About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen is a neighborhood bistro that is reminiscent of those found along the streets of Paris. Situated at 49 Melcher Street in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing value to our guests while delivering unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and unpretentious hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Served every Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Executive Chef:
Adam Kube

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (53)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Groups (41)
See All
Romantic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great spot! nice vibe, great service and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

great spot! nice vibe, great service and good food. the tea-smoked mussels are amazing! ps: can be noisy which i like but don't expect quiet romantic french spot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was great!

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Bastille Kitchen for a bite t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Bastille Kitchen for a bite to eat before a performance at Blue Hills Bank Pavillion. This was my 3 rd visit to BK and it was the best experience yet! From the host and hostess to the wait staff, we had a wonderful experience. Our appetizers, gazpacho, flat breads, salads and halibut were delicious. Drinks were great! The waiter checked in with the chef to accommodate one of our meals- for food sensitinities, and it was done easily and perfectly! We all left saying we will be back! Thank you to all at BK for taking such good care of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Bastille Kitchen with a friend d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Bastille Kitchen with a friend during Restaurant week. Unlike many restaurants during Restaurant Week, Bastille Kitchen didn't skimp! The meal began with a breadbasket of croissants and herb butter - delicious. Appetizers and meals were both fabulous and generous. Nice beer and wine options. Dessert (black forest torte) was disappointing, but we were almost too full by dessert, anyway. Atmosphere was lovely.

My only complaint was that although we had a reservation and the restaurant wasn't very crowded, they put us at a small table in the middle of the restaurant and we felt a bit rushed. Given all of the empty tables, it would have been nice if we had been given a nicer table, as well as time to linger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a lovely place, from the gloriou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is a lovely place, from the glorious atmosphere within a perfectly renovated industrial building in the "hot" Seaport/Channel district of Boston. The bar area is spacious and open and comfortable, with couches and chairs and perfect decor. The dining is stupendous with fine French-themed food and touches, like the soft, buttery croissants versus regular restaurant bread. The waitstaff are knowledgeable and well trained---personable and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Very dim lighting. Har ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. Very dim lighting. Hard to find parking though. Went there for restaurant week. I ordered the steak skirt. Very tender and juicy. I would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food in a spot with incredible ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful food in a spot with incredible ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit. Was completely ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first visit. Was completely happy with the experience. Food was great, beverage list more than ample, and, as we dined late on a summer weekend, it was relatively quiet. We did not try dessert, but they looked terrific as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

1st time diner ..came with 2 friends. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

1st time diner ..came with 2 friends. It was delightful...we all enjoyed it ...definitely would return...good food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion and we had n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a special occasion and we had never been to Bastille Kitchen before. The space is beautiful. Really very well done and I can see it being a fun place to to go on any other night. This night, was a Friday in August and it was beastly hot. When we were escorted to our table, it was sweltering. I asked the waiter if there was a problem with the air and he said yes and would be happy to move us to another part of the restaurant where the air conditioner was a little better. We agreed and were moved to a large round table that seated 10 people. We were a group of four, so it made the evening quite awkward and uncomfortable. While the restaurant was 80% empty, everyone was seated in this small area of the restaurant where the air conditioning was sort of working. (But not totally) The food was really very good and I will give them a high rating for it and I would likely consider coming back to give them another chance, except when I add in the lackluster service which was friendly and accommodating, it just didn't correspond with the price points on the menu.

I bet this would be a much better experience on a different night. Unfortunately, I took a chance celebrating a 40th birthday with good friends at a restaurant I hadn't been to before. You just can't get those moments back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Bastille Kitchen, as the name suggests, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bastille Kitchen, as the name suggests, features French food. And feature it, it does. This is gourmet fare, served beautifully by a professional and warm-hearted wait staff. It is pricey, but for special occasions it is worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The bar and restaurant is beautiful, it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The bar and restaurant is beautiful, it is really a neighborhood gem. Love the brunch and dinner menu, high end but nothing crazy prices. Service is great too, very attentive waiters. There's is parking behind the hotel and they validate on weekends and after 5PM .

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent Saturday evening din ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had an excellent Saturday evening dinner here. Our table ordered the rabbit, steak frites, and scallops, and all were excellent, with the rabbit being particularly outstanding. Starter salads were fresh and creative, and desserts were also excellent. Several good French wines by the glass. Beautiful airy space with large windows and high ceilings. Service was professional and attentive without being intrusive. We'll definitely return for dinner and also for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for dinner before a show. Very good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went for dinner before a show. Very good all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had heard about this restaurant and d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WE had heard about this restaurant and decided to give it a try and we weren't disappointed. The staff was excellent from our greeting at the door until our departure, helpful and not intrusive. The drinks were great and the dinner was excellent. The meals were prepared wonderfully, everyone enjoyed their choices without exception. Certainly will return and would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had sampled Bastille Kitchen appetize ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had sampled Bastille Kitchen appetizers at the French Cultural Center Bastille Day festivities this year and we're not dissapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best french restaurants in Bo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best french restaurants in Boston. Flatbread is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome for a celebration

