Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Basin Seafood and Spirits

The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.

3222 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 302-7391

Website:
http://www.basinseafoodnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Caro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Basin Seafood and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Romantic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Special Occasion (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was some of the best food we had in a city of amazing food. Located in the heart of the adorable shops on Magazine St in the Garden District, this gem has it all. Hard to describe the ambiance of a restaurant that uses an old box spring as a wall hanging lamp and where the waitstaff seems to know 1/2 the patrons. They didn't know us but treated us like royalty.
Service was well-paced.
Food- husband had jambalaya that he and my kid fought over. The octopus seviche- never had anything like it. The lobster was extremely tender with fabulous flavor.
We had the drum fish as well. Tender, flavorful and, again, prepared in a fashion that I have not tasted before.

We love this restaurant and wish them great success.
As a side for you gals- the bartender is a hunk!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our first time at Basin and we will be back. The food and drinks were most excellent. The Steak and Fries was done to perfection! Two others shared the whole redfish special and it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food! Awesome PoBoys!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

charbroiled oysters were fabulous as we'll as the puppy drum filet entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Seafood gumbo one of the best I have had. Great service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wanted a good seafood read to take friends from out of town that would pull them uptown and this was a hit! The drum dish was fantastic and their chargrilled oysters were among the best in town. The Brussels sprouts were also amazing. The menu had a good range from heavier comfort food dishes to lighter fare. Service was attentive and well-paced. Excellent meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. The crawfish Mac and Cheese was amazing. We also had the pork hash, shrimp po'boy and some oysters. So delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Second time I have visited Basin's, and I am always impressed with the menu. Oysters were fantastic. Service was attentive and helpful. Thanks again for a great time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice experience! The food was delicious and service great. Didn't break the bank, either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great. Took a while for anyone to come to our table to get things started. Not sure if they were short handed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Made reservations for Sunday Brunch and I am so glad we did as it got pretty busy once we got there. The food was outstanding- my favorite was the shrimp and grits- SUPERB! Chicken and waffles were fantastic, as well. My boyfriend also ordered the French toast which he enjoyed. Bottomless mimosas are JUST that! Our server was on top of topping us off whenever we reached mid glass. Honestly, that's why we chose this place BC who doesn't love bottomless mimosas? We were not disappointed at all and I cannot wait to go back for another Sunday Brunch! Will have to try dinner, too!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We small plates for dinner and all were very good, crawfish beignets and shrimp remoulade were the standouts. All the food there looked wonderful. It's kind of a small loud casual neighborhood place, will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bring back the DUCK RAGU! The food is great. Great date night place. Sort of expensive oysters. Great ambience........................................................................

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very well done. Service a bit slow considering the restaurant was not full, but we were not in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went there for Sunday brunch and had a great time. The food was good even though I wish the portions were a little larger. Service was great and would recommend and eat again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great regional flavors. Shrimp on fried green tomatoes topped with greens and remoulade was tops! Shrimp grits with kale was flavorful. Corn and crab bisque was attractive but on the thick side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Tasty food and a great ambiance !! I went with my family before the Saints game and fully enjoyed the brunch menu !

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Creative menu. The octopus ceviche and the soft shelled crab entree were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went here for dinner with my father to celebrate my 21st birthday in NOLA. The food was phenomenal. Spectacular gumbo, delicious fried catfish and charbroiled oysters. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Definitely worth taking the drive a little farther from the hustle and bustle of downtown. 10/10 would recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

visiting NOLA for the Thanksgiving weekend, we found this seafood restaurant and liked is as a casual spot with great food and wine. Recommend!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Was very impressed with Basin. There oysters were great. We also had the Corn and Crab bisque which was very nice. Our Server was attentive and accommodating. Great meal overall.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service and food. Just happened upon the Monday .50 cent oysters - great deal compared to other NO restaurants. I would definitely return when visiting NO again.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The grilled redfish was excellent. Appetizers were big enough to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service. Our waiter was very friendly. Food was good. Cocktails fun. We had seafood platter with fried things (tasty) and jambalaya (tasty, as well).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

It just doesn't get any better than 50 cent oysters!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Sitting outside, the service was very slow throughout our dining experience. Food worth the wait. Will go back at less popular time, rather then Saturday lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

In New Orleans for a convention. It's eating experience on Monday was Basins and ordered the Tuna with shaved brussel sprouts on brioche sandwich for lunch
Extraordinary!

