About Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro

3133 E. Newberry Blvd
Milwaukee, WI 53211
View Larger Map

Lake Park Bistro is located in an historic renovated park pavilion that sits on a bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. The Parisian-style bistro serves authentic rustic French cuisine and is regularly voted Milwaukee's most romantic restaurant. The kitchen is led by Chef Adam Siegel, who won the prestigious James Beard Award for Best Chef Midwest in 2008. The stellar food, gorgeous views and unparalleled service make Lake Park Bistro a most desirable destination for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch as well as an ideal location for corporate and social events. See our menu at www.lakeparkbistro.com/menu

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am – 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Lake Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 962-6300

Website:
http://www.lakeparkbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in our lot.

Executive Chef:
Adam Siegel

Private Party Facilities:
Lake Park Bistro's private rooms overlook Lake Michigan; Catering Director will assist with customizing parties for corporate, social or wedding events with floral decorations, personalized menus & cakes.

Private Party Contact:
Whitney Sleiter: 4149626300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/lake-park-bistro to see all our upcoming events!

Restaurant Photos

Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro
Truffle Mushroom Puree Soup
Veal Cutlets
Grilled Hanger Steak
Poulet Roti A La Broche
L'omble Chevalier De L'artique
Les Trois Regalades
Salade De Betteraves
Kir Royale
Croque Madame
Crepes Nutella
Chocolate Mousse
Oeuf Mollet Avec Champignons Truffel
Greek yogurt parfait
Braised pork cheeks, dried sour cherries, cognac mustard, and upland cress
French Onion Soup
Potage Garbure
Canard "Deux Facon"
Foie Gras Poelé
Mousse Au Chocolat "Yves Camdeborde"
Creme Brulee
Entrecote Du Veal Aux Pommes Boulangere
Steak Frites
Filer Mignon Au Poivre
Escargot
Ribeye Steak
Truffled Mushroom Soup Puree
Cauliflower Soup
Steak Au Poive
Triple Chocolate Mousse
Shrimp With Dill
Kampachi

Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
8 More
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (207)
scenic view (194)
romantic (163)
See All
fit for foodies (142)
notable wine list (91)
great for brunch (73)
neighborhood gem (59)
great for lunch (59)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (18)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on great food and g ...

Dined 3 days ago

You can always count on great food and great service at Lake Park Bistro.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We come to the Lake Park Bistro once a y ...

Dined 4 days ago

We come to the Lake Park Bistro once a year for brunch to celebrate a birthday. I love the view of Lake Michigan, plus a stroll in nearby Lake Park. You can expect efficient service, food beautifully served, and the menu offers something for everyone. I consider this to be a special occasion place as it's a bit pricey. A lovely glass of Sancerre was $15. Cream of asparagus soup was tasty. The eggs benedict made with crab was very rich and we each brought some home. My dessert of 3 homemade sorbets - strawberry, mango, and coconut - was perfect. Impress your out-of-town visitors by coming here and then enjoying Lake Park, or Lincoln Memorial Drive along the lakefront below.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so glad that they honored our re ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were so glad that they honored our request for table with a view of Lake Michigan, even with a large party of 8. Our table was ready if we wanted to sit down a bit early. The wait between visits from our waiter seemed long. It took around 15 minutes before a drink refill order arrived. Other than that, since we were in no hurry, we enjoyed our special night. The whole experience helped make the event and night memorable because the setting is so unique and special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The noise level in the dining room ruine ...

Dined 6 days ago

The noise level in the dining room ruined what could have been a beautiful dinner and evening.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I was expecting good food and a place wi ...

Dined 7 days ago

I was expecting good food and a place with great ambience. The view was nice of Lake Michigan but the food was not worth the price. We ordered the salmon and chicken and both were below mediocre. Way too expensive for the food. I will never come here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were seated at a table ...

Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I were seated at a table for 2, next to the windows. This was requested when making the reservation, and we were pleasantly surprised that our request was honored. A request is just that, but perhaps an early reservation time also helps - ours was 6:00. The tables are appropriately spaced, and the atmosphere was elegant and relatively quiet. We ordered a bottle of wine with some help from our waitress and we were very happy with it. For appetizers we had the escargot under puff pastry; we've had escargot many times, but never like this. It was very good. We also got beef tartare, topped with an egg yolk. The final mixing of the yolk with the beef was done table-side by our waitress. This dish was well-flavored and came with grilled toast. The Oeuf Mollet avec Champignons salad sounded so good, but we didn't want to order too much food so the kitchen split one salad between two plates, with each plate having its own egg! The egg definitely makes this salad special. Once we saw that duck confit was on the menu, my entree was decided on. My husband ordered the duo of veal. The duck was two legs, thankfully, so each of us had one. This was the best duck I have ever had, and we've had duck confit at Michelin-starred restaurants. This dish was excellent! We briefly considered ordering one to go, but instead decided it would be best to simply return here very soon. Oh, the veal was good, too.... Dessert was a shared Blueberry Almondine, a wonderful end to the meal. The timing of the courses was perfect, as was the service - friendly but professional. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely and romantic dinner! Th ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a lovely and romantic dinner! The service from our waiter and waitress was SUPERB!!!! The food was very delicious and decadent! The view of Lake Michigan was beautiful! The only glitch was the $4.00 upcharge for an appetizer that was substituted on the Chef Du Jour dinner. The price of the appetizer was only $1 extra ala carte but we were charged $4.00 for the substitution.... It was delicious, but I don't understand the extra $. Other than this, we were very impressed with this restaurant and will return on our next trip to Milwaukee!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day- I asked ahead ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

We went for Father's Day- I asked ahead of time for a quieter table as my dad is a bit older- they tucked us in the corner away from the Bar- it was perfect. A lovely meal- as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Another nice evening at Lake Park Bistro ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Another nice evening at Lake Park Bistro. Service is always solid, food was very good this night. All 4 at the table enjoyed the meal. If any negative at all, its the mark up on the wine. We bought two bottles that were $99 each. It was quite good so we checked online to order some for home. The cost of the wine is $20. While I understand marking up wine, 5 times is too much, it should have been a $60 bottle. o

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner choosing our d ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very nice dinner choosing our dishes from the Chef's menu and the daily specials. The duck special was fantastic. All of the food was very tasty. The service was excellent. The ambiance is nice, the restaurant is in a park setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The service was great ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was good. The service was great although our server was very talkative which was endearing on one hand but also difficult when trying to be engaged in a conversation with my husband who works a lot. The noise level also made it a bit difficult to talk across the table. It wasn't excessively loud but the tables were a little to close together for people out in couples. just enough room to stand between.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful. Yet, we felt ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Yet, we felt a little pressured to purchase a wine outside of our comfortable price when we asked for assistance from our waitress. As two college students, while the wine was very good, we, at this point in our lives would not spend $85 on this particular wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We requested a window table for our anni ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We requested a window table for our anniversary and were not given one even though they were available.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was wonderful. Our waiter ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our experience was wonderful. Our waiter was fantastic, he answered all of our questions and didn't make us feel dumb for asking. The personalized birthday card to my husband was a great touch. We love coming here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I have been to Lake Park Bistro before a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I have been to Lake Park Bistro before and feel that the food quality has slipped. Our entrees were a little above average, but given the price, they should have been more memorable as in years past. Also, the service was good, not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The veal special was very tasty. It was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The veal special was very tasty. It was perfectly cooked and served with avariety of mushrooms and creamy mashed potatoes. Husband had the rib eye and he was concerned about a sauce on his steak. But he loved it. It helped that the steak was perfectly cooked. My daughter had the sea bass and mussels which was disappointing. Service was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent food....and great service..... ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

