that I couldn't find a certain steak dish on the menu..... I ordered the Walleye and sent it back after first 3 bites ALL had bones in them..... When she dropped off the charcuterie board, she did not bother to say what was actually ON the board!!! Disappointed, won't be back

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Shockingly bad experience. Been there a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Shockingly bad experience. Been there a few times and had nothing but rave reviews. Food was overcooked/undercooked or tasteless. Staff was cold and aggressive. I don't know what changed here in the last 30 days, but I would avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

After a vodka tasting. Late night meal

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

After a vodka tasting. Late night meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The first time we visited Bastone in Aug ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The first time we visited Bastone in August 2016, the food (especially the Forestière pizza) and the beer were amazing. We have returned several times, but the quality kept decreasing. Last weekend, the whole menu had changed and the prices gone up. The "mushroom pizza", 14USD, was an absolute laugh, uneatable. The 3 different beers we tasted, all very plain and uninteresting.

I think Bastone team should do some re-considering, because the changes that have been implemented are for the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food and beer quality is mediocre--just ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food and beer quality is mediocre--just another "me too" gastropub. If they are actually an older business, then they haven't innovated adequately to stand out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Food is just disappointing. Portions ar ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food is just disappointing. Portions are mixed - my meal left me hungry. The flavors were OK but not what it use to be.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We eat at Bastone's 1-2 times a week & h ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We eat at Bastone's 1-2 times a week & have always loved it until this recent menu change. The BBQ chicken sandwich was one of the best items on the menu - why remove it? I asked our server & was told it was one of the most frequently ordered items. He also mentioned the grilled chicken salad that had the raspberry vinaigrette is also off the menu & was another highly requested item.

My husband tried the new chicken sandwich & it was bland - not Bastone quality for sure. The chicken was good but there was no taste to the rest of it.

I had the Blackbean Burger & it was ok. I didn't care for the corn salsa & undercooked fries.

Overall this was our least favorite visit & have hopes Bastone's will return the BBQ Chicken & Grilled Chicken Salad.

PLEASE bring back the BBQ chicken sandwich! We want to continue to visit you frequently but may look elsewhere given the changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good. My short rib sandwic ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good. My short rib sandwich was tender and was between 2 potato pancakes, which made it a little different than the ordinary and it tasted good. Rest of our table all enjoyed their meals. We didn't get to enjoy the beer as our group was there for dinner before the Beer Fest. We would like to go back to enjoy their beer selections.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My FAVORITE brewery in town! Always grea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My FAVORITE brewery in town! Always great service, fantastic beer, and yummy food

Tags: Good for a Date, , Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We actually had never been to this resta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We actually had never been to this restaraunt before and ended up here because the place we wanted to go was too long of a wait. So real quick.... really good food, great atmosphere, wonderful beer, great service. Con.....terrible booths. They have very wiggly backs and every time someone would move you would feel like you were on a plane getting kicked by a kid.

Will go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The mac and cheese was good but the chic ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The mac and cheese was good but the chicken was a bit dry on top. The tortellini was incredible if you like spicy!

Service was great - Anna and Emily were great!

Love the interior of the restaurant and the rustic industrial feel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

i've been here twice, and been underwhel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i've been here twice, and been underwhelmed twice. it's not that it's bad, it's just that both times i've hoped for a nicer meal than i have gotten. the belgian fries are highly touted, and they are so-so. the pizza we had had some nice ingredients in it, but the crust was more like a big round saltine (is that what flatbread means?) and there was a fair amount of so-so cheese. the burger toppings were good, but i didn't think the burger was done to temp (i know this is likely something many restaurants don't get right, or i need to update my understanding of "medium rare").

