Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.54mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.54mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.54mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.54mi
  4. Distance: 2.73mi

About Basil Restaurant

Please join us on an exciting journey. A journey that bestows the opportunity to savor a unique union of exquisite flavors from South and Southeast Asia infused with the familiarity of western European cuisines. Prepare to be taken away from that which is familiar. Immerse yourself in our distinctive culinary creations. Our journey is an experience that we hope will leave you with fond memories that will not soon be forgotten and will create a longing to return for more.

2106 Schofield Avenue
Weston, WI 54476
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Southeast Asian, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pine St & Cutoff Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 298-0677

Website:
http://www.basilweston.com/

Catering:
Choose items from our most popular catering selections, create an eclectic offering using four or more items selected from our regular menu ... or sit down with us and create a personalized catering menu that will complement your colors, your tastes and enhance the theme of your event ... perfectly.Prices vary based on menu item selections. However, most events cost between $10 and $30 per person. Basil provides great tastes for your guests while working within your budget. Basil also hosts exclusive gatherings on Sundays. Call us today to start planning your menu and set up your tasting.

Executive Chef:
Tee Daly

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Basil Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have gone to this restaurant multiple times and are never disappointed. The food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We LOVE Basil - has been a favorite for many years. We always look forward to it, and are always extremely happy with everything about it - amazing food and wine list, and wonderful people and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Basil always has fantastic food. Being a vegetarian, I appreciate that tofu is offered as one of the standard protein options for most meals. Great selection of cocktails and I enjoy the atmosphere as it isn't too large. The owners are often present and personally check in on each table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

always a great experience at Basil, service, food and atmosphere all wonderful

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome little hidden gem. Every item on the menu is dynamite. Excellent service & great ambiance (quiet & perfect lighting). Thanks Basil, I will surely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Basil offers an eclectic menu of Asian fusion cuisines, steaks, and more. So many delicious options that very much pleased everyone. An unexpected gem of a find in Central Wisconsin.

Kristin was gracious and accommodating, effortlessly and efficiently serving our group of ten. It was our second trip to Wausau and our second time dining at Basil. We're already looking forward to next year's conference and of course, our next fine dining experience at Basil.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Spicy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun little restaurant with great staff. I do wish the food were more original and had more flavor (outside of salt).

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Four for dinner and all were very satisfied with the meal, desert, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and hospitality. Excellent food and service. My date was really impressed!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love, love, love the crispy duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I had a new menu item, Orange Roughy with a lemon glaze on a bed of greens. Delicious. The fish had a crispy skin, and the filet was tender. (The greens were swimming in plenty of glaze, I might ask for the glaze on the side next time.) My husband enjoyed their steak salad which had a salty, tasty finish, and there was plenty to eat. His dressing had wonderful flavors, too. We enjoyed a hearty appetizer comprised of two crabmeat cakes, served on a bed of shaved carrot & cabbage. Again, a tart, tangy sauce, was a great addition to these cakes. No room for dessert, but that's OK. We'll do that another time.

This was our second time at Basil, and I would recommend it as a nice change of pace.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Basil was delightful. Quaint little restaurant with a unique Thai-American menu. Immaculate, with linens, and efficient and very pleasant service. My husband loved his duck and I very much enjoyed the Orange Roughy special. It was nice being greeted at our table by the owner and we look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Always delicious and friendly. Their curry is perfectly seasoned. They have a unique blend of ethnic foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A great place to go for lunch or dinner. Food is always good and their specials are always good. I always know we will get great service and it's a cute atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Basil is always a special place to eat. Friendly and food is good. Free dessert for birthdays too. Never disappointed when dining there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Loved the food. Enjoy eating here anytime. The staff was very friendly and didn't rush is. Thoroughly enjoyed this meal out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were questioned about using Open Table and then once sat the server came back to our table and asked when did we do the reservation. I had to show the confirmation on my phone. Some items seemed over priced on their menu for what you get. Server had 5 or 6 tables so service was slow & he forgot to ring in one of our menu items. It came after the table was done eating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We made a reservation for a birthday dinner for three people. There wasn't very many people in the restaurant when we came so they didn't have our table ready but there wasn't much for them to do but put the utensils on the table and give us our menus. We ordered steak and those were good. I've had better but I can't complain. We had to ask what the sides were because they didn't have them listed on the menu and there were quite a few to choose from. I chose rice not knowing it was white rice. Not a good choice to go with steak. I guess I should've asked what type of rice. Another guest chose a chicken pasta with tomato sauce and they seem to really enjoy that. The dessert menu didn't have any prices so we decided against it rather than asking what all the prices were. The place holds maybe 50 or 60 people. It was kind of a tight squeeze getting out as the tables were close. The Decour was OK but all the paper lanterns on the ceiling along with the fake flowers didn't seem to go with the restaurant very well as they looked rather cheap. The service was fine. The waitress said she was new. She did well and was prompt with checking on us and getting refills. We used a birthday coupon which made the price very reasonable for three people. I would probably come back for a lunch to try a different menu. The dinner did have a small variety you to please just about everyone, which was nice. The owner came around to check on everyone to see how they were as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a new waitress who did not ask if it was a special occasion. We had a reservation yet were seated in what I would call the worst table. People just walking in got better seats. Food was great though and that really made it work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Every meal we have tried on the menu has been great and we have not ordered anything twice. The items with the pepper symbol does have some heat to them

