About Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street
Boston, MA 02212
View Larger Map

Bastille Kitchen is a neighborhood bistro that is reminiscent of those found along the streets of Paris. Situated at 49 Melcher Street in Boston’s historic Fort Point district, Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing value to our guests while delivering unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and unpretentious hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Served every Sunday from 10:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
A Street & Summer Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 556-8000

Website:
http://www.bastillekitchen.net/

Parking Details:
We off valet service through Boston Valet on the corner of Necco Street and Melcher Street just steps from our front door. The cost of the service is $18.

We have also have arranged $5 validated parking as a courtesy to our guests at the Necco Street Garage directly behind the restaurant. Validation is available Monday through Friday after 5 PM. Parking is available for $5 all day on Saturday and Sunday.

Public Transit:
Bastille Kitchen is easily accessible by the MBTA"s red line via South Station. From South Station head North toward Summer Street then turn Right onto Summer Street. Turn Right onto Melcher Street and the restaurant will be located on the right. The walk will take you roughly 5 minutes. Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any issues.

Executive Chef:
Adam Kube

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bastille Kitchen is committed to providing our guests with unrivaled food quality, au fait beverage service, and genuine hospitality. Our fare is a modern interpretation of a Parisian bistro. Bastille Kitchen offers two spacious and charming private dining options.

Bastille Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (52)
special occasion (46)
good for groups (43)
See All
romantic (34)
neighborhood gem (31)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (19)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best french restaurants in Bo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best french restaurants in Boston. Flatbread is a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great wait staff! Great food! Awesome for a celebration

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate here last Friday ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I ate here last Friday evening. This was a repeat visit to Bastille Kitchen, and as before, we couldn't have asked for a better menu or service. The building is an old textile mill? Or something like that--but it is sleek and modern, fashionable and comfortable inside. Our server, Joe, was attentive, professional, and helpful in our menu selections. A tableside visit from Matt, the General Manager, was a special bonus, and we really did feel as though we were well cared-for throughout. Our party of two enjoyed great Cosmopolitans and Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner--yes, really--delicious and such a refreshing summer cocktail. Our firsts were a gorgeously presented tuna tartare with cucumber and pickled mustard seeds with a frisee topping--wish I could show you, because it's as beautiful as it is tasty; my husband had a frisee aux lardons salad--just outstanding--North country bacon, poached egg, sherry vinaigrette, beluga lentils--the whole composite was delectable. For entrees, we ordered the Short Ribs Wellington with potatoes, foie gras, baby carrots--over-the-top yummy; and a special of the evening, Duck breast, cooked to a perfect medium, with an amazing currant sauce on a bed of blue cheese polenta. We had little room for dessert, but couldn't resist. It was 90 degrees out, so we opted for the Citrus Napoleon: citrus confit, lemon curd, Italian meringue--so refreshing! I've lived in New York and many other cities, and have traveled widely, but I have to say that this is one of the top restaurants I have ever dined in, and I'm glad that they're (kind of) in my backyard. I always look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Last minute choice but worked out really ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Last minute choice but worked out really well! The place looks gorgeous and the menu was great. I had a fantastic cocktail and my salmon was the best I've ever had. When a loud crash came from the kitchen and we're pretty sure what was our dinners were dropped, the staff quickly brought out two exquisite charcuterie plates. Great service, great find. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful rustic upscale restaurant with great service! The mussels appetizer was excellant and the scallops and lamb melted in our mouths!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service (manager James, serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, service (manager James, server Joe, and bartender John!), atmosphere, menu. Loved it - can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch was delicious and the wait staff completely accommodated our requests and needs. When our quiche came with meat (that we don't eat) the chef made us a new one without. There was an abundance of food in our tasting menu. I highly recommend Bastille Kitchen and would go back for brunch or dinner again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Hi this was great, the charcuterie board was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Any meal that starts with homemade crois ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Any meal that starts with homemade croissants and ends with espresso martini's is an A+ in my books :) My girlfriends and I had a great time. We shared a bunch of flat breads, entrees and appetizers. Everything was delicious and the staff was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time for us. We wanted to try som ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time for us. We wanted to try something new. The space is handsome. The high ceilings and windows on 3 sides give a nice airy feel. We dined a bit early, 6:15 on a Saturday, so not too many tables full, but after 7:00 that changed.

