HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Basin Seafood and Spirits

4.4
219 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food (7)
  • Fit for Foodies (7)
  • Neighborhood Gem (7)
The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 302-7391
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Edgar Caro
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine
What 219 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vip2die4 (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

The cocktails are delicious as well as the food . Corey, our waiter, is terrific.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

One of our( 4 pers) choices for a MardiGras meal. We knew the menu (online) and looked forward to the dining experience.
Wine pairing was just o.k. Skimpy amount
of wine in the fflights.
Reason we MIGHT NOT return, spending $200 for the meal, they have some nerve charging an extra $2 for a little more bread for the charcuterie.
It's the principle !!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

We recently moved to New Orleans, and first came to Basin when a local friend recommended their oyster happy hour. It has become our go-to place for dinner! Don't let the rustic decor put you off, this place is about great food and the wait staff are always friendly. We have eaten our way through much of the menu now, everything is delicious starting with cocktails and continuing through every course. Their weekend brunch has a seafood spin on traditional brunch dishes, delicious! The only course we can't comment on is dessert, because we've yet to make it there (yet!).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cincinnati)
2.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Saw great reviews but we were very disappointed. Food was sub-par especially for the prices. Waitress was a bit rude and inattentive. Maybe it was just an off night but that’s inexcusable. Royal Reds flavor was off, seemed frozen for too long. Oysters were ok, but there’s much better in town. Wife’s salad entree was just boring and uninspired. My fish entree was good but nothing mind blowing.

Report
Helpful
vipsmeredith (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

In Nola for a week, so wanted to find a place with good reviews and seafood. Open Table had this listed with great reviews, so we made our reservation.

We started with Brussel Sprouts and Seafood gumbo. I didn't try the gumbo, partly because I was too immersed in my own plate, which was devoured very quickly. By the time I finished mine, his as gone as well, so no opportunity to taste for myself. He said it was great.

I had the Butternut Squash Risotto, and if I were at home, seriously would have licked the bowl. It was filled with amazing flavor and texture. Sadly, I do not know what my husband ordered (and devoured) because, again, I was too focused on my risotto. I looked at he menu just now, and perhaps it was the Puppy Drum, but I can't be sure. Whatever he ordered, he must have enjoyed as both of our plates were, again, empty.

We ended with a chocolate layer cake, which after a few bites, had to ask for it in a box. We were both stuffed, and wanted to enjoy the cake with room in our stomachs.

Service was outstanding. Our server, name escapes me, was at our table often - but not irritatingly- filling our water and making sure we were enjoying our food and experience. She could not have been nicer.

We'll be back again next year, so for sure will include this in our rotation.

Report
Helpful
DanaLynn1964 (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Strong drinks! Awesome brussel sprouts.. friend had shrimp and grits and said it was awesome. Hubby and I split the seafood plate and it was more than enough food!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Once happy hour ended, this was outstanding. Had 10 for Uncles 90th and the food was extraordinary and service top notch. Great spot.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server left halfway through our meal to catch a flight. The drinks were horrible, but the food was good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Greensboro)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Not much atmosphere. Cement walls and floors, with bamboo chairs. Felt rather cold. We went there for New Years Eve, which undoubtably is a busy night. Our server was very nice but the meal was super rushed. We were in and out in less than an hour and didn’t get a chance to enjoy the meal because they wanted to turn over tables. The food was good, but expensive, so disappointing that we couldn’t take our time to enjoy everything.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Nashville)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We were here for the Sugar Bowl and selected this restaurant for the location and menu. Service was great and food delicious.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food. Good beer. Friendly service. The crab beignet was one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Service was wonderful and food was to die for!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
2.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Food was just okay. The "hot" chicken sandwich wasn't actually hot and the shrimp and grits wasn't as good as it looks in the pictures I saw previously before deciding to eat here.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on December 11, 2017

Birthday lunch for son. Good seafood

Report
Helpful
Kiki (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was wonderful... the blackened oysters were a real treat..gluten free friendly.. our waitress made great dinner recommendations and was very personable!!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Amazing - food was great and the service was outstanding

Report
Helpful
Scott (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Ambiance was date night friendly for sure. Waiter was available and helpful. We ordered Charbroiled oysters and raw oysters came out. Without so much as a hesitation he switched it out. If he would have left the raw oysters it would have been fine in our book! Ha ha. Oysters were really good. Broiled shrimp were a tad overcooked but okay. We very much loved the brussel sprouts and the entree. (Drum with crabmeat)

I like to try the Old Fashioned's when I go out to eat. The drink I was served was not very good, however It's honestly not fair since I learned how to make my own.

Overall, we had a great experience and would certainly return soon.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on November 22, 2017

Great neighborhood gem!!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on November 18, 2017

Service was amazing. We had 10 people everyone gave a big thumbs up on all the apps and meals.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

Food was ok.
As a native New Orleanian I rated the gumbo as average. Very thick, but tasty. The shrimp and grits could have been better seasoned. Great ambience and service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11