About Basil Restaurant

2106 Schofield Avenue
Weston, WI 54476
View Larger Map

Please join us on an exciting journey. A journey that bestows the opportunity to savor a unique union of exquisite flavors from South and Southeast Asia infused with the familiarity of western European cuisines. Prepare to be taken away from that which is familiar. Immerse yourself in our distinctive culinary creations. Our journey is an experience that we hope will leave you with fond memories that will not soon be forgotten and will create a longing to return for more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Southeast Asian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine St & Cutoff Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 298-0677

Website:
http://www.basilweston.com/

Catering:
Choose items from our most popular catering selections, create an eclectic offering using four or more items selected from our regular menu ... or sit down with us and create a personalized catering menu that will complement your colors, your tastes and enhance the theme of your event ... perfectly.Prices vary based on menu item selections. However, most events cost between $10 and $30 per person. Basil provides great tastes for your guests while working within your budget. Basil also hosts exclusive gatherings on Sundays. Call us today to start planning your menu and set up your tasting.

Executive Chef:
Tee Daly

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Basil Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wausau
Best Restaurants in Wausau ›

Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Romantic (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious and friendly. Their cu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always delicious and friendly. Their curry is perfectly seasoned. They have a unique blend of ethnic foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great place to go for lunch or dinner. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A great place to go for lunch or dinner. Food is always good and their specials are always good. I always know we will get great service and it's a cute atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Basil is always a special place to eat. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Basil is always a special place to eat. Friendly and food is good. Free dessert for birthdays too. Never disappointed when dining there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food. Enjoy eating here anytim ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Loved the food. Enjoy eating here anytime. The staff was very friendly and didn't rush is. Thoroughly enjoyed this meal out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were questioned about using Open Tabl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were questioned about using Open Table and then once sat the server came back to our table and asked when did we do the reservation. I had to show the confirmation on my phone. Some items seemed over priced on their menu for what you get. Server had 5 or 6 tables so service was slow & he forgot to ring in one of our menu items. It came after the table was done eating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Birthday dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We made a reservation for a birthday dinner for three people. There wasn't very many people in the restaurant when we came so they didn't have our table ready but there wasn't much for them to do but put the utensils on the table and give us our menus. We ordered steak and those were good. I've had better but I can't complain. We had to ask what the sides were because they didn't have them listed on the menu and there were quite a few to choose from. I chose rice not knowing it was white rice. Not a good choice to go with steak. I guess I should've asked what type of rice. Another guest chose a chicken pasta with tomato sauce and they seem to really enjoy that. The dessert menu didn't have any prices so we decided against it rather than asking what all the prices were. The place holds maybe 50 or 60 people. It was kind of a tight squeeze getting out as the tables were close. The Decour was OK but all the paper lanterns on the ceiling along with the fake flowers didn't seem to go with the restaurant very well as they looked rather cheap. The service was fine. The waitress said she was new. She did well and was prompt with checking on us and getting refills. We used a birthday coupon which made the price very reasonable for three people. I would probably come back for a lunch to try a different menu. The dinner did have a small variety you to please just about everyone, which was nice. The owner came around to check on everyone to see how they were as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food not so service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a new waitress who did not ask if it was a special occasion. We had a reservation yet were seated in what I would call the worst table. People just walking in got better seats. Food was great though and that really made it work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Outstanding food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Every meal we have tried on the menu has been great and we have not ordered anything twice. The items with the pepper symbol does have some heat to them

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, cute place

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Having eaten at Basil twice now, I'm hooked!! The green curry is amazing as well as the mussels in a delicious tomato sauce. The depth of flavors are amazing and well worth the bit prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love lunch here. Dinner's good, but lunc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Love lunch here. Dinner's good, but lunch is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A Real Winner In Our Neighborhood

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant - have been here several times now, and it's never disappointed us. Staff are great, greeted us at the door, served our table as if we were the only ones there, yet the room was very full. It is a bit pricey, but the portion sizes were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion restaurant for couples.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Basil. Menu as close to the resturants of Paris or Rome in my opinion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A local restaurant to be proud of.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Quick and knowledgeable staff. This was my first time dining at this restaurant, I was worried about the bill. After a wonderful experience I didn't think twice about it. Well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All Around Excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for our Valentine dinner. The service was excellent, the food was flavorful, and the entire experience was enjoyable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and great atmosphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

We were greeted warmly and seated right away. The food was a delicious fusion of classic dining and Asian. As visually appealing as it was tasty. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally awesome - excellent food, excell ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Totally awesome - excellent food, excellent service, excellent people!