The server was good, the food was good, not spectacular, but tasty. Small croissants instead of rolls are a nice touch. After we each had an appetizer, the short rib wellington was enough to share. Sadly we did not try dessert, but will probably return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great onion soup and steak frites.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great onion soup and steak frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally this place is amazing, however, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Normally this place is amazing, however, we sat for almost 20 minutes before someone noticed we were at the table. The waiter was not very attentive and seemed rushed. We ordered appetizers and he brought the check thinking that is all we wanted. He made no suggestions or offered no apologies for the wait. The manager did not even come over.

I have had excellent service before and that is why I chose this place. I was disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

I really enjoyed this place. We came wi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. We came with a gilt city voucher for a chef's tasting brunch.

It included a bloody/mimosa per person, coffee/tea per person, beignets with a chocolate, a vanilla custard and grapefruit curd dipping sauces, a strawberry smoothy each in champagne glasses, a board of quiche lorraine and waffles filled with the vanilla custard each, and a bowl of berries with whipped cream. They had a ton of staff. Our water was never empty and we had various servers bringing us our food. It was pretty bright however on such a nice day it would have been nice to be outside. I'd go back to see their dinner options and what the place looks like at night.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was new and he didn't even co ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter was new and he didn't even come over to ask if we wanted a drink until almost a half hour had passed. If a waiter is new, he should be working with someone to make sure he gets it right. He also didn't bring one person's appetizer with the others.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The service was spectacular. Very profes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The service was spectacular. Very professional and polite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter could have been a little more att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Waiter could have been a little more attentive Seemed distracted. Everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Dinner at Bastille

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Nothing special. Food was ok for me and enjoyable for my colleagues. Very convenient as we work next door. Staff friendly enough but walking past the prep area staff seemed otherwise engaged - mobile phones etc. Probably wasn't busy enough for them. Overall we had a better meal on our previous visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time to Bastille Kitc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first time to Bastille Kitchen. It was recommended by a friend. Everything was absolutely excellent: food, drinks, service. We will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a revisit

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We had been to Bastille Kitchen several months ago and did not have a good experience. When I said this in my review the manager encouraged us to return. We returned w/o letting them know we were coming an we has a very nice time. The food and service was much better this time. We are glad we returned. People in our party enjoyed everything from the oysters and asparagus apps to the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nowhere to be found

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Did not see the server after entrees were served. We needed his assistance for drinks and other issues. Everything else was superb. Love this spot, usually.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Service and food were superb! Love the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service and food were superb! Love the decor. Went on a Gilt City brunch. One recommendation; skip the smoothie and offer egg choice off the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a really good exper ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I had a really good experience at Bastille K. Ambiance and service were perfect and food was good, especially the appetizers and the dessert were really tasty and well presented. Wines were reasonably priced, considering the kind of restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyable, while cooking well frequently it's challenging to go out. I was thrilled to explore Bastille kitchen for dinner. The waiter was attentive and welcoming. We had an early dinner after exploring the fort point area so it was a quiet start. Sharing steak tartare and beignets with a reasonable bottle of wine followed by the burger entree was perfect. Give Bastille a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Extremely slow service

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

When we arrived we one of three tables that were seated in the place. We still had to wait for 20 minutes to give our drink order, then another 20 or more minutes to give a food order. Once things were ordered they did show up. Overall the service was extremely slow I would chalk it up to them being woefully understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

This is usually my favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is usually my favorite restaurant. Unfortunately, my halibut and my daughter's chicken were both over cooked. I was a bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

fabulous decor

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The interior of Bastille kitchen was beautiful...unfortunately the food was average. We went for a mothers day brunch. The omelette and potatoes had excess oil. We order a cheese platter to start...not only did it take FOREVER to bring to the table, once there it arrived it was a meager portion of cheese, serves with cranberry nut bread which did not compliment the cheese at all. The service was slow and inattentive. To add to this, at the time we were there the ladies room was out of order, so ladies had to use the mens room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to eat

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food were great. Excellent atmosphere. Drinks aren't bad either.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great location and excellent food. Only suggestion would be to increase number of entree's - one person in our party felt menu was a bit limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun and lively atmosphere and delicious food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great and the chocolate caramel that arrived with the bill was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting Dishes, Poor Execution

