Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Basin Seafood and Spirits

4.4
234 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 302-7391
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Edgar Caro
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine
What 234 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Service was underwhelming. Waiter had obvious hangover. Food varied from good to average

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Basin was able to take our large party and gave us great service and food. We enjoyed taking our son and his friends from Tulane to a great meal during our visit to New Orleans. Oysters were huge and yummy, portions were plentiful and delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Waited forever for our oysters. Were told they would take 20 minutes, but they didn’t come out until after our full meal. The waiter also forgot about our salad, so that was late too. When the bill came, I saw that we were not charged for the oysters. I was going to thank the waiter, but when I pointed it out to him, he tried to put the oysters back on the bill! Thankfully, the computer system wouldn’t let him do that. Overall, The food was not so bad, but the oysters were the worst I’ve ever had in New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Cannot say enough great things about Basin. We were in NOLA for spring break, wanted a great local, neighborhood spot in the Garden District with terrific local fare. Basin had it all. Right on Magazine St., full of neighborhood folks, a server who was totally on it, it was a perfect meal. Started with raw oysters, perfect. Big andmeaty, not fishy or too salty. Cochon sliders, how they packed so much flavor into that pulled pork I don't know, the rolls they were served on were perfection. Crab and Corn Bisque, fabulous. Butternut Squash risotto with Crab, to die for. Puppy Drum was excellent and how they made cauliflower taste that amazing, I'll never know. Finished up with Banana Rum Cake, my 14 year old son ordered that and we all devoured it. Warm, with ice cream and pecans, it was perfection. The cocktails were a work of art. Lastly, you can clearly tell how much attention to detail they pay to their food by their kid's chicken and fries. It was a breast of chicken that was fried to a deep brown perfection then sliced and the best fries we have had anywhere. We ALL enjoyed my son's meal. It was not a throwaway kid's meal, it should be on the menu. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Really great time—nice food & good service....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Good food but very slow and inefficient service. The food was very good and our server was actually very nice but he was slow and the kitchen staff us too small for the amount of people coming through

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The Charbroiled P&J Oysters were GREAT, best oysters I have had. I came back twice just for them. Service was good. Bottomless mimosas a plus on Sundays. But VERY loud inside. Not a place for a quiet dinner. The cocktails were creative and good. The Cucumber Firecracker was delicious and refreshing. Even the virgin option of the firecracker was great. Caesar salad was only ok. Nothing special. For me, the oysters were the reason I will go back and highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Good food nice part of town

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food at Basin's is excellent! Unfortunately, the service was extremely slow. We were seated immediately (thank you Open Table), but sat for 25 minutes before our order was taken

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Really enjoyed the oyster happy hour special with $0.50 oysters. You don’t see quality oysters at that price very often in any city. The risotto and jambalaya were also outstanding. Overall, my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious. We started with a dozen raw oysters. I had the puppy drum (and the cauliflower on the side was incredible!) and my friend had the octopus ceviche and the beignets. All come recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Good spot for lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

This little place in the Garden District is a real find. The char grilled oysters are delicious! I had them on two visits! These oysters are so much better than the "better known" restaurants in the French Quarter. These are smoky and have just a little cheese and butter so you taste the oyster - not swimming in them as in other restaurants. The crawfish and crab beignets are incredible. Savory bites that are light and filled with a delicious filling. The boudin balls are also delicious. A cross between a hush puppy and fritter with the boudin sausage in the middle. Yum! The caesar salad is OK - but you need some greens with the rich food! The beet salad is the one to get - it is delicious. Marinated beets with goat cheese medallions cooked in panko. The crab and corn chowder is more of a bisque - very smooth not chunky like I think of a chowder, but tasty.

The atmosphere is casual, no need to dress up. On a weeknight you can walk right in. It's on Magazine street so it's an easy walk to shops and browsing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

There for our friend's 30th bday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

In New Orleans on vacation. Basins was recommended by a shop owner on the French quarter for really good seafood and reasonable prices. I had the catfish and my wife had the puppy drum. Both excellent. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

The cocktails are delicious as well as the food . Corey, our waiter, is terrific.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 12, 2018

One of our( 4 pers) choices for a MardiGras meal. We knew the menu (online) and looked forward to the dining experience.
Wine pairing was just o.k. Skimpy amount
of wine in the fflights.
Reason we MIGHT NOT return, spending $200 for the meal, they have some nerve charging an extra $2 for a little more bread for the charcuterie.
It's the principle !!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

We recently moved to New Orleans, and first came to Basin when a local friend recommended their oyster happy hour. It has become our go-to place for dinner! Don't let the rustic decor put you off, this place is about great food and the wait staff are always friendly. We have eaten our way through much of the menu now, everything is delicious starting with cocktails and continuing through every course. Their weekend brunch has a seafood spin on traditional brunch dishes, delicious! The only course we can't comment on is dessert, because we've yet to make it there (yet!).

