About Basin Seafood and Spirits

3222 Magazine St
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

The idea for Basin began several years ago when Chef and Owner of Baru, Edgar Caro, along with his friend Antonio Mata, decided to open Basin, a seafood restaurant serving modernized, lighter versions of traditional Louisiana dishes. Basin sources the best possible ingredients from local sources, highlighting seasonal vegetables and Gulf fish in our daily specials.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Basin offers sidewalk seating along the busiest sector of Magazine Street. We also have a lush courtyard for additional seating and a relaxing escape from the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fish, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 302-7391

Website:
http://www.basinseafoodnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Edgar Caro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine, Wine Bar

Basin Seafood and Spirits Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (11)
See All
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
romantic (3)
special occasion (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a brunch group of 10. Everyone e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a brunch group of 10. Everyone enjoyed their food and we tried every specialty cocktail on the menu. I'd definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drink selection was interes ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food and drink selection was interesting and innovative. This is a great place to dine out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never sit at a table in the back. The ki ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Never sit at a table in the back. The kitchen noise is unbearable and the staff makes no attempt to be quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

I've been here twice. It's an above aver ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been here twice. It's an above average seafood restaurant, but the prices are a bit high when compared to other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Make sure to get crawfish beignets. Tuna ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Make sure to get crawfish beignets. Tuna sandwich was great too. Bottomless mimosas and great service. You should go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Loved every bit of it!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved every bit of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Banana rum cake was amazing, everything ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Banana rum cake was amazing, everything we got was exceptional. I love the fact that they try and get everything fresh and local. The ambience is really nice, I will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Our waiter,Renato, didn' ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great. Our waiter,Renato, didn't make us feel rushed and took care of us. Great service. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. It took 15 minut ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was wonderful. It took 15 minutes from when we were seated for someone to come to our table though. We had to tell two workers of that problem before anyone came. Started off bad but ended well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great neighborhood. Friendly staff...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great neighborhood. Friendly staff...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service. This place is a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service. This place is a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I have walked by Basin several times but decided to try it for lunch. My party of four enjoyed everything. Other restaurants we dined in during the next two days were Sylvain and Borgne and they enjoyed Basin the most. I kind of agree

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Gem for Brunch

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

What a great experience! Mimosa's crafted with care and bottomless at a great price. We started with Crab & Crawfish Beignets. They were light and fluffy with a great remoulade sauce. I ordered the Grilled Tuna Steak Sandwich, which had a large and very well seasoned filet. The brussles sprout slaw could use a bit more vinegar for my taste, but I was overall pleased. Great bargain at brunch in an often overpriced area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good overall. We Start ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was very good overall. We Started with the crab and crawfish beignets. They were very good. We also had the crawfish Mac and cheese. I had the seafood gumbo, which was good. I have only had seafood gumbo one or two other times so I'm not sure how it compares. The entree was the fried catfish. The catfish was fine. The accompaniments were delicious. The grits, creamed crawfish, sausage, and kale made the dish.

The service was excellent. Great friendly and attentive staff. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great small plates! Liked everything.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great small plates! Liked everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bottomless Mimosa Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Bottomless mimosas paired with delicious food and great service? Yes please!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent happy hour

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I went for dinner but arrived in time for happy hour. Really good deals on appetisers at $4 each. Highly recommend the octopus ceviche.

Fun cocktails too: the Good Times and Nola Mule were delicious.

The service was really superb: very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place for brunch. We love their bo ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place for brunch. We love their boudin balls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good, but not great. Our wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was good, but not great. Our waiter was inattentive and there seemed to be some confusion in the kitchen. We noted that both of our food orders sat in the kitchen window for 5 minutes before being brought out to us.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Expensive food that is rather mediocre

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I felt the food was average at Basin, compared to other options in the city, it just did not justify the price point. The oysters were good as were the crab beignets, but beyond those options, I wasn't impressed. For the two of us with just one cocktail each the bill came to over $110 for brunch! There are many other better dining venues in the city that deliver better quality food and better value.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Fabulous charbroiled oysters

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Enjoyed Basin on a Friday night during Lent. Charbroiled oysters were fantastic. Ruby Reds were okay, not as good as on a previous visit. Fried oyster Caesar salad was delicious- oysters were fried perfectly. Catfish was also very good. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Love this place!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I went with my family and tasted everything that everyone ordered... and everything was fantastic! I have nothing but good things to say about this place. Look forward to returning so I can try more things!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was pleasantly surprised

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Pulled up to the restaurant and had second thoughts. Glad we went in. Food was excellent and our service was even better. Not a big place. Not glitzy. Probably the best food/price we had while in New Orleans.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BASIN SEAFOOD AND SPIRITS

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The food is terrific. All the local dishes New Orleans is noted for. The oysters were big, fresh and delicious.

