About Bastone Brewery

419 S Main St
Royal Oak, MI 48067
View Larger Map

A Royal Oak mainstay since 2004, Bastone Brewery takes both its name and culinary style from the famous Belgian city. The 1930s era establishment sets the stage for a restaurant and brewery where award-winning Belgian beer is crafted onsite for the finest flavor and character. The menu features an array of classic burgers, Belgian mussels and frites, artisan pizzas and European-inspired entrees.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, Brewery, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fifth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 544-6250

Website:
http://www.bastonebrewery.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Young

Private Party Contact:
Christy Kelly: 2485446250

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chicken and Waffles
Lobster Club
Beer Flight
Pomme Frites
Spinach And Artichoke Dip
Brewery Steak Sandwich
Calamari
Grilled Portobella Sandwich
Garlic , Goat Cheese And Tomato Pizza
Ahi Tuna Burger
Pretzels
Salad Nicoise
artichoke fritters
Garden Pizza
Pretzels With Cheese Sauce
Belgian Tripel
Pommes Frites
Pretzel Sticks
Small Green Salad
Saison Noir
Bread Pudding
Cannoli
Raspberry Wit
Soft Warm Pretzels
Forestier Pizza
Grilled Cheese With Pomme Frites
green salad
Alsatian Onion Tart
Salmon Waterzooi
Steak Tips
Mustard Glazed Pork Loin
Fish and Chips
Mac and Cheese
Triple Beer
Bread Basket
Vegetable Pancakes
Four cheese macaroni and cheese
Grilled Onglet
Leuven Waffle
Pizza Margherita
Bonafide Red Wine And Captain And Coke
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Turkey Club Sandwich
Gazp
Nectar Des Dieux Triple and Dubbel Vision
Salmon In Puff Pastry
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Spinach and Wild Mushroom Pizza
Beer break
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
oreciette pasta
Vegetarian Quiche
Key Lime Pie
Orichette With Sage Cream Sauce
Veggie Burger
wild mushroom and spinach pizza
Potato Leek Soup
Banoffee Pie
coq au vin
Fruit Gataux
Irishfest!
Six Beer Sampler
mac n cheese
Main Street Pilsner
Peperoni Pizza With Mozzarella
Pommel Frittes

Bastone Brewery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined as a group of ten and could not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

We dined as a group of ten and could not have been happier with the food and service we received. The burgers were outstanding and the desserts were to die for. A great place for a casual get-together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, good food, good beer. Took ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good service, good food, good beer. Took some colleagues for a business lunch. Place was almost empty except for someone banging on a drum set, which made any conversation nearly impossible. That coupled with several folks in zombie outfits made our visit memorable. Our server was excellent !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Food came out fast and the atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food came out fast and the atmosphere was nice. They were out of a couple of their Mule drinks which was disappointing. obtaining flavored vodka shouldn't be that hard.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great menu but food wasn't as flavorful ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu but food wasn't as flavorful as I hoped. Nothing was bad, but nothing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Easy to make a reservation with Open Tab ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Easy to make a reservation with Open Table.

Close parking.

Varied menu.

Excellent service.

We had a round table for10 and it was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parking was very close to the restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Parking was very close to the restaurant. Service was great and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Bastone Brewery in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dining at Bastone Brewery in Royal Oak. We were there for a birthday gathering. The food and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the steak frites!! 😋

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love the steak frites!! 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Place was nice but the service was medio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Place was nice but the service was mediocre at best. The server was awkward and just brought our bill with out asking

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our waiter Nick was awesome. The variet ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter Nick was awesome. The variety of beers was phenomenal . The sandwiches - food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the Walleye which was broiled and ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had the Walleye which was broiled and decent. also had the beer flight of 7 which was a great way to sample everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The hazelnut scallops (and bed of risott ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The hazelnut scallops (and bed of risotto) were amazing!! Great beer list as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was some of the best I've had i ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was some of the best I've had in a long time. The portions were right, not huge like most places. Our dinner got to us in ten minutes or less and dessert took about the same time. I had the beef tenderloin tips and my boyfriend had the leuven waffle. Both were so delicious!! We had apple pie and chocolate truffle cake for dessert and they were again very delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not as Good as it Used to Be

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As a long time patron of Bastone, it hurts me to see the food and service become a shadow of what it once was. The portions have shrunk, if they even have what you order, and the staff has changed, making the experience less enjoyable. What once was a great restaurant that we frequented weekly, has become a, "Hey we haven't been there in a while." type restaurant. The food is still ok, the service is ok, the atmosphere is ok... Bastone's has lost the awesomeness to become just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, small portions. Step prices f ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, small portions. Step prices for what it is. Go to Ale Marys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Helpful wait staff as one of the party w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Helpful wait staff as one of the party was gluten intolerant. Suggested beers as well as food selection that would accommodate the diet restrictions. Food was excellent, I had the scallops in green curry over saffron rice. Quality of food was a nice surprise. Will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy with the service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bastone was so nice and very accommodati ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Bastone was so nice and very accommodating. My party was running a little late, but when I called to confirm we were still coming they were happy to hold our table for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good choice for a brewery.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good choice if you like craft beers and gastro pub food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for Mothers Day, The place was m ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day, The place was moderately busy & the beer was good but the food was just ok. My wife ordered the FILET MIGNONETTES the mashed potatoes were dry & the Demi-Glace sauce had a skin on it like had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while, she was not happy at all with her dinner! Two other people ordered the FISH TACOS, they said the fish was good but the rest of the taco was just ok & said they would have been better with some kind of cheese on them. Another person had a Cheese Burger & said it was decent. I had the PAN ROASTED WALLEYE, the fish was good but the potatoes again were dry. We had the Pretzel & the Calamari appetizers which everyone said were very good. If your looking for a good beer & appetizer this place is pretty good. It may have just been the crew cooking that day or they may have been short staffed but the dinners we had were not all that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not what I expected ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were happy that we could book a reservation for Mother's Day, but were disappointed to find out, after we were seated, that the only food selection for the day was a buffet. We didn’t see any mention of a limited menu on their website. Normally, that would have been fine, but the food was not very tasty, and the cost was quite high.

