About Bastone Brewery

419 S Main St
Royal Oak, MI 48067
View Larger Map

A Royal Oak mainstay since 2004, Bastone Brewery takes both its name and culinary style from the famous Belgian city. The 1930s era establishment sets the stage for a restaurant and brewery where award-winning Belgian beer is crafted onsite for the finest flavor and character. The menu features an array of classic burgers, Belgian mussels and frites, artisan pizzas and European-inspired entrees.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian, Brewery, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fifth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 544-6250

Website:
http://www.bastonebrewery.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert Young

Private Party Contact:
Christy Kelly: 2485446250

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chicken and Waffles - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Lobster Club - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Beer Flight - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pomme Frites - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Spinach And Artichoke Dip - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Brewery Steak Sandwich - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Calamari - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Grilled Portobella Sandwich - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Garlic , Goat Cheese And Tomato Pizza - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Ahi Tuna Burger - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pretzels - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Salad Nicoise - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
artichoke fritters - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Garden Pizza - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pretzels With Cheese Sauce - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Belgian Tripel - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pommes Frites - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pretzel Sticks - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Small Green Salad - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Saison Noir - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Bread Pudding - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Cannoli - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Raspberry Wit - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Soft Warm Pretzels - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Forestier Pizza - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Grilled Cheese With Pomme Frites - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
green salad - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Alsatian Onion Tart - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Salmon Waterzooi - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Steak Tips - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Mustard Glazed Pork Loin - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Fish and Chips - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Mac and Cheese - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Triple Beer - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Bread Basket - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Vegetable Pancakes - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Four cheese macaroni and cheese - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Grilled Onglet - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Leuven Waffle - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pizza Margherita - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Bonafide Red Wine And Captain And Coke - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Spinach Artichoke Dip - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Turkey Club Sandwich - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Gazp - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Nectar Des Dieux Triple and Dubbel Vision - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Salmon In Puff Pastry - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
baked spinach and artichoke dip - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Spinach and Wild Mushroom Pizza - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Beer break - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
oreciette pasta - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Vegetarian Quiche - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Key Lime Pie - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Orichette With Sage Cream Sauce - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Veggie Burger - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
wild mushroom and spinach pizza - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Potato Leek Soup - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Banoffee Pie - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
coq au vin - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Fruit Gataux - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Irishfest! - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Six Beer Sampler - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
mac n cheese - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Main Street Pilsner - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Peperoni Pizza With Mozzarella - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI
Pommel Frittes - Bastone Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

Bastone Brewery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (14)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Special Occasion (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Live Sports (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat at Bastone's 1-2 times a week & h ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We eat at Bastone's 1-2 times a week & have always loved it until this recent menu change. The BBQ chicken sandwich was one of the best items on the menu - why remove it? I asked our server & was told it was one of the most frequently ordered items. He also mentioned the grilled chicken salad that had the raspberry vinaigrette is also off the menu & was another highly requested item.

My husband tried the new chicken sandwich & it was bland - not Bastone quality for sure. The chicken was good but there was no taste to the rest of it.

I had the Blackbean Burger & it was ok. I didn't care for the corn salsa & undercooked fries.

Overall this was our least favorite visit & have hopes Bastone's will return the BBQ Chicken & Grilled Chicken Salad.

PLEASE bring back the BBQ chicken sandwich! We want to continue to visit you frequently but may look elsewhere given the changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good. My short rib sandwic ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good. My short rib sandwich was tender and was between 2 potato pancakes, which made it a little different than the ordinary and it tasted good. Rest of our table all enjoyed their meals. We didn't get to enjoy the beer as our group was there for dinner before the Beer Fest. We would like to go back to enjoy their beer selections.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We actually had never been to this resta ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

We actually had never been to this restaraunt before and ended up here because the place we wanted to go was too long of a wait. So real quick.... really good food, great atmosphere, wonderful beer, great service. Con.....terrible booths. They have very wiggly backs and every time someone would move you would feel like you were on a plane getting kicked by a kid.

Will go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The mac and cheese was good but the chic ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The mac and cheese was good but the chicken was a bit dry on top. The tortellini was incredible if you like spicy!

Service was great - Anna and Emily were great!

Love the interior of the restaurant and the rustic industrial feel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

i've been here twice, and been underwhel ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

i've been here twice, and been underwhelmed twice. it's not that it's bad, it's just that both times i've hoped for a nicer meal than i have gotten. the belgian fries are highly touted, and they are so-so. the pizza we had had some nice ingredients in it, but the crust was more like a big round saltine (is that what flatbread means?) and there was a fair amount of so-so cheese. the burger toppings were good, but i didn't think the burger was done to temp (i know this is likely something many restaurants don't get right, or i need to update my understanding of "medium rare").

our server was great -- (appropriately) attentive, quick, and personable. she, and my company, were the highlight of the dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Four people had dinner and drinks, 3 of ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Four people had dinner and drinks, 3 of the meals were fair to good, but the Margarita Pizza was lousy. the flatbread was half-baked, the cheese was like rubber, and all of the toppings were aggregated in the middle. it was literally inedible. It was a Wednesday night after Christmas, and we had 6:30 pm reservations. When they went to seat us in a booth, we requested a table (one of our guests was over 6'7", and the booth would have been uncomfortable) - they did accommodate us, but only after some insistence on our part, and even then made it seem we were putting them out. Service was slow - to the point we gave up on a second round of drinks, and part of the party left while we waited for the check. Definitely disappointed.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The burgers we ordered were exceptional. ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The burgers we ordered were exceptional. They pride themselves on their homemade beers that are excellent. The fries were served with mayonaisse. When asked for ketchup the server said they were out of ketchup. The restaurant was half full at 6:30pm and the server seldom checked on us about our food and was nowhere to be seen when we would have liked another drink or the check to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We enjoyed the flights of beers brewed o ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed the flights of beers brewed on-site. The service was very good. The food was good but the pizza should have been cooked longer (doughy) and the burger was not cooked to the ordered temperature. Overall and enjoyable experiance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food and service were great, but the ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were great, but the noise level was very loud! If not for that it would have gotten 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had great service and the food was go ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had great service and the food was good, hostess staff was accommodating.