excellent food....and great service......was a bit noisy

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't say enough great things - the food ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Can't say enough great things - the food is always awesome, the vibe says "special", yet never stuffy. The atmosphere has a fun upbeat swagger to it. While we often come for special occasions, every time we leave my wife always comments that we should come back more often - "just because" occasions. The bar is great too ... we enjoy the table wait as it allows us to hang around a little bit and enjoy. Service is always top notch too. All of this equates to why we are repeat customers!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff went out of their way to make ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The staff went out of their way to make the evening special. When I made the reservations I noted that we were celebrating my daughter's high school graduation. They had a hand-written note on the table waiting for her. They were very attentive and friendly, as we've come to expect there. The only exception I have is that there is no item child friendly on the menu. My 8 year old son is an adventurous eater who is accustomed to eating more than chicken tenders. Last time we came I ordered the hangar steak for him and it was not good-it was tough and we couldn't even cut it. We ended up ordering breaded chicken breast for $22 which he ate half of and it was bland. But the food the adults ordered was fabulous. Bartolotta's, you're creative enough to come up with something. You don't have to put McNuggets on your menu, but you can accommodate those with little tummies, I'd bet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and wait staff. Incredibl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic food and wait staff. Incredibly accommodating for our special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

disappointed....

Dined on June 10, 2016

When I made this reservation I told the person I spoke to that this was a special occassion(my daughters 30th birthday) The reservation was for 6:45 on a friday night and I requested a table with a view. They could not have sat us further away from the windows! We were disappointed in their unwillingness to honor the request!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazing. It was our 40th ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our service was amazing. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and we wanted a special evening. We were not disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lake Park is not inexpensive, but you de ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Lake Park is not inexpensive, but you definitely get what you pay for. The service is outstanding and personalized - when you request something with your reservation, they always accommodate. The food is superior. Beautiful brunch - we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awsome

Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome as usual, great food, great service, scenery. Best place for brunch in milwaukee

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Place for Leisurely Brunch

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Love the 3-course brunch here, but hadn't been since the menu was updated to also include a la carte selections. We had a great time and the food was good overall, but not quite as polished as I would have expected. The 3-course menu does offer a great value, but it felt like some of the items were plated rather carelessly and I did wonder if more care would be given to the a la carte dishes.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give Lake Park bistro more th ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

If I could give Lake Park bistro more than 5 stars, I would. Thank you for making our occasion so special. My fiancé and I are hoping to plan our rehearsal dinner here in about a year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best on the Lake Restaurant

Dined on June 5, 2016

I've been to many classy restaurants, but this was amazing. The service was espectacular.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 5, 2016

It's been a few year's since I've been to Lake Park Bistro. Hubby and I decided to go for a romantic dinner and we had a gift certificate from Christmas. The view/ambience is beautiful, but I was disappointed with everything else. Husband's steak was overcooked. When we complained they gave us a complimentary dessert. Unfortunately the crust on the tart was burnt. The server never asked us if we wanted more wine and pretty much ignored us after we complained about the steak. I remember this place fondly as one of my favorite romantic dinner spots, so I was overall disappointed with the experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bartolotta has a lot of restaurants and ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Bartolotta has a lot of restaurants and all are notable in my opinion. This one has a French flavor and a lovely view over Lake Michigan. It is situated in a pretty park so it is a beautiful spot for an outside wedding or party. The food is outstanding -- we enjoy the fois gras, the cheeses, and the Dover Sole. Every dish is beautifully prepared and delicious. The wine list focuses on French Wines which can be a bit daunting, but try one!! The wait staff is well educated and most attentive. Choose Lake Park Bistro for a delicious dinner and a memorable and romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on June 4, 2016

There were four of us dining. Reviewed as follows: Loved the veal dish. Wonderful flavors. The Halibut was also very good. Filet Mignon was good. The duck breast was good. I would go back in a heartbeat to experience the veal dish with veal cheeks again. So good! The asparagus soup I would skip. I would go for a salad. The French Onion Soup seemed too filling for me. Next time I would try to book an earlier reservation so that I could be seated by the window for a more beautiful view. The noise level was lively and I like lively. I would definitely go again. Can't wait for another occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lake Park Bistro Dissapoints Again

