About Bastone Brewery

419 S Main St
Royal Oak, MI 48067
View Larger Map

A Royal Oak mainstay since 2004, Bastone Brewery takes both its name and culinary style from the famous Belgian city. The 1930s era establishment sets the stage for a restaurant and brewery where award-winning Belgian beer is crafted onsite for the finest flavor and character. The menu features an array of classic burgers, Belgian mussels and frites, artisan pizzas and European-inspired entrees.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, Brewery, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fifth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 544-6250

Website:
http://www.bastonebrewery.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Young

Private Party Contact:
Christy Kelly: 2485446250

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Portobella Sandwich
Pretzel Sticks
Chicken and Waffles
Lobster Club
Beer Flight
Pomme Frites
Spinach And Artichoke Dip
Brewery Steak Sandwich
Calamari
Garlic , Goat Cheese And Tomato Pizza
Ahi Tuna Burger
Pretzels
Salad Nicoise
artichoke fritters
Garden Pizza
Pommes Frites
Pretzels With Cheese Sauce
Belgian Tripel
Saison Noir
Small Green Salad
Bread Pudding
Cannoli
Raspberry Wit
Forestier Pizza
green salad
Grilled Cheese With Pomme Frites
Soft Warm Pretzels
Alsatian Onion Tart
Salmon Waterzooi
Mustard Glazed Pork Loin
Steak Tips
Fish and Chips
Mac and Cheese
Bread Basket
Triple Beer
Four cheese macaroni and cheese
Vegetable Pancakes
Grilled Onglet
Leuven Waffle
Spinach Artichoke Dip
Turkey Club Sandwich
Bonafide Red Wine And Captain And Coke
Pizza Margherita
Gazp
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Nectar Des Dieux Triple and Dubbel Vision
Beer break
oreciette pasta
Spinach and Wild Mushroom Pizza
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Salmon In Puff Pastry
Key Lime Pie
wild mushroom and spinach pizza
Veggie Burger
Orichette With Sage Cream Sauce
Vegetarian Quiche
Potato Leek Soup
Banoffee Pie
coq au vin
Fruit Gataux
Irishfest!
Six Beer Sampler
mac n cheese
Peperoni Pizza With Mozzarella
Pommel Frittes
Main Street Pilsner

Bastone Brewery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (44)
neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
great for lunch (18)
vibrant bar scene (17)
special occasion (14)
late-night find (11)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as Good as it Used to Be

Dined on June 5, 2016

As a long time patron of Bastone, it hurts me to see the food and service become a shadow of what it once was. The portions have shrunk, if they even have what you order, and the staff has changed, making the experience less enjoyable. What once was a great restaurant that we frequented weekly, has become a, "Hey we haven't been there in a while." type restaurant. The food is still ok, the service is ok, the atmosphere is ok... Bastone's has lost the awesomeness to become just ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Helpful wait staff as one of the party w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Helpful wait staff as one of the party was gluten intolerant. Suggested beers as well as food selection that would accommodate the diet restrictions. Food was excellent, I had the scallops in green curry over saffron rice. Quality of food was a nice surprise. Will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy with the service and food

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bastone was so nice and very accommodati ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Bastone was so nice and very accommodating. My party was running a little late, but when I called to confirm we were still coming they were happy to hold our table for us.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good choice for a brewery.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Good choice if you like craft beers and gastro pub food.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We went for Mothers Day, The place was m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day, The place was moderately busy & the beer was good but the food was just ok. My wife ordered the FILET MIGNONETTES the mashed potatoes were dry & the Demi-Glace sauce had a skin on it like had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while, she was not happy at all with her dinner! Two other people ordered the FISH TACOS, they said the fish was good but the rest of the taco was just ok & said they would have been better with some kind of cheese on them. Another person had a Cheese Burger & said it was decent. I had the PAN ROASTED WALLEYE, the fish was good but the potatoes again were dry. We had the Pretzel & the Calamari appetizers which everyone said were very good. If your looking for a good beer & appetizer this place is pretty good. It may have just been the crew cooking that day or they may have been short staffed but the dinners we had were not all that great.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not what I expected ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were happy that we could book a reservation for Mother's Day, but were disappointed to find out, after we were seated, that the only food selection for the day was a buffet. We didn’t see any mention of a limited menu on their website. Normally, that would have been fine, but the food was not very tasty, and the cost was quite high. The restaurant was not very busy at all, which was a surprise for what is typically a very busy day for dining out. This could be part of the reason that the food didn’t taste better. The service was also not very good. We didn’t see our server often and even had to ask someone to find him once. This was our first time at the restaurant. I had heard good things about Bastone, so we will try it again on another day, and hopefully have a better experience.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible over priced mothers day brunch!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were disappointed we were not able to order from the menu. I did not see anywhere on their website that indicated the only thing available on Mother's Day was a buffet. I cannot speak to the quality of the food on their menu since we did not get to try it. However, the buffet was TERRIBLE!! And our service was TERRIBLE!! I do believe that our server was new, but she was not ready to handle guests yet. If she was bad with a buffet meal in which we served ourselves, I'm not sure how she will do with guests for a full service meal.