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here last Friday ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I ate here last Friday evening. This was a repeat visit to Bastille Kitchen, and as before, we couldn't have asked for a better menu or service. The building is an old textile mill? Or something like that--but it is sleek and modern, fashionable and comfortable inside. Our server, Joe, was attentive, professional, and helpful in our menu selections. A tableside visit from Matt, the General Manager, was a special bonus, and we really did feel as though we were well cared-for throughout. Our party of two enjoyed great Cosmopolitans and Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner--yes, really--delicious and such a refreshing summer cocktail. Our firsts were a gorgeously presented tuna tartare with cucumber and pickled mustard seeds with a frisee topping--wish I could show you, because it's as beautiful as it is tasty; my husband had a frisee aux lardons salad--just outstanding--North country bacon, poached egg, sherry vinaigrette, beluga lentils--the whole composite was delectable. For entrees, we ordered the Short Ribs Wellington with potatoes, foie gras, baby carrots--over-the-top yummy; and a special of the evening, Duck breast, cooked to a perfect medium, with an amazing currant sauce on a bed of blue cheese polenta. We had little room for dessert, but couldn't resist. It was 90 degrees out, so we opted for the Citrus Napoleon: citrus confit, lemon curd, Italian meringue--so refreshing! I've lived in New York and many other cities, and have traveled widely, but I have to say that this is one of the top restaurants I have ever dined in, and I'm glad that they're (kind of) in my backyard. I always look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Last minute choice but worked out really ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Last minute choice but worked out really well! The place looks gorgeous and the menu was great. I had a fantastic cocktail and my salmon was the best I've ever had. When a loud crash came from the kitchen and we're pretty sure what was our dinners were dropped, the staff quickly brought out two exquisite charcuterie plates. Great service, great find. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with great service! The mussels appetizer was excellant and the scallops and lamb melted in our mouths!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service (manager James, serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, service (manager James, server Joe, and bartender John!), atmosphere, menu. Loved it - can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff completely accommodated our requests and needs. When our quiche came with meat (that we don't eat) the chef made us a new one without. There was an abundance of food in our tasting menu. I highly recommend Bastille Kitchen and would go back for brunch or dinner again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board was fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Any meal that starts with homemade crois ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Any meal that starts with homemade croissants and ends with espresso martini's is an A+ in my books :) My girlfriends and I had a great time. We shared a bunch of flat breads, entrees and appetizers. Everything was delicious and the staff was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time for us. We wanted to try som ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time for us. We wanted to try something new. The space is handsome. The high ceilings and windows on 3 sides give a nice airy feel. We dined a bit early, 6:15 on a Saturday, so not too many tables full, but after 7:00 that changed.

The server was good, the food was good, not spectacular, but tasty. Small croissants instead of rolls are a nice touch. After we each had an appetizer, the short rib wellington was enough to share. Sadly we did not try dessert, but will probably return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great onion soup and steak frites.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great onion soup and steak frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally this place is amazing, however, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally this place is amazing, however, we sat for almost 20 minutes before someone noticed we were at the table. The waiter was not very attentive and seemed rushed. We ordered appetizers and he brought the check thinking that is all we wanted. He made no suggestions or offered no apologies for the wait. The manager did not even come over.

I have had excellent service before and that is why I chose this place. I was disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

I really enjoyed this place. We came wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. We came with a gilt city voucher for a chef's tasting brunch.

It included a bloody/mimosa per person, coffee/tea per person, beignets with a chocolate, a vanilla custard and grapefruit curd dipping sauces, a strawberry smoothy each in champagne glasses, a board of quiche lorraine and waffles filled with the vanilla custard each, and a bowl of berries with whipped cream. They had a ton of staff. Our water was never empty and we had various servers bringing us our food. It was pretty bright however on such a nice day it would have been nice to be outside. I'd go back to see their dinner options and what the place looks like at night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was new and he didn't even co ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter was new and he didn't even come over to ask if we wanted a drink until almost a half hour had passed. If a waiter is new, he should be working with someone to make sure he gets it right. He also didn't bring one person's appetizer with the others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The service was spectacular. Very profes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The service was spectacular. Very professional and polite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter could have been a little more att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Waiter could have been a little more attentive Seemed distracted. Everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner at Bastille

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Nothing special. Food was ok for me and enjoyable for my colleagues. Very convenient as we work next door. Staff friendly enough but walking past the prep area staff seemed otherwise engaged - mobile phones etc. Probably wasn't busy enough for them. Overall we had a better meal on our previous visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time to Bastille Kitc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first time to Bastille Kitchen. It was recommended by a friend. Everything was absolutely excellent: food, drinks, service. We will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a revisit

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had been to Bastille Kitchen several months ago and did not have a good experience. When I said this in my review the manager encouraged us to return. We returned w/o letting them know we were coming an we has a very nice time. The food and service was much better this time. We are glad we returned. People in our party enjoyed everything from the oysters and asparagus apps to the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nowhere to be found

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Did not see the server after entrees were served. We needed his assistance for drinks and other issues. Everything else was superb. Love this spot, usually.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Service and food were superb! Love the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service and food were superb! Love the decor. Went on a Gilt City brunch. One recommendation; skip the smoothie and offer egg choice off the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a really good exper ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I had a really good experience at Bastille K. Ambiance and service were perfect and food was good, especially the appetizers and the dessert were really tasty and well presented. Wines were reasonably priced, considering the kind of restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently it's challenging to go out. I was thrilled to explore Bastille kitchen for dinner. The waiter was attentive and welcoming. We had an early dinner after exploring the fort point area so it was a quiet start. Sharing steak tartare and beignets with a reasonable bottle of wine followed by the burger entree was perfect. Give Bastille a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.