Last day today went back for last meal and ordered exactly the same. Never disappoints. Great ambiance and wonderful menu

L

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Basin has become my go to place for a group brunch because you can always get a table regardless of whether or not you have a reservation. Drinks are affordable. The food is really solid and well-priced. I always leave the place full. I think their crawfish and crab beignets are the best in town (even better than la petite groceries'). Not a single complaint.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went for Saturday brunch. The food was fantastic! The only issues I had was that it is extremely noisy in there and the mimosas did not have enough champagne in them. It was almost like drinking straight orange juice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall I would have enjoyed everything at Basin. It was good but not exceptional. I really enjoyed the flavor of the food but it lacked warmth from temperature. I won't be rushing back. I alone purchased chargrilled oysters, pork and hash, and bottomless mimosas. I paid 50.00 for okay.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

There were many reservation options the same evening on the night of Art for Arts Sake which seemed a little odd since most were booked that night. We were seated on time and our server was very attentive & knowledgeable about the menu items. The menu items were hit or miss with with the fried oyster Caesar salad being so very salty unfortunately. The smoked fish dip was delicious and served with potato chips. Sadly when asked for more chips to finish the dip, we were brought saltine crackers in plastic wrap. So with the many seafood restaurants available in our city, this will not be a repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

very tasty menu. Three of us each got a different entree and everyone was pleased with their choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went for brunch and loved the bottomless mimosas and the food was great!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Basin Seafood and Spirits was amazing! Such a great brunch choice. I went with a group of 6 and no one had a bad meal. The food was incredible and the service was fantastic. We went for the bottomless brunch and our mimosas were never empty. I would absolutely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent. By all means would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Second time here. Both times I wanted to love it more than I did. Great cocktails and super attentive service. It was too loud for us to hear our own conversation. It seems the appetizers are where this restaurant shines. The Octopus ceviche was amazing. My risotto came in a pool of oil which was visually off-putting despite the nice flavors. husbands dish also had more oil on the plate than necessary. We probably won't be back unless it's for oyster happy hour and we can sit outside. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Basin Seafood & Spirits was a very pleasant find. After searching on Open Table for my husband , myself and a friend, I came across the Basin.
The place was awesome!!! Great Food! Great Atmosphere! And... Great People!!!
After ordering drinks and most all of the appetizers, we each had a cup of gumbo and corn & crab bisque. "YUMMY" to say the least.
The most pleasant surprise was to find out that the same person who owns and is the chef for Basin also... OWNS AND IS THE CHEF FOR BARU!!! Our FAVORITE NEW ORLEANS RESTAURANT!
What a coincidence! He and his family prepare all the meals and desserts for their guest. The recipes are a combination of Columbian & Cajun. What a GREAT combo.
Thanks to Basin Seafood & Spirits and too BARU for serving New Orleans! We LOVE You!
Mr. & Mrs. Jacob

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We found Basin Seafood & Spirits on Yelp- and we were not disappointed. I reserved a table for a business dinner (was in town for a conference). Our party was initially for 5, but only 3 were able to attend- they were completely flexible and that worked out with no issue. The food was AMAZING. I cannot recommend highly enough the Crab & Crawfish Beignets, the Crawfish Macaroni & Cheese or the softshell crab entree. We also enjoyed the arugula salad- which was fresh and delicious!

Service was terrific and ambiance was spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I took my parents there last weekend because they were interested in a seafood restaurant. The waitress was extremely attentive and helpful (although the restaurant was almost empty when we walked in so that may have made a difference). We didn't order any drinks so I can't speak to any of their cocktails but the crawfish and crab beignets were absolutely amazing. They're very decadent. We also ordered the crawfish mac and cheese which was also to die for. Lastly we ordered one of the specials which was the whole red snapper. Their menu is decent, but it's not one of the better options if you're looking for seafood. They have pretty generic options such as a burger and a fried seafood platter, which you can get just about anywhere in the city. The apps are the best part about the restaurant for sure. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for good seafood, but to sit down and enjoy a simple meal, it's very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.