About Bashan

3459 N Verdugo Rd
Glendale, CA 91208
View Larger Map

Bashan Restaurant is a casual fine dining neighborhood restaurant. Constantly searching for the best ingredients, our menus are farmer’s market driven and change seasonally. We incorporate classic French technique in all of our preparations infusing California, Mediterranean and Asian practices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday/Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 541-1532

Website:
http://www.bashanrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Bashan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Los Angeles
Contemporary American
Los Angeles
Best Food
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
5 More
Fit for Foodies
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Neighborhood Gem
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Romantic
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Special Occasion
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Contemporary American
San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Best Restaurants in Glendale ›

fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (50)
special occasion (43)
See All
romantic (33)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Duck breast and scallop entrees very goo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Duck breast and scallop entrees very good. Lobster risotto and panna cotta aight. They're closinggggg

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I first went here not knowing what to expect. I went with an open mind. I was just going to order and trust that it would be amazing. I have thoroughly enjoyed every experience I have had at Bashan. There is something special about going somewhere, trying something new and being able to trust that it will be great. This has happened each of the approximately 10 times I have gone. The staff is knowledgeable and always has a great attitude. I feel that it is a great safe bet for when my wife and I need a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th time dining at Bashan

Dined on May 29, 2016

Although Bashan is under new ownership, the food and service are still amazing. Highly recommend the Lobster Risotto and Pork Belly Adobo.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unfortunately Bashan is will be closing ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Unfortunately Bashan is will be closing permanently in another month or two because the owner is retiring. Very VERY sad about that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food served by friendly and atten ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Superb food served by friendly and attentive servers and small, pleasant, and intimate atmosphere. Individual care for patrons preferences, food allergies, or other desires and thus accommodations in substitutions. A FIND!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service! Great food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Our server was very personable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

I am very sad that Bashan will be closin ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I am very sad that Bashan will be closing.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Montrose

Dined on May 15, 2016

This has been my favorite spot for the last five years. I am very sad to learn the restaurant is closing and I will miss the most amazing food I've ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just sad that they are changing owners a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Just sad that they are changing owners and changing up everything this summer.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Critique

Dined on May 14, 2016

First thing you notice is that their 5 course prix fix menu, which used to be $40 pp has jumped to $65 a 40% jump in price. But they were not offering it on this night anyway, which is odd for a repeat customer. This was my fourth visit within 2 years. The menu needs new items or some daily specials to go with the standard items. I am not disappointed with the visit, but would probably not go back for a while, until they offer some fresh selections on the menu. Also the décor could use a face lift.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

At first I ordered the 5 plate tasting m ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

At first I ordered the 5 plate tasting menu and then was told it was not available. So I ordered something else, then was told it was available! Weird, and a yummy conclusion.

food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Don't expect to hold a conversation.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was everything we expected and even more. I would recommend Bashan to anybody who is looking for excellent food for a modest price. But don't expect to hold a conversation with anyone in your party. You simply will not be able to hold a conversation. We had some long time friends out for a dinner and were looking for a nice place to eat. Over a small table for 4, we had to keep asking in a very loud voice "what did you say?" That is why I could not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great food and service. Fit for ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Really great food and service. Fit for foodies to be sure. Great find int he neighborhood

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding experience on our 57th anniversary. Food was excellent and the service was very good. They comped us for the desert and gave us a class of champagne before dinner was served. Hard to believe that a restaurant this good is located in our small community. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

what a surprise to come across this lovely place!

Dined on April 30, 2016

we were in the neighborhood and I punched in "best food in Los Angeles" and this little gem showed up! what a treat! we went early on a friday evening and got seated right away. the service was fantastic and the food was so wonderful! the lobster risotto was super tasty and chocked with the perfect amount of lobster. the pork belly was as decadent as was the hamachi appetizer was raw! yummy!!!! i had the duck as my main course....perfectly cooked at a nice m.rare and my husband had the skirt steak, rare and that was absolutely to die for! topped it all off with a lovely light dessert (buttermilk panna cotta)! really can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was prepared prefect. Service ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was prepared prefect. Service is always friendly and professional. This restaurant is a hidden gem.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding Food

Dined on April 25, 2016

I had soup, Artichoke with macadiam nuts and it was out of this world. Absolutely wonderful, along with tasty mixed green salad, which was delightful. My companion had duck, and it was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Place