Tom & Brenda Vandehey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

We enjoy Thai food and there is not much in the area. We were pleasantly surprised to find Basil and even more excited to see all of the wonderful reviews. We were not at all disappointed! My husband opted for the Red Curry and I the Drunken Noodle. We shared a Spring Roll appetizer which my husband thought had too much cilantro for his taste, but I thought was good. The peanut sauce was fantastic! We will certainly be back and can't wait to try some of the other menu items! Our server was very polite. He wasn't 100% sure on the difference of the curries but made sure to double check that he was giving us the correct information.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pretty good opening experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

I took some of my employees out to eat and visited Basil by referral, which was the first time that I've ever been there. I was somewhat surprised at the menu, as it doesn't show that exactly on the website. Everyone was satisfied with the options of food though that we did have available though. The appetizers were great and they came out soon after we ordered them. The ones that had soda, even with the ice in the glass, the soda was warm. One dish request was to be without onions and there were onions in it, that we ate around regardless and didn't say anything. Overall the food was really good, both appetizers and main dish. My wife and I plan on coming back some time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Knowledgable Servers

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu is eclectic and the wait staff is well versed in each selection and how it is prepared. Our server was attentive and was patient while we made our selections. The atmosphere is elegant and quaint. It is hard to believe you are in a strip mall once you walk through the door. The artwork is captivating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

This was my first time dining at Basil's and it was great. My wife and I were greeted warmly even though they were busy. We were early for our reservation but were seated relatively quickly. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with describing the menu. Food was excellent. We never felt rushed to leave the table and owner came around several times to ask if everything was ok. Definitely will go back. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Wow! Basil was so great. The service was awesome and the food was even better. They have something everyone could enjoy. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

The staff at Basil do a great job and pay close attention to detail. The plates are always well prepared and portion size is plentiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local gem

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Love this restaurant. Only down side is it's a little small so If you don't have a reservation you probably won't get seated on a Friday/Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service and food.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

My wife and I have been to Basil Restuarant five times and the food and service has consistantly been very good to excellent. We like the quiet atmosphere and wide variety of selections on the menu. One hint is to call ahead for reservations, as this is not a large place and seating is limited. Also, the last two times we did not call in advance we arrived and were disappointed to find the restaurant closed for a private party (as was the case last evening).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable & delicious

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

I have been to your establishment many times so I was excited to bring my date here as he has never been. Knowing he likes Tai food & gas a pallet for this type of food it was a perfect fit! He loved it & once again the duck was fabulous! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Basil is one of the best restaurants in the Wausau area. The food is amazing - very fresh and great flavors. I strongly recommend Basil to anyone looking for a high quality meal.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fun ,great ambiance and art work,

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

We are never disappointed .The owner takes great pride and welcomes everyone. The menu changes enough to keep our interest! The presentation is always artful .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent Food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

We love Basil. However, we think it is in a terrible location for a fine dining restaurant. A small strip mall? Very odd. Price tags are fine dining but location is chain restaurant. Also wish there was better outside dinning, but that is not possible in this location.

The food is always outstanding! We love to try the chef specials but also keep going back for our favorites - mine is the steak and crab cakes and husbands is the salmon with noodles. We also love going for appetizers, wine and dessert. Money Bags are the best! And the flourless chocolate cake is our special indulgence!