food5
ambience3
service3

Initially Location we were seated was da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Initially Location we were seated was dark and the waitress was quite unengaged. After moving tables where the morning sun could reach us it the atmosphere was much improved, as was the new waitress. The Mother's Day brunch food was excellent. I believe it could have been a great dining experience if they had been better prepared.

food4
ambience3
service3

Went for the Mother's Day brunch. Food w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for the Mother's Day brunch. Food was good (but was expecting more of a selection for $29/person). Service was a little slow. Was expecting something a little more special for Mother's Day. May go back for a lunch or dinner but not for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always and great service f ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food as always and great service from Joanna T.

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The wait staff was horrible. They seemed ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was horrible. They seemed bothered to take our orders and was not friendly. We ordered the Steak Frites and the chef did not prepare the meal as specified and the wait staff was not accommodating. We ordered a pizza with ham and shredded pork was used. The beer was blah. If your looking to go to a brewery with decent food in the area, try ROAK.

food2
ambience4
service5

Food is standard, nothing to try again, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food is standard, nothing to try again, Draft Beer is excellent !!! I felt if i come back will be to stay at the bar and try a new beer with some appetizers... But not stay in the restaurant. Food is expensive vs type of dishes you have in your menu. Better go to Rochester Mills or Griffin Claw.

food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointed. New menu leaves a lot to d ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Disappointed. New menu leaves a lot to desired. Wouldn't return for overpriced boring entrees.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

OK. Good Beer.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Good beer per usual. Food needs to be updated - menu feels the same since they opened. We arrived shortly before kitchen closed and service was passable - not friendly, not efficient.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite spots for a good mea ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

One of our favorite spots for a good meal & great beer!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Beer and Food!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

It's a single location in Downtown Royal Oak. Belgian themed restaurant. Their brewed beer is top notch. They have some regular bar food but also belgian inspired menu. This time I had a Bleu burger with kalamata olives, smoked gouda, and mushrooms cooked to medium on a brioche bun. One of the better burgers I have had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner spot

Dined on March 12, 2016

My wife and I met another couple for dinner. We enjoyed excellent entrees, salads, desserts, and craft beers. Service was prompt and courteous without being intrusive. We were able to linger over our desserts and last drinks until ready to leave without feeling rushed. We all agreed that we would look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for dinner dates

Dined on March 11, 2016

Overall, an above average experience - we made a reservation for 7:45 pm and were sat immediately upon our arrival. The place was pretty busy and noisy as you could expect a bar to be on a Saturday night. The food was delicious. My friend couldn't stop raving about the lobster bisque. I was the only one who drank. I really enjoyed the amber ale, but I was a little disappointed that I couldn't pick my own beers to make a flight. Our server was friendly and attentive. Definitely want to go back with some beer drinkers and make a night of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Been here many times! Food is always goo ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Been here many times! Food is always good & we love the beer! Good place for families or larger gatherings.

food4
ambience2
service2

On both occasions I have visited the est ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

On both occasions I have visited the establishment, service was very friendly but extremely slow. Tables are not bussed and servers need to be reminded of missing orders or to refill water. Bastone's is always busy so perhaps the staff is overloaded. Overall, not a good place to try to have a audible conversation but definitely a fun establishment to meet for beer and good (a touch pricey) food. Bartenders could use a little mixology 101. My vodka gimlets were underwhelming and inconsistent.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Meet up with friends

Dined on February 27, 2016

Met a group of friends here for dinner and a couple drinks. Table was ready within 10 minutes of reservation. Overall food and beer were good, but nothing spectacular. Service was friendly, however, the server did not attempt to refill our waters or non-alcholoic drinks at the table. Wished server would have checked in more during middle/end of meal, as guests had to track down to order another beer or ask for anything additional. Restaurant is very accommodating for a large group and good atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was awesome. I am allergic t ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The server was awesome. I am allergic to gluten and she helped me get gluten free dishes. The food tasted great. I would highly recommend this restaurant and brewery. The beer was also very good.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent! Food was delicious and the be ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent! Food was delicious and the beer was even better. Soft pretzels and pommes frites were great, and the burger was exceptional. Highly recommend!

