About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen, located in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, is both a neighborhood restaurant and destination dining spot. With a French-inspired menu, we offer familiar Parisian bistro favorites prepared with local ingredients and a “tip of the hat” to the history of our beloved Boston. Unpretentious hospitality, hand-crafted cocktails, and a welcoming & warm atmosphere make Bastille Kitchen perfect for anything from a simple after work dinner to a complete evening out. …and please join us in our subterranean cocktail lounge Chalet early evening, late night or anytime in between!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Served every Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm
Please contact us directly if you are unable to reserve your preferred time and date.

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Executive Chef:
Adam Kube

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Brunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, service and food! Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, service and food! Great place for Sunday brunch French Toast was amazing as well as their bloody marys!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating our anniversary. We had a great server who recommended a delicious wine, the scallops were terrific and steaks frites delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this place - the food is excelle ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We love this place - the food is excellent and the service great. The decor and ambiance are appealing. The wine list is excellent - love the marble bar and the bar service is prompt and attentive. Some meals are a little pricey but outstanding quality and well worth the trip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner was delicious and the service was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was delicious and the service was great. The tuna tartar appetizer was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet Date out. My husband and I were l ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Quiet Date out. My husband and I were looking for a nice dinner out just the two of us. We had been to the Bastille Kitchen once with friends and decided to go again by ourselves. The greeting staff was so nice, we arrived early and sat at the bar until the dining room opened. They were so attentive to us, we loved the attention. Our meal was delicious, our waiter was superb. I would go back there for sure, for a "date" or with a group. Have enjoyed it both times!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really nice and varied menu for taking p ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

really nice and varied menu for taking people you dont know well. all staf was very friendly and on the ball.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were very good. The only blot was the so-called valet parking on the street. What a rip-off!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brick and beam styling makes for lovely ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Brick and beam styling makes for lovely ambiance. The noise level was completely acceptable, and tables were spaced nicely apart. The food was good, and was accessible for those who are not looking for something as complicated as Michelin quality fare. Would go again

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of friends met here on a weekday ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

A group of friends met here on a weekday for an after work dinner. The ambiance here is great. I was greeted by a friendly host. The waiter was very friendly, accommodating, and attentive. I found the staff to all be very professional and nice. The dinner was fabulous. We ordered a bottle of wine and I got the beef Wellington (highly recommended). We ordered beignets for dessert which were fresh and delicious. I would definitely return to Bastille and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very accommodating for a large group, gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

very accommodating for a large group, great service food was tasty.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, disappointing given the expense ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall, disappointing given the expense.

One dinner returned to kitchen as meat tough.

Had to ask for bread.

Service attentive if a little too quick to remove plates.

And really - plastic floral bouquets on each table?

Good news ... the salmon was cooked just right.

The avocado gazpacho was delicious, and my choice of French rose wine was especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Superb service even in Dine out Boston n ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Superb service even in Dine out Boston night. i complimenred the butter, got the recipe handwritten by the chef snd a portion to take home! i need no extra salt; they redid the frites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was OK. The flatbread was proba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was OK. The flatbread was probably the best. The rabbit was good. The liver mousse was awful; I never ate something like that in my life. The service was questionable. I don't think the waitstaff has been trained properly for a restaurant that pretends to be top notch. The location is not particularly great and if the food and the quality of service are not outstanding, I don't see much of an interest in going there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

great spot! nice vibe, great service and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

great spot! nice vibe, great service and good food. the tea-smoked mussels are amazing! ps: can be noisy which i like but don't expect quiet romantic french spot....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was great!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Bastille Kitchen for a bite t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to Bastille Kitchen for a bite to eat before a performance at Blue Hills Bank Pavillion. This was my 3 rd visit to BK and it was the best experience yet! From the host and hostess to the wait staff, we had a wonderful experience. Our appetizers, gazpacho, flat breads, salads and halibut were delicious. Drinks were great! The waiter checked in with the chef to accommodate one of our meals- for food sensitinities, and it was done easily and perfectly! We all left saying we will be back! Thank you to all at BK for taking such good care of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Bastille Kitchen with a friend d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went to Bastille Kitchen with a friend during Restaurant week. Unlike many restaurants during Restaurant Week, Bastille Kitchen didn't skimp! The meal began with a breadbasket of croissants and herb butter - delicious. Appetizers and meals were both fabulous and generous. Nice beer and wine options. Dessert (black forest torte) was disappointing, but we were almost too full by dessert, anyway. Atmosphere was lovely.

My only complaint was that although we had a reservation and the restaurant wasn't very crowded, they put us at a small table in the middle of the restaurant and we felt a bit rushed. Given all of the empty tables, it would have been nice if we had been given a nicer table, as well as time to linger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a lovely place, from the gloriou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is a lovely place, from the glorious atmosphere within a perfectly renovated industrial building in the "hot" Seaport/Channel district of Boston. The bar area is spacious and open and comfortable, with couches and chairs and perfect decor. The dining is stupendous with fine French-themed food and touches, like the soft, buttery croissants versus regular restaurant bread. The waitstaff are knowledgeable and well trained---personable and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Very dim lighting. Har ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great atmosphere. Very dim lighting. Hard to find parking though. Went there for restaurant week. I ordered the steak skirt. Very tender and juicy. I would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food in a spot with incredible ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful food in a spot with incredible ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit. Was completely ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first visit. Was completely happy with the experience. Food was great, beverage list more than ample, and, as we dined late on a summer weekend, it was relatively quiet. We did not try dessert, but they looked terrific as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