our server was great -- (appropriately) attentive, quick, and personable. she, and my company, were the highlight of the dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Four people had dinner and drinks, 3 of ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Four people had dinner and drinks, 3 of the meals were fair to good, but the Margarita Pizza was lousy. the flatbread was half-baked, the cheese was like rubber, and all of the toppings were aggregated in the middle. it was literally inedible. It was a Wednesday night after Christmas, and we had 6:30 pm reservations. When they went to seat us in a booth, we requested a table (one of our guests was over 6'7", and the booth would have been uncomfortable) - they did accommodate us, but only after some insistence on our part, and even then made it seem we were putting them out. Service was slow - to the point we gave up on a second round of drinks, and part of the party left while we waited for the check. Definitely disappointed.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The burgers we ordered were exceptional. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The burgers we ordered were exceptional. They pride themselves on their homemade beers that are excellent. The fries were served with mayonaisse. When asked for ketchup the server said they were out of ketchup. The restaurant was half full at 6:30pm and the server seldom checked on us about our food and was nowhere to be seen when we would have liked another drink or the check to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We enjoyed the flights of beers brewed o ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed the flights of beers brewed on-site. The service was very good. The food was good but the pizza should have been cooked longer (doughy) and the burger was not cooked to the ordered temperature. Overall and enjoyable experiance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service were great, but the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were great, but the noise level was very loud! If not for that it would have gotten 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had great service and the food was go ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had great service and the food was good, hostess staff was accommodating.

Tags: Fun, Casual, , Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered their elk burger medium rare a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I ordered their elk burger medium rare and it was medium well. Our server was nice but the food left something to desire. Probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My server Rachel was great. Came around ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My server Rachel was great. Came around just often enough that we didn't wait for anything but she wasn't hovering either. Pretzel stick appetizer seemed microwaved because they were hot then chewy then hard. Don't get the fish and chips. Sent it back. Fries were stale and fish was like rubber and hard to chew. My husband had the Portobello Mushroom Sandwich. Said it was pretty good. This was my second visit to Bastone and both times I sent my food back. Not sure if there will be a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Seated immediately with reservation, boo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Seated immediately with reservation, booth was private, server was knowledgeable and exceptionally helpful. Food was FANTASTIC !!!! Will /have recommended this place !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was subpar. I had the hamburge ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was subpar. I had the hamburger which was so greasy that I had to have the waitress take it back. I then had the fish tacos the fish was chew and over cooked with no flavor. The appetizer calamari was unbelievably salty and small portioned. The pretzels were ok. The quality of food did not match expensive price tag.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pleasantly surprised. Great experience. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Great experience. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Emily was a our server and made the even ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Emily was a our server and made the evening. She seems to genuinely enjoy her job!

Food was good as always. Great place to take guests as everyone can find something to like on their menu--foodies as well as the burger and fries crowd. Our go-to place.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place! We loved the happy ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 7, 2016

What a great place! We loved the happy hour prices, and the ambiance was perfect!

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just okay and expensive. Servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was just okay and expensive. Service was perfect! Too loud to talk.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Had the absolute best waitress, Emma. Sh ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had the absolute best waitress, Emma. She really paid attention to us and recommended food and drink suggestions. She was excellent and her choices were all tasty and yummy. Definitely be back for the great food and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing special...average in the truest ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Nothing special...average in the truest sense of the word

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The beer and mussels were excellent as w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The beer and mussels were excellent as was the service. However our fish & chips were slightly disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great salmon and sangria!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great salmon and sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The beer was great, interesting menu and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The beer was great, interesting menu and I love the 2 bite desserts !

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Bastone and on ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Bastone and once again, we had a wonderful meal. We like that they have menu items that we don't find elsewhere. This time we had hazelnut crusted scallops over pancetta/pea risotto and pork chops from their Oktoberfest menu and we each had the green salad which is also delicious. The service is excellent and the beer is tasty. I would highly recommend Bastone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined as a group of ten and could not ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We dined as a group of ten and could not have been happier with the food and service we received. The burgers were outstanding and the desserts were to die for. A great place for a casual get-together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.