About Basin Seafood and Spirits

The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.

3222 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 302-7391

Website:
http://www.basinseafoodnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Caro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Basin Seafood and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Food was ok.
As a native New Orleanian I rated the gumbo as average. Very thick, but tasty. The shrimp and grits could have been better seasoned. Great ambience and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Excellent food and great cocktails. Food was phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Had a great lunch. The catfish was WOW! Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Well prepared food. Main courses A bit pricey for the neighborhood and atmosphere. Creative Cocktails

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We ate our way through New Orleans for three days...and this was our top pick, even up against much more "acclaimed" and "formal", fine dining atmospheres. The silverware is cafeteria grade. The decor is nothing special, but nice enough. The food was flawless. Perfect. The quality of the food and drink is clearly the focus. And for tourists like ourselves who wanted some local fare with a focus on quality, this place was gold.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Really enjoyed the food here! Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Bottomless mimosas top notch, great for large parties or small date. Brunch was amazing food was perfect and very New Orleans inspired. Would definitely go back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Tho I had enjoyed Basin previously, I hadn't been there in a few years--happy I returned. I had the Crab & Corn Bisque topped w/ Chilled Crabmeat Salad--thick'n'creamy and absolutely delicious (almost wish I had ordered the bowl instead of the cup). For my main course, I had the duck confit special which was excellent; I especially enjoyed the accompanying pureed/mashed potatoes, the greens, and the mushrooms, three items that don't always thrill me. And the minced nuts with citrus glaze (or something like that) over the duck was divine!

My friend, who had been a Basin virgin, had the Seafood Gumbo and the Shrimp & Grits, and cleared cup and plate, respectively.

Service was lovely and attentive.

Hope to return soon!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service. If you want to get away from the Quarter when visiting NOLA head Uptown to Basin!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Very good food. Enjoyed the Shrimp & Grits very much. The service was friendly and efficient with plenty of southern charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I’ve been to Basin multiple times..always for brunch. Food is always great. It tasted even better today. Everyone’s meal was super tasty. The fried pickles were AMAZING! And our bottomless mimosas were always filled. Never had to find our server to get refills. He was on it. Will definitely be back. It’s my official favorite brunch spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Dinner on a business trip/vacation, we went twice! Truly enjoyed the delicious fare--appetizers and main courses both outstanding. Local beers tasty. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable--we asked for him again the second time. Chefs are superb! Thank you for a delightful experience! When back in NOLA will definitely stop by!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch and had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, and we definitely enjoyed the bottomless mimosas! I could barely set my glass down before our servers came to fill it up again. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Basin had potential. The menu looked delicious. Unfortunately it felt a bit like a restaurant someone used to care about. Just a little forgotten. Our food was decent, service was just fine... but all in all it wasn't what I was hoping for.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food tasted good and the experience started ok. However, while my normal on the menu choice came out just fine and tasted very good, my wife's special order was all messed up. Side item not included and never arrived, the order was not to specifications. The waiter seemed flustered didn't place a drink order. Left the never arrived side on the bill. The manager did offer the never ordered drink on the house. Maybe just a bad day for the waiter. Still with multiple choices in NOLA one expects better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was spectacular and seasonally appropriate so it was incredibly fresh. The menu will have changed by the time you read this review but I love fresh and local ingredients especially in a place line NO LA because there is a rich food culture. That is not say this was typical or cliché if fact it was inspired use of that culture and flavor profile in new and inventive ways. I highly recommended the wine list is decent but not overly expensive and great accoutrement to the cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in all of New Orleans. We got off the plane and directly went to Basin. The charbroiled oysters are by far the best oysters in New Orleans. Those that say Dragos charbroiled oysters are the best obviously haven't been to this amazing restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really really great food. I actually was not in love with my initial dish. Everyone else at the table was raving about their food. The waiter must have seen me take my first bite and not smile. He came over, suggested something else, left the fries which I loved to munch on until my new dish came out. He put a rush order on it and the new fantastic dish was out before I new it. Great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Came for a birthday brunch. Started out great. Gio was nice and attentive. Things got really special due to 2 other parties that were celebrating birthdays as well. The restaurant even allowed us to play music and it turned into sort of a nice brunch party but when another 2 people came in, it almost seemed as if we were bit of a nuisance and they wanted us gone. They immediately cut the music off and promptly cut off the mimosas as well telling us at 2:20 PM that they carafe they were giving us would be our last one. Despite us seeing them come out with more bottles that were allegedly for the "dinner service". This was a really disappointing end to what started out as a super fun brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very cool little restaurant in Irish Channel. Got a tip from a local. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great spot! My reservation was for 3, but I had 2 additional surprise guests. The hostess at Basin were kind enough to find us seating outside. The food and drinks were excellent. The chicken and waffles was a hit amongst the table, as well as the crab and seafood balls. I had a watermelon margarita and that was refreshing on a hot summer day. Excellent low key date spot or for a group of friends. And...BOTTOMLESS MIMOSAS! That is all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wanted to try a different restaurant that I had never had so I chose this one after reading the reviews. It was quiet, we went approximately 1.5 hrs prior to closing and there were only two parties in the restaurant. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. We had the charbroiled oysters, corn and crab bisque and crab and crawfish beignets and I would not hesitate to get any of the above again. It was all very good. I found the oysters the be flavors without being overly buttery. My husband felt they did not have enough butter but I felt they had just the right amount with a wonderful smoky, charbroiled flavor. I can't wait to go back and have some more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a great experience. Went there for Saturday morning brunch and had an excellent time. Good food and very tasty mimosas. The server Jay was amazing. He provided the best customer service that we had in New Orleans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a real assortment off the menu and enjoyed it all. My personal disappointment came from the whole grilled fish that was explained to me to have a crisp skin. It was obvious the skin was once crisp but for some reason they elected to dump a slaw on top of the fish turning crisp desirable skin into uneatable rubber. The selection of Chardonnay wine was also non-existent with only one choice that is normally $10 a bottle at Costco. Everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Jay, our server was wonderful! We all ordered bottomless mimosas for $15 (what a steal) & he kept our glasses full! A hard task for a group of gals that love to brunch.