1st time diner ..came with 2 friends. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

1st time diner ..came with 2 friends. It was delightful...we all enjoyed it ...definitely would return...good food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion and we had n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was a special occasion and we had never been to Bastille Kitchen before. The space is beautiful. Really very well done and I can see it being a fun place to to go on any other night. This night, was a Friday in August and it was beastly hot. When we were escorted to our table, it was sweltering. I asked the waiter if there was a problem with the air and he said yes and would be happy to move us to another part of the restaurant where the air conditioner was a little better. We agreed and were moved to a large round table that seated 10 people. We were a group of four, so it made the evening quite awkward and uncomfortable. While the restaurant was 80% empty, everyone was seated in this small area of the restaurant where the air conditioning was sort of working. (But not totally) The food was really very good and I will give them a high rating for it and I would likely consider coming back to give them another chance, except when I add in the lackluster service which was friendly and accommodating, it just didn't correspond with the price points on the menu.

I bet this would be a much better experience on a different night. Unfortunately, I took a chance celebrating a 40th birthday with good friends at a restaurant I hadn't been to before. You just can't get those moments back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Bastille Kitchen, as the name suggests, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bastille Kitchen, as the name suggests, features French food. And feature it, it does. This is gourmet fare, served beautifully by a professional and warm-hearted wait staff. It is pricey, but for special occasions it is worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The bar and restaurant is beautiful, it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The bar and restaurant is beautiful, it is really a neighborhood gem. Love the brunch and dinner menu, high end but nothing crazy prices. Service is great too, very attentive waiters. There's is parking behind the hotel and they validate on weekends and after 5PM .

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent Saturday evening din ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had an excellent Saturday evening dinner here. Our table ordered the rabbit, steak frites, and scallops, and all were excellent, with the rabbit being particularly outstanding. Starter salads were fresh and creative, and desserts were also excellent. Several good French wines by the glass. Beautiful airy space with large windows and high ceilings. Service was professional and attentive without being intrusive. We'll definitely return for dinner and also for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for dinner before a show. Very good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went for dinner before a show. Very good all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had heard about this restaurant and d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WE had heard about this restaurant and decided to give it a try and we weren't disappointed. The staff was excellent from our greeting at the door until our departure, helpful and not intrusive. The drinks were great and the dinner was excellent. The meals were prepared wonderfully, everyone enjoyed their choices without exception. Certainly will return and would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had sampled Bastille Kitchen appetize ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had sampled Bastille Kitchen appetizers at the French Cultural Center Bastille Day festivities this year and we're not dissapointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best french restaurants in Bo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best french restaurants in Boston. Flatbread is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome for a celebration

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here last Friday ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I ate here last Friday evening. This was a repeat visit to Bastille Kitchen, and as before, we couldn't have asked for a better menu or service. The building is an old textile mill? Or something like that--but it is sleek and modern, fashionable and comfortable inside. Our server, Joe, was attentive, professional, and helpful in our menu selections. A tableside visit from Matt, the General Manager, was a special bonus, and we really did feel as though we were well cared-for throughout. Our party of two enjoyed great Cosmopolitans and Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner--yes, really--delicious and such a refreshing summer cocktail. Our firsts were a gorgeously presented tuna tartare with cucumber and pickled mustard seeds with a frisee topping--wish I could show you, because it's as beautiful as it is tasty; my husband had a frisee aux lardons salad--just outstanding--North country bacon, poached egg, sherry vinaigrette, beluga lentils--the whole composite was delectable. For entrees, we ordered the Short Ribs Wellington with potatoes, foie gras, baby carrots--over-the-top yummy; and a special of the evening, Duck breast, cooked to a perfect medium, with an amazing currant sauce on a bed of blue cheese polenta. We had little room for dessert, but couldn't resist. It was 90 degrees out, so we opted for the Citrus Napoleon: citrus confit, lemon curd, Italian meringue--so refreshing! I've lived in New York and many other cities, and have traveled widely, but I have to say that this is one of the top restaurants I have ever dined in, and I'm glad that they're (kind of) in my backyard. I always look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Last minute choice but worked out really ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Last minute choice but worked out really well! The place looks gorgeous and the menu was great. I had a fantastic cocktail and my salmon was the best I've ever had. When a loud crash came from the kitchen and we're pretty sure what was our dinners were dropped, the staff quickly brought out two exquisite charcuterie plates. Great service, great find. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with great service! The mussels appetizer was excellant and the scallops and lamb melted in our mouths!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service (manager James, serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, service (manager James, server Joe, and bartender John!), atmosphere, menu. Loved it - can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff completely accommodated our requests and needs. When our quiche came with meat (that we don't eat) the chef made us a new one without. There was an abundance of food in our tasting menu. I highly recommend Bastille Kitchen and would go back for brunch or dinner again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board was fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Any meal that starts with homemade crois ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Any meal that starts with homemade croissants and ends with espresso martini's is an A+ in my books :) My girlfriends and I had a great time. We shared a bunch of flat breads, entrees and appetizers. Everything was delicious and the staff was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time for us. We wanted to try som ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time for us. We wanted to try something new. The space is handsome. The high ceilings and windows on 3 sides give a nice airy feel. We dined a bit early, 6:15 on a Saturday, so not too many tables full, but after 7:00 that changed.

The server was good, the food was good, not spectacular, but tasty. Small croissants instead of rolls are a nice touch. After we each had an appetizer, the short rib wellington was enough to share. Sadly we did not try dessert, but will probably return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.