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Having eaten at Basil twice now, I'm hooked!! The green curry is amazing as well as the mussels in a delicious tomato sauce. The depth of flavors are amazing and well worth the bit prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Love lunch here. Dinner's good, but lunch is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Mall atmosphere. NYC prices. Bad service. We were alone i n the afternoon. Small portions. Snide staff.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant - have been here several times now, and it's never disappointed us. Staff are great, greeted us at the door, served our table as if we were the only ones there, yet the room was very full. It is a bit pricey, but the portion sizes were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Basil. Menu as close to the resturants of Paris or Rome in my opinion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Quick and knowledgeable staff. This was my first time dining at this restaurant, I was worried about the bill. After a wonderful experience I didn't think twice about it. Well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my girlfriend here for our Valentine dinner. The service was excellent, the food was flavorful, and the entire experience was enjoyable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2016

We were greeted warmly and seated right away. The food was a delicious fusion of classic dining and Asian. As visually appealing as it was tasty. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 19, 2016

Totally awesome - excellent food, excellent service, excellent people!
Tom & Brenda Vandehey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2016

We enjoy Thai food and there is not much in the area. We were pleasantly surprised to find Basil and even more excited to see all of the wonderful reviews. We were not at all disappointed! My husband opted for the Red Curry and I the Drunken Noodle. We shared a Spring Roll appetizer which my husband thought had too much cilantro for his taste, but I thought was good. The peanut sauce was fantastic! We will certainly be back and can't wait to try some of the other menu items! Our server was very polite. He wasn't 100% sure on the difference of the curries but made sure to double check that he was giving us the correct information.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2016

I took some of my employees out to eat and visited Basil by referral, which was the first time that I've ever been there. I was somewhat surprised at the menu, as it doesn't show that exactly on the website. Everyone was satisfied with the options of food though that we did have available though. The appetizers were great and they came out soon after we ordered them. The ones that had soda, even with the ice in the glass, the soda was warm. One dish request was to be without onions and there were onions in it, that we ate around regardless and didn't say anything. Overall the food was really good, both appetizers and main dish. My wife and I plan on coming back some time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu is eclectic and the wait staff is well versed in each selection and how it is prepared. Our server was attentive and was patient while we made our selections. The atmosphere is elegant and quaint. It is hard to believe you are in a strip mall once you walk through the door. The artwork is captivating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 15, 2015

This was my first time dining at Basil's and it was great. My wife and I were greeted warmly even though they were busy. We were early for our reservation but were seated relatively quickly. The waitress was very friendly and helpful with describing the menu. Food was excellent. We never felt rushed to leave the table and owner came around several times to ask if everything was ok. Definitely will go back. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Wow! Basil was so great. The service was awesome and the food was even better. They have something everyone could enjoy. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2015

The staff at Basil do a great job and pay close attention to detail. The plates are always well prepared and portion size is plentiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent lunch value. Friendly, attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Love this restaurant. Only down side is it's a little small so If you don't have a reservation you probably won't get seated on a Friday/Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2015

My wife and I have been to Basil Restuarant five times and the food and service has consistantly been very good to excellent. We like the quiet atmosphere and wide variety of selections on the menu. One hint is to call ahead for reservations, as this is not a large place and seating is limited. Also, the last two times we did not call in advance we arrived and were disappointed to find the restaurant closed for a private party (as was the case last evening).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2015

I have been to your establishment many times so I was excited to bring my date here as he has never been. Knowing he likes Tai food & gas a pallet for this type of food it was a perfect fit! He loved it & once again the duck was fabulous! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.