About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen is a neighborhood bistro that is reminiscent of those found along the streets of Paris. Situated at 49 Melcher Street in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing value to our guests while delivering unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and unpretentious hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Served every Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Executive Chef:
Adam Kube

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (60)
special occasion (60)
good for groups (50)
See All
romantic (48)
vibrant bar scene (34)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (34)
great for brunch (24)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were superb! Love the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service and food were superb! Love the decor. Went on a Gilt City brunch. One recommendation; skip the smoothie and offer egg choice off the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had a really good exper ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I had a really good experience at Bastille K. Ambiance and service were perfect and food was good, especially the appetizers and the dessert were really tasty and well presented. Wines were reasonably priced, considering the kind of restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently it's challenging to go out. I was thrilled to explore Bastille kitchen for dinner. The waiter was attentive and welcoming. We had an early dinner after exploring the fort point area so it was a quiet start. Sharing steak tartare and beignets with a reasonable bottle of wine followed by the burger entree was perfect. Give Bastille a try.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Extremely slow service

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

When we arrived we one of three tables that were seated in the place. We still had to wait for 20 minutes to give our drink order, then another 20 or more minutes to give a food order. Once things were ordered they did show up. Overall the service was extremely slow I would chalk it up to them being woefully understaffed.

food3
ambience5
service5

This is usually my favorite restaurant. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is usually my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, my halibut and my daughter's chicken were both over cooked. I was a bit disappointed.

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

fabulous decor

Dined on May 8, 2016

The interior of Bastille kitchen was beautiful...unfortunately the food was average. We went for a mothers day brunch. The omelette and potatoes had excess oil. We order a cheese platter to start...not only did it take FOREVER to bring to the table, once there it arrived it was a meager portion of cheese, serves with cranberry nut bread which did not compliment the cheese at all. The service was slow and inattentive. To add to this, at the time we were there the ladies room was out of order, so ladies had to use the mens room.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food were great. Excellent atmosphere. Drinks aren't bad either.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great location and excellent food. Only suggestion would be to increase number of entree's - one person in our party felt menu was a bit limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and lively atmosphere and delicious food

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great and the chocolate caramel that arrived with the bill was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Interesting Dishes, Poor Execution

Dined on May 1, 2016

Making excuses, but it must have been an off night. The Beet Salad was over salted, the Onion Soup lacked broth (all soaked up by the bread), the Burger that was ordered medium-rare was not even rare and cold to the touch on the inside, and the Salmon was okay with bland sides.

food2
ambience4
service3

The tuna tartare was very good however, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The tuna tartare was very good however, the steak was horribly fatty. Would not go back again

food2
ambience5
service2

Went for my birthday dinner with my husb ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner with my husband. Server was somewhat unfriendly but service overall was fine. He wasn't interested in small talk, that's for sure. Food was just okay, nothing I left wanting to eat again. Tuna tartare was fine, a bit bland and nothing crunchy to put it on. Husband had fish that he liked. My steak was so thin and rubbery I had to saw it into pieces - it tastes like a $8 cut of meat I used to buy in my college days. They brought out birthday dessert (without showing us a dessert menu first) which would have been a nice touch - if they hadn't charged us for it. If you're going to charge for a birthday dessert, at least let me pick what I want first. The restaurant has great ambiance and we had a great table but it doesn't overcome the underwhelming food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved the food, the atmosphere and the staff. The menu had a great range, both in price and selection. Everything we ordered was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I've enjoyed the Bastille Kitchen often for lunch or after-office drinks with coworkers - it's a bit pricey but the food is wonderful. This time was a weekend pre-theater dinner and we enjoyed it thoroughly; plus, we were able to park on Summer St., then move on to a lot nearer the theater. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific experience. Highly recommend.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Terrific experience. Highly recommend.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice addition to the neighborhood! Fair value