food2
ambience3
service2

All dishes seemed to lack appropriate se ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

All dishes seemed to lack appropriate seasoning.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Group of 8

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a group of eight and made a reservation through Open Table. They were great with service on seating and the server was very helpful. The food was good and one of our guests loved his burger. I had Fish and Chips and felt the fish was just a bit undercooked. The atmosphere is very loud but it has a good vibe.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5

Great service.Good food. Awesome beer!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great service.Good food. Awesome beer!

food4
ambience4
service5

Top of the line food, service, and atmos ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Top of the line food, service, and atmosphere. The fans were going really fast when we first sat down which created an uncomfortable draft, but once they were turned off, the rest of the evening was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bastone Brewery

Dined on February 19, 2016

Excellent food and beer. Belgian themed with outstanding mussels and entre items. Excellent, attentive service . Worth a repeat visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Date

Dined on February 15, 2016

My partner and I went on a date to Bastone Brewery and had such a good time. Great place to take your love for dinner and some romantic quality time. Not to mention they have some really good beer for everyone. I did'nt get a chance to try aany wine, but I'll tackle that next time I'm there. Go and have some fun at Bastone, you will not regret it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Disappointing return visit; still good food

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had visited this restaurant 2 years ago when we received excellent service, great food, and a memorable experience prompting our return when visiting Valentine's Day. We had made a reservation over a month in advance, yet when we entered, the host had to consider where to seat us. Our server was mediocre, somewhat sullen as if she wondered why she was working that evening. My partner had asked that his beer be served with his meal (option presented by the server); almost 5 minutes after the food arrived, he asked the server about his beer, and received a derisive "it's coming" and when it arrived a few minutes later, my partner had finished half his meal. The food was good however, the service affected the whole experience.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good beer, good food

Dined on February 6, 2016

First time for dinner after loving their lunch. Creative and broad menu of upscale bar food. Great list of beers and a full bar. Great Royal Oak vibe.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

food great, service below average

Dined on January 31, 2016

Let me start by saying the food is really good here. From the appetizers, to the entrees, they were fantastic. However, the service was terrible. We were seated at 8:45, and a server didn't even approach our table until 9:05, and we didn't have drinks in front of us until 9:15-9:20. I feel like if a server is running behind, the least they can do is ask a barback to run waters to the table, or stop by the table and say "I'll be right with you." Each time someone wanted a refill on a beverage, it would take forever. If the service was as good as the food here, I would return more frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was outstanding. Very cool p ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding. Very cool place. I ordered a burger and was disappointed with the quality and taste. I ordered it medium and it was cooked through and hard as a rock. Dense and tasteless. I'm not much of a beer drinker so the waiter mentioned he could get me a glass of wine from Vinotecca next door. It was really really good. My husband liked his beer but was also disappointed in the food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great - but we never felt rushed.

Dined on January 26, 2016

Met with a group of cousins who have not spent any time together in many years. Everyone felt very comfortable. Great service, but never rushed. Great selection for everyone.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Burger was alright, nothing to write hom ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Burger was alright, nothing to write home about, but if you are there and feeling a bigger it will do the job. Fries didn't seem special to me, which was contradictory to the menu. Service was very good and attentive. No complaints.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Maybe not best choice for holidays

Dined on December 31, 2015

Normally we have great times and delicious food at Bastone so I was pleasantly surprised to obtain a 7 pm reservation on New Year's Eve. Well, either everyone else in the Metro Detroit area managed to get that same reservation time or half of the staff decided to start partying early because we had exorbitantly long waits from the get-go...initial contact, food delivery, check presentation, every facet of our visit took far longer than necessary. One of my friends said she'd never eat at Bastone again, based on the experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

People that work there need attitude adjustments

Dined on December 31, 2015

This was my second time visiting Bastone and I don't think I'll be going back. The hostess was so incredibly rude and had such a dry face. That in itself made me never want to go back. The food was okay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Cool brewery, decent food

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Bastone is a restaurant with a cool vibe, but the food was just okay. The steak in the sandwich I ordered was bland and unseasoned. The waffles we ordered for dessert were limp and heavy. The French fries were good and so was the lemon tart, but overall the food needs to be elevated in order to be a place I would come back to.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Holiday fun.

Dined on December 20, 2015

We had a large group of 15 people and we were accommodated with no problem. The prices were great (since I was treating for the holidays) and the serve was outstanding. . It was wonderful because we just walking down to the theater after everyone enjoyed themselves. Including the kids ( picky eaters).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.