Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 4.42mi
  4. Distance: 5.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 4.42mi
  4. Distance: 5.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 4.42mi
  4. Distance: 5.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 4.42mi
  4. Distance: 5.01mi

About Basilicos Ristorante

Basilico’s Ristorante and Pizzeria is owned and operated by Chef, Scott Oliver and Pizza Man, Vinson Powell. We have been a family owned and operated business since 1999. We are dedicated to offering you quality ingredients and authentic Italian cuisine.

27 43rd Street
Sea Isle City, NJ 08243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Winter/Spring Hours:
OPEN Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday at 5pm
CLOSED every Mon, Tues, Wed

Cross Street:
Landis Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 263-1010

Website:
http://www.basilicosristorante.com/

Catering:
We offer a full menu of catering items all prepared to the amount of guests you will be having. Our menu is available to view from our website or you can pick one up in house. If there is an item you are looking for that you don't find please don't hesitate to ask if we can accommodate your request.

Parking Details:
If you plan to dine with us please allow extra time for parking, it is street availability. If you are picking up an order there are spots directly out front you can pull into.

Executive Chef:
Scott Oliver

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Non-Smoking, Wine

Basilicos Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Authentic (28)
Casual (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
Cozy (9)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Romantic (6)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Pre/post Theatre (0)
People Watching (0)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful meal and great service! Going back next week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Sea aisle , never had a bad meal there. Owners Scott and Vincent and their families do an excellent job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was generally good but the service was extremely slow . We especially enjoyed the Calamari appetizer and their red sauce used for pasta and Chicken Parmesan.
We asked for a quiet location and twice they seated us in areas that were especially loud and there were enough open tables to accommodate our request. We will go back and will hope for better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Basilico's met our expectations for a nice dinner at the shore. The service was excellent. The portion sizes were large with 2 of 5 of us taking home about half of our dinner because of the extraordinary size. The salad is very fresh. Our bread basket was refilled at least once if not more.

The soups were all good and are very generous in size. The bread is perfect to scoop up a taste of another's soup.

The entrees were all good -- we had 5 different entrees and everyone enjoyed their dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Reservation honored on time. It was exceptionally loud this visit. Perhaps there are just more people downstairs and the tables are fairly close together.
The food was delicious as always. I had the halibut special. It was expensive but cooked perfectly with an interesting sauce over cauliflower and something else. Absolutely divine. My friend had two appetizers for her dinner and she loved them both (scallops and sunflower seed risotto and mini goat cheese raviolis with a pesto sauce). Husband had an enormous portion of spaghetti (too much for anyone to eat, really) and tender meatballs. At $17.00 it was no bargain as spaghetti doesn't cost much, but the sauce and meatballs were very tasty. Other friend had a veal and crab dish which he seemed to enjoy.
Our server brought a huge bowl of salad for us to share with the yummy house dressing (and only choice). However, after lingering over the salads while waiting for the entrees to arrive, we agreed there was a big delay in getting our food. The other tables who came in after us all had their entrees and we waited for about 15 minutes for ours. I reminded the server that we wanted our entrees. She said she never drops the food order until the salad plates are removed. So we sat for 15 minutes with salads gone and no entrees. Perhaps she should have mentioned that earlier. I don't agree with the flow (or lack thereof) of food service. I guess you have to eat your salad in a hurry and get the plates removed or be content with no food while they cook it. Doesn't make sense to me.
However, the food is excellent so we will return.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of the best meals we had while on vacation and one of the most reasonably priced meals.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was just ok. Service was extremely slow. The young man clearing tables and making sure the water was filled was the most helpful of everyone there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food, pleasant atmosphere and great service. Reservations highly recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

YUMMY BYOB!! Staff is awesome, food is to die for!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Delicious meal. Chicken parm was tender, shrimp & crabmeat with asparagus & pasta in a citrus sauce was flavorful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

One of our favorites - never disappoints! We had two people who eat gluten-free and one vegetarian in our party. The server Beth and the chef helped us receive great meals for all!!! Beth was a great waitress and the food was fantastic as always!!! Thanks Vinson and Scott!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

There must has been a backup in the kitchen, we had to wait a long time for our entrees.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great specials. Food was awesome. Very noisy though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always have a great meal when we come for dinner and everyone is always very nice. This is our favorite spot in Sea Isle City.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food is always excellent, wait staff well trained. We have been going here since the restaurant first opened and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The clams in white sauce was uninspired and the sauce was very thick. Service was adequate. Do not plan to ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Dinner was good, served quickly. Staff was very nice and informative. Will definitely return :)

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Annual family meal while at the beach. The seafood risotto was incredible as was the chicken parmigiana. Would have been perfect group experience but but unfortunately one of the meals had to be returned. We've been going there for years and this was the first time this ever happened. Not to worry, we'll be back again next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Friendliest staff in town. Great food and service. Very flexible in substituting side dishes and accommodating special requests.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Yes! It is summer!!! Needed my pasta fix (cavatelli) ! So decided to fight the traffic & crowd and head up to Basilico's !

So we get seated next to 2 older women. They were older, they were loud, they were arguing about family issues, who owes who - just lots of problems! They were sisters! Finally after an hour of this my Hubby asked if they could lower their voices! The upstairs tables actually applauded him! & cheered. The 2 women exploded then left in a Huff!

Granted ! not the restaurant ' fault ! but if you are going to fight and argue and debate world piece - please don't go to a restaurant where others are trying to enjoy themselves!