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The large space is nicely laid out and furnished. The Thurs night dinner crowd was lively but not too loud to preclude conversation. The server was friendly and trying really hard to be professional clearly having been trained recently, but was just not fully polished / experienced yet. For example, we would have preferred that all drink orders be taken and delivered simultaneously, for instance, vs. one-by-one as well as confirming in advance that another glass of wine is desired before providing it. The food was sequenced exactly as we requested in terms of serving it, and seemed neither rushed nor slow, to both the server and kitchen's credit. The Fort Point cocktail was not balanced and in fact watery, as well as not cold enough (probably inferior ice?), but the wine by the glass selection is interesting and reasonably priced (really enjoyed the Medoc offering). There are much finer cocktail destinations within easy walking distance if that's the most important item. The food was very good and the portions were fair to generous for both the crab/lobster flatbread and beef tartare starters, and the lamb loin main was quite large and completely delicious - and included nicely paired and integrated sides which we really appreciated! The Baked Alaska dessert was fun and festive in terms of presentation, but like most versions (except Oleana's!)...it was pretty much flavorless and lackluster - a waste of perfectly good caloric budget. Bastille is head and shoulders above most other options in the Fort Point Channel and Seaport area for dinner! I would come back for the atmosphere, food, and wine, but approach the cocktails and desserts very carefully next time. The service was earnest and friendly so just fine ultimately, but more work is still needed on that front as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice spot, disappointing food

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I've eaten here twice - once last year and once this past weekend. Unfortunately the food has gone downhill since last year. This time around we had the mussels and cauliflower soup as apps (both were fine - nothing special). For entrees I had the halibut with quinoa, tomatoes and olives and it was...BLAH. It tasted like halibut...and quinoa...and tomatoes...with super salty olives mixed in. No real flavor or complementing sauce to bring it all together. My husband got the bacon wrapped rabbit. And, while it's not something I would eat, he said it was really dry. We got the beignets for dessert, which were quite good. Service was very good - the waitstaff was friendly and accomodating. The atmosphere is great. Love the decor and the open space. But, when you go there for the food (and it's not super cheap either), it's disappointing to give 4 stars for service and atmosphere and not for food or flavor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome experience!

Dined on April 12, 2016

I had a business associate visiting from out of town and took him to the restaurant. The décor is great and my guest was impressed with the whole experience. We were there on a Tuesday night kept talking for three-and-a-half hours with consistently attentive but not intrusive service. Wish the portions were larger given the prices but overall a great experience from start to finish. Dinner only establishment -- would go a lot more if it was available for lunch as well.

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Good food & ambiance, poor value, slow service

Dined on March 30, 2016

The wonderful room decor and ambiance, courteous floor manager did not make up for poor training and slow service of hostesses and wait staff (sole bus person was great!). First food introduction for dinner, when finally presented, were stale (breakfast item) cold croissants. Appetizers and main course were interesting and savory. Wine list was fine but not notable. The overall experience did in no way match the high price point. We dine out frequently but even though not adverse to returning, will not make it part of our regular rotation. There are better meals and service available downtown for better value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great night out!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service was excellent, as was the dining experience. The dining room is attractive, comfortable and we had many choices at various price points.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent

Dined on March 23, 2016

Great service, Mediocre food, nice presentation, classy ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was great and accommodating. Food ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Staff was great and accommodating. Food and ambience was equally nice. Wish there were more vegetarian options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Noisy too busy big crowd

Dined on March 20, 2016

Appeals to younger crowd. Kind of noisy. Croissants were good. Wine was over priced but nice option for carafe wine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Decent Service, Decent Food, Expensive Restaurant

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Given the price on the menu I was surprised with the level of service. It wasn't bad, but not great either. The food was okay but nothing to write home about. The atmosphere was amazing and I think it would be really nice for a romantic dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable dinning

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

From the moment you walked in to the time you left...everyone was so nice. Service excellent, food delicious...I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great desserts, blase about the rest

Dined on March 13, 2016

DISCLAIMER: This is about a Restaurant Week experience and I have a feeling that the restaurant was understaffed so definitely not indicative of normal service. We arrived early but were seated immediately which was great. It took a while for our server to have time to make his way over but I noticed there were a few tables that hadn't been bussed since we sat down so I assumed the restaurant was understaffed for the night. The appetizers were okay. Onion soup was mostly cheese and bread and not so much soup. The entrees were nothing special, but filling enough that I didn't mind not getting a bread basket. The desserts were the saving grace of the night but not enough to make me want to go back.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

a little pricey , great atmosphere, good service , cavernous, $18 for a burger. I like the use of the old warehouse parking -18$ for valet and lots of space