The food was absolutely unreal. So delicious. We had the charbroiled oysters for our appetizer & they didn't disappoint. Then I had the chicken & waffle for my meal & it was probably the best chicken & waffle I've ever had. Seriously. It doesn't have the super sweet taste of a typical C&W, but was so hearty & rich & good. The poached egg was a nice touch also!

My friends had the Pork Hash & the Broiche French Toast & we all cleared our plates. This place is super cute, with great service & great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food took forever & was served cold. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was great. Service was a little slow, they seemed understaffed, but the waiter was very nice and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I absolutely love Basin! I took my whole family there while they were in town (6 people) and they were so accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was warm, friendly, and helpful. We arrived for brunch and were able to secure an order of delicious red royals.

The octopus ceviche, catfish po boy, & grilled tuna sandwich were tasty. The fish taco was fair. Unfortunately, the person who ate the ceviche had an upset tummy several hours later. I'm not saying the cause was something served and eaten at Basin, but nothing else was eaten later that day.

We enjoyed the meal and plan a future return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had friends from college and basin was an excellent choice for the reunion. The food on the menu is well priced. The drinks were delicious. Overall everything was as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wow! I have been to Basin for dinner, happy hour, and brunch and I am always so impressed by the service and the food. Every server has been so accommodating and always prepared to give great recommendations. The food is also incredible and they do a great job crafting creative dishes with different seafood. Their cocktails are also fantastic - which is great during happy hour! I would absolutely recommend Basin to anyone looking for a great seafood-centered restaurant on Magazine, or someone looking for a great happy hour!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Birthday celebration and everything was great. Alexander our waiter was awesome and food was 5 star quality.

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We eat at Basin weekly for the Oyster special. I've never been disappointed. Last Monday was between Jazz Fest weekends and they were unusually busy. The servers handled it like pros and made sure we knew our orders were taken care of. They even anticipated our refills so we didn't have to wait. Great staff!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food, especially the char grilled oysters!!Would definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Kitchen was slow and in chaos. Servers did there best to keep things rolling, but it was slow...it took more than 30 minutes to get our oysters Seafood gumbo and crab bisque were okay. Sent back the shrimp remoulade which was awful. Crawfish mac and cheese was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our waiter took about 5-10 minutes after being seated to come introduce himself to us. It was the start of happy hour at 3:30pm but the restaurant itself wasn't too busy, several empty tables. We had reservations for a party of 8 and was only given one menu when we were seated.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service and food here is great!! Especially loved the raw oysters and the blue crabmeat and crawfish beignets !

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Amazing everything.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

For the visitor to New Orleans a great neighborhood spot in the Garden District and off the beaten tourist path. Excellent seafood including fresh gulf fish and oysters. Very attentive service, very casual, cold beer, great cocktails and friendly service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We called when our transportation delayed us over 30 minutes and they held our reservation. Party of nine- some hiccups with service , but overall great meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.