Anyway, Delicious !! Bang bang Shrimp, bisque, fish, pasta, and just a great dinner. Our Compliments to Chef Scott!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Experience was great from start to finish. We had a group a group of six and we all had a different entree. We started with a few apps, which were awesome. We had the bang-bang shrimp, mussels in red sauce, scallops with sunflower risotto, and different take on a capresi salad. All the apps were great but the capresi, was superb.

We had one member in our party with a gluten allergy, and they gladly substituted to accommodate her request. All six of us throughly enjoyed our dinner. One member had the eggplant parmigiana, which was the best he had ever had. We had six different platters from lamb chops to pasta and crab meat. All agreed that the meal was great so they were six for six.

One of these times I'll order dessert but I'll have to do it 1st as I'm always too full after dinner.

The service here never disappoints either.

I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food as always was wonderful, wait staff very pleasant, never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Basilicos continues to be an excellent restaurant at the Jersey shore. Despite being a family friendly (my granddaughters always vote to go here for family dinners) dining spot, this is not your normal pasta and meatball spot. Chef Scott is always creating specials that delight even the most serious "foody" and his homemade pasta is hard to resist. His signature salad dressing served with crisp, chilled greens is a great initiation to a fabulous meal. Not fancy, but certainly special, Basilicos is a consistent dining experience!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Thanks for accommodating the change in our party from 5 to 8. Dinner was excellent! Love Basilicos!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was fresh and delicious. You start with bread and a warm oil with garlic and other goodness to drizzle,dip and enjoy. Then the sale comes with a very different yet yummy house dressing. My husband and I both order different seafood dishes and both were cooked to perfection. I then splurged (since it was my birthday) and got a banana bread bottom cheesecake with Carmel drizzle. I said "oh my goodness it tastes like Fall" so yummy! Great staff great service amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Very authentic Italian. I thought the menu was creative. The ambience is just ok but the food was really good...except for the bread.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was fantastic. Server was personable and helpful. New favorite Sea Isle restaurant for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food here is exceptional! We continue to return often - almost weekly - and are never disappointed. The specials keep it fresh and are always fabulous! We suggest you try dishes as this talented chef intended without changes or substitutions to experience their food at it's best, however the staff is excellent as well and will gladly accommodate any preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My favorite restaurant on the island! Whenever someone I know is coming to Sea Isle, it's my go-to recommendation. The owners and staff are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Husband and I had a nice table upstairs. Noise level was perfect and we could talk and hear each other. I had an appetizer of scallops and asparagus over sunflower seed "risotto". It was delicious. Scallops cooked perfectly and the unique treatment of the seeds made for a tasty dish. I also had the Cozze Marinara - two dozen mussels in marinara sauce. All but one opened and they were tender with a great sauce. Husband had his own bowl of mussels - they are so good that we don't want to share. He also had a pizza which was good. (Not amazing or dripping with cheese and sauce, but definitely good.)
My favorite thing Basilicos does is bring bread and a small pitcher of oil, roasted garlic, and I think, olives. It's addictive.
It's BYOB which I love. Service was attentive.
On the way out I spoke with a chef behind the counter and asked how they treat food allergies. He gave positive answers to my questions so we will bring our tree nut, peanut allergic grandson next week when they visit. Here's hoping they are well trained in the food allergy area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I love this restaurant, so much so, that I make it a point to go every year I vacation in Sea Isle in July. I'd say I've been going there for as long as they've been in business. Their appetizers and meals never fail to disappoint. If you go, you have to try the Calamari Bruschetta. It is to die for!!! Anneliese is usually our waitress, and she is an awesome waitress. Try it! I promise you won't be disappointed (unless you're one of those people who just isn't happy with anything and find fault with everything)!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. We've never had anything less than superb here.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Jamie are waitress was great. The homemade dressing was delicious and our fried calamari bruschetta was to spectacular! Everyone enjoyed their meal and the banana cheesecake was light and full of flavor. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Basilicos is my favorite place to eat out in Sea Isle City. I love that in addition to their regular menu, they offer nightly specials. I have eaten there numerous times over the years and have always had a great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was decent for a busy beach town but price was high and service and atmosphere were less than desirable! Wait staff was short, unfriendly and curt! We asked for cracked pepper on our salad and waitress said "no" then suddenly produced a small McCormicks do it yourself jar. Ironically the table a few over asked the same thing 30 min later and the waitress came to our table to get the pepper...too funny!!! Restaurant owners don't realize it's the little things that go a long way. A welcoming friendly staff and the basics do make a difference. I doubt I would go back there! Not worth the time and money! I don't want to feel like I am bothering anyone when I go to dinner to pay YOU!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Dinner was very, very good, real Italian food, great seafood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A case of more is less. Our appetizer, a cold roasted and peeled tomato over buratta raised our expectations for the rest of the meal. Then came a green salad which we hadn't realized was included with our meal. The salad was fine. Then came the crusher. Each of our entrees sat on a steaming bed of at least a half pound of pasta. In both cases, the pasta dwarfed any subtle flavors the dishes may have had. While the seafood in both dishes (salmon in one, mussels, shrimp, clams and calamari in the other) was passable, it was tough to appreciate amid all that pasta.

We would have been happier with less pasta and more flavor.

The service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

If you like mussels marinara., this is your place to eat. Dine on over 2 dozen plump juicy mussels and make sure that you save some bread for dipping in their delicious, lightly spiced marinara sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The writers of your menu descriptions are more skillful than your chefs. Two of four in our party of four adults and one toddler were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.