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Making excuses, but it must have been an off night. The Beet Salad was over salted, the Onion Soup lacked broth (all soaked up by the bread), the Burger that was ordered medium-rare was not even rare and cold to the touch on the inside, and the Salmon was okay with bland sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The tuna tartare was very good however, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The tuna tartare was very good however, the steak was horribly fatty. Would not go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Went for my birthday dinner with my husb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner with my husband. Server was somewhat unfriendly but service overall was fine. He wasn't interested in small talk, that's for sure. Food was just okay, nothing I left wanting to eat again. Tuna tartare was fine, a bit bland and nothing crunchy to put it on. Husband had fish that he liked. My steak was so thin and rubbery I had to saw it into pieces - it tastes like a $8 cut of meat I used to buy in my college days. They brought out birthday dessert (without showing us a dessert menu first) which would have been a nice touch - if they hadn't charged us for it. If you're going to charge for a birthday dessert, at least let me pick what I want first. The restaurant has great ambiance and we had a great table but it doesn't overcome the underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Great find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved the food, the atmosphere and the staff. The menu had a great range, both in price and selection. Everything we ordered was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I've enjoyed the Bastille Kitchen often for lunch or after-office drinks with coworkers - it's a bit pricey but the food is wonderful. This time was a weekend pre-theater dinner and we enjoyed it thoroughly; plus, we were able to park on Summer St., then move on to a lot nearer the theater. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific experience. Highly recommend.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Terrific experience. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice addition to the neighborhood! Fair value

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The large space is nicely laid out and furnished. The Thurs night dinner crowd was lively but not too loud to preclude conversation. The server was friendly and trying really hard to be professional clearly having been trained recently, but was just not fully polished / experienced yet. For example, we would have preferred that all drink orders be taken and delivered simultaneously, for instance, vs. one-by-one as well as confirming in advance that another glass of wine is desired before providing it. The food was sequenced exactly as we requested in terms of serving it, and seemed neither rushed nor slow, to both the server and kitchen's credit.

The Fort Point cocktail was not balanced and in fact watery, as well as not cold enough (probably inferior ice?), but the wine by the glass selection is interesting and reasonably priced (really enjoyed the Medoc offering). There are much finer cocktail destinations within easy walking distance if that's the most important item.

The food was very good and the portions were fair to generous for both the crab/lobster flatbread and beef tartare starters, and the lamb loin main was quite large and completely delicious - and included nicely paired and integrated sides which we really appreciated!

The Baked Alaska dessert was fun and festive in terms of presentation, but like most versions (except Oleana's!)...it was pretty much flavorless and lackluster - a waste of perfectly good caloric budget.

Bastille is head and shoulders above most other options in the Fort Point Channel and Seaport area for dinner! I would come back for the atmosphere, food, and wine, but approach the cocktails and desserts very carefully next time. The service was earnest and friendly so just fine ultimately, but more work is still needed on that front as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice spot, disappointing food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I've eaten here twice - once last year and once this past weekend. Unfortunately the food has gone downhill since last year. This time around we had the mussels and cauliflower soup as apps (both were fine - nothing special). For entrees I had the halibut with quinoa, tomatoes and olives and it was...BLAH. It tasted like halibut...and quinoa...and tomatoes...with super salty olives mixed in. No real flavor or complementing sauce to bring it all together. My husband got the bacon wrapped rabbit. And, while it's not something I would eat, he said it was really dry. We got the beignets for dessert, which were quite good. Service was very good - the waitstaff was friendly and accomodating. The atmosphere is great. Love the decor and the open space. But, when you go there for the food (and it's not super cheap either), it's disappointing to give 4 stars for service and atmosphere and not for food or flavor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

I had a business associate visiting from out of town and took him to the restaurant. The décor is great and my guest was impressed with the whole experience. We were there on a Tuesday night kept talking for three-and-a-half hours with consistently attentive but not intrusive service. Wish the portions were larger given the prices but overall a great experience from start to finish. Dinner only establishment -- would go a lot more if it was available for lunch as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food & ambiance, poor value, slow service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The wonderful room decor and ambiance, courteous floor manager did not make up for poor training and slow service of hostesses and wait staff (sole bus person was great!). First food introduction for dinner, when finally presented, were stale (breakfast item) cold croissants. Appetizers and main course were interesting and savory. Wine list was fine but not notable. The overall experience did in no way match the high price point. We dine out frequently but even though not adverse to returning, will not make it part of our regular rotation. There are better meals and service available downtown for better value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.