The restaurant was not very busy at all, which was a surprise for what is typically a very busy day for dining out. This could be part of the reason that the food didn’t taste better. The service was also not very good. We didn’t see our server often and even had to ask someone to find him once. This was our first time at the restaurant. I had heard good things about Bastone, so we will try it again on another day, and hopefully have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Terrible over priced mothers day brunch!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were disappointed we were not able to order from the menu. I did not see anywhere on their website that indicated the only thing available on Mother's Day was a buffet. I cannot speak to the quality of the food on their menu since we did not get to try it. However, the buffet was TERRIBLE!! And our service was TERRIBLE!! I do believe that our server was new, but she was not ready to handle guests yet. If she was bad with a buffet meal in which we served ourselves, I'm not sure how she will do with guests for a full service meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Initially Location we were seated was da ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Initially Location we were seated was dark and the waitress was quite unengaged. After moving tables where the morning sun could reach us it the atmosphere was much improved, as was the new waitress. The Mother's Day brunch food was excellent. I believe it could have been a great dining experience if they had been better prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Went for the Mother's Day brunch. Food w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for the Mother's Day brunch. Food was good (but was expecting more of a selection for $29/person). Service was a little slow. Was expecting something a little more special for Mother's Day. May go back for a lunch or dinner but not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food as always and great service f ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food as always and great service from Joanna T.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was horrible. They seemed ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was horrible. They seemed bothered to take our orders and was not friendly. We ordered the Steak Frites and the chef did not prepare the meal as specified and the wait staff was not accommodating. We ordered a pizza with ham and shredded pork was used. The beer was blah. If your looking to go to a brewery with decent food in the area, try ROAK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food is standard, nothing to try again, ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food is standard, nothing to try again, Draft Beer is excellent !!! I felt if i come back will be to stay at the bar and try a new beer with some appetizers... But not stay in the restaurant.

Food is expensive vs type of dishes you have in your menu.

Better go to Rochester Mills or Griffin Claw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Disappointed. New menu leaves a lot to d ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Disappointed. New menu leaves a lot to desired. Wouldn't return for overpriced boring entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

OK. Good Beer.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Good beer per usual. Food needs to be updated - menu feels the same since they opened. We arrived shortly before kitchen closed and service was passable - not friendly, not efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

One of our favorite spots for a good mea ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

One of our favorite spots for a good meal & great beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Beer and Food!!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It's a single location in Downtown Royal Oak. Belgian themed restaurant. Their brewed beer is top notch. They have some regular bar food but also belgian inspired menu. This time I had a Bleu burger with kalamata olives, smoked gouda, and mushrooms cooked to medium on a brioche bun. One of the better burgers I have had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Love Love!!! Never a disappointing ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Love Love Love!!! Never a disappointing meal! Always great food and excellent service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner spot

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I met another couple for dinner. We enjoyed excellent entrees, salads, desserts, and craft beers. Service was prompt and courteous without being intrusive. We were able to linger over our desserts and last drinks until ready to leave without feeling rushed. We all agreed that we would look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for dinner dates

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Overall, an above average experience - we made a reservation for 7:45 pm and were sat immediately upon our arrival. The place was pretty busy and noisy as you could expect a bar to be on a Saturday night. The food was delicious. My friend couldn't stop raving about the lobster bisque. I was the only one who drank. I really enjoyed the amber ale, but I was a little disappointed that I couldn't pick my own beers to make a flight. Our server was friendly and attentive. Definitely want to go back with some beer drinkers and make a night of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been here many times! Food is always goo ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Been here many times! Food is always good & we love the beer! Good place for families or larger gatherings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

On both occasions I have visited the est ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

On both occasions I have visited the establishment, service was very friendly but extremely slow. Tables are not bussed and servers need to be reminded of missing orders or to refill water. Bastone's is always busy so perhaps the staff is overloaded. Overall, not a good place to try to have a audible conversation but definitely a fun establishment to meet for beer and good (a touch pricey) food. Bartenders could use a little mixology 101. My vodka gimlets were underwhelming and inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Meet up with friends

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Met a group of friends here for dinner and a couple drinks. Table was ready within 10 minutes of reservation. Overall food and beer were good, but nothing spectacular. Service was friendly, however, the server did not attempt to refill our waters or non-alcholoic drinks at the table. Wished server would have checked in more during middle/end of meal, as guests had to track down to order another beer or ask for anything additional. Restaurant is very accommodating for a large group and good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The server was awesome. I am allergic t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The server was awesome. I am allergic to gluten and she helped me get gluten free dishes. The food tasted great. I would highly recommend this restaurant and brewery. The beer was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Food was delicious and the be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent! Food was delicious and the beer was even better. Soft pretzels and pommes frites were great, and the burger was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All dishes seemed to lack appropriate se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

All dishes seemed to lack appropriate seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.