Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Basin Seafood and Spirits

The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.

3222 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 302-7391

Website:
http://www.basinseafoodnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Caro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Basin Seafood and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Dinner on a business trip/vacation, we went twice! Truly enjoyed the delicious fare--appetizers and main courses both outstanding. Local beers tasty. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable--we asked for him again the second time. Chefs are superb! Thank you for a delightful experience! When back in NOLA will definitely stop by!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch and had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, and we definitely enjoyed the bottomless mimosas! I could barely set my glass down before our servers came to fill it up again. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Basin had potential. The menu looked delicious. Unfortunately it felt a bit like a restaurant someone used to care about. Just a little forgotten. Our food was decent, service was just fine... but all in all it wasn't what I was hoping for.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food tasted good and the experience started ok. However, while my normal on the menu choice came out just fine and tasted very good, my wife's special order was all messed up. Side item not included and never arrived, the order was not to specifications. The waiter seemed flustered didn't place a drink order. Left the never arrived side on the bill. The manager did offer the never ordered drink on the house. Maybe just a bad day for the waiter. Still with multiple choices in NOLA one expects better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was spectacular and seasonally appropriate so it was incredibly fresh. The menu will have changed by the time you read this review but I love fresh and local ingredients especially in a place line NO LA because there is a rich food culture. That is not say this was typical or cliché if fact it was inspired use of that culture and flavor profile in new and inventive ways. I highly recommended the wine list is decent but not overly expensive and great accoutrement to the cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in all of New Orleans. We got off the plane and directly went to Basin. The charbroiled oysters are by far the best oysters in New Orleans. Those that say Dragos charbroiled oysters are the best obviously haven't been to this amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really really great food. I actually was not in love with my initial dish. Everyone else at the table was raving about their food. The waiter must have seen me take my first bite and not smile. He came over, suggested something else, left the fries which I loved to munch on until my new dish came out. He put a rush order on it and the new fantastic dish was out before I new it. Great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Came for a birthday brunch. Started out great. Gio was nice and attentive. Things got really special due to 2 other parties that were celebrating birthdays as well. The restaurant even allowed us to play music and it turned into sort of a nice brunch party but when another 2 people came in, it almost seemed as if we were bit of a nuisance and they wanted us gone. They immediately cut the music off and promptly cut off the mimosas as well telling us at 2:20 PM that they carafe they were giving us would be our last one. Despite us seeing them come out with more bottles that were allegedly for the "dinner service". This was a really disappointing end to what started out as a super fun brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very cool little restaurant in Irish Channel. Got a tip from a local. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great spot! My reservation was for 3, but I had 2 additional surprise guests. The hostess at Basin were kind enough to find us seating outside. The food and drinks were excellent. The chicken and waffles was a hit amongst the table, as well as the crab and seafood balls. I had a watermelon margarita and that was refreshing on a hot summer day. Excellent low key date spot or for a group of friends. And...BOTTOMLESS MIMOSAS! That is all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wanted to try a different restaurant that I had never had so I chose this one after reading the reviews. It was quiet, we went approximately 1.5 hrs prior to closing and there were only two parties in the restaurant. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. We had the charbroiled oysters, corn and crab bisque and crab and crawfish beignets and I would not hesitate to get any of the above again. It was all very good. I found the oysters the be flavors without being overly buttery. My husband felt they did not have enough butter but I felt they had just the right amount with a wonderful smoky, charbroiled flavor. I can't wait to go back and have some more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a great experience. Went there for Saturday morning brunch and had an excellent time. Good food and very tasty mimosas. The server Jay was amazing. He provided the best customer service that we had in New Orleans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a real assortment off the menu and enjoyed it all. My personal disappointment came from the whole grilled fish that was explained to me to have a crisp skin. It was obvious the skin was once crisp but for some reason they elected to dump a slaw on top of the fish turning crisp desirable skin into uneatable rubber. The selection of Chardonnay wine was also non-existent with only one choice that is normally $10 a bottle at Costco. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Jay, our server was wonderful! We all ordered bottomless mimosas for $15 (what a steal) & he kept our glasses full! A hard task for a group of gals that love to brunch.

The food was absolutely unreal. So delicious. We had the charbroiled oysters for our appetizer & they didn't disappoint. Then I had the chicken & waffle for my meal & it was probably the best chicken & waffle I've ever had. Seriously. It doesn't have the super sweet taste of a typical C&W, but was so hearty & rich & good. The poached egg was a nice touch also!

