Basil Restaurant

4.6
118 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Quiet Conversation
Please join us on an exciting journey. A journey that bestows the opportunity to savor a unique union of exquisite flavors from South and Southeast Asia infused with the familiarity of western European cuisines. Prepare to be taken away from that which is familiar. Immerse yourself in our distinctive culinary creations. Our journey is an experience that we hope will leave you with fond memories that will not soon be forgotten and will create a longing to return for more.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fusion / Eclectic, Southeast Asian, Modern European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(715) 298-0677
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tee Daly
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Choose items from our most popular catering selections, create an eclectic offering using four or more items selected from our regular menu ... or sit down with us and create a personalized catering menu that will complement your colors, your tastes and enhance the theme of your event ... perfectly.Prices vary based on menu item selections. However, most events cost between $10 and $30 per person. Basil provides great tastes for your guests while working within your budget. Basil also hosts exclusive gatherings on Sundays. Call us today to start planning your menu and set up your tasting.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pine St & Cutoff Rd
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 118 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.9
food
5.0
service
4.6
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Good food. Friendly service.
‘Adventurous’ spice level is too spicy to enjoy meal, compared to other places. Recommend avoiding it! (And I eat very spice food routinely at home and outside!!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

This place is a jewel! I’ve dined in hundreds of restaurants and the meal I had was PERFECT-it could not have been better. The service was very attentive. Don’t miss this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Took our friends, they loved it! Great server. I enjoyed "the spice"!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We had a fantastic time. Pleasant helpful staff and absolutely amazing food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Wonderful food and the staff was pleasant. We went for my birthday and I was even given a complimentary dessert. I love the atmosphere. Very quiet and romantic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Everything tasted sooo fresh! The fried rice was the best I’ve ever had! The Pad Thai was excellent! And I don’t recall the name of my dish with the hot peppers, pineapple, and jasmine rice...but it was also fantastic! Highly recommend!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Very good food. Quiet night so not many tables being used so quiet. Loved the food. Staff very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food was excellent. The staff was well trained and could answer questions about every meal. She even made suggestions to enhance meals even more. This was our second visit and I know we will go again, next time we are back In the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great service nice place for a birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Our family of four (twin 8 year olds) had an incredible meal here while on vacation last week! We were pleasantly surprised to find such an innovative menu and delicious meal. My son (picky eater) loved the huge bowl of Pho he gobbled up, my daughter (another picky eater) loved her chicken noodle broccoli pasta dish, everyone loved the Naan appetizer with three different dips, my husband loved his fish with spicy sauce and vegetables and I was so thrilled to find such an amazing restaurant where I could safely eat since I have Celiac disease. They modified a delicious salad for me with a gluten free sweet and sour dressing that was the tastiest dressing I have ever had and the chicken Penang curry was sensational and so authentic (I spent some time in Thailand so I have reason to compare). Overall the food was a 10 and we can’t wait to go back when we visit the area again! The service was wonderful and the ambiance was cozy and comfortable yet also fun and lively. Highly highly recommend it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

My wife and I love going here in dates nights and special occasions. The first is excellent and so unique.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Came to Basil on a whim as we were in town for an event. We were seated promptly and service was attentive. The highlight however was the food. The menu is not extensive but the entrees are well thought out, nicely proportioned and beautifully plated. A memorable meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Consistently good food & excellent service on every visit. Owner was on site and interacted with all guests, ensuring a good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We had our annual birthday celebration here. There is always good food, and the lunch menu is a great asset when the dinner menu is too much food. I liked how our booth was ready by the time we got to the restaurant and Jenny was a great server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Simply excellent, cocktails are topshelf, food is superb, staff is friendly and down to earth. Very relaxed atmosphere no need to wore about what fork to use first. Dig in and enjoy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Superb food and service extraordinaire. A true gastronomic treasure in northern Wisconsin.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Wonderful food as always. Perfect place to bring a date, or for a night out with friends. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Fantastic dining experience. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Outstanding as per usual! Service was great, food was thru the roof!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 13, 2017

We felt the food was not as good as the last couple of visits. Frankly, we were disappointed as were our guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Enjoyed a spur of the moment delicious meal! The salmon with curry was wonderful and LoAsian dish was very tasty. We were seated promptly and enjoyed a glass of wine. Would definitely recommend if looking for a unique dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

One of my favorite places in Wausau area to eat. Food is always great and service is very personable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in the Wausau area. Asian nachos are very tasty appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2017

Great restaurant. Fresh food, optimal service, wonderful ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Good place for a dinner date. Food tasted good, with good sized portions. Dining room set up is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2017

We have gone to this restaurant multiple times and are never disappointed. The food is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2017

We LOVE Basil - has been a favorite for many years. We always look forward to it, and are always extremely happy with everything about it - amazing food and wine list, and wonderful people and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2017

Basil always has fantastic food. Being a vegetarian, I appreciate that tofu is offered as one of the standard protein options for most meals. Great selection of cocktails and I enjoy the atmosphere as it isn't too large. The owners are often present and personally check in on each table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

always a great experience at Basil, service, food and atmosphere all wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome little hidden gem. Every item on the menu is dynamite. Excellent service & great ambiance (quiet & perfect lighting). Thanks Basil, I will surely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2017

Basil offers an eclectic menu of Asian fusion cuisines, steaks, and more. So many delicious options that very much pleased everyone. An unexpected gem of a find in Central Wisconsin.

Kristin was gracious and accommodating, effortlessly and efficiently serving our group of ten. It was our second trip to Wausau and our second time dining at Basil. We're already looking forward to next year's conference and of course, our next fine dining experience at Basil.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, great service. We'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun little restaurant with great staff. I do wish the food were more original and had more flavor (outside of salt).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Four for dinner and all were very satisfied with the meal, desert, and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere and hospitality. Excellent food and service. My date was really impressed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Love, love, love the crispy duck!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2016

I had a new menu item, Orange Roughy with a lemon glaze on a bed of greens. Delicious. The fish had a crispy skin, and the filet was tender. (The greens were swimming in plenty of glaze, I might ask for the glaze on the side next time.) My husband enjoyed their steak salad which had a salty, tasty finish, and there was plenty to eat. His dressing had wonderful flavors, too. We enjoyed a hearty appetizer comprised of two crabmeat cakes, served on a bed of shaved carrot & cabbage. Again, a tart, tangy sauce, was a great addition to these cakes. No room for dessert, but that's OK. We'll do that another time.

This was our second time at Basil, and I would recommend it as a nice change of pace.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2016

Basil was delightful. Quaint little restaurant with a unique Thai-American menu. Immaculate, with linens, and efficient and very pleasant service. My husband loved his duck and I very much enjoyed the Orange Roughy special. It was nice being greeted at our table by the owner and we look forward to returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2016

Always delicious and friendly. Their curry is perfectly seasoned. They have a unique blend of ethnic foods.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2016

A great place to go for lunch or dinner. Food is always good and their specials are always good. I always know we will get great service and it's a cute atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by Basil Restaurant