Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Basin Seafood and Spirits

4.4
254 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 302-7391
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Edgar Caro
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine
What 254 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious especially the charbroiled oysters. I’m from DC and I love raw oysters, so I’m hoping to be able to find charbroiled oysters back home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The shrimp on green fried tomato is terrific. The Basin breakfast was ok - eggs done well, potatoes were soggy but it was a thrasher's portion. Great restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We had a bigger group and the staff at Basin handled it wonderfully. Our food was wonderful and the service was great. If you go you must try the crawfish mac and cheese. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We originally went to Basin for brunch where my hubby had the best chicken and waffles imaginable!! Juicy, delicious chicken on crisp tender mini waffles. We liked it so much, we came back for our 30th wedding anniversary. Jennifer was our wonderful server both times. My hubby had a whole red snapper, decorated to perfection and he loved it. I had charbroiled oysters that were superb, and jambalaya. Flavorful and delicious. We finished with dessert - peach bread pudding for hubby and banana cake, fluffy and delicate, and coffee. What a wonderful night!!! Magazine Street is so fun to walk off dinner afterwards, by the way!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I have been to Basin quite a few times so obviously they have good food! I am a bit sad to see some regular menu items leave. (i.e crab and corn bisque, surf and turf benedict). Not sure that I will return as though were some of the only things I really enjoyed during brunch. The charbroiled oysters were just regular. Not anything to need again. BUT My oyster salad was very delicious! The service is always pretty standard, not above average but well enough to not be bummed. This time around our server was also the hostess and she worked really hard to make sure we were taken care of despite working two positions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our brunches were wonderful, as was our server, Jennifer. Hubby’s Chicken and Waffles were a perfect blend of juicy chicken, crisp waffles and a sweet, spicy sauce. My breakfast of eggs, thick bacon, buttered biscuit and well seasoned home fries was exactly what I wanted! We’re now going back for our anniversary after canceling the place we had scheduled!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Wonderful experience! The staff took excellent care of our party of eight! Perfect for post graduation dinner!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The restaurant was an excellent choice. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. I highly recommend the chicken and waffles. The mimosas were excellent. A perfect mix of orange juice and champagne. A lot of place are heavy on the OJ. I will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was very good, but the service was downright strange. The waitress did not make eye contact and interrupted our conversations by inserting herself into them. Utensils and serving ware were dirty. The restaurant was incredibly loud and had a fundamentally disorganized vibe. There are plenty of other restaurants in town where the food is excellent, and I do not see the need to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Lunch awesome