The night we were there they were understaffed I guess because there were several large groups, we arrived at the end of Happy Hour, and they just didn't have the staff to cope with it.

They were very apologetic about the experience and the quality of the food and the preparation made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

WDAY/DINE

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Excellent fare, good service and the presentations are very polished. The beet micro greens topping the risotto was a really beautiful touch. The grilled oysters different from most in our area, but really, really good. Edgar is doing an outstanding job here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood beignets and tuna were great!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Came in on a quiet Sunday night and had a great meal with friends. Seagood beignets were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not quite there yet.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My daughter choose this place for her birthday dinner...which turned into a brunch. Staff was friendly, service slightly inattentive (I think our waiter was rather new) and the food was inconsistent.

Appetizers were very good especially the crayfish mac & cheese! My entree has a poached egg which was actually chilled in spots and warm in others. The one on my wife's plate (which she gave to me) was actually very warm...almost hot.

I get the impression that they are still working out some "kinks" and I may give them another try. But it will be dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good is amazing. Service could be so much more friendlier however.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

good food and value

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The brunch menu has some creative twists on dishes and the cocktails are very good. It was completely full, and a bit noisy. They should consider hiring another bartender if they are always busy for brunches, as it took a while to get our drinks - we could have had two over the meal, but one was enough because it arrived so late. Minor issues won't keep us from returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of the Best Happy Hours in town!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

I love their octopus cerviche and the fresh oysters and their boudin balls, everything is delicious and their signature cocktails are fabulous!!!!!!! You need to try this place

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love brunch, and we've eat ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

My wife and I love brunch, and we've eaten everywhere in town, but we haven't had a meal as amazing as brunch at Basin Seafood in a long time.

Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the food and drink menus, and got our food to the table exactly when we were ready for it. But the food would be worth going back for even if the service wasn't so great, that's how delicious every bite was.

We started with the charbroiled oysters, which might not have been as plump as at places like Kenton's or Pêche, but the flavors were perfectly balanced. The same can be said for the tasty croquette-like crawfish beignets and the grits with oyster mushroom.

For entrees, the pork and hash was flavorful, and the fried green tomatoes with poached egg and hollandaise were perfectly cooked in a lightly seasoned breading that didn't overpower the dish and wasn't too salty.

Best brunch in the city right now, and we'll be back for dinner soon, I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good find!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My husband and I wanted to go to a seafood restaurant, but didn't want to go to the same one's we've been to. I decided to do a google search and this restaurant popped up. I pulled it on through YELP and once I saw all of the pictures I was totally sold. Only criticism...YELP needs to be updated because a lot of the food pictured is no longer available. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great small plate menu.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu has a great variety of food choices. The actual restaurant is very quaint and unique. Service was great and this was for a table of 6.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We lucked out and snagged a reservation for 5 on New Years Eve through Open Table, and we really enjoyed it. Great service and excellent food overall. Highly recommend the duck ragout, crawfish mac and cheese, and flank steak. Wasn't a big fan of the gumbo, but everything else was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is absolutely amazing. Every bite w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food is absolutely amazing. Every bite was delicious. The biggest problem we had was the SLOW SLOW SLOW service. I'm talking 45+ minutes in between courses. It took 25 minutes for soup to come out??? Server never wrote anything down so he had to come back the our table multiple times to re check orders. If it wasn't for the awesome food, I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and even better happy hour

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Food is delicious and there small plate happy hour specials are one of our favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! We will definitel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Wonderful experience! We will definitely come back when we visit New Orleans again! The boudin balls were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very impressed by the quality of the food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

a great place with very good food and a nice casual atmposhere - great date place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The steak that we had was absolutely amazing.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

The food was what we came to try and the only thing that stood out for me was the portions. I found it was rather smaller than I was used to. It was overall okay as far as taste. Everything was good. I wasn't crazy about the octopus cerviche. I thought that it could have been more tarte instead of the orange juice that was used. On the otherhand, the steak that we got was perfect, and I don't know if it was the cut but I found that it was rather a small portion. Overall, I was still hungry after three appetizers and one entree, and I did tell the waiter that their soda machine was low on CO2. When we did get the bill, It was $52 dollars which wasn't a big deal. It was before our $25 gift certificate. I think that the best two things that we had was the oysters and the steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.