Tags: Fun, Casual, , Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered their elk burger medium rare a ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I ordered their elk burger medium rare and it was medium well. Our server was nice but the food left something to desire. Probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My server Rachel was great. Came around ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

My server Rachel was great. Came around just often enough that we didn't wait for anything but she wasn't hovering either. Pretzel stick appetizer seemed microwaved because they were hot then chewy then hard. Don't get the fish and chips. Sent it back. Fries were stale and fish was like rubber and hard to chew. My husband had the Portobello Mushroom Sandwich. Said it was pretty good. This was my second visit to Bastone and both times I sent my food back. Not sure if there will be a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Seated immediately with reservation, boo ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Seated immediately with reservation, booth was private, server was knowledgeable and exceptionally helpful. Food was FANTASTIC !!!! Will /have recommended this place !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was subpar. I had the hamburge ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was subpar. I had the hamburger which was so greasy that I had to have the waitress take it back. I then had the fish tacos the fish was chew and over cooked with no flavor. The appetizer calamari was unbelievably salty and small portioned. The pretzels were ok. The quality of food did not match expensive price tag.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Emily was a our server and made the even ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Emily was a our server and made the evening. She seems to genuinely enjoy her job!

Food was good as always. Great place to take guests as everyone can find something to like on their menu--foodies as well as the burger and fries crowd. Our go-to place.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place! We loved the happy ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

What a great place! We loved the happy hour prices, and the ambiance was perfect!

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just okay and expensive. Servic ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was just okay and expensive. Service was perfect! Too loud to talk.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Had the absolute best waitress, Emma. Sh ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had the absolute best waitress, Emma. She really paid attention to us and recommended food and drink suggestions. She was excellent and her choices were all tasty and yummy. Definitely be back for the great food and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing special...average in the truest ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Nothing special...average in the truest sense of the word

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The beer and mussels were excellent as w ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

The beer and mussels were excellent as was the service. However our fish & chips were slightly disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great salmon and sangria!

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great salmon and sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The beer was great, interesting menu and ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

The beer was great, interesting menu and I love the 2 bite desserts !

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Bastone and on ...

 
·Dined on October 5, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Bastone and once again, we had a wonderful meal. We like that they have menu items that we don't find elsewhere. This time we had hazelnut crusted scallops over pancetta/pea risotto and pork chops from their Oktoberfest menu and we each had the green salad which is also delicious. The service is excellent and the beer is tasty. I would highly recommend Bastone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined as a group of ten and could not ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We dined as a group of ten and could not have been happier with the food and service we received. The burgers were outstanding and the desserts were to die for. A great place for a casual get-together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, good food, good beer. Took ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good service, good food, good beer. Took some colleagues for a business lunch. Place was almost empty except for someone banging on a drum set, which made any conversation nearly impossible. That coupled with several folks in zombie outfits made our visit memorable. Our server was excellent !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Food came out fast and the atmosphere wa ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food came out fast and the atmosphere was nice. They were out of a couple of their Mule drinks which was disappointing. obtaining flavored vodka shouldn't be that hard.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great menu but food wasn't as flavorful ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu but food wasn't as flavorful as I hoped. Nothing was bad, but nothing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Easy to make a reservation with Open Tab ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Easy to make a reservation with Open Table.

Close parking.

Varied menu.

Excellent service.

We had a round table for10 and it was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Parking was very close to the restaurant ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Parking was very close to the restaurant. Service was great and the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Bastone Brewery in ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dining at Bastone Brewery in Royal Oak. We were there for a birthday gathering. The food and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the steak frites!! 😋

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Love the steak frites!! 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Place was nice but the service was medio ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Place was nice but the service was mediocre at best. The server was awkward and just brought our bill with out asking

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our waiter Nick was awesome. The variet ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter Nick was awesome. The variety of beers was phenomenal . The sandwiches - food was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the Walleye which was broiled and ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had the Walleye which was broiled and decent. also had the beer flight of 7 which was a great way to sample everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The hazelnut scallops (and bed of risott ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The hazelnut scallops (and bed of risotto) were amazing!! Great beer list as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was some of the best I've had i ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was some of the best I've had in a long time. The portions were right, not huge like most places. Our dinner got to us in ten minutes or less and dessert took about the same time. I had the beef tenderloin tips and my boyfriend had the leuven waffle. Both were so delicious!! We had apple pie and chocolate truffle cake for dessert and they were again very delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not as Good as it Used to Be

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

As a long time patron of Bastone, it hurts me to see the food and service become a shadow of what it once was. The portions have shrunk, if they even have what you order, and the staff has changed, making the experience less enjoyable. What once was a great restaurant that we frequented weekly, has become a, "Hey we haven't been there in a while." type restaurant. The food is still ok, the service is ok, the atmosphere is ok... Bastone's has lost the awesomeness to become just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, small portions. Step prices f ...

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Good food, small portions. Step prices for what it is. Go to Ale Marys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Helpful wait staff as one of the party w ...

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Helpful wait staff as one of the party was gluten intolerant. Suggested beers as well as food selection that would accommodate the diet restrictions. Food was excellent, I had the scallops in green curry over saffron rice. Quality of food was a nice surprise. Will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I frequent Bastone and I'm always happy with the service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.