Can't wait to go again! Maybe today for another favorite....the soups!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Friendly Atmosphere With Delicious Food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

We were greeted at the door and felt welcomed. We had a reservation and they didn't even need to look up the name but knew it from memory. Our server was personable and knowledgeable. They are able to work with food accommodations for food allergies upon request. Overall a wonderful meal and great drinks. The whiskey selection was vast and the martinis were well made. I would recommend this restaurant and will visit them again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and atmosphere. We inten ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Excellent food and atmosphere. We intend to come back whenever possible

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night Excellence

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

Our dinner at basil was just wonderful. We had delcious food, great wine and then awesome service to top it all off!!! We will be going back and it will be one of my top recommendations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hit or miss

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 28, 2015

The food here seems to be hit or miss. The Ribeye was very fatty and flavorless. Had an excellent steak here before. Curry sampler dish was excellent, but for 22 dollars deserved more than 1 small scoop of rice and when I asked for more I was charged $3.00. The spring rolls are very good, skip the wontons they are not worth the $9.00 price. The service was great. I would like to try this place for lunch next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Perfect Evening!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Read some very positive reviews online about this little neighborhood gem of a restaurant and then confirmed with acquaintances at work (I am new to the area), so I thought I would take my Honey there for an impromptu "I love you" dinner, since he was traveling from out of town. Could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The ambiance was great; they listened when I asked for a more secluded table/booth. The decor is interesting and relaxing yet not your typical WI supper club atmosphere (although, WI S/C's totally rock!!!) and certainly not like any chain restaurants. It's small and cozy so I can imagine it getting a little crowded during peak dining hours but, if I'm not mistaken, they have an outdoor dining area as well, which will be nice once the warmer weather sets in. The service was outstanding! Our waitress was an 18 year-old kid with 25 year-old server skills. The food was phenomenal; the menu was loaded with creative choices. We had the Volcano Fish and Basil Muscles and both were awesome. I would absolutely recommend this wonderful little respit to anyone looking to have a special evening. I would not recommend bringing small children here given the exotic menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not as good as usual

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Basil is one of our favorite restaurants in Wausau. Usually we get great service but on this night our server was barely polite. She brought us our appetizer which was a large soup to share but did not bring any bowls for each person to use. At least 5 minutes later she brought the bowls. She also seemed rather miffed that we had even asked for them. It seemed like we were imposing on her.

I would've like to see more specials like they used to have as the menu hasn't changed in awhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

A very nice place to eat and just relax. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

A very nice place to eat and just relax. It was not busy when we were there so relatively quiet. Service was awesome and the food was outstanding. I would recommend this place to eat and relax.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Never disappoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

The food here is consistently great. No hit or miss here! Good variety to choose from. There is something for everyone here. Our waitress was new and she was lovely. Not too hovering. The only complaint I have about this place is that it is too small. More and more people are discovering this little gem so if you don't have reservations you might miss out. The tables are way too close together because space is so limited. I wish they would expand or move to a larger location nearby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

This restaurant has become a favorite. Once inside, you'd have no idea you weren't in downtown Chicago or Minneapolis. Great ambiance, terrific service and FANTASTIC food. Never have had a bad experience and would bring anyone to this restaurant, as well as recommend to all of my family and friends. Great spot for a quiet, romantic date night or a fun location for a get together or girls night out. Try the pad thai!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Basil never disappoints!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

Basil is a elegant place where diners can eat casually - it is one of my very favorite restaurants. It was the perfect place to take the small group I went with this time - a couple of us enjoy Thai food (and it is so very good at Basil), I don't eat meat, and one in the group was a strict meat-and-potatoes girl. She enjoyed her steak, the others of us enjoyed our dishes as well. We were able to have an important business conversation easily and quietly. The service was excellent without ever being obtrusive.

I love the Tri Color Curry, the Acorn Squash curry. Our dessert was a delicious warm chocolate concoction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables , size, food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Tables to close together, I don't like to hear other people conversations.

Size of the place is nice, but felt a bit crowded.

Food alot of fish dishes.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A Basil Fusion

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Basils stands out as a vibrant asian fusion restaurant that combines the best asian cuisines to form some amazing and tasty entrees.

Pros: Plenty to choose from on the menu, authentic Vietnamese/Thai/Chinese dishes, vibrant bar scene, great ambiance and decor, intimate setting, and fairly priced.

Cons: Restaurant is cramped and small, allows for intimate setting but you are seated very close to other diners so it does not allow for much privacy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.