Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Maple at Descanso GardensMaple at Descanso Gardens
(30)
$$$$
American | La Canada, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 21 times today
Cracking CrabCracking Crab
(3)
$$$$
Seafood | Montrose, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 3 times today
Joselito'sJoselito's
(49)
$$$$
Mexican | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 3 times today
Montrose Town Kitchen and GrillMontrose Town Kitchen and Grill
(29)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 10 times today
Little Beast RestaurantLittle Beast Restaurant
(443)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Eagle Rock, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 49 times today
Damon's SteakhouseDamon's Steakhouse
(657)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 17 times today
BOURBON STEAK Los AngelesBOURBON STEAK Los Angeles
(474)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 18 times today
Carousel RestaurantCarousel Restaurant
(301)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 4 times today
Katsuya - GlendaleKatsuya - Glendale
(687)
$$$$
Japanese | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 14 times today
True Food Kitchen - PasadenaTrue Food Kitchen - Pasadena
(100)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Pasadena, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 24 times today
Gyu-Kaku - BurbankGyu-Kaku - Burbank
(70)
$$$$
Japanese | Burbank, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 27 times today
Two Guys From ItalyTwo Guys From Italy
(26)
$$$$
Italian | Glendale, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Castaway - BurbankCastaway - Burbank
(532)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Burbank, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 57 times today
UnionUnion
(516)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Pasadena, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 36 times today
Red HerringRed Herring
(65)
$$$$
American | Eagle Rock, Pasadena / San Gabriel
Booked 24 times today

About Bashan

3459 N Verdugo Rd
Glendale, CA 91208
View Larger Map

Bashan Restaurant is a casual fine dining neighborhood restaurant. Constantly searching for the best ingredients, our menus are farmer’s market driven and change seasonally. We incorporate classic French technique in all of our preparations infusing California, Mediterranean and Asian practices.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Wednesday/Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 541-1532

Website:
http://www.bashanrestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Outdoor dining, Wine

Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Duck breast and scallop entrees very goo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Duck breast and scallop entrees very good. Lobster risotto and panna cotta aight. They're closinggggg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always Great!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I first went here not knowing what to expect. I went with an open mind. I was just going to order and trust that it would be amazing. I have thoroughly enjoyed every experience I have had at Bashan. There is something special about going somewhere, trying something new and being able to trust that it will be great. This has happened each of the approximately 10 times I have gone. The staff is knowledgeable and always has a great attitude. I feel that it is a great safe bet for when my wife and I need a special dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th time dining at Bashan

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Although Bashan is under new ownership, the food and service are still amazing. Highly recommend the Lobster Risotto and Pork Belly Adobo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately Bashan is will be closing ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Unfortunately Bashan is will be closing permanently in another month or two because the owner is retiring. Very VERY sad about that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Superb food served by friendly and atten ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Superb food served by friendly and attentive servers and small, pleasant, and intimate atmosphere. Individual care for patrons preferences, food allergies, or other desires and thus accommodations in substitutions. A FIND!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Great food!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was delicious as always. Our server was very personable and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am very sad that Bashan will be closin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I am very sad that Bashan will be closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Best restaurant in Montrose

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This has been my favorite spot for the last five years. I am very sad to learn the restaurant is closing and I will miss the most amazing food I've ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Just sad that they are changing owners a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Just sad that they are changing owners and changing up everything this summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Critique

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

First thing you notice is that their 5 course prix fix menu, which used to be $40 pp has jumped to $65 a 40% jump in price. But they were not offering it on this night anyway, which is odd for a repeat customer. This was my fourth visit within 2 years. The menu needs new items or some daily specials to go with the standard items. I am not disappointed with the visit, but would probably not go back for a while, until they offer some fresh selections on the menu.

Also the décor could use a face lift.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

At first I ordered the 5 plate tasting m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

At first I ordered the 5 plate tasting menu and then was told it was not available. So I ordered something else, then was told it was available! Weird, and a yummy conclusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Don't expect to hold a conversation.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was everything we expected and even more. I would recommend Bashan to anybody who is looking for excellent food for a modest price. But don't expect to hold a conversation with anyone in your party. You simply will not be able to hold a conversation. We had some long time friends out for a dinner and were looking for a nice place to eat. Over a small table for 4, we had to keep asking in a very loud voice "what did you say?" That is why I could not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Really great food and service. Fit for ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Really great food and service. Fit for foodies to be sure. Great find int he neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding experience on our 57th anniversary. Food was excellent and the service was very good. They comped us for the desert and gave us a class of champagne before dinner was served. Hard to believe that a restaurant this good is located in our small community. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

what a surprise to come across this lovely place!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2016

we were in the neighborhood and I punched in "best food in Los Angeles" and this little gem showed up! what a treat! we went early on a friday evening and got seated right away. the service was fantastic and the food was so wonderful! the lobster risotto was super tasty and chocked with the perfect amount of lobster. the pork belly was as decadent as was the hamachi appetizer was raw! yummy!!!! i had the duck as my main course....perfectly cooked at a nice m.rare and my husband had the skirt steak, rare and that was absolutely to die for! topped it all off with a lovely light dessert (buttermilk panna cotta)! really can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was prepared prefect. Service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything was prepared prefect. Service is always friendly and professional. This restaurant is a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding Food

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2016

I had soup, Artichoke with macadiam nuts and it was out of this world. Absolutely wonderful, along with tasty mixed green salad, which was delightful. My companion had duck, and it was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Neighborhood Place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2016

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE GREAT. FIRST TIME THERE BUT WILL GO BACK AGAIN FOR SURE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS GEM!!!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We absolutely love this place. We have come here a few times now and just think it is a gem in Los Angeles that is highly under rated. Every time we go the first course given by the chef is always new and sooo delicious. Make sure you order the cheek! Probably some of the best food we've had in months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just ok.