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent and inventive menu at reasonable prices. Unfortunately the noise level was so high it was difficult to have conversations at a table of 5 except to person next to you. Just don't understand why restaurants think a loud environment is desirable. The room had entirely hard surfaces, walls, ceiling floors. Of course it was loud. I'd love to go back for the food, but wouldn't due to the noise. Perhaps getting one of the tables on sidewalk would be workable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Was in New Orleans for Jazzfest and wanted to get away from the French Quarter.
Wanted to get some authentic Nawlins style seafood and cuisine.
Was with local friends who had suggested Superior Seafood on St. Charles street, but there was a 45 minute wait. Thanks to Open Table we were able to get a reservation for 4 nearby at Basin, on a busy late Friday night right away. They only had seating outside available, but it was a nice night and quite pleasant. (Im from NYC and I normally wont eat outside, due to homeless people harrassing you when seated out on the sidewalk) Our waitress was on point and professional and was helpful with all our questions about the menu and craft cocktails.
We all enjoyed the craft cocktails to start. Then we ordered 2 dozen char-broiled oysters which were the best I ever had in Nawlins or anywhere! Next was some Gumbo and Jambalya. Both excellent also one of the best seafood gumbo's I have had in nawlins. I had the Puppy Drum filet for my entree, which was excellent! Perfectly cooked and flavoured fish. Highly reccomend this restaurant. I will return next time Im in NOLA!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great happy hour .50 raw oysters on Monday. They are huge , cold, and they shuck them really quickly! The Chargrilled Oysters are so worth it. The Pickled Beets salad is excellent. Smoked snapper dip is incredible. The Shrimp and Grits and Fried Catfish entrees are both outstanding, very fresh, tasty, and creative. The portions are very nice, enough to take home if you had drinks and salad and appetizers. The owners and waitstaff are very attentive and friendly, they take a personal interest in your dining experience. The local Parrish craft beer on tap is cold, cold!! The specialty drinks Cucumber Firecracker and Good Life are very fun and refreshing...go enjoy this super place, we love it!!! This restaurant deserves the great rating, it doesn’t disappoint at all!!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Made reservation and headed to restaurant - checked in with one person who didn’t respond to us. Waited a bit longer and staff said it would be 20 minutes. We left at that point. Looked like they were short staffed. Open table should not have accepted reservation if they could not accommodate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Best place we ate at all weekend . We ate all over the city over the weekend including several 4+ star restaurants and hands down this was the best food . Mixed cocktails were excellent made with fresh fruit and fresh infused floral drinks .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Charbroiled oysters were undercooked and under seasoned. The seafood platters were very good, yet the mound of shoestring french fries that the seafood was set upon was cold and poorly fried. The slaw that was served did not seem fresh. Our server was good and seemed to do the best he could with the menu with which he had to work. The atmosphere is not conducive to a date night. I later discovered that there was no hot water in the mens room, which made the, "Employees must wash hands before returning to work," unnecessary for a sanitation perspective.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Basin is amazing. We had the Brussel sprouts and Boudin Balls for appetizers...incredible...and our entrees were just as fresh and delicious and amazing. The Good Life cocktail is worth the trip all by itself. Great service from our server Brian. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Being a restaurant owner in New Orleans is difficult, because your margin of error is small. There are so many fantastic places, so if yours is not excellent, you have a touch job bringing the crowds in. We have eaten at Basin many times, especially for their grilled oysters. They are delicious. However, our friend ordered the tuna which she disliked so much she returned it for my dish, the Caesar Salad with Fried Oysters. I had ordered the dish before, but this time I remembered not only are the oysters fried, so are the anchovies, and you don't want to get those confused!

It's a great neighborhood stop, but the quality could be better.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Service was underwhelming. Waiter had obvious hangover. Food varied from good to average

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Basin was able to take our large party and gave us great service and food. We enjoyed taking our son and his friends from Tulane to a great meal during our visit to New Orleans. Oysters were huge and yummy, portions were plentiful and delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Waited forever for our oysters. Were told they would take 20 minutes, but they didn’t come out until after our full meal. The waiter also forgot about our salad, so that was late too. When the bill came, I saw that we were not charged for the oysters. I was going to thank the waiter, but when I pointed it out to him, he tried to put the oysters back on the bill! Thankfully, the computer system wouldn’t let him do that. Overall, The food was not so bad, but the oysters were the worst I’ve ever had in New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Cannot say enough great things about Basin. We were in NOLA for spring break, wanted a great local, neighborhood spot in the Garden District with terrific local fare. Basin had it all. Right on Magazine St., full of neighborhood folks, a server who was totally on it, it was a perfect meal. Started with raw oysters, perfect. Big andmeaty, not fishy or too salty. Cochon sliders, how they packed so much flavor into that pulled pork I don't know, the rolls they were served on were perfection. Crab and Corn Bisque, fabulous. Butternut Squash risotto with Crab, to die for. Puppy Drum was excellent and how they made cauliflower taste that amazing, I'll never know. Finished up with Banana Rum Cake, my 14 year old son ordered that and we all devoured it. Warm, with ice cream and pecans, it was perfection. The cocktails were a work of art. Lastly, you can clearly tell how much attention to detail they pay to their food by their kid's chicken and fries. It was a breast of chicken that was fried to a deep brown perfection then sliced and the best fries we have had anywhere. We ALL enjoyed my son's meal. It was not a throwaway kid's meal, it should be on the menu. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Really great time—nice food & good service....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Good food but very slow and inefficient service. The food was very good and our server was actually very nice but he was slow and the kitchen staff us too small for the amount of people coming through

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Wife and I had oysters on the half, charbroiled oysters, crab and crawfish beignets, boudin balls, and an order of royal red shrimp. Enjoyed with a couple of glasses of wine and local beer. Server Chris D added to a great experience! Looking forward to a repeat visit on our next NOLA trip.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The Charbroiled P&J Oysters were GREAT, best oysters I have had. I came back twice just for them. Service was good. Bottomless mimosas a plus on Sundays. But VERY loud inside. Not a place for a quiet dinner. The cocktails were creative and good. The Cucumber Firecracker was delicious and refreshing. Even the virgin option of the firecracker was great. Caesar salad was only ok. Nothing special. For me, the oysters were the reason I will go back and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Good food nice part of town