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have never written a restaurant review but my husband insisted. We have been going to Lake Park Bistro since '05. I have always loved it. We usually had Steve as our server and he's great. Sunday brunch was a favorite of mine but it was common for us to dine there as well at least once or twice a month. Then fall of last year we had a mediocre dinner. Service was bland and we just felt we didn't see the value. Since we live 3 blocks from the restaurant we thought it's time to go back and give it another try. We had a sitter and we were looking forward to our first date night in months. The server seemed distracted, little to no small talk, the fries that accompanied the mussels were cold. Our reservation was for 7:30. We ordered dinner at 7:55 but didn't eat until 8:45 (although the mussels were served at 8:00). We noticed the new menus lack description. The old ones had more info as to the source of the seafood. Scottish Salmon was always good but the new Salmon didn't note a source and I'm nervous about farmed seafood. I opted for chicken as long as it was free of antibiotics, (which the waitress confirmed after checking that it was). The potatoes that accompanied my food were cold again but we had to eat fast, we only had a sitter for 2.5 hours. Basically we never received any word as to the cause of the delay. My husbands drink stood empty without an offer for another. I really wanted dessert but we ran out of time. The server must've overheard my husband say maybe we would swing by whole foods and get dessert since there's limited time but I go to lake park for dessert, it's my favorite part. When she offered us a dessert menu I politely declined and said we had a time constraint and she replied that maybe we could go to whole foods and get some. I saw her wink so I think it was an attempt to be funny but my husband was furious. He felt insulted, especially because she never apologized for any delay. It's hard to justify $200.00 spent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and they handled my food ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food and they handled my food allergies like pros.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on June 2, 2016

i had been to Lake Park Bistro quite a few years ago for a business dinner, but had not taken my wife there. It has been on my list for quite a while and we finally got that done last week. We will be back. It was wonderful meal. Everything about the meal was top notch. Our waiter was outstanding and so was the food. I had the chef's recommended dinner and was very pleased that I did although there were lots of other possibilities. We like to eat at very good restaurants and this is close to the top of our list. My wife is still talking about how good our dining experience was.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely views & took great care of us!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We made reservation with a note that it was our 1 year anniversary. When we arrives, they were very thoughtful with a welcome card at our table, a beautiful table near the lake, and champagne toast & lovely dessert for us to share! This was a lovely place that was very kind to us. 2 things to note depending on what you are looking for: It was very loud in the room that overlooked the lake. Also was a lengthy experience - we were there about 2 hours . Depends on what your are going for! We enjoyed it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A little disappointing

Dined on May 29, 2016

It's always a bummer when one diners entree is considerably less enjoyable than the other. The salmon entree was pretty close to perfect, but my dates halibut should have been a half price special. It was watery(frozen?), not very tasty and a bit rubbery. I felt compelled to share more of my salmon than I wanted to, but she quit half way through her meal.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had an awesome anniversary dinner here. The staff is so kind, giving up a card and dessert. Food was delicious as always, steak and frites never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Special Occasion Celebration

Dined on May 28, 2016

I took my wife and daughter to Lake Park Bistro to celebrate my wife birthday and our daughters college graduation and the starting of her new job. I had requested a table in the back/porch (views of Lake Michigan), while I understand it might not be available there were a few table open all evening but never offered or even acknowledge that the request was made at check-in. I did not ask to be reseated. The service was great but our meals were slow to arrive, so much so they provided a complimentary desert, which was a very nice touch. Overall a great meal, I just wish they may have showed some interest in accommodating our seating request.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always meets high expectations

Dined on May 28, 2016

Bartolotta's Lake Park Bistro has always met my expectations of high quality service, lovely location, and excellent food and drink. Creative ingredients without being affected. Nice wine pairings. I had a really lovely pavlova for dessert - a perfect, crunchy meringue with vanilla cream and berries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Service

Dined on May 25, 2016

While the food is always good, service from Greg is the best. And the view is always spectacular. My favorite spot for lunch.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our meal was awesome, view was terrific ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

our meal was awesome, view was terrific overlooking the lake...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.