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything: average. Several menu items weren't available. For one of the dishes, they were out of bacon. Whatever. But the requested substitution arrived as the server was clearing the table for dessert. Not too classy. Also: even though my husband requested that the meat garnish be removed from his main dish (because he's vegetarian), the server still brought him an amuse bouche garnished with meat. Didn't get the feeling she was paying much attention. Upshot: Nothing to get excited about, will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Practically perfect gourmet dining experience

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I have been coming here for years and go here each time we want to experience a reliable gourmet dining treat. Really, it's that good!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Usually have the lobster risotto and the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Usually have the lobster risotto and the duck. Decided to vary this time and had the scallops and halibut. Both were spectacular and the scallops paired perfectly with the California roussanne they were serving by the glass. It's a long way for us to go, but definitely worth the trip - traffic permitting. Looking forward to seeing their summer menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nicely executed

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2016

really delightful meal at Bashan - the octopus was the tenderest i have ever had ...beautiful oysters..... perfectly done scallops... recommended for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful experience. The food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The food was amazing and the service was the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food like the classics on Melrose. L'Hermitage...)

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We went for a family celebration on Friday of Easter weekend. We each loved our appetizers: artichoke soup, butternut squash soup, and Bachan salad(yummy salad dressing!)

The entrees were spectacular-- salmon, halibut and duck breast. Our waitress cautioned that the curry sauce on the duck was "spicy" and I might like it on the side. It was a great suggestion!! I asked for a good wine pairing with curried duck, and the Shiraz was perfect. No desserts! We were too full on ample servings. We'll be back for another special occasion!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family Favorite

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Even our sons love to dine at Bashan (17 and 20 year olds)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The best kept secret in LA!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 25, 2016

A charming, warm, jewel of a restaurant hidden in Montrose. Terrific food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have now eaten twice at this restauran ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2016

I have now eaten twice at this restaurant and enjoyed it both times. the service and the food are great. The scallop dish was particularly good. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2016

After everything I read, I expected good food in a quiet setting. We went on a Sunday night. The restaurant was quite empty when we got there. Two big parties came later. It got noisy. We had the five course tasting menu. I couldn't tell what kind of fish they served in the first course. It was too salty and the fish didn't have any flavor. The balsamic scallop was the best dish. The acclaimed pork was dry. The skirt steak was unremarkable. I normally like chocolate bread pudding but this one was too dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Terrific

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2016

First time here and it won't be my last. Enjoyed one of the best prepared halibut in a very long time. Flaky and moist but with a wonderful crisp. Butternut squash soup also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great find...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2016

I took a group of friends to this restaurant to celebrate and was not disappointed. From the food to the service to the wine, we had zero complaints and have found a new favorite eatery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We've eaten here five times or more. We love it. It did cross my mind though...maybe they should change the menu up a little? The pork belly is sublime! Everything though is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Even better than the other times we have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Even better than the other times we have eaten at Bashan. Every course we had was delicious.

Our favorite was the Wild Octupus appetizer. Truly unique and perfectly blended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is simply amazing. Our Valentines Day dinner was very memorable. If you are a foodie, this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful food, and the service is now very good. Great "foodie" food that does not veer off the chart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Inspired menu without pretense

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We love this little neighborhood jewel box. The menu is as innovative and bold as anything in DTLA, but you don't have to fight DTLA traffic/crowds/prices to enjoy it. Service is terrific and the space is intimate. We seek out special occasions to eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hidden gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2016

This lovely restaurant is not far off the 2 freeway and is truly a hidden gem. Excellent food, as good as any of the "name" restaurants on the westside of LA, but with better service and a low key ambiance. A good, quiet spot for romance, or out with friends where you actually want to hear the conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and the staff made our evening special. The food was exceptional. I don't know how such robust flavor scan be coaxed from the basic ingredients. The scallops were seared perfectly but the insides were creamy and sweet...first rate. The wind pairings were flawless too. A great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Great small restaurant with a lot of ambiance and charm. Wonderful service goes along with the wonderful food. Wednesday nights there is free corkage - be sure to make reservations. Menu changes with the season and they offer a lovely prix fix menu for Wed. and Thur. evenings; there are several choices from all categories. Good for small groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday with a few friends at Bashan. The food was beautifully presented and scrumptious -- as we knew it would be from previous experiences. Bashan is our favorite restaurant in its part of the world. We were a little disappointed in the service, however, because we waited too long time between courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.