About Basin Seafood and Spirits

3222 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 302-7391

Website:
http://www.basinseafoodnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Caro

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Basin Seafood and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Value
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for brunch and loved the bottomless ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for brunch and loved the bottomless mimosas and the food was great!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Basin Seafood and Spirits was amazing! ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Basin Seafood and Spirits was amazing! Such a great brunch choice. I went with a group of 6 and no one had a bad meal. The food was incredible and the service was fantastic. We went for the bottomless brunch and our mimosas were never empty. I would absolutely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. By all means would go again.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent. By all means would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time here. Both times I wanted to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Second time here. Both times I wanted to love it more than I did. Great cocktails and super attentive service. It was too loud for us to hear our own conversation. It seems the appetizers are where this restaurant shines. The Octopus ceviche was amazing. My risotto came in a pool of oil which was visually off-putting despite the nice flavors. husbands dish also had more oil on the plate than necessary. We probably won't be back unless it's for oyster happy hour and we can sit outside. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Basin Seafood & Spirits was a very pleas ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Basin Seafood & Spirits was a very pleasant find. After searching on Open Table for my husband , myself and a friend, I came across the Basin.

The place was awesome!!! Great Food! Great Atmosphere! And... Great People!!!

After ordering drinks and most all of the appetizers, we each had a cup of gumbo and corn & crab bisque. "YUMMY" to say the least.

The most pleasant surprise was to find out that the same person who owns and is the chef for Basin also... OWNS AND IS THE CHEF FOR BARU!!! Our FAVORITE NEW ORLEANS RESTAURANT!

What a coincidence! He and his family prepare all the meals and desserts for their guest. The recipes are a combination of Columbian & Cajun. What a GREAT combo.

Thanks to Basin Seafood & Spirits and too BARU for serving New Orleans! We LOVE You!

Mr. & Mrs. Jacob

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found Basin Seafood & Spirits on Yelp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We found Basin Seafood & Spirits on Yelp- and we were not disappointed. I reserved a table for a business dinner (was in town for a conference). Our party was initially for 5, but only 3 were able to attend- they were completely flexible and that worked out with no issue. The food was AMAZING. I cannot recommend highly enough the Crab & Crawfish Beignets, the Crawfish Macaroni & Cheese or the softshell crab entree. We also enjoyed the arugula salad- which was fresh and delicious!

Service was terrific and ambiance was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my parents there last weekend bec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took my parents there last weekend because they were interested in a seafood restaurant. The waitress was extremely attentive and helpful (although the restaurant was almost empty when we walked in so that may have made a difference). We didn't order any drinks so I can't speak to any of their cocktails but the crawfish and crab beignets were absolutely amazing. They're very decadent. We also ordered the crawfish mac and cheese which was also to die for. Lastly we ordered one of the specials which was the whole red snapper. Their menu is decent, but it's not one of the better options if you're looking for seafood. They have pretty generic options such as a burger and a fried seafood platter, which you can get just about anywhere in the city. The apps are the best part about the restaurant for sure. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for good seafood, but to sit down and enjoy a simple meal, it's very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a brunch group of 10. Everyone e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a brunch group of 10. Everyone enjoyed their food and we tried every specialty cocktail on the menu. I'd definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drink selection was interes ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food and drink selection was interesting and innovative. This is a great place to dine out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never sit at a table in the back. The ki ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Never sit at a table in the back. The kitchen noise is unbearable and the staff makes no attempt to be quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

I've been here twice. It's an above aver ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been here twice. It's an above average seafood restaurant, but the prices are a bit high when compared to other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Make sure to get crawfish beignets. Tuna ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Make sure to get crawfish beignets. Tuna sandwich was great too. Bottomless mimosas and great service. You should go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved every bit of it!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved every bit of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Banana rum cake was amazing, everything ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Banana rum cake was amazing, everything we got was exceptional. I love the fact that they try and get everything fresh and local. The ambience is really nice, I will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Our waiter,Renato, didn' ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great. Our waiter,Renato, didn't make us feel rushed and took care of us. Great service. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. It took 15 minut ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was wonderful. It took 15 minutes from when we were seated for someone to come to our table though. We had to tell two workers of that problem before anyone came. Started off bad but ended well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great neighborhood. Friendly staff...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great neighborhood. Friendly staff...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. This place is a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. This place is a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I have walked by Basin several times but decided to try it for lunch. My party of four enjoyed everything. Other restaurants we dined in during the next two days were Sylvain and Borgne and they enjoyed Basin the most. I kind of agree

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Gem for Brunch

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

What a great experience! Mimosa's crafted with care and bottomless at a great price. We started with Crab & Crawfish Beignets. They were light and fluffy with a great remoulade sauce. I ordered the Grilled Tuna Steak Sandwich, which had a large and very well seasoned filet. The brussles sprout slaw could use a bit more vinegar for my taste, but I was overall pleased. Great bargain at brunch in an often overpriced area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good overall. We Start ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was very good overall. We Started with the crab and crawfish beignets. They were very good. We also had the crawfish Mac and cheese. I had the seafood gumbo, which was good. I have only had seafood gumbo one or two other times so I'm not sure how it compares. The entree was the fried catfish. The catfish was fine. The accompaniments were delicious. The grits, creamed crawfish, sausage, and kale made the dish.

