About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen, located in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, is both a neighborhood restaurant and destination dining spot. With a French-inspired menu, we offer familiar Parisian brasserie favorites prepared with local ingredients and a “tip of the hat” to the history of our beloved Boston. Unpretentious hospitality, hand-crafted cocktails, and a welcoming & warm atmosphere make Bastille Kitchen perfect for anything from a simple after work dinner to a complete evening out. …and please join us in Chalet too ...our subterranean cocktail lounge -- early evening, late night or anytime in between!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm. Please phone directly if you are unable to reserve preferred time & date

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

With your 9:30pm (or later) table reservation, please join us at your table and in the upstairs lounge for our special midnight countdown ... complete with DJ, 5 course tasting menu, and champagne toast!
* (PRIX FIXE MENU only for seatings 9:30pm and later)
* (A LA CARTE menu available until 9pm)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The servers were short and impatient. W ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The servers were short and impatient. Was not impressed with the service. The food and ambiance were great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

First time that food was only ok....serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First time that food was only ok....service was slow and spotty (forgot drinks till brunch was thru)...just a really off day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food and service and beautiful res ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and service and beautiful restaurant but way too pricey for some bacon and eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very dependable. Only disappointment is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very dependable. Only disappointment is the valet parking fee which @$18.00 is ridiculous considering the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Firstly the staff were super friendly on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Firstly the staff were super friendly on the phone. Next the waitress was super nice and friendly. I forget her name but she was a painter who'd gone to SVA in NYC! The food was really good. Would've liked the potato gratin to be more authentic in that the huge amount of cheese that was melted on top right before it came out was way too much and too rich and not how the French do it and not browned on top as it should've been. I picked it all off! The shortrib/foie gras beef Wellington dish I had again wasn't quite authentic. I can understand making changes to the prep but would be nice to know in advance! The foie gras wasn't on the meat but presented on top of the potato fondant--which made the potato soggy and the foie gras kind of melted on top of them. Potatoes fondant, like the gratin--should be browned on top. But the short rib in the pastry was divine, extremely rich which was expected. That's prob why the foie gras wasn't put with the beef, it would be too too rich! The carrots were done to perfection. The butter sent with the croissants for the table was spiced and herbed beautifully (and the young woman bringing it knew exactly what was in it! Impressive). The croissants were lovely but didn't taste/look homemade from the kitchen. We would def go again as the waitress and other staff were so lovely and the space is wonderful. And the food on the whole was divine.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The best napoleon I've ever had. Had a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The best napoleon I've ever had. Had a citrous flavor that was a great surprise. The flat bread bacon was fabulous. Rabbit wrapped in bacon as spectacular. The pate was the best any of our party ever had - and a generous portion too. Onion soup was generous and cheesy. A nice ambiance. Not crowded seating. Great service. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there on a kind of scouting miss ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were there on a kind of scouting mission. We are planning on hosting a rehearsal dinner in early summer and wanted to find a Boston restaurant conveniently located to the hotel. The food was very good. The wait staff very attentive. The bar area was quite large and offered several seating options. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful waiter. Fast service. Really g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful waiter. Fast service. Really great food. Nice ambiance. We have been trying to get here for a while, and it was totally worth the anticipation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got together with some older friends and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Got together with some older friends and the manager was so kind to them. They were very impressed. The food was wonderful and the waiter was very helpful with selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved it. I would have given ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Absolutely loved it. I would have given a full five if it weren't for the waiter we had. The server barely checked up on us, we had to ask for utensils and flag him down for the most part. He wasn't too friendly either. Other than that, our entrée did come out a bit late but it might have been my food that took a while to cook. We didn't mind it since we were already full from the appetizers. The food was absolutely amazing, great plating, perfectly seasoned and flavorful! The ambience of the restaurant is fantastic, perfect for dates. Great wine list and cocktail menu as well. Overall, fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Bastille Kitchen is my favorite Boston r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Bastille Kitchen is my favorite Boston restaurant and I had t been there for a few months. I was a little disappointed the lobster gnocchi is no longer on the menu because it was my favorite! But the rest was still excellent. As always the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was very slow to come. Our orde ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our food was very slow to come. Our orders were not correct. The service was not good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

The service was great and the location i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great and the location is excellent for dinner with your spouse.