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Saw great reviews but we were very disappointed. Food was sub-par especially for the prices. Waitress was a bit rude and inattentive. Maybe it was just an off night but that’s inexcusable. Royal Reds flavor was off, seemed frozen for too long. Oysters were ok, but there’s much better in town. Wife’s salad entree was just boring and uninspired. My fish entree was good but nothing mind blowing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

In Nola for a week, so wanted to find a place with good reviews and seafood. Open Table had this listed with great reviews, so we made our reservation.

We started with Brussel Sprouts and Seafood gumbo. I didn't try the gumbo, partly because I was too immersed in my own plate, which was devoured very quickly. By the time I finished mine, his as gone as well, so no opportunity to taste for myself. He said it was great.

I had the Butternut Squash Risotto, and if I were at home, seriously would have licked the bowl. It was filled with amazing flavor and texture. Sadly, I do not know what my husband ordered (and devoured) because, again, I was too focused on my risotto. I looked at he menu just now, and perhaps it was the Puppy Drum, but I can't be sure. Whatever he ordered, he must have enjoyed as both of our plates were, again, empty.

We ended with a chocolate layer cake, which after a few bites, had to ask for it in a box. We were both stuffed, and wanted to enjoy the cake with room in our stomachs.

Service was outstanding. Our server, name escapes me, was at our table often - but not irritatingly- filling our water and making sure we were enjoying our food and experience. She could not have been nicer.

We'll be back again next year, so for sure will include this in our rotation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Strong drinks! Awesome brussel sprouts.. friend had shrimp and grits and said it was awesome. Hubby and I split the seafood plate and it was more than enough food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Once happy hour ended, this was outstanding. Had 10 for Uncles 90th and the food was extraordinary and service top notch. Great spot.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our server left halfway through our meal to catch a flight. The drinks were horrible, but the food was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Not much atmosphere. Cement walls and floors, with bamboo chairs. Felt rather cold. We went there for New Years Eve, which undoubtably is a busy night. Our server was very nice but the meal was super rushed. We were in and out in less than an hour and didn’t get a chance to enjoy the meal because they wanted to turn over tables. The food was good, but expensive, so disappointing that we couldn’t take our time to enjoy everything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were here for the Sugar Bowl and selected this restaurant for the location and menu. Service was great and food delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food. Good beer. Friendly service. The crab beignet was one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Service was wonderful and food was to die for!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Food was just okay. The "hot" chicken sandwich wasn't actually hot and the shrimp and grits wasn't as good as it looks in the pictures I saw previously before deciding to eat here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

Birthday lunch for son. Good seafood

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was wonderful... the blackened oysters were a real treat..gluten free friendly.. our waitress made great dinner recommendations and was very personable!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Amazing - food was great and the service was outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Ambiance was date night friendly for sure. Waiter was available and helpful. We ordered Charbroiled oysters and raw oysters came out. Without so much as a hesitation he switched it out. If he would have left the raw oysters it would have been fine in our book! Ha ha. Oysters were really good. Broiled shrimp were a tad overcooked but okay. We very much loved the brussel sprouts and the entree. (Drum with crabmeat)

I like to try the Old Fashioned's when I go out to eat. The drink I was served was not very good, however It's honestly not fair since I learned how to make my own.

Overall, we had a great experience and would certainly return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Great neighborhood gem!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Service was amazing. We had 10 people everyone gave a big thumbs up on all the apps and meals.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 9, 2017

Food was ok.
As a native New Orleanian I rated the gumbo as average. Very thick, but tasty. The shrimp and grits could have been better seasoned. Great ambience and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Excellent food and great cocktails. Food was phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Had a great lunch. The catfish was WOW! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Well prepared food. Main courses A bit pricey for the neighborhood and atmosphere. Creative Cocktails

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We ate our way through New Orleans for three days...and this was our top pick, even up against much more "acclaimed" and "formal", fine dining atmospheres. The silverware is cafeteria grade. The decor is nothing special, but nice enough. The food was flawless. Perfect. The quality of the food and drink is clearly the focus. And for tourists like ourselves who wanted some local fare with a focus on quality, this place was gold.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Really enjoyed the food here! Would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6