The service was excellent. Great friendly and attentive staff. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great small plates! Liked everything.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great small plates! Liked everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bottomless Mimosa Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Bottomless mimosas paired with delicious food and great service? Yes please!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent happy hour

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I went for dinner but arrived in time for happy hour. Really good deals on appetisers at $4 each. Highly recommend the octopus ceviche.

Fun cocktails too: the Good Times and Nola Mule were delicious.

The service was really superb: very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place for brunch. We love their bo ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch. We love their boudin balls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but not great. Our wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was good, but not great. Our waiter was inattentive and there seemed to be some confusion in the kitchen. We noted that both of our food orders sat in the kitchen window for 5 minutes before being brought out to us.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Expensive food that is rather mediocre

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I felt the food was average at Basin, compared to other options in the city, it just did not justify the price point. The oysters were good as were the crab beignets, but beyond those options, I wasn't impressed. For the two of us with just one cocktail each the bill came to over $110 for brunch! There are many other better dining venues in the city that deliver better quality food and better value.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fabulous charbroiled oysters

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed Basin on a Friday night during Lent. Charbroiled oysters were fantastic. Ruby Reds were okay, not as good as on a previous visit. Fried oyster Caesar salad was delicious- oysters were fried perfectly. Catfish was also very good. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Love this place!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I went with my family and tasted everything that everyone ordered... and everything was fantastic! I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Look forward to returning so I can try more things!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was pleasantly surprised

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Pulled up to the restaurant and had second thoughts. Glad we went in. Food was excellent and our service was even better. Not a big place. Not glitzy. Probably the best food/price we had while in New Orleans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BASIN SEAFOOD AND SPIRITS

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food is terrific. All the local dishes New Orleans is noted for. The oysters were big, fresh and delicious.

The night we were there they were understaffed I guess because there were several large groups, we arrived at the end of Happy Hour, and they just didn't have the staff to cope with it.

They were very apologetic about the experience and the quality of the food and the preparation made up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

WDAY/DINE

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Excellent fare, good service and the presentations are very polished. The beet micro greens topping the risotto was a really beautiful touch. The grilled oysters different from most in our area, but really, really good. Edgar is doing an outstanding job here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood beignets and tuna were great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Came in on a quiet Sunday night and had a great meal with friends. Seagood beignets were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not quite there yet.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My daughter choose this place for her birthday dinner...which turned into a brunch. Staff was friendly, service slightly inattentive (I think our waiter was rather new) and the food was inconsistent.

Appetizers were very good especially the crayfish mac & cheese! My entree has a poached egg which was actually chilled in spots and warm in others. The one on my wife's plate (which she gave to me) was actually very warm...almost hot.

I get the impression that they are still working out some "kinks" and I may give them another try. But it will be dinner next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good is amazing. Service could be so much more friendlier however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

good food and value

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The brunch menu has some creative twists on dishes and the cocktails are very good. It was completely full, and a bit noisy. They should consider hiring another bartender if they are always busy for brunches, as it took a while to get our drinks - we could have had two over the meal, but one was enough because it arrived so late. Minor issues won't keep us from returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the Best Happy Hours in town!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

I love their octopus cerviche and the fresh oysters and their boudin balls, everything is delicious and their signature cocktails are fabulous!!!!!!! You need to try this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love brunch, and we've eat ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

My wife and I love brunch, and we've eaten everywhere in town, but we haven't had a meal as amazing as brunch at Basin Seafood in a long time.

Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the food and drink menus, and got our food to the table exactly when we were ready for it. But the food would be worth going back for even if the service wasn't so great, that's how delicious every bite was.

We started with the charbroiled oysters, which might not have been as plump as at places like Kenton's or Pêche, but the flavors were perfectly balanced. The same can be said for the tasty croquette-like crawfish beignets and the grits with oyster mushroom.

For entrees, the pork and hash was flavorful, and the fried green tomatoes with poached egg and hollandaise were perfectly cooked in a lightly seasoned breading that didn't overpower the dish and wasn't too salty.

Best brunch in the city right now, and we'll be back for dinner soon, I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good find!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My husband and I wanted to go to a seafood restaurant, but didn't want to go to the same one's we've been to. I decided to do a google search and this restaurant popped up. I pulled it on through YELP and once I saw all of the pictures I was totally sold. Only criticism...YELP needs to be updated because a lot of the food pictured is no longer available. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.