The menu has enough to choose from (some specialties) and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch. Third time there inclu ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful brunch. Third time there including dinner. Consistently excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous time Saturday night wi ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a fabulous time Saturday night with our best friends! The ambiance, food and service were all two thumbs up!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, food was decent but pr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, food was decent but presentation messy and nonsensical. Service friendly but inattentive and took awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Short rib Wellington was tough to chew . ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Short rib Wellington was tough to chew ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Always one of the best dinner experience ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always one of the best dinner experiences in Boston - food , atmosphere , service , decor, space

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Came to celebrate my husbands birthday a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Came to celebrate my husbands birthday and the waiter made it a memorable one. The place is nice and open. Service was great, waters were filled before we noticed our cups were empty, that's a biggie. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The decor and layout of the restaurant w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The decor and layout of the restaurant was very hip. I liked that there was a lounge on the bottom floor, which we ended up at for a post-dinner drink. As for the meal, the appetizers and drinks were very good. Really liked the cheese plate. For the main course I got the steak frites. It was good, but nothing spectacular. I was also expecting a little more from the frites. Overall, it was a good experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I have been to the restaurant several ti ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I have been to the restaurant several times for dinner and several times for drink. The space is amazing it is probably one of the nicest restaurant space in the city. Unfortunately the food just Ok and it should be great!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The room is great and the food even bett ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The room is great and the food even better. For appetizers, we had the Foie gras and the chicken liver pate both quite delightful.

We split the bacon wrapped rabbit that was excellent. The chocolate tart was about what you would expect. Small but well-executed wine list. I don't think you will be disappointed with a meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great. Great space, great food an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always great. Great space, great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit for my wife and I. Very nice ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First visit for my wife and I. Very nice (albeit large) space in a converted warehouse. As an onion soup "traditionalist" I wasn't sure what to make of the egg topping but it actually worked well. Rabbit seems to be difficult to get right, but it was very nicely done there, with a unique sauce the was extremely complimentary to the tender rabbit. My wife wasn't overly hungry and had a Kale salad and the Tuna Tartare. She said both were delicious. As someone with a severe shellfish allergy I greatly appreciated the care taken by both the server and the kitchen in ensuring a safe dining experience (wish more Boston restaurants took it as seriously) . One nit, the Frites were undercooked and soggy and could have greatly benefitted from another minute in the fryer. We will be back again soon to work our way through other menu items.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I are from New Hampshire, an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I are from New Hampshire, and decided to spend my birthday in Boston. After looking at a few restaurant menu's online, Bestille caught our eye. Made reservations on the website for later that evening. The place is beautiful inside, and the service was great. The food was outstanding, and I will be back anytime I visit Boston. Thanks for a great birthday meal!!!

Tags: Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot. The scallops were delicious ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great spot. The scallops were delicious. The bread came out the same time as our meal which was a little annoying. Overall great experience though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, good service and a very ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food, good service and a very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a great night, with wonderful amb ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was a great night, with wonderful ambience, attentive service and authentic new French cuisine. We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, service and food! Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, service and food! Great place for Sunday brunch French Toast was amazing as well as their bloody marys!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating our anniversary. We had a great server who recommended a delicious wine, the scallops were terrific and steaks frites delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this place - the food is excelle ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We love this place - the food is excellent and the service great. The decor and ambiance are appealing. The wine list is excellent - love the marble bar and the bar service is prompt and attentive. Some meals are a little pricey but outstanding quality and well worth the trip!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner was delicious and the service was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner was delicious and the service was great. The tuna tartar appetizer was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet Date out. My husband and I were l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Quiet Date out. My husband and I were looking for a nice dinner out just the two of us. We had been to the Bastille Kitchen once with friends and decided to go again by ourselves. The greeting staff was so nice, we arrived early and sat at the bar until the dining room opened. They were so attentive to us, we loved the attention. Our meal was delicious, our waiter was superb. I would go back there for sure, for a "date" or with a group. Have enjoyed it both times!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really nice and varied menu for taking p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

really nice and varied menu for taking people you dont know well. all staf was very friendly and on the ball.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were very good. The only blot was the so-called valet parking on the street. What a rip-off!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brick and beam styling makes for lovely ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Brick and beam styling makes for lovely ambiance. The noise level was completely acceptable, and tables were spaced nicely apart. The food was good, and was accessible for those who are not looking for something as complicated as Michelin quality fare. Would go again

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of friends met here on a weekday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

A group of friends met here on a weekday for an after work dinner. The ambiance here is great. I was greeted by a friendly host. The waiter was very friendly, accommodating, and attentive. I found the staff to all be very professional and nice. The dinner was fabulous. We ordered a bottle of wine and I got the beef Wellington (highly recommended). We ordered beignets for dessert which were fresh and delicious. I would definitely return to Bastille and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very accommodating for a large group, gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

very accommodating for a large group, great service food was tasty.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, disappointing given the expense ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall, disappointing given the expense.

One dinner returned to kitchen as meat tough.

Had to ask for bread.

Service attentive if a little too quick to remove plates.

And really - plastic floral bouquets on each table?

Good news ... the salmon was cooked just right.

The avocado gazpacho was delicious, and my choice of French rose wine was especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.