My friends had the Pork Hash & the Broiche French Toast & we all cleared our plates. This place is super cute, with great service & great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food took forever & was served cold. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was great. Service was a little slow, they seemed understaffed, but the waiter was very nice and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I absolutely love Basin! I took my whole family there while they were in town (6 people) and they were so accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was warm, friendly, and helpful. We arrived for brunch and were able to secure an order of delicious red royals.

The octopus ceviche, catfish po boy, & grilled tuna sandwich were tasty. The fish taco was fair. Unfortunately, the person who ate the ceviche had an upset tummy several hours later. I'm not saying the cause was something served and eaten at Basin, but nothing else was eaten later that day.

We enjoyed the meal and plan a future return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had friends from college and basin was an excellent choice for the reunion. The food on the menu is well priced. The drinks were delicious. Overall everything was as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow! I have been to Basin for dinner, happy hour, and brunch and I am always so impressed by the service and the food. Every server has been so accommodating and always prepared to give great recommendations. The food is also incredible and they do a great job crafting creative dishes with different seafood. Their cocktails are also fantastic - which is great during happy hour! I would absolutely recommend Basin to anyone looking for a great seafood-centered restaurant on Magazine, or someone looking for a great happy hour!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Birthday celebration and everything was great. Alexander our waiter was awesome and food was 5 star quality.

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We eat at Basin weekly for the Oyster special. I've never been disappointed. Last Monday was between Jazz Fest weekends and they were unusually busy. The servers handled it like pros and made sure we knew our orders were taken care of. They even anticipated our refills so we didn't have to wait. Great staff!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, especially the char grilled oysters!!Would definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Kitchen was slow and in chaos. Servers did there best to keep things rolling, but it was slow...it took more than 30 minutes to get our oysters Seafood gumbo and crab bisque were okay. Sent back the shrimp remoulade which was awful. Crawfish mac and cheese was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our waiter took about 5-10 minutes after being seated to come introduce himself to us. It was the start of happy hour at 3:30pm but the restaurant itself wasn't too busy, several empty tables. We had reservations for a party of 8 and was only given one menu when we were seated.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service and food here is great!! Especially loved the raw oysters and the blue crabmeat and crawfish beignets !

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Amazing everything.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

For the visitor to New Orleans a great neighborhood spot in the Garden District and off the beaten tourist path. Excellent seafood including fresh gulf fish and oysters. Very attentive service, very casual, cold beer, great cocktails and friendly service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We called when our transportation delayed us over 30 minutes and they held our reservation. Party of nine- some hiccups with service , but overall great meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fresh oysters, tasty bisque. We ordered a bottle of Cava and shared the red beans and rice, which we enjoyed. However, the beignets were not as crispy as we would have liked. The service was very good and it was nice to be able to dine outside and people-watch. I would definitely return.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food not seasoned. Seasoned for people that have no palet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went to Basin Seafood and Spirits for my son's birthday. It was delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was some of the best food we had in a city of amazing food. Located in the heart of the adorable shops on Magazine St in the Garden District, this gem has it all. Hard to describe the ambiance of a restaurant that uses an old box spring as a wall hanging lamp and where the waitstaff seems to know 1/2 the patrons. They didn't know us but treated us like royalty.
Service was well-paced.
Food- husband had jambalaya that he and my kid fought over. The octopus seviche- never had anything like it. The lobster was extremely tender with fabulous flavor.
We had the drum fish as well. Tender, flavorful and, again, prepared in a fashion that I have not tasted before.

We love this restaurant and wish them great success.
As a side for you gals- the bartender is a hunk!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was our first time at Basin and we will be back. The food and drinks were most excellent. The Steak and Fries was done to perfection! Two others shared the whole redfish special and it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food! Awesome PoBoys!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 10, 2017

charbroiled oysters were fabulous as we'll as the puppy drum filet entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Seafood gumbo one of the best I have had. Great service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wanted a good seafood read to take friends from out of town that would pull them uptown and this was a hit! The drum dish was fantastic and their chargrilled oysters were among the best in town. The Brussels sprouts were also amazing. The menu had a good range from heavier comfort food dishes to lighter fare. Service was attentive and well-paced. Excellent meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. The crawfish Mac and Cheese was amazing. We also had the pork hash, shrimp po'boy and some oysters. So delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner started out great. My husband and I had a two seater table near the back it was quiet. Then they sat a huge table right next to us. Extra people then showed up in that group and they were practically sitting at our table. They were so loud we couldn't even hear each other. So we were pretty annoyed with that. Food was delicious though. Our 2nd time there. I'm sure we will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.