Dined on April 25, 2016

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE GREAT. FIRST TIME THERE BUT WILL GO BACK AGAIN FOR SURE.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS GEM!!!!!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We absolutely love this place. We have come here a few times now and just think it is a gem in Los Angeles that is highly under rated. Every time we go the first course given by the chef is always new and sooo delicious. Make sure you order the cheek! Probably some of the best food we've had in months.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Just ok.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything: average. Several menu items weren't available. For one of the dishes, they were out of bacon. Whatever. But the requested substitution arrived as the server was clearing the table for dessert. Not too classy. Also: even though my husband requested that the meat garnish be removed from his main dish (because he's vegetarian), the server still brought him an amuse bouche garnished with meat. Didn't get the feeling she was paying much attention. Upshot: Nothing to get excited about, will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Practically perfect gourmet dining experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here for years and go here each time we want to experience a reliable gourmet dining treat. Really, it's that good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually have the lobster risotto and the ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Usually have the lobster risotto and the duck. Decided to vary this time and had the scallops and halibut. Both were spectacular and the scallops paired perfectly with the California roussanne they were serving by the glass. It's a long way for us to go, but definitely worth the trip - traffic permitting. Looking forward to seeing their summer menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

nicely executed

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

really delightful meal at Bashan - the octopus was the tenderest i have ever had ...beautiful oysters..... perfectly done scallops... recommended for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. The food ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The food was amazing and the service was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food like the classics on Melrose. L'Hermitage...)

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went for a family celebration on Friday of Easter weekend. We each loved our appetizers: artichoke soup, butternut squash soup, and Bachan salad(yummy salad dressing!) The entrees were spectacular-- salmon, halibut and duck breast. Our waitress cautioned that the curry sauce on the duck was "spicy" and I might like it on the side. It was a great suggestion!! I asked for a good wine pairing with curried duck, and the Shiraz was perfect. No desserts! We were too full on ample servings. We'll be back for another special occasion!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Family Favorite

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Even our sons love to dine at Bashan (17 and 20 year olds)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best kept secret in LA!

Dined on March 25, 2016

A charming, warm, jewel of a restaurant hidden in Montrose. Terrific food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I have now eaten twice at this restauran ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have now eaten twice at this restaurant and enjoyed it both times. the service and the food are great. The scallop dish was particularly good. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 14, 2016

After everything I read, I expected good food in a quiet setting. We went on a Sunday night. The restaurant was quite empty when we got there. Two big parties came later. It got noisy. We had the five course tasting menu. I couldn't tell what kind of fish they served in the first course. It was too salty and the fish didn't have any flavor. The balsamic scallop was the best dish. The acclaimed pork was dry. The skirt steak was unremarkable. I normally like chocolate bread pudding but this one was too dry.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific

Dined on March 10, 2016

First time here and it won't be my last. Enjoyed one of the best prepared halibut in a very long time. Flaky and moist but with a wonderful crisp. Butternut squash soup also outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find...

Dined on March 6, 2016

I took a group of friends to this restaurant to celebrate and was not disappointed. From the food to the service to the wine, we had zero complaints and have found a new favorite eatery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Yummy!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We've eaten here five times or more. We love it. It did cross my mind though...maybe they should change the menu up a little? The pork belly is sublime! Everything though is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Even better than the other times we have ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Even better than the other times we have eaten at Bashan. Every course we had was delicious. Our favorite was the Wild Octupus appetizer. Truly unique and perfectly blended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is simply amazing. Our Valentines Day dinner was very memorable. If you are a foodie, this is the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful food, and the service is now very good. Great "foodie" food that does not veer off the chart.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Inspired menu without pretense

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love this little neighborhood jewel box. The menu is as innovative and bold as anything in DTLA, but you don't have to fight DTLA traffic/crowds/prices to enjoy it. Service is terrific and the space is intimate. We seek out special occasions to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden gem

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

This lovely restaurant is not far off the 2 freeway and is truly a hidden gem. Excellent food, as good as any of the "name" restaurants on the westside of LA, but with better service and a low key ambiance. A good, quiet spot for romance, or out with friends where you actually want to hear the conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on February 11, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and the staff made our evening special. The food was exceptional. I don't know how such robust flavor scan be coaxed from the basic ingredients. The scallops were seared perfectly but the insides were creamy and sweet...first rate. The wind pairings were flawless too. A great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Great small restaurant with a lot of ambiance and charm. Wonderful service goes along with the wonderful food. Wednesday nights there is free corkage - be sure to make reservations. Menu changes with the season and they offer a lovely prix fix menu for Wed. and Thur. evenings; there are several choices from all categories. Good for small groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous Food

Dined on February 4, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a few friends at Bashan. The food was beautifully presented and scrumptious -- as we knew it would be from previous experiences. Bashan is our favorite restaurant in its part of the world. We were a little disappointed in the service, however, because we waited too long time between courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.