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely experience-very good brunch!! Gre ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Lovely experience-very good brunch!! Great service and relaxing ambiance. I will definitely go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we were seated promptly, servi ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

As always we were seated promptly, service was wonderful and the food delicious!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous French Cafe food and drink in Fort Point

Dined on March 12, 2016

Bastille Kitchen is truly outstanding. The service was superlative, and the food wonderful - I felt as if I had been transported back to Paris. Years ago I had a frisee salad in Musee d'Orsay that I've never forgotten - and the salad I had at Bastille Kitchen easily matched it. Of course, the omelette with herbs and shaved truffle, that lodestar of great cooking, was perfect as well. Although the space is very large, seating felt private. Our waiter had an authentic French accent and perfectly mastered being attentive while not intrusive. A very enjoyable experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Hypermediocrity

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The hosts were extremely friendly and sat us promptly even though we were a few minutes early. Great bar scene and good atmosphere. But the service was just okay. We waited a long time before our server took our order. The food was totally mediocre, especially for the price. I got the au poivre salmon which was nothing special and came only with a little bit of frisée on the side. My husband got the sirloin which was fatty, the sauce resembling what one might encounter at a cheaper chain steakhouse. I would go back for drinks but nothing more.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Manager/service was fantastic! Ambiance amazing

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had mistakenly made my reservation for the wrong night but when I showed up with my party of eight the manager did not skip a beat in assuring me that would could accommodate us (despite, I noticed, the restaurant being very full). We enjoyed a cocktail at the bar while they worked out our table and the manager came by and provided us with some complimentary apps - despite the fact the the booking mistake was MY error! We enjoyed our drinks and meal (the manager also stopped by our table to check in on us) and topped off the night with some cocktails in the downstairs bar which was festive and cozy. Overall a great night with outstanding service and wonderful ambiance. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely ambience, food, and friendly Serv ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Lovely ambience, food, and friendly Service.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Even better than last time

Dined on March 5, 2016

This place has improved, especially it's courtesy and service. The food is imaginative and good too. If anything, some of the customers get a bit loud and overenthusiastic. But if you want a good night out with great food, great service and a really happy crowd, this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

One of Fort Point's notable additions to ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

One of Fort Point's notable additions to the Boston dining scene with outstanding food, great service, and a warm and energetic atmosphere. Well worth a visit of you are in the area.

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Once the order was placed the server never came to our table again The espresso martini was bitter Tasted old-cheap bailys Onion soup-all bread and cheese No broth or onion-awful Lobster flatbread-had such a bitter flavor Overall bad night

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bastille Kitchen was fantastic!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Right from the start, I knew it was going to be a great experience. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the decor of the place was awesome. It had just the right amount of lighting mixed with beautiful furniture, colors, good openness, and a great bar. The wait staff was very attentive and educated. The food was excellent, and there was even a surprisingly awesome bar scene happening downstairs that you wouldn't even know about. The only thing that would make the place better would be better parking, but that is something they cannot control. They do have valet though. Either way, if you go you will love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Good brunch but over priced and limited ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Good brunch but over priced and limited menu. Excellent service!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous Brunch

Dined on February 21, 2016

Highly attentive service and Eggs Benedict was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Valentine's Day Find

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took a chance on this place for Valentines Day 2016. Though I was drawn in by their regular menu when I made the reservation, their pre fixe menu did not disappoint. My girlfriend and I both had the filet mignon, and despite two different palates (I like medium rare, she prefers burnt to a crisp) it served both of us quite well. The drinks were great (I would recommend the Kentucky Sidecar), as was the creme brulee. The price was a bit outside of my comfort range, so I will probably keep this place in my "special occasions" list, but I am interested in exploring their regular menu sometime soon. Overall, excellent first experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.