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food at Basin's is excellent! Unfortunately, the service was extremely slow. We were seated immediately (thank you Open Table), but sat for 25 minutes before our order was taken

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Really enjoyed the oyster happy hour special with $0.50 oysters. You don’t see quality oysters at that price very often in any city. The risotto and jambalaya were also outstanding. Overall, my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious. We started with a dozen raw oysters. I had the puppy drum (and the cauliflower on the side was incredible!) and my friend had the octopus ceviche and the beignets. All come recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Good spot for lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

This little place in the Garden District is a real find. The char grilled oysters are delicious! I had them on two visits! These oysters are so much better than the "better known" restaurants in the French Quarter. These are smoky and have just a little cheese and butter so you taste the oyster - not swimming in them as in other restaurants. The crawfish and crab beignets are incredible. Savory bites that are light and filled with a delicious filling. The boudin balls are also delicious. A cross between a hush puppy and fritter with the boudin sausage in the middle. Yum! The caesar salad is OK - but you need some greens with the rich food! The beet salad is the one to get - it is delicious. Marinated beets with goat cheese medallions cooked in panko. The crab and corn chowder is more of a bisque - very smooth not chunky like I think of a chowder, but tasty.

The atmosphere is casual, no need to dress up. On a weeknight you can walk right in. It's on Magazine street so it's an easy walk to shops and browsing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

There for our friend's 30th bday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

In New Orleans on vacation. Basins was recommended by a shop owner on the French quarter for really good seafood and reasonable prices. I had the catfish and my wife had the puppy drum. Both excellent. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

The cocktails are delicious as well as the food . Corey, our waiter, is terrific.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2018

One of our( 4 pers) choices for a MardiGras meal. We knew the menu (online) and looked forward to the dining experience.
Wine pairing was just o.k. Skimpy amount
of wine in the fflights.
Reason we MIGHT NOT return, spending $200 for the meal, they have some nerve charging an extra $2 for a little more bread for the charcuterie.
It's the principle !!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

We recently moved to New Orleans, and first came to Basin when a local friend recommended their oyster happy hour. It has become our go-to place for dinner! Don't let the rustic decor put you off, this place is about great food and the wait staff are always friendly. We have eaten our way through much of the menu now, everything is delicious starting with cocktails and continuing through every course. Their weekend brunch has a seafood spin on traditional brunch dishes, delicious! The only course we can't comment on is dessert, because we've yet to make it there (yet!).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Saw great reviews but we were very disappointed. Food was sub-par especially for the prices. Waitress was a bit rude and inattentive. Maybe it was just an off night but that’s inexcusable. Royal Reds flavor was off, seemed frozen for too long. Oysters were ok, but there’s much better in town. Wife’s salad entree was just boring and uninspired. My fish entree was good but nothing mind blowing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

In Nola for a week, so wanted to find a place with good reviews and seafood. Open Table had this listed with great reviews, so we made our reservation.

We started with Brussel Sprouts and Seafood gumbo. I didn't try the gumbo, partly because I was too immersed in my own plate, which was devoured very quickly. By the time I finished mine, his as gone as well, so no opportunity to taste for myself. He said it was great.

I had the Butternut Squash Risotto, and if I were at home, seriously would have licked the bowl. It was filled with amazing flavor and texture. Sadly, I do not know what my husband ordered (and devoured) because, again, I was too focused on my risotto. I looked at he menu just now, and perhaps it was the Puppy Drum, but I can't be sure. Whatever he ordered, he must have enjoyed as both of our plates were, again, empty.

We ended with a chocolate layer cake, which after a few bites, had to ask for it in a box. We were both stuffed, and wanted to enjoy the cake with room in our stomachs.

Service was outstanding. Our server, name escapes me, was at our table often - but not irritatingly- filling our water and making sure we were enjoying our food and experience. She could not have been nicer.

We'll be back again next year, so for sure will include this in our rotation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Strong drinks! Awesome brussel sprouts.. friend had shrimp and grits and said it was awesome. Hubby and I split the seafood plate and it was more than enough food!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7